Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • New Zealand Winter Rimu

    “Our Winter Rimu trip was fantastic from beginning to end. We had a few travel snafus getting into New Zealand but Active Adventures was easy to reach when we needed them and once picked up, Koru immediately put us at ease and took over the hard work. Accommodations throughout were great and Koru and Lauren made some excellent food for us to enjoy throughout. We especially enjoyed the two overnight trips to Aspiring Hut and Welcome Flat Hut. We also appreciated the flexibility of both guides to do more or less activity each day depending on how everyone was feeling. Not having to worry or think about what was next on the trip helped us to relax and fully immerse ourselves in the experience. Both Koru and Lauren were extremely knowledgeable about local culture as well as the flora and fauna of New Zealand. There were very few questions we asked that they couldn't answer. Great trip! ”
    Allison See – Ohio, United StatesWinter Rimu, September 2018
  • Into the Unknowns of the North Island

    “Upon coming home from my trip, everyone I know who has been to New Zealand has been dazzled by my explanations of where I went. I booked with Active because I wanted an opportunity to see places I probably wouldn't manage to see as a tourist on my own, and to do activities safely that were adventurous and fun and outside the run-of-the-mill tours I could book with others. Since it was winter, I chose the North Island Kauri trip. It was everything I wanted. We did lots of adventurous, difficult (but not *too* difficult) hikes and other activities and saw parts of New Zealand that most tourists don't ever manage to see. Jackie and Maddi put their personal touches on our tour, and were aces at making sure we did great things even in the face of some obstacles. It was exactly what I needed out of my vacation. Thanks, Active!”
    Jessi Grieser – Tennessee, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Lovely Winter Adventure

    “Amazing trip! Our guides, Jackie and Maddie were knowledgeable, friendly, and very energetic. Every place we traveled to along the way was beautiful and memorable. I will never forget this trip. It was the amazing way to see a good part of the North Island.”
    Kristen Deffenbaugh – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Kauri Adventures on the North Island

    “I recently came home from a truly amazing adventure. My sister, brother and I met up with two other travelers to be guided around the North Island. We were able to learn about the ancient Waipoua Forest and the Kauri trees, enjoy sandy beaches (complete with sand boarding!), hike beautiful trails, and meet wonderful people. We even had some detours that resulted in visiting the glow worm caves. Our guides, Maddi and Jackie were knowledgeable, experienced, and entertaining! The accommodations were lovely. If you are looking for a trip that takes you around the New Zealand countryside and coastlines, I highly recommend Active Adventures!”
    Emily Deffenbaugh – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Amazing

    “This was an amazing trip. More than I ever thought it would be. Jackie and Maddie were fantastic and knowledgeable guides. They made the trip very enjoyable. Will recommend this trip and Active Adventures to my friends. Loved every minute of it.”
    Mary Wcisel – Indiana, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Fabulous

    “I really loved the Winter Rimu. The scenery was simply breathtaking and the range of activities was very good. When weather intervened - inevitable in winter and on the west coast! - our guides had great alternatives up their sleeves and we were always kept up to date with plans and other ideas. They catered for the various needs and personalities in the group brilliantly and helped us bond as a cohesive team - I can’t fault their professionalism and hard work throughout. There is quite a bit of driving, which has to be the case to get to the various locations, but every day had variety and on the long driving days we still stopped and looked around places of interest and got a quick walk in where possible. The long hikes to the mountain huts were unforgettable!”
    Bob Justham – , ChinaWinter Rimu, August 2018
  • Discovering the North Island

    “My family's trip was everything it promised to be... plus more! Jackie and Maddi were excellent tour guides, and made us feel so welcome in New Zealand. If you are looking for an adventure that will educate you about New Zealand's past... both historically and geographically - this is the journey for you!”
    Greg Deffenbaugh – Colorado, United StatesKauri, July 2018
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “On our Active Trip we were surrounded by beauty. From our guides to the scenic countryside everything was relaxed and accommodating. We loved the variety of activities from hiking and biking to floating in the underground caves. Meals were healthy and delicious prepared by our lovely guide. I definitely want to visit again and get to know the South Island!”
    Tricia Timmons – Washington, United StatesKauri, July 2018
  • Memory Maker

    “Active Adventures' Winter Rimu is a memory maker. The views, excursions, story swapping, endless laughter, and rad people will forever be etched in my memory bank. Our sweet as guides, DK and Elder, made every day insanely fun. They are so unbelievably good at what they do and their in-depth knowledge about the local ecology, culture, and history of New Zealand is nothing short of impressive. Seeing the beauty of the South Island through their eyes put the already breathtaking views on a whole new level. DK and Elder were more than accommodating; they were genuinely kind and made everyone feel like a million bucks, even if there was a little liquid sunshine on the radar. I loved every single day on our itinerary and I loved my group. We quickly went from strangers from all different backgrounds, hometowns, and ages to a team of friends. Our long roadies were filled with music and laughter. To top it off, the food was absolutely delicious. For me, the Winter Rimu was about self-discovery, active days, spectacular sites, and constant smiles. My face still hurts from smiling so much! The memories I've made on this two week adventure are the kind that don't fade. It was just what I was looking for and then some.”
    Whitney Wells-Corfield – Virginia, United StatesWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • Another Awesome Active New Zealand Adventure!

    “My fifth 'Active Adventures' trip didn't disappoint! Great weather, great hiking, great group and of course, great trip leaders, DK and Elder. The "Winter Rimu" showcased the amazing New Zealand landscape in a different light from the summer "Rimu" I had previously done - with snow capped mountains everywhere, crisp clear sunny days, and a fun group to enjoy it all with.”
    Trina Hellicar – New South Wales, AustraliaWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • Sweet As!!!

    “Simply put the Winter Rimu was a trip of a lifetime. The scenery was spectacular as was the awesome group of people with amazing leaders, D.K. & Elder. ”
    Matthew Sloan – Illinois, United StatesWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • The Best Introduction to the South Island You Could Wish For!

