Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.


"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
  • Wonderful Trip with Great Friends.

    “We had a group of 4 couples on the "Tui trip" and had a wonderful experience. The guides were fabulous and extremely knowledgable. They were at their best when the weather (Cyclone Gita) threw us a curveball. (That's a baseball term. Sorry you cricket lovers)!”
    – Louisiana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Excellent introduction to the North Island!

    “Excellent introduction to the North Island! Andy and Jo couldn't have been better!”
    – Arizona, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Wonderful Tour of South Island

    “Staff were really helpful in planning stages of this trip, and our guides were so knowledgeable and personable; they made the trip the gem that it was.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “This was such an amazing trip! Our guides Ash and Astrid did a fantastic job. Everyday was met with amazing views and challenging activities like kayaking, biking and hiking. Two weeks felt like a month because we did so much in one day but there was still some down time to enjoy the beauty that is New Zealand. A must for anyone who wants to be active in New Zealand.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations

    “This is a trip that can be enjoyed by all since the hikes can be modified on different levels. Beautiful scenery every day!”
    – Texas, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • Guided Trips are the Way to Go!

    “I had been wanting to hike in New Zealand for some time, and finally had enough time off. Trying to figure out the hut system, what to see and how to get around seemed a bit overwhelming. Even moreso since I was traveling solo. Active looked to be a great way to travel without having to stress about the planning, travel, etc. Though I had never traveled like this before, I saw the places I wanted to travel to, and others I would have likely not have found alone. Everyone on the trip was pleasant and easy to talk to, friendly and, like me had a great time. Our guides, Katie and Astrid, really made the trip with their upbeat attitudes, informative revelations on everything we saw, continual answering to our sometimes badgering questions and always being ready to help out.”
    – Louisiana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • One. More. Time.

    “What to say? I probably should have done the 2 week North Island trip, too. Only so many vacation days, sadly. It was so wonderful. Cyclones included. Andy and Jo were so much fun and wanted us all to have a great time. I would book it again...and again....and again.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Amazing!

    “I am not sure I have the right words to describe my experience. All I can say at this moment is, 3 weeks later I am still feeling very much inspired to continue my love for travel and exploration. Ash and Astrid we're the bees knees! No doubt they thought we were nutzo but we had so many laughs and good meals together. New friends were made!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Amazing!

    “I am not sure I have the right words to describe my experience. All I can say at this moment is, 3 weeks later I am still feeling very much inspired to continue my love for travel and exploration. Ash and Astrid we're the bees knees! No doubt they thought we were nutzo but we had so many laughs and good meals together. New friends were made!”
    – , Rimu, March 2018
  • Jodi and Renee's Manuka

    “The trip was incredible! Fantastic itenerary, great food, good people. I couldn’t have imagined better!”
    – Colorado, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Weka

    “Really, really liked this trip. Of course the bike trails and scenes were spectacular, but the food and the people and the guides made it extra special. Everyday was a whirlwind of adventure. Thank you.”
    – Ontario, Canada Weka, March 2018
  • Memorable Experience ... Seasoned, Service-centric Guide

    “Fast-paced tour with good variety of activities. Enjoyed the lead & care of experienced Guides. We were truly blessed with great weather the whole trip!”
    – California, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Best Ever!

    “Trip of a lifetime for sure! I’m still on a NZ high!
    Thanks to Nick B & Melissa for their knowledge & expertise experience, which made our trip successful & FUN! With their encouragement, I was able to challenge myself & push beyond what I thought my abilities were.......THANK YOU! Such a pleasure getting to know Nick & Mel, we were spoiled & enjoyed every minute of this adventure with them. Highly recommend Active Adventures NZ - making dreams come TRUE!”
    – Montana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Weka - New Zealand

    “Wow!! What a trip! This hiking & biking tour was breath-taking both figuratively and literally. Our guides made our adventure challenging, yet fun. They were knowledgeable, encouraging and you could tell they are truly passionate about what they do. This tour captured all the great highlights of New Zealand staying just off the beaten path so we could really experience the diverse beauty and savory tastes of the island. Our group enjoyed ourselves so much we are already discussing another Active Adventure trip in 2019. Thank you Active Adventures for a wonderful experience!”
    – California, United States Weka, March 2018
  • Thanks

    “Kim and Lauren were terrific guides.”
    – Utah, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Thanks

    “We highly recommend Active Adventures; they do a terrific job.”
    – Utah, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Great Trip

    “Had a fantastic time on our South Island 'Rimu' trip. I cant say enough about our guides, Simon and Carrie. They were VERY accommodating and did an outstanding job. Food was fantastic and the hiking and sights were super! A bit more bus time than I was expecting but looking at the map Active provided of the South Island and all the cities and sights we saw, I should have expected that and no regrets! Highlight of the trip for us was the Angelus Hut despite some rain and low clouds. Thank you for how organized the trip was before, during and after. We really enjoyed our two days in Christchurch before the trip and 3 days in Auckland after.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • I'd Recommend this Trip to Just About Everyone!

    “I really can't say enough good things about this trip! New Zealand is such a beautiful country and touring it with locals who are familiar with the locations and the history of many of the most iconic sites is really the only way to do it. I really appreciated all the Maori history/legends Koru, our fantastic guide/driver, shared with us. I also applaud his driving patience/skill; the roads really are, as the signage says, "different". Lauren was an absolutely wonderful cook (she could totally make a living as professional caterer!) and enthusiastic guide. They both were very warm/friendly, had a lot of knowledge to share, were very encouraging to those of us perhaps not quite as fit as we would have liked (especially on a few of the steeper climbs), and were keen to hear about our backgrounds, areas of interest, etc. If I had to pick out my favorite hikes, I'd have to say both Franz Josef glacier and Aoraki/Mt Cook were absolutely stunning (the perfect weather didn't hurt).”
    – Maryland, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • Tui Trip

    “As seasoned travelers we know what makes a great trip. Our guides Nick and Mel were over the top with all aspects of the trip. From the minute of our pickup to our improvised departure, through cyclone Gita we never missed a beat. Wouldn’t change a thing. A true trip of a life time.”
    – Montana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Rimu 2018

    “It has only been a little over a week since the end of my Rimu trip and I already miss New Zealand. The South Island has to be one of the most incredible places on the planet, with crisp and clean air, pristine lakes at the bases of mountains and the gorgeous rugged West Coast. There is literally beauty everywhere you look. The trip was enhanced by our two intrepid guides, Jackie and Pepper, who seemed prepared for any eventuality. They were able to provide lots of background information about New Zealand's culture, nature and geography, which added so much to the trip and brought the amazing scenery to life. I had always been hesitant to travel to New Zealand given the distance and effort involved in getting there but now that I've done it I am so glad I did. It was so worth it and I would recommend it to anyone.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • WOW!

    “This trip exceeded all of our expectations. From the itinerary to our amazing guides Jo & Andy each day was a great adventure. This trip was truly a trip of a lifetime from the first day to the last. All I can say is we can't wait until our next Active Adventures trip!”
    – Nevada, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Beautiful North Island

    “Great way to taste everything the North Island has to offer, from sandy beaches in the North to majestic Kauri trees, to Maori customs, to scenic coastal trails, to active geysers, to hiking the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, to glow worm caves! Personable guides, homemade meals and small group size made the trip even more enjoyable.”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • Exceeded All Expectations

    “Excellent guides in both Peru and the Galapagos; hotels were all first rate, food was awesome, and our experiences were very memorable. Also, the staff in the Galapagos were really helpful.”
    – New York, United States Iguana, March 2018
  • 'Kauri' New Zealand

    “The accommodations were great. I was the only vegetarian on the trip and the guides, Natalie and Jasmine, modified things quite well. We had a fun group, the Kiwis were friendly, kind and anxious to ensure we had everything we needed. Tongariro Crossing and Waitomo Caves were the highlights of the trip. I wished we could have mountain biked more to explore the trails, redwood forests and native lands.”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Great Adventure in the South Island

    “We had a great time! The itinerary covered a large part of the South Island including hiking parts of all the South Island's famous treks. Food was excellent, I came back 4 lbs heavier! Weather mostly cooperated, but I would say if you don't want to get wet, New Zealand may not be your best vacation spot. Hikes were mostly moderate in effort {5-7 miles} with a few steeper, rocky sections. You don't need to be crazy fit, but hiking daily and a full schedule will add up; rest when you get home!”
    – California, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Patagonia

    “Majestic mountains have always been a passion of mine, the Condor hike certainly delivered an abundance of fabulous mountain views and along with our great weather and hearty meals one could only lap up each day's highlights. This hike kept on delivering highlights day after day just when you thought it could not get better a new experience began. Cahit, well what can I say...always smiling, eager to help in any way, always looking for the best option on the day, he did a great job.”
    – South Australia, Australia Condor, March 2018
  • Peru/Galapagos Iguana trip

    “Unforgettable mix of exposure to the natural world of the Galapagos and the cultural and natural wonders of Peru!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Iguana, March 2018
  • Another Memorable Trip with Active!

    “The Rimu trip was my 6th trip with Active Adventures and it again confirmed why I enjoy traveling with them. The trip was very well organized. The guides (local to New Zealand) were professional & FUN! We did so many activities that will forever be etched in my memory...kayaking Milford sound, hiking a section of the Routeburn Track, 3 day backpacking trip through Nelson Lakes. All amazing!”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Awesome Group Travel

    “The scenery was great and we definitely were active but one of the best parts of the trip was the warm social interaction with my fellow travelers as well as our guides. It was great having a driver who knew the roads and allowed me to enjoy the views. One word of advice. The lushness of western NZ is due to lots of rain. Be prepared with a good rain suit and waterproof boots. The weather changes quickly and is part of the adventure. You will be experiencing nature up close and personal. Enjoy.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Our Intro to NZ South Island by Active Adventures

    “Our trip was pretty much perfect. We learned so much from Koru and Lauren. We enjoyed great views by going on great hikes. We had great food, much of it prepared by Lauren, with help from Koru both in the prep and the clean up. The group was knowledgeable, diverse, and interesting. We had fun together trying to photograph and identify birds, flowers, bugs, and trees. After completing the tour my wife and I continued for an additional week, renting a car in Greymouth, and touring to Nelson, the Queen Charlotte Track, and Blenheim. Doing so we discovered how nice it had been to simply ride in the van with someone else driving and choosing eating spots and accommodations. And of course New Zealand's South Island was just a day-to-day highlight reel. Like I said, perfect.”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • New Zealand Adventure

    “Great trip. Katie and Tess (our guides) made the trip very memorable.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Exceeded our Expectations!

    “This was our second trip with Active Adventures (did the Rimu trip back in Nov 2011), and they delivered yet again. The guides were very skilled, knowledgeable and had a wonderful sense of humor. The food and drink was delicious and abundant. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and full of character. The vistas were unreal (mountains, glaciers, and lakes, oh my!). There was no shortage of activity - we certainly earned our meals! Where we won the lottery, though, was with the group. There was an amazing cohesion that occurred on this trip, and we spent a large portion of our time laughing together. We couldn't have asked for better.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Peru and the Galapagos

    “It was an amazing two week trip. We felt as if we had two trips in one. Each week was unique. The guides were so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Pepo had his daily "super plan" and Erick with his thoughtful planning the night before our next day's adventures. Eager to get back to Peru for more adventures. A fantastic experience from the start to the finish.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Iguana, March 2018
  • The Guides Made the Trip Special!

    “This statement is very true when it comes to my experience with Jasmine and Natalie! Not only is New Zealand a beautiful country and the 'Kauri' tour shared some spectacular highlights with us - but our guides made the experience exceptional. Both of them were friendly and fun, informative along the journey and treated us so well. They anticipated our needs and surprised us with things that they had heard our group talking about, for example, Hokey Pokey ice cream, or dark chocolate as a snack after a hike.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • Stunningly Beautiful!

    “Wow! That was a word we used so many times on our 'Tui' adventure. Every corner we turned or path we climbed led to a stunning view that left us feeling both energized and awed.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tui, March 2018
  • Great Trip with Great leaders and Great Group

    “We really enjoyed our trip to New Zealand and the incredible hiking on the South Island. We lucked out with the weather as we only had two days of rain. Our favorite part was the Milford Track hike from inn to inn. The scenery of the place is simply stunning. We enjoyed the variety of hikes and our guides were very knowledgeable about the flora of New Zealand and culture. The only downside are the drives. You cover a good deal of territory during the trip which necessitates a good deal of time in the van.”
    – Indiana, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Challenging and Fun!

    “My trip to Argentina and Chile was more than I imagined it would be. I was in awe of the natural beauty of the areas we hiked in. However, the most important thing I take home with me is the personal relationships I formed with my group, especially my leader, and now friend, Mayra Callo. She was amazing. I am a "beginner hiker" so her patience and close attention on the harder treks was appreciated! She knew so much about the area and it was a pleasure learning about South America from her. In addition, her personality made all of us feel like family, with Mayra being the Mother :) She took great care of all of us. We all had so much fun was sad to leave. Anyone who has any reservations about booking a trip should just do it! They won't be disappointed!!”
    – New Jersey, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Eleven Years Later. . .

    “It's worth noting at the outset that I took the exact same trip (clockwise Rimu) 11 years ago, when Ash and Tory were barely teenagers and my legs and lungs were a lot stronger. How things have changed! and how much they remain the same!!
    In terms of change: the South Island is busier, more built-up and more heavily trafficked than ever before. I saw scores of RVs where a decade ago there where almost none, fleets of tour buses, and steady streams of traffic on roads that were once quiet country lanes. Milford Sound was abuzz with boats on the water and single-prop airplanes overhead, and Hokitika (among other towns) was overrun with tourists - like us! All of which is to say, in some ways New Zealand has become the victim of its own success: the very attributes that most attracted visitors have been diminished by those same visitors arriving in such enormous numbers.

    In terms of things remaining the same: Active Adventures continues to shine, both in terms of its itinerary and the high calibre of its guides. The isolation and views afforded by Braemar Station make it an ideal opening chapter for the trip (and far less punishing at the outset than the alternative of hiking the Southern Alps beginning day two); the west coast is still as thrilling in its scenery; and the Angelus Circuit remains a breathtaking (literally!) capstone on the fortnight. Ash and Tory, meanwhile, were extraordinarily attentive, involved and knowledgeable, keeping everyone in high spirits and ensuring that those of us who needed some kind of accommodation got it without drama or self-consciousness. Both women are exceptional at what they do.”
    – Virginia, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Our Excellent Adventure

    “We are still travelling, so this is a brief reply from Tongariro visitor center:
    Emma and James get rave reviews for their energy, attention to detail, glowing personalities (Really!) and providing a wonderful intro to NZ. Our traveling companions were ALL delightful. We remain in your wonderful country until 18 March, then on to Australia. We’re grateful we chose AA to begin our journey.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Great Trip

    “This was a brilliant trip. Superb guides with great information about every place we went. Great pace with a good balance of medium and harder hiking. Highlights: information from guides during the trip; delicious and healthy food; spectacular views; great pace. Lowlights: I’m scratching to find lowlights; but due to the shorter duration of the trip and the number of areas that are visited; there is a lot of travel time. I don’t know how that can be reduced though.”
    – Queensland, Australia Tui, March 2018
  • Amazing Trip!

    “Far exceeded my expectations! Amazing time, great people, highly recommend!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2018
  • Amazing Trip!

    “Really enjoyed the 'Tui' trip. Amazing guides. They were super knowledgeable and easy to get on with. Brilliant group of people and some memories of a lifetime created.”
    – East sussex, United Kingdom Tui, March 2018
  • A Fabulous Taste of the Beauty of New Zealand’s South

    “This was a great taster of New Zealand’s South Island with lots of great physical activity balanced with opportunities to rest, enjoy the scenery and learn about New Zealand’s fascinating culture and heritage. Our guides Dani and Liana were knowledgeable, cheerful and personable throughout. They prepared excellent nutritious meals and kept us fully informed about the agenda at all times. They did an excellent job of balancing the very different expectations and fitness levels of the individuals in the group and helped create an environment where we could all enjoy ourselves convivially despite our varying needs.
    Accommodation was excellent and travel comfortable and easy.
    All in all the trip provided us with a great introduction to what needs to be done to appreciate the magnificent natural beauty of New Zealand “close up and personal”. We will be back for more.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Manuka, March 2018
  • Annie's Tortuga Trip

    “Everyone at AA was genuinely keen on making our trip the best possible. The trip was well planned, yet flexible to meet the preferences of our small group (6 people). Our guide, ZAMBO, was ever cheery and a font of interesting information on everything from the animals to the geological formations, to the best dishes at local restaurants. It was a great bonding experience for my daughter and myself.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Tortuga, March 2018
  • New Zealand the Right Way

    “New Zealand has long been on the top of my active vacation list. Having hiked a lot in the Swiss Alps - including Active Adventures' first Mt. Blanc trip - and kayaked in Vancouver Islands, the allure of New Zealand's famed treks and fiords was strong. Active's 'Rimu' trip was the perfect way to experience New Zealand's grandeur. From kayaking in the pristine Okarito Lagoon with its beautiful white herons to hiking part of the Routeburn Track to Key Summit, the 'Rimu' is a wonderful two-week journey.”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Incredible. Just Incredible

    “This trip was amazing. I wouldn’t change a thing. Our guides were fantastic. Jasmine and Natalie are the best!!! Great food. Great lodging. Beautiful views and life changing experiences. Wonderful experience from the moment we looked at the website all the way to the end of the trip. Very accommodating to everyone’s needs and ability. I only wish I had more time!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Mt. Everest Base Camp Trip Review

    “It was the trip of a life time. I really enjoyed my trip! Arjun and Elder were the best guides. Though got sick at the end but Arjun and Elder were there like family members to take care of me and I’m grateful for their great service!”
    – California, United States EBC, March 2018
  • Rebecca and Karen‘s Excellent Adventure

    “If you want an adventure to commemorate your retirement or an anniversary of friendship, this is the one! My friend and I have been travelling together for 40 years and this was the icing on the cake. The 'Rimu' hiking adventure gave us just enough of a challenge and just enough relaxing, friendship, and good food to feel like a luxury vacation. I recommend the three day hiking option. The guides are excellent and you couldn’t do this trip nearly as well without them. Thank you!”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Awesome Active Adventure

    “This was one of the most memorable vacations my husband and I have ever taken. Being in good physical shape was definitely a plus, as we were did lots of physically demanding activities (which is exactly the type of adventure we were looking for!). The guides were outstanding, particularly Mayra (who was our main guide) and Gem (who accompanied us on the W-Trek). We were very fortunate in having a very small group, which made the trip feel very intimate. As for the trip itself, the scenery was spectacular, the food was delicious and abundant, and the activities were varied and very well coordinated. I would definitely recommend Active Adventures, and this trip in particular, to anyone looking for a trip of a lifetime!”
    – California, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Fun and Challenging Trip

    “The southbound Rimu trip was a fun and challenging trip. Active Adventures took care of all of the tough logistics and treated us with supreme Kiwi hospitality. Each day was planned with meals, transportation and our unique daily adventure. Our guides, Ash and Astrid were informative and always had a smile on their face even when our boisterous American and Aussie group were making fun of their Kiwi accents. The Mount Cook and Angelus hut hikes were especially satisfying climbs. We certainly slept well those nights! Astrid prepared our vegetarian meals with aplomb and I ended up gaining 6 pounds during the 14 days. Well done Astrid! Ashley drove our van, Willy, with great care and we never worried about our safety while in her care. She is a master backer-upper. She also filled our heads with facts and figures as we toured through the different New Zealand regions. This was our first time in New Zealand and every Kiwi we met was very friendly and proud of their country. Our appetite is only whetted and we will return again to your beautiful country.”
    – Florida, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Kiwis Are Special People

    “I really had fun. Tori and Steve (the real Steve) did a great job as we travelled the South Island in Bruce (the mini bus). This trip is properly named "active adventure" we were active and had a great adventure. The group of nine strangers got along really well. I felt well cared for and safe even during cyclone Gita. The accommodations were outstanding and the food was awesome. Tori’s packed lunches were delicious and filling. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful island nation with me. Cheers, Mikey.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Weka, March 2018
  • Condor Trip Exceeded my Expectations

    “I'm an avid hiker/outdoors-enthusiast in the Pacific NW USA and, for many years, I've dreamt of exploring the rugged Patagonia landscape. After taking a wonderful Active Adventures trip to New Zealand last year, I decided to book the 'Condor' adventure for 2018. To be honest, the 'Condor' trip, for me, was rather more beautiful, scenic, memorable, and challenging than the NZ-Rimu trip (which I also loved)! I don't like to use the term "trip of a lifetime" as I always want to keep travelling - yet this trip was one of the best I've ever taken! Such is the beauty of this incredible part of the world and, of course, the tremendous organizational efforts and guide-quality of Active Adventures!
    The majesty of the Torres del Paine National Park mountains in Chile to the soaring towers of the Fitz Roy area in Argentina will never escape my mind.
    Navigating in that part of the world doesn't come easy. The various national parks, border crossings, base-camp towns, permits, ferry boats, inter-city transit, shuttles, etc. were all masterfully coordinated by the Active team. I didn't have to think, once, about trip logistics. All I had to do was show up to the start-city and then hike/eat/drink - and enjoy! The quality of the guides - our every-day main guide and the various guides we had in Torres Del Paine, Perito Moreno, and El Chalten - were absolutely top-notch. You simply couldn't have asked for better quality guides than the ones which Active has in this part of the world. For any outdoors enthusiast, I simply cannot recommend enough this adventure with this company.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Rimu

    “If you like beauty, physical activity, making new friends, and learning about New Zealand, then this is the trip for you.This trip was the highlight of 40 years traveling. Active Adventures New Zealand does it right.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Fantastic!

    “From start to end this trip was wonderful! We can't say enough about our guides, Katie A. and Tess, our tour mates and the hiking, biking and kayaking. Active Adventures has thought of everything to make the activities so enjoyable. The backpacking trip was fantastic, and the Valentine's Day dessert Tess baked for us at the Angelus hut was above and beyond the "call of duty". We loved Katie's Maori legends and driving music. The trip couldn't have been better.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Fantastic Holiday!

    “We had been planning this trip for almost a year and it lived up to and beyond our expectations. Biking is such a brilliant way to see a place and Active Adventures did an outstanding job to showcase so many beautiful places. Biking with water on one side and the mountains as a backdrop was so awesome. Our two guides were wonderful and so knowledgeable; they were flexible and eager to help out or give information to enrich our holiday experience.”
    – Ontario, Canada Weka, March 2018
  • Rimu Trip Feb 2018

    “What a wonderful trip! I was a bit apprehensive when I booked this trip because I was recovering from hip surgery but needed that extra motivation to get back to my active life. worked out perfect!! I hiked, biked, walked on glaciers, kayaked..... I did it all and came back stronger than when I left. You did a great job connecting us with a wonderful group of people I know call friends. And our guides, Katie and Tess. I love those girls! They made everything so enjoyable!”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • The Rain Couldn't Dampen our Spirits on This Amazing Trip

    “This was an awesome trip, despite the 7 straight days of rain! Andy and Jo are a great team and it was wonderful to have them as our guides. They provided us with lots of options and maintained their enthusiasm and professionalism. Stunning scenery.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • When Can I Come Back?

    “Active Adventures has organized a perfect itinerary to experience the South Island and our guides were not only well-trained and professional, but so personable and attentive. This trip was a great mix of outdoor activities with the group and some time on our own to explore towns. While there is a good amount of time in the bus, that's to be expected as we are touring the entire south island! Besides, the bus is comfortable with a great snack basket and there are interesting views and stops along the way.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Five Days Packed with Beauty and Lifetime Memories

    “Our group of five enjoyed wonderful hikes, great meals, and some wild rides (both mountain biking and tubing in the Waitomo Caves). But our guides, Andy and Jo made the trip outstanding. Andy's organizational skills and knowledge of the history of New Zealand along with Jo's fantastic culinary skills made the trip very special. Their attention to detail, passion and desire to adapt to every situation were superb.”
    – California, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Amazing Adventure

    “Our Condor adventure was definitely amazing! The trip was brilliantly orchestrated by Arturo in Patagonia who looked after our every need from morn to night, with efficiency, charm and mucho humour.
    It was a tough journey, but worth every step.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Condor, March 2018
  • Active Adventures knows Patagonia

    “It was obvious from our first night in Patagonia that Active Adventures was very capable of leading a first class trip through the area. Our guide, Cynthia, was personable, professional and capable.”
    – Louisiana, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Every day was a new adventure. The scenery and activities varied so much and it was the best way to see New Zealand in 8 days”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, March 2018
  • North Island Kauri

    “The North Island was an amazing adventure. We were kept busy hiking, biking snorkelling and kayaking, and our guides were very easy going and helpful in every way. We saw and experienced more of the Maori culture, the large Kauri trees (words cannot describe), and felt the love and appreciation of the Maori people for the land, birds and all living species. It was great to have them guide us through the kauri forests. The trip is spit in half in the middle with a day in Aukland, and the first half we had 12 in the group and the second half there were 13 (A lot) in our group. I prefer smaller groups. The scenery was amazing, Natalie and Jasmine were amazing as well. An AMAZING trip! Loved it!”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • Achieving Happiness

    “Have you ever had a sequence of events that one after another makes you smile? Well for me that was my most recent trip Feb 9-18 on the Rimu trip with Katie A and Tess. I was excited to have a lot of unique experiences while abroad and I got just that. We had a few changes to our original plan due to some weather and road issues but each of the guides provided some context and great supplemental hikes and activities along the way. There would be no other way to travel NZ. Katie and Tess found a waterfall that neither of them had stopped at on one of our days and sharing the new discovery was pretty awesome to share with a kiwi. They provided great history, trivia and created a friendly atmosphere while driving longer distances. I would positively sign up again to finish the Rimu south route as I wasn't able to get the last few days in and get back on to explore the North Island. With how well this was planned I am even looking into other Active Adventures destinations around the globe.”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Rimu trip exceeded our expectations from the quality of our great guides Pepper and Dani to the breathtaking and exhilarating hikes. Even the accommodations and food were great. We were there during a cyclone and our guides took care of everything, we were never worried and could just relax and enjoy the trip. We look forward to going to the North Island next with Active Adventures.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • New Zealand Rimu - My 5th Active Adventures Tour

    “Hard to imagine how the trip could have been better.”
    – Connecticut, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Condor 2018

    “This IS the trip of a lifetime! The itinerary is excellent, including the highlights of Patagonia and more! Trip logistics are well planned and expertly executed. Our guide, Arturo was one step ahead at all times and clearly has developed relationships with all hotels, refugios, restaurants and especially our local guides, creating incredible, seamless travel. The local guides, Cem (Jim) on the W Trek, Christian in El Chaltan, our drivers and specific activity guides were all excellent and willing to share their knowledge and love for their countries. This trip was FUN, Arturo is fun and all the new friends we met on our trip were fun!!!”
    – Maine, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Wonderful Overview of the South Island

    “We really enjoyed all the variety on the trip and seeing a good portion of the South Island.”
    – California, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Puma Trip Review

    “We were thrilled to have Mayra as our guide for this fantastic trip. She and the additional local guides were truly fantastic. There was an excellent balance of travel time, hiking, kayaking, relaxing and good food. Truly magical in every way.”
    – Michigan, United States Puma, March 2018
  • Kiwi adventure - Feb 10-23, 2018

    “My Kiwi adventure was the trip of a lifetime. Incredible country, wonderful hikes, totally terrific guides, wonderful lodging and excellent food! I was so kindly encouraged to complete each hike by both guides who were so supportive and helpful....and I DID! Going around each bend in the trail offered amazing vistas and lifelong memories.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • 'Kiwi' Trip - February 2018

    “Our 'Kiwi' trip was an amazing experience. Koru (guide/driver) and Lauren (guide/chef) together made a very supportive, knowledgeable team. The scenery, hiking, and kayaking were spectacular. We are very glad we chose Active Adventures to explore the South Island.”
    – Alberta, Canada Kiwi, March 2018
  • Patagonia 2018

    “This trip was a great experience. The scenery and hikes were amazing.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, March 2018
  • The Condor Trip Was Awesome!

    “The trip was physically challenging but the mountains and glaciers and wildlife were well worth the sweat! The weather was variable and mostly very windy, but we followed the "what to bring" list and were prepared for everything. The "W" trek rewarded some hard work with breathtaking views of the "Towers" and the "Horns" as well as several extraordinary glaciers, ice fields and lakes. The glacier hike on Grey Glacier was phenomenal! We have pictures of us inside a deep blue ice cave! The mountains and glaciers in Glaciares National Park were immense, Glacier Perito Moreno with a 250 foot face occasionally calving into the ice filled waters below. Views from the boat were spectacular with wind sculpted ice statues towering above the deck. The food was from good to excellent at restaurants and at the refugios on the "W" trek, and everywhere was well supplied with cold beer and excellent Chilean and Argentinian red wines. But best of all were the people we got to know, sharing our adventures, both challenging and relaxed.”
    – California, United States Condor, March 2018
  • Huge Country with Stunning Scenery

    “Great scenery and fantastic guides - all different but perfect for the different parts of the trip.”
    – Southland, New Zealand Condor, March 2018
  • Amazing Place and People!

    “We had a wonderful time! Koru is an amazing guide/driver/tour manager and Lauren is a great chef and hiking guide. The place is quite nice because it quiet out there (less people) Have done the 'Condor' in Patagonia and the 'Kiwi' in NZ with AA. Time to book 'Kauri' in NZ or Mont Blanc with AA.
    Good company to work with :)”
    – Ohio, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • Great Active Trip!

    “This was a great trip made even better by having Pablo as our quide. Pablo was so knowledgeable and passionate about the Galapagos. His explanation of how life begins on a barren volcanic landscape was enlightening - an "ah-ha" moment. The locally made food was great.”
    – New Mexico, United States Tortuga, March 2018
  • Iquana Tour

    “The guides and assistants were superb, absolutely the best. Caring, knowledgeable, good at explaining, good English, no BS just solid information from good recent sources. Both were especially good at accommodating a wide range of physical abilities, which must have been challenging. Cusco as a base made sense logistically, however some of us felt altitude effects. I would bring a nasal saline spray next time because the air was thin and dry. But the scenery, the ruins, the weaving we saw were absolutely spectacular and totally worth it. The Galapagos Islands were wonderful. The snorkeling was especially good. It was perfect to do a shallow spot first (which was excellent), and then the deep area by Kicker Rock. The bird nesting we saw there, and then the deep water snorkeling, were unforgettable.”
    – New York, United States Iguana, March 2018
  • Iguana - Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Our Iguana trip to Peru and Ecuador exceeded my expectations in all respects! We had a wonderful group of 8 (12 in the Galapagos) and delightful, expert guides, who worked tirelessly to make it all flow smoothly. I was very impressed with the itinerary of great activities, charming hotels, and excellent restaurants, with a myriad forms of transport linking them all together (vans, buses, trains, boats, planes, and even "toot-toots"). What surprised me was that our guides and drivers were willing to go way beyond the itinerary to meet our special needs and desires.
    In Peru, our ever-competent, ever-knowledgable guide Erick Farfan arranged a taxi for us to go back to town after old knees gave out during a long hike. He also helped us to make arrangements for half of us to visit a weaving village while the other half took a long Andean hike, provided extra snacks for a low blood sugar moment, and walked a lagging group member back to the van before rerunning back to the rest of the group. These actions, along with many others, allowed every member of the group to have the best trip possible. I will always be thankful to Erick for his expertise, great humor, and patience.
    In the Galapagos, Pepo was our "Super Plan" star! He knows everything about his home islands and proudly shared the wonders of the geology, flora, fauna, and fun local eating places! He answered our endless questions thoroughly, and we never spotted a bird or plant that he couldn't name. He also met the special requests and needs of the group, and explained and worked around any problems that arose - like a gas shortage for boats! All the islanders knew Pepo, and meeting his mother and cousin made us feel like family too. I also want to praise Andy, his assistant on Santa Cruz and Isabella. With Pepi leading and Andy following our group on all the hikes, it enabled us all to move at comfortable speeds, and even the slowest member of the geoup was able to do the 7+ mile hike up the Sierra Negra Volcano. Andy's kindness and charm was a great asset to us all.”
    – Iowa, United States Iguana, March 2018
  • 'Kauri' Trip with Andy and Jo

    “Great people......took really good care of us. Gave a new meaning to Active Adventures for me. Jo's a great cook and full of life. Andy is a book full of stories and information for us to consume. Loved my 5 days with them. Best of my trip really. Loved sand boarding and Cape Brett, my most favorite hike in the three weeks in NZ.”
    – Maryland, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Another Wonderful Adventure

    “Pablo was wonderful - passionate and knowledgeable! The organization of the trip was excellent and everyone was very accommodating to special requests. Galapagos was a major bucket list trip for me and going with Active Adventures made sure it didn't disappoint! Thank you for another wonderful adventure!”
    – , United Kingdom Tortuga, March 2018
  • Alan's Manuka Feb. 2018

    “Excellent trip, expectations fully met and delivered upon, outstanding staff.”
    – Texas, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Wonderful Trip

    “A wonderful experience....Koru and Lauren were fantastic guides and showed us the best New Zealand has to offer. From Maori history to present day sights the tour was constantly informative and inspirational. Although it was "guided" they gave plenty of freedom to hike at your own pace, take in the sights without feeling rushed and allowed ample time to take in all NZ has to offer.”
    – Maryland, United States Kiwi, February 2018
  • Weka Biking Trip

    “Outstanding experience with great guides and very enjoyable group. The trip was very well organized and is truly active so really great for people that have experience riding and are in great shape. The guides were outstanding with great local knowledge and experience.”
    – Ontario, Canada Weka, February 2018
  • A Great Adventure

    “At the end of two weeks hiking along some of the most glorious trails I have ever seen, I was bone tired but exhilarated by the beauty and challenge of it all. A wonderful adventure in an amazing place with terrific guides and companions.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, February 2018
  • My First True Holiday!

    “My experience with Active Adventures was beyond my expectations and will forever be treasured as the most enjoyable holiday ever. My inner child was able to come out each day as we played and explored and I was not responsible for details. The accommodations and activities varied in interesting and spectacular ways to experience the true country that New Zealand is, a remarkable place with extraordinarily kind people. Healthy home cooked meals and packed lunches to delight the "foodie" in me. Overall, I could release all stress, focus on the fun and for the first time, really have a holiday while our gifted and equipped guides did the planning, the driving, the cooking, while leading us to great places of adventure... and all the while, invest their delightful personalities in each one of our group. Wow! Can I do that again???”
    – Indiana, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “This was a really great trip. We hiked every day in beautiful areas and got to see a wide variety of climate, terrain and vegetation. Our Guides, Koru and Holly were wonderful - pleasant, knowledgeable and accommodating. One could not ask for more. Having Koru share his knowledge of the Maori culture and legends surrounding the places we visited was a real bonus.”
    – Arizona, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • Awesome Trip!!

    “Our guide Pablo was SO knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and plant life on the Islands. We loved snorkeling with the sea lions, sea turtles, sting rays, baby sharks and other fish. The biking was great fun also. The tortoises were amazing. Lovely, lovely!!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tortuga, February 2018
  • Amazing North Island

    “The North Island is very diverse with volcanoes and hot springs on one end and sand dunes and palm trees on the other end. The primary guide was an encyclopedia of knowledge on his island and the assistant was an amazing cook.....great combination. I learned so much about the indigenous plants and animals. If I were driving, I would be looking for a possum to run down! Wish we had an extra day in Rotorua as I had to pass on the mountain biking in order to visit Hobbiton. It would be nice to have had the opportunity to try zorbing since it was developed here.”
    – North Carolina, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Feb 2018 Galapagos

    “Excellent trip. Pablo is top notch. He is personable and knowledgeable and very respectful. The accommodations were outstanding. Overall an excellent trip.”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, February 2018
  • Melissa's Weka Adventure

    “I knew from pictures taken by family that New Zealand is a beautiful place but the beauty is much deeper than the eye can see. Everyone we came in contact with was wonderful and I can't think of enough superlatives to describe our guides, Nick and Elder. The trip was above our expectations. The biking was varied and interesting and the hikes worth every step. The food was too good and we enjoyed the variation in accommodations. We would go back and do it again.”
    – Virginia, United States Weka, February 2018
  • Wonderful 5-Day Adventure

    “Overall, the Manuka trip with Koru and Holly was great. There's so much to do in Fiordland that it really made sense for us to dip into as much of it as possible in 5 days. And Koru and Holly were unfailingly professional, informative and engaging as guides. Being in a good group also really worked for us. When the scenery is so spectacular, you want to share it and 14 worked really well.”
    – UK, United Kingdom Manuka, February 2018
  • Amazing Trip!

    “This was a fantastic exposure to the South Island with extremely helpful guides.”
    – Virginia, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • Manuka Trip was Awesome!

    “Koru and Holly were terrific guides (and cooks)! We had a fantastic time experiencing the rainforests, mountains, plains, fjords and culture of New Zealand's South Island. The hikes were challenging and rewarding!”
    – Virginia, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • A Quick Sampling of the North Island

    “The last 5 days of the Kauri trip gave us a sampling of New Zealand's North Island (hikes, waterfalls, geysers and caverns) and Maori culture, arts and crafts.”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Galapagos Was Fantastic

    “This trip was even more than I expected/hoped for. I learned so much from Pablo and his enthusiastic and passionate presentations, about Giant Tortoises and Marine Iguanas. Especially the various rescue operations, combined with the different species due to lava flow - wonderful.”
    – New York, United States Tortuga, February 2018
  • Everything I Hoped it Would Be

    “This trip was great in every way. My brother and I took the trip together and were pleased with every aspect it. The meals were excellent and our local guides were fun and Friendly. Thanks again Cem (Jim)and Lucy. We took the Inca Trail trip with Active 10 years ago and were fortunate enough to have Cynthia for some part of both trips. She is great at her job and makes everyone feel good about their effort and accomplishments. We are looking for another adventure now and we will most likely go somewhere with Active again.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Manuka-February 2018

    “This is our third Active Adventures trip and we have never been disappointed. Each trip has been a learning experience for us. The beautiful sights and people we have met along the way have made it a very worthwhile event that we will never forget. We enjoyed working with your professional team of staff and guides and hopefully one day we will return for another adventure. Thanks, Steve and Marilyn.”
    – Washington, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • Fantastic Trip!

    “This was an absolutely amazing adventure! Loved it. Great explanations of the natural world. Lovely hotels that handled three people easily. The food was great. See all the islands so up close and personal was just amazing. And everything was so well taken care of. All the people with Galakiwi did a great job.”
    – New Mexico, United States Tortuga, February 2018
  • Amazing Southbound Rimu

    “Wow what a country. Awesome guides (Ash and Tory Rock!!) amazing food great hikes and what a way to meet new friends. Would do another trip with Active for sure!!”
    – Indiana, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Amazing!

    “What a great trip! The scenery exceeded our already-high expectations! And the guides were so good (plus the fact that we would like to see New Zealand in the winter), we are already thinking about our next trip with Active Adventures!”
    – Virginia, United States Weka, February 2018

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure


Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.