Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • epic adventure

    “The group was outstanding; the guides were top notch. The Lares Inca trail was the hardest hike I have ever done because of the elevation, but the cultural immersion and glam camping softened the effort. Hot water bottles at bedtime anyone? Fleece liners for your sleeping bag? The trips to the Amazon and Lake Titikaka were equally wonderful, but the combination of the physical challenge with the people in the mountains, and the incredible scenery moving from the Lares to the Sacred Valley just couldn't be beat.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, April 2017
  • A Must Do!

    “The Kauri trip will give you an intensive view of the north island with all its greenery along with its variety of art, culture, activities, waterfalls, seascapes and volcanic landscapes. An absolute must-do!”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Rimu

    “Rimu with Active was an excellent fit for us! Pace, guides and hikes were just amazing and heaps of fun!”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A most excellent adventure..

    “The Tui experience is active and adventurous, exactly as described. From scaling summits to kayaking in the Milford Sound and many long and shorter hikes in between. Our excellent guides took the group to remote places, encouraged and supported us as we did some easier and then really challenging hikes, giving ongoing commentary on the history and culture of New Zealand and cooking delicious meals along the way, the final feast was an absolute treat. The groups are small which makes for a really personal experience, our group got on so well as one of us said ‘it feels like family’ at the end of the trip. The most memorable experience for me in a stream of stunning memories was the drive to the Milford Sound in the setting sun, one of the great road trips of the world. The trip is meticulously organised and you get ongoing emails to support what you need to bring and what to expect. Highly recommended, it was the trip of a lifetime.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tui, April 2017
  • Even Cyclone Cook couldn't dampen our fun

    “I hopped onto the last half of the Kauri after two weeks on the South Island in the Rimu adventure. It just so happened that we had a cyclone hit the island that week, so everything was very wet, to say the least. But everything still worked out okay! We still did lots of hiking in the rain, which was fun in itself. The views were not the same as they would be on a clear day, but different doesn't mean bad. They were unique, and there were a lot of rainbows thanks to the water. We even did the mountain biking in the downpour, which was hilariously muddy and still a lot of fun. Overall, the people were good, the guides were excellent, the food was fantastic, and the trip was terrific.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Loved our Tortuga trip.

    “We loved taking this land based tour of the Galapagos. Staying at hotels on the islands allowed us a lot more flexibility and was great for our grandchildren since they had lots of time to play on the beaches in the evenings. We saw all the animals I hoped to see plus the activities were a lot of fun, especially the snorkeling. We loved Zambo our guide. He was friendly, helpful and very informative plus he took great underwater videos for us.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • “Awesome trip. The staff was great to work with. Very accommodating to a last minute change in our trip plans. Our guides were fun, encouraging and adapted well to our needs. Meals were delicious and well organized. Our lodgings were excellent.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Fun Trip

    “I very much enjoyed the Active Adventures Tui trip. The guides were phenomenal and very knowledgeable about the sites in New Zealand. We saw many beautiful places and I enjoyed the activities that were planned.”
    – New York, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Trip to remember

    “Active Adventures, Arturo and local guides have done a great job making sure Patagonia trip experiences become memories of a lifetime for Natalie and I. The trip had it all - great sightseeing, strenuous hiking, biking, kayaking, hiking on a glacier, accommodations - simple to luxurious, great food... I only wish the weather would have been more cooperative. It was also great being part of a fun and easy going group... hopefully will see each other again on future Active trips!”
    – California, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Incredible experience

    “We had an amazing time in the Galapagos!
    Everything was perfectly organized for us. All we had to do was show up - just as it said in the description of the tour.
    Our tour guide Zambo would always tell us well in advance what we would be doing on the next day, what we had to bring, what we should wear.
    The food was always organized for us; they would always ask us beforehand what we wanted to eat.
    Everywhere we went they were expecting us and everything went smoothly.
    Zambo was an amazing guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. He had an answer for everything and he was very patient with our kids. One could see that he enjoyed showing his home to us.
    The encounters with the animals were truly amazing. We saw blue footed boobies, frigate birds, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, penguins, hundreds of sea lions, sea iguanas, etc.
    The animals seemed at ease with the humans around them in some cases almost curious.”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • wonderful choice

    “A trip to New Zealand was on my "bucket list" and my husband chose this trip for the south island. I think this is a wonderful way to see the outstanding scenery of the south island. We will be back!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, April 2017
  • outstanding time

    “The north island deserves more notice than it gets in the press. A different world than the south island, well worth any time you can give it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Simply said: Excellent

    “We’ve booked our trip with Active Adventures from NZ but ended up with Galakiwi Adventures as the implementing party. A bit confusing at the beginning but it turned out quite well.
    Our trip through the Galapagos Islands started in San Cristobal, followed by Floreana, Isabela and ended in Santa Cruz.
    We booked an all-inclusive trip and it turned out to be a very good decision. In fact we realized only after a few days how convenient is was to have everything organized for you and how much time you can actually safe. Starting with swimming gear that is provided as part of the package. Transportation to the ferry, getting on & off, having the transportation ready when you arrive, all those organizational aspects are taken care off which makes travelling from island to island very easy and smooth. Then hotels are ready, check in & out done super fast, luggage’s pick up etc. all organized. Lunch and/or dinners arranged in advance to maximize the vacation time and reduce wasted time to a bare minimum. What else to say besides that the organization was simply said excellent!!!
    Then we had Zambo our tour guide, a fantastic & very knowledgeable person.
    Not only questions from adults were not a problem for him, our kids and the other families kids who were also part of the group constantly came up with all sorts of questions and somehow, Zambo always had an answer.
    All of this made it a great vacation; we enjoyed it a lot”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Amazing

    “I am not sure there are words to describe what the trip was like. D.K., Arjun, Claire, and Elder made two weeks into a lifetime of memories. The support, the friendships, the knowledge of the culture, the kindness, and the people made this trip. D.K. Had more knowledge of people and the culture so that you really were emersed in it for two weeks. It was far more than a hiking trip, it was a trip to learn and appreciate the Nepali people and their culture. The group was great and I think we all bonded over an experience that we will remember forever. Personally, I did get sick but I was able to keep going and never thought a lot about it as I had the support of Arjun, Claire and Elder along with D.K to help me along. They went way beyond what they had to do to make sure I along with everyone else succeeded on this hike. A hike of this magnitude is a difficult one and to be able to say everyone was successful and left with an incredible sense of accomplishment says tons about your staff and the people you employ. You have an amazing group and I cannot say enough positive things about all of them, from the guides to the office staff answering questions and helping us make sure we had all that we needed for the trip. I have already recommended you to everyone I have told about this trip and I do hope I am able to do another hike with you. I have hiked with other groups but you are in a league of your own way above all others. From the bottom of my heart..thank you for a gift that will stay with me for the rest of my life. Anna”
    – Kansas, United States AST, April 2017
  • Wow! What a trip!

    “We had an absolute blast exploring the South Island with two legendary guides, Ken and Elder. Amazing hiking and other activities, great food, and awesome company!”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Awesome guides & beautiful scenery, need I say more?

    “Seeing the incredible beauty of NZ would have certainly been enough to make the trip worthwhile, but learning the history, the culture, and the traditions, from the guides - Tory and Jordie - took this amazing experience to a whole new level! This trip far exceeded my expectations and left me wanting to go back for more!!”
    – New Mexico, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A varied experience

    “We very much enjoyed the varied experiences - meeting local people was great fun - highlights included horseback riding at a hacienda where the owner ate meals with us and explained his farming operation. The jungle visit was also very interesting - a meal prepared by a local couple and entertainment from an indigenous family.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tapir, April 2017
  • Great guiding

    “We had a great experience. Patricio made us feel like we were able to do all of the activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • Magical South Island Trip

    “This was a truly amazing trip from start to finish! Scenery, activities, accommodations, tour group and food were all outstanding! What made it really shine were our guides: Tess and Koru. Their knowledge, guidance, friendship and obvious passion about New Zealand made this trip stand out. We would highly recommend this trip,
    Tom and Sallie.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Best Travel Company EVER!

    “I can't imagine any trekking company doing a better job than Active Adventures. Everything promised was delivered, and more. The head guide, DK, was the best trekking guide I have encountered in a dozen treks in places around the world. The group size was very small (9). A highlight was the warm and personal relationship with the Nepali porters and guide, so that we all felt like were were part of a big family, sharing language lessons, card games in the evening, Nepali songs, and developing a real rapport.”
    – California, United States AST, April 2017
  • LEGENDARY

    “Travelling to New Zealand has been on my bucket list for nearly half my life, and I'm so glad I spent three weeks there with Active! I was a bit worried going by myself, but it turned out to be the best vacation of my life. They took us to so many spots that I probably would have never seen if I tried to organize everything on my own. It was great to have them feed me, drive me, hike me, and take me to our accommodations at night - not once did I have to worry about anything. The accommodations themselves were so fun and unique, staying in them was a highlight of my trip. Our guides, Kim and Ashleigh, were fantastic young ladies. Ash was an amazing chef and Kim rocked the in-bus narration. I also think we had a phenomenal group of people who clicked very well, and absolutely the best weather one could wish for.

    Even when there were a few changes to the itinerary due to road damages, weather issues, or anything else, the guides were on top of it so fast that we barely even noticed there was a problem. We did miss out on snorkeling with the fur seals, and our Franz Josef Heli-Hike was cancelled, but we were still able to see seals and take a helicopter ride to a glacier at another time. No loss whatsoever.

    I'm a fairly active person under thirty, who lives in an mountainous region, and I was still challenged by the hikes and activities they provided. I also have bad knees, and was still able to get up and down the more difficult mountains. For those wondering abut the multi-day hike, it's definitely a work-out, but totally worth it! And be sure to invest in a hydration bladder, you'll really appreciate it! If you're looking for an outdoor adventure with lots of activity and fun, this is definitely one of the better ways to explore New Zealand.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Life changing views and people

    “This trip was life changing. Amazing guides (Andrew and Jo) were the best part of the trip. They made us feel at ease, welcome, and like a big family on a road trip. The food was superb, I would get really excited at the end of the day to see what the guys were making for us. It was my 30th birthday and I've never felt this special. It was my first time hiking, and the guys kept encouraging me. All the accommodations were beautiful. In the end everything was perfect.”
    – RIYADH, Saudi Arabia Kauri, April 2017
  • Amazing Tui trip - March 2017

    “When our daughter decided to go on foreign study to Auckland, my wife and I had a perfect excuse to visit New Zealand. We like active vacations with small groups, so I was intrigued by the Active Adventures tours. We signed up for the Tui tour and the second half of the Kauri tour and added a few days to visit with our daughter. This was an amazing trip that we thoroughly enjoyed. Every day was a new adventure with spectacular scenery. We really liked the mix of activities (hiking, biking, sea kayaking, scenic flight, and jet boat). Our favorite day included the scenic flight up to Siberia Valley, a beautiful hike, and then the jet boat ride back to Makarora. Ken and Kim were excellent guides and cooks. I look forward to our next Active Adventures tour.”
    – Maryland, United States Tui, April 2017
  • March 2017 Manuka with Amanda and Holly

    “The Manuka trip was exceptional. It was extremely well planned out. We were lucky to have had great weather and a group that got along together very well. There was great raw material to work with – NZ has great natural beauty and a variety of climate zones that allow for exceptional hiking. In addition, Amanda and Holly were outstanding guides – attentive to our needs in hiking and constantly striving to provide the best meals possible, taking into account our various dietary requirements.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • 5-Day Kauri is a Nice Addiition to Tui - March 2017

    “After completing the Tui trip, we joined the last 5 days of the Kauri trip. This was a great way to see highlights from both islands. With the exception of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (the highlight of the trip), the South Island has more majestic scenery. However, the Kauri tour has a lot of fun and unique activities. Five of the twelve people on our trip went on the optional rafting trip down the Kaituna River and the 21-foot Okere Falls. It was a blast. Inner tubing through the Waitomo Glowworm Caves was unique to NZ and also a lot of fun. We look forward to our next Active Adventures trip.”
    – Maryland, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Our "Better Than Average" Trip

    “Poem written by Andrea Rudolph with and for the entire group of very happy campers: (If you publish it, perhaps you should ask Andrea for permission and credit Andrea and possibly the entire Kiwi group for inspiration?)

    Our Better than Average Trip

    Active Adventures had everything planned
    For a better than average trip to kiwi land
    Our fearless leaders, Rachel and Koru
    In every instance knew what to do
    They prepped us on schedules and weather every day
    And tried hard to make us listen to what they had to say
    Koru always steered us in the right direction
    For finding trails and Pinots of perfection
    Rachael had to patiently repeat
    Our menu options so we could choose what to eat
    She was always there to help us climb
    And cheered us on time after time
    Rachael and her accent were really cute
    Her seeiven and eeigs always made us hoot
    The food was delicious morning and night
    From breakfast to barbecue it was always just right
    Each day we had coffee and muesli to eat
    Often Pavlova and (if we were good) a special treat
    Koru told myths of Maoris and war
    His tales were creative and never a bore
    He showed us plants like the silver fern
    This land is so varied theres a lot to learn
    About many birds he gave us the scoop
    And warned us about the wacky wekas poop

    The Hectors dolphins near the beach were rare
    They amazed us by doing flips in the air
    At the wildlife center we saw kiwis being fed
    And heard how theyre kept safe till they are bred
    We marveled at the kiwi eggs size
    That filled up the female almost to her eyes
    Possums, an invasive species, are major pests
    Eating kiwis and forests is what they do best
    Whether to poison them or use them for their fur
    Is hotly debated and not all concur

    The rain and wind made Foulwind a perfect name
    And the Tasman Sea is anything but tame.
    Riding the waves In Abel Tasman wasnt easy
    It was like a roller coaster and would have made George queasy
    Queenstown is the capital of all things daring,
    From bungee jumping and luge to parasailing
    At Franz Josef an earthquake comes every 300 years
    Its on the main fault line creating lots of fears

    Braemar brought us closer, running out to pee at night
    Sharing toilets and co-ed showers were also a delight
    We ran through the hills, and drank lots of wine
    Singing old songs and jingles and it was divine
    In the dark sky the stars shone ever so bright
    And made for a fabulous view our last night

    New Zealand is perfect except for the sandflies
    Which bite all our legs as they drop from the skies
    They even dare follow us into the van
    Where we smash them on windows as fast as we can

    Our photographers were an amazing lot
    And would do almost anything to get the right shot
    They took pictures of every breathtaking view
    As well as lots of our motley crew
    Julie, Gerry and Frank lugged gear everywhere
    So Frank could create a dvd to share

    Gerry led the trivia team from the west
    As they cruised to victory in our last contest
    We laughed and talked the whole day through
    Waking up to Georges cheers and positive view
    Jeannie his sidekick never seemed to mind
    Through everything she was patient and kind
    When she added her bra to the fence we all cheered
    The moment was tender and brought a few tears
    We could always count on Frank to come through
    With some daily tidbit about something new
    And Vesna was always stylishly dressed
    In outfits that matched and even looked pressed
    Frank, the model husband, brought her coffee in bed
    and gallantly swatted bugs dive bombing her head

    With her camera Julie could always be found
    She never minded lugging it around
    And always had a story to tell
    Of faraway places and people she knew really well
    Mike and Bonnie hiked steadily mile after mile
    But it was the waterfall that really made Mike smile
    Many sights looked like their Oregon coast
    But this was the New Zealand trip they loved the most
    When Lynette got sick we felt really bad
    But we really didnt want to get what she had
    Karen kept going even without her sister
    Even though we all missed her
    Karen Lynette Tom and Gerry may seem quiet
    But in the back of the van they had a real riot
    Talking about everything under the sun
    They laughed nonstop and had lots of fun
    Andrea was famous for her bathroom stops
    From talking toilets to smelly long drops

    Even though she had to go every time
    Everyone else got behind her in line
    Of our demerits Rachel kept track
    Who was naughty or late coming back
    In earning bad marks George was clearly the winner
    He gets the award as the biggest sinner
    While riding on Frank we passed the basket around
    Tim Tans and fruit were goodies we found

    Many of us discovered daily flat whites
    And drank local wines and beer each night.
    Everyone bought some manuka honey
    Even if UMF costs lots of money
    In Hokitika Andrea bought lots of jade
    with George helping negotiate the lower price she paid
    For Koru all blacks rugby is the team to beat
    And watching them do the haka was really sweet

    I tried really hard to write something clever
    To celebrate our group and the best trip ever
    Though our journey is over and we are all back home
    We can laugh and remember when we read this poem”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Great exposure to South Island

    “Greatly enjoyed trip. Our trip was the beginning of April. We've done other tour packages around the world and usually struggle with finding trips that are truly active and challenging. We love hiking and are active distance runners. The Rimu trip was one of the best. A hike described by Active Adventures as 'challenging' is very accurately represented. We had an awesome group on our trip. 10 people with roughly similar energy and activity levels. Kim and Ashleigh were excellent guides. I didn't understand before the trip how many meals during the 2 weeks would be prepared by our guides (probably close to 50%). I was a bit leery the first day when I heard the approach. After seeing the remoteness of locations -- I understand the necessity. The guides did a great job on meal preparation -- variety and quality.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Awesome vacation!

    “We did the last 5 days of the Kauri trip (added on to our Tui trip) and it was a lot of fun. There was a good variety of activities and all of them were really enjoyable. We had multiple hikes that were challenging but with great views. The mountain biking was a lot of fun and the guides for that activity were really great. We also got to do the glow worm caves, which was an interesting experience. Andy and Jo were great too, easygoing and knowledgeable. Highly recommend Active Adventures for a fun and active vacation!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • You Are Stronger Than You Realize

    “Many people go on a vacation to relax, sit in the sun, and read. For me, I chose Active Adventures because I wanted to see the world by pushing myself out of my comfort zone and challenging myself both mentally and physically. The Rimu trip did not disappoint as it delivered exactly that! I loved learning a new skill (kayaking), embracing my passion for travelling through the most incredible terrain (cycling), and pushing myself to exceed what I thought I could ever do (climbing up to the Mueller Ridge). From those experiences, particularly the last one, I realized that in life when things seems hopeless or beyond your capability you are stronger than you realize. When you 'actively' engage your mind and body, you CAN climb that mountain!. Every day was an adventure, filled with memories I will treasure for a lifetime and take with me into my job as I train the next generation to build grit for the mountains they are sure to have in their future!
    None of this would have been possible without the incredible guides we had. Kim and Ashleigh were a phenomenal team. They worked so well together and met our every need. I appreciated how they gave us just enough information about where we were going or what we were doing. They allowed us to discover our potential and pushed us on to victory.
    This will definitely not be my last trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, April 2017
  • Amazing adventure

    “Can't say enough about how great our guides were and how amazing our trip to Basecamp was! A defining moment in our lives for sure! Thank you for the most awesome adventure in our lives!”
    – Nova Scotia, Canada EBC, April 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Great hiking, awesome scenery, terrific guides, delicious food and more than comfy accommodations !”
    – Arizona, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Beautiful scenery with some Maori culture too

    “We wanted to see some of the North Island in addition to our Tui trip so we tacked on the last five days of the Kauri trip. What an excellent tour! Tongariro Crossing wins for best hike/activity of the Kauri trip! Almost a month later and I still look at pictures from that hike every day!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • The most fun 2 weeks ever

    “I was fortunate enough to be a member of the March Kiwi trip to New Zealands South Island. Its hard to recount all the wonderful highlights from this vacation as each day brought amazing new sights and experiences as well as too many laughs to mention. In one memorable day we went from a glacier high in the mountains to a beach with endangered dolphins doing flips near the shore. From the Milford Sound waterfall, Abel Tasman boat ride in high seas, beautiful hikes, seeing the milky way under the dark sky at Braemar, to bathroom stops and talking toilets, smashing sandflies, cocktail hours and singing old songs: it was all magical.

    We were so lucky to have Koru and Rachael as the leaders of our exuberant group. They kept us in line, encouraged us on long hikes, cooked great meals and generally took great care of us. After my wonderful Kauri trip I was not surprised that the Kiwi adventure was also well organized with flexible, patient and knowledgeable guides who also knew how to laugh and have fun.

    What really made this trip outstanding was the excellent chemistry of our group (and with our guides). We never lacked for conversation and we laughed and talked nonstop from the moment we convened for breakfast each morning.

    This trip helped awaken my sense of adventure and was the best thing I have ever done for myself. I came on my first hiking vacation by myself and feel like I have made lifelong friends and found a new passion to pursue in my retirement. I am already planning at least one more Active Adventures trip.”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Absolutely amazing!

    “My husband and I did this trip to celebrate our 10-year anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The hikes were fun and challenging (in a good way!); the views were spectacular everywhere we went; and Ken and Kim (our guides) made the trip perfect. They were super knowledgeable and friendly and made everything fun. We felt like we got to see New Zealand in a unique way that you could never get with your standard tour group. We will definitely be looking at doing more tours with Active Adventures in the future!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Rimu

    “A wonderful introduction and exploration of the South Island. Each day was a new experience and an adventure. If you are looking to explore the South Island, this tour hits many of the major highlights and peaks your curiosity to come back and explore further!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Do It.... Don't Wait

    “In total, the Khumbu trip was outstanding. We expected the trek to be physically challenging and several times, those expectations were achieved. Our guides were great, comfortable, never stressed and took care of all the coordination’s, all the details required, from the simple to the more complex. We were totally immersed, enjoyed so many extraordinary moments, were impressed often and in awe of the spectacular views. We were thankful for the ease and harmony that our guides, Mel and Gokul, instilled in us. Thank you two for watching over the flock and for being so tremendously skilled at your jobs. We totally enjoyed the experience, the environment and will hold these memories forever and perhaps even return for another trip in Nepal in the near future. It was great.”
    – New Jersey, United States Khumbu, April 2017
  • Rimu Rules

    “Excellent trip. Content is outstanding. Delivery is outstanding. Execution is flawless. A very well done experience in a beautiful country. Ken and Elder are the PhD's of guides. If all guides were as good as Ken and Elder, you would be a publicly traded company with a stock value rivaling Apple.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • couple from Little Rock

    “My husband and I had been thinking about a trip to New Zealand for at least 5 years but planning it seemed overwhelming. When a friend told us about her trip with Active New Zealand we decided to look into the options. It was everything we had dreamed it would be and more. There just could not have been a better way for us to actually see and do all that we did in 2 weeks. Kudos to our wonderful guides, Amanda and Holly!!! I have put out 2 ferns on my front porch to remind me of them and of our once in a lifetime trip.”
    – Arkansas, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Best vacation yet!

    “When my wife and I started talking about how we wanted to celebrate our 10 year anniversary we started to think big. We had come across pictures of New Zealand. We started looking at Lord of the Rings Tours but they seemed to focus more seeing the studios or showing up at a photo stop. We wanted something more adventurous. After searching online for awhile we found the Active Adventures site. Fast forward a year and we were landing in Christchurch getting ready to kick off the tour! We both had high expectations for the trip, and man did it deliver!
    It seemed like every day we got to see scenery that took our breath away. We loved the physical activity, the sense of accomplishment every day”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Active

    “The trip was the best trip ever! The guides were wonderful and the sites were breathtaking. We were on the South Island, which is amazing! We were able to take a small plane into the Siberian Valley, which was an adventure in itself. Our group was small (8), which was really great. We all got along really well.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Rimu March 2017

    “It was an amazing trip that covered most of the South Island. Dani and Liana did a fabulous job making sure each of us got the most out of our trip. They are full of life and energy. it was a joy to have them as our guides.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • worth all of the sweat and laughs

    “I was on the Rimu trip through much of the South Island with tour guides Kim and Ash. I was only able to make 8 days of the trip because I had a prior commitment to meet a family member in the North Island. So my review will only be able to cover my 8 days, although I believe the trip was for a total of 14 days. The trip was excellent on many levels. The tour leaders were outstanding. They drove us in a cool bus, made most of our 3 meals a day and provided snacks in the bus. They lead us on the hikes and activities and seemed to make all arrangements(along with the cool Active Adventures office team support)for our journeys. Our guides were both in their mid 20's and I have to say the most positive and mature people I have ever met. They kept us on schedule and showed us a good variety of terrain in the South Island. New Zealand is really amazing. At times it reminded me of Alaska and also northern California perhaps Hawaii as well. The vegetation is beautiful, lush and the scenery incredible. We were in their Fall October months and so we did have some wet weather, but nothing that stopped us from enjoying the trip. I attended this journey as a single person and that was not a problem because there were 3 other women on the trip and we just were able to share hotel rooms which was great. I chose the Hiking Option through Nelson Lakes and that was an amazing and challenging journey. The real reward for me was making it up the very steep parts, over rocks and lots of tree roots. In the beginning of the trip I was not sure I was in good enough physical shape. I am a tennis player and skier and like to hike and walk a lot but after a few days hiking I found out that I could handle it . That was a big relief because I really wanted to enjoy the trip to the best of my ability. I also have to say that I lucked out because our group was really outstanding. They came from all over the USA and Canada and they were a fun and upbeat team. We were also close in age and that was also interesting in terms of our professional lives and personal cross roads.This turned out to be the perfect experience for me. It kicked me up a notch in terms of physical demands of day after day exercise and reminded me of being in camp as a child, but showed me a beautiful country that I will hopefully some day return to see more of.”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Rimu, March 2017

    “Thank you for sharing New Zealand with us! Dani and Liana are amazing women, we loved getting to know them and appreciate how hard they worked to make sure that our trip was everything it could be.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • “Great trip with fun and knowledgable guides. Accommodations and food were great.”
    – Washington, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Tui Trip-March 2017

    “I cannot say enough positive things about how wonderful and seamless this trip was from start to finish! The timing for every piece of our journey was impeccable, and I could tell Active Adventures has honed their craft well! We have recommended this to many of our friends and family, as this was a trip of a lifetime for me and my husband!
    David and Tonya Ward
    Colorado USA”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Extraordinary experience!

    “This adventure was perfect in every way. We appreciate all the thought that went into the planning, to make it that way. It had just the right balance of hiking, biking, and kayaking, as well as of rigorous days and relaxing ones. Days that had to involve longish bus travel were appropriately broken up. The two things we appreciated most were the skill, competence, and temperament of our leaders, Tory and Jordie, who were able to rise to every occasion; and the way the trip allowed for different fitness and interest levels: I couldn't have done the strenuous hiking my husband did, and loved the kayak or hiking options provided. Extremely well organized for everyone's enjoyment.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A terrific trip

    “It is hard to say enough about our Rimu trip with Jordan and Tory as our trip leaders. We were fortunate to have good weather and a great group but the planning and just plain hard work of Active Adventures and our trip leaders is what made it so memorable. For my wife and I, a particular plus, and what made the trip possible for us, are the options offered if one member of a couple doesn't feel comfortable with the more challanging parts of the trip.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A life-changing adventure

    “Getting off my plane jet-lagged with almost no hiking experience I really did not know what to expect from my Kauri trip. I neednt have worried- our amazing guides, Jo and Andy, had everything covered. With their encouragement and expertise I was able to complete all the activities on our tour. My biggest accomplishment was hiking the Tongariro Alpine crossing with my group. We spent almost 7 hours on this challenging trail and when the fog cleared we were treated to spectacular views. We also spent a fun day racing down beautiful forest trails on our mountain bikes. Our group was also treated to two memorable water activities. The first was the optional rafting adventure on class 5 rapids that we decided to do on a rainy day. The other activity was exploring Waitomo caves. The pictures we bought from the sponsoring companies highlighted what amazing experiences they both were. Seeing pictures of our group in a little raft perched on top of the rapids half covered by water perfectly captures the moment. Tubing in the Waitomo glowworm (actually maggots but that does not sound as exciting) caves was unlike anything I had experienced. Floating in the darkness, jumping over small waterfalls and seeing glowworms on the ceiling was a fitting end to our wonderful journey.

    Before this trip I would never have considered myself to be adventurous but now I am eager for my next challenge. This was my first Active Adventures journey and I am currently making plans for one or two more within the next year. Active and its guides put together a trip that met all our needs. Andy and Jo took care of all the logistics. Not only did they safely navigate the roads and hotel accommodations but along the way they enthusiastically told us about all aspects of New Zealand past and present. Everywhere we went people greeted them as friends and gave us wonderful service. After a long day of hiking we would take a quick shower and within an hour Jo would produce wonderful healthy dinners including beautiful salads, curry, lasagna, barbecue and desserts. I also enjoyed the camaraderie of our little group and appreciated what interesting and supportive people they all were.”
    – New York, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • An awesome country and fantastic trip operator

    “We saw the motto for New Zealand when we arrived at the airport - open minds, open spaces, open hearts - and this describes perfectly our experience. Active Adventures embodies these words by taking us to incredible places and having kind, thoughtful and passionate guides.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • A Great Eight Days

    “My wife, Shanen, and I had a goal of running a marathon on all seven continents and our seventh took place on March 18, in Rotorua, NZ. So two days after completing our goal, we returned to Christchurch and met up with our guides, Hillary and Dan, along with our fellow travelers. As good fortune would have it we all clicked as a group and off we went.

    For the remainder of our journey it was clear that both Hillary and Dan took great joy in what they do. Furthermore, and of great importance to us, they ensured meals had met our vegetarian and vegan needs. We were never made to feel our dietary needs were inconvenient to them and they were handled in such a way that all of us were able to enjoy our group meals.

    The actual adventure was well planned out and the expectations of each day were always explained. Our group was one that started together, made sure all finished and enjoyed the adventure.”
    – Arizona, United States Tui, April 2017
  • “We saw some truly amazing sights which included the stunning Kauri trees. We were fortunate to see the Father at dusk and it seemed even more impressive as the sun was setting. The whole trip was a real experience and certainly challenged us! Lots of really worthwhile hikes including the fabulous Alpine crossing. That IS something people who consider themselves hikers should do (even if moaning and groaning along the way!)”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Fantastic time, sometimes strenuous always worth it

    “Had an excellent time. W trek was sometimes very tough but definitely worth the effort. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They took good care of us throughout. The trip was well organized and smoothly run. We will absolutely be looking to active adventures for similar trips in the future.”
    – Kentucky, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Wonderful Manuka Trip With Active Adventures, New Zealand

    “Hi, I'm back home in the USA after my Manuka adventure with Active Adventures, New Zealand. I would like to compliment everyone in your company that I came in contact with....from my initial contact with Fiona to my pre-trip emails with Lynette everything was handled with complete professionalism. This was my first adventure with your company but I'm pretty sure that it will not be my last.
    Everything during the trip went forward in a very efficient manner. I was amazed at the energy level and efficiency of our guides Amanda and Holly. The amount of work that they were able to accomplish during the course of a day, their energy levels and very positive attitudes made the trip enjoyable for all of us clients. Also, their knowledge of their country and their willingness to share made the trip even more enjoyable for me.
    Again, thank you to all and especially to Amanda and Holly....I really enjoyed my first visit to New Zealand.”
    – Arizona, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • “An awesome trip. Loved the hikes, the bike ride into Wanaka and the kayaking at Okarito and Milford Sound. We had glorious food, lots of laughs at group dinners and shared our love of travel.”
    – Montana, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Can I come back NOW?

    “I had been planning a trip to New Zealand for decades and seriously for several years before I went. Normally I do not travel in groups. For New Zealand I thought it would be good due to the distance and initially thinking I'd be traveling alone since I wanted to enjoy the country via outdoor activities and not have to plan it all which I have always done. (As it turns out a couple of good friends joined me on the trip as well!)

    From the moment my conversations with Active Adventures began and continue today, everything is top notch. It does not matter who I speak with. I have changed dates of travel and the trip and every interaction has been great.

    I assumed that anyone interested in such a trip would be "good people" and I was right! Our trip was a group of 7 independent people from various walks of life who thoroughly enjoyed each other and were considerate of one another.

    I was so happy to have gone when the tourist season was not in full bloom as I prefer nature to tourists. ( - ;

    From the moment that Nick and Jess picked us up at the airport they were a delight. I was surprised this was the first time they worked together. One thing I especially want to point out is that when we had bus trouble, no one knew it (I did because I was at the front with Nick and just noticed something sounded a bit different and he made a call to the office.) Nick and Jess handled the situation and when there was a plan, in his understated manner, we went on our way to the sheep farm as scheduled and another guide came with another bus and we didn't miss a beat. (I did prefer our newer bus for many reasons but most importantly we got to where we needed to go seemlessly and professionally.) Part of what impressed me is just how responsible and maturely Nick handled this and any other surprise. Jess, as well, was amazing in this situation and in taking care of all of us.

    In terms of the trip itself. Beautiful. The country is beautiful. I hope you manage to keep it that way. There certainly is concern on my part for that. Everywhere we went Nick and Jess made sure we were all happy and taken care of on the hikes. I liked learning about nature and am always interested in learning more.

    I loved everywhere we traveled.”
    – Indiana, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Awesome Challenge

    “The TUI trip provided a wide-range of outdoor activities in an unbelievable setting on the South Island. Liked the mix of hiking, biking, kayaking and overall area knowledge provided by the guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • The trip of my dreams!

    “The Iguana trip was better than was advertised! I had prepared for the trip to Peru by reading about the history of the area in the book, The Last Days of the Incas, by Kim MacQuarrie. When we visited the many different Inca sites, the history came alive for me. I could picture the great battles, and the capture of the Inca rulers, and the narrow escapes. It was wonderful! Cuzco was a beautiful city surrounded by mountain peaks and full of many good places to eat. After Peru, going to the Galapagos was like a beach vacation in the most beautiful place in the world. We loved snorkeling and seeing the giant land tortoises. We saw every animal associated with the Galapagos and more! I still can't believe I was lucky enough to find this trip with Active Adventures. Top notch all the way around. Thank you to our wonderful guides who we loved!”
    – Texas, United States Iguana, April 2017
  • Amazing Trip!

    “All the activities were well planned, fun & a bit challenging! And the scenery was beautiful. Our guides were well prepared, and informative.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Mar 11,2017 trip with Koru and Rachel

    “My wife and I have been traveling the globe for the past 20 years, with small tour groups about twice a year. This trip was absolutely the best tour we have been on. This was our second time in New Zealand in ten years. The tour guides Koru and Rachel were fantastic , so well organized and hard working. This tour was five star all the way. The sites, accommodations and the food was great.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Summer camp for adults

    “This was my (our) first group trip, and it was like summer camp for adults...except the adults were the kids and the kids (let's say younger adults) played the role of adults.
    We dreamed of this trip 40 years ago (when we were in college) and it did not disappoint”
    – Connecticut, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Stunningly beautiful

    “A continual immersion in nature and it's beauty very capably guided by Super- Pepo with his daily Superplan.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • “Excellent, we had a great time and the team was very fun and supportive. Liana and Greg were first class and I would highly recommend them.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • “The trip was great and our leaders were first class. Greg and Liana were fantastic and they made the trip doable and great fun.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Outstanding New Zealand

    “It was a wonderful trip, with great guides, and activities in a beautiful country. The variety of experiences and scenery make me want to return. Here I thought I would make just one trip to New Zealand.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • BEST trip I've ever been on!

    “My 17-year old daughter and I went on the Khombu Trip March 12 - 26, 2017 and had the most memorable, amazing trip ever. I've had the privilege of seeing a lot of the world, and this trip to Nepal blew me away. Mel and Gokul were incredible guides who could answer every question we asked, knew all about the history of every place we visited, and you could tell they loved sharing the beauty of Nepal with us. Even our pre-planning was a breeze with the help of”
    – Colorado, United States Khumbu, April 2017
  • An amazing experience!

    “I loved this trip!! We had a great group of 13, with two guides who were professional, flexible, knowledgeable and just as kind as could be. Every aspect of the trip was developed and planned to maximize our time and enjoyment!! The countryside is so beautiful it takes your breath away!! I highly recommend this trip!!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “I have been to some pretty far away places around the world like Cambodia, Tanzania, Norway and France. As unique and fun as they all were, none of them can top the amazing experience I had in Nepal with Active Adventures. Everything was incredible throughout the whole trip, the food was incredible, every lodge we stayed in was great. The people above all were so nice and caring. The sightseeing was mind blowing and beautiful. This trip was everything I expected it to be and more.”
    – Colorado, United States Khumbu, April 2017
  • Best trip ever!

    “We have been traveling several times a year for the last 18 years and this was the best trip we have ever been on. Rachael and Koru were great. They should be paid double for their great service. This trip was well planned with many breaks during the day. All the hikes were in beautiful areas from rain forest to flowing rivers to the glaciers. The food was wonderful. I was amazed at what Rachael and Koru would cook for us. New Zealand is a beautiful country and I thank Active Adventures for taking us there.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Awesome Rimu Adventure

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime--beyond awesome in so many ways. The scenery was incredible, the activities were varied and wonderful, the lodgings and meals were memorable, and, best of all, the company and guides were seamlessly delightful. We got to experience places of amazing natural beauty and encounter wildlife that we never could have managed to access on our own. We were nurtured and guided by our guides, Greg and Liana, as well as given just the right amount of free time and solitude. Greg seemed to know everything about history, geology, botany, ornithology, and culture, and could answer every question we could think of with authority and humor. Liana was a stalwart, never-complaining chef, and a strong, responsible, kind guide. Amazingly, the weather cooperated to give us incredible outings --for instance, the day before we went to Milford Sound it rained 1.2 meters, but when we were there not a drop of rain, and perfect kayaking conditions as well as hundreds and hundreds of effervescent waterfalls. I will never forget this adventure, and never forget the wonderful people I was privileged to share it with.”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Not a thing missing from this trip!

    “Our guide, Jess, was absolutely perfect. She was extremely knowledgeable about the Galápagos and amazing with the logistics and organizational part of the trip. We waited for nothing and had top-notch service everywhere we went. Award-winning trip in every way. I would not hesitate to book with Active Adventures again. Thank you, thank you, thank you!”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • Manuka with Claire and Jess

    “I loved this trip because it was conducted in a small group which made it easy to become acquainted. Not enough can be said for how Claire and Jess made this trip what it was. They were professional, informative, friendly and just great fun. We got lucky with the weather in that we had two days of light rain with most of the rest of the days near perfectly warm and sunny. The trip was well paced and the locations we visited were simply beautiful. The lodging and food was excellent. This was simply a great trip with a great group of people. The trip ended way too soon for me.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Great Companionshi[

    “Our guides were the best and we had a wonderful group of people traveling with us that made the trip so enjoyable.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Beyond Our High Expectations

    “To anyone who is considering Active Adventures and you're wondering all the things we were; Is it worth the price tag, will I be challenged, can I keep up, will I see a variety of things, will I like the food, will the guides be helpful, good people? The answer to all these questions and more is YES.

    My wife and I waited 7 years to take our dream trip of a lifetime to New Zealand. We placed our trust in Active Adventures and I can never describe how amazing the trip was. Truthfully, they made it more than a trip or vacation. It was a true life experience. From the moment we inquired years ago, our friends at AA kept in touch, were never pushy, but encouraged us to be part of an adventure with them.

    After we paid our money, my mother was told she had stage 4 Cancer. When I called and told the staff at Active, they told me whatever they had to do to work with me to make the trip happen now or at another time, they would work with me. Luckily, she's doing great and we were able to go. The point of the story is that you are more than a Master Card payment to this company. They treat you with respect and kindness from day one and the way they handles that situation told me everything I needed to know about them as a company and as people.

    What truly made the trip was our guides. DK and Elder are two of the most genuine, amazing people you could ever meet. Their attention to detail, work effort and knowledge of the country was unreal. The food that the lads cooked was better than what we had in restaurants on our trip and the restaurant food was great. I could go on and on about the boys and how encouraging they are, as well as helpful, friendly, as well as how very professional they are. But honestly, they are amazing people who did everything they could to ensure each person on the trip got the best experience they could in their own way.

    The lodging was awesome. I could go on and on but I'll simply state that each place you stay, as well as each place you visit, was a different experience. We were always very comfortable, even in the hut after 7 hours of an uphill climb. Though I could have slept on rocks that night and it would have been perfect!

    The bus, which I was most concerned about, was actually very comfortable. With so many beautiful places to see, the rides were quick and the boys had facts, stories, and history about pretty much every site outside the window.

    As for the hikes, the biking, the kayaking; the views and landscapes are surreal. It cannot be described. You need to experience it. But do not be discouraged or worry about "not keeping up." The guides make sure that everyone is involved no matter what the skill or fitness level.

    The people you meet on these trips are just amazing. We were so fortunate to meet such beautiful people. They helped make the experience.

    In summary, there are many companies to chose from. We were very lucky in finding Active Adventures. DK and Elder, along with all the staff, are the reason the trip was as amazing as it was. Everything was so well planned and never could we have seen so much without their precise planning and organization. New Zealand was the experience of a lifetime and we owe it all to Active Adventures.

    Cheers,
    Steve
    Newfoundland and Labrador
    Canada”
    – Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada Rimu, April 2017
  • “Everything ran absolutely as seamlessly as possible, Congrats to the Active Adventures team. The weather was perfect. Our guide, Pepo was terrific. He was attentive to all of our needs and safety, and fielded every question with depth of knowledge and intelligence. As a native of the Island he is sensitive and cares deeply about their well being and continuance. This showed through in all his words and actions. He displayed kindness and humor and was generally just a great traveling companion.

    I had read much before my trip and was not let down by what the Islands had to offer. The trip as a whole offered a quite perfect blend of activities, relaxation and unique new experiences. All the accommodations were at least just fine, a couple quite splendid. The food was delicious (fishatarian) and most bountiful.

    My only wish is that the airline scheduling involving arrival and then transfers from Quito to the Island worked out a little more smoothly. This is not a criticism of Active Adventures, but more of the airlines. So the bookend of the trip were not nearly the fun of the trip itself.”
    – Texas, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • A great experience

    “Overall experience was excellent. Claire and Jess were very knowledgeable. They also made a point to make unscheduled stops at other great locations on the way when we had time to do so. The food couldn't have been better. The accommodations were also excellent.”
    – Ohio, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Humbled Hiker

    “Beautiful country with kind beautiful people. I was challenged by the hiking and impressed with the love of the guides for their country.
    Will never forget sitting in the Angulus Hut listening to the languages from all over the world. People sharing their meals in happy, grateful awe of being in a very special gathering of people sharing the wonders of the world.

    I considered myself an experienced hiker, taking on steep, long trails living in Colorado. I was humbled by the challenging backpack tramp to Angulus Hut. Survived the rock scrambling that wasn't part of my skill set”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • The spirit of New Zealand

    “The ten days of magical waterfalls, lakes, Kauri trees, geo thermal parks and Maori cultural experiences was a perfect fit to the South Island Rimu trip. Sprinkle in gloworms, sand boarding, a mountain bike lesson and I am very grateful I left New Zealand with the North Island magical memories.”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Another Great Active Adventures Vacation!

    “I've come to expect excellent vacation experiences from Active Adventures and the Condor trip with Arturo did not let me down. It was another fantastic adventure with a great itinerary, amazing views, outstanding guiding and a terrific group of fellow travelers.”
    – Connecticut, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Very Impressed!

    “I was very impressed with how organized and professional our tour was. Our guides, Phil and Ashley, were incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, PATIENT, hardworking, and of course, friendly and fun! It was a tight schedule and they managed to get us all where we were supposed to go on time and in one piece (and well fed). I highly recommend this tour. What a beautiful country!”
    – Oregon, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Great Outdoor Adventure!!

    “If you enjoy group travel and want to have some challenging and fun hiking, kayaking and cycling adventures that would be hard to organize on your own--this is the trip for you!”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Rimu NZ 2016

    “Our Rimu tour was an amazing composite of beautiful NZ nature, amazing co-adventurerers, knowledgable and friendly guides, and well-planned, active kayaking, hiking, and bicycling.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Unbelievable vacation!

    “What can I say! This was the best vacation we have ever taken as a family. I have been looking for a trip with activity, and I came to the right place. From the beginning, Greg and Tess made us feel right at home. The kids loved hiking and the incredible scenery. On our free day, our entire family went skydiving to complete our amazing trip. Experiences in life are so important to us and this is not one that will be forgotten. The photographers, Jacob and Hamish, were great as well. By the end of the trip, we truly felt like our family had grown by four! Thank you for everything and I would definitely recommend this trip to others!”
    – Florida, United States Tui, March 2017
  • “Generally enjoyed the trip but I fell down on the second day of the W-trek in Patagonia. We Had great tour guides and company which made up for the disappointment of not being able to fully participate in the trip.”
    – Singapore, Singapore Condor, March 2017
  • Rimu trip January 2017

    “In spite of my unanticipated fitness changes, I was accommodated as if I was someone's favorite grandmother. Because the trip was to be a retirement celebration for my husband, I was reluctant to cancel because of unexpected knee problems so hoped for the best. And it was the best! I was given permission to do what I could, and assisted to do more at other times. I couldn't ask for more except to return after knee replacement this spring!”
    – Iowa, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • AMAZING!

    “From the moment we met in the hotel lobby in Chile to our last good bye in Argentina, it was the a perfect adventure!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Even better than expected, and I expected a lot

    “This was a truly awe inspiring trip---from the mountains to the rain forest to Milford Sound. A friend of mine advised me not to go on this trip. He said if I did, I would never have anything better to look forward to and he may have been right.
    Realizing that an extraordinary amount of work is done by the office and support staff, I still have to say that this trip would not be what it was without the guides, Nick and Tory, going above and beyond what anyone could have expected. They have got to be among the best.
    Thank you to the entire gang at Active Adventures.”
    – South Dakota, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Whatever the dream, if its New Zealand, find a way!!

    “Where do I even start?!?!? NZ has been #1 on my bucket list for as long as I can remember. It wasn't until I realized I couldn't wait forever for that perfect time, to have X amount of money saved, to have a companion to go with me...that I decided to JUST GO ALREADY! And I suggest you do the same! Don't wait another moment. I went alone but found the most wonderful companions I could have ever hoped for! Even got a great roommate. The guides, Claire and Jess were PHENOMENAL! I started crying off and on a few days before the end of the trip because I became that attached to them and knew I would never see them again. Leaving at the airport, I couldn't even speak I was so upset and saying goodbye. So wonderful and beyond knowledgeable! I miss Jess' cooking and Claire's coffee already and I just got back yesterday!!! But seriously folks, the Manuka was beyond what expectations I could have ever dreamed. Yes it was indeed physical, so be ready for that; but there were some flatter, easier options for those that chose to not exert so much energy. There were a couple of times I wanted to just quit, but Claire and/or Jess kept me going saying it would be worth it (for the view AND the accomplishment) and MAN WERE THEY RIGHT!!!

    The food, the company, the knowledge, the laughs, the comradery, the views, the EXPERIENCES....all of it was TOP NOTCH! I have my memories that will last a lifetime; best money I have EVER spent.

    Don't wait! GO! I plan to go back in a couple of years to do the entire Milford Track. That's my only regret is that I didn't spend the extra to do that. But that's on me, not AA!”
    – Texas, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • 2017 Manuka Trekl with Claire and Jess

    “Awesome trip.....
    New Zealand is a beautiful country with plenty of great hikes and sights to see. Jess and Claire were fantastic guides. Would go again in a heartbeat!

    Paul”
    – Massachusetts, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • “I would like to extend kudos to our trip leader Ken. He was an inspiration to me. He encouraged me on hikes I was questioning myself about and gave me praise every step of the way. You are the BOMB Ken. Also, he is a very courteous driver. i felt very safe with him driving.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, March 2017
  • “The Manuka trip was fantastic!! Our guides, Michelle and Mel were outstanding. They took care of every detail, always available for any questions we had. Super leadership skills, very friendly and approachable. I loved that each day Michelle would describe our hike and the hike was exactly how she had explained it - great preparation! The meals they prepared were fantastic, as were our accommodations. Michelle carefully detailed the plan for each day, so we always were aware of where we were going, how long it would take, etc. Everything was on time, again, great organization. So fantastic to travel so far and simply enjoy because all the details are taken care of !!”
    – California, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • Rimu with D K and Elder

    “Given that we were 20 years older than any of the other travellers we were with, we felt very cared for and found both of the guides were able to taylor each experience to our comfort level. The guides couldn't have been more delightful. Our whole experience was extremely bonding with our all on our "party bus"!”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • excellent Kauri trip - 1st 5 days

    “Excellent in all respects: great guide - very friendly, very informative, very accommodating, excellent driver, and an excellent cook. Trip was well steaped in Maori tradition and legend; great itinerary - all the activities were enjoyable and at an appropriate level of exertion; there were only 4 of us on the 1st 5 days, all very compatible, and that was great; I'm only sad that I didn't sign up for the 2nd half of the tour; I now feel I have a good sense of the north half of the North Island; loved the huge Kauri trees.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • excellent Rimu tour

    “Guides were great; accomodations were great to ok; food was good; scenery was spectacular; activities were challenging and enjoyable”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • General

    “Tremendous guides that tailored our Active Adventures to the guests, weather and environment. Awesome time and a tremendous group of fellow travelers”
    – Massachusetts, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • we did it all!!!!

    “This was an amazing trip, thanks to the great group company, beautiful scenery, fabulous organisation, and especially our great guides Rachel and Kim. They were able to share their love for New Zealand and all their youthful energy and enthusiasm in an incredibly contagious way(including the horrible flu germs that went around our group)...many thanks! Looking back on all we did and saw, I really can't think of one highlight that overall supercedes anything else, but for me personally their gentle support on our three day challenging Nelson Lakes hike was invaluable. I would go on another Active trip in a heartbeat, and so look forward to hearing what you folks are up to as I settle back into life in the Northern Hemisphere.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Rimu, March 2017
  • “This was truly the trip of a lifetime!! Amazing guides, perfect size, and the most beautiful scenery made this an unforgettable adventure! I did not want to leave when it was over. I would recommend Active Adventures to anyone!!”
    – Virginia, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Out of this world!

    “I can't believe our Active Adventures Rimu trip has come to an end! What a truly fantastic 2 weeks traveling around the South Island: incredible weather; wonderful, strong and inspiring people; landscape to die for and 2 amazingly kind and caring guides for whom nothing was too much. I still have Ed Sheeran's "castle on a hill" spinning around in my head - it's the song of the holiday! Thank you all so much for a magical fortnight.”
    – , Switzerland Rimu, March 2017
  • wonderful Active Adventure

    “The following sums my trip up. My sister said that after hearing my enthusiatic recounting of my trip, she wants to go to NZ.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Every view a winner!

    “It was truly a dream come true. From the incredible views to the tireless efforts of our guides, Claire and Jess, an incomparable experience. There were so many experiences packed into two weeks, I'd already forgotten some until I began to review my photos. I am fortunate to have been able to experience the Manuka trip.”
    – Texas, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • Lou D'Agostino's Condor

    “Dear Friends,
    Certainly I was predisposed to expect a great time because of three other positive Active trips but this time was especially memorable. Firstly, although I have always met interesting people on Active trips, this one was filled with the most friendly and athletic folks ever. Not only generous in spirt but quick to help each other to be certain all went well. Yes, there were a few instances where I had to remind myself that 'getting out of my comfort zone' was part of the experience. It was all good.
    I have always been intrigued by 'Cape Horn' and dreamed of someday getting as close as I could, so for me, this was my 'trip of a lifetime'. It was made particularly enjoyable by our chief guide and companion Cynthia Villadares.
    All the best,
    Louis”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.