Austin American-Statesman (Texas)

Austin American-Statesman (Texas)

'Rugged hike has its beauty', by Pamela LeBlanc - March 2007




Nelson Lakes, New Zealand - Just before lunch, my backpack starts to feel like I've stuffed a circus tent inside it, and my boots and socks are soaked from slogging through calf-deep streams.

That last swing bridge over a raging river, the one with a sign warning that it could support just one person at a time? It made my knees quake. And, our guides have warned, the steepest part is yet to come. So I am happy when we break for lunch.

Tramping, the New Zealand term for hiking, is challenging but rewarding. It's one of the main reasons tourists come to this country, known for outdoorsy pursuits and adventure travel. And it's why I'm here with my husband - to hike along some of the world's most beautiful mountains and lakes.

It also burns a ton of calories, so I eat a couple of sandwiches, some cheese and a pile of chocolate cookies, then flop on the grass, arms tucked behind my head. I inhale the mountain air. Listen to the water spilling over smooth oval rocks in a nearby stream. Swivel my head in all directions to take in the panorama of snow-capped peaks. I can't believe I'm backpacking on the other side of the world.

We'd begun our adventure the day before, at one end of Rotoiti Lake, in the Nelson Lakes region of New Zealand's South Island. With two weeks to spend on our vacation, we decided to spend half our time with a tour company that specializes in adventure travel, and do the other half on our own. (Some of New Zealand's wildly popular hiking trails require advance reservations; this one does not.) This trek was part of our guided trip.

We hiked for three or four hours along a mostly flat trail, through a tranquil forest of beech trees that hugged the shoreline, then spent the night at a communal hut, throwing down sleeping bags on giant bunks that ran along one wall of a rustic shelter. "Nice day to wag (skip) school and go for a tramp, eh?" a teenager said as we settled in for the night.

This morning, we left behind the flat terrain. We climbed through a forest thick with ferns and moss and more shades of green than a leprechaun's hideaway. Our tramp turned from hike to treasure hunt, as the clear path we'd been following disappeared and we began scampering between markers placed 25 or 50 yards apart. Revived after lunch, we're ready to forge on.

In an hour, we break above the treeline. The mountainside is dotted with shrubs and herbs. We scramble up the rocks, picking our way alongside a glimmering waterfall. Every now and then, we pause for a bite of chocolate or to soak in the scenery, feeling like mountain goats as we creep along.

At one point, a waterfall blocks our path. We have to cross. Our guide helps us through, telling us to face the mountain without looking at the roiling water (it can be disorienting) and sidestep through the icy, knee-high flow. Safely across, we press on, huffing and puffing as we chip away at the 3,000-foot climb.

Finally, we reach the top. We scamper through a mountain saddle, and the Angelus Hut appears in the distance, looking to us like a luxury hotel despite the green outhouses to one side and the tangle of socks drying on the wooden deck.

We ditch our backpacks at the hut, where trampers from as far away as France and Denmark are lounging and laughing. Out on the deck, we can't believe the view. A tiny alpine lake is glinting in the sun. Temperatures are in the 50s, but this is cause for celebration. Besides, I am sweaty and stinky. My husband and I walk down to the lake. I peel off my clothes and wade into the water up to my waist. With a gasp, I slosh ice-cold water over my head: hiking nirvana.

Back at the hut, I sprawl on the deck and sip a cup of hot tea. Later, we sup on pasta and nearly fall off our bench when the guide brings in two no-bake cheesecakes she just whipped up. We crawl into bed before the sun sets. Day three begins with a trip to the lake to gather drinking water for our bottles. We don't waste any time starting the hike along Roberts Ridge, hoping to beat some dark clouds that are building in the distance.

The wind is brisk, and parts of the walk are exposed, with scree fields dropping off on both sides. Now and then I'm slammed by a wind gust that sends me dropping to all fours to clutch the rocks. The route is high and narrow, and the going slow, but the scene that unfolds around us is gorgeous. We scamper from marker to marker, scrabbling over fields of canteloupe-sized rocks, then boulders the size of hogs, then loose gravel that slides away with a rustle at each step. All I can think, as I waddle along like a crab, trying to keep my center of gravity low, is "one false step and I'll be rolling for miles . . ."

After a couple hours, the slopes smooth out and the rock turns to alpine grass and cushion plants. Our guide tells us that ranchers sometimes mistake these low, spongy white plants for wayward sheep, spending hours to hike up and rescue them. Unlike lost sheep, we make steady progress down the ridge. We pause for lunch at a wooden lean-to, and march on. We pass an abandoned ski resort. The grasses turn to shrubs. We meet a few trampers on their way up. The shrubs turn to trees, and then we hit the switchbacks. For an hour, we pace downhill, weaving back and forth in a never-ending crisscross. The lake, once so far below, gets bigger and bigger. And finally, three days after we set out, we stumble into a parking lot.

Funny thing about this adventure: If I'd clearly known what I was getting into before taking my first steps, I probably wouldn't have done it. The wind, the precarious walk out, the close quarters with complete strangers - it all would have scared me away. I'm glad I did it, though. The feeling when we reached Angelus Hut, after a day and a half of hiking, was worth every step along the way.

Hear from our Happy Guests
4.85/5 Rating | 6,500+ Reviews

What people say about our trips

view all

Arches & Canyonlands Adventure - May 2024

really nice trip thanks to cool weather and great guides

"We were blessed to have cool weather that made hiking and biking easy. The hotel was in a great location and the people were very friendly. The best part was the Hummer tour.

read more

"We were blessed to have cool weather that made hiking and biking easy. The hotel… read more

"We were blessed to have cool weather that made hiking and biking easy. The hotel was in a great location and the people were very friendly. The best part was the Hummer tour. read less

5 Stars (58 reviews)

S Sherry | May 2024

Croatia Adventure - May 2024

Cycle the Sunny Isles of Croatia

"Ascend mountains that suddenly drop away to reveal a panorama of tile roofed Mediterranean villages, sailboats moored in little bays, and more islets and the Adriatic Sea beyond. Hike through olive groves and vineyards, smell the lavender and rosemary growing wild along the trail. Enjoy fine dining at small local restaurants where the owner knows the guide and brings platters of delicacies grown locally and the seafood catch of the day. Sample wines with the owner of the vineyard whose family has maintained it for several generations, wines sold only in Croatia. This was a very small and intimate travel experience with excellent guides.

read more

"Ascend mountains that suddenly drop away to reveal a panorama of tile roofed Mediterranean villages,… read more

"Ascend mountains that suddenly drop away to reveal a panorama of tile roofed Mediterranean villages, sailboats moored in little bays, and more islets and the Adriatic Sea beyond. Hike through olive groves and vineyards, smell the lavender and rosemary growing wild along the trail. Enjoy fine dining at small local restaurants where the owner knows the guide and brings platters of delicacies grown locally and the seafood catch of the day. Sample wines with the owner of the vineyard whose family has maintained it for several generations, wines sold only in Croatia. This was a very small and intimate travel experience with excellent guides. read less

5 Stars (43 reviews)

E Elizabeth | May 2024

Croatia Adventure - May 2024

Second time and just as amazing as the first!

"Croatia multi sport was our second trip with Active, after doing Netherlands cycling last year. This was an awesome full immersion trip into so many aspects of the country! Busy but had just enough down time to relax. Fun activities, great meals and learned so much history. Small group, awesome guides and an absolutely seamless and smooth experience. Active Adventures knocks it out of the park again!!

read more

"Croatia multi sport was our second trip with Active, after doing Netherlands cycling last year.… read more

"Croatia multi sport was our second trip with Active, after doing Netherlands cycling last year. This was an awesome full immersion trip into so many aspects of the country! Busy but had just enough down time to relax. Fun activities, great meals and learned so much history. Small group, awesome guides and an absolutely seamless and smooth experience. Active Adventures knocks it out of the park again!! read less

5 Stars (43 reviews)

A Andrew | May 2024

Arches & Canyonlands Adventure - May 2024

Keith

"Everything from pre trip communication to post trip followup was awesome (especially everything in between). Guides Joel and Steve were great and took care of all the details so we had truly no worries and were both informative and entertaining.

read more

"Everything from pre trip communication to post trip followup was awesome (especially everything in between).… read more

"Everything from pre trip communication to post trip followup was awesome (especially everything in between). Guides Joel and Steve were great and took care of all the details so we had truly no worries and were both informative and entertaining. read less

5 Stars (58 reviews)

K Keith | May 2024

Ultimate North Island Adventure - April 2024

Great Trip

"This was a terrific trip and a great overview of the North Island. It was a follow up to our trip with Active Adventures eight years ago of the South Island. I was surprised that the trip took place as my wife and I were the only participants. Despite that, our guide, Braden, was absolutely wonderful. He was enthusiastic about sharing his homeland with us and very knowledgeable. He has a great sense of humor, was flexible and very attentive all along the way. It was a pleasure to spend two weeks with him.

read more

"This was a terrific trip and a great overview of the North Island. It… read more

"This was a terrific trip and a great overview of the North Island. It was a follow up to our trip with Active Adventures eight years ago of the South Island. I was surprised that the trip took place as my wife and I were the only participants. Despite that, our guide, Braden, was absolutely wonderful. He was enthusiastic about sharing his homeland with us and very knowledgeable. He has a great sense of humor, was flexible and very attentive all along the way. It was a pleasure to spend two weeks with him. read less

5 Stars (381 reviews)

T Tom | April 2024

Ultimate North Island Adventure - April 2024

Beyond Expectations

"We traveled with Active Adventures 8 years ago to see the South Island of New Zealand. We didn't didn't hesitate to book with them this year when we wanted to see the North Island of New Zealand. Active Adventures did not disappoint. The physical beauty of New Zealand was only surpassed by the warmth of its people and specifically our guide Braden.

read more

"We traveled with Active Adventures 8 years ago to see the South Island of New… read more

"We traveled with Active Adventures 8 years ago to see the South Island of New Zealand. We didn't didn't hesitate to book with them this year when we wanted to see the North Island of New Zealand. Active Adventures did not disappoint. The physical beauty of New Zealand was only surpassed by the warmth of its people and specifically our guide Braden. read less

5 Stars (381 reviews)

M Martha Van | April 2024

Ultimate Machu Picchu & Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

One the the BEST trips I’ve ever been on!

"Our Peru/Galapogos trip with Active Adventures was awesome!! We had Zac as a guide for our Peru part of the trip, Pepo for our Galapagos portion. They were both very knowledgeable and passionate about showing us the history and beauty of where they are from. Zac was hilarious, kind, and understanding and even had us over to his beautiful house for lunch one day for authentic Peruvian food catered by his family’s catering company. Pepo also is a wonderful guide. We were able to go to his parents’ farm on San Cristobal Island, climb up into their boat/tree house, which was really fun! It’s impossible to describe all the wonderful information they taught us in this paragraph…but I do plan on requesting Zac for a Northern Patagonia trip in the future - he was THAT wonderful!!!! And if I go back to Galapagos, I would definitely ask for Pepo!!!!

read more

"Our Peru/Galapogos trip with Active Adventures was awesome!! We had Zac as a guide for… read more

"Our Peru/Galapogos trip with Active Adventures was awesome!! We had Zac as a guide for our Peru part of the trip, Pepo for our Galapagos portion. They were both very knowledgeable and passionate about showing us the history and beauty of where they are from. Zac was hilarious, kind, and understanding and even had us over to his beautiful house for lunch one day for authentic Peruvian food catered by his family’s catering company. Pepo also is a wonderful guide. We were able to go to his parents’ farm on San Cristobal Island, climb up into their boat/tree house, which was really fun! It’s impossible to describe all the wonderful information they taught us in this paragraph…but I do plan on requesting Zac for a Northern Patagonia trip in the future - he was THAT wonderful!!!! And if I go back to Galapagos, I would definitely ask for Pepo!!!! read less

5 Stars (67 reviews)

J Joyce | April 2024

Ultimate Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

Very active adventure, as promised!

"We had a wonderful time on this trip. Our guide and assistant were absolutely the best. Pablo is probably one of the best nature and historical guides on any tour and anyone would be lucky to have him as their Galapagos tour guide.

The accommodations included great breakfasts, large and clean rooms and were all very centrally located. Great hotel for meeting in Quito at the beginning and end of the trip as well.

The rest of the food on the trip was also delicious and plentiful.

We also very much enjoyed the company of our fellow travelers and look forward to keeping in touch with them.

Overall this was an amazing trip with a great itinerary, interesting people, and friendly, safe and informative guides.

read more

"We had a wonderful time on this trip. Our guide and assistant were absolutely the… read more

"We had a wonderful time on this trip. Our guide and assistant were absolutely the best. Pablo is probably one of the best nature and historical guides on any tour and anyone would be lucky to have him as their Galapagos tour guide.

The accommodations included great breakfasts, large and clean rooms and were all very centrally located. Great hotel for meeting in Quito at the beginning and end of the trip as well.

The rest of the food on the trip was also delicious and plentiful.

We also very much enjoyed the company of our fellow travelers and look forward to keeping in touch with them.

Overall this was an amazing trip with a great itinerary, interesting people, and friendly, safe and informative guides. read less

4 Stars (505 reviews)

D Denise | April 2024

Ultimate Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

Galapogos

"I was very impressed with this trip. I wanted to be amazed and Active Adventures delivered, I learned or saw something new almost every single minute of the trip, each day was a stunning experience. Our guide Pablo was worth every penny Active Adventures must pay him with his wealth of information and ability to teach. Client safety was always paramount no matter where he was taking us.
Paolo was a workhorse with the sweetest disposition and always approachable. I could not believe the efficiency of his timing for our transportation, loading our luggage while we ate, and taking care of the smallest requests. He was wonderful. We never waited for transportation, our accomodations were always ready when we arrived, plus he was so much fun to be around.
This trip was extremely well organized with an interesting variety of activities. Each day was full and my only frustration was the lack of time to relax, explore, or shop. I actually skipped a couple dinners so I could do just that; grab an icecream, leisurely walk the beautiful beach, and watch a sunset.
I loved this trip! Thank you

read more

"I was very impressed with this trip. I wanted to be amazed and Active Adventures… read more

"I was very impressed with this trip. I wanted to be amazed and Active Adventures delivered, I learned or saw something new almost every single minute of the trip, each day was a stunning experience. Our guide Pablo was worth every penny Active Adventures must pay him with his wealth of information and ability to teach. Client safety was always paramount no matter where he was taking us.
Paolo was a workhorse with the sweetest disposition and always approachable. I could not believe the efficiency of his timing for our transportation, loading our luggage while we ate, and taking care of the smallest requests. He was wonderful. We never waited for transportation, our accomodations were always ready when we arrived, plus he was so much fun to be around.
This trip was extremely well organized with an interesting variety of activities. Each day was full and my only frustration was the lack of time to relax, explore, or shop. I actually skipped a couple dinners so I could do just that; grab an icecream, leisurely walk the beautiful beach, and watch a sunset.
I loved this trip! Thank you read less

5 Stars (505 reviews)

J Julie | April 2024

Ultimate Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

Our Guide made this trip

"Pablo and Paolo were our guides and they made this trip special. From when they picked us up at the San Cristobal Airport to when we departed Santa Cruz, we were treated like the only guests on the islands. Pablo shared his knowledge of the islands, with enthusiasm. His story about the 2005 Sierra Negra Volcanic eruption was captivating. The boat rides between the islands held special memories. We saw a pod of about 40 whales including babies who were then joined by a pod of dolphins. This was mind-blowing. We spent 24 hours on Floreana Island, another special place. The black beaches and tortoise nursery were spectacular. I feel that my time on the islands was well spent and due to Pablo and Paolo, my knowledge of the area increased exponentially.
The travel between Quito and the Galapagos is long. On the first full day of travel, Pablo and Paolo packed in a lot of activity after the plane ride. On the day we returned to Quito we had one stop at a crater on our way to the airport. Once we arrived at our hotel in…

read more

"Pablo and Paolo were our guides and they made this trip special. From when… read more

"Pablo and Paolo were our guides and they made this trip special. From when they picked us up at the San Cristobal Airport to when we departed Santa Cruz, we were treated like the only guests on the islands. Pablo shared his knowledge of the islands, with enthusiasm. His story about the 2005 Sierra Negra Volcanic eruption was captivating. The boat rides between the islands held special memories. We saw a pod of about 40 whales including babies who were then joined by a pod of dolphins. This was mind-blowing. We spent 24 hours on Floreana Island, another special place. The black beaches and tortoise nursery were spectacular. I feel that my time on the islands was well spent and due to Pablo and Paolo, my knowledge of the area increased exponentially.
The travel between Quito and the Galapagos is long. On the first full day of travel, Pablo and Paolo packed in a lot of activity after the plane ride. On the day we returned to Quito we had one stop at a crater on our way to the airport. Once we arrived at our hotel in Quito we were on our own, that is not all bad, I was exhausted. Breakfast the following morning, day 10, was the last day we saw our travel companions.
I'd like to mention this was my first experience as a single traveler. The guests on these "active" trips have a similar mindset and are very welcoming. read less

5 Stars (505 reviews)

L Lee | April 2024

Classic South Island Adventure - April 2024

Magical New Zealand

"Our New Zealand Adventure was amazing and phenomenal. So many layers of landscape, adventures, experiences and friendships. Today we cruised the Fiourds of Milford Sound and hiked a final trek. And said "until next time" to some special people in a unique place that is truly "Middle Earth!" #activeadventures

read more

"Our New Zealand Adventure was amazing and phenomenal. So many layers of landscape, adventures,… read more

"Our New Zealand Adventure was amazing and phenomenal. So many layers of landscape, adventures, experiences and friendships. Today we cruised the Fiourds of Milford Sound and hiked a final trek. And said "until next time" to some special people in a unique place that is truly "Middle Earth!" #activeadventures read less

5 Stars (540 reviews)

L Laurie | April 2024

Netherlands Biking Adventure - April 2024

Tiptoeing through the Tulips!

"We had an extraordinary experience through the Netherlands. Initially, we were very concerned about the mileage on our bikes each day. Being 80 and 72 years old we were by far the oldest in the group. We also chose not to use an electric bike which gave us all the more of a challenge, especially during the days of relentless headwinds on a long dike. The exceptional character of our guides, Mirjam and Tom put forth a remarkable degree of effort to make every moment of our trip special. When I said my hands were so uncomfortable from cold Tom pulled out a bag of oversized winter gloves.... when Mirjam witnessed me hopelessly loosing ground biking into the strong headwinds she pedaled right beside me for miles talking with me, distracting me, encouraging me, and eventually getting me to our final stop.

The tulips were in full bloom, we enjoyed this colorful bit of nature most everyday. A cacophony of color opened up before us as we wound our way next to fields and fields of tulips, quaint villages with bridges and canals and the ever necessary dikes.

Everyday…

read more

"We had an extraordinary experience through the Netherlands. Initially, we were very concerned… read more

"We had an extraordinary experience through the Netherlands. Initially, we were very concerned about the mileage on our bikes each day. Being 80 and 72 years old we were by far the oldest in the group. We also chose not to use an electric bike which gave us all the more of a challenge, especially during the days of relentless headwinds on a long dike. The exceptional character of our guides, Mirjam and Tom put forth a remarkable degree of effort to make every moment of our trip special. When I said my hands were so uncomfortable from cold Tom pulled out a bag of oversized winter gloves.... when Mirjam witnessed me hopelessly loosing ground biking into the strong headwinds she pedaled right beside me for miles talking with me, distracting me, encouraging me, and eventually getting me to our final stop.

The tulips were in full bloom, we enjoyed this colorful bit of nature most everyday. A cacophony of color opened up before us as we wound our way next to fields and fields of tulips, quaint villages with bridges and canals and the ever necessary dikes.

Everyday was filled with a bit of culture, history, vigorous biking, wonderful dinners, and a true sense of accomplishment. read less

5 Stars (84 reviews)

P Paula | April 2024

Netherlands Biking Adventure - April 2024

Excellent Cycling Trip

"The guides, Tom and Mirjam, were amazing. Perfect mix of cycling and touring sights. They made sure to point out spots of interest and provided running commentary on the history of areas we were traveling through. We were well fed and looked forward to our rest stops.

read more

"The guides, Tom and Mirjam, were amazing. Perfect mix of cycling and touring sights. They… read more

"The guides, Tom and Mirjam, were amazing. Perfect mix of cycling and touring sights. They made sure to point out spots of interest and provided running commentary on the history of areas we were traveling through. We were well fed and looked forward to our rest stops. read less

5 Stars (84 reviews)

N Nicole | April 2024

Classic South Island Adventure - April 2024

A memorable time with incredible people and jaw-dropping scenery

"This was a trip like one I've never taken and I'd leap at the chance to go on another adventure with this group. I appreciated the small group setting where we really got to know each other. There was a great mix of team activities and the ability to be in smaller groups or be someone solo if desired. The trip was well-planned and every detail covered. Thank you for a fabulous week!

read more

"This was a trip like one I've never taken and I'd leap at the chance… read more

"This was a trip like one I've never taken and I'd leap at the chance to go on another adventure with this group. I appreciated the small group setting where we really got to know each other. There was a great mix of team activities and the ability to be in smaller groups or be someone solo if desired. The trip was well-planned and every detail covered. Thank you for a fabulous week! read less

5 Stars (540 reviews)

L Lauren | April 2024

Classic South Island Adventure - April 2024

Awesome experience!

"Our Classic South Adventure was such a wonderful experience. Our group of travelers were all very laid back and great to get to know despite the variation from very experienced travelers to a few members on their 1st such trip. I cannot say enough good things about our guides Brogan and Lauren! They made us feel so welcome and comfortable from the very start and spoiled us rotten with all the terrific meals and personal care. They are so great at sharing their personal knowledge and experiences of New Zealand culture/life. Despite some small changes to our itinerary due to mechanical issues; we were still able to do all the adventures planned thanks to our expert problem solving Super Guides. Our group felt like long time friends and family by the end of our tour. I highly recommend Active Adventures and will be joining another trip in the not too distant future!

read more

"Our Classic South Adventure was such a wonderful experience. Our group of travelers were all… read more

"Our Classic South Adventure was such a wonderful experience. Our group of travelers were all very laid back and great to get to know despite the variation from very experienced travelers to a few members on their 1st such trip. I cannot say enough good things about our guides Brogan and Lauren! They made us feel so welcome and comfortable from the very start and spoiled us rotten with all the terrific meals and personal care. They are so great at sharing their personal knowledge and experiences of New Zealand culture/life. Despite some small changes to our itinerary due to mechanical issues; we were still able to do all the adventures planned thanks to our expert problem solving Super Guides. Our group felt like long time friends and family by the end of our tour. I highly recommend Active Adventures and will be joining another trip in the not too distant future! read less

5 Stars (540 reviews)

M Mariah | April 2024

11

Experience adventure the way you want

You’ll be inspired and exhilarated, enjoying mind-blowing scenery on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike - all at your own pace.

benefits awards

Crafting award-winning trips for decades - the New Zealand way

We're proud of our New Zealand roots and you’ll love our professional and warm style of hosting. We’re always here to help with planning... even hiking boot recommendations!

benefit time v2

Every detail covered, to maximise your time

We've got everything covered – top-notch meals, comfortable transport, superb accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

benefit group travel

Group travel for those who aren’t ‘group travelers’

With an average of 12 guests per departure and an industry-leading average 6:1 guest-to-guide ratio, you'll get to know your fellow travelers and have the flexibility to go at your own pace.

benefit gems

Explore hidden gems through our expert local guides

All our carefully selected guides are highly experienced and have deep personal connections to nature and culture. You’ll enjoy an authentic local experience.

benefit review

Over 10,000 5-star reviews - that’s pretty solid

We could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are... but the best people to hear it from are our guests themselves.