Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our South America trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 

Review ratings for our individual trips

Capybara 4.71
116 reviews
Condor 4.47
564 reviews
Iguana 4.74
20 reviews
Jaguar 4.49
1528 reviews
Tapir 4.25
206 reviews
Tortuga 4.52
1029 reviews
  • Amazing Trip

    “My wife and I joined this tour as part of our honeymoon trip and we couldn't of been happier. Everything was unbelievably well organized, the accommodations exceeded our expectations, the size of the group was great and there was a good range of activities that enabled us to get a good feel of all the diversity found in the Galápagos Islands.

    We have never used a tour company before when travelling as we like to have flexibility, choose our own accommodations, avoid crowds and be active. However, I would definitely recommend Active Adventures to anybody and would definitely do another tour with them.

    Thanks for everything!!”
    – Alberta, Canada Tortuga, January 2017
  • Better than expected

    “I had done one group tour before and lots of hiking with my local hiking club, but this tour was beyond what I was expecting. The people, the guide, the coordination and logistics - all were fantastic and well done. Of course, what truly made the trip was the amazing location and breathtaking adventure.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Fun Adventure

    “Active Adventures does an excellent job of organizing adventure trips that allow you to actively explore the country and experience the local culture. This trip was an outstanding opportunity to see the entire country of Peru. It was wonderful to hike the Inca Trail and see Machu Pichu, explore the beautiful town of Cusco, visit the Amazon as well as the different islands of Lake Titicaca.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Awesome

    “Just returned from two weeks travelling with Active Adventures in Patagonia and it could not have been better. The scenery was spectacular, the days and evenings varied and interesting and we ate and were treated like royalty. Everything was first class on our trip including our tour leader Arturo Rojas who was professional and just awesome in every way. We had a group of 15 trekkers and we very quickly became fast friends. I'm sure there are many companies out there but from my experience I don't think you can go wrong with Active Adventures. I'm already looking forward to my next trip with them.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “Patagonia, a true beauty. Massive, beastly mountains, lovely people, challenging hikes, all made for an unforgettable trip.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “One of my top trips!”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia Condor

    “Cem, our tour leader was fabulous as well as the local tour guides. The trip was amazing and simply beyond words. The scenery was so amazing that it made every step, every steep incline worth the efforts. Was disappointed that the penguin tour was cancelled due to weather on the first day. The food was excellent; Cem did a super job selecting the restaurants outside of the W Refugios.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Fantastic Adventure!

    “This trip was wonderful on so many levels. It was a perfect experience for our family of three college "kids", my husband and me. We traveled with two other families- a total of eight kids and six adults, a good group size. There was lots to see and do and we appreciated the opportunity to be active! Seeing the wildlife and learning about the Galapagos Islands was fantastic!! Zambo, our naturalist was terrific and related equally well to children and the adults. One of the unexpected pleasures my husband and I experienced was hearing our children utilize their seven years of middle and high school Spanish as they communicated with locals. Needless to say, they were pleased that the drinking age on the Islands is 18 and we all enjoyed having a beer at the end of each wonderful day. The December weather was lovely. Comfortably warm and the water was beautiful!! We took full advantage of any extra snorkeling and swimming opportunities.

    Our family had an extra day in Quito. We took the opportunity to hire a guide to take us around the city. What a great opportunity it was to learn about so many aspects of Ecuador's capital city. The Equator Museum was great and we enjoyed walking around the Plaza and seeing a couple of churches. Walking to the edge of the Pululhua crater was awesome! Lenin was a terrific guide!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • The only way to experience the Galapagos

    “This trip was the perfect blend of nature, culture, and fun and it is the best trip for anyone with kids 13-21 years old.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Land-based tours are the way to go!

    “We are so glad we chose to do an active, land-based trip rather than take a cruise ship. Staying in small hotels in the various towns on four islands and gaining an appreciation for the locals, the local food and customs was a tremendous addition to the natural beauty of the Galapagos. Knowing that we were contributing to the local economy rather than to a cruise line's bottom line felt good to us. Our guides (Lenin in Quito) and Zombo (on the Galapagos) were outstanding.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • “The naturalists were so informative about not only the local plants and animals, but had rich historical knowledge that really added to the experience.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Amazing trip - learned so much, and want to come back

    “3rd trip with Active Adventures, and all have been wonderful, stupendous, eye opening, with fabulous guides, and staff. Peru was an amazing country to visit; beautiful scenery, people, and culture. The Inca and pre-Incan archeology were of course incredible to see first hand. However, this was greatly enhanced by the depth of knowledge and historical context that our guide, Daniel, supplied. The lodge in the Amazon was my personal favorite place I have ever stayed - so beautiful, and a true experience to see the wild macaws, toucans, peccaries..... and so on. Lake Titicaca was beautiful and so rich in such a variety of cultures, and languages! Daniel our guide was incredibly gracious, kind, knowledgeable. The food was great, and the places we stayed as always with Active - fun, interesting and quite comfortable. Most of all, we were so impressed with the behind the scenes staff. The first day of our trip we were unable to make our first destination due to an airline problem. Active's staff scrambled to rearrange our entire itinerary so that we didn't miss anything. This meant rescheduling flights, permits, room reservations, etc.... and all over the Christmas Holidays. A true test of a great group of people is how they respond when something unexpected happens, and Active's staff proved how adept they were. From our point of view, everything was perfect and smooth, but we recognize and truly appreciate the work that went on behind the scenes to give us such a great experience. Thanks to all.”
    – California, United States Capybara, January 2017
  • Jaguar Adventure

    “Loved the Jaguar trip, and especially our guide, Erick. The trip covered a lot of ground over two weeks and we learned a lot about Peru. Food was amazing! The Lares trail was tough but stunning. Really enjoyed the Amazon and Lake Titicaca - especially the local experiences on the island in the lake. If Active Adventures has options in other areas where I am looking to go, they will be my first consideration!! Thanks for another wonderful trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Galápagos December 2016

    “Overall this was a great vacation for our family. We loved the Galápagos. Edwardo, our guide for the week, was fantastic. He took care of everything and always made sure that we had what we needed. For me the highlight was snorkeling with a school of large hammerhead sharks just bellow.

    We loved all of the hotels we stayed in on the islands. They all had comfortable beds, electricity, hot showers and even air conditioning. The food was fresh and hot. We loved the homemade soups at every lunch and dinner and the fresh fish served in all of the local restaurants.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime...

    “From ease of getting information about the trip, applying for it and being helped with all administrative necessities..... it was a pleasure to deal with "Active Adventures".
    The actual trip was very close to what was advertised and turned out to be a challenging adventure with great experiences and rewards.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Condor trip-a real active adventure

    “It was a great trip that I enjoyed very much. This is my 2nd tour with Active adventures since 2014. Our tour guides Arturo and Jim (on W-track) were great trip leaders and sincere, caring people, their presence throughout the trip is a key fact to make us feel safe and supported.

    The meals are very good and well arranged. The only venue that might need future improvement is the size of the vehicle that been employed for our group of 15-17 people.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Whoa! What an incredible trip!

    “There aren't any words that could properly prepare you for what is in store. Patagonia was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    Cynthia was an amazing guide, she took such good care of us! She routinely went above and beyond to ensure we were safe, happy, healthy and well fed. What a gem she was! And on top of being great at her job, she's just an awesome person, fun, smart, flexible, just the kind of person you want touring you around the edge of the earth for 2 weeks.

    The trip itself was absolutely breathtaking. No photo could do that place justice. The W trail was an amazing hike full of ever changing views (and lots of wind!). Definitely, pay the extra to do the Grey Glacier hike! It was a trip highlight!

    Get ready to take your jacket on and off more in one day than you would over the course of a month back home :) Everything they say about the weather is true. You are at the mercy of the elements, but for the most part, we lucked out with weather (and when we didn't Cynthia always had a plan B).

    I'm so glad we did this! We will definitely be touring with Active again. Those folks do a stellar job of setting you up for an exciting adventure.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Jaguar, November 2016

    “This trip truly was an 'active adventure', and exceeded my expectations in so many ways.
    Peru is such a beautiful country, rich in history, and culture. All of our guides were superb, but Erick as our trip host absolutely made this trip worry free, a true learning experience, and SO much fun! If it's all in the details, Erick and Active covered them all and more!
    I arrived as a solo traveler and left having made friends and memories that I will treasure always.
    Thank you Active Adventures, until next time!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Jaguar, December 2016
  • An eye opening experience.

    “When I first found the Active Adventures website I knew I had stumbled across something very special. I have wanted to visit Patagonia since I was a young kid, and when I saw the pictures of the people with Active Adventures smiling and laughing, I knew that I had to try it. Rarely in my experience is the actual experience better than I thought it could be. This is one of those times. Active Adventures paired me with a group of people who are diverse, interesting, fun, and surprising. They provide a guide who is excited about the experience as well, and who takes pride in doing a fantastic job for his or her group. Everything from deliciously prepared food in some of the finest restaurants in southern Chilè and Argentina, to putting in extra miles and hours hiking ensuring that the group members are satisfied and engaged with their experience. (Seriously, Arturo is awesome and at the very least deserves a bonus) You will not be sorry, I know I am not.”
    – Alabama, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Condor Adventures Dec 2016

