Request a free South America Brochure

Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our Patagonia trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past guests. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about our 'Condor' trip their forums if you like! 

 
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “Spectacular scenery, awe-inspiring mountains and glaciers, gale force winds, snow, amazing food (including grazing on wild berries along the way) and fantastic guides who really looked after us to the nth degree made up the Patagonia experience! This was truly an active adventure - we saw and did all the highlights. A trip of a lifetime!”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Mayra and Cem were Just the Best

    “My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour at the end of 2017 into 2018 in Patagonia. Mayra was outstanding as our group leader. She always was willing to help if there was an issue, always explained what to expect, always looking out for us to ensure we were enjoying the experience and just an absolutely wonderful person. Cem was our guide during the W trek. He was funny, informative, truly helpful and always helping the group get through the hard parts. Juan and Cecila were our guides on the other parts and they were very friendly as well.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Patagonia - Life is Good

    “First we will say that Cynthia, our requested trip guide made this the best possible trip. I cant say enough kind words about my friend Cynthia. She puts her whole heart and soul into guiding our adventures and I feel lucky to have her as a friend after traveling with her in Peru as well a year ago. Thank you Active so much for enabling my daughter to get to travel with her as well and get to know her. Having her as our guide meant the world to me. My daughter just loved her as I do and they were great friends on the trip.
    That being said, we loved Patagonia, really everything about it. As well Gem was a wonderful local guide who we really liked as well. Southern Patagonia was amazing and after the trip we went on to explore N Patagonia and also loved that. In our future we want to come back and I could easily spend 3 months exploring this exceptional area. Thank you Active for giving us such a wonderful experience as usual. This was my 5th Active trip and certainly won't be my last. I love Active, you do an amazing overall job with wonderful like minded guests. I always meet such wonderful people on your tours. Thank you for being such a trusted company that I can count on for an excellent experience.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Julian's Condor Review

    “The Condor trip to Patagonia is really a unique and once in a lifetime experience. I was constantly in awe of the beauty and vastness of the Patagonian wilderness and vistas. Active has set up a great itinerary filled with activity and tremendously knowledgable guides. I cannot recommend this trip enough!”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Trip Review Condor

    “The Active Adventures "Condor" trip to Patagonia and the Argentinean Andes is a "must do" adventure if you enjoy hiking around glaciers, lakes and mountains. The views are spectacular. The quality of the guides is first rate on all elements of this trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Awesome trip!

    “Very well curated trip with awesome activities and fantastic views. Our guides were knowledgeable and helpful, facilitating a cohesive group and a really great trip. Now if only you could change the wind?!”
    – Oregon, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Condor

    “The trip was well planned out and made the most of our time in Patagonia. The hikes were challenging at times but it was worth it.”
    – New Mexico, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Condor - incredible Patagonia with great guides

    “Patagonia, both Chile and Argentina are absolutely breathtaking. The itinierary of the trip ensured that we saw all the major sights, and experienced the hiking, food and culture of both countries. Our main guide Jait, was very knowledgeable and worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone on the trip were included, whilst keeping the mood light, and everyone's spirits high. This is the way to see and experience Patagonia with Active Adventures it is an excellent trip.”
    – Queensland, Australia Condor, January 2018
  • Patagonia - Another winner - Our 4th Active Adventure

    “We would recommend this trip to anyone that has thought of going to Patagonia - South. We have only had success and wonderful memories on our trips with Active Adventures. This one is another winner. I would like to thank our wonderful team leader/guide Zac for making it even more special, also to our delightful companions - Brian (old friend from our Peru trip), Laura and Kathyrn (new young friends) for sharing the experience. I cannot say enough about Gem our guide through Chile - W-trek. If you are looking to experience the people, the beautiful and volatile environment that is Patagonia then this trip is for you.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Fabulous Trip

    “This is a great trip! The itinerary is fun and active and has a little variety. The people were great, and the guides, Cahit, Anna, and Aime were stellar. It was the perfect combination of people, weather and terraine. And, Active Adventures really does make it easy so you can leave your worries at home. If you want to be stunned into silence again and again by sheer natural beauty, this is a trip that will give you what you want!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Thank You Active Adventures!

    “Excellent trip, great guides and new friends!”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2018
  • Enjoying Patagonia with no worries

    “Had a wonderful trip. All staff (guides and drivers) were fantastic and everything was planned and/or looked after by them. Had no worries whatsoever while in the hands of Active Adventures, including when the weather turned bad and plans needed to be changed, quick. The Argentinian side of the trip felt somewhat less packed and at times, like I could have been doing more. Still worth a five stars from me.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Each challenge rewards you with the beauty of the region

    “It was everything I imagined and more. The beauty of Chile and Argentina come to life through every step - uphill, downhill and around every turn. The W trek was the highlight for me personally because I wanted to check the box and say 'I did it'. I am truly impressed with the care and attention provided by our guides. Not a single detail is missed. Cahit made the experience so personal to each member of the group for the entire 2 weeks. Anna was our rockstar guide for the W and Aime took great care of us as the rains hit us in Argentina. The itinerary was just perfect. If Patagonia is on your bucket list, do it with Active Adventures. The guides will teach you so much about the region, the wildlife, the plants, and more. And the local hotels and restaurants you visit are just wonderful. Our favorite souvenirs include a local Chilean spice and a sandwich spread that we just had to bring home! I keep looking at my pictures and feeling fortunate for the fabulous memories made and new friendships created.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2017
  • “Every time we stopped we had magnificent views in every direction. Patagonia is beautiful. If you love beautiful places with stunning scenery this is the place for you. To truly enjoy it, you need to be in shape to hike relatively steep hills and up to 13 miles in a day.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Condor Trip Amazing

    “The "W" is an amazing opportunity for anyone who enjoys hiking in remote, beautiful areas. It is full of mountain vistas, waterfalls, streams, and even a glacier and icebergs! My husband and I absolutely loved it including the time in the refuggios! The food was delicious and the people were lovely! We loved the zodiac trip at the end to climb on rock to see the glacier up close. We also enjoyed the towns of Puerto Natales, and El Calafate. Both had great restaurants, and interesting shops. Argentina and the Monte Fitz Roy was quite exciting. We especially enjoyed seeing the glacier icebergs and hiking in such beautiful mountain scenery. Our guide, Cahit was amazing, and our guide, Anna on the "W" was as well. So was our guide Aime who we had in El Chatan. I highly recommend this trip!!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Nov. 2017 Condor trip with Cynthia

    “What an awesome trip with one of the best guides ever. I would highly recommend this to all. The scenery was amazing, the activities were sweet, and the places stayed were top notch especially the one in El Calafate. The Refugio's were nicer than expected with ok food.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Perfect Patagonia

    “Had a wonderful time on the Condor trip with Cynthia. The trip was well planned and we traveled with such great folks. Couldn't have been better. Cynthia even arranged for great weather!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Best Trip Yet

    “The Condor trip was my first adventure into South America. Admittedly, I was a worried that my lack of Spanish and inexperience on the continent would spoil the opportunity. I could not have been more wrong. The Condor trip was my best adventure yet!
    Our guide Cahit quickly proved to be an amazing leader. He was highly knowledgeable about the region, helpful in every language situation, highly organized and just a really fun human being. He helped our group bond quickly and made sure each of us enjoyed our time in Patagonia. All the supportive guides were also very friendly and supportive. Our W-Trek guide, Cem helped make some very challenging hikes a hoot of a time with his great personality.
    As for the adventures, the Condor package is amazing. Without a doubt, hiking the W-Trek and Monte Fitz Roy are two of most treasured experiences. The glaciers, icebergs, biking, hiking, wildlife, weather, terrain and people in this region are amazing. I would strongly prescribe this experience to any human wanting to see beauty and experience adventure. Thank you, Active Adventures, for this wonderful experience!”
    – Idaho, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Best Trip Yet

    “The Condor trip was my first adventure into South America. Admittedly, I was a worried that my lack of Spanish and inexperience on the continent would spoil the opportunity. I could not have been more wrong. The Condor trip was my best adventure yet!
    Our guide Cahit quickly proved to be an amazing leader. He was highly knowledgeable about the region, helpful in every language situation, highly organized and just a really fun human being. He helped our group bond quickly and made sure each of us enjoyed our time in Patagonia. All the supportive guides were also very friendly and supportive. Our W-Trek guide, Cem helped make some very challenging hikes a hoot of a time with his great personality.
    As for the adventures, the Condor package is amazing. Without a doubt, hiking the W-Trek and Monte Fitz Roy are two of most treasured experiences. The glaciers, icebergs, biking, hiking, wildlife, weather, terrain and people in this region are amazing. I would strongly prescribe this experience to any human wanting to see beauty and experience adventure. Thank you, Active Adventures, for this wonderful experience!”
    – , Condor, December 2017
  • Worth every penny!

    “As someone who mostly travels independently, the thought of signing up for a two week organized group trip was rather intimidating but after reading all the reviews for Active, I thought I would give it a try... and I am so glad I did! Active Adventures made everything flow effortlessly- from the second I signed up until we were dropped of at the airport. The itinerary for the Condor trip is phenomenal, covering lots of different areas of Southern Patagonia and highlighting the most beautiful places. The W trek was one of the highlights of the trip and was even more enjoyable thanks to our guide, Cem, who was a wealth of knowledge about the flora and fauna and brought such a fun energy to the group. Additionally, our tour leader, Zac, had such a positive spirit, strong sense of humor and passion for his work that showed during our two weeks getting to know him. He was so well organized and made sure everything was lined up so we could relax and enjoy our downtime- including nailing a birthday dinner and cake! Would highly recommend this trip and organization to anyone in the future!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Amazing Patagonia!

    “The Condor trip to Patagonia was amazing. Great weather, great travel companions and great guides. Cynthia, Anna and Fredrico did an exceptional job, they were knowledgeable, friendly, humorous and patient. I truly appreciated Cynthia’s french press coffee and the cake at the refugio for Bill’s birthday!
    Some hiking days were challenging but very rewarding. Active Adventures did a wonderful job of planning the itinerary, hotels and restaurants. I would definitely book another vacation with Active Adventures.”
    – Saskatchewan, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Great Condor Trip

    “We just finished a Condor trip with eight other folks and our guide, Cynthia. The trip was awesome and Cynthia did a terrific job of keeping everything fun, organized, and hassle-free - she is a gem. We were very fortunate to have wonderful weather, which made every day enjoyable, memorable, and often spectacular. I thought the trip was very well organized and thought out, and the itinerary was excellent - really much better than several other trips we were considering. Of course, the scenery is amazing, and the itinerary maximises our enjoyment of it. We had three long (13 mile) days, but all of us did just fine. I was surprised by the excellent quality of the meals, which were much better than I expected - the choice of restaurants was great. The hotels were also very good. And the refugios were much nicer than I expected, and great places to end each day. This was our fifteenth adventure trip (with various companies) and this is definitely one our favourites, and one that we will never forget. I certainly would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a Patagonia trip.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Fantastic Trip

    “Trip was very well organized and totally enjoyable. Excellent guides”
    – Saskatchewan, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime!

    “As a woman in her 60s I was a little apprehensive about the physical demands of this trip. But with a bit of training, and a willingness to push myself a bit, I had an amazing time! Hiking, backpacking, kayaking, glacier trekking, biking - I did it all! It was a trip that I'll remember forever.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2017
  • "Outdorphin" Fix Satisfied!

    “Patagonia was on my bucket list. Mountains are my happy place where I feel the grandeur of nature and the smallness of myself! Fresh air, vivid flowers, crystal blue skies, surreal endless majestic horizons, pristine rivers, icy glacial water, and the comradery that comes from a shared experience with new friends. All of this and more from Active Adventure’s Condor trip.
    Every step on every hike lead to a payoff for your eyes and soul. If you love to get your endorphins from being outside – you can get your “outdorphin” fill from a trek like this. An unbelievable trip - with memories for a lifetime. All enjoyed with my best friend while making new friends!”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Spectacular Patagonian Adventure

    “The 2 week hiking trip to Patagonia was really fantastic! The scenery was jaw-droppingly gorgeous on every activity - including hiking through the W-Trek in Torres del Paine, kayaking and ice hiking on Grey Lake and Grey Glacier, hiking to the base of Cerro Torre and Fitzroy range. Our guide, Cynthia, was very organized, enthusiastic, thoughtful, patient, and fun. Everything was planned well and executed superbly. The restaurants Cynthia took us to were all excellent, and the packed lunches for the hikes were tasty and plentiful. All the local guides during our adventure were knowledgeable and wonderful. Even the weather was outstanding for most of our 2-week adventure. It was a trip of a lifetime and a privilege to experience such a beautiful part of the world.”
    – New Jersey, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Seamless Trip, Amazing Guide!

    “The trip was made by the varied itinerary, the attention to detail and the GUIDE. Jay was fantastic and managed all situations with ease and was never phased. We saw many possible difficulties had we done this on our own but by doing through Active made it so much more enjoyable. When things were cancelled, an alternative was always at hand. Everything seemed to go seamless. It helped having great travelling companions.”
    – , South Africa Condor, December 2017
  • Condor Trip 11/12/17 - Doug and Lorie Pfaff. New York

    “We had an absolutely amazing time! We were blown away with the beauty of Patagonia! Our group was fantastic and our leader Cynthia was the best! Cynthia was always there if anyone needed anything and she made sure the trip ran smoothly. She is also very knowledgeable about the entire region and most importantly she is a very nice person! Zac was an added bonus on the trip (leader in training) and all of the local guides were just fantastic. Zac was always there for anyone in the group and made the trip extra special with his awesome sense of humour! The accommodations and food were all great. We are still on a "high" from this trip that we hope never ends. We would recommend Active Adventures and of course the "Condor" trip to anyone. We thank everyone from Active as we know a lot of work goes on behind the scenes for a trip like this to be so special.
    We hope to be able to travel with you again! All of our best! Doug and Lorie”
    – New York, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Simply Awesome

    “Incredible doesn't cover it. This trip gave a truly comprehensive Patagonia experience. Congratulations must go to whoever designed the sequence/structure. Each day presented us with a never-to-be-topped experience, promptly upped a notch the next..for the FULL trip duration!! No faults with accommodation, meals, transportation etc. Jay was absolutely awesome (I'll be running out of superlatives soon). Personable, great leader, communicator and guide. No problem ever became a problem. He and his brother Gem made this a real ILE (incredible life experience). Still don't know how he managed to arrange for the variety of weather and wildlife. For anyone thinking about doing this trip - don't think, DO. And I would recommend Active adventures!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Condor

    “Beyond expectations. The hiking was world class and the logistics so well organised”
    – , South Africa Condor, December 2017
  • Spring in Patagonia

    “I am more convinced than ever that November is the month to visit and hike Patagonia. The red of the flowering fire bushes, blue sky, orchids on the side of the trail, the odd snow flake - it is the best season! The W trek is not a 'walk in the park' but worth every breath and drop of sweat. I highly recommend it.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Condor - Chile, Argentina

    “My sister and I travelled to New Zealand with Active and had an amazing trip. They are well organised and put together trips with lots packed in! Our trip to Patagonia was awesome. Our guides were fun and the trip went smoothly. We had days of incredible hiking in Patagonia. The W-Trek was a highlight. I highly recommend this trip to anyone that loves to hike and kayak.”
    – Michigan, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Top Notch!

    “From my first contact with Active Adventures through the full Condor trip I was impressed with the attention to detail, service and unfailing commitment to making sure everyone in the group experienced the best of Patagonia. Our guides were incredible, Cynthia (we miss you!), Cem and the ever entertaining Zac. Thanks for everything.”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2017
  • Awesome Trip - Everything I'd Hoped For!

    “Every day brought something new and/or spectacular. Can't say enough about how glad I was with how the trip worked out. This is the first time traveling with Active Adventures so I didn't know what to expect. I was hopeful it would be great, and it was. Cynthia was our guide and she was really great. Zac was along for the ride as he would begin leading some Condor trips starting the following week. He was also awesome. Can't say enough of how Cynthia had everything dialed in. Her and Zac's enthusiasm really drove the trip home. It was challenging at times, so make sure you make an effort to get in some decent shape. I was a novice hiker coming in - so it was worth renting poles.
    You'll walk away with a new meaning for the word 'flat' (or Patagonia flat), and what a 'breeze' is... :)”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Tough But Worth It

    “A great and challenging two weeks that offered plenty of rewarding views. A great tour of the beautiful region that is Patagonia.”
    – New York, United States Condor, December 2017
  • Fantastic trip

    “This was my first hiking trip, and I must say it was fantastic!!! Patagonia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been (and I travel a lot). I want to mention that you have to be in reasonably good physical condition to enjoy this trip. I am glad that I trained for it. Arturo, our tour guide and Catherine (the W Trail guide) were excellent. They also made sure that they accommodated my dietary requirements (gluten, diary, and soy free) on the W Trail, which is not an easy task. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. I will definitely book another trip with Active Adventures, now that I know how much I enjoy hiking and active trips.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, August 2017
  • Fantabulous!

    “This is our second Active trip and it was equally as great as the first! The guides were fantastic. You all know how to take care of active adventurer types. We lucked out on the weather and the views were stunning. Such a gorgeous part of the world. Another check-off on the bucket list.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, June 2017
  • Loved every minute, but not the Blisters !

    “The trip was everything it was supposed to be, and well worth the effort. From the moody weather to the gorgeous sunshine, from the penguins to the condors, we would do it again !”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, May 2017
  • Trip to remember

    “Active Adventures, Arturo and local guides have done a great job making sure Patagonia trip experiences become memories of a lifetime for Natalie and I. The trip had it all - great sightseeing, strenuous hiking, biking, kayaking, hiking on a glacier, accommodations - simple to luxurious, great food... I only wish the weather would have been more cooperative. It was also great being part of a fun and easy going group... hopefully will see each other again on future Active trips!”
    – California, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Fantastic time, sometimes strenuous always worth it

    “Had an excellent time. W trek was sometimes very tough but definitely worth the effort. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They took good care of us throughout. The trip was well organized and smoothly run. We will absolutely be looking to active adventures for similar trips in the future.”
    – Kentucky, United States Condor, April 2017
  • Another Great Active Adventures Vacation!

    “I've come to expect excellent vacation experiences from Active Adventures and the Condor trip with Arturo did not let me down. It was another fantastic adventure with a great itinerary, amazing views, outstanding guiding and a terrific group of fellow travelers.”
    – Connecticut, United States Condor, April 2017
  • “Generally enjoyed the trip but I fell down on the second day of the W-trek in Patagonia. We Had great tour guides and company which made up for the disappointment of not being able to fully participate in the trip.”
    – Singapore, Singapore Condor, March 2017
  • AMAZING!

    “From the moment we met in the hotel lobby in Chile to our last good bye in Argentina, it was the a perfect adventure!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Lou D'Agostino's Condor

    “Dear Friends,
    Certainly I was predisposed to expect a great time because of three other positive Active trips but this time was especially memorable. Firstly, although I have always met interesting people on Active trips, this one was filled with the most friendly and athletic folks ever. Not only generous in spirt but quick to help each other to be certain all went well. Yes, there were a few instances where I had to remind myself that 'getting out of my comfort zone' was part of the experience. It was all good.
    I have always been intrigued by 'Cape Horn' and dreamed of someday getting as close as I could, so for me, this was my 'trip of a lifetime'. It was made particularly enjoyable by our chief guide and companion Cynthia Villadares.
    All the best,
    Louis”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2017
  • If it were easy everyone would do it.

    “This was my first visit to Patagonia and it was spectacular. The entire Active Adventures team made this trip an absolute pleasure from ease of booking, clear and thorough information about the trip, and an incredibly well organized adventure. Cynthia, our guide was very professional and organized. and was just a great person with whom to spend a couple of weeks. We had a diverse group of folks from all over the U.S. and we all got along very well. We experienced heavy rain and overflowing rivers and trails for the first few days, but that just brought us closer together as we relied on each other to make our way. Then the sun came out and we saw some of the most beautiful mountains, lakes and glaciers that can be seen anywhere in the world. I've been home for over a week and I can't wait to book my next trip!!!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia 3/2017

    “This truly was one of those 'trips of a lifetime'! The challenges we faced as a group the first week due to the unusually heavy rains helped bond our group early on making this one of the best trips people wise I have ever been on. We had to help each other safely ford many unexpected creek and river crossings. The leadership both Cynthia and the local guides provided was expert and excellent making what could have been a disappointing, miserably wet, or even dangerous experience an exciting and safe one....We rose to the challenge in great part a response to their spirit and professional attitude, especially Cynthia's.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Active is the Word!

    “I thoroughly enjoyed my Condor adventure. I've been on a few of these hosted by other companies and I think Active Adventures is the best so far - a good value too. When you say all-inclusive, you mean it. We often ordered whatever we wanted right off the menu. Arturo and the other guides did a great job. The itinerary was excellent - I know because a few times we barely made the connection to a boat. There was little down time. Doing the W Hike in the first week is also key - We were fresh and ready then. The weather on our trip was not ideal. We totally missed seeing Fitz Roy, despite 4 days in El Chalten. Oh well. Mother Nature didn't cooperate. The only thing that would've made the trip better would be better accommodations at some of the refugios. I know you can't control this and there's not a lot of choice, but, boy, some of those shower facilities and bathrooms were just awful. I'm looking forward to hiking with you guys again soon. :)”
    – Illinois, United States Condor, March 2017
  • February 26th Condor with Arturo

    “The experience was amazing!! Active Adventures put us with a Great team of Guides, and I want to express that with the utmost praise! The hiking group was so much fun, which made the trekking exciting and a joy. I traveled with my girlfriend (Joelle) who is a more seasoned hiker than me, and the inspiration for the trip so cudos to her! The only small consideration I believe might help would be better maintenance at some of the Refugio's, I will let someone else in the group mention it by name!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Awesome experience

    “Our recent Condor trip with Cynthia was awesome. Cynthia did a great job as our trip leader. She was fun to be around, full of facts, and attended to all the details. The scenery was breathtaking, food and drink delicous and I would highly recommend this trip.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Feb 5 2017 Condor with Arturo

    “It was a fabulous trip. Arturo is a very considerate, competent, and creative guide with a wonderful sense of humor.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Awesome experience

    “Amazing experience with our North American friends. The photos never did the views justice. Around every corner there was another beautiful lake, another awesome glacier or forrest. Truly a land of contrast on our road trips. Cynthia was an incredible guide and she went out of her way to accommodate everyone. I won't forget this adventure!”
    – Western Australia, Australia Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia Dreaming

    “I had wanted to hike in Patagonia since the 1980's when I was heavy into mountaineering in Seattle, WA. I had lost this dream until we saw that Active Adventures offers the Condor trip. I loved every windy and even drippy step of the W trek. My first view of Grey Glacier took my breath away. And then we had Fitzroy and Cerro Torre in glorious sunshine. A dream of adventure come true!”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia peregrinations

