Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

 

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Once in a Lifetime Vacation

    “Every island has different wildlife to enjoy. There was so many sea lions, golden rays, whales, large sea turtles, land tortoise, blue footed boobies, hammer heads, Galapagos shark, etc. the guides are amazing. They take you biking, kayaking, hiking, diving, etc. never a dull moment.”
    Penny Miller – Florida, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Best Trip Ever

    “Every day was a unique adventure. Great group, guides and landscapes. Looking forward to our next journey with Active.”
    Carmen Lamar – Colorado, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “Loved the trip. Lots of fun, education, and challenge. Great leadership by Holly and Claire”
    Don Ferris – British Columbia, CanadaManuka, April 2018
  • April 1 2018 Khumbu with Shree and Kim

    “How to express the impression of our trip is a challenge because every possible positive adjective we could use can only compare to the majesty of the Himalayas themselves. Words can not describe how hard all our team members worked to make those of us feel special and to insure our trip was absolutely perfect! Their enthusiasm for every day was contagious and the beauty surrounding us each and every moment can not easily be described, unless you've been there and been there with a world class operation like Active Adventures! Every detail was attended to and communicated so well by Shree and Kim and of course our hard working (but always smiling) porters! We would travel anywhere with Active Adventures and will hold these memories near and dear forever. Thank you to our team and for making this trip one of a lifetime.”
    Lisa Omelina – Wyoming, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • Mar 4 2018 Weka

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime. I will never forget how well Nick and Elder took care of us all. Very caring and fun.”
    Maggie Steder – Wisconsin, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Tui Trip Review

    “Our Tui trip was fantastic. A great group of travelers from age 19 to 70 ish.
    James and Carrie, our guides, could not have been better, as they shared their knowledge and stories of New Zealand. We enjoyed their good humor and enthusiastic leadership. When some bad weather interfered with the daily plan, headquarters and our guides did a great job in providing for our comfort, safety, and finding a way to enjoy our day. This 8 day trip provides a great introduction to the beauty of the South Island.”
    Paul Tichenor – Michigan, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Mother Daughter Trip to New Zealand - Tui Trip March 2018

    “I can't tell you how fantastic this trip was for my 21yo daughter and I. I had done a lot of homework on this trip and couldn't imagine doing it any other way than with Active Adventures.
    The guides made our trip. They were enthusiastic and attentive every minute!!
    Our accommodations were clean and comfortable. Our excursions were well thought out and we even stopped along the way for a daily added detour which was great.
    I would recommend this to any who want to see and do a lot in the short amount of time we had.
    Nice job Active Adventures!”
    Kim Delamont – Colorado, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Highly Recommend Khumbu

    “Our Khumbu trek exceeded our expectations. The trails were a challenge but not difficult if you have physically prepared for some steep and uneven terrain. Views of the Himalayas made the trip well worth the effort as well as side trips to the Buddhist Monasteries along the way. We could not have been happier with our guides Kim and Arjun for their knowledge and assistance along the way.”
    Edward Erway – Kentucky, United StatesKhumbu, April 2018
  • Rimu 2018, We will Always Remember!

    “An outstanding trip that met all my expectations and so much more. Our guides Ash, Lauren and Pepper were truly outstanding and made the trip one in a lifetime. I close my eyes and I can see the sights and smell and taste NZ. From hiking in Nelson Lakes National Park to kayaking and biking, it was all wonderful.
    We will be back....”
    Romana Davies – Texas, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • First Class Trip

    “My adventure in Peru was amazing. My guide Zach was very knowledgeable and helpful with anything you could throw at him. The accommodations and crew and food were absolutely incredible. I highly recommend Active Adventures for your world trip journeys.”
    Andrew Reed – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, April 2018
  • Awesome

    “This was an awesome trip. I enjoyed every second of it. Enjoyed the people around me, I made some new friends. Amanda and Gokul were great. I got the cough and cold in the beginning of my trek. Amanda and Gokul were on top of their game in making me feel better. The porters were just amazing people, they carried our overly weighted duffel bags without a second's complaint.”
    Mae Stinnett – Alaska, United StatesEBC, April 2018
  • Tortuga with Pablo

    “We enjoyed living on the islands for this trip. It gave us a much better feel for the islands and the country. We felt like we were living it, not just visiting it. Pablo was passionate about the Galapagos Islands and committed to ecology. It was a very enjoyable trip.”
    Dave Lardinois – Wisconsin, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Great Fun, Interesting Trip

    “The Tapir trip in Ecuador was amazing. Lovely country, wonderful guide, Mauro. We got to see and experience so many different landscapes and adventures - including cycling down Cotopaxi Volcano, a walk around a lagoon near Cotopaxi, a night at a charming hacienda, views and swinging over cliffs in Banos, a lovely lunch near Banos, an Amazon waterfall hike that was challenging but terrific, a night at a rustic Amazon lodge with the sounds of the jungle lulling us to sleep, boat rides along the Napo River, a visit to a demonstration of local Amazon crafts, a visit to a wildlife rescue place on the Napo River, a beautiful thermal spa east of Quito with a lovely hike along a river wedged between two lush green mountains, and a final stay at a new, luxury hotel outside Quito near the airport. Mauro, our guide, told us many interesting facts about the country and was very attentive to our wishes and needs.”
    Bruce Smith – California, United StatesTapir, April 2018
  • Outstanding, Attentive Guides

    “We had a great tour including an amazing variety of terrains with beautiful scenery. I especially loved all the waterfalls. We had outstanding guides who were very attentive, professional and efficient.”
    Judy Evans – Wisconsin, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Perfect Way to Pack South Island Awesomeness into 7 days!

    “The title says it all. If you have a week to hit the highlights, this is the prefect trip. The route and sites selected were ALL amazing. The activities were accessible to a wide range of active abilities, and the guides were hands-down the best adventure guides I’ve had. Besides the incredible beauty the South Island offers at every turn, there were a few things that stood out for me that make Active Adventures the right choice. 1- Group size was perfect. 2- the logistics management of the guides. The guides are masters at anticipating your fun level and changing things up if needed (such a socked-in rain). 3- speaking of guides, they are knowledgeable, personable, and professional. They kept us on track and entertained. I can’t say enough about them! 4- Food and coffee is always flowing. I was always fed and prepped for activities with plenty of delicious New Zealand coffee stops. Also, much of the meals were made delicious and fresh by the guides! Active Adventures knows what they are doing, and it shows in the quality of their tours. Booking with them is a no-brainer! We’ll definitely be booking with them again.”
    Melissa Reyes – Texas, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • An Absolutely Stunning Trip

    “A magnificent myriad of worlds in one amazing week...Volcanoes, jungle, waterfalls, hot springs, hiking, biking, horseback riding, snow, tropics, bird watching, traditional artisan demonstrations... Our main guide, Mauro, was incredible - a wonderful interpreter, intuitive, intelligent and very knowledgeable (history, topography, geography, animal and plant life, characteristics of each town and village...) He and I share a love of birds so that was a special treat. He was also clear, direct and vigilant on any issues of safety, especially during physical challenges. We were always well taken care of.... Each local guide and proprietor were accommodating, personable and sincere. I often felt as if we were sharing in a little part of their lives instead of just being tourists. My traveling companion and I are intensely curious and learned so much about a beautiful country that we knew virtually nothing about, while having an unbelievable time! In addition to being regularly awestruck, we laughed a lot and had so many wonderful conversations. This experience will stay with me for the rest of my life...”
    Jamie Virostko – Virginia, United StatesTapir, April 2018
  • What an Adventure!

    “If you are looking for an escorted outdoor adventure, this is it! New Zealand's South Island is beautiful! Our guides, Daniel and Maddi, were wonderful. They have so much knowledge about the area and are always one step ahead. Just bring your active self, comfortable gear, and sit back. Active Adventures has the rest. We did the optional 3 day kayak package. You will not be disappointed! Thanks Active Adventures!”
    Renee Soerink – Washington, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Best Vacation Ever!

    “I decided to tag along with my friends on this trip, without having given too much thought about the Galapagos prior and it ended up being an amazing experience! We had ample opportunities to get up close to the wildlife and experience the unique environment. Pepo was a wealth of knowledge and taught us all so much about the geology, biology, history and culture of the islands. Going through this journey as a group was a wonderful experience, allowing us to connect and share our collective appreciation of the islands, their wildlife, and their people. I would highly recommend this adventure to anyone considering it and is looking for an engaging way to experience the islands up-close and take in all they have to offer.”
    Richmond Pagaduan – California, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • One of the Best Guided Adventure Trips

    “I’ve taken several trips overseas with different tour companies and Active Adventures is definitely the best! The guides Ash and Lauren were unbelievable! They made sure all of our dietary requirements were met and all of the meals (even during backpacking) were delicious and the best! They were amazingly strong (I don’t think any of us could have carried their packs) and Pipa (the 3rd guide who was with us due to our group size of 13) even carried another hiker’s 25lb pack plus her own! Ash was super knowledgeable with NZ’s history, trees, birds, local must eats and dos. They even provided us a list of restaurants to go to in Queenstown during our free day (I ended up spending 3 full days there after the trip and ate at most of the places on that list and every one of them was delicious!) they made the trip even more special besides the incredible scenery and the hard work of getting to the huts! The accommodations were excellent just wished we had more time to enjoy them!”
    Jessica Lo – Washington, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Best of the South Island

    “From start to finish, our trip was amazing. Starting with our knowledgable and capable guides who kept us on our Kiwi toes!! Jackie and Carrie were marvelous. Their attention to detail was amazing whether we were beginning a Great Walk or taking care of our meals. They exceeded my expectations for sure, as did the entire trip. New Zealand is a beautiful country and this was a great way to enjoy it!”
    Susan Hidalgo – North Carolina, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Soaring with the Condors

    “Patagonia is a wild and magical land carved from wind and glaciers. It's beauty is graced by crags, tarns and rainbows, its lofty peaks shrouded by the mists and washed clean by the frequent rains. It is a land only limited by one's own imagination. There were many times that I expected to round a bend in the trail only to find a group of dwarves with a wizard clambering by. Arturo with Active Adventures did an amazing job of introducing us to this breathtaking land. This was the first trek I've been on, and all the details were managed by AA which allowed me to just focus on this incredible adventure. I look forward to my next trip with them.”
    Rebecca Childs – Washington, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • EBC Trip March 2018

    “When I booked the trip, I booked with Active Adventures in spite of there being less expensive tour operators offering similar trips. I hoped that your company would offer a high-quality trip, and I was not disappointed. Mel and Bishal were always extremely professional, but at the same time full of fun. This made it very easy for us (clients) to have a marvellous experience from start to finish.
    Personally, I really enjoyed the "detour" via Khumjung on the way back to Namche Bazaar. It added another dimension to the trip.
    Thank you!”
    Sandra Graham – Gauteng, South AfricaEBC, April 2018
  • Stunning and Gorgeous

    “It was hard to return from the high of this trip. Every day held a new adventure. The scenery was stunning at all points. The food was delicious whether we ate out, or the guides cooked for us.
    Early in the trip a cyclone hit the West Coast where we were headed and the guides, with help from the home office, recovered quickly and seamlessly. This was the case two other times during our 14 days when the weather didn't cooperate. We're planning future trips!”
    Carrol Murray – Nebraska, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • "Sweet As" South Island Rimu tour with Ash & Astrid

    “Wow, the south island of New Zealand is "sweet as". Rimu takes you on an incredible trip of amazing sights... it is a good mix of physical challenges (don't underestimate the Nelson Lakes multi day hike or the "staircase" climb at Aoraki/Mt. Cook...challenging hiking days but with stunning natural views), satisfying food and frequent breaks during the travel days. Highlights include the two overnights at the Braemar sheep station by Lake Pukaki, Milford Sound experience, visit to the working sheep farm on Lake Wakatipu near Queenstown and the overnights at Lakehead and Angelus Huts in Nelson Lakes. Both Ash and Astrid are lovely young women who are confident and patient guides and are good ambassadors for the beauty of New Zealand and friendliness of the Kiwis. Plus they can tackle a tough hike then drive or cook for the group without any seeming effort. It was a fabulous trip and I can't wait to return to New Zealand with another Active Adventures tour.”
    Kristin Certain – Florida, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • Enjoyable and Accommodating