    “Thank you Active Adventures - but Thank you DK and Elder for the most amazing trip ever! They really showed their passion and love for their country and were very keen and kind to show each and every one of us their individual attention and make us feel welcome and included in the trip - Thank you again!”
    Josh Brown – Buckinghamshire, United KingdomWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • 2018 Winter Rimu with Dan K and Elder

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime, largely due to the expert knowledge and camaraderie of DK and Elder, along with an amazing group of fellow travelers.”
    Marc Ewing-Chow – California, United StatesWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • Great Time

    “It was a great time with good combinations of different activities.”
    Anke Gahrns – , GermanyRimu, July 2018
  • Incredible!

    “I absolutely love Active. My husband and I have always wanted to visit New Zealand, but were only able to travel in June. We decided to go even though it would be cold, and potentially wet. Yes, it was BOTH, but it was worth it! (Especially with some merino long underwear...haha.) Beautiful place, phenomenal hikes and adventures, amazing culture, and delicious food. Our guides were awesome. When can I come back??? ”
    Donalyn Ruiz – California, United StatesKauri, July 2018
  • Absolutely Amazing!

    “My Rimu trip was fantastic! It was very well organized, guides Koru and Carrie were very knowledgeable about the areas we visited and it was great to get a feel for what New Zealand is all about. I loved staying in some of the smaller, less known areas, and the choices of hikes were fabulous and really highlighted the beautiful nature in New Zealand. We also lucked into some great weather, especially for it being so close to winter, and I knew I was seeing some amazing sights when both guides were out snapping pictures right alongside us! This was definitely a trip of a lifetime and one I will always look back on with a huge smile on my face. I would come back in a heartbeat!”
    Jacqui Slade – British Columbia, CanadaRimu, June 2018
  • Couldn't Have Been Better!

    “The 'Rimu' trip was a great way to see the range of different terrain of the South Island without having to worry about logistics like driving and finding trailheads on my own! With great fall weather and wonderful new hiking buddies, this was an unforgettable adventure! On top of that, my guides were so much fun and had lots of history and stories to share along the way. Couldn't have had a better trip with Active Adventures.”
    Hannah Gendelman – Massachusetts, United StatesRimu, June 2018
  • Pleasant Surprise

    “We had been planning a trip to New Zealand for several years. We looked at renting a camper and driving around to all the beautiful sites on our own...we are so glad we didn’t.

    Going with a small group with knowledgeable guides was a great decision. Everyday we had new and exciting experiences. Somehow each day was better than the previous one. The real advantage of going with guides who know the country is you get to experience off the beaten path sites that you would never find on your own. Every day we were told what time breakfast started and what our itinerary for the day was. No worrying about driving, where to stop for meals, and where to stay for the night. Another pleasant surprise was how much the group added to the overall experience.

    Highlights for us: the multi-day kayaking was fantastic, Milford Sound was awe inspiring, the night time hike to see the glow worms felt like being at camp (for adults), and the beauty of the West Coast beaches will stay with us for a really long time.

    We are already planning our next Active Adventure trip.”
    Tina Kelly – Colorado, United StatesRimu, June 2018
  • Manuka

    “Great hiking, enjoyed the walk on the glacier at Franz Josef, and the Milford Sound Trek was the highlight for my six weeks in New Zealand, on three Active Adventures.”
    George Wark – Ontario, CanadaManuka, June 2018
  • RIMU Bucket List Trip

    “Active Adventures New Zealand exceeded my expectations. From the itinerary to the accommodations to the meals to the phenomenal guides, I couldn't have asked for better.”
    Angela Sieloff – Texas, United StatesRimu, June 2018
  • Variety and Flexibility

    “What i love most about this tour is not just the variety of the activities, but more importantly the flexibility of choosing what I would like and not like to do. If something is too hard or too inconvenient, I was always given the choice to opt out of that activity.”
    Rhyan Uy – , PhilippinesTui, June 2018
  • Kauri February 2018

    “A Great trip! Despite unseasonably high levels of rainfall, Andy always had a Plan B, which was greatly enjoyed. Together with Jo's great culinary skills, this was a memorable adventure.”
    George Wark – Ontario, CanadaKauri, June 2018
  • Our Amazing Honeymoon

    “Words cannot explain just how incredible this trip was. Katie and Astrid were wonderful guides and the entire trip was perfect, and I hate using that word. We had rain, sunshine, and even a hike through the snow at Ben Lomond, and I wouldn't have changed a thing. This was the experience of a lifetime and I strongly recommend it for anyone who wants to get a little more out of a vacation!”
    Frank Garcia – Florida, United StatesTui, June 2018
  • The Best Trip with the Best Tour Guides - Claire & Holly

    “My husband and I went on our Honeymoon to New Zealand for 2 weeks and took half of the time to be with Active Adventures. That was the best decision we could have made. It was extremely well organized, just the right amount of activity, hit just about all the places we wanted to go on our bucket list, the accommodations were more than we expected, and we couldn't have had better tour guides than Claire & Holly. They were extremely friendly, welcoming, talkative, informative, cooked great meals, had great conversations, were very passionate about the outdoors and wildlife, and overall really great hosts. This was our first time doing a official tour when traveling, and it exceeded our expectations. We could go at our own pace on the hikes and enjoy the group for the social aspect, but also get off on our own to have some peace and quiet. We really don't have a bad word to say. Highly Recommend!”
    Laura Miller – Iowa, United StatesManuka, June 2018
  • New Zealand or Bust

    “New Zealand is beautiful and we had a fabulous time!! This trip is not for the faint of heart but you will see some extraordinary rain forests, glaciers, waterfalls, rivers, sunrises and sunsets. Oh, I can't forget the birds.

    Our 2 weeks with Kim and Holly were wonderful. They make an excellent team. They made sure we were never bored! The food Holly created was a definite highlight. Kim and Holly were relentless is their efforts for us to learn about Maori and New Zealand legend, language and history. And we did learn! It was all so much fun. They both are so well versed in the flora, fauna and geology of the area.

    They kept us on our toes and on schedule. They were quick on their feet when a planned event had to be altered and they were always very patient with the group.

