Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

  • Andes Adventure!

    “We loved the Jaguar tour. No matter how many pictures you've seen of Machu Picchu, or the Andes, seeing it for ourselves -- and hiking the Lares Trek -- was even better than we anticipated. The organization was great; our guide was fantastic (thank you, Zach!). The Peruvian Amazon is also fascinating; it was great to see 1000+ year-old trees -- and all kinds of wild life. ”
    Jennifer Howse – Ontario, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • Incredible Experience!

    “From the initial contact with Active Adventures to the end of our trip, the staff in New Zealand and the guides we had in Peru were thorough, personable and professional making the visit to Peru extremely enjoyable and adventurous. Everything went like clockwork and Gustavo handling any problems that arose with good humor and grace. Hiking the Inca Trail was demanding and profoundly rewarding due to our guide, Puma, keeping us moving while also developing in us a deep respect for the traditions of the people and land. The remainder of our trip to the Amazon basin and Lake Titicaca were also informative and interesting experiences with all the modes of travel and sights along the way. There was never a dull moment. Our fellow travelers were a great group and we all pulled together to help each other, when necessary. I am already considering my next Active Adventures trip.”
    Larry Dresdale – New York, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Wonderful Experience

    “Our trip was beyond our expectations- the hike was challenging but worth every step. The scenery was breathtaking. Our guides were outstanding in regard to providing us with background history and information. We also must say we have great respect for the work and care provided to us by our porters.”
    Mark Erbstoesser – Wisconsin, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • From the Andes to the Amazon

    “Terrific trip from start to finish. Knowledgeable guides, terrific food and accommodations, challenging hikes and glorious scenery. Peru is a beautiful country. I would recommend the Jaguar trip to everyone.”
    Anne Vallee – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • Not Sure How We'll Top This Trip

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime. My wife set it up for my 50th birthday and I could not be happier. Our Guide Erick, was the best, and Johann (our Inca Trail Guide from Quechua Treks, Peru) guided us on the Inca Trail. Both I consider friends now and hope we keep in touch. I've wanted to see Machu Picchu since I was a boy, so I was really looking forward to the trip. What I did not know was Machu Picchu was not the highlight of the trip. I'd have to say the Inca Trail was, with Lake Titicaca second, and the Jungle third, although the last two could be switched up a bit. Peru has so much to offer, I know that now but did not then. I love the people, the culture, and the scenery. I could go on for days but suffice to say, we have thought long and hard about a trip to top this one, spending hours and days on it, and thus far have come up empty. While Peru was exciting, adventurous, and wondrous at the same time, I truly feel Active Adventures made the trip the best it could be. I don't see how it could have been any better. Active Adventures was so good we are looking to plan our next adventure through them. We are not wealthy people and I initially considered the trip very expensive, but after going on it I feel it was money very well spent and would do it again without hesitation.”
    Mark Courtenay – Maine, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Incredible Trip

    “I had an absolute blast trekking through Peru with our group and guide leader. The Jaguar Trip with Active South America did not disappoint! From our time in Cuzco, hiking the Sacsayhuaman fortress, biking through the Sacred Valley and hiking the Pisac ruins, our Lares Inca 3-day hike through the Andes Mountains, visiting Machu Picchu and also the Amazon Jungle - this trip had it all. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area, local culture and history of Peru and the Incas and he made our trip very safe and enjoyable. I would recommend this trip to anyone looking to challenge themselves with the Incan hike and experience the culture and beauty that Peru has to offer. Truly amazing!”
    Alain Vallee – New Brunswick, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • A Vista that Must be Seen to be Believed!

    “The 3 days of hiking in the cold rain on the Classic Inca Trail were worth every last ache in my knees and quads when we were treated to the sun opening up the view of the amazing Machu Picchu. This is definitely a tough hike and a week later my 63 yr old knees are just starting to forgive me for the abuse I put them through to see this wonderful place. The porters running those trails with our gear will always leave me amazed. How often do we truly challenge our limits? History, culture, amazing food on the trail, comfy tents (complete with hot water bottles for our feet) all added to the trip of a lifetime.”
    Peg DeBiasi – Florida, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • 2018 Jaguar trip with Gustavo

    “My trip to Peru was wonderful! Gustavo, our general guide for the whole trip, was great: informative, warm, attentive to all of our big or little needs. I always appreciated how he would escort us wherever we needed to go: from getting cash at an ATM to going shopping in the local artisans market. He was always willing to translate and even help bargain, if needed! The other guides for our Classic Inca trail trip and for our jungle excursions were equally informative and fun and engaging. Puma, our Inca trail guide, infused our trek with fascinating archaeological history and a deep sense of sacredness in the places we were passing through. I felt really well taken care of at the same time as I was challenged and exhilarated by the sights, sounds, smells of each of the new places I was exploring. I loved the level of activity and found it happily affirming that I am strong and fit and still able to do the things I love to do at 61 years old. My fellow travel companions were fun and interesting and we supported each other when challenged by anything from high altitude hiking to biking or kayaking. No one felt left behind. I will definitely look at other trips you offer and recommend Active Adventures to my friends.”
    Diane Norman – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Expectations Exceded!!!

    “Thank you. Start to finish this was the most incredible trip I have ever taken. Your company is organized, responds rapidly to emails and delivers on its promises. Great tour, knowledgeable guides, and well planned. The Inca trail was challenging both emotionally and physically, but the encouragement of the group and the team leader helped me to push through to the end. I never imagined that camping out on a mountain could be so spectacular - great locations and amazing food as well (even a portable toilet!!) I cannot wait to book my next adventure.”
    Genie Tartell – New York, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • The Iguana Trip is Adventurous and Fun!

