Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Spectcular In Every Respect

    “This was a fabulous trip with spectacular scenery, guides, food and people. I joined my aunt, mom and dad for their first retirement adventure and the trip exceeded all of our expectations. Our Chamonix and Active Adventure guides made sure everyone in the group had a very memorable experience.”
    Meaghan Wheeler – Wyoming, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • What a Way to Celebrate Retirement

    “We chose this trip to celebrate retirement and it couldn't have been better. From fabulous guides to spectacular vistas, amazing foods to great accommodations, from varied experiences to local history in 3 different countries, this trip couldn't have been more perfect. The pacing of varied activities and the enthusiasm and professionalism of Jean-Marc, Andy and Karin made this an amazing way to start our retirement.”
    Patty Wheeler – Massachusetts, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Danny was Awesome!

    “Danny was an awesome guide. His enthusiasm for the culture of Peru really comes through. He is also very knowledgeable about the history. He brought us to great restaurants so we were able to enjoy the amazing food.”
    Katy Yeager – California, United StatesIguana, October 2018
  • Mt Blanc

    “Excellent local guide who ensured we all had a food and cultural experience as well as awesome mountains.”
    Barbara Wenzel – New York, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Land of the Long White Cloud

    “A fabulous trip with a small but lovely group of like-minded travellers. Well paced and a mix of well known and off the beaten track places which show the true beauty of this amazing country. Loved the variety and the attention to detail. Thank you to my fellow travellers and our amazing guides.”
    Barbara Anderson – Queensland, AustraliaRimu, October 2018
  • What a Way to See New Zealand!

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our time in New Zealand with Active Adventures. New Zealand is a beautiful country with lots to see, but seeing it in an active way really gives you a chance to appreciate so many things you wouldn't get a chance to otherwise. But above that, the guides and staff with Active Adventures couldn't have been better. We had so much fun with Nick and Maddi! They were helpful, knowledgeable, adaptable, kind and friendly.”
    Tom Absher – Washington, United StatesTui, October 2018
  • Once in a Lifetime

    “A great way of experiencing a new culture and to appreciate nature. In the process, you make new friends in your guides and fellow travelers. You finish your journey with a sense of accomplishment that has forever imprinted in your memories. ”
    Saumeel Mehta – Florida, United StatesEBC, October 2018
  • Jaguar Trip September 23rd

    “The trip was amazing! I loved the group and the fearless leader. I can’t say enough about Erick. He was amazing, kind and lots of fun. I would absolutely book another trip with Active Adventures. I’m looking forward to future trips. Thank you so much for such an amazing trip! ”
    Lynn Wright – Massachusetts, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • Mont Blanc

    “The Tour de Mont Blanc was amazing. Both the Active guide (Jo) and the local guides (Bernadette & Isabelle) were amazing and it was a true pleasure to get to experience the Alps with them. The food was amazing (the cheeses were delicious and tasted even better in the stunning mountain settings where it was eaten). Beautiful views, great experiences and wonderful people made for an amazing trip. Thank you!”
    Jennie Castleton – British Columbia, CanadaTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Everything was wonderful...the biking, the Lares Trail hike and the jungle. The food was amazing! Erick was the best guide and made sure everyone’s needs were met.”
    Pam Witcraft – Wyoming, United StatesJaguar, October 2018
  • New Zealand....a MUST do trip!!

    “Amazing country.... fantastic sights to see... great guides... overall wonderful experience, especially doing it with my son!!”
    Jake Weinstein – Quebec, CanadaTui, October 2018
  • Spectacular!

    “Yes, the Dolomiti landscape is spectacular and this trip brought me right in it! I loved our guides Richard and Paolo, who were highly knowledgeable, fun and exercise machines. The weather was perfect, the food delicious and plentiful, the lodging exceeded my expectations, the work outs were just right, and I had a lovely group with which to share this very memorable journey.”
    Monica Aranguren – Massachusetts, United StatesDolomiti, October 2018
  • Tour du Mont Blanc

    “This trip was the most challenging trip I have done but the most spectacular. Breathtaking scenery, perfect weather, great company, too much cheese and wine but I earned it. I have already recommended this trip to others.”
    Kristen Wiltshire – New South Wales, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, October 2018
  • Marvellous 'Kea' trip

    “Can't recommend the family Kea trip enough. Our guide Mel seemed to have endless energy and inspired us all to relax, play and enjoy.”
    Jessica Upton – Oxon, United KingdomKea, October 2018
  • A Fantastic Trip!

    “A wonderful trip, perfectly planned. Everything was spot on and I had a wonderful time. Kim and Shree were also impeccable; the perfect balance of personable but professional. They were so much fun!”
    Hannah Conibere – North Yorkshire, United KingdomAST, October 2018
  • A Piece of Heaven

    “This was my 1st Active Adventures trip but not my last. We had 13 participants with 3 professional guides, our Trip Leader, Joanna McHugh, a native hiking guide, and expert kayaking guide, Giuliano. These guides worked so well together and made the trip such fun for us all while revealing this beautiful area to us. Unlike my granite clad mountains of New Hampshire, these hikes were so green passing through summer grazing pastures with ”
    Cecelia Peacock – New Hampshire, United StatesDolce Vita, October 2018
  • Amazing Trip

