Reviews

 

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you! 

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Patagonia 2019

    “I spent an excellent and adventurous two weeks with Active Adventures in Patagonia this "summer". Our little troupe was guided up and down the sides of mountains, kayaked amongst icebergs, and had a wonderful time. Our Chilean guides could not have been friendlier, and the food and accommodations were always reasonable and occasionally spectacular. By the time our group wrapped up our tour in Argentina, we were ready to go home with a lifetime's worth of new memories.”
    Stefan Roberts – Alberta, CanadaCondor, March 2019
  • Weka

    “Great trip with a great group of people and guides! Fantastic trip highlighting all of the incredible scenery of the south Island.”
    Barb Irish – Nevada, United StatesWeka, March 2019
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “This trip was absolutely a trip of a lifetime. It was much more challenging than I expected but to my surprise I was able to meet the challenge. The scenery was spectacular, the weather was great, the activities were so varied, the food was so delightful(Mel's cooking was fantastic), the rides with music(Claire was so good at what she does),the people were amazing and the guides were unbelievably attentive, professional, kind and so competent and patient. New Zealander's love and commitment to nurture and care for their land and it's inhabitants was a pleasant atmosphere to engage and behold some of the world's amazing riches. I was richly blessed by the experience. My thanks to all of you for providing me with an amazing journey. One I will never forget.”
    Anne Owen – Missouri, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Rimu south

    “It was a great trip; never a dull moment. The guides were first class; the scenery amazing. Loved everything about it.”
    Hank Garrett – Texas, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Rimu New Zealand

    “Fantastic guides showed us the best of the south island...couldn't have had a better trip!”
    Renee Benage – Missouri, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Manuka 2019

    “Loved the trip. Fantastic. Great guides, great accomandations, Great food, and Amazing Hikes”
    Debra Gjoraas – Minnesota, United StatesManuka, March 2019
  • Nothing short of Paradise!

    “The Active Adventures “Condor” trip was a trip like no other! The dynamic landscape and itinerary allowed us to experience so many unique opportunities in Patagonia!!! The itinerary took us all over Patagonia leaving us breathless from the magnificent views of lakes, mountains, glaciers, plains, forests and everything in between!! It was an intense trip and I’d tend to rate it on the more difficult side than moderate side. It challenges your mind and your body! So many rewards come along the journey! This was a very demanding trek and I feel it’s important to properly prepare for it to enjoy it to its fullest! The accommodations and food were excellent and everyone involved in ensuring our trip was a success were nothing short of friendly, knowledgeable and very well organized! I would definitely recommend Active Adventures for your future adventure planning. Thank you for this magnificent adventure!! ”
    Nena Hulse – Ontario, CanadaCondor, March 2019
  • We Did It All!

    “Our retirement trip to New Zealand was planned two years in advance with Active Adventures. We did the North Island K and South Island with one day in between. It was an ambitious schedule which we were so glad we did. Gregory and Claire really made the trip special for us. Gregory was a fountain of knowledge (especially about the kiwi bird) just ask him. He and Claire kept our attention on the long drives with amusing stories. They also played music in conjunction with the activity we were about to do. For example the folk song about Gumboots. (They were surprised we knew the Scottish Welly Song) They always made us feel we could do all the activities - hiking Mt. Te Aroha, Rainbow Mountain, the Tongariro Crossing (our favorite) cave tubing at Waitomo Caves, and mountain biking in Whakarewarewa Forest. We talked them into taking us to a Zorb Waterball Ride in Rotorua which we really think should be included on this trip for everyone. It was that fun! Our meal prepared by Claire and Gregory were spectacular. On New Year's Eve we had a special evening watching fireworks off the Lake Rotorua. Each night we played games (which I brought) and everyone bonded over a little competition. Our highlights that we will remember from this trip are our New Zealand Guides Gregory and Claire. I hope they remember us as much as we will remember them!”
    Judy Lange – Minnesota, United StatesKauri, March 2019
  • Trip of a lifetime!

    “I’d been planning to do this trip for the last 5 years and finally, I did it! Indeed, a trip of a lifetime! I had never seen such magnificent sceneries in my life, to mention: “lakebows”, gorgeous sunrises, incredible cloud formations and indescribable vistas and landscapes. Describing it alone won’t do it justice. One has to simply come here and see it for him/herself! This is the only and first ever trip where I get to do everything from trekking, hiking, ice hiking, biking and eating! It’s a high-impact and physically active and demanding kind of trip. If this trip is not in your bucket list yet, you better do it now or else, you’ll be missing out in the best adventure ever!
    Michelle Olivares – California, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Kiwi Magic

    “Outstanding guides - they were knowledgeable, polite, respectful, attentive, and fun to be with. We have been on five other bike trips with another company, this was more challenging in terms of activity, but certainly doable and the options enabled one to bike/hike his or her own choice. The mid trip break in Queenstown is perfect. Lots of variety but you could please arrange for more scenery! Simply breathtaking, each day was better than the previous one. Family style meals were relaxing for us and much appreciated.”
    Chris Elliot – New Hampshire, United StatesWeka, March 2019
  • Bucket list trip

    “It is difficult to express how much I loved this trip. Hiking New Zealand! What could be better. Our guides were professional yet a lot of fun. The food was healthy and delicious. Our group got along well and encouraged one another in their efforts. The views of the mountains and waterfalls were breathtaking. I would do this again in a minute. Thanks, Active Adventure for an amazing trip.”
    Ann Robertson – Illinois, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • An unbelievable journey with fabulous guides and a really fun and interesting group of people.

    “First, I want to say that our guides, Ashleigh and Holly were the best! They were attentive to each of us, knowing what our limitations were and honoring them. The food that they prepared for us was gourmet quality. They gave us all an education of each of the areas we went to, plus fun facts about New Zealand. Very knowledgeable guides! They were also very fun to be with, lots of laughs!
    The journey itself was wow moments around every corner. It differently was active! I love it!
    I signed up for this Active Adventures trip because of the wonderful time I had on their Galapagos adventure, and because the New Zealand adventure equaled my wonderful experience in the Galapagos, I will be back for more! Thank you Active Adventures and thank you Holly and Ashleigh!”
    Jeanie Revor – Minnesota, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “Much gratitude to our terrific guides, Kim and Astrid for an incredible adventure, sharing their beautiful country with us! Lots of good hiking, kayaking, laughter, stories, delicious food, fun travels..... and so many new friends. I loved it!!”
    Joanne Davis – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Condor Trip 2019

    “The Condor trip by far exceeded all expectations. We we especially blessed with unbelievable weather, as well as an exceptional group of fellow travelers. To the guides and folks at Active Adventures, the way the trip was curated to constantly provide new landscapes, new vistas and keep us on the move to fill the schedule was well done. Bravo!! Can't overlook the attention to detail with the hikes and accommodations in the back country and in the remote towns of Patagonia which made the experience one that will great memories and campfire tales for years to come.”
    David Witt – California, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Do not wait!

    “My recent Khumbu trip to Nepal was everything I dreamed & more. Majestic scenery, warm people, good food all complemented by super excellent guides. I felt safe & well taken care off. Loved getting up in the mountains!”
    Geri Goeltz – Missouri, United StatesKhumbu, March 2019
  • Tortuga Trip Review

    “Being a lifelong student of biology, the Galapagos Islands have been near the top of my travel bucket list for a long, long time. I initially looked at a number of different travel options including land based, sea/boat based & combinations of both. I decided on Active Adventure's Tortuga trip because it was land based in regards overnighting/sleeping, included quite a diverse array of activities including hiking, biking, kayaking & snorkeling, all of the activities in which I like to participate. Their itinerary also included visiting multiple islands via transfer by boat, so, AA seemed to provide the best of both worlds. What was most impressive was about the trip was our excellent world recognized guide, Pablo. I have never traveled with a more enthusiastic, detail oriented guide who not only speaks excellent English, but is obviously knowledgeable about & proud of Ecuador & the amazing Galapagos Islands. Pablo truly loves what he does and it shows!! ”
    Lou Elsaesser – Ohio, United StatesTortuga, March 2019
  • Condor with GustavoM...Feb 24, 2019

    “Excellent trip with great guides. Gustavo is a star and guided in a relaxed and enjoyable manner. The local guides were excellent as well! Couldn't have hoped for better weather.”
    Dwight Kroll – California, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Memories that will stand the test

    “I think the Patagonia trip was fun and exciting. We had such a great time!”
    Nancy Stolz – Connecticut, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Ellie, Emma and Pepper

    “Best team ever! I thought Eric from Peru couldn't be topped but these guys are right up there with him!”
    Pat Dyble – Michigan, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Amazing 2 weeks!

    “This was my second trip with Active and I can't say enough about how wonderful both experiences were. Active thought about every small detail, which allowed me to just enjoy the experience without having to worry about planning at all. Cem was a great guide! He was super knowledgeable and friendly and he kept the group laughing. Patagonia is seriously beautiful and I would recommend using Active if you want to truly enjoy the experience care free!”
    Jackie Silva – New Jersey, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Kauri Trip

    “My husband and I did the full 11 day trip with Josh and Annika. We had a small group of seven which was perfect. I was outside my comfort zone a few times, but our guides and trip mates provided the encouragement I needed. I thoroughly enjoyed the introduction to the Maori culture, especially Josh's Maori tales. Annika was an awesome cook, whipping up delicious picnics and evening meals. One thing is for sure--you will never go hungry on and Active Adventures trip!! The behind the scenes work was flawless. As far as we knew, food magically appeared and the bus never ran out of gas!! We were blessed with wonderful weather until Cyclone Oma made its appearance, but Josh and Annika provided alternate hikes that kept us dry (for the most part) and happy.”
    Debbie Perona – Indiana, United StatesKauri, March 2019
  • Backpacker's Paradise

    “Our Active Adventure in Chile's Torres del Paine National Park was a backpacker's paradise! The diverse terrain lead through wooded paths, along glacial lakes, and up to breathtaking panoramic views. The fresh glacial water was ready to drink! And the comfortable refugios nestled into the mountainsides made for the perfect, relaxing end to an active day outdoors. Our guides were professional, friendly, and extremely knowledgable about the wildlife and biodiversity we encountered. As somebody who has backpacked in the American Rockies, Europe, and the Himalayas, this trek in Torres del Paine will always hold a special place in my heart. ”
    Melissa Wishner – New York, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Better than winning the lottery!

    “Cannot say enough wonderful things about Active Adventures. This was our 2nd time traveling with Active AND having the wonderful fortune of Andy and Jo being our guides again as well. Tui was such a fun trip and wonderful way to spend the holidays! Every day was full of amazing scenery, laughter and adventure. NEVER a dull moment! And, as always, Andy and Jo took such great care of us every step of the way. When you travel with them, it's like being with family (family that you WANT to travel with!!)! They make you laugh, embrace the awe around you, push your limits in a safe manner, and just enjoy everything about life.

    The only complaint was that the trip had to eventually come to an end and it's been hard re-adjusting to the reality of being back home!! We keep looking for sheep and waterfalls and weren't fond of trading the hiking shoes back in for work shoes - -but it's only until our next adventure with Active. Thank you Jo and Andy for not only being the most fantastic guides, but now also our dear friends. We truly love you guys!
    Sharon Wultich – California, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • Wild Weka Trip Feb 17 - March 2...!

    “This Weka trip in New Zealand was undoubtably the best trip package that we have ever been on and we've been on quite a few! Of the 15 best destinations to visit on the south island, I'll bet that we saw twenty of them during our trip. Unbelievably beautiful country, kind, helpful and fit citizens plus our guides were extremely experienced and attentive to each and every one of our diverse interests. For me some of the best highlights were: the ferry ride on fabulous Milford Sound, the bike ride to Mavora Lake through the stunning and primitive country (even in a sleet storm!), the two big hikes up Key Summit and Mueller Glacier for awesome views, skinny dipping in pristine, turquoise Lake Pukaki, group jumps at Castle Hill and hikes through the rain forest around Lake Matheson. Our lead guide Danny was superb in her driving skills along the narrow NZ roadways. Every time we passed a noteworthy spot, she would grab the microphone and give us a run down of the unique NZ vegetation, birds or geology. I found her comments particularly informative and spot on. I would also recommend that folks taking this trip consider running the Shotover River white water raft excursion on their day off in Queenstown. In summary, this trip was a "6" on a "5" scale...! ”
    Peter Cowdery-Corvan – New York, United StatesWeka, March 2019
  • Condor Trip

    “Best trip, best leader, best group, best trip ever to a truly incredible area of the world. I will treasure forever the people and land of Patagonia !”
    Barbara Yarwood-Wishner – New York, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Rimu Trip

    “This trip was such a treat! We enjoyed the amazing variety of the South Island's varied geography, well-plan activities, delicious meals, and best of all fun, skilled and engaging guides.”
    Nancy Rooney – Virginia, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • The Magical South Island

    “Our guides, Ellie and Emma, were the best ever. They bent over backwards to accommodate everyone on the trip. Each day revealed another wonderful aspect of New Zealand geography and culture. All my senses were overwhelmed by the beauty and magic of this place. This small group trip was active, fun, informative, and worthy of anyone's bucket list!”
    Stephanie Greenley – Texas, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Nature Only Surpassed by People

    “I thought the views were going to be the highlight of my trip in Patagonia. While the views and nature certainly took my breath away, what highlighted my experience was the people. Our local guides were knowledgeable, approachable, and fun. The people who were on the trip with us were such an eclectic group who meshed so well. I truly loved being disconnected from the digital world and immersed in Patagonia and the people we were with.”
    Alli Wisher – New York, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Fabulous Trip

    “From the minute we met our group and guides we knew we were going to have a wonderful trip. The guides were very knowledgeable about the eco sysyem, history, legends, geography of New Zealand. They communicated on a regular basis of the places we were hiking and the places we were staying. The country of New Zealand is so beautiful with the coastline, mountains and forests.”
    Kerry Froehlich – Minnesota, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Amazing Trip!

    “I can't say enough good things about Tess, Laura, and the whole Active Adventures team. They really gave us a special trip that we'll never forget. ”
    Steve Clark – California, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Truly an Active Adventure

    “Our family has been fortunate to travel quite a bit and this trip was truly a highlight. Special thanks to our trip leader Arturo who handled every detail. The trip was very well described in terms of difficulty and fitness level. My 3 daughters (20-24) and my wife and I all had a spectacular time”
    Jerry Wishner – New York, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Best Trip Ever in the History of Trips

    “I wish there were more stars to add for how much we enjoyed our Rimu trip. My husband and I took our two teenage sons and the four of us couldn't have been happier. The level of hospitality offered by our guides, Laura and Tess was out of this world. We learned so much about everything we saw, and were treated like royalty. Chef Laura was amazing, my boys are still raving about all of the meals she made. Tess was an excellent driver and trip leader. Together, they were perfect. Zero complaints. Our trip had the perfect balance of physical activity and beautiful drives through the country.I can not recommend this trip enough. It blew our expectations away. We knew we would have a great time, but not THIS much of a great time. Active Adventures gets an A+++. We can't wait to sign up for another trip.”
    Kori Clark – California, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Vacation of a lifetime

    “My wife and I were blessed with being paired with a couple of the best guides New Zealand has. Not only were Josh and Annika knowledgeable with the hikes and other adventures, but also the history of the country and the Maori. They catered to our needs to the point it turned into a running joke “ you forgot the oatmeal”. Anyways, after the second day they felt like family. The north island of New Zealand is even more beautiful than I imagined. Great job Active Adventure!”
    Sam Swartz – Michigan, United StatesKauri, March 2019
  • Awe-inspiring Adventure

    “The Condor trip is an amazing adventure to one the most awe-inspiring regions on earth - from the soaring towers of Torres del Paine to the expansive Perito Moreno Glacier to the iconic peaks of Fitz Roy and Cerro Torre. It was truly a “pinch me” experience. The variety of activities was impressive and each day promised a new experience. The entire trip was very well organized and led by highly competent and caring guides. Cem, our lead guide, went out of his way to make the trip memorable, even organizing our own Argentina grill our final dinner together. I can’t say enough about Anna, one of our W Trek guides – her wealth of knowledge, sense of humor, and patience while tending my tortured toes were greatly appreciated. She and Cem made a great team, both representing the best of Active guides. I look forward to my next Active Adventure.”
    Susan Carpenter – Iowa, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • The legend that is Patagonia

    “I've planed and looked forward to this trip for two years and it exceeded all my expectations ”
    Pat Thorneycroft – West Midlands, United KingdomCondor, March 2019
  • As good as it gets

    “Active Adventures does everything right. Ellie and Ruby were fantastic tour guides, all accommodations were top-notch,and the food was fabulous. The itinerary was just right. Filled with amazing sites and activities, but never too much to enjoy it all. Just perfect.”
    Heidi Moak – New York, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Awesome - the best trip ever!

    “Well... from the time Pepper and Hailey picked us up we were in excellent care - and totally not aware of what was waiting for us! The beautiful South Island is just there waiting to be enjoyed, but it was Pepper and Hailey that made the trip really extra-ordinary! They are a dynamic team together! We enjoyed incredible meals sprinkled with great conversation and always entertained by Pepper and Hailey's vibrant personalities! They were so fun and engaging!
    What was my favorite part of the Rimu Trip? Everyday! Ha! :) I did love everyday - there were no bad days! And in my opinion, every day was indeed PERFECT! (well except on the 1st day at the Braemer Station when I messed up the coffee! That is story that should be shared from Pepper's point of view!!)

    A memory maker for sure was when we were on our way into Milford Sound. It had rained most of the day as we hiked Kepler and Routeburn Tracks, and I did not realize what a gift this was going to be for us as we drove through the Homer-Tunnel and then emerged into daylight to witness these spectacular waterfalls flowing everywhere!! Pepper had cued up some beautiful-emotional music that crescendo-ed just as we hit daylight and the sight of those waterfalls! An amazing memory that could not be captured on film but will be etched in my memory and heart for a life-time!! It was a thrill that left me silent as we made the drive down to the shores of Milford Sound. Stunning.
    Our weather turned from rain to sunshine and we enjoyed a hike to Roberts Point with a beautiful view of Franz Josef Glacier. It was the first time that Pepper had a sunny day to do this hike and see the glacier too! So, you know it's a great day when the Active Adventure guide is taking pictures too! :) Pepper gifted us with Whittaker chocolate at the top of Roberts Point as well. A treat!! It is the little things that Pepper did every day that made what we were doing so, so special.
    Another highlight for me was the 3-day hike in Nelson Lakes. There were 3 firsts for me on this hike. The first time I went over-night back-packing as opposed to long day hikes and a stay in a nice hotel for the evening. The first time I carried a full backpack loaded down. :) The first time I slept out in a tent under the stars in the mountains. And even more special to be the mountains in NZ. My husband and I enjoyed witnessing the massive number of stars we could see in the night sky! A very special night.
    The hike from Saint Arnaud to Lakehead Hut - and then to Angelus Hut was a challenge and a thrill. The mountains and the streams were so beautiful making that steep climb to Angelus Hut. Once at Angelus Hut we enjoyed sitting on the deck and sharing stories and drinking hot tea. And I do believe our guides got some proper treatment with a shoulder massage for one and a foot massage for the other. (we were working hard to win their hearts as they had won ours!) We got up early to begin our last trek and another wonderful site to see the sunrise come over the mountains and cast its beautiful glow on the lake. The hike along Roberts Ridge was also stunning. I loved every part of this 3-day hike!!

    So, we as a group all loved Pepper and Hailey and told them often that they were having 5-star days! It only seemed logical that we would be their favorite group! Right!? We asked several times - and although they hid their true feelings well, we did all receive Active Adventure hats at our last dinner! So, we must have been their favorites! right!? Thank you to the marketing team for that gift. I wore mine home!
    Saying good-bye was hard. Who would have thought that we would fall so in love with New Zealand and our Active Adventure guides! But we did. A very sad good-bye as we watched the van pull away.
    As you can tell my heart was touched deeply by this trip, so thank you to all of you behind the scenes as well. You do all things with excellence! Pepper and Hailey do all things with excellence!! Please know that.
    New Zealand, Active Adventures, Pepper and Hailey captured my heart - that is the bottom line for me. Thank you again for this EPIC trip! and I can only hope that I will return one day and do another trip.

    KC Hicks – South Carolina, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Can't say enough about how we loved our trip with active adventures! Lovely accommodations. Not fancy but comfortable with excellent locations. Loved the communal meals. We had a special group. Maddie and Danni were fantastic guides. Can't say enough about Danni. Her energy and enthusiasm were contagious. Both ladies had a unexhausting knowledge of the area, flora and fauna and the history of New Zealand and the Moari. What a special pair leading a special trip.”
    Wayne Heike – Massachusetts, United StatesWeka, March 2019
  • Manuka Trip 2019

    “This was a wonderful trip! Our first time in New Zealand -- what an enchanting country. Jackie and Lauren were great hosts: efficient, safe transport, wonderful food, and a fount of information and knowledge about our travels and in response to questions. The hand-over to Ultimate Travel for the Milford Track went smoothly and we felt well-prepared physically and mentally by all the hikes we went on beforehand. We were sad to have the trip end at last, but feel we have made some good friends and have had a marvelous vacation. Thank you!”
    Don Cooke – California, United StatesManuka, March 2019
  • Beautiful Scenery, Excellent Hiking, and Wonderful People!

    “The Condor trip was amazing! Each day presented us with a new landscape and they were all spectacular! The hikes were challenging but not back-breaking. All of the lodging was quite nice as well. The refugios on the W-trek were better than anticipated and offered our group a great opportunity to bond. What really made the trip was all of the people that we met. The Active staff from the office will answer any question you have no matter how minor; Amy from the travel agency had great recommendations; Cem was a fantastic guide throughout the trip and really brought our group together with his sense of humor; Victor and Phillipe were great W-trek guides and supported our group when a few of us were not feeling well; Juan from El Chalten was also great and we loved hearing his stories about climbing Fitz Roy; and finally Rafael from Hotel Patagonia Queen in El Calafate was amazing and provided a 5 star hospitality experience!

    All in all it was an awesome trip and I look forward to my next Active Adventure!”
    Mike Moncrief – New Jersey, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • A Wonderful Experience

    “Our trip exceeded expectations. First of all, New Zealand is a beautiful country and the people welcoming and kind. The weather was great as well with only 3 days having any sort of rain. Specific to our Active Adventures tour, our guides Pepper and Hailey were exceptional. They were skilled in their respective roles in guiding, understanding, listening, informing and driving. We all bonded with them on the first day! Five out of five stars! Our tour bus was comfortable and safe. The food was perfect. I'm a picky eater but somehow almost everything tasted great to me. The activities were challenging yet within our physical capabilities. I would not have wanted to do the 3 day Nelson Lakes hike in the pouring rain but the weather cooperated and was beautiful! Thanks to Active Adventures New Zealand for a wonderful time we will always remember!”
    Rich Stones – California, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • How can I retire in New Zealand?

    “Everywhere you look in New Zealand is beautiful. You simply cannot take enough photos and they never quite capture the magnanimity of it beauty. To top all the amazing places we travelled, our group was fortunate enough to have two truly amazing guides, Laura and Tess. Both were well-informed about the flora and fauna (never thought I'd get so interested in native birds!), great cooks, had hilarious personalities (Tess was a great prankster!), and were strong women (Laura carried TWO packs at Nelson Lakes!). New Zealand, you hit the lottery with your resources: your beauty and your people. ”
    Laura Evans – Virginia, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • The Most Amazing Place on Earth!

    “We have been to some wonderful places on earth but these islands are beyond belief! We loved the fact that this trip was land based which allowed us to spend all of our time actually on the islands or on the waters around the islands with all the beauty and all of the creatures. The wonderful travel between the islands allowed us to see places we could never have seen otherwise. This was our third Active Adventure trip and it met all of our expectations and exceeded them! Our guide, Zambo, was incredibly knowledgeable and his stories about growing up on Galapagos were so much fun to listen too. We would actually like to go again!”
    Cindy Koubsky – Minnesota, United StatesTortuga, March 2019
  • Rimu Adventure

    “The Rimu set the bar high for my first 14 days in New Zealand. The adventure format was excellent with challenging hikes full of vistas and undulating walks through the temperate rainforests. Amplifying the Rimu were Daniel and Kelsey, who are excellent & special leaders, full of care & concern for our group as a whole and for each individual group member. They provided constant support and encouragement in all the hikes. They took every opportunity to provide additional treks and insights above and beyond the program format. They earned my trust and respect. They imparted their local knowledge and insights into the Maori culture both on the trail and on the bus. The accommodation & meals were exceptional. Between your trip schedule & the excellence of your leaders, the Rimu has been one of my best treks ever!!”
    Dave Voino – Ontario, CanadaRimu, March 2019
  • Kauri adventure

    “The Kauri achieved the high bar set by the Rimu for my last 11 days in New Zealand. In between the two Active Adventures, I did the Kepler with 6 Auzzie friends. The Kauri adventure format was excellent with shorter but challenging hikes full of vistas and undulating walks through the temperate rainforests. Amplifying the Kauri were Andy and Jo who are excellent & special leaders, full of care & concern for our group as a whole and for each individual group member. They provided constant support and encouragement in all the hikes. They took every opportunity to provide additional treks & adventures and insights above and beyond the program format. They earned my trust and respect. They imparted their local knowledge and insights into the Maori culture both on the trail and on the bus. The accommodation & meals were exceptional. Between your trip schedule & the excellence of your leaders, the Kauri has been one of my best treks ever!! ”
    Dave Voino – Ontario, CanadaKauri, March 2019
  • It was a trip of a lifetime.

    “Our guides, the landscape, the food, the itinerary and all the active adventure made our two weeks with AA on New Zealand's south island non-stop enjoyment. Did I mention the guides....oh yes... they were absolutely incredible. They did everything possible to provide us with an amazing experience - they were better than the scenery, which is really saying something. ”
    Cynthia Orcutt – Maine, United StatesWeka, March 2019
  • Galapagos meets all requirements for amazing!

    “Wow! This trip brought me to a world of nature I could not have imagined even with all the reading and research possible to do beforehand. Zambo, our guide, was able to bring us to islands and waters that can only be seen to appreciate. The lovely hotels we were able to stay at on four different islands gave us a hands on experience I don't think we would have had if on a cruise ship. Our small group of seven became close and enjoyed all the experiences together. It was an amazing trip.”
    Bob Koubsky – Minnesota, United StatesTortuga, March 2019
  • Weka - a trip we'll never forget

    “We had high expectations for this trip, having been recommended by friends - and it exceeded these in every respect. We've been all over the world on biking/ walking holidays and this was easily the best. We met some great people in our group - we all seemed to gel really well. Every day was a highlight and our guides Dani and Maddi were simply superb - they worked so hard to make sure everything was the best it could be - hopefully they enjoyed their time with all of us as much as we did with them. Already thinking about coming back!”
    John Bain – Inverurie, United KingdomWeka, March 2019
  • The Trip of Extremes, Highlands and Lowlands

    “I loved this trip! I had been to Ecuador before and wanted to see it more thoroughly and this trip did that for me and my husband. The extreme altitude differences that we experienced showed us parts of EC that we didn't know existed! We experienced everything so personally as we we rode the horses from the gorgeous Hacienda Porvenir way up in the highlands and rode in the motorized canoe on the Napo River lowlands to stay in the Amazon Rainforest lodge. Our guide Mauro was amazing as we traveled the many miles between our adventures. His experience and knowledge created an environment of safety and awe. We appreciated so much Mauro's skill in flexibility as we made adjustments for the weather and various areas of interest. We were able to always enjoy the local cuisine in incredibly interesting settings such as the local town restaurant surrounded by monkeys to home made meals from the family operating the Sasha Sisa jungle lodge. This was our second Active Adventure trip, having done the Rimu in New Zealand last year, and we were not surprised by the challenging waterfalls hike through the cascading water. There is no other hike quite like this one! We also were very impressed with the local specialist guides we met alone the way as we biked and climbed. Thank you Mauro and thank you Active Adventures for this opportunity!”
    Cindy Koubsky – Minnesota, United StatesTapir, March 2019
  • Best Ever

    “Absolutely LOVED the WEKA trip! While challenging, it was also just the amount of activity and relaxing down time. With the help of our incredible guides, we laughed, learned about the culture and land and really had a chance to sample the many diverse places of the South island. Thank you Maddie and Dani!”
    Mary Ellen Heike – Massachusetts, United StatesWeka, March 2019
  • Tapir Trip 2019

    “I want to thank our guide, Mauro, for leading us through an extraordinary experience of activities exploring high mountains and the Amazon basin.”
    Bob Koubsky – Minnesota, United StatesTapir, March 2019
  • Bert V Rimu 18 Feb - Mar 3

    “I took a leap of faith based on TripAdvisor and other online reviews (and was otherwise blind to how it would turn out)
    and it was everything it was advertised to be. I would have never known how to get to all the places that were visited.
    The guides were well organized and energetic, and you could tell that the accomodations were well thought out.”
    Bert Verstraete – New Mexico, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • South Island Highlights

    “I took the Rimu Active Adventure trip to finally see the things I'd missed out on the South Island from my three previous visits. I was happy to have a holiday and be taken care of by two wonderful young women who were knowledgeable, capable, and fun! One was a great cook and the other a competent driver. Both were very fit and ambitious!! It was fabulous to see all the sights and do active things every day around the island. The guides shared history and stories of the landscape, animals and Maori customs. Probably what stood out to me, as the slowest hiker and biker, was the patience exhibited by the guides. They stayed with me and encouraged me when I was struggling, never once making me feel bad. They each deserve a medal for the care they showed to each and every one of us on the trip. Thank you to Active Adventures and Pepper and Hailey!!”
    Tammy Owen – Oregon, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Active and an adventure!

    “We had a great two weeks with Kim and Astrid. They are unfailingly well-organized, enthusiastic, and energetic and took us to see spectacular places. I will never forget being presented with birthday cupcakes (complete with a candle), while sitting on a gravel beach beside a glacial lake. ”
    Deborah Chotner – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Active Adventure Kiwi Trip with Kim and Astrid

    “Active Adventures is a great group to tour New Zealand. If you love the outdoors and hitting all the cool spots, this is the trip for you. We are glad we didn't have to drive the hairpins curves of the South Island and felt totally comfortable in the small van. Lots of activities were planned and we never felt that we were trapped in the van. Our leaders, Kim and Astrid were top notch and fed us well too. Seamless travel in a lovely country.”
    Annie Gillespie – Texas, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Kiwi - February, 2019

    “'Wonderful trip. The guides were excellent, and our tour-mates were, too. New Zealand is spectacular and lived up to my "bucket-list" expectations. (It helped that we had outstanding weather - believe it or not.) The hiking was great. The general atmosphere in New Zealand was a pleasure to experience: open and friendly, laid back but energetic. All in all, a super vacation.”
    Maynard Davis – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • NZ at its Best

    “Simply an amazing trip. From the moment we landed our guides sought out our specific interests and gave us so much more adventure and fun than even we had in mind.
    The itinerary was clear, manageable, comprehensive and with options it was also individualized.
    With a wide range of ages and athletic focus our group came away smiling —a testament to Kaleb and Ruby P, our amazing NZ guides”
    Melanie Abrams – California, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • M Martin Kauri

    “Excellent - really enjoyed it. Combined with the Tui trip I feel we got covered a lot of New Zealand in two weeks.”
    Marg Martin – Ontario, CanadaKauri, March 2019
  • Puma Feb. 17, 2019

    “The trip was wonderful...so great to see South America for the first time with Active Adventures. There was a good variety of activities and plenty of allowance for varying abilities. Loved seeing the different terrains - from steppe to rainforest to fiords. ”
    Roberta Roll – New York, United StatesPuma, March 2019
  • Great trip

    “This was a great trip and Mayra was an excellent guide. We saw many things that we would not have seen otherwise. Very beautiful scenery.”
    Amy Rosen – Massachusetts, United StatesPuma, March 2019
  • March 2019 Condor trip

    “This was a wonderful trip. The guides were fantastic, the food was awesome, the accommodations were terrific and the other people on the trip were truly wonderful. The backpacking and hiking were challenging, but worth every minute of exertion. As an added benefit, I also a lot of wildlife, as well as many birds. ”
    Barbara Delaney – Maryland, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Incredible country, amazing guides

    “We now understand the allure of New Zealand. It's a country that is cherished by the people who live there and it shows in how they preserve and appreciate its beauty. We were lucky to have a wonderful group of people, but most of all, the guides Maddi and Danni made the trip special. They were extremely hard working but made the trip fun and relaxing while maintaining the "Active" in Active Adventures. You're lucky to have both of them, and we look forward to going back to see the north island.”
    Kenji Sax – Nevada, United StatesWeka, March 2019
  • Active Adventure Kiwi Trip with Kim and Astrid

    “This was an outstanding trip for newly retired travelers who love the outdoors. The emphasis was on spending as much time as possible in the extraordinary South Island landscape and minimizing the time on the bus. The guides were knowledgeable and charming. This trip cannot be effectively duplicated by unguided travelers. ”
    Trey Gillespie – Montana, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Kiwi Trip 2019

    “Great support for a wide-ranging visit to a wonderful place”
    John Crandell – Virginia, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • A welcoming time...

    “Before leaving for NZ, we had read and heard about the incredible Kiwi hospitality. We were pleased that these impressions were not just realized but surpassed. Our first and best impression was made by our AA guides. While thoroughly professional and knowledgeable they also made each of us feel not only welcome but over the course of our trip made our group a real traveling community. ”
    Lisa Winger – Illinois, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • 5 star Tui trip

    “Dear Active adventures:

    My husband and I were recently on the tui trip with Tess and Astrid. We would like to say that we were extremely happy with the overall trip from the pick up in Christchurch to dropoff in Queenstown.

    The scheduling, accommodations, entertainment and expertise from our guides as well as the overall itinerary was second to none. Tess and Astrid were knowledgeable, organized, professional and responsible with just the right amount of humor. It was fun to have Holly join us for siberia valley and matched the high level of service your whole team demonstrated. Thank you for the flawless and amazing adventure. ”
    Jenna Rowland – Colorado, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • If you want AMAZING, take the Condor trip!

    “If you are looking for a trip that features rugged beauty, unspoiled landscapes and a different 'scene' each time you turn around, this is the one to take! Our many hikes were diverse enough, challenging but not relentless, and complimented by excellent guides knowledgeable of the land and its people. You wont be disappointed especially if lucky enough to have Zach as your tour leader.”
    Gretchen Butts – Maryland, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Tui Fun with Nick B and Elder

    “Nick and Elder were fantastic guides. Although we were rained out of one of our major events for the week, they did a good job of modifying the schedule of activities to get us close to what we were expecting to do. Nick and Elder could not have been more patient and positive for a group of wildly different ages and abilities. Their playfulness and sense of humor was great.

    We were treated to some of the most beautiful scenery in the world and there was an amazing mix of activities with hiking, biking, kayaking, helicopters (optional), scenic flight, jet boating, cruising, and relaxing in Queenstown. To get all of that in required a lot of daily movement and long hours in the van. The only real time to relax was the two-night stay in Queenstown.

    Overall, it was a great trip with a good group of people, great guides and lots of activity and sightseeing.

    Jeff Lum – Washington, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • Everything I Hoped For

    “This was the first organized adventure tour I've ever been on and I have to say the bar has been set extremely high. Everything about this trip was exceptional--not just the activities, which were superbly planned and executed, but the food (too much good food--I guess that's a criticism. I gained three pounds and I expected to lose a few), the hotels, and the company. Our guides Dan and Ruby were so fun and professional, incredibly prepared and at our beck and call. I loved all the activities; I'm a pretty experienced backpacker and the trip we took to Angeles Hut has to rank among the best trips I ever took in my life. I'm completely sold on Active Adventures and will be looking to take additional trips with them when I can afford it.”
    Brad Shurmantine – California, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “I absolutely loved the Rimu Trip. Our guides, Astrid and Kim, were absolutely fabulous. The trip was well planned out, accommodations were first class, the food was simply amazing. I am so glad I found Active Adventures to take this trip around New Zealand's South Island.”
    Uli Keeley – Colorado, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • New Zealand's North Island is simply amazing

    “I had a fabulous time touring the North Island with Andy and Jo. They are a wonderful team. Completing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing was definitely the highlight of the trip!”
    Uli Keeley – Colorado, United StatesKauri, March 2019
  • NZ Tui Adventure

    “Fantastic guides. Excellent travel mates. Organized and well thought out itinerary. ”
    Jill Lum – Washington, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • Rimu 2019

    “We had a great time seeing some extraordinary scenery. Our guides, James and MJ, where knowledgeable, great cooks and fun to be around. This was a trip of a lifetime.”
    Marc Collette – Maine, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Patagonia Condor Trip Was Excellent!