    “From hiking, to biking, to snorkeling, to walking around Cuzco, Quito and 3 Galapagos Islands, this trip has it all. Beautiful scenery, friendly people, efficient transportation of several modes: vans, trains, planes, ferry, speedboat, or dive boat! Amazing architectural wonders like Machu Pichu, Huchuy Qosqo, a 6 mile wide volcano crater, all kinds of interesting animals, many wonderful meals at very nice restaurants, lots of safe drinking water, fun group interaction, and guides who were very knowledgeable and professional made for a complete and unforgettable experience. And lots of opportunities to shop too! We'll never forget it and hope to keep in touch with our new friends who shared the adventure with us.”
    Mary-Jane Sackett – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, October 2018
  • Perfect trip

    “I had never taken such a trip alone. I had no worries, within a few hours we were all friends. Our guide Eric was very knowledgeable we could not stump him. He went out of his way to make sure we were all comfortable. The food on the trip was gourmet in every respect. The meals served on the trail were unbelievable not only taste but presentation. I was a little slower than other hikers but Eric and Lucianna were very patient and helpful. I would highly recommend this trip to all.”
    Rosanne Rushton – New York, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “What a finely tuned operation Active Adventures has. Our trip to Peru was flawless. The quaint hotel in Cusco, our young and helpful guide Gustava, the food - AA spared no expense, we dined in some of the finest restaurants. Hiking the Inca trail the whole reason for our trip to Peru.... was brilliant only made even better by having such a spiritual and knowledgeable guide in Puma.”
    Lena Clement – California, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Couldn’t Ask for More

    “The trip was amazing. Every little detail was taken care of. Our guide was great and worked with the group in a way that everyone got what they wanted/needed out of the trip. I really can’t say enough about the Lares trail and the support along the way. The food was almost as incredible as the views. The schedule was perfect. Machu Picchu was everything that we expected and our time in the jungle was great. I highly recommend the Jaguar trip.”
    Dave Ross – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Jaguar, September 2018

    “We had history, scenery, and great travel companions - all while exploring the Peru countryside. Our Jaquar trip gave us a chance to see classic historic sites, but the highlight was the less traveled, beautiful and challenging Lares Trek. Our guide and the support team were wonderful, planning every detail. We came home feeling refreshed and accomplished, and looking forward to another Active Adventure.”
    Nancy Karuzis – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had an amazing Jaguar Trip with Active Adventures. I wanted to hike the Inca Trail to celebrate turning 60 and could not find anyone to make the trip with me so I went on my own. I was apprehensive about the adventure but also very excited. When I checked into the hotel, The Royal Inka I, it was comfortable, clean, in a fabulous location and the staff were considerate & helpful. There was a water cooler just for Active Adventure Tourists so there was no need to buy water and the breakfasts were tasty & filling and introduced you to some local food items. I think what impressed me most about the tour was how friendly, thoughtful and kind everyone associated with the tour were. This included hotel staff, personnel who drove the vans, organized the bikes, carried supplies up the Inca Trail and especially the guides themselves. I was also impressed with the food which included restaurants, surprised lunch stops, on the trail etc. I never felt unsafe in contrast I felt very well cared for.”
    Shelly Lenaghan – British Columbia, CanadaJaguar, October 2018
  • More Than I Expected

    “I only did three days of the Chinchilla Trip but what I did do I thoroughly enjoyed. My main focus was Cuzco, the Inca Trail Hike and Machu Picchu so I had no real expectations for Puno & Lake Titicaca and I have to say that it was a real pleasure to tour this area. I just loved the people and culture. The Uros Floating Island was fascinating and totally unique. The culture on Taquile Island was intriguing and the homestay on Amantani Island was truly a lovely experience. To see people with few material items be so self-sufficient and happy made a real impression and has made me think differently about my needs & wants. I only wish I could have done the full Chincilla Tour.”
    Shelly Lenaghan – British Columbia, CanadaChinchilla, October 2018
  • Danny was Awesome!

    “Danny was an awesome guide. His enthusiasm for the culture of Peru really comes through. He is also very knowledgeable about the history. He brought us to great restaurants so we were able to enjoy the amazing food.”
    Katy Yeager – California, United StatesIguana, October 2018
  • Jaguar Trip September 23rd

    “The trip was amazing! I loved the group and the fearless leader. I can’t say enough about Erick. He was amazing, kind and lots of fun. I would absolutely book another trip with Active Adventures. I’m looking forward to future trips. Thank you so much for such an amazing trip! ”
    Lynn Wright – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Everything was wonderful...the biking, the Lares Trail hike and the jungle. The food was amazing! Erick was the best guide and made sure everyone’s needs were met.”
    Pam Witcraft – Wyoming, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Amazing Journey of Discovery

    “I loved, loved, LOVED this trip! I've always considered myself a "close to the ground" traveler - though the sights may be spectacular, I go to experience the culture and meet the people. To that end, I have equated spending less, to avoiding chain hotels and Americanized food.

    I chose this trip for 4 reasons: 1) Level of activity and adventure (experiences), 2) It was all inclusive, 3) I wanted to travel with a small group, and 4) Active Adventures has excellent customer ratings.

    I was NOT disappointed, in any way. We stayed in very nice (much better than my usual), locally owned and managed hotels. We ate delicious local food. I met the local people, and learned about the culture. Every day was filled with discovery, excitement, and activity. I was never bored AND I was never stressed. Someone else - one of the my fabulous guides - always took care of all the details.

    Gustavo, our primary guide was fabulous! His charm and sense of humor are natural and delightful. He seemed to anticipate our needs, before we did. We were family (in a really good way). A truly amazing guy.

    Puma, my Inca Trail guide was incredibly experienced and knowledgeable. He is a wealth of information about Peru, the people, the history, and Incan religion, culture, and architecture. I learned so much from him and enjoyed countless hours of conversation.

    As someone who has limited knowledge of other languages, I was absolutely amazed at the fluency of our guides. Both Gustavo and Puma had superb English. Of course, their Spanish was flawless as well. In the case of Puma, who's native tongue is Quechua, I was dealing with a true multilingual. It was quite a kick to offer up a new word or slang phrase. He took pleasure equal to mine in learning something new.

    Although I didn't take this trip anticipating that it would be "the trip of a lifetime", it truly was.
    Many thanks for an amazing experience!”
    Roni Chapman – Arizona, United StatesJaguar, September 2018
  • Over the Top Wonderful!!

    “We had the time of our lives! Gustavo our guide , was top notch!”
    Pamela McCormick – California, United StatesJaguar, September 2018
  • Lares Trek!!!

    “Peru was an amazingly beautiful country full of kind people! Our trip leader, Daniel, went above and beyond to make our trip special as he had to work around strikes closing roads and unseasonable weather. His knowledge of the cultural sites was as exceptional as the views along the Lares Trek and at Machu Picchu!”
    Matthew Sloan – Illinois, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Jaguar Trip

    “Well organized trip with a great trip leader, great food, and great scenery!”
    Guy Walther – Utah, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Bucket List Dream

    “I loved this trip! Not only did I get to celebrate my 36th anniversary at Machu Picchu, I fell in love with Peru. What a great place and the sites we hiked and visited were spectacular. The second half of the trip to the Galapagos Islands was fantastic. I got to scuba dive and saw a bunch of hammerhead sharks. The guides were all very nice and polite. Thank you.”
    Mary Neilson – Indiana, United StatesIguana, August 2018
  • Fell in Love with Peru!