    Our group was small with 4 people the first week and 6 people the second week. As with every group there is a variety of physical activity levels, Holly and Kim were always so accommodating and encouraging. The most challenging hike for me was our trek to the Welcome Flat Hut on the Copeland Track. (I guess I am not as young as I used to be.) The most annoying pests on the trip were the sand flies. I survived the Copeland Track and the sand flies and took some amazing pictures. It is hard not to take amazing pictures in New Zealand, it is such a beautiful and dramatic island and country.”
    Terry Thomas – California, United StatesWinter Rimu, May 2018
  • Winter Rimu

    “Elise and I had a great time on your trip. Holly was a great cook and Kim kept us on schedule. They both shared lots of interesting information. I liked the variety of activities offered so we had a break from hiking some days. The Copeland hike was very beautiful yet hard on the body near the end. The hot springs were a nice welcome. Both Elise and I would have liked to reach one peak if possible. The kayak in Milford Sound was amazing and beautiful. All the drives were very scenic.”
    Chris Huet – Ontario, CanadaWinter Rimu, May 2018
  • All About Active Participation and the Guides

    “We were apprehensive about taking a guided tour with other people, but we took a leap of faith based on other reviews and speaking with Active Adventures and we weren't disappointed. Staying busy and outdoors in a country which seems to have been created for such was ideal, and our guides, Kim and Holly, were excellent resources for history and local knowledge. Kim was a great driver, Holly the perfect chef, and both excellent guides and quick thinkers whenever the weather necessitated a slight change in plans. Don't think we would have done the long "hut" hikes without them, but so glad we did. Very rewarding! Still fit but nearing 70, this was ideal for us with lots of activity but someone else planning everything and doing all the driving! Highly recommend.”
    Duncan Thomas – California, United StatesWinter Rimu, May 2018
  • Experiencing New Zealand's Finest

    “What a great trip we had! Every day we felt like living beings inside nature’s paintings. Many Thanks to our wonderful guides Carrie & Koru, who showed us the most spectacular sites of New Zealand’s South Island.”
    Walter Frankmoelle – Nevada, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Amazing Two Weeks

    “We had a wonderful two weeks with a great group of trip mates, two outstanding guides, and a very diverse itinerary. The only thing I would change is the weather. But we trekked on!”
    Marie Shull – North Carolina, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • Manuka

    “Fabulous! Thank you for a wonderful adventure!”
    Alice Feller – California, United StatesManuka, May 2018
  • GREAT Highlights/Overview of the South Island of Aotearoa/NZ

    “When you only have a week, and no way to plan your own journey, and enough money, THIS IS THE TRIP. I still have trouble believing Active Adventures could put so many different activities (hiking, kayaking, cycling, airplane flight, overnight cruise, jet boat) in so many different locations in one week. The small-sized group was great (we avoided booking a guided trip with a different company that had "only 50 others" - yikes!) 7 of us and 2 guides. This meant a nice-sized vehicle rather than a touring coach, and good interactions. The guides were young Kiwis who clearly love their country, and have learned much about it. The emphasis was on seeing the land, the water, the wildlife, and learning a bit about native Maori culture rather than on plush accommodations and 5-star dining. That said, the hotels/motels were more than adequate, and they are places to which we'll return if we ever get the chance. It was pricey, but we'd never have been able to do this ourselves, and we had a BLAST. And now we know where we want to go back and go more slowly.”
    Julie Peyton – Oregon, United StatesTui, May 2018
  • Sweet As....

    “My experience with Active Adventures on the South Island of New Zealand was as sweet as the sweetest Manuka honey. I was amazed by the adventure in itself; the dazzling landscapes, the flora and fauna but bedazzled by our expert guides who maneuvered our van and trailer with expertise, prepared fantastic meals and dealt with any and all situations with a professionalism way beyond their millennial ages of 23 and 26. There were never any worries, lots of laughter and organization of each day that caused me to have no worries. Some of the daily itineraries had to be adjusted due to weather, road conditions or cancellations and Jackie and Lauren just rolled with it and kept us informed and happy. The hikes we took were just right for my level of fitness. The sights and sounds met all of my expectations and I would definitely do it all again.”
    Nancy Hopkins – Missouri, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • It Lived Up To My Expectations!

    “I've wanted to see New Zealand for 30 years. It lived up to my expectations.”
    Marianne Denniston – Georgia, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Awesome North Island Adventure

    “We had an awesome time with Active Adventures on the Kauri North Island trip with our tour guide Andy. An excellent variety of hikes, water activities, and mountain biking with a backdrop of fantastic ocean, forest, and mountain scenery. The accommodations and meals were great. But best of all was our experienced guide Andy who led the hikes, provided the right dose of New Zealand history and culture while driving us from one adventure to the next, and cooked us great meals. Well done! ”
    Michael Wellons – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, May 2018
  • Kiwi Adventures

    “The Kiwi trip is an excellent exploration of the South Island. Fantastic scenery, a great variety of relaxed outdoor activities, plenty of good food and great accommodations, and awesome guides from Active Adventures NZ.”
    Michael Wellons – New Jersey, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • Rimu New Zealand

    “What an amazing way to visit New Zealand. Lot's of driving but well worth it and was able to see most of the South Island. Hiking was amazing as well as the kayaking at Milford Sound. The guides, Carrie and Koru were both amazing and very patient with all of us. Places that we stayed were all very nice and the weather we had was amazing!”
    Brigitte Rosson – Texas, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Maximum Use of Vacation Time

    “Love the fact that every day there was so much to see and do in the great outdoors of New Zealand! The guides were not only tons of fun but also very knowledgeable about their awesome country. They knew how to efficiently revise the schedule when weather interfered such that every day was seamless from morning to night. Loved the fact the guides prepared healthy meals whenever it was necessary to keep to a time schedule. Would love to return again to take in the areas where mother nature's rainstorms impacted our ability to safely hike into some areas. Recommend this trip to anyone who loves being active!”
    Joan Berkowitz – Washington, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Manuka

    “An absolutely wonderful adventure and the people who made it exceptional where our two guides, Claire and Holly.
    Both were very organized, fun and professional!”
    Jeanne Keith-Ferris – British Columbia, CanadaManuka, May 2018
  • Kauri

    “Wow, we enjoyed our first leg of the journey through Active Adventures so much -- I am happy we went for the double header!
    We spent our entire vacation time with Active Adventures -- one whole month! Not a missed beat on the part of your company -- everything was executed perfectly -- thank you!”
    Jeanne Keith-Ferris – British Columbia, CanadaKauri, May 2018
  • Manuka trip March 2018

    “Wonderful trip, guides were great organisers and great company. They put huge effort into making it interesting and fun.”
    Brian Reilly – , United KingdomManuka, May 2018
  • Could Not Have Asked For A Better Holiday!

    “This trip was so amazing, that I did not know how badly I needed it until it was over and I returned home. New Zealand is a beautiful country and it was almost overwhelming how much we were able to see and explore in just two short weeks. Our guides were superb and challenged the scenery for title of best part of the trip. ”
    Justin Sheldon – Washington, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Exceeded our expectations - New Zealand is AMAZING!

    “We had never done a "guided" trip before and I now tell friends it the only way to go, especially with Active Adventures! First of all we cannot say enough about the amazing job all our guides did. They were so kind, knowledgeable, and caring in making sure we had the best experience on our tour. They were the best! They made each day an "Adventure" and shared their love and knowledge of New Zealand with us. On top of being super guides they also can cook! The meals that they prepared for us along the way were more than one would expect out of a chilly box. We looked forward to sharing these delicious meals together with our fun group. Traveling with our group in our mini bus was a pleasure. There was plenty of room, comfortable ride, good music and there was always plenty of fresh fruit, snacks and water available for us. The schedule is obviously well planned and we looked forward to each day and new Adventure that was scheduled. The guides were well aware of any limitations and worked around these so that we could still fully enjoy and make the most of the day. There were many days of feelings of accomplishment for doing what we did and we always slept well at night. We felt that this trip gave us a wonderful first time tour of the North Island. The accommodations that we stayed at were excellent. Always clean and comfortable and some had the most amazing views. It was always a treat when you spent two nights in the same place. When the guides weren't cooking, the places that we ate were always very good. My only complaint is with myself because I did not take the advise about how much clothes to pack and I packed way too much! The majority of the places we stayed had laundry facilities so we could do laundry. I am now much more aware of this for our next Adventure. We've travelled quite a bit in our 48 years of marriage and we tell people that this is the first time we can honestly say that we loved EVERYTHING about this trip, New Zealand and the people we met along the way.”
    Nancy Shaw – New York, United StatesKauri, May 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “After completing the 11 day Kauri trip on the North Island and having a week on our own, we met our group for the 14 day Kiwi tour of the South Island. It was a much larger group with diverse personalities and physical abilities. Once again we were blessed with two excellent guides who love what they do. We had a much larger group on this trip and Koru and Emma made sure that everyone's needs were met (and there were many!). Koru's knowledge about the Mauri culture and New Zealand was astounding. He was also aware of any limitations among the group and made sure that we made the best of every adventure we were doing. Emma was a great guide and super organizer in making arrangements for the day and in preparing meals for all of us and those with special dietary requirements. I don't know how she does it! The meals they prepared were always delicious. The bus was comfortable and once again we always had a plentiful supply of fresh fruits and snacks and water available for us. There was a considerable amount of driving on this trip so it was important to be comfortable. Our schedule was well planned and when adjustments had to be made because of weather our guides were at the ready with other options for us to do. All the activities were designed to meet everyone's abilities and give a sense of gratification upon completion.

    The accommodations we stayed at were great with the exception of the Makarora Lodges which were just a lot more rustic than what we had been used to.

    For us, doing the Kiwi tour was the best way to see and learn about the South Island.”
    Nancy Shaw – New York, United StatesKiwi, May 2018
  • Wildest Dreams!

    “The entire trip was beyond my wildest dreams. From the spectacular beauty of the country, the fabulous accommodations, the hiking adventures and our two awesome tour guides Ashleigh and Lauren. I did not want to leave the country and hope to be back for another breathtaking adventure in New Zealand with Active Adventures. ”
    Annette Hollingsworth – Texas, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Wonderful Trip in a Gorgeous Country!

    “Enough hiking and challenges to satisfy, yet still with opportunities to relax. Great sampling of the different parts of the South Island, a variety of activities & lodgings, delicious meals, and the best guides ever! Thank you, Jackie & Pepper!”
    DeAnn Ringgenberg – Texas, United StatesRimu, May 2018
  • Kiwi, March 2018

    “Our guides were fantastic, and of course the scenery and hiking were incredible. The people are friendly, and the country is not crowded or noisy. Several times on the trip, I thought, "Wow, I'm really enjoying being able to do this without the stress of driving, making hotel and dinner reservations, juggling hikes due to the fickle weather, etc." I would do it again in a heartbeat. I need to explore the North Island now!”
    Steve Palkovitz – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Tui March 2018 - Amazing trip!

    “This was the trip of a lifetime! I saw so many beautiful sites, enjoyed the company of a great group of people, and had the opportunity to experience some things I never thought I would. Everyone at Active Adventures did a wonderful job of making sure questions were answered and all details were sorted. Liana and Simon were excellent guides who made sure everything we needed was taken care of while at the same time being fun, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about everything New Zealand had to offer!”
    Theresa Pastoria – Michigan, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • New Zealand North Island Kauri Trip

    “Absolutely amazing. Had a fantastic time with our wonderful guide Andy. It was a great mix of activities - hiking oceanside, forests, and mountains, sand board surfing, snorkeling, and mountain biking. We even squeezed in a little ocean fishing, which Andy cooked up for our dinner. We really enjoyed being in a small group, which allowed for a lot of flexibility. New Zealand is gorgeous. ”
    Helen Wellons – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Tui Trip

    “This trip was wonderful, enjoyed every minute and it was so well organized. Our guides were the best.”
    Don Walker – Colorado, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Kiwi Trip

    “The combination of stunning vistas, welcoming companionship, super accommodations, and energetic guides (Koru and Emma) couldn't have been better. This trip was just what I needed. As described, some of the adventures asked me to step out of my comfort zone - sea kayaking, for instance. And, am I glad I did!!”
    Larry Martin – Georgia, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Perfect Guides

    “A really great trip. Very well organised with really friendly and helpful guides, excellent food and a great sense of camaraderie. The scenery and culture was wonderful and the trip built nicely to a climax.”
    Jack Levell – , OmanKauri, April 2018
  • Wonderful Guides, Great Trip

    “Had a fantastic time on this trip. Andy and Jo were fantastic and if the weather prevented us from doing one activity, then they always had an alternative. I was the one always bringing up the rear of the group on the trails and Andy and Jo always looked out for me and never made me feel I was holding anyone up. I am so glad I took this trip and tried all the activities. Cannot wait to go on another trip with this company.”
    Kathy Orta – California, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • NZ coming back!

    “Loved the bush hikes, the wind whipped alpine crossing, and the soothing mineral springs baths.”
    Michael Orta – California, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Best Trip Ever

    “Every day was a unique adventure. Great group, guides and landscapes. Looking forward to our next journey with Active.”
    Carmen Lamar – Colorado, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “Loved the trip. Lots of fun, education, and challenge. Great leadership by Holly and Claire”
    Don Ferris – British Columbia, CanadaManuka, April 2018
  • More Than I Ever Imagined

    “The depth of this trip was astounding: guides, itinerary, accommodations, our group, THE GUIDES, and the country. Daniel and Maddi orchestrated each day with finesse, talent, knowledge, humor and vigor; Maddi was exceptional in her attention to individual needs. I wish there had been an opportunity to stretch each day into two or three...”
    Susan Wade – Utah, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Do It!

    “Adventurous, challenging and varied days full of fun with a small group of entertaining travelers.”
    Susan Wade – Utah, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Mar 4 2018 Weka

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime. I will never forget how well Nick and Elder took care of us all. Very caring and fun.”
    Maggie Steder – Wisconsin, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Tui Trip Review

    “Our Tui trip was fantastic. A great group of travelers from age 19 to 70 ish.
    James and Carrie, our guides, could not have been better, as they shared their knowledge and stories of New Zealand. We enjoyed their good humor and enthusiastic leadership. When some bad weather interfered with the daily plan, headquarters and our guides did a great job in providing for our comfort, safety, and finding a way to enjoy our day. This 8 day trip provides a great introduction to the beauty of the South Island.”
    Paul Tichenor – Michigan, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Mother Daughter Trip to New Zealand - Tui Trip March 2018

    “I can't tell you how fantastic this trip was for my 21yo daughter and I. I had done a lot of homework on this trip and couldn't imagine doing it any other way than with Active Adventures.
    The guides made our trip. They were enthusiastic and attentive every minute!!
    Our accommodations were clean and comfortable. Our excursions were well thought out and we even stopped along the way for a daily added detour which was great.
    I would recommend this to any who want to see and do a lot in the short amount of time we had.
    Nice job Active Adventures!”
    Kim Delamont – Colorado, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Rimu 2018, We will Always Remember!

    “An outstanding trip that met all my expectations and so much more. Our guides Ash, Lauren and Pepper were truly outstanding and made the trip one in a lifetime. I close my eyes and I can see the sights and smell and taste NZ. From hiking in Nelson Lakes National Park to kayaking and biking, it was all wonderful.
    We will be back....”
    Romana Davies – Texas, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Outstanding, Attentive Guides

    “We had a great tour including an amazing variety of terrains with beautiful scenery. I especially loved all the waterfalls. We had outstanding guides who were very attentive, professional and efficient.”
    Judy Evans – Wisconsin, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Perfect Way to Pack South Island Awesomeness into 7 days!

    “The title says it all. If you have a week to hit the highlights, this is the prefect trip. The route and sites selected were ALL amazing. The activities were accessible to a wide range of active abilities, and the guides were hands-down the best adventure guides I’ve had. Besides the incredible beauty the South Island offers at every turn, there were a few things that stood out for me that make Active Adventures the right choice. 1- Group size was perfect. 2- the logistics management of the guides. The guides are masters at anticipating your fun level and changing things up if needed (such a socked-in rain). 3- speaking of guides, they are knowledgeable, personable, and professional. They kept us on track and entertained. I can’t say enough about them! 4- Food and coffee is always flowing. I was always fed and prepped for activities with plenty of delicious New Zealand coffee stops. Also, much of the meals were made delicious and fresh by the guides! Active Adventures knows what they are doing, and it shows in the quality of their tours. Booking with them is a no-brainer! We’ll definitely be booking with them again.”
    Melissa Reyes – Texas, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • What an Adventure!

    “If you are looking for an escorted outdoor adventure, this is it! New Zealand's South Island is beautiful! Our guides, Daniel and Maddi, were wonderful. They have so much knowledge about the area and are always one step ahead. Just bring your active self, comfortable gear, and sit back. Active Adventures has the rest. We did the optional 3 day kayak package. You will not be disappointed! Thanks Active Adventures!”
    Renee Soerink – Washington, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • One of the Best Guided Adventure Trips

    “I’ve taken several trips overseas with different tour companies and Active Adventures is definitely the best! The guides Ash and Lauren were unbelievable! They made sure all of our dietary requirements were met and all of the meals (even during backpacking) were delicious and the best! They were amazingly strong (I don’t think any of us could have carried their packs) and Pipa (the 3rd guide who was with us due to our group size of 13) even carried another hiker’s 25lb pack plus her own! Ash was super knowledgeable with NZ’s history, trees, birds, local must eats and dos. They even provided us a list of restaurants to go to in Queenstown during our free day (I ended up spending 3 full days there after the trip and ate at most of the places on that list and every one of them was delicious!) they made the trip even more special besides the incredible scenery and the hard work of getting to the huts! The accommodations were excellent just wished we had more time to enjoy them!”
    Jessica Lo – Washington, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Best of the South Island

    “From start to finish, our trip was amazing. Starting with our knowledgable and capable guides who kept us on our Kiwi toes!! Jackie and Carrie were marvelous. Their attention to detail was amazing whether we were beginning a Great Walk or taking care of our meals. They exceeded my expectations for sure, as did the entire trip. New Zealand is a beautiful country and this was a great way to enjoy it!”
    Susan Hidalgo – North Carolina, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Stunning and Gorgeous

