Request a free South America Brochure

Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our South America trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!

    “The Condor trip with our tour leader, Zac, was AWESOME! Our W guide, Cem, was also exceptional. The two of them kept us at a great pace and kept us laughing. You're on this trip for the scenery, and it was breath-taking. A great one word description of the landscape is "rugged". This tour provides a nice balance of longer hiking days and shorter hiking days with just truly stunning scenery including Torres del Paine, French Valley, Grey Glacier, Perito Morano glacier, and Fitz Roy. Definitely do the ice hiking!”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Amazing Galapagos Islands

    “A great time, made especially so by the company of our truly excellent guide Pepo. Really enjoyed the variety and pace of each day. One place I am really glad to have had the privilege to have visited.”
    – Nelson, New Zealand Tortuga, February 2018
  • Mainland Ecuador

    “Had a great time here....this exceeds our expectations. We'll be back for sure.”
    – Nelson, New Zealand Tapir, February 2018
  • Another Incredible Adventure with ACTIVE!

    “This was my 7th trip with ACTIVE Adventures, and there is a reason I stick with the same company. The itineraries are perfectly crafted for adventure travelers who enjoy a fun challenge and a great overall experience. The trips tend to attract like-minded individuals, making the group quickly turn into a family. However, what truly makes this company stand out among the rest are the high-caliper local guides, who quickly become integral members of your travel-family. Every day of the Condor trip provided new challenges, which were approached with confidence and overcome with ease. Every evening ends with a smile and a full-stomach, ready to take on the next day's adventure. I highly recommend this trip to any individuals who want to experience the Patagonian mountains with the comfort of new friends and family.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Exceeded My Expectations

    “Of course the scenery and the activities were fantastic - but what makes this tour special is the excellent organisation along with the knowledge and people skills of the leader and his assistant.”
    – Nelson, New Zealand Tortuga, February 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had been wanting to do this trip for 10 years and finally made it happen, and it was the best trip I have ever been on and it was worth the wait.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Beautiful and Flawless

    “The trip was fantastic! The itinerary had just the right balance, allowing us to hike to amazing places, while mixing in kayaking and other activities. Some of sites were so breathtaking that when I sent my daughters some pictures, they jokingly accused me of using Photoshop. Besides the amazing places we got to visit, something else consistently stood out to me. It was obvious to me that Active Adventures has spent time establishing relationships with local restaurant owners, hotel operators, even shuttle drivers. Our guide, Cynthia, was consistently greeted by the local business owners as a friend. As such, I consistently felt welcomed where ever we went and that the service we received was top notch. Things were always organized, and on time. All I had to do was sit back and enjoy the ride. Well, that and hike on occasion :) I left thinking “That’s what a vacation should always feel like.””
    – California, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Condor January 2018

    “What a great adventure! The Condor trip is well thought out, with an excellent itinerary. The hikes were often challenging with easier ones thrown in. The experience of the W trek with its amazing scenery and geography, as well as learning about the unique flora and fauna is a treasure, as was the opportunity to stay at the refugios. Travel to the penguin colony and Perito Moreno as well as to Torres del Paine and to the hiking locations near El Chalten were all organized and pleasant. The small hotels in Punta Arenas, Puerto Natales, El Calafate and El Chalten were well chosen; the Patagonia Queen in El Calafate is a delight. We had the best guide ever - Cynthia Valledares! A font of knowledge who is blessed with a bubbling personality and who, on top of the other million details, arranged many excellent dinners at local restaurants. We enjoyed Rosario who added her services for the W trek, and Luis for his knowledge and lovely measured pace on the hikes out of El Chalten. I would happily do another trip with Active Adventures!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2018
  • A must do trip to explore Patagomia

    “The trip was very well managed and organized, with excellent tour guides who took great care of the group. The trip provides a great opportunity to explore the beautiful Patagonia on both Chilean and Argentinean side. Do not miss the Ice Hike :)”
    – , United Arab Emirates Condor, February 2018
  • Trekking with Arturo and Gem

    “Overall our entire adventure was fabulous... truly the vacation of a lifetime. Our guides made the journey incredible - always informative and helpful. Arturo's sense of humor even made the wind and rain bearable. Around every bend in the trail we encountered another breathtaking vista, exactly as promised.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Epic Scenery and Trek!

    “The W trek on the Condor Patagonia Trek was definitely one of the oh-so-many highlights of this trip. The stunning scenery was breathtaking and ongoing every day. Loved the penquins, sea lions, and so many stunning glaciers. The kayak day and bike day were both a fantastic experience. You think the view is spectacular and you walk over a hill and it gets even better. What was surprising was the quality of the refugios - hot showers every night and great tasting food! Compared to the refugios in Europe (no showers, sometimes no toilets), these were more like bed and breakfasts and were very comfortable. Our guide, Cynthia, was an expert in the area and really made the trip special. We have done treks in the Himalayas and Alps in Italy and Slovenia, and this is by far the best trip ever in terms of hiking, scenery, food and accommodation. The trip of a lifetime - for sure!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2018
  • Harry

    “Excellent accommodations/food. Guides were knowledgeable. Location and geography is breathtaking.”
    – Idaho, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Patagonia or bust!

    “After a 9 month reschedule due to untimely hip repairs we finally embarked on what was to be a real fun adventure to truly treasure. We had put the hard training yards in and the weather was great, so you could say we were lucky, but these were minor details in the overall success picture of this trip. This trip was organised so well in so many ways it actually made us sit up and pinch ourselves. Thanks Active Adventures well done... Cheers”
    – Canterbury, New Zealand Condor, February 2018
  • Puma

    “I loved this trip - the scenery is amazing! The guide in each location were great, and we learned a lot from them as they shared their appreciation for the local landscape and life. Learning about the many diverse ecosystems on the hikes, nature reserve guided walks, and kayaking was a highlight. The hikes are great, with both steep climbs and easier parts, and stunning views the whole way! Especially loved kayaking the fjord and trying out the very HOT springs! The variety of nature, lakes, rivers, and waterfalls is fantastic. Truly, a most special introduction to northern Patagonia! Thanks for everything!”
    – Michigan, United States Puma, February 2018
  • One For The Bucket List!

    “The Condor trip with Active was nothing short of amazing. Zac was a wonderful guide and we had a great group. The 'W' trek was the absolute highlight of the trip. The scenery is just breathtaking and well worth some hard days on the trail. Sea kayaking on Grey Lake and the hike on Grey Glacier were also incredible.”
    – New York, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Condor trip South America

    “This is by far the most amazing trip I have ever joined. I had a wonderful time. It is well organized and every aspect of the trip has been well thought out. Special thanks to Zach our tour leader, who really made a big difference to my experience. I call him the Papito of the group. He is like a father, who genuinely took care of his children. He wasn’t just doing a job, he truly cared. He loves what he does and is passionate about it. He made sure we were safe and comfortable, and he even ensured that I was able to eat my special diet, gluten free and dairy free. All the local guides were excellent as well. The places we visited were spectacular. One of my favorite moments is kayaking amongst the glacier, what a blast! The choice of restaurants where we ate was superb. I truly enjoyed authentic Chilean and Argentinian cuisine. One of the hardest things for me on this trip was carrying my backpack, which was half my size since I am a tiny person! If I had to do it again, I would bring a feather lite blanket, instead of the sleeping bag which I did not even use during the trip. It would have been easier on my back since I have a back issue, but I survived it! Overall, I can say that Active adventures is the way to go if you want to trek Patagonia. It’s worth it! Thank you Active Adventures for this memorable experience I will cherish forever.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Excellent, Second to None

    “From the office in NZ, to the guides in Patagonia, the trip was carefully planned and organized. The variety of activities (hiking, biking, kayaking, glacier trekking) set this itinerary apart. The quality of the guides was a 10. The accommodations are often austere, but the meals were generally very good. I have trekked in the Himalayas and the European Alps, and rafted down the Colorado River in Grand Canyon, all with leading travel outfitters in their regions, and Active Adventures is 2nd to none.”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Condor - Patagonia Adventure

    “The Condor with Zac, was a wonderful travelling adventure, extremely well organised and delivered by an experienced and competent team of travel professionals both in NZ and SA. All aspects of this trip were delivered in a way to make the trip a continuous enjoyable experience; transfers, accommodation, meals, entertainment, other guides & drivers and impromptu activities were all excellent. There was always opportunities for the more active people in the group to extend themselves and go the extra distances and/or complete additional activities or if you wanted a more relaxed approach this was also accommodated. I cannot speak highly enough of our tour leader Zac; his local knowledge, photography, sense of humour, organisation skills & logistics, ability to easily overcome various issues during the trip without us even noticing, great choice of restaurants, New Years fireworks display & drinks on the beach at Punta Arenas, this list goes on and on!! The other guides Jorge & Aimee were also excellent & worked so well with Zac to look after us all on this trip.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Condor, February 2018
  • Patagonia 2018

    “Had a great trip with Active Adventures, could not have asked for more. The itinerary, guides, housing, food, transfers, etc were top rate. We had a diverse and fun mix of people to travel with. A very memorable experience.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Amazing Experience of a Lifetime!

    “Best itinerary - covering W-Trek, Perito Moreno Glacier, El Chalten, and Mt Fitzroy!
    Best team - This was my first experience travelling with Active Adventures. AA certainly exceeded my expectations in all aspects (guides, drivers and fun team to travel with). Jay is the best guide I have ever had.
    Well organized - Weather cooperated for most of our trip. Active team handled even the worst case scenario with ease. For example, on our last day at Torres del Paine, getting out of the park was challenging due to weather. But the Active team went above and beyond in ensuring our safety, and did so as smoothly as possible.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2018
  • Exhilarating!

    “Exhilarating is the only word that comes to mind when I think about the Condor trip. At times, I had to dig deep in my mental fortitude to over come the physical challenges of a steep climb but the reward was ever so gratifying. The sights were never ending, at each turn you were left in awe of the beauty of the landscape of Patagonia.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, January 2018
  • Galapagos Dream Come True

    “I am so happy that I booked my Galapagos adventure with Active Adventures/Galakiwi. It was just what I was looking for - a great balance of a good variety of activities and learning about the biodiversity of the Galapagos Islands with a small group of like-minded individuals. A land-based trip is the way to go, leaving more tourist dollars in the local economy. I can't speak highly enough about the organization and logistics of the company - or the enthusiasm and knowledge of our tour guide, Pablo. New friends and incredible sights with memories to last a lifetime.”
    – Montana, United States of America Tortuga, January 2018
  • Patagonia - Don't worry, be happy

    “I couldn't have asked for a better experience in the amazing Patagonia region. The trip started off with a few hiccups with lost baggage and missing flights, but the gang at Active, especially Mayra, did all they could to help reunite me with my bag - even offering to bring me shopping in Punta Arenas and lending me gear for the W trek.
    The local active guides went above and beyond to pick up my bag from Puerto Natales and deliver it to me in El Calafate. The trip overall was amazing, but it’s the little things that truly showed Mayra and the team cared about each of us.
    I can’t say enough about how well organized the trip was – Mayra makes it look easy but we all know she was behind the scenes coordinating everything, finding the most amazing local restaurants, and lining up the next day’s activities. Mayra’s passion for the mountains and the outdoors shines through in her work and is contagious. She was more than a guide to our group, she became a dear friend.
    All the local guides were great, extremely knowledgeable and personable adding to the beauty and experience.
    I can’t say enough about the experience, the food, and the people I met.
    The itinerary was very well outlined - every day we had an amazing adventure awaiting us. I didn’t feel that I was missing out on any opportunity while on the trip, except that I wish I could have stayed longer.
    The only recommendation I have is to inform the younger travelers of the typical age group of the active tours. I had assumed it would be an older age range due to the price of the tour, but the photos online were a bit misleading. I wouldn’t change my trip for the world as everyone on my trip was amazing and I learned a lot, but can see that may not always be the case depending on the different personalities you have on a trip.”
    – DC, United States of America Condor, January 2018
  • Amazing Patagoina

    “Just an amazing trip. From the Penguin Colonies to the W Trek to Grey Glacier Hiking was out of this world. The guides Myra and Cem were outstanding. Having great guides makes a great adventure an amazing adventure with lifetime memories. And i was lucky enough to have some really amazing people in the group which made the trek even more enjoyable”
    – New Jersey, United States of America Condor, January 2018
  • Galapagos Dream Trip

    “My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Galapagos adventure. It was full of things we expected - seamless planning and execution, beautiful scenery, fascinating wildlife, comfortable lodgings and a superb guide - and things we didn't expect, such as an excellent dinner in a highlands lodge and porpoises frolicking in the bow wave of our boat. We enjoyed the variety of activities and the chance to stay on four islands, giving us a feel for the culture, as well as the natural world of the Galapagos.”
    – Colorado, United States of America Tortuga, January 2018
  • Puma Adventure in Northern Patagonia

    “All round excellent trip - packed with activities, loads of jaw dropping scenery and very well arranged. High-end restaurants exceeded my expectations and were exactly what was needed, especially after some of those long days of strenuous hiking.”
    – Ontario, Canada Puma, January 2018
  • Peru - The Most Unassuming Hidden Travel Gem.

    “I was very impressed with the diverse eco-systems; each has its own rugged charm. I am determined to tell everyone I know - go and see it to believe it!

    Daniel (guide) was amazing; he really cares for each and every one he travels with. I am so thankful for that. I would like to keep in touch via facebook. I hope he enjoys his travels in Canada this March.

    Marteen (driver) super fun dude.”
    – Manitoba, Canada Capybara, January 2018
  • Absolutely the Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Not that I expected anything less from Active, but this trip was phenomenal. I could not have been happier with the caliber of the staff, the hotels, and the activities. I also asked for some changes at the last minute that Active and the whole local staff were more than willing to accommodate. I was incredibly grateful for their kindness and service. I actually showed up on the trip with a severe cold and got even more sick for a couple of days on the trip - and it was still one of the best trips of my life!”
    – Virginia, United States of America Tortuga, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “We had a great time on this trip! We really enjoyed all that Peru had to offer, and our guide, Daniel, was fantastic. We would recommend this trip highly!

    Nathan, Elijah, Isaac - Mesa, Arizona”
    – Arizona, United States Capybara, January 2018
  • Amazing Trip

    “It was an awesome trip through some amazing country. Hikes were hard work at times but very rewarding. Well organised and professional.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • A Magical Experience!

    “When I first learned of the Galapagos in 9th grade biology class, I never dreamed that I would one day visit this magical place! There is an incredible uniqueness about the wildlife that you will not find anywhere else. I loved watching the sea lions interact with each other and teasing the marine Iguanas around the rocks. There were dozens of sea turtles and hundreds of colorful fish, beautiful red crabs, majestic sting rays, playful dolphins, colorful blue footed boobies, prehistoric gigantic tortoises and the cutest penguins I have ever seen! Our guide Zambo was exceptional! He was so passionate about sharing the culture and history of the islands - not to mention truly an expert in "everything Galapagos". I highly recommend this trip with Active Adventures and I loved my stay on the islands! It will always have a special place in my heart!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • A Great Third Trip With Active

    “This was my third trip with Active (first was the Winter Rimu in 2011, followed by the Annapurna Sanctuary trek in 2013) and it was an absolute blast, as always! Our guide, Zac, was warm, friendly and accommodating and managed our large group with expertise and infinite patience. We also had fantastic local guides on both our 'W' trek and in El Chalten, making for a wonderful crew of experts to guide us on our adventure. The hiking was extremely challenging, but worth it for the spectacular views we enjoyed along the way. We lucked out with perfect weather during our entire trip, and I think all of us really enjoyed the incredible vistas we were treated to from start to finish! As with every Active trip I have taken, our accommodations were cozy, comfortable and convenient, and I really enjoyed the time Zac took to book delicious meals for us at every stop-- he really worked tirelessly throughout to make sure we were all happy, content and full after our hard work and it was so appreciated! The only even remotely negative thing I have to say is that the first two days of our trip were New Years Eve and Day, and it started things off rather slowly as we had to forfeit our penguin cruise and first few meals in favor of a local tour and hotel food-- but it was our choice to book this window so not entirely Active's fault and Zac, as always, was smiling and positive throughout, which lifted my mood! Aside from that, this was a once-in-a-lifetime adventure and worth absolutely every mile. Don't hesitate to book and enjoy every moment!”
    – DC, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Much More Than Iguanas

    “The Iguana trip in December 2017 was adventurous and outlandishly beautiful. We went in the off-season, were 2 very compatible couples, biked, kayaked, snorkeled and hiked with condors, turtles, fish, iguanas and sea lions. The people of Peru and Ecuador are welcoming and friendly. The food was awesome as were our guides.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, January 2018
  • Trip to Peru

    “Magnificent Cusco and Machu Picchu. Delicious food, beautiful city, well organized hike and excellent Eric and Hosea”
    – , Tanzania, United Republic of Jaguar, January 2018
  • Lovely Trip to the Peru Jungle and Lake Titicaca

    “Loved the giant otters, beautiful birds and monkeys in the Jungle, enjoyed Puna and the people of Lake Titicaca.”
    – , Tanzania, United Republic of Chinchilla, January 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Spectacular scenery, awe-inspiring mountains and glaciers, gale force winds, snow, amazing food (including grazing on wild berries along the way) and fantastic guides who really looked after us to the nth degree made up the Patagonia experience! This was truly an active adventure - we saw and did all the highlights. A trip of a lifetime!”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Mayra and Cem were Just the Best

    “My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour at the end of 2017 into 2018 in Patagonia. Mayra was outstanding as our group leader. She always was willing to help if there was an issue, always explained what to expect, always looking out for us to ensure we were enjoying the experience and just an absolutely wonderful person. Cem was our guide during the W trek. He was funny, informative, truly helpful and always helping the group get through the hard parts. Juan and Cecila were our guides on the other parts and they were very friendly as well.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Patagonia - Life is Good

    “First we will say that Cynthia, our requested trip guide made this the best possible trip. I cant say enough kind words about my friend Cynthia. She puts her whole heart and soul into guiding our adventures and I feel lucky to have her as a friend after traveling with her in Peru as well a year ago. Thank you Active so much for enabling my daughter to get to travel with her as well and get to know her. Having her as our guide meant the world to me. My daughter just loved her as I do and they were great friends on the trip.
    That being said, we loved Patagonia, really everything about it. As well Gem was a wonderful local guide who we really liked as well. Southern Patagonia was amazing and after the trip we went on to explore N Patagonia and also loved that. In our future we want to come back and I could easily spend 3 months exploring this exceptional area. Thank you Active for giving us such a wonderful experience as usual. This was my 5th Active trip and certainly won't be my last. I love Active, you do an amazing overall job with wonderful like minded guests. I always meet such wonderful people on your tours. Thank you for being such a trusted company that I can count on for an excellent experience.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Magical!

    “I don't usually gravitate toward organized tours, but this has changed my mind. Everyday was a magical adventure and well-paced. Pepo was so knowledgeable, friendly and just a warm person. I loved that everyday we did something active - I think I was healthier on vacation than I am in real life! The Galapagos was a trip of a lifetime and this tour made sure that I saw everything I could see. Additionally, I learned so much about the wildlife and conservation that I will continue to provide random facts to my friends and family for years. Words cannot express how much I loved this trip and this adventure. It really has opened up my eyes.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • First Class Holiday

    “This was my second trip with Active and it didn’t disappoint. Flawlessly organised, a great group, wonderful holiday and a knowledgable and enormously fun guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, January 2018
  • Active Adventures South America ROCKS!

    “Awesome trip! Our guide, Pepo, is the best active guide out there. He was knowledgeable, fun, patient, and attentive. I highly recommend Active Adventures South America. We just showed up for our “Tortuga” Galapagos trip and they took care of everything. Customer service was incredible during information gathering stage (to determine the best trip for us), booking, trip prep and during the entire trip. We will definitely book with Active Adventures again.”
    – Maryland, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • Tapir trip Review

    “The Tapir trip to Ecuador certainly lived up to its "active adventure" name with Hiking, Horseback riding, Cycling and climbing through multiple waterfalls. The variety and the excellence of your guide Mauro made this an unforgettable trip and I highly recommend both Active Adventures and your Tapir trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Tapir, January 2018
  • Julian's Condor Review

    “The Condor trip to Patagonia is really a unique and once in a lifetime experience. I was constantly in awe of the beauty and vastness of the Patagonian wilderness and vistas. Active has set up a great itinerary filled with activity and tremendously knowledgable guides. I cannot recommend this trip enough!”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Trip Review Condor

    “The Active Adventures "Condor" trip to Patagonia and the Argentinean Andes is a "must do" adventure if you enjoy hiking around glaciers, lakes and mountains. The views are spectacular. The quality of the guides is first rate on all elements of this trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “Trip was great - our tour guide Daniel was fantastic and every detail was looked after!”
    – Manitoba, Canada Capybara, January 2018
  • “Awesome trip. Zambo is one of the best guides we've ever had on a trip like this. Super knowledgeable, very patient, great with logistics, etc. And Sina was a wonderful addition. They make a perfect team & couple!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • Awesome trip!

    “Very well curated trip with awesome activities and fantastic views. Our guides were knowledgeable and helpful, facilitating a cohesive group and a really great trip. Now if only you could change the wind?!”
    – Oregon, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Awesome Trip

    “Our trip to the Galapagos was simply amazing and Zambo was the best guide ever. We hiked, biked, snorkeled, kayaked, sailed, swam, and learned so much. I keep telling everyone that we felt like we were in a Nat Geo episode. Animals were everywhere...and it was awesome.”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • Condor

    “The trip was well planned out and made the most of our time in Patagonia. The hikes were challenging at times but it was worth it.”
    – New Mexico, United States Condor, January 2018
  • An amazing adventure

    “Thank you for the opportunity to see so much in such a short period of time.”
    – Queensland, Australia Iguana, January 2018
  • An adventure

    “A massive trip with so many memories and fab experiences. Great to bookend the trip with extra days if you can as we found the travelling tiring. From Brisbane we found we'd flown 16 sectors!”
    – London, United Kingdom Iguana, January 2018
  • Superb Ecuador - don't miss this tropical paradise

    “Ecuador is a gem, and should not be missed. The Active Adventures Tapir trip ensures that you experience many of the highlights of this gorgeous country. From the outset you will experience new adventures like cycling down Mt Cotopaxi from 4,500m, walking around beautiful countryside and heading upriver to an EcoLodge. This beautiful, multi-day activities are thoroughly enjoyable, and your guide Mauro Chavez is exceptional, highly professional, capable and engaging, definately one of the best guides I've had the pleasure to meet.”
    – Queensland, Australia Tapir, January 2018
  • Condor - incredible Patagonia with great guides

    “Patagonia, both Chile and Argentina are absolutely breathtaking. The itinierary of the trip ensured that we saw all the major sights, and experienced the hiking, food and culture of both countries. Our main guide Jait, was very knowledgeable and worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone on the trip were included, whilst keeping the mood light, and everyone's spirits high. This is the way to see and experience Patagonia with Active Adventures it is an excellent trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Patagonia - Another winner - Our 4th Active Adventure

    “We would recommend this trip to anyone that has thought of going to Patagonia - South. We have only had success and wonderful memories on our trips with Active Adventures. This one is another winner. I would like to thank our wonderful team leader/guide Zac for making it even more special, also to our delightful companions - Brian (old friend from our Peru trip), Laura and Kathyrn (new young friends) for sharing the experience. I cannot say enough about Gem our guide through Chile - W-trek. If you are looking to experience the people, the beautiful and volatile environment that is Patagonia then this trip is for you.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Fabulous Trip

    “This is a great trip! The itinerary is fun and active and has a little variety. The people were great, and the guides, Cahit, Anna, and Aime were stellar. It was the perfect combination of people, weather and terraine. And, Active Adventures really does make it easy so you can leave your worries at home. If you want to be stunned into silence again and again by sheer natural beauty, this is a trip that will give you what you want!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Thank You Active Adventures!

    “Excellent trip, great guides and new friends!”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2018
  • A Beautiful Adventure

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and it did not disappoint. From start to finish, every detail was taken care of. We snorkelled with reef sharks and sea turtles, kayaked next to Galapagos penguins and marine iguanas, and walked on the beach next to the sea lions. Our Guide, Zambo, shared his knowledge of and his passion for these Islands all along the way. A trip to remember.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, December 2017
  • Enjoying Patagonia with no worries

    “Had a wonderful trip. All staff (guides and drivers) were fantastic and everything was planned and/or looked after by them. Had no worries whatsoever while in the hands of Active Adventures, including when the weather turned bad and plans needed to be changed, quick. The Argentinian side of the trip felt somewhat less packed and at times, like I could have been doing more. Still worth a five stars from me.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Each challenge rewards you with the beauty of the region

    “It was everything I imagined and more. The beauty of Chile and Argentina come to life through every step - uphill, downhill and around every turn. The W trek was the highlight for me personally because I wanted to check the box and say 'I did it'. I am truly impressed with the care and attention provided by our guides. Not a single detail is missed. Cahit made the experience so personal to each member of the group for the entire 2 weeks. Anna was our rockstar guide for the W and Aime took great care of us as the rains hit us in Argentina. The itinerary was just perfect. If Patagonia is on your bucket list, do it with Active Adventures. The guides will teach you so much about the region, the wildlife, the plants, and more. And the local hotels and restaurants you visit are just wonderful. Our favorite souvenirs include a local Chilean spice and a sandwich spread that we just had to bring home! I keep looking at my pictures and feeling fortunate for the fabulous memories made and new friendships created.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2017
  • “Every time we stopped we had magnificent views in every direction. Patagonia is beautiful. If you love beautiful places with stunning scenery this is the place for you. To truly enjoy it, you need to be in shape to hike relatively steep hills and up to 13 miles in a day.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Condor Trip Amazing

    “The "W" is an amazing opportunity for anyone who enjoys hiking in remote, beautiful areas. It is full of mountain vistas, waterfalls, streams, and even a glacier and icebergs! My husband and I absolutely loved it including the time in the refuggios! The food was delicious and the people were lovely! We loved the zodiac trip at the end to climb on rock to see the glacier up close. We also enjoyed the towns of Puerto Natales, and El Calafate. Both had great restaurants, and interesting shops. Argentina and the Monte Fitz Roy was quite exciting. We especially enjoyed seeing the glacier icebergs and hiking in such beautiful mountain scenery. Our guide, Cahit was amazing, and our guide, Anna on the "W" was as well. So was our guide Aime who we had in El Chatan. I highly recommend this trip!!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Nov. 2017 Condor trip with Cynthia

    “What an awesome trip with one of the best guides ever. I would highly recommend this to all. The scenery was amazing, the activities were sweet, and the places stayed were top notch especially the one in El Calafate. The Refugio's were nicer than expected with ok food.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Perfect Patagonia

    “Had a wonderful time on the Condor trip with Cynthia. The trip was well planned and we traveled with such great folks. Couldn't have been better. Cynthia even arranged for great weather!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Best Trip Yet

    “The Condor trip was my first adventure into South America. Admittedly, I was a worried that my lack of Spanish and inexperience on the continent would spoil the opportunity. I could not have been more wrong. The Condor trip was my best adventure yet!
    Our guide Cahit quickly proved to be an amazing leader. He was highly knowledgeable about the region, helpful in every language situation, highly organized and just a really fun human being. He helped our group bond quickly and made sure each of us enjoyed our time in Patagonia. All the supportive guides were also very friendly and supportive. Our W-Trek guide, Cem helped make some very challenging hikes a hoot of a time with his great personality.
    As for the adventures, the Condor package is amazing. Without a doubt, hiking the W-Trek and Monte Fitz Roy are two of most treasured experiences. The glaciers, icebergs, biking, hiking, wildlife, weather, terrain and people in this region are amazing. I would strongly prescribe this experience to any human wanting to see beauty and experience adventure. Thank you, Active Adventures, for this wonderful experience!”
    – Idaho, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Best Trip Yet

    “The Condor trip was my first adventure into South America. Admittedly, I was a worried that my lack of Spanish and inexperience on the continent would spoil the opportunity. I could not have been more wrong. The Condor trip was my best adventure yet!
    Our guide Cahit quickly proved to be an amazing leader. He was highly knowledgeable about the region, helpful in every language situation, highly organized and just a really fun human being. He helped our group bond quickly and made sure each of us enjoyed our time in Patagonia. All the supportive guides were also very friendly and supportive. Our W-Trek guide, Cem helped make some very challenging hikes a hoot of a time with his great personality.
    As for the adventures, the Condor package is amazing. Without a doubt, hiking the W-Trek and Monte Fitz Roy are two of most treasured experiences. The glaciers, icebergs, biking, hiking, wildlife, weather, terrain and people in this region are amazing. I would strongly prescribe this experience to any human wanting to see beauty and experience adventure. Thank you, Active Adventures, for this wonderful experience!”
    – , Condor, December 2017
  • December Tortuga

    “Another Active Adventures Adventure this time in Ecuador. Beyond incredible trip. Land based Galapagos tour way to see how the local people live on the island, contribute to their economy and enjoy delicious local cuisine.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, December 2017
  • Worth every penny!

    “As someone who mostly travels independently, the thought of signing up for a two week organized group trip was rather intimidating but after reading all the reviews for Active, I thought I would give it a try... and I am so glad I did! Active Adventures made everything flow effortlessly- from the second I signed up until we were dropped of at the airport. The itinerary for the Condor trip is phenomenal, covering lots of different areas of Southern Patagonia and highlighting the most beautiful places. The W trek was one of the highlights of the trip and was even more enjoyable thanks to our guide, Cem, who was a wealth of knowledge about the flora and fauna and brought such a fun energy to the group. Additionally, our tour leader, Zac, had such a positive spirit, strong sense of humor and passion for his work that showed during our two weeks getting to know him. He was so well organized and made sure everything was lined up so we could relax and enjoy our downtime- including nailing a birthday dinner and cake! Would highly recommend this trip and organization to anyone in the future!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Amazing Patagonia!

    “The Condor trip to Patagonia was amazing. Great weather, great travel companions and great guides. Cynthia, Anna and Fredrico did an exceptional job, they were knowledgeable, friendly, humorous and patient. I truly appreciated Cynthia’s french press coffee and the cake at the refugio for Bill’s birthday!
    Some hiking days were challenging but very rewarding. Active Adventures did a wonderful job of planning the itinerary, hotels and restaurants. I would definitely book another vacation with Active Adventures.”
    – Saskatchewan, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • One More off the Bucket List

    “I would definitely endorse this trip to anyone considering going to this area. This trip was near perfect in all ways, we were a bit off season so there were not so many crowds, the weather though overcast many days was great (even had sun in Machu Picchu) Our guides (Eric and Peppo) were wonderful hosts, showing us an area which you can tell they love and are proud of. The food was wonderful, accommodations were overall great....totally loved the dome room in San Cristobal, only caveat was the room in Cusco had issue with sewer gas escaping into the room.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, December 2017
  • Great Condor Trip

    “We just finished a Condor trip with eight other folks and our guide, Cynthia. The trip was awesome and Cynthia did a terrific job of keeping everything fun, organized, and hassle-free - she is a gem. We were very fortunate to have wonderful weather, which made every day enjoyable, memorable, and often spectacular. I thought the trip was very well organized and thought out, and the itinerary was excellent - really much better than several other trips we were considering. Of course, the scenery is amazing, and the itinerary maximises our enjoyment of it. We had three long (13 mile) days, but all of us did just fine. I was surprised by the excellent quality of the meals, which were much better than I expected - the choice of restaurants was great. The hotels were also very good. And the refugios were much nicer than I expected, and great places to end each day. This was our fifteenth adventure trip (with various companies) and this is definitely one our favourites, and one that we will never forget. I certainly would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a Patagonia trip.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Fantastic Trip

    “Trip was very well organized and totally enjoyable. Excellent guides”
    – Saskatchewan, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime!

    “As a woman in her 60s I was a little apprehensive about the physical demands of this trip. But with a bit of training, and a willingness to push myself a bit, I had an amazing time! Hiking, backpacking, kayaking, glacier trekking, biking - I did it all! It was a trip that I'll remember forever.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2017
  • "Outdorphin" Fix Satisfied!

    “Patagonia was on my bucket list. Mountains are my happy place where I feel the grandeur of nature and the smallness of myself! Fresh air, vivid flowers, crystal blue skies, surreal endless majestic horizons, pristine rivers, icy glacial water, and the comradery that comes from a shared experience with new friends. All of this and more from Active Adventure’s Condor trip.
    Every step on every hike lead to a payoff for your eyes and soul. If you love to get your endorphins from being outside – you can get your “outdorphin” fill from a trek like this. An unbelievable trip - with memories for a lifetime. All enjoyed with my best friend while making new friends!”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Galapagos Rocks!

    “There are not enough superlatives to describe the trip and our guide Pepo. I think it is best summed up by saying that the emotional, physical and spiritual impact of seeing and interacting with the animals in the wild is mind bending and almost overwhelming. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and insightful. I do believe that he could teach at any university in the US! He and his staff (Juan-Carlos and Paolo) made sure that we were all having the experience of a lifetime. I would like to say that Pepo should be pulled from the field to teach other guides but that would be depriving the next luck group who might get him of an amazing experience.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tortuga, December 2017
  • Spectacular Patagonian Adventure

    “The 2 week hiking trip to Patagonia was really fantastic! The scenery was jaw-droppingly gorgeous on every activity - including hiking through the W-Trek in Torres del Paine, kayaking and ice hiking on Grey Lake and Grey Glacier, hiking to the base of Cerro Torre and Fitzroy range. Our guide, Cynthia, was very organized, enthusiastic, thoughtful, patient, and fun. Everything was planned well and executed superbly. The restaurants Cynthia took us to were all excellent, and the packed lunches for the hikes were tasty and plentiful. All the local guides during our adventure were knowledgeable and wonderful. Even the weather was outstanding for most of our 2-week adventure. It was a trip of a lifetime and a privilege to experience such a beautiful part of the world.”
    – New Jersey, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Like Being in a Travel Magazine Article!

    “There are not enough superlatives to describe our Tortuga adventure. Every day was like being part of a travel magazine article - beautiful, serene, interesting, educational, awesome, incredible, unique..and that's just the start. EVERYTHING was fantastic from start to finish - the accommodations, guides, food and OF COURSE - the nature, culture and history.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tortuga, December 2017
  • Seamless Trip, Amazing Guide!

    “The trip was made by the varied itinerary, the attention to detail and the GUIDE. Jay was fantastic and managed all situations with ease and was never phased. We saw many possible difficulties had we done this on our own but by doing through Active made it so much more enjoyable. When things were cancelled, an alternative was always at hand. Everything seemed to go seamless. It helped having great travelling companions.”
    – , South Africa Condor, December 2017
  • Condor Trip 11/12/17 - Doug and Lorie Pfaff. New York

    “We had an absolutely amazing time! We were blown away with the beauty of Patagonia! Our group was fantastic and our leader Cynthia was the best! Cynthia was always there if anyone needed anything and she made sure the trip ran smoothly. She is also very knowledgeable about the entire region and most importantly she is a very nice person! Zac was an added bonus on the trip (leader in training) and all of the local guides were just fantastic. Zac was always there for anyone in the group and made the trip extra special with his awesome sense of humour! The accommodations and food were all great. We are still on a "high" from this trip that we hope never ends. We would recommend Active Adventures and of course the "Condor" trip to anyone. We thank everyone from Active as we know a lot of work goes on behind the scenes for a trip like this to be so special.
    We hope to be able to travel with you again! All of our best! Doug and Lorie”
    – New York, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Simply Awesome

    “Incredible doesn't cover it. This trip gave a truly comprehensive Patagonia experience. Congratulations must go to whoever designed the sequence/structure. Each day presented us with a never-to-be-topped experience, promptly upped a notch the next..for the FULL trip duration!! No faults with accommodation, meals, transportation etc. Jay was absolutely awesome (I'll be running out of superlatives soon). Personable, great leader, communicator and guide. No problem ever became a problem. He and his brother Gem made this a real ILE (incredible life experience). Still don't know how he managed to arrange for the variety of weather and wildlife. For anyone thinking about doing this trip - don't think, DO. And I would recommend Active adventures!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Condor

    “Beyond expectations. The hiking was world class and the logistics so well organised”
    – , South Africa Condor, December 2017
  • Spring in Patagonia

    “I am more convinced than ever that November is the month to visit and hike Patagonia. The red of the flowering fire bushes, blue sky, orchids on the side of the trail, the odd snow flake - it is the best season! The W trek is not a 'walk in the park' but worth every breath and drop of sweat. I highly recommend it.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Condor - Chile, Argentina

    “My sister and I travelled to New Zealand with Active and had an amazing trip. They are well organised and put together trips with lots packed in! Our trip to Patagonia was awesome. Our guides were fun and the trip went smoothly. We had days of incredible hiking in Patagonia. The W-Trek was a highlight. I highly recommend this trip to anyone that loves to hike and kayak.”
    – Michigan, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Top Notch!

    “From my first contact with Active Adventures through the full Condor trip I was impressed with the attention to detail, service and unfailing commitment to making sure everyone in the group experienced the best of Patagonia. Our guides were incredible, Cynthia (we miss you!), Cem and the ever entertaining Zac. Thanks for everything.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Awesome Trip - Everything I'd Hoped For!

    “Every day brought something new and/or spectacular. Can't say enough about how glad I was with how the trip worked out. This is the first time traveling with Active Adventures so I didn't know what to expect. I was hopeful it would be great, and it was. Cynthia was our guide and she was really great. Zac was along for the ride as he would begin leading some Condor trips starting the following week. He was also awesome. Can't say enough of how Cynthia had everything dialed in. Her and Zac's enthusiasm really drove the trip home. It was challenging at times, so make sure you make an effort to get in some decent shape. I was a novice hiker coming in - so it was worth renting poles.
    You'll walk away with a new meaning for the word 'flat' (or Patagonia flat), and what a 'breeze' is... :)”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Tough But Worth It

    “A great and challenging two weeks that offered plenty of rewarding views. A great tour of the beautiful region that is Patagonia.”
    – New York, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Great trip, great food and guides.

    “We had such a good time on the trip. The food, accommodations, and sites were great. We were lucky enough to have a small group (3) which made it even nicer.
    Machu Picchu and the hiking in Peru were great, Great food and accommodations.
    The trip got even better once we got to the Galapagos. Hiking, snorkeling/scuba, kayaking, and biking were great. Pepo did a fantastic job tailoring our activities around the weather. The food was great for all the seafood lovers, vegetarians will have to be a little patient.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, November 2017
  • Amazing!

    “We have a goal of visiting each continent, and our trip to South American with Active South America did not disappoint! This is our second Active Adventures and we will be back for more. Peru and the Galapagos were beautiful and every detail of the trip was attended to perfectly. Thank you, Active, for a wonderful and memorable holiday.”
    – South Carolina, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Iguana 2017

    “This was a really good trip, essentially of two halves. Peru with its amazing mountains and then Galapagos with incredible wildlife. Best to be fit when you come, the Peruvian hikes are challenging, which is great, whereas Galapagos is more relaxed.”
    – Cambs, United Kingdom Iguana, October 2017
  • Iguanas - September 2017

    “I had an amazing time on my Iguana trip to Peru and the Galapagos Islands. The Peru trip was much more strenuous than I expected but our guide, Erick was vigilant in keeping us together and encouraging us the whole time. He was fantastically organized, fun and knowledgeable which enhanced the whole experience! The Galapagos trip was lead by Galakiwi which did feel more laid back, and flexible. Pepo and Juan Carlos led us through Kicker Rock and amazing landscapes. I thought the Galapagos would be the highlight of my trip, but Peru proved to be the main event. I was fortunate that my group became fast friends of diverse but like-minded people. Overall, an amazing trip!”
    – Michigan, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Fun trip!

    “I had a great time!”
    – California, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip with Erick was spectacular. Erick's attention to detail, compassion for each individual on the trip and genuine love for Peru made this portion of the trip absolutely amazing.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip was spectacular. Erick truly cares about the overall experience of his clients. He paid attention to all the details of the trip from the experiences of the country, the restaurants and the excursions. He didn't leave any stone unturned when it came to having fun and caring about his clients. I highly recommend Erick to anyone wanting to have a fabulous time in Peru.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip with Active Adventures August 2017

    “I have been on several international trips, and due to the variety and how different each trip is, I don't tend to like to pick a favorite. At least until my trip to the Galapagos with Active Adventures. I can honestly say that this was the most amazing trip I have ever been on! We got to do a huge variety of activities and really get the full Galapagos experience. Our guide, Zambo, was absolutely phenomenal, I could not have asked for a better person to have lead us on our trip. Zambo definitely was a significant factor in making our trip as amazing as it was. From snorkeling and seeing sharks, rays, eels, and sea lions, to biking, to hiking, we did and saw so many different, amazing things. I will remember this trip forever.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “The Galapagos Islands was on my daughter's bucket list after she took an eco course in university. Thank goodness for education! It was by far my favorite trip I have taken, and my 6th continent visited. It was the perfect balance of active adventure, nature, education and leisure. Our guide Zambo was fantastic! It was an amazing experience from day 1 and each day just got better and better. Every island we visited offered us something new and different. Snorkelling at Kicker Rock and having reef sharks surround us was unbelievable. The marine life was incredible. Black tip reef sharks, an eagle ray, sea turtles .. were all the highlight ... but the amount of fish we saw was amazing. A diver in our group saw hammerhead sharks! We chose the Galapagos for the wildlife and we weren't disappointed. Friendly sea lions and iguanas were everywhere. We saw everything we had hoped and even more. On the way to Floreana Island we had dolphins swim and jump beside the boat; but what was even more wonderful was the 3 humpback whales - a calf and its parents. The calf was quite interested in our boat and came right up to us. We sat on the hull for 30-40 minutes and watched the whales surface and "play" around our boat ... an experience that none of us will ever forget. We were all in awe! Seeing those magnificent creatures in their natural habitat was surreal.
    From biking to hiking to kayaking to snorkelling we were kept busy and active, which was good since the food was fantastic! Every place we stayed at and ate at was fantastic. I love how Active Adventures supports the local economy and so many different businesses benefitted from our tour.
    It was by far the best vacation I have taken so far. Everything was perfect! And I cant say enough about Zambo ... he took care of all of us!!! He was our mother, mentor and educator! Thank you Active Adventures for giving Alanna and I a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Amazing Wildlife!

    “Amazing wildlife at every turn with a really knowledgeable guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip Was Everything I Imagined and More

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and again they did not disappoint. From the easy booking process, personal attention, and gentle reminders everything runs smoothly from day one.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, September 2017
  • Surprising Ecuador

    “We didn't know much about Ecuador - this was a fill-in trip between two others. It's a great place, especially the volcanos. Altitude takes a bit of getting used to but well worth it.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “Wonderful trip, Pablo was a wonderful guide. I'm not especially an animal person, but nevertheless the wildlife was the absolute highlight of this trip.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Ecuador

    “We had an amazing week in Ecuador. Each day was a new adventure, and the scenery was beautiful. The best part was Jhayro, our tour guide. He was knowledgable, personable, and genuine. We could tell that he wanted us to experience how special Ecuador is.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador - August, 2017

    “This trip was even more incredible than we thought it was going to be! We met such wonderful people while enjoying phenomenal scenery. We experienced something new each day and will treasure our unforgettable memories of Ecuador!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.