    “From start to finish the Jaguar trip and Lares Inca Trail was excellent! Zac, the guide, was such a lovely, attentive, knowledgeable and humorous person, whose skill at melding a group and dealing with any issues was a key part of the success. There was a satisfying mix of activities but the Lares Valley hike over the 15,700 foot Pumahuanca Pass was a definite highlight. Sumptuous meals prepared on the way were both healthy, delicious and plentiful. Some fabulous restaurants. Machu Picchu is just as special as I believed it would be. Going to the jungle added to our learning of Peru... yes we did see a tarantula! The trip lives up to the billing. Highly recommended!”
    Ro Poole – , New ZealandJaguar, August 2018
  • Amazing Experience and Awesome Company

    “Right from the start I felt great with this company as they answered all my questions right away, but when the guide met us at the airport right away after our flight was delayed for half the day I felt super safe and in good hands!! The trip was amazing! Everything was planned, organized, easy, and fun! They were able to change the food everywhere for my vegan diet, and took us to great restaurants, set up everything from tents to hotels, to anything we needed. Everyone who worked with them was super nice! And they planned little surprises along the way that was awesome!! I highly recommend them!”
    Emma Grin – Georgia, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • I did it!

    “4 day hike on Classic Inca Trail was a hard hike for me at 65 yrs old from New York for altitude, but I did it with a meditative mind and great hikers I was with and the best leader... WILSON! Every group leader on this trip was local, loved the land and knew about it from a perspective that you see nowhere else.. Active Adventures is all-inclusive, worry free, safe and the best there is.”
    Linda Wart – New York, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Great Trip and Experience

    “Overall, the trip was superb. Active Adventures went above and beyond what I expected. In the past, i have not been a big fan of doing organized tours, but because of the experience I had on this, my first experience with Active Adventures, I fully expect to book additional trips with them and don't think I would ever be disappointed.”
    Marilyn Wanner – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Awesome Trip

    “This was a great trip with lots of variety in activity as well as places. Throughout the entire trip we had excellent fresh food. This included the restaurant meals, box lunches, and food on the trail. The guides were knowledgeable and the tour guide kept everything organized. I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes outdoor activities, visiting new places and meeting new people.”
    Margie Dale – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “We had a blast and we are so glad we went with Active Adventures. It was great to have every detail covered from start to finish - eating in amazing restaurants, having a very authentic view of beautiful Peru through the eyes of our awesome tour guide Zac, and showing up to campsites with everything set up for us.”
    Bonnie Davis – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Amazing!!

    “Our trip was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide Zack was very knowledgeable and paid attention to all of our wants and needs. Every detail of our trip you can tell was very thought out. I wouldn’t want any other tour guide or any other tour company. I will never be able to say enough great things about Active Adventures. Thank you guys so much for a once in a lifetime trip!! ”
    Jessyca Sidwell – Wyoming, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime Just Like We Expected!

    “We had high expectations for this trip that we've been dreaming about for decades. The time finally came for us to plan and execute. We are so happy to have found Active Adventures through a recommendation from a friend who did a different trip but said we won't be disappointed. Every detail was thought of in the complex moving parts of each day which was filled with multiple activities. Reading our itinerary before leaving, I was excited to see all the things we would do just before lunch! For an active family like ours, there was never a dull moment. Our guides in both Peru and Galapagos were certainly the highlights. Equally bright, knowledgeable, caring and full of smiles. They were like encyclopedias - I've never seen my 2 young adult sons so engaged in learning. The Iguana Trip offered a combination that was absolutely worth getting the most from 2 amazing and very different parts of the world.”
    Anna Carner – Colorado, United StatesIguana, July 2018
  • Iguana go back!

    “My wife and I celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary on the June Iguana trip with Erick in Peru and Pepo in the Galapagos Islands. From the very beginning of the trip, Active Adventures made the trip easy and exciting. The website was very easy to navigate and gave us lots of information. Once we landed, in Cusco, Active Adventures and Erick had everything set up. Erick was a fantastic guide with a ton of information. As a high school social studies teacher, I really appreciate the thorough history and cultural education our group received during our adventures around the area. Celebrating our anniversary day at Machu Pichu was the icing on the cake. The accommodations very clean and comfortable. The activities were vigorous but not daunting. The hikes, bike ride, train rides were perfect and our group had a great time. But the adventure was not over.
    Following an outstanding week in Peru it was on to the Galapagos and our guide Pepo. He was just as knowledgeable about the islands and the people as Erick was in Peru. Galakiwi helped us in many aspects of this phase of our adventure. The sea kayaking, the highlands, the snorkeling and scuba diving all were top notch. Seeing hammerhead sharks by everybody in the group just added to the trip. Once again the accommodations and the food were first class. Mary and I are already thinking about our next Active Adventure. Thanks again!”
    Mike Neilson – Indiana, United StatesIguana, June 2018
  • LLamas and Lions

    “This is like 2 totally different vacations in one big package. The first week in Peru you are hiking in the ever-changing mountains, absorbing the archeology, architecture and customs of people that have a thousand years of history. Then you go to the Galapagos Islands, which have had only 3 generations of human beings populating them. This second week belongs to the animals - how they interact with their habitat and each other. (And sometimes very closely with nearby humans!) Which was the better time? Impossible to pick!”
    Nancy Kucera – Illinois, United StatesIguana, June 2018
  • Jaguar with Daniel

    “I am not a fan of guided tours, but this one was not the typical guided tour. Everything was planned perfectly with our skill level and interests in mind. Daniel was a conscientious, knowledgeable guide for whom we developed respect and affection. ”
    Karen Rominger – Indiana, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Unforgettable

