Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

 

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our South America trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • An Amazing Adventure

    “What a fabulous trip! Everything was so well-organized and all of the people involved were fabulous. We got the guide of the century having Pablo as our naturalist. Pablo managed to have a surprise for us each and every day. It was like he special-ordered all the best from weather to food to unusual plants and animals each day. We saw so many plants and animals that I'd never seen before. It was incredible to come across tortoises in the wild and this was the first time I'd seen flamingos in the wild and got to see them fly. That was spectacular. It was great to get to snorkel nearly every day. Swimming with the sea lions, tortoises, hammerheads, reef sharks was memorable. I loved seeing a bryde whale and the manta rays on one of our travel days on the boat as well as a bird feeding frenzy after our snorkel at Kicker Rock. All of the boat captains did a fabulous job maneuvering the boats for the best views and photos of the wildlife and scenery. The kayaking day at Isabela was one of our favorite days. What a gorgeous bay! I would have loved to have stayed on Isabela for one more day so that we could have gone on the Sierra Negra hike AND go snorkeling at Los Tuneles. We had to choose one or the other, but it would be great to do both (based on the pictures I saw). This is a terrific company and I will definitely recommend you to others. Thanks for a great experience.”
    Georganne Nuger – California, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • You Had Me At Sea Turtles

    “The Galapagos was everything I expected and then some! Zambo was a perfect guide and our group was terrific. We had talked about a land based trip vs. a sea based, and although I love the idea of staying on the water, I get sea sick in a bath tub. I liked being on land so we could explore the towns we were in and appreciate the Galapagos culture.”
    Lori Alter – Texas, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • 10 Days in Paradise

    “The trip was wonderful and the group was very compatible. Zambo and Paulo did a great job showing us their beautiful part of the world. The wildlife and the food were outstanding and exceeded my very lofty expectations.”
    Anne Weitz – Idaho, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • What a Wonderful Experience!

    “Overall, the Tortuga trip exceeded our expectations. Our guides Zambo and Paulo were great, travel was easy, the hotels and food were excellent, and the wildlife viewing was better than I had hoped. I really like the "active" part of the Active Adventures tours.”
    Tom Weitz – Idaho, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • First Solo Trip - So Worth It!

    “This was my first international trip where I traveled alone and it was so worth it! Every last detail is planned for you so it couldn't be any easier. The packing list was right on ( I used everything they suggested bringing) and rented a couple items to save enough packing space to allow me to bring only a carry on. I love active trips but get nervous trying to plan out all of the logistics.(where to stay, best things to see, transportation, etc) It was wonderful to find a way to travel without all the additional headaches. Would definitely travel with this company again!”
    Shelly Stefanik – Wisconsin, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • Lake Titicaca Really Exists

    “Lake Titicaca was a surprise I didn't expect. The floating Islands were amazing and I loved our homestay on Amantani Island. ”
    Lori Alter – Texas, United StatesChinchilla, May 2018
  • This Trip Was My Wife's Lifelong Dream - and it Came TRUE!

    “Galapagos is simply amazing. If you love to experience wildlife nose to nose this is the place. Sea Lions, Iguana, Pelicans, Sea Turtles, Giant Tortoises, Sharks, Blue Heron etc. Snorkeling, hiking - we loved it all. A great trip for adults, and your kids if they swim and snorkel. This is a wildlife adventure to remember forever.”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Machu Picchu is Amazing! Completing the Hike is Victory!

    “Machu Picchu is one of the "New 7 Wonders of the World" - on the same list as the Great Wall of China. Hiking the Inca Trail at 62 is the most difficult challenge physically I have undertaken. But I did it!! The exhilaration of crossing Sleeping Woman Pass at 14,200 feet is almost (but not quite) as amazing as our first views of Machu Picchu from above. We loved the trip - the food, the sherpas, our guide, and the miracles of history and the 21 civilizations of Peru, culminating with the Inca Empire. How did they build this? Miracles of engineering as remarkable as the pyramids in Egypt!”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • Do Not Miss Lake Titicaca - and Amazonia was great!

    “Our experience on Lake Titicaca, with the Floating Islands and the Uros people, and with the overnight on Amantani Island is why we travel. Lake Titicaca - the highest navigable lake in the world at 12,500 feet, and salt water being a trapped part of the ocean is magnificent waterscape. We travel not only to see special places. We also want to meet the people and experience the culture first hand. Our way of life is a great way, but it is not the only way, nor is it the only right way. We loved meeting and spending a night in the home of these indigenous people.”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesChinchilla, May 2018
  • Delightful Galapagos

    “Fantastic trip...a sensory feast for the soul. Many unique experiences including snorkeling with iguanas and one afternoon we watched and giggled with amazement as a young seal and a young black tip reef shark played in this small pool in the lava rocks. WOW!”
    Steve Leslie – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Best Hike Ever

    “Kate and I were a bit hesitant about signing up for the Condor due to our ages (70 and 73). However we trained by hiking hills with light packs starting 6 months or so before the trip. The training paid off as we were able to make the bigger hikes in Torres del Paine and Fitzroy area with nothing more than slightly sore legs at the end of the day. The evenings in the refugios were great. We were surrounded by energetic, cheerful mostly younger hikers from many countries. The refugios themselves are basic but clean and warm. The scenery was stupendous and dramatic. There were cloud wreathed peaks, rainbows, wind squalls, avalanches, wildflowers and lakes of many hues of blue. Our group was varied in age and background and conversations were lively and enlightening. Later on in the trip we moved from refugios to boutique hotels and were delighted by the friendly spirit of the locals.
    Most of all however we enjoyed the company of our trip leader Cynthia. She clearly loved her job! She was great at getting us on the trail on time, arranging buses, restaurant bookings and helping with the little details. She is incredibly knowledgeable about the parks, the history and human nature. Always friendly and smiling. What a good person she is. We wish her well in her next adventure and she has an open invitation to visit with us at our home in the high Sierra of California.
    Richard Harvey”
    Richard Harvey – California, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • Incredible Time in Patagonia!