    “It was hard to return from the high of this trip. Every day held a new adventure. The scenery was stunning at all points. The food was delicious whether we ate out, or the guides cooked for us.
    Early in the trip a cyclone hit the West Coast where we were headed and the guides, with help from the home office, recovered quickly and seamlessly. This was the case two other times during our 14 days when the weather didn't cooperate. We're planning future trips!”
    Carrol Murray – Nebraska, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • "Sweet As" South Island Rimu tour with Ash & Astrid

    “Wow, the south island of New Zealand is "sweet as". Rimu takes you on an incredible trip of amazing sights... it is a good mix of physical challenges (don't underestimate the Nelson Lakes multi day hike or the "staircase" climb at Aoraki/Mt. Cook...challenging hiking days but with stunning natural views), satisfying food and frequent breaks during the travel days. Highlights include the two overnights at the Braemar sheep station by Lake Pukaki, Milford Sound experience, visit to the working sheep farm on Lake Wakatipu near Queenstown and the overnights at Lakehead and Angelus Huts in Nelson Lakes. Both Ash and Astrid are lovely young women who are confident and patient guides and are good ambassadors for the beauty of New Zealand and friendliness of the Kiwis. Plus they can tackle a tough hike then drive or cook for the group without any seeming effort. It was a fabulous trip and I can't wait to return to New Zealand with another Active Adventures tour.”
    Kristin Certain – Florida, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Enjoyable and Accommodating

    “I've been on a lot of group tours, and this one by far was the most enjoyable. The scenery was stunning, the activities were easily adaptable for a variety of exertion levels, the guides were friendly, informative, and super organized. I was also very impressed by the on-the-fly creation of a modified itinerary for the two group members whose flight was delayed so that they didn't miss any of the sights. I will definitely travel with Active Adventures again!”
    Jennifer Lange – California, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Yes to the North Island of New Zealand

    “About 7 years ago I spent over a month in the South Island and always planned on hiking in the North Island. This was the year. Active Adventures helped to make it a special trip, one that I will never forget. The hikes, other activities, accommodations, guides were excellent.”
    Kathy Gallo – Illinois, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Fabulous Overview of the South Island

    “This was a terrific trip which provided a fabulous overview of the South Island and included a fun range of activities (hiking, kayaking, boating, glacier trek, etc.) The small group size of 12 people was especially nice and guides Claire and Lauren were amazing. Claire (our lead guide) is a treasure. She is incredibly knowledgeable about the history of New Zealand and its various localities as well as the landscape we were experiencing. She included historical legends about different areas of the island which really was fun and she spontaneously added stops along the way such as the Chasm near Milford sound and a pub in Cardrona. She and Lauren were very attuned to the groups needs and exuded nothing but positive vibes throughout the trip. It also was particularly fun hiking portions of three different Great Walks as they are all so different.”
    Robin Werner – California, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • South Island Could Not be Better

    “We had a wonderful time on the South Island. The scenery, activities and accommodations were fantastic. It is truly a paradise, clean, sparsely populated. In addition, our guides were incredible. Knowledgeable, enthusiastic and a lot of fun!”
    Bob Goeltz – Missouri, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Wonderful North Island Trip

    “We had a great time on the North Island. Some great activities and very good guides.”
    Bob Goeltz – Missouri, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • South Island is Utopia

    “Well worth your money... Don't hesitate to go... the South Island is Utopia. Spectacular scenery everywhere, clean air, clean water, fresh food, variety of activities. I am 61 and had the time of my life on a jet boat, helicopter, 6-seater plane, sea-kayaking, biking. Slept in a hut, on a boat. Guides were fun, friendly, well-informed, responsible. Loved it and want to go back”
    Geri Goeltz – Missouri, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Wonderful Trip

    “Delightful exploration of many South Island treasures. Active Adventures knows how to pace each day for a fulfilling and enjoyable experience. Expert guides leave no room for disappointment!”
    Kevin Werner – California, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Adventure of a Lifetime! Bucket list✅

    “Claire & Holly’s Most Excellent Adventure! I felt privileged to be on their Manuka Tour. The guides can either make or break a trip, so I was thrilled to experience the best! I’m so impressed with their knowledge, fun spirit, culinary skills, and especially, their attention to details! I couldn’t believe how they catered to each individual’s needs or preferences! Of course, the scenery and hikes were amazing everywhere we explored! How can you go wrong with New Zealand landscape?! Top notch all the way!”
    Kathy Viola – California, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Manuka 2018

    “Our guides, Claire & Holly, were very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and helpful in every manner. They made the experience quite rewarding.”
    Ed Wiest – California, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • A Wonderful Trip

    “It was a wonderful trip. Our group was really fun and Holly & Claire are both real gems. We could not have been happier.”
    Tim Conarro – Colorado, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Excellent Taste of the South Island Walks

    “The 5 day Takahe trip was the perfect sampling of the South Island. Claire and Holly took great care of everything allowing us to take in the amazing and overwhelming beauty. Even when it rained 2 inches on us in one outing, they kept the group spirit high, kept us on track and made sure we got to still enjoy the sights. They personalized the trip, making sure we got great insights into history, culture and the plant/wildlife that make this place unique. Active Adventures did a great job preparing a wonderful itinerary, letting us know what gear we'd need and ensuring we got everything in on time. Logistics can be hard, but they made it snap!”
    Melissa Delvecchio – Oregon, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • So Much to Say Because the Trip was Beyond Great

