Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Kauri - North Island Trek

    “This was everything I'd hoped it would be. The most amazing adventure for me and my two daughters (aged 21 and 18). The BEST guides who were helpful, fun, flexible and knowledgeable. I'm coming back.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, January 2018
  • Tui with Dani and Maya

    “My Tui trip was an excellent "Active" adventure.. without Bill&Ted.
    Dani and Maya showed up on the 12/25.. and their exuberance set the tone for the trip. Really, enjoyed myself on this guided tour. The itinerary was perfect, and gave us a great overview of the South Island. I wish I had done the helicopter ride to the Franz Josef glacier; if I had to do it again it would have been worth the fee. Loved the rain forest hotel stay there too.
    Siberia Hut/Lake Crucible was an awesome hike.. enjoyed the bush plane flight into the valley - scary but fun. Tough climb up beside the falls, but the views were well worth it. Walking through the meadows towards the lake was amazing. Awe-inspiring views. Lake Crucible/Valley: tired from the climb, the view towards Lake Crucible drove you to move forward. Lake Crucible itself is pretty cool with its floating "glaciers" great hike. I Enjoyed the hike out as we headed for the valley and rivers. The jet boat ride was awesome - besides the thrills of the ride we got the extra "pop" of the views of the mountains. Meeting up as a group and then doing a bike ride in the afternoon added to the adventure. It was awesome going from an alpine environment to a social bike ride. It's amazing how the environments change so quickly, those 2 days are a workout but worth it.
    The day off in Queenstown was good, allowed us to rest up but also time to get a feel of the resort culture and kiwi Hospitality of New Zealand.
    The Milford Sound portion was amazing as we arrived during a heavy downpour to see the thousands of waterfalls produced by the rains. The views and splendor made you want to to stand in the rain to observe. Enjoyed the overnight stay on the boat, and the dinner. Next day we kayaked, it was my first time which was enjoyable. It is something that i will pursue as a hobby based on this experience.
    I'd like to personally thank both Dani, and Maya. They were personable, fun, and kept the trip on track. Both had great personalities, and took care of us on both X-Mas Day, and NYE, much appreciated.
    Based on my positive experience I would recommend the Tui Trip and Active Adventures to someone else.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “We had a great time on this trip! We really enjoyed all that Peru had to offer, and our guide, Daniel, was fantastic. We would recommend this trip highly!

    Nathan, Elijah, Isaac - Mesa, Arizona”
    – Arizona, United States Capybara, January 2018
  • WOW!

    “Where do I begin?
    At the beginning I guess.
    This trip was brilliant and perfect for anybody.
    The guides make it possible for everybody to join in everything.
    The activities are challenging but fun.
    The food is excellent and lots of it!
    The accommodation was staggeringly good.
    If you suffer with travel sickness - beware lots of long minibus trips but a good selection of music and snacks made them bearable.
    New Zealand is a beautiful country and the people are amazing.
    This trip will be in my heart and mind forever.
    Thanks xxxx”
    – West Sussex, United Kingdom Rimu, January 2018
  • Amazing Trip

    “It was an awesome trip through some amazing country. Hikes were hard work at times but very rewarding. Well organised and professional.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Majestic New Zealand

    “Active Adventures attracts like-minded explorers who are up for anything and fun to boot! New Zealand is a remarkable country - and seeing the South Island through the special lens of this tour was truly life changing. The astounding beauty allowed me to feel more connected to our planet, collective community and to myself. Thank you for sharing this majestic place with us!”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • A Wonderful, Relaxed, Fun-packed, Gorgeous Adventure.

    “The title says it all, our guides were great, and the group dynamics were amazing. It’s not every time you luck out with a trip like this and we sure did. Between the dynamics of Astrid and James and that of the group, we had a truly special group and trip, and I can’t imagine having it done any other way... the way Astrid and James worked together to lead the group was pure magic. Truly. I think the only way I’d ever do an active trip again is if I had the two of them to guide it together. No joke. They rocked it that hard. Thanks to you all. I will never forget it.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • A Great Third Trip With Active

    “This was my third trip with Active (first was the Winter Rimu in 2011, followed by the Annapurna Sanctuary trek in 2013) and it was an absolute blast, as always! Our guide, Zac, was warm, friendly and accommodating and managed our large group with expertise and infinite patience. We also had fantastic local guides on both our 'W' trek and in El Chalten, making for a wonderful crew of experts to guide us on our adventure. The hiking was extremely challenging, but worth it for the spectacular views we enjoyed along the way. We lucked out with perfect weather during our entire trip, and I think all of us really enjoyed the incredible vistas we were treated to from start to finish! As with every Active trip I have taken, our accommodations were cozy, comfortable and convenient, and I really enjoyed the time Zac took to book delicious meals for us at every stop-- he really worked tirelessly throughout to make sure we were all happy, content and full after our hard work and it was so appreciated! The only even remotely negative thing I have to say is that the first two days of our trip were New Years Eve and Day, and it started things off rather slowly as we had to forfeit our penguin cruise and first few meals in favor of a local tour and hotel food-- but it was our choice to book this window so not entirely Active's fault and Zac, as always, was smiling and positive throughout, which lifted my mood! Aside from that, this was a once-in-a-lifetime adventure and worth absolutely every mile. Don't hesitate to book and enjoy every moment!”
    – DC, United States Condor, January 2018
  • A Magical Experience!

    “When I first learned of the Galapagos in 9th grade biology class, I never dreamed that I would one day visit this magical place! There is an incredible uniqueness about the wildlife that you will not find anywhere else. I loved watching the sea lions interact with each other and teasing the marine Iguanas around the rocks. There were dozens of sea turtles and hundreds of colorful fish, beautiful red crabs, majestic sting rays, playful dolphins, colorful blue footed boobies, prehistoric gigantic tortoises and the cutest penguins I have ever seen! Our guide Zambo was exceptional! He was so passionate about sharing the culture and history of the islands - not to mention truly an expert in "everything Galapagos". I highly recommend this trip with Active Adventures and I loved my stay on the islands! It will always have a special place in my heart!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • Trip of a life time

    “My wife and I planned this trip with some friends to try something new and to maximize the experience of New Zealand. We spent 8 days hiking, biking, and kayaking through the South Island. Every day was action packed with something different to do. We got to try new things, test a few of our limits that we wouldn't have normally done, and learn a few things about local culture along the way. I can't say enough good things about our guides Ben and Liana. They were enthusiastic about everything we did and full of information. They helped us push limits and get the most out of the experiences we had. Everyone I've told about our trip has been wowed by the awesome things we got to see and do.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Much More Than Iguanas

    “The Iguana trip in December 2017 was adventurous and outlandishly beautiful. We went in the off-season, were 2 very compatible couples, biked, kayaked, snorkeled and hiked with condors, turtles, fish, iguanas and sea lions. The people of Peru and Ecuador are welcoming and friendly. The food was awesome as were our guides.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, January 2018
  • The Perfect Amount of Challenge!

    “Flying into the Siberia Valley, hiking up to an alpine lake, sleeping in a back country hut, and jet boating back to civilization - all in a 36 hour period - means I earned bragging rights and street cred! Many thanks to our wonderful guides for their encouragement and knowledge. Truly a trip of a lifetime.”
    – Ohio, United States Tui, January 2018
  • An Amazing New Zealand Adventure

    “Active Adventures is very lucky to have Katie and Natalie on your staff. The guides set the community on a trip like this and they did such a great job of creating a welcoming environment. You can tell that both Katie and Natalie love what they do, therefore they bring more to the trip. For example Katie had a bag of her own personal books about New Zealand that we could look at, her goal to tell us a new Maori story everyday, as well as her in depth knowledge that made the trip much richer. I would have missed so much if I had rented a car and traveled to the same places. On a scheduling front I very much enjoyed the day hikes that were off a gravel road and places that were out of the way from the tourist attractions. I became sick on the first night and Katie arranged a late check out as well as plan b options for the hike if I needed them. On the second part of the trip Natalie was very welcoming and did an exceptional job on cooking the meals. Also on this leg Katie did a wonderful job at driving during a flash storm. Her driving throughout the trip was a very professional safe experience.
    Thank you for not canceling on me with only 2 participants on the first leg of this trip.”
    – Alabama, United States Kauri, January 2018
  • A Wonderful and Exciting Adventure

    “Active Adventure is very lucky to have Koru on their staff. The guide makes the trip and Koru made the trip a welcoming, learning adventure. He is great at creating a positive community within his groups. He has great insight showing New Zealand as if we were all locals. Koru, Katie, and Natalie were great at helping me with my personal bird count challenge. Koru had great understanding of the trails and it showed. He gave great advice on hikes to do out side of the trip and knew great routes to avoid the masses of tourist. He also is a wonderful cook. Overall I believe that Koru loves what he does, therefore, he passes on that passion to participants to create a magical experience.
    Thank you for not canceling the trip with just 2 participants.”
    – Alabama, United States Manuka, January 2018
  • Trip to Peru

    “Magnificent Cusco and Machu Picchu. Delicious food, beautiful city, well organized hike and excellent Eric and Hosea”
    – , Tanzania, United Republic of Jaguar, January 2018
  • Lovely Trip to the Peru Jungle and Lake Titicaca

    “Loved the giant otters, beautiful birds and monkeys in the Jungle, enjoyed Puna and the people of Lake Titicaca.”
    – , Tanzania, United Republic of Chinchilla, January 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Spectacular scenery, awe-inspiring mountains and glaciers, gale force winds, snow, amazing food (including grazing on wild berries along the way) and fantastic guides who really looked after us to the nth degree made up the Patagonia experience! This was truly an active adventure - we saw and did all the highlights. A trip of a lifetime!”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Mayra and Cem were Just the Best

    “My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour at the end of 2017 into 2018 in Patagonia. Mayra was outstanding as our group leader. She always was willing to help if there was an issue, always explained what to expect, always looking out for us to ensure we were enjoying the experience and just an absolutely wonderful person. Cem was our guide during the W trek. He was funny, informative, truly helpful and always helping the group get through the hard parts. Juan and Cecila were our guides on the other parts and they were very friendly as well.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Exceeds expectations at every turn!

    “I always have a picture in my mind of what I want to accomplish on a trip such as this. First time I can honestly say all my expectations were surpassed checking every bucket list item off and then some!”
    – Ohio, United States Kea, January 2018
  • Action Packed Road Trip - Fantastic Experience For Our Family

    “We loved our trip overall and appreciated the amount of miles and activities we were able to cover and experience in a two week itinerary. Every detail was thoughtfully executed and our guides were terrific; we actually can't say enough about how much we admired Jackie's driving and Emma's cooking not to mention their cheerful and encouraging leadership of our group! I was impressed with the bus which provided comfort, storage of daily items (YAY for cupholders!) and wonderful panoramic views; excellent since we logged a lot of miles on it. The hiking, biking and kayaking were epic & strenuous and led us to amazing sights. It was our goal to see as much of the South Island as we could on our first trip to New Zealand and the 'Rimu' trip sure delivered that.
    Our family has taken many guided adventure trips (road and mountain biking, rafting, and hiking) in America and Europe and your company is one of the very best at what you do. Thank you for a wonderful trip full of treasured memories.”
    – New Mexico, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • *Waaaay* Better Than Trying to Plan This Awesome Trip Ourselves!

    “Seamless, perfectly executed trip to the beautiful South Island.
    Just book it. You won't regret it. Active adventures had everything planned flawlessly. So many of our stunningly beautiful hikes were crowd-free. We felt sorry for the DIY tourists driving badly in their rented cars. We had so much fun, and really appreciated that the trip was so well tailored for our enjoyment. 100% fun 0% stress and hassle.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • Dream Trip to New Zealand

    “We'd wanted to go to New Zealand for years and were so happy we chose to do it with Active Adventures. We never would have seen and done as much without being on a tour where they handled everything. The guides were highly competent as well as being fun and setting a relaxed tone. It was wonderful how they guided us through some of the most beautiful places on earth and could also tell us about history and wildlife. They were flexible and helped us navigate the different physical levels of each family member. Food was healthy and delicious. Both the adults and kids had a blast.”
    – Illinois, United States Kea, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “A great trip touching most of the NZ South Island's many must see / must do places.”
    – Illinois, United States Kea, January 2018
  • Patagonia - Life is Good

    “First we will say that Cynthia, our requested trip guide made this the best possible trip. I cant say enough kind words about my friend Cynthia. She puts her whole heart and soul into guiding our adventures and I feel lucky to have her as a friend after traveling with her in Peru as well a year ago. Thank you Active so much for enabling my daughter to get to travel with her as well and get to know her. Having her as our guide meant the world to me. My daughter just loved her as I do and they were great friends on the trip.
    That being said, we loved Patagonia, really everything about it. As well Gem was a wonderful local guide who we really liked as well. Southern Patagonia was amazing and after the trip we went on to explore N Patagonia and also loved that. In our future we want to come back and I could easily spend 3 months exploring this exceptional area. Thank you Active for giving us such a wonderful experience as usual. This was my 5th Active trip and certainly won't be my last. I love Active, you do an amazing overall job with wonderful like minded guests. I always meet such wonderful people on your tours. Thank you for being such a trusted company that I can count on for an excellent experience.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Manuka trip

    “I already sent you guys an email about how much I loved the trip but if this makes it official I'll do it again here. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS TRIP!!! I was able to do the Milford Track (which I have wanted to do ever since I was here 13 years ago) and it was fantastic!!! I know you have no control over the weather but even that was perfect. I was told to expect lots of rain (we barely got wet) There were very few bugs (even at "sandfly point") It was perfect! I must thank Active Adventures for not cancelling the trip when only myself and one other individual showed up for what could have been a 15 person tour. (Where was everybody? They missed out on the trip of a lifetime!) Koru was the best guide/host ever! He made us eggs benedict for breakfast, fresh salmon for dinner and treated us to chocolate muffins for lunch. since there were only 2 of us we were able to fit in a lot of bonus hikes and side trips that we probably couldn't have done with a full group. The Milford Track segment was a bit pricey but worth every penny of it. The food was insane! (venison, salmon pate, creme brulee, apple strudel, choice of packed lunch every day...yum) The scenery was gorgeous and with so few people I could walk in solitude much of the time. I tried to be one of the first on the trail every day and I was frequently the last one in at the lodges, not because I wasn't able to keep up; I just had to stop to look at everything, touch the trees, listen to the birds, feel the water on my bare feet (I even went "swimming" once just to see how cold it really was: VERY!) New Zealand is special. There aren't many places left in the world that are so unspoiled that you can safely drink right out of the river (no mine runoff, toxic waste, chemicals and general human sludge ruining it) It was funny to me that the worst traffic problem seemed to be the occasional 2 minute pause at the 1 lane bridges. (it can sometimes take HOURS to get to the mountains or home again on I-70 in Colorado due to weekend ski traffic or holiday travelers trying to escape the city) So thank you Active Adventures for setting up a tour showcasing the wonderful diversity of the natural beauty in your country. Thank you Tess and especially Koru for sharing this most excellent experience with me (and Mike, my fellow wanderer, he was good company also!)”
    – Colorado, United States Manuka, January 2018
  • Mid Life Challenge

    “A great way to re-energize your life. Gets you to think about what is really important- life experiences- challenges and successes!”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Epic Family Trip

    “If you want to make the most of a family trip to New Zealand, you MUST consider Active Adventures! The 5 star reviews are REAL!

    Our guides, Mel and Kim were the BEST! They were awesome ambassadors for Active Adventures and for New Zealand in general. They shared a wealth of information about the land, wildlife, history and culture. Our guides pointed out details about New Zealand that we would have missed had we done the trip on our own. Our kids (6 & 9) loved them. I think that my kids miss Mel and Kim almost as much as they miss New Zealand itself!

    Travelling was part of the adventure. Our bus “Ed” was comfortable and had large windows to view the amazing scenery. It was nice to have the option to take in the sites or to relax on the bus after a hike. Mel kept the kids entertained. NEVER ONCE did my kids complain or ask whether we were there yet. Ed was always stocked with a basket full of fresh fruit and healthy snack options.

    Itinerary and details were all expertly planned. Behind the scenes, Mel and Kim shopped and prepared meals while we explored or settled into our accommodations. We loved all of the wildlife encounters, scenery, and outdoor adventures. Active Adventures really maximized our New Zealand experience!!

    From the time of my initial inquiry, the Active Adventure team was accessible and helpful. Detail oriented, they reached out to us shortly before the trip to get height/weight info to arrange booster seats for our kids. In addition, a month prior to the trip, they proactively contacted us about Christmas dinner options for the evening prior to the trip’s start.

    I was fortunate to find Active Adventures via an online search. I can attest to the 5/5 star reviews. We loved the personalized experience being in a small tour group. We have so many happy memories. I am so glad that we completed the trip and highly recommend Active Adventures and the Kea trip to my family, friends, and colleagues.”
    – AP, Japan Kea, January 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “I am still basking in the glow from this remarkable trip! I admit that I was a bit nervous at first as I was the oldest person in our group and not as fit (for hiking) as some in the group, so I worried about 'keeping up' on the hikes - especially the steeper climbs. Ben and Lauren were very reassuring and encouraging and I felt that I was able to 'hold my own'. In fact, while the hiking was probably the most challenging I've done in at least 7 years, it was the most rewarding/exhilarating part for me. I loved our group - a very positive, health-conscious and fun group of people from all walks of life. It was also wonderful that we were only 12 people - it helped to create a much more intimate and personal atmosphere. I felt we bonded together well - again, thanks to Ben and Lauren's great skills with ice-breaking, fun games, and ability to set and maintain a positive atmosphere from the beginning.
    From the moment we set off from the airport to the emotional farewells back at the airport at the end of the trip, this was a top notch adventure. Our transportation was comfortable, our accommodations were always different and unique and very comfortable - I loved that they weren't all in your standard hotel and that some of them were really off the beaten track. The food was amazing - from the snack basket in the van, loaded fresh every day with fruit and other snacks, to the amazing meals that Lauren and Ben created and the breakfasts and dinners that we had at various restaurants - there was a lot of variety, special dietary considerations were accounted for and there was lots of it!
    I did the kayak option and it was outstanding. The B&B and our hosts were wonderful (the hot tub at the end of the day was most appealing!) and our kayak guide, Nick was terrific - very accommodating, skilled and he made it all very interesting and fun!
    I cannot say enough about our incredible guides - Ben and Lauren - they truly moved the bar for me from a great trip to one that will go down in history for me as the trip of a lifetime. They were so knowledgeable about the island - I loved listening to the legends/folklore and learning more about the vegetation, birds, etc. Ben was a terrific driver - I always felt safe. Lauren was terrific with her cooking and meal presentations - meals looked fantastic and tasted even better! Both Ben and Lauren added those special touches from decorating the bus for the Christmas season, organizing our Secret Santa, making a fantastic Christmas morning breakfast, complete with Christmas crackers and special hats, managing extra logistics like re-booking the paragliding for us, setting up the helicopter tour, taking the time and effort to help reconnect people with items they had left behind either in our accommodations or on a hike/kayak. They even had the perfect music for when we went through the Homer Tunnel and down into Milford Sound - the combination of the music and the scenery was so moving it had several of us in tears! They really ensured that they got to know each person and took a genuine interest in each person. Their positive energy and enthusiasm was infectious. They took kindness and customer service to a new level! The scenery was breathtaking everywhere we went. It would be hard for me to say what the favourite part was or favourite view as the South Island is simply spectacular. I felt that the trip was organized in such a way that I really got a good feel and appreciation for the South Island. Truly New Zealand is one of the most beautiful places (both 'inside and out') that I have ever visited (and I've visited over 20 other countries around the world). I really loved the more laid-back way of life and the local people we met were so welcoming and kind. I would love to come back again and see the North Island but also re-visit the South Island!
    I highly recommend this trip and have already suggested it to a number of my friends. It really was transformational for me on so many levels! My heartfelt thanks to Ben and Lauren and everyone at Active Adventures!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, January 2018
  • Magical!

    “I don't usually gravitate toward organized tours, but this has changed my mind. Everyday was a magical adventure and well-paced. Pepo was so knowledgeable, friendly and just a warm person. I loved that everyday we did something active - I think I was healthier on vacation than I am in real life! The Galapagos was a trip of a lifetime and this tour made sure that I saw everything I could see. Additionally, I learned so much about the wildlife and conservation that I will continue to provide random facts to my friends and family for years. Words cannot express how much I loved this trip and this adventure. It really has opened up my eyes.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • First Class Holiday

    “This was my second trip with Active and it didn’t disappoint. Flawlessly organised, a great group, wonderful holiday and a knowledgable and enormously fun guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, January 2018
  • Rimu Rocks!

    “The trip was awesome! I met a great bunch of fellow travelers and now have family in New Zealand in Jackie and Emma! I felt like we saw a lot of the South Island in 2 weeks. I loved my first experience in New Zealand and plan on coming back in 2020!”
    – Michigan, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Perfect Combination of Biking, Hiking, Alps, Lakes and Ocean

    “Our Weka adventure was exciting and challenging from Day 1 to Day 14. The biking days were great fun and let us explore areas where we were often the only ones on the track. The hikes provided us with views which were spectacular. Our guides, Tory and Nick, were terrific at sharing information about the history of New Zealand and Maori legends. We could not have hoped for a more beautiful and joyful experience.”
    – Texas, United States Weka, January 2018
  • Active Adventures South America ROCKS!

    “Awesome trip! Our guide, Pepo, is the best active guide out there. He was knowledgeable, fun, patient, and attentive. I highly recommend Active Adventures South America. We just showed up for our “Tortuga” Galapagos trip and they took care of everything. Customer service was incredible during information gathering stage (to determine the best trip for us), booking, trip prep and during the entire trip. We will definitely book with Active Adventures again.”
    – Maryland, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • Amazing South Island Rimu Adventures

    “The most awesome and enjoyable adventure I've had, with Active Adventures on a Rimu trip with Jackie and Emma! We had a really good group and the best tour leaders too. Emma is a talented cook and Jackie is an excellent driver, as well as both being friendly and hilarious people. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. They made us feel comfortable and happy. I enjoyed all the hikes we went on and the kayaking too. I would definitely consider going on another Active Adventures tour some day, as I really enjoyed my tour!”
    – Victoria, Australia Rimu, January 2018
  • Julian's Condor Review

    “The Condor trip to Patagonia is really a unique and once in a lifetime experience. I was constantly in awe of the beauty and vastness of the Patagonian wilderness and vistas. Active has set up a great itinerary filled with activity and tremendously knowledgable guides. I cannot recommend this trip enough!”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Tapir trip Review

    “The Tapir trip to Ecuador certainly lived up to its "active adventure" name with Hiking, Horseback riding, Cycling and climbing through multiple waterfalls. The variety and the excellence of your guide Mauro made this an unforgettable trip and I highly recommend both Active Adventures and your Tapir trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Tapir, January 2018
  • Trip Review Condor

    “The Active Adventures "Condor" trip to Patagonia and the Argentinean Andes is a "must do" adventure if you enjoy hiking around glaciers, lakes and mountains. The views are spectacular. The quality of the guides is first rate on all elements of this trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • NZ Alps and surrounding region: what a great place!

    “The much wilder South Island was a great place to visit, despite the weather which was for some days awful, notably on the West Coast (rain, wind, fog, snow). Incredible choice of outdoor activity, the highlight being the kayaking (with heavy rain) in Milford Sound as well as the hiking to Franz-Josef Glacier (hail did not allow us to complete it).”
    – TN, Italy Rimu, January 2018
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “It was the best ever! Our guides Katie and Alex did everything to make sure we had the best possible experience! We loved every minute and would definitely recommend Active to any of our friends travelling to New Zealand.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, January 2018
  • “We really had a great time with your team. Your lead guide, James, was always accommodating and willing to go the extra mile for everyone. When we could not make one of our trips due to rain it was super impressive that you guys made a work-around and made it happen. It was a wonderful trip.”
    – Texas, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “Trip was great - our tour guide Daniel was fantastic and every detail was looked after!”
    – Manitoba, Canada Capybara, January 2018
  • Wonderful KEA trip with amazing guides

    “We were a bit hesitant knowing that we would be the only family on this trip, since part of the draw was interacting with other families with kids while we adventure, but our awesome guides Ash and Eve really came through and made sure both kids and adults had a wonderful time through the varied terrain of the South Island. They were particularly good at coaxing our least willing hiker (the 6 year old) and giving us options to split up into individual / paired interests. The level and variety of activity was perfect for our family! Thanks again, we really did have the best time and hope to come back for another Active adventure someday...”
    – Oregon, United States Kea, January 2018
  • “Awesome trip. Zambo is one of the best guides we've ever had on a trip like this. Super knowledgeable, very patient, great with logistics, etc. And Sina was a wonderful addition. They make a perfect team & couple!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • Awesome trip!

    “Very well curated trip with awesome activities and fantastic views. Our guides were knowledgeable and helpful, facilitating a cohesive group and a really great trip. Now if only you could change the wind?!”
    – Oregon, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Absolutely the trip of a lifetime

    “This trip was both physically and mentally challenging, and I left with a huge sense of accomplishment and confidence! Not to mention the stunning scenery of New Zealand. Our guides were amazing and our whole group was one big family. This was a trip of a lifetime for me, and I'm already planning my next Active Adventures trip to South America!”
    – Dublin, Ireland (Republic of) Rimu, January 2018
  • An Unforgettable Adventures

    “From kayaking to mountain biking to hiking and even skydiving!- Active Adventures let me do it all in just 8 days during the South Island Tui Trip. It was an amazing experience and I especially loved how everything was planned beforehand and taken care off. Traveling stress free is one of the best! Definitely would recommend to my friends!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Walking makes a "Difference"

    “We did a bicycle trip on the South Island in 2013, it was a wonderful trip, although the focus was cycling (of-course) and seeing local towns.
    This time, "walking" we were able to get off the beaten track and really see what New Zealand has to offer. It was beyond wonderful and we were both surprised how tropical the area is, both around lower lakes and in mountain elevations. We were very pleased and enjoyed ourselves completely!!”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • Great trip. Fantastic guides.

    “The guides were perfect. We kept a brisk pace and covered a lot of ground beside beautiful country.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Awesome Trip

    “Our trip to the Galapagos was simply amazing and Zambo was the best guide ever. We hiked, biked, snorkeled, kayaked, sailed, swam, and learned so much. I keep telling everyone that we felt like we were in a Nat Geo episode. Animals were everywhere...and it was awesome.”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, January 2018
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “Our Rimu trip of the South Island was a wonderful experience. Having a guided tour really took the stress out of planning and also allowed us to sit back and enjoy the views, which would not have been possible if we had chosen to drive ourselves. Our guides Simon and Maddi were extremely knowledgable and a joy to spend time with. Our tour was very personalized and we were able to see and experience much more than larger tour groups. Our guides made sure that we were able to get the most out of our experience and tailored our hikes and activities to fit our personal fitness levels and goals. New Zealand was truly a beautiful country and am very pleased with our experience with Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Dan Barnes Review

    “The trip was amazing . . . The views and experiences made the trip one of a kind”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Nice job

    “Well organized, super friendly guides, saw gorgeous scenery.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Unforgettable Experience

    “The trip and our guides more than exceeded our expectations for the trip. Each activity was backed by incredible scenery and unique memories. Our guides were amazing and very encouraging and our group hit it off from the start making it all the more special.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Condor

    “The trip was well planned out and made the most of our time in Patagonia. The hikes were challenging at times but it was worth it.”
    – New Mexico, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Weka Adventures

    “New Zealand by mountain bike was quite beautiful as well as challenging, we could not have asked for more!”
    – Texas, United States Weka, January 2018
  • An amazing adventure

    “Thank you for the opportunity to see so much in such a short period of time.”
    – Queensland, Australia Iguana, January 2018
  • An adventure

    “A massive trip with so many memories and fab experiences. Great to bookend the trip with extra days if you can as we found the travelling tiring. From Brisbane we found we'd flown 16 sectors!”
    – London, United Kingdom Iguana, January 2018
  • “The Kiwi hiking trip was adventurous and wonderful! Tess and Jackie were very knowledgeable, excellent organizers, fantastic cooks and made our trip fun with their great sense of humor! We found the South Island to be beautiful and so green! Weather was perfect, our accommodations were comfortable and very clean, and of course the scenery was nothing less than spectacular!Would recommend to”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • Have to experience it to believe it.

    “Don't know where to start and don't want to write a book but want anyone who is considering this trek to do it with Active Adventures. Why? I'm 62, still in good health and shape. Have experienced two other treks over the past ten years with other out fits. Machu Picchu in Peru and Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. There was a huge difference in personal care and attention to expedition details. What impressed me the most was the attention to every detail required to make this trek to base camp not only successful but an enjoyable one too. There was not one negative experience that Active Adventure was in control over (lodging, food, permits etc). My mind was put to ease every day when our daily heart rate and oxygen levels were tested and medication was made available to you should you experience the effects of altitude sickness. Our guide’s knowledge of the history and culture of the Nepalese people added to the enjoyment of our journey.”
    – Ontario, Canada EBC, January 2018
  • “Couldn’t have asked for better guides! Jackie and Tess were awesome. They know all about the plants and animals of NZ. Simply amazing for them to hike all morning then pull out a complete lunch for eight people from those backpacks.”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations

    “In planning my trip to New Zealand I specifically signed on to the Rimu trip to achieve 3 goals: first to see as much of the South Island as possible in 2 weeks, second to get outdoors and get a feel for the environment and third to have fun with a group of people. My Rimu experience accomplished all three goals and then some. The mixture of driving, and daily activities was perfect. It allowed us to cover lots of terrain while getting us out and active every day. Our guides, Ben and Emma, were terrific. They were tireless workers who not only made us comfortable but created a positive group dynamic that helped bring complete strangers together into a cohesive group. Ben was great at sharing his knowledge of NZ culture and natural history. Emma was a fantastic cook who kept us well fed even at a hut at 1300 meters. Everything about the trip was well organized and well planned. Thank you for such a great experience.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Condor - incredible Patagonia with great guides

    “Patagonia, both Chile and Argentina are absolutely breathtaking. The itinierary of the trip ensured that we saw all the major sights, and experienced the hiking, food and culture of both countries. Our main guide Jait, was very knowledgeable and worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone on the trip were included, whilst keeping the mood light, and everyone's spirits high. This is the way to see and experience Patagonia with Active Adventures it is an excellent trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Superb Ecuador - don't miss this tropical paradise

    “Ecuador is a gem, and should not be missed. The Active Adventures Tapir trip ensures that you experience many of the highlights of this gorgeous country. From the outset you will experience new adventures like cycling down Mt Cotopaxi from 4,500m, walking around beautiful countryside and heading upriver to an EcoLodge. This beautiful, multi-day activities are thoroughly enjoyable, and your guide Mauro Chavez is exceptional, highly professional, capable and engaging, definately one of the best guides I've had the pleasure to meet.”
    – Queensland, Australia Tapir, January 2018
  • A case of 1+1 = 3

    “Jo and Andy, you guys are the best hosts/guides by a margin. Your passion and knowledge makes the trip that much more memorable. I genuinely felt at home. Truly a case where 1 + 1 = 3.”
    – , United Kingdom Kauri, January 2018
  • Patagonia - Another winner - Our 4th Active Adventure

    “We would recommend this trip to anyone that has thought of going to Patagonia - South. We have only had success and wonderful memories on our trips with Active Adventures. This one is another winner. I would like to thank our wonderful team leader/guide Zac for making it even more special, also to our delightful companions - Brian (old friend from our Peru trip), Laura and Kathyrn (new young friends) for sharing the experience. I cannot say enough about Gem our guide through Chile - W-trek. If you are looking to experience the people, the beautiful and volatile environment that is Patagonia then this trip is for you.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Best trip ever!

    “The Tui trip was well planned with two very cheerful and detail-oriented guides, Amanda and Alex! I enjoyed not only the spectacular post-card like views, but also the hospitality of Kiwi!”
    – California, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Amazing hike across Tongariro!

    “Best hike across the Tongariro! The trip itself was very well planned. Andy and Jo are two wonderful guides, who are both knowledgable and cheerful.”
    – California, United States Kauri, January 2018
  • Fabulous Trip

    “This is a great trip! The itinerary is fun and active and has a little variety. The people were great, and the guides, Cahit, Anna, and Aime were stellar. It was the perfect combination of people, weather and terraine. And, Active Adventures really does make it easy so you can leave your worries at home. If you want to be stunned into silence again and again by sheer natural beauty, this is a trip that will give you what you want!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, January 2018
  • A Great Trip

    “We had a blast. Even when the weather didn't work in our favor our guides made it possible to do about everything we wanted to do. Franz Joseph Glacier was a once in a lifetime experience, exploring all the ice caves. The Siberia Wilderness was absolutely amazing. Loved the scenic flight. And Milford Sound cruise and sea kayak made it feel like we experienced the sound from so many different perspectives. Also, added bonus, we saw dolphins, seals, and a whale!!! We got to do so much in the week that we had. And our guides were great and knew a lot about the places we visited. It was fun to learn about New Zealand from the locals.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Wonderful introduction to the South Island

    “Based on the trip itinerary and description, I assumed this would be a fantastic introduction to the South Island. And, it was. What I did not expect were two of the best guides I have ever had on a planned adventure trip. They made adventure absolutely wonderful.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Thank You Active Adventures!

    “Excellent trip, great guides and new friends!”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Rimu nov. 27 - dec. 10 '17

    “This trip was unsurpassed by any other I've ever been a part of! Ben and Emma seemed like family to us with their wonderful cooking, extreme knowledge of the island and extraordinary skill as guides made every step of every hike better than the last!
    I have not stopped singing the praises of Active Adventures to my like minded friends since returning!
    You really 'knocked this one out of the park'!”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Sweet as

    “I really don't know how our trip could have been any better! We must have won the guide lottery to get Amanda and Alex on our trip. They were a lot of fun to be with, knowledgeable in all things New Zealand, and just did an amazing job running the trip. We loved each stop and activity on the Tui itinerary and feel like we got to see some of the best the South Island had to offer. My son and I had been looking forward to this trip for a very long time and it definitely lived up to our expectations. The only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!”
    – Arkansas, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Oct 16 2017 Rimu with Simon and Liana

    “Your mission was accomplished. I would not change a thing about my Oct 16 2017 Rimu adventure with Simon and Liana. It was perfect!
    - Well organized – From the pickup at the airport, to meals and accommodations, to the drop off at the airport, the trip was well organized. Liana and Simon kept an eye on time to ensure we kept on schedule and they even added additional stops as time allowed for unscheduled adventures. They were very thoughtful and attentive to our preferences and requests.
    - Outdoor oriented – LOVED IT! I was able to eat outdoors, watch sunrises and sunsets, sit under the stars, and adventure out on my own in the mornings and the evenings. The timing of this trip couldn’t have been better for me; since it was Spring in New Zealand, the weather was wonderful with perfect temperatures and there were very few other tourists on our hikes and at our stops. Both Simon and Liana were great guides. Liana was a great source of knowledge, particularly about the vegetation, birds, wildlife, and the history of New Zealand.
    - Awesome adventure around New Zealand – The trip was well laid out to allow an efficient tour of the South Island. We were able to see and experience so many landscapes. New Zealand is quite impressive in what it has to offer. The days were well balanced; the amount of time we spent traveling in the bus was broken into smaller, manageable chunks of time. Simon did a splendid job driving the bus and having our luggage easily accessible.
    - Allow time to relax – I had plenty of time to relax and unwind. I had time before and after our daily scheduled events to do my own thing. There were also ample opportunities during our bus rides and activities (hiking, biking, kayaking) to just sit back in take in the beautiful surroundings and the serenity of it all.
    - Get off the beaten track - I loved the quaint places we would stay and visit; each was unique and an experience in itself. There was so much to see and explore. The remote locations were perfect for being unplugged/unconnected and just being in the moment.
    - Show the real New Zealand – Stops along the way (Torlesse winery, Andris Apse gallery, Garston Honey shop, sheep shearing at Morelea, etc.) to visit with locals and hear about their history are one of a kind experiences I will always treasure. I am impressed and grateful that Active Adventures supports local, small business entrepreneurs for outfitters (kayaking, biking), accommodations, meals, and shopping. Liana did a great job incorporating local cuisine into our meals and snacks. The food was wonderful; my compliments to Liana who is a very talented culinary artist.
    - Sent home buzzing with energy – My time in New Zealand couldn’t have been better. It is exactly what I needed; it truly reenergized me. I’ve been sharing my experience and recommending Active Adventures since my departure flight shuttle ride. Just thinking about my trip to New Zealand makes me smile. I would definitely consider doing another adventure with Active Adventures.
    I sincerely appreciate that the Oct 16 2017 Rimu adventure was allowed with only 3 of us. The potential of having 14 in a group was the only reservation I had when I signed up for this adventure; I was extremely delighted when I found out we had a small group. Our small group made the whole experience that much more personable.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Enjoying Patagonia with no worries

    “Had a wonderful trip. All staff (guides and drivers) were fantastic and everything was planned and/or looked after by them. Had no worries whatsoever while in the hands of Active Adventures, including when the weather turned bad and plans needed to be changed, quick. The Argentinian side of the trip felt somewhat less packed and at times, like I could have been doing more. Still worth a five stars from me.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, December 2017
  • A Beautiful Adventure

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and it did not disappoint. From start to finish, every detail was taken care of. We snorkelled with reef sharks and sea turtles, kayaked next to Galapagos penguins and marine iguanas, and walked on the beach next to the sea lions. Our Guide, Zambo, shared his knowledge of and his passion for these Islands all along the way. A trip to remember.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, December 2017
  • In the footsteps of some great people

    “Nothing compares with the Himalayas and with Mt Everest in particular. That is because of the uniqueness of the place, the history, the geography, the people, and the culture. And it is because, for me, this was a personal test unlike any I have ever attempted, and probably ever will. Active Adventures provided the opportunity, the expertise, and the support to enable this experience. It was and will always be much much more than simply getting to Everest Base Camp. That is an achievement, but the journey there and back was at least as important as the point of arrival.”
    – , New Zealand EBC, December 2017
  • “Amanda and Alex made our trip special. An adventure trip is only as good as the guides. I have done a few bicycle trips, etc., but Amanda and Alex are the "Best Guides Ever." Inside joke.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, December 2017
  • Majestic South Island

    “This tramping trip fed me body and soul!”
    – Maryland, United States Tui, December 2017
  • Each challenge rewards you with the beauty of the region

    “It was everything I imagined and more. The beauty of Chile and Argentina come to life through every step - uphill, downhill and around every turn. The W trek was the highlight for me personally because I wanted to check the box and say 'I did it'. I am truly impressed with the care and attention provided by our guides. Not a single detail is missed. Cahit made the experience so personal to each member of the group for the entire 2 weeks. Anna was our rockstar guide for the W and Aime took great care of us as the rains hit us in Argentina. The itinerary was just perfect. If Patagonia is on your bucket list, do it with Active Adventures. The guides will teach you so much about the region, the wildlife, the plants, and more. And the local hotels and restaurants you visit are just wonderful. Our favorite souvenirs include a local Chilean spice and a sandwich spread that we just had to bring home! I keep looking at my pictures and feeling fortunate for the fabulous memories made and new friendships created.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Rimu - South Island

    “Great trip, full of discoveries away from big city centers, the kind of adventure nature lovers will appreciate to the fullest. We had a great two weeks of travelling through the real NZ landscaping natural beauty and 14 days is not enough to see or do everything. We enjoyed hiking, kayaking, biking, swimming in pristine water, caving, always surrounded by super guides who made us feel in goods hands at all time.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, December 2017
  • Outstanding Locations. Outstanding Service

    “We have always wanted to see New Zealand, but we didn't know how to select the best and organize a trip around these. Active Adventures gave us an answer, and on the trip, AA gave us much more than we expected. We saw amazing locations, did lots of fun activities, and had amazing service... with the guides providing great information, assistance, service and various options. Terrific!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, December 2017
  • Perfect in Everyway!!

    “With great guides, fabulous weather and scenery that is amazing, we hiked, kayaked our way through-out the South Island. We learned a lot about the country, the flora and fauna, birds and conservation efforts.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, December 2017
  • A Deep Dive into the Understanding of the Maori Culture

    “Having just come from the South Trip we wondered if this trip would be more of the same. It was not. The landscape and activities were different and just as amazing. We learned so much about the history of the country, the Maori people, culture, and their language. The activities were varied and enabled us to experience the beauty of the North Island and all it has to offer.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Kauri, December 2017
  • Very Glad We Added Kauri to Our Trip

    “We added Kauri to our Rimu trip because we wanted to spend more time with the Maori culture and see the north island. Our wishes were more than fulfilled by this excellent trip.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Kauri, December 2017
  • Rimu - Awesome South Island trip!

    “This trip is really a great way to experience the true beauty of the South Island. We hiked in beautiful areas with spectacular views, biked the Te Araroa track and sea kayaked in Milford Sound and in the Okarito Lagoon. Our guides, Ben and Emma, were absolutely great! They were cheerful, caring and attentive to our needs. They kept us well fed all along the trip even while hiking in remote areas with minimal cooking facilities. Accommodations were great and representative of the visited area. Thanks to one of our travel companions, we had magnificent weather for the trip duration… we cannot have asked for better temperatures.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, December 2017
  • North Island - Kauri

    “From the first day to the last, I have enjoyed travelling through the North Island with our fantastic guides Jo and Andy. Rain or shine there was always an interesting hike to go to, or a point of view worth stopping at and they know them all. The landscaping of NZ is fabulous in many areas and I liked the fact that we went out of the major tourist attraction points. Andy, excellent driver, is also an encyclopedia of information and such a good narrator he makes the long road trips fill shorter and very pleasant. Jo the mermaid is an excellent cook who enjoyed preparing meals for kings even in restrictive facilities. I enjoyed the fact that we could participate in a good variety of activities as we were hoping to. We felt secure at all times, we learned a lot about the Maori nation and their influence on the actual NZ.
    A very informative and pleasant trip overall, with excellent guides who adapt easily to any group of people or situations they have to deal with. Two tums up, I will definitely recommend this adventure to anyone who enjoys nature and culture out of their comfort zone.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, December 2017
  • Awesome Nepal!

    “What an amazing trip! Just the accomplishment of trekking all the way to Annapurna Base Camp is amazing, but the view when you get there puts it over the top!”
    – Alberta, Canada AST, December 2017
  • TOP

    “Awesome...
    How New Zealand is beautiful!
    Rimu did surprise me each of its 14 days with amazing landscapes and activities.
    How Koru & Pepper were nice, professionals, helpful and now friends!
    Rimu was much more pleasant because of these two top guides.
    I recommend NZ and Rimu. I highly recommend Koru & Pepper as guides.
    Rimu was perfect also because of my trip companions, now, friends.
    Who knows Koru & Pepper aren't responsible by joining us?
    Thank you Koru!
    Thank you Pepper!
    Tkank you Active Adventures!”
    – Parana, Brazil Rimu, December 2017
  • Best way to see New Zealand

    “My husband and I spent our honeymoon in New Zealand for several weeks, the middle part of which we spent with Active Adventures. Being shown New Zealand by local people was by far the best way to travel. Our guides were absolutely amazing and were able to create a trip that best suited everyone. We were able to go places that would have been otherwise impossible for my husband and I to plan on our own. From staying in small towns that we wouldn't have heard about otherwise and being flown into isolated valleys to spend a few days, it felt like we were being shown a different side of NZ. It was the trip of a lifetime.”
    – New York, United States Tui, December 2017
  • Great New Zealand Adventure

    “Active Adventures provided a well rounded and action packed vacation. The guides, Simon and Maddie, were fully committed to the attention of their guest.”
    – Michigan, United States Rimu, December 2017
  • “Every time we stopped we had magnificent views in every direction. Patagonia is beautiful. If you love beautiful places with stunning scenery this is the place for you. To truly enjoy it, you need to be in shape to hike relatively steep hills and up to 13 miles in a day.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Excellent way to see New Zealand

    “My husband and I went on the Kauri trip in November 2017. This trip had been on our bucket list for a while and we decided to go with Active Adventures as they were offering the type of travel and activities we wanted to do in New Zealand. Our two awesome guides, Andy (encyclopedia of knowledge) and Jo (excellent cook) made us feel at home and have shown us the beautiful country of NZ while ensuring everyone had fun. We had an amazing time on the North Island and I highly recommend this trip if you enjoy outdoor activities.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, December 2017
  • Fantastic

    “It was more adventurous and much more fun then I expected it to bee!”
    – , Norway Kauri, December 2017
  • Marvellous trip!

    “I just love new Zealand after this and I did not want to go home!”
    – , Norway Manuka, December 2017
  • Tui Trip Nov 2017

    “My husband and I, along with two other friends, went on the 8 day Tui Trip in November of 2017. It was truly the trip of a lifetime. We spent additional time in NZ on our own, but the Tui Trip was the hands down highlight. This type of trip was our of our usual wheelhouse, typically preferring city based trips, but this may have changed our outlook forever! The day hike in Siberia Valley and night spent under the stars was a personal favorite. Ben and Liana were incredible guides. They made us feel at home immediately, and kept it fun and casual throughout. Our group was the perfect size. By the end of 8 days, it felt like we were leaving a new family behind. I would recommend this trip to anyone and everyone and would do it again in a heart beat!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, December 2017
  • Kiwi, November 2017

    “Trip of our life, celebrating 50th wedding anniversary. Guides Tess and Jackie were exceptional. Hiking abilities varied greatly in our group but we all felt challenged and still well looked after and equally informed. I cut my hand on day one and Tess saw that wound was cleaned and bandaged. Accommodations at Abel Tasman and Milford Sound are booked years in advance by Active Adventures and put you right on site. Highlights for me include Abel Tasman coastal trek, Shotover River jet boat, Milford Sound cruise, and Routeburn Key Summit hike. Off itinerary activities such as whitebait snacking and Blue Pool hike were wonderful surprises. Great food! We had lamb three different ways but deer and fresh salmon were included as well. Enjoyed the reparte between the two young guides. Their energy and happiness made for great group atmosphere.”
    – Texas, United States Kiwi, December 2017
  • Condor Trip Amazing

    “The "W" is an amazing opportunity for anyone who enjoys hiking in remote, beautiful areas. It is full of mountain vistas, waterfalls, streams, and even a glacier and icebergs! My husband and I absolutely loved it including the time in the refuggios! The food was delicious and the people were lovely! We loved the zodiac trip at the end to climb on rock to see the glacier up close. We also enjoyed the towns of Puerto Natales, and El Calafate. Both had great restaurants, and interesting shops. Argentina and the Monte Fitz Roy was quite exciting. We especially enjoyed seeing the glacier icebergs and hiking in such beautiful mountain scenery. Our guide, Cahit was amazing, and our guide, Anna on the "W" was as well. So was our guide Aime who we had in El Chatan. I highly recommend this trip!!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Condor, December 2017
  • North Island Challenge

    “We are a couple 71 and 72 years. of age. I'm proud of what Andy and Natalie brought out of me on this adventure. You get out what you put in and some of the activities border on the extreme if you opt for them. Rafting the Okere Falls, hiking the tangariro crossing, and the mountain biking took not only physical effort but some courage as well.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, December 2017
  • December Kauri trip

    “This was certainly a trip of a lifetime, added to the Kiwi trip we did in November. The Kauri was more challenging, as we knew it would be, but we did well. Andy was a fountain of knowledge and BBQ'd some great lamb chops and venison steaks. Nat was very helpful and both kept everything going well. The scenery in NZ is spectacular.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, December 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.