    “We had an absolute blast on the Condor trip. The scenery down there is some of the most drastic in the world, and the trip allowed us to see as much as possible in the time we had. Cahit was a fantastic, enthusiastic guide who kept the group motivated all trip. Our local guides, Ana and Cristian, were great as well. As my brother and I were a bit younger than the group, we very much appreciated the guides finding ways to challenge us on the trail. Food and lodging was also nice throughout the trip. Highly recommend!”
    Jordan Altaras – Washington, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • Exceeded My Expectations

    “Awesome. Exceeded my expectations!Very well organized and Patagonia scenery is incredible”
    Dale Murdoch – Nebraska, United StatesCondor, May 2018
  • Trekking the Inca Trail

    “We had an amazing trip trekking the Inca Trail to Machu Pichu and then Flying to Puerto Maldonado to explore the Amazon Rain forest. We were incredibly well cared for by our Active Adventures trip guide, Zack. The 4 day trek to Machu Pichu was guided by Wilson. He made sure that each of us was able to complete the trip, by encouraging us and teaching us about the spiritual nature of the area. He watched our pace carefully and made sure that each of us felt supported. Our group of 4 close friends will be forever grateful for the experiences that we had on this trip.”
    Roya Murray – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, May 2018
  • A wonderful World! Galapagos is a Divine Treasure

    “I had a fabulous trip! Zambo and Paulo were great! You can't even describe it but suffice to say photos can't do this justice and there's magic in the wildlife. A treasure not to be missed!”
    Priscilla Merrill – New Hampshire, United StatesTortuga, May 2018
  • Great guides!

    “The guides on our trip, Daniel and Sambo, were exceptional. They knew the areas well and took good care ou us. They really made the trip enjoyable.”
    Pat OBryan – Illinois, United StatesIguana, April 2018
  • The Challenge of the Classic Inca Trail

    “For anyone who wants to challenge themselves this is the trip for them. The scenery was breath taking and the camping is certainly luxury. You are treated like a queen.”
    Maggie Means – Florida, United StatesJaguar, April 2018
  • Best Holiday Ever!

    “Best holiday I've ever had.”
    Richard McGowan – New South Wales, AustraliaCondor, April 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “It was definitely trip of life time. I loved the adventure.”
    Flora Riyahi – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, April 2018
  • Once in a Lifetime Vacation

    “Every island has different wildlife to enjoy. There was so many sea lions, golden rays, whales, large sea turtles, land tortoise, blue footed boobies, hammer heads, Galapagos shark, etc. the guides are amazing. They take you biking, kayaking, hiking, diving, etc. never a dull moment.”
    Penny Miller – Florida, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • First Class Trip

    “My adventure in Peru was amazing. My guide Zach was very knowledgeable and helpful with anything you could throw at him. The accommodations and crew and food were absolutely incredible. I highly recommend Active Adventures for your world trip journeys.”
    Andrew Reed – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, April 2018
  • Tortuga with Pablo

    “We enjoyed living on the islands for this trip. It gave us a much better feel for the islands and the country. We felt like we were living it, not just visiting it. Pablo was passionate about the Galapagos Islands and committed to ecology. It was a very enjoyable trip.”
    Dave Lardinois – Wisconsin, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Great Fun, Interesting Trip

    “The Tapir trip in Ecuador was amazing. Lovely country, wonderful guide, Mauro. We got to see and experience so many different landscapes and adventures - including cycling down Cotopaxi Volcano, a walk around a lagoon near Cotopaxi, a night at a charming hacienda, views and swinging over cliffs in Banos, a lovely lunch near Banos, an Amazon waterfall hike that was challenging but terrific, a night at a rustic Amazon lodge with the sounds of the jungle lulling us to sleep, boat rides along the Napo River, a visit to a demonstration of local Amazon crafts, a visit to a wildlife rescue place on the Napo River, a beautiful thermal spa east of Quito with a lovely hike along a river wedged between two lush green mountains, and a final stay at a new, luxury hotel outside Quito near the airport. Mauro, our guide, told us many interesting facts about the country and was very attentive to our wishes and needs.”
    Bruce Smith – California, United StatesTapir, April 2018
  • An Absolutely Stunning Trip

    “A magnificent myriad of worlds in one amazing week...Volcanoes, jungle, waterfalls, hot springs, hiking, biking, horseback riding, snow, tropics, bird watching, traditional artisan demonstrations... Our main guide, Mauro, was incredible - a wonderful interpreter, intuitive, intelligent and very knowledgeable (history, topography, geography, animal and plant life, characteristics of each town and village...) He and I share a love of birds so that was a special treat. He was also clear, direct and vigilant on any issues of safety, especially during physical challenges. We were always well taken care of.... Each local guide and proprietor were accommodating, personable and sincere. I often felt as if we were sharing in a little part of their lives instead of just being tourists. My traveling companion and I are intensely curious and learned so much about a beautiful country that we knew virtually nothing about, while having an unbelievable time! In addition to being regularly awestruck, we laughed a lot and had so many wonderful conversations. This experience will stay with me for the rest of my life...”
    Jamie Virostko – Virginia, United StatesTapir, April 2018
  • Best Vacation Ever!

    “I decided to tag along with my friends on this trip, without having given too much thought about the Galapagos prior and it ended up being an amazing experience! We had ample opportunities to get up close to the wildlife and experience the unique environment. Pepo was a wealth of knowledge and taught us all so much about the geology, biology, history and culture of the islands. Going through this journey as a group was a wonderful experience, allowing us to connect and share our collective appreciation of the islands, their wildlife, and their people. I would highly recommend this adventure to anyone considering it and is looking for an engaging way to experience the islands up-close and take in all they have to offer.”
    Richmond Pagaduan – California, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Soaring with the Condors

    “Patagonia is a wild and magical land carved from wind and glaciers. It's beauty is graced by crags, tarns and rainbows, its lofty peaks shrouded by the mists and washed clean by the frequent rains. It is a land only limited by one's own imagination. There were many times that I expected to round a bend in the trail only to find a group of dwarves with a wizard clambering by. Arturo with Active Adventures did an amazing job of introducing us to this breathtaking land. This was the first trek I've been on, and all the details were managed by AA which allowed me to just focus on this incredible adventure. I look forward to my next trip with them.”
    Rebecca Childs – Washington, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Northern Patagonia with Active Adventures is a Must-Do

    “Our trip to New Zealand (South Island) with Active Adventures a couple of years ago was great, and our recent trip to Northern Patagonia with them was quite different and equally great. They know how to do it, both for groups of 14 or so (as we were in New Zealand) and for groups of just 5 (as we were in Patagonia). The right level of activity/adventure and great variety - we had the opportunity to be pushed if that is what we wanted on a particular day (like a hike with more elevation gain than we had done before) or, and this is critical, the individual freedom to ratchet that back at any time, with no pressure either way. As they say, "no worries". Our all-trip guide (Mayra) was great beyond words - knowledgeable, engaging, flexible (necessary, because the always unpredictable weather there can force itinerary changes), able to solve any problem - and always fun. And the local guides who joined us for hikes, kayaking, rafting, etc. were all terrific as well. We had experiences, many of them (some of which developed spur of the moment), that we will treasure forever.”
    Bruce Maximov – California, United StatesPuma, April 2018
  • Amazing

    “This trip was amazing. We had a brilliant time. Galapagos Islands are more than beautiful, organization was perfect and Pepo was the best guide we’d had in our lives. Thank you!”
    Marzi Dubiel – Malopolska, PolandTortuga, April 2018
  • Put Patagonia at the Top of Your Trip List!

    “Words cannot truly describe the magnificent beauty of this region. Wild, remote, stunning and dramatic are just a few that come to mind. Combine this with a friendly, knowledgeable and supportive guide like Cahit, and an intrepid group of fellow travelers, and one truly has the trip of a lifetime. Finally, Active doesn't miss a beat with the details. This was our second tour with Active Adventures. We will most definitely be back for more!”
    Dean Altaras – Washington, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Best Hiking in the World

    “The hikes were amazing. The guides were very knowledgeable. The views were incredible. Great restaurants in the small towns.”
    Alan Lapointe – California, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • A Trip to Do Twice!

    “The Tortuga Trip is a wonderful blend of land and sea, with a wonderful guide named Pepo. It is a delight to learn about the history of such a special place in the world, the uniqueness of its animals, the richness of the scenery, and the friendliness of its people. It was a grand adventure.”
    Cathy Leslie – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Worth It!

    “It wasn’t easy but worth the effort. Jaw-dropping scenery with unforgettable experiences including kayaking among icebergs, hiking on a glacier, watching dolphins play around our boat. An amazing journey!”
    Andrea Carver – Alberta, CanadaCondor, April 2018
  • Not Enough Superlatives!

    “I don't have enough superlatives in my vocabulary to adequately describe this trip. Any adventure is about people first. The guides Rosario, Luis and especially Cynthia were knowledgeable, organized and most importantly great companions. We wanted to kidnap Cynthia and bring her back to Canada, but someone else beat us to it. We were very lucky with our fellow hikers, all interesting and generous people with a taste for adventure and fun. The accommodations were all good, but special kudos to the Patagonia Queen and its owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Again we were blessed with fantastic weather, the icing on the cake in this land of sublime beauty. Breathtaking is not too strong a word. Although we have dozens of fantastic photos; none of them can capture the magnificence of this area. I'm so glad I did this trip!”
    Ken Sanders – Ontario, CanadaCondor, April 2018
  • Blown Away (Literally)

    “One of the best trips - best trip leader, awesome local guides, and a FUN group of people. I travelled with my cousin and this is our 3rd Active trip- each of our trips can be associated with a certain weather condition and for this one it was the WIND! I have been back for almost 3 weeks and I am still in awe of all of the beauty in Patagonia!”
    Diana Ramos – California, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Epic Patagonia Adventure

    “The beauty of Patagonia was beyond anything I had imagined. So rugged, dramatic, and untouched. Our main guide, Cahit, and the other guides who joined us for specific parts of the trip were fabulous individuals. The logistics went off without a hitch, and we lucked out with the weather. Last, but definitely not least, our group was incredible. We gelled immediately and truly enjoyed being together. It was very hard to say goodbye!”
    Gigi Altaras – Washington, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Iguana Trip/Quito-Galapagos leg

    “We participated in the second half of the Iguana trip (a day in Quito and 6 days in the Galapagos Islands) and we loved it. The day in Quito was fun with highlights including a trip to the Equator, a visit to the historic quarter including the magnificent Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus and the winged Virgin Mary statue, La Virgin del Panecillo.

    Our Galapagos adventure began in Baltra where we were met by our guide, Zambo who was superb. Zambo is a native of Santa Cruz and has so much knowledge to impart which, coupled with a true love and pride for his islands, made for a very rich experience. Highlights for me were: the beautiful beach at Tortuga Bay, Santa Cruz, El Chato Tortoise Preserve in the Santa Cruz highlands where we encountered many giant tortoises, the hike up the Sierra Negra volcano on Isabela when the mists parted and the huge caldera came into view; kayaking on Isabela and seeing golden rays and my first blue footed booby and snorkelling in Cerro Tijeretas on San Cristobal. The fact that this is a land based tour made for a truly interactive holiday. The local people were without fail friendly and helpful. All accommodations were very clean and comfortable and everything moved along seamlessly with no hitches at all. The local company, GalaKiwi did a great job, and their experience shows. This is the first time I have been on a guided tour and for a destination like this I would highly recommend this company as many of the sights require local guides and the vast majority of the islands are designated national park land. All in all, a wonderful experience.”
    Gillian Lane – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, April 2018
  • Condor 2018

    “Had an Amazing trip once again with the Active team! Cynthia was a great guide and accommodated and multi-tasked like no other! The Condor trip was everything I expected and thanks to Cynthia and the team aka guides and drivers for making it all happen! Looking forward to another great trip ahead! Thanks Active!”
    Starr Montoya – California, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Excellence at its Best!

    “What more can I say?! The itinerary, natural and architectural beauty, guides, activities, transportation, hotels, food, all truly incredible. Mayra is a gem and it was like having a caring, highly competent family member with us all the way. I have traveled throughout much of the world and this is one place you do not want to miss!”
    Rita Carole – California, United StatesPuma, April 2018
  • Amazed!

    “This was our third Active adventure so we had some pretty clear expectations and hopes for the trip. In almost all respects, this adventure far exceeded our expectations. The activities were all relevant and even though altitude played a minor role for the first half of our trip, our training and pharmaceutical preparations paid off. I was the oldest of the participants and was happy I was able to stay within sight of everyone though I'll admit I came to recognize people by their butts pretty quickly. The guides for both sections of the adventure were first rate and not only knew history but the flora and fauna as well. They were great 'cat herders' and got us to where we needed to be with time to spare. Active South America must have a PhD level training program in patience and compassion because these guys excelled at every turn. ASA was spot on in their descriptions of the activities but perhaps undersold how good the accommodations would be; for the most part we were in very, very nice hotels that seemed delightfully quaint and family run. We never felt like nameless folks just passing through. As for food, we figured we might lose a few pounds due to the high level of activity and being at altitude for a week. Not so, my friends. The food was fresh, tasty and doggone it, very, very plentiful. We found ourselves trying things we might not otherwise be interested in ... except for Mary Ann and Giuseppe, the two Guinea Pigs offered up for our dining pleasure. Nope, none of us went there. The bottom line for us was that at the end, we were amazed our trip had gone by so fast, that we had seen and learned so much and that we thoroughly enjoyed our guides and other tour members. All that said, some may be interested in an economic perspective so here it is: dollar-wise, the trip on the front end seems expensive but by some point during the trip, we came to the conclusion that it was an exceptional value for the experiences we had. It was a true bucket-list adventure for us and we are so happy we choose ASA to provide us the experience we've always hoped to have. Pura vida! (Mark & Sandy Hudson, Shelby, NC, USA)”
    Mark Hudson – North Carolina, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Like Travelling with Really Interesting Friends

    “I enjoyed everything about this trip. I'm 67 and it was the right amount of activity (hiking, rafting, kayaking) and the right amount of down time. Traveling with Mayra and the other guides was like traveling with really interesting friends.”
    Susan Albert – California, United StatesPuma, March 2018
  • Wonderful

    “I used wonderful, but you could pretty much choose any superlative you wanted to and it would probably apply to this trip. Patagonia is a beautiful, inspiring place. Being able to experience it with knowledgable, fun guides like Cahit, Anna, and Cristian is a true gift. Throw in nearly perfect weather (which in Patagonia is very unusual), and a fun, easy-going group of companions, and you feel like you've won some sort of trip lottery. I will never forget this trip, and can't wait to book the next one.”
    Jay Perry – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Magical Journey

    “This trip was spectacular! It exceeded my expectations! The scenery was majestic and the food and culture was awesome.”
    Mike Wang – California, United StatesJaguar, March 2018
  • The Bodkin's March 2018 Tortuga Trip

    “The trip was fantastic, every detail was thoughtfully considered. Our guide, Pablo, was superb, his knowledge, enthusiasm, and presentation resulted in a trip that was educational, interesting and entertaining. Pablo and Paoulo made sure that everyone was comfortable and safe during activities and the offsite staff was accommodating of every need. The Galapagos Islands and their natural and human history offer unique windows into our world.”
    James Bodkin – Washington, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Fantastic Trip

    “I loved every bit of this trip - the activities, the people, the wonderful creatures we encountered, the local food, the accommodations. Even the weather cooperated! But I must say that our guide Zambo's knowledge, enthusiasm, and kindness were what really made this trip so special! His love for his country and positive attitude were contagious, and we learned so much while having such fun!”
    Susan LaHoda – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Better Than I Imagined!

    “Visiting Patagonia was a dream of mine, forever and this amazing trip was better than I could have possibly imagined! Everything was perfect and I can't wait to travel with Active Adventures again!”
    Laura Goldner – New Hampshire, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Pure Perfection

    “Loved every second of the trip - the guides, the group, everything was absolutely fantastic. Including the unpredictable Patagonia weather - which was just about perfect for the two week duration of the trip. Would recommend to anybody who enjoys the outdoors - what an adventure!”
    Goranka Bjedov – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • This Was an Awesome Adventure!

    “The Condor trip was absolutely wonderful. The combination of the itinerary and guides could not have been better. It is definitely at the top of all time best trips. I can't wait for the next trip which my wife is already investigating.”
    Wayne Goldner – New Hampshire, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Beautiful Scenery and Great Hikes

    “My husband has wanted to do this trip for several years. I hesitated as the Refugio stays were way out of my comfort zone. The whole trip was great, and even the Refugio’s were ok. Our guide Cynthia was just amazing - she knows what she’s doing, is prepared for everything, and was very encouraging. I really don’t know how she did it all! We were with a great group of people, and feel we have gained new friends that we hope to meet on another trail some day.”
    Cathy Tileston – Florida, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Our trip to the Galapagos exceeded expectations in every way. All transports and activities were extremely efficient - there was never any waiting around. We had a full plate of activities, with just the right amount of down time. Fabulous!”
    Mary Porter – Maryland, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Patagonia at its Best

    “This was a fantastic trip which was well planned with quality places to stay, eat, and view the wonders of Patagonia. The guides were all excellent and knowledgeable making the trip super informative. Other activities such as kayaking, glacier hike, and mountain biking added to the exploration of a very unique and diverse environment. The transportation from locations was very comfortable. The Patagonia of Chile and Argentina was stunning and the organization by Active Adventures created the perfect experience.”
    Donna Small – Oregon, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Patagonia