    “This was a trip I had begun dreaming about over forty years ago. The two weeks went so fast and were so much more than I had imagined. The scenery was spectacular: rain forests, mountains, pristine lakes, clear rivers, waterfalls, range land, rolling hills, farmland, the Tasman Sea! Just as your brochure explains but in person the scenery is so much more. Active Adventures deserves credit for making our two weeks such an awesome experience.
    Each day we were given a variety of choices so we could ride or hike as little or as much as we wanted and most of us rode! Then our outstanding guides, Nick and Elder had a few surprises along the way like Glow Worm Caves, Hokitika jade, real made-in-front-of-you fruit ice cream (from the fruit you pick), the Espresso Bomb trailor (NZ knows how to make great coffee!) and endless waterfalls! Since this is more of a bicycling tour it is not surprising my husband and I spent the weeks in a group of eleven equally enthusiastic bicyclists (with a wide range of skill levels and needs) being guided by Nick and Elder, extraordinarily talented cyclists, hikers, coaches and guides. Nick and Elder seemed to work round the clock making sure everything was perfect for all of us and much of our joy from this trip come from their unending efforts to make it the best for each of us. Nick kept us briefed on what was next, what the weather might be like (always carry an extra layer in NZ as it is so unpredictable!), and he made us all feel safe and relaxed as he drove the narrow roads in NZ. Thanks, Nick! Elder, as “tail-end Charlie” encouraged those of us who lagged behind often just wanting to stop and take more photos. Sometimes he aided by taking photos, giving us riding tips and other times he simply let us know we were doing fine and it was okay to go at a slower pace. For me this was critical as I have been involved in three separate accidents (two involving vehicles and one caused by another cyclist) and can become inexplicably anxious. Nick and Elder were both non-judgmental when I chose to ride in the van a few times. Other times I surprised myself (as well as them I think) by taking off and zooming ahead absorbed in the scenery. Nick and Elder, aka “brothers from different mothers” are terrific cooks (breakfast, lunch and dinner), wonderful guides to the local places (I’m drooling just thinking of the Arrowtown Bakery’s delicious pies), and wonderful about keeping our van stocked with fruit and nutritious bars as well as NZ treats (hokey pokey, pineapple lumps). They kept our van windows clean (so critical for great photos) and even fixed the noise (someone stored rocks in the overhead?). Elder and Nick helped identify what we were seeing, told us Maori tales, fed us information on NZ and answered our questions. There were also numerous books for us on NZ in the van. Nick even took the time to consult his grandfather on one question. We shared riddles and answered their quizzes. Elder brought in his own perspective as a native of Peru (where my husband had lived as a child) and a guide in Ecuador and Nepal.
    Our group really bonded and cheered for each other. Near the end of the trip we called the office to see about getting the entire group their own Weka bike jerseys and we were successful much to the amazement of Nick and Elder (who totally deserve a percentage of the sales). It is really due to their love of NZ, bicycling and people as well as the support of the entire Active Adventures staff that we all had such a great time and wanted the Weka jersey as a way to keep the memories of our trip alive. Thanks to the entire team at Active Adventures!”
    Millie Meyer – New Mexico, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Great Way to Sample 3 of the Great Walks

    “Our guides, Holly and Claire, were knowledgeable, enthusiastic, fun and well organized. We would recommend this to anyone of any age (we're in our 70's) who enjoys wilderness hiking and climbing and viewing the beauty of New Zealand's Fiordland. They were great at keeping our group on track and cohesive in spite of the widely different paces of participants.”
    Dan Cope – Florida, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Hiking New Zealand

    “Wonderful trip with outstanding guides.”
    Carol Lindahl – Arizona, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • A Total Delight

    “Everyone knows New Zealand will be gorgeous, but this trip was fabulous mostly because it was so well planned by Active Adventures, and so incredibly well led by our two guides, Katie and Astrid. They made everything seamless, positive and light, encouraging us in the tougher hikes all the while making endless arrangements and great food behind the scenes. They seriously upped the fun quotient. This knitted our group together and made us realize we were truly on the vacation of a lifetime.”
    Paula Alvary – Massachusetts, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Amazing Adventure

    “This was a wonderful trip full of daily activities and lots of fun. Our guides, Daniel and Maya, were terrific and very knowledgeable. The best part was the 3 day trek which took us through some beautiful country and was really challenging. Cannot say enough about the trip and our trekking group as everyone was encouraging and always there to help.”
    Nancy Cooper – Ontario, CanadaRimu, April 2018
  • Comfort Zone

    “The most memorable thing that I've taken from my Active Adventure trips to New Zealand is that you're going to see and do things that will completely take you out of your 'comfort zone' and 'thrill you'. You're not sitting on a bus, and 'staring through glass at new worlds'... You are actually hiking those mountains, biking through those rainforests, and kayaking through those glacier lakes. At the end of the day, you and your fellow adventurers are sharing a glass of wine and feeling really proud about what you accomplished as a team. The guides are magnificent. They're with you every step of the way, and they prepare the most wonderful snacks, lunches and meals when that day is done. Their attention to detail and service is simply amazing. I doubt anyone could provide me a better time on vacation.”
    Johnnie Walker – Connecticut, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Rob's Rimu Review

    “The trip exceeded my expectations! It was the most fun I've had in a two week period. The hiking was enjoyable, and occasionly very challenging. Overall NZ is breathtaking via a hiker's perspective. Apart from the hiking spending time with my fellow travellers was very enjoyable, and our guides Ken and Pepper really made the trip as enjoyable as possible. Can't wait to go again with Active Adventures!”
    Rob Bozic – New South Wales, AustraliaRimu, April 2018
  • Kiwi Adventure

    “Wonderful guides in Jackie and Carrie. They bent over backwards for us!”
    Hector Hidalgo – North Carolina, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Incredible!

    “How does one begin?! NZ had been number one on my bucket list since before retiring almost 2 years ago. While eagerly awaiting my 'Weka' Trip, little did I imagine it would exceed my excited expectations! Beginning with Elder and Nick, our 2 excellent young guides, to the itinerary, equipment, gourmet meals, top-notch accommodations and congenial group, I could not have asked for a better balance of cycling & hiking adventures and touring sites. Elder and Nick’s hard work and planning 24/7 were key in making this such a fantastic trip! They demonstrated concern for everyone’s safety and welfare, expertise in biking and hiking, knowledge of the sites, NZ and history, and gourmet cooking skills. They encouraged and guided. Above all their integrity, patience, love of NZ and sense of humor made for an unforgettably fantastic experience.
    Thank you!”
    Deby Six – California, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • March 'Kiwi' 2018

    “New Zealand sells itself. We could have rented a van like so many others and had a good time. However, our hosts, Jackie and Carrie, took us to the best places and the most authentic vendors. After our trip I felt like we had experienced the best of the South Island.”
    Bill Sandercock – Arizona, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • A Great Adventure

