Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips.

By submitting this request, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Reviews

 

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you! 

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Patagonia

    “Excellent trip. Marvellous views, great guides, very good instruction for the new skills we learned, great food, awesome group!”
    Greg Garvin – Ontario, CanadaCondor, February 2019
  • Kauri North Island January 2019

    “Great trip! Everything promised was delivered, as well as some extra goodies. All good, nothing bad. Would have loved it to have lasted longer!”
    Jonathan Fishman – California, United StatesKauri, February 2019
  • Excellent

    “Lauren and Simon, our guides, made the trip. Their energy, knowledge and desire to accommodate us all was remarkable. We could never have gone to Lake Crucible on our own and that hike will stay in my memory forever. They were the crucial piece to get us all where we wanted and needed to be. The rawness and beauty of New Zealand has left me speechless. ”
    Barbara Tracey – Vermont, United StatesTui, February 2019
  • The Trip of a Lifetime!

    “We had the time of our lives on the Condor trip with Active Adventures! Patagonia is absolutely amazing, and the views combined with our excellent guide made it the trip of a lifetime. We thought the layout of the 14 days was perfect, and felt like we got an authentic Patagonian experience. We are recommending this trip to all of our friends!”
    Ally Malinowski – British Columbia, CanadaCondor, February 2019
  • Wonderful People, Great Adventures

    “Great sights and wonderful guides make up for several long drives on this adventure. The things you see just get better and better. Accommodations are great, food is plentiful and all our fellow travelers were great friends by the end. Hiking good, not too stressful. I especially liked the day of biking and the day of kayaking in the astonishing Milford Sound.”
    Peggy Ernst – Oregon, United StatesTui, February 2019
  • Great Times!

    “Wow, cannot begin to decribe some of the things I saw on this adventure. I loved the flight over Queenstown area and the drive into the Milford Sound. The Sound itself was beautiful and kayaking there a great experience. Pim and Astrid were outstanding, taking great care of us but making it fun too! Some of the drives were long but views fantastic.”
    Neil Ernst – Oregon, United StatesTui, February 2019
  • Epic Adventure

    “Great way to see the South Island, from Nelson Lake National Park to Milford Sound, back country hiking, sea kayaking and mountain biking. ”
    Jean Van Der Lee – Alberta, CanadaRimu, February 2019
  • North Island

    “We had a wonderful time with the other people on the tour and especially out two guides, Josh and Ineka. This was the first "take care of everything" type of vacation we've ever been on and it was fantastic! Our guides were flexible, accommodating and sympathetic to all of our needs and desires. I really cannot say enough about this well run company and the two guides that were responsible for us. EXCELLENT ”
    Mark Beasom – California, United StatesKauri, February 2019
  • South Island Kiwi, I believe

    “Wonderful, wonderful.”
    Mark Beasom – California, United StatesKiwi, February 2019
  • Good Trip

    “Overall a good, enjoyable trip.”
    Monty Bindra – California, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • A Very Challenging, But Rewarding Adventure

    “I had not hiked outside of the United States. At almost 73, I decided to tackle this Patagonia Adventure and an adventure it was. I trained hard for it and my training was extremely beneficial. One could not train for the terrain or the Patagonia winds, but those winds now make me smile.....both certainly make for good stories. Our guides were fantastic and every detail was considered. They were both encouraging and cautious when they needed to be. Our group, although different in ages and skill level, clicked from day two and all encouraged each other. LOTS of laughs were shared after each day as we enjoyed our meals, stories, and "what's next".
    Thank you Active Adventures for putting together a trip that included the penquins, kayaking, hiking the glaciers, and biking....we did them all in addition to the W trek and many other wonderful trails. Thank you to the group and guides for helping make many wonderful memories.”
    Nancy Conner – Indiana, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Manuka 2019

    “The Manuka trip is an amazing way to see the South Island, and learn about the culture, environment and history...and get lots of good hiking/tramping!!! The Active team is tremendous; knowledgable and fun! Great food and lots of it!”
    Mark Imhoff – Colorado, United StatesManuka, February 2019
  • What an amazing Country and MJ and Kaleb were THE BEST!!

    “We had a great time for the 2 weeks..we had amazing weather which helped make the trip more enjoyable. Can’t give enough STARS to our guides Kaleb and MJ. On all counts they made the trip well managed, organized on time and ready with a laugh and a smile. The hikes had options for us “lesser athletes” and really enjoyed the 3 day Kayak options. Another highlight was our Queenstown free time and the Tanglewood lodge - kudos to Steve and Linda for a great setting and hospitality. ”
    Helen Spry – Alabama, United StatesRimu, February 2019
  • Wow!

    “We kept thinking that each day was the highlight of the trip but it just kept getting better and better. ”
    Chip Brown – Florida, United StatesManuka, February 2019
  • Excellent

    “We've taken several adventure tours and really enjoyed them all, but this was our best trip ever!”
    Mike Edles – California, United StatesWeka, February 2019
  • Fabulous Way to Discover the South Island

    “I loved the Tui trip high level of diversity in activities, landscapes and locations. It was a great way to discover the nature and culture of NZ. The guides were great and the flexibility allowed each of us to find the best rhythm. So much fun and beauty!!”
    Claire Pairaud – California, United StatesTui, February 2019
  • Awesome in Every Way!

