Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our Patagonia trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past guests. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about our 'Condor' trip their forums if you like! 

 
  • Patagonia adventure

    “If you want amazingly beautiful scenery, get in shape and take this trip! The hiking is very difficult at times, but the mountains, glaciers, and lakes are unbelievable. Our guides were patient and encouraging when I thought I could not go one more step. And nothing can take the place of the feeling you get when you round that final curve and come across the most beautiful view you have ever seen in your life. Except the feeling the next day, when the view is even more amazing!”
    – South Carolina, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Seeing Patagonia my way

    “Our trip to Patagonia with Active South America was just what I had hoped for, having traveled with Active in New Zealand. With all the accommodations, meals, and transportation provided, I could put my energy into hiking to the glacial lakes and peaks that were even more awesome than I had expected them to be. I appreciated the well-chosen trails and local guides who taught us about the land and customs, and for me, about my special interest, birds. The warm welcome and special service we received at every hotel and restaurant was thanks to our guide Cynthia who has endeared herself to the Chilean and Argentinian hosts who treated us as her special friends. Cynthia is a pro. While warm, energetic, enthusiastic and fun, she is on top of the details and can solve problems when they arise. Walking in the beech forest, wading in glacial lakes, kayaking beside enormous icebergs, and hiking to the base of towering granite peaks are experiences I will remember always. Thank you, Active!”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Tony's Excellent Patagonia Adventure

    “From our first gathering Sunday evening at our hotel in Punta Arenas to our departure 14 days later from El Calafate, the Condor adventure was spectacularly beautiful, challenging and exhausting at times, congenial, very well organized and guided, and unforgettable. Our trip leader Cynthia Valadares handled every detail with apparent ease and dealt with any challenges with ease and grace. Our guides in Torres del Paine NP and in El Chalten shared their deep love and knowledge of these areas, each step of the way.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Condor January 2017.

    “Ever since reading Bruce Charwin's in Patagonia I have been intrigued by Patagonia. So after 40 years my dream came true and, in spite of not always perfect weather, it exceeded my high expectations.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Condor Trip

    “In my opinion, the unique aspect of this trip is the ability to hike in Patagonia in both Chile and Argentina. Each offers a very different hiking experience and scenery-- the W-trek and glaciers of Chile and the high mountains of Argentina. Both are spectacular. Appreciated the varied itinerary including kayaking and biking and the knowledgable and friendly guides.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Our Condor trek was absolutely amazing! Everything promised in the brochure happened. Cynthia, our guide, was outstanding. She went above and beyond to make sure our trek was the best. I really don't know how one person could do what she did. She treated everyone like family. The accommodations, transportation, food, trekking experience were second to none! You need to be in shape. Your always on the go. The W trek was exciting, great views. The kayaking and glacier climb were really fun. The view of Fitz Roy from the lake is world class, absolutely breathtaking! If you want to get great trekking experience and be tired at the end of the day, do this one!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Patagonia Trip of a Lifetime

    “This was an amazing adventure in Patagonia! We had the best group of people, our guides were superior and the adventures were non-stop day by day. The hiking was absolutely stunning, the food was fabulous, the accommodations were wonderful and oh, the wine-superior. Everything about this trip was awesome!”
    – South Carolina, United States Condor, February 2017
  • “It really was the trip of a lifetime! I have never been to a more beautiful place and would go back in a heartbeat if I could!
    Cynthia, our guide, was simply amazing, managing to keep 14 different people happy and never making it seem like it was any effort at all. She is a wonderful ambassador for Patagonia!”
    – Texas, United States Condor, February 2017
  • “Awesome trip. Even though I went by myself, not knowing anyone, I still had an amazing time. Tough spot to get to but well worth it. Guides are knowledgeable, fun to be with, and I'm already researching my next trip.”
    – New York, United States Condor, February 2017
  • The unparalleled Patagonia Experience

    “ACTIVE Patagonia is a direct uninterrupted experience through one's feet, eyes and all other senses. It's an intense absorption of Patagonia with all its amazing beauty. One is in and with Nature to the fullest extent, surrounded by magnificent landscapes.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Amazing!

    “This trip was amazing in so many ways that I am still trying to process all the beautiful places we hiked!
    Our excellent guide Cynthia made the whole trip so easy that all we had to do was to enjoy our surroundings!!”
    – Texas, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Viento, viento, y mas viento

    “I saw a t-shirt in El Chalten with this printed on it. Now I get it! Even with the wind, rain, some very hard trails, I wouldn't trade this trip for anything (well maybe a little less rain). It was set in the most dramatic places I have ever been, had great guides, and was a personal challenge that I'm very proud to have completed. The beauty of Patagonia will stay with me forever. Thank you Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • A trip of a lifetime

    “Our Condor trip with Cynthia was a trip of a lifetime. Cynthia did a wonderful job of teaching us about Patagonia. The trip had a terrific balance of hiking, kayaking and biking.”
    – Ohio, United States Condor, January 2017
  • The Majesty of the Mountains

    “The beauty of Patagonia is inspiring. It's physically challenging with the frequent changes in weather but so worth the awesome scenery. The camaraderie among some of the fellow hikers was great. Think I met some new life-long friends!”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia Overload

    “Patagonia has been on my "bucket list" for a number of years and I finally got the opportunity to check that off the list. I researched a few other adventure companies but felt that Active Adventures offered the most diversity at a price point that was competitive with everyone else. I was not disappointed. From the very first meeting with Cynthia in Punta Arenas until our goodbye in El Calafate, the trip was as good as I expected. Cynthia was a 5 star trip leader and you never had to worry that things were being taken care of. All the hotels and restaurants that we were at were first rate. Excellent meals and comfortable place to stay. Even the Refugio's on the "W" trek were fun places to stay. The hiking we did was great and the hikes were not exactly "cupcake" hikes. You really needed to be in shape. Our two different hiking guides, Jim and Luis were top notch. Friendly and very informative. It was a pleasure being around them. From a visit to Magdalena Island to see the penguins, to a hike on Grey Glacier and a visit to Perito Moreno Glacier, it was all a thrill. Even the bike ride on a unpaved road was a challenge.
    For anyone that wants a great trip to Patagonia, I would highly recommend Active Adventures Condor Trip. Cynthia was the bomb!”
    – North Carolina, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Condor with Cynthia

    “Great trip. Cynthia is the best in organizing and taking care of everyone. I've done two trips with Active with Cynthia as guide. This company and guide are best. They cover all the details and are prompt in responding to questions. They are my first choice for overseas trips.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia 2016

    “Trip was amazing - Harder the hikes the better the view”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “Patagonia is a fascinating place. The scenery was stupendous, some of the hiking was a bit challenging but all worth it.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Latitude 53 degrees and Loving It,

    “What a privilege it was to travel to Patagonia with three generations of our family. It is such a beautiful part of the world but also, so removed from the anxieties and pressures of the modern, social media/plugged-in world, and the Trump nastiness. The trekking was especially beautiful with the wild flowers in bloom and sunshine on our shoulders.

    Active Adventures organized us perfectly in the sense that our transportation, refugios, and food were efficiently and tastefully selected. Arturo was so, so nice to our grandkids. Chem was delightful and so kind. What brilliant new friends we made and how kind and inclusive they were with the teenagers we had in tow.

    We loved the ACTIVE in Adventures. We earned our good meals and good beds by stretching our limits over our two week trek. My husband and I were by far the oldest pair on the trail, but we loved it and who knows, maybe we will be back for our 60th anniversary.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Fantabulous

    “A simply amazing trip-- pristine scenery, magical and majestic mountains, and all coordinated seamlessly by a fantastic trip leader and guides. Our family of seven-- spanning the ages of 78 to 12-- was perfectly supported, educated, and delighted by Arturo or trip leader and the local guides. They are all kind, fun, and experienced. Cem was true to his name, a gem, ever so patient with those of us with sore joints, and always with a sparkle or story to share.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Squeege perfect

    “Mountains, rock climbing, kayaking, penguins, glaciers, flamingos, and awesome food-- patagonia has it all! Arturo's laugh made me laugh all that much harder, and Cem is the best at everything adventurous. An incredible Christmas present for us all!”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • It rocked!

    “Awesome group trip, especially from someone who likes to do it on their own. Guides, travel arrangements, ease of it all was incredible-- perfect.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia's Greatest Hits

    “A well-curated tour of Patagonia's greatest hits. The well-organized activities and well-informed guides assured us of worry-free comfort and meaningful insights to the parade of Patagonian delights that dazzled our eyes and tickled our palates. (The farewell dinner done in a quincho expertly executed by the parillero was an over-the-top carnivorous feast capped by the lip-smacking, artery-clogging Mata Hambre.) Arturo and Anna charmed with their hospitality, solicitousness, and good humor. While I found the fitness level required was more than advertised, the gregarious guides and cheerfully chill companions kept the mood light and fun.”
    – Metro Manila, Philippines Condor, January 2017
  • Better than expected

    “I had done one group tour before and lots of hiking with my local hiking club, but this tour was beyond what I was expecting. The people, the guide, the coordination and logistics - all were fantastic and well done. Of course, what truly made the trip was the amazing location and breathtaking adventure.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Awesome

    “Just returned from two weeks travelling with Active Adventures in Patagonia and it could not have been better. The scenery was spectacular, the days and evenings varied and interesting and we ate and were treated like royalty. Everything was first class on our trip including our tour leader Arturo Rojas who was professional and just awesome in every way. We had a group of 15 trekkers and we very quickly became fast friends. I'm sure there are many companies out there but from my experience I don't think you can go wrong with Active Adventures. I'm already looking forward to my next trip with them.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “Patagonia, a true beauty. Massive, beastly mountains, lovely people, challenging hikes, all made for an unforgettable trip.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “One of my top trips!”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia Condor

    “Cem, our tour leader was fabulous as well as the local tour guides. The trip was amazing and simply beyond words. The scenery was so amazing that it made every step, every steep incline worth the efforts. Was disappointed that the penguin tour was cancelled due to weather on the first day. The food was excellent; Cem did a super job selecting the restaurants outside of the W Refugios.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime...

    “From ease of getting information about the trip, applying for it and being helped with all administrative necessities..... it was a pleasure to deal with "Active Adventures".
    The actual trip was very close to what was advertised and turned out to be a challenging adventure with great experiences and rewards.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Condor trip-a real active adventure

    “It was a great trip that I enjoyed very much. This is my 2nd tour with Active adventures since 2014. Our tour guides Arturo and Jim (on W-track) were great trip leaders and sincere, caring people, their presence throughout the trip is a key fact to make us feel safe and supported.

    The meals are very good and well arranged. The only venue that might need future improvement is the size of the vehicle that been employed for our group of 15-17 people.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Whoa! What an incredible trip!

    “There aren't any words that could properly prepare you for what is in store. Patagonia was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    Cynthia was an amazing guide, she took such good care of us! She routinely went above and beyond to ensure we were safe, happy, healthy and well fed. What a gem she was! And on top of being great at her job, she's just an awesome person, fun, smart, flexible, just the kind of person you want touring you around the edge of the earth for 2 weeks.

    The trip itself was absolutely breathtaking. No photo could do that place justice. The W trail was an amazing hike full of ever changing views (and lots of wind!). Definitely, pay the extra to do the Grey Glacier hike! It was a trip highlight!

    Get ready to take your jacket on and off more in one day than you would over the course of a month back home :) Everything they say about the weather is true. You are at the mercy of the elements, but for the most part, we lucked out with weather (and when we didn't Cynthia always had a plan B).

    I'm so glad we did this! We will definitely be touring with Active again. Those folks do a stellar job of setting you up for an exciting adventure.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, December 2016
  • An eye opening experience.

    “When I first found the Active Adventures website I knew I had stumbled across something very special. I have wanted to visit Patagonia since I was a young kid, and when I saw the pictures of the people with Active Adventures smiling and laughing, I knew that I had to try it. Rarely in my experience is the actual experience better than I thought it could be. This is one of those times. Active Adventures paired me with a group of people who are diverse, interesting, fun, and surprising. They provide a guide who is excited about the experience as well, and who takes pride in doing a fantastic job for his or her group. Everything from deliciously prepared food in some of the finest restaurants in southern Chilè and Argentina, to putting in extra miles and hours hiking ensuring that the group members are satisfied and engaged with their experience. (Seriously, Arturo is awesome and at the very least deserves a bonus) You will not be sorry, I know I am not.”
    – Alabama, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Condor Adventures Dec 2016

    “Patagonia Chile and Argentina was my first visit to South America and the adventures were definitely everything I expected. My adventures with Cynthia and Active far exceeded everything I expected. Cynthia was an exceptional tour leader, full of knowledge, wit and charming kindness. She was attentive to every group member's needs and ensured that everyone was safe and well looked after. Filled with humour and wit, Cynthia is a highly efficient tour leader who is organized and passionate about leading groups. She always enjoyed being in the outdoors and spoke with excitement and knowledge about the highlights on the trip. Cynthia was always friendly, down to earth and very funny.
    The passion that she has for what she does helped to invigorate our group with a high and positive energy. The group that we had was an awesome group that came together and became like a small family in the short two weeks we spent together. My overall experience was more enriched because the group gelled and genuinely enjoyed one another's company. I spent two amazing weeks trekking Patagonia Chile and Argentina, experiencing some of nature's greatest landscapes. I'm grateful to have experienced it with the group we had, and for Cynthia, for helping to make a series of grand and treasured memories. I'll never forget my time in Patagonia. The tour was top-notch, greatly organized and run with efficiency. Thank you. A round of applause, Active!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2016
  • Spectacular Time!

    “We had a spectacular time in Patagonia! The venue was beautiful, challenging and exciting; Active did a great organizational job as well as Arturo our lead guide. Arturo is a multidimensional person that took great care of us at all times. Our group was very diverse, interesting spanning all age groups which got along great. Bottom line is that we had a fantastic time at a fantastic place with fantastic people. It was a very challenging trip that we are proud to have done.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2016
  • An incredible adventure

    “There are too many highlights to list them all, but seeing a puma hunt guanaco
    is a near tie with the unscheduled glacier river crossing. Had we not been with Active Adventures, we would not have been able to complete the 'W' trek, due to a downed bridge and shady Chilean politics. We were one of only four groups able to complete the full 'W' due to the 'puente malo' and our guides Arturo and Cem were super-starts getting the entire group across the river (x3)!

    Words can't describe how amazing the trip was and a huge part of that was how Active arranged it and adapted to the situations on the ground. I would definitely
    go on any of their other trips.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Absolutely Incredible

    “I truly never imagined the trip would be as awe-inspiring and soulful as it was. Our tour guide, Cynthia, was by far one of the most compassionate, caring, knowledgeable individuals I have ever met. She went above and beyond for everyone in our group and am incredibly grateful to have experienced this trip with her as our guide. The views of Patagonia are indescribable and the overall beauty surrounding one is almost surreal as to believe places like this exist in the world. I truly hope everyone has a chance in their life to take this trip and just soak in every second of the majestic beauty that engulfs you each and every day.”
    – Texas, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Patagonia Adventure

    “A wonderful trip with great views and excellent hiking. Our guides really took care of us and everything was handled beautifully. The accommodations and food were first rate. Loved the trip.”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Toughest hike yet but rewarding

    “The "W" was one of the toughest hikes we've undertaken because of straight line steep grades and rocky trails. But when we finished we felt like we had met the challenge and all our pre-trip workouts were worth it. Our guide, Cahit, was fantastic - knowledgeable, outgoing and optimistic. The adding of mountain biking and kayaking was a nice touch!”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Magnificent views

    “This was clearly one of the more spectacular trips we've taken because of the mountains, glaciers and beautiful weather. But it was a tough one. The W segment was a bit crowded so be ready to share a lot of the trail with a lot of people, especially at the refugios.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Condor Nov 16

    “have used Active in NZ for Rimu trip and Condor trip lived up to expectations. It's some of the simple things like size of groups, quality of guides etc that make the difference for me. The sorting out of tips and meals just makes for an easy time as I travel for the trekking not the organising :-) good stuff active. Thanks”
    – Essex, United Kingdom Condor, December 2016
  • Condor

    “Great trip. Been on several previous trips with other companies; this one was comparable. Food at restaurants was usually very good but bland at the refugios. Got to try out my paltry Spanish. Hiking with full packs not as burdensome as I anticipated. Scenery great. Rugged hikes but good trails. Cynthia and Jem were great guides. Well planned activities.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Amazing Time in Patagonia!

    “Beautiful weather, great lodging, and wonderful guide and group! Our leader, Cynthia really made this a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Alberta, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • Only 20 more minutes

    “The Condor trip in particular the W Trek was a challenge in that our belongings were transported not by porters but by ourselves. Jim and Cynthia were attentive to the group's different speeds of trekking and accommodated us accordingly. When they were asked how much further we had to struggle up or down hill the answer was always "just 20 more minutes". We soon learned Patagonian time is different! The trip was great. We had a great group of fellow travelers who enhanced the enjoyment even further.
    The scenery was indescribable, one must see it to appreciate the grandeur.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • Fantastic trip!

    “Had an amazing time on the Condor trip. This was my second time traveling with Active and they do not disappoint. The itinerary was wonderful and had the right balance between activity and a bit of down-time mixed in. The hiking and scenery were spectacular. I feel like I really got the flavor of Patagonia over the course of the two weeks. Highly recommend!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, February 2016
  • Spectacular treks

    “The treks planned for the "Condor" adventure vacation are beautiful beyond my ability to describe verbally or to capture on camera. They simply have to be experienced by doing the hikes. I thought no mountain views of shear granite could rival Yosemite. but I was wrong. Both Torres de Paine and Mount Fitzroy do just that.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2016
  • The Hardest Thing I've Ever Done

    “This was, indeed, the trip of a lifetime. All my interactions with AA prior to the trip were great. They were very friendly and made everything easy. The only thing is that they may have slightly understated the fitness level required to do well. But I did it!”
    – New Jersey, United States Condor, February 2016
  • The most imortant trip of my life

    “The hardest trip, and the best trip, came back in love with the journey.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • We made it! Top of the world trip!

    “One of the most challenging physical trips I have endured..... But every step was rewarded with the spectacular vistas, amazing weather and incredible experience”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • Patagonia

    “The Patagonia terrain is breathtakingly beautiful with craggy mountains, green glacial lakes, and expansive views. The hiking was challenging but the climbs were worth the effort as the vistas were spectacular. I loved the pace, the activities and the expertise provided by Active Adventures.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • 50 year old resets clock

    “I thought I was over the hill in middle age but this trip has reset my clock. I would do it again next week.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, February 2016
  • JAN 10 2016 Condor with Cynthia

    “The hikes were amazingly beautiful! After reaching an incredibly dramatic viewpoint, I would think, "This is the highpoint of the trip! There can't possibly be anything more breathtaking than this!" But I was wrong. Each hike brought new and splendid vistas beyond my imagination.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2016
  • Magic in Patagonia

    “I have seen the pictures, read the articles and looked at the maps. When I actually stood at the miradors (scenic vistas) and saw with my own eyes....well no words, no picture, no map can describe the utterly spectacular grandeur of this land.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, February 2016
  • Exceptional scenery, exceptional support, exceptional colleagues

    “We knew Patagonia would provide scenery like no other and this was beyond our expectations. We were lucky enough to have tremendous weather - NO Rain and barely any wind - so maybe we missed the full experience. Our guide Sebastian took care of every need and kept us on schedule. Our travel companions were a great group - tremendous nightly conversations on the day's events and the state of the world. All good. Get in shape and take this hike!”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, February 2016
  • Condor trip with Cynthia

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures, my first trip was Peru in 2014 and I didn't think that would ever be equaled. The Condor trip once again far exceeded my expectations and proved to be a physical challenge with the most spectacular views of mountains and glaciers you will ever see. Top this having Cynthia as our tour guide made the trip of a lifetime.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, January 2016
  • “Sebastian was amazing, kind, funny, knowledgable and supportive. Everything was so organized and communicated to us. I was very comfortable being in 2 countries that I didn't speak the language. We had a great group and really enjoyed spending time with them.”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Condor, Jan 10

    “It was a great trip, even with missing penguins because of bad weather, rest of trip was excellent with perfect weather, got lucky with weather, Didn't need rain gear or warm weather gear but better to have and not need it. Some very tough hikes but knowing I completed them was very satisfying.
    Cynthia was an excellent guide, she was well organized and made trip go smoothly and always in a good mood and smiling. The variety of food was great as I enjoy trying the local cuisines. We were never hungry. Had plenty of rest between hikes and hot showers every night to refresh us.
    Great trip and would highly recommend it”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Amazing mountain views

    “Payagonia is the most beatiful area I have seen. Aided by almost perfect weather, we clearly saw the best and most rugged peaks. Challenging, but doable hikes, put us in the front row seats for amazing views. Cynthia, our guide, was terrific. Both extremely personable and a real pro with more experience than any other guide I have encountered. The 2 weeks were very well planned and everything went smoothly”
    – Michigan, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Condor

    “A fantastic trip around the breathtaking scenery of Patagonia. Hiking the W in Torres del Paine was something I'll never forget. Great group of like minded people surrounded by magnificent landscapes and lots of good stories made for a wonderful holiday. Sebastian was an exceptional guide, so organised and helpful but always making sure everyone was enjoying themselves and having a laugh. He managed the unexpected with true professionalism! He is a credit to your company :)”
    – Victoria, Australia Condor, January 2016
  • Best Vacation Ever!!!!!!

    “My fourth trip with Active and this was the best one yet. Once again they did a wonderful job organizing all the details and making sure everything ran smoothly. Our guide, Arturo, always picked the best restaurants. The hotels were clean and comfortable. There was always a planned activity with just the right amount of down time. The scenery in Chile/Argentina is stunning. This is a trip I would take over and over again.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Fantastic Patagonian Adventure trip

    “The trip far exceeded the written itinerary. Although we expected the incredible scenery that Patagonia has to offer, we were pleasantly surprised with the fantastic group of people we shared the experience with. Arturo's attention to detail made the trip effortless for us. Will definitely book another Active Adventure trip.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Great variety. Great people. Great trekking/hiking.

    “First of all, Arturo did a fabulous job. The itinerary was great. I love a physical trip and this qualified. W trek is right on par with the tour of Mont Blanc. Mount Fitzroy and El Chalten were spectacular. The group was great- mix of nations and ages. I'm signing up for my second Active trip for next year in New Zealand.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Patagonia feels like heaven on earth!

    “This was indeed a trip of a lifetime, and I truly mean it. I can't think of a better place where one feels so connected with nature. Patagonia has it all - from towering mountains to gorgeous valleys, from breathtaking glaciers to pearly-white snow, from rain to the sun, and I could go on and on. Everywhere I turned looked like a postcard. And above all, our group had some wonderful people and a great tour guide to make the trip even more memorable. Big thanks to Active Adventures for putting this together and for taking good care of us during the 2 weeks we were out there amidst sheer beauty.”
    – State/province, United Arab Emirates Condor, January 2016
  • Condor

    “I loved this trip.
    The itinerary is such that you really get to see and experience Patagonia. Everything surpassed my expectations from the accommodations, to the food, to the amazing hikes. You really get an up close tour through some of the most amazing landscapes in the world”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Absolutely amazing vacation!!!

    “This was truly a trip of a lifetime!! The views were amazing and we were blessed with terrific weather. I feel so accomplished by what I was able to achieve and loved the feeling of really being in the middle of nowhere.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, January 2016
  • “The trip leader was fantastic!”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2016
  • “Terrific locations with terrific guide! Every segment of the trip was very well thought out and the guide could not have been better in positively responding to ever changing (but normal) situations.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • “Terrific locations with terrific guide! Every segment of the trip was very well thought out and guide could not have been better in positively responding to ever changing (but normal) situations.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • “This was an incredible trip to a spectacular place. It was so well run. Sebastian was efficient and fun. Excellent job! The weather was perfect, but we were told not to count on that!”
    – New Hampshire, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “Wonderful collection and combination of spectacular scenery, outdoor activities, and good people in a fascinating part of the world. In addition to the rich fauna and flora, we loved learning about the rich history of Patagonia.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Condor(s) in Patagonia

    “Hiking in Chile and Argentina is terrific. The weather was a little bit of everything but the hiking was always superb. You need to be fit to enjoy the trip but penguins, guanacos, caracaras, rheas, foxes, what must be the world's largest rabbits and, of course, condors are wonderful. Did I mention stunning, granite walls, towers and glaciers?”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Unforgettable, Amazing, & Unique Experience

    “Where do I begin? Thank you to Active Adventures and Arturo Rojas for the most memorable trip I have ever been on. At first, I was nervous to travel alone to a foreign land, but as soon as I met Arturo and my fellow Active travelers, I felt so at home. The people I formed relationships with were so amazing, friendly, and full of energy. I loved the diversity this trip brought in ALL aspects. You meet people from all over the world, and you see every terrain from small beaches, to mountains, to big blue lakes (my favorite part of the trip) to mystical forests. The weather was a mixture of sun, rain, wind, and snow, and the wildlife scattered about is a great plus. The hikes were full of excitement with a good balance of intensity. Some days were VERY challenging, and others were just long walks in the park. 10/10 would recommend this company and trip to anyone even SLIGHTLY interested in traveling to Patagonia.”
    – Louisiana, United States Condor, January 2016
  • 2015 Patagonia

    “Our comprehensive trek through Patagonia was a true adventure with each day bringing new scenery and memorable experiences. The trip was well organized and the guides were a delight. There was a nice balance of "roughing it" combined with more relaxing moments. This is a beautiful area of the world - not to be missed.”
    – Maine, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Great Patagonia experience

    “Wonderful adventure as advertised, tremendous experience for myself (72 years), my wife and daughter. Sebastian was a great guide, leader and new friend..having previous backpacking experience I had in mind the challenges to be faced, I found a lot of comfort in being in the company of Sebastian and knew that we were safe and well looked after. The trails were more difficult than we anticipated and we, me in particular, should have been better prepared (in better shape) Leading a group trip is not an easy chore and I was impressed with Sebastian's leadership and focus on being safe, smart and enjoying the trip in that order. But..what awesome sights we experienced and the three of us were so full of personal accomplishment when we completed the adventure. The evening meals were a real treat and delight, excluding a couple at the park refugios, but better than cooking out of your own pot. Well thought out and enjoyable agenda - enjoyed the kayaking, the glacier walk and the short bike riding outings as well.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, January 2016
  • beautiful Hiking!

    “This was my third Active Adventures trip and I loved it (previous Jaguar and Rimu). Patagonia had the most natural scenic beauty that I have experienced. Hiking the W trail was a highlight. Sign up for the glacier ice hike - it was amazing. 2 other tips - take your favorite instant coffee packs - (Starbucks for me) and a small, lightweight, fold up pack for when you can leave your main back pack but need something to carry a few items on the W hike. I was worried about being cold but it was actually too warm in the Refugios. We booked a post trip cruise with Australis and it was a nice addition to the trip.”
    – Tennessee, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Great adventure

    “I had a fantastic time with Cynthia on the Condor trip. Every detail was attended to- all we needed to do was enjoy ourselves and soak in the beauty of this amazing area.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2016
  • Patagonia...better with Active Adventures.

    “The trip far exceeded my expectations.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Patagonia

    “From the start of the trip I was impressed on how many of the 10 other group members were repeat customers of Active Adventures. By the end of the trip I totally understood why! Cynthia exceeded all expectations as a group leader! The organization of our trip, lodging, and food was outstanding. The scenery was off the charts and was an overall an amazing trip!”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • PATAGONIA HIKING WITH ACTIVE ADVENTURES

    “This trip was the most challenging trip I have ever taken. The days were long but I expected that with gorgeous views. Once started on the W trail there is no turning around. I got great pictures and really feel a good sense of accomplishment!!!”
    – Florida, United States Condor, December 2015
  • No words can describe it!

    “No words can describe the awesomeness of this trip. It was the most challenging experience I've ever had. As one of the "geezers" on the trip, there were times I thought I just can't take another step. But I did it! The guides were super patient, encouraging, and supportive. All the guides were knowledgeable and passionate about their areas.

    The scenery...glaciers, lakes, mountain peaks...were beyond magnificent. Truly one of the most breathtakingly beautiful places on this planet.

    Except for the first night, accommodations were first rate and meals were exceptional. We definitely were well fed on this trip! Our van driver, Mariones, was a delight and very professional. As a group, we all got along very well, and had a lot of fun. I'm sure some of the younger people of the group got a little impatient with us seniors, but they were all good sports and very supportive.

    Having said that, there are a couple of areas of concern. The first hotel was not good...the location was off the bus route and some people had to walk through town from the central bus stop dragging their luggage along steep and uneven streets. Breakfast was the worst at any of the hotels.

    Some people were disappointed in the accommodations at the refugios, but I felt that was all part of the W experience...I would not change that.

    Understanding that getting us on the road on time, and loading the van with luggage and people is very chaotic, it would be worth it to take a few extra minutes to ensure all luggage is aboard. Although we had two daypacks with the luggage, someone must have put them to the side to be loaded later and they never made it on the van. Sebastian located them at the hotel in Calafate and ensured us he would ship them to us.

    I totally misunderstood the bike portion of the trip...I expected more of a cruising experience instead of a difficult mountain biking experience. I am not comfortable on bikes to begin with, and to be on poor equipment with no guidance or instruction, was very disconcerting. Because of my inexperience and discomfort with mountain bikes and terrain (rocky, roots, holes, shrubs, very narrow trail, etc.) I did fall a few times and ended up walking my bike the last 100 yards or so. I was not injured, but did sustain many bruises and scrapes and scratches. My lady parts will never be the same!
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Based on the trip literature, I underestimated the degree of difficulty. Should indicate that you must be in excellent physical shape. If I had known the specifics for each hike, and the biking, I never would have signed up...AND I WOULD HAVE MISSED THE BEST TRIP EVER! Thanks for challenging me to prove that I could do it!!!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Patagonia is amazing

    “Trekking, kayaking, amazing views it was a great trip!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Wonderful trip to Patagonia, nice group and excellent guides

    “I had a great time hiking and traveling with the group of 15 people, we got along fine and had a really good time. The hiking was good and the views of the mountains were just unbelievable, it was awesome. The glaciers were very impressive and beautiful too.. We encountered very high winds, 50 -60 mph and it actually blew a few people over, luckily not over the edge! All was memorable!”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Condor trip review

    “Fantastic trip on so many different levels. The rugged natural beauty of Patagonia is very special and this extensive trip provided a great lens and appropriate way to experience this part of the world.”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Experience worth every bit of effort!

    “Cynthia, our guide, was the heart and soul of the group. She took care of everything and made sure our mood stayed strong and upbeat the entire time. There were 12 people in the group and each one of us felt personally taken care of throughout the entire 2 weeks of our trip.

    Don't be fooled, this trip is not for the feint of heart (or feet). The W trek especially, pushes you to your limits but the feeling you get when you have reached the top of the trail is so worth it!

    This was my first time ever backpacking and the guides (Cynthia, Arturo and Cem especially) were never frustrated or impatient when I lagged behind. Their encouragement and support helped me get to the top (and down) each time. My whole group was just as supportive with everyone high fiving each other after a successful climb or day.

    The food on the W was fine - not great, but what do you expect when essentially staying in summer camps and packing a bag lunch (although there is still room for improvement on the lunches). The food the rest of the trip was amazing - Cynthia has great connections and has certainly done her homework finding unique and cool places to dine.

    The hotel choices throughout the trip were good, with one really nice stand out that we stayed at for three days. Cynthia's relationships with the hotel owners/managers is clear, and we received special attention at each place we stayed which was a nice touch.

    I will admit I would have liked to have something to break up the hiking a little bit more. By the last couple days I was a little bit saturated with "climb big hill to see gorgeous mountain". We did have a bike trip scheduled for the last day, but we were all so tired and worn out by then that it lost its appeal.

    One really great thing about the guides at Active is that if you chose to do something different (ie. skip a hike) then they ensure that you have a safe alternative and don't feel any coercion to participate in all activities.

    This is my second Active trip and so far I am a huge fan! I look forward to more Active Adventures in the future.”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • wonderful trip

    “Loved the trip. Everything was well done. Cynthia was fantastic. I have had good guides on both my other Active Trips (Machu Pichu and Galapagos, but Cynthia added something extra. Only critique is that while Peru and Ecuador had more of a mix of activities, bike riding, horseback riding, a little urban in Cuzco, this one overdid for me) the hiking. Loved the W Trek, but would have enjoyed other options in El Cheltan (a whitewater trip maybe?)”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2015
  • Condor March 2015

    “An amazing trip - challenging hikes with the most incredible views, truly great leadership and organization, close camaraderie within the group, awe-inspiring moments, and so much fun!”
    – Alberta, Canada Condor, September 2015
  • Condor March 2015

    “This was a great trip. The hikes were challenging and rewarding, amazing views, amazing group. I really enjoyed being "off the beaten track" - my kind of holiday!”
    – Alberta, Canada Condor, September 2015
  • Awesome

    “Thoroughly enjoyed a very short two week adventure in southern Patagonia.”
    – Ohio, United States Condor, May 2015
  • Awesome

    “It fulfilled my need to have an active vacation, and not just sit in a bus and drive around.”
    – Ohio, United States Condor, May 2015
  • Patagonian outdoors trip

    “The whole experience was really good. Organisation was great as was the company of the guides, and the food was plentiful. Tramping was great and the experience of the glaciers and of course the mountains was unforgettable. The group was a small and friendly one, which made the whole experience all the more memorable.”
    – West Coast, New Zealand Condor, May 2015
  • Condor Tour of Patagonia

    “I had an excellent trip except for not seeing penguinos. Seriously the group leader, Cynthia, did a great job and took good care of us. She was knowledgeable and had everything planned and set up. She took care of individual needs, too. I can not say enough about her. The group got along well. And the other guides were very good. The hiking was challenging and scenery was great, very beautiful. Had a wonderful time!”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, April 2015
  • Condor Feb. 2015

    “As an occasional day hiker and not having any multi-day trekking experience, I was worried that I would not be able to hold up to the physical rigors of backpacking for several days. I found the hiking and backpacking on this trip to be just about perfect for me. Yes the steep ascents were about at the limit of what I could handle but I managed to make it through all of them. What made it great was that had I felt that I would not be able to do some of these before hand then I had the option to skip these portions of the hikes if I wanted to.

    The itinerary of starting off with the multi-day Torres Del Paine W trek, having a little transportation break to get to Argentina, then having only day hikes the second week was PERFECT! It gave my body time to recover after the first week. Staying in hotels the second week also was a nice thing to look forward to after the refugios on the W.

    I had a difficult time trying to decide what clothes and gear to bring since being from Hawaii I had no cold weather to train in. Cynthia our guide was invaluable in helping me weed out all the unnecessary clothes and gear I did not need for the W trek beforehand and being able to store all this extra stuff in Puerto Natales was a godsend.

    The meals on the trip were better than I expected, our group was fantastic company, the biking and kayaking were good additions to add variety, and the ice hiking was totally AWESOME.

    I am still amazed at the logistics of the trip. Getting our group from here to there was totally smooth and well planned out. Having the tour boat rendezvous with our ice hike boat mid-lake to pick us up and already be loaded with our backpacks that we had left behind at the refugio was mind blowing. My roommate had missed his flight over and arrived many hours late after we had already departed on the bus to Puerto Natales. Yet somehow Cynthia had arranged to have him greeted and picked up from the airport and transported to our hotel that same night so he didn't miss any of the trip. She even had dinner saved for him at 1:00 am when he arrived!

    Overall I was totally satisfied with the trip and felt it surpassed all my expectations of how the trip should be.”
    – Hawaii, United States Condor, April 2015
  • Fabulous from start to finish

    “This was our 4th Active trip and all our expectations were met. Sebastian our guide was the best; accommodations, food, activities were all first rate. We love the superb organization of Active. They think of everything...and this makes the trip the best. i don't know another travel company that takes your laundry somewhere for you! And it's the little extras that make Active so special. 1. Getting out prior to arriving at Perito Merino and hiking along the shore for a quiet, non tourist crowded view of the glacier. 2. Taking us out of town to start our hike to the mirador for Fitz Roy...avoiding all the crowds and making for a fabulous hike rather than just an "out and back". We are so glad we found Active.”
    – North Carolina, United States Condor, April 2015
  • Wonderful trip

    “The condor trip was wonderful. Patagonia is a beautiful place - full of soaring jagged mountain peaks, breathtaking glaciers, awesome scenery. The Torres del Paine is absolutely stunning. The whole trip was superbly well organised. But the real joy of travelling is the people you meet - our group was great fun, the local guides were knowledgeable and interesting, and it was a great way experience this remote part of the world.”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Condor, March 2015
  • Unique and unforgettable experiences in southern Patagonia

    “I will remember the W-Trek forever - everything from standing below the "three towers", walking past blocks of glacial ice, and seeing condors circling high above, to picking Calafate berries along the trail and drinking glacial water fresh from the streams!”
    – Victoria, Australia Condor, March 2015
  • Great Hikes

    “Chile and Argentina offer spectacular scenery and our hikes offered great views at a comfortable pace. Planning was great as you were able to store your packs for the continued hike to the top. We had a great group and enjoyed having Cynthia as our guide again. I highly recommend Active Adventures to anyone considering this journey.”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2015
  • My first time to South America

    “This was my 3rd trip with Active in 3 years. Patagonia was beautiful and the people in the group were friendly. Cynthia was very professional and things were going smoothly. Even the weather was fine and the locals told us that we were lucky to have such a good weather.”
    – , Israel Condor, March 2015
  • Awesome Scenery

    “This trip was amazing. While we have hiked many places, the scenery here was incredibly spectacular, I can't express it in enough words. The glaciers were at their best as we had fantastic weather. We were fortunate to have Cynthia as a guide who we traveled with last year on the Peru trip. We enjoyed the restaurants she picked. I really liked the timing of the trip wherein travel down time came after four days of hiking. I was appreciative of our early morning start times in Argentina as we were on our return hike when most groups were hiking uphill in the hot sun.”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2015
  • Condor Trip

    “Overall this was a spectacular trip. Cynthia was a fantastic guide. She took care of all the details to accommodate everyone and was a joy to talk to. Very good variety of restaurants and food and atmosphere to enjoy. The hikes were easy in places and challenging in other places but the views were well worth the effort. My most memorable part of the trip was hiking on Grey Glacier. It was fantastic and eye opening. Drinking the cold clear glacier water was really great. Another standout guide was David on the Argentina treks. Will remember this trip for a long time.

    Dennis”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, March 2015
  • Condor 2/2015

    “This was an amazing trip with wonderful guides. We loved the hiking and backpacking and appreciated all the info we received prior to the trip as it was very helpful. Our group was blessed with wonderful people who enjoyed being together and sharing adventures. We would love to do another Active Adventures trip as they are very well organized and know the places and the people of the regions we visited.”
    – Arizona, United States Condor, March 2015
  • Great adventure at the end of the world

    “Great adventure with great guides, great food, great hikes at the end of the wordl! The road to Punta Arenas is called ruta fin del mundo and that is true. Far away from everything else you can find spectacular mountains, glaciars, lakes, huge steppe, condors, guanacos.”
    – , Germany Condor, March 2015

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.