Request a free Brochure

Get a FREE Active Adventures Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

"You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well" - Jeff Bezos

Now for the most important bit! We get a huge amount of feedback from our clients, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips. While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

We encourage you to let us know if you'd like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active Adventures trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and to find out what it’s really like to travel with us, a top rated tour company!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.
 
 
  • Could Not Have Asked For More

    “Organization: Amazing. Pace: Active! Guides: A big TEN. Group: Really nice. Beauty of NZ: Obvious. I loved everything about the trip. No joke about the "get fit" recommendation. Nick and Tess are amazing guides, I need to start there. They made everyone feel special. Nick kept us laughing all the time. But they were also so encouraging when hikes were tough. I felt they really cared about us. I thought it was weird that so many reviews talked about the food being good until I was on the trip realizing that Tess was doing a lot of the cooking or organizing so yes, the food was great. Accommodations were so nice. I would recommend anyone thinking of doing the trip to stop thinking and sign up.”
    – Israel, Israel Tui, November 2017
  • So Glad I Also Traveled the North Island

    “These guys run such an amazing trip. I can't believe how much we did in five days (I joined the second half after the 8 day Tui trip in the South Island). The pace was fast, the variety was terrific. The guides - Andy and Jo - I can't say enough about how great they were - caring, encouraging, upbeat, fun, knowledgeable. There is a lot to learn about New Zealand in the North, and amazing hikes and views. The places we stayed were great, much nicer than I expected. The ability of the guides to cook for us and organize picnic meals that were all great was another surprise. Not an easy trip - the part about getting fit is not a joke. It makes the trip more enjoyable. Basically, I am so glad I did this trip. The memories are with me all the time.”
    – Israel, Israel Kauri, November 2017
  • There and Back Again

    “This was my first trip with Active and I had a marvelous time. Very good guides, reasonable mileage goals, excellent organization & logistics management. Would love to book another trip with them!”
    – California, United States EBC, November 2017
  • Dream Trip!

    “It all seems like a dream now...Can't believe I made it to Everest Base Camp! One of the best and hardest things I've ever done. Round every bend is a new view worth a picture or two (or 3 or 4...).”
    – Wisconsin, United States EBC, November 2017
  • Always Up!

    “This was a great trip through the mountains of Nepal! Great company, great guides and fantastic porters. We all pulled together to complete a challenging hike and to make it an adventure to remember. Lots of work, but worth it! Dancing around the bonfire with our porters on our final evening in the mountains was a special treat! Did I mention the steps?”
    – Minnesota, United States AST, November 2017
  • A Wonderful Adventure

    “This was truly a trip of a lifetime. From the vibrant streets of Kathmandu to the peace and majesty of the Himalayas we were always seeing something new and beautiful. DK, Gokul and “the boys” looked after everything so capably. The route, food and accommodations were all excellent. Trekking was a new and challenging experience for us but left us with a real sense of accomplishment. What wonderful memories we have!”
    – Nova Scotia, Canada Khumbu, November 2017
  • Wonderful Trip on the South Island!

    “Our South Island adventure was wonderful! Katie and Astrid were great, taking care of everything we needed. It was so nice not to have to worry about anything the whole week. We saw beautiful scenery throughout the trip and we only had inclement weather one day. It’s hard to say what the highlight would be. Franz Josef Glacier? The plane ride into Siberia Valley and the hike out? The night spent on Milford Sound? So many amazing activities! We would totally recommend the Tui and our guides, Katie and Astrid.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Great Active Honeymoon!

    “What an awesome experience! We had such a great time with our TUI guides & Active Adventures group... just wish that we could have stayed more days together :-) The itinerary was full of variety, and well-organised; the scenes were amazing, breathtaking in their beauty. The Siberia Valley experience was just mind-blowing! The sheer amount of places to visit and activities to do was so impressive. Our guides James and Maya were really easy-going, friendly, and always with a smile on their faces; we really loved them! And were also lucky to have Evie, Leo, and Jennie as lovely fellow-travellers. Thanks guys for making our honeymoon unforgettable! We will certainly recommend this TUI trip to anyone planning on visiting New Zealand.

    Erica & Alex, Italy”
    – Bolzano, Italy Tui, November 2017
  • Rain or Shine

    “The Tui trip was a great way to see some of the South Island through hiking, biking, and kayaking. If the weather is nice it just makes everything spectacular. If it's raining, the weather is balanced out by the fun interactions with fellow tour mates and guides, excellent food, and good accommodations.”
    – Alaska, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Kiwi Birds Do Exist!

    “Our 8 day Tui excursion on the South Island with Active Adventures literally was the trip of a lifetime. We absolutely fell in love with New Zealand. Our guides were fantastic! They chauffeured us all over the countryside, led us up and down trails and mountains, fed us like royalty, and treated us like family. I can't say enough great things about our experience. Needless to say, we highly recommend this company. Go with these people if you want to see the country the right way - by foot, by bike, by air, and by sea. It's mind-boggling how much we did in just over a week. Oh and we also managed to see the elusive yet real Kiwi birds in one of the preservation centers - what a treat. All I can say is - Sweet As!!!!”
    – South Carolina, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Wow

    “Absolutely one of the best trips I have ever done. We don't usually do organized group tours but this was a perfect choice for this location, especially including the well organized hiking, biking and kayaking activities. It turned out to be the most amazing adventure, very challenging but the staff made sure it was always safe and fun. We would do another trip with Active without hesitation and we would love to have Erick as the leader. He was very professional, on top of everything and loads of fun!”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, November 2017
  • EBC with Active Adventures - You Will Not Be Disappointed!

    “Trekking to EBC has been a long time goal of ours. We have done an extensive amount of backpacking in the NY Adirondacks including the 46 High Peaks and the 135 mile, 13 day Northville-Placid Trail. Teri and I have spent a lot of time keeping ourselves in shape and it paid off for us in Nepal. Our trek, guided by Elder and Shree, brought us to places that took our breath away with the scenery and beauty of the land. Not to forget, we were up in altitudes which sometimes impacted progress, easily overcome by a brief rest period. These young men demonstrated a love for the land and were committed to ensuring each member of the "Team" made it to EBC safely and had fun getting there. This trek is a journey, not just a destination. We say this because every turn of the corner you see mountains, villages, and people more beautiful and interesting than the previous. Active Adventures (Elder and Shree), ensured we had the gear we needed, the pace we required, food in our bellies, a nice place to sleep, but most importantly to feel a part of a trekking family. They did not do it alone. We had prearranged porters and a lead porter as well as the support of Active Adventures back home. Bottom line, you cannot go wrong booking with Active Adventures...we plan to take another trip with them in the future.”
    – New York, United States EBC, November 2017
  • NZ Rimu Adventure

    “I've been all around the world, and few places have left me awe struck. The natural beauty of New Zealand is one of those places and it will leave you speechless. The only thing that surpassed the scenery of NZ was Active Adventures' services and the phenomenal guides. This trip was a trip and adventure of a lifetime!!”
    – California, United States Rimu, November 2017
  • Best Mother/Daughter Trip Ever!

    “My recent trip to Nepal (EBC) has been a wonderful life altering experience! Having my 2 daughters Melody and Emily with me on this adventure has left me with memories I will cherish always. Elder and Shree were exceptional guides. Both always professional, knowledgeable and kind. Our group of eleven all successfully made it to EBC but that was just one of our experiences. We were exposed to the beautiful culture of Nepal on so many levels. Our trip was well organized from the beginning to the end.
    Thank you Active Adventures!”
    – Ontario, Canada EBC, November 2017
  • Amazing Experience

    “My wife and I had the trip of a lifetime! The sights and views were breathtaking! And the cultural experience was so unique! We felt like royalty the way we were treated by our guides and porters on the trail. Definitely a great way to experience what Peru has to offer!”
    – Ohio, United States Jaguar, November 2017
  • Really loved Peru and the Jaguar itinerary

    “The Jaguar trip was a great overall experience for us - we loved the itinerary and the mix of accommodation, the activities - sightseeing and really enjoyed learning about the immense and fascinating cultural depth the country has to offer.”
    – n/a, Namibia Jaguar, November 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “The Annapurna trip was the most difficult and most amazing thing I've ever done! An incredible adventure that tested me to the max! A great experience!”
    – Ontario, Canada AST, November 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “We planned to do the Annapurna Base Camp trip as a 40th wedding anniversary trip to challenge ourselves and force ourselves out of our comfort zone. I was very worried about altitude sickness because I cannot take the drugs for it. Active managed our altitude gain carefully, forced us to drink lots of water....and we got to ABC no problem! To enjoy this trip...be in shape! The beauty is worth the effort. Thanks for an awesome trip.”
    – Ontario, Canada AST, November 2017
  • Heaven

    “Some call New Zealand home; I call it Heaven. Hiking, biking, kayaking - all with views of spectacular mountain ranges. Everything about this trip was wonderful. Now that I'm home, I'm wondering how I'll ever organize all of our photos.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, November 2017
  • Tui October 2017

    “Just returned from a Tui trip last month and it was AWESOME! Our fantastic guides, James and Maya, took care of everything to make our trip comfortable, safe, and tasty (Maya's pavlova was delicious!). They encouraged this 59 year old novice hiker up and down the mountains, and were so much fun to be around. We really enjoyed talking with these two and hearing about life in NZ. When our camera didn't work, James stepped in and took a bunch of excellent pictures for us which he promptly shared.
    With Active Adventures, it's all of the fine details that make them an exemplary company to deal with: from the friendly office staff who provide thorough preparation information, travel assistance, helpful advice about anything and everything I asked, to the trip itself with great guides who took us through the week with every detail taken care of, and, of course, the most amazing scenery. New Zealand is truly one of the most beautiful places we have been. Getting to know and enjoy our fellow Tui adventurers, Alexander and Erica from Italy and Jennie from Alaska, made the trip even better.”
    – Arizona, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Wonderful Annapurna

    “A trip to Nepal has been on my travel list for many years. Everyone thinks of Everest when they hear Nepal but Annapurna is where it's at for me. The scenery was absolutely beautiful; the trek was wonderfully strenuous; Amanda (our dear Button) and Amrit were teriffic guides; our porters were great guys and loads of fun (with great dance moves, too); and our group was cohesive and a lot of fun. I've been asked several times since returning home whether the trip was all I expected it to be and all I can say is that it was even more than I expected!!”
    – Minnesota, United States AST, November 2017
  • Great trip, great food and guides.

    “We had such a good time on the trip. The food, accommodations, and sites were great. We were lucky enough to have a small group (3) which made it even nicer.
    Machu Picchu and the hiking in Peru were great, Great food and accommodations.
    The trip got even better once we got to the Galapagos. Hiking, snorkeling/scuba, kayaking, and biking were great. Pepo did a fantastic job tailoring our activities around the weather. The food was great for all the seafood lovers, vegetarians will have to be a little patient.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, November 2017
  • Karen & Dave's Peru Adventure, October 2017

    “Simply, Peru is an amazing destination. Credit to Active Adventures, you made Peru come alive for us in this busy and varied 2 week adventure. We experienced it all, people, history, the wonder of the Incas, the smell of the Amazon rain forest, and Andean life on a lake. Every day brought new experiences. Every meal was excellent, both in restaurants, or on a trail. Logistics-wise, you never missed a beat, on anything. Well done.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2017
  • The Best Way to Spend my 30th Birthday!

    “Going to New Zealand has been at the very top of my bucket list for quite a long time and I finally decided to scratch it off when I turned 30. Active Adventures was, from the beginning, the only tour group I would consider travelling with. They were the only group that not only had everything I wanted to do in New Zealand, but also had the highest level of professionalism and ratings that made me trust them.
    From the moment they picked us up at the airport I was certain I’d judged them correctly. Tess was simply an amazing tour guide (we called her mum because that’s exactly how we felt about her) not only was she fun, she took care of us, fed us, and kept us organized. Andy supplemented the tour with such interesting history and facts that I felt like I was on a school trip (in a good way!).
    All in all it was an amazing vacation, and I wouldn’t change a thing about it!
    Thank you Active Adventures for making my 30th the year to remember!”
    – Florida, United States Rimu, November 2017
  • Great trip

    “Scenery was incredible, and what a cultural experience! A little more crowded than what I expected due to the size of other groups.”
    – New York, United States EBC, October 2017
  • Oct 2017 Rimu

    “Outstanding collaboration between our guides and the weather gods allowed us to experience a nearly rain-free trip around the South Island. Expansive views of Mt Cook, Fiordland and Milford greeted us every day. The guides were also able to seamlessly adjust the trip schedule to accommodate a delayed arrival flight, an unexpected trail closure and a bit of stormy weather near the end of our trip. Well done!”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, October 2017
  • My First Trip with Active Adventures, DEFINITELY Not My Last

    “This tour around Mont Blanc was in all respects a terrific experience. The organizational aspects from pre-trip communications to the drop off at the airport afterwards were uniformly first class. Our guides were spectacular, both the local guides from Guides de Chamonix and Nick, the Active Adventures representative. Each day's hiking was carefully planned to suit the abilities of our 7 member group. Both the alternative activity days, kayaking and cycling, were a pleasure and a welcome break from hiking.

    I cannot compliment the guides enough. Fabian, the guide who planned the routes and hiked with us each day was highly skilled and a veritable treasure trove of local knowledge. He made thoughtful 'on the fly' route changes to suit unexpected conditions and carefully explained his rationales. His diversions to routes less travelled greatly improved the days' experiences, and his continuously cheerful demeanor and patience with our limitations made each day's hiking a true pleasure.

    Jean Marc, whose main roles were transport of our luggage and preparation of the picnic lunches, was also most cheerful and helpful. He guided the day of cycling and did a great job. The meals were utterly spectacular and often were supplemented with items from his own garden.”
    – Utah, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, October 2017
  • Best Ever!

    “Just returned from the Jaguar trip/Lares Trail option and can't say enough good things about the whole experience. We had some mishaps along the way...sickness, stolen/lost passports, etc, and our experienced guide, ZAC, was steady, kind, and sure (and had a great sense of humor). We were well taken care of, well-fed, had great sleeping accommodations, and had so much fun... I highly recommend Active Adventures! You will not be disappointed!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • 7 Day Jaguar Adventure

    “I have nothing but positive reviews for this week-long adventure of a lifetime (I would have loved to stay on for the full 14 day experience, but unfortunately work responsibilities limited my time away). As a seasoned solo traveler/hiker, and it being my 30th birthday week, I must rank this trip as my top guided-tour experience. Everything from the Lares Inca Trail experience (with its less crowded characteristics making it a much more attractive alternative to the Classic Inca Trail, at least to me), to the accommodations, the food (which can be catered to most anyone’s dietary needs, at least from what I experienced both first hand and from others in the group...still not sure how the chef/porters can transport all that fresh food and whip up such fantastic meals miles and miles from the nearest town!?), our tour leader Daniel and other affiliated guides and porters...quite honestly above and beyond what my original expectations were for the trip! I met several fellow hikers from around the world with whom I bonded and would now call lifelong friends, and have numerous photos and memories to last a lifetime! I would also like to mention that during our 4 day/3 night hike, we encountered several other hikers along the trail who were with various other tour companies (some of which I had researched prior to booking with Active Adventures), and were told several stories about various mishaps and/or negative experiences they were having with their tour leaders...perhaps we lucked out with our fantastic tour leader, but I definitely do not regret for a second my decision to ring in the third decade of my life with Active Adventures! I can’t thank you guys enough and will definitely keep you in mind for my next hiking adventure, wherever that may be :)”
    – New Hampshire, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Most Amazing Trip Ever!!

    “An amazing experience and made all the better by our guides DK and Gokul who shared their knowledge of the places we visited and taught us a new Nepalese word every day. This is definitely the trip of a lifetime with the most amazing scenery, places to visit, and people to meet. If you only do 1 trip, this is it!”
    – North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom EBC, October 2017
  • Time to Pay Homage to Mont Blanc

    “The Alps blew our minds! We live at altitude and among mountains (Salt Lake City), but suffice it to say they are nothing like the Alps. The scenery was incredible. But our main guide, Fabien, made the trip outstanding! His love for and knowledge of these mountains, his concern for retreating glaciers, his humor, and most of all - the great picnics on the mountains - made every day a joy. We chose Active Adventures because of the diversity of activities (including a day of kayaking, a day of cycling and a day of rest scattered among the 12 days of the trip). Also, we were delighted to learn Active Adventures employs guides from the Compagnie des Guides du Mont Blanc to lead the trips. (I had heard great things about this company but chose not to go on a completely French tour - too taxing for my poor French.) Nick from Active Adventures was very helpful and kept us from falling too far behind on the trail. Perfect blend of hard work and pleasure.”
    – Utah, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, October 2017
  • Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    “Great trip, well organized and guided. Our guide Amanda (Button) and Nepalese guide Shree were a lot of fun to spend time with. They managed the pace of the trek well and all came through with no problems. The weather this time of year turned out to be excellent. I'd do another trip with Active.”
    – Washington, United States AST, October 2017
  • Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    “First of all I need to mention how superb the Active Adventures Team are, from the organization of the trip to the guides provided. This is our second trip with this company and I fully recommend them.
    The Annapurna Trek was by far the hardest thing we have done so far. It's not for the faint hearted and don't go if you are not prepared to rough it a little, it's all part of the adventure! The rewards are well worth the hardship, the scenery was spectacular and the Nepalese people were wonderful to be with. I never thought we would ever go to the Himalayan mountains and trekking there is definitely the best way to experience their splendor!”
    – Florida, United States AST, October 2017
  • Everest Base Camp, Sept - Oct 2017

    “Great trip. Elder and Arjun are so great. They make an awesome team and really care about the people on the trip and the people working with them. The Himalayas are too hard to describe and pictures do not do them justice. There is no scale to compare them to when talking about them. You simply have to see it. Oh, Ama Dablam is magnificent. There were times when the scenery literally brought tears to my eyes. In a good way. Kathmandu is an experience for sure, but have mixed emotions about the city itself.”
    – Indiana, United States EBC, October 2017
  • Amazing Nepal

    “Fascinating exploration in a third world country. The Nepalese have very little but want very little. They are wonderful to be with, usually smiling and ready to help. The guides and itinerary allowed us to see how these people live and work. Our guides were very good. They were extremely informative and also were sensitive to the needs of each and every trekker.”
    – Washington, United States AST, October 2017
  • I Love Active Adventures!

    “This was the best trip of my lifetime! The only disappointment was that there was not enough rain, as the guides had really talked up how awesome the rain can make the landscapes look. But we had no rain! Seriously the guides were marvellous and really made the trip with their warmth, enthusiasm, support and all around good cheer - they rivalled the beauty of New Zealand.”
    – DC, United States Rimu, October 2017
  • Erick the Great

    “I call my review Erick the Great because that is what he was!! It was a trip of a lifetime but I feel like I will likely be back to Peru. I really enjoyed the country, accommodations and incredible scenery.”
    – Arizona, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • I'd Definitely Choose Active Again!

    “I had a great time. The tour guides were personable and very engaging. Even on the activities I had never done before, or at least not for years, they were encouraging and helpful. I would definitely choose Active again.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • A Memorable Trip That Will Always Be a Part of Me

    “Hello my name is Mario Salazar, from San Francisco California. I took the Rimu trip to have an experience of visiting the beautiful country of New Zealand and all it could offer as a first time visitor. The nature of the parks and activities that I did was worth the time to travel there.The trip became a memorable experience that left me wanting to come back as there is a lot to see and try to take in. The time I spent there made me feel a longing to come back one day and continue my trek in the land of the Kiwi, be it by Kayak, or on the trek of personal growth, hiking a mountain almost a mile up. I thank the guides for showing us the fabulous land of New Zealand and being part of something that will be part of me always. Thank you Active Adventures! and thank you New Zealand for leaving something special in me.”
    – California, United States Rimu, October 2017
  • Judy and Don's trip to Peru

    “Active Adventures provides first class trips. Not to first class hotels, that are isolated from real people, but first class adventures that allow you to experience the people, the culture, as well as the environment. Erick took exceptional care of us. This is our third trip with Active Adventures (New Zealand, Nepal, and now Peru), and they have all been awesome!

    The guides have always been excellent. They make sure we have a great time, and most importantly make sure we are safe. Our last trip was to Everest Base Camp; the guide made me turn around the day we were supposed to go to Base Camp because I had the beginning of flu symptoms. As it was I ended up getting very sick, but if she had not turned me around my doctor told me I would have permanent heart or lung damage.

    Erick was an outstanding guide! He really took care of us and made sure we had a great time. His knowledge of the area was outstanding - culture, history, food, and plants. He was extremely personable. He is one of the best guides in the world!

    The trip to Machu Picchu is unbelievable and tough - so get hiking and book your trip now!”
    – Arizona, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • A Fabulous Annapurna Sanctuary Adventure!

    “The AST trek was a fabulous adventure! It was physically demanding but so worth it! Our guides Mel and Shree were outstanding, full of fun and highly knowledgeable about Nepal, the people and the flora and fauna. The food was wonderful, varied and very plentiful! The views changed constantly, from rhododendron forest, to wonderful vistas of snow-capped mountains and high mountain valleys with raging whitewater, to beautiful stone villages! The whole experience was marvelous!”
    – Connecticut, United States AST, October 2017
  • Amazing Experience with Wonderful Guides!

    “Just finished the last half of the Rimu trip and I can’t say enough about Active Adventures. It was my first time going with a travel group instead of with a friend or solo, and I thought this would be my one and only time. After travelling with my group and wonderful guides, Andy and Tess, I really think I might have to go with Active Adventures again! This was an amazing trip and I wouldn’t change it for the world.”
    – , Korea, Republic of [South] Rimu, October 2017
  • Winter Rimu 2017

    “The trip of a lifetime and 5 stars. Seems a little redundant when this trip is my 4th with ACTIVE. All prior trips and this one (Winter Rimu) have been trips of a lifetime. The guides are very knowledgeable and professional. Active always seems to find the right people to represent them. Just the right blend of biking, kayaking, and hiking. New Zealand is a beautiful country. Such a variety of climates.
    At 65 years of age this trip was a challenge but very doable. I am looking forward to a future 5th trip with ACTIVE. Many thanks to Tess and Steve our guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Taste of Peru

    “What an amazing trip! 14 days really gives a good taste of Peru. From high elevations of Cusco, Sacred Valley and the Lares Trail to the mysticism of Macchu Picchu, on to the loud cicadas of the jungle and the floating islands and welcoming Amantai family on lake Titicaca, this is a bucket list trip that will give you a taste of Peru that will make you want to return.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Amazing!

    “We have a goal of visiting each continent, and our trip to South American with Active South America did not disappoint! This is our second Active Adventures and we will be back for more. Peru and the Galapagos were beautiful and every detail of the trip was attended to perfectly. Thank you, Active, for a wonderful and memorable holiday.”
    – South Carolina, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Amazing New Zealand

    “This trip was just a great trip - the guides, the group, the activities and scenery!! We found New Zealand to be a pristine, gorgeous place and loved every minute!”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Tour du Mont Blanc,"What a friend we have in Cheeses"

    “WOW, our second Active Adventures trip, we did a Rimu awhile back and have experience with several other active trip providers, this TDMB was by far the best trip we have ever taken. Our group of seven was so outstanding, from the wonderfully warm, friendly Aussie 20-something couple, to the adrenaline filled army officer from the pentagon to the two septuagenarian couples who, coincidentally were neighbors in Utah, we could not have gotten along any better. Our guides, Nick, Fabien and Jean Marc were so caring, efficient and knowledgeable and made every moment special for all of us. They were flexible, extremely competent and warmly engaging. Just what you would wish for in an adventure trip in the Alps. Accommodations were varied but always charming, clean and comfortable. Our weather was spectacular! No rain, cool, comfortable hiking temperatures just perfect all the way through. The meals were fabulous, from daily breakfasts, picnic lunches in beautiful Sound of Music settings, and an assortment of delicious dinners. Did I mention the cheese? Don't plan on losing weight on this trip no matter how far you hike.

    All in all this was a wonderful trip. Where we used to select our vacations based upon who is providing trips to locations we want to see, we now chose them based upon where Active Adventures is going. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime. Ross Heaton”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, October 2017
  • Great Trip

    “Great trip! Diverse and interesting hikes, bike riding, and kayaking in spectacular landscape. I particularly appreciated having all the trip details covered, so I didn't need to worry about any of the arrangements. A turn-key experience.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Seriously a Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had no clue what to expect going to Nepal, climbing to ABC, being gone for so long. When I first got there I will say I was a little nervous. All the people, cars, buildings, it was a little overwhelming and scary but by the time I said goodbye I cried the whole way to the airport. The people I met felt like family and I didn't want to leave them. I feel like a piece of me was left behind. Everyone treats you great, and welcomes you into their lives. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime and one I will always hold close to my heart”
    – South Carolina, United States AST, October 2017
  • Will Be Visiting New Zealand Again

    “Once again Active proves they are the best. The trip is fine-tuned, the guides are enthusiastic and the scenery is unbelievable. I am trying to figure out what I can sell so I can go back again as soon as possible.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Best One Yet!

    “This was our 3rd Active trip and I would rate this the best of all of them. While the beauty of Nepal and Peru were hard to beat, the combination of things in New Zealand made this trip our favorite. Starting with the guides, I don't think we could have had a better combination of Steve and Tess. They both brought great things to the adventure and their talents really complimented the experience. Tess was a great cook who kept us well fed. Steve was an excellent driver and DJ who always got us through to our destination. Both were excellent guides who provided the motivation we needed and the details about NZ that made the trip special.

    The lodging for this trip was far better than we have had on other trips. This is probably because NZ is a much more modern country, but it was obvious that Active had worked hard to select the best lodging for each of the destinations. We always felt safe and comfortable in the accommodations.

    The destinations for our adventures really gave us a good taste for New Zealand. Two weeks is a very short time to discover a new place. Active did a great job of selecting hikes, biking and kayaking locations that gave us a great taste of NZ. We really enjoyed each of the destinations.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Making unforgettable father-son memories

    “The majestic variety of New Zealand, on a far-away-from-home adventure immersed in rich culture, history and physical exertion, was the back drop for quality time with my now retired dad. We enjoyed conversations and getting to know each other's similarities and differences while experiencing the snowy mountains, richly dressed rain forests, various waterfalls, bright green rolling fields and expansive, wild oceans. Our tour guides were perfect tens in attitude, patience and knowledge. I have only compliments. I'll think on this in old age.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Iguana 2017

    “This was a really good trip, essentially of two halves. Peru with its amazing mountains and then Galapagos with incredible wildlife. Best to be fit when you come, the Peruvian hikes are challenging, which is great, whereas Galapagos is more relaxed.”
    – Cambs, United Kingdom Iguana, October 2017
  • More Than a Trip, an Amazing Experience!

    “Having had years of wonderful, personally planned trips, we were a bit apprehensive about signing on to a group tour. However AA's communications from our first enquiry to our return home was aimed at making the adventure better than we could have done on our own. Delving into the culture, understanding the history, experiencing the food, and actively enjoying the Peruvian's Peru with a superb guide left me anticipating my next adventure with Active Adventures.”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Winter Rimu

    “Everything was handled fantastically. Having things pre-arranged and having a driver really helped to remove stress so I could just hang out and enjoy the views on the way to each part of the country. Having native Kiwis who really knew and understood the land helped us enjoy and appreciate what we were seeing. Steve and Tess are amazing guides. Consider yourself lucky if you get one or both of them as guides on your trip! Steve is hilarious and Tess is an amazing cook! We all were fed so well on this trip. I really feel like the Winter Rimu is the best trip Active Adventures offers for New Zealand. You get to see Mt. Cook and also hike the amazing Copland Track. The itinerary is wonderful. It's quite active, which was exactly what I was looking for, but also a nice balance of more relaxed mellow days to recover. Going in the winter was wonderful because all the places we went weren't packed with other people and sandflies were at a minimum. This really was an incredible, amazing, wonderful trip of a lifetime. I'm so happy I found Active Adventures! I loved my Winter Rimu trip!”
    – Oregon, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Iguanas - September 2017

    “I had an amazing time on my Iguana trip to Peru and the Galapagos Islands. The Peru trip was much more strenuous than I expected but our guide, Erick was vigilant in keeping us together and encouraging us the whole time. He was fantastically organized, fun and knowledgeable which enhanced the whole experience! The Galapagos trip was lead by Galakiwi which did feel more laid back, and flexible. Pepo and Juan Carlos led us through Kicker Rock and amazing landscapes. I thought the Galapagos would be the highlight of my trip, but Peru proved to be the main event. I was fortunate that my group became fast friends of diverse but like-minded people. Overall, an amazing trip!”
    – Michigan, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Fun trip!

    “I had a great time!”
    – California, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip with Erick was spectacular. Erick's attention to detail, compassion for each individual on the trip and genuine love for Peru made this portion of the trip absolutely amazing.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip was spectacular. Erick truly cares about the overall experience of his clients. He paid attention to all the details of the trip from the experiences of the country, the restaurants and the excursions. He didn't leave any stone unturned when it came to having fun and caring about his clients. I highly recommend Erick to anyone wanting to have a fabulous time in Peru.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • It'll do ;)

    “Chipper guides? Check.
    Invigorating hikes? Check.
    Grand vistas like you've seen never before? Check.
    Nice and sometimes funky, cool lodging? Check.
    Good food and libations? Check and check.
    Go. It's worth it.”
    – Washington, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip with Active Adventures August 2017

    “I have been on several international trips, and due to the variety and how different each trip is, I don't tend to like to pick a favorite. At least until my trip to the Galapagos with Active Adventures. I can honestly say that this was the most amazing trip I have ever been on! We got to do a huge variety of activities and really get the full Galapagos experience. Our guide, Zambo, was absolutely phenomenal, I could not have asked for a better person to have lead us on our trip. Zambo definitely was a significant factor in making our trip as amazing as it was. From snorkeling and seeing sharks, rays, eels, and sea lions, to biking, to hiking, we did and saw so many different, amazing things. I will remember this trip forever.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Dolomites - A Hiker's Paradise!

    “Dolomites area is a hiker's paradise. Itinerary included many varied hikes throughout this area. Having bases in the villages of Cassiano and Cortina with daily hikes then into the National Park with stays in the mountain refugios exposed us to many beautiful sights. Great trip -- we'll never forget the snow day!”
    – California, United States Dolomiti, September 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “The Galapagos Islands was on my daughter's bucket list after she took an eco course in university. Thank goodness for education! It was by far my favorite trip I have taken, and my 6th continent visited. It was the perfect balance of active adventure, nature, education and leisure. Our guide Zambo was fantastic! It was an amazing experience from day 1 and each day just got better and better. Every island we visited offered us something new and different. Snorkelling at Kicker Rock and having reef sharks surround us was unbelievable. The marine life was incredible. Black tip reef sharks, an eagle ray, sea turtles .. were all the highlight ... but the amount of fish we saw was amazing. A diver in our group saw hammerhead sharks! We chose the Galapagos for the wildlife and we weren't disappointed. Friendly sea lions and iguanas were everywhere. We saw everything we had hoped and even more. On the way to Floreana Island we had dolphins swim and jump beside the boat; but what was even more wonderful was the 3 humpback whales - a calf and its parents. The calf was quite interested in our boat and came right up to us. We sat on the hull for 30-40 minutes and watched the whales surface and "play" around our boat ... an experience that none of us will ever forget. We were all in awe! Seeing those magnificent creatures in their natural habitat was surreal.
    From biking to hiking to kayaking to snorkelling we were kept busy and active, which was good since the food was fantastic! Every place we stayed at and ate at was fantastic. I love how Active Adventures supports the local economy and so many different businesses benefitted from our tour.
    It was by far the best vacation I have taken so far. Everything was perfect! And I cant say enough about Zambo ... he took care of all of us!!! He was our mother, mentor and educator! Thank you Active Adventures for giving Alanna and I a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Great Trip!

    “Great combination of exercise, food, culture and history, and gorgeous sites!”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Nancy Babbott's Adventure Around Mt. Blanc

    “Loved it all and was sad to finish - beautifully organized. The guides Fabian, Andy and Lucia were knowledgeable, flexible, energetic and patient- with twinkling senses of humor as well!”
    – Vermont, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • What a Great Trip!

    “This trip was full of laughs, beautiful mountains, and awesome kayaking and mountain biking!! You should definitely go!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Amazing Wildlife!

    “Amazing wildlife at every turn with a really knowledgeable guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip Was Everything I Imagined and More

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and again they did not disappoint. From the easy booking process, personal attention, and gentle reminders everything runs smoothly from day one.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, September 2017
  • Surprising Ecuador

    “We didn't know much about Ecuador - this was a fill-in trip between two others. It's a great place, especially the volcanos. Altitude takes a bit of getting used to but well worth it.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador

    “We had an amazing week in Ecuador. Each day was a new adventure, and the scenery was beautiful. The best part was Jhayro, our tour guide. He was knowledgable, personable, and genuine. We could tell that he wanted us to experience how special Ecuador is.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador - August, 2017

    “This trip was even more incredible than we thought it was going to be! We met such wonderful people while enjoying phenomenal scenery. We experienced something new each day and will treasure our unforgettable memories of Ecuador!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “Wonderful trip, Pablo was a wonderful guide. I'm not especially an animal person, but nevertheless the wildlife was the absolute highlight of this trip.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Awesome Scenery, Wonderful people!

    “The Tour du Mont Blanc with Fabien and Nicole was the trip of a lifetime. This was my first time in France...and the Alps. I was expecting spectacular, and I got it and much more. Not only was the scenery beautiful, the food was to die for (yes, I gained weight). The hikes were well planned and filled our days just right. After the hikes we were not too fatigued to check out the cute places we were staying. Fabien and Nicole are great!! They really added to the magic of this trip.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Amazing Views, Great Guides and Yummy Food

    “Amazing trip, loved the hikes with all the great views, our guides Fabian and Andy were amazing and made the hikes educational and fun. The food was great too!”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Naturalist Dream

    “The Galapogos Islands were all I had imagined. The animals were so accessible but also in their natural state. Our guide, Pablo was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for the natural environment was very infectious. The trip left me yearning for more time to linger.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Volcano Binge

    “Ecuador should be more on the visitors bucket list. Spectacular scenery which ranges from the upper Amazon to glacier capped active volcanoes. Our guide Jhayro was excellent and able to tailor the trips to the group.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Magnificent Tour du Mont Blanc

    “This was a wonderful trip with magnificent scenery, knowledgeable and very friendly guides, restful lodging, superb food, and terrific weather. My spouse and I enjoyed our fellow travelers, and our eyes were delighted by the scenery, our palates pleased by the food (including the trail side lunches), and we were impressed by the organization. We could work hard on the trail (or water or bikes) and relax about lodging and meal details as we learned about the culture and history of the region. Two Hiking Poles Up!”
    – Vermont, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, September 2017
  • Bucket List checked off!

    “Amazing trip, breathtaking views, outstanding fellow travelers and guides, awesome activities, fabulous food.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Lovely Trip

    “The Tour du Month Blanc was wonderful! The hikes were great and our tour leaders--Andrew and Fabien were fabulous. I really enjoyed all of the hiking (we had nice weather) and also had a blast mountain biking and kayaking. And the food....the food was so good. The pack lunches had a variety of meats and LOTS of cheese as well as salads, fresh fruit, chips, nuts....so much food. We did not go hungry!”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Everything We'd Hoped For!

    “The trip was everything we had hoped for! Pablo was awesome. Very knowledgeable. We wish the trip had been longer!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • A Very Fun Challenge

    “The hikes were pretty tough at times, but our guides always maintained a good pace to keep things challenging without being too difficult. Every hike seemed to have yet another amazing view, making the uphill/downhill always feel worth it! The guides were all very friendly and knowledgeable. If weather permits, I highly recommend paragliding in Chamonix. It offers a unique and beautiful view of the valley and mountains.”
    – California, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Dream Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had always wanted to go to New Zealand, but being a teacher, and because most trips are in January or February that was out of the question. When the Winter Rimu was offered in my summer vacation I was ecstatic. I wasn't sure what to expect as it was your winter in New Zealand but the weather was great and it was an unbelievable experience.”
    – Connecticut, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Amazing Guide

    “Our tour guide Zac was amazing and made us feel very welcome!”
    – California, United States Capybara, August 2017
  • Fantastic trip

    “This was my first hiking trip, and I must say it was fantastic!!! Patagonia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been (and I travel a lot). I want to mention that you have to be in reasonably good physical condition to enjoy this trip. I am glad that I trained for it. Arturo, our tour guide and Catherine (the W Trail guide) were excellent. They also made sure that they accommodated my dietary requirements (gluten, diary, and soy free) on the W Trail, which is not an easy task. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. I will definitely book another trip with Active Adventures, now that I know how much I enjoy hiking and active trips.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, August 2017
  • Iguana Trip

    “Our guides Erick and Jessica could not have been better. Our group was well taken care of, and we experienced a trip of a lifetime that we could not have done without them.”
    – Georgia, United States Iguana, August 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Trip of a lifetime for me! Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week adventure with Erick leading the way to Machu Picchu, the Amazon and Lake Titicaca. There were a few challenges along the way but Erick did a great job of working with the various personalities in our group and kept everyone on track and moving in the right direction.”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Jaguar, August 2017
  • Best Tour Guide Ever!

    “Our tour guide, Pablo, could not be beat! His knowledge and enthusiasm was overflowing. As an added bonus, he was great with keeping our kids engaged and entertained.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Winter Rimu

    “Winter Rimu was a fantastic trip! The scenery was breathtaking and our guides were exemplary. And, despite being a winter trip, the weather didn't slow us down.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime

    “When friends ask "how was your trip?", the words fail me. I wish I could share the incredible moments with them. How do you describe the magic of snorkelling with dolphins in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean, or feeling like you've befriended a sea lion? We can't say enough about our trip with Active Adventures. What an incredible trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, August 2017
  • Winter Splendor - No Crowds!

    “Winter Rimu was a trip of a lifetime which created wonderful memories with my son as his high school graduation trip. We may or may not remember the rain, the cold, the snow, but we will surely remember the togetherness, the chance to explore the beauty of nature, test momma's strength on the hikes and when the sun was out the scenery would take your breath away. Our group was small, fun, the trip well organized. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.”
    – Florida, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Trip!

    “The trip overall was great! Very well organised and the accomodation was better than I would have booked for myself. My guides Tess and Nick where the best part of the trip. They have the patience of saints as some of us where quite sick and high maintenance. Tess cooked awesome food and looked after our every need, plus she was a treat to be around. Nick's commentary was entertaining and I couldn't fault his driving skills. They both where heaps of fun, was quite sad to say goodbye to them both. My highlights of the trip would be Mt Cook and the Copland Hut. Can't beat the scenery!!! I also had my birthday during the trip and it's definitely one to remember, I felt super special with the decorations and the cake the crew put together for me. Definitely a trip to remember!”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Tour Awesome Guides

    “The planned tour was very exciting and challenging. The guides were knowledgeable and very helpful. When the hike or climb was challenging the guides were there to ensure safety and a great experience. We were burning calories and the food provided was delicious, healthy and more than sufficient to power us through the activities. The entire tour was very educational due to the knowledge of our guides. Each days drive and activity provided learning as the guides educated and added to the experience.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “This was my first time on an Active Adventures tour, but I'll be back! Every aspect of the tour was outstanding - the guides, the organization, the accommodations and meals, and of course the other guests who shared the adventure. The route offered a good balance of challenge and enjoyment, and accommodated a range of hiking abilities and fitness, with some kayaking and mountain biking thrown in for variety. Jean-Marc has to be the best guide ever - you could not have picked anyone better.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, August 2017
  • Best Hiking Ever!

    “This was definitely a trip of a lifetime! I had not imagined that the Italian Dolomites were so beautiful. The hiking was so perfect and the accommodations were excellent! So hard to return home and not have a beautiful Refugio to stop at for lunch or lodging now! The guides were excellent and I learned so much about the area from Ivan. I also enjoyed the biking day and the Via Ferrata was an absolute blast! Thank you Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Dolomiti, August 2017
  • Jaguar July 2017

    “Wonderful trip, especially the Inca Trail which was amazing.”
    – Hertfordshire, United Kingdom Jaguar, July 2017
  • Transformative Travel

    “The EBC Trek in May led by DK, Shree and Bibek is something that will forever be etched in my memory. Their knowledge of the route, places, culture and their wonderful hospitality made this experience even more memorable. The porters' (Suman, Aksh, Baji and the rest of the men) presence made this trip possible and without them, I would not have experienced Nepalese culture at its finest. They are the most humble, selfless, strong people I've ever encountered. The Himalayas' scenery was out of this world and despite Everest Base Camp being the end goal/destination, what I remember and will treasure the most are the people I've met on this trip and along the way. Thank you Active Adventures for organizing a trip that was transformative in every way. DK, Shree, Bibek and Aksh, thank you for taking care of us like we're family. Nepal, you are amazing and I left a piece of my heart when I left you.”
    – GUAM, Guam EBC, July 2017
  • Wow!

    “This was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. Hats off to Active Adventures for putting together an amazing itinerary and delivering on every aspect of our trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Perfect Winter Rimu Adventure

    “It was an excellent trip. Wonderful sites and guides with a well planned itinerary!”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, July 2017
  • Most Awesome

    “Our Tour du Mont Blanc was nothing short of awesome. Challenging hikes, spectacular mountains, wonderful food and fantastic guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Tour du Mont Blanc, July 2017
  • Had a Great Time, and Made New Friends

    “Had a great time, Jordie and Ash were great hosts and guides. Also met some new friends from Canada who we are still in touch with! Great experience all around.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, July 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.