    “The entire Jaguar trip was really fun — learning our way around Cusco, visiting Sacsayhuaman and the Sacred Valley, and seeing a bit of Amazonia. But the highlight for my husband and me was hiking the Inca trail. We had heard from friends that it was an adventure not to be missed, and we were not disappointed. It’s incredibly beautiful and a wonderful learning experience. And is always the case on guided group trips, your fellow travelers, as well as the guide, are a big factor in how much fun you have. We were lucky on both counts. Our guide on the trail, Wilson, was the best! He was incredibly knowledgeable about Inca history and culture, as well as the flora, and brought humor to every occasion. And our fellow hikers were great. Because we saw and learned so much much about the Inca civilization on the trail, arriving at Machu Picchu didn’t feel so much like the high point of the hike but rather one more beautiful and interesting stop. The weather cooperated with just a few spritzes of rain, although we heard that a group that hiked the trail a week before us had rain for 3 days! We had no problems with altitude sickness, and it probably helped that we arrived 1-1/2 days ahead of the official trip start. We were in reasonably good shape and found the trail challenging but definitely within our ability. Mostly it takes perseverance. We enjoyed visiting the Amazon region and seeing creatures that we’ve never seen in person before. But it was very hot (not surprisingly) and despite drinking lots of water, I suffered from heat exhaustion the first day. We were pretty inexperienced in traveling to non-English speaking countries, but it didn’t take long before we felt right at home. With our smattering of Spanish (and I’m talking single words, not phrases or sentences), we were able to get around just fine, as most of the locals we encountered spoke at least enough English for us to communicate. And when they didn’t, I used my trusty Lonely Planet Spanish phrase book. We felt totally safe in Cusco and Lima, following basic common sense rules. This was our second Active Adventures trip, and as before, they were totally organized and professional and managed to keep things moving along smoothly, even when our original guide for the overall trip fell ill a few days in and had to be replaced with another guide. The food was delicious (even on the trail). We actually connected 3 Active Adventures trips for our South America visit, and will definitely travel with them again, perhaps to Patagonia next time.”
    Ann Zeman – Washington, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Exploring Peru!

    “What an adventure! We had an amazing trip led by our fearless leader Gustavo. We had a great crew helping us and we felt very well cared for the entire time...and very safe! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who asks.”
    Kristina Kenning – Montana, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Peru at its Best

    “Active Adventures' Jaguar/Chinchilla trip was better than advertised. Excellent guides, food, accommodation and itinerary. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who has a desire to see Peru, and not from the window of a bus.”
    Brenda Done – Ontario, CanadaChinchilla, June 2018
  • Peru

    “Awesome experience! All went well and our guide (Danny) was fantastic! No bad days!”
    Andrew Randazzo – Virginia, United StatesJaguar, June 2018
  • Aptly Named Tour company

    “They told us they were “Active Adventures” and it was! Every day brought a new adventure with a variety of activity levels from low (bus rides) to very high (hiking the Inca trail). Overall, the trip was well-organized and the attention to detail (safe restaurants, drinking water in hotels, arranging laundry service) was greatly appreciated.”
    Pat Drews – Saskatchewan, CanadaJaguar, June 2018
  • Iguana

    “This trip has a little of everything – ancient history, extraordinary wildlife, great food, amazing views, secluded beaches, spectacular mountains, thrilling heights, and fascinating culture. It went by way too fast. ”
    Kimberli Werner – Thirsk, United KingdomIguana, May 2018
  • Jaguar trip - May 2018

    “Wonderful experience. The four day Classic Inca Trail hike that ended at Machu Picchu was by far the best part of the trip!”
    Dave Joerger – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • So Many Amazing Surprises!

    “Our guide was a delight, well informed and interesting. I was so surprised at the great accommodations on the trail and in the jungle. I felt very well taken care of. The chef on the trail was a food genius. This was our first tour, so pleased with all.”
    Tammy Joerger – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • Peru (Machu Picchu) and the Galapagos.

    “Once again this was an amazing trip. Warm, kind wonderful people in Peru. Our hike on the Inca Trail was a full day of walking and some incredible scenery.
    Machu Picchu was so exciting to see, and to walk up to Sun Gate and look down below unto the amazing scenery is very hard to describe to you, unless you have been there. Absolutely beautiful...this was the highlight of the trip for me. But the Galapagos was another great memory. Going to the Darwin Centre to see the giant tortoises, and to walk amongst them was something else. Biking and snorkelling was enjoyable as well. A lot about this trip was wonderful and I would definitely recommend this trip to active people.”
    Bonnie Reid – Ontario, CanadaIguana, May 2018
  • The Best of Two Cultures!

    “Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley of Peru mixed with the Galápagos Islands was an adventure that will never be forgotten. I found so much beauty in both cultures. The friendly hard working people of Peru, the colourful wear, the wonderful food and the rich history of the Inca people was awe-inspiring. I could not stop the tears of joy when I first saw the majesty of Machu Picchu. I fulfilled my childhood dreams (well past the age of a child) in the Galapagos with the visit to Charles Darwin Research Institute and the visit with the giant land tortoises. What magnificent creatures they are. The food in both countries was wonderful making this a culinary experience as well. Our tour mates were so much fun and we will long stay friends, well at least virtual pals. The tour guides, Daniel, Zambo and Lenni were so knowledgeable and made certain at all times that everyone was well, which can not always be easy with differing levels of fitness, different ages and different wants. Great accommodations and transportation made all comfortable even after a long day of activity. Thank you to Active Adventures.”
    Darlene Arsenault – British Columbia, CanadaIguana, May 2018
  • Cusco, Inca Trail

    “Eric Farfan was an amazing guide. He was very knowledgeable, patient, kind, and had so much respect for my fear of heights. Which I did overcome while hiking the Inca Trail.”
    Robin Goebel – Texas, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • Lake Titicaca Really Exists

    “Lake Titicaca was a surprise I didn't expect. The floating Islands were amazing and I loved our homestay on Amantani Island. ”
    Lori Alter – Texas, United StatesChinchilla, May 2018
  • Machu Picchu is Amazing! Completing the Hike is Victory!

    “Machu Picchu is one of the "New 7 Wonders of the World" - on the same list as the Great Wall of China. Hiking the Inca Trail at 62 is the most difficult challenge physically I have undertaken. But I did it!! The exhilaration of crossing Sleeping Woman Pass at 14,200 feet is almost (but not quite) as amazing as our first views of Machu Picchu from above. We loved the trip - the food, the sherpas, our guide, and the miracles of history and the 21 civilizations of Peru, culminating with the Inca Empire. How did they build this? Miracles of engineering as remarkable as the pyramids in Egypt!”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesJaguar, May 2018
  • Do Not Miss Lake Titicaca - and Amazonia was great!

    “Our experience on Lake Titicaca, with the Floating Islands and the Uros people, and with the overnight on Amantani Island is why we travel. Lake Titicaca - the highest navigable lake in the world at 12,500 feet, and salt water being a trapped part of the ocean is magnificent waterscape. We travel not only to see special places. We also want to meet the people and experience the culture first hand. Our way of life is a great way, but it is not the only way, nor is it the only right way. We loved meeting and spending a night in the home of these indigenous people.”
    Brian Alter – Texas, United StatesChinchilla, May 2018
  • Trekking the Inca Trail

    “We had an amazing trip trekking the Inca Trail to Machu Pichu and then Flying to Puerto Maldonado to explore the Amazon Rain forest. We were incredibly well cared for by our Active Adventures trip guide, Zack. The 4 day trek to Machu Pichu was guided by Wilson. He made sure that each of us was able to complete the trip, by encouraging us and teaching us about the spiritual nature of the area. He watched our pace carefully and made sure that each of us felt supported. Our group of 4 close friends will be forever grateful for the experiences that we had on this trip.”
    Roya Murray – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, May 2018
  • Great guides!

    “The guides on our trip, Daniel and Sambo, were exceptional. They knew the areas well and took good care ou us. They really made the trip enjoyable.”
    Pat OBryan – Illinois, United StatesIguana, April 2018
  • The Challenge of the Classic Inca Trail

    “For anyone who wants to challenge themselves this is the trip for them. The scenery was breath taking and the camping is certainly luxury. You are treated like a queen.”
    Maggie Means – Florida, United StatesJaguar, April 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “It was definitely trip of life time. I loved the adventure.”
    Flora Riyahi – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, April 2018
  • First Class Trip

    “My adventure in Peru was amazing. My guide Zach was very knowledgeable and helpful with anything you could throw at him. The accommodations and crew and food were absolutely incredible. I highly recommend Active Adventures for your world trip journeys.”
    Andrew Reed – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, April 2018
  • Iguana Trip/Quito-Galapagos leg

    “We participated in the second half of the Iguana trip (a day in Quito and 6 days in the Galapagos Islands) and we loved it. The day in Quito was fun with highlights including a trip to the Equator, a visit to the historic quarter including the magnificent Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus and the winged Virgin Mary statue, La Virgin del Panecillo.

    Our Galapagos adventure began in Baltra where we were met by our guide, Zambo who was superb. Zambo is a native of Santa Cruz and has so much knowledge to impart which, coupled with a true love and pride for his islands, made for a very rich experience. Highlights for me were: the beautiful beach at Tortuga Bay, Santa Cruz, El Chato Tortoise Preserve in the Santa Cruz highlands where we encountered many giant tortoises, the hike up the Sierra Negra volcano on Isabela when the mists parted and the huge caldera came into view; kayaking on Isabela and seeing golden rays and my first blue footed booby and snorkelling in Cerro Tijeretas on San Cristobal. The fact that this is a land based tour made for a truly interactive holiday. The local people were without fail friendly and helpful. All accommodations were very clean and comfortable and everything moved along seamlessly with no hitches at all. The local company, GalaKiwi did a great job, and their experience shows. This is the first time I have been on a guided tour and for a destination like this I would highly recommend this company as many of the sights require local guides and the vast majority of the islands are designated national park land. All in all, a wonderful experience.”
    Gillian Lane – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, April 2018
  • Amazed!

    “This was our third Active adventure so we had some pretty clear expectations and hopes for the trip. In almost all respects, this adventure far exceeded our expectations. The activities were all relevant and even though altitude played a minor role for the first half of our trip, our training and pharmaceutical preparations paid off. I was the oldest of the participants and was happy I was able to stay within sight of everyone though I'll admit I came to recognize people by their butts pretty quickly. The guides for both sections of the adventure were first rate and not only knew history but the flora and fauna as well. They were great 'cat herders' and got us to where we needed to be with time to spare. Active South America must have a PhD level training program in patience and compassion because these guys excelled at every turn. ASA was spot on in their descriptions of the activities but perhaps undersold how good the accommodations would be; for the most part we were in very, very nice hotels that seemed delightfully quaint and family run. We never felt like nameless folks just passing through. As for food, we figured we might lose a few pounds due to the high level of activity and being at altitude for a week. Not so, my friends. The food was fresh, tasty and doggone it, very, very plentiful. We found ourselves trying things we might not otherwise be interested in ... except for Mary Ann and Giuseppe, the two Guinea Pigs offered up for our dining pleasure. Nope, none of us went there. The bottom line for us was that at the end, we were amazed our trip had gone by so fast, that we had seen and learned so much and that we thoroughly enjoyed our guides and other tour members. All that said, some may be interested in an economic perspective so here it is: dollar-wise, the trip on the front end seems expensive but by some point during the trip, we came to the conclusion that it was an exceptional value for the experiences we had. It was a true bucket-list adventure for us and we are so happy we choose ASA to provide us the experience we've always hoped to have. Pura vida! (Mark & Sandy Hudson, Shelby, NC, USA)”
    Mark Hudson – North Carolina, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Magical Journey

    “This trip was spectacular! It exceeded my expectations! The scenery was majestic and the food and culture was awesome.”
    Mike Wang – California, United StatesJaguar, March 2018
  • Exceeded All Expectations

    “Excellent guides in both Peru and the Galapagos; hotels were all first rate, food was awesome, and our experiences were very memorable. Also, the staff in the Galapagos were really helpful.”
    Tamara Lovell – New York, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Peru/Galapagos Iguana trip

    “Unforgettable mix of exposure to the natural world of the Galapagos and the cultural and natural wonders of Peru!”
    Win Quayle – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Peru and the Galapagos

    “It was an amazing two week trip. We felt as if we had two trips in one. Each week was unique. The guides were so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Pepo had his daily "super plan" and Erick with his thoughtful planning the night before our next day's adventures. Eager to get back to Peru for more adventures. A fantastic experience from the start to the finish.”
    Deb Manegold – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Iquana Tour

    “The guides and assistants were superb, absolutely the best. Caring, knowledgeable, good at explaining, good English, no BS just solid information from good recent sources. Both were especially good at accommodating a wide range of physical abilities, which must have been challenging. Cusco as a base made sense logistically, however some of us felt altitude effects. I would bring a nasal saline spray next time because the air was thin and dry. But the scenery, the ruins, the weaving we saw were absolutely spectacular and totally worth it. The Galapagos Islands were wonderful. The snorkeling was especially good. It was perfect to do a shallow spot first (which was excellent), and then the deep area by Kicker Rock. The bird nesting we saw there, and then the deep water snorkeling, were unforgettable.”
    Jim Rundle – New York, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Iguana - Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Our Iguana trip to Peru and Ecuador exceeded my expectations in all respects! We had a wonderful group of 8 (12 in the Galapagos) and delightful, expert guides, who worked tirelessly to make it all flow smoothly. I was very impressed with the preplanned agenda of great activities, charming hotels, and excellent restaurants, with a myriad of forms of transport linking them all together (vans, buses, trains, boats, planes, and even "toot-toots"). What surprised me was that out guides and drivers were willing to go way beyond the itinetary to meet our special needs and desires.
    In Peru, our ever-competent, ever-knowledgable guide Erick Farfan, arranged a taxi for us to go back to town after old knees gave out during a long hike. He also helped us to make arrangements for half of us to visit a weaving village while the other half took a long Andean hike, provided extra snacks for a low blood sugar moment, and walked a lagging group member back to the van before rerunning back to the rest of the group. These actions, along with many others, allowed every member of the group to have the best trip possible. I will always be thankful to Erick for his expertise, great humor, and patience.
    In the Galapagos, Pepo was our "Super Plan" star! He knows everything about his home islands and proudly shared the wonders of the geology, flora, fauna, and fun local eating places! He answered our endless questiond thoroughly, and we never spotted a bird or plant that he couldn't name. He also met the special requests and needs of the group, and e,plained and worked around any problems that arose - like a gas shortage for boats! All the islanders knew Pepo, and meeting his mother and cousin made us feel like family, too. I also want to praise Andy, his assistant on Santa Cruz and Isabella. With Pepi leading and Andy following our group on all the hikes, it enabled us all to move at comfortable speeds, and even the slowest member of the geoup was able to do the 7+ mile hike up the Sierra Negra Volcano. Andy's kindness and charm was a great asset to us all.”
    Marguerite Sibley – Iowa, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Peru - The Most Unassuming Hidden Travel Gem.

    “I was very impressed with the diverse eco-systems; each has its own rugged charm. I am determined to tell everyone I know - go and see it to believe it!

    Daniel (guide) was amazing; he really cares for each and every one he travels with. I am so thankful for that. I would like to keep in touch via facebook. I hope he enjoys his travels in Canada this March.

    Marteen (driver) super fun dude.”
    Ken Kulchyski – Manitoba, CanadaCapybara, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “We had a great time on this trip! We really enjoyed all that Peru had to offer, and our guide, Daniel, was fantastic. We would recommend this trip highly!

    Nathan, Elijah, Isaac - Mesa, Arizona”
    Nathan Erickson – Arizona, United StatesCapybara, January 2018
  • Much More Than Iguanas

    “The Iguana trip in December 2017 was adventurous and outlandishly beautiful. We went in the off-season, were 2 very compatible couples, biked, kayaked, snorkeled and hiked with condors, turtles, fish, iguanas and sea lions. The people of Peru and Ecuador are welcoming and friendly. The food was awesome as were our guides.”
    Ingrid Tuxhorn – Ohio, United StatesIguana, January 2018
  • Trip to Peru

    “Magnificent Cusco and Machu Picchu. Delicious food, beautiful city, well organized hike and excellent Eric and Hosea”
    Henry Lambert – , Tanzania, United Republic ofJaguar, January 2018
  • Lovely Trip to the Peru Jungle and Lake Titicaca

    “Loved the giant otters, beautiful birds and monkeys in the Jungle, enjoyed Puna and the people of Lake Titicaca.”
    Henry Lambert – , Tanzania, United Republic ofChinchilla, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “Trip was great - our tour guide Daniel was fantastic and every detail was looked after!”
    Michelle Redekopp – Manitoba, CanadaCapybara, January 2018
  • An amazing adventure

    “Thank you for the opportunity to see so much in such a short period of time.

    Michelle Wilson – Queensland, AustraliaIguana, January 2018
  • An adventure

    “A massive trip with so many memories and fab experiences. Great to bookend the trip with extra days if you can as we found the travelling tiring. From Brisbane we found we'd flown 16 sectors!”
    Robert Marrill – London, United KingdomIguana, January 2018
  • One More off the Bucket List

    “I would definitely endorse this trip to anyone considering going to this area. This trip was near perfect in all ways, we were a bit off season so there were not so many crowds, the weather though overcast many days was great (even had sun in Machu Picchu) Our guides (Eric and Peppo) were wonderful hosts, showing us an area which you can tell they love and are proud of. The food was wonderful, accommodations were overall great....totally loved the dome room in San Cristobal, only caveat was the room in Cusco had issue with sewer gas escaping into the room. ”
    Carole Baker – Ohio, United StatesIguana, December 2017
  • Great trip, great food and guides.

    “We had such a good time on the trip. The food, accommodations, and sites were great. We were lucky enough to have a small group (3) which made it even nicer.
    Machu Picchu and the hiking in Peru were great, Great food and accommodations.
    The trip got even better once we got to the Galapagos. Hiking, snorkeling/scuba, kayaking, and biking were great. Pepo did a fantastic job tailoring our activities around the weather. The food was great for all the seafood lovers, vegetarians will have to be a little patient. ”
    Andy Baker – Ohio, United StatesIguana, November 2017
  • Amazing!

    “We have a goal of visiting each continent, and our trip to South American with Active South America did not disappoint! This is our second Active Adventures and we will be back for more. Peru and the Galapagos were beautiful and every detail of the trip was attended to perfectly. Thank you, Active, for a wonderful and memorable holiday. ”
    Kristy Reeves – South Carolina, United StatesIguana, October 2017
  • Iguana 2017

    “This was a really good trip, essentially of two halves. Peru with its amazing mountains and then Galapagos with incredible wildlife. Best to be fit when you come, the Peruvian hikes are challenging, which is great, whereas Galapagos is more relaxed.”
    Kelly Olsen – Cambs, United KingdomIguana, October 2017
  • Iguanas - September 2017

    “I had an amazing time on my Iguana trip to Peru and the Galapagos Islands. The Peru trip was much more strenuous than I expected but our guide, Erick was vigilant in keeping us together and encouraging us the whole time. He was fantastically organized, fun and knowledgeable which enhanced the whole experience! The Galapagos trip was lead by Galakiwi which did feel more laid back, and flexible. Pepo and Juan Carlos led us through Kicker Rock and amazing landscapes. I thought the Galapagos would be the highlight of my trip, but Peru proved to be the main event. I was fortunate that my group became fast friends of diverse but like-minded people. Overall, an amazing trip!”
    Donna Wolbers – Michigan, United StatesIguana, October 2017
  • Fun trip!

    “I had a great time!”
    Liz Sinclair – California, United StatesIguana, October 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip with Erick was spectacular. Erick's attention to detail, compassion for each individual on the trip and genuine love for Peru made this portion of the trip absolutely amazing. ”
    JoJo Tadich – Florida, United StatesIguana, September 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip was spectacular. Erick truly cares about the overall experience of his clients. He paid attention to all the details of the trip from the experiences of the country, the restaurants and the excursions. He didn't leave any stone unturned when it came to having fun and caring about his clients. I highly recommend Erick to anyone wanting to have a fabulous time in Peru.”
    Will Tadich – Florida, United StatesIguana, September 2017
  • Amazing Guide

    “Our tour guide Zac was amazing and made us feel very welcome!”
    Kathrynanne Terry – California, United StatesCapybara, August 2017
  • Iguana Trip

    “Our guides Erick and Jessica could not have been better. Our group was well taken care of, and we experienced a trip of a lifetime that we could not have done without them.”
    Jennifer Smart – Georgia, United StatesIguana, August 2017
  • Wow!

    “This was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. Hats off to Active Adventures for putting together an amazing itinerary and delivering on every aspect of our trip!”
    Mark Lustbader – New Jersey, United StatesCapybara, July 2017
  • Great Time with Grandchildren!

    “Varied experiences. Saw much of Peru which many people don't get to experience.
    It was a perfect trip to take with our grandchildren.”
    Bob Harmon – California, United StatesCapybara, July 2017
  • Great Trip with our Grandchildren!

    “We loved seeing so much of Peru with two of our granddaughters. Our guide, Zac, made the trip fantastic!”
    Judy Harmon – California, United StatesCapybara, July 2017
  • Would Go Again in a Heartbeat!

    “We have had two wonderful experiences with your company. Each one was a trip of a lifetime. We are so fortunate to have found out about your company. Thank you.”
    Pat Huntington – New Hampshire, United StatesIguana, June 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    David Folkes – Colorado, United StatesIguana, May 2017
  • The trip of my dreams!

    “The Iguana trip was better than was advertised! I had prepared for the trip to Peru by reading about the history of the area in the book, The Last Days of the Incas, by Kim MacQuarrie. When we visited the many different Inca sites, the history came alive for me. I could picture the great battles, and the capture of the Inca rulers, and the narrow escapes. It was wonderful! Cuzco was a beautiful city surrounded by mountain peaks and full of many good places to eat. After Peru, going to the Galapagos was like a beach vacation in the most beautiful place in the world. We loved snorkeling and seeing the giant land tortoises. We saw every animal associated with the Galapagos and more! I still can't believe I was lucky enough to find this trip with Active Adventures. Top notch all the way around. Thank you to our wonderful guides who we loved!”
    Brenda Peterson – Texas, United StatesIguana, April 2017
  • Amazing trip - learned so much, and want to come back

    “3rd trip with Active Adventures, and all have been wonderful, stupendous, eye opening, with fabulous guides, and staff. Peru was an amazing country to visit; beautiful scenery, people, and culture. The Inca and pre-Incan archeology were of course incredible to see first hand. However, this was greatly enhanced by the depth of knowledge and historical context that our guide, Daniel, supplied. The lodge in the Amazon was my personal favorite place I have ever stayed - so beautiful, and a true experience to see the wild macaws, toucans, peccaries..... and so on. Lake Titicaca was beautiful and so rich in such a variety of cultures, and languages! Daniel our guide was incredibly gracious, kind, knowledgeable. The food was great, and the places we stayed as always with Active - fun, interesting and quite comfortable. Most of all, we were so impressed with the behind the scenes staff. The first day of our trip we were unable to make our first destination due to an airline problem. Active's staff scrambled to rearrange our entire itinerary so that we didn't miss anything. This meant rescheduling flights, permits, room reservations, etc.... and all over the Christmas Holidays. A true test of a great group of people is how they respond when something unexpected happens, and Active's staff proved how adept they were. From our point of view, everything was perfect and smooth, but we recognize and truly appreciate the work that went on behind the scenes to give us such a great experience. Thanks to all. ”
    Lydia Andrews-Jones – California, United StatesCapybara, January 2017
  • South America Adventure

    “As a first time traveller to South America it was a great comfort to travel with local guides who were not only proficient in Spanish but also more importantly familiar with all of the great local places to visit. Pepo and Zac were invaluable guides, they made us feel welcome from the first minute. Pepo had great insight about the Galapagos Islands and the time we spent at his family tree-house was great fun. Zac is full of knowledge about Peru, the sacred valley, the Incas and recommendations for the best places to eat. The professionalism displayed by Zac as our tour guide was unbelievable! He was able to seamlessly re-organise our trip schedule as there was a local strike with road closures. His knowledge of the area and the people meant that we hardly even noticed the change in our itinerary. I cannot recommend him enough! I have previously traveled with Active in New Zealand so I knew that I was in for a lovely trip. My expectations were well met and my only criticism is that the tour wasn't longer! The trip has opened my eyes to the beauty of Peru and the Galapagos and now I just can't wait to go back and it explore it even more. ”
    Liz Grenik – Western Australia, AustraliaIguana, November 2016
  • “A stellar bucket list trip with outstanding guides. The Peru part of our trip was complicated by a local strike causing havoc with our original itinerary but Zac and the Active Adventures folks were amazing in rearranging the itinerary, lodging, meals, etc. Pepo was super in the Galagagos. Both parts of the trip were great fun and very professionally run. Very active but doable for four of us in our 60's.”
    Jim Miller – Illinois, United StatesIguana, October 2016
  • Peru and Galapagos Islands

    “The two regions of this trip were so different. In Peru, learning about Inca history, seeing the structures that they built with minimal tools and that have survived for centuries and getting to spend time in small towns and interacting with local artisans was fabulous. The Galapagos Islands were a wildlife fest with snorkeling, kayaking and boat rides between islands and viewing sea "creatures" in the shallows and deep water. You also hiked volcanos and saw land tortoises, iguanas and the topography change as you go from lush to lava fields. Wonderful experiences ”
    Carol Miller – Illinois, United StatesIguana, October 2016
  • My first taste of Sth America

    “The trip lived up to all that it offered and more. The organisation and the guides were exemplary. Fully recommend it to all active golden oldies!!”
    Jane Murray – Auckland, New ZealandIguana, August 2016
  • Capybara Adventure!

    “I recently went to on the Capybara tour with my son. We had Arturo as our guide. I was so happy with this tour. I found Active Adventures online. I read the reviews and had phone conversations with staff and emails who were always happy to answer any of my many questions. My 19 year old son worked hard to pay for his part of the tour and I wanted it to be really great for him especially.
    We both had the best time. We were fed amazing food that I never expected. I had no idea that we would be having such healthy and tasty meals. We were always told what the plan the next day was going to be and in detail. Any needs we had Arturo would make sure they were met. He was absolutely the best. A very educated, kind, thoughtful and funny young man. Could not have been happier with tour itenarary and our tour guide, Arturo. Would do another Active Adventures tour again and actually looking at booking one for next year! Thank you for a really special trip with my dear son! Many happy memories forever.
    Laura Mcadams – Utah, United StatesCapybara, August 2016
  • Great trip!

    “The trip was overall amazing. The guides were all very knowledgeable and were always trying to make the trip more comfortable and enjoyable. I really could not be more impressed. Each of them was likeable and friendly (as well as informational). They took us to great sites and great restaurants. 5 star!!!”
    Zane Levinson – Pennsylvania, United StatesIguana, July 2016
  • Great way to venture into South America

    “Fabulous way to combine the Inca trial and Galapagos islands. Hiking at 14,000 feet and sandy beaches packed with sealions. Meet real people, share ral experiences, get to meet wildlife up close! ”
    Alan Burgess – Essex, United KingdomIguana, June 2016
  • truly active

    “Active Adventures packs a lot into two weeks. The pace is very fast and being in good condition is very important. This trip went to two places on my bucket list and I enjoyed both immensely. Machu Picchu was everything I expected and a bit more. The Galapagos Islands were a treat, especially the giant tortoises.”
    Terry Allan – Ohio, United StatesIguana, June 2016
  • Iguana Trip

    “The South America Adventure was a highlight of a lifetime! Our guides were fantastic, especially Jhayro! Jhayro led our group on many adventures through Peru, including rock climbing, biking, zip-lining, and hiking to amazing Inca ruins. We ate incredible cuisine at a variety of restaurants, and one day, we were served a picnic lunch as fine as we could get in a 5-star restaurant. The hotels were comfortable and quiet and clean. One of our guides, Daniel, was an expert speaker on a variety of topics. We learned about the history, geology, flora and fauna, and culture of each area. No questions went unanswered, even if he had to do research and inform us the next day. Our group was small enough to bond and enjoy each others company. Iguana was a wonderful experience!”
    Mary Allan – Ohio, United StatesIguana, June 2016
  • Really? It was only the second time you ran it?

    “As the name implies, Active Tours are just that Active and subject to all sorts of unknowns. What makes them so good is the Tour Leader's ability to adapt and improvise. We hiked much quicker than expected, so we were able to take a quick nap after lunch in the shadow of Inca Ruins. We climbed much slower than expected, so we got to the Salt mines as the sun set. I was really surprised when Jhayro said this was only the second time the it ran, it was so well done I had thought they had it all down pat. As always, great job!”
    Dave Pratt – Hawaii, United StatesIguana, May 2016
  • Aventura Fantastica!

    “This was our second Active Adventures trip and while we went to Peru mainly to see Machu Picchu, I feel it was only a fraction of the fun we had during our trip. For me, hiking at 14,000+ feet, climbing rocks via ferrata to go zip lining was an awesome experience despite being very prone to altitude illness (we got there a day early and I was fine by the second day) and having a hubby who is very afraid of heights. Machu Picchu was magnificent but I really enjoyed the less crowded Incan and pre-Incan sites we visited more because we had them nearly all to ourselves. Our tour leader Jhayro and another local guide Daniel (who we had for 3 days in Peru) also made our trip extra special being so friendly and fun to be with both while leading us on adventures as well as during meals and on the bus.

    The food we had in Peru was excellent and that is coming from someone who is usually viewed as a picky eater with a fussy stomach. My hubby, who is a much more adventurous eater than I, tried alpaca and guinea pig and both were surprisingly good (yes, I tried them too!). After a couple days, we were used to not drinking the tap water or flushing paper down toilets so neither were a big deal. In fact, when we were in Quito, it seemed strange to be able to do so!

    For the Galapagos portion of our trip, we were led by Jose since our scheduled guide Pablo couldn't be there due to a family emergency. Jose was very knowledgable about the local geology, flora, fauna and variety of other things and with several in our group being (former) teachers or scientists, we sure did ask a lot of questions. The unique wildlife of the islands was the primary reason I wanted to visit and I loved seeing Galapagos turtles again as I'd not seen them since I was a child back in the 60's (I remember riding on some in a zoo which I know now was so wrong!). It was my first time seeing marine iguanas and blue footed boobies in the wild and I also enjoyed seeing a variety of other creatures that are in other places but we don't see very often, even living in Hawaii which has very similar geology.

    Like Hawaii, each of the Galapagos Islands was different and it was interesting to see how they varied. The different forms of transportation we used to get from island to island were also adventures in themselves: 2 hour ride on a speed boat and an hourish ride on a teeny prop plane!

    The only thing that was not quite what we expected with this trip was that some of the activities listed on the Galapagos Island itinerary we did not get to do. Nevertheless, the trip was fantastic and being probably my one and only trip to South America, it will always be remembered.

    Shirley Pratt – Hawaii, United StatesIguana, May 2016
  • More than I could have asked for!

    “I have never traveled solo before, so I was very hesitant to take a trip like this. I'm so glad I did! Active took all of the stress out of planning the trip, so all I had to do was enjoy my time! The rolling green hills of the Sacred Valley, majestic mountains of the Andes, the wonder itself of Machu Pichu! And that was only in Peru! The Galapagos was better than I could have imagined. At one point I was swimming with sea turtles, sea lions, eagle rays, and yes, penguins! I was in absolute awww the entire time in Galapagos. This truly was an amazing trip and I would highly recommend it anyone!”
    Markie Gibson – Washington, United StatesIguana, May 2016
  • “Amazing trip! If time is not your luxury, this trip truly offers the best of the best for Peru and Galapagos. I would highly recommend to anyone who loves a mix of adventure, culture and chill once you get to the Galapagos.”
    Anne-Marie Davies – Alberta, CanadaIguana, April 2016
Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure