Palm Beach Post

Palm Beach Post

'Take a hike', by Jim Beriau - February 2003



Attitude is everything. It could not have been clearer after seven years of marriage. Her body language said it all. "Just what on Earth am I doing at 6,000 feet with a 30-pound pack on my back, boulder-hopping on this ridge?" Her trekking pole slapped some of the small rocks out of the way. She stopped to pick one up. Must be a souvenir, as if the blisters on her feet weren't enough. I watched all this from a distance and did what all good husbands should do. Nothing.

I knew Jeannette well enough to know that she would eventually adjust her attitude. Sure enough, after falling on her backside in the grass, she did. With more-focused determination, she was one of the first from our group of 12 down the mountain that day. We had just concluded a three-day hike into Nelson Lakes National Park on the South Island, part of our two-week Active Adventures New Zealand tour. New Zealand is made up of North and South Islands. Our tour time was spent on the South Island.

Active would be a good word to describe this vacation. We biked along miles of unspoiled scenic mountain roads. We hiked through a rain forest to a summit overlooking Franz Josef Glacier. We climbed mountains along the Southern Alps as high as 6,000 feet. We sea-kayaked on a beautiful lagoon in Okarito and a fiord in Milford Sound. We visited a winery, we tried local restaurants. And on top of all that, the sun didn't set until 9:30 p.m., which meant we were able to pack in a lot of adventures. This was February, New Zealand's summer.

To get to the many remote areas of the South Island, the 12 of us rode together on a small but comfortable bus we fondly nicknamed the silver mini-Winnie, driven by our guide Ken, along with Jacqui, our cook, and Brendan, a cook in training. They were professional, personable and, above all, knew how to have a good time. Our group bonded pretty quickly. We met each other after flying into Christchurch, and then on our first excursion in Kaikoura we swam with seals. For more than two hours, our guide valiantly led us in our wet suits to waters suited only for marine wildlife. The seals seemed to be laughing at us from their perches in the safety of the rocks. We didn't belong there. Later at dinner we would share our experiences and laugh until our sides hurt.

As I edge closer to age 40, there were many physical challenges. The next day, we went on a three-day Nelson Lakes hike, a series of treks through beautiful beech forests and steep, rugged mountains. We walked from hut to hut and drank from crystalclear streams as we ascended steep rocky slopes. Maybe because I stopped to snap off a photo or two, or I wasn't in as good shape as I thought, I always ended up being alone. This was OK, as I urged myself up to the top.

"One step at a time", Ken, our guide would say to me in his Kiwi accent. He was right. During that 2,000-foot vertical ascent up Mount Angelus, I figured if I could make it to the top, I could do anything on this trip. Two hours later, I was standing with my wife on top of the world. I felt a great sense of achievement as we walked to the hut. That night I ventured outside while everyone else slept, to find a large, white full moon rising above the craggy mountainous landscape. I thought I was on a different planet. The stars littered the black sky from horizon to horizon. I thought, "now this is a vacation."

Music was a large part of our driving pleasure, and Ken supplied us with a fun mix of new and old. He was a great DJ by always matching the music to our moods. The Doors' Riders on the Storm provided the perfect soundtrack to the passing landscape in the rain-drenched Fiordland National Park. Waterfalls cascaded down from black cliffs that disappeared into the clouds.

This was all after a trip to Punakaiki, where we spent a day relaxing. Another short hike, then a four-hour kayak trip into the Okarito Lagoon. Then another half-day hike into a rain forest, and a look at the Franz Josef Glacier. All this, then the van trip to Fiordland National Park.

Sky-diving adventure
It's Queenstown next, with two days to relax."OK, when the light in front of you turns green, we are good to go. Keep your head back, lean into me, relax and have a great time," said my tandem sky-diving instructor. It was my turn next. Three of us jumped, each with an instructor and video guy. The light flashed green. I sat on the edge of the plane and looked down. The view was incredible. I was more excited than scared. Just before leaping out of the plane, I heard my wife scream some words of encouragement. She had done this before.

Falling at 120 mph is pure adrenaline rush. Your entire body is weightless. I tried to scream, but the air filled my lungs too quickly and wouldn't allow it. After freefalling for about 45 seconds, we floated down in silence. This is the craziest thing I have ever done, but I was glad I did it. Back on the ground, we were all shouting and dancing. Eight of us from our group jumped that day - another great bonding experience.

This was Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand. Surrounded by mountains aptly named The Remarkables, they formed a stunning backdrop to Lake Wakatipu. We could not sit still. My wife, along with two others, tried the highest bungee jump in New Zealand, the Nevis, a 400-foot jump from a cable car suspended by wires over the Nevis River gorge. They all remained high from that experience for days after. There were lots of other activities to try in those two days: mountain biking, canyoning, jet-boating, whitewater rafting and riding in an acrobatic plane. Then in the evenings we all had dinner together and raised a ruckus in the restaurants and clubs.

The next morning we departed from Queenstown to Milford Sound, so some of us took the opportunity to mountain bike the road alongside beautiful Lake Wakatipu. I hadn't done very much biking, but surprisingly I found this to be a blast. After a short afternoon hike in Fiordland National Park, we stopped again. Outfitted in rain gear, several of us biked an aggressive 17- kilometer downhill portion of the road to the Milford Lodge, where we stayed.

Next on the agenda was a four-hour extreme kayak on Milford Sound. The rain came at us in sheets while the wind and waves tossed our bright, bouncy kayaks around like toys. We were having a rough time of it in our two-person craft. (Those colorful brochures had made it look so tranquil!) Even through all the choppy waters, Jeannette's sore wrist and my aching and tired arms, we hung in there for the challenge, remembering to marvel at the majestic beauty of Mitre Peak plunging into the sea, its tip shrouded in clouds. In the distance, a waterfall that seemed three times higher than Niagara Falls was spilling into the fiord.

In the middle of nowhere
The most peaceful place we stayed during this tour was in Braemar Station, at a sheep shearer's house on a farm alongside Lake Pukaki at the base of Mount Cook. We were in the middle of nowhere with stunning views of the Southern Alps. The golden, grassy landscape was vast, open and quiet. Some of us slept out on the covered porch. Later that evening, I was so transfixed by the bright night sky, sleep seemed impossible. The next morning we were up early and ready for our seven-hour strenuous hike up a ridge alongside Mount Cook. This would be our final hike of the tour - 6,000 feet up to Mueller Hut.

The weather was perfect. After almost two weeks of hiking, my legs and stamina greatly improved and I found this hike to be the most challenging, yet the most exhilarating. The last 1,500 feet or so, we were climbing almost vertically over loose rock and large boulders. After three hours, we were there. We ate lunch, played in the snow, took some group photos and hoisted our makeshift flag. The camaraderie of our group ensured plenty of good times. We played Crazy 8's by candlelight in Lakehead Hut. We showered beneath a breathtaking waterfall on a beach in Punakaiki. We danced like fools at a Latin club in Queenstown.

We sang songs together as we hiked up steep mountains. We enjoyed sharing great New Zealand beers and wines at local pubs and vineyards. Conversation was always witty and full of goodnatured teasing. We encouraged and supported each other in our personal goals. We shared a unique New Zealand experience and made friends we know we will see again.

Hear from our Happy Guests
4.85/5 Rating | 6,500+ Reviews

What people say about our trips

view all

Machu Picchu & Amazon Adventure - May 2024

Wonderful time in Peru, even when things don't go according to plan

"When my partner and I caught a bad stomach illness, we thought our trip was over. But thanks to our wonderful guides and quick planning by Active Adventures, we were able to get back on track and have an absolutely incredible time in Peru. From the amazing food to the breathtaking sites and challenging hikes, it was truly an amazing experience.

Thank you to our guides as well who provided great company and extremely insightful history and knowledge that we would not have gotten without them.

read more

"When my partner and I caught a bad stomach illness, we thought our trip was… read more

"When my partner and I caught a bad stomach illness, we thought our trip was over. But thanks to our wonderful guides and quick planning by Active Adventures, we were able to get back on track and have an absolutely incredible time in Peru. From the amazing food to the breathtaking sites and challenging hikes, it was truly an amazing experience.

Thank you to our guides as well who provided great company and extremely insightful history and knowledge that we would not have gotten without them. read less

5 Stars (116 reviews)

D Daniel | May 2024

Arches & Canyonlands Adventure - May 2024

really nice trip thanks to cool weather and great guides

"We were blessed to have cool weather that made hiking and biking easy. The hotel was in a great location and the people were very friendly. The best part was the Hummer tour.

read more

"We were blessed to have cool weather that made hiking and biking easy. The hotel… read more

"We were blessed to have cool weather that made hiking and biking easy. The hotel was in a great location and the people were very friendly. The best part was the Hummer tour. read less

5 Stars (58 reviews)

S Sherry | May 2024

Croatia Adventure - May 2024

Cycle the Sunny Isles of Croatia

"Ascend mountains that suddenly drop away to reveal a panorama of tile roofed Mediterranean villages, sailboats moored in little bays, and more islets and the Adriatic Sea beyond. Hike through olive groves and vineyards, smell the lavender and rosemary growing wild along the trail. Enjoy fine dining at small local restaurants where the owner knows the guide and brings platters of delicacies grown locally and the seafood catch of the day. Sample wines with the owner of the vineyard whose family has maintained it for several generations, wines sold only in Croatia. This was a very small and intimate travel experience with excellent guides.

read more

"Ascend mountains that suddenly drop away to reveal a panorama of tile roofed Mediterranean villages,… read more

"Ascend mountains that suddenly drop away to reveal a panorama of tile roofed Mediterranean villages, sailboats moored in little bays, and more islets and the Adriatic Sea beyond. Hike through olive groves and vineyards, smell the lavender and rosemary growing wild along the trail. Enjoy fine dining at small local restaurants where the owner knows the guide and brings platters of delicacies grown locally and the seafood catch of the day. Sample wines with the owner of the vineyard whose family has maintained it for several generations, wines sold only in Croatia. This was a very small and intimate travel experience with excellent guides. read less

5 Stars (43 reviews)

E Elizabeth | May 2024

Croatia Adventure - May 2024

Second time and just as amazing as the first!

"Croatia multi sport was our second trip with Active, after doing Netherlands cycling last year. This was an awesome full immersion trip into so many aspects of the country! Busy but had just enough down time to relax. Fun activities, great meals and learned so much history. Small group, awesome guides and an absolutely seamless and smooth experience. Active Adventures knocks it out of the park again!!

read more

"Croatia multi sport was our second trip with Active, after doing Netherlands cycling last year.… read more

"Croatia multi sport was our second trip with Active, after doing Netherlands cycling last year. This was an awesome full immersion trip into so many aspects of the country! Busy but had just enough down time to relax. Fun activities, great meals and learned so much history. Small group, awesome guides and an absolutely seamless and smooth experience. Active Adventures knocks it out of the park again!! read less

5 Stars (43 reviews)

A Andrew | May 2024

Arches & Canyonlands Adventure - May 2024

Keith

"Everything from pre trip communication to post trip followup was awesome (especially everything in between). Guides Joel and Steve were great and took care of all the details so we had truly no worries and were both informative and entertaining.

read more

"Everything from pre trip communication to post trip followup was awesome (especially everything in between).… read more

"Everything from pre trip communication to post trip followup was awesome (especially everything in between). Guides Joel and Steve were great and took care of all the details so we had truly no worries and were both informative and entertaining. read less

5 Stars (58 reviews)

K Keith | May 2024

Ultimate North Island Adventure - April 2024

Great Trip

"This was a terrific trip and a great overview of the North Island. It was a follow up to our trip with Active Adventures eight years ago of the South Island. I was surprised that the trip took place as my wife and I were the only participants. Despite that, our guide, Braden, was absolutely wonderful. He was enthusiastic about sharing his homeland with us and very knowledgeable. He has a great sense of humor, was flexible and very attentive all along the way. It was a pleasure to spend two weeks with him.

read more

"This was a terrific trip and a great overview of the North Island. It… read more

"This was a terrific trip and a great overview of the North Island. It was a follow up to our trip with Active Adventures eight years ago of the South Island. I was surprised that the trip took place as my wife and I were the only participants. Despite that, our guide, Braden, was absolutely wonderful. He was enthusiastic about sharing his homeland with us and very knowledgeable. He has a great sense of humor, was flexible and very attentive all along the way. It was a pleasure to spend two weeks with him. read less

5 Stars (381 reviews)

T Tom | April 2024

Ultimate North Island Adventure - April 2024

Beyond Expectations

"We traveled with Active Adventures 8 years ago to see the South Island of New Zealand. We didn't didn't hesitate to book with them this year when we wanted to see the North Island of New Zealand. Active Adventures did not disappoint. The physical beauty of New Zealand was only surpassed by the warmth of its people and specifically our guide Braden.

read more

"We traveled with Active Adventures 8 years ago to see the South Island of New… read more

"We traveled with Active Adventures 8 years ago to see the South Island of New Zealand. We didn't didn't hesitate to book with them this year when we wanted to see the North Island of New Zealand. Active Adventures did not disappoint. The physical beauty of New Zealand was only surpassed by the warmth of its people and specifically our guide Braden. read less

5 Stars (381 reviews)

M Martha Van | April 2024

Ultimate Machu Picchu & Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

One the the BEST trips I’ve ever been on!

"Our Peru/Galapogos trip with Active Adventures was awesome!! We had Zac as a guide for our Peru part of the trip, Pepo for our Galapagos portion. They were both very knowledgeable and passionate about showing us the history and beauty of where they are from. Zac was hilarious, kind, and understanding and even had us over to his beautiful house for lunch one day for authentic Peruvian food catered by his family’s catering company. Pepo also is a wonderful guide. We were able to go to his parents’ farm on San Cristobal Island, climb up into their boat/tree house, which was really fun! It’s impossible to describe all the wonderful information they taught us in this paragraph…but I do plan on requesting Zac for a Northern Patagonia trip in the future - he was THAT wonderful!!!! And if I go back to Galapagos, I would definitely ask for Pepo!!!!

read more

"Our Peru/Galapogos trip with Active Adventures was awesome!! We had Zac as a guide for… read more

"Our Peru/Galapogos trip with Active Adventures was awesome!! We had Zac as a guide for our Peru part of the trip, Pepo for our Galapagos portion. They were both very knowledgeable and passionate about showing us the history and beauty of where they are from. Zac was hilarious, kind, and understanding and even had us over to his beautiful house for lunch one day for authentic Peruvian food catered by his family’s catering company. Pepo also is a wonderful guide. We were able to go to his parents’ farm on San Cristobal Island, climb up into their boat/tree house, which was really fun! It’s impossible to describe all the wonderful information they taught us in this paragraph…but I do plan on requesting Zac for a Northern Patagonia trip in the future - he was THAT wonderful!!!! And if I go back to Galapagos, I would definitely ask for Pepo!!!! read less

5 Stars (67 reviews)

J Joyce | April 2024

Ultimate Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

Very active adventure, as promised!

"We had a wonderful time on this trip. Our guide and assistant were absolutely the best. Pablo is probably one of the best nature and historical guides on any tour and anyone would be lucky to have him as their Galapagos tour guide.

The accommodations included great breakfasts, large and clean rooms and were all very centrally located. Great hotel for meeting in Quito at the beginning and end of the trip as well.

The rest of the food on the trip was also delicious and plentiful.

We also very much enjoyed the company of our fellow travelers and look forward to keeping in touch with them.

Overall this was an amazing trip with a great itinerary, interesting people, and friendly, safe and informative guides.

read more

"We had a wonderful time on this trip. Our guide and assistant were absolutely the… read more

"We had a wonderful time on this trip. Our guide and assistant were absolutely the best. Pablo is probably one of the best nature and historical guides on any tour and anyone would be lucky to have him as their Galapagos tour guide.

The accommodations included great breakfasts, large and clean rooms and were all very centrally located. Great hotel for meeting in Quito at the beginning and end of the trip as well.

The rest of the food on the trip was also delicious and plentiful.

We also very much enjoyed the company of our fellow travelers and look forward to keeping in touch with them.

Overall this was an amazing trip with a great itinerary, interesting people, and friendly, safe and informative guides. read less

4 Stars (505 reviews)

D Denise | April 2024

Ultimate Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

Galapogos

"I was very impressed with this trip. I wanted to be amazed and Active Adventures delivered, I learned or saw something new almost every single minute of the trip, each day was a stunning experience. Our guide Pablo was worth every penny Active Adventures must pay him with his wealth of information and ability to teach. Client safety was always paramount no matter where he was taking us.
Paolo was a workhorse with the sweetest disposition and always approachable. I could not believe the efficiency of his timing for our transportation, loading our luggage while we ate, and taking care of the smallest requests. He was wonderful. We never waited for transportation, our accomodations were always ready when we arrived, plus he was so much fun to be around.
This trip was extremely well organized with an interesting variety of activities. Each day was full and my only frustration was the lack of time to relax, explore, or shop. I actually skipped a couple dinners so I could do just that; grab an icecream, leisurely walk the beautiful beach, and watch a sunset.
I loved this trip! Thank you

read more

"I was very impressed with this trip. I wanted to be amazed and Active Adventures… read more

"I was very impressed with this trip. I wanted to be amazed and Active Adventures delivered, I learned or saw something new almost every single minute of the trip, each day was a stunning experience. Our guide Pablo was worth every penny Active Adventures must pay him with his wealth of information and ability to teach. Client safety was always paramount no matter where he was taking us.
Paolo was a workhorse with the sweetest disposition and always approachable. I could not believe the efficiency of his timing for our transportation, loading our luggage while we ate, and taking care of the smallest requests. He was wonderful. We never waited for transportation, our accomodations were always ready when we arrived, plus he was so much fun to be around.
This trip was extremely well organized with an interesting variety of activities. Each day was full and my only frustration was the lack of time to relax, explore, or shop. I actually skipped a couple dinners so I could do just that; grab an icecream, leisurely walk the beautiful beach, and watch a sunset.
I loved this trip! Thank you read less

5 Stars (505 reviews)

J Julie | April 2024

Ultimate Galapagos Islands Adventure - April 2024

Our Guide made this trip

"Pablo and Paolo were our guides and they made this trip special. From when they picked us up at the San Cristobal Airport to when we departed Santa Cruz, we were treated like the only guests on the islands. Pablo shared his knowledge of the islands, with enthusiasm. His story about the 2005 Sierra Negra Volcanic eruption was captivating. The boat rides between the islands held special memories. We saw a pod of about 40 whales including babies who were then joined by a pod of dolphins. This was mind-blowing. We spent 24 hours on Floreana Island, another special place. The black beaches and tortoise nursery were spectacular. I feel that my time on the islands was well spent and due to Pablo and Paolo, my knowledge of the area increased exponentially.
The travel between Quito and the Galapagos is long. On the first full day of travel, Pablo and Paolo packed in a lot of activity after the plane ride. On the day we returned to Quito we had one stop at a crater on our way to the airport. Once we arrived at our hotel in…

read more

"Pablo and Paolo were our guides and they made this trip special. From when… read more

"Pablo and Paolo were our guides and they made this trip special. From when they picked us up at the San Cristobal Airport to when we departed Santa Cruz, we were treated like the only guests on the islands. Pablo shared his knowledge of the islands, with enthusiasm. His story about the 2005 Sierra Negra Volcanic eruption was captivating. The boat rides between the islands held special memories. We saw a pod of about 40 whales including babies who were then joined by a pod of dolphins. This was mind-blowing. We spent 24 hours on Floreana Island, another special place. The black beaches and tortoise nursery were spectacular. I feel that my time on the islands was well spent and due to Pablo and Paolo, my knowledge of the area increased exponentially.
The travel between Quito and the Galapagos is long. On the first full day of travel, Pablo and Paolo packed in a lot of activity after the plane ride. On the day we returned to Quito we had one stop at a crater on our way to the airport. Once we arrived at our hotel in Quito we were on our own, that is not all bad, I was exhausted. Breakfast the following morning, day 10, was the last day we saw our travel companions.
I'd like to mention this was my first experience as a single traveler. The guests on these "active" trips have a similar mindset and are very welcoming. read less

5 Stars (505 reviews)

L Lee | April 2024

Classic South Island Adventure - April 2024

Magical New Zealand

"Our New Zealand Adventure was amazing and phenomenal. So many layers of landscape, adventures, experiences and friendships. Today we cruised the Fiourds of Milford Sound and hiked a final trek. And said "until next time" to some special people in a unique place that is truly "Middle Earth!" #activeadventures

read more

"Our New Zealand Adventure was amazing and phenomenal. So many layers of landscape, adventures,… read more

"Our New Zealand Adventure was amazing and phenomenal. So many layers of landscape, adventures, experiences and friendships. Today we cruised the Fiourds of Milford Sound and hiked a final trek. And said "until next time" to some special people in a unique place that is truly "Middle Earth!" #activeadventures read less

5 Stars (540 reviews)

L Laurie | April 2024

Netherlands Biking Adventure - April 2024

Tiptoeing through the Tulips!

"We had an extraordinary experience through the Netherlands. Initially, we were very concerned about the mileage on our bikes each day. Being 80 and 72 years old we were by far the oldest in the group. We also chose not to use an electric bike which gave us all the more of a challenge, especially during the days of relentless headwinds on a long dike. The exceptional character of our guides, Mirjam and Tom put forth a remarkable degree of effort to make every moment of our trip special. When I said my hands were so uncomfortable from cold Tom pulled out a bag of oversized winter gloves.... when Mirjam witnessed me hopelessly loosing ground biking into the strong headwinds she pedaled right beside me for miles talking with me, distracting me, encouraging me, and eventually getting me to our final stop.

The tulips were in full bloom, we enjoyed this colorful bit of nature most everyday. A cacophony of color opened up before us as we wound our way next to fields and fields of tulips, quaint villages with bridges and canals and the ever necessary dikes.

Everyday…

read more

"We had an extraordinary experience through the Netherlands. Initially, we were very concerned… read more

"We had an extraordinary experience through the Netherlands. Initially, we were very concerned about the mileage on our bikes each day. Being 80 and 72 years old we were by far the oldest in the group. We also chose not to use an electric bike which gave us all the more of a challenge, especially during the days of relentless headwinds on a long dike. The exceptional character of our guides, Mirjam and Tom put forth a remarkable degree of effort to make every moment of our trip special. When I said my hands were so uncomfortable from cold Tom pulled out a bag of oversized winter gloves.... when Mirjam witnessed me hopelessly loosing ground biking into the strong headwinds she pedaled right beside me for miles talking with me, distracting me, encouraging me, and eventually getting me to our final stop.

The tulips were in full bloom, we enjoyed this colorful bit of nature most everyday. A cacophony of color opened up before us as we wound our way next to fields and fields of tulips, quaint villages with bridges and canals and the ever necessary dikes.

Everyday was filled with a bit of culture, history, vigorous biking, wonderful dinners, and a true sense of accomplishment. read less

5 Stars (84 reviews)

P Paula | April 2024

Netherlands Biking Adventure - April 2024

Excellent Cycling Trip

"The guides, Tom and Mirjam, were amazing. Perfect mix of cycling and touring sights. They made sure to point out spots of interest and provided running commentary on the history of areas we were traveling through. We were well fed and looked forward to our rest stops.

read more

"The guides, Tom and Mirjam, were amazing. Perfect mix of cycling and touring sights. They… read more

"The guides, Tom and Mirjam, were amazing. Perfect mix of cycling and touring sights. They made sure to point out spots of interest and provided running commentary on the history of areas we were traveling through. We were well fed and looked forward to our rest stops. read less

5 Stars (84 reviews)

N Nicole | April 2024

Classic South Island Adventure - April 2024

A memorable time with incredible people and jaw-dropping scenery

"This was a trip like one I've never taken and I'd leap at the chance to go on another adventure with this group. I appreciated the small group setting where we really got to know each other. There was a great mix of team activities and the ability to be in smaller groups or be someone solo if desired. The trip was well-planned and every detail covered. Thank you for a fabulous week!

read more

"This was a trip like one I've never taken and I'd leap at the chance… read more

"This was a trip like one I've never taken and I'd leap at the chance to go on another adventure with this group. I appreciated the small group setting where we really got to know each other. There was a great mix of team activities and the ability to be in smaller groups or be someone solo if desired. The trip was well-planned and every detail covered. Thank you for a fabulous week! read less

5 Stars (540 reviews)

L Lauren | April 2024

11

Experience adventure the way you want

You’ll be inspired and exhilarated, enjoying mind-blowing scenery on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike - all at your own pace.

benefits awards

Crafting award-winning trips for decades - the New Zealand way

We're proud of our New Zealand roots and you’ll love our professional and warm style of hosting. We’re always here to help with planning... even hiking boot recommendations!

benefit time v2

Every detail covered, to maximise your time

We've got everything covered – top-notch meals, comfortable transport, superb accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

benefit group travel

Group travel for those who aren’t ‘group travelers’

With an average of 12 guests per departure and an industry-leading average 6:1 guest-to-guide ratio, you'll get to know your fellow travelers and have the flexibility to go at your own pace.

benefit gems

Explore hidden gems through our expert local guides

All our carefully selected guides are highly experienced and have deep personal connections to nature and culture. You’ll enjoy an authentic local experience.

benefit review

Over 10,000 5-star reviews - that’s pretty solid

We could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are... but the best people to hear it from are our guests themselves.