    “My expectations were exceeded by this 8 day “Tui” adventure. With great weather and interesting travelling companions, my husband and I had a fabulous time. Our guides/leaders/cooks, Katie and Astrid, kept us entertained, informed and well fed throughout the entire week. Congrats to Active Adventures for being committed to showing people from other countries just how beautiful the South Island of New Zealand is. This “Tui” trek was simply a trip of a lifetime for someone who grew up on the prairies in Canada and now lives in Toronto.”
    Chris Conacher – Ontario, CanadaTui, March 2018
  • Amazing Guides

    “Our guides, Carrie and Jackie were amazing! They are great ambassadors for your beautiful country. Working as a team, they were on the spot for every detail. The meals were delicious and the accommodations were great. Not even a "wee bit of rain" dampened our adventure.”
    Irma Sandercock – Arizona, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • Hiking through the Land of the Long White Cloud

    “After living 20 years in S.E. Alaska, walking in the rain was something I was hoping to avoid. But the spectacular views made it worthwhile and on clear days it was breathtaking. One of those clear days was Mt Cook and though all those steps to the overlook seemed a little daunting the view was worth it. Claire and Emma are outstanding and I doubt you could find a more competent pair. When option 1 and 2 were both closed because of slips (slides) Claire found an outstanding option 3. The friendliness of the people, lack of trash, clear drinkable water from nearly all lakes and streams, good food, beautiful scenery,and great leaders and companions made for a great trip.”
    Bob McGregor – Washington, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • Great Adaptation to Changing Conditions.

    “We had a wonderful time on the Kiwi trip. I was especially impressed with how well Button, Liana, and the AA team handled the situation when a cyclone stranded us briefly in Franz Josef and closed the road we had been planning to take. We didn't necessarily see exactly the same places we were scheduled for, but the replacements were fun too. It was a great job of dealing with a difficult situation. And Milford Sound is a spectacle beyond belief.”
    Doug Sprugel – Washington, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • Incredible Trip

    “The Tui trip was absolutely incredible. I couldn't have imagined a better way to explore New Zealand's South Island. It was an 8 day whirlwind of adventure, and everything was impeccably coordinated. Simon and Liana took care of every detail, while making sure we all had a blast. The accomodations were unique, the food was plentiful, and the days were jam-packed with memorable activities. It was an unforgettable experience - thanks Active!”
    Brittany Gibbons – Nevada, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Tui Adventure

    “This trip was all I had hoped for and then some. I expected beautiful scenery and exciting activities, but I did not expect the personal touch from our guides. One of the group members mentioned chips and salsa... that night we had chips and salsa to go with our appetizers. They knew I love birds, so I was introduced to every bird possible - along with descriptions of the birds’ personalities and habits. There seemed to be no end to Dani and Emma’s knowledge about New Zealand and that made a huge impact on our trip! We all felt like family by the end of the week, and for a person traveling alone, that is a wonderful gift!”
    Janet Slover – Texas, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Hike + Bike South Island

    “Our Weka trip was AWESOME from start to finish. The South Island has so many wonderful locations, and all those we rode or hiked through were outstanding. The trip avoided crowded locations for all but the most iconic venues - Aoraki, Milford Sound - which I certainly appreciated. The result was a feeling of remoteness most fitting for an adventure trip. As a competitive mountain biker, I was worried that the rides would be too tame and boring. Not the case! The surroundings were always deeply interesting, and I was able to add riding in various ways to get a great workout every day. The capper was our day off in Queenstown, when (together with our guides Nick and Elder, and cheered on by Ellie and Tess) I was able to race in the Motatapu MTB Race! WAY too much fun.
    Our tour group really came together, laughing and cheering each other on for the whole 14 days. Some really great conversations in the bus, on the trail, at meals. Folks went out of their way to support and encourage each other. This was set in motion by our fabulous tour guides, Nick and Elder. They made every aspect of the trip fresh and exciting, from natural history, to human history, geology, current NZ conditions. Great senses of humor, really engaged every one of us. Managed the whole trip with impeccable dexterity - so pro! Yet so spontaneous. And, not to be taken for granted at all, Nick is a great driver.
    We will gladly look to tour with you all again, especially a bike trip.”
    David Redding – California, United StatesWeka, March 2018
  • How Will We Top This?!

    “I was a bit anxious about our trip, since we've never gone on a guided tour before. But Katie and Astrid quickly put aside any worries. The trip was amazing and the scenery beautiful. Our guides were wonderful - they were competent, entertaining and fun. They have set the bar high for any future vacations - how will we top this?”
    Monique Scharlotte – New Hampshire, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Our Perfect Vacation!

    “We’ve been home from our Kauri trip a couple weeks now and I’m still on cloud nine! This was the most amazing experience: the hiking was challenging but incredible, the food was exquisite, the scenery and beauty of New Zealand was pure paradise! My daughter and I began the trip as non-hikers and just wanted to experience a new place, we left as two people that plan to do many more hiking trips and can’t wait to join Active Adventures again. I can tell when I explain how great this trip was to my friends/family that they just can’t quite comprehend how perfect and amazing this trip actually was, I guess they will just have to join me next time! One last thing, our guides Andy and Jo were both incredible. They made every single moment of our time special, educational, and fun. From Andy’s explanations of everything “Kiwi”, to Jo’s delicious cooking, and everything in between, they really made our experience perfect!
    We can’t wait until we join you again!”
    Chris Rosman – Nebraska, United StatesKauri, March 2018
  • Active Adventure Sums it Up!

    “The company name pretty much sums up this trip "Active"! This adventure provides an excellent overview of the South island's geography, history and culture. Activities are diverse, varied and interesting. The full day schedules are extremely rewarding. Can't think of a better way to experience the South Island.”
    Bob Wigmore – British Columbia, CanadaRimu, March 2018
  • Loved the trip!

    “Surprised the age of the entire group was retired except for my wife and I. We had a blast. Lots of learning. Lots of good food. Lots of amazing hikes! Lots of cows. A decent amount of rain. Wouldn't change a minute of it (except maybe the rain...but that just became part of the experience.)

    Also, when they suggest bringing gloves for the Tongariro Crossing, they aren't kidding. Don't make that mistake. I ended up wearing socks at mittens. Thank goodness my guide was prepared! ”
    Nick Spears – Virginia, United StatesKauri, March 2018
Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure