Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Kiwi Tour

    “This was truly one of the best tour trips I've ever been on. I loved being out hiking each day and the scenery of the southern island of New Zealand is unbelievably beautiful. My guides, Maddi and Jackie, were outstanding - friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. I'd recommend this tour to everyone that loves being outdoors.”
    Kit Richardson – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • Incredible Experience!

    “From the initial contact with Active Adventures to the end of our trip, the staff in New Zealand and the guides we had in Peru were thorough, personable and professional making the visit to Peru extremely enjoyable and adventurous. Everything went like clockwork and Gustavo handling any problems that arose with good humor and grace. Hiking the Inca Trail was demanding and profoundly rewarding due to our guide, Puma, keeping us moving while also developing in us a deep respect for the traditions of the people and land. The remainder of our trip to the Amazon basin and Lake Titicaca were also informative and interesting experiences with all the modes of travel and sights along the way. There was never a dull moment. Our fellow travelers were a great group and we all pulled together to help each other, when necessary. I am already considering my next Active Adventures trip.”
    Larry Dresdale – New York, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime, Really!!

    “We are still basking in the memories of our trip with to New Zealand with Active Adventures and our guides, Jackie and Maddi! The trip was excellent and scenery was picture perfect. We said over and over we couldn't believe how the views could be more beautiful from one place to the next! We lucked out with almost perfect weather and a small group of eight. We enjoyed traveling with old friends and meeting new friends and would love to travel with Active Adventures again in the future.”
    Shelley Hamann – Georgia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • Wonderful Time in Nepal Hiking

    “Our trip guides and porters were outstanding, so supportive and helpful (and fun!). The hiking, the views and the accommodations and food were way beyond our expectations and it was so much fun! ”
    Sue Jones – Florida, United StatesKhumbu, November 2018
  • Tui Trip - Caitlin and Tess

    “Amazing trip. Wonderful experience. It was everything we expected and more. ”
    Roger Cormier – Ontario, CanadaTui, November 2018
  • From the Andes to the Amazon

    “Terrific trip from start to finish. Knowledgeable guides, terrific food and accommodations, challenging hikes and glorious scenery. Peru is a beautiful country. I would recommend the Jaguar trip to everyone.”
    Anne Vallee – Nova Scotia, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • Not Sure How We'll Top This Trip

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime. My wife set it up for my 50th birthday and I could not be happier. Our Guide Erick, was the best, and Johann (our Inca Trail Guide from Quechua Treks, Peru) guided us on the Inca Trail. Both I consider friends now and hope we keep in touch. I've wanted to see Machu Picchu since I was a boy, so I was really looking forward to the trip. What I did not know was Machu Picchu was not the highlight of the trip. I'd have to say the Inca Trail was, with Lake Titicaca second, and the Jungle third, although the last two could be switched up a bit. Peru has so much to offer, I know that now but did not then. I love the people, the culture, and the scenery. I could go on for days but suffice to say, we have thought long and hard about a trip to top this one, spending hours and days on it, and thus far have come up empty. While Peru was exciting, adventurous, and wondrous at the same time, I truly feel Active Adventures made the trip the best it could be. I don't see how it could have been any better. Active Adventures was so good we are looking to plan our next adventure through them. We are not wealthy people and I initially considered the trip very expensive, but after going on it I feel it was money very well spent and would do it again without hesitation.”
    Mark Courtenay – Maine, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Incredible Trip

    “I had an absolute blast trekking through Peru with our group and guide leader. The Jaguar Trip with Active South America did not disappoint! From our time in Cuzco, hiking the Sacsayhuaman fortress, biking through the Sacred Valley and hiking the Pisac ruins, our Lares Inca 3-day hike through the Andes Mountains, visiting Machu Picchu and also the Amazon Jungle - this trip had it all. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area, local culture and history of Peru and the Incas and he made our trip very safe and enjoyable. I would recommend this trip to anyone looking to challenge themselves with the Incan hike and experience the culture and beauty that Peru has to offer. Truly amazing!”
    Alain Vallee – New Brunswick, CanadaJaguar, November 2018
  • A Bit of NYC in the Himalayas

    “If you're looking for a peaceful, serene surrounding this is not the trip for you. The trails were filled with hundreds of people trekking from both directions, many herds of pack animals along with human mules, and considerable congestion at times. You will want your dust mask handy which will also protect your face from the wind, sun and cold. The trekking was different in that many of the trails were composed of irregular stones and I'm not sure how I would have done without my hiking poles - they are a must! Even at 13,000ft, you can find an Irish pub, a Swedish bakery, and Italian coffee...we have totally transformed the mountain economy and they completely cater to the Western appetite for material things, including western toilets, as well as food. The villages, communities and city of Namche were physically stunning from their use of rocks and stones and it was a beauty i had not ever seen in a third world country before. That was the mountains...The city of Kathmandu, however, was a dirt pit with narrow streets that had to accommodate hundreds of humans walking in both directions, cars and motorcycles in both directions, and very little room to safely walk from one place to the next. The hotel AA booked in Kathmandu is a paradise in the middle of all the chaos and a delightful place to stay. The guesthouses in the mountains were simple but adequate. Be prepared to share a bathroom with the group which will happen a few times on the trip and know that your hands will always be in your pocket to pay for internet, charging your phone or tablet, toilet paper, soap...the little but necessary things. Flexibility is the name of the game on this trip - if your plane is unable to leave Lukla due to weather, be prepared to pay $400 for helicopter service which should be reimbursed by your travel insurance company. It sounds awful, doesn't it, but it wasn't - the guides were great, the people in my group were fun, the culture was very different and the scenery was lovely. Would I go back?...no. Would I recommend this trip to a friend?...no. It was nothing like I envisioned yet, after all is said and done, I'm glad I went.”
    Rita Carole – California, United StatesKhumbu, November 2018
  • The Reluctant Traveller

    “I have to confess that before we started planning this trip I, not my husband, was a reluctant traveler. I am 72 and in good shape but the thought of New Zealand intimidated me. I went along because it was my husband's dream for many, many years, and after all, it was our 50th wedding anniversary. We absolutely loved the Rimu trip. Liana and Laura were the best, most capable, knowledgeable guides. Liana a powerhouse of organization, knowledge about every corner of the South Island and the Maori history that came with it. Her driving in difficult terrains was exceptional and we always felt safe - add to this that she was super funny. Laura, the best company AND the best cook! How can a young woman after hiking with us the whole day, arriving wherever we arrived, create within an hour a super delicious and healthy dinner and next morning a fantastic breakfast?! Now for the trip... What a well organized, thought out and gorgeous trip this was. Everything worked like clockwork. While we visited towns, they snook away to buy provisions. There was plenty of fruit and granola bars in the bus or the hikes to pump energy into you if needed. The hikes, the bike rides and the kayaking were magnificent and I am glad that I did not shy away. I was slower than the younger people but I had plenty of encouragement from all of them. My husband was in heaven taking photos of every corner, river, cloud, lake and mountain of this beautiful country. Thank you Active Adventures, Liana and Laura, for the many beautiful and thoughtful moments you gave us.
    Anna Maria and Paul Radvany”
    Paul Radvany – Massachusetts, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • The Kiwi Tour Rocks!

    “My wife and I are in our mid-60s. We're in relatively good shape but not in our 30s! So the more relaxed but still vigorous hikes and adventures associated with the Kiwi Tour were a perfect match for our stamina and endurance. While there's a considerable amount of driving to complete the circuit of the South Island in 11 days, there's no end to the beautiful vistas and frequent leg-stretching and photographing opportunities. The hikes were invigorating and always yielded wonderful views of New Zealand. Transportation on the Active Adventures bus was safe, smooth and very comfortable - Jackie was an accomplished and considerate driver. Maddi prepared and coordinated terrific meals and snacks throughout our tour, and the lodging arrangements were consistently high caliber. Both of them were extremely courteous, knowledgeable and helpful on all our daily excursions. A day off in Queenstown was a stroke of planning genius - keep that on the schedule! We made a major investment to fly half-way around the world for this vacation and Active Adventures did not disappoint us!”
    Ron Richardson – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, November 2018
  • A Trip Over 20 Years in the Making!

    “I honestly don't even know where to start. It was a dream of mine to see Everest in person ever since seeing the IMAX documentary as a young kid. Life had a way of catching up with me and for a long time I never thought it would come to fruition. Finally, in late 2017, I realized it was time to make a move and committed to dropping the deposit with Active Adventures. Instantly, my excitement spiked and at no point in the process was I disappointed. Active Adventures' office staff, and later the guides Kim and Gokul, made every aspect of the trip enjoyable beyond expectations. Kim and Gokul were always there to help, answer questions, and support us along the trek and it was reassuring that we had knowledgeable and capable guides to help us to EBC. I have zero regrets and would readily recommend Active Adventures to anyone interested in their treks. I witnessed the level of service that other trekkers experienced while on the same trip with different companies and it doesn't compare with what you receive through Active. From the time I landed in Kathmandu, until the day I left, I knew that everything would be taken care of and I was free to just enjoy the views, experience, and company! I undoubtedly will use them again for future trips!”
    Joe Langlais – Colorado, United StatesEBC, November 2018
  • Magical Islands and Knowledgeable Guide

    “Pepo really brought the life and history of the Galapagos to life for us. From the history of the early settlers and pirates to the conservation efforts to protect this unique ecosystem, he knew and imparted it all. The trip was a great balance of activity and a chance to relax and explore. Great food, comfortable accommodations and active days left me ready for more the next day.”
    Peg DeBiasi – Florida, United StatesTortuga, November 2018
  • Unexpected Joy of a Trip

    “This started as mostly a filler trip for me in between the two trips that were my main focus (Galapagos and Inca Trail) and I found overall it was right up there with my favorite adventures. Hiking down a huge waterfall and then hiking right up through the center of one was simply amazing. Horseback riding up a volcano, nature walks, city visits, a taste of the Amazon basin, there was a bit of everything. And who can turn down relaxing the last couple of days in hot springs right outside your bedroom? Great add on trip to either of the two other adventures and well worth the time and expense.”
    Peg DeBiasi – Florida, United StatesTapir, November 2018
  • A Vista that Must be Seen to be Believed!

    “The 3 days of hiking in the cold rain on the Classic Inca Trail were worth every last ache in my knees and quads when we were treated to the sun opening up the view of the amazing Machu Picchu. This is definitely a tough hike and a week later my 63 yr old knees are just starting to forgive me for the abuse I put them through to see this wonderful place. The porters running those trails with our gear will always leave me amazed. How often do we truly challenge our limits? History, culture, amazing food on the trail, comfy tents (complete with hot water bottles for our feet) all added to the trip of a lifetime.”
    Peg DeBiasi – Florida, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • 2018 Jaguar trip with Gustavo

    “My trip to Peru was wonderful! Gustavo, our general guide for the whole trip, was great: informative, warm, attentive to all of our big or little needs. I always appreciated how he would escort us wherever we needed to go: from getting cash at an ATM to going shopping in the local artisans market. He was always willing to translate and even help bargain, if needed! The other guides for our Classic Inca trail trip and for our jungle excursions were equally informative and fun and engaging. Puma, our Inca trail guide, infused our trek with fascinating archaeological history and a deep sense of sacredness in the places we were passing through. I felt really well taken care of at the same time as I was challenged and exhilarated by the sights, sounds, smells of each of the new places I was exploring. I loved the level of activity and found it happily affirming that I am strong and fit and still able to do the things I love to do at 61 years old. My fellow travel companions were fun and interesting and we supported each other when challenged by anything from high altitude hiking to biking or kayaking. No one felt left behind. I will definitely look at other trips you offer and recommend Active Adventures to my friends.”
    Diane Norman – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • Expectations Exceded!!!

    “Thank you. Start to finish this was the most incredible trip I have ever taken. Your company is organized, responds rapidly to emails and delivers on its promises. Great tour, knowledgeable guides, and well planned. The Inca trail was challenging both emotionally and physically, but the encouragement of the group and the team leader helped me to push through to the end. I never imagined that camping out on a mountain could be so spectacular - great locations and amazing food as well (even a portable toilet!!) I cannot wait to book my next adventure.”
    Genie Tartell – New York, United StatesJaguar, November 2018
  • South Island Adventure Rimu

    “A wonderful, challenging at times, fun adventure filled with beautiful scenery and good memories. Pepper & Kaleb were great guides. So many people told me New Zealand was beautiful and this trip proved it as we saw so much on our trip around the South Island. Thank you! Karen - Texas, USA”
    Karen Wohlrabe – Texas, United StatesRimu, November 2018
  • Great Trip! Great Guides! Great Time!

    “My wife and I just turned 60 and celebrated by going to the South Island on the "Tui" trip. We had a fantastic time, very well planned and organized by Active Adventures, and our guides Claire and Kelsey were excellent. The highpoints were the Siberia Valley overnight, with small plane ride in and jet boat ride out, the kayaking in Milford Sound, and the time in beautiful Queenstown. Highly recommended!”
    Scott Ness – New Mexico, United StatesTui, November 2018
  • Kauri Trip

    “The trip was amazing. From the first day we met Maddie and Liana we were well taken care of. The knowledge they both shared and imparted to us was amazing. It was the trip of a lifetime and it did not disappoint.”
    Roger Cormier – Ontario, CanadaKauri, October 2018
  • Words Can't Express the Awesomeness of this Trip!

    “I joined the group in Christchurch for the 10 day option, from the get go this trip was amazing. Not only were my fellow travel companions a blast to be with, the scenery breath taking, our guides Koru and Carrie were outstanding. The level of hospitality, attention to detail, local knowledge, and friendliness was amazing. It was awe inspiring to witness how hard Koru and Carrie worked to ensure every detail of our trip went smoothly. Carrie was an outstanding cook! I expected to eat simple camp meals, but Carrie outdid herself with hot nutritious food for every meal. We also couldn't have asked for better weather, we had blue skies nearly everyday of the trip! We got an impromptu lay day during our stint in the Copland Track from the deluge of rain the area received. Despite this, Carrie and I still ventured out and got to witness the grandeur of the track and brave the less than perfect weather. Soaking in the the hot springs after getting soaked from the rain made it worth it. Whether it was a short hike, the Copland track, kayaking in Milford Sound or eating at local spots this trip exceeded all expectations. I'm already looking forward to doing another trip.”
    Stephen Goo – California, United StatesWinter Rimu, October 2018
  • Fabulous

    “This trip was just fabulous. The guides, Caitlyn and Tess were top notch. They were kind and respectful and attended to our every need. I could not have asked for better. I was very nervous about this tour to begin with and Tess made me feel comfortable before we even left the airport. I cannot say enough about these two guides. Food was great and the sights were beyond measure. ”
    Anne Scholz – Oregon, United StatesTui, October 2018
  • New Zealand 'Rimu'

    “Had a fabulous time. Our 2 guides were great: knowledgable and fun to be with. Feel like I was able to see the sights and feel the culture of the different parts of NZ.”
    Keith Calder – Texas, United StatesRimu, October 2018
  • The Iguana Trip is Adventurous and Fun!

    “From hiking, to biking, to snorkeling, to walking around Cuzco, Quito and 3 Galapagos Islands, this trip has it all. Beautiful scenery, friendly people, efficient transportation of several modes: vans, trains, planes, ferry, speedboat, or dive boat! Amazing architectural wonders like Machu Pichu, Huchuy Qosqo, a 6 mile wide volcano crater, all kinds of interesting animals, many wonderful meals at very nice restaurants, lots of safe drinking water, fun group interaction, and guides who were very knowledgeable and professional made for a complete and unforgettable experience. And lots of opportunities to shop too! We'll never forget it and hope to keep in touch with our new friends who shared the adventure with us.”
    Mary-Jane Sackett – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, October 2018
  • Amazing

    “What a trip. From start to finish it was beyond my expectation. The organisation was seamless, the scenery stunning and the local people, guide and porters wonderful. I did not know any of my fellow trekkers at the start of the trek, but what a great fun bunch they were. Can’t recommend Active, Dan (our guide) and his team more highly. Am desperate to do another!!”
    Miranda Marsh – Auckland, New ZealandAST, October 2018
  • Galapagos October 2018

    “Our guide Pepo and Paulo could not have been better! The weather was perfect, the water clear and the visibility great.”
    Scott Peterson – Missouri, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Perfect trip

    “I had never taken such a trip alone. I had no worries, within a few hours we were all friends. Our guide Eric was very knowledgeable we could not stump him. He went out of his way to make sure we were all comfortable. The food on the trip was gourmet in every respect. The meals served on the trail were unbelievable not only taste but presentation. I was a little slower than other hikers but Eric and Lucianna were very patient and helpful. I would highly recommend this trip to all.”
    Rosanne Rushton – New York, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Unbelievable Trip

    “Going to the Galapagos was a trip of my dreams. The snorkeling was beyond words. The sea life we saw was wonderful. Our accommodations gave us a true insight into life on the islands. They were clean, comfortable with nice views. Pepo was a very knowledgeable guide. He did all he could to make us comfortable and to get full benefits of our swims. The food was very good - liked the local diet. Would recommend this trip to anyone.”
    Rosanne Rushton – New York, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “What a finely tuned operation Active Adventures has. Our trip to Peru was flawless. The quaint hotel in Cusco, our young and helpful guide Gustava, the food - AA spared no expense, we dined in some of the finest restaurants. Hiking the Inca trail the whole reason for our trip to Peru.... was brilliant only made even better by having such a spiritual and knowledgeable guide in Puma.”
    Lena Clement – California, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Amazing Adventure

    “I had such a great time on the Tui trip with Kelsey and Claire! There is no way I would've been able to see or do everything we did on my own on the South Island without the Active Adventures itinerary. Everything was so organized and the most efficient use of our time. Kelsey and Claire were amazing guides. They got to know each of us in the group and made sure we were able to see and do everything we wanted! This trip went above and beyond my expectations, and it's something I will never forget! :) ”
    Tessa Humphries – British Columbia, CanadaTui, October 2018
  • Tortuga

    “Fantastic! The beauty of the islands was exceptional. The ecology and environment were so important and so well explained by the guides. Best and most knowledgeable guides I have ever had the honor of being around. This trip will live in my memory forever, as will the smiles and laughter of everyone there!”
    Lyle Freeman – Nevada, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Tui Teriffic!

    “The tour was great and we made both friends and memories. Our guides, Maddi and Nick B. took very good care of us, in the planning of all the big and little details so that we were able to thoroughly enjoy the beauty of New Zealand.”
    Kathy Absher – Washington, United StatesTui, October 2018
  • Couldn’t Ask for More

    “The trip was amazing. Every little detail was taken care of. Our guide was great and worked with the group in a way that everyone got what they wanted/needed out of the trip. I really can’t say enough about the Lares trail and the support along the way. The food was almost as incredible as the views. The schedule was perfect. Machu Picchu was everything that we expected and our time in the jungle was great. I highly recommend the Jaguar trip.”
    Dave Ross – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • An Excellent Start!

    “Kauri was my second trip abroad, my first by myself that I organized and you guys were a great part of that! The 5 days I spent with Liana and Maddie were very well organized! Liana knows her country well and the knowledge she was able to impart is exactly why I want to travel, not just to visit a different place, but to learn about the place, its people, its culture and its ecology. Maddie did a great job filling in the gaps, helping to organize and she is a wonderful chef! I will be back in the future to visit the South Island and will definitely do business with Active there and in other countries I plan to visit! Thank you Miriam for getting me all set up and thank you Active, for a wonderful trip!”
    Jerome Merrill – Colorado, United StatesKauri, October 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Outstanding trip from start to finish. Booking, organization, travel arrangements, logistics, lodgings, excursions, meals... all handled flawlessly. Our guide, Pepo, was so impressive. Superb knowledge of all things Galapagos - marine life, flora & fauna, geography, geology, history and culture. His personality, sense of humor and patience with all of us was wonderful. The snorkeling, scuba, hiking & kayaking were all very nice, and Carlos (dive guide) was great too. Meals were all very good and arranged expertly. Sea Lions and tortoises were ubiquitous (like pigeons in Chicago...they are everywhere). Blue footed boobies; great frigate birds exhibiting their trademark 'inflated red bellies', iguanas galore...just a few of the highlights. We are big fans of Active Adventures (and now Galakiwi) having now experienced this as well as New Zealand's South island in 2017, and we'll likely be back for more! Thanks for a great experience!”
    Hans Anger – Florida, United StatesTortuga, October 2018
  • Jaguar, September 2018

    “We had history, scenery, and great travel companions - all while exploring the Peru countryside. Our Jaquar trip gave us a chance to see classic historic sites, but the highlight was the less traveled, beautiful and challenging Lares Trek. Our guide and the support team were wonderful, planning every detail. We came home feeling refreshed and accomplished, and looking forward to another Active Adventure.”
    Nancy Karuzis – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Loved Every Step

    “The mountains and views will be there whoever you travel with. There will be tea houses and rest stops regardless of if you travel on your own or got with one of the thousands of tour companies you might find in Kathmandu. But I’m convinced you will only have guides like Elder Shree and Koru with Active Adventures. Elder’s attention to detail meant no surprises, Koru’s quiet empathy meant he saw everything that might have caused concern, and Shree’s pace setting meant I never felt tired. They just made a great trip a brilliant experience.”
    Jim Tosh – Arbroath, United KingdomEBC, October 2018
  • Annapurna

    “Annapurna is definitely a trip you will never forget. The scenery is out of this world. Our leaders and porters could not have been more professional and knowledgeable. The amount of work performed daily on everyone's part was absolutely phenomenal. Could not have asked for better care. Would highly recommend but one needs to be fit and able to withstand the occasional discomfort of the teahouses!”
    Susie Coordt – Texas, United StatesAST, October 2018
  • Beyond Expectations

    “Everything from incredible vistas, interesting guides, delicious and abundant food and interesting tidbits of local lore made this trip one that went beyond my expectations. Hiking through 3 countries and experiencing varied terrain and activities made this an exceptional adventure.”
    Dick WheelerJr – Massachusetts, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Spectcular In Every Respect

    “This was a fabulous trip with spectacular scenery, guides, food and people. I joined my aunt, mom and dad for their first retirement adventure and the trip exceeded all of our expectations. Our Chamonix and Active Adventure guides made sure everyone in the group had a very memorable experience.”
    Meaghan Wheeler – Wyoming, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • What a Way to Celebrate Retirement

    “We chose this trip to celebrate retirement and it couldn't have been better. From fabulous guides to spectacular vistas, amazing foods to great accommodations, from varied experiences to local history in 3 different countries, this trip couldn't have been more perfect. The pacing of varied activities and the enthusiasm and professionalism of Jean-Marc, Andy and Karin made this an amazing way to start our retirement.”
    Patty Wheeler – Massachusetts, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had an amazing Jaguar Trip with Active Adventures. I wanted to hike the Inca Trail to celebrate turning 60 and could not find anyone to make the trip with me so I went on my own. I was apprehensive about the adventure but also very excited. When I checked into the hotel, The Royal Inka I, it was comfortable, clean, in a fabulous location and the staff were considerate & helpful. There was a water cooler just for Active Adventure Tourists so there was no need to buy water and the breakfasts were tasty & filling and introduced you to some local food items. I think what impressed me most about the tour was how friendly, thoughtful and kind everyone associated with the tour were. This included hotel staff, personnel who drove the vans, organized the bikes, carried supplies up the Inca Trail and especially the guides themselves. I was also impressed with the food which included restaurants, surprised lunch stops, on the trail etc. I never felt unsafe in contrast I felt very well cared for.”
    Shelly Lenaghan – British Columbia, CanadaJaguar, October 2018
  • More Than I Expected

    “I only did three days of the Chinchilla Trip but what I did do I thoroughly enjoyed. My main focus was Cuzco, the Inca Trail Hike and Machu Picchu so I had no real expectations for Puno & Lake Titicaca and I have to say that it was a real pleasure to tour this area. I just loved the people and culture. The Uros Floating Island was fascinating and totally unique. The culture on Taquile Island was intriguing and the homestay on Amantani Island was truly a lovely experience. To see people with few material items be so self-sufficient and happy made a real impression and has made me think differently about my needs & wants. I only wish I could have done the full Chincilla Tour.”
    Shelly Lenaghan – British Columbia, CanadaChinchilla, October 2018
  • Danny was Awesome!

    “Danny was an awesome guide. His enthusiasm for the culture of Peru really comes through. He is also very knowledgeable about the history. He brought us to great restaurants so we were able to enjoy the amazing food.”
    Katy Yeager – California, United StatesIguana, October 2018
  • Mt Blanc

    “Excellent local guide who ensured we all had a food and cultural experience as well as awesome mountains.”
    Barbara Wenzel – New York, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Land of the Long White Cloud

    “A fabulous trip with a small but lovely group of like-minded travellers. Well paced and a mix of well known and off the beaten track places which show the true beauty of this amazing country. Loved the variety and the attention to detail. Thank you to my fellow travellers and our amazing guides.”
    Barbara Anderson – Queensland, AustraliaRimu, October 2018
  • What a Way to See New Zealand!

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our time in New Zealand with Active Adventures. New Zealand is a beautiful country with lots to see, but seeing it in an active way really gives you a chance to appreciate so many things you wouldn't get a chance to otherwise. But above that, the guides and staff with Active Adventures couldn't have been better. We had so much fun with Nick and Maddi! They were helpful, knowledgeable, adaptable, kind and friendly.”
    Tom Absher – Washington, United StatesTui, October 2018
  • Once in a Lifetime

    “A great way of experiencing a new culture and to appreciate nature. In the process, you make new friends in your guides and fellow travelers. You finish your journey with a sense of accomplishment that has forever imprinted in your memories. ”
    Saumeel Mehta – Florida, United StatesEBC, October 2018
  • Jaguar Trip September 23rd

    “The trip was amazing! I loved the group and the fearless leader. I can’t say enough about Erick. He was amazing, kind and lots of fun. I would absolutely book another trip with Active Adventures. I’m looking forward to future trips. Thank you so much for such an amazing trip! ”
    Lynn Wright – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Mont Blanc

    “The Tour de Mont Blanc was amazing. Both the Active guide (Jo) and the local guides (Bernadette & Isabelle) were amazing and it was a true pleasure to get to experience the Alps with them. The food was amazing (the cheeses were delicious and tasted even better in the stunning mountain settings where it was eaten). Beautiful views, great experiences and wonderful people made for an amazing trip. Thank you!”
    Jennie Castleton – British Columbia, CanadaTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Everything was wonderful...the biking, the Lares Trail hike and the jungle. The food was amazing! Erick was the best guide and made sure everyone’s needs were met.”
    Pam Witcraft – Wyoming, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • New Zealand....a MUST do trip!!

    “Amazing country.... fantastic sights to see... great guides... overall wonderful experience, especially doing it with my son!!”
    Jake Weinstein – Quebec, CanadaTui, October 2018
  • Spectacular!

    “Yes, the Dolomiti landscape is spectacular and this trip brought me right in it! I loved our guides Richard and Paolo, who were highly knowledgeable, fun and exercise machines. The weather was perfect, the food delicious and plentiful, the lodging exceeded my expectations, the work outs were just right, and I had a lovely group with which to share this very memorable journey.”
    Monica Aranguren – Massachusetts, United StatesDolomiti, October 2018
  • Tour du Mont Blanc

    “This trip was the most challenging trip I have done but the most spectacular. Breathtaking scenery, perfect weather, great company, too much cheese and wine but I earned it. I have already recommended this trip to others.”
    Kristen Wiltshire – New South Wales, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Marvellous 'Kea' trip

    “Can't recommend the family Kea trip enough. Our guide Mel seemed to have endless energy and inspired us all to relax, play and enjoy.”
    Jessica Upton – Oxon, United KingdomKea, October 2018
  • A Fantastic Trip!

    “A wonderful trip, perfectly planned. Everything was spot on and I had a wonderful time. Kim and Shree were also impeccable; the perfect balance of personable but professional. They were so much fun!”
    Hannah Conibere – North Yorkshire, United KingdomAST, October 2018
  • A Piece of Heaven

    “This was my 1st Active Adventures trip but not my last. We had 13 participants with 3 professional guides, our Trip Leader, Joanna McHugh, a native hiking guide, and expert kayaking guide, Giuliano. These guides worked so well together and made the trip such fun for us all while revealing this beautiful area to us. Unlike my granite clad mountains of New Hampshire, these hikes were so green passing through summer grazing pastures with ”
    Cecelia Peacock – New Hampshire, United StatesDolce Vita, October 2018
  • Amazing Trip

    “My wife and I decided to come to New Zealand because we love hiking and mountains, and it was at the top of both of our bucket lists. We were able to get the time off to do the trip right (17 days) and made it into a 5 year wedding anniversary present to ourselves. We originally planned to do everything ourselves, but quickly got overwhelmed by the amount of work that was going to take. We searched for guided trips, and were thrilled to find Active Adventures because of the overnight backpacking portions of the trip. Everything on the trip worked out great! Koru (our guide) was amazing! As a Maori, he had unparalleled knowledge of the land, customs, and beliefs of the people of New Zealand. It was very obvious that he loves his country, and loves to share it with like-minded travelers. I asked him about ten thousand questions throughout the trip, and he had an answer for pretty much every one. The hiking was amazing, the people friendly, and the time well enjoyed. My wife and I will definitely be back to Active Adventures for another trip somewhere else in the world!”
    John Martino – Virginia, United StatesWinter Rimu, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “One of the most beautiful places on earth! The natural wonder - day after day - of the Annapurna Sanctuary is awe-inspiring, and watching the sun rise on Annapurna South was definitely the highlight. The knowledgeable and friendly Active Adventures guides and porters made this trek a fun and educational experience.”
    Daniel Meloy – DC, United StatesAST, October 2018
  • Winter Rimu

    “This trip was simply amazing. Being able to explore the South Island of New Zealand with someone catering to you made it that much more enjoyable. I didn’t have to plan out meals, where I should go or anything! I loved having a local guide show me New Zealand. I highly recommend Active Adventures. ”
    Alyssa Bass – Texas, United StatesWinter Rimu, September 2018
  • Well Paced Trip with Breathtaking Views

    “There are not many trips where pretty much everywhere you look has a good view. This was one of those few trips. The activities were very well paced as well.”
    Jason Waitkins – New York, United StatesDolomiti, September 2018
  • A New Appreciation for Animals and Nature

    “This trip opened my eyes to all of the incredible wildlife and nature that exists on the Galapagos Islands, but also carried over to when I returned home. I started to notice and appreciate all the little things around me more often, so I am truly grateful for what this trip has given me in my life.”
    Sydney Donati-Leach – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, September 2018
  • Tour du Mont Blanc

    “Wonderful hiking adventure with spectacular views of the Alps and their glaciers. Our guides were well informed and very helpful in getting us over any "rough spots". Our group of hikers was fun, varied and really enhanced the experience. The wine, cheese, and bread were spectacular and our picnics were delicious and I would have gained 5 pounds if it wasn't for all the hiking!”
    Vicki Cefola – Pennsylvania, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime for Body, Mind, and Soul

    “Having done an Active trip in New Zealand a few years ago, I was prepared for great hikes, amazing scenery, and excellent hospitality. I wasn't prepared for how much the Mustang trip would change my soul, however. The hikes were challenging, but all doable. Our guides kept our group at a perfect pace which allowed plenty of time for photos and taking in the breathtaking views (day after day after day)! As with all Active trips, the leaders handle every detail, leaving you free to soak in the culture and expand your mind, whether learning about Buddhism, the economy, or cuisine. But the most special thing on the Mustang trip for me was how deeply it touched and replenished my soul. Away from the busy lives and noise which clutters our society, I fell into a rhythm which allowed me to be present for each step of our journey. I learned to let go of the anxiety of what is to come and the sadness of what was left behind. A huge part of that can be credited to our guides, DK, Shree and Gokul who led me along the paths of Mustang not only physically, but also spiritually. They shared so much of their world, of their food, their culture, their passions, their patience. If you've ever considered taking a trek, do this one. Your spirit will thank you.

    And as far as some of the practical things of the trip go... Food was incredible! Gokul and his team got fresh meat, eggs, and produce at every chance, ensuring healthy and delicious meals and first-rate service. I'm still missing my morning tea service! Knowing how to cook at a camp, I was astounded at the variety of foods and enjoyed learning chef's secrets at many stops. The camping was awesome. Tents were spacious and sleeping mats and bags were very comfortable. Even better, the team set them up and broke them down each day. Like our other Active trip, we followed the packing list to a "T" and were glad. They know what you need and what you don't need so just follow the list. And truly, if you don't have anything, just buy it in Kathmandu (cheap and great selection of gear). My only thought to add was I wish I'd brought a swim top and pair of board shorts so that I could use the outdoor streams and hoses in a couple of camps to clean up. Also, a pair of slides would have been handy for slipping on for night time bathroom breaks from the tent without dealing with laces or taking off socks. The altitude was challenging, but not problematic. Most of our group took Diamox, but a few of us didn't. I wasn't able to do any higher altitude training before the trip, but regular hikes of 10+ miles and lots of up and downs prepared me well.

    Overall, the best trip of my life. Thank you Active!”
    Jane Kurtz – Oregon, United StatesMustang, September 2018
  • Hike of Rifugio Crespi - Day 2

    “The hike of Rifugio Crespi was my favorite! I loved the sound of the bells as we passed the herd of cows, the beautiful chalets in the hamlet and the delicious lunch with local cheeses and beers and the great capuchino!!”
    Ivette Alonso-Triack – San Juan, Puerto RicoDolce Vita, September 2018
  • Mt. Blanc Trip

    “We had a great time and loved our guides and the views.”
    Renee Scott – California, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Heaven in the Alps

    “What a beautiful 8 days in the Alps surrounding Mont Blanc! Breathtaking views every day complemented by a picnic lunch of local cheeses and charcuterie. The kayaking and bike ride were a great way to add variety to the hikes. Loved the towns of Chamonix and Courmayeur in particular.”
    Curt Weber – Nebraska, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Pierre's Tour du Mont Blanc

    “I thought the trip was fantastic, The scenery was remarkable. The Guides were awesome. I recommend this trip for any avid hiker. I say avid as the days can be long and requires you to be prepared.”
    Pierre Pelletier – Quebec, CanadaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • The Most Surreal Trip Ever!

    “Hiking in the Alps has always been a dream, and this trip went beyond my expectations. The knowledgeable guides were awesome, the hikes, though sometimes tough, were more than worth it with the scenery and breathtaking views. So surreal! The weather made it all perfect with beautiful blue skies and lots of sunshine. The lunch picnics, with bare feet in the high alpine meadows will be among my favorite memories. Awesome trek!”
    Vivian Pelletier – Quebec, CanadaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Simply Amazing!

    “This is our second time with Active and we couldn't be more pleased, the care taken to look after us, the food! The stunning accommodations were simply awesome! Richard was very attentive and very helpful with knowledge, he was really a lot of fun! Would recommend active to everyone! Loved loved every moment! Thanks so much for another amazing adventure!”
    Beth Dunphy – Nova Scotia, CanadaDolomiti, September 2018
  • Fantastic!

    “Couldn't be more pleased! Had an awesome time! This is our 2nd trip with Active, cant wait for our next one!!”
    Ron Dunphy – Nova Scotia, CanadaDolomiti, September 2018
  • Challenging Hike!

    “This was another wonderful hiking adenture with Active. It was more challenging than expected, but we enjoyed every minute!”
    Benny Benson – Puntarenas, Osa, Costa RicaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • An Amazing Adventure

    “The Tour du Mont Blanc with Active Adventures was fantastic. Everything you could need was factored into the trip. Jo, Jean Marc and Karen were fantastic guides, providing information and support along the way. The days were challenging but very enjoyable. The accommodation and food were excellent. The variety of experiences were well organised and made the most of your time away. The best outdoor holiday I have ever experienced.”
    Dorothy Campbell – New South Wales, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Mustang Was an Amazing Trip That Delivered on So Many Levels

    “The tremendous organisation by Active Adventures meant everything was covered even when the unexpected happened. The Guides, our local support team and the other people on this trip were a very big part of why the trip was so enjoyable. Our plane flight from Pokhara to Jomsom was cancelled due to weather but then we ended up going by helicopter, it was fantastic. The majestic and vast vistas of the Mustang Region were ever changing with the light and different rock formations. The centuries old monasteries gave an insight into the people's culture, as did staying in the villages and appreciating their way of life. It was wonderful having our own local chef on the trek, we were so well looked after with the quality and freshness of the food. The guides were so careful about setting the pace for the trek to take into account the altitude. I really enjoyed the trekking, there was alot of up and down but there were plenty of breaks and things to see too. I found myself getting stronger as we went along, I overcame some personal challenges and at times I was very moved by what I heard and observed. The trip made a big impact on me and I highly recommend it.”
    Annette Esposito – Victoria, AustraliaMustang, September 2018
  • The Dolce Vita trip is Living the Good Life!

    “If hiking in some of the most breathtaking scenery and dipping your feet in the cool waters of Lake Orta or Lake Como is your idea of "living the good life" then this is the trip for you. The guides were knowledgeable and took us to places that were interesting and beautiful. Our group had fun together and I loved how accommodating the guides were to give each person the experience they wanted based on their physical level. This was my third Active Adventure trip and I keep coming back because they are so well organized and make sure that you have a trip that will stay with you for years to come.”
    Janet Anderson – Louisiana, United StatesDolce Vita, September 2018
  • Wonderful way to see Northern Italy, the Alps and the Lakes

    “The Dolce Vita is an excellent way to be hosted and genuinely taken care of as you undertake a couple of wonderful hikes in the northern Italian Alps, then proceed to the famous Lakes to see and kayak on Lake Como and Lake d'Orta. All this, whilst enjoying sumptuous Italian cuisine and their excellent wines, not to forget the daily gelato.”
    Varina Nissen – Queensland, AustraliaDolce Vita, September 2018
  • New Zealand Winter Rimu

    “Our Winter Rimu trip was fantastic from beginning to end. We had a few travel snafus getting into New Zealand but Active Adventures was easy to reach when we needed them and once picked up, Koru immediately put us at ease and took over the hard work. Accommodations throughout were great and Koru and Lauren made some excellent food for us to enjoy throughout. We especially enjoyed the two overnight trips to Aspiring Hut and Welcome Flat Hut. We also appreciated the flexibility of both guides to do more or less activity each day depending on how everyone was feeling. Not having to worry or think about what was next on the trip helped us to relax and fully immerse ourselves in the experience. Both Koru and Lauren were extremely knowledgeable about local culture as well as the flora and fauna of New Zealand. There were very few questions we asked that they couldn't answer. Great trip! ”
    Allison See – Ohio, United StatesWinter Rimu, September 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “The Tour du Mont Blanc is an amazing trip, made even more so by Active Adventures Europe and our phenomenal guides. It's challenging in parts, but the beauty of this area makes every step worth it. Our guides made such a difference...they not only guided us safely through the trail, they kept us motivated every step of the way. I'm now a big fan of Active Adventures, and can't wait to try another tour with them.”
    Paula Gregory – Colorado, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “This was the trip of a lifetime. We walked from Jomsom to Lo Manthang, and beyond, over 100 miles in 12 days. Each day presented new challenges: high passes up to 13,500ft, and long stretches of "Nepali flat" undulations. During the long days, I felt myself getting stronger each day, until the two 14 mile days were easily taken in stride. I learned so much about Tibetan Buddhism and about this hidden and unspoiled region of Nepal. I will never forget our guides, the Nepali team, and the team of hearty guests. I highly recommend this trek to all who seek adventure.”
    Susan Sevilla – California, United StatesMustang, September 2018
  • Perfect Trip!

    “The trip was planned, coordinated and executed by Active Adventures to perfection. While the guides on all trips have been great, Holly was superb. She couldn't have been more attentive and fun. While I just got home last week, I'm already planning my next Active Adventure.
    Kendall”
    Kendall Montgomery – Texas, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Mont Blanc Tour 2018

    “Another fantastic trip by AA. There is nothing you could do to improve! The guides were the best - very knowledgeable and flexible. It takes the right personality to deal with a variety of clients. These ladies have the right personal and professional skills. The lodging and meals were grand as were our daily picnic lunches. We were very fortunate to see some of the UTMB runners! I highly recommend to anyone who is an avid hiker.”
    Ginger Kelly – Colorado, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Eataly and Just Ten-minutes More

    “Eataly, as our group called the trip, after a well-known food emporium in Italy and the United States, also describes one of the highlights of it. In addition to spectacular scenery especially near Alagna, the village closest to Switzerland, the hiking and kayaking were what I expected.

    Alas, I’m probably the first person to arrive on an Active Adventure hiking trip with a torn meniscus, the result of an immediately previous trip en route.

    As I was limited to kayaking, the guides, Jo, who I hiked with in New Zealand and known for being the very supportive ten-minutes-more guide, and the two Italian guides, Andrea for hiking and Guiliano for kayaking were excellent and extremely well-qualified.

    The accommodations, especially in Alagna and Bellagio were terrific, with a few glitches at a couple of others, the result of electric storms.

    La Dolce Vita was a sweet trip, easily accessible, and fun. ”
    Julie Semel – New York, United StatesDolce Vita, September 2018
  • Magnificent

    “Loved this tour! We were fortunate enough to be the only 2 people on it so were totally spoilt by our guides Andy, Suzanne and Holly. Andy and Suzanne were so knowledgeable and always looked out for us. They catered for our level of fitness, therefore we completed our days hiking with enough time to have a relaxing coffee or beer. So glad we trained for this tour! The food was excellent and accommodation great. We’d certainly love to come back and explore this beautiful part of the world again. ”
    Min Beattie – Victoria, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Fantastic experience

    “Everything about the trip was delightful. We had excellent guides, delicious meals, smooth logistics, and a completely stress-free vacation. ”
    Tiffany Randall – California, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Beautiful Dolomiti

    “This tour of the Dolomites was awesome. Our guides Mike and Ivan were great and catered the hikes to suit our level of fitness. The Dolomites were spectacular and staying in the refugios was so lovely. The food was plentiful and delicious. Loved every moment.”
    Min Beattie – Victoria, AustraliaDolomiti, August 2018
  • A Wonderful Trip

    “I loved every day of this trip. The guides were fabulous and the hiking amazing. Having trained for the trip, our guides ensured we were suitably challenged with the hikes and we were extremely happy with everything we did. We were so well looked after and had lots of laughs along the way with our amazing guides in this incredible part of the world.”
    Bron Johns – Victoria, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Everyone Should See This Place.

    “The Dolomites are an amazing place to hike. The landscape is extraordinary and being amongst it has been an awesome experience. Mike and Ivan are fabulous and knowledgeable guides. The trip notes and itinery are excellent and a bit of pre-trip training totally paid off. Mike is such a friendly and funny guy that kept us laughing throughout the trip. 10 out of 10 I would totally recommend this trip.”
    Bron Johns – Victoria, AustraliaDolomiti, August 2018
  • Abbreviated, Active, and Awesome

    “The first six days of this adventure was simply put - AWESOME. The trip guides were first class, the hiking challenges were a challenge, the accommodations very adequate, and the fellow hikers- top notch. Active Adventures tailored my trip to meet other previously scheduled commitments. Great organization and terrific hiking support. Be prepared for a superlative adventure.”
    Guy Anderson – Florida, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Into the Unknowns of the North Island

    “Upon coming home from my trip, everyone I know who has been to New Zealand has been dazzled by my explanations of where I went. I booked with Active because I wanted an opportunity to see places I probably wouldn't manage to see as a tourist on my own, and to do activities safely that were adventurous and fun and outside the run-of-the-mill tours I could book with others. Since it was winter, I chose the North Island Kauri trip. It was everything I wanted. We did lots of adventurous, difficult (but not *too* difficult) hikes and other activities and saw parts of New Zealand that most tourists don't ever manage to see. Jackie and Maddi put their personal touches on our tour, and were aces at making sure we did great things even in the face of some obstacles. It was exactly what I needed out of my vacation. Thanks, Active!”
    Jessi Grieser – Tennessee, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Pepo was Amazing!

    “Pepo was amazing! Patient, funny, spent his down time with us, got to know us! Loved the Galapagos aquatic animals, and especially going on the Los Tuneles extra trip. Well worth it! Great lodging, and food was excellent. It was important to me that we stayed on land, and very glad we did, no seasickness for me! Will recommend this trip to everyone!”
    Kylee Brock – Utah, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Mont Blanc Adventure

    “I travelled on my own from New Zealand to do this tour, so was slightly apprehensive. From the first day when meeting the guides till the finish, I was very well looked after. The food was amazing, the guides were awesome and the walks exceeded all expectations.”
    Leanne Ealam – Nelson, New ZealandTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Another Hit from Active Adventures

    “The Dolce Vita trip was everything I hoped it would be. The guides were professional, knowledgable and responsive to the needs of each individual in our group. Jo, Andrea and Juliano took great care of us and shared all the beauty, culture and food the Lakes District had to offer. The hikes through the mountains and valleys, punctuated by the sounds of running water and cowbells, were breathtaking. I was surprised that our time in the quieter lesser known destinations, Alagna and Lake Orta, were my favorite parts of the trip. We had a very special moment when a large group from a family reunion cheered us on at the top of the mountain after our final long hike. On an especially hot day our guides gave us a choice of activities and we opted to visit beautiful gardens instead of a strenuous hike. Every day we ate and drank our way through delicious Italian cuisine. We had a wide variety of fresh fish and pasta, as well as daily treats of espresso, gelato and awesome desserts. This was my 5th Active trip and I'm hoping to try one more adventure next year.”
    Andrea Rudolph – New York, United StatesDolce Vita, August 2018
  • Dolce Vita

    “This has been the most fantastic trip I have ever been on. I can pinpoint it to the fact that it turned out to be genuinely personal in all respects. Not only were our 2 guides, Andrea and Jo Jo extremely personable, but their constant cooperation, collaboration, caring, fun loving ways and eagerness to exhibit and display the essence of Dolce Vita through customs, culture and food was always top of mind. Andrea shared knowledge of his homeland, mountain valleys and home turf proudly. We learned about mountain life, mountaineering and rescue and saw many spiritual sights. The choice of hotels was exquisite, each with their own charm. Thanks also to Julianno for bringing kayaks and his expertise all the way from Genoa. The shore lunch of fresh focaccia bread was especially delicious. Our kayaking days were unforgettable, with spectacular views and opportunities for refreshing swims in all 3 lakes. This trip had all 5 senses at work. We SAW spectacular views. We HEARD the sounds of cow bells in the meadows and rushing water in waterfalls and rivers. We SMELLED the fresh air of mountains and glaciers. We TASTED the amazing Italian food and drink especially the desserts at the urging of Jo Jo. Her adventurous spirit wanted us to enjoy every aspect. We FELT the amazing warmth and hospitality of all we met. We especially felt the coolness and silkiness of the refreshing waters of the 3 lakes. I will never forget this trip. Thanks to all.”
    Sandy Drury – Ontario, CanadaDolce Vita, August 2018
  • Lares Trek!!!

    “Peru was an amazingly beautiful country full of kind people! Our trip leader, Daniel, went above and beyond to make our trip special as he had to work around strikes closing roads and unseasonable weather. His knowledge of the cultural sites was as exceptional as the views along the Lares Trek and at Machu Picchu!”
    Matthew Sloan – Illinois, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Lovely Winter Adventure

    “Amazing trip! Our guides, Jackie and Maddie were knowledgeable, friendly, and very energetic. Every place we traveled to along the way was beautiful and memorable. I will never forget this trip. It was the amazing way to see a good part of the North Island.”
    Kristen Deffenbaugh – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Kauri Adventures on the North Island

    “I recently came home from a truly amazing adventure. My sister, brother and I met up with two other travelers to be guided around the North Island. We were able to learn about the ancient Waipoua Forest and the Kauri trees, enjoy sandy beaches (complete with sand boarding!), hike beautiful trails, and meet wonderful people. We even had some detours that resulted in visiting the glow worm caves. Our guides, Maddi and Jackie were knowledgeable, experienced, and entertaining! The accommodations were lovely. If you are looking for a trip that takes you around the New Zealand countryside and coastlines, I highly recommend Active Adventures!”
    Emily Deffenbaugh – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Jaguar Trip

    “Well organized trip with a great trip leader, great food, and great scenery!”
    Guy Walther – Utah, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Bucket List Dream

    “I loved this trip! Not only did I get to celebrate my 36th anniversary at Machu Picchu, I fell in love with Peru. What a great place and the sites we hiked and visited were spectacular. The second half of the trip to the Galapagos Islands was fantastic. I got to scuba dive and saw a bunch of hammerhead sharks. The guides were all very nice and polite. Thank you.”
    Mary Neilson – Indiana, United StatesIguana, August 2018
  • Fell in Love with Peru!

    “From start to finish the Jaguar trip and Lares Inca Trail was excellent! Zac, the guide, was such a lovely, attentive, knowledgeable and humorous person, whose skill at melding a group and dealing with any issues was a key part of the success. There was a satisfying mix of activities but the Lares Valley hike over the 15,700 foot Pumahuanca Pass was a definite highlight. Sumptuous meals prepared on the way were both healthy, delicious and plentiful. Some fabulous restaurants. Machu Picchu is just as special as I believed it would be. Going to the jungle added to our learning of Peru... yes we did see a tarantula! The trip lives up to the billing. Highly recommended!”
    Ro Poole – , New ZealandJaguar, August 2018
  • Amazing Guides

    “I had trouble breathing at higher altitudes, and a couple of other members of our group had some other issues. Our guides Amanda and Gokul made arrangements for us to continue hiking. Some of us didn't get to EBC, but we still enjoyed the trip of a lifetime! I got to ride a horse across the Hillary Bridge! Thanks for carrying my backpack, Bibek!”
    Debbie Panebianco – New York, United StatesEBC, August 2018
Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Our Accreditations and Partners

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure