Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Best Trip of My Life

    “This was a great trip from the start. The guides, Duck and Tess were great; very friendly, had great energy, and very knowledgeable about the South Island. Words fail to describe how amazing this trip was. If you're on the fence it is worth it. You will meet great people, and see the most amazing aspects of the South Island during the winter.”
    – New York, United States Winter Rimu, May 2017
  • Harder Than Expected, But Worth It!

    “Our Active guide, Mel, was awesome! She did everything possible to make sure each person in our group was taken care of and safe. Our local guide, Gokul, was amazing too. He kept a perfect pace for the people in front and was full of helpful information. The route itself was harder than we anticipated, and down right brutal in some stretches, but in the end it was worth the great experience & beautiful views. I felt really proud of myself for pushing myself beyond my physical limits some days. I can't imagine a better way to see this region than through this tour.”
    – Texas, United States Khumbu, May 2017
  • EBC trek 3/27-4/14, 2017

    “To behold many of the highest mountains in the world on the trek, the one word that kept popping up in my head was GLORIOUS! Yes the trek was demanding in many ways; very dusty, sometimes seemingly endless steps or loose irregular rocks that go up and down even when traversing to a destination with the same altitude as the departure point, very basic bathroom facilities, sharing crowded trails with other trekkers and yak caravans.
    The trek was long and tiring and when it was done, I needed a few weeks to recover. But now after being home awhile, I look at my pictures of the trip and think what a great time I had and want to go back!”
    – Hawaii, United States EBC, May 2017
  • Incredible Milford

    “Milford Sound was one of the most incredible places we have ever been.
    The three day hike to the Angelus Hut was difficult but the guides could not have been more helpful to an ageing hiker.
    The Okorito kayak trip was not great from our point of view, but some of that was not attributable to the organization.
    And the farm experience was unexpected and very enjoyable.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • So Much More Than Expected

    “I expected the adventure, and the outdoor activities. What I didn't expect was such an immersion in the history and culture of NZ. And a few of the activities on the North Island were unforgettable. Finally, right in the middle of our trip the weather decided to shut us out of a few of the more interesting activities and Phil came up with great substitutes on the fly.”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, May 2017
  • Khumbu, April 2017

    “Active Adventures and its guides were incredible and made the trip well worth the experience.”
    – Texas, United States Khumbu, May 2017
  • An unforgettable adventure in South Island!

    “Amazing views, extraordinary wildlife (birds!), lovely guides (Tory and Nick), and memorable Active adventures (no rest for the wicked with a hike or two scheduled every day) - an unforgettable trip all in all.”
    – , Philippines Rimu, May 2017
  • Perfectly Flawless From Start to Finish

    “From the moment we arrived on the tour, every detail was well thought through and all we had to do was put on our hiking shoes and enjoy. Our guide Pepo was very friendly and had tons of knowledge about the Galapagos, he knew how to explain the ecology of the environment in an engaging, interesting way and you never ever felt like you were sitting in a boring lecture. This tour allowed us to explore these amazing islands in an active, adventurous way with enough activities that you never got bored but you were also allowed time to explore the towns on your own, go on another bike ride or just put your feet up. Pepo also always helped us know what was coming next and helping us to be fully prepared for that days activity. There were no surprises (which was a good thing!) and everything was well organized so we never aimlessly waited around or wasted time thinking about what to do next. If you love to explore nature in an active way, this trip is an amazing one to do!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Smorgasbord.

    “A great way to explore the North Island and get a taste of different activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Kauri, May 2017
  • Go and See Machu Picchu and Experience Peru.

    “Our trip to Peru was fantastic. We hiked, biked and paddled in Peru. Every day was an adventure. I like that we got to experience the real Peru. I didn't feel like a tourist, I felt like an adventurer. We walked through markets, met children along the Inca trail, ate delicious food and even stayed at a local family's home. We were treated very well. We were blown away by the chef's culinary skill while trekking along the Inca trail. Our guide was personable and knowledgeable. Our group was small, also a huge plus. We will book another trip with Active Adventures. This was our second. Small groups, good food, active friends, great leadership, well run. What is not to like? Thank you, all.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • The Kirk Family Reflections of Rimu 2016

    “It was a fantastic vacation, quite possibly the best we have ever taken. I know our son, Benjamin, rates it as his number one vacation. I actually have a small book summary of the entire trip, with which I will not bore others, but I wanted to remember the details so I wrote them down. The experiences, leaders, guests, accommodations and food were wonderful. On Sunday we had a Mother's Day celebration and my sons chose to prepare a New Zealand-themed meal for me, inspired by recipes from the cook book we purchased at the sheep farm on the last day of our trip. I baked a pavlova and made chocolate slice for the occasion. I wrote down ingredients of recipes prepared by Tess on the trip and made a couple of them within a week of our return in January. When asked about the trip, I continue to say that I did not want to leave New Zealand at the end of the trip.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Great trip with fantastic guides

    “I typically do not travel with group tours, but I found myself with a ticket to NZ but no time to plan my solo trip. I booked rather last minute but have no regrets. Our guides were not only very knowledgeable, but were also fun and caring. The accommodations varied greatly but were always clean and comfortable. The food was delicious as well. I would book another trip with Active in a heartbeat!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Still smiling....

    “Words can't describe the amazing adventure of a lifetime my best buddy and I experienced in Peru with your Active Adventure team! The smiles on our face every time thinking about it paint the perfect picture of our wonderful, amazing experience and trip of a lifetime! Our guide, Daniel , was so attentive, thoughtful, fun and enthusiastic. We felt like we were travelling with a caring friend who was so excited to share his beautiful country with us! We were challenged and encouraged, and enjoyed absolutely every minute of this amazing trip! It would not have been the same without our smiling leader Daniel!!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Tui May 1, 2017

    “Trip of a lifetime. The guides were outstanding, accommodations were excellent. Great food... we even had a picnic!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Active in Peru.

    “I loved my jaguar trip to Peru. The history and Inca ruins were fascinating, the local people we met were all friendly and welcoming, the new friends I made on the trip were lots of fun(we were a great team) - and I loved the Llamas! I saw the best of Peru on foot, by bike and by kayak - a great way to experience such a richly cultural and historic country.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Jaguar, May 2017
  • Our Kiwi Special Holiday

    “This was a very well planned, organised and delivered holiday experience. The guides were excellent; they were both great individuals who clearly loved their job and made our family holiday such a memorable experience. The South Island is a magic place. Thank you Active for your efforts.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tui, May 2017
  • EBC 2017 Trip

    “What an amazing experience! There was so much more to the trek than was advertised. The immersion into the Nepali culture was unexpected and a delight. DK and his crew are professionals! They kept us safe and got us across across the finish line. We had a blast while we were doing it. I can not say enough about our porter team too! What a terrific group of men. Whom ever does your hiring should get a raise. Keep up the awesome adventures.”
    – Ohio, United States EBC, May 2017
  • Everything flowed: shuttles, vans, boats, bikes

    “I am mostly a solo traveler and this AA trip was a series of smooth and timely connections from one event to another. Guides Daniel and Johan were informative
    and personable. A+ to them.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Sit Back and Relax!

    “This trip was pretty awesome. The guides were personable while being professional and they were organized and knowledgable. It was nice to relax and let all the planning and coordination be done by someone else.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    – Colorado, United States Iguana, May 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed

    “It was a great trip with just enough activities to keep it interesting and challenging. Koru provided good insights on locations, while Tess took care of all our needs. The group was small enough to feel like family and we bonded well during the trip. I highly recommend this trip to anyone that likes to stay active during vacation.”
    – Texas, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Exceeded my expectations

    “Everyone said it'll be a trip of a lifetime, and it really was. Our guides Jordie and Holly were excellent, and Holly was an amazing cook! I was a single traveller and the rest of the group was made up of some wonderful individuals from all age groups and walks of life. Would highly recommend to anyone who is hesitant like I was, go for it! You won't regret it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Tui Trip

    “The Tui tour was the best trip I've ever had, all the group was great and very friendly, there was a very good feeling with all the group. It was so great to see all the nice places that you have in NZ, the tour passed so fast that I would love to do another one with you guys! And what about the super guides that we had - Jordy and Holly! They are the best ever, I would like to thank them again so much for the great time we had with them, I'm ready to do more! Holly next time we'll do the swimming race in the lake? Thanks a lot again, Ia orana from Tahiti.”
    – tahiti teahupoo, French Polynesia Tui, May 2017
  • Great guides make all the difference.

    “Annapurna has been a dream for 28 years and it did not disappoint.
    Active Adventures went out of their way for every member of our group.
    The interaction with the Nepali porters made the trip feel authentic.
    Thanks DK, Arjun, Elder & Claire! An incredible experience...”
    – Florida, United States AST, May 2017
  • “Having never been to this part of the world this was a great way to travel, learn a great deal in a very short time, have a lot of fun, and not have to worry about any of the details.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • South Island trip of a lifetime

    “An absolutely awesome adventure with fantastic guides Vanessa and Tory. Experiencing parts of the great tramps in New Zealand of Kepler, Routeburn, Mueller Hut, Inland pack track at Punakaiki and Angelus Hut are a great introduction to tramping in NZ. I will definitely be back to complete some of the tramps. The Angelus hut hike was one of the hardest I have done (I hike regularly in Western Australia) and I loved every second of it. I would do the Angelus hut Nelson lakes hike again in a heart beat. The cycle along the Hawea river was stunning. Every day was a highlight of the trip.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Rimu, May 2017
  • Rimu Trip Southbound

    “I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys being active and loves the outdoors! New Zealand is an absolute GEM of a country and Active Adventures ensures that you experience the beauty and diversity of its land. I cannot say enough about every aspect of this trip from start to finish. The tour guides, accommodations, food, activities all EXCELLENT!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, May 2017
  • 2017 Manuka

    “Went into the trip not knowing what to expect. Took the trip solo. Was hesitant on taking a guided tour. Felt like i wouldn't have the freedom to do things at my own speed. Not the case at all! Had virtually no restrictions on the hikes. Amanda and Holly let us move at our own paces. Overall trip was a blast! Couldn't have wished for more. Great hikes, great food, good sleeping accommodations, hard charging guides, everything was taken care of, didn't have to lift a finger. I will be back.”
    – APO/FPO AP, United States Manuka, May 2017
  • Quick thinking on the fly

    “I can't say enough good things about our guides Andy and Jo. We had not one but two cyclones hit the North Island during out tour and they still managed to find places to take us and keep us challenged and entertained. When we wanted down time, they understood and let us opt out.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Kauri, May 2017
  • Horizons Broadened

    “We normally take two hiking/walking holidays a year but really enjoyed the variety of activity on this tour. We were challenged to do things we'd never done before and it was great fun.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Tui, May 2017
  • A-MA-ZING!!

    “We had such a great time. Every day was a new and exciting adventure. Our guide, Daniel, made sure we were well taken care of and we learned and enjoyed so much of the Peruvian culture. I would unhesitatingly recommend this trip!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Good trip

    “Good overview of the South Island. Friendly, knowledgeable guides, good group.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Loved every minute, but not the Blisters !

    “The trip was everything it was supposed to be, and well worth the effort. From the moody weather to the gorgeous sunshine, from the penguins to the condors, we would do it again !”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, May 2017
  • A gem

    “Excellent trip. Enjoyed this trip as much as the better known South Island.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, May 2017
  • Best Way to Check NZ Off Your Bucket List

    “If you want to check New Zealand off your bucket list, this is the best way to do it. Active Adventures showed us the South Island, taught us about the eco-system and the history of the country, and kept us active while we did it. We made new friends within our group and had a thousand laughs along the way.”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Southern Exposure

    “There could be no better way to experience the south island than with an Active Adventures trip...hiking, biking, kayaking, backpacking... all with exceptional guides, facilities, equipment and food. A dream come true...!”
    – California, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Really varied and interesting. Great way to see a variety of areas and do a variety of activites.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Great review of the mainland. A super addition to the Tortuga trip”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Perfect Trip for anyone who loves Nature!

    “If you enjoy being outdoors and like to challenge yourself this trip is for you. I wasn't an avid hiker before signing up for the Rimu trip but after reading the itinerary I knew I couldn't pass up this amazing opportunity. You never know what you are capable of until you try and that is how I feel after climbing up to the Angelus Hut and hiking to Mueller ridge. I had never climbed a mountain before (since there are no mountains where I live) but the views are more than worth the climb.
    This trip is the best way to see all that the South Island has to offer, it is the perfect balance between adventure, relaxation, self-exploration, and cultural immersion. Anyone can go to New Zealand and rent a car and go hiking, biking, and Kayaking; however, they will miss out on the best parts of traveling to a new place and that is the knowledge and culture that only someone who lives there would know. The guides (Tory and Vanessa) were awesome! Tory is an amazing cook, and Ness was great at making jokes and keeping the atmosphere cheery during the longer drives. I loved listening to the guides tell us about the Maori people and the local legends or folklore. I actually thought Ness was lying to me when she would tell me that the views get better after being left speechless by the scenery, but every day was better than the previous!
    I have to mention the FOOD!!! The food alone is enough for me to sign up for this trip again. When I travel I don’t always know what the local food is or would be but with this trip the guides cook you all sorts of local food and all the food is fresh and delicious. If you don’t like something they will make sure to accommodate you.
    Ness and Tory made you feel like this was a trip among friends and family, not strangers. I will come back to New Zealand again!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Tortuga Paul and Sophia

    “Astonishingly beautiful. Superbly knowledgable guide. Lots of interesting activities to keep you busy.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • epic adventure

    “The group was outstanding; the guides were top notch. The Lares Inca trail was the hardest hike I have ever done because of the elevation, but the cultural immersion and glam camping softened the effort. Hot water bottles at bedtime anyone? Fleece liners for your sleeping bag? The trips to the Amazon and Lake Titikaka were equally wonderful, but the combination of the physical challenge with the people in the mountains, and the incredible scenery moving from the Lares to the Sacred Valley just couldn't be beat.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, April 2017
  • A Must Do!

    “The Kauri trip will give you an intensive view of the north island with all its greenery along with its variety of art, culture, activities, waterfalls, seascapes and volcanic landscapes. An absolute must-do!”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Rimu

    “Rimu with Active was an excellent fit for us! Pace, guides and hikes were just amazing and heaps of fun!”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A most excellent adventure..

    “The Tui experience is active and adventurous, exactly as described. From scaling summits to kayaking in the Milford Sound and many long and shorter hikes in between. Our excellent guides took the group to remote places, encouraged and supported us as we did some easier and then really challenging hikes, giving ongoing commentary on the history and culture of New Zealand and cooking delicious meals along the way, the final feast was an absolute treat. The groups are small which makes for a really personal experience, our group got on so well as one of us said ‘it feels like family’ at the end of the trip. The most memorable experience for me in a stream of stunning memories was the drive to the Milford Sound in the setting sun, one of the great road trips of the world. The trip is meticulously organised and you get ongoing emails to support what you need to bring and what to expect. Highly recommended, it was the trip of a lifetime.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tui, April 2017
  • Even Cyclone Cook couldn't dampen our fun

    “I hopped onto the last half of the Kauri after two weeks on the South Island in the Rimu adventure. It just so happened that we had a cyclone hit the island that week, so everything was very wet, to say the least. But everything still worked out okay! We still did lots of hiking in the rain, which was fun in itself. The views were not the same as they would be on a clear day, but different doesn't mean bad. They were unique, and there were a lot of rainbows thanks to the water. We even did the mountain biking in the downpour, which was hilariously muddy and still a lot of fun. Overall, the people were good, the guides were excellent, the food was fantastic, and the trip was terrific.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Loved our Tortuga trip.

    “We loved taking this land based tour of the Galapagos. Staying at hotels on the islands allowed us a lot more flexibility and was great for our grandchildren since they had lots of time to play on the beaches in the evenings. We saw all the animals I hoped to see plus the activities were a lot of fun, especially the snorkeling. We loved Zambo our guide. He was friendly, helpful and very informative plus he took great underwater videos for us.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • “Awesome trip. The staff was great to work with. Very accommodating to a last minute change in our trip plans. Our guides were fun, encouraging and adapted well to our needs. Meals were delicious and well organized. Our lodgings were excellent.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Fun Trip

    “I very much enjoyed the Active Adventures Tui trip. The guides were phenomenal and very knowledgeable about the sites in New Zealand. We saw many beautiful places and I enjoyed the activities that were planned.”
    – New York, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Trip to remember

    “Active Adventures, Arturo and local guides have done a great job making sure Patagonia trip experiences become memories of a lifetime for Natalie and I. The trip had it all - great sightseeing, strenuous hiking, biking, kayaking, hiking on a glacier, accommodations - simple to luxurious, great food... I only wish the weather would have been more cooperative. It was also great being part of a fun and easy going group... hopefully will see each other again on future Active trips!”
    – California, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Incredible experience

    “We had an amazing time in the Galapagos!
    Everything was perfectly organized for us. All we had to do was show up - just as it said in the description of the tour.
    Our tour guide Zambo would always tell us well in advance what we would be doing on the next day, what we had to bring, what we should wear.
    The food was always organized for us; they would always ask us beforehand what we wanted to eat.
    Everywhere we went they were expecting us and everything went smoothly.
    Zambo was an amazing guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. He had an answer for everything and he was very patient with our kids. One could see that he enjoyed showing his home to us.
    The encounters with the animals were truly amazing. We saw blue footed boobies, frigate birds, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, penguins, hundreds of sea lions, sea iguanas, etc.
    The animals seemed at ease with the humans around them in some cases almost curious.”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Wonderful Choice!

    “A trip to New Zealand was on my "bucket list" and my husband chose this trip for the south island. I think this is a wonderful way to see the outstanding scenery of the south island. We will be back!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, April 2017
  • An Outstanding Time!

    “The north island deserves more notice than it gets in the press. A different world than the south island, well worth any time you can give it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Simply said: Excellent

    “We’ve booked our trip with Active Adventures from NZ but ended up with Galakiwi Adventures as the implementing party. A bit confusing at the beginning but it turned out quite well.
    Our trip through the Galapagos Islands started in San Cristobal, followed by Floreana, Isabela and ended in Santa Cruz.
    We booked an all-inclusive trip and it turned out to be a very good decision. In fact we realized only after a few days how convenient is was to have everything organized for you and how much time you can actually safe. Starting with swimming gear that is provided as part of the package. Transportation to the ferry, getting on & off, having the transportation ready when you arrive, all those organizational aspects are taken care off which makes travelling from island to island very easy and smooth. Then hotels are ready, check in & out done super fast, luggage’s pick up etc. all organized. Lunch and/or dinners arranged in advance to maximize the vacation time and reduce wasted time to a bare minimum. What else to say besides that the organization was simply said excellent!!!
    Then we had Zambo our tour guide, a fantastic & very knowledgeable person.
    Not only questions from adults were not a problem for him, our kids and the other families kids who were also part of the group constantly came up with all sorts of questions and somehow, Zambo always had an answer.
    All of this made it a great vacation; we enjoyed it a lot”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Amazing

    “I am not sure there are words to describe what the trip was like. D.K., Arjun, Claire, and Elder made two weeks into a lifetime of memories. The support, the friendships, the knowledge of the culture, the kindness, and the people made this trip. D.K. Had more knowledge of people and the culture so that you really were emersed in it for two weeks. It was far more than a hiking trip, it was a trip to learn and appreciate the Nepali people and their culture. The group was great and I think we all bonded over an experience that we will remember forever. Personally, I did get sick but I was able to keep going and never thought a lot about it as I had the support of Arjun, Claire and Elder along with D.K to help me along. They went way beyond what they had to do to make sure I along with everyone else succeeded on this hike. A hike of this magnitude is a difficult one and to be able to say everyone was successful and left with an incredible sense of accomplishment says tons about your staff and the people you employ. You have an amazing group and I cannot say enough positive things about all of them, from the guides to the office staff answering questions and helping us make sure we had all that we needed for the trip. I have already recommended you to everyone I have told about this trip and I do hope I am able to do another hike with you. I have hiked with other groups but you are in a league of your own way above all others. From the bottom of my heart..thank you for a gift that will stay with me for the rest of my life. Anna”
    – Kansas, United States AST, April 2017
  • Wow! What a trip!

    “We had an absolute blast exploring the South Island with two legendary guides, Ken and Elder. Amazing hiking and other activities, great food, and awesome company!”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Awesome guides & beautiful scenery, need I say more?

    “Seeing the incredible beauty of NZ would have certainly been enough to make the trip worthwhile, but learning the history, the culture, and the traditions, from the guides - Tory and Jordie - took this amazing experience to a whole new level! This trip far exceeded my expectations and left me wanting to go back for more!!”
    – New Mexico, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A varied experience

    “We very much enjoyed the varied experiences - meeting local people was great fun - highlights included horseback riding at a hacienda where the owner ate meals with us and explained his farming operation. The jungle visit was also very interesting - a meal prepared by a local couple and entertainment from an indigenous family.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tapir, April 2017
  • Great guiding

    “We had a great experience. Patricio made us feel like we were able to do all of the activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • Magical South Island Trip

    “This was a truly amazing trip from start to finish! Scenery, activities, accommodations, tour group and food were all outstanding! What made it really shine were our guides: Tess and Koru. Their knowledge, guidance, friendship and obvious passion about New Zealand made this trip stand out. We would highly recommend this trip,
    Tom and Sallie.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Best Travel Company EVER!

    “I can't imagine any trekking company doing a better job than Active Adventures. Everything promised was delivered, and more. The head guide, DK, was the best trekking guide I have encountered in a dozen treks in places around the world. The group size was very small (9). A highlight was the warm and personal relationship with the Nepali porters and guide, so that we all felt like were were part of a big family, sharing language lessons, card games in the evening, Nepali songs, and developing a real rapport.”
    – California, United States AST, April 2017
  • LEGENDARY

    “Travelling to New Zealand has been on my bucket list for nearly half my life, and I'm so glad I spent three weeks there with Active! I was a bit worried going by myself, but it turned out to be the best vacation of my life. They took us to so many spots that I probably would have never seen if I tried to organize everything on my own. It was great to have them feed me, drive me, hike me, and take me to our accommodations at night - not once did I have to worry about anything. The accommodations themselves were so fun and unique, staying in them was a highlight of my trip. Our guides, Kim and Ashleigh, were fantastic young ladies. Ash was an amazing chef and Kim rocked the in-bus narration. I also think we had a phenomenal group of people who clicked very well, and absolutely the best weather one could wish for.

    Even when there were a few changes to the itinerary due to road damages, weather issues, or anything else, the guides were on top of it so fast that we barely even noticed there was a problem. We did miss out on snorkeling with the fur seals, and our Franz Josef Heli-Hike was cancelled, but we were still able to see seals and take a helicopter ride to a glacier at another time. No loss whatsoever.

    I'm a fairly active person under thirty, who lives in an mountainous region, and I was still challenged by the hikes and activities they provided. I also have bad knees, and was still able to get up and down the more difficult mountains. For those wondering abut the multi-day hike, it's definitely a work-out, but totally worth it! And be sure to invest in a hydration bladder, you'll really appreciate it! If you're looking for an outdoor adventure with lots of activity and fun, this is definitely one of the better ways to explore New Zealand.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Life changing views and people

    “This trip was life changing. Amazing guides (Andrew and Jo) were the best part of the trip. They made us feel at ease, welcome, and like a big family on a road trip. The food was superb, I would get really excited at the end of the day to see what the guys were making for us. It was my 30th birthday and I've never felt this special. It was my first time hiking, and the guys kept encouraging me. All the accommodations were beautiful. In the end everything was perfect.”
    – RIYADH, Saudi Arabia Kauri, April 2017
  • Amazing Tui trip - March 2017

    “When our daughter decided to go on foreign study to Auckland, my wife and I had a perfect excuse to visit New Zealand. We like active vacations with small groups, so I was intrigued by the Active Adventures tours. We signed up for the Tui tour and the second half of the Kauri tour and added a few days to visit with our daughter. This was an amazing trip that we thoroughly enjoyed. Every day was a new adventure with spectacular scenery. We really liked the mix of activities (hiking, biking, sea kayaking, scenic flight, and jet boat). Our favorite day included the scenic flight up to Siberia Valley, a beautiful hike, and then the jet boat ride back to Makarora. Ken and Kim were excellent guides and cooks. I look forward to our next Active Adventures tour.”
    – Maryland, United States Tui, April 2017
  • March 2017 Manuka with Amanda and Holly

    “The Manuka trip was exceptional. It was extremely well planned out. We were lucky to have had great weather and a group that got along together very well. There was great raw material to work with – NZ has great natural beauty and a variety of climate zones that allow for exceptional hiking. In addition, Amanda and Holly were outstanding guides – attentive to our needs in hiking and constantly striving to provide the best meals possible, taking into account our various dietary requirements.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • 5-Day Kauri is a Nice Addiition to Tui - March 2017

    “After completing the Tui trip, we joined the last 5 days of the Kauri trip. This was a great way to see highlights from both islands. With the exception of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (the highlight of the trip), the South Island has more majestic scenery. However, the Kauri tour has a lot of fun and unique activities. Five of the twelve people on our trip went on the optional rafting trip down the Kaituna River and the 21-foot Okere Falls. It was a blast. Inner tubing through the Waitomo Glowworm Caves was unique to NZ and also a lot of fun. We look forward to our next Active Adventures trip.”
    – Maryland, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Our "Better Than Average" Trip

    “Poem written by Andrea Rudolph with and for the entire group of very happy campers: (If you publish it, perhaps you should ask Andrea for permission and credit Andrea and possibly the entire Kiwi group for inspiration?)

    Our Better than Average Trip

    Active Adventures had everything planned
    For a better than average trip to kiwi land
    Our fearless leaders, Rachel and Koru
    In every instance knew what to do
    They prepped us on schedules and weather every day
    And tried hard to make us listen to what they had to say
    Koru always steered us in the right direction
    For finding trails and Pinots of perfection
    Rachael had to patiently repeat
    Our menu options so we could choose what to eat
    She was always there to help us climb
    And cheered us on time after time
    Rachael and her accent were really cute
    Her seeiven and eeigs always made us hoot
    The food was delicious morning and night
    From breakfast to barbecue it was always just right
    Each day we had coffee and muesli to eat
    Often Pavlova and (if we were good) a special treat
    Koru told myths of Maoris and war
    His tales were creative and never a bore
    He showed us plants like the silver fern
    This land is so varied theres a lot to learn
    About many birds he gave us the scoop
    And warned us about the wacky wekas poop

    The Hectors dolphins near the beach were rare
    They amazed us by doing flips in the air
    At the wildlife center we saw kiwis being fed
    And heard how theyre kept safe till they are bred
    We marveled at the kiwi eggs size
    That filled up the female almost to her eyes
    Possums, an invasive species, are major pests
    Eating kiwis and forests is what they do best
    Whether to poison them or use them for their fur
    Is hotly debated and not all concur

    The rain and wind made Foulwind a perfect name
    And the Tasman Sea is anything but tame.
    Riding the waves In Abel Tasman wasnt easy
    It was like a roller coaster and would have made George queasy
    Queenstown is the capital of all things daring,
    From bungee jumping and luge to parasailing
    At Franz Josef an earthquake comes every 300 years
    Its on the main fault line creating lots of fears

    Braemar brought us closer, running out to pee at night
    Sharing toilets and co-ed showers were also a delight
    We ran through the hills, and drank lots of wine
    Singing old songs and jingles and it was divine
    In the dark sky the stars shone ever so bright
    And made for a fabulous view our last night

    New Zealand is perfect except for the sandflies
    Which bite all our legs as they drop from the skies
    They even dare follow us into the van
    Where we smash them on windows as fast as we can

    Our photographers were an amazing lot
    And would do almost anything to get the right shot
    They took pictures of every breathtaking view
    As well as lots of our motley crew
    Julie, Gerry and Frank lugged gear everywhere
    So Frank could create a dvd to share

    Gerry led the trivia team from the west
    As they cruised to victory in our last contest
    We laughed and talked the whole day through
    Waking up to Georges cheers and positive view
    Jeannie his sidekick never seemed to mind
    Through everything she was patient and kind
    When she added her bra to the fence we all cheered
    The moment was tender and brought a few tears
    We could always count on Frank to come through
    With some daily tidbit about something new
    And Vesna was always stylishly dressed
    In outfits that matched and even looked pressed
    Frank, the model husband, brought her coffee in bed
    and gallantly swatted bugs dive bombing her head

    With her camera Julie could always be found
    She never minded lugging it around
    And always had a story to tell
    Of faraway places and people she knew really well
    Mike and Bonnie hiked steadily mile after mile
    But it was the waterfall that really made Mike smile
    Many sights looked like their Oregon coast
    But this was the New Zealand trip they loved the most
    When Lynette got sick we felt really bad
    But we really didnt want to get what she had
    Karen kept going even without her sister
    Even though we all missed her
    Karen Lynette Tom and Gerry may seem quiet
    But in the back of the van they had a real riot
    Talking about everything under the sun
    They laughed nonstop and had lots of fun
    Andrea was famous for her bathroom stops
    From talking toilets to smelly long drops

    Even though she had to go every time
    Everyone else got behind her in line
    Of our demerits Rachel kept track
    Who was naughty or late coming back
    In earning bad marks George was clearly the winner
    He gets the award as the biggest sinner
    While riding on Frank we passed the basket around
    Tim Tans and fruit were goodies we found

    Many of us discovered daily flat whites
    And drank local wines and beer each night.
    Everyone bought some manuka honey
    Even if UMF costs lots of money
    In Hokitika Andrea bought lots of jade
    with George helping negotiate the lower price she paid
    For Koru all blacks rugby is the team to beat
    And watching them do the haka was really sweet

    I tried really hard to write something clever
    To celebrate our group and the best trip ever
    Though our journey is over and we are all back home
    We can laugh and remember when we read this poem”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Great exposure to South Island

    “Greatly enjoyed trip. Our trip was the beginning of April. We've done other tour packages around the world and usually struggle with finding trips that are truly active and challenging. We love hiking and are active distance runners. The Rimu trip was one of the best. A hike described by Active Adventures as 'challenging' is very accurately represented. We had an awesome group on our trip. 10 people with roughly similar energy and activity levels. Kim and Ashleigh were excellent guides. I didn't understand before the trip how many meals during the 2 weeks would be prepared by our guides (probably close to 50%). I was a bit leery the first day when I heard the approach. After seeing the remoteness of locations -- I understand the necessity. The guides did a great job on meal preparation -- variety and quality.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Awesome vacation!

    “We did the last 5 days of the Kauri trip (added on to our Tui trip) and it was a lot of fun. There was a good variety of activities and all of them were really enjoyable. We had multiple hikes that were challenging but with great views. The mountain biking was a lot of fun and the guides for that activity were really great. We also got to do the glow worm caves, which was an interesting experience. Andy and Jo were great too, easygoing and knowledgeable. Highly recommend Active Adventures for a fun and active vacation!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • You Are Stronger Than You Realize

    “Many people go on a vacation to relax, sit in the sun, and read. For me, I chose Active Adventures because I wanted to see the world by pushing myself out of my comfort zone and challenging myself both mentally and physically. The Rimu trip did not disappoint as it delivered exactly that! I loved learning a new skill (kayaking), embracing my passion for travelling through the most incredible terrain (cycling), and pushing myself to exceed what I thought I could ever do (climbing up to the Mueller Ridge). From those experiences, particularly the last one, I realized that in life when things seems hopeless or beyond your capability you are stronger than you realize. When you 'actively' engage your mind and body, you CAN climb that mountain!. Every day was an adventure, filled with memories I will treasure for a lifetime and take with me into my job as I train the next generation to build grit for the mountains they are sure to have in their future!
    None of this would have been possible without the incredible guides we had. Kim and Ashleigh were a phenomenal team. They worked so well together and met our every need. I appreciated how they gave us just enough information about where we were going or what we were doing. They allowed us to discover our potential and pushed us on to victory.
    This will definitely not be my last trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, April 2017
  • Amazing adventure

    “Can't say enough about how great our guides were and how amazing our trip to Basecamp was! A defining moment in our lives for sure! Thank you for the most awesome adventure in our lives!”
    – Nova Scotia, Canada EBC, April 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Great hiking, awesome scenery, terrific guides, delicious food and more than comfy accommodations !”
    – Arizona, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Beautiful scenery with some Maori culture too

    “We wanted to see some of the North Island in addition to our Tui trip so we tacked on the last five days of the Kauri trip. What an excellent tour! Tongariro Crossing wins for best hike/activity of the Kauri trip! Almost a month later and I still look at pictures from that hike every day!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • The most fun 2 weeks ever

    “I was fortunate enough to be a member of the March Kiwi trip to New Zealands South Island. Its hard to recount all the wonderful highlights from this vacation as each day brought amazing new sights and experiences as well as too many laughs to mention. In one memorable day we went from a glacier high in the mountains to a beach with endangered dolphins doing flips near the shore. From the Milford Sound waterfall, Abel Tasman boat ride in high seas, beautiful hikes, seeing the milky way under the dark sky at Braemar, to bathroom stops and talking toilets, smashing sandflies, cocktail hours and singing old songs: it was all magical.

    We were so lucky to have Koru and Rachael as the leaders of our exuberant group. They kept us in line, encouraged us on long hikes, cooked great meals and generally took great care of us. After my wonderful Kauri trip I was not surprised that the Kiwi adventure was also well organized with flexible, patient and knowledgeable guides who also knew how to laugh and have fun.

    What really made this trip outstanding was the excellent chemistry of our group (and with our guides). We never lacked for conversation and we laughed and talked nonstop from the moment we convened for breakfast each morning.

    This trip helped awaken my sense of adventure and was the best thing I have ever done for myself. I came on my first hiking vacation by myself and feel like I have made lifelong friends and found a new passion to pursue in my retirement. I am already planning at least one more Active Adventures trip.”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Absolutely amazing!

    “My husband and I did this trip to celebrate our 10-year anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The hikes were fun and challenging (in a good way!); the views were spectacular everywhere we went; and Ken and Kim (our guides) made the trip perfect. They were super knowledgeable and friendly and made everything fun. We felt like we got to see New Zealand in a unique way that you could never get with your standard tour group. We will definitely be looking at doing more tours with Active Adventures in the future!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Rimu

    “A wonderful introduction and exploration of the South Island. Each day was a new experience and an adventure. If you are looking to explore the South Island, this tour hits many of the major highlights and peaks your curiosity to come back and explore further!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Do It.... Don't Wait

    “In total, the Khumbu trip was outstanding. We expected the trek to be physically challenging and several times, those expectations were achieved. Our guides were great, comfortable, never stressed and took care of all the coordination’s, all the details required, from the simple to the more complex. We were totally immersed, enjoyed so many extraordinary moments, were impressed often and in awe of the spectacular views. We were thankful for the ease and harmony that our guides, Mel and Gokul, instilled in us. Thank you two for watching over the flock and for being so tremendously skilled at your jobs. We totally enjoyed the experience, the environment and will hold these memories forever and perhaps even return for another trip in Nepal in the near future. It was great.”
    – New Jersey, United States Khumbu, April 2017
  • Rimu Rules

    “Excellent trip. Content is outstanding. Delivery is outstanding. Execution is flawless. A very well done experience in a beautiful country. Ken and Elder are the PhD's of guides. If all guides were as good as Ken and Elder, you would be a publicly traded company with a stock value rivaling Apple.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Couple from Little Rock

    “My husband and I had been thinking about a trip to New Zealand for at least 5 years but planning it seemed overwhelming. When a friend told us about her trip with Active New Zealand we decided to look into the options. It was everything we had dreamed it would be and more. There just could not have been a better way for us to actually see and do all that we did in 2 weeks. Kudos to our wonderful guides, Amanda and Holly!!! I have put out 2 ferns on my front porch to remind me of them and of our once in a lifetime trip.”
    – Arkansas, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Best vacation yet!

    “When my wife and I started talking about how we wanted to celebrate our 10 year anniversary we started to think big. We had come across pictures of New Zealand. We started looking at Lord of the Rings Tours but they seemed to focus more seeing the studios or showing up at a photo stop. We wanted something more adventurous. After searching online for awhile we found the Active Adventures site. Fast forward a year and we were landing in Christchurch getting ready to kick off the tour! We both had high expectations for the trip, and man did it deliver!
    It seemed like every day we got to see scenery that took our breath away. We loved the physical activity, the sense of accomplishment every day”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Active

    “The trip was the best trip ever! The guides were wonderful and the sites were breathtaking. We were on the South Island, which is amazing! We were able to take a small plane into the Siberian Valley, which was an adventure in itself. Our group was small (8), which was really great. We all got along really well.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Rimu March 2017

    “It was an amazing trip that covered most of the South Island. Dani and Liana did a fabulous job making sure each of us got the most out of our trip. They are full of life and energy. it was a joy to have them as our guides.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Worth all of the Sweat and Laughs

    “I was on the Rimu trip through much of the South Island with tour guides Kim and Ash. I was only able to make 8 days of the trip because I had a prior commitment to meet a family member in the North Island. So my review will only be able to cover my 8 days, although I believe the trip was for a total of 14 days. The trip was excellent on many levels. The tour leaders were outstanding. They drove us in a cool bus, made most of our 3 meals a day and provided snacks in the bus. They lead us on the hikes and activities and seemed to make all arrangements(along with the cool Active Adventures office team support)for our journeys. Our guides were both in their mid 20's and I have to say the most positive and mature people I have ever met. They kept us on schedule and showed us a good variety of terrain in the South Island. New Zealand is really amazing. At times it reminded me of Alaska and also northern California perhaps Hawaii as well. The vegetation is beautiful, lush and the scenery incredible. We were in their Fall October months and so we did have some wet weather, but nothing that stopped us from enjoying the trip. I attended this journey as a single person and that was not a problem because there were 3 other women on the trip and we just were able to share hotel rooms which was great. I chose the Hiking Option through Nelson Lakes and that was an amazing and challenging journey. The real reward for me was making it up the very steep parts, over rocks and lots of tree roots. In the beginning of the trip I was not sure I was in good enough physical shape. I am a tennis player and skier and like to hike and walk a lot but after a few days hiking I found out that I could handle it . That was a big relief because I really wanted to enjoy the trip to the best of my ability. I also have to say that I lucked out because our group was really outstanding. They came from all over the USA and Canada and they were a fun and upbeat team. We were also close in age and that was also interesting in terms of our professional lives and personal cross roads.This turned out to be the perfect experience for me. It kicked me up a notch in terms of physical demands of day after day exercise and reminded me of being in camp as a child, but showed me a beautiful country that I will hopefully some day return to see more of.”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Rimu, March 2017

    “Thank you for sharing New Zealand with us! Dani and Liana are amazing women, we loved getting to know them and appreciate how hard they worked to make sure that our trip was everything it could be.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • “Great trip with fun and knowledgable guides. Accommodations and food were great.”
    – Washington, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Tui Trip-March 2017

    “I cannot say enough positive things about how wonderful and seamless this trip was from start to finish! The timing for every piece of our journey was impeccable, and I could tell Active Adventures has honed their craft well! We have recommended this to many of our friends and family, as this was a trip of a lifetime for me and my husband!
    David and Tonya Ward
    Colorado USA”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Extraordinary experience!

    “This adventure was perfect in every way. We appreciate all the thought that went into the planning, to make it that way. It had just the right balance of hiking, biking, and kayaking, as well as of rigorous days and relaxing ones. Days that had to involve longish bus travel were appropriately broken up. The two things we appreciated most were the skill, competence, and temperament of our leaders, Tory and Jordie, who were able to rise to every occasion; and the way the trip allowed for different fitness and interest levels: I couldn't have done the strenuous hiking my husband did, and loved the kayak or hiking options provided. Extremely well organized for everyone's enjoyment.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A terrific trip

    “It is hard to say enough about our Rimu trip with Jordan and Tory as our trip leaders. We were fortunate to have good weather and a great group but the planning and just plain hard work of Active Adventures and our trip leaders is what made it so memorable. For my wife and I, a particular plus, and what made the trip possible for us, are the options offered if one member of a couple doesn't feel comfortable with the more challanging parts of the trip.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A life-changing adventure

    “Getting off my plane jet-lagged with almost no hiking experience I really did not know what to expect from my Kauri trip. I neednt have worried- our amazing guides, Jo and Andy, had everything covered. With their encouragement and expertise I was able to complete all the activities on our tour. My biggest accomplishment was hiking the Tongariro Alpine crossing with my group. We spent almost 7 hours on this challenging trail and when the fog cleared we were treated to spectacular views. We also spent a fun day racing down beautiful forest trails on our mountain bikes. Our group was also treated to two memorable water activities. The first was the optional rafting adventure on class 5 rapids that we decided to do on a rainy day. The other activity was exploring Waitomo caves. The pictures we bought from the sponsoring companies highlighted what amazing experiences they both were. Seeing pictures of our group in a little raft perched on top of the rapids half covered by water perfectly captures the moment. Tubing in the Waitomo glowworm (actually maggots but that does not sound as exciting) caves was unlike anything I had experienced. Floating in the darkness, jumping over small waterfalls and seeing glowworms on the ceiling was a fitting end to our wonderful journey.

    Before this trip I would never have considered myself to be adventurous but now I am eager for my next challenge. This was my first Active Adventures journey and I am currently making plans for one or two more within the next year. Active and its guides put together a trip that met all our needs. Andy and Jo took care of all the logistics. Not only did they safely navigate the roads and hotel accommodations but along the way they enthusiastically told us about all aspects of New Zealand past and present. Everywhere we went people greeted them as friends and gave us wonderful service. After a long day of hiking we would take a quick shower and within an hour Jo would produce wonderful healthy dinners including beautiful salads, curry, lasagna, barbecue and desserts. I also enjoyed the camaraderie of our little group and appreciated what interesting and supportive people they all were.”
    – New York, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • New Zealand

    “New Zealand is a trip of a lifetime, it was more beautiful than expected and so many fond memories of my trip with Active Adventures”
    – Virginia, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • An awesome country and fantastic trip operator

    “We saw the motto for New Zealand when we arrived at the airport - open minds, open spaces, open hearts - and this describes perfectly our experience. Active Adventures embodies these words by taking us to incredible places and having kind, thoughtful and passionate guides.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • A Great Eight Days

    “My wife, Shanen, and I had a goal of running a marathon on all seven continents and our seventh took place on March 18, in Rotorua, NZ. So two days after completing our goal, we returned to Christchurch and met up with our guides, Hillary and Dan, along with our fellow travelers. As good fortune would have it we all clicked as a group and off we went.

    For the remainder of our journey it was clear that both Hillary and Dan took great joy in what they do. Furthermore, and of great importance to us, they ensured meals had met our vegetarian and vegan needs. We were never made to feel our dietary needs were inconvenient to them and they were handled in such a way that all of us were able to enjoy our group meals.

    The actual adventure was well planned out and the expectations of each day were always explained. Our group was one that started together, made sure all finished and enjoyed the adventure.”
    – Arizona, United States Tui, April 2017
  • “We saw some truly amazing sights which included the stunning Kauri trees. We were fortunate to see the Father at dusk and it seemed even more impressive as the sun was setting. The whole trip was a real experience and certainly challenged us! Lots of really worthwhile hikes including the fabulous Alpine crossing. That IS something people who consider themselves hikers should do (even if moaning and groaning along the way!)”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Fantastic time, sometimes strenuous always worth it

    “Had an excellent time. W trek was sometimes very tough but definitely worth the effort. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They took good care of us throughout. The trip was well organized and smoothly run. We will absolutely be looking to active adventures for similar trips in the future.”
    – Kentucky, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Wonderful Manuka Trip With Active Adventures, New Zealand

    “Hi, I'm back home in the USA after my Manuka adventure with Active Adventures, New Zealand. I would like to compliment everyone in your company that I came in contact with....from my initial contact with Fiona to my pre-trip emails with Lynette everything was handled with complete professionalism. This was my first adventure with your company but I'm pretty sure that it will not be my last.
    Everything during the trip went forward in a very efficient manner. I was amazed at the energy level and efficiency of our guides Amanda and Holly. The amount of work that they were able to accomplish during the course of a day, their energy levels and very positive attitudes made the trip enjoyable for all of us clients. Also, their knowledge of their country and their willingness to share made the trip even more enjoyable for me.
    Again, thank you to all and especially to Amanda and Holly....I really enjoyed my first visit to New Zealand.”
    – Arizona, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • “An awesome trip. Loved the hikes, the bike ride into Wanaka and the kayaking at Okarito and Milford Sound. We had glorious food, lots of laughs at group dinners and shared our love of travel.”
    – Montana, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Can I come back NOW?

    “I had been planning a trip to New Zealand for decades and seriously for several years before I went. Normally I do not travel in groups. For New Zealand I thought it would be good due to the distance and initially thinking I'd be traveling alone since I wanted to enjoy the country via outdoor activities and not have to plan it all which I have always done. (As it turns out a couple of good friends joined me on the trip as well!)

    From the moment my conversations with Active Adventures began and continue today, everything is top notch. It does not matter who I speak with. I have changed dates of travel and the trip and every interaction has been great.

    I assumed that anyone interested in such a trip would be "good people" and I was right! Our trip was a group of 7 independent people from various walks of life who thoroughly enjoyed each other and were considerate of one another.

    I was so happy to have gone when the tourist season was not in full bloom as I prefer nature to tourists. ( - ;

    From the moment that Nick and Jess picked us up at the airport they were a delight. I was surprised this was the first time they worked together. One thing I especially want to point out is that when we had bus trouble, no one knew it (I did because I was at the front with Nick and just noticed something sounded a bit different and he made a call to the office.) Nick and Jess handled the situation and when there was a plan, in his understated manner, we went on our way to the sheep farm as scheduled and another guide came with another bus and we didn't miss a beat. (I did prefer our newer bus for many reasons but most importantly we got to where we needed to go seemlessly and professionally.) Part of what impressed me is just how responsible and maturely Nick handled this and any other surprise. Jess, as well, was amazing in this situation and in taking care of all of us.

    In terms of the trip itself. Beautiful. The country is beautiful. I hope you manage to keep it that way. There certainly is concern on my part for that. Everywhere we went Nick and Jess made sure we were all happy and taken care of on the hikes. I liked learning about nature and am always interested in learning more.

    I loved everywhere we traveled.”
    – Indiana, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Awesome Challenge

    “The TUI trip provided a wide-range of outdoor activities in an unbelievable setting on the South Island. Liked the mix of hiking, biking, kayaking and overall area knowledge provided by the guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • The trip of my dreams!

    “The Iguana trip was better than was advertised! I had prepared for the trip to Peru by reading about the history of the area in the book, The Last Days of the Incas, by Kim MacQuarrie. When we visited the many different Inca sites, the history came alive for me. I could picture the great battles, and the capture of the Inca rulers, and the narrow escapes. It was wonderful! Cuzco was a beautiful city surrounded by mountain peaks and full of many good places to eat. After Peru, going to the Galapagos was like a beach vacation in the most beautiful place in the world. We loved snorkeling and seeing the giant land tortoises. We saw every animal associated with the Galapagos and more! I still can't believe I was lucky enough to find this trip with Active Adventures. Top notch all the way around. Thank you to our wonderful guides who we loved!”
    – Texas, United States Iguana, April 2017
  • Amazing Trip!

    “All the activities were well planned, fun & a bit challenging! And the scenery was beautiful. Our guides were well prepared, and informative.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Mar 11,2017 trip with Koru and Rachel

    “My wife and I have been traveling the globe for the past 20 years, with small tour groups about twice a year. This trip was absolutely the best tour we have been on. This was our second time in New Zealand in ten years. The tour guides Koru and Rachel were fantastic , so well organized and hard working. This tour was five star all the way. The sites, accommodations and the food was great.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, April 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.