Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our South America trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • December 2018

    “Life is all about experiences and the Condor trip validates that philosophy. There are two distinct memories that we will cherish forever.
    First would be the overwhelming natural beauty of Patagonia – Torres Del Paine & Monte Fitz Roy .
    Second is the Guides. They are exceptional and genuinely love what they do. It shows in their interaction with people and nature. They go above and beyond and take care of every little detail to make it easy on you both mentally and physically. Their warmth and hospitality will win you over and that is something that will remain forever in our memories.

    One tip to future hikers is to make sure they are physically fit to endure the “Patagonian Flats” , this is not a relaxing vacation. It makes you work hard and rewards you with sights of jaw dropping natural beauty.”
    Satyaki Mohan Ray – Michigan, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Best Guides Ever!

    “Super engaged, friendly, and knowledgeable guides took us through spectacular mountain and glacier scenery and made the Condor trip an unforgettable visit to Patagonia!”
    Erika Kosina – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Awesome Experience

    “No matter how many photos I've seen of Patagonia online, being able to see it with my own eyes still took my breath away.”
    Vivian Gao – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Rod

    “Our family of four took a 10 day trip in the Galapagos. Going with a tour company ensures all details are taken care of so you get to just enjoy what’s at hand. Travel can be quite challenging as the elements of mother nature is always around you. Bring your adventurous attitude and let your guides show you what you have wanted to see all your life.”
    Rod Fong – British Columbia, CanadaTortuga, January 2019
  • Packed In All The Highlights Of Peru And Galapagos

    “This trip was exactly what we hoped for - packed with gorgeous views, amazing history, beautiful handcrafts and lots of time being out in the beautiful landscapes. Our time in the Galapagos was equally magnificent - we swam with turtles and sharks, saw many unique birds and enjoyed the unique culture on 3 separate islands. The guide were incredibly knowledgeable and skilled at managing the group. We were thrilled with this second trip with Active after a wonderful time in New Zealand last year.”
    Audrey Wennink – Illinois, United StatesIguana, January 2019
  • Awesome Peruvian Adventure!

    “Every detail was taken care of from the lodging in Cusco, ground transportation to/from the airport and sites, meals, there wasn't anything I needed to worry about other than to show up and have fun. The first couple of days in Cusco was perfect to get acclimated and familiar with the area. Wilson was great in answering any questions we had and making sure we were taken care of. Johan was our guide on the Inca Trail part of the trip, and I was very impressed with him! He wore so many hats and was extremely knowledgable not only about all the historical sites but also the plant life, animals, and all the history of the Incas and the trail. He knew when to give us the space to enjoy the hike and scenery and when to show us something of interest. He even went out of his way to tell other visitors when they were doing something wrong, like sitting on top of stone walls of the ruins. You could tell he was passionate about these historical sites and preservation of them so future generations could enjoy them. ”
    Khem Suthiwan – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, January 2019
  • Great Introduction to Lake Titicaca

    “Although it was just a short trip down to Puno and Lake Titicaca, it was a great way to see the area and visit some of the islands.”
    Khem Suthiwan – Colorado, United StatesChinchilla, January 2019
  • Galapagos Tortuga

    “Amazing unique area of the world. Being greeted by a sea lions on arrival who made his way through our meeting was a fantastic way to start the program. The the time spent on the land and sea were well balanced out”
    Krista Saunders – Ontario, CanadaTortuga, January 2019
  • Jaguar

    “Amazing trip to a very colorful country. Enjoyed the whole trip”
    Krista Saunders – Ontario, CanadaJaguar, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “We had a fun, exciting, wonderful trip of a lifetime! We did not want to be driven around on a bus with old people, and this sure was nothing like that! It also was manageable for those of us who wanted to be outdoors and active, but are not military buff. Erick was very accommodating about adjusting the trip activities to fit our abilities, and he was fast thinking, capable and resourceful about getting help when I got in trouble with altitude sickness and its effects. He and Pablo were both enthusiastic, fun and engaging guides. They both took us to a wonderful variety of great restaurants with fabulous food throughout the trip.”
    Amy Lauterbach Pokorny – New York, United StatesIguana, January 2019
  • Condor December 2018

    “Amazing trip. Cahit was a great tour guide -- always smiling and positive and he made sure we had a great experience!!! The hike and the refugios on the W Trek were amazing during the first week. I thought there was no way the second week could be better but the scenery of Mount Fitzroy and the area around El Chalten were even better. Don't miss out on southern Patagonia!!!”
    Sara Crawford – Nevada, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Patagonia Condor

    “Everything was incredible - couldn't have been more perfect!”
    Jay Phillips – Alabama, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Fantastic Trip

    “The Condor trip includes two very beautiful national parks, and a good amount of challenging hiking. It was a very active trip in a beautiful setting.”
    Jeff Pekrul – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Andean Adventure

    “The Alpaca trip was a wonderful hiking-oriented adventure in the Peruvian Andes with exceptional guides (Mayra from Active and Lichi from partner Andean Lodges). Machu Picchu is beautiful but the standout was our 3-day trek in Ausangate. Just watch out for the altitude sickness if you don't have prior experience this high up.”
    Lucas Wood – Maryland, United StatesAlpaca, January 2019
  • Amazing In-Depth Experience of Sacred Valley, Ausangate, Macchu Picchu

    “This was an amazing trip that offered cultural depth and access to some of the most beautiful parts of the Sacred Valley, Macchu Picchu and Ausangate with some challenging and beautiful hikes. The lodge-to-lodge experience was beyond compare - we didn't see a single non-Andean person along our our three-day hike (until we passed the Rainbow Mountain) and the lodge services (cooking, house-cleaning) were performed by people from local villages, which really added a special flair (not to mention the delicious, authentic Andean foods our wonderful cook, Hernan, made for us!!). The fact that llamas carried our things from lodge to lodge was also very cool. Everything was extremely well-organized and seamless on this adventure, thanks mainly to our tremendous guide, Mayra, whose in-depth knowledge of local experiences (and the locals of the many towns we stopped in) as well as great food/restaurantms made our trip absolutely amazing. I was truly impressed when Mayra came up with an alternative set of activities for a day when my husband was too sick to hike - those activities proved to be some of the highlights of the trip. Overall, I could not recommend this Active Adventures trip enough!! Fabulous!”
    Rebecca Sheehan – Maryland, United StatesAlpaca, January 2019
  • Fabulous Adventure

    “Patagonia exceeded our expectations and this was not only due to the magnificent scenery but the detailed planning of Active Adventures and our local guides - Gustavo, Cem, Felipe, Machi, and Paola. I think that our whole group agreed that we would follow our guides anywhere! Our group ranged in age from 20 to 70 and they empowered and encouraged us all to walk at our own pace, appreciate the beauty that surrounded us and have joy in the adventure. We feel privileged to have met our guides who clearly love their jobs and taught us all to embrace Patagonia, take care of the environment, and live in the present. This will not be the last trip we take with Active Adventures.”
    Mary Karen Vellines – North Carolina, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “Spectacular. Mother Nature is a beast. Breathtaking. Humbling.
    Great guides, great weather, great experience. Should have been
    a bucket list item for a lot longer. So happy to have done this trip.”
    John Gallant – Massachusetts, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Epic!