    “I've been on a lot of group tours, and this one by far was the most enjoyable. The scenery was stunning, the activities were easily adaptable for a variety of exertion levels, the guides were friendly, informative, and super organized. I was also very impressed by the on-the-fly creation of a modified itinerary for the two group members whose flight was delayed so that they didn't miss any of the sights. I will definitely travel with Active Adventures again!”
    Jennifer Lange – California, United StatesRimu, April 2018
  • EBC March 18

    “It was a great trip. Melissa and Bishal really took good care of us during the trip and after. We had a great time with other group members and porters. It is a lifetime experience that we will treasure forever.”
    Jenny Quan – California, United StatesEBC, April 2018
  • Yes to the North Island of New Zealand

    “About 7 years ago I spent over a month in the South Island and always planned on hiking in the North Island. This was the year. Active Adventures helped to make it a special trip, one that I will never forget. The hikes, other activities, accommodations, guides were excellent.”
    Kathy Gallo – Illinois, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Northern Patagonia with Active Adventures is a Must-Do

    “Our trip to New Zealand (South Island) with Active Adventures a couple of years ago was great, and our recent trip to Northern Patagonia with them was quite different and equally great. They know how to do it, both for groups of 14 or so (as we were in New Zealand) and for groups of just 5 (as we were in Patagonia). The right level of activity/adventure and great variety - we had the opportunity to be pushed if that is what we wanted on a particular day (like a hike with more elevation gain than we had done before) or, and this is critical, the individual freedom to ratchet that back at any time, with no pressure either way. As they say, "no worries". Our all-trip guide (Mayra) was great beyond words - knowledgeable, engaging, flexible (necessary, because the always unpredictable weather there can force itinerary changes), able to solve any problem - and always fun. And the local guides who joined us for hikes, kayaking, rafting, etc. were all terrific as well. We had experiences, many of them (some of which developed spur of the moment), that we will treasure forever.”
    Bruce Maximov – California, United StatesPuma, April 2018
  • Fabulous Overview of the South Island

    “This was a terrific trip which provided a fabulous overview of the South Island and included a fun range of activities (hiking, kayaking, boating, glacier trek, etc.) The small group size of 12 people was especially nice and guides Claire and Lauren were amazing. Claire (our lead guide) is a treasure. She is incredibly knowledgeable about the history of New Zealand and its various localities as well as the landscape we were experiencing. She included historical legends about different areas of the island which really was fun and she spontaneously added stops along the way such as the Chasm near Milford sound and a pub in Cardrona. She and Lauren were very attuned to the groups needs and exuded nothing but positive vibes throughout the trip. It also was particularly fun hiking portions of three different Great Walks as they are all so different.”
    Robin Werner – California, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • South Island Could Not be Better

    “We had a wonderful time on the South Island. The scenery, activities and accommodations were fantastic. It is truly a paradise, clean, sparsely populated. In addition, our guides were incredible. Knowledgeable, enthusiastic and a lot of fun!”
    Bob Goeltz – Missouri, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Wonderful North Island Trip

    “We had a great time on the North Island. Some great activities and very good guides.”
    Bob Goeltz – Missouri, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • South Island is Utopia

    “Well worth your money... Don't hesitate to go... the South Island is Utopia. Spectacular scenery everywhere, clean air, clean water, fresh food, variety of activities. I am 61 and had the time of my life on a jet boat, helicopter, 6-seater plane, sea-kayaking, biking. Slept in a hut, on a boat. Guides were fun, friendly, well-informed, responsible. Loved it and want to go back”
    Geri Goeltz – Missouri, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Wonderful Trip

    “Delightful exploration of many South Island treasures. Active Adventures knows how to pace each day for a fulfilling and enjoyable experience. Expert guides leave no room for disappointment!”
    Kevin Werner – California, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Adventure of a Lifetime! Bucket list✅

    “Claire & Holly’s Most Excellent Adventure! I felt privileged to be on their Manuka Tour. The guides can either make or break a trip, so I was thrilled to experience the best! I’m so impressed with their knowledge, fun spirit, culinary skills, and especially, their attention to details! I couldn’t believe how they catered to each individual’s needs or preferences! Of course, the scenery and hikes were amazing everywhere we explored! How can you go wrong with New Zealand landscape?! Top notch all the way!”
    Kathy Viola – California, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Manuka 2018

    “Our guides, Claire & Holly, were very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and helpful in every manner. They made the experience quite rewarding.”
    Ed Wiest – California, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • A Wonderful Trip

    “It was a wonderful trip. Our group was really fun and Holly & Claire are both real gems. We could not have been happier.”
    Tim Conarro – Colorado, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Put Patagonia at the Top of Your Trip List!

    “Words cannot truly describe the magnificent beauty of this region. Wild, remote, stunning and dramatic are just a few that come to mind. Combine this with a friendly, knowledgeable and supportive guide like Cahit, and an intrepid group of fellow travelers, and one truly has the trip of a lifetime. Finally, Active doesn't miss a beat with the details. This was our second tour with Active Adventures. We will most definitely be back for more!”
    Dean Altaras – Washington, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Excellent Taste of the South Island Walks

    “The 5 day Takahe trip was the perfect sampling of the South Island. Claire and Holly took great care of everything allowing us to take in the amazing and overwhelming beauty. Even when it rained 2 inches on us in one outing, they kept the group spirit high, kept us on track and made sure we got to still enjoy the sights. They personalized the trip, making sure we got great insights into history, culture and the plant/wildlife that make this place unique. Active Adventures did a great job preparing a wonderful itinerary, letting us know what gear we'd need and ensuring we got everything in on time. Logistics can be hard, but they made it a snap!”
    Melissa Delvecchio – Oregon, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Amazing

    “This trip was amazing. We had a brilliant time. Galapagos Islands are more than beautiful, organization was perfect and Pepo was the best guide we’d had in our lives. Thank you!”
    Marzi Dubiel – Malopolska, PolandTortuga, April 2018
  • So Much to Say Because the Trip was Beyond Great

    “This was a trip I had begun dreaming about over forty years ago. The two weeks went so fast and were so much more than I had imagined. The scenery was spectacular: rain forests, mountains, pristine lakes, clear rivers, waterfalls, range land, rolling hills, farmland, the Tasman Sea! Just as your brochure explains but in person the scenery is so much more. Active Adventures deserves credit for making our two weeks such an awesome experience.
    Each day we were given a variety of choices so we could ride or hike as little or as much as we wanted and most of us rode! Then our outstanding guides, Nick and Elder had a few surprises along the way like Glow Worm Caves, Hokitika jade, real made-in-front-of-you fruit ice cream (from the fruit you pick), the Espresso Bomb trailor (NZ knows how to make great coffee!) and endless waterfalls! Since this is more of a bicycling tour it is not surprising my husband and I spent the weeks in a group of eleven equally enthusiastic bicyclists (with a wide range of skill levels and needs) being guided by Nick and Elder, extraordinarily talented cyclists, hikers, coaches and guides. Nick and Elder seemed to work round the clock making sure everything was perfect for all of us and much of our joy from this trip come from their unending efforts to make it the best for each of us. Nick kept us briefed on what was next, what the weather might be like (always carry an extra layer in NZ as it is so unpredictable!), and he made us all feel safe and relaxed as he drove the narrow roads in NZ. Thanks, Nick! Elder, as “tail-end Charlie” encouraged those of us who lagged behind often just wanting to stop and take more photos. Sometimes he aided by taking photos, giving us riding tips and other times he simply let us know we were doing fine and it was okay to go at a slower pace. For me this was critical as I have been involved in three separate accidents (two involving vehicles and one caused by another cyclist) and can become inexplicably anxious. Nick and Elder were both non-judgmental when I chose to ride in the van a few times. Other times I surprised myself (as well as them I think) by taking off and zooming ahead absorbed in the scenery. Nick and Elder, aka “brothers from different mothers” are terrific cooks (breakfast, lunch and dinner), wonderful guides to the local places (I’m drooling just thinking of the Arrowtown Bakery’s delicious pies), and wonderful about keeping our van stocked with fruit and nutritious bars as well as NZ treats (hokey pokey, pineapple lumps). They kept our van windows clean (so critical for great photos) and even fixed the noise (someone stored rocks in the overhead?). Elder and Nick helped identify what we were seeing, told us Maori tales, fed us information on NZ and answered our questions. There were also numerous books for us on NZ in the van. Nick even took the time to consult his grandfather on one question. We shared riddles and answered their quizzes. Elder brought in his own perspective as a native of Peru (where my husband had lived as a child) and a guide in Ecuador and Nepal.
    Our group really bonded and cheered for each other. Near the end of the trip we called the office to see about getting the entire group their own Weka bike jerseys and we were successful much to the amazement of Nick and Elder (who totally deserve a percentage of the sales). It is really due to their love of NZ, bicycling and people as well as the support of the entire Active Adventures staff that we all had such a great time and wanted the Weka jersey as a way to keep the memories of our trip alive. Thanks to the entire team at Active Adventures!”
    Millie Meyer – New Mexico, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Great Way to Sample 3 of the Great Walks

    “Our guides, Holly and Claire, were knowledgeable, enthusiastic, fun and well organized. We would recommend this to anyone of any age (we're in our 70's) who enjoys wilderness hiking and climbing and viewing the beauty of New Zealand's Fiordland. They were great at keeping our group on track and cohesive in spite of the widely different paces of participants.”
    Dan Cope – Florida, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Best Hiking in the World

    “The hikes were amazing. The guides were very knowledgeable. The views were incredible. Great restaurants in the small towns.”
    Alan Lapointe – California, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Hiking New Zealand

    “Wonderful trip with outstanding guides.”
    Carol Lindahl – Arizona, United StatesManuka, April 2018
  • Worth It!

    “It wasn’t easy but worth the effort. Jaw-dropping scenery with unforgettable experiences including kayaking among icebergs, hiking on a glacier, watching dolphins play around our boat. An amazing journey!”
    Andrea Carver – Alberta, CanadaCondor, April 2018
  • A Trip to Do Twice!

    “The Tortuga Trip is a wonderful blend of land and sea, with a wonderful guide named Pepo. It is a delight to learn about the history of such a special place in the world, the uniqueness of its animals, the richness of the scenery, and the friendliness of its people. It was a grand adventure.”
    Cathy Leslie – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, April 2018
  • Not Enough Superlatives!

    “I don't have enough superlatives in my vocabulary to adequately describe this trip. Any adventure is about people first. The guides Rosario, Luis and especially Cynthia were knowledgeable, organized and most importantly great companions. We wanted to kidnap Cynthia and bring her back to Canada, but someone else beat us to it. We were very lucky with our fellow hikers, all interesting and generous people with a taste for adventure and fun. The accommodations were all good, but special kudos to the Patagonia Queen and its owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Again we were blessed with fantastic weather, the icing on the cake in this land of sublime beauty. Breathtaking is not too strong a word. Although we have dozens of fantastic photos; none of them can capture the magnificence of this area. I'm so glad I did this trip!”
    Ken Sanders – Ontario, CanadaCondor, April 2018
  • Blown Away (Literally)

    “One of the best trips - best trip leader, awesome local guides, and a FUN group of people. I travelled with my cousin and this is our 3rd Active trip- each of our trips can be associated with a certain weather condition and for this one it was the WIND! I have been back for almost 3 weeks and I am still in awe of all of the beauty in Patagonia!”
    Diana Ramos – California, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • A Total Delight

