Sydney grew up in northern Alberta in a town called Grande Prairie. She spent her time playing sports and being outside any chance she could get. After thinking it was Kinesiology she wanted to take in school, she had a change of heart and pursued a Bachelor of Health and Phys Ed in Ecotourism and Outdoor Leadership at Mount Royal University in Calgary, Alberta. Living in the Rocky Mountains was a dream made reality for Sydney after spending much of her time during university playing in the mountains.

Sydney loves spending any time she can outside - especially if she can bring her dog Dean along for the adventure. While most people dread the cold months, Sydney's favorite season is winter when she can enjoy the sun and snow at the same time. She has done quite a bit of traveling but her favorite destination is Norway where she completed a field school in university on outdoor leadership and then continued some travel in the country post field school.

What’s your favorite vacation destination?

I have to say Norway - the people and the activities there are a dime a dozen and not to mention the stunning scenery. I have an extreme fascination with the Arctic regions of the world so you can imagine how much I loved northern Norway.


What’s your favorite hike?

My favorite hike falls into a multi-day trip where I did the Sawback Trail starting from Norquay ski hill in Banff and ending at the Lake Louise Ski Resort. It was 115km of some of the most beautiful landscape I have ever seen and it was right in my backyard!

What’s your favorite bike ride?

I once rode a part of the Kettle Valley Railway Trail with two of my close friends in Southern British Columbia. It was a five-day trip with all types of weather, lots of snacks, sore sore sore bodies, and the most laughs you can imagine.

Favorite movie?

All time favorite movie has got to be Shrek.

Favorite book?

I will be honest here and say I like a good trashy romance novel. Nora Roberts is my favorite author in that area.

Favorite song?

It quite literally changes every week.

When did you first catch the travel bug?

When I was 11 years old and traveled to Alaska for the Arctic Winter Games with my “Team Alberta” crew.

What are your hobbies?

Reading, anything outside (bonus points if it is in the winter), and dogs.