    “Patagonia Chile and Argentina was my first visit to South America and the adventures were definitely everything I expected. My adventures with Cynthia and Active far exceeded everything I expected. Cynthia was an exceptional tour leader, full of knowledge, wit and charming kindness. She was attentive to every group member's needs and ensured that everyone was safe and well looked after. Filled with humour and wit, Cynthia is a highly efficient tour leader who is organized and passionate about leading groups. She always enjoyed being in the outdoors and spoke with excitement and knowledge about the highlights on the trip. Cynthia was always friendly, down to earth and very funny.
    The passion that she has for what she does helped to invigorate our group with a high and positive energy. The group that we had was an awesome group that came together and became like a small family in the short two weeks we spent together. My overall experience was more enriched because the group gelled and genuinely enjoyed one another's company. I spent two amazing weeks trekking Patagonia Chile and Argentina, experiencing some of nature's greatest landscapes. I'm grateful to have experienced it with the group we had, and for Cynthia, for helping to make a series of grand and treasured memories. I'll never forget my time in Patagonia. The tour was top-notch, greatly organized and run with efficiency. Thank you. A round of applause, Active!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2016
  • Phil and Marje

    “Wonderful trip. We really enjoyed Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the days over in the jungle. The best thing was our guide, Erick, who was interesting, informative, extremely well prepared but most important a lot of fun to travel with. He's one of the best guides we've ever had.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Spectacular Time!

    “We had a spectacular time in Patagonia! The venue was beautiful, challenging and exciting; Active did a great organizational job as well as Arturo our lead guide. Arturo is a multidimensional person that took great care of us at all times. Our group was very diverse, interesting spanning all age groups which got along great. Bottom line is that we had a fantastic time at a fantastic place with fantastic people. It was a very challenging trip that we are proud to have done.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2016
  • An incredible adventure

    “There are too many highlights to list them all, but seeing a puma hunt guanaco
    is a near tie with the unscheduled glacier river crossing. Had we not been with Active Adventures, we would not have been able to complete the 'W' trek, due to a downed bridge and shady Chilean politics. We were one of only four groups able to complete the full 'W' due to the 'puente malo' and our guides Arturo and Cem were super-starts getting the entire group across the river (x3)!

    Words can't describe how amazing the trip was and a huge part of that was how Active arranged it and adapted to the situations on the ground. I would definitely
    go on any of their other trips.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Machu Picchu Oct 2016

    “Two friends and I were part of the Jaguar Trip to southern Peru. We elected to do only the Machu Picchu portion and not Lake Titicaca or jungle portions. Cuzco, the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu were well worth the trip. There is so much to learn about the ancient Peruvian cultures. Of 13 people 2 developed altitude problems and Active Adventure staff were excellent in caring for them and adjusting schedules and hikes to match the remaining hikers. I credit them with making the trip so enjoyable. This is my second trip with Active and I recommend them highly. The food and support personnel were top notch.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • "If you ever get the chance, make it happen..."

    “The Galapagos Islands turned out to be everything you hear about and more! My style of travel has never been geared towards tours or trips (EQ Type: Authentic Experiencer), however I signed up for the Tortuga trip last minute to join my parents and couldn't have been more pleased! Being a land-based tour vs. boat tour we were able to support the local economies on the various islands we visited while experiencing the authentic and incredible wildlife and landscapes the Galapagos has to offer. We got to enjoy a variety of local restaurants rather than eating the same buffet meal similar with other tours and stay in a range of different accommodations along the way. Our tour guide Pablo however, really made the trip and I am not sure if it would be quite as amazing without him. The passion, knowledge and love he has for the Galapagos Islands glimmered through every day we were with him and the smile shared with each new experience was priceless. The only disappointment was that we didn't know extra activities, diving in particular, were non-refundable if a illness or anything else comes up last minute - as they often do with diving. Saying this, I would very strongly recommend the Tortuga tour to everyone. If you every have the chance, make it happen and you absolutely will not be disappointed. Each day we were left amazed and utterly shocked at how much we were able to see and do with each activity. I have traveled to some pretty spectacular places around the world but this trip is a once in a lifetime experience.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, December 2016
  • Outstanding Adventure with the Best Guide Ever!

    “The Tortuga trip was phenomenal. From the moment I arrived, my every need was met and all with grace and professionalism. The trip was well planned, we saw and did so many things, from adventures like hiking and biking, snorkeling and kayaking, to learning all about the Galapagos in a way a book will never tell you. What brought everything off the pages of a book, and from the land in front of us was the knowledge and the passion of our guide Pablo. What a treasure he is! He could answer anything, and it was all shared with enthusiasm, passion, caring, love for this land. I felt so honored to have had him as our guide. Thank you! The food was outstanding, the accommodations perfect. I could not fault a single thing!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Amazing adventure

    “I had an amazing time. From snorkeling, hiking an active volcano to kayaking and biking along the beach. Loved the locations we stayed at!”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Absolutely Incredible

    “I truly never imagined the trip would be as awe-inspiring and soulful as it was. Our tour guide, Cynthia, was by far one of the most compassionate, caring, knowledgeable individuals I have ever met. She went above and beyond for everyone in our group and am incredibly grateful to have experienced this trip with her as our guide. The views of Patagonia are indescribable and the overall beauty surrounding one is almost surreal as to believe places like this exist in the world. I truly hope everyone has a chance in their life to take this trip and just soak in every second of the majestic beauty that engulfs you each and every day.”
    – Texas, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Patagonia Adventure

    “A wonderful trip with great views and excellent hiking. Our guides really took care of us and everything was handled beautifully. The accommodations and food were first rate. Loved the trip.”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2016
  • You have to go on this trip

    “This is my second Active Adventures trip and like the first it was above and beyond what one can expect. I am looking forward to my third one. The adventure is exactly what I love, the guides are the BEST, the food and places we stayed were excellent. This trip is truly one of the trips that you will never ever forget.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Great experience

    “We loved our experience!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Wonderful adventure

    “It exceeded expectations”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Going solo, coming home with 7 new friends

    “Really enjoyed my trip with Erick. He was a great guide, and a good friend.
    The best part of an Active trip is having supper every night with your new friends with a host who knows the best places to go and picks up the tab. (so to speak)”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, December 2016
  • Toughest hike yet but rewarding

    “The "W" was one of the toughest hikes we've undertaken because of straight line steep grades and rocky trails. But when we finished we felt like we had met the challenge and all our pre-trip workouts were worth it. Our guide, Cahit, was fantastic - knowledgeable, outgoing and optimistic. The adding of mountain biking and kayaking was a nice touch!”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Magnificent views

    “This was clearly one of the more spectacular trips we've taken because of the mountains, glaciers and beautiful weather. But it was a tough one. The W segment was a bit crowded so be ready to share a lot of the trail with a lot of people, especially at the refugios.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Great family time in Gallapagos

    “All went really well with the trip. Loved the Guide (Pepo). Completed nearly all of the itinerary, but not quite all. Good group of fellow travelers, though not all of them were expecting (or tolerant of) kids in the trip (8 and 14 yr old). Would definitely recommend the trip and the guide to anyone who was interested in a Gallapagos adventure.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Great Trip, Very Informative, Always Moving

    “It was a great trip. Guide was fantastic, the wildlife and locations we saw would have never been the case without the guided trip. The transportation and logistics were so smooth, we never waited once.”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Excellant trip! I would come back and do it gain!

    “Pepo was a wonderful guide. He made the trip special and was so accommodating and knowledgeable. Honestly one of the best trips I have ever taken!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Condor Nov 16

    “have used Active in NZ for Rimu trip and Condor trip lived up to expectations. It's some of the simple things like size of groups, quality of guides etc that make the difference for me. The sorting out of tips and meals just makes for an easy time as I travel for the trekking not the organising :-) good stuff active. Thanks”
    – Essex, United Kingdom Condor, December 2016
  • Jaguar Trip

    “Thanks Active Adventures for making this another trip of a lifetime. This is our second trip and once again it met all our expectations and more. Our guide, Erick, did an outstanding job keeping the trip exciting, educational and enjoyable.”
    – Alaska, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Nov. 6 Jaguar with Erick

    “This trip was an absolutely outstanding experience for myself and my husband! Everything was so wonderful! Our guide Erick selected outstanding places to eat and made superb meal recommendations. I am thankful that he was able to control the weather while we were there. The people, landscape, culture and architecture were over the top. Erick was so patient and fun to be with. Our group couldn't have been better traveling companions. All of our activities were well paced and very doable. We love Active Adventures! This was our second trip to South America with Active and we look forward to booking another trip with them soon.”
    – Alaska, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Condor

    “Great trip. Been on several previous trips with other companies; this one was comparable. Food at restaurants was usually very good but bland at the refugios. Got to try out my paltry Spanish. Hiking with full packs not as burdensome as I anticipated. Scenery great. Rugged hikes but good trails. Cynthia and Jem were great guides. Well planned activities.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Tortuga

    “Pepo - best guide ever!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Knowledgeable Guides

    “Our Classic Inca Trail Guide, Puma, showed me how much he loved this land and the people who lived on the land, both present and future!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • Like an Inca in Peru

    “This trip was better than I could've ever expected. The Inca Trail was the most incredible hardest thing I've ever done both mentally and physically and I could not have done it without our guide Zac and my new found friend Cynthia. Machu Picchu was the perfect culmination to the pilgrimage. The rest of the trip and all of my other wonderful new friends including our guide Erick will never be forgotten. I will be talking about this trip for years to come and cannot wait to go on my next Active Adventure!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, November 2016
  • Enchanted Paradise

    “This trip was worth every penny. From the moment you leave the airport on San Cristobal you are surrounded by the magic of the Galapagos. We saw every animal we hoped to and then some. There were plenty of opportunities to relax with a local beer and watch the sea lions play or iguanas scuttle across the beach or you could use spare time to fit in extra mountain biking or snorkeling. Our guide, Pepo, was absolutely wonderful. He is from San Cristobal and I really enjoyed his insider's perspective on the islands. Every day was a learning experience. The trip was expertly planned and organized. Never a dull moment!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • Galapagos Adventure

    “This was the perfect honeymoon. The animals were amazing, the accommodations and travel smoothly planned. The tour guide, Pepo, was everything we could have hoped for - knowledgeable, amiable, and local. Active Adventures even managed to get our bags to the airport after the airline lost them in the nick of time to join us on our travels!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • South America Adventure

    “As a first time traveller to South America it was a great comfort to travel with local guides who were not only proficient in Spanish but also more importantly familiar with all of the great local places to visit. Pepo and Zac were invaluable guides, they made us feel welcome from the first minute. Pepo had great insight about the Galapagos Islands and the time we spent at his family tree-house was great fun. Zac is full of knowledge about Peru, the sacred valley, the Incas and recommendations for the best places to eat. The professionalism displayed by Zac as our tour guide was unbelievable! He was able to seamlessly re-organise our trip schedule as there was a local strike with road closures. His knowledge of the area and the people meant that we hardly even noticed the change in our itinerary. I cannot recommend him enough! I have previously traveled with Active in New Zealand so I knew that I was in for a lovely trip. My expectations were well met and my only criticism is that the tour wasn't longer! The trip has opened my eyes to the beauty of Peru and the Galapagos and now I just can't wait to go back and it explore it even more.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Iguana, November 2016
  • Fantastically organized

    “The planning, organization and minute by minute support provided by Active Adventures was top notch. Erick was always there for us and the additional guides that we had along the way for cycling, kayaking and jungle tours were excellent. We really enjoyed the surprises that Erick provided to top off our days! Except for Lima, there were not a lot of English speaking locals in Peru, so I found it imperative to have such good local guides. We were also impressed with the food and equipment provided for cycling, kayaking and the support on the Inca trail. Active Adventures is a great company to work with!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • Best trip ever!

    “We had a fantastic time and I must give top marks to Active Adventures. The whole trip was orchestrated wonderfully from start to finish. We could see that all contingencies were anticipated well before the trip commenced and it ran very smoothly. I talked with a person who did not use this company and the difference was like night and day.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • BEST TRIP EVER!!!

    “First of all, I want to say what a FANTASTIC "Jaguar" trip we had with Active Adventures in Peru. After talking with many other travellers we meet in Peru, Active Adventures were head and shoulders above other tour groups. They meet and exceeded my expectations. Thanks to the best guides "Eric" and our 4 day Inca hike Guide "Puma". They started as our guides and we finished as friends.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • One from the bucket list

    “We had high expectations for this trip and they were exceeded!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • Everything I hoped for

    “This was my bucket list trip and it did not disappoint! As a biology major, the main draw was the wildlife, the natural history, and scientific significance of the Galapagos but it was also so much more. Our guide, Pepo, led our small group on a journey of discovery while sharing his expertise and great sense of humor. Our fellow adventurers were so much fun and we bonded over great food, once in a lifetime experiences, and fun in the sun. I highly recommend Active Adventures and will most likely book another trip with them soon!”
    – Oregon, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • My Excellent Active Adventure!

    “Such a fabulous trip. The challenge of hiking at altitude, biking and kayaking through some amazing scenery, and experiencing the culture and the diversity of Peru is something I will always remember. I was so impressed with everyone involved - our guide (Erick), our trail specialist (Puma), our activity specialists for the Amazon, biking and kayaking, our porters on the trail, and the support they received in dealing with any and all issues that arose during the two weeks.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, October 2016
  • Awesome Active Adventure

    “We had been told how well organized the trip would be but we were blown away by the organized, efficient and professional manner in which all of the staff conducted themselves and their duties. Not having to worry about tents and campsites and food allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the scenery and the people we encountered. Our guides Eric and Jose were excellent historians as well as trailblazers and were especially good at adjusting our trek through the Andes since we had some health and fitness issues to deal with (including Debby having an intestinal problem on the very first day of our journey).”
    – Kentucky, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • Amazing galapagos

    “Thanks to Active Adventures and especially Jessica and her team for an amazing time in the Galapagos. Really enjoyed the diving, snorkeling and other activities on or near the sea, even during the travel between islands there was plenty to see and learn about; the diversity, adaption to the environment, and specialisation of the wildlife, including the people!, that live(d) on Galapagos (and mainland Ecuador) was so interesting.
    Fresh and largely locally sourced food was great! Liked the simplicity with less gizmos that often end up thrown away. Thought the people, especially Galapagos, were aware of the environment, recycling and less rubbish and wastage.
    Fascinating place!”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Tortuga, October 2016
  • A true meeting

    “A trip that allows you to meet with the true peruvian insider ..... You just keep asking for more”
    – , New Caledonia Jaguar, October 2016
  • “A stellar bucket list trip with outstanding guides. The Peru part of our trip was complicated by a local strike causing havoc with our original itinerary but Zac and the Active Adventures folks were amazing in rearranging the itinerary, lodging, meals, etc. Pepo was super in the Galagagos. Both parts of the trip were great fun and very professionally run. Very active but doable for four of us in our 60's.”
    – Illinois, United States Iguana, October 2016
  • Peru and Galapagos Islands

    “The two regions of this trip were so different. In Peru, learning about Inca history, seeing the structures that they built with minimal tools and that have survived for centuries and getting to spend time in small towns and interacting with local artisans was fabulous. The Galapagos Islands were a wildlife fest with snorkeling, kayaking and boat rides between islands and viewing sea "creatures" in the shallows and deep water. You also hiked volcanos and saw land tortoises, iguanas and the topography change as you go from lush to lava fields. Wonderful experiences”
    – Illinois, United States Iguana, October 2016
  • Jaguar trip 9-16

    “I was interested in this trip because I had always dreamed of going to Machu Picchu and the only reason I was traveling to Peru was because that is where Machu Picchu was. As it turned out, getting to Machu Picchu was great but it wasn't even one of the highlights of the trip! I am so glad I went on this trip with Active Adventures because it exposed us to much more of Peru than we would have seen had we just trekked to Machu Picchu. Erick our guide was like our "peruvian google" who could answer just about any question we had about his country. As with the Condor trip I took to Patagonia last year, I always felt taken care of and could relax because all the little details were worked out by Erick and his Active Adventures Crew. Couldn't have had a better time in Peru than our Jaguar trip!”
    – Hawaii, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • Colorful Peru!

    “Peru is a marvelous canvas of color, music and history; beautiful people, delicious food and breathtaking scenery. This adventure to Peru was amazing! It was a dynamic journey full of beauty and fun. From an unforgettable hike at the Lares Inca Trail to submerging into the life of the local families at Amantani Island! Everything during the trip was executed in an organized and safe manner. Thank you to our fantastic group leader, Erick, and to all my lovely travel Amigos for making this adventure a colorful one! This is how you celebrate Life!
    Abinette from Puerto Rico”
    – South Carolina, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • “The adventure begins to become just a wonderful memory. Over all the trip was amazing and the organisation with its (almost) all inclusive arrangements was impressive. There were so many high spots, it is hard to give a single highlight. The stay on Amantani island was very special, the views in the Andes were spectacular, the hotels were comfortable and the food everywhere was plentiful and delicious.
    One of the best things about this trip was meeting such a lovely group of fellow travellers. We had such fun together. Erick our guide was very efficient and hard working. He must have found it challenging to shepherd such a lively group around but he managed to make it great fun as well as keeping us safe and free of worry.
    All in all I am so happy that I took this trip and will recommend Active Adventures to anyone considering such an adventure.”
    – North Somerset, United Kingdom Jaguar, October 2016
  • Amazing

    “Every detail surprised and delighted.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • Awesome experience

    “It was a life changing experience... I highly recommend this trip to everyone.”
    – Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada Jaguar, October 2016
  • Wonder- fulled Galapagos

    “Wonderful food! local, fresh and delicious and plenty of it
    Wonderful guide! Jessica the personality of the Galapagos, fun, full of local knowledge and a great organiser
    Wonder fulled Islands, wildlife and sites to see
    A Brilliant Trip!”
    – , New Zealand Tortuga, September 2016
  • Happy to have chosen this trip

    “There seemed to be so many choices of trips but Active Adventures attracted me with the fact it was land based Galapagos trip and included hiking, biking and kayaking. The trip exceeded expectations and I am very glad to have chosen Active Adventures. Food was great. Active Adventures staff was great. Activities were great, and to top it off everyone in our group was great. I am even more convinced now that a land based Galapagos trip was the way to go.”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, September 2016
  • Once in a Life Time Experience

    “The entire staff on the trip from our incredible guide to the individual drivers made the trip amazing even when things don't go the way you want them to.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • Tortuga, Galapagos

    “You have to visit the islands to believe how amazing they actually are and how innovative the people who live there have become, very little goes to waste.”
    – North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2016
  • Tapir

    “Jhayro was a great guide, and made the trip a great one, even helping to expand my Spanish vocabulary. A brilliant trip that everyone should take”
    – North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom Tapir, September 2016
  • ECUADOR South America

    “I had an incredible trip exploring the beautiful scenery of Ecuador. Our guide Hiro was extremely informative and his erudition was obvious; also had the opportunity to meet his vivacious daughter who brought another great personality to our group! Our small group was awesome and I had a great time getting to know each member. I enjoyed the active aspect of the trip, everything from cycling, hiking, and ascending waterfalls in the Amazon was a perennial experience!! Definitely will be joining Active on another trio!!

    Ps: food was amazing!!”
    – Wyoming, United States Tapir, September 2016
  • Fantastic Peru!

    “The guides were great; the weather was perfect (even the snow just after cresting a 15,000' peak); the sites were amazing; the activities well planned and thought out. Every excursion went smoothly and all told it was a fantastic trip.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • “Excellent combination of cultural and geographic aspects of Peru. Trip was well organized and well led. Hiking the Inca Trail was definitely the highlight!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • Loved the trip

    “The trip to Galapagos was wonderful. I loved the tortoises, snorkeling, kayaking, volcanoes.”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • Fantastic!

    “This trip is action packed with thing to do. Jessica, our guide, was very knowledgeable and passionate about each island and activity that we did. The wildlife was amazing and the trip was well organized. I wouldn't call this tour a "vacation" in the traditional sense. This tour is more of an experience! I'd recommend it to anyone interested in wildlife, geology, and conservation!”
    – North Carolina, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • Great trip!

    “We had a smart, funny, and skilled guide who showed us beautiful and amazing things. Peru was incredible, it was a great trip.”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • My first taste of Sth America

    “The trip lived up to all that it offered and more. The organisation and the guides were exemplary. Fully recommend it to all active golden oldies!!”
    – Auckland, New Zealand Iguana, August 2016
  • Jaguar 2016

    “The world is a diverse place. Peru is a must-see. The Jaguar trip by Active South America gives you a very good sampling of what this country is about from the cities and towns to the mountain to the jungle to the lake environments and the peoples and wildlife which make them home. This is quite the challenging trip for those of us who are relative lowlanders. This was our third trip with Active and they never disappoint. The guides are always first rate as they do everything possible to help you maximize your enjoyment of the trip no matter the circumstances. We love adventure and surely there will be more trips in our future. Out of the many many choices today Active will always be given first consideration.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Capybara Adventure!

    “I recently went to on the Capybara tour with my son. We had Arturo as our guide. I was so happy with this tour. I found Active Adventures online. I read the reviews and had phone conversations with staff and emails who were always happy to answer any of my many questions. My 19 year old son worked hard to pay for his part of the tour and I wanted it to be really great for him especially.
    We both had the best time. We were fed amazing food that I never expected. I had no idea that we would be having such healthy and tasty meals. We were always told what the plan the next day was going to be and in detail. Any needs we had Arturo would make sure they were met. He was absolutely the best. A very educated, kind, thoughtful and funny young man. Could not have been happier with tour itenarary and our tour guide, Arturo. Would do another Active Adventures tour again and actually looking at booking one for next year! Thank you for a really special trip with my dear son! Many happy memories forever.”
    – Utah, United States Capybara, August 2016
  • Tortuga july 2016

    “Amazing trip with an amazing guide. thank you”
    – Pahurehure, New Zealand Tortuga, August 2016
  • The best of Peru

    “Our trip with Cynthia and Zac was super well organized and so informative. We were well informed about what to expect for every meal, hike, bike ride, flight and boat trip. This was enhanced by what was the best crew team in Peru. Every person connected with our Active Adventure was so welcoming. We learned so much about the history of the Inca's, the wildlife and foliage, customs of areas and current issues. Amazing meals on the Inca trail and adventures on picnics and in restaurants. It was truly a perfect and unforgettable active adventure!”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, August 2016
  • Macchu Picchu JULY24 2016

    “We were on the Jaguar trip and had no complaints whatsoever! Cynthia Valladores was our trip leader, she was absolutely fantastic. My girlfriend got sick and was on the verge of not hiking when she arranged for a doctor which allowed her to make the hike. All that expense and planning would have been for nothing! She made ALL the difference!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Amazing experience

    “Everything was perfect!!! Cynthia, our group leader, is amazing!!! Every detail is attended to and we were very well taken care of. I was very pleasantly surprised how good the food was while hiking the Inca trail! That cook is able to make a better meal on a hiking trail than most people can make in a fully stocked kitchen!!!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Wonderful Trip

    “Terrific Trip!! Beautiful Country! Terrific Organization! Wonderful Guides! Great Food! I was very impressed with Cynthia and Puma and all the others that contributed to making this kind of trip possible. It is a sign of a well run organization when it values and hires such terrific people. They took very good care of us, were extremely well educated, and were very easy to get along with not to mention patient and fun. The Inca Trail views were absolutely breath taking but this really was a very well rounded trip. I enjoyed the cities of Cuzco and Puno, the trip to Porto Maldonado and the jungle with the extremely interesting hotel, and Lake Titicaca with our trips to a couple of the islands and stay with one of the families. Our tour of Lima was a great way to finish off our trip. One more thing-the food was absolutely the best. I have never eaten that well.”
    – Minnesota, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Great guide

    “Jessica was wonderful and so was the intern Jessica. Loved the people on the trip. Nice size group - 13!”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • Amazing trip to Peru

    “Our trip to Peru surpassed my expectations. Cynthia our trip leader was amazing and truthfully made our experience a once in a lifetime one. I would most definitely travel with Active Adventures again in the future!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventures!

    “Active Adventures totally lived up to their name for our trip in Peru! Hiking the Inka trail, boating on the amazon, fishing for piranhas, cycling to the sacred valley and kayaking on Lake Titicaca we were active every day of the trip! Thank you Cynthia, Zack and the amazing team at Active Adventures for the trip of a lifetime in Peru!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Re-energised

    “This trip was certainly "active". The Lares trail was my highlight and pushed me to the limits. It was wonderful to share this trip with such an amazing group of people of all ages. The guides were superb.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Jaguar, July 2016
  • Jaguar to Peru June 19

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime! Peru is a beautiful and fascinating country. Active adventures is a first rate organization and we were well prepared upon arrival and throughout the trip. We cycled, hiked, camped and journeyed into the jungle. All equipment was first rate and the food excellent. Loved Erick, a wonderful guide in every regard. Daniel as well was terrific.
    Our group of ten were fearless and hilarious. Would do this again tomorrow. Thank you Active!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing time!

    “We had an amazing time on our Active Adventures Jaguar trip to Peru. The Active Adventures team were incredible, taking care of everything so well. Our guide for the whole two weeks, Cynthia, was so friendly and went over and above multiple times to make sure that everyone had a great time. The Inca Trail was tough, and the weather didn't entirely cooperate, but when we finally got to Macchupicchu it was so worth it. Just seeing that stunning place made the journey worthwhile, but then the rainforest and Lake Titicaca were waiting for us! I'd highly recommend this trip and this company, and they certainly live up to their name!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventure

    “I was unsure of exactly what I signed up for when I started this trip but it truly was the trip of a lifetime. Each day we had something unique and exciting planned. We were never board and the adventures we participated in soon helped our tour group bond together and become a second family. The tour was very well organized and our tour leader was excellent.”
    – Indiana, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • We did it! With style and fun!

    “This was a bucket list trip of a lifetime! Active Adventures went above and beyond to make us comfortable, safe and we had a bunch of fun from the Andes to the Amazon!”
    – Oregon, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Why Peru?

    “Reasons to go to Peru? Fabulous food, people, culture and geography.
    Reasons to choose Active Adventures? Outstanding local guides (notably Erick) who provide a myriad of experiences for a complete & truly active immersion experience.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Couldn't Have Done It Ourselves

    “From four course picnics to an entire team to assist in the trek, we simply couldn't have had the same experience if we'd planned our own trip. Our guide Erick was simply the best. A wonderful trip!”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Jaguar June 2016

    “Well ran trip. Very active itinerary. You will be tired. Lots of early mornings but ultimately worth it. History at every turn. Cynthia was/is awesome. All of our guides were great and passionate. All very knowledgeable. If you want to see Peru and Macchu Picchu, this is the way. Details are handled, flights on the trip handled for you. Any concerns addressed and handled. Highly encourage anyone to take this trip. This is my second trip with Active and I am sure there will be more.”
    – Indiana, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventure - amazing guide

    “The trip from beginning to end was an incredible, although challenging, experience. I would not have thought it was possible to jam so many incredible experiences into so short of time. The variety of experiences, activities, and landscapes was amazing. And Cynthia was the most incredible guide to show us all through it.”
    – Maine, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Peru a country with oppurtunities for the future

    “What struck me traveling in Peru was beside the wonderful nature, the healthy way of living. Healthy food, healthy people with healthy teeth. Not so much stress as we are used to nowadays. I would like to go back!”
    – Värmland, Sweden Jaguar, July 2016
  • Great trip!

    “The trip was overall amazing. The guides were all very knowledgeable and were always trying to make the trip more comfortable and enjoyable. I really could not be more impressed. Each of them was likeable and friendly (as well as informational). They took us to great sites and great restaurants. 5 star!!!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Iguana, July 2016
  • You won't regret it!

    “Awesome fun with family and friends. Really enjoyed meeting new friends, hiking, biking, kayaking and eating!”
    – Tennessee, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Great way to venture into South America

    “Fabulous way to combine the Inca trial and Galapagos islands. Hiking at 14,000 feet and sandy beaches packed with sealions. Meet real people, share ral experiences, get to meet wildlife up close!”
    – Essex, United Kingdom Iguana, June 2016
  • truly active

    “Active Adventures packs a lot into two weeks. The pace is very fast and being in good condition is very important. This trip went to two places on my bucket list and I enjoyed both immensely. Machu Picchu was everything I expected and a bit more. The Galapagos Islands were a treat, especially the giant tortoises.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, June 2016

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.