Palm Beach Post

Palm Beach Post

'Take a hike', by Jim Beriau - February 2003



Attitude is everything. It could not have been clearer after seven years of marriage. Her body language said it all. "Just what on Earth am I doing at 6,000 feet with a 30-pound pack on my back, boulder-hopping on this ridge?" Her trekking pole slapped some of the small rocks out of the way. She stopped to pick one up. Must be a souvenir, as if the blisters on her feet weren't enough. I watched all this from a distance and did what all good husbands should do. Nothing.

I knew Jeannette well enough to know that she would eventually adjust her attitude. Sure enough, after falling on her backside in the grass, she did. With more-focused determination, she was one of the first from our group of 12 down the mountain that day. We had just concluded a three-day hike into Nelson Lakes National Park on the South Island, part of our two-week Active Adventures New Zealand tour. New Zealand is made up of North and South Islands. Our tour time was spent on the South Island.

Active would be a good word to describe this vacation. We biked along miles of unspoiled scenic mountain roads. We hiked through a rain forest to a summit overlooking Franz Josef Glacier. We climbed mountains along the Southern Alps as high as 6,000 feet. We sea-kayaked on a beautiful lagoon in Okarito and a fiord in Milford Sound. We visited a winery, we tried local restaurants. And on top of all that, the sun didn't set until 9:30 p.m., which meant we were able to pack in a lot of adventures. This was February, New Zealand's summer.

To get to the many remote areas of the South Island, the 12 of us rode together on a small but comfortable bus we fondly nicknamed the silver mini-Winnie, driven by our guide Ken, along with Jacqui, our cook, and Brendan, a cook in training. They were professional, personable and, above all, knew how to have a good time. Our group bonded pretty quickly. We met each other after flying into Christchurch, and then on our first excursion in Kaikoura we swam with seals. For more than two hours, our guide valiantly led us in our wet suits to waters suited only for marine wildlife. The seals seemed to be laughing at us from their perches in the safety of the rocks. We didn't belong there. Later at dinner we would share our experiences and laugh until our sides hurt.

As I edge closer to age 40, there were many physical challenges. The next day, we went on a three-day Nelson Lakes hike, a series of treks through beautiful beech forests and steep, rugged mountains. We walked from hut to hut and drank from crystalclear streams as we ascended steep rocky slopes. Maybe because I stopped to snap off a photo or two, or I wasn't in as good shape as I thought, I always ended up being alone. This was OK, as I urged myself up to the top.

"One step at a time", Ken, our guide would say to me in his Kiwi accent. He was right. During that 2,000-foot vertical ascent up Mount Angelus, I figured if I could make it to the top, I could do anything on this trip. Two hours later, I was standing with my wife on top of the world. I felt a great sense of achievement as we walked to the hut. That night I ventured outside while everyone else slept, to find a large, white full moon rising above the craggy mountainous landscape. I thought I was on a different planet. The stars littered the black sky from horizon to horizon. I thought, "now this is a vacation."

Music was a large part of our driving pleasure, and Ken supplied us with a fun mix of new and old. He was a great DJ by always matching the music to our moods. The Doors' Riders on the Storm provided the perfect soundtrack to the passing landscape in the rain-drenched Fiordland National Park. Waterfalls cascaded down from black cliffs that disappeared into the clouds.

This was all after a trip to Punakaiki, where we spent a day relaxing. Another short hike, then a four-hour kayak trip into the Okarito Lagoon. Then another half-day hike into a rain forest, and a look at the Franz Josef Glacier. All this, then the van trip to Fiordland National Park.

Sky-diving adventure
It's Queenstown next, with two days to relax."OK, when the light in front of you turns green, we are good to go. Keep your head back, lean into me, relax and have a great time," said my tandem sky-diving instructor. It was my turn next. Three of us jumped, each with an instructor and video guy. The light flashed green. I sat on the edge of the plane and looked down. The view was incredible. I was more excited than scared. Just before leaping out of the plane, I heard my wife scream some words of encouragement. She had done this before.

Falling at 120 mph is pure adrenaline rush. Your entire body is weightless. I tried to scream, but the air filled my lungs too quickly and wouldn't allow it. After freefalling for about 45 seconds, we floated down in silence. This is the craziest thing I have ever done, but I was glad I did it. Back on the ground, we were all shouting and dancing. Eight of us from our group jumped that day - another great bonding experience.

This was Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand. Surrounded by mountains aptly named The Remarkables, they formed a stunning backdrop to Lake Wakatipu. We could not sit still. My wife, along with two others, tried the highest bungee jump in New Zealand, the Nevis, a 400-foot jump from a cable car suspended by wires over the Nevis River gorge. They all remained high from that experience for days after. There were lots of other activities to try in those two days: mountain biking, canyoning, jet-boating, whitewater rafting and riding in an acrobatic plane. Then in the evenings we all had dinner together and raised a ruckus in the restaurants and clubs.

The next morning we departed from Queenstown to Milford Sound, so some of us took the opportunity to mountain bike the road alongside beautiful Lake Wakatipu. I hadn't done very much biking, but surprisingly I found this to be a blast. After a short afternoon hike in Fiordland National Park, we stopped again. Outfitted in rain gear, several of us biked an aggressive 17- kilometer downhill portion of the road to the Milford Lodge, where we stayed.

Next on the agenda was a four-hour extreme kayak on Milford Sound. The rain came at us in sheets while the wind and waves tossed our bright, bouncy kayaks around like toys. We were having a rough time of it in our two-person craft. (Those colorful brochures had made it look so tranquil!) Even through all the choppy waters, Jeannette's sore wrist and my aching and tired arms, we hung in there for the challenge, remembering to marvel at the majestic beauty of Mitre Peak plunging into the sea, its tip shrouded in clouds. In the distance, a waterfall that seemed three times higher than Niagara Falls was spilling into the fiord.

In the middle of nowhere
The most peaceful place we stayed during this tour was in Braemar Station, at a sheep shearer's house on a farm alongside Lake Pukaki at the base of Mount Cook. We were in the middle of nowhere with stunning views of the Southern Alps. The golden, grassy landscape was vast, open and quiet. Some of us slept out on the covered porch. Later that evening, I was so transfixed by the bright night sky, sleep seemed impossible. The next morning we were up early and ready for our seven-hour strenuous hike up a ridge alongside Mount Cook. This would be our final hike of the tour - 6,000 feet up to Mueller Hut.

The weather was perfect. After almost two weeks of hiking, my legs and stamina greatly improved and I found this hike to be the most challenging, yet the most exhilarating. The last 1,500 feet or so, we were climbing almost vertically over loose rock and large boulders. After three hours, we were there. We ate lunch, played in the snow, took some group photos and hoisted our makeshift flag. The camaraderie of our group ensured plenty of good times. We played Crazy 8's by candlelight in Lakehead Hut. We showered beneath a breathtaking waterfall on a beach in Punakaiki. We danced like fools at a Latin club in Queenstown.

We sang songs together as we hiked up steep mountains. We enjoyed sharing great New Zealand beers and wines at local pubs and vineyards. Conversation was always witty and full of goodnatured teasing. We encouraged and supported each other in our personal goals. We shared a unique New Zealand experience and made friends we know we will see again.

Hear from our Happy Guests
4.85/5 Rating | 6,500+ Reviews

What people say about our trips

view all

Classic South Island Adventure - November 2023

South Island

"New Zealand is spectacular. Our guides Emma & Luke shared there love of NZ and the outdoors! They made the trip so much more enjoyable!

read more

"New Zealand is spectacular. Our guides Emma & Luke shared there love of NZ and… read more

"New Zealand is spectacular. Our guides Emma & Luke shared there love of NZ and the outdoors! They made the trip so much more enjoyable! read less

5 Stars (519 reviews)

L Laurie | November 2023

Classic South Island Adventure - November 2023

Fantastic trip

"I can’t imagine any better of a trip. Great guides who were personable, knowledgeable, and kind; amazing scenery and activities; and a great group of fellow travelers.

read more

"I can’t imagine any better of a trip. Great guides who were personable, knowledgeable, and… read more

"I can’t imagine any better of a trip. Great guides who were personable, knowledgeable, and kind; amazing scenery and activities; and a great group of fellow travelers. read less

5 Stars (519 reviews)

S Shauna | November 2023

Classic South Island Adventure - November 2023

The Highlights of the South Island

"This tour has it all from hiking to an amazing overflight of valleys to jet boating to a relaxing cruise through Milford Sound. Every day was something new and exciting but yet we also had time to absorb the awesomeness all around us at each activity. Active Adventures are true NZ experts and it shows on this trip from knowledgeable guides to secret little trails and the best areas to do a leg stretch when we had longer drives to dynamite food at every meal!

read more

"This tour has it all from hiking to an amazing overflight of valleys to jet… read more

"This tour has it all from hiking to an amazing overflight of valleys to jet boating to a relaxing cruise through Milford Sound. Every day was something new and exciting but yet we also had time to absorb the awesomeness all around us at each activity. Active Adventures are true NZ experts and it shows on this trip from knowledgeable guides to secret little trails and the best areas to do a leg stretch when we had longer drives to dynamite food at every meal! read less

5 Stars (519 reviews)

B Ben | November 2023

Ultimate South Island Adventure - November 2023

Exploring the South Island

"We had a wonderful trip on the South Island. Our guides, Holly and Max were fun and took great care of us. Each hike was better than the previous one. It felt like a best hits tour. Max fed us well and Holly got us to our destinations safely. We all had fun together.
We choose the option to go to the huts. I was a bit worried about how much food they would have us carry but it turned out to be minimal. The huts were a good experience and helped the group bond. Snow kept us from reaching the Angelos hut but the alternate Bushline hut was fun and we saw the most amazing rainbow.
Along the way, Holly told Maori myth stories and info about the history, geology, fauna and flora of New Zealand.

read more

"We had a wonderful trip on the South Island. Our guides, Holly and Max… read more

"We had a wonderful trip on the South Island. Our guides, Holly and Max were fun and took great care of us. Each hike was better than the previous one. It felt like a best hits tour. Max fed us well and Holly got us to our destinations safely. We all had fun together.
We choose the option to go to the huts. I was a bit worried about how much food they would have us carry but it turned out to be minimal. The huts were a good experience and helped the group bond. Snow kept us from reaching the Angelos hut but the alternate Bushline hut was fun and we saw the most amazing rainbow.
Along the way, Holly told Maori myth stories and info about the history, geology, fauna and flora of New Zealand. read less

5 Stars (886 reviews)

E Erin | November 2023

Ultimate South Island Adventure - November 2023

Ultimate South Island Adventure

"Memorable beyond words! Originally scheduled for November 2020, I couldn't wait for this adventure to begin. From start to end, Active Adventures was spectacular. Holly & Max were incredible guides, chefs, logisitcs, histroy and a few shenanigans thrown in. The ability to balance 11 different personalities with a smile with the long days! As Holly would say, "New Zeland, stop it!"

read more

"Memorable beyond words! Originally scheduled for November 2020, I couldn't wait for this adventure… read more

"Memorable beyond words! Originally scheduled for November 2020, I couldn't wait for this adventure to begin. From start to end, Active Adventures was spectacular. Holly & Max were incredible guides, chefs, logisitcs, histroy and a few shenanigans thrown in. The ability to balance 11 different personalities with a smile with the long days! As Holly would say, "New Zeland, stop it!" read less

5 Stars (886 reviews)

M Mike | November 2023

Classic South Island Adventure - November 2023

Review of New Zealand Classic South Island Adventure

"I found the guides to be extremely knowledgeable and exceedingly friendly and professional. The places we visited were mind-blowing beautiful and the activities were very well planned and executed. I found myself refreshed and reinvigorated every day of the trip.

read more

"I found the guides to be extremely knowledgeable and exceedingly friendly and professional. The… read more

"I found the guides to be extremely knowledgeable and exceedingly friendly and professional. The places we visited were mind-blowing beautiful and the activities were very well planned and executed. I found myself refreshed and reinvigorated every day of the trip. read less

5 Stars (519 reviews)

S Stephen | November 2023

Ultimate North Island Adventure - November 2023

North Island Adventure

"We extremely enjoyed the trip. Everyone got along. The tour guides Liana and Lisa were great. Lisa coordinated and prepared a number on meals that were also very good. Liana kept us informed of the local traditions and histories. we enjoy everything.

read more

"We extremely enjoyed the trip. Everyone got along. The tour guides Liana and… read more

"We extremely enjoyed the trip. Everyone got along. The tour guides Liana and Lisa were great. Lisa coordinated and prepared a number on meals that were also very good. Liana kept us informed of the local traditions and histories. we enjoy everything. read less

5 Stars (369 reviews)

N Nancy | November 2023

Ultimate North Island Adventure - November 2023

North Island Experience

"We had a great time discovering the diverse activities and beauty of the North Island of New Zealand. Our guides were great fun and made our trip special from the Kauri Trees to the wonderful hikes.

read more

"We had a great time discovering the diverse activities and beauty of the North Island… read more

"We had a great time discovering the diverse activities and beauty of the North Island of New Zealand. Our guides were great fun and made our trip special from the Kauri Trees to the wonderful hikes. read less

5 Stars (369 reviews)

J John | November 2023

Ultimate North Island Adventure - November 2023

Excellent!!

"Active does an amazing job arranging everything and really taking care of the guests. I had a great trip and can't say enough nice things about our guides. Everything went smooth and they were so knowledgeable. Would highly recommend the trip to anyone.

read more

"Active does an amazing job arranging everything and really taking care of the guests. I… read more

"Active does an amazing job arranging everything and really taking care of the guests. I had a great trip and can't say enough nice things about our guides. Everything went smooth and they were so knowledgeable. Would highly recommend the trip to anyone. read less

5 Stars (369 reviews)

M Mollie | November 2023

Milford Track Adventure - November 2023

NZ South Island

"We saw and did amazing things, an action packed trip which is what we liked. The guides were the best. We went to see and do activities we would have never found on our own.

read more

"We saw and did amazing things, an action packed trip which is what we liked.… read more

"We saw and did amazing things, an action packed trip which is what we liked. The guides were the best. We went to see and do activities we would have never found on our own. read less

5 Stars (183 reviews)

M Margery | November 2023

Patagonia Hiking Adventure - November 2023

Barb Flowers

"What a great adventure in Patagonia! Me and my 2 adult children spent 14 days in Patagonia with wonderful guides! Jessica was absolutely amazing! She took care of every detail, truly cared about us and the region, was fun, knowledgeable!! She made the trip very special for us. Active Adventures you have a gem in Jess! The local guides were great too -- Andrea was a blast and knew all the great places to take us. Her love of the region was evident in her knowledge and enthusiasm. My daughter did the W trek and Chris and Jess took great care of her. It was an experience of a lifetime for her. Loved the small group -- only 5 of us! Loved the attention to detail, the food, the drivers, the accommodations! The shear beauty of the place would have been enough but all the other details took it over the top!!

read more

"What a great adventure in Patagonia! Me and my 2 adult children spent 14… read more

"What a great adventure in Patagonia! Me and my 2 adult children spent 14 days in Patagonia with wonderful guides! Jessica was absolutely amazing! She took care of every detail, truly cared about us and the region, was fun, knowledgeable!! She made the trip very special for us. Active Adventures you have a gem in Jess! The local guides were great too -- Andrea was a blast and knew all the great places to take us. Her love of the region was evident in her knowledge and enthusiasm. My daughter did the W trek and Chris and Jess took great care of her. It was an experience of a lifetime for her. Loved the small group -- only 5 of us! Loved the attention to detail, the food, the drivers, the accommodations! The shear beauty of the place would have been enough but all the other details took it over the top!! read less

5 Stars (346 reviews)

B Barbara | November 2023

Machu Picchu & Amazon Adventure - November 2023

Machu Picchu and Amazon adventure - November 2023

"It was an amazing experience. From the organization of the trip leader guide to the experience of walking the Inca Trail and ending up with a majestic view of Machu Picchu at the end of the 4 day trek, the entire trip surpassed my expectations. The Amazon portion of the trip although extremely hot and humid was exciting. From the sunrises to the sunsets, with the wildlife and flora and fauna.. simply amazing. The restaurants chosen by our trip leader showcased the gastronomic excellence of Peru. Simply amazing

read more

"It was an amazing experience. From the organization of the trip leader guide to the… read more

"It was an amazing experience. From the organization of the trip leader guide to the experience of walking the Inca Trail and ending up with a majestic view of Machu Picchu at the end of the 4 day trek, the entire trip surpassed my expectations. The Amazon portion of the trip although extremely hot and humid was exciting. From the sunrises to the sunsets, with the wildlife and flora and fauna.. simply amazing. The restaurants chosen by our trip leader showcased the gastronomic excellence of Peru. Simply amazing read less

5 Stars (114 reviews)

M Mary | November 2023

Annapurna Sanctuary Trek - October 2023

Glenn

"The trip was enjoyable, challenging, thoughtfully designed, and well run.

read more

"The trip was enjoyable, challenging, thoughtfully designed, and well run. read more

"The trip was enjoyable, challenging, thoughtfully designed, and well run. read less

5 Stars (118 reviews)

G Glenn | October 2023

Ultimate Machu Picchu & Galapagos Islands Adventure - October 2023

Outstanding vacation!

"For those who enjoy hiking and adventure it's a fantastic way to see Peru and Ecuador. The guides were truly outstanding, and the hotel accommodations were fantastic. We moved around a lot, and almost every hotel room had a fantastic view. We learned a lot about the history and culture, while also taking in beautiful sites and views. And learned so much about what makes The Galapagos Islands so unique and amazing. And about all the wildlife that inhabits these regions.

read more

"For those who enjoy hiking and adventure it's a fantastic way to see Peru and… read more

"For those who enjoy hiking and adventure it's a fantastic way to see Peru and Ecuador. The guides were truly outstanding, and the hotel accommodations were fantastic. We moved around a lot, and almost every hotel room had a fantastic view. We learned a lot about the history and culture, while also taking in beautiful sites and views. And learned so much about what makes The Galapagos Islands so unique and amazing. And about all the wildlife that inhabits these regions. read less

5 Stars (61 reviews)

A Allen | October 2023

Kathmandu Valley & Bhutan Adventure - October 2023

Excellent introduction to Nepal and Bhutan

"This trip provided an overview to all aspects of Nepal and Bhutan from the food to the religion to lifestyles to the urban and natural environments of these two countries and their people. Our local guides provided many unique insights weaving together the historical, sociological, and environmental forces that have shaped the countries. Our days were full with a variety of activities while still providing time for rest and reflection. I gained a better understanding of not only these two countries but the surrounding larger countries of Tibet, India, and China. The many contrasts with my life in the United States have provided me with a fuller appreciation of both its strengths and the weaknesses and made me a better citizen of the world. I would strongly recommend this trip.

read more

"This trip provided an overview to all aspects of Nepal and Bhutan from the food… read more

"This trip provided an overview to all aspects of Nepal and Bhutan from the food to the religion to lifestyles to the urban and natural environments of these two countries and their people. Our local guides provided many unique insights weaving together the historical, sociological, and environmental forces that have shaped the countries. Our days were full with a variety of activities while still providing time for rest and reflection. I gained a better understanding of not only these two countries but the surrounding larger countries of Tibet, India, and China. The many contrasts with my life in the United States have provided me with a fuller appreciation of both its strengths and the weaknesses and made me a better citizen of the world. I would strongly recommend this trip. read less

4 Stars (12 reviews)

R Robert | October 2023

11

Experience adventure the way you want

You’ll be inspired and exhilarated, enjoying mind-blowing scenery on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike - all at your own pace.

benefits awards

Crafting award-winning trips for decades - the Kiwi way

We're proud of our Kiwi roots and you’ll love our professional and warm style of hosting. We’re always here to help with planning... even hiking boot recommendations!

benefit time v2

Every detail covered, to maximise your time

We've got everything covered – top-notch meals, comfortable transport, superb accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

benefit group travel

Group travel for those who aren’t ‘group travelers’

With an average of 12 guests per departure and an industry-leading 6:1 guest-to-guide ratio, you'll get to know your fellow travelers and have the flexibility to go at your own pace.

benefit gems

Explore hidden gems through our expert local guides

All our carefully selected guides are highly experienced and have deep personal connections to nature and culture. You’ll enjoy an authentic local experience.

benefit review

4.85 out of 5 from 6607 reviews. That’s pretty solid.

We could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are... but the best people to hear it from are our guests themselves.