    “What a trip! Nick and Elder were a great team and knew their business. Everything went smoothly, insights were plentiful, and the cooking superb. It was evident that this trip had been well planned, validating riders' experience and building the level of challenge. When we showed some new Kiwi friends our trip itinerary, they were quite complementary of the extent of the South Island we would experience. Well done!!”
    Bill Knight – Maryland, United StatesWeka, February 2019
  • Excellent Adventures

    “What a wonderful trip! Every detail was well planned; with a comprehensive itinerary. The guides were attentive, knowledgeable, so hard working and fun to be around. Wow, what a beautiful island. I'm so glad I chose Active Adventures New Zealand for this fantastic trip. There is no way I could have planned this trip on my own, and been able to achieve the depth of experiences I had with Active Adventures.”
    Karen Lutsky – Massachusetts, United StatesRimu, February 2019
  • Kauri 2019

    “My husband and I were looking for a walking tour for select dates and location ... we were referred to Active Adventures, a sister company of the one providing walking tours that we were in contact with. The front end staff were great - not pushy but attentive and they listened. When they reached out to us and said there was a small group and the demographics were close we took the plunge of a more active adventure than we had been thinking about. The information and follow up was thorough ... altho the packing list is a bit generic (we didn't need serious hiking boots, gloves, touques, rain gear, day pack size that we carried given the hike and the season of our trip) so we could have asked for more specific details and most likely would have been provided better information.

    Andy and Jo were great - welcoming, good communicators, organized, excellent local information and flavour, accomodated our dietary preferences, encouraged us on the trail when we needed it. They made this an overall, great experience for me and my husband.

    This was our first guided and organized 'walking' trip and I would definitely sign up for another!

    Personally, I really enjoyed the level of activity - there is no way that we could have organized as many hikes, walks, swims, sliding down sand dunes as we packed in the 5 days of this trip. I was glad that we were in an 'age appropriate' group. My husband and I are in our late '60s and so it was great that before we booked we had the information and bit of a heads up about the others on our trip. It no doubt would have been quite a different experience for us if we were in with 'adventurers' a whole lot younger.

    Again - thanks Jo and Andy for everything.”
    Beverley Walker – Alberta, CanadaKauri, February 2019
  • Kauri 2019

    “Thanks to Andy and Jo for everything. They provided great insights into NZ history and current situation. Thanks to Jo for all the extra encouragement when it was needed - much appreciated.
    This trip was definitely action packed. We managed to fit in several walks, hikes, water adventures and sand duning! in a short period of time.
    I will remember Andy's favourite word as 'undulating' ... still not sure what the difference between a 'climb' and 'undulation' is...”
    Peter Walker – Alberta, CanadaKauri, February 2019
  • Extraordinary, other worldly yet this is our world

    “You’ve heard it before, trip of a lifetime and yet also the gateway to a fresh way of seeing our world, new horizons, new sensitivities to our natural world. Did I mention fun, companionable, delicious, gorgeous...I believe this Rimu trip had it all and I have made new friends with shared interests that I already plan to see again. Do it, you won’t regret a single sore muscle!!!”
    Valerie Carter – North Carolina, United StatesRimu, February 2019
  • Kauri Trip

    “We had a wonderful time. Both Greg and Clara were wonderful guides, very attentive to our needs. Greg was very knowledgeable about the history and current events in NZ, and his stories made the long bus drive more interesting. Clara was very attentive in our diet needs and went the extra miles to get us what we needed.”
    Tiffany Seyler – Georgia, United StatesKauri, February 2019
  • Kea Trip

    “The whole trip was wonderful. All the places we visited were spectacular. Both of our guides were excellent and friendly.”
    Tiffany Seyler – Georgia, United StatesKea, February 2019
  • Amazing Trip

    “We loved our Condor trip. We are active travelers and were adequately challenged. The scenery, the hikes, the the trails...all exceptional and we feel blessed to have had the opportunity to see this part of the world. It feels like a secret....what a privilege to visit it! The towns and experiences were all authentic. We loved the W trek--even opted to stay in a tent one night, which was fantastic, despite a rain/wind storm. The Glacier trek was an unexpected highlight, and we loved our days hiking around Mt. Fitz Roy and being based in El Chalten. Such a cool little town. Meeting people from all over (on our trip, all Americans or Canadians) was a highlight and our Guides were each outstanding. I'm already thinking about what might be our next trip....”
    Leslie Kramer – New York, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Rimu 2019

    “We've now been in New Zealand more than twice the time we spent with Active Adventures. The country itself is growing on us like nothing we've ever experienced. Valerie and I have done several guided tours, all of which have been superb. This one was certainly the best yet. I really appreciated the overall strategy of the sites we visited and that James knew other little spots to stop so we could appreciate the people and treats of South Island in as broad a sense as possible. The stop in Queenstown gave us a very appropriate time to recover.

    It was especially impressive how James and Astrid went immediately to work to learn what made each of us on the tour "tick" and then to develop a personalized relationship with each of us. James, in particular, recognized on the first day that it would be hard for me to make it on the ascent and ridge-crossing of Mt Robert. I was crushed not to make that part of the trip, but James was quite sensitive and exercised very good judgment, giving me the options as plainly as possible in my own terms. Astrid did much the same later in the trip. I appreciated this personal consideration, because these are skills not everyone has. There were countless moments of pure joy along the way; the haunting, magical tarn at the top of the routeburn track in the relentless rain, which then turned to our advantage as we entered Milford Sound and found all faucets fully on, which was spectacular as we exited the tunnel. The weather cooperated with us many other times as well, giving us 360 views of Mt Cook in the sun from Braemar Station. As a scientist, I especially appreciated sites like the pancake rocks, where nature had sculpted a beauteous mini-landscape unlike anything I'd ever seen, by processes I did not understand and left me wonderstruck. In short, the adventure was presented accurately beforehand as we reserved our spot, and then overwhelmed us with satisfaction. Lodgings and food were first-rate.”
    Charlie Carter – North Carolina, United StatesRimu, February 2019
  • Patagonia Condor Trip

    “Overall, this was an excellent trip. It was well organized, the guides were excellent, and the W trek was a fantastic hiking experience. The scenery was second to none. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes to hike, and wants to see the most picturesque places in the world.”
    Jean-Pierre Mobasser – Indiana, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • "Down Under" in NZ