    “Machu Picchu has always been my dream destination for years. I really enjoyed all the activities throughout this trip. Active and the local guides definitely spent a lot of effort in setting out this trip. I very much appreciate all the support and guidance.”
    Bingli Mo – California, United StatesJaguar, January 2019
  • Tortuga Tour: Trip of a Lifetime!

    “The Galapagos Islands has been near the top of my bucket list for about 40 years, so it was important that I had a great experience for my one and only trip there. The Tortuga tour actually exceeded my very high expectations. Galakiwi/Active Adventures have gotten all of the details down to a science. From the duffel we used, to providing all of the equipment (bikes, wet suits, snorkels, flippers, scuba gear, safety vests, kayaks, and more), transfers, hotels, meals, and sights - plus the talented tour leaders, guides, and assistants - this LAND BASED trip was designed to be efficient yet hit all of the highlights. It was both educational and FUN. The small group size made our encounters more personal, and the members of our group all bonded; we were a great fit. Our guide, Pablo, is an AWARD WINNING biologist who (get this!) was the guide for Sir David Attenborough when they were filming in the Galapagos Islands. He was an absolute wealth of knowledge, and he's a native of Isabela Island. We saw all of the landscapes, featuring trees and plants, volcanoes (learned a lot about lava!), birds, reptiles, and all of the marine animals! The Galapagos Islands are a wonderland, a true ecological treasure. I'm so glad we experienced it the Tortuga way.”
    Nell Eakle – Illinois, United StatesTortuga, January 2019
  • Unforgettable Experience

    “The Galapagos Tortuga trip was was perfect for us. We moved from island to island with the opportunity to explore land and sea. We learned about each of the islands: their history, the culture of the people, and the plants and animals that only exist on the island as well as the the ones introduced. With all of that we still had lots of opportunity to snorkel, and saw more fish and sea life than we could have imagined. Pepo, our guide answered all of our questions and shared with us the beauty that is the Galapagos. He made sure that we were well prepared for our activities. Having a guide like Pepo that is so passionate about the Galapagos, his home, helped to make the trip unforgettable. Highly recommended!”
    Lori Morgan – Alberta, CanadaTortuga, January 2019
  • Fantastic Way to See Patagonia

    “My husband thoroughly enjoyed The Condor trip we took with Active Adventures-South America. This is our 2nd AA trip (first was The Jaguar) and we still highly recommend traveling with them. We were both rapidly approaching 61 when we made the trip and were hopeful that we would be able to complete all the activities. We did just fine but there were some challenging portions that made us very glad that we had worked out as much as we did prior to the trip. The trip was well organized and we not only saw beautiful sights and learned a lot of history, we enjoyed getting to know our fantastic guides. Cahit was a fantastic leader and we loved his stories and great sense of humor. He was energetic and intelligent and made everything enjoyable! Anna (W Trek guide) was also great and did a fantastic job of explaining the geography of the area. She was tons of fun and her coffee got us going each morning!!! Local guides Juan, Luis and Maya (?) we also wonderful. The hikes are tough but the sights at the end of each day are SO worth the effort!”
    Erin Dodson – Idaho, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • It Just Keeps Getting Better!

    “This is our second trip with Active Adventures and we're already considering a third. Can't say enough about how well the trips come together. The guides are very personable, professional and organized. The trips, while very active, provide just the right level of activity and recuperation time to make the adventures very enjoyable.”
    Layne Dodson – Idaho, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Machu Picchu Baby

    “We feel lucky to have discovered Active Adventures as our Jaguar trip was outstanding. We have prior done some pretty adventurous trips, many self booked/arranged, and were looking for a true complete package and Active Adventures absolutely impressed. The pre-trip material was high quality and ensured we were prepared. We were extremely impressed with the accomodations, to include the camp setup made possible by the superb porters (fresh popcorn and camp seats at midday hike breaks!) and a ready campsite with dining tent, table and chairs *and* a toilet tent! Our guide, Erick, was quite personable, extremely knowledgeable, and made certain everything was in order (amazing meals at restaurants in Cusco, porters, permits, campsites, etc). The only downside to the trip was the heat and humidity in the jungle (we knew it was summer, but coming from Cusco it was a bear) that we couldn’t escape due to the lodge not having air conditioning or even room fans (power via generator only during limited hours), though seeing the wild animals was pretty neat. Add to it all our travel buddies, on our same tour, are amazing people who we are already talking with about touring Patagonia together!”
    Lee Schoeppner – Nevada, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Peru 10 Day JAGUAR

    “Highly recommend this tour and our guide, Eric! The guide book and packing list, provided by Active Adventures, were perfect tools to prepare. Cusco and and the 4 day trek on the Inca trail were great. The camping experience was way better than I had expected!!! The porters are such hard workers and made sure our tents were all set before we arrived to each campsite. We had a chef who made delicious meals. A very clean toliet set up for us to use. After Machu Picchu, we went to the Amazon. It was hot and moist. Seeing wild animals and having drinks at the bar were great! I would just would recommend having fans in the rooms.
    Overall, fantastic experience! We already plan to book a tour in Patagonia with Active Adventures! ”
    Zuly Schoeppner – Nevada, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime!

    “I have been wanting to go to the Galapagos for more than 20 years and finally had the opportunity after retiring. Though retired I wanted to be very active and this was the perfect fit! I hiked, biked, boated, snorkeled, scuba dived and still had time to take a nap in a hammock on my veranda overlooking the water. Our guide Pablo was fantastic, he was informative, passionate about the Islands and the conservation work being done there but also wanting each of us to love our planet. He made sure to help us see whatever we had on our individual bucket lists. The accommodations were wonderful and the food was awesome! I hated to leave.”
    PJ Nielsen – California, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • Just When You Thought it Couldn’t Get Any Better...

    “We have been many places on this planet. We have seen experienced some amazing sites, sounds and cultures but none as spectacular and unique as we marveled at on our Tortuga trip. From our first encounter with sea lions and Blue Footed Boobies on San Cristobal to the giant tortoises on Isabella and Santa Cruz we just couldn’t believe the what all we were getting to encounter and experience. It wasn’t just a sightseeing experience either. The immersion into the history behind these beautiful islands and their history was just an incredible experience. As the title says, just when we thought it couldn’t get any better it would. Our guide, Pablo, has passion for his profession like few. His enthusiasm and energy were contagious. There was so much to see and experience that 10 more days would have been welcomed. Nicely done.”
    Todd Young – Missouri, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • Tapir Tour, Volcano and Jungle Risks and Rewards

    “We bicycled down Cotopaxi! While there, saw wild horses, llamas, and Ecuadorean fox, a rainbow, and soaring caracara birds (falcons). We rode horses up into the highlands (dressed warmly like gauchos) and stayed at a working hacienda; took an open gondola cable car ride across a gorge & waterfall; stood next to the roaring Devil's Cauldron cataract; rode on the Swing at the End of the World! We hiked into the Amazon rainforest, scaling a series of waterfalls at about a 70 degree angle (or more); we slept in the rainforest; saw an indigenous woman make fibers from plants, as well as pottery from clay harvested from the river (decorated with natural dyes); and saw thieving capuchin monkeys play tricks on shopkeepers in Puerto Misahualli. And then to the luxurious thermal spas of Termas Papallacta!

    Every detail of our trip was perfectly coordinated, and all was always in readiness for our arrivals. The food was delicious and our kind and knowledgeable trip leader, Mauro, became like a family member to us. We actually ate "lemon ants" and also grilled grubs! Why not?! Ecuador is a stunning country, well worth a visit!”
    Nell Eakle – Illinois, United StatesTapir, December 2018
  • Ambassadors of Ecuador and South America.

    “Our guides and hotel staff were perfect ambassadors of Ecuador and South America.
    I didn’t know what to expect even though I had read the itinerary. Many travel outfitter businesses make fantastic claims about what they can deliver, only to fall short. NOT SO with this trip.
    My wife and I came to Ecuador two days early to get acclimated to the altitude. We had made early reservations for the hotel that Active Adventures uses. Active Adventures made our early reservation for us.
    From the moment we were picked up by the EB’s shuttle every detail seemed to fall in place. An extraordinary feeling to have while in another country. The Eb hotel is a very impressive hotel and the staff quickly became like a second family.
    Every day brought something new and exciting. Each morning I was left wondering how our guides could match the day before….and every day I was pleasantly surprised by what we saw, and experienced. I cannot write enough positive things about this trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands through Active Adventures. My wife and I will surely use Active Adventures for future trips for New Zealand, Nepal, and Patagonia/Antarctica.
    Brad Eakle – Illinois, United StatesTapir, December 2018
  • Penguins and Torres and Glaciers...Oh My!!!

    “The scenery was magnificent with each day presenting a new and remarkable treat for the mind, body and soul. Our guide Cynthia was terrific. Her passion for the area was infectious and her knowledge, energy, overall fun loving personality put the trip over the top. From day one, our group of 14 travelers and 2 guides meshed together so well that I felt as if I left with as many new close friends from 4 different continents. The adventure was certainly active and physically challenging but was well worth the effort.”
    Cheryl Braitberg – Georgia, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • One of the Most Incredible Trips of My Life!

    “I had a blast! My group was fantastic, everyone got along, fellow trekkers with many common interest. The guides were incredible and went above and beyond to ensure we had an incredible time. Patagonia is one of the most incredible places I have ever been too, I am glad I went with this tour it allowed me to really see Patagonia and pushed me to hike further than I likely wouldn't on my own.”
    Robert Paladino – California, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • One of the Most Beautiful Trips Ever!

    “This trip explores one of the most beautiful regions of the world. Each day we were surrounded by snow capped mountains, lakes or fiords. I really enjoyed the variety of landscapes and the and the varied activities we used to explore them. And as always our guides were excellent.”
    Alan Moore – Nova Scotia, CanadaPuma, December 2018
  • Beautiful Archipelago

    “A great experience and multiple adventures.”
    Carrol Murray – Nebraska, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • Patagonia Adventure/ Puma

    “The Puma trip exceeded my expectation with regards to the variety of hikes in different locations, landscapes and vegetations. There was a good mixture of strenuous and more relaxed hikes. Although I only have done sea kayaking once before it was very enjoyable. I felt well looked after by the local kayaking guides Active used. Indeed, all the local guides Active used in Argentina and Chile were outstanding. Each had specialized knowledge about the history of the region and local flora & fauna. I am unable to name a favourite as each location had its own unique charm and beauty. All the restaurant we ate in and all hotels we stayed were first class including the accommodation in the most remote area on a peninsula in Chile. Our tour guide Mayra was a master of organization and expert in individualised customer service. She had a solution to any request that was made and beyond. This is my third time travelling with Active and I have never been disappointed.
    Ines Muller / Switzerland

    Ines Muller – Dublin, Ireland (Republic of)Puma, December 2018
  • Condor Adventure

    “our trip with jay on the condor was exceptional. Very well organized, good pace with options to extend hiking on several days, seamless transportation, excellent meals and accomodations. We were amazed by the grandeur and breathtaking beauty of patagonia, and hiking every day( almost) was always filled with new vistas. i have no reservations about recommending this trek!”
    Kim Schurman – Colorado, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • My Fifth Active Trip

    “This was my fifth trip with Active and they just keep getting better! Everything ran smoothly (as always) and we could not have had a better time. The weather was perfect and the group was great! I can't wait for my next trip with Active!”
    Mike Verdirame – New York, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Far Exceeded My Expectations

    “Our Patagonia trip with Active Adventures far exceeded my expectations. Part of what made our trip amazing was our luck with the weather. We prepared for cold temps, rain, high wind and we were shocked with beautiful blue skies and only a few days of cool weather.
    The organization of trip by Active Adventures couldn't have been better and always was smooth. The trip we chose hit all of the major highlights of Patagonia such as hiking the W, seeing the penguins, viewing the glaciers at Lago Grey then crossing into Argentina to stay in Calafate and El Chatlen to hike.
    Our guide Gem in Patagonia was also amazing. Active Adventures couldn't have found a better guide. Gem always had a smile on his face, always had a joke of sometimes and really got along with every personality type in our group.
    I'd book again with Active Adventures and would highly recommend them to anyone wanting to travel to Patagonia.”
    Kraig Sederquist – California, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • The Adventure of Patagonia

    “The trip was awesome, though not for the light hearted! The extremes of Patagonia - the constantly changing weather and the challenging hikes totally proved thoroughly exhausting, but exhilarating. Each day seemed better than the next! Glad I was in good shape to handle all the obstacles!”
    Kathy Whittington – Virginia, United StatesCondor, December 2018
  • Jaguar Tour

    “This was a trip of a lifetime! From biking through a beautiful valley, to hiking the Inca trail in four days, then jetting over to the Amazon. It was a whirlwind of awesome! All the while having every day stress free and preplanned. 10/10 would recommend to anyone. Can't wait for our next Active Adventure!”
    Mason Ray – Kansas, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Jaguar Trip in Peru

    “We took our family of six on this amazing trip. Wilson was a perfect tour guide. He spoke very good English and catered to our every need. He was very patient answering my children's constant questions. We ate the most incredible food and saw so much of Peru. It really was the trip of a lifetime!”
    Erin Summers – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Another Great Active Adventures Trip

    “AA hit the sweet spot for me again with this trip. I had originally been looking at boat based Galapagos trips but am glad I went with AA and their land based approach. The hotels and restaurants we used added local flavor and gave me a better feel for the islands. Pablo was an amazing guide and his enthusiasm and knowledge of the islands added a lot to the experience. Great food, great fun and great people. So glad I went with Active Adventures.”
    Tim Reed – Massachusetts, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • Another Great Active Adventures Trip

    “Great food, great fun, great people. Erick was a wonderful guide. Highly recommend this trip.”
    Tim Reed – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, December 2018
  • Mikes Tortuga trip

    “”
    Mike Pammett – Ontario, CanadaTortuga, December 2018
  • Mind-Blowing Land of Glaciers, Wind and Empanadas

    “I knew Patagonia was supposed to be beautiful - that there were granite peaks and glaciers... but really nothing can prepare you for the mind-blowing scenery when you see it with your own eyes. The glaciers are IMMENSE! that's the ony word I can come up with to describe their sheer size and power - the patagonian ice shelf is so big I can't fathom how much ice/water is there! And the Perito Moreno glacier is so awe-inspiring - when you see and hear the sonic boom of a house-sized iceberg calving off the face of the glacier and plunging into the lake - I could have stayed and watched it for days! The W trek was again more intricate, more varied scenery and more lakes and glaciers than I had expected, and when the weather finally cleared for us in El Chalten I hadn't even realised the sheer size of FitzRoy that had been hiding behind the clouds.
    People always talk about the Patagonian weather but seriously - that WIND! It was relentless, strong winds every day. The Guides were amazing - Cynthia, Gustavo, Cem and Javi - we were so spoiled with their knowledge and attention to details. The hotels we stayed in far exceeded my expectations - especially in Puerto Natales - it as the most amazing shower!”
    Fe Davies – Otago, New ZealandCondor, December 2018
  • Top Notch Galapagos Trip!

