Request a free South America Brochure

Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our South America trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Amazing Wildlife!

    “Amazing wildlife at every turn with a really knowledgeable guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip Was Everything I Imagined and More

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and again they did not disappoint. From the easy booking process, personal attention, and gentle reminders everything runs smoothly from day one.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, September 2017
  • Surprising Ecuador

    “We didn't know much about Ecuador - this was a fill-in trip between two others. It's a great place, especially the volcanos. Altitude takes a bit of getting used to but well worth it.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “Wonderful trip, Pablo was a wonderful guide. I'm not especially an animal person, but nevertheless the wildlife was the absolute highlight of this trip.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Ecuador

    “We had an amazing week in Ecuador. Each day was a new adventure, and the scenery was beautiful. The best part was Jhayro, our tour guide. He was knowledgable, personable, and genuine. We could tell that he wanted us to experience how special Ecuador is.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador - August, 2017

    “This trip was even more incredible than we thought it was going to be! We met such wonderful people while enjoying phenomenal scenery. We experienced something new each day and will treasure our unforgettable memories of Ecuador!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Naturalist Dream

    “The Galapogos Islands were all I had imagined. The animals were so accessible but also in their natural state. Our guide, Pablo was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for the natural environment was very infectious. The trip left me yearning for more time to linger.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Volcano Binge

    “Ecuador should be more on the visitors bucket list. Spectacular scenery which ranges from the upper Amazon to glacier capped active volcanoes. Our guide Jhayro was excellent and able to tailor the trips to the group.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Everything We'd Hoped For!

    “The trip was everything we had hoped for! Pablo was awesome. Very knowledgeable. We wish the trip had been longer!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Amazing Guide

    “Our tour guide Zac was amazing and made us feel very welcome!”
    – California, United States Capybara, August 2017
  • Fantastic trip

    “This was my first hiking trip, and I must say it was fantastic!!! Patagonia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been (and I travel a lot). I want to mention that you have to be in reasonably good physical condition to enjoy this trip. I am glad that I trained for it. Arturo, our tour guide and Catherine (the W Trail guide) were excellent. They also made sure that they accommodated my dietary requirements (gluten, diary, and soy free) on the W Trail, which is not an easy task. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. I will definitely book another trip with Active Adventures, now that I know how much I enjoy hiking and active trips.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, August 2017
  • Iguana Trip

    “Our guides Erick and Jessica could not have been better. Our group was well taken care of, and we experienced a trip of a lifetime that we could not have done without them.”
    – Georgia, United States Iguana, August 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Trip of a lifetime for me! Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week adventure with Erick leading the way to Machu Picchu, the Amazon and Lake Titicaca. There were a few challenges along the way but Erick did a great job of working with the various personalities in our group and kept everyone on track and moving in the right direction.”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Jaguar, August 2017
  • Best Tour Guide Ever!

    “Our tour guide, Pablo, could not be beat! His knowledge and enthusiasm was overflowing. As an added bonus, he was great with keeping our kids engaged and entertained.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime

    “When friends ask "how was your trip?", the words fail me. I wish I could share the incredible moments with them. How do you describe the magic of snorkelling with dolphins in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean, or feeling like you've befriended a sea lion? We can't say enough about our trip with Active Adventures. What an incredible trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, August 2017
  • Jaguar July 2017

    “Wonderful trip, especially the Inca Trail which was amazing.”
    – Hertfordshire, United Kingdom Jaguar, July 2017
  • Wow!

    “This was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. Hats off to Active Adventures for putting together an amazing itinerary and delivering on every aspect of our trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • What an Adventure!

    “This trip was definitely an active adventure! We experienced things I never had before, like reverse canyoning for example. Jairo was an excellent guide and leader. He designed quite the adventurous, active trip that we will never forget. I loved the hacienda and the horseback riding. The horses were wonderful, well trained and well taken care of. I also loved meeting our guide's family and enjoying home cooked meals with them.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Our 7 year old son didn't want to leave Ecuador. We had prepared him extensively for this trip and he was a real trooper. He loved everything about this trip and, since we've come back home, he talks about his trip to Ecuador almost daily.
    Perhaps other parents of children who are on the autism spectrum can appreciate how challenging it can be to find something your child will eat, never mind in a foreign country! Jhayro was wonderful with our son and they really connected. Dominik loved being Jhayro's co-pilot and occasional side-kick.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Great Time with Grandchildren!

    “Varied experiences. Saw much of Peru which many people don't get to experience.
    It was a perfect trip to take with our grandchildren.”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Great Trip with our Grandchildren!

    “We loved seeing so much of Peru with two of our granddaughters. Our guide, Zac, made the trip fantastic!”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Ecuador and the edge of the Amazon

    “Great trip and very organised. The guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. He was also patient and flexible with parts of the group. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were very well fed with amazing food throughout the trip.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tapir, July 2017
  • Peru in June 2017

    “It is easy to love Peru traveling with Active Adventures! Cynthia was absolutely fantastic, made sure all went smooth and really took care of us. Great memories were made.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, July 2017
  • Galapagos

    “We felt that we had the guide of the Century...Pablo...he should be a National Treasure! His enthusiasm, knowledge, sensitivity, thoughtfulness...fantastic!”
    – Otago, New Zealand Tortuga, June 2017
  • Our Peruvian Adventure

    “We had an amazing trip with Active Adventures - South America. Everything was extremely well-planned, and our guide was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and always more than willing to share tips, facts, and insights about her country. The trip from our first meeting to our parting at the airport was active, filled with amazing sights, and very well coordinated. We were thrilled to hike the Inca Trail, to see amazing archaeological sites in the Cuzco area and to explore the jungle and Lake Titicaca regions. We will definitely be looking at Active Adventures for trips in the future. Thanks for providing a wonderful and unforgettable holiday.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Awesome Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime! Everything about the trip went really smoothly and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the trip with my parents! Could not have had better guides either, Erick and Danny were a lot of fun and really took care of the group! Amazing trip that I will always remember.”
    – Arkansas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • Fantabulous!

    “This is our second Active trip and it was equally as great as the first! The guides were fantastic. You all know how to take care of active adventurer types. We lucked out on the weather and the views were stunning. Such a gorgeous part of the world. Another check-off on the bucket list.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, June 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Peru Jaguar trip we took in May, was the most exciting and adventurous trip we have ever made in our lives! At 70, I was skeptical as to whether I could complete the Inca Trail or not. With Johan's help and support, I not only accomplished my goal, but was extremely satisfied with our total active adventure trip. It seemed as if every time I turned my head, there was another exhilarating scene to photograph. The rest of the trip included the amazon rainforest, and spending the night with a local family on Lake Titicaca which was great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to explore the world's unknown places that only a few select get to experience. Our guide Erick Farfan was an exceptional young man who went out of his way not just for us, but the entire group. I've never had someone so attentive to every detail to make all of us happy. His choice of restaurants allowed all of us to experience the local foods and were all very tasty. Kudos to Erick, Johan and the rest of the crew for making my experience once in a lifetime which I will never stop talking about.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • One More Off the Bucket List

    “Great adventure trip with a multitude of activities”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “What a great adventure and experience among the wildlife of Galapagos. It's amazing to be able to see so much and be right next to these wonderful animals.
    Pepo was excellent in every way throughout the trip and I can highly recommend both him and Active Adventures to anyone. We will definitely do more trips with Active.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Amazing Adventure

    “what an amazing adventure we had! we enjoyed every bit of our Jaguar trip and would recommend Active Adventures to anyone who asks! The trip was very well organized and the guides were all informative and amazing. Our main guide, Erick Farfan was the best! he always made sure everything ran smoothly and had to deal with many different personalities on this trip but made it all work. The Inka trail was a tough trail for me due to the altitude but what an amazing feeling once you complete it and arrive at the sun gate! We thoroughly enjoyed the jungle as well as the visit to lake titicaca and our local family that we stayed with. look forward to our next amazing adventure with you! Hoping to do Patagonia soon!”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • Family adventure

    “Wonderful way to spend time together being active and exploring”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Would Go Again in a Heartbeat!

    “We have had two wonderful experiences with your company. Each one was a trip of a lifetime. We are so fortunate to have found out about your company. Thank you.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Iguana, June 2017
  • Galapagos, Fabulous Week!

    “I enjoyed our trip to the Galapagos very much. I don't think I realized how much I was learning while I was in the islands. It was only after returning state side that I began reflecting, and was amazed at how much I learned about how both the marine, and land animals, have adjusted to life in The Galapagos. It's truly an amazing place!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Perfect Blend of Activities

    “The trip was just the right mix of planned activities and personal time. The snorkeling, hikes, kayaking, informational tours and bike trips were not too strenuous and a great way to explore the wonders of this remarkable place. Our guide, Pablo, was extremely knowledgeable about the place he has called home for 20+ years. His guiding and people skills are among the best I have experienced. We weren't just playing; we were learning every minute of the trip in an enjoyable and casual way. I would heartily recommend this trip to young and old!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Galapagos 2017

    “If the idea of snorkeling with sea lions, turtles, and penguins all on the same day, is your cup of tea, (and it is mine!) then this trip is for you. And that's only the tip of the iceberg! Sorry, no icebergs in Ecuador, but the water can be surprisingly cool because of ocean currents.
    The naturalists who accompany you throughout the trip are extremely good, and are passionate about conveying to you their love and knowledge of Galapagos. You experience 4 islands on this tour and if you do excursions on your own you can have even more. Each island offers a unique experience. While there are many ways to see Galapagos, liveaboard vs land based, the extra time afforded you by being land based will give you more memories to cherish. Doug Middlefield CT.”
    – Connecticut, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Barb's Review

    “Our guides (we had 2 because of the split of trail that the team choose to take) were very knowledgeable, attentive, and extremely personable and made the trip wonderful!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Galapagos Greatness!

    “The Tortuga trip to the Galapagos Islands was led by an **outstanding** tour guide, Pepo. He exuded passion, pride, and respect for the islands and the creatures that inhabit it. Pepo demonstrated the perfect balance of providing the right level of information to where we felt educated but no so much as to bog us down. Accommodations were very nice along the trip. The activities and "Super Plans" we participated in were invaluable to making our Galapagos experience great! The other wonderful people I met in this group were entertaining and engaging. I'm thankful to have gone on this trip with these great people!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, May 2017
  • Beauty of Ecuador

    “The Tapir trip within Ecuador showed us a variety of beautiful landscapes from the highland mountains to the Amazon jungle. I LOVED the soulful Hacienda La Alegria horse ranch along with the horseback ride. The various hiking parts of the trip were my next favorite.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, May 2017
  • Perfectly Flawless From Start to Finish

    “From the moment we arrived on the tour, every detail was well thought through and all we had to do was put on our hiking shoes and enjoy. Our guide Pepo was very friendly and had tons of knowledge about the Galapagos, he knew how to explain the ecology of the environment in an engaging, interesting way and you never ever felt like you were sitting in a boring lecture. This tour allowed us to explore these amazing islands in an active, adventurous way with enough activities that you never got bored but you were also allowed time to explore the towns on your own, go on another bike ride or just put your feet up. Pepo also always helped us know what was coming next and helping us to be fully prepared for that days activity. There were no surprises (which was a good thing!) and everything was well organized so we never aimlessly waited around or wasted time thinking about what to do next. If you love to explore nature in an active way, this trip is an amazing one to do!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Go and See Machu Picchu and Experience Peru.

    “Our trip to Peru was fantastic. We hiked, biked and paddled in Peru. Every day was an adventure. I like that we got to experience the real Peru. I didn't feel like a tourist, I felt like an adventurer. We walked through markets, met children along the Inca trail, ate delicious food and even stayed at a local family's home. We were treated very well. We were blown away by the chef's culinary skill while trekking along the Inca trail. Our guide was personable and knowledgeable. Our group was small, also a huge plus. We will book another trip with Active Adventures. This was our second. Small groups, good food, active friends, great leadership, well run. What is not to like? Thank you, all.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Still smiling....

    “Words can't describe the amazing adventure of a lifetime my best buddy and I experienced in Peru with your Active Adventure team! The smiles on our face every time thinking about it paint the perfect picture of our wonderful, amazing experience and trip of a lifetime! Our guide, Daniel , was so attentive, thoughtful, fun and enthusiastic. We felt like we were travelling with a caring friend who was so excited to share his beautiful country with us! We were challenged and encouraged, and enjoyed absolutely every minute of this amazing trip! It would not have been the same without our smiling leader Daniel!!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Active in Peru.

    “I loved my jaguar trip to Peru. The history and Inca ruins were fascinating, the local people we met were all friendly and welcoming, the new friends I made on the trip were lots of fun(we were a great team) - and I loved the Llamas! I saw the best of Peru on foot, by bike and by kayak - a great way to experience such a richly cultural and historic country.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Jaguar, May 2017
  • Everything flowed: shuttles, vans, boats, bikes

    “I am mostly a solo traveler and this AA trip was a series of smooth and timely connections from one event to another. Guides Daniel and Johan were informative
    and personable. A+ to them.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    – Colorado, United States Iguana, May 2017
  • “Having never been to this part of the world this was a great way to travel, learn a great deal in a very short time, have a lot of fun, and not have to worry about any of the details.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • A-MA-ZING!!

    “We had such a great time. Every day was a new and exciting adventure. Our guide, Daniel, made sure we were well taken care of and we learned and enjoyed so much of the Peruvian culture. I would unhesitatingly recommend this trip!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Loved every minute, but not the Blisters !

    “The trip was everything it was supposed to be, and well worth the effort. From the moody weather to the gorgeous sunshine, from the penguins to the condors, we would do it again !”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, May 2017
  • Tortuga Paul and Sophia

    “Astonishingly beautiful. Superbly knowledgable guide. Lots of interesting activities to keep you busy.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Really varied and interesting. Great way to see a variety of areas and do a variety of activites.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Great review of the mainland. A super addition to the Tortuga trip”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • epic adventure

    “The group was outstanding; the guides were top notch. The Lares Inca trail was the hardest hike I have ever done because of the elevation, but the cultural immersion and glam camping softened the effort. Hot water bottles at bedtime anyone? Fleece liners for your sleeping bag? The trips to the Amazon and Lake Titikaka were equally wonderful, but the combination of the physical challenge with the people in the mountains, and the incredible scenery moving from the Lares to the Sacred Valley just couldn't be beat.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, April 2017
  • Loved our Tortuga trip.

    “We loved taking this land based tour of the Galapagos. Staying at hotels on the islands allowed us a lot more flexibility and was great for our grandchildren since they had lots of time to play on the beaches in the evenings. We saw all the animals I hoped to see plus the activities were a lot of fun, especially the snorkeling. We loved Zambo our guide. He was friendly, helpful and very informative plus he took great underwater videos for us.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • Trip to remember

    “Active Adventures, Arturo and local guides have done a great job making sure Patagonia trip experiences become memories of a lifetime for Natalie and I. The trip had it all - great sightseeing, strenuous hiking, biking, kayaking, hiking on a glacier, accommodations - simple to luxurious, great food... I only wish the weather would have been more cooperative. It was also great being part of a fun and easy going group... hopefully will see each other again on future Active trips!”
    – California, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Incredible experience

    “We had an amazing time in the Galapagos!
    Everything was perfectly organized for us. All we had to do was show up - just as it said in the description of the tour.
    Our tour guide Zambo would always tell us well in advance what we would be doing on the next day, what we had to bring, what we should wear.
    The food was always organized for us; they would always ask us beforehand what we wanted to eat.
    Everywhere we went they were expecting us and everything went smoothly.
    Zambo was an amazing guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. He had an answer for everything and he was very patient with our kids. One could see that he enjoyed showing his home to us.
    The encounters with the animals were truly amazing. We saw blue footed boobies, frigate birds, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, penguins, hundreds of sea lions, sea iguanas, etc.
    The animals seemed at ease with the humans around them in some cases almost curious.”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Simply said: Excellent

    “We’ve booked our trip with Active Adventures from NZ but ended up with Galakiwi Adventures as the implementing party. A bit confusing at the beginning but it turned out quite well.
    Our trip through the Galapagos Islands started in San Cristobal, followed by Floreana, Isabela and ended in Santa Cruz.
    We booked an all-inclusive trip and it turned out to be a very good decision. In fact we realized only after a few days how convenient is was to have everything organized for you and how much time you can actually safe. Starting with swimming gear that is provided as part of the package. Transportation to the ferry, getting on & off, having the transportation ready when you arrive, all those organizational aspects are taken care off which makes travelling from island to island very easy and smooth. Then hotels are ready, check in & out done super fast, luggage’s pick up etc. all organized. Lunch and/or dinners arranged in advance to maximize the vacation time and reduce wasted time to a bare minimum. What else to say besides that the organization was simply said excellent!!!
    Then we had Zambo our tour guide, a fantastic & very knowledgeable person.
    Not only questions from adults were not a problem for him, our kids and the other families kids who were also part of the group constantly came up with all sorts of questions and somehow, Zambo always had an answer.
    All of this made it a great vacation; we enjoyed it a lot”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Great guiding

    “We had a great experience. Patricio made us feel like we were able to do all of the activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • A varied experience

    “We very much enjoyed the varied experiences - meeting local people was great fun - highlights included horseback riding at a hacienda where the owner ate meals with us and explained his farming operation. The jungle visit was also very interesting - a meal prepared by a local couple and entertainment from an indigenous family.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tapir, April 2017
  • Fantastic time, sometimes strenuous always worth it

    “Had an excellent time. W trek was sometimes very tough but definitely worth the effort. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They took good care of us throughout. The trip was well organized and smoothly run. We will absolutely be looking to active adventures for similar trips in the future.”
    – Kentucky, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Stunningly beautiful

    “A continual immersion in nature and it's beauty very capably guided by Super- Pepo with his daily Superplan.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • The trip of my dreams!

    “The Iguana trip was better than was advertised! I had prepared for the trip to Peru by reading about the history of the area in the book, The Last Days of the Incas, by Kim MacQuarrie. When we visited the many different Inca sites, the history came alive for me. I could picture the great battles, and the capture of the Inca rulers, and the narrow escapes. It was wonderful! Cuzco was a beautiful city surrounded by mountain peaks and full of many good places to eat. After Peru, going to the Galapagos was like a beach vacation in the most beautiful place in the world. We loved snorkeling and seeing the giant land tortoises. We saw every animal associated with the Galapagos and more! I still can't believe I was lucky enough to find this trip with Active Adventures. Top notch all the way around. Thank you to our wonderful guides who we loved!”
    – Texas, United States Iguana, April 2017
  • Not a thing missing from this trip!

    “Our guide, Jess, was absolutely perfect. She was extremely knowledgeable about the Galápagos and amazing with the logistics and organizational part of the trip. We waited for nothing and had top-notch service everywhere we went. Award-winning trip in every way. I would not hesitate to book with Active Adventures again. Thank you, thank you, thank you!”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • “Everything ran absolutely as seamlessly as possible, Congrats to the Active Adventures team. The weather was perfect. Our guide, Pepo was terrific. He was attentive to all of our needs and safety, and fielded every question with depth of knowledge and intelligence. As a native of the Island he is sensitive and cares deeply about their well being and continuance. This showed through in all his words and actions. He displayed kindness and humor and was generally just a great traveling companion.

    I had read much before my trip and was not let down by what the Islands had to offer. The trip as a whole offered a quite perfect blend of activities, relaxation and unique new experiences. All the accommodations were at least just fine, a couple quite splendid. The food was delicious (fishatarian) and most bountiful.

    My only wish is that the airline scheduling involving arrival and then transfers from Quito to the Island worked out a little more smoothly. This is not a criticism of Active Adventures, but more of the airlines. So the bookend of the trip were not nearly the fun of the trip itself.”
    – Texas, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • Another Great Active Adventures Vacation!

    “I've come to expect excellent vacation experiences from Active Adventures and the Condor trip with Arturo did not let me down. It was another fantastic adventure with a great itinerary, amazing views, outstanding guiding and a terrific group of fellow travelers.”
    – Connecticut, United States Condor, April 2017
  • “Generally enjoyed the trip but I fell down on the second day of the W-trek in Patagonia. We Had great tour guides and company which made up for the disappointment of not being able to fully participate in the trip.”
    – Singapore, Singapore Condor, March 2017
  • AMAZING!

    “From the moment we met in the hotel lobby in Chile to our last good bye in Argentina, it was the a perfect adventure!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • “A trip of a lifetime! Like no other place I've ever been. Where Animals coexist with humans in harmony. Wild sea lions play with you as you snorkel, dolphins play with your boat, owls let you walk a hand width from them and giant tortoises are your obstacles as you bike. Pepo our guide was incredible and brought his incredible islands alive through his stories and knowledge! Best trip I've ever been on and would highly reccommend it! Wouldn't change a thing!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Best trip ever!

    “Wonderful 30th anniversary trip to the Galapagos -- so glad we were able to explore these amazing islands. A true adventure for two biology majors! We really got a sense of the strong environmental preservation efforts underway there, and were in awe of the amazing land and sea creatures we encountered. Plus a terrific local guide and fun group of co-travelers made this a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Lou D'Agostino's Condor

    “Dear Friends,
    Certainly I was predisposed to expect a great time because of three other positive Active trips but this time was especially memorable. Firstly, although I have always met interesting people on Active trips, this one was filled with the most friendly and athletic folks ever. Not only generous in spirt but quick to help each other to be certain all went well. Yes, there were a few instances where I had to remind myself that 'getting out of my comfort zone' was part of the experience. It was all good.
    I have always been intrigued by 'Cape Horn' and dreamed of someday getting as close as I could, so for me, this was my 'trip of a lifetime'. It was made particularly enjoyable by our chief guide and companion Cynthia Villadares.
    All the best,
    Louis”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2017
  • If it were easy everyone would do it.

    “This was my first visit to Patagonia and it was spectacular. The entire Active Adventures team made this trip an absolute pleasure from ease of booking, clear and thorough information about the trip, and an incredibly well organized adventure. Cynthia, our guide was very professional and organized. and was just a great person with whom to spend a couple of weeks. We had a diverse group of folks from all over the U.S. and we all got along very well. We experienced heavy rain and overflowing rivers and trails for the first few days, but that just brought us closer together as we relied on each other to make our way. Then the sun came out and we saw some of the most beautiful mountains, lakes and glaciers that can be seen anywhere in the world. I've been home for over a week and I can't wait to book my next trip!!!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia 3/2017

    “This truly was one of those 'trips of a lifetime'! The challenges we faced as a group the first week due to the unusually heavy rains helped bond our group early on making this one of the best trips people wise I have ever been on. We had to help each other safely ford many unexpected creek and river crossings. The leadership both Cynthia and the local guides provided was expert and excellent making what could have been a disappointing, miserably wet, or even dangerous experience an exciting and safe one....We rose to the challenge in great part a response to their spirit and professional attitude, especially Cynthia's.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a wonderful experience to spend Christmas in the Galapagos with such a experienced, caring leader for our adventure. Eduardo made sure all of our needs were meet and went above and beyond to make sure we have a very enjoyable time in his home country. I will always keep him and his family in our hearts and he made me feel like part of his family!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a great experience to be snorkeling with all the amazing animals! REMARKABLE!!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Active is the Word!

    “I thoroughly enjoyed my Condor adventure. I've been on a few of these hosted by other companies and I think Active Adventures is the best so far - a good value too. When you say all-inclusive, you mean it. We often ordered whatever we wanted right off the menu. Arturo and the other guides did a great job. The itinerary was excellent - I know because a few times we barely made the connection to a boat. There was little down time. Doing the W Hike in the first week is also key - We were fresh and ready then. The weather on our trip was not ideal. We totally missed seeing Fitz Roy, despite 4 days in El Chalten. Oh well. Mother Nature didn't cooperate. The only thing that would've made the trip better would be better accommodations at some of the refugios. I know you can't control this and there's not a lot of choice, but, boy, some of those shower facilities and bathrooms were just awful. I'm looking forward to hiking with you guys again soon. :)”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, March 2017
  • February 26th Condor with Arturo

    “The experience was amazing!! Active Adventures put us with a Great team of Guides, and I want to express that with the utmost praise! The hiking group was so much fun, which made the trekking exciting and a joy. I traveled with my girlfriend (Joelle) who is a more seasoned hiker than me, and the inspiration for the trip so cudos to her! The only small consideration I believe might help would be better maintenance at some of the Refugio's, I will let someone else in the group mention it by name!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Awesome experience

    “Our recent Condor trip with Cynthia was awesome. Cynthia did a great job as our trip leader. She was fun to be around, full of facts, and attended to all the details. The scenery was breathtaking, food and drink delicous and I would highly recommend this trip.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • The Amazing Galapagos Islands

    “This was an amazing trip. The organization could not have been improved! Everything went like clockwork! I'm sure, much to the credit of Pepo! He was amazing - knowledgeable beyond words, fun to be around, great sense of humor and so kind and polite! Our group was small, five in number, and we became friends because of all the adventures that we experienced together. I am loving telling people about the trip! And am loving remember it!

    The only suggestion that I would have is that I would have preferred to spend one more night on Isabella and one less night in Quito.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Excellent trip, well organized

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our Tortuga trip. Our guide Jessica was fantastic. Everything ran so smoothly, the group all got along and we were so fortunate to visit and explore the lovely Galapagos islands in this way. A land based trip is definitely the way to go. We would highly recommend it.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Nice overview of central Ecuador

    “Nice to see different areas in Ecuador and how varied and beautiful the country is. A nice taste for future exploration.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, March 2017
  • Feb 5 2017 Condor with Arturo

    “It was a fabulous trip. Arturo is a very considerate, competent, and creative guide with a wonderful sense of humor.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Awesome experience

    “Amazing experience with our North American friends. The photos never did the views justice. Around every corner there was another beautiful lake, another awesome glacier or forrest. Truly a land of contrast on our road trips. Cynthia was an incredible guide and she went out of her way to accommodate everyone. I won't forget this adventure!”
    – Western Australia, Australia Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia Dreaming

    “I had wanted to hike in Patagonia since the 1980's when I was heavy into mountaineering in Seattle, WA. I had lost this dream until we saw that Active Adventures offers the Condor trip. I loved every windy and even drippy step of the W trek. My first view of Grey Glacier took my breath away. And then we had Fitzroy and Cerro Torre in glorious sunshine. A dream of adventure come true!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia peregrinations

    “First off, I have to confess that I had very little concept of what this particular trip would entail in terms of the environment. Although I'd been on several other AA trips and knew the level of care and attention I could expect logistically, I had only the fuzziest mental image of Patagonia itself. I knew there would be mountains and wind, but beyond that I was venturing into terra incognita, pulled primarily by the romanticism of the name and reassured by my prior experiences with AA that I would not be disappointed. And I was not.
    Patagonia was, in a word, fantastic. Or awesome. Or incredible. (OK, let's not quibble about my math.) The mountains and the wind are in fact just as overwhelmingly THERE as conventional accounts have it, the former extraordinarily angular, rugged and often foreboding, the latter a relentless force that smothered those same mountains with waves of clouds, kicked up numerous rainbows from the surrounding lakes and whipped our bodies as we struggled to find our footing.
    But there was so much more. In contrast to what may seem like a hostile combination of land- and wind-scape, Patagonia is remarkably non-threatening to visitors. No snakes, ticks, poisonous spiders or poisonous plants. No thunder storms. No predators that compel concern, since the Patagonian pumas are so skittish that anyone is lucky even to spot one. The landscape, meanwhile, is a visual feast of ice fields, tarns, rumbling avalanches (initially misinterpreted as distant thunder), guanacos and rheas, soaring condors, great vistas of open space, those wind-whipped rainbows. . . .
    And AA once again came through with its signature attention to detail: attentive and knowledgeable guides, super (even posh!) accommodations and smooth underlying logistics. Thanks to all for their contribution to a super experience.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Amazing trip, well run operation by people who love what they do

    “Overall, a great trip! Patagonia is everything imagined and more. No picture represent the feeling of being there with eyes closed. Treks little harder on two days of the trip: First day (Torres Del Paine) and Mount Fitz Roy trek (25kms), but rewards outweigh the effort.
    All guides, Cynthia, Gem, Paula were outstanding.”
    – Ohio, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Truely an Amazing Vacation

    “We really enjoyed this beautiful land. Cynthia and Paula (local guide) did an outstanding job of organizing and taking care of our group. They really enjoyed explaining the geology as well as the flora and fauna we were looking at. There was always time for pictures or views as we moved along this picture perfect land.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Amazing trip to El Fin Del Mundo! (End of the World)

    “Challenging hikes to see two of the "Eighth Wonders of the World": the granite towers and glacial lake of the Torres del Paine in Chile and Mont Fitzroy in Argentina. Hiking combined with kayaking on opaque Grey Lake in front of a massive glacier, ice hiking on the glacier, biking next to the Wandering river.. paradise for the Active traveler! Nice hotels, interesting cuisine and our wonderful guide (AKA our trekking mother) Mayra made for a terrific trip! This is my second trip with Active (South Island New Zealand) and could not have been better.”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Condor

    “This trip was excellent. The guides were fantastic (super friendly and great with seamlessly managing various ages of people and fitness levels), it was very well organized and the weather held all but two days of the entire trip allowing really amazing views of most mountain vistas. A real must for the bucket list.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Like A Postcard

    “The mountains, glaciers and icebergs of Patagonia were some of the most incredible sites I have ever seen. Many days were like walking into a postcard. "Am I really here?" Active took the worry out of the travel and planning and our guides were incredible! Arturo made the trip and our local guides were knowledgeable and skilled - Cem and Juan were great! Thanks Active for an amazing journey!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia

    “Wonderful trip with the added benefit of speaking Spanish. Loved it!”
    – Connecticut, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Patagonia is amazing!

    “The hiking on the W-Track and in Los Glaciares National Park was just as beautiful as I had always dreamed about. Our trip leaders, Arturo and Chem, were knowledgeable and fun to talk to and the food and accommodations were great.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, February 2017
  • See the best of Patagonia and eat like a king!

    “Great itinerary to see Chilean and Argentine Patagonia! While many people come to hike Torres del Paine, which is awesome, I thought Mount Fit Roy and Cerro Torre were even more spectacular in Argentina! Wished we could have hiked to more places in Argentina. Also loved the food and the ability to choose your own meals! I ate like a king!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, February 2017
  • BEST TRIP EVER!!!

    “This trip was a dream come true with a BIG unexpected surprise...I swam with a whale shark. Active Adventures has thought of everything. You need to bring your clothes, quick dry is a must, and personal items. All activity amenities are supplied, including a long or short sleeve wetsuit. If you use a prescription mask in the water, bring it along. All the work is done for you. Your guide will let you know what time to be ready and off you go. Everything ran on time, no waiting for anything (once we did wait 4 minutes at the airport for the van). Even meals were ordered ahead and served within a few minutes of sitting down. We ate at many of the best restaurants. I felt like a princess. The Galapagos animals even did their part by 'posing' for great pics. We saw all the great sites while our guide educated us on the topic. Our guide, Pablo, is amazing.

    The whale shark...while boating between islands, we saw a group of dolphins. Then, we saw the whale shark. Pablo handed out mask a few of us gently jumped in the water to 'swim' with the 30ft long animal. Yes, we have videos thanks to our boat captain and one person with a go pro.

    Active Adventures does it right.”
    – Texas, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Patagonia adventure

    “If you want amazingly beautiful scenery, get in shape and take this trip! The hiking is very difficult at times, but the mountains, glaciers, and lakes are unbelievable. Our guides were patient and encouraging when I thought I could not go one more step. And nothing can take the place of the feeling you get when you round that final curve and come across the most beautiful view you have ever seen in your life. Except the feeling the next day, when the view is even more amazing!”
    – South Carolina, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Seeing Patagonia my way

    “Our trip to Patagonia with Active South America was just what I had hoped for, having traveled with Active in New Zealand. With all the accommodations, meals, and transportation provided, I could put my energy into hiking to the glacial lakes and peaks that were even more awesome than I had expected them to be. I appreciated the well-chosen trails and local guides who taught us about the land and customs, and for me, about my special interest, birds. The warm welcome and special service we received at every hotel and restaurant was thanks to our guide Cynthia who has endeared herself to the Chilean and Argentinian hosts who treated us as her special friends. Cynthia is a pro. While warm, energetic, enthusiastic and fun, she is on top of the details and can solve problems when they arise. Walking in the beech forest, wading in glacial lakes, kayaking beside enormous icebergs, and hiking to the base of towering granite peaks are experiences I will remember always. Thank you, Active!”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Tony's Excellent Patagonia Adventure

    “From our first gathering Sunday evening at our hotel in Punta Arenas to our departure 14 days later from El Calafate, the Condor adventure was spectacularly beautiful, challenging and exhausting at times, congenial, very well organized and guided, and unforgettable. Our trip leader Cynthia Valadares handled every detail with apparent ease and dealt with any challenges with ease and grace. Our guides in Torres del Paine NP and in El Chalten shared their deep love and knowledge of these areas, each step of the way.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Condor January 2017.

    “Ever since reading Bruce Charwin's in Patagonia I have been intrigued by Patagonia. So after 40 years my dream came true and, in spite of not always perfect weather, it exceeded my high expectations.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Amazing!

    “This was our first experience with Active Adventures. It was everything we dreamed of and more. Excellent guides, facilities, activities and food. Loved it!”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Fun, active trip

    “I had a great time and loved the amount of activity. Every day was a new and fun experience in different places. It wasn't too much or too hard, but a good mix of experiencing the culture while hiking/biking/rafting. I always felt safe and really enjoyed our Guide, Jairo. Our group was very small (only 3 others!), which was also nice. Highlights include the horse ranch and owner who taught me how to ride, the hot sprints at the end as well as the hike, and biking down the volcano.”
    – New York, United States Tapir, February 2017
  • Condor Trip

    “In my opinion, the unique aspect of this trip is the ability to hike in Patagonia in both Chile and Argentina. Each offers a very different hiking experience and scenery-- the W-trek and glaciers of Chile and the high mountains of Argentina. Both are spectacular. Appreciated the varied itinerary including kayaking and biking and the knowledgable and friendly guides.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Our Condor trek was absolutely amazing! Everything promised in the brochure happened. Cynthia, our guide, was outstanding. She went above and beyond to make sure our trek was the best. I really don't know how one person could do what she did. She treated everyone like family. The accommodations, transportation, food, trekking experience were second to none! You need to be in shape. Your always on the go. The W trek was exciting, great views. The kayaking and glacier climb were really fun. The view of Fitz Roy from the lake is world class, absolutely breathtaking! If you want to get great trekking experience and be tired at the end of the day, do this one!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, February 2017

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.