    “ NZ is a spectacular ,diverse country filled with beautiful varied coastlines and beaches, mountain ranges, glaciers, lakes, forests and farmland.
    These areas are in relatively close proximity compared to Canada and hence can be seen and enjoyed over a 4 week period.
    This combined with the friendly people, Maori culture, as well as the great craft beers , excellent wine, coffee and bakeshops around every corner make this a great country to visit.”
    Heather Ritchie – British Columbia, CanadaManuka, February 2019
  • Epic Lifetime Memories

    “It was challenging, it was hard work, it was worth every step. Around the corner after a hard climb were stupendous and breathtaking views of mountains, lakes, glaciers and rainbows, that we had only seen in magazines. Our guides led with energy and encouragement every step and celebrated with us the rewards. All so well organized and smooth and exactly what we needed. Thank you!”
    Laurie Holman-Ross – Ontario, CanadaCondor, February 2019
  • Tortuga

    “This was by far the most interesting vacation we’ve taken. The accommodations were top notch and the food was fantastic.Pepo our guide really made the trip an adventure for our group of seven. I’ll be planning our next trip to Costa Rica next year.”
    Rick Clausen – Washington, United StatesTortuga, February 2019
  • Tortuga

    “So great to visit such an enchanting world. Learned about many interesting plants and animals. The snorkeling was the best . Pepo was knowledgeable and kind. We had a wonderful group and really bonded . It truly was a trip of a lifetime!”
    Angie Clausen – Washington, United StatesTortuga, February 2019
  • Manuka

    “Active Adventures New Zealand has this trip down to perfection in every aspect. There is some flexibility for the guides to change hikes if necessary due to weather, and the guides are knowledgeable and experienced enough to make these decisions. The acommodations were very nice as were the meals. Guides were very personable and looked after everyone well including special meal requirements, logistics planning, etc. Without being overwhelming Holly and Ellie filled some driving time with some Maori lore which was nice. Hikes were beautiful and varied in difficulty which was nice. Aside from the wonderful meals prepared by our guides the restaurant locations were great. I liked having a free day in Queenstown.”
    Terry Harmon – Delaware, United StatesManuka, February 2019
  • Being in a Painting

    “This trip was intense, exhausting, exhilarating and amazing! The pictures simply don’t do it any justice. If you’re apprehensive about taking the trip,
    Don’t be! You fee like you’re hiking along in a painting. ”
    Elizabeth Galerneau – Texas, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Fabulous trip - highly recommended!

    “The Kauri trip around the North Island of New Zealand was superb and exceeded all our expectations. The accommodation was always in great locations, the food was superb, and the guides were excellent (super-enthusiastic, really knowledgeable, supremely professional, hardworking and talented). The trip involved so many different activities and experiences - we loved it.”
    Stuart Watson – Cumbria, United KingdomKauri, February 2019
  • BEST TRIP EVER!

    “It's hard to describe the recent Weka trip we took with Active Adventures. Nick B and Elder were not only accomplished guides who not only looked after our every detail of our 14 days in the South Island of N, but were genuinely friendly, hospitable and accommodating to every request. Importantly, Nick and Elder were always concerned with our safety and comfort. ”
    Michael Donovan – Oregon, United StatesWeka, February 2019
  • Love the Lakes District

    “Had a great time in the Lakes District of Argentina / Chile. ”
    Pamela Albin – Minnesota, United StatesPuma, February 2019
  • Phenomenal!

    “An absolutely amazing trip! The rides, the hikes, the views, the lodging, the FOOD, were all phenomenal, but the best thing about it: our guides. They were absolutely outstanding in every way.”
    Laura Edles – California, United StatesWeka, February 2019
  • Exceeding Expectation Adventures!

    “Thanks to the incredible hospitality, knowledge, friendliness, encouragement, and spirit of our guides, Andy and Jo, the beauty of the countryside of the north island of New Zealand, and the outstanding itinerary the Kauri was exceptional! From "home cooked" meals, to the personal satisfaction of completing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, to charming accommodations, and an ongoing history and geography lessons of the area, the adventure was extraordinary and lots of fun! ”
    Jim Rogers – Nevada, United StatesKauri, February 2019
  • Rugged mountain paradise

    “I think Patagonia, especially the Chilean side, is the real Middle Earth. Breathing the air felt like inhaling pure energy, snowmelt straight from the streams was the best water I've drunk, and no matter how tired I was, the whole time I just felt like "this is what my body was designed for;" I don't know how else to describe it. Our trip leader and guide for the W trek were awesome, and we were all really glad we decided to go with a guided trip; I couldn't count how many times we were like, "...oh, I would never have thought of [x logistical / navigational thing]." We could have used more updated guidance beforehand - do reach out to them directly instead of going by the pdfs provided in terms of both what to pack and the distances to be prepared for. But once you get there, it's truly the hike of a lifetime with some of the best guides in the business!”
    Chris Field – California, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Patagonia: more than it’s cracked up to be

    “Active Adventures’ Patagonia trip left us breathless. The raw beauty of the landscape only barely surpassed the exquisiteness of the planning involved to make the journey go so smoothly. A perfect vacation.”
    Julie Lipkin – Massachusetts, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “The Condor Trip was the vacation of a lifetime. Our itinerary struck the right balance of activities and down time. On these trips, guides are very important, and Zack, our overall guide was excellent. He always maintained his good humor and professionalism and provided helpful encouragement when we needed an extra boost to complete a hike. Two weeks flew by and we had a great time!”
    Karen Maczuga – Michigan, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Great Trip

    “Over all the scenery and the hiking was fabulous. The highlights were the W hike and Fitz Roy hike. Accommodations were good and the food was good”
    Frank Kwiatek – Michigan, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Best Trip to Patagonia

    “This was my third visit to Patagonia. I was in the Lakes area 4 years ago to do a marathon and other visiting. This was an excellent combination of pretty vigorous activity (for me) and seeing natures’s grandeur in the lakes, fjords and volcanoes. I’m still having dreams about the trip 6 days after coming home.”
    Mary Croft – Arizona, United StatesPuma, February 2019
  • Awesome Trip

    “Mauro was an excellent guide! He is super knowledgeable and accommodating. We really enjoyed exploring Ecuador, especially the waterfall hike excursion. ”
    Billie Archuleta – California, United StatesTapir, February 2019
  • Sweet Dreams are Touring the South Island of New Zealand!

    “If you are fortunate to travel around the South Island with Astrid and James; they are Active Adventures tour guides and chefs extradinaire. You are in for the adventure of a life time. They are always present and made everyday more wonderful than the day before. They are extremely professionally, and made sure everyone was enrolled in the perfect activity for their skill set. The tour group Active Adventures is more than just an adventure tour; it is an experience you want in your life. Thank you Active Adventures for your excellent communication skills, listening to my needs, and meeting my requests. My journey with Active Adventures was life changing.”
    Anne Spelman – Maine, United StatesRimu, February 2019
  • Ecuador in a Nutshell!

    “I enjoyed this tour around Ecuador. Mauro was a fantastically knowledgeable guide wither it was the culture we were traveling though or the local plants and animals that lived in the locations that we stopped at. Accommodations were highly impressive for the price of the trips as well! I would highly recommend the Trip!”
    Aaron Archuleta – California, United StatesTapir, February 2019
  • Kauri

    “We had a fabulous 11 days in the North Island. It was certainly active and encouraged us to participate in some fun experiences. We loved the sand surfing mountain biking and hiking aspects. We had two amazing guides, Josh and Annika who catered for all our needs. And the crossing......terrible conditions but we made it!! It was such an achievement.”
    Jenny Angus – New South Wales, AustraliaKauri, February 2019
  • Coming Back for More

    “The Condor was my fourth trip with Active Adventures. As in all previous trips, the guides were great, the adventure exciting and I hope I can add another trip with them in the future. A class operation!”
    Steve Bender – Iowa, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Majestic Beauty

    “Nothing compares to the beauty of Patagonia. ”
    Kathleen Knolle – Texas, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Kauri Adventure

    “This was a fine introduction to the north island's beauty and terrain. We only did the second half of the Kauri adventure but enjoyed every day's challenges. Andy and Jo are exceptional guides and truly good people. Time with them was part of the joy.”
    Sandy Rogers – Nevada, United StatesKauri, February 2019
  • Amazing Trip!!

    “What a fabulous week in New Zealand! It was the trip of a lifetime. Our guides were amazing and made everything so easy and fun. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone!”
    Tanya Roth – Illinois, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Amanda "Sam" Conley

    “Truly an adventure of a lifetime. I am well traveled, world-wide, but have never been so completely immersed in a country. From the hikes, bike rides and kayaking experiences to the visits to local bakeries and restaurants, we were introduced to the South Island. Simon one of our guides, being from the area, offered a continuing education as we traveled the limited roads. One day we stopped at a tiny bird sanctuary, another day we visited a salmon farm. He shared facts, history as well as folklore about the area allowing us to not only appreciate the beauty but understand it as well. Our other guide Ruby set the tone of our trip. She was very organized, personable and a fantastic cook! There was a couple in our group with special dietary needs, she quietly served them meals which fit their needs without drawing attention to the differences. She prepared healthy meals and always included wonderful desserts which we all loved! Every evening she served "nibbles" with wine which allowed our group to gather and share our experiences. Often Ruby and Simon would join us during this special time which pleased all of us as we got to know them better. ”
    Sam Conley – New Mexico, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Triumphant Tui

    “Our Tui trip was truly an incredible adventure. From one spectacular vista to another, the southern island offers an abundance of natural beauty to delight in. We also enjoyed the variety of activities involved from hiking, biking, kayaking to swimming in ice cold glacier filled pools with cascading waterfalls. Our guides were very energetic and full of enthusiasm. Our accommodations ranged from the elegant to the unique and quaint. The meals and snacks provided, and in some cases prepared by our guide with limited resources, were excellent . All in all, a wonderful experience with many fond memories to last a lifetime.”
    Tim Oxley – Illinois, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Exceeded Expectations

    “The trip was everything and more of what I was expecting. The scenery and views were spectacular and the hiking was challenging but doable. The guides, both in country and our AA guide, were for the most part engaging and a lot of fun while also looking out for our safety. They were accommodating and encouraging and never showed impatience as our group of twelve stopped many times along the way to take photos. Overall, it was a great two weeks.”
    Mary Ricciardello – Texas, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Rimu Adventure

    “This trip was a ton of fun. I really enjoyed the range of experiences and areas that my wife and I were able to explore during this trip trip. The guides were phenomenal. Their skill, knowledge, and ability to adapt to the unforeseen was impressive. Sharing our adventure with like minded strangers, many of whom are now great friends, was also a major factor in making this trip one to remember.”
    Ron Leaf – Alberta, CanadaRimu, January 2019
  • Condor

    “Enjoyed trip immensely . Staff was very helpful. I was a slow hiker, it did not matter. Some one walked with me so I can finish the trip at my pace. I did not feel 79 years old. Our guide Jay made our entire trip very enjoyable. Weather could have been better but I like challenge I received the challenge from rain and wind.”
    Sadru Hemani – Massachusetts, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Rimu

    “We thought our Active Adventures trip to Peru was amazing; but this trip was even better! Our fearless leaders (Simon and Ruby), the itinerary, the country ...all just incredible. We could not have been "happier campers". Many, many thanks.”
    Lee Silbert – Colorado, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Patagonia January 2019

    “The scenery was incredibly beautiful. The hikes were often long, but not arduous. The rooms at the refugios were comfortable and it was nice to have a hot shower every day. The guides were fun and helpful.”
    Doug Sandvig – Texas, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Simply Amazing

    “Wow! What a trip. Very challenging and rewarding. The first day hike was beautiful with sunshine for most of the day. Then one of our guides said "it's going to get windy" and boy did it. Before the day was over, we had huge winds, a little snow, sleet and rain. All part of the Patagonia adventure. It was a good introduction for the rest of the week: mostly beautiful and delightful with little bits of weather and tired muscles.”
    Mary Goodman – Texas, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Sensory Overload

    “One beautiful view after another- one great experience after another. Every day was memorable. Our guides were great, as were the people in our group. I can't say enough good things about our trip.”
    Jerry Gilboe – Michigan, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Rimu 2019

    “What an incredible way to experience the South Island of New Zealand, great guides, great accommodation, great food and great laughs. Simon and Ruby took incredible care of us with impeccable attention to detail, always keeping the atmosphere fun and friendly. One of the best trips I have ever been on and I feel very lucky to have met everyone that I did. Rain or shine this was the time of a lifetime and one that I will remember forever. ”
    Charlotte Wright – , New ZealandRimu, January 2019
  • Impressive Trip

    “When you combine the gorgeousness of New Zealand, fantastic guides Elder and Nick, exciting bike trails, and great guests, it's a recipe for an awesome time. Elder and Nick bent over backwards to make sure we were always safe, well taken care of, and happy. I highly recommend the Weka adventure!”
    Bob Metcalf – Iowa, United StatesWeka, January 2019
  • A Place Like No Other

    “Our journey in the Mustang Region of Nepal took us to a place that is somewhat out of step with the Western World we live in. As a destination it has beautiful scenery, friendly gentle people and a spiritual aspect that even an avowed atheist could feel.
    The Active Guides that led our tour were terrific, they were willing and able to take care of all of our parties needs. They sorted out travel problems quickly and effectively when these arose. The overall team included guides, porters, cooks and horse handlers and all were willing to do the extra little things that make a difference whenever they arose.
    Overall an extremely memorable and enjoyable tour, of a remote and isolated part of the world, that we could not have had without such high quality guides, porters and cooks.”
    Brian Esposito – Victoria, AustraliaMustang, January 2019
  • Jaguar Trip - December 2018

    “This trip was fantastic! The group size - 5 - was perfect in that allowed for individual attention and yet meet great people as well. The guides - Wilson and Johan - were wonderful and really made for a good experience. This was my first trip with Active Adventures and I will definitely travel with them again. I am a seasoned traveler and Active Adventures was among one of the best tour groups I have used.”
    Beth Muehl – Maryland, United StatesJaguar, January 2019
  • Memorable Adventures That I Will Always Treasure

    “An absolutely wonderful trip, maybe even more so in hindsight since I now have time to reflect on all we saw and did. Active Adventures could not have done more to ensure that all the logistics of traveling around these amazing islands were handled with ease so we could focus on the beauty around us and making memories.”
    Kathy Chudoba – Utah, United StatesTortuga, January 2019
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Our Tui trip this past January was the best outdoor trip we have ever taken! Out guides Dani and Ruby were such a delight - informative, fun, funny, and always professional. They worked well together and we couldn’t have been more pleased. We’ll definitely do another trip with Active Adventures.”
    Thomas Carlisle – California, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “My husband and I have been dreaming of going to New Zealand for many years. This was a major bucket list item and it turned out to be all we had hoped for - and more. Everyday was a new adventure. The Angelus Hut hike was a challenge but so very worth the effort. All of the other hikes, bike rides and kayak adventures were amazing too. New Zealand is an absolutely beautiful country and everyone is so friendly. Ruby and Simon could not have been better as our trip leaders. Their enthusiasm, local knowledge, sense of humor and encouragement made the trip so fun and rewarding. We love Active Adventures. This was our second trip with you guys and we are already looking into trip number three. Thanks so much for giving us such a fabulous vacation.”
    Nancy Geyer – Colorado, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Takahe Was Perfect For Us!!!

    “We had the best trip ever with Active Adventures and would recommend it to anyone. Holly and Ellie were our guides and were awesome!!! The accommodations and food were the best, and then the beautiful hikes and voyages couldn't be beat.”
    Michael Perry – Utah, United StatesManuka, January 2019
  • Amazing Experience!

    “We had an incredible experience on our trip! Our 2 guides, Holly and Ellie, were attentive, organized, friendly, and very knowledgeable about all of the places that we visited. They took really great care of us! The food Holly prepared was fantastic, and Ellie was a cheerful driver. We have been telling all our friends and family and referring people to book with Active Adventures!”
    Debbie Perry – Utah, United StatesManuka, January 2019
  • Christmas Like a Kiwi

    “This is a fantastic trip, Dani and Ruby were excellent guides. They took great care to ensure we were comfortable, well informed about the country, well fed, and got as much activity as we wanted. We had fantastic weather the whole trip and was able to spend a lovely Christmas day in Queenstown.”
    Grace Arianoutsos – Texas, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • The Thrill of it All...

    “Where to begin?14 unforgettable days of cycling and hiking the amazing New Zealand landscape. A huge thumbs up to Active Adventures for providing us with the most incredible guides on the planet. Thank you Barnsey and Elder. A cohesive happy excited and motivated group of 10 was all of our good fortune. Cycle by day.. eat drink wine by night... always rewarding hikes along the way to break up the bus rides which were in themselves spectacular. A couple of days were just hiking due to the demands of the routes and delivered jaw dropping vistas. Highly recommend this adventure! ”
    Laurel Morello – California, United StatesWeka, January 2019
  • Magical Experience

    “Loved the people I travelled with and what an amazing place the Galapagos is. Pablo our guide was simply magnificent. So passionate and informed on a wide array of subjects, we learnt something new daily. There were numerous occasions I couldn't imagine the next day being more exceptional than the day we just had and yet they did, day after day. I had to pinch myself a few times - the entire experience was a dream come true . Thank you for an amazing time.”
    Nicky Getley – , MaltaTortuga, January 2019
  • The Best Way to Become a Part of South Island!

    “How hard can it be to read a guide book and follow a map? Wondering if you should do this on your own or go with Active Adventures? DEFINITELY go with the guided trip for your first trip to South Island. There IS so much to see and do...but much driving is required to get between places. With this trip we had a fantastic narrator during each of our hikes as well as along the longish travel times between adventures of the day. It meant so much to be able to wonder as the guide told us about the history of where we were as well as the Maori legends. The island came to life! And then everyone could relax on the drive to the next hike or kayak or bike. Because we had someone else do all of the planning, we were able to enjoy every minute of our time.”
    Belle Six – Texas, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Incredible Trip!

    “Our guides thought of everything! It was a great group of people, gorgeous scenery and a variety of activities.”
    Sally Hall – Colorado, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Down Under and to the Left ( Patagonia)

    “Simply an amazing trip with so many good memories. I spend 14 days including Christmas and New Years with 12 strangers that molded into a very enjoyable group. All of our guides we excellent and very knowledgeable. The hikes and scenery were breathtaking. I hiked with a previously torn ACL and did fine taking my time. I love capturing the moments with pictures and was able to do so. We were blessed with amazing weather due to our collective positive Karma. Highly recommend this trip of a lifetime”
    Thierry Wilbrandt – Indiana, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Best Trip Ever

    “My wife and I are travel agents, and we agree that this was our favorite trip ever - and we've been all over the world. The guides make the trip and James and Maya were fabulous. We're definitely going back to New Zealand. You can't see it all in one trip.”
    Joe Cereola – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Adventures in New Zealand

    “Nancy and I had a wonderful time on our Takahe Great Walks Discovery on December 16th thru December 20th. The hike thru New Zealand was part of a three month journey that started in Thailand in October -- saw us travel thru China, New Zealand and finish in Australia at the beginning of January, 2019. We finally arrived home here in the USA on January 10th. A highlite of our travels was our Takahe hiking trip thru New Zealand. We started to plan our trip last summer and wanted to include a trip to New Zealand. Who knew when we would ever be back in this part of the world again. At first, we had not included New Zealand as part of our three month trip. But we had several people tell us, that we really needed to check out New Zealand and how it was so different than Australia. We also had a family at our church, tell us about the hiking/camping trip they had taken thru New Zealand and how much fun and how beautiful it was. I believe that they also recommended Active Adventures as a place to make reservations and get information about a trip to New Zealand.
    The 5-Day Takahe Great Walks Discovery was just a good fit for us. It combined several hiking trips, with a night on Doubtfull Sound, while staying at lodges along the way. We really did not want to be camping along the way. This was a perfect trip for us.
    We had a wonderful time and saw some beautiful parts of New Zealand. Queenstown was gorgeous and staying and hiking in the Lade Te Anou was wonderful. These are two areas that if we ever get the chance, would like to come back to New Zealand and spend more time. Just a wonderful area.
    But what rally made our trip were our two guides, Tess & Kelsey. We met them Sunday morning and to our surprise, we were the only people on our trip. We just received so much attention from Tess & Kelsey and we had a fantastic time together. Also, the meals they prepared were terrific. It was a great time and we are very grateful for the chance to take this trip. ”
    Bill Hamill – Pennsylvania, United StatesManuka, January 2019
  • The Patagonia Condor Trip is One for the Bucket List!

    “I've been following Active Adventures (originally Active New Zealand) for almost 20 years. My wife and I finally got around to booking our first trip with Active and we only wish we had done it sooner. It was the trip of a lifetime! Our hikes through Torres Del Paine and El Chalten/Fitz Roy were simply amazing. Our guides: Gustavo, Karina, Javier and Aime were exceptional. We can't wait to take another trip with Active!”
    Ben Smith – Georgia, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Best Experience Ever!

    “I didn't know it was possible to pack so much fun in such a small amount of time. Active Adventures surpassed my expectations of what could be accomplished in 8 days. How can you beat hiking, biking, jet boating, and flying amongst the most amazing and secluded scenery New Zealand has to offer? I am so glad I got to experience New Zealand as opposed to just seeing it. Our guides, Hailey and Ruby, were great. I felt safe and looked after the whole time. They took care of everything. On day one, I was asked about my food requirements. Bonus! They catered to my dietary needs. I came to this trip as a single traveler and felt right at home with my fellow adventure seeking enthusiasts. Thanks an awesome adventure!”
    Amy Ball – Ohio, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • A new bar was set...not sure it can be matched!

    “There is not one thing I can think of that Active Adventures could do better. The trip did what I had hoped: introduced me to the South Island through hiking, kayaking and biking. Everything was top notch, from the gear to the snacks to the lodging. The attention to detail from the planning team in HQ to the trip’s incredible guides, Ruby and Dani, was impressive. I’ve taken guided hiking trips before in other parts of the world, and Active Adventures is easily the best company I’ve ever used. The Rimu Tour was AWESOME. I didn’t want it to end.”
    Heather Forshey – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Kauri (first 5 days) - Five Days of Fun!

    “I added the first 5 days of the Kauri trip onto the backend of my Tui trip and it was the perfect compliment. While the south island had amazing and rugged scenery, the north island did not disappoint with it's beautiful coast lines and beaches! We hiked, sand boarded, and snorkeled our way across the north island while learning a lot about the Maori culture. I highly recommend doing both islands. Our guides, Greg and Clara, spoiled us. Thanks for a great time!”
    Amy Ball – Ohio, United StatesKauri, January 2019
  • Rain, Green, Water, Grey, Cloudy, Sunny

    “At every turn in the road, and there were many, another surprise awaited. Whether a magnificent new vista, a rare bird, a splendid trail, or another story of the Maori People and their proud heritage, there was never a dull moment. The weather provided everything it had, but all in manageable doses. The rain came early in the trip but it assured us of more lush grass, and tumbling waterfalls. When the rain ended, the sun came out. Not too hot, not too cold, just providing light to another remarkable mountain. The clouds were the best anywhere. Changing in mood and speed, they danced with the sun and wind, turning to firey flames for hours as the sunset.
    Our guides were knowledgable, cheerful, and bent on everyone's enjoyment of a country they are justifiably proud to live in. Our group quickly merged into a team of comrades, quick with a joke, or pint, or encouragement on a tough hike. ”
    Michael McCoy – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Trip Of a Lifetime

    “The guides were very well prepared. Any question I had was answered about our New Zealand trip. The guides also went out of their way on many occasions to help everyone on the trip with just little things. We took the Tui trip and were very blessed with good weather for the trip. The food and accommodations were fine. My only concern is that since the bar has been set very high now then my next Active Adventures trip will have to be amazing plus.
    George Hurlbert – Nevada, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Lifetime Dream

    “Our trip was awesome & a dream come true. New Zealand is like heaven on earth. We had perfect weather & perfect tour guides. One of my favorite adventures was the plane ride over to Siberia--the view was incredible w/picture perfect scenery. For the hike out we had a beautiful sunshiny day...then a jet boat ride back to our original destination! I also enjoyed Milford Sound w/the overnight stay on the ship. The hiking trails were magnificent & worth every step of the way! The tour guides accommodated my vegan meals & were always interactive w/our group! We felt so welcome!”
    Gail Hurlbert – Nevada, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • A Learning Experience

    “This trip was extremely well done, with friendly and knowledgeable guides. Beyond seeing so much of the beautiful country, I left feeling like I had learned valuable information that I would have never gotten or appreciated otherwise!”
    Molly Madden – Arizona, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Beyond Expectations

    “I'd heard NZ was a beautiful country. Active Adventures, however, guided my group through an experience of outstanding, vast, intense natural wonders while also providing fun, excellent food, welcoming & comfortable accommodation, professional and wonderful guides, and they let us all hike or meander according to our own preference, all the while taking care to make sure we were all safe and accounted for. I could not have asked for a better outfitter for my first trip to New Zealand. I would most definitely travel with Active again.”
    Leslie White – California, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Donna--New Mexico

    “Wonderful trip. Hit the highlights of the South Island. Waterfalls everywhere we looked.”
    Donna Lentz – New Mexico, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “Life is all about experiences and the Condor trip validates that philosophy. There are two distinct memories that we will cherish forever.
    First would be the overwhelming natural beauty of Patagonia – Torres Del Paine & Monte Fitz Roy .
    Second is the Guides. They are exceptional and genuinely love what they do. It shows in their interaction with people and nature. They go above and beyond and take care of every little detail to make it easy on you both mentally and physically. Their warmth and hospitality will win you over and that is something that will remain forever in our memories.

    One tip to future hikers is to make sure they are physically fit to endure the “Patagonian Flats” , this is not a relaxing vacation. It makes you work hard and rewards you with sights of jaw dropping natural beauty.”
    Satyaki Mohan Ray – Michigan, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Best Guides Ever!

    “Super engaged, friendly, and knowledgeable guides took us through spectacular mountain and glacier scenery and made the Condor trip an unforgettable visit to Patagonia!”
    Erika Kosina – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Awesome Experience

    “No matter how many photos I've seen of Patagonia online, being able to see it with my own eyes still took my breath away.”
    Vivian Gao – California, United StatesCondor, January 2019
  • Brain and Brawn

    “Had a great time hiking up and up and up and learning about the Maori culture.”
    Catherine Hatton – Ontario, CanadaKauri, January 2019
  • New Zealand Fiordland Sojourn

    “The perfect getaway. Superb vistas. Excellent guides. Seamless organisation. Wonderful, healthy! food. Flexible itinerary for different fitness levels.”
    Edna Hardeman – New South Wales, AustraliaManuka, January 2019
  • RIMU North - Christmas 2018

    “I have been fortunate to do a few adventure vacations around the world with different tour companies, and I will say that this was the best of them all. The itinerary included so many amazing places, one after another. Our guides (Dani and Ruby), were equally amazing in that they made the excursion feel like a "family" vacation in that they helped our group integrate and share the adventure together. They did a great job immersing themselves into our group, experiencing the whole thing with us while doing all of the leg work (okay, we had to hike ourselves), for us in regards to planning, getting us where we needed to be, and feeding us great food. I learned so much about the wonderful country of New Zealand, its people, history, plant life, wildlife, and more from Dani and Ruby. My appreciation for New Zealand has definitely grown. We did the 3-day hike has our option on the tour. It was a tough trek but well worth it. I enjoyed the mix of trekking, biking, and kayaking. I felt safe and well organized throughout the entire trip. I would not have changed a thing.”
    Brian McNeil – California, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Incredible Guides, Landscapes & Activities

    “Our trip with Active Adventures was phenomenal! Every detail was taken care of, yet still flexible to our needs. New Zealand is a stunning country with so much to do and see, and the guides were so knowledgable about the history, environment and culture. I'd recommend traveling with Active Adventures to anyone!”
    Kari Madden – Arizona, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • December 2018

    “The trip definitely packs in tons of adventure. Saw so many things within such a short time period. In just one day, went from glaciers and mountains to rugged beaches. Every day was a new surprise.”
    Beth Rosenstein – Maryland, United StatesTui, January 2019
  • Phenomenal trip!

    “Beautiful nature, fantastic guides, great group and activities!”
    Alexia Dorozynski – , Russian FederationRimu, January 2019
  • Rod

    “Our family of four took a 10 day trip in the Galapagos. Going with a tour company ensures all details are taken care of so you get to just enjoy what’s at hand. Travel can be quite challenging as the elements of mother nature is always around you. Bring your adventurous attitude and let your guides show you what you have wanted to see all your life.”
    Rod Fong – British Columbia, CanadaTortuga, January 2019
  • Everyone Needs a Little Zeal!

    “The guides with Active Adventures, New Zealand lead you through the heart and soul of New Zealand. Every day we were introduced to outstanding scenery, challenging but do-able hikes, bike rides, and kayaking. Food was thoughtfully prepared or provided, and needs were always anticipated. But this trip was beyond the basics of good food and good scenery. The vitality, the kick-ass, can-do, always smiling, leaders reminded us and re-introduced us to the art of having fun. I am grateful for the experience and will forever translate their Zealand spirit in my day to day living. This trip was more than a vacation, more than a sightseeing trip. In the beauty of nature and in the beauty of the leaders, sharing their honest selves, I re-acquainted myself with myself and things that I hold value and I will always be grateful. Tricia, Atlanta, Georgia”
    Tricia Stearns – Georgia, United StatesRimu, January 2019
  • Ultimate NZ Takahe Experience

    “It is impossible to effectively convey the impact of the Takahe (NZ) trip. Cruise Doubtful and Milford Sounds, trekking along sections of the Routburn, Milford and Kepler tracks and all in perfect weather. Knowledgeable guides made it a spectacular and informative trip. Now I understand why this region of NZ is regarded as one of the best trekking adventures in the world. No question!! ”
    Peter Gunning – New South Wales, AustraliaManuka, January 2019
  • Packed In All The Highlights Of Peru And Galapagos

    “This trip was exactly what we hoped for - packed with gorgeous views, amazing history, beautiful handcrafts and lots of time being out in the beautiful landscapes. Our time in the Galapagos was equally magnificent - we swam with turtles and sharks, saw many unique birds and enjoyed the unique culture on 3 separate islands. The guide were incredibly knowledgeable and skilled at managing the group. We were thrilled with this second trip with Active after a wonderful time in New Zealand last year.”
    Audrey Wennink – Illinois, United StatesIguana, January 2019
  • Awesome Peruvian Adventure!

    “Every detail was taken care of from the lodging in Cusco, ground transportation to/from the airport and sites, meals, there wasn't anything I needed to worry about other than to show up and have fun. The first couple of days in Cusco was perfect to get acclimated and familiar with the area. Wilson was great in answering any questions we had and making sure we were taken care of. Johan was our guide on the Inca Trail part of the trip, and I was very impressed with him! He wore so many hats and was extremely knowledgable not only about all the historical sites but also the plant life, animals, and all the history of the Incas and the trail. He knew when to give us the space to enjoy the hike and scenery and when to show us something of interest. He even went out of his way to tell other visitors when they were doing something wrong, like sitting on top of stone walls of the ruins. You could tell he was passionate about these historical sites and preservation of them so future generations could enjoy them. ”
    Khem Suthiwan – Colorado, United StatesJaguar, January 2019
Back to top

Trip Reviews

  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 16019 reviews)

    Exceeded my Expectations. A Trip to Treasure.

    Active adventures provided an outstanding New Zealand experience. Our guides (Tory and Jordie) went above and beyond during our South Island Rimu trip. Their passion for the outdoors as well as the traditions and culture of NZ enhanced the two week journey. As guides, I was most impressed by their attention to detail and safety. I appreciated the warm smiles, gems of knowledge and yummy meals on even the challenging hike days. For my birthday, during the three day hike at Nelson Lakes National Park, Tory and Jordie surprised me with two delicious cakes to share with my new hiking family. A moment I will treasure, enhanced by the breath taking views of the alpine lake at Angelus Hut.

    The beauty of the country surpassed my expectations, particularly sites like Milford Sound and Mt. Cook. Such a diverse, lush landscape, each hike offered a unique perspective of the stunning views. Combined with the kayaking and biking options, allowed for an exciting and interesting mix. The highlight of my two weeks was my heli-hike on the Tasman Glacier, such an unforgettable experience.

    I'm looking forward to future Active Adventure trips, but will definitely keep a little piece of NZ in my heart. A truly bucket list destination.


    Gigi (from The Bahamas)
    Gigi Smith Review Image
    – West Virginia, United States
    Rimu, July 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 16019 reviews)

    Rimu - Awesome South Island trip!

    This trip is really a great way to experience the true beauty of the South Island. We hiked in beautiful areas with spectacular views, biked the Te Araroa track and sea kayaked in Milford Sound and in the Okarito Lagoon. Our guides, Ben and Emma, were absolutely great! They were cheerful, caring and attentive to our needs. They kept us well fed all along the trip even while hiking in remote areas with minimal cooking facilities. Accommodations were great and representative of the visited area. Thanks to one of our travel companions, we had magnificent weather for the trip duration… we cannot have asked for better temperatures.
    Claire Barrette-Remy Review Image
    – Ontario, Canada
    Rimu, December 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 16019 reviews)

    Great trip

    My experience with Active Adventures in NZ was so fun! The guides were really nice and perfect to play games with. Steve was also really nice and funny. I had such a fantastic time and I'm glad I got to go with Active Adventures.
    Marissa Schimpf Review Image
    – California, United States
    Kea, January 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 16019 reviews)

    Tui Adventure

    This trip was all I had hoped for and then some. I expected beautiful scenery and exciting activities, but I did not expect the personal touch from our guides. One of the group members mentioned chips and salsa... that night we had chips and salsa to go with our appetizers. They knew I love birds, so I was introduced to every bird possible - along with descriptions of the birds’ personalities and habits. There seemed to be no end to Dani and Emma’s knowledge about New Zealand and that made a huge impact on our trip! We all felt like family by the end of the week, and for a person traveling alone, that is a wonderful gift!
    Janet Slover Review Image
    – Texas, United States
    Tui, March 2018
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 16019 reviews)

    Loved NZ Kea Adventure

    New Zealand is a beautiful country, but the experience would not have been half as memorable if it were not for our AA guides. They were professional, could answer any question about NZ, incredibly competent in all ways and so much fun! But it would be unfair not to mention the preliminary support team leading up to the trip. All requests and needs were handled quickly and efficiently. And last, but not least, the itinerary was so well thought out. I enjoyed every minute of the trip and was sorry to see it end.
    Lori Schimpf Review Image
    – California, United States
    Kea, January 2017

 previous

next 

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
close