Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • High Flying Epic Adventure

    “Andrew and Jean Marc are the best! They feed off of each other, with knowledge, professionalism and a great sense of humor. It makes the long days so enjoyable that I wanted to keep on trekking. I would recommend this trip to everyone.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • AMAZING!

    “The Dolomites are so dramatic and fantastic - just like a post card, loved the trip and how Active layed it out.”
    – Illinois, United States Dolomiti, July 2017
  • Great Time with Grandchildren!

    “Varied experiences. Saw much of Peru which many people don't get to experience.
    It was a perfect trip to take with our grandchildren.”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Great Trip with our Grandchildren!

    “We loved seeing so much of Peru with two of our granddaughters. Our guide, Zac, made the trip fantastic!”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Ecuador and the edge of the Amazon

    “Great trip and very organised. The guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. He was also patient and flexible with parts of the group. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were very well fed with amazing food throughout the trip.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tapir, July 2017
  • Exceeded my Expectations. A Trip to Treasure.

    “Active adventures provided an outstanding New Zealand experience. Our guides (Tory and Jordie) went above and beyond during our South Island Rimu trip. Their passion for the outdoors as well as the traditions and culture of NZ enhanced the two week journey. As guides, I was most impressed by their attention to detail and safety. I appreciated the warm smiles, gems of knowledge and yummy meals on even the challenging hike days. For my birthday, during the three day hike at Nelson Lakes National Park, Tory and Jordie surprised me with two delicious cakes to share with my new hiking family. A moment I will treasure, enhanced by the breath taking views of the alpine lake at Angelus Hut.

    The beauty of the country surpassed my expectations, particularly sites like Milford Sound and Mt. Cook. Such a diverse, lush landscape, each hike offered a unique perspective of the stunning views. Combined with the kayaking and biking options, allowed for an exciting and interesting mix. The highlight of my two weeks was my heli-hike on the Tasman Glacier, such an unforgettable experience.

    I'm looking forward to future Active Adventure trips, but will definitely keep a little piece of NZ in my heart. A truly bucket list destination.


    Gigi (from The Bahamas)”
    – West Virginia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Hiking Mont Blanc

    “All the hotels were excellent. Much like the other 4 trips I took with Active Adventures, the guides were well organized, the food excellent and the tour was well thought out.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Flawless!

    “The Tui trip from Active Adventures was absolutely fantastic! Every detail was so well planned and executed. The places we visited were gorgeous, and each new day seemed even more beautiful than the prior. Our guides truly made the trip memorable....I don't see how Kim and Ken could have given us a more awesome experience. Thank you AA!”
    – Ohio, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Peru in June 2017

    “It is easy to love Peru traveling with Active Adventures! Cynthia was absolutely fantastic, made sure all went smooth and really took care of us. Great memories were made.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, July 2017
  • Hiking in the Alps

    “The trip with Active Adventures to the Mount Blanc area was great. The scenery is unbelievable in all three countries. The hikes were all wonderful and yet very demanding. That made the trip even more rewarding for us. We got to do things we never have done before on the off day. Paragliding in Chamonix was a first and fabulous. All of the small towns we travelled to were lovely. The accommodations in these towns were great. Nice small hotels that all were so much a part of those towns. All of the meals were also great. The lunches were just the right amount and much of the local food such as cheese. All of the dinners were very good.
    Our tour guides were great. Jean-Marc knows the Mount Blanc area so well. Andy was always available and helpful. Together they made the trip a pleasure.”
    – CA, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Active Adventures is the Best!

    “The itinerary, varied activities, guides Andy and Jo, and exposure to North Island culture, history, the outdoors, and the landscape were the very best I can imagine. I would not hesitate to travel with Active Adventures again in the future.”
    – Vermont, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Memorable Trip!

    “I celebrated my 68th birthday on the pass between France and Italy, what a great day. This trip takes you over many passes, up and down valleys with spectacular views. Our guides knew the way across snow fields, roaring streams, the best rest stops and the perfect meadows for our lunch buffets. They take care of everything so you can just enjoy the journey.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Puts the "Active" in Active Adventures

    “What a great trip! The variety of stunning vistas in New Zealand is something to behold. We had a really fun group and our guides -- Kim and Ashleigh -- were amazing! We were on the move every day, seeing every corner of the South Island, getting in a pretty good workout most days through hiking, biking or kayaking, and eating wonderful meals, many prepared by our guides. I would highly recommend this trip!”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Great Time and a Wonderful Trip!

    “New Zealand is beautiful and there is no better way to see it than on an Active Adventures trip. The activities, the views, the guides, the food and the camaraderie make it special!”
    – Georgia, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Outstanding Adventure Vacation

    “Our Active Adventures trip was outstanding! The entire process was a tremendous experience. Staff were responsive and friendly during the "sign up" phase. Our guides Jordie and Holly are two of the finest professional, friendly and knowledgeable guides we've had the pleasure to work with. Shout out for both of these wonderful people! They did a marvelous job managing group dynamics to ensure everyone was motivated and individual needs were met. Well trained and both have mastered the skillful art of quality customer service. Keep up the good work!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, July 2017
  • TMB 10 Jun 17

    “This was my first trip with Active, and it was far more that I even expected! The guides were truly outstanding and made the adventures fun, informative, and challenging to whatever level we wanted. The route and itinerary had clearly been selected with great care. I felt that we experienced the very best of this gorgeous area, with a nice variety of adventures. The logistics, meals, and accommodations were first-rate and a welcome end to each day's events. For all we got and the memories we made, I feel that the Active tour was a great value and the very best way to see the Alps.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • My Mont Blanc Circuit

    “This trip not only provided an upfront tour of one of the most beautiful places in Europe,but with amazing guidance, it pushes you out of your comfort zone both physically and mentally. In addition you make new wonderful friends who encourage you along the way. Almost everyone on our trip had been on multiple Active Adventures before which shows what a wonderful company it is. We started planning our next trip before we flew home.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Galapagos

    “We felt that we had the guide of the Century...Pablo...he should be a National Treasure! His enthusiasm, knowledge, sensitivity, thoughtfulness...fantastic!”
    – Otago, New Zealand Tortuga, June 2017
  • Stunning Beauty of Mont Blanc

    “This was my fourth trip with Active and I will return again. First, the trip is well planned to challenge you while maximizing the exhilaration of completing the TMB section each day. We were lucky to have sun and cool breezes to keep us going. Jean-Marc's (Chamonix mountaineer) familiarity with the trail, it's mountains, culture, fauna, flora and history was refreshing, informative and humorous. Fantastic guide. Most of all I felt gratitude for the stunning beauty we were surrounded by each day and the new perspective in which to view this impressive, snow covered peak, Mont Blanc. Add to this great food, comfortable accommodations and the expert hands of both Andy (Active guide) and Corinne (Chamonix chef and logistics ) and wonderful new friends...all ingredients for an unforgettable 12 days of mountain magic.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, June 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed!

    “My first comment is that this IS an Active Adventure. My husband and I consider ourselves fit, as we regularly run, do gym workouts, and added weekly hikes in the months leading up to our trip. We both found the Rimu hikes to be a challenge. I mean this in a good way. The hikes were the most difficult I've ever done, and I am so proud of myself for my accomplishments. My advice to potential travelers is to train hard. The vistas are absolutely worth the effort. Our enthusiastic, knowledgeable, energetic guides Kim and Ashleigh did everything to make this a trip of a lifetime for us. We traveled in late March and lucked into mostly perfect weather; the few times weather did not cooperate the guides shifted activities without missing a beat. The guides also set a positive, fun tone for our group. We really bonded during the trip. Food was great, accommodations were for the most part good to great. In all, I would not hesitate to recommend Rimu to anyone looking for a truly active New Zealand vacation. I for one cannot imagine experiencing the beauty of the South Island any other way.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • Winter Rimu - May/June 2017

    “It truly was the trip of a lifetime. The guide was a local Kiwi who really knew her stuff in terms of hiking and activities, culture and local legends and flora and fauna. Could not have asked for a better guide. If you're lucky enough to get Amanda L. to guide your trip you're in for a real treat :)”
    – Massachusetts, United States Winter Rimu, June 2017
  • Our Peruvian Adventure

    “We had an amazing trip with Active Adventures - South America. Everything was extremely well-planned, and our guide was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and always more than willing to share tips, facts, and insights about her country. The trip from our first meeting to our parting at the airport was active, filled with amazing sights, and very well coordinated. We were thrilled to hike the Inca Trail, to see amazing archaeological sites in the Cuzco area and to explore the jungle and Lake Titicaca regions. We will definitely be looking at Active Adventures for trips in the future. Thanks for providing a wonderful and unforgettable holiday.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Fantabulous!

    “This is our second Active trip and it was equally as great as the first! The guides were fantastic. You all know how to take care of active adventurer types. We lucked out on the weather and the views were stunning. Such a gorgeous part of the world. Another check-off on the bucket list.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, June 2017
  • Awesome Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime! Everything about the trip went really smoothly and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the trip with my parents! Could not have had better guides either, Erick and Danny were a lot of fun and really took care of the group! Amazing trip that I will always remember.”
    – Arkansas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • One More Off the Bucket List

    “Great adventure trip with a multitude of activities”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Peru Jaguar trip we took in May, was the most exciting and adventurous trip we have ever made in our lives! At 70, I was skeptical as to whether I could complete the Inca Trail or not. With Johan's help and support, I not only accomplished my goal, but was extremely satisfied with our total active adventure trip. It seemed as if every time I turned my head, there was another exhilarating scene to photograph. The rest of the trip included the amazon rainforest, and spending the night with a local family on Lake Titicaca which was great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to explore the world's unknown places that only a few select get to experience. Our guide Erick Farfan was an exceptional young man who went out of his way not just for us, but the entire group. I've never had someone so attentive to every detail to make all of us happy. His choice of restaurants allowed all of us to experience the local foods and were all very tasty. Kudos to Erick, Johan and the rest of the crew for making my experience once in a lifetime which I will never stop talking about.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • EBC with Dan K

    “I had a great time with wonderful team members, guides and porters. I will remember this trip as one of the best and treasure the memories for long, long time.”
    – Massachusetts, United States EBC, June 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “What a great adventure and experience among the wildlife of Galapagos. It's amazing to be able to see so much and be right next to these wonderful animals.
    Pepo was excellent in every way throughout the trip and I can highly recommend both him and Active Adventures to anyone. We will definitely do more trips with Active.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Everything We Could Have Asked For!

    “Our goal was to find an active trip which explored the various wildlife habitats and natural areas of the South Island. The Rimu trip was perfect for that goal! Never a dull moment, Nick and Tory were amazing guides, and even made up a ghost story to spook my wife (at her request)! I can't wait to travel with Active Adventures again!!”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • Amazing Adventure

    “what an amazing adventure we had! we enjoyed every bit of our Jaguar trip and would recommend Active Adventures to anyone who asks! The trip was very well organized and the guides were all informative and amazing. Our main guide, Erick Farfan was the best! he always made sure everything ran smoothly and had to deal with many different personalities on this trip but made it all work. The Inka trail was a tough trail for me due to the altitude but what an amazing feeling once you complete it and arrive at the sun gate! We thoroughly enjoyed the jungle as well as the visit to lake titicaca and our local family that we stayed with. look forward to our next amazing adventure with you! Hoping to do Patagonia soon!”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • You're Never too Old to Try Something New!

    “I had a wonderful holiday. Better than I expected. More Aussies should do this trip. Best experience kayaking on Milford Sound, lovely sunny day, no wind and water like glass. Amazing. Enjoyed all my hikes but learning how to mountain bike ride and enjoy it was also great.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tui, June 2017
  • Family adventure

    “Wonderful way to spend time together being active and exploring”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Excellent As Always

    “The Mustang Trek takes you through the most amazing scenery in a peaceful and serene environment. Very few tourists/hikers (especially compared to Annapurna Base Camp hike) which is an absolute plus.”
    – Oregon, United States Mustang, June 2017
  • Would Go Again in a Heartbeat!

    “We have had two wonderful experiences with your company. Each one was a trip of a lifetime. We are so fortunate to have found out about your company. Thank you.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Iguana, June 2017
  • The EBC Trip Exceed Expectations

    “This trip exceeded my expectations, almost solely due to DK, Sheree, Bibek and the porter crew. The guys work hard, have a good sense of humor and go out of their way to answer any and all questions.
    The culture of Nepal and the trekking region was an eye opener and something we should all experience.
    A must do trek for any world adventurer!”
    – Alberta, Canada EBC, June 2017
  • Galapagos, Fabulous Week!

    “I enjoyed our trip to the Galapagos very much. I don't think I realized how much I was learning while I was in the islands. It was only after returning state side that I began reflecting, and was amazed at how much I learned about how both the marine, and land animals, have adjusted to life in The Galapagos. It's truly an amazing place!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Perfect Blend of Activities

    “The trip was just the right mix of planned activities and personal time. The snorkeling, hikes, kayaking, informational tours and bike trips were not too strenuous and a great way to explore the wonders of this remarkable place. Our guide, Pablo, was extremely knowledgeable about the place he has called home for 20+ years. His guiding and people skills are among the best I have experienced. We weren't just playing; we were learning every minute of the trip in an enjoyable and casual way. I would heartily recommend this trip to young and old!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Worth Every Penny!

    “I had the pleasure of trekking EBC this May and man, I'm struggling to find words to sum up what I believe to have been a once in a life time experience. DK is a wonderful, knowledgeable, and well respected guide all throughout the Himalayas and all over Nepal. He made the experience what it was for me. His love and passion for the Nepali people always made for a warm welcome and a sense of feeling like family in each tea house along the way. This was hands down the highlight for me and what ultimately made me extend my travels in a place that feels like home.

    It was important to me that the porters were well looked after and not being taken advantage of, and this company promotes that! The boys (porters), were so friendly it was incredible that these guys carry the weight of others and constantly have a smile on their face - it's inspiring to see and something I learnt from. Thanks Active for choosing such a great group of hardworking individuals and having their best interests at heart.

    Being 23 I know I still have ages of experiences to come my way, but I can confidently say that there won't ever be one quite like it. Active is a great company to book your adventures with - they're well organized, experienced and all around good-hearted people. Next year I hope to find myself in South America and I'll definitely be booking my trekking through Active!

    Thanks again to everyone who made this an epic experience!”
    – Alberta, Canada EBC, June 2017
  • Everest Base Camp Trek!

    “I feel blessed to have gone on the EBC trek. It was more than just waking up early and putting one foot in front of the other to get to the next destination. It was a personal journey, where we all had a chance to interact with the Nepali people, and experience life the way they do. My advice to anyone wanting to do this trek is to laugh and smile on the difficult days, be generous to the ones guiding and helping you, and do as the Nepalese do. Eat dal bhat with your hands, drink up a lot of great tea, and let your guard down on the dance floor (when the opportunity arises)! The trail isn’t easy, but I guarantee as soon as you reach EBC you will feel like a new person! Thank you DK for your thoughtfulness and knowledge of Nepali culture. Thank you Kim for your encouragement and smile on the tough days. Thank you to Suri, our assistant Nepali guide, and the porter men (who are the most humble and strongest people I have ever met). This is much more than a trek, it’s an experience!

    -John Doiron
    Durham, NH - USA”
    – New Hampshire, United States EBC, June 2017
  • EBC Trip May 2017

    “First of all, Nepal is amazing! From the people and the culture to the scenery and history, Nepal was fascinating! I grew up in a small town and read about Mt. Everest, but I never thought I'd ever make it to see it for myself. So surreal! As for the trip itself, the accommodations were about what I expected, in some cases even better then expected, and the guides were superb. DK is awesome, not just for knowledge of Nepal, but his interaction with locals and his explanations for local customs and traditions makes the trip that much more impressionable. You can tell he has made many friends in the area through working for Active and through his charity, as there's so many people we met along the way that love DK. Really awesome guide for these trips, can't say it enough. Our other guide, Kim, was coming into her own, and I feel will do really well as a guide in the future as well. I'd like to give the porters a shout out as well, they were the real muscle behind our trip and they do their jobs kidding and playing with us along the way. Biebek for president! I'll keep this review short and sweet, once in a lifetime experience, wish I could relive it over again...Thanks”
    – Alberta, Canada EBC, June 2017
  • Galapagos 2017

    “If the idea of snorkeling with sea lions, turtles, and penguins all on the same day, is your cup of tea, (and it is mine!) then this trip is for you. And that's only the tip of the iceberg! Sorry, no icebergs in Ecuador, but the water can be surprisingly cool because of ocean currents.
    The naturalists who accompany you throughout the trip are extremely good, and are passionate about conveying to you their love and knowledge of Galapagos. You experience 4 islands on this tour and if you do excursions on your own you can have even more. Each island offers a unique experience. While there are many ways to see Galapagos, liveaboard vs land based, the extra time afforded you by being land based will give you more memories to cherish. Doug Middlefield CT.”
    – Connecticut, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • A Great Overview of South Island's Attractions

    “The trip was great. We had hikes almost every day. The hikes were easy enough for my wife, a non-hiker, to enjoy but beautiful enough for me to appreciate. The key to the trip however, was the people. Rachael and Koru were fabulous guides. Their knowledge was outstanding. In addition, the other folks in the group were a great bunch. Their easy-going friendliness and happy willingness to participate and share in the adventure made it pretty much perfect.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, May 2017
  • Barb's Review

    “Our guides (we had 2 because of the split of trail that the team choose to take) were very knowledgeable, attentive, and extremely personable and made the trip wonderful!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Galapagos Greatness!

    “The Tortuga trip to the Galapagos Islands was led by an **outstanding** tour guide, Pepo. He exuded passion, pride, and respect for the islands and the creatures that inhabit it. Pepo demonstrated the perfect balance of providing the right level of information to where we felt educated but no so much as to bog us down. Accommodations were very nice along the trip. The activities and "Super Plans" we participated in were invaluable to making our Galapagos experience great! The other wonderful people I met in this group were entertaining and engaging. I'm thankful to have gone on this trip with these great people!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, May 2017
  • Beauty of Ecuador

    “The Tapir trip within Ecuador showed us a variety of beautiful landscapes from the highland mountains to the Amazon jungle. I LOVED the soulful Hacienda La Alegria horse ranch along with the horseback ride. The various hiking parts of the trip were my next favorite.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, May 2017
  • Best Trip of My Life

    “This was a great trip from the start. The guides, Duck and Tess were great; very friendly, had great energy, and very knowledgeable about the South Island. Words fail to describe how amazing this trip was. If you're on the fence it is worth it. You will meet great people, and see the most amazing aspects of the South Island during the winter.”
    – New York, United States Winter Rimu, May 2017
  • Harder Than Expected, But Worth It!

    “Our Active guide, Mel, was awesome! She did everything possible to make sure each person in our group was taken care of and safe. Our local guide, Gokul, was amazing too. He kept a perfect pace for the people in front and was full of helpful information. The route itself was harder than we anticipated, and down right brutal in some stretches, but in the end it was worth the great experience & beautiful views. I felt really proud of myself for pushing myself beyond my physical limits some days. I can't imagine a better way to see this region than through this tour.”
    – Texas, United States Khumbu, May 2017
  • EBC trek 3/27-4/14, 2017

    “To behold many of the highest mountains in the world on the trek, the one word that kept popping up in my head was GLORIOUS! Yes the trek was demanding in many ways; very dusty, sometimes seemingly endless steps or loose irregular rocks that go up and down even when traversing to a destination with the same altitude as the departure point, very basic bathroom facilities, sharing crowded trails with other trekkers and yak caravans.
    The trek was long and tiring and when it was done, I needed a few weeks to recover. But now after being home awhile, I look at my pictures of the trip and think what a great time I had and want to go back!”
    – Hawaii, United States EBC, May 2017
  • Incredible Milford

    “Milford Sound was one of the most incredible places we have ever been.
    The three day hike to the Angelus Hut was difficult but the guides could not have been more helpful to an ageing hiker.
    The Okorito kayak trip was not great from our point of view, but some of that was not attributable to the organization.
    And the farm experience was unexpected and very enjoyable.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • So Much More Than Expected

    “I expected the adventure, and the outdoor activities. What I didn't expect was such an immersion in the history and culture of NZ. And a few of the activities on the North Island were unforgettable. Finally, right in the middle of our trip the weather decided to shut us out of a few of the more interesting activities and Phil came up with great substitutes on the fly.”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, May 2017
  • Khumbu, April 2017

    “Active Adventures and its guides were incredible and made the trip well worth the experience.”
    – Texas, United States Khumbu, May 2017
  • An unforgettable adventure in South Island!

    “Amazing views, extraordinary wildlife (birds!), lovely guides (Tory and Nick), and memorable Active adventures (no rest for the wicked with a hike or two scheduled every day) - an unforgettable trip all in all.”
    – , Philippines Rimu, May 2017
  • Perfectly Flawless From Start to Finish

    “From the moment we arrived on the tour, every detail was well thought through and all we had to do was put on our hiking shoes and enjoy. Our guide Pepo was very friendly and had tons of knowledge about the Galapagos, he knew how to explain the ecology of the environment in an engaging, interesting way and you never ever felt like you were sitting in a boring lecture. This tour allowed us to explore these amazing islands in an active, adventurous way with enough activities that you never got bored but you were also allowed time to explore the towns on your own, go on another bike ride or just put your feet up. Pepo also always helped us know what was coming next and helping us to be fully prepared for that days activity. There were no surprises (which was a good thing!) and everything was well organized so we never aimlessly waited around or wasted time thinking about what to do next. If you love to explore nature in an active way, this trip is an amazing one to do!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Smorgasbord.

    “A great way to explore the North Island and get a taste of different activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Kauri, May 2017
  • Go and See Machu Picchu and Experience Peru.

    “Our trip to Peru was fantastic. We hiked, biked and paddled in Peru. Every day was an adventure. I like that we got to experience the real Peru. I didn't feel like a tourist, I felt like an adventurer. We walked through markets, met children along the Inca trail, ate delicious food and even stayed at a local family's home. We were treated very well. We were blown away by the chef's culinary skill while trekking along the Inca trail. Our guide was personable and knowledgeable. Our group was small, also a huge plus. We will book another trip with Active Adventures. This was our second. Small groups, good food, active friends, great leadership, well run. What is not to like? Thank you, all.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • The Kirk Family Reflections of Rimu 2016

    “It was a fantastic vacation, quite possibly the best we have ever taken. I know our son, Benjamin, rates it as his number one vacation. I actually have a small book summary of the entire trip, with which I will not bore others, but I wanted to remember the details so I wrote them down. The experiences, leaders, guests, accommodations and food were wonderful. On Sunday we had a Mother's Day celebration and my sons chose to prepare a New Zealand-themed meal for me, inspired by recipes from the cook book we purchased at the sheep farm on the last day of our trip. I baked a pavlova and made chocolate slice for the occasion. I wrote down ingredients of recipes prepared by Tess on the trip and made a couple of them within a week of our return in January. When asked about the trip, I continue to say that I did not want to leave New Zealand at the end of the trip.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Great trip with fantastic guides

    “I typically do not travel with group tours, but I found myself with a ticket to NZ but no time to plan my solo trip. I booked rather last minute but have no regrets. Our guides were not only very knowledgeable, but were also fun and caring. The accommodations varied greatly but were always clean and comfortable. The food was delicious as well. I would book another trip with Active in a heartbeat!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Still smiling....

    “Words can't describe the amazing adventure of a lifetime my best buddy and I experienced in Peru with your Active Adventure team! The smiles on our face every time thinking about it paint the perfect picture of our wonderful, amazing experience and trip of a lifetime! Our guide, Daniel , was so attentive, thoughtful, fun and enthusiastic. We felt like we were travelling with a caring friend who was so excited to share his beautiful country with us! We were challenged and encouraged, and enjoyed absolutely every minute of this amazing trip! It would not have been the same without our smiling leader Daniel!!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Tui May 1, 2017

    “Trip of a lifetime. The guides were outstanding, accommodations were excellent. Great food... we even had a picnic!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Active in Peru.

    “I loved my jaguar trip to Peru. The history and Inca ruins were fascinating, the local people we met were all friendly and welcoming, the new friends I made on the trip were lots of fun(we were a great team) - and I loved the Llamas! I saw the best of Peru on foot, by bike and by kayak - a great way to experience such a richly cultural and historic country.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Jaguar, May 2017
  • Our Kiwi Special Holiday

    “This was a very well planned, organised and delivered holiday experience. The guides were excellent; they were both great individuals who clearly loved their job and made our family holiday such a memorable experience. The South Island is a magic place. Thank you Active for your efforts.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tui, May 2017
  • EBC 2017 Trip

    “What an amazing experience! There was so much more to the trek than was advertised. The immersion into the Nepali culture was unexpected and a delight. DK and his crew are professionals! They kept us safe and got us across across the finish line. We had a blast while we were doing it. I can not say enough about our porter team too! What a terrific group of men. Whom ever does your hiring should get a raise. Keep up the awesome adventures.”
    – Ohio, United States EBC, May 2017
  • Everything flowed: shuttles, vans, boats, bikes

    “I am mostly a solo traveler and this AA trip was a series of smooth and timely connections from one event to another. Guides Daniel and Johan were informative
    and personable. A+ to them.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Sit Back and Relax!

    “This trip was pretty awesome. The guides were personable while being professional and they were organized and knowledgable. It was nice to relax and let all the planning and coordination be done by someone else.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    – Colorado, United States Iguana, May 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed

    “It was a great trip with just enough activities to keep it interesting and challenging. Koru provided good insights on locations, while Tess took care of all our needs. The group was small enough to feel like family and we bonded well during the trip. I highly recommend this trip to anyone that likes to stay active during vacation.”
    – Texas, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Exceeded my expectations

    “Everyone said it'll be a trip of a lifetime, and it really was. Our guides Jordie and Holly were excellent, and Holly was an amazing cook! I was a single traveller and the rest of the group was made up of some wonderful individuals from all age groups and walks of life. Would highly recommend to anyone who is hesitant like I was, go for it! You won't regret it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Tui Trip

    “The Tui tour was the best trip I've ever had, all the group was great and very friendly, there was a very good feeling with all the group. It was so great to see all the nice places that you have in NZ, the tour passed so fast that I would love to do another one with you guys! And what about the super guides that we had - Jordy and Holly! They are the best ever, I would like to thank them again so much for the great time we had with them, I'm ready to do more! Holly next time we'll do the swimming race in the lake? Thanks a lot again, Ia orana from Tahiti.”
    – tahiti teahupoo, French Polynesia Tui, May 2017
  • Great guides make all the difference.

    “Annapurna has been a dream for 28 years and it did not disappoint.
    Active Adventures went out of their way for every member of our group.
    The interaction with the Nepali porters made the trip feel authentic.
    Thanks DK, Arjun, Elder & Claire! An incredible experience...”
    – Florida, United States AST, May 2017
  • “Having never been to this part of the world this was a great way to travel, learn a great deal in a very short time, have a lot of fun, and not have to worry about any of the details.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • South Island trip of a lifetime

    “An absolutely awesome adventure with fantastic guides Vanessa and Tory. Experiencing parts of the great tramps in New Zealand of Kepler, Routeburn, Mueller Hut, Inland pack track at Punakaiki and Angelus Hut are a great introduction to tramping in NZ. I will definitely be back to complete some of the tramps. The Angelus hut hike was one of the hardest I have done (I hike regularly in Western Australia) and I loved every second of it. I would do the Angelus hut Nelson lakes hike again in a heart beat. The cycle along the Hawea river was stunning. Every day was a highlight of the trip.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Rimu, May 2017
  • Rimu Trip Southbound

    “I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys being active and loves the outdoors! New Zealand is an absolute GEM of a country and Active Adventures ensures that you experience the beauty and diversity of its land. I cannot say enough about every aspect of this trip from start to finish. The tour guides, accommodations, food, activities all EXCELLENT!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, May 2017
  • 2017 Manuka

    “Went into the trip not knowing what to expect. Took the trip solo. Was hesitant on taking a guided tour. Felt like i wouldn't have the freedom to do things at my own speed. Not the case at all! Had virtually no restrictions on the hikes. Amanda and Holly let us move at our own paces. Overall trip was a blast! Couldn't have wished for more. Great hikes, great food, good sleeping accommodations, hard charging guides, everything was taken care of, didn't have to lift a finger. I will be back.”
    – APO/FPO AP, United States Manuka, May 2017
  • Quick thinking on the fly

    “I can't say enough good things about our guides Andy and Jo. We had not one but two cyclones hit the North Island during out tour and they still managed to find places to take us and keep us challenged and entertained. When we wanted down time, they understood and let us opt out.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Kauri, May 2017
  • Horizons Broadened

    “We normally take two hiking/walking holidays a year but really enjoyed the variety of activity on this tour. We were challenged to do things we'd never done before and it was great fun.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Tui, May 2017
  • A-MA-ZING!!

    “We had such a great time. Every day was a new and exciting adventure. Our guide, Daniel, made sure we were well taken care of and we learned and enjoyed so much of the Peruvian culture. I would unhesitatingly recommend this trip!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Good trip

    “Good overview of the South Island. Friendly, knowledgeable guides, good group.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Loved every minute, but not the Blisters !

    “The trip was everything it was supposed to be, and well worth the effort. From the moody weather to the gorgeous sunshine, from the penguins to the condors, we would do it again !”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, May 2017
  • A gem

    “Excellent trip. Enjoyed this trip as much as the better known South Island.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, May 2017
  • Best Way to Check NZ Off Your Bucket List

    “If you want to check New Zealand off your bucket list, this is the best way to do it. Active Adventures showed us the South Island, taught us about the eco-system and the history of the country, and kept us active while we did it. We made new friends within our group and had a thousand laughs along the way.”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Southern Exposure

    “There could be no better way to experience the south island than with an Active Adventures trip...hiking, biking, kayaking, backpacking... all with exceptional guides, facilities, equipment and food. A dream come true...!”
    – California, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Really varied and interesting. Great way to see a variety of areas and do a variety of activites.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Great review of the mainland. A super addition to the Tortuga trip”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Perfect Trip for anyone who loves Nature!

    “If you enjoy being outdoors and like to challenge yourself this trip is for you. I wasn't an avid hiker before signing up for the Rimu trip but after reading the itinerary I knew I couldn't pass up this amazing opportunity. You never know what you are capable of until you try and that is how I feel after climbing up to the Angelus Hut and hiking to Mueller ridge. I had never climbed a mountain before (since there are no mountains where I live) but the views are more than worth the climb.
    This trip is the best way to see all that the South Island has to offer, it is the perfect balance between adventure, relaxation, self-exploration, and cultural immersion. Anyone can go to New Zealand and rent a car and go hiking, biking, and Kayaking; however, they will miss out on the best parts of traveling to a new place and that is the knowledge and culture that only someone who lives there would know. The guides (Tory and Vanessa) were awesome! Tory is an amazing cook, and Ness was great at making jokes and keeping the atmosphere cheery during the longer drives. I loved listening to the guides tell us about the Maori people and the local legends or folklore. I actually thought Ness was lying to me when she would tell me that the views get better after being left speechless by the scenery, but every day was better than the previous!
    I have to mention the FOOD!!! The food alone is enough for me to sign up for this trip again. When I travel I don’t always know what the local food is or would be but with this trip the guides cook you all sorts of local food and all the food is fresh and delicious. If you don’t like something they will make sure to accommodate you.
    Ness and Tory made you feel like this was a trip among friends and family, not strangers. I will come back to New Zealand again!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Tortuga Paul and Sophia

    “Astonishingly beautiful. Superbly knowledgable guide. Lots of interesting activities to keep you busy.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • epic adventure

    “The group was outstanding; the guides were top notch. The Lares Inca trail was the hardest hike I have ever done because of the elevation, but the cultural immersion and glam camping softened the effort. Hot water bottles at bedtime anyone? Fleece liners for your sleeping bag? The trips to the Amazon and Lake Titikaka were equally wonderful, but the combination of the physical challenge with the people in the mountains, and the incredible scenery moving from the Lares to the Sacred Valley just couldn't be beat.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, April 2017
  • A Must Do!

    “The Kauri trip will give you an intensive view of the north island with all its greenery along with its variety of art, culture, activities, waterfalls, seascapes and volcanic landscapes. An absolute must-do!”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Rimu

    “Rimu with Active was an excellent fit for us! Pace, guides and hikes were just amazing and heaps of fun!”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A most excellent adventure..

    “The Tui experience is active and adventurous, exactly as described. From scaling summits to kayaking in the Milford Sound and many long and shorter hikes in between. Our excellent guides took the group to remote places, encouraged and supported us as we did some easier and then really challenging hikes, giving ongoing commentary on the history and culture of New Zealand and cooking delicious meals along the way, the final feast was an absolute treat. The groups are small which makes for a really personal experience, our group got on so well as one of us said ‘it feels like family’ at the end of the trip. The most memorable experience for me in a stream of stunning memories was the drive to the Milford Sound in the setting sun, one of the great road trips of the world. The trip is meticulously organised and you get ongoing emails to support what you need to bring and what to expect. Highly recommended, it was the trip of a lifetime.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tui, April 2017
  • Even Cyclone Cook couldn't dampen our fun

    “I hopped onto the last half of the Kauri after two weeks on the South Island in the Rimu adventure. It just so happened that we had a cyclone hit the island that week, so everything was very wet, to say the least. But everything still worked out okay! We still did lots of hiking in the rain, which was fun in itself. The views were not the same as they would be on a clear day, but different doesn't mean bad. They were unique, and there were a lot of rainbows thanks to the water. We even did the mountain biking in the downpour, which was hilariously muddy and still a lot of fun. Overall, the people were good, the guides were excellent, the food was fantastic, and the trip was terrific.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Loved our Tortuga trip.

    “We loved taking this land based tour of the Galapagos. Staying at hotels on the islands allowed us a lot more flexibility and was great for our grandchildren since they had lots of time to play on the beaches in the evenings. We saw all the animals I hoped to see plus the activities were a lot of fun, especially the snorkeling. We loved Zambo our guide. He was friendly, helpful and very informative plus he took great underwater videos for us.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • “Awesome trip. The staff was great to work with. Very accommodating to a last minute change in our trip plans. Our guides were fun, encouraging and adapted well to our needs. Meals were delicious and well organized. Our lodgings were excellent.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Fun Trip

    “I very much enjoyed the Active Adventures Tui trip. The guides were phenomenal and very knowledgeable about the sites in New Zealand. We saw many beautiful places and I enjoyed the activities that were planned.”
    – New York, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Trip to remember

    “Active Adventures, Arturo and local guides have done a great job making sure Patagonia trip experiences become memories of a lifetime for Natalie and I. The trip had it all - great sightseeing, strenuous hiking, biking, kayaking, hiking on a glacier, accommodations - simple to luxurious, great food... I only wish the weather would have been more cooperative. It was also great being part of a fun and easy going group... hopefully will see each other again on future Active trips!”
    – California, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Incredible experience

    “We had an amazing time in the Galapagos!
    Everything was perfectly organized for us. All we had to do was show up - just as it said in the description of the tour.
    Our tour guide Zambo would always tell us well in advance what we would be doing on the next day, what we had to bring, what we should wear.
    The food was always organized for us; they would always ask us beforehand what we wanted to eat.
    Everywhere we went they were expecting us and everything went smoothly.
    Zambo was an amazing guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. He had an answer for everything and he was very patient with our kids. One could see that he enjoyed showing his home to us.
    The encounters with the animals were truly amazing. We saw blue footed boobies, frigate birds, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, penguins, hundreds of sea lions, sea iguanas, etc.
    The animals seemed at ease with the humans around them in some cases almost curious.”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Wonderful Choice!

    “A trip to New Zealand was on my "bucket list" and my husband chose this trip for the south island. I think this is a wonderful way to see the outstanding scenery of the south island. We will be back!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, April 2017
  • An Outstanding Time!

    “The north island deserves more notice than it gets in the press. A different world than the south island, well worth any time you can give it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Simply said: Excellent

    “We’ve booked our trip with Active Adventures from NZ but ended up with Galakiwi Adventures as the implementing party. A bit confusing at the beginning but it turned out quite well.
    Our trip through the Galapagos Islands started in San Cristobal, followed by Floreana, Isabela and ended in Santa Cruz.
    We booked an all-inclusive trip and it turned out to be a very good decision. In fact we realized only after a few days how convenient is was to have everything organized for you and how much time you can actually safe. Starting with swimming gear that is provided as part of the package. Transportation to the ferry, getting on & off, having the transportation ready when you arrive, all those organizational aspects are taken care off which makes travelling from island to island very easy and smooth. Then hotels are ready, check in & out done super fast, luggage’s pick up etc. all organized. Lunch and/or dinners arranged in advance to maximize the vacation time and reduce wasted time to a bare minimum. What else to say besides that the organization was simply said excellent!!!
    Then we had Zambo our tour guide, a fantastic & very knowledgeable person.
    Not only questions from adults were not a problem for him, our kids and the other families kids who were also part of the group constantly came up with all sorts of questions and somehow, Zambo always had an answer.
    All of this made it a great vacation; we enjoyed it a lot”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Amazing

    “I am not sure there are words to describe what the trip was like. D.K., Arjun, Claire, and Elder made two weeks into a lifetime of memories. The support, the friendships, the knowledge of the culture, the kindness, and the people made this trip. D.K. Had more knowledge of people and the culture so that you really were emersed in it for two weeks. It was far more than a hiking trip, it was a trip to learn and appreciate the Nepali people and their culture. The group was great and I think we all bonded over an experience that we will remember forever. Personally, I did get sick but I was able to keep going and never thought a lot about it as I had the support of Arjun, Claire and Elder along with D.K to help me along. They went way beyond what they had to do to make sure I along with everyone else succeeded on this hike. A hike of this magnitude is a difficult one and to be able to say everyone was successful and left with an incredible sense of accomplishment says tons about your staff and the people you employ. You have an amazing group and I cannot say enough positive things about all of them, from the guides to the office staff answering questions and helping us make sure we had all that we needed for the trip. I have already recommended you to everyone I have told about this trip and I do hope I am able to do another hike with you. I have hiked with other groups but you are in a league of your own way above all others. From the bottom of my heart..thank you for a gift that will stay with me for the rest of my life. Anna”
    – Kansas, United States AST, April 2017
  • Wow! What a trip!

    “We had an absolute blast exploring the South Island with two legendary guides, Ken and Elder. Amazing hiking and other activities, great food, and awesome company!”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, April 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.