    “Everyone knows New Zealand will be gorgeous, but this trip was fabulous mostly because it was so well planned by Active Adventures, and so incredibly well led by our two guides, Katie and Astrid. They made everything seamless, positive and light, encouraging us in the tougher hikes all the while making endless arrangements and great food behind the scenes. They seriously upped the fun quotient. This knitted our group together and made us realize we were truly on the vacation of a lifetime.”
    Paula Alvary – Massachusetts, United StatesTui, April 2018
  • Amazing Adventure

    “This was a wonderful trip full of daily activities and lots of fun. Our guides, Daniel and Maya, were terrific and very knowledgeable. The best part was the 3 day trek which took us through some beautiful country and was really challenging. Cannot say enough about the trip and our trekking group as everyone was encouraging and always there to help.”
    Nancy Cooper – Ontario, CanadaRimu, April 2018
  • Comfort Zone

    “The most memorable thing that I've taken from my Active Adventure trips to New Zealand is that you're going to see and do things that will completely take you out of your 'comfort zone' and 'thrill you'. You're not sitting on a bus, and 'staring through glass at new worlds'... You are actually hiking those mountains, biking through those rainforests, and kayaking through those glacier lakes. At the end of the day, you and your fellow adventurers are sharing a glass of wine and feeling really proud about what you accomplished as a team. The guides are magnificent. They're with you every step of the way, and they prepare the most wonderful snacks, lunches and meals when that day is done. Their attention to detail and service is simply amazing. I doubt anyone could provide me a better time on vacation.”
    Johnnie Walker – Connecticut, United StatesKauri, April 2018
  • Epic Patagonia Adventure

    “The beauty of Patagonia was beyond anything I had imagined. So rugged, dramatic, and untouched. Our main guide, Cahit, and the other guides who joined us for specific parts of the trip were fabulous individuals. The logistics went off without a hitch, and we lucked out with the weather. Last, but definitely not least, our group was incredible. We gelled immediately and truly enjoyed being together. It was very hard to say goodbye!”
    Gigi Altaras – Washington, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • Rob's Rimu Review

    “The trip exceeded my expectations! It was the most fun I've had in a two week period. The hiking was enjoyable, and occasionly very challenging. Overall NZ is breathtaking via a hiker's perspective. Apart from the hiking spending time with my fellow travellers was very enjoyable, and our guides Ken and Pepper really made the trip as enjoyable as possible. Can't wait to go again with Active Adventures!”
    Rob Bozic – New South Wales, AustraliaRimu, April 2018
  • Kiwi Adventure

    “Wonderful guides in Jackie and Carrie. They bent over backwards for us!”
    Hector Hidalgo – North Carolina, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Incredible!

    “How does one begin?! NZ had been number one on my bucket list since before retiring almost 2 years ago. While eagerly awaiting my 'Weka' Trip, little did I imagine it would exceed my excited expectations! Beginning with Elder and Nick, our 2 excellent young guides, to the itinerary, equipment, gourmet meals, top-notch accommodations and congenial group, I could not have asked for a better balance of cycling & hiking adventures and touring sites. Elder and Nick’s hard work and planning 24/7 were key in making this such a fantastic trip! They demonstrated concern for everyone’s safety and welfare, expertise in biking and hiking, knowledge of the sites, NZ and history, and gourmet cooking skills. They encouraged and guided. Above all their integrity, patience, love of NZ and sense of humor made for an unforgettably fantastic experience.
    Thank you!”
    Deby Six – California, United StatesWeka, April 2018
  • Iguana Trip/Quito-Galapagos leg

    “We participated in the second half of the Iguana trip (a day in Quito and 6 days in the Galapagos Islands) and we loved it. The day in Quito was fun with highlights including a trip to the Equator, a visit to the historic quarter including the magnificent Iglesia de La Compania de Jesus and the winged Virgin Mary statue, La Virgin del Panecillo.

    Our Galapagos adventure began in Baltra where we were met by our guide, Zambo who was superb. Zambo is a native of Santa Cruz and has so much knowledge to impart which, coupled with a true love and pride for his islands, made for a very rich experience. Highlights for me were: the beautiful beach at Tortuga Bay, Santa Cruz, El Chato Tortoise Preserve in the Santa Cruz highlands where we encountered many giant tortoises, the hike up the Sierra Negra volcano on Isabela when the mists parted and the huge caldera came into view; kayaking on Isabela and seeing golden rays and my first blue footed booby and snorkelling in Cerro Tijeretas on San Cristobal. The fact that this is a land based tour made for a truly interactive holiday. The local people were without fail friendly and helpful. All accommodations were very clean and comfortable and everything moved along seamlessly with no hitches at all. The local company, GalaKiwi did a great job, and their experience shows. This is the first time I have been on a guided tour and for a destination like this I would highly recommend this company as many of the sights require local guides and the vast majority of the islands are designated national park land. All in all, a wonderful experience.”
    Gillian Lane – Massachusetts, United StatesIguana, April 2018
  • Excellence at its Best!

    “What more can I say?! The itinerary, natural and architectural beauty, guides, activities, transportation, hotels, food, all truly incredible. Mayra is a gem and it was like having a caring, highly competent family member with us all the way. I have traveled throughout much of the world and this is one place you do not want to miss!”
    Rita Carole – California, United StatesPuma, April 2018
  • March 'Kiwi' 2018

    “New Zealand sells itself. We could have rented a van like so many others and had a good time. However, our hosts, Jackie and Carrie, took us to the best places and the most authentic vendors. After our trip I felt like we had experienced the best of the South Island.”
    Bill Sandercock – Arizona, United StatesKiwi, April 2018
  • Condor 2018

    “Had an Amazing trip once again with the Active team! Cynthia was a great guide and accommodated and multi-tasked like no other! The Condor trip was everything I expected and thanks to Cynthia and the team aka guides and drivers for making it all happen! Looking forward to another great trip ahead! Thanks Active!”
    Starr Montoya – California, United StatesCondor, April 2018
  • A Great Adventure

    “My expectations were exceeded by this 8 day “Tui” adventure. With great weather and interesting travelling companions, my husband and I had a fabulous time. Our guides/leaders/cooks, Katie and Astrid, kept us entertained, informed and well fed throughout the entire week. Congrats to Active Adventures for being committed to showing people from other countries just how beautiful the South Island of New Zealand is. This “Tui” trek was simply a trip of a lifetime for someone who grew up on the prairies in Canada and now lives in Toronto.”
    Chris Conacher – Ontario, CanadaTui, March 2018
  • Amazed!

    “This was our third Active adventure so we had some pretty clear expectations and hopes for the trip. In almost all respects, this adventure far exceeded our expectations. The activities were all relevant and even though altitude played a minor role for the first half of our trip, our training and pharmaceutical preparations paid off. I was the oldest of the participants and was happy I was able to stay within sight of everyone though I'll admit I came to recognize people by their butts pretty quickly. The guides for both sections of the adventure were first rate and not only knew history but the flora and fauna as well. They were great 'cat herders' and got us to where we needed to be with time to spare. Active South America must have a PhD level training program in patience and compassion because these guys excelled at every turn. ASA was spot on in their descriptions of the activities but perhaps undersold how good the accommodations would be; for the most part we were in very, very nice hotels that seemed delightfully quaint and family run. We never felt like nameless folks just passing through. As for food, we figured we might lose a few pounds due to the high level of activity and being at altitude for a week. Not so, my friends. The food was fresh, tasty and doggone it, very, very plentiful. We found ourselves trying things we might not otherwise be interested in ... except for Mary Ann and Giuseppe, the two Guinea Pigs offered up for our dining pleasure. Nope, none of us went there. The bottom line for us was that at the end, we were amazed our trip had gone by so fast, that we had seen and learned so much and that we thoroughly enjoyed our guides and other tour members. All that said, some may be interested in an economic perspective so here it is: dollar-wise, the trip on the front end seems expensive but by some point during the trip, we came to the conclusion that it was an exceptional value for the experiences we had. It was a true bucket-list adventure for us and we are so happy we choose ASA to provide us the experience we've always hoped to have. Pura vida! (Mark & Sandy Hudson, Shelby, NC, USA)”
    Mark Hudson – North Carolina, United StatesIguana, March 2018
  • Amazing Guides

    “Our guides, Carrie and Jackie were amazing! They are great ambassadors for your beautiful country. Working as a team, they were on the spot for every detail. The meals were delicious and the accommodations were great. Not even a "wee bit of rain" dampened our adventure.”
    Irma Sandercock – Arizona, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • Great Trip

    “The trip was better than I had imagined. It was never a dream of mine to go to the Everest region but being there felt like a dream. Is that really Mt. Everest over there? Wow. The scenery was truly awesome, the hiking challenging and the camaraderie great among our small group. Amanda was a fine guide showing concern for all and Amrit,on his maiden voyage to the Everest region, was always helpful. The porter's work was greatly appreciated led by Dr. Suman who has a bright future ahead of him. This was an early season trip and the tea houses were really cold. This is no joke! Get a hot water bottle.”
    Drew Greenland – Connecticut, United StatesKhumbu, March 2018
  • Hiking through the Land of the Long White Cloud

    “After living 20 years in S.E. Alaska, walking in the rain was something I was hoping to avoid. But the spectacular views made it worthwhile and on clear days it was breathtaking. One of those clear days was Mt Cook and though all those steps to the overlook seemed a little daunting the view was worth it. Claire and Emma are outstanding and I doubt you could find a more competent pair. When option 1 and 2 were both closed because of slips (slides) Claire found an outstanding option 3. The friendliness of the people, lack of trash, clear drinkable water from nearly all lakes and streams, good food, beautiful scenery,and great leaders and companions made for a great trip.”
    Bob McGregor – Washington, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • Like Travelling with Really Interesting Friends

    “I enjoyed everything about this trip. I'm 67 and it was the right amount of activity (hiking, rafting, kayaking) and the right amount of down time. Traveling with Mayra and the other guides was like traveling with really interesting friends.”
    Susan Albert – California, United StatesPuma, March 2018
  • Magical Journey

    “This trip was spectacular! It exceeded my expectations! The scenery was majestic and the food and culture was awesome.”
    Mike Wang – California, United StatesJaguar, March 2018
  • The Best!

    “This trip was just right for me. It was challenging, but not to the degree of going to Base Camp would have been. We saw the beauty of the Khumbu Valley and the experience of trekking in the Everest region without going above 12,500ft. Our guides were just fabulous! Amanda was very conscientious and knowledgeable about the area and hiking at high altitude. Our Nepalese guide smoothed the way through tea houses, lunch stops, and porter support. We couldn't have asked for a better team of guides! It was unforgettable!”
    Ginny Nayden – Maryland, United StatesKhumbu, March 2018
  • Wonderful

    “I used wonderful, but you could pretty much choose any superlative you wanted to and it would probably apply to this trip. Patagonia is a beautiful, inspiring place. Being able to experience it with knowledgable, fun guides like Cahit, Anna, and Cristian is a true gift. Throw in nearly perfect weather (which in Patagonia is very unusual), and a fun, easy-going group of companions, and you feel like you've won some sort of trip lottery. I will never forget this trip, and can't wait to book the next one.”
    Jay Perry – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Great Adaptation to Changing Conditions.

    “We had a wonderful time on the Kiwi trip. I was especially impressed with how well Button, Liana, and the AA team handled the situation when a cyclone stranded us briefly in Franz Josef and closed the road we had been planning to take. We didn't necessarily see exactly the same places we were scheduled for, but the replacements were fun too. It was a great job of dealing with a difficult situation. And Milford Sound is a spectacle beyond belief.”
    Doug Sprugel – Washington, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • The Bodkin's March 2018 Tortuga Trip

    “The trip was fantastic, every detail was thoughtfully considered. Our guide, Pablo, was superb, his knowledge, enthusiasm, and presentation resulted in a trip that was educational, interesting and entertaining. Pablo and Paoulo made sure that everyone was comfortable and safe during activities and the offsite staff was accommodating of every need. The Galapagos Islands and their natural and human history offer unique windows into our world.”
    James Bodkin – Washington, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Fantastic Trip

    “I loved every bit of this trip - the activities, the people, the wonderful creatures we encountered, the local food, the accommodations. Even the weather cooperated! But I must say that our guide Zambo's knowledge, enthusiasm, and kindness were what really made this trip so special! His love for his country and positive attitude were contagious, and we learned so much while having such fun!”
    Susan LaHoda – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Incredible Trip

    “The Tui trip was absolutely incredible. I couldn't have imagined a better way to explore New Zealand's South Island. It was an 8 day whirlwind of adventure, and everything was impeccably coordinated. Simon and Liana took care of every detail, while making sure we all had a blast. The accomodations were unique, the food was plentiful, and the days were jam-packed with memorable activities. It was an unforgettable experience - thanks Active!”
    Brittany Gibbons – Nevada, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Tui Adventure

    “This trip was all I had hoped for and then some. I expected beautiful scenery and exciting activities, but I did not expect the personal touch from our guides. One of the group members mentioned chips and salsa... that night we had chips and salsa to go with our appetizers. They knew I love birds, so I was introduced to every bird possible - along with descriptions of the birds’ personalities and habits. There seemed to be no end to Dani and Emma’s knowledge about New Zealand and that made a huge impact on our trip! We all felt like family by the end of the week, and for a person traveling alone, that is a wonderful gift!”
    Janet Slover – Texas, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Hike + Bike South Island

    “Our Weka trip was AWESOME from start to finish. The South Island has so many wonderful locations, and all those we rode or hiked through were outstanding. The trip avoided crowded locations for all but the most iconic venues - Aoraki, Milford Sound - which I certainly appreciated. The result was a feeling of remoteness most fitting for an adventure trip. As a competitive mountain biker, I was worried that the rides would be too tame and boring. Not the case! The surroundings were always deeply interesting, and I was able to add riding in various ways to get a great workout every day. The capper was our day off in Queenstown, when (together with our guides Nick and Elder, and cheered on by Ellie and Tess) I was able to race in the Motatapu MTB Race! WAY too much fun.
    Our tour group really came together, laughing and cheering each other on for the whole 14 days. Some really great conversations in the bus, on the trail, at meals. Folks went out of their way to support and encourage each other. This was set in motion by our fabulous tour guides, Nick and Elder. They made every aspect of the trip fresh and exciting, from natural history, to human history, geology, current NZ conditions. Great senses of humor, really engaged every one of us. Managed the whole trip with impeccable dexterity - so pro! Yet so spontaneous. And, not to be taken for granted at all, Nick is a great driver.
    We will gladly look to tour with you all again, especially a bike trip.”
    David Redding – California, United StatesWeka, March 2018
  • How Will We Top This?!

    “I was a bit anxious about our trip, since we've never gone on a guided tour before. But Katie and Astrid quickly put aside any worries. The trip was amazing and the scenery beautiful. Our guides were wonderful - they were competent, entertaining and fun. They have set the bar high for any future vacations - how will we top this?”
    Monique Scharlotte – New Hampshire, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Better Than I Imagined!

    “Visiting Patagonia was a dream of mine, forever and this amazing trip was better than I could have possibly imagined! Everything was perfect and I can't wait to travel with Active Adventures again!”
    Laura Goldner – New Hampshire, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Pure Perfection

    “Loved every second of the trip - the guides, the group, everything was absolutely fantastic. Including the unpredictable Patagonia weather - which was just about perfect for the two week duration of the trip. Would recommend to anybody who enjoys the outdoors - what an adventure!”
    Goranka Bjedov – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Our Perfect Vacation!

    “We’ve been home from our Kauri trip a couple weeks now and I’m still on cloud nine! This was the most amazing experience: the hiking was challenging but incredible, the food was exquisite, the scenery and beauty of New Zealand was pure paradise! My daughter and I began the trip as non-hikers and just wanted to experience a new place, we left as two people that plan to do many more hiking trips and can’t wait to join Active Adventures again. I can tell when I explain how great this trip was to my friends/family that they just can’t quite comprehend how perfect and amazing this trip actually was, I guess they will just have to join me next time! One last thing, our guides Andy and Jo were both incredible. They made every single moment of our time special, educational, and fun. From Andy’s explanations of everything “Kiwi”, to Jo’s delicious cooking, and everything in between, they really made our experience perfect!
    We can’t wait until we join you again!”
    Chris Rosman – Nebraska, United StatesKauri, March 2018
  • This Was an Awesome Adventure!

    “The Condor trip was absolutely wonderful. The combination of the itinerary and guides could not have been better. It is definitely at the top of all time best trips. I can't wait for the next trip which my wife is already investigating.”
    Wayne Goldner – New Hampshire, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Beautiful Scenery and Great Hikes

    “My husband has wanted to do this trip for several years. I hesitated as the Refugio stays were way out of my comfort zone. The whole trip was great, and even the Refugio’s were ok. Our guide Cynthia was just amazing - she knows what she’s doing, is prepared for everything, and was very encouraging. I really don’t know how she did it all! We were with a great group of people, and feel we have gained new friends that we hope to meet on another trail some day.”
    Cathy Tileston – Florida, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Active Adventure Sums it Up!

    “The company name pretty much sums up this trip "Active"! This adventure provides an excellent overview of the South island's geography, history and culture. Activities are diverse, varied and interesting. The full day schedules are extremely rewarding. Can't think of a better way to experience the South Island.”
    Bob Wigmore – British Columbia, CanadaRimu, March 2018
  • Loved the trip!

    “Surprised the age of the entire group was retired except for my wife and I. We had a blast. Lots of learning. Lots of good food. Lots of amazing hikes! Lots of cows. A decent amount of rain. Wouldn't change a minute of it (except maybe the rain...but that just became part of the experience.)

    Also, when they suggest bringing gloves for the Tongariro Crossing, they aren't kidding. Don't make that mistake. I ended up wearing socks at mittens. Thank goodness my guide was prepared! ”
    Nick Spears – Virginia, United StatesKauri, March 2018
  • Just do it!

    “If anyone is on the fence about going, just do it! It was a lot of fun.

    Nick Spears – Virginia, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Our trip to the Galapagos exceeded expectations in every way. All transports and activities were extremely efficient - there was never any waiting around. We had a full plate of activities, with just the right amount of down time. Fabulous!”
    Mary Porter – Maryland, United StatesTortuga, March 2018
  • Patagonia at its Best

    “This was a fantastic trip which was well planned with quality places to stay, eat, and view the wonders of Patagonia. The guides were all excellent and knowledgeable making the trip super informative. Other activities such as kayaking, glacier hike, and mountain biking added to the exploration of a very unique and diverse environment. The transportation from locations was very comfortable. The Patagonia of Chile and Argentina was stunning and the organization by Active Adventures created the perfect experience.”
    Donna Small – Oregon, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Patagonia

    “I loved the Condor adventure with Arturo. It was breathtaking, challenging, historical, and FUN. I loved every minute and will never forget my South American experience. Arturo was the best, and his sense of humor kept us laughing all the time. I would love to repeat the trip but will take another Active Adventures which are the best and perfect for my lifestyle.”
    Cynthia Rothrock – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Fun in the South

    “What an amazing time we had with two wonderful, fun guides and another couple!!! We went to places and did things we would not have experienced if we had not been on the tour. We feel that our time on the tour gave us a great feel for what this amazing country has to offer. We want to come back!!!! Thank you, Ash and Tess for being the best of company!!!!”
    Pam Moller – Queensland, AustraliaTui, March 2018
  • Sun in the North

    “A wonderful 5 days travelling around the ocean-hugging North. New activities (namely sandboarding and snorkelling) were a hit and the inclusion of a Maori cultural element was most appreciated.”
    Peter McWhinney – Queensland, AustraliaKauri, March 2018
  • Wonderful Trip with Great Friends.

    “We had a group of 4 couples on the "Tui trip" and had a wonderful experience. The guides were fabulous and extremely knowledgable. They were at their best when the weather (Cyclone Gita) threw us a curveball. (That's a baseball term. Sorry you cricket lovers)!”
    Bobby Upp – Louisiana, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • Excellent introduction to the North Island!

    “Excellent introduction to the North Island! Andy and Jo couldn't have been better!”
    Ed Zerambo – Arizona, United StatesKauri, March 2018
  • Wonderful Tour of South Island

    “Staff were really helpful in planning stages of this trip, and our guides were so knowledgeable and personable; they made the trip the gem that it was.”
    Carlotta Richard – Oregon, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “This was such an amazing trip! Our guides Ash and Astrid did a fantastic job. Everyday was met with amazing views and challenging activities like kayaking, biking and hiking. Two weeks felt like a month because we did so much in one day but there was still some down time to enjoy the beauty that is New Zealand. A must for anyone who wants to be active in New Zealand.”
    Kilo Piedra – California, United StatesRimu, March 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations

    “This is a trip that can be enjoyed by all since the hikes can be modified on different levels. Beautiful scenery every day!”
    Meryl Stein – Texas, United StatesKiwi, March 2018
  • Guided Trips are the Way to Go!

    “I had been wanting to hike in New Zealand for some time, and finally had enough time off. Trying to figure out the hut system, what to see and how to get around seemed a bit overwhelming. Even moreso since I was traveling solo. Active looked to be a great way to travel without having to stress about the planning, travel, etc. Though I had never traveled like this before, I saw the places I wanted to travel to, and others I would have likely not have found alone. Everyone on the trip was pleasant and easy to talk to, friendly and, like me had a great time. Our guides, Katie and Astrid, really made the trip with their upbeat attitudes, informative revelations on everything we saw, continual answering to our sometimes badgering questions and always being ready to help out.”
    Henry Shenk – Louisiana, United StatesTui, March 2018
  • One. More. Time.

    “What to say? I probably should have done the 2 week North Island trip, too. Only so many vacation days, sadly. It was so wonderful. Cyclones included. Andy and Jo were so much fun and wanted us all to have a great time. I would book it again...and again....and again. ”
    Becky McKenna – Massachusetts, United StatesKauri, March 2018
  • Amazing!

    “I am not sure I have the right words to describe my experience. All I can say at this moment is, 3 weeks later I am still feeling very much inspired to continue my love for travel and exploration. Ash and Astrid we're the bees knees! No doubt they thought we were nutzo but we had so many laughs and good meals together. New friends were made! ”
    Becky McKenna – Massachusetts, United StatesRimu, March 2018
  • Amazing!

    “I am not sure I have the right words to describe my experience. All I can say at this moment is, 3 weeks later I am still feeling very much inspired to continue my love for travel and exploration. Ash and Astrid we're the bees knees! No doubt they thought we were nutzo but we had so many laughs and good meals together. New friends were made! ”
    – , Rimu, March 2018
  • Jodi and Renee's Manuka

    “The trip was incredible! Fantastic itenerary, great food, good people. I couldn’t have imagined better!”
    Jodi Welborn – Colorado, United StatesManuka, March 2018
  • Weka

    “Really, really liked this trip. Of course the bike trails and scenes were spectacular, but the food and the people and the guides made it extra special. Everyday was a whirlwind of adventure. Thank you.”
    Peter Hodson – Ontario, CanadaWeka, March 2018
  • Memorable Experience ... Seasoned, Service-centric Guides

    “Fast-paced tour with good variety of activities. Enjoyed the lead & care of experienced Guides. We were truly blessed with great weather the whole trip!”
    Doi Mei Vivian Chan – California, United StatesCondor, March 2018
  • Best Ever!

    “Trip of a Lifetime for sure! I’m still on a NZ High :-D))
    Thanks to Nick B & Melissa for their knowlegde & Expertise experience, which made our trip successful & FUN! With their encouragement, I was able to challenge myself & push beyond what I thought my abilities were.......THANK YOU!!! Such a pleasure getting to know Nick & Mel, we were spoiled & enjoyed every minute of this adventure with them. Highly recommend Active Adventures NZ making dreams come TRUE!”
    Wendy Woods – Montana, United StatesTui, March 2018
Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure