Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our Himalayas trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

 
  • EBC - March/April 2018

    “This truly was the Adventure of a Lifetime!! We had high expectations and they were exceeded in every way; our wonderful guides Amanda and Gokul, the incredible scenery, the fantastic hospitality everywhere we went!”
    Cindy Franz – Virginia, United StatesEBC, June 2018
  • Awesome Trip

    “This trip was everything I hoped for. The guides were the best; professional and knowledgeable in the local people, customs, language and high alpine trekking. This was the first time in a lifetime of travel and outdoor adventure that we had ever used a guide. I didn't know what to expect as we have always been "on our own" during climbing, hiking, traveling and camping. It was a good choice as trekking in Nepal is obviously serious and can be a complicated event. especially when you factor in the remoteness and especially the altitude. Our guides were the best in every respect and I now count them as good friends. I have no complaints about anything as I didn't expect (or want) plush accommodations and gourmet food. We went there for the mountains, the history and for a tough physical challenge, which we had in spades. We hope to go back again at some point to climb Island Peak. Especially after seeing other guide services while there, we were very happy we chose Active Adventures as our guides. You guys are the best we saw. I loved that our group was small too. In my opinion that makes a big difference in the experience. I will recommend Active to everyone I know that is considering a trip to EBC. Thanks again for your professional and friendly service. It was worth every penny.
    Paul”
    PJ Roarke Jr. – Florida, United StatesEBC, June 2018
  • Fantastic EBC Trip, Even if Cut Short...

    “Even though I got sick at Gorak Shep and I failed to make the 3k final afternoon trek to base camp, this trip was a once in a lifetime adventure. The trip leader, Claire, and guide, Shree, were beyond professional and caring. I am definitely glad that Active Adventures was my choice as an outfitter. All aspects of the trek were defined and all we had to do was trek and enjoy the beauty of the people and the scenery of the Himalayas.”
    David Schaeffer – Texas, United StatesEBC, June 2018
  • Experience of a Lifetime

    “To start, everything was 10/10. Especially the two wonderful people that we were fortunate enough to have as our guides, Elder and Amrit. Consummate professionals, exceptionally friendly, extremely knowledgeable, with a real concern and attention to my well being. Simply outstanding!

    When you're with the right people, the rest of the trek will take care of itself. Stay healthy, have fun, listen to the advice of your guides, put in the elbow grease, and you'll slide into base camp like a dolphin down a water slide. ”
    Branden Roarke – Florida, United StatesEBC, May 2018
  • Travelling Alone

    “I've done two trips with Active in the last 3 years. I have met some fantastic people, some of whom will be friends for life!”
    Dave Bacon – Alberta, CanadaAST, May 2018
  • A Wonderful Experience!

    “The Active Adventures Himalayas trek to Annapurna Base Camp was a truly fantastic experience. Our guides Melissa & Arjun and our porters Kedar & Sudharsun are all great people! The ascent to ABC at 4am to be present for sunrise is a memory I will always treasure. I'm very thankful and grateful for this experience. Thank you to everyone at Active Adventures!”
    Ticia Downie – Alberta, CanadaAST, May 2018
  • Active Accomodates!

    “Active went above and beyond expectations when my traveling companion suffered from altitude issues. They re-organized our trek in Namche to route us to villages nearby where my partner could enjoy the local culture as well as enjoy the fantastic views all around us. Kudos to Amanda, Gokul and Bibek (who was exceptional in his guidance and friendship to my partner throughout).”
    Ron Bagliere – New York, United StatesEBC, April 2018
  • Incredible Himalayan Adventure!

    “Hard to say what the best part was - every day was incredible with great guides, good food, challenging trekking and stunning scenery. After a lifetime of reading about the Himalayas and the exotic places - Lukla, Khumjung, Namche Bazaar - to finally experience it was a dream come true. Exotic, exciting, fun to the max! Loved the different foods, the smells, the sights, the people. The kids on the trail along the way were so curious and friendly. This was a great interface with a culture and lifestyle that is fast disappearing.”
    Tom Ress – Alabama, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • April 1 2018 Khumbu with Shree and Kim

    “How to express the impression of our trip is a challenge because every possible positive adjective we could use can only compare to the majesty of the Himalayas themselves. Words can not describe how hard all our team members worked to make those of us feel special and to insure our trip was absolutely perfect! Their enthusiasm for every day was contagious and the beauty surrounding us each and every moment can not easily be described, unless you've been there and been there with a world class operation like Active Adventures! Every detail was attended to and communicated so well by Shree and Kim and of course our hard working (but always smiling) porters! We would travel anywhere with Active Adventures and will hold these memories near and dear forever. Thank you to our team and for making this trip one of a lifetime.”
    Lisa Omelina – Wyoming, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • Highly Recommend Khumbu

    “Our Khumbu trek exceeded our expectations. The trails were a challenge but not difficult if you have physically prepared for some steep and uneven terrain. Views of the Himalayas made the trip well worth the effort as well as side trips to the Buddhist Monasteries along the way. We could not have been happier with our guides Kim and Arjun for their knowledge and assistance along the way.”
    Edward Erway – Kentucky, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • Awesome

    “This was an awesome trip. I enjoyed every second of it. Enjoyed the people around me, I made some new friends. Amanda and Gokul were great. I got the cough and cold in the beginning of my trek. Amanda and Gokul were on top of their game in making me feel better. The porters were just amazing people, they carried our overly weighted duffel bags without a second's complaint.”
    Mae Stinnett – Alaska, United StatesEBC, April 2018
  • EBC Trip March 2018

    “When I booked the trip, I booked with Active Adventures in spite of there being less expensive tour operators offering similar trips. I hoped that your company would offer a high-quality trip, and I was not disappointed. Mel and Bishal were always extremely professional, but at the same time full of fun. This made it very easy for us (clients) to have a marvellous experience from start to finish.
    Personally, I really enjoyed the "detour" via Khumjung on the way back to Namche Bazaar. It added another dimension to the trip.
    Thank you!”
    Sandra Graham – Gauteng, South AfricaEBC, April 2018
  • EBC March 18

    “It was a great trip. Melissa and Bishal really took good care of us during the trip and after. We had a great time with other group members and porters. It is a lifetime experience that we will treasure forever.”
    Jenny Quan – California, United StatesEBC, April 2018
  • Great Trip

    “The trip was better than I had imagined. It was never a dream of mine to go to the Everest region but being there felt like a dream. Is that really Mt. Everest over there? Wow. The scenery was truly awesome, the hiking challenging and the camaraderie great among our small group. Amanda was a fine guide showing concern for all and Amrit,on his maiden voyage to the Everest region, was always helpful. The porter's work was greatly appreciated led by Dr. Suman who has a bright future ahead of him. This was an early season trip and the tea houses were really cold. This is no joke! Get a hot water bottle.”
    Drew Greenland – Connecticut, United StatesKhumbu, March 2018
  • The Best!

    “This trip was just right for me. It was challenging, but not to the degree of going to Base Camp would have been. We saw the beauty of the Khumbu Valley and the experience of trekking in the Everest region without going above 12,500ft. Our guides were just fabulous! Amanda was very conscientious and knowledgeable about the area and hiking at high altitude. Our Nepalese guide smoothed the way through tea houses, lunch stops, and porter support. We couldn't have asked for a better team of guides! It was unforgettable!”
    Ginny Nayden – Maryland, United StatesKhumbu, March 2018
  • Mt. Everest Base Camp Trip Review

    “It was the trip of a life time. I really enjoyed my trip! Arjun and Elder were the best guides. Though got sick at the end but Arjun and Elder were there like family members to take care of me and I’m grateful for their great service!”
    Riaz Murtuza – California, United StatesEBC, March 2018
  • Have to Experience it to Believe it

    “Don't know where to start and don't want to write a book but want anyone who is considering this trek to do it with Active Adventures. Why? I'm 62, still in good health and shape. Have experienced two other treks over the past ten years with other outfitters. Machu Picchu in Peru and Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. There was a huge difference in personal care and attention to expedition details. What impressed me the most was the attention to every detail required to make this trek to Base Camp not only successful but an enjoyable one too. There was not one negative experience that Active Adventure was in control over (lodging, food, permits etc). My mind was put to ease every day when our daily heart rate and oxygen levels were tested and medication was made available to you should you experience the effects of altitude sickness. Our guide’s knowledge of the history and culture of the Nepalese people added to the enjoyment of our journey.”
    Steven Edwards – Ontario, CanadaEBC, January 2018
  • In the footsteps of some great people

    “Nothing compares with the Himalayas and with Mt Everest in particular. That is because of the uniqueness of the place, the history, the geography, the people, and the culture. And it is because, for me, this was a personal test unlike any I have ever attempted, and probably ever will. Active Adventures provided the opportunity, the expertise, and the support to enable this experience. It was and will always be much much more than simply getting to Everest Base Camp. That is an achievement, but the journey there and back was at least as important as the point of arrival.”
    Chris Eichbaum – , New ZealandEBC, December 2017
  • Awesome Nepal!

    “What an amazing trip! Just the accomplishment of trekking all the way to Annapurna Base Camp is amazing, but the view when you get there puts it over the top!”
    Jolene Bergeson – Alberta, CanadaAST, December 2017
  • EBC - an unexpected journey

    “The decision to go to EBC was actually a quick one. It was not on my bucket list, I really knew nothing about Nepal or the Himalayas and I never had the Everest “bug.” But when I was halfway through the rough year that was 2017 (both politically in the US as well as personally and professionally), I knew I needed a vacation. I had a great experience in New Zealand in October of 2016 – a truly magical place and a great active adventure – I started perusing the Active Adventures site to see where I could go when I had free time in November. I inquired online and almost immediately got a call back and there was a spot on the trip I was looking at. I booked immediately.

    Then suddenly thought “what the f&*k have I done?”

    Fast forward to November, I arrived in Kathmandu (after many emails and OBI notifications later) well prepared to start my journey. I will say, I wish I had gotten the Nepal visa in advance, but couldn’t ship my passport to the embassy due to work which could call me out of the country on a day’s notice. That said, I rolled with it – which is the mindset you need for the entire trip.

    There is so much I could say about everyone from Active Adventures – I had the pleasure of being on a trip with not only the primary and Nepali guide (Mel and Gokul) but also Button (in training) but also John and Michelle from HQ. This trip is no joke – there is so much to manage with a group in the Himalayas. You have no idea what these mountains have in store – the altitude, the elements, the long days and for even the most well-travelled explorer simple accommodations. We had challenges and folks fell ill and there were emergency evacuations and early departures, which Mel and Gokul handled with grace. I really was amazed at how they could manage all the logistics but most riveting was their personal connection to both us tourists as well as literally everyone we met on the road.

    As I mentioned above, I never really planned to go to Nepal, and now I am seriously contemplating how I can go back soon. It was truly a magical and spiritual place – and I can’t thank the entire Active Adventure team enough for that experience.

    I know I didn’t give great soundbytes in the above, so if there is anything I can more specifically address, please let me know. Or if there is more I can extol about Mel or Gokul, I am happy to provide.”
    Linda Sughrue – New York, United StatesEBC, December 2017
  • A life adventure!!

    “What an amazing once-in-a lifetime adventure I took with Active Adventures!!”
    Robb Muse – Pennsylvania, United StatesAST, December 2017
  • Couldn't be more pleased

    “Pleased especially that I made it to EBC! Out of the 10 of us 5 made it all the way. Can't believe this old man (63) was one of them. I know the only reason I did make it was due to the excellent leaders and sherpas. They were incredibly attentive and professional. We all feel how lucky we were to have the trek leaders that we had, and to have such a fun group. It far exceeded my expectations; the incredible mountains, accommodations, ample food, and exceptional leadership. The acclimation days and the slow steady pace are all that attributed to my personal success. Thank you especially Elder and Argen. I hope to take another of your treks next year, looking at Peru. Thank you to the entire Active Adventures team!”
    Mark Steiner – California, United StatesEBC, December 2017
  • Met awesome people & learned a lot about myself

    “Great trip! Learned a lot about myself & others. Our guides, people in our group & the Nepali people all taught me something. I will take away confidence, humility, pride & santi...santi is Nepali & means calm yourself, calm your soul...I now have new friends & found I CAN dance! Some days were harder than others but every day was new, an adventure! Achieving ABC was worth the harder days. Anything worthwhile takes a little hard work. The scenery, so beautiful!!! The porter, the boys, deserve SO much credit! Without them, the trip wouldn’t be possible! They are superheros! It’s not required to tip. You don’t have to. However, please understand how much the porters do. We trek to ABC with only our day packs. The boys do same trek but do so carrying everyone's stuff, for the entire trip! They do so as a way to support their families & the trek just wouldn’t be possible without them. They do this without complaint. They smile, support & encourage everyone along the way. They are amazing! Kim & Shree are great guides & work so well together! They are very knowledgeable.”
    Caden Perry – Oregon, United StatesAST, December 2017
  • Learned a lot

    “Kim & Shree were amazing! Both took care of me when I was having a hard time. Not with the difficulty of trek but just realizing I needed a change in my life. They took time out to talk to me & listen. Kim & Shree make an excellent team & are very knowledgeable about Nepal. I felt comfortable with their skills. ABC was a great adventure! I proved I could accomplish something not everyone gets the opportunity to achieve. The ABC trek has lush jungles & the majestic Himalayas, how can you go wrong! Loved dancing w/guides & our porters! Loved meeting them & learning about their culture.”
    Tyller Perry – Oregon, United StatesAST, December 2017
  • Peak Life Adventure

    “We had an incredible trip and our guides and porters were incredible.
    Gokul was such a great companion, trail guide, and all around friend.
    DK was amazing...dealt with all issues in a very professional manner...never a problem.
    Our team of young porters...simply GREAT.
    Cheers!
    Jon and Sherry”
    Jon Mahoney – British Columbia, CanadaKhumbu, December 2017
  • Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    “The AST was truly a trip of a lifetime. Everything from the itinerary to the guides to the porters to the food and accommodations was wonderful.”
    Susan Ayres – Wisconsin, United StatesAST, December 2017
  • Great Trip!

    “Great trip! Guides (and guides-in-training) were very personable, organized, fun and helpful. Plenty of information and guidance provided up front. Great food! Tea houses were very comfortable and in exotic locations. Good daily itineraries. Evening singing and dancing performances by the porters were memorable. Looked forward to those... Many thanks to Anil. On summit night, with my dim headlamp, he helped me the entire route. I would have never made it without his help.”
    Dave Moore – Connecticut, United StatesAST, December 2017
  • Annapurna

    “This trip from start to finish was PHENOMENAL. Elder and Shree were amazing guides...so fun and very knowledgeable. It was by far, the "trip of a lifetime". I was very very pleased with everything with Active Adventures. I hope to be back on a future trip with you guys! Thank you for EVERYTHING!!!”
    Aimee Goodman – New Jersey, United StatesAST, November 2017
  • Great Adventure

    “Elder took such great care of everyone on the trip and made us all feel like family. The boys were amazing with the care they took in making sure our every need was met. Shree has a wealth of knowledge about Nepal and the mountains that is invaluable.”
    Cheri Greenstreet – Florida, United StatesAST, November 2017
  • Amazing!

    “Every aspect of this trip was amazing ...from our arrival in Kathmandu, to the time in Pokhara, to the actual trek.

    Our guides (Elder and Shree) were great. Both were obviously well trained and highly experienced. It was clear that our safety was top priority for them, but at the same time, they made sure that we had the best experience possible at all times.

    Obviously, the scenery was amazing. Just as amazing though, were the people and culture of Nepal. One of the amazing aspects of this trip was that it allowed us to witness and experience this culture in such an intimate manner.

    Overall, this truly was the trip of a lifetime. I would highly recommend it to anyone.”
    John Ayres – Wisconsin, United StatesAST, November 2017
  • Quality Plus

    “Amazing, yes. Despite an unexpected setback Active Adventures worked so hard, not only to adapt, but to exceed service. My goals accomplished, our guides gave me the finest support. Recommendations available to all. Sweet as.”
    Robert Robak – California, United StatesEBC, November 2017
  • Another Great Active Trip!

    “This was my sixth trip with Active and my second one to Nepal. I was fortunate to have DK and Gokul again as our guides and between them and the porters who helped out along the way they made the trip one that I will look back on as one of the best I've ever done, and trust me when I say I have traveled a great deal in my time and this comes straight from my heart!
    Paul Cassot – New York, United StatesKhumbu, November 2017
  • Epic Trek In Nepal

    “Active Adventures is first class all the way, Elder and Shree (and the boys) were awesome, our group was fantastic, the weather was fabulous and the scenery was epic! Everyone should be so lucky to be able to do the EBC Trek. Truly a once in a lifetime opportunity. What else is there to say!?”
    Anne Marchildon – Ontario, CanadaEBC, November 2017
  • Trip #6

    “We've travelled the world with Active for 20 years now! There is a reason for that....just the best company to go on an adventure with. Our latest, the Khumbu with DK and Gokul, was another GREAT life affirming experience to connect with the natural beauty of Nepal, its culture and its people. I am in love with all three. I get a lump in my throat when I think about my trips with you to Nepal. To have DK and Gokul, who lead our Annapurna trek 4 years ago, as our guides and brothers again was truly the BEST. 2 finer guides and friends you will never find. You really have "no worries mate" when they lead you day by day on your journey. I cannot give enough praise to them and all the boys who made the adventure so great. Thank you all, I love you!”
    Ed Cassot – New York, United StatesKhumbu, November 2017
  • Kumbu, Nepal, 2017

    “A truly amazing adventure. You're at the top of the world, so there's a beautiful view around every corner. And you're guided by people who know and love the country. It's a workout, though. Be in shape.”
    Mark Karuzis – Massachusetts, United StatesKhumbu, November 2017
  • "Not your Average" Vacation

    “Our trip was exactly what we hoped for, with everything we expected from the Active Adventures crew (our second tour with them). We set out to experience a trip that was "not your average" vacation, something that would take us to places very different from our everyday life. Our trek was challenging, but left us with a great sense of satisfaction. Traveling with Nepali staff gave us a deep appreciation of the fortitude of the Nepali people.”
    Nancy Karuzis – Massachusetts, United StatesKhumbu, November 2017
  • 5 Stars x 3

    “I rated this as 5 stars, "Excellent, the trip of a lifetime", but actually that is not totally true. It is actually 1 of 3 trips of a life time. The other two were the AA Jaguar Tour and the AA Condor tour. All three were outstanding and each qualified as a "trip of a lifetime". ”
    Stan Jacobson – Minnesota, United StatesAST, November 2017
  • 5 Stars x 3

    “I rated this as 5 stars, "Excellent, the trip of a lifetime", but actually that is not totally true. It is actually 1 of 3 trips of a life time. The other two were the AA Jaguar Tour and the AA Condor tour. All three were outstanding and each qualified as a "trip of a lifetime". ”
    Ted Jacobson – Minnesota, United StatesAST, November 2017
  • There and Back Again

    “This was my first trip with Active and I had a marvelous time. Very good guides, reasonable mileage goals, excellent organization & logistics management. Would love to book another trip with them!”
    Sarah Dearing – California, United StatesEBC, November 2017
  • Dream Trip!

    “It all seems like a dream now...Can't believe I made it to Everest Base Camp! One of the best and hardest things I've ever done. Round every bend is a new view worth a picture or two (or 3 or 4...).”
    Bert Weldon – Wisconsin, United StatesEBC, November 2017
  • Always Up!

    “This was a great trip through the mountains of Nepal! Great company, great guides and fantastic porters. We all pulled together to complete a challenging hike and to make it an adventure to remember. Lots of work, but worth it! Dancing around the bonfire with our porters on our final evening in the mountains was a special treat! Did I mention the steps?”
    Mark Anderson – Minnesota, United StatesAST, November 2017
  • A Wonderful Adventure

    “This was truly a trip of a lifetime. From the vibrant streets of Kathmandu to the peace and majesty of the Himalayas we were always seeing something new and beautiful. DK, Gokul and “the boys” looked after everything so capably. The route, food and accommodations were all excellent. Trekking was a new and challenging experience for us but left us with a real sense of accomplishment. What wonderful memories we have!”
    Heather Forbes – Nova Scotia, CanadaKhumbu, November 2017
  • EBC with Active Adventures - You Will Not Be Disappointed!

    “Trekking to EBC has been a long time goal of ours. We have done an extensive amount of backpacking in the NY Adirondacks including the 46 High Peaks and the 135 mile, 13 day Northville-Placid Trail. Teri and I have spent a lot of time keeping ourselves in shape and it paid off for us in Nepal. Our trek, guided by Elder and Shree, brought us to places that took our breath away with the scenery and beauty of the land. Not to forget, we were up in altitudes which sometimes impacted progress, easily overcome by a brief rest period. These young men demonstrated a love for the land and were committed to ensuring each member of the "Team" made it to EBC safely and had fun getting there. This trek is a journey, not just a destination. We say this because every turn of the corner you see mountains, villages, and people more beautiful and interesting than the previous. Active Adventures (Elder and Shree), ensured we had the gear we needed, the pace we required, food in our bellies, a nice place to sleep, but most importantly to feel a part of a trekking family. They did not do it alone. We had prearranged porters and a lead porter as well as the support of Active Adventures back home. Bottom line, you cannot go wrong booking with Active Adventures...we plan to take another trip with them in the future.”
    Mike Fields – New York, United StatesEBC, November 2017
  • Best Mother/Daughter Trip Ever!

    “My recent trip to Nepal (EBC) has been a wonderful life altering experience! Having my 2 daughters Melody and Emily with me on this adventure has left me with memories I will cherish always. Elder and Shree were exceptional guides. Both always professional, knowledgeable and kind. Our group of eleven all successfully made it to EBC but that was just one of our experiences. We were exposed to the beautiful culture of Nepal on so many levels. Our trip was well organized from the beginning to the end.
    Thank you Active Adventures!”
    Karen McCague – Ontario, CanadaEBC, November 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “The Annapurna trip was the most difficult and most amazing thing I've ever done! An incredible adventure that tested me to the max! A great experience!”
    Judy Collinson – Ontario, CanadaAST, November 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “We planned to do the Annapurna Base Camp trip as a 40th wedding anniversary trip to challenge ourselves and force ourselves out of our comfort zone. I was very worried about altitude sickness because I cannot take the drugs for it. Active managed our altitude gain carefully, forced us to drink lots of water....and we got to ABC no problem! To enjoy this trip...be in shape! The beauty is worth the effort. Thanks for an awesome trip.”
    Deane Collinson – Ontario, CanadaAST, November 2017
  • Wonderful Annapurna

    “A trip to Nepal has been on my travel list for many years. Everyone thinks of Everest when they hear Nepal but Annapurna is where it's at for me. The scenery was absolutely beautiful; the trek was wonderfully strenuous; Amanda (our dear Button) and Amrit were teriffic guides; our porters were great guys and loads of fun (with great dance moves, too); and our group was cohesive and a lot of fun. I've been asked several times since returning home whether the trip was all I expected it to be and all I can say is that it was even more than I expected!!”
    Diane Wilson – Minnesota, United StatesAST, November 2017
  • Great trip

    “Scenery was incredible, and what a cultural experience! A little more crowded than what I expected due to the size of other groups.”
    Ben Sarno – New York, United StatesEBC, October 2017
  • Most Amazing Trip Ever!!

    “An amazing experience and made all the better by our guides DK and Gokul who shared their knowledge of the places we visited and taught us a new Nepalese word every day. This is definitely the trip of a lifetime with the most amazing scenery, places to visit, and people to meet. If you only do 1 trip, this is it!”
    Jo Peebles – North Lanarkshire, United KingdomEBC, October 2017
  • Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    “Great trip, well organized and guided. Our guide Amanda (Button) and Nepalese guide Shree were a lot of fun to spend time with. They managed the pace of the trek well and all came through with no problems. The weather this time of year turned out to be excellent. I'd do another trip with Active.”
    Dick Lester – Washington, United StatesAST, October 2017
  • Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    “First of all I need to mention how superb the Active Adventures Team are, from the organization of the trip to the guides provided. This is our second trip with this company and I fully recommend them.
    The Annapurna Trek was by far the hardest thing we have done so far. It's not for the faint hearted and don't go if you are not prepared to rough it a little, it's all part of the adventure! The rewards are well worth the hardship, the scenery was spectacular and the Nepalese people were wonderful to be with. I never thought we would ever go to the Himalayan mountains and trekking there is definitely the best way to experience their splendor!”
    Dominique Parsons – Florida, United StatesAST, October 2017
  • Everest Base Camp, Sept - Oct 2017

    “Great trip. Elder and Arjun are so great. They make an awesome team and really care about the people on the trip and the people working with them. The Himalayas are too hard to describe and pictures do not do them justice. There is no scale to compare them to when talking about them. You simply have to see it. Oh, Ama Dablam is magnificent. There were times when the scenery literally brought tears to my eyes. In a good way. Kathmandu is an experience for sure, but have mixed emotions about the city itself.”
    Brandon Kibby – Indiana, United StatesEBC, October 2017
  • Amazing Nepal

    “Fascinating exploration in a third world country. The Nepalese have very little but want very little. They are wonderful to be with, usually smiling and ready to help. The guides and itinerary allowed us to see how these people live and work. Our guides were very good. They were extremely informative and also were sensitive to the needs of each and every trekker.”
    Jay Gorham – Washington, United StatesAST, October 2017
  • A Fabulous Annapurna Sanctuary Adventure!

    “The AST trek was a fabulous adventure! It was physically demanding but so worth it! Our guides Mel and Shree were outstanding, full of fun and highly knowledgeable about Nepal, the people and the flora and fauna. The food was wonderful, varied and very plentiful! The views changed constantly, from rhododendron forest, to wonderful vistas of snow-capped mountains and high mountain valleys with raging whitewater, to beautiful stone villages! The whole experience was marvelous!”
    Tess Wilson – Connecticut, United StatesAST, October 2017
  • Seriously a Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had no clue what to expect going to Nepal, climbing to ABC, being gone for so long. When I first got there I will say I was a little nervous. All the people, cars, buildings, it was a little overwhelming and scary but by the time I said goodbye I cried the whole way to the airport. The people I met felt like family and I didn't want to leave them. I feel like a piece of me was left behind. Everyone treats you great, and welcomes you into their lives. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime and one I will always hold close to my heart”
    Alissa Ingersoll – South Carolina, United StatesAST, October 2017
  • Transformative Travel

    “The EBC Trek in May led by DK, Shree and Bibek is something that will forever be etched in my memory. Their knowledge of the route, places, culture and their wonderful hospitality made this experience even more memorable. The porters' (Suman, Aksh, Baji and the rest of the men) presence made this trip possible and without them, I would not have experienced Nepalese culture at its finest. They are the most humble, selfless, strong people I've ever encountered. The Himalayas' scenery was out of this world and despite Everest Base Camp being the end goal/destination, what I remember and will treasure the most are the people I've met on this trip and along the way. Thank you Active Adventures for organizing a trip that was transformative in every way. DK, Shree, Bibek and Aksh, thank you for taking care of us like we're family. Nepal, you are amazing and I left a piece of my heart when I left you.”
    Analyn Palugod – GUAM, GuamEBC, July 2017
  • EBC with Dan K

    “I had a great time with wonderful team members, guides and porters. I will remember this trip as one of the best and treasure the memories for long, long time.”
    Fusa Iwamoto – Massachusetts, United StatesEBC, June 2017
  • Excellent As Always

    “The Mustang Trek takes you through the most amazing scenery in a peaceful and serene environment. Very few tourists/hikers (especially compared to Annapurna Base Camp hike) which is an absolute plus.”
    Preetha Krishnan – Oregon, United StatesMustang, June 2017
  • The EBC Trip Exceed Expectations

    “This trip exceeded my expectations, almost solely due to DK, Sheree, Bibek and the porter crew. The guys work hard, have a good sense of humor and go out of their way to answer any and all questions.
    The culture of Nepal and the trekking region was an eye opener and something we should all experience.
    A must do trek for any world adventurer!”
    Roland Robinson – Alberta, CanadaEBC, June 2017
  • Worth Every Penny!

    “I had the pleasure of trekking EBC this May and man, I'm struggling to find words to sum up what I believe to have been a once in a life time experience. DK is a wonderful, knowledgeable, and well respected guide all throughout the Himalayas and all over Nepal. He made the experience what it was for me. His love and passion for the Nepali people always made for a warm welcome and a sense of feeling like family in each tea house along the way. This was hands down the highlight for me and what ultimately made me extend my travels in a place that feels like home.

    It was important to me that the porters were well looked after and not being taken advantage of, and this company promotes that! The boys (porters), were so friendly it was incredible that these guys carry the weight of others and constantly have a smile on their face - it's inspiring to see and something I learnt from. Thanks Active for choosing such a great group of hardworking individuals and having their best interests at heart.

    Being 23 I know I still have ages of experiences to come my way, but I can confidently say that there won't ever be one quite like it. Active is a great company to book your adventures with - they're well organized, experienced and all around good-hearted people. Next year I hope to find myself in South America and I'll definitely be booking my trekking through Active!

    Thanks again to everyone who made this an epic experience!”
    Ashley Hebner – Alberta, CanadaEBC, June 2017
  • Everest Base Camp Trek!

    “I feel blessed to have gone on the EBC trek. It was more than just waking up early and putting one foot in front of the other to get to the next destination. It was a personal journey, where we all had a chance to interact with the Nepali people, and experience life the way they do. My advice to anyone wanting to do this trek is to laugh and smile on the difficult days, be generous to the ones guiding and helping you, and do as the Nepalese do. Eat dal bhat with your hands, drink up a lot of great tea, and let your guard down on the dance floor (when the opportunity arises)! The trail isn’t easy, but I guarantee as soon as you reach EBC you will feel like a new person! Thank you DK for your thoughtfulness and knowledge of Nepali culture. Thank you Kim for your encouragement and smile on the tough days. Thank you to Suri, our assistant Nepali guide, and the porter men (who are the most humble and strongest people I have ever met). This is much more than a trek, it’s an experience!

    -John Doiron
    Durham, NH - USA
    John Doiron – New Hampshire, United StatesEBC, June 2017
  • EBC Trip May 2017

    “First of all, Nepal is amazing! From the people and the culture to the scenery and history, Nepal was fascinating! I grew up in a small town and read about Mt. Everest, but I never thought I'd ever make it to see it for myself. So surreal! As for the trip itself, the accommodations were about what I expected, in some cases even better then expected, and the guides were superb. DK is awesome, not just for knowledge of Nepal, but his interaction with locals and his explanations for local customs and traditions makes the trip that much more impressionable. You can tell he has made many friends in the area through working for Active and through his charity, as there's so many people we met along the way that love DK. Really awesome guide for these trips, can't say it enough. Our other guide, Kim, was coming into her own, and I feel will do really well as a guide in the future as well. I'd like to give the porters a shout out as well, they were the real muscle behind our trip and they do their jobs kidding and playing with us along the way. Biebek for president! I'll keep this review short and sweet, once in a lifetime experience, wish I could relive it over again...Thanks”
    Tyler Friesen – Alberta, CanadaEBC, June 2017
  • EBC trek 3/27-4/14, 2017

    “To behold many of the highest mountains in the world on the trek, the one word that kept popping up in my head was GLORIOUS! Yes the trek was demanding in many ways; very dusty, sometimes seemingly endless steps or loose irregular rocks that go up and down even when traversing to a destination with the same altitude as the departure point, very basic bathroom facilities, sharing crowded trails with other trekkers and yak caravans.
    The trek was long and tiring and when it was done, I needed a few weeks to recover. But now after being home awhile, I look at my pictures of the trip and think what a great time I had and want to go back!”
    Randy Yee – Hawaii, United StatesEBC, May 2017
  • Harder Than Expected, But Worth It!

    “Our Active guide, Mel, was awesome! She did everything possible to make sure each person in our group was taken care of and safe. Our local guide, Gokul, was amazing too. He kept a perfect pace for the people in front and was full of helpful information. The route itself was harder than we anticipated, and down right brutal in some stretches, but in the end it was worth the great experience & beautiful views. I felt really proud of myself for pushing myself beyond my physical limits some days. I can't imagine a better way to see this region than through this tour.”
    Laura Gorecki – Texas, United StatesKhumbu, May 2017
  • Khumbu, April 2017

    “Active Adventures and its guides were incredible and made the trip well worth the experience.”
    Vicki Sisco – Texas, United StatesKhumbu, May 2017
  • EBC 2017 Trip

    “What an amazing experience! There was so much more to the trek than was advertised. The immersion into the Nepali culture was unexpected and a delight. DK and his crew are professionals! They kept us safe and got us across across the finish line. We had a blast while we were doing it. I can not say enough about our porter team too! What a terrific group of men. Whom ever does your hiring should get a raise. Keep up the awesome adventures. ”
    Jim Lauer – Ohio, United StatesEBC, May 2017
  • Great guides make all the difference.

    “Annapurna has been a dream for 28 years and it did not disappoint.
    Active Adventures went out of their way for every member of our group.
    The interaction with the Nepali porters made the trip feel authentic.
    Thanks DK, Arjun, Elder & Claire! An incredible experience... ”
    Kim Sandell – Florida, United StatesAST, May 2017
  • Amazing

    “I am not sure there are words to describe what the trip was like. D.K., Arjun, Claire, and Elder made two weeks into a lifetime of memories. The support, the friendships, the knowledge of the culture, the kindness, and the people made this trip. D.K. Had more knowledge of people and the culture so that you really were emersed in it for two weeks. It was far more than a hiking trip, it was a trip to learn and appreciate the Nepali people and their culture. The group was great and I think we all bonded over an experience that we will remember forever. Personally, I did get sick but I was able to keep going and never thought a lot about it as I had the support of Arjun, Claire and Elder along with D.K to help me along. They went way beyond what they had to do to make sure I along with everyone else succeeded on this hike. A hike of this magnitude is a difficult one and to be able to say everyone was successful and left with an incredible sense of accomplishment says tons about your staff and the people you employ. You have an amazing group and I cannot say enough positive things about all of them, from the guides to the office staff answering questions and helping us make sure we had all that we needed for the trip. I have already recommended you to everyone I have told about this trip and I do hope I am able to do another hike with you. I have hiked with other groups but you are in a league of your own way above all others. From the bottom of my heart..thank you for a gift that will stay with me for the rest of my life. Anna”
    Anna Flynn – Kansas, United StatesAST, April 2017
  • Best Travel Company EVER!

    “I can't imagine any trekking company doing a better job than Active Adventures. Everything promised was delivered, and more. The head guide, DK, was the best trekking guide I have encountered in a dozen treks in places around the world. The group size was very small (9). A highlight was the warm and personal relationship with the Nepali porters and guide, so that we all felt like were part of a big family, sharing language lessons, card games in the evening, Nepali songs, and developing a real rapport.”
    Susan Sevilla – California, United StatesAST, April 2017
  • Amazing adventure

    “Can't say enough about how great our guides were and how amazing our trip to Basecamp was! A defining moment in our lives for sure! Thank you for the most awesome adventure in our lives! ”
    Beth Dunphy – Nova Scotia, CanadaEBC, April 2017
  • Do It.... Don't Wait

    “In total, the Khumbu trip was outstanding. We expected the trek to be physically challenging and several times, those expectations were achieved. Our guides were great, comfortable, never stressed and took care of all the coordination’s, all the details required, from the simple to the more complex. We were totally immersed, enjoyed so many extraordinary moments, were impressed often and in awe of the spectacular views. We were thankful for the ease and harmony that our guides, Mel and Gokul, instilled in us. Thank you two for watching over the flock and for being so tremendously skilled at your jobs. We totally enjoyed the experience, the environment and will hold these memories forever and perhaps even return for another trip in Nepal in the near future. It was great.”
    Jim Porter – New Jersey, United StatesKhumbu, April 2017
  • BEST trip I've ever been on!

    “My 17-year old daughter and I went on the Khombu Trip March 12 - 26, 2017 and had the most memorable, amazing trip ever. I've had the privilege of seeing a lot of the world, and this trip to Nepal blew me away. Mel and Gokul were incredible guides who could answer every question we asked, knew all about the history of every place we visited, and you could tell they loved sharing the beauty of Nepal with us. Even our pre-planning was a breeze with the help of ”
    Kristen Mehan – Colorado, United StatesKhumbu, April 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “I have been to some pretty far away places around the world like Cambodia, Tanzania, Norway and France. As unique and fun as they all were, none of them can top the amazing experience I had in Nepal with Active Adventures. Everything was incredible throughout the whole trip, the food was incredible, every lodge we stayed in was great. The people above all were so nice and caring. The sightseeing was mind blowing and beautiful. This trip was everything I expected it to be and more. ”
    Brynn Mehan – Colorado, United StatesKhumbu, April 2017
  • Worth it 100%

    “Honestly, this was probably the hardest thing I have ever done....but I don't regret going and experiencing everything that came our way. My guides were really great. They really cared for each person on the trip and checked in regularly with those who were having any sort of difficulty along the trek. The porters were also really awesome, they put in so much work for us and were always happy it seemed, we all really appreciated them! The trekking was hard....but we each made it to the next tea house each day. So it's all about perseverance over there.
    Some trials:
    *Several people including myself had travel belly. The guides always provided soap for hand washing and water tablets for our drinking water, but some of us still got hit. But the guides helped us right away and always checked in.
    *Weather. It was quite rainy for a good portion of the trip. It brought out the leaches...though they don't hurt and are easy to remove. It is kind of gross.
    *So many stairs!!! So much up and down. So it was rough sometimes. But now I love the stairmaster at the gym. Funny huh?
    In conclusion, you should go :)”
    Alina Ingelsman – British Columbia, CanadaAST, February 2017
  • Endurance and Joy

    “My trek to EBC was probably the most difficult single thing I have ever attempted and succeeded at. The first couple of days on the trail I just wanted to turn around and go back, but both DK and Gokul were there cheering me on like they were my biggest fans. That alone gave me the right mental attitude to charge ahead. My fellow trekkers were awesome giving me plenty of encouragement.I live in a beautiful place but the Himalayas are in a class all their own. When I reached EBC I was utterly exhausted but overwhelmed with incredible joy. I learned a few things about myself and and know that I can succeed at what I put my mind to. When I am ready for another trek Active Adventures will be my guide.”
    Wade Balmer – Washington, United StatesEBC, February 2017
  • Khumbu Trip for Vaughts

    “Our Khumbu trip was spectacular. The Himalayas are absolutely breathtaking and our guides were phenomenal. We had a few unforeseen hiccups, some significant, but the guides handled every single one of them with grace and 110% effort to make the best of our situation. They were kind, patient and knowledgeable
    The hike is amazing; massive vertical walls of lush mountains piercing the sky. You hike into the clouds only to discover that those huge mountains were just the foothills of the snow-caps behind them. Unforgettable and worth every tiring step!”
    Dagmar Vaught – Georgia, United StatesKhumbu, January 2017
  • EBC Nov 2016

    “Quit my job, booked my flights and off I went. I had no expectations as I did not have much time to prepare and plan. Perhaps that's what made it an even better adventure. You will be challenged. You will need to dig deep. When things get tough at the higher altitudes, just put one foot in front of another and stay positive!
    Megan Rath – Pennsylvania, United StatesEBC, January 2017
  • ABC

    “ABC hike was a once in a life time experience! The views were breathtaking and only got better each day we hiked. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys hiking. ”
    Laura Wermager – Minnesota, United StatesAST, December 2016
  • Incredible experience from start to finish

    “This was my third trek with Active and like every trip I've been on with them, they exceeded all expectations by miles. The entire EBC Trek is unbelievable and breathtaking from start to finish. Our guides, Brad and Arjun, did a fantastic job in all aspects. Their knowledge and expertise helped lead our group of 6 trekkers through the trails and into the most beautiful sights Nepal has to offer. Their warm personalities, extensive knowledge of the region, and their ever-present good spirits and optimism led our group of 6 through the streets of Kathmandu to Everest Base Camp. The carefully planned itinerary of the trek proved to be the perfect formula for tackling a difficult region at a pace that allowed our group to take in the incredible surroundings without ever feeling rushed or fatigued. Even on the hardest of days, Brad, Arjun, and our friendly team of sherpas provided us with reassurance and instilled us with the confidence that helped us tackle the many lengthy (sometimes seemingly impossible) treks up daunting steep trails and into the heart of the Himalayas. All of the logistics behind the long trek were handled perfectly - there was never any doubt that at the end of a long day of hiking we would be staying in the best accommodations available and served the best food the region had to offer. From start to finish, we were treated to incredible views and wonderful companionship that made the entire experience a treat that exceeded all expectations. It was the trip of a lifetime and one I will never forget. I would absolutely recommend booking with Active Adventures to anyone who wants to trek one of the most gorgeous regions the world has to offer with the best guides and companions you could ask for. Thanks for the amazing trip and I look forward to my next adventure with your company :)”
    Evan Anderson – Colorado, United StatesEBC, December 2016
  • Amazing Experience!

    “The EBC trek was fantastic, I found it challenging in parts but fantastic none the less. The active team were great! I genuinely could not have asked for better guides and local sherpas. Would recommend this trip without a doubt! ”
    Hannah Snart – Lincolnshire, United KingdomEBC, December 2016
  • The best thing I have Ever done

    “Great Trip...Great People...EPIC”
    Louise Navarro – BOI, New ZealandEBC, December 2016
  • Can't believe I did it

    “Right when we touched down at Lukla airport, I began to get sick. I didn't think there would be any way that I could continue, but my guides were well-prepared with medicine and advice to help get me back on track, and they let me walk at my own pace. Mercifully, I rebounded and made it through some of the most stunning hiking that you can do anywhere on earth. Everyone in my group was positive and a joy to be around.”
    Ehren Meditz – Georgia, United StatesEBC, December 2016
  • Just go, you won't regret it!

    “If Everest Base Camp has ever been on your bucket list or even if it has just recently caught your attention, don't hesitate, just GO! You are in the most capable hands with Active Adventures! First off DK... I really truly can't say enough about his guy! He is genuinely interested in every traveler. If you need encouragement he is right there cheering you on rewarding you with a big hug at the end! He will remind you frequently to drink your water and you'll do it to keep him happy! He knows the people, culture, geography and language and shares it readily with the group. Gokul our second guide is the vision of patience and compassion and the most ridiculously hilarious Spoons player on the planet hands down! Then there are the porters... just, wow! The hardest working guys I've ever met. I respect these guys immensely and they can all sing and dance the evening away even after lugging our crap around the entire day. I think it took me about an hour to miss the experience that is Nepal and I hadn't even boarded the plane yet! This trip isn't for the faint of heart, it gets cold like really cold, you are not a 4 star hotel so expect simplicity, and yes, you walk every single day so it requires physical training but every minute you spend training with be rewarded in spades on the trail. There really isn't any place on the planet that will humble, awe and inspire you like Nepal does. Namaste!”
    Jamie Sulea – British Columbia, CanadaEBC, December 2016
  • 10 years to Everest.

    “Since the age of 13 I have had a love of the mountains. On the 6/11/06 I took my last alcoholic drink, and to celebrate, I booked the EBC trek.
    I've. Been dreaming of going to see Everest most of my life and now I've bone it.
    Thanks to DK Gokul, Bibek and the rest of the boys I struggle to think how this trip could have been better. Absolutely superb on every level. From accommodation to food to local knowledge from the guides, scenery, atmosphere speed of trekking, relaxed and professional. It really was the dream trip of my lifetime.
    The all inclusive package worked brilliantly for me, we had the best accommodation avaliable on. Route and I'm sure I ended up spending less overall.
    Can't recommend active adventures highly enough.
    I won't be looking at any other trekking companies next time I go to the hills.
    Superb brilliant magical spiritual journey.
    DK Gokul Bibek and the boys, you are legends thank you from the bottom of my heart. X”
    Nigel Stafford-Haworth – Lancashire, United KingdomEBC, December 2016
  • Annapurna Sanctuary

    “Wonderful trip thanks to Brad, Arjun, and the porters. Despite a rocky start, everybody pulled together and loved the beauty of Nepal, the people, the history and culture. Brad and Arjun both very knowledgable.”
    Betty Van Leuven – Wisconsin, United StatesAST, November 2016
  • EBC October 2016

    “The whole trek from start to finish was an incredible adventure. It was far tougher and more challenging than we thought but that only added to the achievement. The people were great, our guides were outstanding, the mountains were stunning and even the stars in the night sky were amazing.”
    Terry Snart – Lincolnshire, United KingdomEBC, November 2016
  • “A lot tougher than I expected, we all agreed on that. It wasn't always enjoyable but that is part of the challenge.....I think!!!”
    Russell Turner – Cornwall, United KingdomEBC, November 2016
  • “The ebc adventure was fabulous. Dan and gokul could not have been better leaders. And the group of travelers was uplifting.
    This was, truly, the trip of a lifetime. Thank you active adventures. You guys saved my life with the down jacket and sleeping bag. And it was so much fun to get the active adventure buff and cap.
    I have passed my excitement on to several friends - we will be back with you in the near future.

    Thanks again. ”
    Rob Scott – Arizona, United StatesEBC, November 2016
  • Active Adventures Himalayas Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    “I thoroughly enjoyed this guided tour and trek in all aspects. The trek although physically challenging, was amazing, from seeing beautiful Nepal, its mountains, terraced farming, numerous waterfalls, jungle forests,... To also experiencing Nepalese culture by walking through small villages and staying in Bunk style teahouses along the way. Our tour guides, Kate and Shree were the best, attending to anything we needed as well as informing us about Nepal and its people. ”
    Nancy VanOverbeke – Minnesota, United StatesAST, November 2016
  • Annapurna Base Camp

    “My first multi-day trek and first trek with a guide --- would definitely do it again with Active Adventures. Great guides that were fun and took great care of us. The trek itself was challenging, but so worth it!”
    Jackie Moran – Idaho, United StatesAST, November 2016
  • “An incredible journey through a truly mystical land. ”
    Ramona Bosnyak – Alberta, CanadaEBC, November 2016
  • EBC Oct 2016

    “I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to everest base camp. It was challenging but ultimately very rewarding. The whole crew from active adventures were absolutely brilliant.”
    Ian Ruddell – Northland, New ZealandEBC, October 2016
  • Really--The Trip of a Lifetime

    “Everything, from the experience of Kathmandu to the trekking, was inspiring. The exposure to a different culture, the food, the hospitality, the unbelievable views, and the guides combined to make my time in Nepal a total enjoyment.”
    Marcia Behrendt – Missouri, United StatesKhumbu, October 2016
  • Great trip

    “This trip was amazing and I learned a lot about trekking. It was my first trekking experience and I'm sure I'll do it again. Everything was organized well, guides and porters were great and I felt safe and sure of what is going on. I highly recommend this trek.”
    Maya Sarkisyan – Florida, United StatesKhumbu, October 2016
  • ABC

    “This is my second trip with Active Adventures and I am completely spoiled. Nepal, Annapurna Base Camp, the Land of OZ that is Kathmandu (trust me, the trip from the airport to the hotel will convince you you are not in Kansas anymore), Pokhara. The scenery is breath taking. The experiences are life changing.
    I continue to be so impressed by the care Active takes to make sure each little camper is prepared, educated, cared for, has a good time. You guys go so far out of your way to make sure everything is as special and perfect as possible. The guides are fantastic. How you find people that are technically sound , the patience of Job and great sense of humor I just don't know. Maybe I was just lucky enough to hit the best - Mel and Amanda rock! The Nepalese porters are now my fam. Keep wondering how I'm going to get Christmas presents to them.
    Thanks for sweating the details. I have every confidence that the Active organization will chart the best course and handle any contingencies that come up. You're the best and I thank you for making this trip possible for me. ”
    Cynthia Calder – Texas, United StatesAST, October 2016
  • Khumbu September 2016

    “My high expectations for this trip were exceeded by our guides Kate and Gokul as well as all of the supporting staff. Our trip had some weather-related issues which required some adjustments to the itinerary, something that Kate and Gokul handled seamlessly. The food and accommodations throughout the trip were excellent. I'll never forget the scenery and experiences that I had and would highly recommend Active Adventures for a Himalayan trip. Thanks again to everyone!”
    Barbara Stamos – Massachusetts, United StatesKhumbu, October 2016
  • Awesome trip!

    “Being that this was my first trek ever, I really picked a great one. Mel and Arjun were great guides and very attentive to the trekkers making sure we were well hydrated at all times and that we ate well to fuel ourselves for this demanding trek. The trek was challenging considering the high altitude and the steep gradients we encountered but Arjun and Mel kept us at a slow and steady pace so that completing the trek was attainable. At no point did I feel our safety was compromised because Mel and Arjun kept a close eye on us. They both have a great sense of humor and that kept our spirits light. The ancient monasteries and other sites they brought us to rendered me speechless. Experiencing the Himalayas including observing the people's day-to-day life is unforgettable. ”
    Donna Kong – Hawaii, United StatesMustang, September 2016
  • “One of the best trips ever”
    Alan Cantor – New Hampshire, United StatesMustang, September 2016
  • Best trip yet!!

    “A great trip of a life time!! Beautiful sceanry and awesome experience.”
    Jose Piedra – California, United StatesEBC, August 2016
  • EBC April 2016

    “Our guides DK and Gokul made this trip full of great experiences and memories. They had a great sense of humor and playing cards at the tea houses and DK's singing and playing the guitar or ukulele made time go fast. The weather was fantastic and the sights majestic. This was an epic trip and I hope to make another trip with this duo in the future.”
    Dennis Wilson – Wisconsin, United StatesEBC, June 2016
Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure