Request a free South America Brochure

Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our South America trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Wow

    “Absolutely one of the best trips I have ever done. We don't usually do organized group tours but this was a perfect choice for this location, especially including the well organized hiking, biking and kayaking activities. It turned out to be the most amazing adventure, very challenging but the staff made sure it was always safe and fun. We would do another trip with Active without hesitation and we would love to have Erick as the leader. He was very professional, on top of everything and loads of fun!”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, November 2017
  • Amazing Experience

    “My wife and I had the trip of a lifetime! The sights and views were breathtaking! And the cultural experience was so unique! We felt like royalty the way we were treated by our guides and porters on the trail. Definitely a great way to experience what Peru has to offer!”
    – Ohio, United States Jaguar, November 2017
  • Really loved Peru and the Jaguar itinerary

    “The Jaguar trip was a great overall experience for us - we loved the itinerary and the mix of accommodation, the activities - sightseeing and really enjoyed learning about the immense and fascinating cultural depth the country has to offer.”
    – n/a, Namibia Jaguar, November 2017
  • Great trip, great food and guides.

    “We had such a good time on the trip. The food, accommodations, and sites were great. We were lucky enough to have a small group (3) which made it even nicer.
    Machu Picchu and the hiking in Peru were great, Great food and accommodations.
    The trip got even better once we got to the Galapagos. Hiking, snorkeling/scuba, kayaking, and biking were great. Pepo did a fantastic job tailoring our activities around the weather. The food was great for all the seafood lovers, vegetarians will have to be a little patient.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, November 2017
  • Karen & Dave's Peru Adventure, October 2017

    “Simply, Peru is an amazing destination. Credit to Active Adventures, you made Peru come alive for us in this busy and varied 2 week adventure. We experienced it all, people, history, the wonder of the Incas, the smell of the Amazon rain forest, and Andean life on a lake. Every day brought new experiences. Every meal was excellent, both in restaurants, or on a trail. Logistics-wise, you never missed a beat, on anything. Well done.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2017
  • Best Ever!

    “Just returned from the Jaguar trip/Lares Trail option and can't say enough good things about the whole experience. We had some mishaps along the way...sickness, stolen/lost passports, etc, and our experienced guide, ZAC, was steady, kind, and sure (and had a great sense of humor). We were well taken care of, well-fed, had great sleeping accommodations, and had so much fun... I highly recommend Active Adventures! You will not be disappointed!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • 7 Day Jaguar Adventure

    “I have nothing but positive reviews for this week-long adventure of a lifetime (I would have loved to stay on for the full 14 day experience, but unfortunately work responsibilities limited my time away). As a seasoned solo traveler/hiker, and it being my 30th birthday week, I must rank this trip as my top guided-tour experience. Everything from the Lares Inca Trail experience (with its less crowded characteristics making it a much more attractive alternative to the Classic Inca Trail, at least to me), to the accommodations, the food (which can be catered to most anyone’s dietary needs, at least from what I experienced both first hand and from others in the group...still not sure how the chef/porters can transport all that fresh food and whip up such fantastic meals miles and miles from the nearest town!?), our tour leader Daniel and other affiliated guides and porters...quite honestly above and beyond what my original expectations were for the trip! I met several fellow hikers from around the world with whom I bonded and would now call lifelong friends, and have numerous photos and memories to last a lifetime! I would also like to mention that during our 4 day/3 night hike, we encountered several other hikers along the trail who were with various other tour companies (some of which I had researched prior to booking with Active Adventures), and were told several stories about various mishaps and/or negative experiences they were having with their tour leaders...perhaps we lucked out with our fantastic tour leader, but I definitely do not regret for a second my decision to ring in the third decade of my life with Active Adventures! I can’t thank you guys enough and will definitely keep you in mind for my next hiking adventure, wherever that may be :)”
    – New Hampshire, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Erick the Great

    “I call my review Erick the Great because that is what he was!! It was a trip of a lifetime but I feel like I will likely be back to Peru. I really enjoyed the country, accommodations and incredible scenery.”
    – Arizona, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • I'd Definitely Choose Active Again!

    “I had a great time. The tour guides were personable and very engaging. Even on the activities I had never done before, or at least not for years, they were encouraging and helpful. I would definitely choose Active again.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Judy and Don's trip to Peru

    “Active Adventures provides first class trips. Not to first class hotels, that are isolated from real people, but first class adventures that allow you to experience the people, the culture, as well as the environment. Erick took exceptional care of us. This is our third trip with Active Adventures (New Zealand, Nepal, and now Peru), and they have all been awesome!

    The guides have always been excellent. They make sure we have a great time, and most importantly make sure we are safe. Our last trip was to Everest Base Camp; the guide made me turn around the day we were supposed to go to Base Camp because I had the beginning of flu symptoms. As it was I ended up getting very sick, but if she had not turned me around my doctor told me I would have permanent heart or lung damage.

    Erick was an outstanding guide! He really took care of us and made sure we had a great time. His knowledge of the area was outstanding - culture, history, food, and plants. He was extremely personable. He is one of the best guides in the world!

    The trip to Machu Picchu is unbelievable and tough - so get hiking and book your trip now!”
    – Arizona, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Taste of Peru

    “What an amazing trip! 14 days really gives a good taste of Peru. From high elevations of Cusco, Sacred Valley and the Lares Trail to the mysticism of Macchu Picchu, on to the loud cicadas of the jungle and the floating islands and welcoming Amantai family on lake Titicaca, this is a bucket list trip that will give you a taste of Peru that will make you want to return.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Amazing!

    “We have a goal of visiting each continent, and our trip to South American with Active South America did not disappoint! This is our second Active Adventures and we will be back for more. Peru and the Galapagos were beautiful and every detail of the trip was attended to perfectly. Thank you, Active, for a wonderful and memorable holiday.”
    – South Carolina, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • More Than a Trip, an Amazing Experience!

    “Having had years of wonderful, personally planned trips, we were a bit apprehensive about signing on to a group tour. However AA's communications from our first enquiry to our return home was aimed at making the adventure better than we could have done on our own. Delving into the culture, understanding the history, experiencing the food, and actively enjoying the Peruvian's Peru with a superb guide left me anticipating my next adventure with Active Adventures.”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Iguana 2017

    “This was a really good trip, essentially of two halves. Peru with its amazing mountains and then Galapagos with incredible wildlife. Best to be fit when you come, the Peruvian hikes are challenging, which is great, whereas Galapagos is more relaxed.”
    – Cambs, United Kingdom Iguana, October 2017
  • Iguanas - September 2017

    “I had an amazing time on my Iguana trip to Peru and the Galapagos Islands. The Peru trip was much more strenuous than I expected but our guide, Erick was vigilant in keeping us together and encouraging us the whole time. He was fantastically organized, fun and knowledgeable which enhanced the whole experience! The Galapagos trip was lead by Galakiwi which did feel more laid back, and flexible. Pepo and Juan Carlos led us through Kicker Rock and amazing landscapes. I thought the Galapagos would be the highlight of my trip, but Peru proved to be the main event. I was fortunate that my group became fast friends of diverse but like-minded people. Overall, an amazing trip!”
    – Michigan, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Fun trip!

    “I had a great time!”
    – California, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip with Erick was spectacular. Erick's attention to detail, compassion for each individual on the trip and genuine love for Peru made this portion of the trip absolutely amazing.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip was spectacular. Erick truly cares about the overall experience of his clients. He paid attention to all the details of the trip from the experiences of the country, the restaurants and the excursions. He didn't leave any stone unturned when it came to having fun and caring about his clients. I highly recommend Erick to anyone wanting to have a fabulous time in Peru.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip with Active Adventures August 2017

    “I have been on several international trips, and due to the variety and how different each trip is, I don't tend to like to pick a favorite. At least until my trip to the Galapagos with Active Adventures. I can honestly say that this was the most amazing trip I have ever been on! We got to do a huge variety of activities and really get the full Galapagos experience. Our guide, Zambo, was absolutely phenomenal, I could not have asked for a better person to have lead us on our trip. Zambo definitely was a significant factor in making our trip as amazing as it was. From snorkeling and seeing sharks, rays, eels, and sea lions, to biking, to hiking, we did and saw so many different, amazing things. I will remember this trip forever.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “The Galapagos Islands was on my daughter's bucket list after she took an eco course in university. Thank goodness for education! It was by far my favorite trip I have taken, and my 6th continent visited. It was the perfect balance of active adventure, nature, education and leisure. Our guide Zambo was fantastic! It was an amazing experience from day 1 and each day just got better and better. Every island we visited offered us something new and different. Snorkelling at Kicker Rock and having reef sharks surround us was unbelievable. The marine life was incredible. Black tip reef sharks, an eagle ray, sea turtles .. were all the highlight ... but the amount of fish we saw was amazing. A diver in our group saw hammerhead sharks! We chose the Galapagos for the wildlife and we weren't disappointed. Friendly sea lions and iguanas were everywhere. We saw everything we had hoped and even more. On the way to Floreana Island we had dolphins swim and jump beside the boat; but what was even more wonderful was the 3 humpback whales - a calf and its parents. The calf was quite interested in our boat and came right up to us. We sat on the hull for 30-40 minutes and watched the whales surface and "play" around our boat ... an experience that none of us will ever forget. We were all in awe! Seeing those magnificent creatures in their natural habitat was surreal.
    From biking to hiking to kayaking to snorkelling we were kept busy and active, which was good since the food was fantastic! Every place we stayed at and ate at was fantastic. I love how Active Adventures supports the local economy and so many different businesses benefitted from our tour.
    It was by far the best vacation I have taken so far. Everything was perfect! And I cant say enough about Zambo ... he took care of all of us!!! He was our mother, mentor and educator! Thank you Active Adventures for giving Alanna and I a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Amazing Wildlife!

    “Amazing wildlife at every turn with a really knowledgeable guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip Was Everything I Imagined and More

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and again they did not disappoint. From the easy booking process, personal attention, and gentle reminders everything runs smoothly from day one.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, September 2017
  • Surprising Ecuador

    “We didn't know much about Ecuador - this was a fill-in trip between two others. It's a great place, especially the volcanos. Altitude takes a bit of getting used to but well worth it.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “Wonderful trip, Pablo was a wonderful guide. I'm not especially an animal person, but nevertheless the wildlife was the absolute highlight of this trip.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Ecuador

    “We had an amazing week in Ecuador. Each day was a new adventure, and the scenery was beautiful. The best part was Jhayro, our tour guide. He was knowledgable, personable, and genuine. We could tell that he wanted us to experience how special Ecuador is.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador - August, 2017

    “This trip was even more incredible than we thought it was going to be! We met such wonderful people while enjoying phenomenal scenery. We experienced something new each day and will treasure our unforgettable memories of Ecuador!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Naturalist Dream

    “The Galapogos Islands were all I had imagined. The animals were so accessible but also in their natural state. Our guide, Pablo was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for the natural environment was very infectious. The trip left me yearning for more time to linger.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Volcano Binge

    “Ecuador should be more on the visitors bucket list. Spectacular scenery which ranges from the upper Amazon to glacier capped active volcanoes. Our guide Jhayro was excellent and able to tailor the trips to the group.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Everything We'd Hoped For!

    “The trip was everything we had hoped for! Pablo was awesome. Very knowledgeable. We wish the trip had been longer!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Amazing Guide

    “Our tour guide Zac was amazing and made us feel very welcome!”
    – California, United States Capybara, August 2017
  • Fantastic trip

    “This was my first hiking trip, and I must say it was fantastic!!! Patagonia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been (and I travel a lot). I want to mention that you have to be in reasonably good physical condition to enjoy this trip. I am glad that I trained for it. Arturo, our tour guide and Catherine (the W Trail guide) were excellent. They also made sure that they accommodated my dietary requirements (gluten, diary, and soy free) on the W Trail, which is not an easy task. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. I will definitely book another trip with Active Adventures, now that I know how much I enjoy hiking and active trips.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, August 2017
  • Iguana Trip

    “Our guides Erick and Jessica could not have been better. Our group was well taken care of, and we experienced a trip of a lifetime that we could not have done without them.”
    – Georgia, United States Iguana, August 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Trip of a lifetime for me! Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week adventure with Erick leading the way to Machu Picchu, the Amazon and Lake Titicaca. There were a few challenges along the way but Erick did a great job of working with the various personalities in our group and kept everyone on track and moving in the right direction.”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Jaguar, August 2017
  • Best Tour Guide Ever!

    “Our tour guide, Pablo, could not be beat! His knowledge and enthusiasm was overflowing. As an added bonus, he was great with keeping our kids engaged and entertained.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime

    “When friends ask "how was your trip?", the words fail me. I wish I could share the incredible moments with them. How do you describe the magic of snorkelling with dolphins in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean, or feeling like you've befriended a sea lion? We can't say enough about our trip with Active Adventures. What an incredible trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, August 2017
  • Jaguar July 2017

    “Wonderful trip, especially the Inca Trail which was amazing.”
    – Hertfordshire, United Kingdom Jaguar, July 2017
  • Wow!

    “This was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. Hats off to Active Adventures for putting together an amazing itinerary and delivering on every aspect of our trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • What an Adventure!

    “This trip was definitely an active adventure! We experienced things I never had before, like reverse canyoning for example. Jairo was an excellent guide and leader. He designed quite the adventurous, active trip that we will never forget. I loved the hacienda and the horseback riding. The horses were wonderful, well trained and well taken care of. I also loved meeting our guide's family and enjoying home cooked meals with them.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Our 7 year old son didn't want to leave Ecuador. We had prepared him extensively for this trip and he was a real trooper. He loved everything about this trip and, since we've come back home, he talks about his trip to Ecuador almost daily.
    Perhaps other parents of children who are on the autism spectrum can appreciate how challenging it can be to find something your child will eat, never mind in a foreign country! Jhayro was wonderful with our son and they really connected. Dominik loved being Jhayro's co-pilot and occasional side-kick.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Great Time with Grandchildren!

    “Varied experiences. Saw much of Peru which many people don't get to experience.
    It was a perfect trip to take with our grandchildren.”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Great Trip with our Grandchildren!

    “We loved seeing so much of Peru with two of our granddaughters. Our guide, Zac, made the trip fantastic!”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Ecuador and the edge of the Amazon

    “Great trip and very organised. The guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. He was also patient and flexible with parts of the group. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were very well fed with amazing food throughout the trip.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tapir, July 2017
  • Peru in June 2017

    “It is easy to love Peru traveling with Active Adventures! Cynthia was absolutely fantastic, made sure all went smooth and really took care of us. Great memories were made.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, July 2017
  • Galapagos

    “We felt that we had the guide of the Century...Pablo...he should be a National Treasure! His enthusiasm, knowledge, sensitivity, thoughtfulness...fantastic!”
    – Otago, New Zealand Tortuga, June 2017
  • Our Peruvian Adventure

    “We had an amazing trip with Active Adventures - South America. Everything was extremely well-planned, and our guide was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and always more than willing to share tips, facts, and insights about her country. The trip from our first meeting to our parting at the airport was active, filled with amazing sights, and very well coordinated. We were thrilled to hike the Inca Trail, to see amazing archaeological sites in the Cuzco area and to explore the jungle and Lake Titicaca regions. We will definitely be looking at Active Adventures for trips in the future. Thanks for providing a wonderful and unforgettable holiday.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Awesome Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime! Everything about the trip went really smoothly and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the trip with my parents! Could not have had better guides either, Erick and Danny were a lot of fun and really took care of the group! Amazing trip that I will always remember.”
    – Arkansas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • Fantabulous!

    “This is our second Active trip and it was equally as great as the first! The guides were fantastic. You all know how to take care of active adventurer types. We lucked out on the weather and the views were stunning. Such a gorgeous part of the world. Another check-off on the bucket list.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, June 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Peru Jaguar trip we took in May, was the most exciting and adventurous trip we have ever made in our lives! At 70, I was skeptical as to whether I could complete the Inca Trail or not. With Johan's help and support, I not only accomplished my goal, but was extremely satisfied with our total active adventure trip. It seemed as if every time I turned my head, there was another exhilarating scene to photograph. The rest of the trip included the amazon rainforest, and spending the night with a local family on Lake Titicaca which was great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to explore the world's unknown places that only a few select get to experience. Our guide Erick Farfan was an exceptional young man who went out of his way not just for us, but the entire group. I've never had someone so attentive to every detail to make all of us happy. His choice of restaurants allowed all of us to experience the local foods and were all very tasty. Kudos to Erick, Johan and the rest of the crew for making my experience once in a lifetime which I will never stop talking about.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • One More Off the Bucket List

    “Great adventure trip with a multitude of activities”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “What a great adventure and experience among the wildlife of Galapagos. It's amazing to be able to see so much and be right next to these wonderful animals.
    Pepo was excellent in every way throughout the trip and I can highly recommend both him and Active Adventures to anyone. We will definitely do more trips with Active.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Amazing Adventure

    “what an amazing adventure we had! we enjoyed every bit of our Jaguar trip and would recommend Active Adventures to anyone who asks! The trip was very well organized and the guides were all informative and amazing. Our main guide, Erick Farfan was the best! he always made sure everything ran smoothly and had to deal with many different personalities on this trip but made it all work. The Inka trail was a tough trail for me due to the altitude but what an amazing feeling once you complete it and arrive at the sun gate! We thoroughly enjoyed the jungle as well as the visit to lake titicaca and our local family that we stayed with. look forward to our next amazing adventure with you! Hoping to do Patagonia soon!”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • Family adventure

    “Wonderful way to spend time together being active and exploring”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Would Go Again in a Heartbeat!

    “We have had two wonderful experiences with your company. Each one was a trip of a lifetime. We are so fortunate to have found out about your company. Thank you.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Iguana, June 2017
  • Galapagos, Fabulous Week!

    “I enjoyed our trip to the Galapagos very much. I don't think I realized how much I was learning while I was in the islands. It was only after returning state side that I began reflecting, and was amazed at how much I learned about how both the marine, and land animals, have adjusted to life in The Galapagos. It's truly an amazing place!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Perfect Blend of Activities

    “The trip was just the right mix of planned activities and personal time. The snorkeling, hikes, kayaking, informational tours and bike trips were not too strenuous and a great way to explore the wonders of this remarkable place. Our guide, Pablo, was extremely knowledgeable about the place he has called home for 20+ years. His guiding and people skills are among the best I have experienced. We weren't just playing; we were learning every minute of the trip in an enjoyable and casual way. I would heartily recommend this trip to young and old!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Galapagos 2017

    “If the idea of snorkeling with sea lions, turtles, and penguins all on the same day, is your cup of tea, (and it is mine!) then this trip is for you. And that's only the tip of the iceberg! Sorry, no icebergs in Ecuador, but the water can be surprisingly cool because of ocean currents.
    The naturalists who accompany you throughout the trip are extremely good, and are passionate about conveying to you their love and knowledge of Galapagos. You experience 4 islands on this tour and if you do excursions on your own you can have even more. Each island offers a unique experience. While there are many ways to see Galapagos, liveaboard vs land based, the extra time afforded you by being land based will give you more memories to cherish. Doug Middlefield CT.”
    – Connecticut, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Barb's Review

    “Our guides (we had 2 because of the split of trail that the team choose to take) were very knowledgeable, attentive, and extremely personable and made the trip wonderful!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Galapagos Greatness!

    “The Tortuga trip to the Galapagos Islands was led by an **outstanding** tour guide, Pepo. He exuded passion, pride, and respect for the islands and the creatures that inhabit it. Pepo demonstrated the perfect balance of providing the right level of information to where we felt educated but no so much as to bog us down. Accommodations were very nice along the trip. The activities and "Super Plans" we participated in were invaluable to making our Galapagos experience great! The other wonderful people I met in this group were entertaining and engaging. I'm thankful to have gone on this trip with these great people!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, May 2017
  • Beauty of Ecuador

    “The Tapir trip within Ecuador showed us a variety of beautiful landscapes from the highland mountains to the Amazon jungle. I LOVED the soulful Hacienda La Alegria horse ranch along with the horseback ride. The various hiking parts of the trip were my next favorite.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, May 2017
  • Perfectly Flawless From Start to Finish

    “From the moment we arrived on the tour, every detail was well thought through and all we had to do was put on our hiking shoes and enjoy. Our guide Pepo was very friendly and had tons of knowledge about the Galapagos, he knew how to explain the ecology of the environment in an engaging, interesting way and you never ever felt like you were sitting in a boring lecture. This tour allowed us to explore these amazing islands in an active, adventurous way with enough activities that you never got bored but you were also allowed time to explore the towns on your own, go on another bike ride or just put your feet up. Pepo also always helped us know what was coming next and helping us to be fully prepared for that days activity. There were no surprises (which was a good thing!) and everything was well organized so we never aimlessly waited around or wasted time thinking about what to do next. If you love to explore nature in an active way, this trip is an amazing one to do!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Go and See Machu Picchu and Experience Peru.

    “Our trip to Peru was fantastic. We hiked, biked and paddled in Peru. Every day was an adventure. I like that we got to experience the real Peru. I didn't feel like a tourist, I felt like an adventurer. We walked through markets, met children along the Inca trail, ate delicious food and even stayed at a local family's home. We were treated very well. We were blown away by the chef's culinary skill while trekking along the Inca trail. Our guide was personable and knowledgeable. Our group was small, also a huge plus. We will book another trip with Active Adventures. This was our second. Small groups, good food, active friends, great leadership, well run. What is not to like? Thank you, all.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Still smiling....

    “Words can't describe the amazing adventure of a lifetime my best buddy and I experienced in Peru with your Active Adventure team! The smiles on our face every time thinking about it paint the perfect picture of our wonderful, amazing experience and trip of a lifetime! Our guide, Daniel , was so attentive, thoughtful, fun and enthusiastic. We felt like we were travelling with a caring friend who was so excited to share his beautiful country with us! We were challenged and encouraged, and enjoyed absolutely every minute of this amazing trip! It would not have been the same without our smiling leader Daniel!!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Active in Peru.

    “I loved my jaguar trip to Peru. The history and Inca ruins were fascinating, the local people we met were all friendly and welcoming, the new friends I made on the trip were lots of fun(we were a great team) - and I loved the Llamas! I saw the best of Peru on foot, by bike and by kayak - a great way to experience such a richly cultural and historic country.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Jaguar, May 2017
  • Everything flowed: shuttles, vans, boats, bikes

    “I am mostly a solo traveler and this AA trip was a series of smooth and timely connections from one event to another. Guides Daniel and Johan were informative
    and personable. A+ to them.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    – Colorado, United States Iguana, May 2017
  • “Having never been to this part of the world this was a great way to travel, learn a great deal in a very short time, have a lot of fun, and not have to worry about any of the details.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • A-MA-ZING!!

    “We had such a great time. Every day was a new and exciting adventure. Our guide, Daniel, made sure we were well taken care of and we learned and enjoyed so much of the Peruvian culture. I would unhesitatingly recommend this trip!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Loved every minute, but not the Blisters !

    “The trip was everything it was supposed to be, and well worth the effort. From the moody weather to the gorgeous sunshine, from the penguins to the condors, we would do it again !”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, May 2017
  • Tortuga Paul and Sophia

    “Astonishingly beautiful. Superbly knowledgable guide. Lots of interesting activities to keep you busy.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Really varied and interesting. Great way to see a variety of areas and do a variety of activites.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Great review of the mainland. A super addition to the Tortuga trip”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • epic adventure

    “The group was outstanding; the guides were top notch. The Lares Inca trail was the hardest hike I have ever done because of the elevation, but the cultural immersion and glam camping softened the effort. Hot water bottles at bedtime anyone? Fleece liners for your sleeping bag? The trips to the Amazon and Lake Titikaka were equally wonderful, but the combination of the physical challenge with the people in the mountains, and the incredible scenery moving from the Lares to the Sacred Valley just couldn't be beat.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, April 2017
  • Loved our Tortuga trip.

    “We loved taking this land based tour of the Galapagos. Staying at hotels on the islands allowed us a lot more flexibility and was great for our grandchildren since they had lots of time to play on the beaches in the evenings. We saw all the animals I hoped to see plus the activities were a lot of fun, especially the snorkeling. We loved Zambo our guide. He was friendly, helpful and very informative plus he took great underwater videos for us.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • Trip to remember

    “Active Adventures, Arturo and local guides have done a great job making sure Patagonia trip experiences become memories of a lifetime for Natalie and I. The trip had it all - great sightseeing, strenuous hiking, biking, kayaking, hiking on a glacier, accommodations - simple to luxurious, great food... I only wish the weather would have been more cooperative. It was also great being part of a fun and easy going group... hopefully will see each other again on future Active trips!”
    – California, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Incredible experience

    “We had an amazing time in the Galapagos!
    Everything was perfectly organized for us. All we had to do was show up - just as it said in the description of the tour.
    Our tour guide Zambo would always tell us well in advance what we would be doing on the next day, what we had to bring, what we should wear.
    The food was always organized for us; they would always ask us beforehand what we wanted to eat.
    Everywhere we went they were expecting us and everything went smoothly.
    Zambo was an amazing guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. He had an answer for everything and he was very patient with our kids. One could see that he enjoyed showing his home to us.
    The encounters with the animals were truly amazing. We saw blue footed boobies, frigate birds, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, penguins, hundreds of sea lions, sea iguanas, etc.
    The animals seemed at ease with the humans around them in some cases almost curious.”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Simply said: Excellent

    “We’ve booked our trip with Active Adventures from NZ but ended up with Galakiwi Adventures as the implementing party. A bit confusing at the beginning but it turned out quite well.
    Our trip through the Galapagos Islands started in San Cristobal, followed by Floreana, Isabela and ended in Santa Cruz.
    We booked an all-inclusive trip and it turned out to be a very good decision. In fact we realized only after a few days how convenient is was to have everything organized for you and how much time you can actually safe. Starting with swimming gear that is provided as part of the package. Transportation to the ferry, getting on & off, having the transportation ready when you arrive, all those organizational aspects are taken care off which makes travelling from island to island very easy and smooth. Then hotels are ready, check in & out done super fast, luggage’s pick up etc. all organized. Lunch and/or dinners arranged in advance to maximize the vacation time and reduce wasted time to a bare minimum. What else to say besides that the organization was simply said excellent!!!
    Then we had Zambo our tour guide, a fantastic & very knowledgeable person.
    Not only questions from adults were not a problem for him, our kids and the other families kids who were also part of the group constantly came up with all sorts of questions and somehow, Zambo always had an answer.
    All of this made it a great vacation; we enjoyed it a lot”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Great guiding

    “We had a great experience. Patricio made us feel like we were able to do all of the activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • A varied experience

    “We very much enjoyed the varied experiences - meeting local people was great fun - highlights included horseback riding at a hacienda where the owner ate meals with us and explained his farming operation. The jungle visit was also very interesting - a meal prepared by a local couple and entertainment from an indigenous family.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tapir, April 2017
  • Fantastic time, sometimes strenuous always worth it

    “Had an excellent time. W trek was sometimes very tough but definitely worth the effort. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They took good care of us throughout. The trip was well organized and smoothly run. We will absolutely be looking to active adventures for similar trips in the future.”
    – Kentucky, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Stunningly beautiful

    “A continual immersion in nature and it's beauty very capably guided by Super- Pepo with his daily Superplan.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • The trip of my dreams!

    “The Iguana trip was better than was advertised! I had prepared for the trip to Peru by reading about the history of the area in the book, The Last Days of the Incas, by Kim MacQuarrie. When we visited the many different Inca sites, the history came alive for me. I could picture the great battles, and the capture of the Inca rulers, and the narrow escapes. It was wonderful! Cuzco was a beautiful city surrounded by mountain peaks and full of many good places to eat. After Peru, going to the Galapagos was like a beach vacation in the most beautiful place in the world. We loved snorkeling and seeing the giant land tortoises. We saw every animal associated with the Galapagos and more! I still can't believe I was lucky enough to find this trip with Active Adventures. Top notch all the way around. Thank you to our wonderful guides who we loved!”
    – Texas, United States Iguana, April 2017
  • Not a thing missing from this trip!

    “Our guide, Jess, was absolutely perfect. She was extremely knowledgeable about the Galápagos and amazing with the logistics and organizational part of the trip. We waited for nothing and had top-notch service everywhere we went. Award-winning trip in every way. I would not hesitate to book with Active Adventures again. Thank you, thank you, thank you!”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • “Everything ran absolutely as seamlessly as possible, Congrats to the Active Adventures team. The weather was perfect. Our guide, Pepo was terrific. He was attentive to all of our needs and safety, and fielded every question with depth of knowledge and intelligence. As a native of the Island he is sensitive and cares deeply about their well being and continuance. This showed through in all his words and actions. He displayed kindness and humor and was generally just a great traveling companion.

    I had read much before my trip and was not let down by what the Islands had to offer. The trip as a whole offered a quite perfect blend of activities, relaxation and unique new experiences. All the accommodations were at least just fine, a couple quite splendid. The food was delicious (fishatarian) and most bountiful.

    My only wish is that the airline scheduling involving arrival and then transfers from Quito to the Island worked out a little more smoothly. This is not a criticism of Active Adventures, but more of the airlines. So the bookend of the trip were not nearly the fun of the trip itself.”
    – Texas, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • Another Great Active Adventures Vacation!

    “I've come to expect excellent vacation experiences from Active Adventures and the Condor trip with Arturo did not let me down. It was another fantastic adventure with a great itinerary, amazing views, outstanding guiding and a terrific group of fellow travelers.”
    – Connecticut, United States Condor, April 2017
  • “Generally enjoyed the trip but I fell down on the second day of the W-trek in Patagonia. We Had great tour guides and company which made up for the disappointment of not being able to fully participate in the trip.”
    – Singapore, Singapore Condor, March 2017
  • AMAZING!

    “From the moment we met in the hotel lobby in Chile to our last good bye in Argentina, it was the a perfect adventure!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • “A trip of a lifetime! Like no other place I've ever been. Where Animals coexist with humans in harmony. Wild sea lions play with you as you snorkel, dolphins play with your boat, owls let you walk a hand width from them and giant tortoises are your obstacles as you bike. Pepo our guide was incredible and brought his incredible islands alive through his stories and knowledge! Best trip I've ever been on and would highly reccommend it! Wouldn't change a thing!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Best trip ever!

    “Wonderful 30th anniversary trip to the Galapagos -- so glad we were able to explore these amazing islands. A true adventure for two biology majors! We really got a sense of the strong environmental preservation efforts underway there, and were in awe of the amazing land and sea creatures we encountered. Plus a terrific local guide and fun group of co-travelers made this a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Lou D'Agostino's Condor

    “Dear Friends,
    Certainly I was predisposed to expect a great time because of three other positive Active trips but this time was especially memorable. Firstly, although I have always met interesting people on Active trips, this one was filled with the most friendly and athletic folks ever. Not only generous in spirt but quick to help each other to be certain all went well. Yes, there were a few instances where I had to remind myself that 'getting out of my comfort zone' was part of the experience. It was all good.
    I have always been intrigued by 'Cape Horn' and dreamed of someday getting as close as I could, so for me, this was my 'trip of a lifetime'. It was made particularly enjoyable by our chief guide and companion Cynthia Villadares.
    All the best,
    Louis”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2017
  • If it were easy everyone would do it.

    “This was my first visit to Patagonia and it was spectacular. The entire Active Adventures team made this trip an absolute pleasure from ease of booking, clear and thorough information about the trip, and an incredibly well organized adventure. Cynthia, our guide was very professional and organized. and was just a great person with whom to spend a couple of weeks. We had a diverse group of folks from all over the U.S. and we all got along very well. We experienced heavy rain and overflowing rivers and trails for the first few days, but that just brought us closer together as we relied on each other to make our way. Then the sun came out and we saw some of the most beautiful mountains, lakes and glaciers that can be seen anywhere in the world. I've been home for over a week and I can't wait to book my next trip!!!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia 3/2017

    “This truly was one of those 'trips of a lifetime'! The challenges we faced as a group the first week due to the unusually heavy rains helped bond our group early on making this one of the best trips people wise I have ever been on. We had to help each other safely ford many unexpected creek and river crossings. The leadership both Cynthia and the local guides provided was expert and excellent making what could have been a disappointing, miserably wet, or even dangerous experience an exciting and safe one....We rose to the challenge in great part a response to their spirit and professional attitude, especially Cynthia's.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a wonderful experience to spend Christmas in the Galapagos with such a experienced, caring leader for our adventure. Eduardo made sure all of our needs were meet and went above and beyond to make sure we have a very enjoyable time in his home country. I will always keep him and his family in our hearts and he made me feel like part of his family!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a great experience to be snorkeling with all the amazing animals! REMARKABLE!!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Active is the Word!

    “I thoroughly enjoyed my Condor adventure. I've been on a few of these hosted by other companies and I think Active Adventures is the best so far - a good value too. When you say all-inclusive, you mean it. We often ordered whatever we wanted right off the menu. Arturo and the other guides did a great job. The itinerary was excellent - I know because a few times we barely made the connection to a boat. There was little down time. Doing the W Hike in the first week is also key - We were fresh and ready then. The weather on our trip was not ideal. We totally missed seeing Fitz Roy, despite 4 days in El Chalten. Oh well. Mother Nature didn't cooperate. The only thing that would've made the trip better would be better accommodations at some of the refugios. I know you can't control this and there's not a lot of choice, but, boy, some of those shower facilities and bathrooms were just awful. I'm looking forward to hiking with you guys again soon. :)”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, March 2017
  • February 26th Condor with Arturo

    “The experience was amazing!! Active Adventures put us with a Great team of Guides, and I want to express that with the utmost praise! The hiking group was so much fun, which made the trekking exciting and a joy. I traveled with my girlfriend (Joelle) who is a more seasoned hiker than me, and the inspiration for the trip so cudos to her! The only small consideration I believe might help would be better maintenance at some of the Refugio's, I will let someone else in the group mention it by name!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Awesome experience

    “Our recent Condor trip with Cynthia was awesome. Cynthia did a great job as our trip leader. She was fun to be around, full of facts, and attended to all the details. The scenery was breathtaking, food and drink delicous and I would highly recommend this trip.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • The Amazing Galapagos Islands

    “This was an amazing trip. The organization could not have been improved! Everything went like clockwork! I'm sure, much to the credit of Pepo! He was amazing - knowledgeable beyond words, fun to be around, great sense of humor and so kind and polite! Our group was small, five in number, and we became friends because of all the adventures that we experienced together. I am loving telling people about the trip! And am loving remember it!

    The only suggestion that I would have is that I would have preferred to spend one more night on Isabella and one less night in Quito.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Excellent trip, well organized

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our Tortuga trip. Our guide Jessica was fantastic. Everything ran so smoothly, the group all got along and we were so fortunate to visit and explore the lovely Galapagos islands in this way. A land based trip is definitely the way to go. We would highly recommend it.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Nice overview of central Ecuador

    “Nice to see different areas in Ecuador and how varied and beautiful the country is. A nice taste for future exploration.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, March 2017
  • Feb 5 2017 Condor with Arturo

    “It was a fabulous trip. Arturo is a very considerate, competent, and creative guide with a wonderful sense of humor.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.