Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Amazing Guide

    “Our tour guide Zac was amazing and made us feel very welcome!”
    – California, United States Capybara, August 2017
  • Fantastic trip

    “This was my first hiking trip, and I must say it was fantastic!!! Patagonia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been (and I travel a lot). I want to mention that you have to be in reasonably good physical condition to enjoy this trip. I am glad that I trained for it. Arturo, our tour guide and Catherine (the W Trail guide) were excellent. They also made sure that they accommodated my dietary requirements (gluten, diary, and soy free) on the W Trail, which is not an easy task. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. I will definitely book another trip with Active Adventures, now that I know how much I enjoy hiking and active trips.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, August 2017
  • Iguana Trip

    “Our guides Erick and Jessica could not have been better. Our group was well taken care of, and we experienced a trip of a lifetime that we could not have done without them.”
    – Georgia, United States Iguana, August 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Trip of a lifetime for me! Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week adventure with Erick leading the way to Machu Picchu, the Amazon and Lake Titicaca. There were a few challenges along the way but Erick did a great job of working with the various personalities in our group and kept everyone on track and moving in the right direction.”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Jaguar, August 2017
  • Best Tour Guide Ever!

    “Our tour guide, Pablo, could not be beat! His knowledge and enthusiasm was overflowing. As an added bonus, he was great with keeping our kids engaged and entertained.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Winter Rimu

    “Winter Rimu was a fantastic trip! The scenery was breathtaking and our guides were exemplary. And, despite being a winter trip, the weather didn't slow us down.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime

    “When friends ask "how was your trip?", the words fail me. I wish I could share the incredible moments with them. How do you describe the magic of snorkelling with dolphins in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean, or feeling like you've befriended a sea lion? We can't say enough about our trip with Active Adventures. What an incredible trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, August 2017
  • Winter Splendor - No Crowds!

    “Winter Rimu was a trip of a lifetime which created wonderful memories with my son as his high school graduation trip. We may or may not remember the rain, the cold, the snow, but we will surely remember the togetherness, the chance to explore the beauty of nature, test momma's strength on the hikes and when the sun was out the scenery would take your breath away. Our group was small, fun, the trip well organized. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.”
    – Florida, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Trip!

    “The trip overall was great! Very well organised and the accomodation was better than I would have booked for myself. My guides Tess and Nick where the best part of the trip. They have the patience of saints as some of us where quite sick and high maintenance. Tess cooked awesome food and looked after our every need, plus she was a treat to be around. Nick's commentary was entertaining and I couldn't fault his driving skills. They both where heaps of fun, was quite sad to say goodbye to them both. My highlights of the trip would be Mt Cook and the Copland Hut. Can't beat the scenery!!! I also had my birthday during the trip and it's definitely one to remember, I felt super special with the decorations and the cake the crew put together for me. Definitely a trip to remember!”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Tour Awesome Guides

    “The planned tour was very exciting and challenging. The guides were knowledgeable and very helpful. When the hike or climb was challenging the guides were there to ensure safety and a great experience. We were burning calories and the food provided was delicious, healthy and more than sufficient to power us through the activities. The entire tour was very educational due to the knowledge of our guides. Each days drive and activity provided learning as the guides educated and added to the experience.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “This was my first time on an Active Adventures tour, but I'll be back! Every aspect of the tour was outstanding - the guides, the organization, the accommodations and meals, and of course the other guests who shared the adventure. The route offered a good balance of challenge and enjoyment and accommodated a range of hiking abilities and fitness, with some kayaking and mountain biking thrown in for variety. Jean-Marc has to be the best guide ever - you could not have picked anyone better.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Best Hiking Ever!

    “This was definitely a trip of a lifetime! I had not imagined that the Italian Dolomites were so beautiful. The hiking was so perfect and the accommodations were excellent! So hard to return home and not have a beautiful Refugio to stop at for lunch or lodging now! The guides were excellent and I learned so much about the area from Ivan. I also enjoyed the biking day and the Via Ferrata was an absolute blast! Thank you Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Dolomiti, August 2017
  • Jaguar July 2017

    “Wonderful trip, especially the Inca Trail which was amazing.”
    – Hertfordshire, United Kingdom Jaguar, July 2017
  • Transformative Travel

    “The EBC Trek in May led by DK, Shree and Bibek is something that will forever be etched in my memory. Their knowledge of the route, places, culture and their wonderful hospitality made this experience even more memorable. The porters' (Suman, Aksh, Baji and the rest of the men) presence made this trip possible and without them, I would not have experienced Nepalese culture at its finest. They are the most humble, selfless, strong people I've ever encountered. The Himalayas' scenery was out of this world and despite Everest Base Camp being the end goal/destination, what I remember and will treasure the most are the people I've met on this trip and along the way. Thank you Active Adventures for organizing a trip that was transformative in every way. DK, Shree, Bibek and Aksh, thank you for taking care of us like we're family. Nepal, you are amazing and I left a piece of my heart when I left you.”
    – GUAM, Guam EBC, July 2017
  • Wow!

    “This was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. Hats off to Active Adventures for putting together an amazing itinerary and delivering on every aspect of our trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Perfect Winter Rimu Adventure

    “It was an excellent trip. Wonderful sites and guides with a well planned itinerary!”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, July 2017
  • Most Awesome

    “Our Tour du Mont Blanc was nothing short of awesome. Challenging hikes, spectacular mountains, wonderful food and fantastic guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Had a Great Time, and Made New Friends

    “Had a great time, Jordie and Ash were great hosts and guides. Also met some new friends from Canada who we are still in touch with! Great experience all around.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Reconnecting with Nature

    “I had a wonderful time on my trip! It was exactly what I needed and was looking for; two weeks to reconnect with nature and see parts of New Zealand I'd have only been able to find on foot, by kayak, or by bike. I know I wouldn't have seen or done as much as I did had I not signed up with Active Adventures! I'll definitely go on another trip with them in the future.”
    – New York, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Tour du Mont Blanc 2017

    “This trip was amazing - full of jaw-dropping scenery (mountains, glaciers, rivers, cow pastures and more) that I'll never forget. The hiking isn't always easy but we were always rewarded throughout with inspiring views. As we hiked from France to Italy to Switzerland, our experienced guides Jean Marc and Andy were able to keep us moving while providing ample time to appreciate the surroundings. The hotels and inns on the trip were clean and comfortable and the food and wine was delicious. I honestly can't think of anything that could be improved! Thanks Active, for a great adventure!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Dolomiti

    “This active adventure was wonderful for me. In fact, one of the best trips I have ever taken. I loved the trekking, fellow trekkers, guides, food, history, etc. All of it. What an amazing, beautiful, fun vacation. I feel so fit!”
    – Hawaii, United States Dolomiti, July 2017
  • High Flying Epic Adventure

    “Andrew and Jean Marc are the best! They feed off of each other, with knowledge, professionalism and a great sense of humor. It makes the long days so enjoyable that I wanted to keep on trekking. I would recommend this trip to everyone.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • What an Adventure!

    “This trip was definitely an active adventure! We experienced things I never had before, like reverse canyoning for example. Jairo was an excellent guide and leader. He designed quite the adventurous, active trip that we will never forget. I loved the hacienda and the horseback riding. The horses were wonderful, well trained and well taken care of. I also loved meeting our guide's family and enjoying home cooked meals with them.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Our 7 year old son didn't want to leave Ecuador. We had prepared him extensively for this trip and he was a real trooper. He loved everything about this trip and, since we've come back home, he talks about his trip to Ecuador almost daily.
    Perhaps other parents of children who are on the autism spectrum can appreciate how challenging it can be to find something your child will eat, never mind in a foreign country! Jhayro was wonderful with our son and they really connected. Dominik loved being Jhayro's co-pilot and occasional side-kick.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “Active Adventures came through once again!! What a great experience trekking Mont Blanc!”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • I did it!

    “This is my second trip with Active and it didn't disappoint. The food, accommodations, the guides and the sites were all awesome. Jean-Marc is a great guide with a ton of knowledge and great stories. Andy was a great guide and there to offer encouragement when needed. The area is so beautiful and I feel lucky that I had the chance to experience the country. This will not be my last Active Adventures trip. I would recommend the trip to anyone, but be sure to get in shape first. The hiking is no joke.”
    – South Dakota, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • AMAZING!

    “The Dolomites are so dramatic and fantastic - just like a post card, loved the trip and how Active layed it out.”
    – Illinois, United States Dolomiti, July 2017
  • Great Time with Grandchildren!

    “Varied experiences. Saw much of Peru which many people don't get to experience.
    It was a perfect trip to take with our grandchildren.”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Great Trip with our Grandchildren!

    “We loved seeing so much of Peru with two of our granddaughters. Our guide, Zac, made the trip fantastic!”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Ecuador and the edge of the Amazon

    “Great trip and very organised. The guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. He was also patient and flexible with parts of the group. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were very well fed with amazing food throughout the trip.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tapir, July 2017
  • Exceeded my Expectations. A Trip to Treasure.

    “Active adventures provided an outstanding New Zealand experience. Our guides (Tory and Jordie) went above and beyond during our South Island Rimu trip. Their passion for the outdoors as well as the traditions and culture of NZ enhanced the two week journey. As guides, I was most impressed by their attention to detail and safety. I appreciated the warm smiles, gems of knowledge and yummy meals on even the challenging hike days. For my birthday, during the three day hike at Nelson Lakes National Park, Tory and Jordie surprised me with two delicious cakes to share with my new hiking family. A moment I will treasure, enhanced by the breath taking views of the alpine lake at Angelus Hut.

    The beauty of the country surpassed my expectations, particularly sites like Milford Sound and Mt. Cook. Such a diverse, lush landscape, each hike offered a unique perspective of the stunning views. Combined with the kayaking and biking options, allowed for an exciting and interesting mix. The highlight of my two weeks was my heli-hike on the Tasman Glacier, such an unforgettable experience.

    I'm looking forward to future Active Adventure trips, but will definitely keep a little piece of NZ in my heart. A truly bucket list destination.


    Gigi (from The Bahamas)”
    – West Virginia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Hiking Mont Blanc

    “All the hotels were excellent. Much like the other 4 trips I took with Active Adventures, the guides were well organized, the food excellent and the tour was well thought out.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Flawless!

    “The Tui trip from Active Adventures was absolutely fantastic! Every detail was so well planned and executed. The places we visited were gorgeous, and each new day seemed even more beautiful than the prior. Our guides truly made the trip memorable....I don't see how Kim and Ken could have given us a more awesome experience. Thank you AA!”
    – Ohio, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Peru in June 2017

    “It is easy to love Peru traveling with Active Adventures! Cynthia was absolutely fantastic, made sure all went smooth and really took care of us. Great memories were made.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, July 2017
  • Hiking in the Alps

    “The trip with Active Adventures to the Mount Blanc area was great. The scenery is unbelievable in all three countries. The hikes were all wonderful and yet very demanding. That made the trip even more rewarding for us. We got to do things we never have done before on the off day. Paragliding in Chamonix was a first and fabulous. All of the small towns we travelled to were lovely. The accommodations in these towns were great. Nice small hotels that all were so much a part of those towns. All of the meals were also great. The lunches were just the right amount and much of the local food such as cheese. All of the dinners were very good.
    Our tour guides were great. Jean-Marc knows the Mount Blanc area so well. Andy was always available and helpful. Together they made the trip a pleasure.”
    – CA, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Active Adventures is the Best!

    “The itinerary, varied activities, guides Andy and Jo, and exposure to North Island culture, history, the outdoors, and the landscape were the very best I can imagine. I would not hesitate to travel with Active Adventures again in the future.”
    – Vermont, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Memorable Trip!

    “I celebrated my 68th birthday on the pass between France and Italy, what a great day. This trip takes you over many passes, up and down valleys with spectacular views. Our guides knew the way across snow fields, roaring streams, the best rest stops and the perfect meadows for our lunch buffets. They take care of everything so you can just enjoy the journey.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Puts the "Active" in Active Adventures

    “What a great trip! The variety of stunning vistas in New Zealand is something to behold. We had a really fun group and our guides -- Kim and Ashleigh -- were amazing! We were on the move every day, seeing every corner of the South Island, getting in a pretty good workout most days through hiking, biking or kayaking, and eating wonderful meals, many prepared by our guides. I would highly recommend this trip!”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Great Time and a Wonderful Trip!

    “New Zealand is beautiful and there is no better way to see it than on an Active Adventures trip. The activities, the views, the guides, the food and the camaraderie make it special!”
    – Georgia, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Outstanding Adventure Vacation

    “Our Active Adventures trip was outstanding! The entire process was a tremendous experience. Staff were responsive and friendly during the "sign up" phase. Our guides Jordie and Holly are two of the finest professional, friendly and knowledgeable guides we've had the pleasure to work with. Shout out for both of these wonderful people! They did a marvelous job managing group dynamics to ensure everyone was motivated and individual needs were met. Well trained and both have mastered the skillful art of quality customer service. Keep up the good work!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, July 2017
  • TMB 10 Jun 17

    “This was my first trip with Active, and it was far more that I even expected! The guides were truly outstanding and made the adventures fun, informative, and challenging to whatever level we wanted. The route and itinerary had clearly been selected with great care. I felt that we experienced the very best of this gorgeous area, with a nice variety of adventures. The logistics, meals, and accommodations were first-rate and a welcome end to each day's events. For all we got and the memories we made, I feel that the Active tour was a great value and the very best way to see the Alps.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • My Mont Blanc Circuit

    “This trip not only provided an upfront tour of one of the most beautiful places in Europe,but with amazing guidance, it pushes you out of your comfort zone both physically and mentally. In addition you make new wonderful friends who encourage you along the way. Almost everyone on our trip had been on multiple Active Adventures before which shows what a wonderful company it is. We started planning our next trip before we flew home.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Galapagos

    “We felt that we had the guide of the Century...Pablo...he should be a National Treasure! His enthusiasm, knowledge, sensitivity, thoughtfulness...fantastic!”
    – Otago, New Zealand Tortuga, June 2017
  • Stunning Beauty of Mont Blanc

    “This was my fourth trip with Active and I will return again. First, the trip is well planned to challenge you while maximizing the exhilaration of completing the TMB section each day. We were lucky to have sun and cool breezes to keep us going. Jean-Marc's (Chamonix mountaineer) familiarity with the trail, it's mountains, culture, fauna, flora and history was refreshing, informative and humorous. Fantastic guide. Most of all I felt gratitude for the stunning beauty we were surrounded by each day and the new perspective in which to view this impressive, snow covered peak, Mont Blanc. Add to this great food, comfortable accommodations and the expert hands of both Andy (Active guide) and Corinne (Chamonix chef and logistics ) and wonderful new friends...all ingredients for an unforgettable 12 days of mountain magic.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, June 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed!

    “My first comment is that this IS an Active Adventure. My husband and I consider ourselves fit, as we regularly run, do gym workouts, and added weekly hikes in the months leading up to our trip. We both found the Rimu hikes to be a challenge. I mean this in a good way. The hikes were the most difficult I've ever done, and I am so proud of myself for my accomplishments. My advice to potential travelers is to train hard. The vistas are absolutely worth the effort. Our enthusiastic, knowledgeable, energetic guides Kim and Ashleigh did everything to make this a trip of a lifetime for us. We traveled in late March and lucked into mostly perfect weather; the few times weather did not cooperate the guides shifted activities without missing a beat. The guides also set a positive, fun tone for our group. We really bonded during the trip. Food was great, accommodations were for the most part good to great. In all, I would not hesitate to recommend Rimu to anyone looking for a truly active New Zealand vacation. I for one cannot imagine experiencing the beauty of the South Island any other way.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • Winter Rimu - May/June 2017

    “It truly was the trip of a lifetime. The guide was a local Kiwi who really knew her stuff in terms of hiking and activities, culture and local legends and flora and fauna. Could not have asked for a better guide. If you're lucky enough to get Amanda L. to guide your trip you're in for a real treat :)”
    – Massachusetts, United States Winter Rimu, June 2017
  • Our Peruvian Adventure

    “We had an amazing trip with Active Adventures - South America. Everything was extremely well-planned, and our guide was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and always more than willing to share tips, facts, and insights about her country. The trip from our first meeting to our parting at the airport was active, filled with amazing sights, and very well coordinated. We were thrilled to hike the Inca Trail, to see amazing archaeological sites in the Cuzco area and to explore the jungle and Lake Titicaca regions. We will definitely be looking at Active Adventures for trips in the future. Thanks for providing a wonderful and unforgettable holiday.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Fantabulous!

    “This is our second Active trip and it was equally as great as the first! The guides were fantastic. You all know how to take care of active adventurer types. We lucked out on the weather and the views were stunning. Such a gorgeous part of the world. Another check-off on the bucket list.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, June 2017
  • Awesome Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime! Everything about the trip went really smoothly and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the trip with my parents! Could not have had better guides either, Erick and Danny were a lot of fun and really took care of the group! Amazing trip that I will always remember.”
    – Arkansas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • One More Off the Bucket List

    “Great adventure trip with a multitude of activities”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Peru Jaguar trip we took in May, was the most exciting and adventurous trip we have ever made in our lives! At 70, I was skeptical as to whether I could complete the Inca Trail or not. With Johan's help and support, I not only accomplished my goal, but was extremely satisfied with our total active adventure trip. It seemed as if every time I turned my head, there was another exhilarating scene to photograph. The rest of the trip included the amazon rainforest, and spending the night with a local family on Lake Titicaca which was great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to explore the world's unknown places that only a few select get to experience. Our guide Erick Farfan was an exceptional young man who went out of his way not just for us, but the entire group. I've never had someone so attentive to every detail to make all of us happy. His choice of restaurants allowed all of us to experience the local foods and were all very tasty. Kudos to Erick, Johan and the rest of the crew for making my experience once in a lifetime which I will never stop talking about.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • EBC with Dan K

    “I had a great time with wonderful team members, guides and porters. I will remember this trip as one of the best and treasure the memories for long, long time.”
    – Massachusetts, United States EBC, June 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “What a great adventure and experience among the wildlife of Galapagos. It's amazing to be able to see so much and be right next to these wonderful animals.
    Pepo was excellent in every way throughout the trip and I can highly recommend both him and Active Adventures to anyone. We will definitely do more trips with Active.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Everything We Could Have Asked For!

    “Our goal was to find an active trip which explored the various wildlife habitats and natural areas of the South Island. The Rimu trip was perfect for that goal! Never a dull moment, Nick and Tory were amazing guides, and even made up a ghost story to spook my wife (at her request)! I can't wait to travel with Active Adventures again!!”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • Amazing Adventure

    “what an amazing adventure we had! we enjoyed every bit of our Jaguar trip and would recommend Active Adventures to anyone who asks! The trip was very well organized and the guides were all informative and amazing. Our main guide, Erick Farfan was the best! he always made sure everything ran smoothly and had to deal with many different personalities on this trip but made it all work. The Inka trail was a tough trail for me due to the altitude but what an amazing feeling once you complete it and arrive at the sun gate! We thoroughly enjoyed the jungle as well as the visit to lake titicaca and our local family that we stayed with. look forward to our next amazing adventure with you! Hoping to do Patagonia soon!”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • You're Never too Old to Try Something New!

    “I had a wonderful holiday. Better than I expected. More Aussies should do this trip. Best experience kayaking on Milford Sound, lovely sunny day, no wind and water like glass. Amazing. Enjoyed all my hikes but learning how to mountain bike ride and enjoy it was also great.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tui, June 2017
  • Family adventure

    “Wonderful way to spend time together being active and exploring”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Excellent As Always

    “The Mustang Trek takes you through the most amazing scenery in a peaceful and serene environment. Very few tourists/hikers (especially compared to Annapurna Base Camp hike) which is an absolute plus.”
    – Oregon, United States Mustang, June 2017
  • Would Go Again in a Heartbeat!

    “We have had two wonderful experiences with your company. Each one was a trip of a lifetime. We are so fortunate to have found out about your company. Thank you.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Iguana, June 2017
  • The EBC Trip Exceed Expectations

    “This trip exceeded my expectations, almost solely due to DK, Sheree, Bibek and the porter crew. The guys work hard, have a good sense of humor and go out of their way to answer any and all questions.
    The culture of Nepal and the trekking region was an eye opener and something we should all experience.
    A must do trek for any world adventurer!”
    – Alberta, Canada EBC, June 2017
  • Galapagos, Fabulous Week!

    “I enjoyed our trip to the Galapagos very much. I don't think I realized how much I was learning while I was in the islands. It was only after returning state side that I began reflecting, and was amazed at how much I learned about how both the marine, and land animals, have adjusted to life in The Galapagos. It's truly an amazing place!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Perfect Blend of Activities

    “The trip was just the right mix of planned activities and personal time. The snorkeling, hikes, kayaking, informational tours and bike trips were not too strenuous and a great way to explore the wonders of this remarkable place. Our guide, Pablo, was extremely knowledgeable about the place he has called home for 20+ years. His guiding and people skills are among the best I have experienced. We weren't just playing; we were learning every minute of the trip in an enjoyable and casual way. I would heartily recommend this trip to young and old!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Worth Every Penny!

    “I had the pleasure of trekking EBC this May and man, I'm struggling to find words to sum up what I believe to have been a once in a life time experience. DK is a wonderful, knowledgeable, and well respected guide all throughout the Himalayas and all over Nepal. He made the experience what it was for me. His love and passion for the Nepali people always made for a warm welcome and a sense of feeling like family in each tea house along the way. This was hands down the highlight for me and what ultimately made me extend my travels in a place that feels like home.

    It was important to me that the porters were well looked after and not being taken advantage of, and this company promotes that! The boys (porters), were so friendly it was incredible that these guys carry the weight of others and constantly have a smile on their face - it's inspiring to see and something I learnt from. Thanks Active for choosing such a great group of hardworking individuals and having their best interests at heart.

    Being 23 I know I still have ages of experiences to come my way, but I can confidently say that there won't ever be one quite like it. Active is a great company to book your adventures with - they're well organized, experienced and all around good-hearted people. Next year I hope to find myself in South America and I'll definitely be booking my trekking through Active!

    Thanks again to everyone who made this an epic experience!”
    – Alberta, Canada EBC, June 2017
  • Everest Base Camp Trek!

    “I feel blessed to have gone on the EBC trek. It was more than just waking up early and putting one foot in front of the other to get to the next destination. It was a personal journey, where we all had a chance to interact with the Nepali people, and experience life the way they do. My advice to anyone wanting to do this trek is to laugh and smile on the difficult days, be generous to the ones guiding and helping you, and do as the Nepalese do. Eat dal bhat with your hands, drink up a lot of great tea, and let your guard down on the dance floor (when the opportunity arises)! The trail isn’t easy, but I guarantee as soon as you reach EBC you will feel like a new person! Thank you DK for your thoughtfulness and knowledge of Nepali culture. Thank you Kim for your encouragement and smile on the tough days. Thank you to Suri, our assistant Nepali guide, and the porter men (who are the most humble and strongest people I have ever met). This is much more than a trek, it’s an experience!

    -John Doiron
    Durham, NH - USA”
    – New Hampshire, United States EBC, June 2017
  • EBC Trip May 2017

    “First of all, Nepal is amazing! From the people and the culture to the scenery and history, Nepal was fascinating! I grew up in a small town and read about Mt. Everest, but I never thought I'd ever make it to see it for myself. So surreal! As for the trip itself, the accommodations were about what I expected, in some cases even better then expected, and the guides were superb. DK is awesome, not just for knowledge of Nepal, but his interaction with locals and his explanations for local customs and traditions makes the trip that much more impressionable. You can tell he has made many friends in the area through working for Active and through his charity, as there's so many people we met along the way that love DK. Really awesome guide for these trips, can't say it enough. Our other guide, Kim, was coming into her own, and I feel will do really well as a guide in the future as well. I'd like to give the porters a shout out as well, they were the real muscle behind our trip and they do their jobs kidding and playing with us along the way. Biebek for president! I'll keep this review short and sweet, once in a lifetime experience, wish I could relive it over again...Thanks”
    – Alberta, Canada EBC, June 2017
  • Galapagos 2017

    “If the idea of snorkeling with sea lions, turtles, and penguins all on the same day, is your cup of tea, (and it is mine!) then this trip is for you. And that's only the tip of the iceberg! Sorry, no icebergs in Ecuador, but the water can be surprisingly cool because of ocean currents.
    The naturalists who accompany you throughout the trip are extremely good, and are passionate about conveying to you their love and knowledge of Galapagos. You experience 4 islands on this tour and if you do excursions on your own you can have even more. Each island offers a unique experience. While there are many ways to see Galapagos, liveaboard vs land based, the extra time afforded you by being land based will give you more memories to cherish. Doug Middlefield CT.”
    – Connecticut, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • A Great Overview of South Island's Attractions

    “The trip was great. We had hikes almost every day. The hikes were easy enough for my wife, a non-hiker, to enjoy but beautiful enough for me to appreciate. The key to the trip however, was the people. Rachael and Koru were fabulous guides. Their knowledge was outstanding. In addition, the other folks in the group were a great bunch. Their easy-going friendliness and happy willingness to participate and share in the adventure made it pretty much perfect.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, May 2017
  • Barb's Review

    “Our guides (we had 2 because of the split of trail that the team choose to take) were very knowledgeable, attentive, and extremely personable and made the trip wonderful!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Galapagos Greatness!

    “The Tortuga trip to the Galapagos Islands was led by an **outstanding** tour guide, Pepo. He exuded passion, pride, and respect for the islands and the creatures that inhabit it. Pepo demonstrated the perfect balance of providing the right level of information to where we felt educated but no so much as to bog us down. Accommodations were very nice along the trip. The activities and "Super Plans" we participated in were invaluable to making our Galapagos experience great! The other wonderful people I met in this group were entertaining and engaging. I'm thankful to have gone on this trip with these great people!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, May 2017
  • Beauty of Ecuador

    “The Tapir trip within Ecuador showed us a variety of beautiful landscapes from the highland mountains to the Amazon jungle. I LOVED the soulful Hacienda La Alegria horse ranch along with the horseback ride. The various hiking parts of the trip were my next favorite.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, May 2017
  • Best Trip of My Life

    “This was a great trip from the start. The guides, Duck and Tess were great; very friendly, had great energy, and very knowledgeable about the South Island. Words fail to describe how amazing this trip was. If you're on the fence it is worth it. You will meet great people, and see the most amazing aspects of the South Island during the winter.”
    – New York, United States Winter Rimu, May 2017
  • Harder Than Expected, But Worth It!

    “Our Active guide, Mel, was awesome! She did everything possible to make sure each person in our group was taken care of and safe. Our local guide, Gokul, was amazing too. He kept a perfect pace for the people in front and was full of helpful information. The route itself was harder than we anticipated, and down right brutal in some stretches, but in the end it was worth the great experience & beautiful views. I felt really proud of myself for pushing myself beyond my physical limits some days. I can't imagine a better way to see this region than through this tour.”
    – Texas, United States Khumbu, May 2017
  • EBC trek 3/27-4/14, 2017

    “To behold many of the highest mountains in the world on the trek, the one word that kept popping up in my head was GLORIOUS! Yes the trek was demanding in many ways; very dusty, sometimes seemingly endless steps or loose irregular rocks that go up and down even when traversing to a destination with the same altitude as the departure point, very basic bathroom facilities, sharing crowded trails with other trekkers and yak caravans.
    The trek was long and tiring and when it was done, I needed a few weeks to recover. But now after being home awhile, I look at my pictures of the trip and think what a great time I had and want to go back!”
    – Hawaii, United States EBC, May 2017
  • Incredible Milford

    “Milford Sound was one of the most incredible places we have ever been.
    The three day hike to the Angelus Hut was difficult but the guides could not have been more helpful to an ageing hiker.
    The Okorito kayak trip was not great from our point of view, but some of that was not attributable to the organization.
    And the farm experience was unexpected and very enjoyable.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • So Much More Than Expected

    “I expected the adventure, and the outdoor activities. What I didn't expect was such an immersion in the history and culture of NZ. And a few of the activities on the North Island were unforgettable. Finally, right in the middle of our trip the weather decided to shut us out of a few of the more interesting activities and Phil came up with great substitutes on the fly.”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, May 2017
  • Khumbu, April 2017

    “Active Adventures and its guides were incredible and made the trip well worth the experience.”
    – Texas, United States Khumbu, May 2017
  • An unforgettable adventure in South Island!

    “Amazing views, extraordinary wildlife (birds!), lovely guides (Tory and Nick), and memorable Active adventures (no rest for the wicked with a hike or two scheduled every day) - an unforgettable trip all in all.”
    – , Philippines Rimu, May 2017
  • Perfectly Flawless From Start to Finish

    “From the moment we arrived on the tour, every detail was well thought through and all we had to do was put on our hiking shoes and enjoy. Our guide Pepo was very friendly and had tons of knowledge about the Galapagos, he knew how to explain the ecology of the environment in an engaging, interesting way and you never ever felt like you were sitting in a boring lecture. This tour allowed us to explore these amazing islands in an active, adventurous way with enough activities that you never got bored but you were also allowed time to explore the towns on your own, go on another bike ride or just put your feet up. Pepo also always helped us know what was coming next and helping us to be fully prepared for that days activity. There were no surprises (which was a good thing!) and everything was well organized so we never aimlessly waited around or wasted time thinking about what to do next. If you love to explore nature in an active way, this trip is an amazing one to do!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Smorgasbord.

    “A great way to explore the North Island and get a taste of different activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Kauri, May 2017
  • Go and See Machu Picchu and Experience Peru.

    “Our trip to Peru was fantastic. We hiked, biked and paddled in Peru. Every day was an adventure. I like that we got to experience the real Peru. I didn't feel like a tourist, I felt like an adventurer. We walked through markets, met children along the Inca trail, ate delicious food and even stayed at a local family's home. We were treated very well. We were blown away by the chef's culinary skill while trekking along the Inca trail. Our guide was personable and knowledgeable. Our group was small, also a huge plus. We will book another trip with Active Adventures. This was our second. Small groups, good food, active friends, great leadership, well run. What is not to like? Thank you, all.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • The Kirk Family Reflections of Rimu 2016

    “It was a fantastic vacation, quite possibly the best we have ever taken. I know our son, Benjamin, rates it as his number one vacation. I actually have a small book summary of the entire trip, with which I will not bore others, but I wanted to remember the details so I wrote them down. The experiences, leaders, guests, accommodations and food were wonderful. On Sunday we had a Mother's Day celebration and my sons chose to prepare a New Zealand-themed meal for me, inspired by recipes from the cook book we purchased at the sheep farm on the last day of our trip. I baked a pavlova and made chocolate slice for the occasion. I wrote down ingredients of recipes prepared by Tess on the trip and made a couple of them within a week of our return in January. When asked about the trip, I continue to say that I did not want to leave New Zealand at the end of the trip.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Great trip with fantastic guides

    “I typically do not travel with group tours, but I found myself with a ticket to NZ but no time to plan my solo trip. I booked rather last minute but have no regrets. Our guides were not only very knowledgeable, but were also fun and caring. The accommodations varied greatly but were always clean and comfortable. The food was delicious as well. I would book another trip with Active in a heartbeat!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Still smiling....

    “Words can't describe the amazing adventure of a lifetime my best buddy and I experienced in Peru with your Active Adventure team! The smiles on our face every time thinking about it paint the perfect picture of our wonderful, amazing experience and trip of a lifetime! Our guide, Daniel , was so attentive, thoughtful, fun and enthusiastic. We felt like we were travelling with a caring friend who was so excited to share his beautiful country with us! We were challenged and encouraged, and enjoyed absolutely every minute of this amazing trip! It would not have been the same without our smiling leader Daniel!!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Tui May 1, 2017

    “Trip of a lifetime. The guides were outstanding, accommodations were excellent. Great food... we even had a picnic!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Active in Peru.

    “I loved my jaguar trip to Peru. The history and Inca ruins were fascinating, the local people we met were all friendly and welcoming, the new friends I made on the trip were lots of fun(we were a great team) - and I loved the Llamas! I saw the best of Peru on foot, by bike and by kayak - a great way to experience such a richly cultural and historic country.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Jaguar, May 2017
  • Our Kiwi Special Holiday

    “This was a very well planned, organised and delivered holiday experience. The guides were excellent; they were both great individuals who clearly loved their job and made our family holiday such a memorable experience. The South Island is a magic place. Thank you Active for your efforts.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tui, May 2017
  • EBC 2017 Trip

    “What an amazing experience! There was so much more to the trek than was advertised. The immersion into the Nepali culture was unexpected and a delight. DK and his crew are professionals! They kept us safe and got us across across the finish line. We had a blast while we were doing it. I can not say enough about our porter team too! What a terrific group of men. Whom ever does your hiring should get a raise. Keep up the awesome adventures.”
    – Ohio, United States EBC, May 2017
  • Everything flowed: shuttles, vans, boats, bikes

    “I am mostly a solo traveler and this AA trip was a series of smooth and timely connections from one event to another. Guides Daniel and Johan were informative
    and personable. A+ to them.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Sit Back and Relax!

    “This trip was pretty awesome. The guides were personable while being professional and they were organized and knowledgable. It was nice to relax and let all the planning and coordination be done by someone else.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    – Colorado, United States Iguana, May 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed

    “It was a great trip with just enough activities to keep it interesting and challenging. Koru provided good insights on locations, while Tess took care of all our needs. The group was small enough to feel like family and we bonded well during the trip. I highly recommend this trip to anyone that likes to stay active during vacation.”
    – Texas, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Exceeded my expectations

    “Everyone said it'll be a trip of a lifetime, and it really was. Our guides Jordie and Holly were excellent, and Holly was an amazing cook! I was a single traveller and the rest of the group was made up of some wonderful individuals from all age groups and walks of life. Would highly recommend to anyone who is hesitant like I was, go for it! You won't regret it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Tui Trip

    “The Tui tour was the best trip I've ever had, all the group was great and very friendly, there was a very good feeling with all the group. It was so great to see all the nice places that you have in NZ, the tour passed so fast that I would love to do another one with you guys! And what about the super guides that we had - Jordy and Holly! They are the best ever, I would like to thank them again so much for the great time we had with them, I'm ready to do more! Holly next time we'll do the swimming race in the lake? Thanks a lot again, Ia orana from Tahiti.”
    – tahiti teahupoo, French Polynesia Tui, May 2017
  • Great guides make all the difference.

    “Annapurna has been a dream for 28 years and it did not disappoint.
    Active Adventures went out of their way for every member of our group.
    The interaction with the Nepali porters made the trip feel authentic.
    Thanks DK, Arjun, Elder & Claire! An incredible experience...”
    – Florida, United States AST, May 2017
  • “Having never been to this part of the world this was a great way to travel, learn a great deal in a very short time, have a lot of fun, and not have to worry about any of the details.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • South Island trip of a lifetime

    “An absolutely awesome adventure with fantastic guides Vanessa and Tory. Experiencing parts of the great tramps in New Zealand of Kepler, Routeburn, Mueller Hut, Inland pack track at Punakaiki and Angelus Hut are a great introduction to tramping in NZ. I will definitely be back to complete some of the tramps. The Angelus hut hike was one of the hardest I have done (I hike regularly in Western Australia) and I loved every second of it. I would do the Angelus hut Nelson lakes hike again in a heart beat. The cycle along the Hawea river was stunning. Every day was a highlight of the trip.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Rimu, May 2017
  • Rimu Trip Southbound

    “I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys being active and loves the outdoors! New Zealand is an absolute GEM of a country and Active Adventures ensures that you experience the beauty and diversity of its land. I cannot say enough about every aspect of this trip from start to finish. The tour guides, accommodations, food, activities all EXCELLENT!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, May 2017
  • 2017 Manuka

    “Went into the trip not knowing what to expect. Took the trip solo. Was hesitant on taking a guided tour. Felt like i wouldn't have the freedom to do things at my own speed. Not the case at all! Had virtually no restrictions on the hikes. Amanda and Holly let us move at our own paces. Overall trip was a blast! Couldn't have wished for more. Great hikes, great food, good sleeping accommodations, hard charging guides, everything was taken care of, didn't have to lift a finger. I will be back.”
    – APO/FPO AP, United States Manuka, May 2017
  • Quick thinking on the fly

    “I can't say enough good things about our guides Andy and Jo. We had not one but two cyclones hit the North Island during out tour and they still managed to find places to take us and keep us challenged and entertained. When we wanted down time, they understood and let us opt out.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Kauri, May 2017
  • Horizons Broadened

    “We normally take two hiking/walking holidays a year but really enjoyed the variety of activity on this tour. We were challenged to do things we'd never done before and it was great fun.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Tui, May 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.