Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • I'd Definitely Choose Active Again!

    “I had a great time. The tour guides were personable and very engaging. Even on the activities I had never done before, or at least not for years, they were encouraging and helpful. I would definitely choose Active again.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • A Memorable Trip That Will Always Be a Part of Me

    “Hello my name is Mario Salazar, from San Francisco California. I took the Rimu trip to have an experience of visiting the beautiful country of New Zealand and all it could offer as a first time visitor. The nature of the parks and activities that I did was worth the time to travel there.The trip became a memorable experience that left me wanting to come back as there is a lot to see and try to take in. The time I spent there made me feel a longing to come back one day and continue my trek in the land of the Kiwi, be it by Kayak, or on the trek of personal growth, hiking a mountain almost a mile up. I thank the guides for showing us the fabulous land of New Zealand and being part of something that will be part of me always. Thank you Active Adventures! and thank you New Zealand for leaving something special in me.”
    – California, United States Rimu, October 2017
  • Judy and Don's trip to Peru

    “Active Adventures provides first class trips. Not to first class hotels, that are isolated from real people, but first class adventures that allow you to experience the people, the culture, as well as the environment. Erick took exceptional care of us. This is our third trip with Active Adventures (New Zealand, Nepal, and now Peru), and they have all been awesome!

    The guides have always been excellent. They make sure we have a great time, and most importantly make sure we are safe. Our last trip was to Everest Base Camp; the guide made me turn around the day we were supposed to go to Base Camp because I had the beginning of flu symptoms. As it was I ended up getting very sick, but if she had not turned me around my doctor told me I would have permanent heart or lung damage.

    Erick was an outstanding guide! He really took care of us and made sure we had a great time. His knowledge of the area was outstanding - culture, history, food, and plants. He was extremely personable. He is one of the best guides in the world!

    The trip to Machu Picchu is unbelievable and tough - so get hiking and book your trip now!”
    – Arizona, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • A Fabulous Annapurna Sanctuary Adventure!

    “The AST trek was a fabulous adventure! It was physically demanding but so worth it! Our guides Mel and Shree were outstanding, full of fun and highly knowledgeable about Nepal, the people and the flora and fauna. The food was wonderful, varied and very plentiful! The views changed constantly, from rhododendron forest, to wonderful vistas of snow-capped mountains and high mountain valleys with raging whitewater, to beautiful stone villages! The whole experience was marvelous!”
    – Connecticut, United States AST, October 2017
  • Amazing Experience with Wonderful Guides!

    “Just finished the last half of the Rimu trip and I can’t say enough about Active Adventures. It was my first time going with a travel group instead of with a friend or solo, and I thought this would be my one and only time. After travelling with my group and wonderful guides, Andy and Tess, I really think I might have to go with Active Adventures again! This was an amazing trip and I wouldn’t change it for the world.”
    – , Korea, Republic of [South] Rimu, October 2017
  • Winter Rimu 2017

    “The trip of a lifetime and 5 stars. Seems a little redundant when this trip is my 4th with ACTIVE. All prior trips and this one (Winter Rimu) have been trips of a lifetime. The guides are very knowledgeable and professional. Active always seems to find the right people to represent them. Just the right blend of biking, kayaking, and hiking. New Zealand is a beautiful country. Such a variety of climates.
    At 65 years of age this trip was a challenge but very doable. I am looking forward to a future 5th trip with ACTIVE. Many thanks to Tess and Steve our guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Taste of Peru

    “What an amazing trip! 14 days really gives a good taste of Peru. From high elevations of Cusco, Sacred Valley and the Lares Trail to the mysticism of Macchu Picchu, on to the loud cicadas of the jungle and the floating islands and welcoming Amantai family on lake Titicaca, this is a bucket list trip that will give you a taste of Peru that will make you want to return.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Amazing!

    “We have a goal of visiting each continent, and our trip to South American with Active South America did not disappoint! This is our second Active Adventures and we will be back for more. Peru and the Galapagos were beautiful and every detail of the trip was attended to perfectly. Thank you, Active, for a wonderful and memorable holiday.”
    – South Carolina, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Amazing New Zealand

    “This trip was just a great trip - the guides, the group, the activities and scenery!! We found New Zealand to be a pristine, gorgeous place and loved every minute!”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Tour du Mont Blanc,"What a friend we have in Cheeses"

    “WOW, our second Active Adventures trip, we did a Rimu awhile back and have experience with several other active trip providers, this TDMB was by far the best trip we have ever taken. Our group of seven was so outstanding, from the wonderfully warm, friendly Aussie 20-something couple, to the adrenaline filled army officer from the pentagon to the two septuagenarian couples who, coincidentally were neighbors in Utah, we could not have gotten along any better. Our guides, Nick, Fabien and Jean Marc were so caring, efficient and knowledgeable and made every moment special for all of us. They were flexible, extremely competent and warmly engaging. Just what you would wish for in an adventure trip in the Alps. Accommodations were varied but always charming, clean and comfortable. Our weather was spectacular! No rain, cool, comfortable hiking temperatures just perfect all the way through. The meals were fabulous, from daily breakfasts, picnic lunches in beautiful Sound of Music settings, and an assortment of delicious dinners. Did I mention the cheese? Don't plan on losing weight on this trip no matter how far you hike.

    All in all this was a wonderful trip. Where we used to select our vacations based upon who is providing trips to locations we want to see, we now chose them based upon where Active Adventures is going. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime. Ross Heaton”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, October 2017
  • Great Trip

    “Great trip! Diverse and interesting hikes, bike riding, and kayaking in spectacular landscape. I particularly appreciated having all the trip details covered, so I didn't need to worry about any of the arrangements. A turn-key experience.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Seriously a Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had no clue what to expect going to Nepal, climbing to ABC, being gone for so long. When I first got there I will say I was a little nervous. All the people, cars, buildings, it was a little overwhelming and scary but by the time I said goodbye I cried the whole way to the airport. The people I met felt like family and I didn't want to leave them. I feel like a piece of me was left behind. Everyone treats you great, and welcomes you into their lives. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime and one I will always hold close to my heart”
    – South Carolina, United States AST, October 2017
  • Will Be Visiting New Zealand Again

    “Once again Active proves they are the best. The trip is fine-tuned, the guides are enthusiastic and the scenery is unbelievable. I am trying to figure out what I can sell so I can go back again as soon as possible.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Best One Yet!

    “This was our 3rd Active trip and I would rate this the best of all of them. While the beauty of Nepal and Peru were hard to beat, the combination of things in New Zealand made this trip our favorite. Starting with the guides, I don't think we could have had a better combination of Steve and Tess. They both brought great things to the adventure and their talents really complimented the experience. Tess was a great cook who kept us well fed. Steve was an excellent driver and DJ who always got us through to our destination. Both were excellent guides who provided the motivation we needed and the details about NZ that made the trip special.

    The lodging for this trip was far better than we have had on other trips. This is probably because NZ is a much more modern country, but it was obvious that Active had worked hard to select the best lodging for each of the destinations. We always felt safe and comfortable in the accommodations.

    The destinations for our adventures really gave us a good taste for New Zealand. Two weeks is a very short time to discover a new place. Active did a great job of selecting hikes, biking and kayaking locations that gave us a great taste of NZ. We really enjoyed each of the destinations.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Making unforgettable father-son memories

    “The majestic variety of New Zealand, on a far-away-from-home adventure immersed in rich culture, history and physical exertion, was the back drop for quality time with my now retired dad. We enjoyed conversations and getting to know each other's similarities and differences while experiencing the snowy mountains, richly dressed rain forests, various waterfalls, bright green rolling fields and expansive, wild oceans. Our tour guides were perfect tens in attitude, patience and knowledge. I have only compliments. I'll think on this in old age.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Iguana 2017

    “This was a really good trip, essentially of two halves. Peru with its amazing mountains and then Galapagos with incredible wildlife. Best to be fit when you come, the Peruvian hikes are challenging, which is great, whereas Galapagos is more relaxed.”
    – Cambs, United Kingdom Iguana, October 2017
  • More Than a Trip, an Amazing Experience!

    “Having had years of wonderful, personally planned trips, we were a bit apprehensive about signing on to a group tour. However AA's communications from our first enquiry to our return home was aimed at making the adventure better than we could have done on our own. Delving into the culture, understanding the history, experiencing the food, and actively enjoying the Peruvian's Peru with a superb guide left me anticipating my next adventure with Active Adventures.”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Winter Rimu

    “Everything was handled fantastically. Having things pre-arranged and having a driver really helped to remove stress so I could just hang out and enjoy the views on the way to each part of the country. Having native Kiwis who really knew and understood the land helped us enjoy and appreciate what we were seeing. Steve and Tess are amazing guides. Consider yourself lucky if you get one or both of them as guides on your trip! Steve is hilarious and Tess is an amazing cook! We all were fed so well on this trip. I really feel like the Winter Rimu is the best trip Active Adventures offers for New Zealand. You get to see Mt. Cook and also hike the amazing Copland Track. The itinerary is wonderful. It's quite active, which was exactly what I was looking for, but also a nice balance of more relaxed mellow days to recover. Going in the winter was wonderful because all the places we went weren't packed with other people and sandflies were at a minimum. This really was an incredible, amazing, wonderful trip of a lifetime. I'm so happy I found Active Adventures! I loved my Winter Rimu trip!”
    – Oregon, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Iguanas - September 2017

    “I had an amazing time on my Iguana trip to Peru and the Galapagos Islands. The Peru trip was much more strenuous than I expected but our guide, Erick was vigilant in keeping us together and encouraging us the whole time. He was fantastically organized, fun and knowledgeable which enhanced the whole experience! The Galapagos trip was lead by Galakiwi which did feel more laid back, and flexible. Pepo and Juan Carlos led us through Kicker Rock and amazing landscapes. I thought the Galapagos would be the highlight of my trip, but Peru proved to be the main event. I was fortunate that my group became fast friends of diverse but like-minded people. Overall, an amazing trip!”
    – Michigan, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Fun trip!

    “I had a great time!”
    – California, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip with Erick was spectacular. Erick's attention to detail, compassion for each individual on the trip and genuine love for Peru made this portion of the trip absolutely amazing.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip was spectacular. Erick truly cares about the overall experience of his clients. He paid attention to all the details of the trip from the experiences of the country, the restaurants and the excursions. He didn't leave any stone unturned when it came to having fun and caring about his clients. I highly recommend Erick to anyone wanting to have a fabulous time in Peru.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • It'll do ;)

    “Chipper guides? Check.
    Invigorating hikes? Check.
    Grand vistas like you've seen never before? Check.
    Nice and sometimes funky, cool lodging? Check.
    Good food and libations? Check and check.
    Go. It's worth it.”
    – Washington, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip with Active Adventures August 2017

    “I have been on several international trips, and due to the variety and how different each trip is, I don't tend to like to pick a favorite. At least until my trip to the Galapagos with Active Adventures. I can honestly say that this was the most amazing trip I have ever been on! We got to do a huge variety of activities and really get the full Galapagos experience. Our guide, Zambo, was absolutely phenomenal, I could not have asked for a better person to have lead us on our trip. Zambo definitely was a significant factor in making our trip as amazing as it was. From snorkeling and seeing sharks, rays, eels, and sea lions, to biking, to hiking, we did and saw so many different, amazing things. I will remember this trip forever.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Dolomites - A Hiker's Paradise!

    “Dolomites area is a hiker's paradise. Itinerary included many varied hikes throughout this area. Having bases in the villages of Cassiano and Cortina with daily hikes then into the National Park with stays in the mountain refugios exposed us to many beautiful sights. Great trip -- we'll never forget the snow day!”
    – California, United States Dolomiti, September 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “The Galapagos Islands was on my daughter's bucket list after she took an eco course in university. Thank goodness for education! It was by far my favorite trip I have taken, and my 6th continent visited. It was the perfect balance of active adventure, nature, education and leisure. Our guide Zambo was fantastic! It was an amazing experience from day 1 and each day just got better and better. Every island we visited offered us something new and different. Snorkelling at Kicker Rock and having reef sharks surround us was unbelievable. The marine life was incredible. Black tip reef sharks, an eagle ray, sea turtles .. were all the highlight ... but the amount of fish we saw was amazing. A diver in our group saw hammerhead sharks! We chose the Galapagos for the wildlife and we weren't disappointed. Friendly sea lions and iguanas were everywhere. We saw everything we had hoped and even more. On the way to Floreana Island we had dolphins swim and jump beside the boat; but what was even more wonderful was the 3 humpback whales - a calf and its parents. The calf was quite interested in our boat and came right up to us. We sat on the hull for 30-40 minutes and watched the whales surface and "play" around our boat ... an experience that none of us will ever forget. We were all in awe! Seeing those magnificent creatures in their natural habitat was surreal.
    From biking to hiking to kayaking to snorkelling we were kept busy and active, which was good since the food was fantastic! Every place we stayed at and ate at was fantastic. I love how Active Adventures supports the local economy and so many different businesses benefitted from our tour.
    It was by far the best vacation I have taken so far. Everything was perfect! And I cant say enough about Zambo ... he took care of all of us!!! He was our mother, mentor and educator! Thank you Active Adventures for giving Alanna and I a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Great Trip!

    “Great combination of exercise, food, culture and history, and gorgeous sites!”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Nancy Babbott's Adventure Around Mt. Blanc

    “Loved it all and was sad to finish - beautifully organized. The guides Fabian, Andy and Lucia were knowledgeable, flexible, energetic and patient- with twinkling senses of humor as well!”
    – Vermont, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • What a Great Trip!

    “This trip was full of laughs, beautiful mountains, and awesome kayaking and mountain biking!! You should definitely go!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Amazing Wildlife!

    “Amazing wildlife at every turn with a really knowledgeable guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip Was Everything I Imagined and More

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and again they did not disappoint. From the easy booking process, personal attention, and gentle reminders everything runs smoothly from day one.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, September 2017
  • Surprising Ecuador

    “We didn't know much about Ecuador - this was a fill-in trip between two others. It's a great place, especially the volcanos. Altitude takes a bit of getting used to but well worth it.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador

    “We had an amazing week in Ecuador. Each day was a new adventure, and the scenery was beautiful. The best part was Jhayro, our tour guide. He was knowledgable, personable, and genuine. We could tell that he wanted us to experience how special Ecuador is.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador - August, 2017

    “This trip was even more incredible than we thought it was going to be! We met such wonderful people while enjoying phenomenal scenery. We experienced something new each day and will treasure our unforgettable memories of Ecuador!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “Wonderful trip, Pablo was a wonderful guide. I'm not especially an animal person, but nevertheless the wildlife was the absolute highlight of this trip.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Awesome Scenery, Wonderful people!

    “The Tour du Mont Blanc with Fabien and Nicole was the trip of a lifetime. This was my first time in France...and the Alps. I was expecting spectacular, and I got it and much more. Not only was the scenery beautiful, the food was to die for (yes, I gained weight). The hikes were well planned and filled our days just right. After the hikes we were not too fatigued to check out the cute places we were staying. Fabien and Nicole are great!! They really added to the magic of this trip.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Amazing Views, Great Guides and Yummy Food

    “Amazing trip, loved the hikes with all the great views, our guides Fabian and Andy were amazing and made the hikes educational and fun. The food was great too!”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Naturalist Dream

    “The Galapogos Islands were all I had imagined. The animals were so accessible but also in their natural state. Our guide, Pablo was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for the natural environment was very infectious. The trip left me yearning for more time to linger.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Volcano Binge

    “Ecuador should be more on the visitors bucket list. Spectacular scenery which ranges from the upper Amazon to glacier capped active volcanoes. Our guide Jhayro was excellent and able to tailor the trips to the group.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Magnificent Tour du Mont Blanc

    “This was a wonderful trip with magnificent scenery, knowledgeable and very friendly guides, restful lodging, suburb food, and terrific weather. My spouse and I enjoyed our fellow travelers, and our eyes were delighted by the scenery, our palates pleased by the food (including the trail side lunches), and we were impressed by the organization. We could work hard on the trail (or water or bikes) and relax about lodging and meal details as we learned about the culture and history of the region. Two Hiking Poles Up!”
    – Vermont, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Bucket List checked off!

    “Amazing trip, breathtaking views, outstanding fellow travelers and guides, awesome activities, fabulous food.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Lovely Trip

    “The Tour du Month Blanc was wonderful! The hikes were great and our tour leaders--Andrew and Fabien were fabulous. I really enjoyed all of the hiking (we had nice weather) and also had a blast mountain biking and kayaking. And the food....the food was so good. The pack lunches had a variety of meats and LOTS of cheese as well as salads, fresh fruit, chips, nuts....so much food. We did not go hungry!”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Everything We'd Hoped For!

    “The trip was everything we had hoped for! Pablo was awesome. Very knowledgeable. We wish the trip had been longer!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • A Very Fun Challenge

    “The hikes were pretty tough at times, but our guides always maintained a good pace to keep things challenging without being too difficult. Every hike seemed to have yet another amazing view, making the uphill/downhill always feel worth it! The guides were all very friendly and knowledgeable. If weather permits, I highly recommend paragliding in Chamonix. It offers a unique and beautiful view of the valley and mountains.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Dream Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had always wanted to go to New Zealand, but being a teacher, and because most trips are in January or February that was out of the question. When the Winter Rimu was offered in my summer vacation I was ecstatic. I wasn't sure what to expect as it was your winter in New Zealand but the weather was great and it was an unbelievable experience.”
    – Connecticut, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Amazing Guide

    “Our tour guide Zac was amazing and made us feel very welcome!”
    – California, United States Capybara, August 2017
  • Fantastic trip

    “This was my first hiking trip, and I must say it was fantastic!!! Patagonia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been (and I travel a lot). I want to mention that you have to be in reasonably good physical condition to enjoy this trip. I am glad that I trained for it. Arturo, our tour guide and Catherine (the W Trail guide) were excellent. They also made sure that they accommodated my dietary requirements (gluten, diary, and soy free) on the W Trail, which is not an easy task. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. I will definitely book another trip with Active Adventures, now that I know how much I enjoy hiking and active trips.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, August 2017
  • Iguana Trip

    “Our guides Erick and Jessica could not have been better. Our group was well taken care of, and we experienced a trip of a lifetime that we could not have done without them.”
    – Georgia, United States Iguana, August 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Trip of a lifetime for me! Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week adventure with Erick leading the way to Machu Picchu, the Amazon and Lake Titicaca. There were a few challenges along the way but Erick did a great job of working with the various personalities in our group and kept everyone on track and moving in the right direction.”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Jaguar, August 2017
  • Best Tour Guide Ever!

    “Our tour guide, Pablo, could not be beat! His knowledge and enthusiasm was overflowing. As an added bonus, he was great with keeping our kids engaged and entertained.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Winter Rimu

    “Winter Rimu was a fantastic trip! The scenery was breathtaking and our guides were exemplary. And, despite being a winter trip, the weather didn't slow us down.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime

    “When friends ask "how was your trip?", the words fail me. I wish I could share the incredible moments with them. How do you describe the magic of snorkelling with dolphins in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean, or feeling like you've befriended a sea lion? We can't say enough about our trip with Active Adventures. What an incredible trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, August 2017
  • Winter Splendor - No Crowds!

    “Winter Rimu was a trip of a lifetime which created wonderful memories with my son as his high school graduation trip. We may or may not remember the rain, the cold, the snow, but we will surely remember the togetherness, the chance to explore the beauty of nature, test momma's strength on the hikes and when the sun was out the scenery would take your breath away. Our group was small, fun, the trip well organized. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.”
    – Florida, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Trip!

    “The trip overall was great! Very well organised and the accomodation was better than I would have booked for myself. My guides Tess and Nick where the best part of the trip. They have the patience of saints as some of us where quite sick and high maintenance. Tess cooked awesome food and looked after our every need, plus she was a treat to be around. Nick's commentary was entertaining and I couldn't fault his driving skills. They both where heaps of fun, was quite sad to say goodbye to them both. My highlights of the trip would be Mt Cook and the Copland Hut. Can't beat the scenery!!! I also had my birthday during the trip and it's definitely one to remember, I felt super special with the decorations and the cake the crew put together for me. Definitely a trip to remember!”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Tour Awesome Guides

    “The planned tour was very exciting and challenging. The guides were knowledgeable and very helpful. When the hike or climb was challenging the guides were there to ensure safety and a great experience. We were burning calories and the food provided was delicious, healthy and more than sufficient to power us through the activities. The entire tour was very educational due to the knowledge of our guides. Each days drive and activity provided learning as the guides educated and added to the experience.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “This was my first time on an Active Adventures tour, but I'll be back! Every aspect of the tour was outstanding - the guides, the organization, the accommodations and meals, and of course the other guests who shared the adventure. The route offered a good balance of challenge and enjoyment and accommodated a range of hiking abilities and fitness, with some kayaking and mountain biking thrown in for variety. Jean-Marc has to be the best guide ever - you could not have picked anyone better.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Best Hiking Ever!

    “This was definitely a trip of a lifetime! I had not imagined that the Italian Dolomites were so beautiful. The hiking was so perfect and the accommodations were excellent! So hard to return home and not have a beautiful Refugio to stop at for lunch or lodging now! The guides were excellent and I learned so much about the area from Ivan. I also enjoyed the biking day and the Via Ferrata was an absolute blast! Thank you Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Dolomiti, August 2017
  • Jaguar July 2017

    “Wonderful trip, especially the Inca Trail which was amazing.”
    – Hertfordshire, United Kingdom Jaguar, July 2017
  • Transformative Travel

    “The EBC Trek in May led by DK, Shree and Bibek is something that will forever be etched in my memory. Their knowledge of the route, places, culture and their wonderful hospitality made this experience even more memorable. The porters' (Suman, Aksh, Baji and the rest of the men) presence made this trip possible and without them, I would not have experienced Nepalese culture at its finest. They are the most humble, selfless, strong people I've ever encountered. The Himalayas' scenery was out of this world and despite Everest Base Camp being the end goal/destination, what I remember and will treasure the most are the people I've met on this trip and along the way. Thank you Active Adventures for organizing a trip that was transformative in every way. DK, Shree, Bibek and Aksh, thank you for taking care of us like we're family. Nepal, you are amazing and I left a piece of my heart when I left you.”
    – GUAM, Guam EBC, July 2017
  • Wow!

    “This was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. Hats off to Active Adventures for putting together an amazing itinerary and delivering on every aspect of our trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Perfect Winter Rimu Adventure

    “It was an excellent trip. Wonderful sites and guides with a well planned itinerary!”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, July 2017
  • Most Awesome

    “Our Tour du Mont Blanc was nothing short of awesome. Challenging hikes, spectacular mountains, wonderful food and fantastic guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Had a Great Time, and Made New Friends

    “Had a great time, Jordie and Ash were great hosts and guides. Also met some new friends from Canada who we are still in touch with! Great experience all around.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Reconnecting with Nature

    “I had a wonderful time on my trip! It was exactly what I needed and was looking for; two weeks to reconnect with nature and see parts of New Zealand I'd have only been able to find on foot, by kayak, or by bike. I know I wouldn't have seen or done as much as I did had I not signed up with Active Adventures! I'll definitely go on another trip with them in the future.”
    – New York, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Tour du Mont Blanc 2017

    “This trip was amazing - full of jaw-dropping scenery (mountains, glaciers, rivers, cow pastures and more) that I'll never forget. The hiking isn't always easy but we were always rewarded throughout with inspiring views. As we hiked from France to Italy to Switzerland, our experienced guides Jean Marc and Andy were able to keep us moving while providing ample time to appreciate the surroundings. The hotels and inns on the trip were clean and comfortable and the food and wine was delicious. I honestly can't think of anything that could be improved! Thanks Active, for a great adventure!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Dolomiti

    “This active adventure was wonderful for me. In fact, one of the best trips I have ever taken. I loved the trekking, fellow trekkers, guides, food, history, etc. All of it. What an amazing, beautiful, fun vacation. I feel so fit!”
    – Hawaii, United States Dolomiti, July 2017
  • High Flying Epic Adventure

    “Andrew and Jean Marc are the best! They feed off of each other, with knowledge, professionalism and a great sense of humor. It makes the long days so enjoyable that I wanted to keep on trekking. I would recommend this trip to everyone.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • What an Adventure!

    “This trip was definitely an active adventure! We experienced things I never had before, like reverse canyoning for example. Jairo was an excellent guide and leader. He designed quite the adventurous, active trip that we will never forget. I loved the hacienda and the horseback riding. The horses were wonderful, well trained and well taken care of. I also loved meeting our guide's family and enjoying home cooked meals with them.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Our 7 year old son didn't want to leave Ecuador. We had prepared him extensively for this trip and he was a real trooper. He loved everything about this trip and, since we've come back home, he talks about his trip to Ecuador almost daily.
    Perhaps other parents of children who are on the autism spectrum can appreciate how challenging it can be to find something your child will eat, never mind in a foreign country! Jhayro was wonderful with our son and they really connected. Dominik loved being Jhayro's co-pilot and occasional side-kick.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “Active Adventures came through once again!! What a great experience trekking Mont Blanc!”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • I did it!

    “This is my second trip with Active and it didn't disappoint. The food, accommodations, the guides and the sites were all awesome. Jean-Marc is a great guide with a ton of knowledge and great stories. Andy was a great guide and there to offer encouragement when needed. The area is so beautiful and I feel lucky that I had the chance to experience the country. This will not be my last Active Adventures trip. I would recommend the trip to anyone, but be sure to get in shape first. The hiking is no joke.”
    – South Dakota, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • AMAZING!

    “The Dolomites are so dramatic and fantastic - just like a post card, loved the trip and how Active layed it out.”
    – Illinois, United States Dolomiti, July 2017
  • Great Time with Grandchildren!

    “Varied experiences. Saw much of Peru which many people don't get to experience.
    It was a perfect trip to take with our grandchildren.”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Great Trip with our Grandchildren!

    “We loved seeing so much of Peru with two of our granddaughters. Our guide, Zac, made the trip fantastic!”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Ecuador and the edge of the Amazon

    “Great trip and very organised. The guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. He was also patient and flexible with parts of the group. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were very well fed with amazing food throughout the trip.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tapir, July 2017
  • Exceeded my Expectations. A Trip to Treasure.

    “Active adventures provided an outstanding New Zealand experience. Our guides (Tory and Jordie) went above and beyond during our South Island Rimu trip. Their passion for the outdoors as well as the traditions and culture of NZ enhanced the two week journey. As guides, I was most impressed by their attention to detail and safety. I appreciated the warm smiles, gems of knowledge and yummy meals on even the challenging hike days. For my birthday, during the three day hike at Nelson Lakes National Park, Tory and Jordie surprised me with two delicious cakes to share with my new hiking family. A moment I will treasure, enhanced by the breath taking views of the alpine lake at Angelus Hut.

    The beauty of the country surpassed my expectations, particularly sites like Milford Sound and Mt. Cook. Such a diverse, lush landscape, each hike offered a unique perspective of the stunning views. Combined with the kayaking and biking options, allowed for an exciting and interesting mix. The highlight of my two weeks was my heli-hike on the Tasman Glacier, such an unforgettable experience.

    I'm looking forward to future Active Adventure trips, but will definitely keep a little piece of NZ in my heart. A truly bucket list destination.


    Gigi (from The Bahamas)”
    – West Virginia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Hiking Mont Blanc

    “All the hotels were excellent. Much like the other 4 trips I took with Active Adventures, the guides were well organized, the food excellent and the tour was well thought out.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Flawless!

    “The Tui trip from Active Adventures was absolutely fantastic! Every detail was so well planned and executed. The places we visited were gorgeous, and each new day seemed even more beautiful than the prior. Our guides truly made the trip memorable....I don't see how Kim and Ken could have given us a more awesome experience. Thank you AA!”
    – Ohio, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Peru in June 2017

    “It is easy to love Peru traveling with Active Adventures! Cynthia was absolutely fantastic, made sure all went smooth and really took care of us. Great memories were made.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, July 2017
  • Hiking in the Alps

    “The trip with Active Adventures to the Mount Blanc area was great. The scenery is unbelievable in all three countries. The hikes were all wonderful and yet very demanding. That made the trip even more rewarding for us. We got to do things we never have done before on the off day. Paragliding in Chamonix was a first and fabulous. All of the small towns we travelled to were lovely. The accommodations in these towns were great. Nice small hotels that all were so much a part of those towns. All of the meals were also great. The lunches were just the right amount and much of the local food such as cheese. All of the dinners were very good.
    Our tour guides were great. Jean-Marc knows the Mount Blanc area so well. Andy was always available and helpful. Together they made the trip a pleasure.”
    – CA, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Active Adventures is the Best!

    “The itinerary, varied activities, guides Andy and Jo, and exposure to North Island culture, history, the outdoors, and the landscape were the very best I can imagine. I would not hesitate to travel with Active Adventures again in the future.”
    – Vermont, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Memorable Trip!

    “I celebrated my 68th birthday on the pass between France and Italy, what a great day. This trip takes you over many passes, up and down valleys with spectacular views. Our guides knew the way across snow fields, roaring streams, the best rest stops and the perfect meadows for our lunch buffets. They take care of everything so you can just enjoy the journey.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Puts the "Active" in Active Adventures

    “What a great trip! The variety of stunning vistas in New Zealand is something to behold. We had a really fun group and our guides -- Kim and Ashleigh -- were amazing! We were on the move every day, seeing every corner of the South Island, getting in a pretty good workout most days through hiking, biking or kayaking, and eating wonderful meals, many prepared by our guides. I would highly recommend this trip!”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Great Time and a Wonderful Trip!

    “New Zealand is beautiful and there is no better way to see it than on an Active Adventures trip. The activities, the views, the guides, the food and the camaraderie make it special!”
    – Georgia, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Outstanding Adventure Vacation

    “Our Active Adventures trip was outstanding! The entire process was a tremendous experience. Staff were responsive and friendly during the "sign up" phase. Our guides Jordie and Holly are two of the finest professional, friendly and knowledgeable guides we've had the pleasure to work with. Shout out for both of these wonderful people! They did a marvelous job managing group dynamics to ensure everyone was motivated and individual needs were met. Well trained and both have mastered the skillful art of quality customer service. Keep up the good work!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, July 2017
  • TMB 10 Jun 17

    “This was my first trip with Active, and it was far more that I even expected! The guides were truly outstanding and made the adventures fun, informative, and challenging to whatever level we wanted. The route and itinerary had clearly been selected with great care. I felt that we experienced the very best of this gorgeous area, with a nice variety of adventures. The logistics, meals, and accommodations were first-rate and a welcome end to each day's events. For all we got and the memories we made, I feel that the Active tour was a great value and the very best way to see the Alps.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • My Mont Blanc Circuit

    “This trip not only provided an upfront tour of one of the most beautiful places in Europe,but with amazing guidance, it pushes you out of your comfort zone both physically and mentally. In addition you make new wonderful friends who encourage you along the way. Almost everyone on our trip had been on multiple Active Adventures before which shows what a wonderful company it is. We started planning our next trip before we flew home.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Galapagos

    “We felt that we had the guide of the Century...Pablo...he should be a National Treasure! His enthusiasm, knowledge, sensitivity, thoughtfulness...fantastic!”
    – Otago, New Zealand Tortuga, June 2017
  • Stunning Beauty of Mont Blanc

    “This was my fourth trip with Active and I will return again. First, the trip is well planned to challenge you while maximizing the exhilaration of completing the TMB section each day. We were lucky to have sun and cool breezes to keep us going. Jean-Marc's (Chamonix mountaineer) familiarity with the trail, it's mountains, culture, fauna, flora and history was refreshing, informative and humorous. Fantastic guide. Most of all I felt gratitude for the stunning beauty we were surrounded by each day and the new perspective in which to view this impressive, snow covered peak, Mont Blanc. Add to this great food, comfortable accommodations and the expert hands of both Andy (Active guide) and Corinne (Chamonix chef and logistics ) and wonderful new friends...all ingredients for an unforgettable 12 days of mountain magic.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, June 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed!

    “My first comment is that this IS an Active Adventure. My husband and I consider ourselves fit, as we regularly run, do gym workouts, and added weekly hikes in the months leading up to our trip. We both found the Rimu hikes to be a challenge. I mean this in a good way. The hikes were the most difficult I've ever done, and I am so proud of myself for my accomplishments. My advice to potential travelers is to train hard. The vistas are absolutely worth the effort. Our enthusiastic, knowledgeable, energetic guides Kim and Ashleigh did everything to make this a trip of a lifetime for us. We traveled in late March and lucked into mostly perfect weather; the few times weather did not cooperate the guides shifted activities without missing a beat. The guides also set a positive, fun tone for our group. We really bonded during the trip. Food was great, accommodations were for the most part good to great. In all, I would not hesitate to recommend Rimu to anyone looking for a truly active New Zealand vacation. I for one cannot imagine experiencing the beauty of the South Island any other way.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • Winter Rimu - May/June 2017

    “It truly was the trip of a lifetime. The guide was a local Kiwi who really knew her stuff in terms of hiking and activities, culture and local legends and flora and fauna. Could not have asked for a better guide. If you're lucky enough to get Amanda L. to guide your trip you're in for a real treat :)”
    – Massachusetts, United States Winter Rimu, June 2017
  • Our Peruvian Adventure

    “We had an amazing trip with Active Adventures - South America. Everything was extremely well-planned, and our guide was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and always more than willing to share tips, facts, and insights about her country. The trip from our first meeting to our parting at the airport was active, filled with amazing sights, and very well coordinated. We were thrilled to hike the Inca Trail, to see amazing archaeological sites in the Cuzco area and to explore the jungle and Lake Titicaca regions. We will definitely be looking at Active Adventures for trips in the future. Thanks for providing a wonderful and unforgettable holiday.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Fantabulous!

    “This is our second Active trip and it was equally as great as the first! The guides were fantastic. You all know how to take care of active adventurer types. We lucked out on the weather and the views were stunning. Such a gorgeous part of the world. Another check-off on the bucket list.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, June 2017
  • Awesome Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime! Everything about the trip went really smoothly and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the trip with my parents! Could not have had better guides either, Erick and Danny were a lot of fun and really took care of the group! Amazing trip that I will always remember.”
    – Arkansas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • One More Off the Bucket List

    “Great adventure trip with a multitude of activities”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Peru Jaguar trip we took in May, was the most exciting and adventurous trip we have ever made in our lives! At 70, I was skeptical as to whether I could complete the Inca Trail or not. With Johan's help and support, I not only accomplished my goal, but was extremely satisfied with our total active adventure trip. It seemed as if every time I turned my head, there was another exhilarating scene to photograph. The rest of the trip included the amazon rainforest, and spending the night with a local family on Lake Titicaca which was great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to explore the world's unknown places that only a few select get to experience. Our guide Erick Farfan was an exceptional young man who went out of his way not just for us, but the entire group. I've never had someone so attentive to every detail to make all of us happy. His choice of restaurants allowed all of us to experience the local foods and were all very tasty. Kudos to Erick, Johan and the rest of the crew for making my experience once in a lifetime which I will never stop talking about.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • EBC with Dan K

    “I had a great time with wonderful team members, guides and porters. I will remember this trip as one of the best and treasure the memories for long, long time.”
    – Massachusetts, United States EBC, June 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “What a great adventure and experience among the wildlife of Galapagos. It's amazing to be able to see so much and be right next to these wonderful animals.
    Pepo was excellent in every way throughout the trip and I can highly recommend both him and Active Adventures to anyone. We will definitely do more trips with Active.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Everything We Could Have Asked For!

    “Our goal was to find an active trip which explored the various wildlife habitats and natural areas of the South Island. The Rimu trip was perfect for that goal! Never a dull moment, Nick and Tory were amazing guides, and even made up a ghost story to spook my wife (at her request)! I can't wait to travel with Active Adventures again!!”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • Amazing Adventure

    “what an amazing adventure we had! we enjoyed every bit of our Jaguar trip and would recommend Active Adventures to anyone who asks! The trip was very well organized and the guides were all informative and amazing. Our main guide, Erick Farfan was the best! he always made sure everything ran smoothly and had to deal with many different personalities on this trip but made it all work. The Inka trail was a tough trail for me due to the altitude but what an amazing feeling once you complete it and arrive at the sun gate! We thoroughly enjoyed the jungle as well as the visit to lake titicaca and our local family that we stayed with. look forward to our next amazing adventure with you! Hoping to do Patagonia soon!”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.