Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our South America trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read, process and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

Review ratings for our individual trips

Capybara 4.71
114 reviews
Condor 4.49
339 reviews
Jaguar 4.48
1418 reviews
Tapir 4.28
182 reviews
Tortuga 4.51
931 reviews
  • The most imortant trip of my life

    “The hardest trip, and the best trip, came back in love with the journey.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • We made it! Top of the world trip!

    “One of the most challenging physical trips I have endured..... But every step was rewarded with the spectacular vistas, amazing weather and incredible experience”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • Patagonia

    “The Patagonia terrain is breathtakingly beautiful with craggy mountains, green glacial lakes, and expansive views. The hiking was challenging but the climbs were worth the effort as the vistas were spectacular. I loved the pace, the activities and the expertise provided by Active Adventures.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • 50 year old resets clock

    “I thought I was over the hill in middle age but this trip has reset my clock. I would do it again next week.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • JAN 10 2016 Condor with Cynthia

    “The hikes were amazingly beautiful! After reaching an incredibly dramatic viewpoint, I would think, "This is the highpoint of the trip! There can't possibly be anything more breathtaking than this!" But I was wrong. Each hike brought new and splendid vistas beyond my imagination.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2016
  • Magic in Patagonia

    “I have seen the pictures, read the articles and looked at the maps. When I actually stood at the miradors (scenic vistas) and saw with my own eyes....well no words, no picture, no map can describe the utterly spectacular grandeur of this land.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, February 2016
  • Exceptional scenery, exceptional support, exceptional colleagues

    “We knew Patagonia would provide scenery like no other and this was beyond our expectations. We were lucky enough to have tremendous weather - NO Rain and barely any wind - so maybe we missed the full experience. Our guide Sebastian took care of every need and kept us on schedule. Our travel companions were a great group - tremendous nightly conversations on the day's events and the state of the world. All good. Get in shape and take this hike!”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, February 2016
  • Condor trip with Cynthia

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures, my first trip was Peru in 2014 and I didn't think that would ever be equaled. The Condor trip once again far exceeded my expectations and proved to be a physical challenge with the most spectacular views of mountains and glaciers you will ever see. Top this having Cynthia as our tour guide made the trip of a lifetime.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Zacarias was amazeballs

    “To the say the least, Zacarias was the best guide I could have ever hoped for. 11 out of 10, would go again!!!”
    – Idaho, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • “Sebastian was amazing, kind, funny, knowledgable and supportive. Everything was so organized and communicated to us. I was very comfortable being in 2 countries that I didn't speak the language. We had a great group and really enjoyed spending time with them.”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Condor, Jan 10

    “It was a great trip, even with missing penguins because of bad weather, rest of trip was excellent with perfect weather, got lucky with weather, Didn't need rain gear or warm weather gear but better to have and not need it. Some very tough hikes but knowing I completed them was very satisfying.
    Cynthia was an excellent guide, she was well organized and made trip go smoothly and always in a good mood and smiling. The variety of food was great as I enjoy trying the local cuisines. We were never hungry. Had plenty of rest between hikes and hot showers every night to refresh us.
    Great trip and would highly recommend it”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Amazing mountain views

    “Payagonia is the most beatiful area I have seen. Aided by almost perfect weather, we clearly saw the best and most rugged peaks. Challenging, but doable hikes, put us in the front row seats for amazing views. Cynthia, our guide, was terrific. Both extremely personable and a real pro with more experience than any other guide I have encountered. The 2 weeks were very well planned and everything went smoothly”
    – Michigan, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Galapagos Adventure by Land

    “The Galapagos had been in my sights for a while, and this trip certainly did not disappoint. I loved the land-based itinerary Active Adventures offered, and am so glad we opted for this instead of a cruise. I loved the small, often beachfront lodgings and the opportunity to poke around the islands in the mornings and evenings outside planned activity times, and also the fact that it afforded me the opportunity to dive, since that was a highlight for me. The activities themselves were extraordinarily well organized. There was always something to do and look forward to but we never felt rushed or overwhelmed. Jessica, our Galapagueña guide, was lovely, energetic and extremely knowledgeable and informative - I couldn't have asked for a better person to show us the islands. Overall, a truly spectacular trip for anyone who wants to really experience the islands rather than just see them from a boat.”
    – New York, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Condor

    “A fantastic trip around the breathtaking scenery of Patagonia. Hiking the W in Torres del Paine was something I'll never forget. Great group of like minded people surrounded by magnificent landscapes and lots of good stories made for a wonderful holiday. Sebastian was an exceptional guide, so organised and helpful but always making sure everyone was enjoying themselves and having a laugh. He managed the unexpected with true professionalism! He is a credit to your company :)”
    – Victoria, Australia Condor, January 2016
  • Best Vacation Ever!!!!!!

    “My fourth trip with Active and this was the best one yet. Once again they did a wonderful job organizing all the details and making sure everything ran smoothly. Our guide, Arturo, always picked the best restaurants. The hotels were clean and comfortable. There was always a planned activity with just the right amount of down time. The scenery in Chile/Argentina is stunning. This is a trip I would take over and over again.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Iguanas everywhere

    “I expected to see marine iguanas, but never thought I'd have to take care to not step on them...in town. Overall the trip provided a great sampling of the various biomes and unique animals of the Galapagos.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Fantastic Patagonian Adventure trip

    “The trip far exceeded the written itinerary. Although we expected the incredible scenery that Patagonia has to offer, we were pleasantly surprised with the fantastic group of people we shared the experience with. Arturo's attention to detail made the trip effortless for us. Will definitely book another Active Adventure trip.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Great variety. Great people. Great trekking/hiking.

    “First of all, Arturo did a fabulous job. The itinerary was great. I love a physical trip and this qualified. W trek is right on par with the tour of Mont Blanc. Mount Fitzroy and El Chalten were spectacular. The group was great- mix of nations and ages. I'm signing up for my second Active trip for next year in New Zealand.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Patagonia feels like heaven on earth!

    “This was indeed a trip of a lifetime, and I truly mean it. I can't think of a better place where one feels so connected with nature. Patagonia has it all - from towering mountains to gorgeous valleys, from breathtaking glaciers to pearly-white snow, from rain to the sun, and I could go on and on. Everywhere I turned looked like a postcard. And above all, our group had some wonderful people and a great tour guide to make the trip even more memorable. Big thanks to Active Adventures for putting this together and for taking good care of us during the 2 weeks we were out there amidst sheer beauty.”
    – State/province, United Arab Emirates Condor, January 2016
  • Fantastic trip!

    “Beyond my expectations!!!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Condor

    “I loved this trip.
    The itinerary is such that you really get to see and experience Patagonia. Everything surpassed my expectations from the accommodations, to the food, to the amazing hikes. You really get an up close tour through some of the most amazing landscapes in the world”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Fantastic trip!

    “This was a great trip in many ways. The details of the trip were well planned and well executed. Our guide, Erick, did a great job of staying on top of everything. All of the transfers and accomodations were excellent- on time, always ready, never a worry.
    Erick also did a great job of introducing us to Peruvian culture- food, customs, traditions, ancient and modern history were incorporated into our daily routines. This was one of the most interesting and educational trips I've ever taken.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • A Perfect Trip That I Will Never Forget

    “I wish I was better with words so I could write a beautiful review, but I will do this anyway because I really want people to know how spectacular this trip was. Erick was amazing beyond all expectations as a guide (and on this trip covering numerous locales, that is saying a lot). I can't say enough positive things about Peru as a country! From Machu Picchu to the people in the villages on the Lares trail to the porters on the hike (who I am forever indebted to) to the animals in the Amazon.... The two week itinerary would be complicated if handled on your own, but the Active Adventures team and Erick made the details a non issue. I would recommend this trip for sure!!”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • Absolutely amazing vacation!!!

    “This was truly a trip of a lifetime!! The views were amazing and we were blessed with terrific weather. I feel so accomplished by what I was able to achieve and loved the feeling of really being in the middle of nowhere.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Perfect Trip

    “Our guide, Jessica, gave us a fantastic experience in every way. She was delightful, informative and fun. We decided that the land based "island hopping" trip was a great choice. The hotels were in great locations and the activities were well organized using good equipment (bikes, scuba gear,kayaks etc.). A perfect trip.”
    – Maryland, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Jan 1st Tortuga with Pablo

    “This was an absolutely amazing adventure with the most knowledgeable tour guide ever. There really wasn't anything Pablo did not know. Truly incredible!”
    – Michigan, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • “The trip leader was fantastic!”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Tapir

    “Great trip and trip leader.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • When can I move??

    “You know a trip has been successful when you'd rather lose your passport than get on the plane home. The hike on the Lares Trail was some of the most spectacular scenery I have seen in my life. We camped out in the school yard of a local Quechua village and stopped along the path to pass out school supplies to kids. It felt like an actual introduction to Peruvian culture instead of typical tourism. The trek into the Amazon was a lot more removed from reality, but the rest of the trip was so amazing, that was almost irrelevant. Probably the most important aspect of the experience was our guide, Zacarias. He was exceptional. He was very knowledgeable and great at explaining, but he was also incredibly personable, fun, and wonderful to be around. We were also very fortunate to have two professional cameramen with us, Alex and Leo, that really helped pull the group together and make it an incredible experience. The only problem I see with this trip was liking it so much I want to move there...”
    – Wyoming, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • “Terrific locations with terrific guide! Every segment of the trip was very well thought out and the guide could not have been better in positively responding to ever changing (but normal) situations.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • “Terrific locations with terrific guide! Every segment of the trip was very well thought out and guide could not have been better in positively responding to ever changing (but normal) situations.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • “This was an incredible trip to a spectacular place. It was so well run. Sebastian was efficient and fun. Excellent job! The weather was perfect, but we were told not to count on that!”
    – New Hampshire, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Ecuador Active Adventure

    “The trip was full of excitement. Each day we went on a memorable experience. We were also able to interact with local people which would have been difficult if we planned the trip on our own.”
    – Ohio, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “Wonderful collection and combination of spectacular scenery, outdoor activities, and good people in a fascinating part of the world. In addition to the rich fauna and flora, we loved learning about the rich history of Patagonia.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Condor(s) in Patagonia

    “Hiking in Chile and Argentina is terrific. The weather was a little bit of everything but the hiking was always superb. You need to be fit to enjoy the trip but penguins, guanacos, caracaras, rheas, foxes, what must be the world's largest rabbits and, of course, condors are wonderful. Did I mention stunning, granite walls, towers and glaciers?”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Unforgettable, Amazing, & Unique Experience

    “Where do I begin? Thank you to Active Adventures and Arturo Rojas for the most memorable trip I have ever been on. At first, I was nervous to travel alone to a foreign land, but as soon as I met Arturo and my fellow Active travelers, I felt so at home. The people I formed relationships with were so amazing, friendly, and full of energy. I loved the diversity this trip brought in ALL aspects. You meet people from all over the world, and you see every terrain from small beaches, to mountains, to big blue lakes (my favorite part of the trip) to mystical forests. The weather was a mixture of sun, rain, wind, and snow, and the wildlife scattered about is a great plus. The hikes were full of excitement with a good balance of intensity. Some days were VERY challenging, and others were just long walks in the park. 10/10 would recommend this company and trip to anyone even SLIGHTLY interested in traveling to Patagonia.”
    – Louisiana, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Great sights, people, and adventure!

    “Had an amazing trip to Ecuador with my family. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, he even had us to his family's home for a local meal. I loved all of the active trips; it was a unique way to see areas of an unfamiliar country. We could not have loved our group more; strangers turned into friends! So many great memories!”
    – Ohio, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • Dec 27 2015 Tapir with Jhayro

    “Amazing trip exploring so much of Ecuador, a beautiful and diverse country. Active it was! We had many adventures we could not have done on our own. Great group, great itinerary and great friends made on this trip.”
    – Ohio, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • I love Ecuador

    “Challenge yourself to new things and people: this is Tapir”
    – California, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • The trip was amazing!

    “It exceeded my expectations in virtually every way. I'm so glad my wife and I decided to arrive in Quito a couple days early to experience the beautiful city. The Galapagos Islands were equally beautiful and the activities were AWESOME! We saw more wildlife than we expected and learned a lot from our guide Pablo. The hotel accommodations were a little better than expected and the meals were GREAT! I would highly recommend this trip to others who enjoy the great outdoors in all its splendour!”
    – Alabama, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • AMAZING trip!

    “My husband and I had high expectations for this trip, yet our experience exceeded our hopes and dreams. We swam with sea turtles, sea lions, penguins with marine iguanas swimming by! The beaches were beautiful and the accommodations were adequate to awesome! Everything was so well organized, AA thought of everything! We would highly recommend that others use this company and explore this paradise! We plan to use AA again! Thank you for the wonderful memories!”
    – Alabama, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • 2015 Patagonia

    “Our comprehensive trek through Patagonia was a true adventure with each day bringing new scenery and memorable experiences. The trip was well organized and the guides were a delight. There was a nice balance of "roughing it" combined with more relaxing moments. This is a beautiful area of the world - not to be missed.”
    – Maine, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Great Patagonia experience

    “Wonderful adventure as advertised, tremendous experience for myself (72 years), my wife and daughter. Sebastian was a great guide, leader and new friend..having previous backpacking experience I had in mind the challenges to be faced, I found a lot of comfort in being in the company of Sebastian and knew that we were safe and well looked after. The trails were more difficult than we anticipated and we, me in particular, should have been better prepared (in better shape) Leading a group trip is not an easy chore and I was impressed with Sebastian's leadership and focus on being safe, smart and enjoying the trip in that order. But..what awesome sights we experienced and the three of us were so full of personal accomplishment when we completed the adventure. The evening meals were a real treat and delight, excluding a couple at the park refugios, but better than cooking out of your own pot. Well thought out and enjoyable agenda - enjoyed the kayaking, the glacier walk and the short bike riding outings as well.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, January 2016
  • beautiful Hiking!

    “This was my third Active Adventures trip and I loved it (previous Jaguar and Rimu). Patagonia had the most natural scenic beauty that I have experienced. Hiking the W trail was a highlight. Sign up for the glacier ice hike - it was amazing. 2 other tips - take your favorite instant coffee packs - (Starbucks for me) and a small, lightweight, fold up pack for when you can leave your main back pack but need something to carry a few items on the W hike. I was worried about being cold but it was actually too warm in the Refugios. We booked a post trip cruise with Australis and it was a nice addition to the trip.”
    – Tennessee, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Great adventure

    “I had a fantastic time with Cynthia on the Condor trip. Every detail was attended to- all we needed to do was enjoy ourselves and soak in the beauty of this amazing area.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Outstanding experience in Galapagos

    “My Tortuga trip was absolutely amazing. I always hesitate to give 5 stars, but this trip came very close. I was very lucky to have got a small group of 10 and a fantastic guide, Jorge, who taught me so much about the islands. As well, the private room, excellent food and outstanding fauna and flora, took the experience beyond my expectations. You will NOT be disappointed!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, January 2016
  • Patagonia...better with Active Adventures.

    “The trip far exceeded my expectations.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Patagonia

    “From the start of the trip I was impressed on how many of the 10 other group members were repeat customers of Active Adventures. By the end of the trip I totally understood why! Cynthia exceeded all expectations as a group leader! The organization of our trip, lodging, and food was outstanding. The scenery was off the charts and was an overall an amazing trip!”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • PATAGONIA HIKING WITH ACTIVE ADVENTURES

    “This trip was the most challenging trip I have ever taken. The days were long but I expected that with gorgeous views. Once started on the W trail there is no turning around. I got great pictures and really feel a good sense of accomplishment!!!”
    – Florida, United States Condor, December 2015
  • No words can describe it!

    “No words can describe the awesomeness of this trip. It was the most challenging experience I've ever had. As one of the "geezers" on the trip, there were times I thought I just can't take another step. But I did it! The guides were super patient, encouraging, and supportive. All the guides were knowledgeable and passionate about their areas.

    The scenery...glaciers, lakes, mountain peaks...were beyond magnificent. Truly one of the most breathtakingly beautiful places on this planet.

    Except for the first night, accommodations were first rate and meals were exceptional. We definitely were well fed on this trip! Our van driver, Mariones, was a delight and very professional. As a group, we all got along very well, and had a lot of fun. I'm sure some of the younger people of the group got a little impatient with us seniors, but they were all good sports and very supportive.

    Having said that, there are a couple of areas of concern. The first hotel was not good...the location was off the bus route and some people had to walk through town from the central bus stop dragging their luggage along steep and uneven streets. Breakfast was the worst at any of the hotels.

    Some people were disappointed in the accommodations at the refugios, but I felt that was all part of the W experience...I would not change that.

    Understanding that getting us on the road on time, and loading the van with luggage and people is very chaotic, it would be worth it to take a few extra minutes to ensure all luggage is aboard. Although we had two daypacks with the luggage, someone must have put them to the side to be loaded later and they never made it on the van. Sebastian located them at the hotel in Calafate and ensured us he would ship them to us.

    I totally misunderstood the bike portion of the trip...I expected more of a cruising experience instead of a difficult mountain biking experience. I am not comfortable on bikes to begin with, and to be on poor equipment with no guidance or instruction, was very disconcerting. Because of my inexperience and discomfort with mountain bikes and terrain (rocky, roots, holes, shrubs, very narrow trail, etc.) I did fall a few times and ended up walking my bike the last 100 yards or so. I was not injured, but did sustain many bruises and scrapes and scratches. My lady parts will never be the same!
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Based on the trip literature, I underestimated the degree of difficulty. Should indicate that you must be in excellent physical shape. If I had known the specifics for each hike, and the biking, I never would have signed up...AND I WOULD HAVE MISSED THE BEST TRIP EVER! Thanks for challenging me to prove that I could do it!!!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Patagonia is amazing

    “Trekking, kayaking, amazing views it was a great trip!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Wonderful trip to Patagonia, nice group and excellent guides

    “I had a great time hiking and traveling with the group of 15 people, we got along fine and had a really good time. The hiking was good and the views of the mountains were just unbelievable, it was awesome. The glaciers were very impressive and beautiful too.. We encountered very high winds, 50 -60 mph and it actually blew a few people over, luckily not over the edge! All was memorable!”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Condor trip review

    “Fantastic trip on so many different levels. The rugged natural beauty of Patagonia is very special and this extensive trip provided a great lens and appropriate way to experience this part of the world.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Amazing!

    “The Galapagos Islands are a truly magical place! The closeness with nature is like nothing I have ever experienced, and it was amazing. Every day on the Tortuga trip was enjoyable, informative, and awe-inspiring. I met great people and had a wonderful guide (Pepo) who really brought everything to life with his incredible knowledge and superb story-telling abilities. It was an incredible experience!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tortuga, December 2015
  • Experience worth every bit of effort!

    “Cynthia, our guide, was the heart and soul of the group. She took care of everything and made sure our mood stayed strong and upbeat the entire time. There were 12 people in the group and each one of us felt personally taken care of throughout the entire 2 weeks of our trip.

    Don't be fooled, this trip is not for the feint of heart (or feet). The W trek especially, pushes you to your limits but the feeling you get when you have reached the top of the trail is so worth it!

    This was my first time ever backpacking and the guides (Cynthia, Arturo and Cem especially) were never frustrated or impatient when I lagged behind. Their encouragement and support helped me get to the top (and down) each time. My whole group was just as supportive with everyone high fiving each other after a successful climb or day.

    The food on the W was fine - not great, but what do you expect when essentially staying in summer camps and packing a bag lunch (although there is still room for improvement on the lunches). The food the rest of the trip was amazing - Cynthia has great connections and has certainly done her homework finding unique and cool places to dine.

    The hotel choices throughout the trip were good, with one really nice stand out that we stayed at for three days. Cynthia's relationships with the hotel owners/managers is clear, and we received special attention at each place we stayed which was a nice touch.

    I will admit I would have liked to have something to break up the hiking a little bit more. By the last couple days I was a little bit saturated with "climb big hill to see gorgeous mountain". We did have a bike trip scheduled for the last day, but we were all so tired and worn out by then that it lost its appeal.

    One really great thing about the guides at Active is that if you chose to do something different (ie. skip a hike) then they ensure that you have a safe alternative and don't feel any coercion to participate in all activities.

    This is my second Active trip and so far I am a huge fan! I look forward to more Active Adventures in the future.”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Finding The Real Galapagos

    “This Galapagos trip was labelled an active adventure which quite frightened me since at 71 years old I am no longer as active as I once was. My fears were increased when I met my trip mates who all looked very fit. However the guide Pablo made it possible for me to do every event by making small and large accommodations. I had a wonderful time and I felt this trip revealed a lot more about the Galapagos than just Darwin and the animals. We met the people and experienced island areas that no one else I know has ever visited. This was a trip to remember forever.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, December 2015
  • wonderful trip

    “Loved the trip. Everything was well done. Cynthia was fantastic. I have had good guides on both my other Active Trips (Machu Pichu and Galapagos, but Cynthia added something extra. Only critique is that while Peru and Ecuador had more of a mix of activities, bike riding, horseback riding, a little urban in Cuzco, this one overdid for me) the hiking. Loved the W Trek, but would have enjoyed other options in El Cheltan (a whitewater trip maybe?)”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Epic

    “All in all, this trip was not what I expected because I had no expectations and just needed out of dodge so desperately! I had an epic adventure full of complete surprises because I totally let go and had no idea what to expect next.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, December 2015
  • BJ Peru

    “Exceeded expectations. Educational but painless...you didn't feel like you were pumped full of information. Guide was exceptional. Knowledgable, personable (had friends EVERYWHERE) and managed to tailor activities to interest/fitness level. I would change nothing!”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2015
  • BJ Galapagos

    “A beach vacation with environmental/cultural dimensions. Great water activities along with educational outings.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, December 2015
  • “This trip was better than I expected; the proximity to the natural world was amazing and I was pleased that there was "people" culture and history in the towns where we stayed. So glad to be land based!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, December 2015
  • Machu Picchu - Lares

    “What an unbelievable life-changing trip. AA thought of every detail and was highly organized and great. Erick was an awesome trip leader and really looked out for our safety and well-being at all times. Highly recommend Active for your next adventure trip!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, December 2015
  • Bucket-List-Worthy

    “Amazing trip and really well executed! Might have even learned a few things without even trying! :)”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, November 2015
  • “Erick Farfan was great dealing with the demonstrations,road barriers and schedule changes needed.”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, November 2015
  • Great active trip

    “I recently took the Tapir trip in Ecuador. The trip was active and exciting, which is what I expected. The person touch is what makes the difference. We were able to eat local food and spend time with local folks which really added the cultural piece too.”
    – Alabama, United States Tapir, November 2015
  • An epic adventure that we are still talking about!

    “There is a huge amount to say about our trip but to summarise:
    Active are a brilliant company to travel with. Their itinerary, logistics, people and service are incredible.
    Peru is such a beautiful and diverse place to visit and the Jaguar trip gave us a great taste of it from the high plateau and mountains to the dense jungles and stunning villages. It is a well crafted mix of activities, sights, food and experiences. The shorter excursions to markets and villages added so much and the chance to hike, kayak and mountain bike in carefully selected areas was awesome.
    The people were great. Our group were great fun to be with and our guide Erick was brilliant - really thoughtful, knowledgeable, relaxed and an organisational machine. He really is exceptional. We miss him and everyone on the trip!”
    – Bristol, United Kingdom Jaguar, November 2015
  • The importance of the trip leader

    “Two things made the trip:
    The leader (Erick Farfan) was excellent. In spite of demonstrations and a cancelled flight (after we had boarded the plane even) he came through with alternatives and worked to keep people positive.
    We had a small group (7) who all got along.”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, November 2015
  • Don't just visit Peru, experience it!

    “Climb the rocky trails. Camp by a mountain lake. Touch the Inca ruins. Zoom into the Sacred Valley on a bike. Savor a home cooked Peruvian meal. Taste a guinea pig. Listen to the Amazon rain forest at night. Watch the soaring Caracara birds. Paddle across crystal clear Lake Titicaca and feel the cool water run down your arm. Know the difference between a llama and an alpaca. Dance to the panpipe flute music. Smell the fresh cut reeds of a floating island. Learn about the culture, the history, and maybe a bit of Quechua language along the way.
    All this and more will be part of your Active Adventure Peru trip. You may encounter a few travel challenges, this is South America after all, not Disneyland. But be assured you will be in the capable hands of Active Adventures, and your intrepid guide will always have 'Plan B' up his/her sleeve.
    Truly a unique travel experience for those who want to go a bit beyond traditional sightseeing. You will return home with many many tales to tell and a smile on your face.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • “Our guide Frank was exceptional and made sure that we experienced everything- the people, the culture, the history, the food and of course the beautiful scenery!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • “I have taken many tour led trips with several different companies. and Active Adventures was by far the best. The guides were exceptional and "ACTIVE" was the name of the game. Whether we were hiking, biking, or kayaking, the guides were spot on to make sure personal needs were met with genuine smiles and caring. The attention to detail was very impressive and the ease of moving from one location and mode of transportation to another was flawless. I was very spoiled on this trip and Look forward to taking another trip with Active Adventures. I really liked traveling with only eleven people, small groups make a big difference. Our guide, Cynthia, is a jewel. Thank you Active Adventures!!”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • a truly fine life experience

    “My trip was especially memorable because of the wealth of information shared by our guide, Pepo. He informed us about the geology, the flora, the birds, the sea life/creatures, the history of the Galapagos. This information enriched my appreciation of all that I saw and experienced.

    The sea lions were a hoot...sleeping on, under, in between any and every surface available....benches, boats, piers, sidewalks, bushes, in addition to rocks and sandy beaches. Would have missed the presence of the "beach masters" if they had not been pointed out by our guide, lurking just below the surface of the water, close to shore. The giant turtles in the water had no fear of us...so amazing to share such close proximity with these creatures. The giant land tortoises were shy, but oh so numerous. Birds a plenty and beautiful fish viewed while snorkeling. The food and accomodations were excellent. The activities were doable for my level of fitness and age, 71.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, October 2015
  • Incredible Experience

    “The trip exceeded all my expectations The itinerary was fantastic and our guide Frank was one of the very best I have ever encountered in over 20 trips. His insight into Peruvian life, history was incredible. The feeling of Peruvian family that he instilled in our group is something I will remember for a long time. The encounters with Peruvian children and adults on our Lares trek will always be remembered fondly. Most of all, Frank's quiet encouragement, concern and help with climbing the highest pass on the Lares trek helped me make it. I tested my limits to the maximum but Frank was always there for me and others to make sure we did not exceed those limits.”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • OK, but needs to be improved in a few areas

    “We had a general feeling that with our small group size (4) on the Inca trail, we had the lesser pick of porters, campsite locations, sanitary conditions, etc. Our local guide even mentioned to us that we were short on porters, and they were reluctant to provide adequate, SAFE drinking water and restroom facilities. Other larger groups had portable toilet facilities, instead of having to use the limited, NASTY toilets at the campsites. We felt like second class citizens during the entire Inca trail, when comparing ourselves to the larger groups who appeared to have much nicer amenities. All 4 of us were sick on the Inca trail, and we are convinced the unsanitary conditions and improperly managed drinking water was the cause. This was entirely unacceptable for any reputable tour guide company.”
    – South Carolina, United States Jaguar, October 2015
    Active Adventure's Response:
    I was shocked and deeply saddened by the news of your family’s experience on the Inca Trail during your 'Jaguar' trip in September.
    We take great care with the relationships of our supply partners. The outcome of your trip experience communicated through your survey, and our follow up phone conversations, has led to a significant change with our supply partner in Peru.
    Since hearing about your experience with our Inca Trail supply partner, we have decided to have our supplier on the Lares Trail, operate for us on the Classic Inca Trail as well. We have had a strong relationship and partnership with Mayra and her team (our Lares Trail supplier) for the last 8 years. We are extremely confident that Mayra understands the importance of providing care for the health and well-being of our clients at all times.
    Our new supplier guarantees a high level of sanitation, cleanliness and a generous supply of clean, safe drinking water. Further to this they have assured us they can camp in the best possible locations. We take the well-being and safety of our clients very seriously and it is the primary concern on all of our trips. Thank you Kevin for your feedback and the opportunity to explain what measures we have taken to ensure this continues to be the case.
    - Robin Wiseley, Managing Director
  • Best 65th Birthday Present to Myself Ever! What an adventure!

    “As a solo traveler, I had some concerns about going on this trip, since I was "Number 11". However, the group meshed together well, thanks in large part to our leader Cynthia's ability to facilitate group dynamics, and the structure of the trip itself. Active Adventures provides such diversity of experiences, that there is always something to be enjoyed, and everyone is always included. I loved Peru, the people, the food the many festivals we saw, and all the guides who introduced us to their amazing culture. The Lares Trail was truly luxury camping with wonderful, tasty meals and a warm cozy place to sleep at night. We were given hot water bottles for our sleeping bags! Even the "Porta potty" was luxurious and private! I have no idea how those porters could pull off such efficiency. They even baked me a cake and decorated our dining tent! If you are a solo traveler, don't hesitate to take this trip, it was a blast! I am also grateful for the "emergency horse" I was provided when the hiking at high altitude was a bit too grueling for me, and my struggle turned into fun! That sweet tempered horse, along with his porter, Santiago, made it possible for me to complete the trail! Thank you, Active Adventures, for the best birthday present, Ever!”
    – Florida, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • Galápagos revealed

    “This trip is way up on the list of favorite experiences for me. From the charming small and quirky hotels to the luxury of swimming with sea lion, sea turtles, schools of colorful fish, rays, and shark it was one delightful thing after another. Each day brought something surprising: could be a bike ride, could be a very special tree house, could be floating underneath boobies and penguins lazing on rocks. Just plain wonderful.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, October 2015
  • A lesson in preserving our natural world

    “Excellent experience: the place, the people, and the wildlife. For us, a much greater experience than we imagined. Pepo shared with us his deep commitment to his homeland and his commitment to reciprocity with the environment. Very encouraging to us. We left the islands feeling that the younger generation is committed to a broad view that we can sustain and enhance the environment instead of depleting it.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, October 2015
  • The Peruvian indigenous people

    “Where to start? An unexpected rich exposure to the world of the indigenous Peruvian people: past and present. Jaguar is much more than a multi sport adventure into the Andes and the Amazon jungle. The Andes and Amazonia provide the context to better understand the history of the people who lived in this area and to appreciate the people who live there now.”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • Ancient Peru at our fingertips

    “While a summary of the trip was provided before we embarked, in no way we're we prepared for the intensity of the experience of embracing locals cultures, and there are many separate groups. Our guide Frank, is descended from proud Incas and allowed us entry into the mysterious past of these clever people. The discoveries did not stop with Incas as we traveled south to meet, and stay with, other groups who live in their ancient ways. We came away with a lot of respect for the "Peruvian" peoples.”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • Adventure with Inca history

    “This is my second visit in Peru, I was so happy to be back and see Machu Picchu in all the Inca glory and to be able to walk to the Sun Gate (my previous visit to Machu Picchu it rained and it was foggy, I only had a glimpse of 15 minutes). The other highlight that I loved on this trip was our trek on the Lares Valley and the encounter with the local people and children, beautiful landscape and the achievement of reaching the pass when I thought I couldn't take another step. .....At the top it was so beautiful and breathtaking. The bike rides gave us the possibility to enjoy the surroundings at our leisure. Walking up to the terraces of Pisaq and rediscover Ollantaytambo in the sacred valley i was able to see and enjoy the Inca history. Everything was so well organised and the food provided was yummy.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Jaguar, October 2015
  • A good cross section on Peru

    “From the moment our group met in Cusco until the end in Lima 2 weeks later I enjoyed every moment of the trip. Cynthia the tour leader as well as the local tour guide were all very good and really nice people to get to know.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Jaguar, October 2015
  • “I was excited about this trip before I left, more excited after arriving in Peru and continued that way until I returned home.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • Aug 14 2015 Tortuga with Pepo

    “Wonderful experience and thoroughly enjoyed it.”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, September 2015
  • “A great adventure, many different activities and excellent support from our guide.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Jaguar, September 2015
  • Amazing Awesome Active Adventures!!

    “Well done Active. You supplied all you promised..even managing to provide a delightful group to share our adventure with. For an organised trip we feel we have a good understanding of real Peruvians and their lifestyle. We were spared none of life's realities for ordinary people there while feeling we contributed a little to improving their lives..we hope by adding to their tourist dollar. Our guides were first class and shared themselves and their lives, passions and hard bits with us. The physical challenges were just right and well monitored and managed. Thankyou”
    – Queensland, Australia Jaguar, September 2015
  • Amazing trip!

    “Fantastic trip, I loved hiking the Lares trek and arriving at Machu Picchu at the crack of dawn. Elder was a fun and exciting leader and the group was very close-knit after two weeks.”
    – Connecticut, United States Jaguar, September 2015
  • Amazing guide

    “Erick made our Peru experience a trip of a lifetime.”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, September 2015
  • Condor March 2015

    “An amazing trip - challenging hikes with the most incredible views, truly great leadership and organization, close camaraderie within the group, awe-inspiring moments, and so much fun!”
    – Alberta, Canada Condor, September 2015
  • Condor March 2015

    “This was a great trip. The hikes were challenging and rewarding, amazing views, amazing group. I really enjoyed being "off the beaten track" - my kind of holiday!”
    – Alberta, Canada Condor, September 2015
  • Money well spent.

    “This is hands down the most tiring and most exhilarating trip I have ever been on. The itinerary was very well organized with plenty to do. We also were blessed with awesome people in our group, and outstanding leadership from our guides. Elder and Danny were a wealth of knowledge and insight into the culture of the Quechua people and the history of Peru. I would not trade this trip for anything in the world. Other tour companies exist, but there is only ONE Active Adventures. Thanks for the great memories.”
    – Ohio, United States Jaguar, September 2015
  • Could not have been better

    “I recently went on the Tortuga trip with my dad and it was an experience that will never be forgotten. The staff went out of their way to help when the airline lost my luggage, our guide (Pepo) was incredible with our diverse group, the food was fantastic and the Galapagos was more than I could have ever bargained for. Thank you Active Adventures, you gave us the opportunity to share something that will be in our hearts for the rest of our lives. It could not have been better.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, August 2015
  • Tapir

    “Despite landslides and rain, Jhayro (our HERO guide) was able to come through with alternative activities. Ecuador is a small country with so much to do and see! Ecuadorians we met were all warm, friendly, and helpful. Accommodations, tours, food, and group dynamics were all outstanding!”
    – California, United States Tapir, August 2015
  • Tortuga Adventure

    “I had a wonderful time great mix of activities and very lucky with travel companions who became good friends”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, August 2015
  • Mainland Ecuador

    “I have not been able to stop raving about this trip. Jhayro was an amazing guide. When weather in the Amazon did not cooperate with the itinerary, Jharyo had an amazing alternative to go hike the Quilotoa Crater. The view here is unlike anything I have ever seen before.”
    – New York, United States Tapir, August 2015
  • Tortuga with Pablo

    “My expectations were high for this trip and the actual trip exceeded them! Pablo was an excellent tour guide and was excited to share his passion for the Galapagos with us.
    We saw so much animal life while snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, and on the boat crossings. Everyday was filled with fun and exciting experiences.
    I would definitely recommend the Tortuga trip through Active Adventures!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, August 2015
  • Jaguar 7/26/15 Team Haqu

    “Hiking up mountains, petting Alpacas, having a wild monkey on your shoulder, kayaking, and of course Macchu Picchu. This was an amazing trip made even more so by our guide Frank and all of the Active staff.”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, August 2015
  • Sheer Amazingness!!

    “This trip was life changing and beyond what we could have expected! Active made this trip memorable by providing us with gregarious, experienced, and incredibly knowledgeable guides.”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, August 2015
  • Close & Personal with Ecuador Countryside

    “The people and places were breathtaking!!!!!”
    – New York, United States Tapir, August 2015
  • Close up view of Galapagos

    “Best way to experience the animals and land of the Galapagos Islands!!!!”
    – New York, United States Tortuga, August 2015
  • Peru Rocks

    “It was a great trip, well organized, perfect weather, great tour guide.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, August 2015
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “It was hard to know what to expect when we booked the tour, but it was truly way beyond our expectations. Elder our guide was so much fun and extremely dedicated to his job, it was obvious that he loves his job. Attention to detail was great, food was great and plentiful. A trip that was hard to fault.”
    – Otorohanga, New Zealand Jaguar, August 2015

Back to top