    “I expected adventure and critters and first class treatment, which I got, of course. What I didn’t expect was the passion and scientific knowledge of our Galakiwi guide Pablo V. I learned so much about this very special place. I thought this was a once in a lifetime trip, however I now want to return. I also appreciate all the information I received ahead of time for planning purposes. And this really was all inclusive as advertised, meaning no hidden or surprise costs. I appreciate that. Don’t forget to bring cash though as credit cards are not accepted in most places. Cara from Tampa FL.”
    Cara Visser – Florida, United StatesTortuga, December 2018
  • Unforgettable Moments in Peru

    “I did the Jaguar trip in October and I enjoyed every moment from arrival to departure. Everything was taken care of by the programm and by our amazing guide Zac. The group was small, accommodations very comfortable and food indescribable. I loved hiking on the Lares trail. The crew took really good care of us and the equipment was perfect. I always felt save during the whole trip. I definitely recommend travelling with Active Adventures. Enjoy your trips!”
    Rebecca Schleicher – Bavaria, GermanyJaguar, November 2018
  • Not One Worry!

    “AA is wonderful and highly recommend! We normally travel independently, but after research on the Galapagos we decided to go with a land based tour. A friend recommended AA and they lived up to the hype.
    AA took care of everything and it allowed for a complete experience of the Galapagos.
    Accommodations were clean and functional, meals were great, transfers were professional and guide Pablo was extremely knowledgeable.”
    George Marin – California, United StatesTortuga, November 2018
  • Andes Adventure!

    “We loved the Jaguar tour. No matter how many pictures you've seen of Machu Picchu, or the Andes, seeing it for ourselves -- and hiking the Lares Trek -- was even better than we anticipated. The organization was great; our guide was fantastic (thank you, Zach!). The Peruvian Amazon is also fascinating; it was great to see 1000+ year-old trees -- and all kinds of wild life. ”
    Jennifer Howse – Ontario, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • Incredible Experience!

    “From the initial contact with Active Adventures to the end of our trip, the staff in New Zealand and the guides we had in Peru were thorough, personable and professional making the visit to Peru extremely enjoyable and adventurous. Everything went like clockwork and Gustavo handling any problems that arose with good humor and grace. Hiking the Inca Trail was demanding and profoundly rewarding due to our guide, Puma, keeping us moving while also developing in us a deep respect for the traditions of the people and land. The remainder of our trip to the Amazon basin and Lake Titicaca were also informative and interesting experiences with all the modes of travel and sights along the way. There was never a dull moment. Our fellow travelers were a great group and we all pulled together to help each other, when necessary. I am already considering my next Active Adventures trip.”
    Larry Dresdale – New York, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Wonderful Experience

    “Our trip was beyond our expectations- the hike was challenging but worth every step. The scenery was breathtaking. Our guides were outstanding in regard to providing us with background history and information. We also must say we have great respect for the work and care provided to us by our porters.”
    Mark Erbstoesser – Wisconsin, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • From the Andes to the Amazon

    “Terrific trip from start to finish. Knowledgeable guides, terrific food and accommodations, challenging hikes and glorious scenery. Peru is a beautiful country. I would recommend the Jaguar trip to everyone.”
    Anne Vallee – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • Not Sure How We'll Top This Trip

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime. My wife set it up for my 50th birthday and I could not be happier. Our Guide Erick, was the best, and Johann (our Inca Trail Guide from Quechua Treks, Peru) guided us on the Inca Trail. Both I consider friends now and hope we keep in touch. I've wanted to see Machu Picchu since I was a boy, so I was really looking forward to the trip. What I did not know was Machu Picchu was not the highlight of the trip. I'd have to say the Inca Trail was, with Lake Titicaca second, and the Jungle third, although the last two could be switched up a bit. Peru has so much to offer, I know that now but did not then. I love the people, the culture, and the scenery. I could go on for days but suffice to say, we have thought long and hard about a trip to top this one, spending hours and days on it, and thus far have come up empty. While Peru was exciting, adventurous, and wondrous at the same time, I truly feel Active Adventures made the trip the best it could be. I don't see how it could have been any better. Active Adventures was so good we are looking to plan our next adventure through them. We are not wealthy people and I initially considered the trip very expensive, but after going on it I feel it was money very well spent and would do it again without hesitation.”
    Mark Courtenay – Maine, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Incredible Trip

    “I had an absolute blast trekking through Peru with our group and guide leader. The Jaguar Trip with Active South America did not disappoint! From our time in Cuzco, hiking the Sacsayhuaman fortress, biking through the Sacred Valley and hiking the Pisac ruins, our Lares Inca 3-day hike through the Andes Mountains, visiting Machu Picchu and also the Amazon Jungle - this trip had it all. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area, local culture and history of Peru and the Incas and he made our trip very safe and enjoyable. I would recommend this trip to anyone looking to challenge themselves with the Incan hike and experience the culture and beauty that Peru has to offer. Truly amazing!”
    Alain Vallee – New Brunswick, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • Magical Islands and Knowledgeable Guide

    “Pepo really brought the life and history of the Galapagos to life for us. From the history of the early settlers and pirates to the conservation efforts to protect this unique ecosystem, he knew and imparted it all. The trip was a great balance of activity and a chance to relax and explore. Great food, comfortable accommodations and active days left me ready for more the next day.”
    Peg DeBiasi – Florida, United StatesTortuga, November 2018
  • Unexpected Joy of a Trip

    “This started as mostly a filler trip for me in between the two trips that were my main focus (Galapagos and Inca Trail) and I found overall it was right up there with my favorite adventures. Hiking down a huge waterfall and then hiking right up through the center of one was simply amazing. Horseback riding up a volcano, nature walks, city visits, a taste of the Amazon basin, there was a bit of everything. And who can turn down relaxing the last couple of days in hot springs right outside your bedroom? Great add on trip to either of the two other adventures and well worth the time and expense.”
    Peg DeBiasi – Florida, United StatesTapir, November 2018
  • A Vista that Must be Seen to be Believed!

    “The 3 days of hiking in the cold rain on the Classic Inca Trail were worth every last ache in my knees and quads when we were treated to the sun opening up the view of the amazing Machu Picchu. This is definitely a tough hike and a week later my 63 yr old knees are just starting to forgive me for the abuse I put them through to see this wonderful place. The porters running those trails with our gear will always leave me amazed. How often do we truly challenge our limits? History, culture, amazing food on the trail, comfy tents (complete with hot water bottles for our feet) all added to the trip of a lifetime.”
    Peg DeBiasi – Florida, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • 2018 Jaguar trip with Gustavo

    “My trip to Peru was wonderful! Gustavo, our general guide for the whole trip, was great: informative, warm, attentive to all of our big or little needs. I always appreciated how he would escort us wherever we needed to go: from getting cash at an ATM to going shopping in the local artisans market. He was always willing to translate and even help bargain, if needed! The other guides for our Classic Inca trail trip and for our jungle excursions were equally informative and fun and engaging. Puma, our Inca trail guide, infused our trek with fascinating archaeological history and a deep sense of sacredness in the places we were passing through. I felt really well taken care of at the same time as I was challenged and exhilarated by the sights, sounds, smells of each of the new places I was exploring. I loved the level of activity and found it happily affirming that I am strong and fit and still able to do the things I love to do at 61 years old. My fellow travel companions were fun and interesting and we supported each other when challenged by anything from high altitude hiking to biking or kayaking. No one felt left behind. I will definitely look at other trips you offer and recommend Active Adventures to my friends.”
    Diane Norman – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Expectations Exceded!!!

    “Thank you. Start to finish this was the most incredible trip I have ever taken. Your company is organized, responds rapidly to emails and delivers on its promises. Great tour, knowledgeable guides, and well planned. The Inca trail was challenging both emotionally and physically, but the encouragement of the group and the team leader helped me to push through to the end. I never imagined that camping out on a mountain could be so spectacular - great locations and amazing food as well (even a portable toilet!!) I cannot wait to book my next adventure.”
    Genie Tartell – New York, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • The Iguana Trip is Adventurous and Fun!

    “From hiking, to biking, to snorkeling, to walking around Cuzco, Quito and 3 Galapagos Islands, this trip has it all. Beautiful scenery, friendly people, efficient transportation of several modes: vans, trains, planes, ferry, speedboat, or dive boat! Amazing architectural wonders like Machu Pichu, Huchuy Qosqo, a 6 mile wide volcano crater, all kinds of interesting animals, many wonderful meals at very nice restaurants, lots of safe drinking water, fun group interaction, and guides who were very knowledgeable and professional made for a complete and unforgettable experience. And lots of opportunities to shop too! We'll never forget it and hope to keep in touch with our new friends who shared the adventure with us.”
    Mary-Jane Sackett – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, October 2018
  • Galapagos October 2018

    “Our guide Pepo and Paulo could not have been better! The weather was perfect, the water clear and the visibility great.”
    Scott Peterson – Missouri, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Unbelievable Trip

    “Going to the Galapagos was a trip of my dreams. The snorkeling was beyond words. The sea life we saw was wonderful. Our accommodations gave us a true insight into life on the islands. They were clean, comfortable with nice views. Pepo was a very knowledgeable guide. He did all he could to make us comfortable and to get full benefits of our swims. The food was very good - liked the local diet. Would recommend this trip to anyone.”
    Rosanne Rushton – New York, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Perfect trip

    “I had never taken such a trip alone. I had no worries, within a few hours we were all friends. Our guide Eric was very knowledgeable we could not stump him. He went out of his way to make sure we were all comfortable. The food on the trip was gourmet in every respect. The meals served on the trail were unbelievable not only taste but presentation. I was a little slower than other hikers but Eric and Lucianna were very patient and helpful. I would highly recommend this trip to all.”
    Rosanne Rushton – New York, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “What a finely tuned operation Active Adventures has. Our trip to Peru was flawless. The quaint hotel in Cusco, our young and helpful guide Gustava, the food - AA spared no expense, we dined in some of the finest restaurants. Hiking the Inca trail the whole reason for our trip to Peru.... was brilliant only made even better by having such a spiritual and knowledgeable guide in Puma.”
    Lena Clement – California, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Tortuga

    “Fantastic! The beauty of the islands was exceptional. The ecology and environment were so important and so well explained by the guides. Best and most knowledgeable guides I have ever had the honor of being around. This trip will live in my memory forever, as will the smiles and laughter of everyone there!”
    Lyle Freeman – Nevada, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Couldn’t Ask for More

    “The trip was amazing. Every little detail was taken care of. Our guide was great and worked with the group in a way that everyone got what they wanted/needed out of the trip. I really can’t say enough about the Lares trail and the support along the way. The food was almost as incredible as the views. The schedule was perfect. Machu Picchu was everything that we expected and our time in the jungle was great. I highly recommend the Jaguar trip.”
    Dave Ross – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Outstanding trip from start to finish. Booking, organization, travel arrangements, logistics, lodgings, excursions, meals... all handled flawlessly. Our guide, Pepo, was so impressive. Superb knowledge of all things Galapagos - marine life, flora & fauna, geography, geology, history and culture. His personality, sense of humor and patience with all of us was wonderful. The snorkeling, scuba, hiking & kayaking were all very nice, and Carlos (dive guide) was great too. Meals were all very good and arranged expertly. Sea Lions and tortoises were ubiquitous (like pigeons in Chicago...they are everywhere). Blue footed boobies; great frigate birds exhibiting their trademark 'inflated red bellies', iguanas galore...just a few of the highlights. We are big fans of Active Adventures (and now Galakiwi) having now experienced this as well as New Zealand's South island in 2017, and we'll likely be back for more! Thanks for a great experience!”
    Hans Anger – Florida, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Jaguar, September 2018

    “We had history, scenery, and great travel companions - all while exploring the Peru countryside. Our Jaquar trip gave us a chance to see classic historic sites, but the highlight was the less traveled, beautiful and challenging Lares Trek. Our guide and the support team were wonderful, planning every detail. We came home feeling refreshed and accomplished, and looking forward to another Active Adventure.”
    Nancy Karuzis – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had an amazing Jaguar Trip with Active Adventures. I wanted to hike the Inca Trail to celebrate turning 60 and could not find anyone to make the trip with me so I went on my own. I was apprehensive about the adventure but also very excited. When I checked into the hotel, The Royal Inka I, it was comfortable, clean, in a fabulous location and the staff were considerate & helpful. There was a water cooler just for Active Adventure Tourists so there was no need to buy water and the breakfasts were tasty & filling and introduced you to some local food items. I think what impressed me most about the tour was how friendly, thoughtful and kind everyone associated with the tour were. This included hotel staff, personnel who drove the vans, organized the bikes, carried supplies up the Inca Trail and especially the guides themselves. I was also impressed with the food which included restaurants, surprised lunch stops, on the trail etc. I never felt unsafe in contrast I felt very well cared for.”
    Shelly Lenaghan – British Columbia, CanadaJaguar, October 2018
  • More Than I Expected

    “I only did three days of the Chinchilla Trip but what I did do I thoroughly enjoyed. My main focus was Cuzco, the Inca Trail Hike and Machu Picchu so I had no real expectations for Puno & Lake Titicaca and I have to say that it was a real pleasure to tour this area. I just loved the people and culture. The Uros Floating Island was fascinating and totally unique. The culture on Taquile Island was intriguing and the homestay on Amantani Island was truly a lovely experience. To see people with few material items be so self-sufficient and happy made a real impression and has made me think differently about my needs & wants. I only wish I could have done the full Chincilla Tour.”
    Shelly Lenaghan – British Columbia, CanadaChinchilla, October 2018
  • Danny was Awesome!

    “Danny was an awesome guide. His enthusiasm for the culture of Peru really comes through. He is also very knowledgeable about the history. He brought us to great restaurants so we were able to enjoy the amazing food.”
    Katy Yeager – California, United StatesIguana, October 2018
  • Jaguar Trip September 23rd

    “The trip was amazing! I loved the group and the fearless leader. I can’t say enough about Erick. He was amazing, kind and lots of fun. I would absolutely book another trip with Active Adventures. I’m looking forward to future trips. Thank you so much for such an amazing trip! ”
    Lynn Wright – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Everything was wonderful...the biking, the Lares Trail hike and the jungle. The food was amazing! Erick was the best guide and made sure everyone’s needs were met.”
    Pam Witcraft – Wyoming, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • A New Appreciation for Animals and Nature

    “This trip opened my eyes to all of the incredible wildlife and nature that exists on the Galapagos Islands, but also carried over to when I returned home. I started to notice and appreciate all the little things around me more often, so I am truly grateful for what this trip has given me in my life.”
    Sydney Donati-Leach – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, September 2018
  • Amazing Journey of Discovery

    “I loved, loved, LOVED this trip! I've always considered myself a "close to the ground" traveler - though the sights may be spectacular, I go to experience the culture and meet the people. To that end, I have equated spending less, to avoiding chain hotels and Americanized food.

    I chose this trip for 4 reasons: 1) Level of activity and adventure (experiences), 2) It was all inclusive, 3) I wanted to travel with a small group, and 4) Active Adventures has excellent customer ratings.

    I was NOT disappointed, in any way. We stayed in very nice (much better than my usual), locally owned and managed hotels. We ate delicious local food. I met the local people, and learned about the culture. Every day was filled with discovery, excitement, and activity. I was never bored AND I was never stressed. Someone else - one of the my fabulous guides - always took care of all the details.

    Gustavo, our primary guide was fabulous! His charm and sense of humor are natural and delightful. He seemed to anticipate our needs, before we did. We were family (in a really good way). A truly amazing guy.

    Puma, my Inca Trail guide was incredibly experienced and knowledgeable. He is a wealth of information about Peru, the people, the history, and Incan religion, culture, and architecture. I learned so much from him and enjoyed countless hours of conversation.

    As someone who has limited knowledge of other languages, I was absolutely amazed at the fluency of our guides. Both Gustavo and Puma had superb English. Of course, their Spanish was flawless as well. In the case of Puma, who's native tongue is Quechua, I was dealing with a true multilingual. It was quite a kick to offer up a new word or slang phrase. He took pleasure equal to mine in learning something new.

    Although I didn't take this trip anticipating that it would be "the trip of a lifetime", it truly was.
    Many thanks for an amazing experience!”
    Roni Chapman – Arizona, United StatesJaguar, September 2018
  • Over the Top Wonderful!!

    “We had the time of our lives! Gustavo our guide , was top notch!”
    Pamela McCormick – California, United StatesJaguar, September 2018
  • Pepo was Amazing!

    “Pepo was amazing! Patient, funny, spent his down time with us, got to know us! Loved the Galapagos aquatic animals, and especially going on the Los Tuneles extra trip. Well worth it! Great lodging, and food was excellent. It was important to me that we stayed on land, and very glad we did, no seasickness for me! Will recommend this trip to everyone!”
    Kylee Brock – Utah, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Lares Trek!!!

    “Peru was an amazingly beautiful country full of kind people! Our trip leader, Daniel, went above and beyond to make our trip special as he had to work around strikes closing roads and unseasonable weather. His knowledge of the cultural sites was as exceptional as the views along the Lares Trek and at Machu Picchu!”
    Matthew Sloan – Illinois, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Jaguar Trip

    “Well organized trip with a great trip leader, great food, and great scenery!”
    Guy Walther – Utah, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Bucket List Dream

    “I loved this trip! Not only did I get to celebrate my 36th anniversary at Machu Picchu, I fell in love with Peru. What a great place and the sites we hiked and visited were spectacular. The second half of the trip to the Galapagos Islands was fantastic. I got to scuba dive and saw a bunch of hammerhead sharks. The guides were all very nice and polite. Thank you.”
    Mary Neilson – Indiana, United StatesIguana, August 2018
  • Fell in Love with Peru!

    “From start to finish the Jaguar trip and Lares Inca Trail was excellent! Zac, the guide, was such a lovely, attentive, knowledgeable and humorous person, whose skill at melding a group and dealing with any issues was a key part of the success. There was a satisfying mix of activities but the Lares Valley hike over the 15,700 foot Pumahuanca Pass was a definite highlight. Sumptuous meals prepared on the way were both healthy, delicious and plentiful. Some fabulous restaurants. Machu Picchu is just as special as I believed it would be. Going to the jungle added to our learning of Peru... yes we did see a tarantula! The trip lives up to the billing. Highly recommended!”
    Ro Poole – , New ZealandJaguar, August 2018
  • Tortuga Trip

    “Absolutely amazing, fun and well organized. Our guide Pepo was the best. It was a very active vacation and we saw so much wildlife. The accommodations were really nice. This is a must trip for everyone. My whole family enjoyed the trip.”
    Dianne Bridgeman – Massachusetts, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Tortugua

    “Loved the trip, especially swimming and snorkeling with the tortoises and sea life. Beautiful! Pepo was the best guide I’ve ever had. He made the trip so interesting and fun!”
    John Bridgeman – Massachusetts, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • The Wonder of the Galapagos

    “Pablo was our guide on this amazing journey to the Galápagos. He has been nominated as one of the ten best guides in the world by Wanderlust. He was truly superb, filling us with so much knowledge about his wonderful world. The food was tasty, the accommodations were clean, comfortable, close to all the action, with ocean views from every room. All the plans went smoothly, and we even experienced our first earthquake on Isabela. ”
    Terri Donati – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “We were expecting a great trip and this one delivered. Our guide (Pablo) was incredibly good. The facilities, food and transportation were all first rate.”
    Larry Holt – California, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Margie's Review

    “Our trip was amazing! Pepo, our tour guide, is very knowledgeable and fun. We loved seeing all of the unique creatures in their natural habitats and came home inspired to be more proactive in protecting our own environment.”
    Margie Ramsey – California, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Amazing Experience and Awesome Company

    “Right from the start I felt great with this company as they answered all my questions right away, but when the guide met us at the airport right away after our flight was delayed for half the day I felt super safe and in good hands!! The trip was amazing! Everything was planned, organized, easy, and fun! They were able to change the food everywhere for my vegan diet, and took us to great restaurants, set up everything from tents to hotels, to anything we needed. Everyone who worked with them was super nice! And they planned little surprises along the way that was awesome!! I highly recommend them!”
    Emma Grin – Georgia, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Our Guide Pepo Was Amazing

    “Our guide Pepo was amazing. He was so knowledgeable about Galapagos history, animals and culture. Plus he was very fun. We always looked forward to hearing his daily "Super Plan". He made our trip educational and fun.”
    Kate Weinreich – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, July 2018
  • Great Trip and Experience

    “Overall, the trip was superb. Active Adventures went above and beyond what I expected. In the past, i have not been a big fan of doing organized tours, but because of the experience I had on this, my first experience with Active Adventures, I fully expect to book additional trips with them and don't think I would ever be disappointed.”
    Marilyn Wanner – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Awesome Trip

    “This was a great trip with lots of variety in activity as well as places. Throughout the entire trip we had excellent fresh food. This included the restaurant meals, box lunches, and food on the trail. The guides were knowledgeable and the tour guide kept everything organized. I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes outdoor activities, visiting new places and meeting new people.”
    Margie Dale – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “We had a blast and we are so glad we went with Active Adventures. It was great to have every detail covered from start to finish - eating in amazing restaurants, having a very authentic view of beautiful Peru through the eyes of our awesome tour guide Zac, and showing up to campsites with everything set up for us.”
    Bonnie Davis – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Amazing!!

    “Our trip was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide Zack was very knowledgeable and paid attention to all of our wants and needs. Every detail of our trip you can tell was very thought out. I wouldn’t want any other tour guide or any other tour company. I will never be able to say enough great things about Active Adventures. Thank you guys so much for a once in a lifetime trip!! ”
    Jessyca Sidwell – Wyoming, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • True Vacation

    “This was the best trip I have ever been on! I am a school teacher and have the luxury of summers off. Last summer I was sitting around without plans and thought, “I need to go on a trip!” I have not been on a big trip before because I was skeptical of traveling alone. I have few friends who share my passion for international travel and have the finances and circumstances to justify a vacation like this. The first decision I had to make was to decide where I wanted to go. Choosing the Galápagos was easy because my favorite animal is a tortoise! After going on the vacation, I have no complaints other than I wish I could have stayed there longer. Our local Galakiwi guide, Pepo, was so knowledgeable about the islands and I learned so much about the history, animals, plants, and culture of the Galapagos. I built incredible relationships with everyone on my trip that made me realize that as humans, we are never alone. There is always going to be someone just as adventurous, just as silly, just as goofy, just as nervous, just as shy, and just as crazy as you! I will definitely be going on another Active Adventures trip in the future. I felt very well taken care of and never had to worry or think about what I would eat or what activities were planned for the day. I have already recommended this company to all my friends and family. BEST VACATION EVER!”
    Julianna Strickland – Texas, United StatesTortuga, July 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime Just Like We Expected!

    “We had high expectations for this trip that we've been dreaming about for decades. The time finally came for us to plan and execute. We are so happy to have found Active Adventures through a recommendation from a friend who did a different trip but said we won't be disappointed. Every detail was thought of in the complex moving parts of each day which was filled with multiple activities. Reading our itinerary before leaving, I was excited to see all the things we would do just before lunch! For an active family like ours, there was never a dull moment. Our guides in both Peru and Galapagos were certainly the highlights. Equally bright, knowledgeable, caring and full of smiles. They were like encyclopedias - I've never seen my 2 young adult sons so engaged in learning. The Iguana Trip offered a combination that was absolutely worth getting the most from 2 amazing and very different parts of the world.”
    Anna Carner – Colorado, United StatesIguana, July 2018
  • Amazing Trip

    “Amazing trip. Pepo was a fantastic guide with knowledge about history, geography etc of the islands. He could answer just about every question.”
    Sarah Brickles – California, United StatesTortuga, July 2018
  • Iguana go back!

    “My wife and I celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary on the June Iguana trip with Erick in Peru and Pepo in the Galapagos Islands. From the very beginning of the trip, Active Adventures made the trip easy and exciting. The website was very easy to navigate and gave us lots of information. Once we landed, in Cusco, Active Adventures and Erick had everything set up. Erick was a fantastic guide with a ton of information. As a high school social studies teacher, I really appreciate the thorough history and cultural education our group received during our adventures around the area. Celebrating our anniversary day at Machu Pichu was the icing on the cake. The accommodations very clean and comfortable. The activities were vigorous but not daunting. The hikes, bike ride, train rides were perfect and our group had a great time. But the adventure was not over.
    Following an outstanding week in Peru it was on to the Galapagos and our guide Pepo. He was just as knowledgeable about the islands and the people as Erick was in Peru. Galakiwi helped us in many aspects of this phase of our adventure. The sea kayaking, the highlands, the snorkeling and scuba diving all were top notch. Seeing hammerhead sharks by everybody in the group just added to the trip. Once again the accommodations and the food were first class. Mary and I are already thinking about our next Active Adventure. Thanks again!”
    Mike Neilson – Indiana, United StatesIguana, June 2018
  • Tortoises, Turtles, Iguanas...What a Trip!

    “This is our 3rd trip with Active - previously we have travelled to Peru and New Zealand - and again LOVED it. From the moment we arrived in Quito to our last day there, we were treated as honorable guests participating in an amazing adventure in South America. Well done Active. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to anyone who wants to hike, swim, kayak and most importantly see the beautiful fauna and flora in this relatively remote space of our planet - the Galapagos.”
    Roys Ellinas – Wisconsin, United StatesTortuga, June 2018
  • LLamas and Lions

    “This is like 2 totally different vacations in one big package. The first week in Peru you are hiking in the ever-changing mountains, absorbing the archeology, architecture and customs of people that have a thousand years of history. Then you go to the Galapagos Islands, which have had only 3 generations of human beings populating them. This second week belongs to the animals - how they interact with their habitat and each other. (And sometimes very closely with nearby humans!) Which was the better time? Impossible to pick!”
    Nancy Kucera – Illinois, United StatesIguana, June 2018
  • Amazing Galapagos!

    “This was our third trip with Active Adventures (we have also completed Active Trips in Peru and New Zealand), and like the others, this one was completely amazing!
    As usual, everything in the trip was well planned and executed.
    Our guide, Zambo, was knowledgeable, organized, and unfailingly optimistic, taking any bumps (rainy weather, our lack of snorkeling experience) absolutely in stride.
    The Galapagos Tortuga trip has a very nice variety of activities, including kayaking, snorkeling, hiking, biking, and visits to conservation areas, so you are never bored. Since this was a concern for me, I will add that I am 53 years old, exercise 30-60 min per day at home, and I made the trip without a problem – although if you want even more exercise, the opportunity is certainly there.
    This trip is particularly amazing because it stays on the islands and not on boats. This both supports the local people and helps you get to know the culture. No other way to do it, in my opinion!
    Another amazing active adventure!
    Libby Ellinas – Wisconsin, United StatesTortuga, June 2018
  • Jaguar with Daniel

    “I am not a fan of guided tours, but this one was not the typical guided tour. Everything was planned perfectly with our skill level and interests in mind. Daniel was a conscientious, knowledgeable guide for whom we developed respect and affection. ”
    Karen Rominger – Indiana, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Interesting and unusual

    “I’ve been interested the Galápagos Islands since learning about them in school, so it was wonderful to finally see them and their fascinating creatures in real life. The first surprise was how many humans actually live full time there - 30,000 on the four inhabited islands. I had always envisioned the islands as having no human habitation, except maybe scientists! We were able to see many of the well-known animal inhabitants, both on land and underwater, including blue-footed boobies, frigate birds, sea iguanas, green sea turtles, rays, lots of fish, and, of course, the giant tortoises. Visiting the giant tortoise breeding centers was really interesting. The snorkeling was fun, albeit a little chilly out in the open water. Where we snorkeled in more protected water, it was warmer. The hotels we stayed in were wonderful - nearly all facing the water, with clean and comfortable rooms. The meals were excellent, and our only complaint was there being too much food at times! Because this is a land-based trip, we traveled by speed boat between destinations. We were lucky that the seas were fairly calm, because we heard it can get rough sometimes. Our guide, who went by the nickname Zambo, grew up in the islands and was excellent - attentive, helpful, and organized. This was our third Active Adventures trip, and as far as this one being “active”, it was less so than the others, which makes it suitable for a wider range of travelers.”
    Ann Zeman – Washington, United StatesTortuga, June 2018
  • Unforgettable

    “The entire Jaguar trip was really fun — learning our way around Cusco, visiting Sacsayhuaman and the Sacred Valley, and seeing a bit of Amazonia. But the highlight for my husband and me was hiking the Inca trail. We had heard from friends that it was an adventure not to be missed, and we were not disappointed. It’s incredibly beautiful and a wonderful learning experience. And is always the case on guided group trips, your fellow travelers, as well as the guide, are a big factor in how much fun you have. We were lucky on both counts. Our guide on the trail, Wilson, was the best! He was incredibly knowledgeable about Inca history and culture, as well as the flora, and brought humor to every occasion. And our fellow hikers were great. Because we saw and learned so much much about the Inca civilization on the trail, arriving at Machu Picchu didn’t feel so much like the high point of the hike but rather one more beautiful and interesting stop. The weather cooperated with just a few spritzes of rain, although we heard that a group that hiked the trail a week before us had rain for 3 days! We had no problems with altitude sickness, and it probably helped that we arrived 1-1/2 days ahead of the official trip start. We were in reasonably good shape and found the trail challenging but definitely within our ability. Mostly it takes perseverance. We enjoyed visiting the Amazon region and seeing creatures that we’ve never seen in person before. But it was very hot (not surprisingly) and despite drinking lots of water, I suffered from heat exhaustion the first day. We were pretty inexperienced in traveling to non-English speaking countries, but it didn’t take long before we felt right at home. With our smattering of Spanish (and I’m talking single words, not phrases or sentences), we were able to get around just fine, as most of the locals we encountered spoke at least enough English for us to communicate. And when they didn’t, I used my trusty Lonely Planet Spanish phrase book. We felt totally safe in Cusco and Lima, following basic common sense rules. This was our second Active Adventures trip, and as before, they were totally organized and professional and managed to keep things moving along smoothly, even when our original guide for the overall trip fell ill a few days in and had to be replaced with another guide. The food was delicious (even on the trail). We actually connected 3 Active Adventures trips for our South America visit, and will definitely travel with them again, perhaps to Patagonia next time.”
    Ann Zeman – Washington, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
Back to top

Trip Reviews

  •   4.50 out of 5 (from 1973 reviews)

    7 Day Jaguar Adventure

    I have nothing but positive reviews for this week-long adventure of a lifetime (I would have loved to stay on for the full 14 day experience, but unfortunately work responsibilities limited my time away). As a seasoned solo traveler/hiker, and it being my 30th birthday week, I must rank this trip as my top guided-tour experience. Everything from the Lares Inca Trail experience (with its less crowded characteristics making it a much more attractive alternative to the Classic Inca Trail, at least to me), to the accommodations, the food (which can be catered to most anyone’s dietary needs, at least from what I experienced both first hand and from others in the group...still not sure how the chef/porters can transport all that fresh food and whip up such fantastic meals miles and miles from the nearest town!?), our tour leader Daniel and other affiliated guides and porters...quite honestly above and beyond what my original expectations were for the trip! I met several fellow hikers from around the world with whom I bonded and would now call lifelong friends, and have numerous photos and memories to last a lifetime! I would also like to mention that during our 4 day/3 night hike, we encountered several other hikers along the trail who were with various other tour companies (some of which I had researched prior to booking with Active Adventures), and were told several stories about various mishaps and/or negative experiences they were having with their tour leaders...perhaps we lucked out with our fantastic tour leader, but I definitely do not regret for a second my decision to ring in the third decade of my life with Active Adventures! I can’t thank you guys enough and will definitely keep you in mind for my next hiking adventure, wherever that may be :)
    Kevin Bui Review Image
    – New Hampshire, United States
    Jaguar 2017, October 2017
  •   4.55 out of 5 (from 1341 reviews)

    Incredible experience

    We had an amazing time in the Galapagos!
    Everything was perfectly organized for us. All we had to do was show up - just as it said in the description of the tour.
    Our tour guide Zambo would always tell us well in advance what we would be doing on the next day, what we had to bring, what we should wear.
    The food was always organized for us; they would always ask us beforehand what we wanted to eat.
    Everywhere we went they were expecting us and everything went smoothly.
    Zambo was an amazing guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. He had an answer for everything and he was very patient with our kids. One could see that he enjoyed showing his home to us.
    The encounters with the animals were truly amazing. We saw blue footed boobies, frigate birds, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, penguins, hundreds of sea lions, sea iguanas, etc.
    The animals seemed at ease with the humans around them in some cases almost curious.
    Pirko Hamer Review Image
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong
    Tortuga, April 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 939 reviews)

    Perfect Patagonia

    Had a wonderful time on the Condor trip with Cynthia. The trip was well planned and we traveled with such great folks. Couldn't have been better. Cynthia even arranged for great weather!
    Sarah Gray Review Image
    – Colorado, United States
    Condor, December 2017
  •   4.55 out of 5 (from 1341 reviews)

    Fantastic Adventure!

    This trip was wonderful on so many levels. It was a perfect experience for our family of three college "kids", my husband and me. We traveled with two other families- a total of eight kids and six adults, a good group size. There was lots to see and do and we appreciated the opportunity to be active! Seeing the wildlife and learning about the Galapagos Islands was fantastic!! Zambo, our naturalist was terrific and related well to children and the adults. One of the unexpected pleasures my husband and I experienced was hearing our children utilize their seven years of middle and high school Spanish as they communicated with locals. Also, needless to say, they were pleased that the drinking age on the Islands is 18. We all enjoyed having a beer at the end of each wonderful day. The December weather was lovely. Comfortably warm and the water was beautiful!! We took full advantage of any extra snorkeling and swimming opportunities.

    Our family had an extra day in Quito. We took the opportunity to hire a guide to take us around the city. What a great opportunity it was to learn about so many aspects of Ecuador's capital city. The Equator Museum was great and we enjoyed walking around the Plaza and seeing a couple of churches. Walking to the edge of the Pululhua crater was awesome! Lenin was a terrific guide!
    Katherine Babbott Review Image
    – Massachusetts, United States
    Tortuga, January 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 939 reviews)

    Condor Nov 16

    have used Active in NZ for Rimu trip and Condor trip lived up to expectations. It's some of the simple things like size of groups, quality of guides etc that make the difference for me. The sorting out of tips and meals just makes for an easy time as I travel for the trekking not the organising :-) good stuff active. Thanks
    Bob Sewell Review Image
    – Essex, United Kingdom
    Condor, December 2016

 previous

next 

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure
close