Request a free South America Brochure

Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

  • Barb's Review

    “Our guides (we had 2 because of the split of trail that the team choose to take) were very knowledgeable, attentive, and extremely personable and made the trip wonderful!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Go and See Machu Picchu and Experience Peru.

    “Our trip to Peru was fantastic. We hiked, biked and paddled in Peru. Every day was an adventure. I like that we got to experience the real Peru. I didn't feel like a tourist, I felt like an adventurer. We walked through markets, met children along the Inca trail, ate delicious food and even stayed at a local family's home. We were treated very well. We were blown away by the chef's culinary skill while trekking along the Inca trail. Our guide was personable and knowledgeable. Our group was small, also a huge plus. We will book another trip with Active Adventures. This was our second. Small groups, good food, active friends, great leadership, well run. What is not to like? Thank you, all.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Still smiling....

    “Words can't describe the amazing adventure of a lifetime my best buddy and I experienced in Peru with your Active Adventure team! The smiles on our face every time thinking about it paint the perfect picture of our wonderful, amazing experience and trip of a lifetime! Our guide, Daniel , was so attentive, thoughtful, fun and enthusiastic. We felt like we were travelling with a caring friend who was so excited to share his beautiful country with us! We were challenged and encouraged, and enjoyed absolutely every minute of this amazing trip! It would not have been the same without our smiling leader Daniel!!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Active in Peru.

    “I loved my jaguar trip to Peru. The history and Inca ruins were fascinating, the local people we met were all friendly and welcoming, the new friends I made on the trip were lots of fun(we were a great team) - and I loved the Llamas! I saw the best of Peru on foot, by bike and by kayak - a great way to experience such a richly cultural and historic country.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Jaguar, May 2017
  • Everything flowed: shuttles, vans, boats, bikes

    “I am mostly a solo traveler and this AA trip was a series of smooth and timely connections from one event to another. Guides Daniel and Johan were informative
    and personable. A+ to them.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    – Colorado, United States Iguana, May 2017
  • A-MA-ZING!!

    “We had such a great time. Every day was a new and exciting adventure. Our guide, Daniel, made sure we were well taken care of and we learned and enjoyed so much of the Peruvian culture. I would unhesitatingly recommend this trip!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • epic adventure

    “The group was outstanding; the guides were top notch. The Lares Inca trail was the hardest hike I have ever done because of the elevation, but the cultural immersion and glam camping softened the effort. Hot water bottles at bedtime anyone? Fleece liners for your sleeping bag? The trips to the Amazon and Lake Titikaka were equally wonderful, but the combination of the physical challenge with the people in the mountains, and the incredible scenery moving from the Lares to the Sacred Valley just couldn't be beat.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, April 2017
  • The trip of my dreams!

    “The Iguana trip was better than was advertised! I had prepared for the trip to Peru by reading about the history of the area in the book, The Last Days of the Incas, by Kim MacQuarrie. When we visited the many different Inca sites, the history came alive for me. I could picture the great battles, and the capture of the Inca rulers, and the narrow escapes. It was wonderful! Cuzco was a beautiful city surrounded by mountain peaks and full of many good places to eat. After Peru, going to the Galapagos was like a beach vacation in the most beautiful place in the world. We loved snorkeling and seeing the giant land tortoises. We saw every animal associated with the Galapagos and more! I still can't believe I was lucky enough to find this trip with Active Adventures. Top notch all the way around. Thank you to our wonderful guides who we loved!”
    – Texas, United States Iguana, April 2017
  • Awesome Jaguar

    “This trip was flat-out amazing! Peru is incredibly beautiful and its climate diverse, and we saw so much and we did so much. Our traveling companions were terrific and we laughed a lot. Our guides were so capable and so knowledgeable that we felt immersed in the culture. We could really feel the magic of the Incas and the reverence for Pacha Mama which continues to this day.”
    – Minnesota, United States Jaguar, February 2017
  • “We loved it! Erick our guide was super patient, knew the culture, knowledgeable, concerned with safety! We would do one with Erick again in a heartbeat!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, February 2017
  • Incredible

    “Second trip with Active Adventures and was impressed with their organization and activities. Zac, a native of Cusco, was our guide. He provided my family with the most amazing experience of Peru. Zac was informative, fun, and the best guide we have ever experienced!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Jaguar - April 2016

    “Zac was an incredible tour guide - he was very knowledgeable, encouraging and had a great sense of humor!! This was the experience of a lifetime - hiking the Inca Trail, trekking in the Amazon Jungle and seeing monkeys, caiman, capybaras, a sloth and a tarantula, and boating around Lake Titicaca - it truly was an "Active Adventure" that we'll never forget!!”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Fun Adventure

    “Active Adventures does an excellent job of organizing adventure trips that allow you to actively explore the country and experience the local culture. This trip was an outstanding opportunity to see the entire country of Peru. It was wonderful to hike the Inca Trail and see Machu Pichu, explore the beautiful town of Cusco, visit the Amazon as well as the different islands of Lake Titicaca.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Amazing trip - learned so much, and want to come back

    “3rd trip with Active Adventures, and all have been wonderful, stupendous, eye opening, with fabulous guides, and staff. Peru was an amazing country to visit; beautiful scenery, people, and culture. The Inca and pre-Incan archeology were of course incredible to see first hand. However, this was greatly enhanced by the depth of knowledge and historical context that our guide, Daniel, supplied. The lodge in the Amazon was my personal favorite place I have ever stayed - so beautiful, and a true experience to see the wild macaws, toucans, peccaries..... and so on. Lake Titicaca was beautiful and so rich in such a variety of cultures, and languages! Daniel our guide was incredibly gracious, kind, knowledgeable. The food was great, and the places we stayed as always with Active - fun, interesting and quite comfortable. Most of all, we were so impressed with the behind the scenes staff. The first day of our trip we were unable to make our first destination due to an airline problem. Active's staff scrambled to rearrange our entire itinerary so that we didn't miss anything. This meant rescheduling flights, permits, room reservations, etc.... and all over the Christmas Holidays. A true test of a great group of people is how they respond when something unexpected happens, and Active's staff proved how adept they were. From our point of view, everything was perfect and smooth, but we recognize and truly appreciate the work that went on behind the scenes to give us such a great experience. Thanks to all.”
    – California, United States Capybara, January 2017
  • Jaguar Adventure

    “Loved the Jaguar trip, and especially our guide, Erick. The trip covered a lot of ground over two weeks and we learned a lot about Peru. Food was amazing! The Lares trail was tough but stunning. Really enjoyed the Amazon and Lake Titicaca - especially the local experiences on the island in the lake. If Active Adventures has options in other areas where I am looking to go, they will be my first consideration!! Thanks for another wonderful trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Jaguar - What an Inca-redible Trip!!!!

    “Travelling alone to South America seemed a little daunting but Zac made the whole experience easy and unforgettable. Despite not knowing anyone in my group at the outset we all got on extremely well and thanks to Zac's invaluable knowledge learnt so much about an amazing country.
    The itinerary was extremely well planned and varied, from hiking and kayaking to becoming familiar with the local culture and people.
    The food was fantastic - we even ate cake halfway up the mountain!!
    This whole experience has left me with an appetite for more and I can't wait to do it again.
    Thank you Zac and Active Adventures. You truly made 2016 for me :)”
    – Matabeleland, Zimbabwe Jaguar, January 2017
  • Jaguar, November 2016

    “This trip truly was an 'active adventure', and exceeded my expectations in so many ways.
    Peru is such a beautiful country, rich in history, and culture. All of our guides were superb, but Erick as our trip host absolutely made this trip worry free, a true learning experience, and SO much fun! If it's all in the details, Erick and Active covered them all and more!
    I arrived as a solo traveler and left having made friends and memories that I will treasure always.
    Thank you Active Adventures, until next time!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Jaguar, December 2016
  • Phil and Marje

    “Wonderful trip. We really enjoyed Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the days over in the jungle. The best thing was our guide, Erick, who was interesting, informative, extremely well prepared but most important a lot of fun to travel with. He's one of the best guides we've ever had.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Machu Picchu Oct 2016

    “Two friends and I were part of the Jaguar Trip to southern Peru. We elected to do only the Machu Picchu portion and not Lake Titicaca or jungle portions. Cuzco, the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu were well worth the trip. There is so much to learn about the ancient Peruvian cultures. Of 13 people 2 developed altitude problems and Active Adventure staff were excellent in caring for them and adjusting schedules and hikes to match the remaining hikers. I credit them with making the trip so enjoyable. This is my second trip with Active and I recommend them highly. The food and support personnel were top notch.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • You have to go on this trip

    “This is my second Active Adventures trip and like the first it was above and beyond what one can expect. I am looking forward to my third one. The adventure is exactly what I love, the guides are the BEST, the food and places we stayed were excellent. This trip is truly one of the trips that you will never ever forget.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Great experience

    “We loved our experience!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Wonderful adventure

    “It exceeded expectations”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Going solo, coming home with 7 new friends

    “Really enjoyed my trip with Erick. He was a great guide, and a good friend.
    The best part of an Active trip is having supper every night with your new friends with a host who knows the best places to go and picks up the tab. (so to speak)”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, December 2016
  • “My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary by taking the Jaguar trip, and as we boarded our flight home we agreed that it was the greatest adventure of our lives. Our guide Cynthia was nothing less than spectacular--outstanding in every way.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Jaguar Trip

    “Thanks Active Adventures for making this another trip of a lifetime. This is our second trip and once again it met all our expectations and more. Our guide, Erick, did an outstanding job keeping the trip exciting, educational and enjoyable.”
    – Alaska, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Nov. 6 Jaguar with Erick

    “This trip was an absolutely outstanding experience for myself and my husband! Everything was so wonderful! Our guide Erick selected outstanding places to eat and made superb meal recommendations. I am thankful that he was able to control the weather while we were there. The people, landscape, culture and architecture were over the top. Erick was so patient and fun to be with. Our group couldn't have been better traveling companions. All of our activities were well paced and very doable. We love Active Adventures! This was our second trip to South America with Active and we look forward to booking another trip with them soon.”
    – Alaska, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Knowledgeable Guides

    “Our Classic Inca Trail Guide, Puma, showed me how much he loved this land and the people who lived on the land, both present and future!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • Like an Inca in Peru