    “The Patagonia Condor trip did not disappoint! The scenery was outstanding, and the hiking trails were generally very good. We learned a new hiking term ("Patagonia flat") and we learned what wind can be. The W-hike refugios were better than expected - showers, restaurants, bars - definitely "glam" backpacking! At the Gray Glacier, the kayak trip and the walk on the glacier were amazing, and we enjoyed the lovely touch of tea and cookies in the boats and on the ice. The hiking in the Fitz Roy area was also fabulous, and we were thrilled to have a clear view of Monte Fitz Roy on our final day. We learned even more about wind here! Our head guide Gustavo was excellent but we found all our guides were professional, knowledgeable, and did a great job at keeping us on track in our activities.”
    Joan Gallaway – British Columbia, CanadaCondor, March 2019
  • Unforgettable Honeymoon

    “Our Tui trip was the best decision we could have made for a honeymoon! Our guides, Elder and Nick, went above and beyond to ensure we were all having a wonderful time. We can't choose just one favorite part of our trip. ”
    Jo Geren – California, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Wonderful country, Great guides, awesome scenery, fun activities”
    Dave Anderson – Virginia, United StatesRimu, March 2019
  • Nothing short of Amazing!

    “I was a bit timid booking an online trip halfway around the world however, the process was very thorough and very easy to follow. My questions were answered within a day and I understood exactly what to expect from them and exactly what was needed from me.

    Once I arrived and met DK and Kelsey, our guides for the next 8 days. Every.Single.Detail. was absolutely perfect! Our group was small and intimate, our accommodations very comfortable, the walks were just right- some challenging and some relaxed.

    The country is absolutely majestic! I learned so much about the culture and the people of New Zealand, the environment, the history, and conservation practices.

    The biggest take-away for me was how genuine and authentic this trip was. Our guides were not just doing their job but, they made sure to get to know each one of us as individuals and found ways to make sure each person enjoyed the trip regardless of abilities, personalities and needs. Best of all was the care and love they have, not just for New Zealand but, for the entire world and humanity. I don't know if this is true for all Kiwi's but, what a fine example these two set for all of us to follow.
    Thank you so very much!
    I promise, you will not go wrong booking this adventure! ”
    Peggy Meder – Virginia, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • Wow

    “My sister and I celebrated our 60th birthdays in Galapagos February 8-18, 2019, organized through Active Adventures and a local touring company, Galakiwi. Our active, land based "Tortuga" tour consisted of a group of just seven people and our awesome guide, a Level 3 naturalist, Galapagos native with a degree in Biology, "Zambo." (We also had an assistant guide on each island as well as a Captain and first mate of the brand new, really nice boat which was ours for the week.) Every person we met on each of the four islands we visited clearly enjoyed Zambo as much as we did, and our small group was greeted and treated like welcomed visitors everywhere we went.

    Thanks to Zambo, a steward of his beloved homeland, we all understand and respect the beauty of this perfectly balanced place on Earth. Most days, he was with us at least twelve hours a day, biking, hiking, kayaking, swimming, boating, snorkeling, eating, and teaching us about everything we did or saw or ate. He is an amazing teacher and didn't leave a detail untouched. Zambo made us feel safe even when we were out of our "comfort zones," surprised us over and over again with his wealth of knowledge, and never disappointed when it came to food! Every restaurant, every inn, every picnic, every snack was homemade, healthy, and memorable! Will we ever forget our warm chicken and rice picnic near the rim of a volcano in the rain? Or the yummy traditional soup before every lunch and dinner? Or the freshly squeezed fruit juice? Or the catch of the day? Or the fresh fruit on the boat after a snorkel? And the homemade dessert twice a day...

    Being land based, we enjoyed the islands' friendly, gracious people much more than had we been on a boat tour. (Did you know there is NO crime in the Galapagos?!) Our accommodations were second to none, considering the remoteness of the islands, and were just another example of every detail that was carefully planned and executed by Active Adventures, Galakiwi, and, of course, Zambo and his assistants. Even on Floreana, the least inhabited island of the archipelago, we had ocean-front rooms in a simple but special place, Hotel Wittmer. We were fortunate to meet the inn owners, who have owned the inn for generations, and purchase a fabulous book written by Margret Wittmer about life on Floreana (which is the basis for The Galapagos Affair, a documentary on NetFlix). I even had homemade cake made by the Wittmers on my 60th!

    I brought home pounds of fantastic coffee beans from a farm we visited, crazy-good chocolate from another local family, and some gorgeous, locally made art. But the most important souvenir I brought back to Vermont is a greater respect for our planet and its inhabitants. Experiencing the untouched beauty of the islands' heavenly fauna and flora was life changing. The symbiotic relationship of all living things in Galapagos is simply out of this world.

    Gracias por un viaje de tu vida!
    Jeanne Grant – Vermont, United StatesTortuga, March 2019
  • Amazing trip, Amazing guides, Trip of a lifetime!

    “To say this trip was unbelievable is an understatement! From the beautiful scenery, vistas, to the wonderful, kind caring guides, this trip was truly a trip of a lifetime! To drink out of glacial streams, walk on a glacier, see MT Fitz Roy and all the other amazing sights were truly a wonder!”
    Jolene Spear – Oregon, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Patagonia the Ultimate Hiking Experience

    “My wife and I expected a great experience. What we got was a lifetime experience that started a new chapter in our lives. The guide Jay was more of a life instructor. This trip will test you physically and sometimes mentally so Jays professionalism and attention to your needs was vital for this to come off well. We loved Claudio and Javier on the W Trek which again requires people that can educate, motivate and care for your needs. Truly terrific people. I can see us doing another trip with Active Adventures!”
    Paul Stolz – Connecticut, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • Fabulous Trip!!

    “Cahit was absolutely fantastic, as were the other guides. Everything went without a hitch...all hotels, meals, transports, etc. were as smooth as silk. Cahit and AA made it all look easy. It was so nice not having to worry about details. And we virtually never had to dip into our wallets along the way...except for the guide tips, which were given with joy for a job well done.
    The name Active Adventures is certainly appropriate...there were very few moments that we weren't on the move. If you are hungry for an adventure, and not just a scenic trip, Active is the way to go. Everyone, from start to finish, was a pleasure to deal with. And our group was a great bunch...all thirteen of us completed every activity every day. It was great meeting them and making new friends.

    Bob Spurgeon – California, United StatesCondor, March 2019
  • New Zealand Highlights

    “Pim, Astrid and Ruby were excellent. A lot of driving time. You need to do that to see all you want but be aware.”
    Sue Schwager – Massachusetts, United StatesTui, March 2019
  • Condor 2019

    “We were a very fun, energetic group of 11 with Gustavo Martinez as guide.Gustavo is very professional, knowledgeable and helpful. We were lucky to have a weather that allowed us to do all the highlights of the trip, Magallanes island, W trek, Kayak on Grey lake, the walk on the glacier, Perito Moreno and Los Glaciares National Park. The extra guides we have were friendly and professional as well, Victor and Felipe for the W and Lucila for the Glaciares park.
    The choice of the different hotels in Punta Arenas, Puerto Natales and El chaten were good. In El calafate, the manager has a special bond with your tour operator, he showed us the special of the video of the rupture of Perito Merino from last year that he did. The barbecue in the evening was a good surprise for all of us, we had really appreciated the Asado meats. Particuliar special for me, it was my birthday, Gustavo was very thoughtful to prepare something special with a delicious cake. Special day for me, we couldn't see the Fritz Roy from the beginning in El Chalten, it was always in the clouds and finally on the 18 , we saw the sunny peaks of the Cerro Torre and the Fritz Roy during our last wonderful hike.”
    Sylvie Janin – British Columbia, CanadaCondor, March 2019
  • This is a Must For NZ!!

    “I was planning my 30th birthday and stumbled across active adventures and it was the best thing ever! In one week I felt like I truly got a great idea of the north island than I ever could have done by myself! With the hiking and maintaining biking and swimming, I was able to see all of the natural wonders and I have photos for a lifetime. If you love the outdoors and love to travel, this is the group to join!”
    Michael Mozia – New Jersey, United StatesKauri, March 2019
  • Out of my Comfort Zone

    “I thought I was athletic but this trip really pushed me...and I loved every minute of it!”
    Stephen Mozia – Texas, United StatesKauri, March 2019
  • Galapagos Tortuga, Feb 2019

    “What a fantastic trip! Everything that was promised was delivered. All the transfers took place without a hitch and all the people involved were fantastic. From Lenny in Quito to Zambo on the islands and all the others who helped in various ways from hauling luggage to driving the boat, they were all top notch.
    I knew that there would be wildlife but I didn't expect to have to watch where I was walking for fear of stepping on a lizard! We even got a pod of dolphins on our first boat transfer between the islands. I fell in love with the sea lions. So many babies, too.
    The food was always plentiful and tasty and several of the meals were downright great.
    My only complaint is the air was too hot and the water too cool, but that is my personal issue. Didn't stop me from learning how to snorkel. I didn't even freak out when we saw sharks right below us.”
    Kate Kempton – Ontario, CanadaTortuga, March 2019
  • Galapagos, Tortuga, 2019

    “This truly is a special place. I remember being in the water at the beach in Puerto Villamil and thinking that that was the best beach in the world. Sea lions and penguins swimming all around me. Boobies and pelicans diving right beside me. Warm water, white sand and very few people. Just fantastic!”
    Steve Moll – Ontario, CanadaTortuga, March 2019
  • Wow

    “Can you plan all of my vacations?”
    Ned Froehlich – Minnesota, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Active Adventures Guides The Best!

    “I cannot tell you how wonderful Ruby and Ellie were as our guides on our adventure. They had never worked together before but made an unbelievable team: great fun, very knowledgeable, lots of Maiori stories, very attentive to everyone's needs. Ruby was a wonderful cook and I think we all gained weight. The trip itinerary went without a hitch; we covered so much ground! And of course New Zealand was absolutely wonderful; the country and the people. It was a wonderful trip, but much more so because of our wonderful Active Adventures guides. ”
    Mo Ewing – Colorado, United StatesKiwi, March 2019
  • Gail from Colorado - WEKA trip

    “This trip was better than advertised. Lots of biking and hiking as expected. The country is gorgeous, What really made the trip were the three guides, Nick, Maddy and Dani. They were organized, efficient, full of interesting information, upbeat and great cooks to boot. They taught us back yard cricket which was a ball. They were good at adjusting any part of the bike rides / sightseeing / hikes to accommodate our desires. We even got to watch the Superbowl in Greymouth, which required altering the day's schedule. Cannot say enough about the quality of the guides. We met other Active Adventures guides during and after out trip and they were always friendly and helpful. ”
    Gail Nichols – Colorado, United StatesWeka, February 2019
  • Sweet As

    “Just wanted to say thank you for putting together such an amazing adventure. I'm sure we all took home memories that will last for a lifetime. ”
    Dan Helberg – Florida, United StatesTui, February 2019
  • Epic Trip

    “This was an epic adventure, all that I had hoped for and more. To start we had really great guides, Simon and Ruby. Everything went like clockwork and our guides brought us the best weather ever. I thought I was in good shape, but the hikes brought me down a few notches. Did not help that I was not feeling well for the better part of the trip. But Simon or Ruby stayed with me even though I was left in the dust by the others. And I know if they thought it was going to be too tough that they would have stopped me from plunging ahead. For me the one day rest in Queenstown was very welcomed. This trip had everything: vans, bikes, boats (2), planes and even a helicopter, that was so worth the additional charge. The lodging was varied but very comfortable and fitting for where we were, added to the memory of this great trip. Only suggestion was that some of the meals could have been a bit better, some were great, while others were not so hot. But we had more than enough to eat and was not a distraction. This trip was well worth the money and the journey. Not to be missed. Thanks Ruby, Simon and Action Adventures.”
    Stephen Smedes – Michigan, United StatesTui, February 2019
  • Amazing Journey In Patagonia

    “We just returned home from 2 weeks on the Condor trip to Patagonia. We could not be more pleased with the our guide, Gustavo, who made sure everything was comfortable for us along the way - always with a understanding smile. The land itself is beyond beautiful and we were blessed with near perfect weather and a great group of people to make things even better. The accommodations were all clean and comfortable and we were more than well fed. If I had more time we'd have added on the Puma trip, but we'll save that for another trip. A truly wonderful experience.”
    Matthew Steele – New Hampshire, United StatesCondor, February 2019
  • Pushing the Boundaries of my Comfort Zone

    “As I age I feel it is important to push the boundaries of my comfort zone. I was worried about holding up the group but I found I am stronger than I think and the guides were great for encouraging and congratulating everybody on their accomplishments. I loved the trip, the scenery, the activities and meeting all the like minded people.”
    Susan Papp – British Columbia, CanadaCondor, February 2019
  • Well Organized! Well Executed! Definitely......Well Worth It!!

    “Active Adventurers South America Condor trip was a fantastic experience. From the first time I read of what all the trip involved I was hooked. Patagonia is a multi-faceted place so one has to be prepared for anything; especially weather changes. Many of the hikes are in National Parks however none of them are a walk-in-the-park. All of them provide tremendous rewards; sights and sounds you can only appreciate first-hand as well as personal highs for having hoisted the pack and completed the trek. One of the most amazing aspects of this trip that I did not anticipate was the glaciers. So many glaciers that have had and continue to have a profound impact on the landscape and ecosystem of Patagonia. It was all very humbling and sure puts things in perspective. We are here for such a short time and to see what has transpired over millions of years before us and surely will continue to develop for millions of years after us; to be there for a snippet in time and take it all in was one of the more profound experiences in my life. In addition to the visual beauty of the region and the personal physical accomplishments I enjoyed there was another amazing and unanticipated aspect to all of this;the wonderful people that made up our group. We were 11 intrepid travellers who came from different places and cultures who, over our 14 days together, really hit it off. We know we have made some friends for life. A sweet bonus to what was really a great adventure.”
    Fred Plant – New Brunswick, CanadaCondor, February 2019
  • Rimu Adventure

    “If you want to see the beautiful South Island of New Zealand, the Rimu trip is the way to do it! Our two kiwi guides were fun, informative, and passionate about their country. We all learned a lot, as we enjoyed the delicious local cuisine in our trip around the island. We benefitted from their knowledge of the out-of-the-places and the local history. The well-chosen adventures, whether it was hiking, biking, or kayaking, showed us the various topographic features and climate around the island. It is a beautiful place!”
    Christine Chamberlain – Maine, United StatesRimu, February 2019
  • What We Did Last February

    “This was the first time Tami and I have tried a guided tour and we were very pleased. We were lucky to have teamed up with a group of compatible and very friendly fellow travelers. We enjoyed the range of accommadations and it was kind of exciting to see were we would stay next. Its clear that Active Adventures designed the trip to let us see and experience a variety of settings each with its own quirks. We really enjoyed our guides MJ and James. Listening to them joke and laugh even if it was just with each other always made us feel good. They make a great team and a great team delivers great results. We think they delivered great results.”
    Jay Hiserote – Oregon, United StatesRimu, February 2019
  • A MAZING!!!

    “I researched online and found the tour company Active Adventure. The reviews were great and as a solo traveler I wanted to be sure that I was safe, guided and not alone. Right from the start Ellie and Holly made everyone welcomed and excited to start our adventure. Everything from the bus, the resource books, the snacks, the clear communication, the schedule and ALL the knowledge that was imparted was fantastic. The destinations and timetable was perfect for my level of fitness (which is pretty good) and having time to appreciate the different locations. Never did I feel rushed or that I couldn’t take the extra time to soak up the beauty of NZ. The meals that were prepared over the course of the whole trip were great. Nice variety and always fresh. I could go on about how organized, prepared and flowing the trip was but what was so much more was the absolute joy and fun that I had. Ellie and Holly are wonderfully fun, engaging, caring and knowledgeable. I loved the hiking, the set your own pace style, learning about all of the flora and fauna and the Maori lore of NZ. The trip was physically active, the food delicious, the company excellent and the natural beauty amazing. I learned, laughed, ate, sweat and slept well. Accommodations were Great!!!
    I so appreciated the bonding of our group and have made fast friends that I know I will keep for life. Not once did I feel lonely, being surrounded by others who are also doing something we all love..... being one with nature. Holly and Ellie are the best ambassadors of Active Adventures and more importantly of New Zealand. They do you more than proud and they definitely elevate this experience from great to outstanding. I loved every moment of this trip and would not hesitate in recommending it to others. I am already planning to return to NZ in 2020. Thank you for such an amazing introduction to beautiful NZ. ”
    Shaz Butler – Kentucky, United StatesManuka, February 2019
  • Organized, active, and memorable!

    “The Active Adventures tour to the Galapagos was extremely well-organized, down to the selection of the best local restaurants and hotels. At first the activity level seemed daunting but after a day or so, we looked forward to the 2 planned activities each day and enjoyed the pace. We felt sorry for the tourists on the cruise ships bobbing in the bay, knowing they were limited to a daily excursion to the island followed by a generic cruise dinner and entertainment each night. A land-based tour is the way to go for sure. We really felt immersed in the culture and liked the fact that we were contributing to the local economy. Our guide, Zambo, was the best! ”
    Jenn Grant – Vermont, United StatesTortuga, February 2019
  • Fantabulous!!!

    “Chip and I were so very excited to travel to the south island and start our trip with Active Adventures and were blown away by the beautiful, pristine scenery and wonderful people including three of the greatest guides, Liana, Mel and D.K.!! We hiked every day and each hike and adventure just kept getting better and better....We could not have been happier with our choice with Active Adventures and cannot wait to come back and do more! The attention to detail from the guides was far beyond our expectations and they kept us entertained everyday with interesting stories of the culture and places we were hiking. The itinerary was packed with fun and different things to do and our group couldn't have been any more fun, we made friends for life! The guides were easy going and patient and Mel was an amazing chef and we loved eating the fresh food and New Zealand beer and wine, what a treat! Although our hike was the Manuka trip, our guides told us about the other trips they have guided in Nepal, and the north island and we cannot wait to get back to your beautiful country....Thank you for giving us a trip of a lifetime, ”
    Angie Brown – Florida, United StatesManuka, February 2019
Back to top

Trip Reviews

  •   4.55 out of 5 (from 1357 reviews)

    The only way to experience the Galapagos

    This trip was the perfect blend of nature, culture, and fun and it is the best trip for anyone with kids 13-21 years old.
    Miller Ward Review Image
    – Massachusetts, United States
    Tortuga, January 2017
  •   4.55 out of 5 (from 1357 reviews)

    BEST TRIP EVER!!!

    This trip was a dream come true with a BIG unexpected surprise...I swam with a whale shark. Active Adventures has thought of everything. You need to bring your clothes, quick dry is a must, and personal items. All activity amenities are supplied, including a long or short sleeve wetsuit. If you use a prescription mask in the water, bring it along. All the work is done for you. Your guide will let you know what time to be ready and off you go. Everything ran on time, no waiting for anything (once we did wait 4 minutes at the airport for the van). Even meals were ordered ahead and served within a few minutes of sitting down. We ate at many of the best restaurants. I felt like a princess. The Galapagos animals even did their part by 'posing' for great pics. We saw all the great sites while our guide educated us on the topic. Our guide, Pablo, is amazing.

    The whale shark...while boating between islands, we saw a group of dolphins. Then, we saw the whale shark. Pablo handed out mask a few of us gently jumped in the water to 'swim' with the 30ft long animal. Yes, we have videos thanks to our boat captain and one person with a go pro.

    Active Adventures does it right.
    Kim Tetzner Review Image
    – Texas, United States
    Tortuga, February 2017
  •   4.53 out of 5 (from 5054 reviews)

    One of the best trips I've been on.

    Ken and Elder were such great guides and the passion they displayed was fantastic.
    Justen Altaras Review Image
    – Washington, United States
    Rimu, February 2017
  •   4.44 out of 5 (from 941 reviews)

    South Island Sampling

    Despite starting the trip with a little rattle and shake (earthquake) the trip was a wonderful experience. We saw so much of the South Island and were able to enjoy the beauty of a sunny day as well as a cloudy one. Greg and Clara were amazing guides and took great care of us.
    Beth Wilson Review Image
    – Georgia, United States
    Manuka, December 2016
  •   4.69 out of 5 (from 249 reviews)

    New Zealand and Kiwis are the Best!

    It would be difficult to overstate how impressed I was with our Active Adventure tour. Mel and Claire were absolutely incredible!! Steve was great too, but he was only with us for the hike up and back from the Aspiring Hut. Plus, he was weighed down by a rock he so generously carried up the hill for Mel.
    Anyway, Mel and Claire made Active Adventures (and New Zealand) look so good! They were EVERYTHING I could hope for: friendly, funny, knowledgeable, professional, hard-working, kind, easy-going, energetic, .... Thank you for one of the best 2-week periods of my entire life!
    Mike Schimpf Review Image
    – California, United States
    Kea, January 2017

 previous

next 

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
Get your FREE Brochure Now!
Active Adventures Brochure
close
close
no thanks, i don't like free stuff
close
close