Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

Keen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

We're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Best Trip Ever

    “My wife and I are travel agents, and we agree that this was our favorite trip ever - and we've been all over the world. The guides make the trip and James and Maya were fabulous. We're definitely going back to New Zealand. You can't see it all in one trip.”
    Joe Cereola – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Adventures in New Zealand

    “Nancy and I had a wonderful time on our Takahe Great Walks Discovery on December 16th thru December 20th. The hike thru New Zealand was part of a three month journey that started in Thailand in October -- saw us travel thru China, New Zealand and finish in Australia at the beginning of January, 2019. We finally arrived home here in the USA on January 10th. A highlite of our travels was our Takahe hiking trip thru New Zealand. We started to plan our trip last summer and wanted to include a trip to New Zealand. Who knew when we would ever be back in this part of the world again. At first, we had not included New Zealand as part of our three month trip. But we had several people tell us, that we really needed to check out New Zealand and how it was so different than Australia. We also had a family at our church, tell us about the hiking/camping trip they had taken thru New Zealand and how much fun and how beautiful it was. I believe that they also recommended Active Adventures as a place to make reservations and get information about a trip to New Zealand.
    The 5-Day Takahe Great Walks Discovery was just a good fit for us. It combined several hiking trips, with a night on Doubtfull Sound, while staying at lodges along the way. We really did not want to be camping along the way. This was a perfect trip for us.
    We had a wonderful time and saw some beautiful parts of New Zealand. Queenstown was gorgeous and staying and hiking in the Lade Te Anou was wonderful. These are two areas that if we ever get the chance, would like to come back to New Zealand and spend more time. Just a wonderful area.
    But what rally made our trip were our two guides, Tess & Kelsey. We met them Sunday morning and to our surprise, we were the only people on our trip. We just received so much attention from Tess & Kelsey and we had a fantastic time together. Also, the meals they prepared were terrific. It was a great time and we are very grateful for the chance to take this trip. ”
    Bill Hamill – Pennsylvania, United StatesManuka, January 2019
  • Best Experience Ever!

    “I didn't know it was possible to pack so much fun in such a small amount of time. Active Adventures surpassed my expectations of what could be accomplished in 8 days. How can you beat hiking, biking, jet boating, and flying amongst the most amazing and secluded scenery New Zealand has to offer? I am so glad I got to experience New Zealand as opposed to just seeing it. Our guides, Hailey and Ruby, were great. I felt safe and looked after the whole time. They took care of everything. On day one, I was asked about my food requirements. Bonus! They catered to my dietary needs. I came to this trip as a single traveler and felt right at home with my fellow adventure seeking enthusiasts. Thanks an awesome adventure!”
    Amy Ball – Ohio, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • A new bar was set...not sure it can be matched!

    “There is not one thing I can think of that Active Adventures could do better. The trip did what I had hoped: introduced me to the South Island through hiking, kayaking and biking. Everything was top notch, from the gear to the snacks to the lodging. The attention to detail from the planning team in HQ to the trip’s incredible guides, Ruby and Dani, was impressive. I’ve taken guided hiking trips before in other parts of the world, and Active Adventures is easily the best company I’ve ever used. The Rimu Tour was AWESOME. I didn’t want it to end.”
    Heather Forshey – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Kauri (first 5 days) - Five Days of Fun!

    “I added the first 5 days of the Kauri trip onto the backend of my Tui trip and it was the perfect compliment. While the south island had amazing and rugged scenery, the north island did not disappoint with it's beautiful coast lines and beaches! We hiked, sand boarded, and snorkeled our way across the north island while learning a lot about the Maori culture. I highly recommend doing both islands. Our guides, Greg and Clara, spoiled us. Thanks for a great time!”
    Amy Ball – Ohio, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • Rain, Green, Water, Grey, Cloudy, Sunny

    “At every turn in the road, and there were many, another surprise awaited. Whether a magnificent new vista, a rare bird, a splendid trail, or another story of the Maori People and their proud heritage, there was never a dull moment. The weather provided everything it had, but all in manageable doses. The rain came early in the trip but it assured us of more lush grass, and tumbling waterfalls. When the rain ended, the sun came out. Not too hot, not too cold, just providing light to another remarkable mountain. The clouds were the best anywhere. Changing in mood and speed, they danced with the sun and wind, turning to firey flames for hours as the sunset.
    Our guides were knowledgable, cheerful, and bent on everyone's enjoyment of a country they are justifiably proud to live in. Our group quickly merged into a team of comrades, quick with a joke, or pint, or encouragement on a tough hike. ”
    Michael McCoy – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Trip Of a Lifetime

    “The guides were very well prepared. Any question I had was answered about our New Zealand trip. The guides also went out of their way on many occasions to help everyone on the trip with just little things. We took the Tui trip and were very blessed with good weather for the trip. The food and accommodations were fine. My only concern is that since the bar has been set very high now then my next Active Adventures trip will have to be amazing plus.
    George Hurlbert – Nevada, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Lifetime Dream

    “Our trip was awesome & a dream come true. New Zealand is like heaven on earth. We had perfect weather & perfect tour guides. One of my favorite adventures was the plane ride over to Siberia--the view was incredible w/picture perfect scenery. For the hike out we had a beautiful sunshiny day...then a jet boat ride back to our original destination! I also enjoyed Milford Sound w/the overnight stay on the ship. The hiking trails were magnificent & worth every step of the way! The tour guides accommodated my vegan meals & were always interactive w/our group! We felt so welcome!”
    Gail Hurlbert – Nevada, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • A Learning Experience

    “This trip was extremely well done, with friendly and knowledgeable guides. Beyond seeing so much of the beautiful country, I left feeling like I had learned valuable information that I would have never gotten or appreciated otherwise!”
    Molly Madden – Arizona, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Beyond Expectations

    “I'd heard NZ was a beautiful country. Active Adventures, however, guided my group through an experience of outstanding, vast, intense natural wonders while also providing fun, excellent food, welcoming & comfortable accommodation, professional and wonderful guides, and they let us all hike or meander according to our own preference, all the while taking care to make sure we were all safe and accounted for. I could not have asked for a better outfitter for my first trip to New Zealand. I would most definitely travel with Active again.”
    Leslie White – California, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Donna--New Mexico

    “Wonderful trip. Hit the highlights of the South Island. Waterfalls everywhere we looked.”
    Donna Lentz – New Mexico, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Brain and Brawn

    “Had a great time hiking up and up and up and learning about the Maori culture.”
    Catherine Hatton – Ontario, CanadaKauri, January 2019
  • New Zealand Fiordland Sojourn

    “The perfect getaway. Superb vistas. Excellent guides. Seamless organisation. Wonderful, healthy! food. Flexible itinerary for different fitness levels.”
    Edna Hardeman – New South Wales, AustraliaManuka, January 2019
  • RIMU North - Christmas 2018

    “I have been fortunate to do a few adventure vacations around the world with different tour companies, and I will say that this was the best of them all. The itinerary included so many amazing places, one after another. Our guides (Dani and Ruby), were equally amazing in that they made the excursion feel like a "family" vacation in that they helped our group integrate and share the adventure together. They did a great job immersing themselves into our group, experiencing the whole thing with us while doing all of the leg work (okay, we had to hike ourselves), for us in regards to planning, getting us where we needed to be, and feeding us great food. I learned so much about the wonderful country of New Zealand, its people, history, plant life, wildlife, and more from Dani and Ruby. My appreciation for New Zealand has definitely grown. We did the 3-day hike has our option on the tour. It was a tough trek but well worth it. I enjoyed the mix of trekking, biking, and kayaking. I felt safe and well organized throughout the entire trip. I would not have changed a thing.”
    Brian McNeil – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Incredible Guides, Landscapes & Activities

    “Our trip with Active Adventures was phenomenal! Every detail was taken care of, yet still flexible to our needs. New Zealand is a stunning country with so much to do and see, and the guides were so knowledgable about the history, environment and culture. I'd recommend traveling with Active Adventures to anyone!”
    Kari Madden – Arizona, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “The trip definitely packs in tons of adventure. Saw so many things within such a short time period. In just one day, went from glaciers and mountains to rugged beaches. Every day was a new surprise.”
    Beth Rosenstein – Maryland, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Phenomenal trip!

    “Beautiful nature, fantastic guides, great group and activities!”
    Alexia Dorozynski – , Russian FederationRimu, January 2019
  • Everyone Needs a Little Zeal!

    “The guides with Active Adventures, New Zealand lead you through the heart and soul of New Zealand. Every day we were introduced to outstanding scenery, challenging but do-able hikes, bike rides, and kayaking. Food was thoughtfully prepared or provided, and needs were always anticipated. But this trip was beyond the basics of good food and good scenery. The vitality, the kick-ass, can-do, always smiling, leaders reminded us and re-introduced us to the art of having fun. I am grateful for the experience and will forever translate their Zealand spirit in my day to day living. This trip was more than a vacation, more than a sightseeing trip. In the beauty of nature and in the beauty of the leaders, sharing their honest selves, I re-acquainted myself with myself and things that I hold value and I will always be grateful. Tricia, Atlanta, Georgia”
    Tricia Stearns – Georgia, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Ultimate NZ Takahe Experience

    “It is impossible to effectively convey the impact of the Takahe (NZ) trip. Cruise Doubtful and Milford Sounds, trekking along sections of the Routburn, Milford and Kepler tracks and all in perfect weather. Knowledgeable guides made it a spectacular and informative trip. Now I understand why this region of NZ is regarded as one of the best trekking adventures in the world. No question!! ”
    Peter Gunning – New South Wales, AustraliaManuka, January 2019
  • A Trip of My Lifetime.

    “This was an excellent trip, above my high expectation, probably the best outdoors trip of my life (and I've done a lot). Super cool, professional, patient, knowledgeable, accomodating guides, Lauren and Hailey - I can not overstate how well they did their jobs. Beautiful and diverse country, fantastic scenery, excellent itinerary.”
    Mike Tsoupko-Sitnikov – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Wonderful Trip

    “We really enjoyed all the activity during the tour. The tour has a very nice pace to it. We cover a lot of ground and the guides are great and making stops along the way to experience a beautiful short hike or learn about Manuka Honey. We really liked the layout of the tour. One day we would go hiking and the next we would go kayaking. If we had a big hike one day, the next day would still be action packed but gave us time to recover. We can't wait to go on our next active adventure.”
    Kellie Bertsch Cereola – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Josh and Annika.

    “Josh and Annika were absolutely fantastic. Everything about the trip was great, but the two of them were the glue that brought all of the constituent parts together. ”
    Joseph Hewett – California, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • So Glad I Went!

    “I went as a solo traveler, and was worried about being isolated. But it turned out there were other solo travelers, and the group as a whole really came together.
    I am an avid kayaker, and one of the days of kayaking in Marlborough Sound may have been my best kayaking day ever. It was early in the morning, and the water was like glass. There were mountains in the distance and not a cloud in the sky. Just perfect!”
    Carole Gibson – North Carolina, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Rimu Dec 17-30/18

    “Fantastic trip! The sites, scenery and activities were all amazing. Packed two weeks but there was no way to see and do so much on our own. Our guides Dani and Ruby were second to none! They both made the trip extra special !”
    Phil Goldband – Ontario, CanadaRimu, January 2019
  • Tui trip 12/24 to 12/31/2018

    “The trip was amazing. We covered an incredible amount of terrain in the South Island in only a week! We did drive quite a bit but it was a perfect time to enjoy the beautiful NZ scenery and rest for the next outdoor adventure. The one day rest stop at Queenstown was perfect. Wonderful, fun and tourist friendly town and it gave us a chance to physically recover for the next phase of the trip. Terrific trip.”
    Dave Yee – Washington, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Tui - What a trip!

    “From the moment we met our guides Hailey and Ruby we felt completely welcome and cared for. Within 10 minutes our group of 10 strangers quickly became close friends, I've never seen anything quite like that before, and our guides played no small part in making that happen. The journey and activities were all fun, accommodations ranged from terrific to rustic but pretty much the best available for our locations. We never went hungry and most of the time, whether prepared by Hailey and/or Ruby, or by others, the food was excellent. In the end no one wanted the trip to end and even saw a few tears as each person or couple was dropped off, truly a trip of a lifetime!”
    Ken Hill – Texas, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • My Kiwi October, 2018 trip

    “Once Again...another Active Adventure trip that exceeded my expectations. I had a wonderful time with Maddi, Jackie and our group. We started out as strangers and became friends.
    I had to miss the trip in February due to breaking my foot, so I worried that I would not be able to keep up, but Jackie and Maddi were
    so compassionate and kind to my needs, that I kept up with the group with no problem.
    I look forward to another Active Adventure trip in the future. ”
    Kathleen Bowser – Ontario, CanadaKiwi, January 2019
  • Could It Get Any Better?

    “Fun and adventure beyond what I could have imagined. The captivating beauty of New Zealand, experienced in daily full monty submersion of diverse and amazing activities. Josh and Annika trumped and spoiled us with 5-star animated full-service aim-to-exceed (not just please) - as our guides, educators, facilitators, supporters, and friends. Entirely gobsmacked beyond testimony, this was far and away the very best trip I have ever had. Who can know or anticipate how rewarding and life-changing a trip and travel itinerary like this will be until you've lived it?”
    Karen Klix – Michigan, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • Kauri October 2018

    “I so really enjoyed the Kiwi trip, but the Kauri trip taken right after, took it up another notch in hiking, scenery and the energy of this fun group of new friends. The hikes we did over the 5 day challenged me, which I was so ready for. I didn't think the scenery could get any better than the south Island, but not to be disappointed, the North Island was so beautiful too. ”
    Kathleen Bowser – Ontario, CanadaKauri, January 2019
  • South Island Adventure

    “You certainly justify the "Active" in your name! Between the hiking, jet boats!, planes, cruising and biking, we did more and saw more than I thought could be fit into 8 days - and there was still free time for hang gliding, bungee jumping and patio therapy :). Jo and Andy were the perfect team of guides, bringing fun and a wealth of local knowledge that made the excursions that much more memorable. The memories of this trip will last a long time. ”
    Chris Coggans – Ontario, CanadaTui, January 2019
  • Slice of Heaven

    “The Rimu trip with Astrid and Pim as truly a Slice of Heaven (as the songs states) :) Everything was perfect: our guides (knowledgeable, fun and interesting people), the itinerary (flexible and versatile), the food (healthy and plenty of it), transportation (although I did like Kate better then Frank - sorry Astrid - more leg room)….I would do it again in a heartbeat!!! We have already told many friends about New Zealand and Active Adventures (and wear our ball caps proudly :)”
    Leah Bornstein – Colorado, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Adventure of Lifetime!

    “We knew NZ would be beautiful but the trip that Active Adventures gave us was amazing. Lauren and Kaleb were wonderful and we truly had the adventure of a lifetime!”
    Jackie Roach – Texas, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • A Lush Wonderland

    “We were only with the trip for 2 days and the weather was inclement, but Koru and Laura worked professionally to ensure we still had an amazing time in Mt Aspiring national park and central Otago and still got in some adventure and good hikes.”
    Fe Davies – Otago, New ZealandTui, January 2019
  • A Trip That Will Not Be Rimu-ved From Memory

    “It was my first time visiting NZ and what an experience! Truly enjoyed the scenery and wonderful company of the group. The trip would not have been complete without the intriguing story telling by MJ of each place we went and the interesting information shared about NZ's nature by both guides during the hikes. Very well-organized, well thought out and personally, well-fed trip. Only wished that I would have been able to Kayak further out at Milford sound and hiked further all the way to Alex's Knob. Overall, thank you to MJ and Liana for helping to create a very memorable first visit to NZ!”
    Rachael Li Xiujing – , SingaporeRimu, January 2019
  • Great Way to See New Zealand Beauty

    “Very good way to experience 4tracks in New Zealand. Well organized.”
    Randy Hoffman – California, United StatesManuka, January 2019
  • TRUELY AN ACTIVE ADVENTURE

    “My husband and I throughly enjoyed our RIMU trip in November 2018. The trip when very smoothly thanks to our friendly and experienced guides Kim and Astrid. Active Adventures provided great accommodations, superb food, and wonderful adventures. A great way to see and experience New Zealand.”
    Bonnie Leaf – Alberta, CanadaRimu, January 2019
  • Great Trip, Great Guides

    “The Kauri trip was well organized and well thought out. We saw a good part of the north island and had many fun adventures. Our guides Jo and Andy were the best. Andy is very informative on New Zealand history and Jo is a great cook.”
    Sarah Gray – Colorado, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • Super South Island

    “The Rimu trip was excellent. We had great weather and were able to see a good part of the south island. ”
    Sarah Gray – Colorado, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • RIMU Northbound 10-23 December 2018

    “I thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Our guides, Astrid and Pim, were just great, and they did an especially good job in responding to changing circumstances due to weather or other contingencies. I had travelled by car through the South Island 15 years ago but did not have the opportunity to hike, kayak or just 'get into the wild'. The RIMU tour provided a smorgasbord of activities and spectacular surrounds, and being able to hike, bike ride, kayak and horse ride all on the same tour was a unique experience. I can now return the South Island at some state in the future to go on more extensive hiking or kayaking tours in such magnificent locations as Milford Sound. ”
    Rob Bruce Webster – New South Wales, AustraliaRimu, January 2019
  • North of the South

    “This was my first trip to the North Island, though I've been to the South Island once with Active Adventures and once on my own. I thought that this was a great trip, and hit all of the highlights that I expected. We certainly kept moving (Active) through a range of diverse activities, so I wouldn't recommend this trip if your idea of a vacation is to sit on the beach. The trip leaders were outstanding, notably Annika's permanent optimistic and enthusiastic attitude, and Josh's can do spirit. Don't miss the optional SCUBA diving on "A Perfect Day". Surprising an octopus 18 meters down was a highlight of the trip. ”
    Steve Levy – Vermont, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “This trip exceeded my expectations! I was way out of my comfort zone since I am more of a couch surfer. Claire and Maya were excellent guides and supported us all the way and more!
    I highly recommend this trip!”
    Cindy Chua – Texas, United StatesKiwi, December 2018
  • Jim's Rimu Trip

    “Third Active Adventure; South America Patagonia and New Zealand Kauri trip. The planned itineraries, the location of the adventures, and the great guides which we had made the trips top notch. Maybe taking another one sooner than later.”
    Jim Gray – Colorado, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • A Fantastic NZ Experience, There Will Be Others!!

    “I had planned on sending a review of my trip prior to receiving this request. I was so busy telling so many
    people of the super time I had, I never found the time.
    Working in the airline industry, now in my 36th year, I have opportunities to travel that others don't, and I do.
    Have been many places, done many things. This NZ trip ranks near the top of the list, for many reasons.

    The primary reason the trip was so fantastic, Andy, the group leader. As I described my experienced to family, coworkers and friends. There were only 3 of us, (Romy , Chris and myself) I don't know if others had cancelled or whatever, does not matter, as we 3 basically had a private tour.

    I would describe Andy as a person who has a true passion for what he does. His detailed knowledge of the places we visited was quite remarkable. Each day bought a exciting new adventure, exactly what I signed up for. I had so many fun moments on the trip, not possible to list all of them, just know that I am absolutely
    and completely satisfied with the choice I made in selecting A.A. NZ .
    I am planning a return in 2019 or 20, perhaps doing the 2nd half of the trip.

    I met some of you in person, when I was in Queenstown (had a blast there)

    To summarize my trip I will say thank you Andy ! You were a enthusiastic, totally competent, well organized ,
    group leader, who also prepared delicious meals.”
    Bob Carroll – Texas, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • New Zealand lives up to the hype and Active Adventures is the perfect host to show it to you

    “The scenery is spectacular, the locals are so friendly, and Active's itinerary shows it to you in an action packed way!
    Every day we explored this amazing country by hiking a noteworthy trail, paddling the stunning waterways and even biking! Going on this kind of adventure is a great way to get up close and personal with a country and its people.
    Our guides, Leana and MJ, looked after us with great care and good humor. They also fed us well!
    It's no wonder New Zealand tops many folks' Bucket List - it deserves to be up there. And Active Adventures, based in New Zealand, knows the country better than anyones so you truly get an insider's curated adventure. I am well traveled and consider this trip to be a trip of a lifetime!”
    Kit Parks – North Carolina, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Add the North Island if you are already doing the South Island!

    “I had planned to spend an extra week in Queenstown and Christchurch on my own after doing the Rimu on the South Island, but when I found out three of the folks on my original tour were doing the 5 day North island add on, I was happy to find out that Active could fit me in. I'm so glad they did as they sure packed a lot into five days and the North Island is so different than the South! Andy and Jo were superb guides and with our small group, we were able to be nimble and even add in a few more treats!”
    Kit Parks – North Carolina, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Always Awesome!

    “Just like the previous 6 trips I've taken with Active, it was incredible! ”
    Ally Gaylor – Indiana, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Fantastic Adventure Buffet

    “This trip was perfect for my wife and me. We are both very athletic and have not done any of the world famous New Zealand tracks before. So, getting to hike one day each on the Routeburn Track, Milford Track, Kepler Track, and Ben Lomand, was about as good as it could get for us. In addition, the overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound was spectacular, and occasionally mystical. Our guides, Nick and Lauren were fun to be with and really know New Zealand. Nick drove and was very safe. Lauren was in charge of meals, and the food was consistently excellent. Accommodations excellent. The small group enabled us to feel very comfortable right from the start. ”
    Howard Hoffman – California, United StatesManuka, December 2018
  • December 2018 Trip

    “The trip was outstanding. My goal was to enjoy a sampling of what the South Island had to offer and this trip filled the bill. The boat tours of Doubtful and Milford Sounds were outstanding, as were the day hikes on the Milford, Routeburn and Kepler Tracks. I was incredibly impressed by the quality of the guides. Both Nick and Loren knew their stuff, and were outstanding cooks to boot! They were courteous, organized, safe and very aware of the particular needs of each client. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone with limited time to explore the wonders of the South Island.”
    Alan Burke – Washington, United StatesManuka, December 2018
  • New Zealand Wonderland

    “Our tour took us to the most amazing places. Such diverse landscape. New Zealand gave me a taste of our earth’s natural wonders. I loved every moment. New Zealand seems to do things right. Clean water! Fresh air!”
    Patricia Lynch – New Mexico, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Tui Trip Terrific

    “Our Tui Trip (Nov. 11-18, 2018) was fantastic. We really enjoyed all the hiking and especially, the plane ride, jet boat, & night on the Milford Wanderer. Our guides, Dan S & Pepper, were super: friendly & fun, but also professional & skilled. They drove the bus, cooked many great meals, organized all our activities, & answered all our questions, day after day. We highly recommend this trip.”
    Jim Callison – Georgia, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Beyond Amazing

    “Let's start with the fact that I am not a huge fan of the outdoors, my type of vacation is typically going to a beach and laying low. However, my husband really wanted to go to N.Z. for his 40th for a bunch of outdoor activities, which he loves to do. Knowing that this was really important to him and being a good wife I said I'd go along even if it was out of my comfort zone. I was excited, yet very nervous about the activities. I have never been more pleasantly surprised in my life!! Not only does N.Z. have the MOST beautiful and amazing scenery, they also have the NICEST people, starting off with our guides! James and Ruby were so fun and incredibly accommodating and great to be around. We also had a great connection with the other members of the group and are already planning a reunion. The guides make sure that every activity you can go at your own pace without a worry, one in the front and the other always with the last person. After every activity, I felt really excited that I had accomplished it and often didn't even notice that it was an exercise because the views are so incredible you actually forget. The food was amazing both made by our guides and in the restaurants. I would HIGHLY recommend this trip to EVERYONE, especially those that think it may not be their "cup of tea". It ended up being my "cup of tea" and then some!”
    Tracy Salter – California, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Active Adventures New Zealand RIMU

    “We had the best vacation ever! The scenery, activities, food, and our guides were exceptional. From hiking in Nelson Lakes, to kayaking in Milford Sound, to heli hiking on the Franz Joseph glacier, to hiking to Sealy Tarn, and staying at Braemar Station with magnificent views of Mount Cook - every day brought another awe inspiring appreciation of New Zealand.”
    Sheryl Kuo – Pennsylvania, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Acitve Adventures New Zealand Kauri

    “Our Kauri trip was a wonderful adventure as a 5 day add on to our RIMU trip.”
    Sheryl Kuo – Pennsylvania, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • Fun Time!

    “I had a fantastic time! Laura and Hailey were excellent guides, cooks, drivers and entertainers! Fun hikes, a great bike ride and several kayaking adventures added to make the trip worthwhile!! ”
    Helen Robinson – Oregon, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Amazing guides - Outstanding Adventure

    “We just completed the 14 day Rimu trip and it was incredible! Each day was somehow more amazing than the day before. We were so impressed with our guide’s passion for the outdoors, knowledge of the flora and fauna of New Zealand as well as the never ended support and five-star hospitality provided. The physical challenge was a perfect flow for me, and the sense of accomplishment when reaching our goal look-outs was a real high. The variety of great food and accommodations added to the adventure. Saving the best for last - the scenery was outstanding. The west coast in particular is gorgeous and Fiordland and Mt. Cook are staggering. ”
    Amy Youngs – Virginia, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Manuka Trip 2018

    “Great trip! We lucked out with the weather. We had one afternoon of rain the whole trip. We had a great time. Nick B and Lauren were exceptional guides. They make a great team. ”
    Kirk Girard – Ontario, CanadaManuka, December 2018
  • Beyond my Wildest Dreams!

    “Jackie and Pepper made this the trip of a lifetime. FABULOUS guides!

    This was the perfect way to see the South Island of New Zealand up close and personal. I learned a lot and got plenty of excercise. Somehow they struck exactly the right balance between activities and relaxation.

    For people who like excercise and the outdoors this is the perfect way to experience the unspoiled and breathtaking beauty of the South Island!”
    Bob Chortek – California, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Best Guides Ever

    “Nick and Lauren took care of every detail for our small group of 9. Their easygoing Kiwi personalities made for great teamwork. With Nick at the wheel and Lauren handling chef duties, we were in good hands always. The group was allowed flexibility so that stronger hikers could press on while others could meander and take a slower pace without feeling like they were holding up the group. They were also knowledgeable regarding flora, fauna, and all things New Zealand. Great memories thanks in large part to two great guides.
    John Hearne – Hawaii, United StatesManuka, December 2018
  • New Zealand Trip

    “Had a wonderful time! The food was great! Our guides Kim and Astrid were outstanding.”
    Sylvia Tang – California, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • An exciting challenge for anyone who wants to see the south island

    “We loved the Tui trip. We found it exciting with some challenges that left us exhausted at the end of the day. When we were looking for a tour, this is what we were searching for and we couldn't be happier that we found it for such a beautiful place. Our trip was fantasic and Simon and Kelsey made that happen!”
    Amy Poole – Ontario, CanadaTui, December 2018
  • The Scenery, The People, The Laughs....

    “Everything about this trip surpassed my expectations...the scenery, the guides and the other guests...
    I laughed the entire time...it was certainly one of the best trips I’ve ever taken!”
    James Silva – Massachusetts, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Outdoor Mindbending

    “Unparalleled scenic views, experiences, adventures, all in the hands of fit, fun, funny guides. Hard to top this.”
    Mark Patterson – Montana, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • An Amazing Trip

    “My husband and I enjoyed the trip enormously. The guides were terrific - both Kelsey and Simon were attentive and encouraging, kind and sympathetic when the hills became too steep and the sandflies too aggressive. We met lovely people, with whom we’d love to stay in touch.”
    Elena Patterson – Alabama, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • A Breathtaking, Memorable, and Fun Adventure!

    “Words alone cannot describe the amazing experience that was provided from this tour!”
    Trang Ngoc Le – California, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Great NZ South Island Adventure with Active Adventures!

    “My husband and I really enjoyed the Rimu trip. Laura and Hailey did an excellent job keeping the group happy and comfortable during the two weeks of our Rimu adventure in November 2018. There were 6 other people in the Rimu group and none of us knew each other before the trip but we enjoyed meeting new people and we all were on a good level of health and fitness needed for this active adventure. The hardest section for me was the cycling the one day for about 20 miles, but Laura and Hailey coaxed me through it and very beautiful scenery. A couple of my favorite parts of the trip were our visit to Milford Sound and Kayaking in Okarito lagoon near Franz Josef Glacier. We saw a range of birds there including some white herons, the royal spoonbill and paradise ducks!”
    Rebecca Dombcik – Washington, United StatesRimu, December 2018
  • Nov 13-24 Kauri Trip with Andy and Jo :)

    “wonderful trip made even better by wonderful guid and driver Andy and wonderful cook and guide Jo”
    Ken Marts – Colorado, United StatesKauri, December 2018
  • An Active Family Adventure

    “Friends of ours had visited New Zealand years ago. They informed us that it was THE place to go to have an active adventure. We had dreams of hiking, whitewater, sleeping in cabins and more. When lady luck gave us the opportunity to travel to that remote destination, we searched for a simple way to fulfill those dreams. We certainly found the right spot.

    We are not, by definition, an outdoor family that goes backpacking every week-end *or any week-end*. Yet, we wanted to enjoy this type of life for a week. But, we needed a bit of help. The logistics behind putting this together was beyond our means with our busy regular life. So, we jumped and decided to go against our normal grain and book a trip with an agency.

    What we found was great. We had Astrid and Hailey as our 2 guides. Both of them were jewels in their own rights. They pushed us beyond our limits (go Oli, you CAN make it to the top of the valley). They kept us safe (always a watchful eye during river crossings). They made us laugh (Tim Tams and Slice of Heaven come to mind). They led us to discover hidden beauties (Siberia Valley was our best spot). What we found in New Zealand met the huge expectations that we had set for ourselves. The kids even forgot all their electronica for a little while. Beautiful!

    If you have the funds, this is certainly a great trip. Enjoy!”
    Robert Drolet – Aichi, JapanTui, December 2018
  • Best Choice We Could Have Made

    “This was our first tour with AA, and we are so glad we made the choice to see New Zealand this way. Our guides were so knowledgeable, explaining wildlife, flora, and the cultural significance of so many things. It was great being able to go on vacation and not have to worry about anything. They took wonderful care of us and even gave us a little surprise on our anniversary.”
    Amy Poole – Ontario, CanadaKauri, December 2018
  • Tui Trip, November, 2018

    “First of all, New Zealand is a beautiful country that must be seen and experienced. Couple that with awesome guides and a great itinerary and you get a fantastic trip. Lots of time just being a passenger the first couple of days. But we did do short hikes to break up the hours. However, the scenery is wonderful so the hours went by fast. The weather was quite variable. I think we saw all seasons on our trip. But it was spring at the time so that was expected , and also forewarned by Active Adventures. Probably good to have some hiking experience. The Crucible Lake hike (Day 3?) is listed as about a 4 mile hike with about a 2000 ft elevation gain. However, the first two miles is down the valley, so it's all flat. Then, about a 900 ft elevation gain in about 3/4 mile, pretty much hand over hand on tree roots, and branches grabbing here, then a steady climb to the lake. We also crossed streams a few times that were a couple of times nearly as deep as our knees. Lots of hours in soggy boots. I suppose you could insist on changing into Tevas. But we cross enough streams that I think changing footwear that many times would add too much time to the hike. Just have dry socks and sandals ready for the end of the day. However, Crucible Lake is worth the effort. Once we got past the steep bit the sight of the glacier carved valley and the rock formation that buttressed Crucible Lake are sights to behold. The lake was mostly frozen when we got to it. That was pretty cool. We were fortunate that this day was sunny then overcast and cool. Perfect for the flight in (which was spectacular) and the hike. I also highly recommend the helicopter option to Franz Joseph Glacier. Definitely the easiest walk all week. We spent a lot of time just standing around since the contracted guides were doing all the work cutting steps. But the experience of the being on the glacier is hard to explain. We're glad we did. Milford sound is stunning. Lives up to the billing for sure. Hike up to Key summit (Day 6 or 7) is one of those hikes with a lot of "bang for the buck". Not a difficult hike on a great trail but the views are amazing. We opted not to do the optional hike on Day 5, the day off at Queenstown. It was pouring down rain that day, anyway. (That's my excuse). But we went wine tasting instead. Lots of stuff to do at this cute resort town anyway. I'd give Kaleb, Lauren, and Emma, our guides, 10 stars out of 5. They were just wonderful. They were knowledgeable, very friendly, very accommodating, and just really nice people. They worked their butts off. They also had great leadership and group management skills. It was like herding cats at times during our adventures, I'm sure. The contracted guides for the glacier tour and sea kayak paddle were also great. We were also lucky to be in a group that had really good chemistry too. Wonderful scenery, awesome guides, great traveling companions. Wonderful trip !!!”
    Rene Buendia – Washington, United StatesTui, December 2018
  • Kauri Trip

    “Fantastic trip. Andy is a wealth of information and Jo’s smile and enthusiasm were infectious. Good guides really make the trip. We had days with less than optimum weather but they made sure we had a wonderful time.”
    Stuart Bowser – Ontario, CanadaKauri, December 2018
  • They Call Themselves Active Adventures for Good Reason

    “Our recent Tui Active. Adventure. certainly lived up to its name--the active adventure of a lifetime. We had an amazing experience with one of Active's competitors 1 1/2 years ago and so our first impulse was to book with them again. We chose Active instead because who better to show us New Zealand than a company that has its roots there. The Tui Active Adventure gave us an introduction to some of the very best that New Zealand's South Island has to offer. While that alone was glorious, the thing that sets Active apart is its people. From the time we first started exploring trip options to the good-bye hugs with our Guides at the end--everyone has been amazing--warm, genuine, patient (oh, so patient), resourceful, knowledgeable, and caring--wonderful in every way.”
    Tam McClelland – Georgia, United StatesTui, November 2018
  • Kauri

    “Jo and Andy were great. Andy is so knowledgeable on so many NZ subjects and has a great delivery. I wound up calling him 'Google Andy'. He added greatly to the tour as a learning experience. I particularly appreciated his natural history knowledge, being something of a naturalist myself. Jo is beautiful at looking after her charges -- feeding us well and mothering (in a nice way) the tardy, the forgetful and the lost.”
    Marilyn Williams – Washington, United StatesKauri, November 2018
  • Beautiful Country, Great Way to Experience it.

    “The scenery in New Zealand is amazing and our guides were incredibly knowledgeable about everything and did their best to get us to see the South Island. Food was a excellent, more than half the meals were cooked by our guides. When we stayed in hotels, they were mostly 4 and 5 star, except when we were in a hut or in a remote area. Everything went off without a hitch.”
    Ed Tang – California, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Rimu November 2018

    “Fantastic time. Kim and Astrid were awesome guides! Great food with lots of activities to burn calories. Accomodations very good.”
    Wayne Hall – Colorado, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Karen Cox

    “”
    Karen Cox – Colorado, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • "Not all those who wander are lost"

    “Wow, this was a wonderful trip! The Rimu trip consisted of just the right proportions of adventures and pampering. This trip showcases so many beautiful features of the South Island that it makes your head spin. Seeing each new site was just as fun as sitting around the dinner table talking and laughing with Liana, Laura, and the rest of our small, cozy group. Liana and Laura were equal parts fun guides and sources of information. Both guides went out of their way personalize each adventure, whether it was retrieving green lipped mussels from a local mussel farm to simply allowing a little more time to explore a fruit farm. We were very impressed by the amount of knowledge they were able to provide on a wide variety of topics. " What type of tree is that?", "Why so many flightless birds?", etc, etc... Our guides were world class ambassadors of New Zealand. They made sure that we experienced all that the island had to offer. ”
    Elizabeth Love – Missouri, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Tui Trip

    “Our family of 4 had a superb 8 day trip with our 2 excellent guides, Tess and Clara. We renamed our group with our other team member, Annie,’plan B’ as the itinerary was changed 3 times due to the weather. With such a small group, due to the flexibility and willingness of our guides, we were still able to do pretty much everything we had planned, just in a slightly different order! Tess and Clara completely spoiled us with delicious meals, even in remote mountain huts ! It is difficult, looking back, to choose a favourite activity as they were so varied ; suffice to say we loved them all and enjoyed learning about NZ , it’s history ,culture and nature from our guides as we drove around. A first class trip I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend. ”
    Helen Tucker – Devon, United KingdomTui, November 2018
  • Amazing Kiwi Trip Oct2018

    “”
    Terry Jendon – Georgia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • You Can be a Kiwi!

    “We saw and learned to appreciate all things NZ. The itinerary was great and Nick and Ruby thoughtfully made adjustments when necessary to fit weather and timing conditions as they arose. The selection and pacing of activities was very well planned. The attention to detail was exemplary, including the birthday party decorations in the van and occasional music selections cued to the scenery. We all got along very well and enjoyed each other's company. The food Ruby prepared was delicious and very nicely presented. Nick was well informed and a great driver. He even searched out answers to my questions about some of the plants we saw. I personally enjoyed the satisfaction of being able to match the aspects of some of the activities that were a bit more challenging for me than they were for others (e.g. I hadn't ridden a bike that far in over 50 years). I was glad that we easily kept pace with the others on the hikes.”
    Gary Wallace – California, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Takahe Hike

    “Our trip with Active Adventures was awesome. Even with my arthritic feet I was able to most of the hiking. The beauty around us took my breath away. The organisation from Active Adventures and our guides - Lauren and Kim - was excellent.
    Would highly recommend the company.”
    Jane Landey – Gauteng, South AfricaTakahe, November 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Our north island NZ trip was amazing! The sheer beauty of the surroundings, the itinerary that AA put together and our guides made each and everyday fantastic. The hiking was breathtaking and challenging enough to make it a real hikers delight. No two days were the same and the word "adventure" definitely played a part :). Jo and Andy were top notch guides, with Andy's knowledge on everything NZ a pleasure to listen to. Food was great, lots of laughs - felt like we were hiking with old friends. Highly recommend it!”
    Tammy Banting – Alberta, CanadaKauri, November 2018
  • Worth Waiting For

    “I first communicated with Miriam at Active Adventures in 2015, asking for more information about the various New Zealand trips I had seen on their website. 3 years and nearly 30 emails later, my wife and I had one of our best adventure trips, ever! To anyone considering a tour of South Island with Active Adventures, no matter how long it takes to make your dream come true, it will be well worth it.”
    Maggie Hopffgarten – Colorado, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Carol

    “Had a wonderful time in the TUI Trip with my daughter who is working in New Zealand. We had two cheerful, supportive and very competent Kiwi young lady guides who guided us on an exciting cross section of outdoor pursuits!
    Had a grand time doing lots of physical activity under their watchful eyes. Also covered more ground that we could have managed ourselves on our first New Zealand Adventure! It was “sweet as””
    Carol Harris – Ontario, CanadaTui, November 2018
  • Back "Home", But Homesick for the South Island!

    “On a scale of 1-10, I'd rate this trip with Tess, Clara and the Tucker family a 37.”
    Annie Close – California, United StatesTui, November 2018
  • Kia Ora !!

    “New Zealand is such an amazingly beautiful country with such a diversity of landscapes, and I feel like we saw & experienced the best of it on our Rimu trip ! Our guides did an awesome job of juggling our activities based on the weather changes & challenges. The trip was a perfect combination of challenging activity, conservation education, cultural experience & relaxation.”
    Peggy Ensign – Colorado, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Awesome!

    “an unexpected gem!! As a solo traveler who enjoys "hardcore" fitness adventures and off the beaten path backpacking trips...I was not sure I would enjoy " group" travel and all that comes with it.....Boy was I wrong!! :) I would go again tomorrow ! Thank you for opening my eyes to this new way of travel :)”
    Catherine Drury – Arizona, United StatesTui, November 2018
  • Tui Trip

    “FABULOUS GUIDES: Lauren and Caleb were funny, informative, polite,encouraging and very accommodating. I wouldn’t have made it to the Summit on the final day without Lauren’s encouragement and patience. To help me achieve that, she even carried my backpack for the last part of the hike
    ACCOMADATIONS: Each location that we stayed at had very cozy and quaint accomadations.
    FOOD:The food was fantastic. Not only did our guides prep, cook and serve each guest, they took each guest’ dietary needs into consideration.
    ACTIVITIES: We wanted adventure and boy, ACTIVE ADVENTURES DELIVERED! I’ve never had a vacation that included such a variety of thrilling activities to experience in a short amount of time. The trip to New Zealand not only took my breath away, it stole my heart! ”
    Terri Krawietz – Texas, United StatesTui, November 2018
  • Best Time Ever

    “This trip was run efficiently and with a lot of spontaneity and fun in addition to great planning, fantastic food, rapid weather adaptations and tremendous organization and easy interactions. Not to mention fantastic scenery and well, crazy weather!”
    Sally Zuspan – Utah, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • 2018 Rimu Trip - Solo Traveler

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures, the first being the “Jaguar” in Peru in 2017, and once again they did not disappoint!! By far the best two weeks I could have spent for my first trip to New Zealand! Our tour guides, Kaleb and Pepper, were fun, outgoing, knowledgeable, and were able to accommodate all travelers in our group. I had such a blast meeting other solo travelers like myself, as well as hiking, biking, kayaking, and exploring all of the beauty that is the South Island. Already planning my next Active Adventures trip in 2019 :)”
    Kevin Bui – New Hampshire, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Kiwi Tour

    “This was truly one of the best tour trips I've ever been on. I loved being out hiking each day and the scenery of the southern island of New Zealand is unbelievably beautiful. My guides, Maddi and Jackie, were outstanding - friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. I'd recommend this tour to everyone that loves being outdoors.”
    Kit Richardson – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • Oct 2018 Kiwi Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime, can’t recommend the Kiwi trip highly enough! We had beautiful weather 90% of the trip and were really able to take advantage of some of the most stunning surroundings on the planet (it was stunning during marginal weather too). Perfect blend of driving, hiking, eating and sleeping.....bus was clean, modern and very comfortable with huge windows to enjoy the scenery. Hikes were varied and beautiful, some more challenging than others but all doable with a reasonable level of fitness. Accommodations were all comfortable and safe, most of them with great views from inside the room. Almost every meal was provided for the entire 14 days. Whether it was a lodging restaurant, town restaurant, or meal prepared by the guides, food was healthy, plentiful and delicious!
    Our guides, Maddie and Jackie were an absolute delight. They were a fantastic team....hardworking, attentive and a lot of fun to be around. They were very flexible and dealt with all details of the trip efficiently and seamlessly, allowing us to just enjoy ourselves. We can’t wait for our next Acive Adventures trip....the Kiwi trip set a very high bar!”
    Marc Hamann – Georgia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • Challenging and exciting tour

    “I freely admit I wasn't mentally prepared for some of the challenging hikes we completed,since hiking is not a big part of my regular routine, but I got through since I'm very fit - and also learned a lot about hiking. We encountered more than one unexpected turn of events during the trip but the guides always had a way to complete the adventure and keep everyone safe. It was a real treat having Josh, Annika and Greg along since we got super personalized service all the way through. I realize this isn't the case on most tours so we were very lucky. Overall I had a fabulous time and was stunned by the beauty of every spot we visited.”
    Barbara Murray – California, United StatesKauri, November 2018
  • Fantastic Variety

    “We truly enjoyed the different routes that we went on each day offering us a glimpse of all the great walks.
    I have sent a detailed report already to Lynette”
    Jane Barenblatt – Western Cape, South AfricaTakahe, November 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime, Really!!

    “We are still basking in the memories of our trip with to New Zealand with Active Adventures and our guides, Jackie and Maddi! The trip was excellent and scenery was picture perfect. We said over and over we couldn't believe how the views could be more beautiful from one place to the next! We lucked out with almost perfect weather and a small group of eight. We enjoyed traveling with old friends and meeting new friends and would love to travel with Active Adventures again in the future.”
    Shelley Hamann – Georgia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • Tui Trip - Caitlin and Tess

    “Amazing trip. Wonderful experience. It was everything we expected and more. ”
    Roger Cormier – Ontario, CanadaTui, November 2018
  • The Reluctant Traveller

    “I have to confess that before we started planning this trip I, not my husband, was a reluctant traveler. I am 72 and in good shape but the thought of New Zealand intimidated me. I went along because it was my husband's dream for many, many years, and after all, it was our 50th wedding anniversary. We absolutely loved the Rimu trip. Liana and Laura were the best, most capable, knowledgeable guides. Liana a powerhouse of organization, knowledge about every corner of the South Island and the Maori history that came with it. Her driving in difficult terrains was exceptional and we always felt safe - add to this that she was super funny. Laura, the best company AND the best cook! How can a young woman after hiking with us the whole day, arriving wherever we arrived, create within an hour a super delicious and healthy dinner and next morning a fantastic breakfast?! Now for the trip... What a well organized, thought out and gorgeous trip this was. Everything worked like clockwork. While we visited towns, they snook away to buy provisions. There was plenty of fruit and granola bars in the bus or the hikes to pump energy into you if needed. The hikes, the bike rides and the kayaking were magnificent and I am glad that I did not shy away. I was slower than the younger people but I had plenty of encouragement from all of them. My husband was in heaven taking photos of every corner, river, cloud, lake and mountain of this beautiful country. Thank you Active Adventures, Liana and Laura, for the many beautiful and thoughtful moments you gave us.
    Anna Maria and Paul Radvany”
    Paul Radvany – Massachusetts, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • The Kiwi Tour Rocks!

    “My wife and I are in our mid-60s. We're in relatively good shape but not in our 30s! So the more relaxed but still vigorous hikes and adventures associated with the Kiwi Tour were a perfect match for our stamina and endurance. While there's a considerable amount of driving to complete the circuit of the South Island in 11 days, there's no end to the beautiful vistas and frequent leg-stretching and photographing opportunities. The hikes were invigorating and always yielded wonderful views of New Zealand. Transportation on the Active Adventures bus was safe, smooth and very comfortable - Jackie was an accomplished and considerate driver. Maddi prepared and coordinated terrific meals and snacks throughout our tour, and the lodging arrangements were consistently high caliber. Both of them were extremely courteous, knowledgeable and helpful on all our daily excursions. A day off in Queenstown was a stroke of planning genius - keep that on the schedule! We made a major investment to fly half-way around the world for this vacation and Active Adventures did not disappoint us!”
    Ron Richardson – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • South Island Adventure Rimu

    “A wonderful, challenging at times, fun adventure filled with beautiful scenery and good memories. Pepper & Kaleb were great guides. So many people told me New Zealand was beautiful and this trip proved it as we saw so much on our trip around the South Island. Thank you! Karen - Texas, USA”
    Karen Wohlrabe – Texas, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Great Trip! Great Guides! Great Time!

    “My wife and I just turned 60 and celebrated by going to the South Island on the "Tui" trip. We had a fantastic time, very well planned and organized by Active Adventures, and our guides Claire and Kelsey were excellent. The highpoints were the Siberia Valley overnight, with small plane ride in and jet boat ride out, the kayaking in Milford Sound, and the time in beautiful Queenstown. Highly recommended!”
    Scott Ness – New Mexico, United StatesTui, November 2018
  • Kauri Trip

    “The trip was amazing. From the first day we met Maddie and Liana we were well taken care of. The knowledge they both shared and imparted to us was amazing. It was the trip of a lifetime and it did not disappoint.”
    Roger Cormier – Ontario, CanadaKauri, October 2018
Back to top

Trip Reviews

  •   4.60 out of 5 (from 1888 reviews)

    Unbelievable weather!

    Our guides really made the trip! Katie and Eve were fantastic, and the South Island was so beautiful. I can't recommend the Tui trip enough.
    Katrina Linder Review Image
    – Pennsylvania, United States
    Tui, November 2017
  •   4.60 out of 5 (from 1888 reviews)

    Guided Trips are the Way to Go!

    I had been wanting to hike in New Zealand for some time, and finally had enough time off. Trying to figure out the hut system, what to see and how to get around seemed a bit overwhelming. Even moreso since I was traveling solo. Active looked to be a great way to travel without having to stress about the planning, travel, etc. Though I had never traveled like this before, I saw the places I wanted to travel to, and others I would have likely not have found alone. Everyone on the trip was pleasant and easy to talk to, friendly and, like me had a great time. Our guides, Katie and Astrid, really made the trip with their upbeat attitudes, informative revelations on everything we saw, continual answering to our sometimes badgering questions and always being ready to help out.
    Henry Shenk Review Image
    – Louisiana, United States
    Tui, March 2018
  •   4.60 out of 5 (from 1888 reviews)

    Perfect amount of adventure

    From gazing upon Franz Josef Glacier to biking along Hawea Lake Trail, to gliding on calm waters in Milford Sound, it's been a most memorable adventure! Our guides Tess and Amanda were a great duo! I loved that it was just enough activity without being sore while still being able to see so much of South Island.
    Grace Zheng Review Image
    – Hawaii, United States
    Tui, January 2017
  •   4.64 out of 5 (from 565 reviews)

    Amazing Adventure!

    I just got home from the Winter Rimu trip throughout South Island of New Zealand. To say it was simply "amazing" does not accurately describe the trip. The views, adventures, service and guides were extraordinary. The trip was worth every penny. Even when snowstorms came or other inclement weather hit, there was always a backup plan that allowed us to keep experiencing the awesome culture, people, mountains, lakes and glaciers of New Zealand. I was very impressed with Active Adventures and can not wait to plan my next trip through Active Adventures!
    Elizabeth Derck Review Image
    – Tennessee, United States
    Winter Rimu, August 2016
  •   4.38 out of 5 (from 1211 reviews)

    Kiwi & Active Adventures - Perfect!

    With great anticipation, and admittedly high expectations, Ann and I left New Orleans on Christmas Day to begin our trip to the North Island of New Zealand. We each had long wanted to see this special place! From the moment that Phil and Vanessa picked us up, until the time that Phil and Elder dropped us at the airport for our return flight, we could not have been happier, or more satisfied, with our trip. Phil, Vanessa, and Elder were perfect guides... and hosts. The history and information that Phil shared along the way helped us understand, and therefore appreciate even more, the places we visited and the people we met. We fell in love with the North Island, and its people and history! With Active Adventures having arranged practically everything, and Phil, Vanessa, and Elder taking great care of us along the way (even preparing our last 2 wonderful evening meals), we had nothing to do but rise each morning and enjoy our day! Perfect!
    Thad Minaldi Review Image
    – Louisiana, United States
    Kauri, January 2017

 previous

next 

Approx NZ flight times

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure
close