    “This trip was better than I could've ever expected. The Inca Trail was the most incredible hardest thing I've ever done both mentally and physically and I could not have done it without our guide Zac and my new found friend Cynthia. Machu Picchu was the perfect culmination to the pilgrimage. The rest of the trip and all of my other wonderful new friends including our guide Erick will never be forgotten. I will be talking about this trip for years to come and cannot wait to go on my next Active Adventure!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, November 2016
  • South America Adventure

    “As a first time traveller to South America it was a great comfort to travel with local guides who were not only proficient in Spanish but also more importantly familiar with all of the great local places to visit. Pepo and Zac were invaluable guides, they made us feel welcome from the first minute. Pepo had great insight about the Galapagos Islands and the time we spent at his family tree-house was great fun. Zac is full of knowledge about Peru, the sacred valley, the Incas and recommendations for the best places to eat. The professionalism displayed by Zac as our tour guide was unbelievable! He was able to seamlessly re-organise our trip schedule as there was a local strike with road closures. His knowledge of the area and the people meant that we hardly even noticed the change in our itinerary. I cannot recommend him enough! I have previously traveled with Active in New Zealand so I knew that I was in for a lovely trip. My expectations were well met and my only criticism is that the tour wasn't longer! The trip has opened my eyes to the beauty of Peru and the Galapagos and now I just can't wait to go back and it explore it even more.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Iguana, November 2016
  • Fantastically organized

    “The planning, organization and minute by minute support provided by Active Adventures was top notch. Erick was always there for us and the additional guides that we had along the way for cycling, kayaking and jungle tours were excellent. We really enjoyed the surprises that Erick provided to top off our days! Except for Lima, there were not a lot of English speaking locals in Peru, so I found it imperative to have such good local guides. We were also impressed with the food and equipment provided for cycling, kayaking and the support on the Inca trail. Active Adventures is a great company to work with!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • Best trip ever!

    “We had a fantastic time and I must give top marks to Active Adventures. The whole trip was orchestrated wonderfully from start to finish. We could see that all contingencies were anticipated well before the trip commenced and it ran very smoothly. I talked with a person who did not use this company and the difference was like night and day.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • BEST TRIP EVER!!!

    “First of all, I want to say what a FANTASTIC "Jaguar" trip we had with Active Adventures in Peru. After talking with many other travellers we meet in Peru, Active Adventures were head and shoulders above other tour groups. They meet and exceeded my expectations. Thanks to the best guides "Eric" and our 4 day Inca hike Guide "Puma". They started as our guides and we finished as friends.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • One from the bucket list

    “We had high expectations for this trip and they were exceeded!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • My Excellent Active Adventure!

    “Such a fabulous trip. The challenge of hiking at altitude, biking and kayaking through some amazing scenery, and experiencing the culture and the diversity of Peru is something I will always remember. I was so impressed with everyone involved - our guide (Erick), our trail specialist (Puma), our activity specialists for the Amazon, biking and kayaking, our porters on the trail, and the support they received in dealing with any and all issues that arose during the two weeks.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, October 2016
  • Awesome Active Adventure

    “We had been told how well organized the trip would be but we were blown away by the organized, efficient and professional manner in which all of the staff conducted themselves and their duties. Not having to worry about tents and campsites and food allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the scenery and the people we encountered. Our guides Eric and Jose were excellent historians as well as trailblazers and were especially good at adjusting our trek through the Andes since we had some health and fitness issues to deal with (including Debby having an intestinal problem on the very first day of our journey).”
    – Kentucky, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • A true meeting

    “A trip that allows you to meet with the true peruvian insider ..... You just keep asking for more”
    – , New Caledonia Jaguar, October 2016
  • “A stellar bucket list trip with outstanding guides. The Peru part of our trip was complicated by a local strike causing havoc with our original itinerary but Zac and the Active Adventures folks were amazing in rearranging the itinerary, lodging, meals, etc. Pepo was super in the Galagagos. Both parts of the trip were great fun and very professionally run. Very active but doable for four of us in our 60's.”
    – Illinois, United States Iguana, October 2016
  • Peru and Galapagos Islands

    “The two regions of this trip were so different. In Peru, learning about Inca history, seeing the structures that they built with minimal tools and that have survived for centuries and getting to spend time in small towns and interacting with local artisans was fabulous. The Galapagos Islands were a wildlife fest with snorkeling, kayaking and boat rides between islands and viewing sea "creatures" in the shallows and deep water. You also hiked volcanos and saw land tortoises, iguanas and the topography change as you go from lush to lava fields. Wonderful experiences”
    – Illinois, United States Iguana, October 2016
  • Jaguar trip 9-16

    “I was interested in this trip because I had always dreamed of going to Machu Picchu and the only reason I was traveling to Peru was because that is where Machu Picchu was. As it turned out, getting to Machu Picchu was great but it wasn't even one of the highlights of the trip! I am so glad I went on this trip with Active Adventures because it exposed us to much more of Peru than we would have seen had we just trekked to Machu Picchu. Erick our guide was like our "peruvian google" who could answer just about any question we had about his country. As with the Condor trip I took to Patagonia last year, I always felt taken care of and could relax because all the little details were worked out by Erick and his Active Adventures Crew. Couldn't have had a better time in Peru than our Jaguar trip!”
    – Hawaii, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • Colorful Peru!

    “Peru is a marvelous canvas of color, music and history; beautiful people, delicious food and breathtaking scenery. This adventure to Peru was amazing! It was a dynamic journey full of beauty and fun. From an unforgettable hike at the Lares Inca Trail to submerging into the life of the local families at Amantani Island! Everything during the trip was executed in an organized and safe manner. Thank you to our fantastic group leader, Erick, and to all my lovely travel Amigos for making this adventure a colorful one! This is how you celebrate Life!
    Abinette from Puerto Rico”
    – South Carolina, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • “The adventure begins to become just a wonderful memory. Over all the trip was amazing and the organisation with its (almost) all inclusive arrangements was impressive. There were so many high spots, it is hard to give a single highlight. The stay on Amantani island was very special, the views in the Andes were spectacular, the hotels were comfortable and the food everywhere was plentiful and delicious.
    One of the best things about this trip was meeting such a lovely group of fellow travellers. We had such fun together. Erick our guide was very efficient and hard working. He must have found it challenging to shepherd such a lively group around but he managed to make it great fun as well as keeping us safe and free of worry.
    All in all I am so happy that I took this trip and will recommend Active Adventures to anyone considering such an adventure.”
    – North Somerset, United Kingdom Jaguar, October 2016
  • Awesome experience

    “It was a life changing experience... I highly recommend this trip to everyone.”
    – Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada Jaguar, October 2016
  • Amazing

    “Every detail surprised and delighted.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • Once in a Life Time Experience

    “The entire staff on the trip from our incredible guide to the individual drivers made the trip amazing even when things don't go the way you want them to.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • Fantastic Peru!

    “The guides were great; the weather was perfect (even the snow just after cresting a 15,000' peak); the sites were amazing; the activities well planned and thought out. Every excursion went smoothly and all told it was a fantastic trip.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • “Excellent combination of cultural and geographic aspects of Peru. Trip was well organized and well led. Hiking the Inca Trail was definitely the highlight!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • Great trip!

    “We had a smart, funny, and skilled guide who showed us beautiful and amazing things. Peru was incredible, it was a great trip.”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • My first taste of Sth America

    “The trip lived up to all that it offered and more. The organisation and the guides were exemplary. Fully recommend it to all active golden oldies!!”
    – Auckland, New Zealand Iguana, August 2016
  • Jaguar 2016

    “The world is a diverse place. Peru is a must-see. The Jaguar trip by Active South America gives you a very good sampling of what this country is about from the cities and towns to the mountain to the jungle to the lake environments and the peoples and wildlife which make them home. This is quite the challenging trip for those of us who are relative lowlanders. This was our third trip with Active and they never disappoint. The guides are always first rate as they do everything possible to help you maximize your enjoyment of the trip no matter the circumstances. We love adventure and surely there will be more trips in our future. Out of the many many choices today Active will always be given first consideration.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Capybara Adventure!

    “I recently went to on the Capybara tour with my son. We had Arturo as our guide. I was so happy with this tour. I found Active Adventures online. I read the reviews and had phone conversations with staff and emails who were always happy to answer any of my many questions. My 19 year old son worked hard to pay for his part of the tour and I wanted it to be really great for him especially.
    We both had the best time. We were fed amazing food that I never expected. I had no idea that we would be having such healthy and tasty meals. We were always told what the plan the next day was going to be and in detail. Any needs we had Arturo would make sure they were met. He was absolutely the best. A very educated, kind, thoughtful and funny young man. Could not have been happier with tour itenarary and our tour guide, Arturo. Would do another Active Adventures tour again and actually looking at booking one for next year! Thank you for a really special trip with my dear son! Many happy memories forever.”
    – Utah, United States Capybara, August 2016
  • The best of Peru

    “Our trip with Cynthia and Zac was super well organized and so informative. We were well informed about what to expect for every meal, hike, bike ride, flight and boat trip. This was enhanced by what was the best crew team in Peru. Every person connected with our Active Adventure was so welcoming. We learned so much about the history of the Inca's, the wildlife and foliage, customs of areas and current issues. Amazing meals on the Inca trail and adventures on picnics and in restaurants. It was truly a perfect and unforgettable active adventure!”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, August 2016
  • Macchu Picchu JULY24 2016

    “We were on the Jaguar trip and had no complaints whatsoever! Cynthia Valladores was our trip leader, she was absolutely fantastic. My girlfriend got sick and was on the verge of not hiking when she arranged for a doctor which allowed her to make the hike. All that expense and planning would have been for nothing! She made ALL the difference!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Amazing experience

    “Everything was perfect!!! Cynthia, our group leader, is amazing!!! Every detail is attended to and we were very well taken care of. I was very pleasantly surprised how good the food was while hiking the Inca trail! That cook is able to make a better meal on a hiking trail than most people can make in a fully stocked kitchen!!!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Wonderful Trip

    “Terrific Trip!! Beautiful Country! Terrific Organization! Wonderful Guides! Great Food! I was very impressed with Cynthia and Puma and all the others that contributed to making this kind of trip possible. It is a sign of a well run organization when it values and hires such terrific people. They took very good care of us, were extremely well educated, and were very easy to get along with not to mention patient and fun. The Inca Trail views were absolutely breath taking but this really was a very well rounded trip. I enjoyed the cities of Cuzco and Puno, the trip to Porto Maldonado and the jungle with the extremely interesting hotel, and Lake Titicaca with our trips to a couple of the islands and stay with one of the families. Our tour of Lima was a great way to finish off our trip. One more thing-the food was absolutely the best. I have never eaten that well.”
    – Minnesota, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Amazing trip to Peru

    “Our trip to Peru surpassed my expectations. Cynthia our trip leader was amazing and truthfully made our experience a once in a lifetime one. I would most definitely travel with Active Adventures again in the future!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventures!

    “Active Adventures totally lived up to their name for our trip in Peru! Hiking the Inka trail, boating on the amazon, fishing for piranhas, cycling to the sacred valley and kayaking on Lake Titicaca we were active every day of the trip! Thank you Cynthia, Zack and the amazing team at Active Adventures for the trip of a lifetime in Peru!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Re-energised

    “This trip was certainly "active". The Lares trail was my highlight and pushed me to the limits. It was wonderful to share this trip with such an amazing group of people of all ages. The guides were superb.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Jaguar, July 2016
  • Jaguar to Peru June 19

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime! Peru is a beautiful and fascinating country. Active adventures is a first rate organization and we were well prepared upon arrival and throughout the trip. We cycled, hiked, camped and journeyed into the jungle. All equipment was first rate and the food excellent. Loved Erick, a wonderful guide in every regard. Daniel as well was terrific.
    Our group of ten were fearless and hilarious. Would do this again tomorrow. Thank you Active!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing time!

    “We had an amazing time on our Active Adventures Jaguar trip to Peru. The Active Adventures team were incredible, taking care of everything so well. Our guide for the whole two weeks, Cynthia, was so friendly and went over and above multiple times to make sure that everyone had a great time. The Inca Trail was tough, and the weather didn't entirely cooperate, but when we finally got to Macchupicchu it was so worth it. Just seeing that stunning place made the journey worthwhile, but then the rainforest and Lake Titicaca were waiting for us! I'd highly recommend this trip and this company, and they certainly live up to their name!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventure

    “I was unsure of exactly what I signed up for when I started this trip but it truly was the trip of a lifetime. Each day we had something unique and exciting planned. We were never board and the adventures we participated in soon helped our tour group bond together and become a second family. The tour was very well organized and our tour leader was excellent.”
    – Indiana, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • We did it! With style and fun!

    “This was a bucket list trip of a lifetime! Active Adventures went above and beyond to make us comfortable, safe and we had a bunch of fun from the Andes to the Amazon!”
    – Oregon, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Why Peru?

    “Reasons to go to Peru? Fabulous food, people, culture and geography.
    Reasons to choose Active Adventures? Outstanding local guides (notably Erick) who provide a myriad of experiences for a complete & truly active immersion experience.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Couldn't Have Done It Ourselves

    “From four course picnics to an entire team to assist in the trek, we simply couldn't have had the same experience if we'd planned our own trip. Our guide Erick was simply the best. A wonderful trip!”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Jaguar June 2016

    “Well ran trip. Very active itinerary. You will be tired. Lots of early mornings but ultimately worth it. History at every turn. Cynthia was/is awesome. All of our guides were great and passionate. All very knowledgeable. If you want to see Peru and Macchu Picchu, this is the way. Details are handled, flights on the trip handled for you. Any concerns addressed and handled. Highly encourage anyone to take this trip. This is my second trip with Active and I am sure there will be more.”
    – Indiana, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventure - amazing guide

    “The trip from beginning to end was an incredible, although challenging, experience. I would not have thought it was possible to jam so many incredible experiences into so short of time. The variety of experiences, activities, and landscapes was amazing. And Cynthia was the most incredible guide to show us all through it.”
    – Maine, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Peru a country with oppurtunities for the future

    “What struck me traveling in Peru was beside the wonderful nature, the healthy way of living. Healthy food, healthy people with healthy teeth. Not so much stress as we are used to nowadays. I would like to go back!”
    – Värmland, Sweden Jaguar, July 2016
  • Great trip!

    “The trip was overall amazing. The guides were all very knowledgeable and were always trying to make the trip more comfortable and enjoyable. I really could not be more impressed. Each of them was likeable and friendly (as well as informational). They took us to great sites and great restaurants. 5 star!!!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Iguana, July 2016
  • You won't regret it!

    “Awesome fun with family and friends. Really enjoyed meeting new friends, hiking, biking, kayaking and eating!”
    – Tennessee, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Great way to venture into South America

    “Fabulous way to combine the Inca trial and Galapagos islands. Hiking at 14,000 feet and sandy beaches packed with sealions. Meet real people, share ral experiences, get to meet wildlife up close!”
    – Essex, United Kingdom Iguana, June 2016
  • truly active

    “Active Adventures packs a lot into two weeks. The pace is very fast and being in good condition is very important. This trip went to two places on my bucket list and I enjoyed both immensely. Machu Picchu was everything I expected and a bit more. The Galapagos Islands were a treat, especially the giant tortoises.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, June 2016
  • Iguana Trip

    “The South America Adventure was a highlight of a lifetime! Our guides were fantastic, especially Jhayro! Jhayro led our group on many adventures through Peru, including rock climbing, biking, zip-lining, and hiking to amazing Inca ruins. We ate incredible cuisine at a variety of restaurants, and one day, we were served a picnic lunch as fine as we could get in a 5-star restaurant. The hotels were comfortable and quiet and clean. One of our guides, Daniel, was an expert speaker on a variety of topics. We learned about the history, geology, flora and fauna, and culture of each area. No questions went unanswered, even if he had to do research and inform us the next day. Our group was small enough to bond and enjoy each others company. Iguana was a wonderful experience!”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, June 2016
  • Jaguar trip Peru June 2016

    “This is a trip I had wanted to do for a couple of years now and I finally did it and it certainly didn't disappoint, this truly was a trip of a lifetime for me. Peru is an amazing country, the culture, the people, the colour, all of it was stunning. It was certainly challenging, even more so because of the high altitude, but that is what I want out of my travel experiences. Our guide Cynthia was the best guide we could have asked for, her wealth of knowledge on her country was so vast and interesting and she always made us feel like one big family. Thank you Cynthia and thank you Active Adventures for giving me the best memories.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Jaguar, June 2016
  • Unbelievable Peruvian adventure

    “Nine months of preparation still didn't prepare us for the unbelievable non-stop action Active Adventures had in store for us. They really do put "active" at the top of the list. For two weeks our guides immersed us and saturated us with Peru. As we reflect on our trip it is hard to believe we did and saw so much.
    Active Adventures were impeccable in their their arrangements and execution. The logistical details for the trip were considerable and our group was constantly amazed at the seamless delivery of everything.
    We were kept fully informed and attended to as we took airplanes, trains, private coaches, tut tuks, bikes, kayaks, motor boats and, hiked and toured through Peru.
    All we had to do was enjoy ourselves and our companions.
    Our guides and other support help always made us feel safe, secure and well attended to. To a person they were exceptional.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2016
  • “Cynthia was excellent going above and beyond in all areas. She was constantly upping herself daily. She was great and I would welcome going on a trip with her”
    – California, United States Jaguar, June 2016
  • Peru - an amazing South American country :)

    “Peru is a beautiful country full of culture contrasts, food, history and breathtaking landscapes. The trip we had was unforgettable. The guide was excellent - always willing to share the extensive knowledge about his country. He always made sure we had everything in check and supported us every step of the way. The group we were with was also a really great bunch making the trip even more memorable, thus making it easier to make new friends through this venture. We were exposed to all possible experiences during our 2 week trip. I will surely recommend Active Adventures to others.”
    – , Malta Jaguar, June 2016
  • One for the books!

    “To be honest, I wasn't sure what I was getting into when my sister and I signed up for this trip - but it definitely turned out the be one of the best trips I had so far.
    I really did have a great time. The organisation of the whole 2 weeks was very well managed, with excellent guides who knew the local culture and the best options to accommodate preferences of each individual. The locations visited and the accommodation were perfect. The food provided was of the best quality and amount! We were never left hungry nor thirsty.
    The activities were well spread to have breaks in between and the level of difficulty was adjusted to each individual. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who is into culture and some physical exercise.
    I simply had a fantastic time with the whole group and guide :)”
    – , Malta Jaguar, June 2016
  • Peru

    “Peru is a fascinating country and our trip covered four very different regions and we were able to really experience the land and people. It was an intense trip. I am very glad we made the trip. Thanks”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2016
  • Absolutely amazing!!!

    “This was the trip of a lifetime. It was easily the most physically challenging thing I have ever done, but so worth it. Our guide Cynthia could not have been any better. Her knowledge, organization, and care made her the perfect leader. Our Inca Trail guide Chemma (sp?) was wonderful as well. The only part of the entire program that I would have changed was the long bus ride to Puno, but it was a necessary evil to get us where we needed to go. I cannot offer enough praise for the entire experience! Thank you Active Adventures and Cynthia, I will never forget the experience or the people I shared it with!”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, May 2016
  • Jaguar May 2016

    “Cynthia was fantastic! Great group of people. Truly the hardest thing I have ever done and most memorable. Local guides knowledgable and supportive. Chama got me through on the Inka Trail when I was struggling.”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, May 2016
  • Really? It was only the second time you ran it?

    “As the name implies, Active Tours are just that Active and subject to all sorts of unknowns. What makes them so good is the Tour Leader's ability to adapt and improvise. We hiked much quicker than expected, so we were able to take a quick nap after lunch in the shadow of Inca Ruins. We climbed much slower than expected, so we got to the Salt mines as the sun set. I was really surprised when Jhayro said this was only the second time the it ran, it was so well done I had thought they had it all down pat. As always, great job!”
    – Hawaii, United States Iguana, May 2016
  • Aventura Fantastica!

    “This was our second Active Adventures trip and while we went to Peru mainly to see Machu Picchu, I feel it was only a fraction of the fun we had during our trip. For me, hiking at 14,000+ feet, climbing rocks via ferrata to go zip lining was an awesome experience despite being very prone to altitude illness (we got there a day early and I was fine by the second day) and having a hubby who is very afraid of heights. Machu Picchu was magnificent but I really enjoyed the less crowded Incan and pre-Incan sites we visited more because we had them nearly all to ourselves. Our tour leader Jhayro and another local guide Daniel (who we had for 3 days in Peru) also made our trip extra special being so friendly and fun to be with both while leading us on adventures as well as during meals and on the bus.

    The food we had in Peru was excellent and that is coming from someone who is usually viewed as a picky eater with a fussy stomach. My hubby, who is a much more adventurous eater than I, tried alpaca and guinea pig and both were surprisingly good (yes, I tried them too!). After a couple days, we were used to not drinking the tap water or flushing paper down toilets so neither were a big deal. In fact, when we were in Quito, it seemed strange to be able to do so!

    For the Galapagos portion of our trip, we were led by Jose since our scheduled guide Pablo couldn't be there due to a family emergency. Jose was very knowledgable about the local geology, flora, fauna and variety of other things and with several in our group being (former) teachers or scientists, we sure did ask a lot of questions. The unique wildlife of the islands was the primary reason I wanted to visit and I loved seeing Galapagos turtles again as I'd not seen them since I was a child back in the 60's (I remember riding on some in a zoo which I know now was so wrong!). It was my first time seeing marine iguanas and blue footed boobies in the wild and I also enjoyed seeing a variety of other creatures that are in other places but we don't see very often, even living in Hawaii which has very similar geology.

    Like Hawaii, each of the Galapagos Islands was different and it was interesting to see how they varied. The different forms of transportation we used to get from island to island were also adventures in themselves: 2 hour ride on a speed boat and an hourish ride on a teeny prop plane!

    The only thing that was not quite what we expected with this trip was that some of the activities listed on the Galapagos Island itinerary we did not get to do. Nevertheless, the trip was fantastic and being probably my one and only trip to South America, it will always be remembered.”
    – Hawaii, United States Iguana, May 2016
  • More than I could have asked for!

    “I have never traveled solo before, so I was very hesitant to take a trip like this. I'm so glad I did! Active took all of the stress out of planning the trip, so all I had to do was enjoy my time! The rolling green hills of the Sacred Valley, majestic mountains of the Andes, the wonder itself of Machu Pichu! And that was only in Peru! The Galapagos was better than I could have imagined. At one point I was swimming with sea turtles, sea lions, eagle rays, and yes, penguins! I was in absolute awww the entire time in Galapagos. This truly was an amazing trip and I would highly recommend it anyone!”
    – Washington, United States Iguana, May 2016
  • “Amazing trip! If time is not your luxury, this trip truly offers the best of the best for Peru and Galapagos. I would highly recommend to anyone who loves a mix of adventure, culture and chill once you get to the Galapagos.”
    – Alberta, Canada Iguana, April 2016
  • It Was an Active Adventure!

    “The activities, the people, the food were all outstanding. Each of our guides was knowledgeable and friendly. They were sincere in their desire to show us their country and share the culture. Although we went during the wet season we had beautiful weather and the only rain we encountered was during one of our bike rides. Erick, our main guide was extremely helpful whether it was recommending a place to do laundry, a place to eat or an emergency visit to the dentist. My husband and I are both 60 and we participated AND completed all the activities planned so don't be intimidated by itinerary. No pressure to do everything either if you would rather ride in the van or skip a day hike. We will be back!”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, March 2016
  • Fantastic Jaguar trip!

    “I took my nephew on the Jaguar trip in January, and we had a great time. The guide, Erick, was extremely prepared, organized, and easy to get along with. I could not imagine a better experience. It exceeded our expectations!”
    – Oklahoma, United States Jaguar, March 2016
  • Zacarias was amazeballs

    “To the say the least, Zacarias was the best guide I could have ever hoped for. 11 out of 10, would go again!!!”
    – Idaho, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • Fantastic trip!

    “This was a great trip in many ways. The details of the trip were well planned and well executed. Our guide, Erick, did a great job of staying on top of everything. All of the transfers and accomodations were excellent- on time, always ready, never a worry.
    Erick also did a great job of introducing us to Peruvian culture- food, customs, traditions, ancient and modern history were incorporated into our daily routines. This was one of the most interesting and educational trips I've ever taken.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • A Perfect Trip That I Will Never Forget

    “I wish I was better with words so I could write a beautiful review, but I will do this anyway because I really want people to know how spectacular this trip was. Erick was amazing beyond all expectations as a guide (and on this trip covering numerous locales, that is saying a lot). I can't say enough positive things about Peru as a country! From Machu Picchu to the people in the villages on the Lares trail to the porters on the hike (who I am forever indebted to) to the animals in the Amazon.... The two week itinerary would be complicated if handled on your own, but the Active Adventures team and Erick made the details a non issue. I would recommend this trip for sure!!”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • When can I move??

    “You know a trip has been successful when you'd rather lose your passport than get on the plane home. The hike on the Lares Trail was some of the most spectacular scenery I have seen in my life. We camped out in the school yard of a local Quechua village and stopped along the path to pass out school supplies to kids. It felt like an actual introduction to Peruvian culture instead of typical tourism. The trek into the Amazon was a lot more removed from reality, but the rest of the trip was so amazing, that was almost irrelevant. Probably the most important aspect of the experience was our guide, Zacarias. He was exceptional. He was very knowledgeable and great at explaining, but he was also incredibly personable, fun, and wonderful to be around. We were also very fortunate to have two professional cameramen with us, Alex and Leo, that really helped pull the group together and make it an incredible experience. The only problem I see with this trip was liking it so much I want to move there...”
    – Wyoming, United States Jaguar, January 2016
  • BJ Peru

    “Exceeded expectations. Educational but painless...you didn't feel like you were pumped full of information. Guide was exceptional. Knowledgable, personable (had friends EVERYWHERE) and managed to tailor activities to interest/fitness level. I would change nothing!”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2015
  • Machu Picchu - Lares

    “What an unbelievable life-changing trip. AA thought of every detail and was highly organized and great. Erick was an awesome trip leader and really looked out for our safety and well-being at all times. Highly recommend Active for your next adventure trip!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, December 2015
  • “Erick Farfan was great dealing with the demonstrations,road barriers and schedule changes needed.”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, November 2015
  • An epic adventure that we are still talking about!

    “There is a huge amount to say about our trip but to summarise:
    Active are a brilliant company to travel with. Their itinerary, logistics, people and service are incredible.
    Peru is such a beautiful and diverse place to visit and the Jaguar trip gave us a great taste of it from the high plateau and mountains to the dense jungles and stunning villages. It is a well crafted mix of activities, sights, food and experiences. The shorter excursions to markets and villages added so much and the chance to hike, kayak and mountain bike in carefully selected areas was awesome.
    The people were great. Our group were great fun to be with and our guide Erick was brilliant - really thoughtful, knowledgeable, relaxed and an organisational machine. He really is exceptional. We miss him and everyone on the trip!”
    – Bristol, United Kingdom Jaguar, November 2015
  • The importance of the trip leader

    “Two things made the trip:
    The leader (Erick Farfan) was excellent. In spite of demonstrations and a cancelled flight (after we had boarded the plane even) he came through with alternatives and worked to keep people positive.
    We had a small group (7) who all got along.”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, November 2015
  • Don't just visit Peru, experience it!

    “Climb the rocky trails. Camp by a mountain lake. Touch the Inca ruins. Zoom into the Sacred Valley on a bike. Savor a home cooked Peruvian meal. Taste a guinea pig. Listen to the Amazon rain forest at night. Watch the soaring Caracara birds. Paddle across crystal clear Lake Titicaca and feel the cool water run down your arm. Know the difference between a llama and an alpaca. Dance to the panpipe flute music. Smell the fresh cut reeds of a floating island. Learn about the culture, the history, and maybe a bit of Quechua language along the way.
    All this and more will be part of your Active Adventure Peru trip. You may encounter a few travel challenges, this is South America after all, not Disneyland. But be assured you will be in the capable hands of Active Adventures, and your intrepid guide will always have 'Plan B' up his/her sleeve.
    Truly a unique travel experience for those who want to go a bit beyond traditional sightseeing. You will return home with many many tales to tell and a smile on your face.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • “Our guide Frank was exceptional and made sure that we experienced everything- the people, the culture, the history, the food and of course the beautiful scenery!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • “I have taken many tour led trips with several different companies. and Active Adventures was by far the best. The guides were exceptional and "ACTIVE" was the name of the game. Whether we were hiking, biking, or kayaking, the guides were spot on to make sure personal needs were met with genuine smiles and caring. The attention to detail was very impressive and the ease of moving from one location and mode of transportation to another was flawless. I was very spoiled on this trip and Look forward to taking another trip with Active Adventures. I really liked traveling with only eleven people, small groups make a big difference. Our guide, Cynthia, is a jewel. Thank you Active Adventures!!”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • Incredible Experience

    “The trip exceeded all my expectations The itinerary was fantastic and our guide Frank was one of the very best I have ever encountered in over 20 trips. His insight into Peruvian life, history was incredible. The feeling of Peruvian family that he instilled in our group is something I will remember for a long time. The encounters with Peruvian children and adults on our Lares trek will always be remembered fondly. Most of all, Frank's quiet encouragement, concern and help with climbing the highest pass on the Lares trek helped me make it. I tested my limits to the maximum but Frank was always there for me and others to make sure we did not exceed those limits.”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, October 2015
  • OK, but needs to be improved in a few areas

    “We had a general feeling that with our small group size (4) on the Inca trail, we had the lesser pick of porters, campsite locations, sanitary conditions, etc. Our local guide even mentioned to us that we were short on porters, and they were reluctant to provide adequate, SAFE drinking water and restroom facilities. Other larger groups had portable toilet facilities, instead of having to use the limited, NASTY toilets at the campsites. We felt like second class citizens during the entire Inca trail, when comparing ourselves to the larger groups who appeared to have much nicer amenities. All 4 of us were sick on the Inca trail, and we are convinced the unsanitary conditions and improperly managed drinking water was the cause. This was entirely unacceptable for any reputable tour guide company.”
    – South Carolina, United States Jaguar, October 2015

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.