    “I loved the Condor adventure with Arturo. It was breathtaking, challenging, historical, and FUN. I loved every minute and will never forget my South American experience. Arturo was the best, and his sense of humor kept us laughing all the time. I would love to repeat the trip but will take another Active Adventures which are the best and perfect for my lifestyle.”
    Cynthia Rothrock – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Memorable Experience ... Seasoned, Service-centric Guides

    “Fast-paced tour with good variety of activities. Enjoyed the lead & care of experienced Guides. We were truly blessed with great weather the whole trip!”
    Doi Mei Vivian Chan – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Exceeded All Expectations

    “Excellent guides in both Peru and the Galapagos; hotels were all first rate, food was awesome, and our experiences were very memorable. Also, the staff in the Galapagos were really helpful.”
    Tamara Lovell – New York, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Patagonia

    “Majestic mountains have always been a passion of mine, the Condor hike certainly delivered an abundance of fabulous mountain views and along with our great weather and hearty meals one could only lap up each day's highlights. This hike kept on delivering highlights day after day just when you thought it could not get better a new experience began. Cahit, well what can I say...always smiling, eager to help in any way, always looking for the best option on the day, he did a great job.”
    Brian Geue – South Australia, AustraliaCondor, March 2018
  • Peru/Galapagos Iguana trip

    “Unforgettable mix of exposure to the natural world of the Galapagos and the cultural and natural wonders of Peru!”
    Win Quayle – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Peru and the Galapagos

    “It was an amazing two week trip. We felt as if we had two trips in one. Each week was unique. The guides were so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Pepo had his daily "super plan" and Erick with his thoughtful planning the night before our next day's adventures. Eager to get back to Peru for more adventures. A fantastic experience from the start to the finish.”
    Deb Manegold – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Exceeded our Expectations!

    “This was our second trip with Active Adventures (did the Rimu trip back in Nov 2011), and they delivered yet again. The guides were very skilled, knowledgeable and had a wonderful sense of humor. The food and drink was delicious and abundant. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and full of character. The vistas were unreal (mountains, glaciers, and lakes, oh my!). There was no shortage of activity - we certainly earned our meals! Where we won the lottery, though, was with the group. There was an amazing cohesion that occurred on this trip, and we spent a large portion of our time laughing together. We couldn't have asked for better.”
    Chris Baca – Colorado, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Amazing Trip!

    “Far exceeded my expectations! Amazing time, great people, highly recommend!”
    Vince Ruisi – Ontario, CanadaTortuga, March 2018
  • Annie's Tortuga Trip

    “Everyone at AA was genuinely keen on making our trip the best possible. The trip was well planned, yet flexible to meet the preferences of our small group (6 people). Our guide, ZAMBO, was ever cheery and a font of interesting information on everything from the animals to the geological formations, to the best dishes at local restaurants. It was a great bonding experience for my daughter and myself.”
    Annie Lannigan – Rhode Island, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Challenging and Fun!

    “My trip to Argentina and Chile was more than I imagined it would be. I was in awe of the natural beauty of the areas we hiked in. However, the most important thing I take home with me is the personal relationships I formed with my group, especially my leader, and now friend, Mayra Callo. She was amazing. I am a "beginner hiker" so her patience and close attention on the harder treks was appreciated! She knew so much about the area and it was a pleasure learning about South America from her. In addition, her personality made all of us feel like family, with Mayra being the Mother :) She took great care of all of us. We all had so much fun together...it was sad to leave. Anyone who has any reservations about booking a trip should just do it! They won't be disappointed!!”
    Tina Avallone – New Jersey, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Awesome Active Adventure

    “This was one of the most memorable vacations my husband and I have ever taken. Being in good physical shape was definitely a plus, as we were did lots of physically demanding activities (which is exactly the type of adventure we were looking for!). The guides were outstanding, particularly Mayra (who was our main guide) and Gem (who accompanied us on the W-Trek). We were very fortunate in having a very small group, which made the trip feel very intimate. As for the trip itself, the scenery was spectacular, the food was delicious and abundant, and the activities were varied and very well coordinated. I would definitely recommend Active Adventures, and this trip in particular, to anyone looking for a trip of a lifetime!”
    Eve Duddy – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Condor Trip Exceeded my Expectations

    “I'm an avid hiker/outdoors-enthusiast in the Pacific NW USA and, for many years, I've dreamt of exploring the rugged Patagonia landscape. After taking a wonderful Active Adventures trip to New Zealand last year, I decided to book the 'Condor' adventure for 2018. To be honest, the 'Condor' trip, for me, was rather more beautiful, scenic, memorable, and challenging than the NZ-Rimu trip (which I also loved)! I don't like to use the term "trip of a lifetime" as I always want to keep travelling - yet this trip was one of the best I've ever taken! Such is the beauty of this incredible part of the world and, of course, the tremendous organizational efforts and guide-quality of Active Adventures!
    The majesty of the Torres del Paine National Park mountains in Chile to the soaring towers of the Fitz Roy area in Argentina will never escape my mind.
    Navigating in that part of the world doesn't come easy. The various national parks, border crossings, base-camp towns, permits, ferry boats, inter-city transit, shuttles, etc. were all masterfully coordinated by the Active team. I didn't have to think, once, about trip logistics. All I had to do was show up to the start-city and then hike/eat/drink - and enjoy! The quality of the guides - our every-day main guide and the various guides we had in Torres Del Paine, Perito Moreno, and El Chalten - were absolutely top-notch. You simply couldn't have asked for better quality guides than the ones which Active has in this part of the world. For any outdoors enthusiast, I simply cannot recommend enough this adventure with this company.”
    Brian Holsclaw – Washington, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Amazing Adventure

    “Our Condor adventure was definitely amazing! The trip was brilliantly orchestrated by Arturo in Patagonia who looked after our every need from morn to night, with efficiency, charm and mucho humour.
    It was a tough journey, but worth every step. ”
    Paula McGowan – New South Wales, AustraliaCondor, March 2018
  • Active Adventures knows Patagonia

    “It was obvious from our first night in Patagonia that Active Adventures was very capable of leading a first class trip through the area. Our guide, Cynthia, was personable, professional and capable. ”
    Leah White – Louisiana, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Condor 2018

    “This IS the trip of a lifetime! The itinerary is excellent, including the highlights of Patagonia and more! Trip logistics are well planned and expertly executed. Our guide, Arturo was one step ahead at all times and clearly has developed relationships with all hotels, refugios, restaurants and especially our local guides, creating incredible, seamless travel. The local guides, Cem (Jim) on the W Trek, Christian in El Chaltan, our drivers and specific activity guides were all excellent and willing to share their knowledge and love for their countries. This trip was FUN, Arturo is fun and all the new friends we met on our trip were fun!!!”
    Cindy Jacobs – Maine, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Puma Trip Review

    “We were thrilled to have Mayra as our guide for this fantastic trip. She and the additional local guides were truly fantastic. There was an excellent balance of travel time, hiking, kayaking, relaxing and good food. Truly magical in every way.”
    David Sherman – Michigan, United StatesPuma, March 2018
  • Patagonia 2018

    “This trip was a great experience. The scenery and hikes were amazing. ”
    Priya Chandrakumaran – Ontario, CanadaCondor, March 2018
  • The Condor Trip Was Awesome!

    “The trip was physically challenging but the mountains and glaciers and wildlife were well worth the sweat! The weather was variable and mostly very windy, but we followed the "what to bring" list and were prepared for everything. The "W" trek rewarded some hard work with breathtaking views of the "Towers" and the "Horns" as well as several extraordinary glaciers, ice fields and lakes. The glacier hike on Grey Glacier was phenomenal! We have pictures of us inside a deep blue ice cave! The mountains and glaciers in Glaciares National Park were immense, Glacier Perito Moreno with a 250 foot face occasionally calving into the ice filled waters below. Views from the boat were spectacular with wind sculpted ice statues towering above the deck. The food was from good to excellent at restaurants and at the refugios on the "W" trek, and everywhere was well supplied with cold beer and excellent Chilean and Argentinian red wines. But best of all were the people we got to know, sharing our adventures, both challenging and relaxed.”
    John Stevens – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Huge Country with Stunning Scenery

    “Great scenery and fantastic guides - all different but perfect for the different parts of the trip.”
    Caroline Corkill – Southland, New ZealandCondor, March 2018
  • Great Active Trip!

    “This was a great trip made even better by having Pablo as our quide. Pablo was so knowledgeable and passionate about the Galapagos. His explanation of how life begins on a barren volcanic landscape was enlightening - an "ah-ha" moment. The locally made food was great.”
    Elizabeth Rohrbach – New Mexico, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Iquana Tour

    “The guides and assistants were superb, absolutely the best. Caring, knowledgeable, good at explaining, good English, no BS just solid information from good recent sources. Both were especially good at accommodating a wide range of physical abilities, which must have been challenging. Cusco as a base made sense logistically, however some of us felt altitude effects. I would bring a nasal saline spray next time because the air was thin and dry. But the scenery, the ruins, the weaving we saw were absolutely spectacular and totally worth it. The Galapagos Islands were wonderful. The snorkeling was especially good. It was perfect to do a shallow spot first (which was excellent), and then the deep area by Kicker Rock. The bird nesting we saw there, and then the deep water snorkeling, were unforgettable.”
    Jim Rundle – New York, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Iguana - Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Our Iguana trip to Peru and Ecuador exceeded my expectations in all respects! We had a wonderful group of 8 (12 in the Galapagos) and delightful, expert guides, who worked tirelessly to make it all flow smoothly. I was very impressed with the preplanned agenda of great activities, charming hotels, and excellent restaurants, with a myriad of forms of transport linking them all together (vans, buses, trains, boats, planes, and even "toot-toots"). What surprised me was that out guides and drivers were willing to go way beyond the itinetary to meet our special needs and desires.
    In Peru, our ever-competent, ever-knowledgable guide Erick Farfan, arranged a taxi for us to go back to town after old knees gave out during a long hike. He also helped us to make arrangements for half of us to visit a weaving village while the other half took a long Andean hike, provided extra snacks for a low blood sugar moment, and walked a lagging group member back to the van before rerunning back to the rest of the group. These actions, along with many others, allowed every member of the group to have the best trip possible. I will always be thankful to Erick for his expertise, great humor, and patience.
    In the Galapagos, Pepo was our "Super Plan" star! He knows everything about his home islands and proudly shared the wonders of the geology, flora, fauna, and fun local eating places! He answered our endless questiond thoroughly, and we never spotted a bird or plant that he couldn't name. He also met the special requests and needs of the group, and e,plained and worked around any problems that arose - like a gas shortage for boats! All the islanders knew Pepo, and meeting his mother and cousin made us feel like family, too. I also want to praise Andy, his assistant on Santa Cruz and Isabella. With Pepi leading and Andy following our group on all the hikes, it enabled us all to move at comfortable speeds, and even the slowest member of the geoup was able to do the 7+ mile hike up the Sierra Negra Volcano. Andy's kindness and charm was a great asset to us all.”
    Marguerite Sibley – Iowa, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Another Wonderful Adventure

    “Pablo was wonderful - passionate and knowledgeable! The organization of the trip was excellent and everyone was very accommodating to special requests. Galapagos was a major bucket list trip for me and going with Active Adventures made sure it didn't disappoint! Thank you for another wonderful adventure!”
    Jomana Fikree – , United KingdomTortuga, March 2018
  • A Great Adventure

    “At the end of two weeks hiking along some of the most glorious trails I have ever seen, I was bone tired but exhilarated by the beauty and challenge of it all. A wonderful adventure in an amazing place with terrific guides and companions.”
    Judy Houck – Wisconsin, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Awesome Trip!!

    “Our guide Pablo was SO knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and plant life on the Islands. We loved snorkeling with the sea lions, sea turtles, sting rays, baby sharks and other fish. The biking was great fun also. The tortoises were amazing. Lovely, lovely!!”
    Kaye Lardinois – Wisconsin, United StatesTortuga, February 2018
  • Feb 2018 Galapagos

    “Excellent trip. Pablo is top notch. He is personable and knowledgeable and very respectful. The accommodations were outstanding. Overall an excellent trip.”
    Jason Medlock – Ohio, United StatesTortuga, February 2018
  • Galapagos Was Fantastic

    “This trip was even more than I expected/hoped for. I learned so much from Pablo and his enthusiastic and passionate presentations, about Giant Tortoises and Marine Iguanas. Especially the various rescue operations, combined with the different species due to lava flow - wonderful.”
    Susan Hollis – New York, United StatesTortuga, February 2018
  • Everything I Hoped it Would Be

    “This trip was great in every way. My brother and I took the trip together and were pleased with every aspect it. The meals were excellent and our local guides were fun and Friendly. Thanks again Cem (Jim)and Lucy. We took the Inca Trail trip with Active 10 years ago and were fortunate enough to have Cynthia for some part of both trips. She is great at her job and makes everyone feel good about their effort and accomplishments. We are looking for another adventure now and we will most likely go somewhere with Active again.”
    Steven Carter – Colorado, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Fantastic Trip!

    “This was an absolutely amazing adventure! Loved it. Great explanations of the natural world. Lovely hotels that handled three people easily. The food was great. See all the islands so up close and personal was just amazing. And everything was so well taken care of. All the people with Galakiwi did a great job.”
    Deborah Hollis – New Mexico, United StatesTortuga, February 2018
  • Absolutely AMAZING!

    “The Condor trip was definitely a trip of a lifetime! My husband and I loved every aspect of this amazing experience. We got to see scenery that was straight out of a magazine. The guides Cynthia and Gem were outstanding! I love them both! Our group of 14 was beyond my expectations. They were some of the best people I have ever met and feel enriched by this experience. Thank you Active Adventures!”
    Blanca Lapointe – California, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • What Tremendous Places, People, and Landscapes!

    “I have had Patagonia on my bucket list since before I knew it was known as a bucket list destination. Climber Yvon Chouinard (who of course started the Patagonia company) visited my high school in the late '60s with tales and pictures of the place! I was primed for a fair amount of work on the trails and for a fair amount of rainy, windy weather in order to reap the rewards of the up close and personal views of peaks, glaciers, and of course penguins! Yes, the hikes are work, but not too much work, and our weather (in late Jan) really held! We only had one little bit of rain one day. The wind, however, seemed incessant - so what! Our main guide, Cynthia, was wonderful! Very empathetic, patient, accommodating, and very fun!! The other guides were very competent and friendly. The food, whether homemade trail lunches, refugio offerings, or restaurants in town were all very tasty and filling!! Can you say lamb, beef and empanadas of all kinds?! If you are a hiker and love magnificent mountain views, this is a trip for you!”
    Stephen Scott – Colorado, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Amazing Place, Amazing Guides

    “This was an amazing trip to an amazing place! Every step on the hikes brought another amazing view. And the guides were great (thank you Jay!). They took great care of us and shared some great stories.”
    Denise Pearsall – California, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Unforgettable Trip!

    “This was a marvellous, exciting and emotional trip for me!
    The group we shared it with got on so well - and were all so energetic, they made it all brilliant... our guides, the locals, the wildlife, the accommodation, the food, the wines it was all conducive to feeling spoilt - while you trecked hard during the day... a perfect Patagonia trek!”
    Francia Furler – Australian Capital Territory, AustraliaCondor, February 2018
  • Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!

    “The Condor trip with our tour leader, Zac, was AWESOME! Our W guide, Cem, was also exceptional. The two of them kept us at a great pace and kept us laughing. You're on this trip for the scenery, and it was breath-taking. A great one word description of the landscape is "rugged". This tour provides a nice balance of longer hiking days and shorter hiking days with just truly stunning scenery including Torres del Paine, French Valley, Grey Glacier, Perito Morano glacier, and Fitz Roy. Definitely do the ice hiking!”
    Sandy Landsberg – Virginia, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Amazing Galapagos Islands

    “A great time, made especially so by the company of our truly excellent guide Pepo. Really enjoyed the variety and pace of each day. One place I am really glad to have had the privilege to have visited.”
    Tony Rowe – Nelson, New ZealandTortuga, February 2018
  • Mainland Ecuador

    “Had a great time here....this exceeds our expectations. We'll be back for sure. ”
    Tony Rowe – Nelson, New ZealandTapir, February 2018
  • Another Incredible Adventure with ACTIVE!

    “This was my 7th trip with ACTIVE Adventures, and there is a reason I stick with the same company. The itineraries are perfectly crafted for adventure travelers who enjoy a fun challenge and a great overall experience. The trips tend to attract like-minded individuals, making the group quickly turn into a family. However, what truly makes this company stand out among the rest are the high-caliper local guides, who quickly become integral members of your travel-family. Every day of the Condor trip provided new challenges, which were approached with confidence and overcome with ease. Every evening ends with a smile and a full-stomach, ready to take on the next day's adventure. I highly recommend this trip to any individuals who want to experience the Patagonian mountains with the comfort of new friends and family.”
    Georgina Lean – California, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Exceeded My Expectations

    “Of course the scenery, food and the activities were fantastic - but what makes this tour special is the excellent organisation along with the knowledge and people skills of the leader and his assistant.”
    Erena Rowe – Nelson, New ZealandTortuga, February 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had been wanting to do this trip for 10 years and finally made it happen, and it was the best trip I have ever been on and it was worth the wait.”
    Judy Russell – Virginia, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Beautiful and Flawless

    “The trip was fantastic! The itinerary had just the right balance, allowing us to hike to amazing places, while mixing in kayaking and other activities. Some of sites were so breathtaking that when I sent my daughters some pictures, they jokingly accused me of using Photoshop. Besides the amazing places we got to visit, something else consistently stood out to me. It was obvious to me that Active Adventures has spent time establishing relationships with local restaurant owners, hotel operators, even shuttle drivers. Our guide, Cynthia, was consistently greeted by the local business owners as a friend. As such, I consistently felt welcomed where ever we went and that the service we received was top notch. Things were always organized, and on time. All I had to do was sit back and enjoy the ride. Well, that and hike on occasion :) I left thinking “That’s what a vacation should always feel like.” ”
    Patrick Stewart – California, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Condor January 2018

    “What a great adventure! The Condor trip is well thought out, with an excellent itinerary. The hikes were often challenging with easier ones thrown in. The experience of the W trek with its amazing scenery and geography, as well as learning about the unique flora and fauna is a treasure, as was the opportunity to stay at the refugios. Travel to the penguin colony and Perito Moreno as well as to Torres del Paine and to the hiking locations near El Chalten were all organized and pleasant. The small hotels in Punta Arenas, Puerto Natales, El Calafate and El Chalten were well chosen; the Patagonia Queen in El Calafate is a delight. We had the best guide ever - Cynthia Valledares! A font of knowledge who is blessed with a bubbling personality and who, on top of the other million details, arranged many excellent dinners at local restaurants. We enjoyed Rosario who added her services for the W trek, and Luis for his knowledge and lovely measured pace on the hikes out of El Chalten. I would happily do another trip with Active Adventures!”
    Sydney Gee – Ontario, CanadaCondor, February 2018
  • A must do trip to explore Patagomia

    “The trip was very well managed and organized, with excellent tour guides who took great care of the group. The trip provides a great opportunity to explore the beautiful Patagonia on both Chilean and Argentinean side. Do not miss the Ice Hike :)”
    John Mady – , United Arab EmiratesCondor, February 2018
  • Trekking with Arturo and Gem

    “Overall our entire adventure was fabulous... truly the vacation of a lifetime. Our guides made the journey incredible - always informative and helpful. Arturo's sense of humor even made the wind and rain bearable. Around every bend in the trail we encountered another breathtaking vista, exactly as promised.”
    Vicki Winn – Washington, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Epic Scenery and Trek!

    “The W trek on the Condor Patagonia Trek was definitely one of the oh-so-many highlights of this trip. The stunning scenery was breathtaking and ongoing every day. Loved the penquins, sea lions, and so many stunning glaciers. The kayak day and bike day were both a fantastic experience. You think the view is spectacular and you walk over a hill and it gets even better. What was surprising was the quality of the refugios - hot showers every night and great tasting food! Compared to the refugios in Europe (no showers, sometimes no toilets), these were more like bed and breakfasts and were very comfortable. Our guide, Cynthia, was an expert in the area and really made the trip special. We have done treks in the Himalayas and Alps in Italy and Slovenia, and this is by far the best trip ever in terms of hiking, scenery, food and accommodation. The trip of a lifetime - for sure!”
    Liz Ling – Ontario, CanadaCondor, February 2018
  • Harry

    “Excellent accommodations/food. Guides were knowledgeable. Location and geography is breathtaking.”
    Harry Ostapenko – Idaho, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Patagonia or bust!

    “After a 9 month reschedule due to untimely hip repairs we finally embarked on what was to be a real fun adventure to truly treasure. We had put the hard training yards in and the weather was great, so you could say we were lucky, but these were minor details in the overall success picture of this trip. This trip was organised so well in so many ways it actually made us sit up and pinch ourselves. Thanks Active Adventures well done... Cheers”
    Barry Gray – Canterbury, New ZealandCondor, February 2018
  • Puma

    “I loved this trip - the scenery is amazing! The guide in each location were great, and we learned a lot from them as they shared their appreciation for the local landscape and life. Learning about the many diverse ecosystems on the hikes, nature reserve guided walks, and kayaking was a highlight. The hikes are great, with both steep climbs and easier parts, and stunning views the whole way! Especially loved kayaking the fjord and trying out the very HOT springs! The variety of nature, lakes, rivers, and waterfalls is fantastic. Truly, a most special introduction to northern Patagonia! Thanks for everything!”
    Carey Sherman – Michigan, United StatesPuma, February 2018
  • One For The Bucket List!

    “The Condor trip with Active was nothing short of amazing. Zac was a wonderful guide and we had a great group. The 'W' trek was the absolute highlight of the trip. The scenery is just breathtaking and well worth some hard days on the trail. Sea kayaking on Grey Lake and the hike on Grey Glacier were also incredible.”
    Rob Hedlund – New York, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Condor trip South America

    “This is by far the most amazing trip I have ever joined. I had a wonderful time. It is well organized and every aspect of the trip has been well planned. Special thanks to Zach our tour leader, who really made a big difference in my experience.. I call him the Papito of the group. He is like a father, who tirelessly look after the welfare of his children. He wasn’t just doing a job, he truly cared. He loves what he does and is passionate about it. He made sure we were safe and comfortable, and he even ensured that I was able to eat my special diet, gluten free and dairy free. All the local guides were excellent as well. The places we visited were spectacular. One of my favorite moments is kayaking amongst the glacier, what a blast! The choice of restaurants where we ate were superb. I truly enjoyed authentic Chilean and Argentinian cuisine. One of the hardest things for me on this trip was carrying my backpack, which was half my size since I am a tiny person! If I had to do it again, I would bring a feather lite blanket, instead of the sleeping bag which I did not even use during the trip. It would have been easier on my back since I have a back issue, but I survived it! Overall, I can say that Active adventures is the way to go if you want to trek Patagonia. It’s worth it! Thank you Active Adventures for this memorable experience I will cherish forever.”
    Lili Germain – Florida, United StatesCondor, February 2018
  • Excellent, Second to None

    “From the office in NZ, to the guides in Patagonia, the trip was carefully planned and organized. The variety of activities (hiking, biking, kayaking, glacier trekking) set this itinerary apart. The quality of the guides was a 10. The accommodations are often austere, but the meals were generally very good. I have trekked in the Himalayas and the European Alps, and rafted down the Colorado River in Grand Canyon, all with leading travel outfitters in their regions, and Active Adventures is 2nd to none.”
    Kevin Curran – Arizona, United StatesCondor, February 2018
Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure