Request a free South America Brochure

Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

  • Wow

    “Absolutely one of the best trips I have ever done. We don't usually do organized group tours but this was a perfect choice for this location, especially including the well organized hiking, biking and kayaking activities. It turned out to be the most amazing adventure, very challenging but the staff made sure it was always safe and fun. We would do another trip with Active without hesitation and we would love to have Erick as the leader. He was very professional, on top of everything and loads of fun!”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, November 2017
  • Amazing Experience

    “My wife and I had the trip of a lifetime! The sights and views were breathtaking! And the cultural experience was so unique! We felt like royalty the way we were treated by our guides and porters on the trail. Definitely a great way to experience what Peru has to offer!”
    – Ohio, United States Jaguar, November 2017
  • Really loved Peru and the Jaguar itinerary

    “The Jaguar trip was a great overall experience for us - we loved the itinerary and the mix of accommodation, the activities - sightseeing and really enjoyed learning about the immense and fascinating cultural depth the country has to offer.”
    – n/a, Namibia Jaguar, November 2017
  • Great trip, great food and guides.

    “We had such a good time on the trip. The food, accommodations, and sites were great. We were lucky enough to have a small group (3) which made it even nicer.
    Machu Picchu and the hiking in Peru were great, Great food and accommodations.
    The trip got even better once we got to the Galapagos. Hiking, snorkeling/scuba, kayaking, and biking were great. Pepo did a fantastic job tailoring our activities around the weather. The food was great for all the seafood lovers, vegetarians will have to be a little patient.”
    – Ohio, United States Iguana, November 2017
  • Karen & Dave's Peru Adventure, October 2017

    “Simply, Peru is an amazing destination. Credit to Active Adventures, you made Peru come alive for us in this busy and varied 2 week adventure. We experienced it all, people, history, the wonder of the Incas, the smell of the Amazon rain forest, and Andean life on a lake. Every day brought new experiences. Every meal was excellent, both in restaurants, or on a trail. Logistics-wise, you never missed a beat, on anything. Well done.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2017
  • Best Ever!

    “Just returned from the Jaguar trip/Lares Trail option and can't say enough good things about the whole experience. We had some mishaps along the way...sickness, stolen/lost passports, etc, and our experienced guide, ZAC, was steady, kind, and sure (and had a great sense of humor). We were well taken care of, well-fed, had great sleeping accommodations, and had so much fun... I highly recommend Active Adventures! You will not be disappointed!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • 7 Day Jaguar Adventure

    “I have nothing but positive reviews for this week-long adventure of a lifetime (I would have loved to stay on for the full 14 day experience, but unfortunately work responsibilities limited my time away). As a seasoned solo traveler/hiker, and it being my 30th birthday week, I must rank this trip as my top guided-tour experience. Everything from the Lares Inca Trail experience (with its less crowded characteristics making it a much more attractive alternative to the Classic Inca Trail, at least to me), to the accommodations, the food (which can be catered to most anyone’s dietary needs, at least from what I experienced both first hand and from others in the group...still not sure how the chef/porters can transport all that fresh food and whip up such fantastic meals miles and miles from the nearest town!?), our tour leader Daniel and other affiliated guides and porters...quite honestly above and beyond what my original expectations were for the trip! I met several fellow hikers from around the world with whom I bonded and would now call lifelong friends, and have numerous photos and memories to last a lifetime! I would also like to mention that during our 4 day/3 night hike, we encountered several other hikers along the trail who were with various other tour companies (some of which I had researched prior to booking with Active Adventures), and were told several stories about various mishaps and/or negative experiences they were having with their tour leaders...perhaps we lucked out with our fantastic tour leader, but I definitely do not regret for a second my decision to ring in the third decade of my life with Active Adventures! I can’t thank you guys enough and will definitely keep you in mind for my next hiking adventure, wherever that may be :)”
    – New Hampshire, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Erick the Great

    “I call my review Erick the Great because that is what he was!! It was a trip of a lifetime but I feel like I will likely be back to Peru. I really enjoyed the country, accommodations and incredible scenery.”
    – Arizona, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • I'd Definitely Choose Active Again!

    “I had a great time. The tour guides were personable and very engaging. Even on the activities I had never done before, or at least not for years, they were encouraging and helpful. I would definitely choose Active again.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Judy and Don's trip to Peru

    “Active Adventures provides first class trips. Not to first class hotels, that are isolated from real people, but first class adventures that allow you to experience the people, the culture, as well as the environment. Erick took exceptional care of us. This is our third trip with Active Adventures (New Zealand, Nepal, and now Peru), and they have all been awesome!