    “My wife and I decided to come to New Zealand because we love hiking and mountains, and it was at the top of both of our bucket lists. We were able to get the time off to do the trip right (17 days) and made it into a 5 year wedding anniversary present to ourselves. We originally planned to do everything ourselves, but quickly got overwhelmed by the amount of work that was going to take. We searched for guided trips, and were thrilled to find Active Adventures because of the overnight backpacking portions of the trip. Everything on the trip worked out great! Koru (our guide) was amazing! As a Maori, he had unparalleled knowledge of the land, customs, and beliefs of the people of New Zealand. It was very obvious that he loves his country, and loves to share it with like-minded travelers. I asked him about ten thousand questions throughout the trip, and he had an answer for pretty much every one. The hiking was amazing, the people friendly, and the time well enjoyed. My wife and I will definitely be back to Active Adventures for another trip somewhere else in the world!”
    John Martino – Virginia, United StatesWinter Rimu, October 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “One of the most beautiful places on earth! The natural wonder - day after day - of the Annapurna Sanctuary is awe-inspiring, and watching the sun rise on Annapurna South was definitely the highlight. The knowledgeable and friendly Active Adventures guides and porters made this trek a fun and educational experience.”
    Daniel Meloy – DC, United StatesAST, October 2018
  • Winter Rimu

    “This trip was simply amazing. Being able to explore the South Island of New Zealand with someone catering to you made it that much more enjoyable. I didn’t have to plan out meals, where I should go or anything! I loved having a local guide show me New Zealand. I highly recommend Active Adventures. ”
    Alyssa Bass – Texas, United StatesWinter Rimu, September 2018
  • Well Paced Trip with Breathtaking Views

    “There are not many trips where pretty much everywhere you look has a good view. This was one of those few trips. The activities were very well paced as well.”
    Jason Waitkins – New York, United StatesDolomiti, September 2018
  • A New Appreciation for Animals and Nature

    “This trip opened my eyes to all of the incredible wildlife and nature that exists on the Galapagos Islands, but also carried over to when I returned home. I started to notice and appreciate all the little things around me more often, so I am truly grateful for what this trip has given me in my life.”
    Sydney Donati-Leach – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, September 2018
  • Tour du Mont Blanc

    “Wonderful hiking adventure with spectacular views of the Alps and their glaciers. Our guides were well informed and very helpful in getting us over any "rough spots". Our group of hikers was fun, varied and really enhanced the experience. The wine, cheese, and bread were spectacular and our picnics were delicious and I would have gained 5 pounds if it wasn't for all the hiking!”
    Vicki Cefola – Pennsylvania, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime for Body, Mind, and Soul

    “Having done an Active trip in New Zealand a few years ago, I was prepared for great hikes, amazing scenery, and excellent hospitality. I wasn't prepared for how much the Mustang trip would change my soul, however. The hikes were challenging, but all doable. Our guides kept our group at a perfect pace which allowed plenty of time for photos and taking in the breathtaking views (day after day after day)! As with all Active trips, the leaders handle every detail, leaving you free to soak in the culture and expand your mind, whether learning about Buddhism, the economy, or cuisine. But the most special thing on the Mustang trip for me was how deeply it touched and replenished my soul. Away from the busy lives and noise which clutters our society, I fell into a rhythm which allowed me to be present for each step of our journey. I learned to let go of the anxiety of what is to come and the sadness of what was left behind. A huge part of that can be credited to our guides, DK, Shree and Gokul who led me along the paths of Mustang not only physically, but also spiritually. They shared so much of their world, of their food, their culture, their passions, their patience. If you've ever considered taking a trek, do this one. Your spirit will thank you.

    And as far as some of the practical things of the trip go... Food was incredible! Gokul and his team got fresh meat, eggs, and produce at every chance, ensuring healthy and delicious meals and first-rate service. I'm still missing my morning tea service! Knowing how to cook at a camp, I was astounded at the variety of foods and enjoyed learning chef's secrets at many stops. The camping was awesome. Tents were spacious and sleeping mats and bags were very comfortable. Even better, the team set them up and broke them down each day. Like our other Active trip, we followed the packing list to a "T" and were glad. They know what you need and what you don't need so just follow the list. And truly, if you don't have anything, just buy it in Kathmandu (cheap and great selection of gear). My only thought to add was I wish I'd brought a swim top and pair of board shorts so that I could use the outdoor streams and hoses in a couple of camps to clean up. Also, a pair of slides would have been handy for slipping on for night time bathroom breaks from the tent without dealing with laces or taking off socks. The altitude was challenging, but not problematic. Most of our group took Diamox, but a few of us didn't. I wasn't able to do any higher altitude training before the trip, but regular hikes of 10+ miles and lots of up and downs prepared me well.

    Overall, the best trip of my life. Thank you Active!”
    Jane Kurtz – Oregon, United StatesMustang, September 2018
  • Hike of Rifugio Crespi - Day 2

    “The hike of Rifugio Crespi was my favorite! I loved the sound of the bells as we passed the herd of cows, the beautiful chalets in the hamlet and the delicious lunch with local cheeses and beers and the great capuchino!!”
    Ivette Alonso-Triack – San Juan, Puerto RicoDolce Vita, September 2018
  • Mt. Blanc Trip

    “We had a great time and loved our guides and the views.”
    Renee Scott – California, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Heaven in the Alps

    “What a beautiful 8 days in the Alps surrounding Mont Blanc! Breathtaking views every day complemented by a picnic lunch of local cheeses and charcuterie. The kayaking and bike ride were a great way to add variety to the hikes. Loved the towns of Chamonix and Courmayeur in particular.”
    Curt Weber – Nebraska, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Pierre's Tour du Mont Blanc

    “I thought the trip was fantastic, The scenery was remarkable. The Guides were awesome. I recommend this trip for any avid hiker. I say avid as the days can be long and requires you to be prepared.”
    Pierre Pelletier – Quebec, CanadaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • The Most Surreal Trip Ever!

    “Hiking in the Alps has always been a dream, and this trip went beyond my expectations. The knowledgeable guides were awesome, the hikes, though sometimes tough, were more than worth it with the scenery and breathtaking views. So surreal! The weather made it all perfect with beautiful blue skies and lots of sunshine. The lunch picnics, with bare feet in the high alpine meadows will be among my favorite memories. Awesome trek!”
    Vivian Pelletier – Quebec, CanadaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Simply Amazing!

    “This is our second time with Active and we couldn't be more pleased, the care taken to look after us, the food! The stunning accommodations were simply awesome! Richard was very attentive and very helpful with knowledge, he was really a lot of fun! Would recommend active to everyone! Loved loved every moment! Thanks so much for another amazing adventure!”
    Beth Dunphy – Nova Scotia, CanadaDolomiti, September 2018
  • Fantastic!

    “Couldn't be more pleased! Had an awesome time! This is our 2nd trip with Active, cant wait for our next one!!”
    Ron Dunphy – Nova Scotia, CanadaDolomiti, September 2018
  • Challenging Hike!

    “This was another wonderful hiking adenture with Active. It was more challenging than expected, but we enjoyed every minute!”
    Benny Benson – Puntarenas, Osa, Costa RicaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • An Amazing Adventure

    “The Tour du Mont Blanc with Active Adventures was fantastic. Everything you could need was factored into the trip. Jo, Jean Marc and Karen were fantastic guides, providing information and support along the way. The days were challenging but very enjoyable. The accommodation and food were excellent. The variety of experiences were well organised and made the most of your time away. The best outdoor holiday I have ever experienced.”
    Dorothy Campbell – New South Wales, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Mustang Was an Amazing Trip That Delivered on So Many Levels

    “The tremendous organisation by Active Adventures meant everything was covered even when the unexpected happened. The Guides, our local support team and the other people on this trip were a very big part of why the trip was so enjoyable. Our plane flight from Pokhara to Jomsom was cancelled due to weather but then we ended up going by helicopter, it was fantastic. The majestic and vast vistas of the Mustang Region were ever changing with the light and different rock formations. The centuries old monasteries gave an insight into the people's culture, as did staying in the villages and appreciating their way of life. It was wonderful having our own local chef on the trek, we were so well looked after with the quality and freshness of the food. The guides were so careful about setting the pace for the trek to take into account the altitude. I really enjoyed the trekking, there was alot of up and down but there were plenty of breaks and things to see too. I found myself getting stronger as we went along, I overcame some personal challenges and at times I was very moved by what I heard and observed. The trip made a big impact on me and I highly recommend it.”
    Annette Esposito – Victoria, AustraliaMustang, September 2018
  • The Dolce Vita trip is Living the Good Life!

    “If hiking in some of the most breathtaking scenery and dipping your feet in the cool waters of Lake Orta or Lake Como is your idea of "living the good life" then this is the trip for you. The guides were knowledgeable and took us to places that were interesting and beautiful. Our group had fun together and I loved how accommodating the guides were to give each person the experience they wanted based on their physical level. This was my third Active Adventure trip and I keep coming back because they are so well organized and make sure that you have a trip that will stay with you for years to come.”
    Janet Anderson – Louisiana, United StatesDolce Vita, September 2018
  • Wonderful way to see Northern Italy, the Alps and the Lakes

    “The Dolce Vita is an excellent way to be hosted and genuinely taken care of as you undertake a couple of wonderful hikes in the northern Italian Alps, then proceed to the famous Lakes to see and kayak on Lake Como and Lake d'Orta. All this, whilst enjoying sumptuous Italian cuisine and their excellent wines, not to forget the daily gelato.”
    Varina Nissen – Queensland, AustraliaDolce Vita, September 2018
  • New Zealand Winter Rimu

    “Our Winter Rimu trip was fantastic from beginning to end. We had a few travel snafus getting into New Zealand but Active Adventures was easy to reach when we needed them and once picked up, Koru immediately put us at ease and took over the hard work. Accommodations throughout were great and Koru and Lauren made some excellent food for us to enjoy throughout. We especially enjoyed the two overnight trips to Aspiring Hut and Welcome Flat Hut. We also appreciated the flexibility of both guides to do more or less activity each day depending on how everyone was feeling. Not having to worry or think about what was next on the trip helped us to relax and fully immerse ourselves in the experience. Both Koru and Lauren were extremely knowledgeable about local culture as well as the flora and fauna of New Zealand. There were very few questions we asked that they couldn't answer. Great trip! ”
    Allison See – Ohio, United StatesWinter Rimu, September 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “The Tour du Mont Blanc is an amazing trip, made even more so by Active Adventures Europe and our phenomenal guides. It's challenging in parts, but the beauty of this area makes every step worth it. Our guides made such a difference...they not only guided us safely through the trail, they kept us motivated every step of the way. I'm now a big fan of Active Adventures, and can't wait to try another tour with them.”
    Paula Gregory – Colorado, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “This was the trip of a lifetime. We walked from Jomsom to Lo Manthang, and beyond, over 100 miles in 12 days. Each day presented new challenges: high passes up to 13,500ft, and long stretches of "Nepali flat" undulations. During the long days, I felt myself getting stronger each day, until the two 14 mile days were easily taken in stride. I learned so much about Tibetan Buddhism and about this hidden and unspoiled region of Nepal. I will never forget our guides, the Nepali team, and the team of hearty guests. I highly recommend this trek to all who seek adventure.”
    Susan Sevilla – California, United StatesMustang, September 2018
  • Perfect Trip!

    “The trip was planned, coordinated and executed by Active Adventures to perfection. While the guides on all trips have been great, Holly was superb. She couldn't have been more attentive and fun. While I just got home last week, I'm already planning my next Active Adventure.
    Kendall”
    Kendall Montgomery – Texas, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Mont Blanc Tour 2018

    “Another fantastic trip by AA. There is nothing you could do to improve! The guides were the best - very knowledgeable and flexible. It takes the right personality to deal with a variety of clients. These ladies have the right personal and professional skills. The lodging and meals were grand as were our daily picnic lunches. We were very fortunate to see some of the UTMB runners! I highly recommend to anyone who is an avid hiker.”
    Ginger Kelly – Colorado, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Eataly and Just Ten-minutes More

    “Eataly, as our group called the trip, after a well-known food emporium in Italy and the United States, also describes one of the highlights of it. In addition to spectacular scenery especially near Alagna, the village closest to Switzerland, the hiking and kayaking were what I expected.

    Alas, I’m probably the first person to arrive on an Active Adventure hiking trip with a torn meniscus, the result of an immediately previous trip en route.

    As I was limited to kayaking, the guides, Jo, who I hiked with in New Zealand and known for being the very supportive ten-minutes-more guide, and the two Italian guides, Andrea for hiking and Guiliano for kayaking were excellent and extremely well-qualified.

    The accommodations, especially in Alagna and Bellagio were terrific, with a few glitches at a couple of others, the result of electric storms.

    La Dolce Vita was a sweet trip, easily accessible, and fun. ”
    Julie Semel – New York, United StatesDolce Vita, September 2018
  • Magnificent

    “Loved this tour! We were fortunate enough to be the only 2 people on it so were totally spoilt by our guides Andy, Suzanne and Holly. Andy and Suzanne were so knowledgeable and always looked out for us. They catered for our level of fitness, therefore we completed our days hiking with enough time to have a relaxing coffee or beer. So glad we trained for this tour! The food was excellent and accommodation great. We’d certainly love to come back and explore this beautiful part of the world again. ”
    Min Beattie – Victoria, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, September 2018
  • Fantastic experience

    “Everything about the trip was delightful. We had excellent guides, delicious meals, smooth logistics, and a completely stress-free vacation. ”
    Tiffany Randall – California, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Beautiful Dolomiti

    “This tour of the Dolomites was awesome. Our guides Mike and Ivan were great and catered the hikes to suit our level of fitness. The Dolomites were spectacular and staying in the refugios was so lovely. The food was plentiful and delicious. Loved every moment.”
    Min Beattie – Victoria, AustraliaDolomiti, August 2018
  • A Wonderful Trip

    “I loved every day of this trip. The guides were fabulous and the hiking amazing. Having trained for the trip, our guides ensured we were suitably challenged with the hikes and we were extremely happy with everything we did. We were so well looked after and had lots of laughs along the way with our amazing guides in this incredible part of the world.”
    Bron Johns – Victoria, AustraliaTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Everyone Should See This Place.

    “The Dolomites are an amazing place to hike. The landscape is extraordinary and being amongst it has been an awesome experience. Mike and Ivan are fabulous and knowledgeable guides. The trip notes and itinery are excellent and a bit of pre-trip training totally paid off. Mike is such a friendly and funny guy that kept us laughing throughout the trip. 10 out of 10 I would totally recommend this trip.”
    Bron Johns – Victoria, AustraliaDolomiti, August 2018
  • Abbreviated, Active, and Awesome

    “The first six days of this adventure was simply put - AWESOME. The trip guides were first class, the hiking challenges were a challenge, the accommodations very adequate, and the fellow hikers- top notch. Active Adventures tailored my trip to meet other previously scheduled commitments. Great organization and terrific hiking support. Be prepared for a superlative adventure.”
    Guy Anderson – Florida, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Into the Unknowns of the North Island

    “Upon coming home from my trip, everyone I know who has been to New Zealand has been dazzled by my explanations of where I went. I booked with Active because I wanted an opportunity to see places I probably wouldn't manage to see as a tourist on my own, and to do activities safely that were adventurous and fun and outside the run-of-the-mill tours I could book with others. Since it was winter, I chose the North Island Kauri trip. It was everything I wanted. We did lots of adventurous, difficult (but not *too* difficult) hikes and other activities and saw parts of New Zealand that most tourists don't ever manage to see. Jackie and Maddi put their personal touches on our tour, and were aces at making sure we did great things even in the face of some obstacles. It was exactly what I needed out of my vacation. Thanks, Active!”
    Jessi Grieser – Tennessee, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Pepo was Amazing!

    “Pepo was amazing! Patient, funny, spent his down time with us, got to know us! Loved the Galapagos aquatic animals, and especially going on the Los Tuneles extra trip. Well worth it! Great lodging, and food was excellent. It was important to me that we stayed on land, and very glad we did, no seasickness for me! Will recommend this trip to everyone!”
    Kylee Brock – Utah, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Mont Blanc Adventure

    “I travelled on my own from New Zealand to do this tour, so was slightly apprehensive. From the first day when meeting the guides till the finish, I was very well looked after. The food was amazing, the guides were awesome and the walks exceeded all expectations.”
    Leanne Ealam – Nelson, New ZealandTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Another Hit from Active Adventures

    “The Dolce Vita trip was everything I hoped it would be. The guides were professional, knowledgable and responsive to the needs of each individual in our group. Jo, Andrea and Juliano took great care of us and shared all the beauty, culture and food the Lakes District had to offer. The hikes through the mountains and valleys, punctuated by the sounds of running water and cowbells, were breathtaking. I was surprised that our time in the quieter lesser known destinations, Alagna and Lake Orta, were my favorite parts of the trip. We had a very special moment when a large group from a family reunion cheered us on at the top of the mountain after our final long hike. On an especially hot day our guides gave us a choice of activities and we opted to visit beautiful gardens instead of a strenuous hike. Every day we ate and drank our way through delicious Italian cuisine. We had a wide variety of fresh fish and pasta, as well as daily treats of espresso, gelato and awesome desserts. This was my 5th Active trip and I'm hoping to try one more adventure next year.”
    Andrea Rudolph – New York, United StatesDolce Vita, August 2018
  • Dolce Vita

    “This has been the most fantastic trip I have ever been on. I can pinpoint it to the fact that it turned out to be genuinely personal in all respects. Not only were our 2 guides, Andrea and Jo Jo extremely personable, but their constant cooperation, collaboration, caring, fun loving ways and eagerness to exhibit and display the essence of Dolce Vita through customs, culture and food was always top of mind. Andrea shared knowledge of his homeland, mountain valleys and home turf proudly. We learned about mountain life, mountaineering and rescue and saw many spiritual sights. The choice of hotels was exquisite, each with their own charm. Thanks also to Julianno for bringing kayaks and his expertise all the way from Genoa. The shore lunch of fresh focaccia bread was especially delicious. Our kayaking days were unforgettable, with spectacular views and opportunities for refreshing swims in all 3 lakes. This trip had all 5 senses at work. We SAW spectacular views. We HEARD the sounds of cow bells in the meadows and rushing water in waterfalls and rivers. We SMELLED the fresh air of mountains and glaciers. We TASTED the amazing Italian food and drink especially the desserts at the urging of Jo Jo. Her adventurous spirit wanted us to enjoy every aspect. We FELT the amazing warmth and hospitality of all we met. We especially felt the coolness and silkiness of the refreshing waters of the 3 lakes. I will never forget this trip. Thanks to all.”
    Sandy Drury – Ontario, CanadaDolce Vita, August 2018
  • Lares Trek!!!

    “Peru was an amazingly beautiful country full of kind people! Our trip leader, Daniel, went above and beyond to make our trip special as he had to work around strikes closing roads and unseasonable weather. His knowledge of the cultural sites was as exceptional as the views along the Lares Trek and at Machu Picchu!”
    Matthew Sloan – Illinois, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Lovely Winter Adventure

    “Amazing trip! Our guides, Jackie and Maddie were knowledgeable, friendly, and very energetic. Every place we traveled to along the way was beautiful and memorable. I will never forget this trip. It was the amazing way to see a good part of the North Island.”
    Kristen Deffenbaugh – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Kauri Adventures on the North Island

    “I recently came home from a truly amazing adventure. My sister, brother and I met up with two other travelers to be guided around the North Island. We were able to learn about the ancient Waipoua Forest and the Kauri trees, enjoy sandy beaches (complete with sand boarding!), hike beautiful trails, and meet wonderful people. We even had some detours that resulted in visiting the glow worm caves. Our guides, Maddi and Jackie were knowledgeable, experienced, and entertaining! The accommodations were lovely. If you are looking for a trip that takes you around the New Zealand countryside and coastlines, I highly recommend Active Adventures!”
    Emily Deffenbaugh – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Jaguar Trip

    “Well organized trip with a great trip leader, great food, and great scenery!”
    Guy Walther – Utah, United StatesJaguar, August 2018
  • Bucket List Dream

    “I loved this trip! Not only did I get to celebrate my 36th anniversary at Machu Picchu, I fell in love with Peru. What a great place and the sites we hiked and visited were spectacular. The second half of the trip to the Galapagos Islands was fantastic. I got to scuba dive and saw a bunch of hammerhead sharks. The guides were all very nice and polite. Thank you.”
    Mary Neilson – Indiana, United StatesIguana, August 2018
  • Fell in Love with Peru!

    “From start to finish the Jaguar trip and Lares Inca Trail was excellent! Zac, the guide, was such a lovely, attentive, knowledgeable and humorous person, whose skill at melding a group and dealing with any issues was a key part of the success. There was a satisfying mix of activities but the Lares Valley hike over the 15,700 foot Pumahuanca Pass was a definite highlight. Sumptuous meals prepared on the way were both healthy, delicious and plentiful. Some fabulous restaurants. Machu Picchu is just as special as I believed it would be. Going to the jungle added to our learning of Peru... yes we did see a tarantula! The trip lives up to the billing. Highly recommended!”
    Ro Poole – , New ZealandJaguar, August 2018
  • Amazing Guides

    “I had trouble breathing at higher altitudes, and a couple of other members of our group had some other issues. Our guides Amanda and Gokul made arrangements for us to continue hiking. Some of us didn't get to EBC, but we still enjoyed the trip of a lifetime! I got to ride a horse across the Hillary Bridge! Thanks for carrying my backpack, Bibek!”
    Debbie Panebianco – New York, United StatesEBC, August 2018
  • Tortuga Trip

    “Absolutely amazing, fun and well organized. Our guide Pepo was the best. It was a very active vacation and we saw so much wildlife. The accommodations were really nice. This is a must trip for everyone. My whole family enjoyed the trip.”
    Dianne Bridgeman – Massachusetts, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Tortugua

    “Loved the trip, especially swimming and snorkeling with the tortoises and sea life. Beautiful! Pepo was the best guide I’ve ever had. He made the trip so interesting and fun!”
    John Bridgeman – Massachusetts, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Dolomite trip

    “Jo was great, all smiles all the time. You could not help being happy and having a good time when she was with us. She has had lots of experience with travel and adventure a real plus on our trip. Loved the fact that she is a little older and could relate to us. Maturity when it counted and always fun.”
    Anthony Preissler – Maryland, United StatesDolomiti, August 2018
  • Eataly!!!! We Sure Did Live La Dolce Vita!!

    “The Dolce Vita trip was beyond amazing. Had an incredible journey as mother and daughter exploring the little known gems in Northern Italy. Our guides were full of knowledge (was there anyone Andreas didn’t know?) and humour, especially our DBB, even helped me with my very shaky Italian. We were never short of adventure be it hiking up mountains or through valleys to stunning views, to paddling around and swimming in stunning lakes to finding a random cafe to stop for espresso or if the time was right a spritz. Now that I’m home it’s got me dreaming of Italy again. Thanks a million guys (especially our guides Jo, Andreas and Giuliano)!!”
    Kelly Oliver – Victoria, AustraliaDolce Vita, August 2018
  • I would go back to the Italian Lakes in a heartbeat!

    “This was my second trip with Active and it won't be my last! The hiking in the mountains was unlike any hiking I have done before. It was stunning! The days spent kayaking were equally amazing. What's not to love when you get to kayak, get out to swim and drink espresso, kayak some more, take a break for a picnic lunch, kayak again, take a gelato break?! Nothing, I tell you! The scenery, food, guides, and travel companions all made for an amazing trip!”
    Melissa Munno – California, United StatesDolce Vita, August 2018
  • Best Trip....EVER

    “No regrets. Not one bad thing to say. Jo and Andrea, our guides, were the best. They worked so well together. They were funny, encouraging, flexible. We were fortunate in only having five hikers. What a treat. If there were occasions you doubted your capabilities, Jo and or Andrea were there to help you through. The meals, (remember it’s pronounced Eataly) were outstanding. Accommodation was very good. Small local hotels were utilized. My experience was so good, I am now seriously considering Mt. Blanc or the Dolomites next year. Thank you Active Adventures.”
    Christine Jenkins – Ontario, CanadaDolce Vita, August 2018
  • Amazing

    “This was an amazing trip. More than I ever thought it would be. Jackie and Maddie were fantastic and knowledgeable guides. They made the trip very enjoyable. Will recommend this trip and Active Adventures to my friends. Loved every minute of it.”
    Mary Wcisel – Indiana, United StatesKauri, August 2018
  • Fabulous

    “I really loved the Winter Rimu. The scenery was simply breathtaking and the range of activities was very good. When weather intervened - inevitable in winter and on the west coast! - our guides had great alternatives up their sleeves and we were always kept up to date with plans and other ideas. They catered for the various needs and personalities in the group brilliantly and helped us bond as a cohesive team - I can’t fault their professionalism and hard work throughout. There is quite a bit of driving, which has to be the case to get to the various locations, but every day had variety and on the long driving days we still stopped and looked around places of interest and got a quick walk in where possible. The long hikes to the mountain huts were unforgettable!”
    Bob Justham – , ChinaWinter Rimu, August 2018
  • The Wonder of the Galapagos

    “Pablo was our guide on this amazing journey to the Galápagos. He has been nominated as one of the ten best guides in the world by Wanderlust. He was truly superb, filling us with so much knowledge about his wonderful world. The food was tasty, the accommodations were clean, comfortable, close to all the action, with ocean views from every room. All the plans went smoothly, and we even experienced our first earthquake on Isabela. ”
    Terri Donati – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “We were expecting a great trip and this one delivered. Our guide (Pablo) was incredibly good. The facilities, food and transportation were all first rate.”
    Larry Holt – California, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Incredible Trip!

    “Love everything about Active Adventures! Great planning and hospitality by amazing ACTIVE crew (Andrew and Fabien were so nice, knowledgeable, easy going and fun)! Tour du Mont Blanc is pure heaven on earth experience - so special to be in midst of mountains and glaciers so close and yet not so remote. We saw civilized world almost every night; chatted with local communities as we stayed in various places on the route. Kayaking in absolutely BLUE water was the cherry on top! I could go every year!”
    Manisha Shah – Ohio, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, August 2018
  • Margie's Review

    “Our trip was amazing! Pepo, our tour guide, is very knowledgeable and fun. We loved seeing all of the unique creatures in their natural habitats and came home inspired to be more proactive in protecting our own environment.”
    Margie Ramsey – California, United StatesTortuga, August 2018
  • Fantastic Dolomite Adventure

    “Great trip guides, fun, enjoyable fellow travelers/hikers. Challenging activities,
    and beautiful and awesome scenery”
    John Styer – Maryland, United StatesDolomiti, July 2018
  • First Time But Not Last!

    “This trip gave me a lot of fresh air and good feelings! I haven't had an experience like this before!
    Very good!”
    Lan Xie – North Carolina, United StatesDolce Vita, July 2018
  • La Dolce Vita!

    “This trip far exceeded my expectations, which were already high because it was our second Active Adventures trip. Our guides showed us the best of Northern Italy in a way that few tourists get to experience. They managed the logistical details seamlessly and all we had to do was enjoy the beauty and culture of Italy. I highly recommend La Dolce Vita!”
    Claudia Worth – Massachusetts, United StatesDolce Vita, July 2018
  • Discovering the North Island

    “My family's trip was everything it promised to be... plus more! Jackie and Maddi were excellent tour guides, and made us feel so welcome in New Zealand. If you are looking for an adventure that will educate you about New Zealand's past... both historically and geographically - this is the journey for you!”
    Greg Deffenbaugh – Colorado, United StatesKauri, July 2018
  • Amazing Experience and Awesome Company

    “Right from the start I felt great with this company as they answered all my questions right away, but when the guide met us at the airport right away after our flight was delayed for half the day I felt super safe and in good hands!! The trip was amazing! Everything was planned, organized, easy, and fun! They were able to change the food everywhere for my vegan diet, and took us to great restaurants, set up everything from tents to hotels, to anything we needed. Everyone who worked with them was super nice! And they planned little surprises along the way that was awesome!! I highly recommend them!”
    Emma Grin – Georgia, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • A Place Everyone Should See

    “Weeks later we still are talking about the trip.”
    Roderick Cooper – Florida, United StatesDolomiti, July 2018
  • I did it!

    “4 day hike on Classic Inca Trail was a hard hike for me at 65 yrs old from New York for altitude, but I did it with a meditative mind and great hikers I was with and the best leader... WILSON! Every group leader on this trip was local, loved the land and knew about it from a perspective that you see nowhere else.. Active Adventures is all-inclusive, worry free, safe and the best there is.”
    Linda Wart – New York, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • June 16 - 27 Tour du Mont Blanc - Beyond our Expectations!

    “Amazing adventure! This tour exceeded our expectations in many ways. The hikes, views, guides, food and companions all made the trip extremely special. We lucked out with exceedingly great weather too. There was little rain and the wild flowers were beautiful. Since our trip was early in the spring there was some snow to play in too. The hiking days were a lot of work, but SO rewarding. We would love to return to this area in the future and highly recommend this tour to anyone that is interested in hiking the Tour du Mont Blanc.”
    Anne Banks – Florida, United StatesTour du Mont Blanc, July 2018
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “On our Active Trip we were surrounded by beauty. From our guides to the scenic countryside everything was relaxed and accommodating. We loved the variety of activities from hiking and biking to floating in the underground caves. Meals were healthy and delicious prepared by our lovely guide. I definitely want to visit again and get to know the South Island!”
    Tricia Timmons – Washington, United StatesKauri, July 2018
  • Great Time in the Dolomites

    “Would recommend this trip to anyone looking to enjoy hiking in the beautiful Dolomites without having to do all the leg work/preparation yourself. You just need to show up and hike!”
    Karen Preissler – Maryland, United StatesDolomiti, July 2018
  • Does It Get Any Better Than This?!

    “An amazing and unforgettable trip. Awesome fellow travellers, incredible guides and scenery, food and adventures that invigorated the mind and body.”
    Anne Oliver – , New ZealandDolce Vita, July 2018
  • Met My Expectations - One of the Most Beautiful Places

    “My 2nd trip with Active was incredible. I loved the mountains, hikes, and food. If you love to hike, this is a trip for you.”
    Rhonda Cooper – Florida, United StatesDolomiti, July 2018
  • Absolutely Breathtaking Scenery!

    “This Active Adventures trip was an excellent exploration of the Dolomites (unarguably, the loveliest mountains in Europe). The trip was physically challenging and mentally rewarding. The late June departure allowed for an abundance of wildflowers in the pristine alpine meadows. Being a flat lander and a bit jet-lagged, I struggled the first day with significant ascents. With coaching from our trip guides, I adjusted and improved my breathing as the trip continued. The included meals were quite good - even those in hotels or rifugios. The three-day hike from rifugio to rifugio was quite an experience and lent to a camaraderie not experienced in most small-group tours.”
    Pam Taylor – Texas, United StatesDolomiti, July 2018
  • Fantastic Trip!

    “Dolomites are beautiful and hiking here was like no other mountain range. Incredible! The variety of activities on this trip made it exciting and each new vista was breath taking. The Via Ferrata was incredible and a definite must-do.”
    Fiona Tennant – Ontario, CanadaDolomiti, July 2018
  • Memory Maker

    “Active Adventures' Winter Rimu is a memory maker. The views, excursions, story swapping, endless laughter, and rad people will forever be etched in my memory bank. Our sweet as guides, DK and Elder, made every day insanely fun. They are so unbelievably good at what they do and their in-depth knowledge about the local ecology, culture, and history of New Zealand is nothing short of impressive. Seeing the beauty of the South Island through their eyes put the already breathtaking views on a whole new level. DK and Elder were more than accommodating; they were genuinely kind and made everyone feel like a million bucks, even if there was a little liquid sunshine on the radar. I loved every single day on our itinerary and I loved my group. We quickly went from strangers from all different backgrounds, hometowns, and ages to a team of friends. Our long roadies were filled with music and laughter. To top it off, the food was absolutely delicious. For me, the Winter Rimu was about self-discovery, active days, spectacular sites, and constant smiles. My face still hurts from smiling so much! The memories I've made on this two week adventure are the kind that don't fade. It was just what I was looking for and then some.”
    Whitney Wells-Corfield – Virginia, United StatesWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • Another Awesome Active New Zealand Adventure!

    “My fifth 'Active Adventures' trip didn't disappoint! Great weather, great hiking, great group and of course, great trip leaders, DK and Elder. The "Winter Rimu" showcased the amazing New Zealand landscape in a different light from the summer "Rimu" I had previously done - with snow capped mountains everywhere, crisp clear sunny days, and a fun group to enjoy it all with.”
    Trina Hellicar – New South Wales, AustraliaWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • Great Trip and Experience

    “Overall, the trip was superb. Active Adventures went above and beyond what I expected. In the past, i have not been a big fan of doing organized tours, but because of the experience I had on this, my first experience with Active Adventures, I fully expect to book additional trips with them and don't think I would ever be disappointed.”
    Marilyn Wanner – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Awesome Trip

    “This was a great trip with lots of variety in activity as well as places. Throughout the entire trip we had excellent fresh food. This included the restaurant meals, box lunches, and food on the trail. The guides were knowledgeable and the tour guide kept everything organized. I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes outdoor activities, visiting new places and meeting new people.”
    Margie Dale – Idaho, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Our Guide Pepo Was Amazing

    “Our guide Pepo was amazing. He was so knowledgeable about Galapagos history, animals and culture. Plus he was very fun. We always looked forward to hearing his daily "Super Plan". He made our trip educational and fun.”
    Kate Weinreich – Colorado, United StatesTortuga, July 2018
  • Sweet As!!!

    “Simply put the Winter Rimu was a trip of a lifetime. The scenery was spectacular as was the awesome group of people with amazing leaders, D.K. & Elder. ”
    Matthew Sloan – Illinois, United StatesWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • The Best Introduction to the South Island You Could Wish For!

    “Thank you Active Adventures - but Thank you DK and Elder for the most amazing trip ever! They really showed their passion and love for their country and were very keen and kind to show each and every one of us their individual attention and make us feel welcome and included in the trip - Thank you again!”
    Josh Brown – Buckinghamshire, United KingdomWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • 2018 Winter Rimu with Dan K and Elder

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime, largely due to the expert knowledge and camaraderie of DK and Elder, along with an amazing group of fellow travelers.”
    Marc Ewing-Chow – California, United StatesWinter Rimu, July 2018
  • Great Time

    “It was a great time with good combinations of different activities.”
    Anke Gahrns – , GermanyRimu, July 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “We had a blast and we are so glad we went with Active Adventures. It was great to have every detail covered from start to finish - eating in amazing restaurants, having a very authentic view of beautiful Peru through the eyes of our awesome tour guide Zac, and showing up to campsites with everything set up for us.”
    Bonnie Davis – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Incredible!

    “I absolutely love Active. My husband and I have always wanted to visit New Zealand, but were only able to travel in June. We decided to go even though it would be cold, and potentially wet. Yes, it was BOTH, but it was worth it! (Especially with some merino long underwear...haha.) Beautiful place, phenomenal hikes and adventures, amazing culture, and delicious food. Our guides were awesome. When can I come back??? ”
    Donalyn Ruiz – California, United StatesKauri, July 2018
  • Dolomiti

    “Definitely an active adventure. Flush with many new experiences, this trip provided scenic beauty at every turn in the journey. The hospitality was outstanding wherever we stayed and the trip leader and local guides were all very accommodating.”
    Al Kaled – Ohio, United StatesDolomiti, July 2018
  • Amazing!!

    “Our trip was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide Zack was very knowledgeable and paid attention to all of our wants and needs. Every detail of our trip you can tell was very thought out. I wouldn’t want any other tour guide or any other tour company. I will never be able to say enough great things about Active Adventures. Thank you guys so much for a once in a lifetime trip!! ”
    Jessyca Sidwell – Wyoming, United StatesJaguar, July 2018
  • Dolomiti

    “The Dolomites are a treasure that can't be captured in photos...so spectacular in every direction! The trip itinerary took us in an "active" fashion to different "adventures" each day. Our guides, Jo and Richard, were fun, knowledgeable, attentive and social. What a blast!!!”
    Mark Imhoff – Colorado, United StatesDolomiti, July 2018
  • True Vacation

    “This was the best trip I have ever been on! I am a school teacher and have the luxury of summers off. Last summer I was sitting around without plans and thought, “I need to go on a trip!” I have not been on a big trip before because I was skeptical of traveling alone. I have few friends who share my passion for international travel and have the finances and circumstances to justify a vacation like this. The first decision I had to make was to decide where I wanted to go. Choosing the Galápagos was easy because my favorite animal is a tortoise! After going on the vacation, I have no complaints other than I wish I could have stayed there longer. Our local Galakiwi guide, Pepo, was so knowledgeable about the islands and I learned so much about the history, animals, plants, and culture of the Galapagos. I built incredible relationships with everyone on my trip that made me realize that as humans, we are never alone. There is always going to be someone just as adventurous, just as silly, just as goofy, just as nervous, just as shy, and just as crazy as you! I will definitely be going on another Active Adventures trip in the future. I felt very well taken care of and never had to worry or think about what I would eat or what activities were planned for the day. I have already recommended this company to all my friends and family. BEST VACATION EVER!”
    Julianna Strickland – Texas, United StatesTortuga, July 2018
Back to top

Trip Reviews

  4.52 out of 5 (from 15471 reviews)

LEGENDARY

Travelling to New Zealand has been on my bucket list for nearly half my life, and I'm so glad I spent three weeks there with Active! I was a bit worried going by myself, but it turned out to be the best vacation of my life. They took us to so many spots that I probably would have never seen if I tried to organize everything on my own. It was great to have them feed me, drive me, hike me, and take me to our accommodations at night - not once did I have to worry about anything. The accommodations themselves were so fun and unique, staying in them was a highlight of my trip. Our guides, Kim and Ashleigh, were fantastic young ladies. Ash was an amazing chef and Kim rocked the in-bus narration. I also think we had a phenomenal group of people who clicked very well, and absolutely the best weather one could wish for.

Even when there were a few changes to the itinerary due to road damages, weather issues, or anything else, the guides were on top of it so fast that we barely even noticed there was a problem. We did miss out on snorkeling with the fur seals, and our Franz Josef Heli-Hike was cancelled, but we were still able to see seals and take a helicopter ride to a glacier at another time. No loss whatsoever.

I'm a fairly active person under thirty, who lives in an mountainous region, and I was still challenged by the hikes and activities they provided. I also have bad knees, and was still able to get up and down the more difficult mountains. For those wondering abut the multi-day hike, it's definitely a work-out, but totally worth it! And be sure to invest in a hydration bladder, you'll really appreciate it! If you're looking for an outdoor adventure with lots of activity and fun, this is definitely one of the better ways to explore New Zealand.
Janine Carbone Review Image
– New Hampshire, United States
Rimu, April 2017
Read Reviews

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure