Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • “I had always heard how beautiful New Zealand was, which was why it was at the top of my travel list, so I was prepared to be predictably impressed, but even with this anticipation, I was taken aback by each stunning vista. New Zealand is an amazing place and the Rimu trip captures so many aspects of its appeal- incredibly friendly people, adventure, beauty, good food- all rolled into one. Our guides, Dani and Tory, were phenomenal ambassadors for all that the trip offers and made each adventure fun and exciting, even when challenged by the, at times, unpredictable weather. Always with a smile and word of encouragement, their warmth and love for the country was infectious.”
    – Florida, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Can't wait to come back!

    “Ever since I arrived back home I wake up thinking about NZ and our Tui trip! It was exactly what I had hoped it would be like and better! Better because not just the scenery and activities were amazing, but because of the people. Our guides Claire and Rachael took incredible care of us, (down to how we liked our tea and coffee) were fun to be around, really knew their stuff, and were total
    professionals! We can't wait to come back!!!”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Perfect Vacation!

    “Our Manuka trip offered the perfect mix of locales, hiking trails, and even weather! Our guides Greg and Kim and Hillary shared history, culture, mythology, music, and laughter every day. They were so professional and enthusiastic. I loved visiting the variety of places that Manuka offers - rainforests, mountains, beaches, cities - and coming home with a reading list!”
    – Alabama, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Excellent Trip!

    “Our entire family really enjoyed our 14 day Kiwi adventure. The guides, Amanda and Jess, were the best at everything from driving the bus, to knowledge of the area, flora and fauna, and also amazing cooks. The weather was challenging at times but as Amanda says, "there is no bad weather, just bad gear." The landscape was breathtakingly beautiful. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime.”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, January 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “My wife and I joined this tour as part of our honeymoon trip and we couldn't of been happier. Everything was unbelievably well organized, the accommodations exceeded our expectations, the size of the group was great and there was a good range of activities that enabled us to get a good feel of all the diversity found in the Galápagos Islands.

    We have never used a tour company before when travelling as we like to have flexibility, choose our own accommodations, avoid crowds and be active. However, I would definitely recommend Active Adventures to anybody and would definitely do another tour with them.

    Thanks for everything!!”
    – Alberta, Canada Tortuga, January 2017
  • Best trip ever!

    “I went on this trip as a solo female traveler & am incredibly glad I did! The guides couldn't have been more informative of the kiwi culture and our group was perfect. Every activity was extremely organized. Highly suggest this trip for anyone only having 8 days to explore the South Island!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Better than expected

    “I had done one group tour before and lots of hiking with my local hiking club, but this tour was beyond what I was expecting. The people, the guide, the coordination and logistics - all were fantastic and well done. Of course, what truly made the trip was the amazing location and breathtaking adventure.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • A Fantastic trip

    “This is the best way to tour South Island of New Zealand. Enjoy the spectacular views, experience the first hand of back country and meet the physical challenges. With small group of people and two dedicated guides, what else one ask for?”
    – Kansas, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Best trip I have ever taken

    “There are many layers to this trip
    1. The Group - It was really fun being in a group, and our group was really fun! Sometimes I hung out with people in my family, sometimes I hung out with someone else in the group. This variety and freedom was very enjoyable.
    2. The Guides - Koru and Ash were sooo great. Koru is a polished, learned and experienced leader. Ash is a fabulous cook, so much fun, and cared about each of us on the trip.
    3. The Country - Stunning! We covered so much of the South Island that we were able to see many sides of it's weather and terrain. Really great route.
    4. Activities - It was great sharing a physical activity with others, something I know brings people together. Hiking was great. At the end of a long hike was a fabulous surprise, like a glacial lake with ice burgs, or a beautiful high-mountain vista, or a glo-worm tunnel. Biking was super fun, and I wish there had been one more day of it. In hind site I personally would have selected the biking 3day excursion. The kayaking was great. Heavy chop or glassy lakes, we kayaked in it.
    5. Accommodations - These were just great. As nice as it can be being out in the countryside. I loved how we all ate together every meal.
    5. Pace - I thought the trip was very well planned. Just when we needed a break in the beginning from jet lag, and our trip activities, a two day respite was there in Queenstown where we could recharge. I recharged and my family bungy jumped! Also, activities were structured so that the not so keen could bail out at a stopping point.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Awesome

    “Just returned from two weeks travelling with Active Adventures in Patagonia and it could not have been better. The scenery was spectacular, the days and evenings varied and interesting and we ate and were treated like royalty. Everything was first class on our trip including our tour leader Arturo Rojas who was professional and just awesome in every way. We had a group of 15 trekkers and we very quickly became fast friends. I'm sure there are many companies out there but from my experience I don't think you can go wrong with Active Adventures. I'm already looking forward to my next trip with them.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “Patagonia, a true beauty. Massive, beastly mountains, lovely people, challenging hikes, all made for an unforgettable trip.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “One of my top trips!”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Fun Adventure

    “Active Adventures does an excellent job of organizing adventure trips that allow you to actively explore the country and experience the local culture. This trip was an outstanding opportunity to see the entire country of Peru. It was wonderful to hike the Inca Trail and see Machu Pichu, explore the beautiful town of Cusco, visit the Amazon as well as the different islands of Lake Titicaca.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Rimu - A Kiwi Adventure

    “We knew we wanted to have an outdoor experience in New Zealand and our Active Adventure guides made our trip an adventure delight beyond our expectations. The group was well matched and we felt like a group of explorers rather than participants on a tour group.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Patagonia Condor

    “Cem, our tour leader was fabulous as well as the local tour guides. The trip was amazing and simply beyond words. The scenery was so amazing that it made every step, every steep incline worth the efforts. Was disappointed that the penguin tour was cancelled due to weather on the first day. The food was excellent; Cem did a super job selecting the restaurants outside of the W Refugios.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Loved NZ Kea Adventure

    “New Zealand is a beautiful country, but the experience would not have been half as memorable if it were not for our AA guides. They were professional, could answer any question about NZ, incredibly competent in all ways and so much fun! But it would be unfair not to mention the preliminary support team leading up to the trip. All requests and needs were handled quickly and efficiently. And last, but not least, the itinerary was so well thought out. I enjoyed every minute of the trip and was sorry to see it end.”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • Tui Trip 2017

    “How could this have been any better? Can't think of any way. Our guides were extraordinary and handled every request or complication with ease and grace. The weather can be tricky, making this somewhat challenging, but you'd never know that from how they acted with the group. They always had options up their sleeves. Every day was some new adventure. Some challenging, some not. Always choices if things were too challenging. We plan on coming back for another trip as soon as we can.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tui, January 2017
  • New Zealand and Kiwis are the Best!

    “It would be difficult to overstate how impressed I was with our Active Adventure tour. Mel and Claire were absolutely incredible!! Steve was great too, but he was only with us for the hike up and back from the Aspiring Hut. Plus, he was weighed down by a rock he so generously carried up the hill for Mel.
    Anyway, Mel and Claire made Active Adventures (and New Zealand) look so good! They were EVERYTHING I could hope for: friendly, funny, knowledgeable, professional, hard-working, kind, easy-going, energetic, .... Thank you for one of the best 2-week periods of my entire life!”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • Great trip

    “My experience with Active Adventures in NZ was so fun! The guides were really nice and perfect to play games with. Steve was also really nice and funny. I had such a fantastic time and I'm glad I got to go with Active Adventures.”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • “Best family trip ever. The South Island of New Zealand is one of the most spectacular places on the planet and the Rimu trip takes you to all the highlights. Our group hit the jackpot with Koru and Ash. They were fabulous. This trip gets my highest recommendation all around.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Go hiking, they said. It'll be easy, they said!

    “Surpassed all my expectations on every level. Initially I was disappointed there were only four of us on the trip (plus two guides) but upon reflection, it ended up a great number to get a lot of stuff done. Every whim catered for, every problem anticipated before it became one. The hiking was not easy for me, but I persevered and was glad that Greg the Good Egg chose to encourage me to trek on, rather than pandering to my first instinct to lay down the poles when it got a bit hard. Scenery was brilliant, company was stimulating, and the variety of activities such that we were never bored.”
    – , Manuka, January 2017
  • Awesome

    “The South Island of New Zealand is incredible - the scenery is beyond description. The Tui trip provided us with a variety of activities and nature. Thanks for an unforgettable experience.”
    – California, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Manuka trip Dec 12 2016

    “Although summer came a month late, which meant that our trip was more wet than sunny, we lucked out with the company (our fellow travelers) and especially with Greg and Jess, our very thoughtful guides. I have only high praise and no complaint.”
    – New Mexico, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Kauri Dec 26 2016 (second half)

    “We joined the trip during its second half. Full of interesting activities, and the final hike was the highlight.”
    – New Mexico, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Wonderful Trip

    “The Rimu trip was incredibly beautiful. The guides did an amazing job of looking out for everyone. Highly recommend it.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Fantastic Adventure!

    “This trip was wonderful on so many levels. It was a perfect experience for our family of three college "kids", my husband and me. We traveled with two other families- a total of eight kids and six adults, a good group size. There was lots to see and do and we appreciated the opportunity to be active! Seeing the wildlife and learning about the Galapagos Islands was fantastic!! Zambo, our naturalist was terrific and related equally well to children and the adults. One of the unexpected pleasures my husband and I experienced was hearing our children utilize their seven years of middle and high school Spanish as they communicated with locals. Needless to say, they were pleased that the drinking age on the Islands is 18 and we all enjoyed having a beer at the end of each wonderful day. The December weather was lovely. Comfortably warm and the water was beautiful!! We took full advantage of any extra snorkeling and swimming opportunities.

    Our family had an extra day in Quito. We took the opportunity to hire a guide to take us around the city. What a great opportunity it was to learn about so many aspects of Ecuador's capital city. The Equator Museum was great and we enjoyed walking around the Plaza and seeing a couple of churches. Walking to the edge of the Pululhua crater was awesome! Lenin was a terrific guide!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • The only way to experience the Galapagos

    “This trip was the perfect blend of nature, culture, and fun and it is the best trip for anyone with kids 13-21 years old.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Land-based tours are the way to go!

    “We are so glad we chose to do an active, land-based trip rather than take a cruise ship. Staying in small hotels in the various towns on four islands and gaining an appreciation for the locals, the local food and customs was a tremendous addition to the natural beauty of the Galapagos. Knowing that we were contributing to the local economy rather than to a cruise line's bottom line felt good to us. Our guides (Lenin in Quito) and Zombo (on the Galapagos) were outstanding.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • “The naturalists were so informative about not only the local plants and animals, but had rich historical knowledge that really added to the experience.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • The Perfect Trip

    “My husband and I went on the Rimu trip in celebration of our honeymoon. This trip was simply perfect. The guides went over the top to ensure that we enjoyed every minute of our trip. They took care of every single detail, from the basic logistics, to the individual food needs, to visiting each destination at exactly the right time. The accommodation is out of this world, with views that cannot be described in words. Each day was a new adventure -- whether hiking, kayaking, biking or creating your own adventure -- we spent every minute of the trip excited, active and very well-fed. This trip should be top of your life to-do list.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, January 2017
  • Experience the best of New Zealand by foot, kayak and bike!

    “If you want to hike, bike or kayak the best places in New Zealand with like-minded folks, this is the trip for you. Our hardworking, personable guides made it easy for us to enjoy as much of Southern New Zealand as possible in two weeks...allowing for long hikes, beautiful cycling and kayaking through the sounds. We were able to stay in unique lodging, not easily available to the general public - especially at Milford Sound - and partake of local cuisine and wines through Active Adventure's contacts and experience. The van was very comfortable and took away the stress of driving in unfamiliar areas. Fellow travelers were friendly and easy-going, and like-minded in terms of the adventures they sought. Excellent trip!”
    – Nevada, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Amazing trip - learned so much, and want to come back

    “3rd trip with Active Adventures, and all have been wonderful, stupendous, eye opening, with fabulous guides, and staff. Peru was an amazing country to visit; beautiful scenery, people, and culture. The Inca and pre-Incan archeology were of course incredible to see first hand. However, this was greatly enhanced by the depth of knowledge and historical context that our guide, Daniel, supplied. The lodge in the Amazon was my personal favorite place I have ever stayed - so beautiful, and a true experience to see the wild macaws, toucans, peccaries..... and so on. Lake Titicaca was beautiful and so rich in such a variety of cultures, and languages! Daniel our guide was incredibly gracious, kind, knowledgeable. The food was great, and the places we stayed as always with Active - fun, interesting and quite comfortable. Most of all, we were so impressed with the behind the scenes staff. The first day of our trip we were unable to make our first destination due to an airline problem. Active's staff scrambled to rearrange our entire itinerary so that we didn't miss anything. This meant rescheduling flights, permits, room reservations, etc.... and all over the Christmas Holidays. A true test of a great group of people is how they respond when something unexpected happens, and Active's staff proved how adept they were. From our point of view, everything was perfect and smooth, but we recognize and truly appreciate the work that went on behind the scenes to give us such a great experience. Thanks to all.”
    – California, United States Capybara, January 2017
  • Tramp of Dreams!

    “Stunning views, experienced guides, Kiwi-fresh food, and great lodging! It felt like we were holidaying with old friends!”
    – , Thailand Manuka, January 2017
  • Another good one!

    “This is my second trip with Active and it has made me a true devotee!
    It is wonderful to know the arrangements are being expertly handled so I can just relax and enjoy the spectacular scenery and the challenge of the hikes. (Did I say "relax"??)
    I loved this trip!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, January 2017
  • Great treks

    “We went as a family of five and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
    The scenery was even better than you might imagine from gallery photos.
    The hikes were variable, some challenging and others easier but never felt pressured to do anything uncomfortable. The guides, Hiliary and Nick were fantastic.
    Highly recommended as a family trip for the adventurers.”
    – Michigan, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Manuka Trip

    “Action packed trip with lots of great hikes. Highlighted the South Island and was able to get a great flavor of New Zealand.”
    – New Mexico, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • From Alan Roth

    “I love what you all do. For my 2nd AA trip I can't wait to try another.”
    – Florida, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Kauri Trip

    “The last 5 days gave us a good flavor of the North Island, its culture and geothermal/volcanic activity of the island.”
    – New Mexico, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Professionalism and Exceptionalism Beyond Expectations!

    “Our recent Tui trip of the South Island was absolutely the trip of a lifetime and more than I could have ever hoped for! As a very seasoned, frugal, independent, tour-averse traveller, signing up and spending the money for this trip was a bit out of character for me. However, that being said, this was probably the best travel investment I have ever made in my life! We packed so many amazing adventures into eight days, with the kindest most knowledgeable and most professional guides ever, that I seriously doubt I could have recreated it on my own. I cannot recommend Active Adventures and our guides Claire and Rachael highly enough and am already looking forward to and planning my next adventure this year with them!”
    – Washington, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Amazing

    “Fabulous, Brilliant, Fun, Energizing, Escape, New Friends and Family Bonding.”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • Oh, What a Beautiful Country!

    “Beautiful places, accommodating and gracious guides, fun activities, and great meals. What's not to like?”
    – New York, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Amazing!!

    “An extraordinary trip. So well organized, amazing tour guides, with so many activities. A really lovely way to experience the South Island. Would highly recommend to anybody.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tui, January 2017
  • No regrets! Accomplish the impossible!

    “I can't begin to describe my Rimu experience, from the amazing guides, Ken and Elder, to my fellow travelers and the detail that Active Adventures puts into everything we did. I was able to scale and climb those mountains and ridges that I laughed off as impossible, see the most amazing untouched scenery, completely decompress and completely check out from my daily life. If you want to see the south island the way it was meant to be seen, you're open to being active everyday with the conveniences for yourself taken care of, take this trip!”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Fun, interesting, beautiful, very well run.

    “Greg and Jess ran an excellent tour. We learned a lot, had so much fun, ate delicious meals, drank fantastic wine, and enjoyed gorgeous hiking every day.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Manuka Hiking December 2016

    “It was a wonderful trip that we will never forget. The guides, Jess and Greg, were excellent. They went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great time. We would have preferred more time on the ground v. time in the bus but recognize that it was necessary to cover the ground that we did. I would recommend Active Adventures to anyone looking to hike in New Zealand.”
    – Ontario, Canada Manuka, January 2017
  • Jaguar Adventure

    “Loved the Jaguar trip, and especially our guide, Erick. The trip covered a lot of ground over two weeks and we learned a lot about Peru. Food was amazing! The Lares trail was tough but stunning. Really enjoyed the Amazon and Lake Titicaca - especially the local experiences on the island in the lake. If Active Adventures has options in other areas where I am looking to go, they will be my first consideration!! Thanks for another wonderful trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Galápagos December 2016

    “Overall this was a great vacation for our family. We loved the Galápagos. Edwardo, our guide for the week, was fantastic. He took care of everything and always made sure that we had what we needed. For me the highlight was snorkeling with a school of large hammerhead sharks just bellow.

    We loved all of the hotels we stayed in on the islands. They all had comfortable beds, electricity, hot showers and even air conditioning. The food was fresh and hot. We loved the homemade soups at every lunch and dinner and the fresh fish served in all of the local restaurants.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime...

    “From ease of getting information about the trip, applying for it and being helped with all administrative necessities..... it was a pleasure to deal with "Active Adventures".
    The actual trip was very close to what was advertised and turned out to be a challenging adventure with great experiences and rewards.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Tui Trip

    “Colin and I had a great time. Even though the guide is our daughter it is accurate and fair to say she has was really great. Very accommodating, friendly and skill full as well as being a great cook. Nothing fazed her. A very 'can do' attitude which everyone appreciated. The trip itself was great fun and the weather helped with that. The kayaking team was very good and I trusted their judgement. The walks were perfect for anyone. A very good all around experience.”
    – , New Zealand Tui, January 2017
  • Condor trip-a real active adventure

    “It was a great trip that I enjoyed very much. This is my 2nd tour with Active adventures since 2014. Our tour guides Arturo and Jim (on W-track) were great trip leaders and sincere, caring people, their presence throughout the trip is a key fact to make us feel safe and supported.

    The meals are very good and well arranged. The only venue that might need future improvement is the size of the vehicle that been employed for our group of 15-17 people.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Oregon on steroids

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and it's a great introduction to New Zealand. For us it was the right balance of hiking and touring.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, January 2017
  • Ebner on Rimu

    “The Rimu trip was just everything we had hoped for, and Kim and Tory were outstanding guides. The places we hiked, biked and Kayaked were terrific choices and by the end we felt that we understood some of the diversity in the South Island ecology: plants and animals that were native and those that were introduced. Hard to say what was best, but one of my favorites was walking the Kepler Track. Thanks for a great introduction to New Zealand's South Island.
    Ford Ebner”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • An excellent "bucket list" trip

    “I'm typically a "planner" and will devote months to logistics before a trip. And where I work, I need to know about long holidays way in advance to ensure coverage and continuity of service while I'm away. When my husband and I were considering an international holiday to celebrate a relatively "big year" for both of us, a colleague suggested New Zealand. Man, I am so glad I listened. I mentioned New Zealand to my husband and he took a look around at possible tours...he found Active Adventures and thought we should investigate. A full year before our trip, we inquired with Active about how it all works in terms of planning, and when we were told that an online planning app would assist us, I thought, "OK, sure...I'll be doing a bunch of this." We put down the deposit, got the insurance, and dove in. I must say, my assumption?...So wrong. The OBI website really did get us prepped for the majority of the trip. The only logistic detail we really needed to handle was travel to and from LAX. EVERYTHING ELSE, Active could either help plan, or completely handled. So aside from getting in the deposit, getting travel insurance, getting the flights set up with the recommended agency in Seattle, working in OBI, paying the balance, and packing, we were set UP for this trip. In my experience - this is all pretty minor work in the greater scheme of a 2-week trip around a country. :)

    We had a small group (two couples) on our tour, and 2 fantastic tour guides (Holly and Amanda). We saw things that we would never have even known to find if we had followed a travel book. We wondered, and wandered, oohed and aaahed, took pictures, and just floated along as Holly and Amanda cooly transported us, prepped awesome meals, and all that. If a trek got tough, we'd pause and admire the view. Our guides were encouraging, enthusiastic, and really the absolute heart of the tour. The scenery is awesome - don't get me wrong. But the Active people...just made the whole trip sing. Parting was really (reeeeeally) hard for me after 2 weeks.

    So truly, we were on vacation. No glitches in the itinerary (we only had 2 that I could perceive) were actually a problem - we'd adjust and keep moving, and never regretted a single activity. We learned about tectonic plates, glacial advance and retreat, Mauri myth, greenstone, conservation efforts, Kiwi lifestyles...oh, and some flightless birds too. :)

    And we apparently put in the perfect call for weather, because Holly and Amanda not only commented that we were really lucky to see what we saw...they also pulled out their own cameras to take photos. THAT'S how lucky we were on this trip.

    What did we see? It's probably easier to say what we didn't see. Complications. Traffic. Smog. Bad food. Frowns. Worry lines. But seriously - we saw tree ferns, next to tropical evergreen trees so tall we couldn't take photos of them, whether in the north at Abel Taz, the more coastal West side of the Alps, or the more deciduous forests near Fiordland. We saw fruit farms that shouldn't exist in the same geographic area (eg, cherries, apples, corn, soy, and other crops all growing in the same season and region). Foxglove...everywhere. We saw waterfalls like lightning bolts down the mountains, snow-capped mountains surrounded by glaciers, fjords in the fog/rain and the sun (within 2 hours of each other), grassy plains abutting turquoise glacial lakes, milk-like rivers coursing down from glacial sources, iconic sheep farms with mountainous backdrops so perfect they looked "Photoshopped".

    Holly and Amanda would ask us what we thought of the view, often. Since, "Wow," "Holy wow!" and related comments didn't seem to fit (too small and insufficient), I started with "ridiculously beautiful"...proceeded to add words in between, like "absurdly," "surreal-ly,"...and quickly just ran out. By the end of it all I adopted the Kiwi way and went sardonic, answering the guides with "Bah!!" because I just had nothing else to describe the awe. I only adjusted the volume of the "Bah!" to fit how absolutely floored I was.

    What did I take? More than I can describe, personally. New Zealand affected me. In a great and irreversible way....and I got some great Merino wool stuff too. :)

    I was told to share this take on my trip with "only the worthy". To me, if you are seriously considering Active, you already appreciate what this type of tourism brings to your life, or seriously and earnestly want to learn, and that makes me suspect that indeed you are. Worthy. Bring your poles, bring your gear...but most importantly, bring your sense of wonder, your humility, and your appreciation for culture, mythology, and conservation. You will not regret it. And you won't be better cared for, possibly even by your own.”
    – West Virginia, United States Kiwi, January 2017
  • “What a fabulous trip this was! I have traveled extensively throughout the world and often avoid tours because I don't want to be too regimented and I don't want to be on a bus with 40 people! When we decided to go to New Zealand, our goal was to try to experience it rather than just see it and that is just what Active Adventures allowed us to do. The guides know their country well and truly shared it with us. Each day we were out tramping somewhere, rain or shine, but there was always an option to take it easy if one needed to do so. We loved the small size of the group, 11 of us, plus our two guides. They ran each day efficiently and were well-prepared for our meals. We had fresh wholesome snacks always available and all kinds of tips on how to do the hike of the day. Koru was especially knowledgeable about the Maori heritage of New Zealand and was constantly teaching us about the flora and fauna of the country. Liana and Koru both were working late and getting up early to make sure that our day went well. Even when the weather didn't cooperate, there was always another great alternative. They introduced us to the beauty and wonder of New Zealand and when the trip ended, we were excited to head out on our own, with the skills we needed to continue to discover and experience even more! It truly was a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Excellent Itinerary, Guides, and Group

    “The ease with which we were moved throughout the South Island on the Manuka trip made all the difference. I cannot imagine another way to see so much in such a short time.

    Our guides Jess and Greg were a great team and immediately put everyone at ease. We had a great group with us and thoroughly enjoyed the company and itinerary. With spectacular views and hikes almost every day it was a dream trip. We would definitely consider travelling with Active Adventures again even though we typically go it alone.

    It was lucky we had nice weather on Rocky Mountain, the hard day on the Milford Track, and at Aoraki Mt. Cook, but even on the bad weather days things went smoothly.”
    – Ontario, Canada Manuka, January 2017
  • Khumbu Trip for Vaughts

    “Our Khumbu trip was spectacular. The Himalayas are absolutely breathtaking and our guides were phenomenal. We had a few unforeseen hiccups, some significant, but the guides handled every single one of them with grace and 110% effort to make the best of our situation. They were kind, patient and knowledgeable
    The hike is amazing; massive vertical walls of lush mountains piercing the sky. You hike into the clouds only to discover that those huge mountains were just the foothills of the snow-caps behind them. Unforgettable and worth every tiring step!”
    – Georgia, United States Khumbu, January 2017
  • The deep South

    “Top quality guide,great food,excellent bus commentary,excellent organisation.”
    – , New Zealand Tui, January 2017
  • EBC Nov 2016

    “Quit my job, booked my flights and off I went. I had no expectations as I did not have much time to prepare and plan. Perhaps that's what made it an even better adventure. You will be challenged. You will need to dig deep. When things get tough at the higher altitudes, just put one foot in front of another and stay positive!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States EBC, January 2017
  • Terrific Tui

    “What a great route and selection of activities! Informative and fun guides, well-managed accommodations, and good eats! A wonderful tour and experience.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Perfect amount of adventure

    “From gazing upon Franz Josef Glacier to biking along Hawea Lake Trail, to gliding on calm waters in Milford Sound, it's been a most memorable adventure! Our guides Tess and Amanda were a great duo! I loved that it was just enough activity without being sore while still being able to see so much of South Island.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Last 5 Days Kauri

    “So much packed into just a few days. From walking to tops of (several!) mountains to floating through underground tunnels, plus geothermal springs and Maori culture. A whirlwind central North Island adventure!”
    – Hawaii, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • 5 day Kauri Trip

    “Tongariro Alpine Crossing was the best hike of my life!”
    – Hawaii, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Wonderful trip!!!!

    “This was a great trip! Well organized and well planned. Our guides did a great job of trying to accomodate everyone. This trip has a nice diversity of experiences and I really enojoyed that about this trip. I liked the variety in outdoor activites as well as the cultural elements and connections with the local and native people.”
    – Ohio, United States Kauri, December 2016
  • ABC

    “ABC hike was a once in a life time experience! The views were breathtaking and only got better each day we hiked. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys hiking.”
    – Minnesota, United States AST, December 2016
  • Whoa! What an incredible trip!

    “There aren't any words that could properly prepare you for what is in store. Patagonia was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    Cynthia was an amazing guide, she took such good care of us! She routinely went above and beyond to ensure we were safe, happy, healthy and well fed. What a gem she was! And on top of being great at her job, she's just an awesome person, fun, smart, flexible, just the kind of person you want touring you around the edge of the earth for 2 weeks.

    The trip itself was absolutely breathtaking. No photo could do that place justice. The W trail was an amazing hike full of ever changing views (and lots of wind!). Definitely, pay the extra to do the Grey Glacier hike! It was a trip highlight!

    Get ready to take your jacket on and off more in one day than you would over the course of a month back home :) Everything they say about the weather is true. You are at the mercy of the elements, but for the most part, we lucked out with weather (and when we didn't Cynthia always had a plan B).

    I'm so glad we did this! We will definitely be touring with Active again. Those folks do a stellar job of setting you up for an exciting adventure.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Jaguar, November 2016

    “This trip truly was an 'active adventure', and exceeded my expectations in so many ways.
    Peru is such a beautiful country, rich in history, and culture. All of our guides were superb, but Erick as our trip host absolutely made this trip worry free, a true learning experience, and SO much fun! If it's all in the details, Erick and Active covered them all and more!
    I arrived as a solo traveler and left having made friends and memories that I will treasure always.
    Thank you Active Adventures, until next time!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Jaguar, December 2016
  • An eye opening experience.

    “When I first found the Active Adventures website I knew I had stumbled across something very special. I have wanted to visit Patagonia since I was a young kid, and when I saw the pictures of the people with Active Adventures smiling and laughing, I knew that I had to try it. Rarely in my experience is the actual experience better than I thought it could be. This is one of those times. Active Adventures paired me with a group of people who are diverse, interesting, fun, and surprising. They provide a guide who is excited about the experience as well, and who takes pride in doing a fantastic job for his or her group. Everything from deliciously prepared food in some of the finest restaurants in southern Chilè and Argentina, to putting in extra miles and hours hiking ensuring that the group members are satisfied and engaged with their experience. (Seriously, Arturo is awesome and at the very least deserves a bonus) You will not be sorry, I know I am not.”
    – Alabama, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Everything went perfectly for us!

    “All the excursions were essential to understanding the South Island. Our guides were great! They made us feel comfortable and capable. All the adventures we tackled were exciting and challenging. We were able to complete them all! The provided food was good. The bus we rode in was new and nice. The rooms we stayed at were great. Having wifi at the accommodations was appreciated. In short, the Tui trip was amazing!”
    – Florida, United States Tui, December 2016
  • So much to do on the north island!

    “The North Island trip was very different from the South. It showed us a completely different side of NZ. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about NZ history and culture and that made our adventures have much more meaning. The 5 days flew by and we were so sad when it was over! There is so much left to do in the north, we will undoubtedly return and we hope to be lucky enough to have the same guide.”
    – Florida, United States Kauri, December 2016
  • Awesome

    “If you are wanting to explore New Zealand at its best and want a physically active and varied adventure, Active Adventures is the tour to go on. The guides are knowledgeable, inspiring and motivating. You cover a tremendous amount of territory and leave feeling that you've seen the best of the North Island.”
    – California, United States Kauri, December 2016
  • Amazing Experience, enhanced by an remarkable AA Staff

    “It was great doing it with a group of people who enjoyed it like we did.
    The two guides from Active Adventures made the whole thing excellent: perfectly organized, highly entertaining.
    The small group of 10 people, like minded with respect to nature and adventure, worked out well.
    The nights were spent in above-expectation locales. Those were welcome comforts after amazing hikes in the rain.”
    – California, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Condor Adventures Dec 2016

    “Patagonia Chile and Argentina was my first visit to South America and the adventures were definitely everything I expected. My adventures with Cynthia and Active far exceeded everything I expected. Cynthia was an exceptional tour leader, full of knowledge, wit and charming kindness. She was attentive to every group member's needs and ensured that everyone was safe and well looked after. Filled with humour and wit, Cynthia is a highly efficient tour leader who is organized and passionate about leading groups. She always enjoyed being in the outdoors and spoke with excitement and knowledge about the highlights on the trip. Cynthia was always friendly, down to earth and very funny.
    The passion that she has for what she does helped to invigorate our group with a high and positive energy. The group that we had was an awesome group that came together and became like a small family in the short two weeks we spent together. My overall experience was more enriched because the group gelled and genuinely enjoyed one another's company. I spent two amazing weeks trekking Patagonia Chile and Argentina, experiencing some of nature's greatest landscapes. I'm grateful to have experienced it with the group we had, and for Cynthia, for helping to make a series of grand and treasured memories. I'll never forget my time in Patagonia. The tour was top-notch, greatly organized and run with efficiency. Thank you. A round of applause, Active!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2016
  • 14 Day Rimu Trip

    “Exceeded my expectations.
    Each site was uniquely different. All were great and some were exceptional.
    What a wonderful way to get a feel for the North Island.”
    – Manitoba, Canada Rimu, December 2016
  • Ran out of adjectives to describe the wonder of this trip

    “Awesome, spectacular, amazing, jaw-dropping... just a wonderful vacation. The intinery was everything we'd hoped for and more. The guides were perfect ambassadors for New Zealand and Active Adventures. The country - truly one of the most special places on earth. If you're into the outdoors, make this pilgrimage.”
    – Florida, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Amazing Experience

    “I fell in love with New Zealand on my first self-guided trip 5 years ago and this trip just renewed my love affair with the country. Beginning from when I booked the trip I've constantly been impressed with the high levels of organisation and communication from active. The trip itself was incredible, we went to so many stunning locations that I would never have known to look for on my own. Dani & Mel were amazing guides, cheerful, knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and flexible. I couldn't have asked for two better people to have as guides for the two weeks. Thank you so much!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Rimu, December 2016
  • Great way to see the Alps!

    “Really enjoyed experiencing the best of the French, Italian and Swiss Alps through local guides. Active Adventures always adds in a local touch which is something that makes them unique and a reason to travel with them. Enjoyed mixing in kayaking, mountain biking and having time to explore on our own. Amazing trip and highly recommend it!”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, December 2016
  • Spectacular Time!

    “We had a spectacular time in Patagonia! The venue was beautiful, challenging and exciting; Active did a great organizational job as well as Arturo our lead guide. Arturo is a multidimensional person that took great care of us at all times. Our group was very diverse, interesting spanning all age groups which got along great. Bottom line is that we had a fantastic time at a fantastic place with fantastic people. It was a very challenging trip that we are proud to have done.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2016
  • An incredible adventure

    “There are too many highlights to list them all, but seeing a puma hunt guanaco
    is a near tie with the unscheduled glacier river crossing. Had we not been with Active Adventures, we would not have been able to complete the 'W' trek, due to a downed bridge and shady Chilean politics. We were one of only four groups able to complete the full 'W' due to the 'puente malo' and our guides Arturo and Cem were super-starts getting the entire group across the river (x3)!

    Words can't describe how amazing the trip was and a huge part of that was how Active arranged it and adapted to the situations on the ground. I would definitely
    go on any of their other trips.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Phil and Marje

    “Wonderful trip. We really enjoyed Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the days over in the jungle. The best thing was our guide, Erick, who was interesting, informative, extremely well prepared but most important a lot of fun to travel with. He's one of the best guides we've ever had.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • The trip of a lifetime!

    “Amanda and Clara made the trip five stars! Clara loves ball sports! I wish I could travel every year with these two beautiful ladies. Thanks for making our trip so special.”
    – Florida, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Machu Picchu Oct 2016

    “Two friends and I were part of the Jaguar Trip to southern Peru. We elected to do only the Machu Picchu portion and not Lake Titicaca or jungle portions. Cuzco, the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu were well worth the trip. There is so much to learn about the ancient Peruvian cultures. Of 13 people 2 developed altitude problems and Active Adventure staff were excellent in caring for them and adjusting schedules and hikes to match the remaining hikers. I credit them with making the trip so enjoyable. This is my second trip with Active and I recommend them highly. The food and support personnel were top notch.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • "If you ever get the chance, make it happen..."

    “The Galapagos Islands turned out to be everything you hear about and more! My style of travel has never been geared towards tours or trips (EQ Type: Authentic Experiencer), however I signed up for the Tortuga trip last minute to join my parents and couldn't have been more pleased! Being a land-based tour vs. boat tour we were able to support the local economies on the various islands we visited while experiencing the authentic and incredible wildlife and landscapes the Galapagos has to offer. We got to enjoy a variety of local restaurants rather than eating the same buffet meal similar with other tours and stay in a range of different accommodations along the way. Our tour guide Pablo however, really made the trip and I am not sure if it would be quite as amazing without him. The passion, knowledge and love he has for the Galapagos Islands glimmered through every day we were with him and the smile shared with each new experience was priceless. The only disappointment was that we didn't know extra activities, diving in particular, were non-refundable if a illness or anything else comes up last minute - as they often do with diving. Saying this, I would very strongly recommend the Tortuga tour to everyone. If you every have the chance, make it happen and you absolutely will not be disappointed. Each day we were left amazed and utterly shocked at how much we were able to see and do with each activity. I have traveled to some pretty spectacular places around the world but this trip is a once in a lifetime experience.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, December 2016
  • Exceeding expectations and more!

    “We had been planning this trip for about a year and I had been dreaming about this trip for about 7 years, therefore the expectations were high. Active Adventures did an excellent job and our guides Kuru and Liana made this a trip of a lifetime. The most amazing part is that they always were one step ahead of planning the next meal, hike, bike or even maneuvering around the NZ wild weather. All the planning ahead and adjusting on the fly would normally turn a trip to be very stressful but we were able to sit back and relax (not literally because it was very active) and truly enjoy the beautiful landscape and everything NZ had to offer. Truly the trip of a lifetime!”
    – New Hampshire, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Tui

    “We had a truly great time. Our guides, Koru and Liana were the best. They made the trip so much fun, especially in the light of the unpredictable New Zealand weather! And Lynette was always right there to help us along every step of the way. I brought home memories of a lifetime, and discovered that Kiwis are absolutely the friendliest people on earth. The Tui Trip was a great introductory tour, but now I want to come back again and spend more time hiking and exploring the South Island.

    Many thanks to the whole Active Adventures team. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    - Mick”
    – Florida, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Awesome Tui Trip!

    “My husband and I traveled to New Zealand for a late honeymoon and our adventure started with the Tui Trip which couldn't have been better! Between the amazing places we visited along the South Island from our unbelievable guides who quickly became friends, the trip definitely exceeded our expectations! We quickly learned how kiwis truly cherish and appreciate what their beautiful country has to offer and are so thankful to have had such a wonderful experience. New Zealand will always hold a special place in our hearts, along with our memories of hiking, biking, cheers-ing, and chatting with new friends. Thank you Koru and Liana, for making our trip so unforgettable!”
    – New Hampshire, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Outstanding Adventure with the Best Guide Ever!

    “The Tortuga trip was phenomenal. From the moment I arrived, my every need was met and all with grace and professionalism. The trip was well planned, we saw and did so many things, from adventures like hiking and biking, snorkeling and kayaking, to learning all about the Galapagos in a way a book will never tell you. What brought everything off the pages of a book, and from the land in front of us was the knowledge and the passion of our guide Pablo. What a treasure he is! He could answer anything, and it was all shared with enthusiasm, passion, caring, love for this land. I felt so honored to have had him as our guide. Thank you! The food was outstanding, the accommodations perfect. I could not fault a single thing!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Outstanding!

    “First, there is the magical place that is New Zealand -- unique, varied, and beautiful. Second, there is the operation that is Active Adventures -- organized, engaged, and attentive. Together, they make for an outstanding experience. Thank you!”
    – Tennessee, United States Kauri, December 2016
  • Awesome New Zealand experience

    “Wow, what a great trip! New Zealand was at the top of my bucket list & this trip was everything I expected and more. Mt. Cook on a beautiful evening with no clouds and the lake in front was one of my favorites. Milford Sound kayaking was another. Just getting to Milford Sound is spectacular! I'd go back in a heartbeat if it weren't so far away.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, December 2016
  • “My wife and I were 62 at the time of our trip and were concerned that we were getting in over our head. However, the guides carefully monitor our "activity" level to make sure we were fit enough for most activities. We also opted out of some activities but alternatives were available. We enjoyed our trip immensely because we got out of our comfort level and "experienced" the true beauty of NZ including the local accommodations, the food and the people. We tried whitebait and meat pies. We discovered that Makarora was an undiscovered treasure. We also discovered you could dine in Queenstown without waiting in line at Fergburger! We were also blessed with fellow guests that were patient and fun.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Amazing Adventure!

    “My husband and I joined for the five-day Great Walks segment (Takahe) of the longer Manuka trip with Active Adventures. We really enjoyed the trip - Greg and Clara were wonderful guides who took such good care of everyone along and really went the extra mile, making Thanksgiving lunch for their group of (mostly) Americans - and we were lucky to fall in with a great group of fellow travelers. Because we traveled with Active Adventures, we were able to see much more than we would have done on our own, and relax while doing it as we didn't have to drive ourselves or scout the best hotel / lodge options and other arrangements to arrive at trailheads, identify local flora and fauna, and all the other advantages of having a good guide. We will definitely look to Active Adventures for similar trips in the future.”
    – , Thailand Manuka, December 2016
  • Amazing tour of an amazing country!

    “The Rimu trip took us to what must be some of the most interesting and scenic locations on the south island. Each day Koru and Elder took us to a spectacular location, only to be topped by the next day's destination! After hiking in Nelson Lakes, traveling the west coast to Franz Joseph and Okarito Lagoon, the day in Queenstown, and Milford Sound, it didn't seem there could be anything more spectacular. But then we arrived at Lake Pukaki and its glacial waters, and went off the main road up to Braemar station, with its panoramic view of the Southern Alps. The skies cleared for us, and we enjoyed watching sunset and the following day sunrise that were just amazing. The group dynamics were great too - after one week I think we all felt like good friends, including Koru and Elder. Koru was an excellent driver and guide, telling us about some of the culture and legends of each area we visited. Elder was a friendly and capable guide who turned out to also be an excellent cook, who delighted us with some terrific food on the nights we ate in. I recommend this trip and Active Adventures highly! Thank you! We will return to New Zealand to explore the country further.”
    – Maine, United States Rimu, December 2016
  • A wide variety of activities in a varied landscape

    “Our Kauri trip followed the Rimu South Island trip. The North Island turned out to be quite different from the South Island, but just as interesting and rewarding. The first few days of the trip were sea based, incorporating boat rides to the day's activities, which added an element of adventure. The second half of the trip introduced us to the volcanic nature of the North Island, and culminated in the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, which was fascinating and satisfying. Our guides were very knowledgeable and greatly added to our understanding of Maori and local culture. Highly recommended!”
    – Maine, United States Kauri, December 2016
  • Nov 19 2016 Kiwi

    “Our KIWI tour really exceeded all our expectations of a guided hiking tour and seeing beautiful New Zealand scenery. Our two guides, Michelle and Hilary, made it all happen. They efficiently organized all the varied itinerary, transporting us to some of the most remote and scenic locations on the South Island and produced some of the best meals and desserts we have ever eaten. Michelle and Hilary are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. The perfect combination to guarantee any successful and rewarding tour experience.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Kiwi, December 2016
  • Amazing adventure

    “I had an amazing time. From snorkeling, hiking an active volcano to kayaking and biking along the beach. Loved the locations we stayed at!”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Absolutely Incredible

    “I truly never imagined the trip would be as awe-inspiring and soulful as it was. Our tour guide, Cynthia, was by far one of the most compassionate, caring, knowledgeable individuals I have ever met. She went above and beyond for everyone in our group and am incredibly grateful to have experienced this trip with her as our guide. The views of Patagonia are indescribable and the overall beauty surrounding one is almost surreal as to believe places like this exist in the world. I truly hope everyone has a chance in their life to take this trip and just soak in every second of the majestic beauty that engulfs you each and every day.”
    – Texas, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Nov 5 2016 Kiwi with Nick B and Jess

    “Active Adventures allowed me to experience the breathtaking beauty of the South Island, New Zealand. I had so much fun. I had really high hopes for the trip of a lifetime before we left. My expectations were not only met but surpassed. Nick and Jess were great as was our small group of fellow travelers. The Active Adventures team were responsive to needs and made the trip care free. I would highly recommend the Kiwi trip and would do it again in a heartbeat. I would also look to do Active Adventures other trips when we go to travel again. At the conclusion of our trip, my wife and I asked ourselves what would we do differently if doing it again. Both of our answers was nothing different.”
    – Indiana, United States Kiwi, December 2016
  • Worth every penny!

    “This was an amazing trip - highly recommended! Our guides, Koru and Liana, were great - kept us moving and active in all kinds of weather and conditions. Some of the planned tour had to be modified due to weather - it does rain a lot - but no regrets at all. We got a taste of New Zealand on beautiful days, rainy days, and once in rain, sleet and hurricane force winds, but we were always well cared for and felt like we'd seen New Zealand in all of it's majesty. The hiking was strenuous enough to feel like a challenge and leave us tired and a bit sore most days, but never too difficult. The Siberia Valley part of the trip was just spectacular! Koru's knowledge of New Zealand's native plants and animals, history, Maori heritage, and Lord of the Rings stories were particularly fascinating. Would love to go again!”
    – South Carolina, United States Tui, December 2016
  • Patagonia Adventure

    “A wonderful trip with great views and excellent hiking. Our guides really took care of us and everything was handled beautifully. The accommodations and food were first rate. Loved the trip.”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2016
  • We got a great taste of the South Island of New Zealand

    “This trip was a continuation of our first visit to New Zealand that started a week earlier in the North Island. The South Island welcomed us with the earthquake on the first night. Thankfully it did not interrupt our trip that turned out to be a wonderful experience. We could not wish for a more relaxing vacation. It's nice to have locals to show you around and tell you the myths and stories of the land.”
    – Texas, United States Manuka, December 2016
  • Incredible experience from start to finish

    “This was my third trek with Active and like every trip I've been on with them, they exceeded all expectations by miles. The entire EBC Trek is unbelievable and breathtaking from start to finish. Our guides, Brad and Arjun, did a fantastic job in all aspects. Their knowledge and expertise helped lead our group of 6 trekkers through the trails and into the most beautiful sights Nepal has to offer. Their warm personalities, extensive knowledge of the region, and their ever-present good spirits and optimism led our group of 6 through the streets of Kathmandu to Everest Base Camp. The carefully planned itinerary of the trek proved to be the perfect formula for tackling a difficult region at a pace that allowed our group to take in the incredible surroundings without ever feeling rushed or fatigued. Even on the hardest of days, Brad, Arjun, and our friendly team of sherpas provided us with reassurance and instilled us with the confidence that helped us tackle the many lengthy (sometimes seemingly impossible) treks up daunting steep trails and into the heart of the Himalayas. All of the logistics behind the long trek were handled perfectly - there was never any doubt that at the end of a long day of hiking we would be staying in the best accommodations available and served the best food the region had to offer. From start to finish, we were treated to incredible views and wonderful companionship that made the entire experience a treat that exceeded all expectations. It was the trip of a lifetime and one I will never forget. I would absolutely recommend booking with Active Adventures to anyone who wants to trek one of the most gorgeous regions the world has to offer with the best guides and companions you could ask for. Thanks for the amazing trip and I look forward to my next adventure with your company :)”
    – Colorado, United States EBC, December 2016

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.