    The guides have always been excellent. They make sure we have a great time, and most importantly make sure we are safe. Our last trip was to Everest Base Camp; the guide made me turn around the day we were supposed to go to Base Camp because I had the beginning of flu symptoms. As it was I ended up getting very sick, but if she had not turned me around my doctor told me I would have permanent heart or lung damage.

    Erick was an outstanding guide! He really took care of us and made sure we had a great time. His knowledge of the area was outstanding - culture, history, food, and plants. He was extremely personable. He is one of the best guides in the world!

    The trip to Machu Picchu is unbelievable and tough - so get hiking and book your trip now!”
    – Arizona, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Taste of Peru

    “What an amazing trip! 14 days really gives a good taste of Peru. From high elevations of Cusco, Sacred Valley and the Lares Trail to the mysticism of Macchu Picchu, on to the loud cicadas of the jungle and the floating islands and welcoming Amantai family on lake Titicaca, this is a bucket list trip that will give you a taste of Peru that will make you want to return.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Amazing!

    “We have a goal of visiting each continent, and our trip to South American with Active South America did not disappoint! This is our second Active Adventures and we will be back for more. Peru and the Galapagos were beautiful and every detail of the trip was attended to perfectly. Thank you, Active, for a wonderful and memorable holiday.”
    – South Carolina, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • More Than a Trip, an Amazing Experience!

    “Having had years of wonderful, personally planned trips, we were a bit apprehensive about signing on to a group tour. However AA's communications from our first enquiry to our return home was aimed at making the adventure better than we could have done on our own. Delving into the culture, understanding the history, experiencing the food, and actively enjoying the Peruvian's Peru with a superb guide left me anticipating my next adventure with Active Adventures.”
    – Illinois, United States Jaguar, October 2017
  • Iguana 2017

    “This was a really good trip, essentially of two halves. Peru with its amazing mountains and then Galapagos with incredible wildlife. Best to be fit when you come, the Peruvian hikes are challenging, which is great, whereas Galapagos is more relaxed.”
    – Cambs, United Kingdom Iguana, October 2017
  • Iguanas - September 2017

    “I had an amazing time on my Iguana trip to Peru and the Galapagos Islands. The Peru trip was much more strenuous than I expected but our guide, Erick was vigilant in keeping us together and encouraging us the whole time. He was fantastically organized, fun and knowledgeable which enhanced the whole experience! The Galapagos trip was lead by Galakiwi which did feel more laid back, and flexible. Pepo and Juan Carlos led us through Kicker Rock and amazing landscapes. I thought the Galapagos would be the highlight of my trip, but Peru proved to be the main event. I was fortunate that my group became fast friends of diverse but like-minded people. Overall, an amazing trip!”
    – Michigan, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • Fun trip!

    “I had a great time!”
    – California, United States Iguana, October 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip with Erick was spectacular. Erick's attention to detail, compassion for each individual on the trip and genuine love for Peru made this portion of the trip absolutely amazing.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • 2017 Iguana Trip

    “The Peru portion of the trip was spectacular. Erick truly cares about the overall experience of his clients. He paid attention to all the details of the trip from the experiences of the country, the restaurants and the excursions. He didn't leave any stone unturned when it came to having fun and caring about his clients. I highly recommend Erick to anyone wanting to have a fabulous time in Peru.”
    – Florida, United States Iguana, September 2017
  • Amazing Guide

    “Our tour guide Zac was amazing and made us feel very welcome!”
    – California, United States Capybara, August 2017
  • Iguana Trip

    “Our guides Erick and Jessica could not have been better. Our group was well taken care of, and we experienced a trip of a lifetime that we could not have done without them.”
    – Georgia, United States Iguana, August 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Trip of a lifetime for me! Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week adventure with Erick leading the way to Machu Picchu, the Amazon and Lake Titicaca. There were a few challenges along the way but Erick did a great job of working with the various personalities in our group and kept everyone on track and moving in the right direction.”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Jaguar, August 2017
  • Jaguar July 2017

    “Wonderful trip, especially the Inca Trail which was amazing.”
    – Hertfordshire, United Kingdom Jaguar, July 2017
  • Wow!

    “This was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. Hats off to Active Adventures for putting together an amazing itinerary and delivering on every aspect of our trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Great Time with Grandchildren!

    “Varied experiences. Saw much of Peru which many people don't get to experience.
    It was a perfect trip to take with our grandchildren.”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Great Trip with our Grandchildren!

    “We loved seeing so much of Peru with two of our granddaughters. Our guide, Zac, made the trip fantastic!”
    – California, United States Capybara, July 2017
  • Peru in June 2017

    “It is easy to love Peru traveling with Active Adventures! Cynthia was absolutely fantastic, made sure all went smooth and really took care of us. Great memories were made.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, July 2017
  • Our Peruvian Adventure

    “We had an amazing trip with Active Adventures - South America. Everything was extremely well-planned, and our guide was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and always more than willing to share tips, facts, and insights about her country. The trip from our first meeting to our parting at the airport was active, filled with amazing sights, and very well coordinated. We were thrilled to hike the Inca Trail, to see amazing archaeological sites in the Cuzco area and to explore the jungle and Lake Titicaca regions. We will definitely be looking at Active Adventures for trips in the future. Thanks for providing a wonderful and unforgettable holiday.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Awesome Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime! Everything about the trip went really smoothly and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the trip with my parents! Could not have had better guides either, Erick and Danny were a lot of fun and really took care of the group! Amazing trip that I will always remember.”
    – Arkansas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Peru Jaguar trip we took in May, was the most exciting and adventurous trip we have ever made in our lives! At 70, I was skeptical as to whether I could complete the Inca Trail or not. With Johan's help and support, I not only accomplished my goal, but was extremely satisfied with our total active adventure trip. It seemed as if every time I turned my head, there was another exhilarating scene to photograph. The rest of the trip included the amazon rainforest, and spending the night with a local family on Lake Titicaca which was great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to explore the world's unknown places that only a few select get to experience. Our guide Erick Farfan was an exceptional young man who went out of his way not just for us, but the entire group. I've never had someone so attentive to every detail to make all of us happy. His choice of restaurants allowed all of us to experience the local foods and were all very tasty. Kudos to Erick, Johan and the rest of the crew for making my experience once in a lifetime which I will never stop talking about.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • Amazing Adventure

    “what an amazing adventure we had! we enjoyed every bit of our Jaguar trip and would recommend Active Adventures to anyone who asks! The trip was very well organized and the guides were all informative and amazing. Our main guide, Erick Farfan was the best! he always made sure everything ran smoothly and had to deal with many different personalities on this trip but made it all work. The Inka trail was a tough trail for me due to the altitude but what an amazing feeling once you complete it and arrive at the sun gate! We thoroughly enjoyed the jungle as well as the visit to lake titicaca and our local family that we stayed with. look forward to our next amazing adventure with you! Hoping to do Patagonia soon!”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, June 2017
  • Family adventure

    “Wonderful way to spend time together being active and exploring”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, June 2017
  • Would Go Again in a Heartbeat!

    “We have had two wonderful experiences with your company. Each one was a trip of a lifetime. We are so fortunate to have found out about your company. Thank you.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Iguana, June 2017
  • Barb's Review

    “Our guides (we had 2 because of the split of trail that the team choose to take) were very knowledgeable, attentive, and extremely personable and made the trip wonderful!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Go and See Machu Picchu and Experience Peru.

    “Our trip to Peru was fantastic. We hiked, biked and paddled in Peru. Every day was an adventure. I like that we got to experience the real Peru. I didn't feel like a tourist, I felt like an adventurer. We walked through markets, met children along the Inca trail, ate delicious food and even stayed at a local family's home. We were treated very well. We were blown away by the chef's culinary skill while trekking along the Inca trail. Our guide was personable and knowledgeable. Our group was small, also a huge plus. We will book another trip with Active Adventures. This was our second. Small groups, good food, active friends, great leadership, well run. What is not to like? Thank you, all.”
    – Texas, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Still smiling....

    “Words can't describe the amazing adventure of a lifetime my best buddy and I experienced in Peru with your Active Adventure team! The smiles on our face every time thinking about it paint the perfect picture of our wonderful, amazing experience and trip of a lifetime! Our guide, Daniel , was so attentive, thoughtful, fun and enthusiastic. We felt like we were travelling with a caring friend who was so excited to share his beautiful country with us! We were challenged and encouraged, and enjoyed absolutely every minute of this amazing trip! It would not have been the same without our smiling leader Daniel!!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Active in Peru.

    “I loved my jaguar trip to Peru. The history and Inca ruins were fascinating, the local people we met were all friendly and welcoming, the new friends I made on the trip were lots of fun(we were a great team) - and I loved the Llamas! I saw the best of Peru on foot, by bike and by kayak - a great way to experience such a richly cultural and historic country.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Jaguar, May 2017
  • Everything flowed: shuttles, vans, boats, bikes

    “I am mostly a solo traveler and this AA trip was a series of smooth and timely connections from one event to another. Guides Daniel and Johan were informative
    and personable. A+ to them.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • Phenonmenal Guide

    “Zac is a phenomenal guide - his knowledge of Peru and its history, his sense of humor, enthusiasm, leadership, attention to detail, and clear concern for the well-being of each member of the group made him the best guide I've ever met!”
    – Colorado, United States Iguana, May 2017
  • A-MA-ZING!!

    “We had such a great time. Every day was a new and exciting adventure. Our guide, Daniel, made sure we were well taken care of and we learned and enjoyed so much of the Peruvian culture. I would unhesitatingly recommend this trip!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, May 2017
  • epic adventure

    “The group was outstanding; the guides were top notch. The Lares Inca trail was the hardest hike I have ever done because of the elevation, but the cultural immersion and glam camping softened the effort. Hot water bottles at bedtime anyone? Fleece liners for your sleeping bag? The trips to the Amazon and Lake Titikaka were equally wonderful, but the combination of the physical challenge with the people in the mountains, and the incredible scenery moving from the Lares to the Sacred Valley just couldn't be beat.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Jaguar, April 2017
  • The trip of my dreams!

    “The Iguana trip was better than was advertised! I had prepared for the trip to Peru by reading about the history of the area in the book, The Last Days of the Incas, by Kim MacQuarrie. When we visited the many different Inca sites, the history came alive for me. I could picture the great battles, and the capture of the Inca rulers, and the narrow escapes. It was wonderful! Cuzco was a beautiful city surrounded by mountain peaks and full of many good places to eat. After Peru, going to the Galapagos was like a beach vacation in the most beautiful place in the world. We loved snorkeling and seeing the giant land tortoises. We saw every animal associated with the Galapagos and more! I still can't believe I was lucky enough to find this trip with Active Adventures. Top notch all the way around. Thank you to our wonderful guides who we loved!”
    – Texas, United States Iguana, April 2017
  • Awesome Jaguar

    “This trip was flat-out amazing! Peru is incredibly beautiful and its climate diverse, and we saw so much and we did so much. Our traveling companions were terrific and we laughed a lot. Our guides were so capable and so knowledgeable that we felt immersed in the culture. We could really feel the magic of the Incas and the reverence for Pacha Mama which continues to this day.”
    – Minnesota, United States Jaguar, February 2017
  • “We loved it! Erick our guide was super patient, knew the culture, knowledgeable, concerned with safety! We would do one with Erick again in a heartbeat!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, February 2017
  • Incredible

    “Second trip with Active Adventures and was impressed with their organization and activities. Zac, a native of Cusco, was our guide. He provided my family with the most amazing experience of Peru. Zac was informative, fun, and the best guide we have ever experienced!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Jaguar - April 2016

    “Zac was an incredible tour guide - he was very knowledgeable, encouraging and had a great sense of humor!! This was the experience of a lifetime - hiking the Inca Trail, trekking in the Amazon Jungle and seeing monkeys, caiman, capybaras, a sloth and a tarantula, and boating around Lake Titicaca - it truly was an "Active Adventure" that we'll never forget!!”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Fun Adventure

    “Active Adventures does an excellent job of organizing adventure trips that allow you to actively explore the country and experience the local culture. This trip was an outstanding opportunity to see the entire country of Peru. It was wonderful to hike the Inca Trail and see Machu Pichu, explore the beautiful town of Cusco, visit the Amazon as well as the different islands of Lake Titicaca.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Amazing trip - learned so much, and want to come back

    “3rd trip with Active Adventures, and all have been wonderful, stupendous, eye opening, with fabulous guides, and staff. Peru was an amazing country to visit; beautiful scenery, people, and culture. The Inca and pre-Incan archeology were of course incredible to see first hand. However, this was greatly enhanced by the depth of knowledge and historical context that our guide, Daniel, supplied. The lodge in the Amazon was my personal favorite place I have ever stayed - so beautiful, and a true experience to see the wild macaws, toucans, peccaries..... and so on. Lake Titicaca was beautiful and so rich in such a variety of cultures, and languages! Daniel our guide was incredibly gracious, kind, knowledgeable. The food was great, and the places we stayed as always with Active - fun, interesting and quite comfortable. Most of all, we were so impressed with the behind the scenes staff. The first day of our trip we were unable to make our first destination due to an airline problem. Active's staff scrambled to rearrange our entire itinerary so that we didn't miss anything. This meant rescheduling flights, permits, room reservations, etc.... and all over the Christmas Holidays. A true test of a great group of people is how they respond when something unexpected happens, and Active's staff proved how adept they were. From our point of view, everything was perfect and smooth, but we recognize and truly appreciate the work that went on behind the scenes to give us such a great experience. Thanks to all.”
    – California, United States Capybara, January 2017
  • Jaguar Adventure

    “Loved the Jaguar trip, and especially our guide, Erick. The trip covered a lot of ground over two weeks and we learned a lot about Peru. Food was amazing! The Lares trail was tough but stunning. Really enjoyed the Amazon and Lake Titicaca - especially the local experiences on the island in the lake. If Active Adventures has options in other areas where I am looking to go, they will be my first consideration!! Thanks for another wonderful trip!”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, January 2017
  • Jaguar - What an Inca-redible Trip!!!!

    “Travelling alone to South America seemed a little daunting but Zac made the whole experience easy and unforgettable. Despite not knowing anyone in my group at the outset we all got on extremely well and thanks to Zac's invaluable knowledge learnt so much about an amazing country.
    The itinerary was extremely well planned and varied, from hiking and kayaking to becoming familiar with the local culture and people.
    The food was fantastic - we even ate cake halfway up the mountain!!
    This whole experience has left me with an appetite for more and I can't wait to do it again.
    Thank you Zac and Active Adventures. You truly made 2016 for me :)”
    – Matabeleland, Zimbabwe Jaguar, January 2017
  • Jaguar, November 2016

    “This trip truly was an 'active adventure', and exceeded my expectations in so many ways.
    Peru is such a beautiful country, rich in history, and culture. All of our guides were superb, but Erick as our trip host absolutely made this trip worry free, a true learning experience, and SO much fun! If it's all in the details, Erick and Active covered them all and more!
    I arrived as a solo traveler and left having made friends and memories that I will treasure always.
    Thank you Active Adventures, until next time!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Jaguar, December 2016
  • Phil and Marje

    “Wonderful trip. We really enjoyed Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the days over in the jungle. The best thing was our guide, Erick, who was interesting, informative, extremely well prepared but most important a lot of fun to travel with. He's one of the best guides we've ever had.”
    – Colorado, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Machu Picchu Oct 2016

    “Two friends and I were part of the Jaguar Trip to southern Peru. We elected to do only the Machu Picchu portion and not Lake Titicaca or jungle portions. Cuzco, the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu were well worth the trip. There is so much to learn about the ancient Peruvian cultures. Of 13 people 2 developed altitude problems and Active Adventure staff were excellent in caring for them and adjusting schedules and hikes to match the remaining hikers. I credit them with making the trip so enjoyable. This is my second trip with Active and I recommend them highly. The food and support personnel were top notch.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • You have to go on this trip

    “This is my second Active Adventures trip and like the first it was above and beyond what one can expect. I am looking forward to my third one. The adventure is exactly what I love, the guides are the BEST, the food and places we stayed were excellent. This trip is truly one of the trips that you will never ever forget.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Great experience

    “We loved our experience!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Wonderful adventure

    “It exceeded expectations”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Going solo, coming home with 7 new friends

    “Really enjoyed my trip with Erick. He was a great guide, and a good friend.
    The best part of an Active trip is having supper every night with your new friends with a host who knows the best places to go and picks up the tab. (so to speak)”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, December 2016
  • “My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary by taking the Jaguar trip, and as we boarded our flight home we agreed that it was the greatest adventure of our lives. Our guide Cynthia was nothing less than spectacular--outstanding in every way.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Jaguar Trip

    “Thanks Active Adventures for making this another trip of a lifetime. This is our second trip and once again it met all our expectations and more. Our guide, Erick, did an outstanding job keeping the trip exciting, educational and enjoyable.”
    – Alaska, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Nov. 6 Jaguar with Erick

    “This trip was an absolutely outstanding experience for myself and my husband! Everything was so wonderful! Our guide Erick selected outstanding places to eat and made superb meal recommendations. I am thankful that he was able to control the weather while we were there. The people, landscape, culture and architecture were over the top. Erick was so patient and fun to be with. Our group couldn't have been better traveling companions. All of our activities were well paced and very doable. We love Active Adventures! This was our second trip to South America with Active and we look forward to booking another trip with them soon.”
    – Alaska, United States Jaguar, December 2016
  • Knowledgeable Guides

    “Our Classic Inca Trail Guide, Puma, showed me how much he loved this land and the people who lived on the land, both present and future!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • Like an Inca in Peru

    “This trip was better than I could've ever expected. The Inca Trail was the most incredible hardest thing I've ever done both mentally and physically and I could not have done it without our guide Zac and my new found friend Cynthia. Machu Picchu was the perfect culmination to the pilgrimage. The rest of the trip and all of my other wonderful new friends including our guide Erick will never be forgotten. I will be talking about this trip for years to come and cannot wait to go on my next Active Adventure!”
    – New York, United States Jaguar, November 2016
  • South America Adventure

    “As a first time traveller to South America it was a great comfort to travel with local guides who were not only proficient in Spanish but also more importantly familiar with all of the great local places to visit. Pepo and Zac were invaluable guides, they made us feel welcome from the first minute. Pepo had great insight about the Galapagos Islands and the time we spent at his family tree-house was great fun. Zac is full of knowledge about Peru, the sacred valley, the Incas and recommendations for the best places to eat. The professionalism displayed by Zac as our tour guide was unbelievable! He was able to seamlessly re-organise our trip schedule as there was a local strike with road closures. His knowledge of the area and the people meant that we hardly even noticed the change in our itinerary. I cannot recommend him enough! I have previously traveled with Active in New Zealand so I knew that I was in for a lovely trip. My expectations were well met and my only criticism is that the tour wasn't longer! The trip has opened my eyes to the beauty of Peru and the Galapagos and now I just can't wait to go back and it explore it even more.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Iguana, November 2016
  • Fantastically organized

    “The planning, organization and minute by minute support provided by Active Adventures was top notch. Erick was always there for us and the additional guides that we had along the way for cycling, kayaking and jungle tours were excellent. We really enjoyed the surprises that Erick provided to top off our days! Except for Lima, there were not a lot of English speaking locals in Peru, so I found it imperative to have such good local guides. We were also impressed with the food and equipment provided for cycling, kayaking and the support on the Inca trail. Active Adventures is a great company to work with!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • Best trip ever!

    “We had a fantastic time and I must give top marks to Active Adventures. The whole trip was orchestrated wonderfully from start to finish. We could see that all contingencies were anticipated well before the trip commenced and it ran very smoothly. I talked with a person who did not use this company and the difference was like night and day.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • BEST TRIP EVER!!!

    “First of all, I want to say what a FANTASTIC "Jaguar" trip we had with Active Adventures in Peru. After talking with many other travellers we meet in Peru, Active Adventures were head and shoulders above other tour groups. They meet and exceeded my expectations. Thanks to the best guides "Eric" and our 4 day Inca hike Guide "Puma". They started as our guides and we finished as friends.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • One from the bucket list

    “We had high expectations for this trip and they were exceeded!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, November 2016
  • My Excellent Active Adventure!

    “Such a fabulous trip. The challenge of hiking at altitude, biking and kayaking through some amazing scenery, and experiencing the culture and the diversity of Peru is something I will always remember. I was so impressed with everyone involved - our guide (Erick), our trail specialist (Puma), our activity specialists for the Amazon, biking and kayaking, our porters on the trail, and the support they received in dealing with any and all issues that arose during the two weeks.”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, October 2016
  • Awesome Active Adventure

    “We had been told how well organized the trip would be but we were blown away by the organized, efficient and professional manner in which all of the staff conducted themselves and their duties. Not having to worry about tents and campsites and food allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the scenery and the people we encountered. Our guides Eric and Jose were excellent historians as well as trailblazers and were especially good at adjusting our trek through the Andes since we had some health and fitness issues to deal with (including Debby having an intestinal problem on the very first day of our journey).”
    – Kentucky, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • A true meeting

    “A trip that allows you to meet with the true peruvian insider ..... You just keep asking for more”
    – , New Caledonia Jaguar, October 2016
  • “A stellar bucket list trip with outstanding guides. The Peru part of our trip was complicated by a local strike causing havoc with our original itinerary but Zac and the Active Adventures folks were amazing in rearranging the itinerary, lodging, meals, etc. Pepo was super in the Galagagos. Both parts of the trip were great fun and very professionally run. Very active but doable for four of us in our 60's.”
    – Illinois, United States Iguana, October 2016
  • Peru and Galapagos Islands

    “The two regions of this trip were so different. In Peru, learning about Inca history, seeing the structures that they built with minimal tools and that have survived for centuries and getting to spend time in small towns and interacting with local artisans was fabulous. The Galapagos Islands were a wildlife fest with snorkeling, kayaking and boat rides between islands and viewing sea "creatures" in the shallows and deep water. You also hiked volcanos and saw land tortoises, iguanas and the topography change as you go from lush to lava fields. Wonderful experiences”
    – Illinois, United States Iguana, October 2016
  • Jaguar trip 9-16

    “I was interested in this trip because I had always dreamed of going to Machu Picchu and the only reason I was traveling to Peru was because that is where Machu Picchu was. As it turned out, getting to Machu Picchu was great but it wasn't even one of the highlights of the trip! I am so glad I went on this trip with Active Adventures because it exposed us to much more of Peru than we would have seen had we just trekked to Machu Picchu. Erick our guide was like our "peruvian google" who could answer just about any question we had about his country. As with the Condor trip I took to Patagonia last year, I always felt taken care of and could relax because all the little details were worked out by Erick and his Active Adventures Crew. Couldn't have had a better time in Peru than our Jaguar trip!”
    – Hawaii, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • Colorful Peru!

    “Peru is a marvelous canvas of color, music and history; beautiful people, delicious food and breathtaking scenery. This adventure to Peru was amazing! It was a dynamic journey full of beauty and fun. From an unforgettable hike at the Lares Inca Trail to submerging into the life of the local families at Amantani Island! Everything during the trip was executed in an organized and safe manner. Thank you to our fantastic group leader, Erick, and to all my lovely travel Amigos for making this adventure a colorful one! This is how you celebrate Life!
    Abinette from Puerto Rico”
    – South Carolina, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • “The adventure begins to become just a wonderful memory. Over all the trip was amazing and the organisation with its (almost) all inclusive arrangements was impressive. There were so many high spots, it is hard to give a single highlight. The stay on Amantani island was very special, the views in the Andes were spectacular, the hotels were comfortable and the food everywhere was plentiful and delicious.
    One of the best things about this trip was meeting such a lovely group of fellow travellers. We had such fun together. Erick our guide was very efficient and hard working. He must have found it challenging to shepherd such a lively group around but he managed to make it great fun as well as keeping us safe and free of worry.
    All in all I am so happy that I took this trip and will recommend Active Adventures to anyone considering such an adventure.”
    – North Somerset, United Kingdom Jaguar, October 2016
  • Amazing

    “Every detail surprised and delighted.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, October 2016
  • Awesome experience

    “It was a life changing experience... I highly recommend this trip to everyone.”
    – Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada Jaguar, October 2016
  • Once in a Life Time Experience

    “The entire staff on the trip from our incredible guide to the individual drivers made the trip amazing even when things don't go the way you want them to.”
    – New Jersey, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • Fantastic Peru!

    “The guides were great; the weather was perfect (even the snow just after cresting a 15,000' peak); the sites were amazing; the activities well planned and thought out. Every excursion went smoothly and all told it was a fantastic trip.”
    – Virginia, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • “Excellent combination of cultural and geographic aspects of Peru. Trip was well organized and well led. Hiking the Inca Trail was definitely the highlight!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Jaguar, September 2016
  • Great trip!

    “We had a smart, funny, and skilled guide who showed us beautiful and amazing things. Peru was incredible, it was a great trip.”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • My first taste of Sth America

    “The trip lived up to all that it offered and more. The organisation and the guides were exemplary. Fully recommend it to all active golden oldies!!”
    – Auckland, New Zealand Iguana, August 2016
  • Jaguar 2016

    “The world is a diverse place. Peru is a must-see. The Jaguar trip by Active South America gives you a very good sampling of what this country is about from the cities and towns to the mountain to the jungle to the lake environments and the peoples and wildlife which make them home. This is quite the challenging trip for those of us who are relative lowlanders. This was our third trip with Active and they never disappoint. The guides are always first rate as they do everything possible to help you maximize your enjoyment of the trip no matter the circumstances. We love adventure and surely there will be more trips in our future. Out of the many many choices today Active will always be given first consideration.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Capybara Adventure!

    “I recently went to on the Capybara tour with my son. We had Arturo as our guide. I was so happy with this tour. I found Active Adventures online. I read the reviews and had phone conversations with staff and emails who were always happy to answer any of my many questions. My 19 year old son worked hard to pay for his part of the tour and I wanted it to be really great for him especially.
    We both had the best time. We were fed amazing food that I never expected. I had no idea that we would be having such healthy and tasty meals. We were always told what the plan the next day was going to be and in detail. Any needs we had Arturo would make sure they were met. He was absolutely the best. A very educated, kind, thoughtful and funny young man. Could not have been happier with tour itenarary and our tour guide, Arturo. Would do another Active Adventures tour again and actually looking at booking one for next year! Thank you for a really special trip with my dear son! Many happy memories forever.”
    – Utah, United States Capybara, August 2016
  • The best of Peru

    “Our trip with Cynthia and Zac was super well organized and so informative. We were well informed about what to expect for every meal, hike, bike ride, flight and boat trip. This was enhanced by what was the best crew team in Peru. Every person connected with our Active Adventure was so welcoming. We learned so much about the history of the Inca's, the wildlife and foliage, customs of areas and current issues. Amazing meals on the Inca trail and adventures on picnics and in restaurants. It was truly a perfect and unforgettable active adventure!”
    – Alberta, Canada Jaguar, August 2016
  • Macchu Picchu JULY24 2016

    “We were on the Jaguar trip and had no complaints whatsoever! Cynthia Valladores was our trip leader, she was absolutely fantastic. My girlfriend got sick and was on the verge of not hiking when she arranged for a doctor which allowed her to make the hike. All that expense and planning would have been for nothing! She made ALL the difference!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Amazing experience

    “Everything was perfect!!! Cynthia, our group leader, is amazing!!! Every detail is attended to and we were very well taken care of. I was very pleasantly surprised how good the food was while hiking the Inca trail! That cook is able to make a better meal on a hiking trail than most people can make in a fully stocked kitchen!!!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Wonderful Trip

    “Terrific Trip!! Beautiful Country! Terrific Organization! Wonderful Guides! Great Food! I was very impressed with Cynthia and Puma and all the others that contributed to making this kind of trip possible. It is a sign of a well run organization when it values and hires such terrific people. They took very good care of us, were extremely well educated, and were very easy to get along with not to mention patient and fun. The Inca Trail views were absolutely breath taking but this really was a very well rounded trip. I enjoyed the cities of Cuzco and Puno, the trip to Porto Maldonado and the jungle with the extremely interesting hotel, and Lake Titicaca with our trips to a couple of the islands and stay with one of the families. Our tour of Lima was a great way to finish off our trip. One more thing-the food was absolutely the best. I have never eaten that well.”
    – Minnesota, United States Jaguar, August 2016
  • Amazing trip to Peru

    “Our trip to Peru surpassed my expectations. Cynthia our trip leader was amazing and truthfully made our experience a once in a lifetime one. I would most definitely travel with Active Adventures again in the future!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventures!

    “Active Adventures totally lived up to their name for our trip in Peru! Hiking the Inka trail, boating on the amazon, fishing for piranhas, cycling to the sacred valley and kayaking on Lake Titicaca we were active every day of the trip! Thank you Cynthia, Zack and the amazing team at Active Adventures for the trip of a lifetime in Peru!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Re-energised

    “This trip was certainly "active". The Lares trail was my highlight and pushed me to the limits. It was wonderful to share this trip with such an amazing group of people of all ages. The guides were superb.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Jaguar, July 2016
  • Jaguar to Peru June 19

    “This truly was the trip of a lifetime! Peru is a beautiful and fascinating country. Active adventures is a first rate organization and we were well prepared upon arrival and throughout the trip. We cycled, hiked, camped and journeyed into the jungle. All equipment was first rate and the food excellent. Loved Erick, a wonderful guide in every regard. Daniel as well was terrific.
    Our group of ten were fearless and hilarious. Would do this again tomorrow. Thank you Active!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing time!

    “We had an amazing time on our Active Adventures Jaguar trip to Peru. The Active Adventures team were incredible, taking care of everything so well. Our guide for the whole two weeks, Cynthia, was so friendly and went over and above multiple times to make sure that everyone had a great time. The Inca Trail was tough, and the weather didn't entirely cooperate, but when we finally got to Macchupicchu it was so worth it. Just seeing that stunning place made the journey worthwhile, but then the rainforest and Lake Titicaca were waiting for us! I'd highly recommend this trip and this company, and they certainly live up to their name!”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventure

    “I was unsure of exactly what I signed up for when I started this trip but it truly was the trip of a lifetime. Each day we had something unique and exciting planned. We were never board and the adventures we participated in soon helped our tour group bond together and become a second family. The tour was very well organized and our tour leader was excellent.”
    – Indiana, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • We did it! With style and fun!

    “This was a bucket list trip of a lifetime! Active Adventures went above and beyond to make us comfortable, safe and we had a bunch of fun from the Andes to the Amazon!”
    – Oregon, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Why Peru?

    “Reasons to go to Peru? Fabulous food, people, culture and geography.
    Reasons to choose Active Adventures? Outstanding local guides (notably Erick) who provide a myriad of experiences for a complete & truly active immersion experience.”
    – California, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Couldn't Have Done It Ourselves

    “From four course picnics to an entire team to assist in the trek, we simply couldn't have had the same experience if we'd planned our own trip. Our guide Erick was simply the best. A wonderful trip!”
    – Washington, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Jaguar June 2016

    “Well ran trip. Very active itinerary. You will be tired. Lots of early mornings but ultimately worth it. History at every turn. Cynthia was/is awesome. All of our guides were great and passionate. All very knowledgeable. If you want to see Peru and Macchu Picchu, this is the way. Details are handled, flights on the trip handled for you. Any concerns addressed and handled. Highly encourage anyone to take this trip. This is my second trip with Active and I am sure there will be more.”
    – Indiana, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Amazing adventure - amazing guide

    “The trip from beginning to end was an incredible, although challenging, experience. I would not have thought it was possible to jam so many incredible experiences into so short of time. The variety of experiences, activities, and landscapes was amazing. And Cynthia was the most incredible guide to show us all through it.”
    – Maine, United States Jaguar, July 2016
  • Peru a country with oppurtunities for the future

    “What struck me traveling in Peru was beside the wonderful nature, the healthy way of living. Healthy food, healthy people with healthy teeth. Not so much stress as we are used to nowadays. I would like to go back!”
    – Värmland, Sweden Jaguar, July 2016
  • Great trip!

    “The trip was overall amazing. The guides were all very knowledgeable and were always trying to make the trip more comfortable and enjoyable. I really could not be more impressed. Each of them was likeable and friendly (as well as informational). They took us to great sites and great restaurants. 5 star!!!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Iguana, July 2016

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.