    “First off, I have to confess that I had very little concept of what this particular trip would entail in terms of the environment. Although I'd been on several other AA trips and knew the level of care and attention I could expect logistically, I had only the fuzziest mental image of Patagonia itself. I knew there would be mountains and wind, but beyond that I was venturing into terra incognita, pulled primarily by the romanticism of the name and reassured by my prior experiences with AA that I would not be disappointed. And I was not.
    Patagonia was, in a word, fantastic. Or awesome. Or incredible. (OK, let's not quibble about my math.) The mountains and the wind are in fact just as overwhelmingly THERE as conventional accounts have it, the former extraordinarily angular, rugged and often foreboding, the latter a relentless force that smothered those same mountains with waves of clouds, kicked up numerous rainbows from the surrounding lakes and whipped our bodies as we struggled to find our footing.
    But there was so much more. In contrast to what may seem like a hostile combination of land- and wind-scape, Patagonia is remarkably non-threatening to visitors. No snakes, ticks, poisonous spiders or poisonous plants. No thunder storms. No predators that compel concern, since the Patagonian pumas are so skittish that anyone is lucky even to spot one. The landscape, meanwhile, is a visual feast of ice fields, tarns, rumbling avalanches (initially misinterpreted as distant thunder), guanacos and rheas, soaring condors, great vistas of open space, those wind-whipped rainbows. . . .
    And AA once again came through with its signature attention to detail: attentive and knowledgeable guides, super (even posh!) accommodations and smooth underlying logistics. Thanks to all for their contribution to a super experience.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Amazing trip, well run operation by people who love what they do

    “Overall, a great trip! Patagonia is everything imagined and more. No picture represent the feeling of being there with eyes closed. Treks little harder on two days of the trip: First day (Torres Del Paine) and Mount Fitz Roy trek (25kms), but rewards outweigh the effort.
    All guides, Cynthia, Gem, Paula were outstanding.”
    – Ohio, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Truely an Amazing Vacation

    “We really enjoyed this beautiful land. Cynthia and Paula (local guide) did an outstanding job of organizing and taking care of our group. They really enjoyed explaining the geology as well as the flora and fauna we were looking at. There was always time for pictures or views as we moved along this picture perfect land.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Amazing trip to El Fin Del Mundo! (End of the World)

    “Challenging hikes to see two of the "Eighth Wonders of the World": the granite towers and glacial lake of the Torres del Paine in Chile and Mont Fitzroy in Argentina. Hiking combined with kayaking on opaque Grey Lake in front of a massive glacier, ice hiking on the glacier, biking next to the Wandering river.. paradise for the Active traveler! Nice hotels, interesting cuisine and our wonderful guide (AKA our trekking mother) Mayra made for a terrific trip! This is my second trip with Active (South Island New Zealand) and could not have been better.”
    – New York, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Condor

    “This trip was excellent. The guides were fantastic (super friendly and great with seamlessly managing various ages of people and fitness levels), it was very well organized and the weather held all but two days of the entire trip allowing really amazing views of most mountain vistas. A real must for the bucket list.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Like A Postcard

    “The mountains, glaciers and icebergs of Patagonia were some of the most incredible sites I have ever seen. Many days were like walking into a postcard. "Am I really here?" Active took the worry out of the travel and planning and our guides were incredible! Arturo made the trip and our local guides were knowledgeable and skilled - Cem and Juan were great! Thanks Active for an amazing journey!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, March 2017
  • Patagonia

    “Wonderful trip with the added benefit of speaking Spanish. Loved it!”
    – Connecticut, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Patagonia is amazing!

    “The hiking on the W-Track and in Los Glaciares National Park was just as beautiful as I had always dreamed about. Our trip leaders, Arturo and Chem, were knowledgeable and fun to talk to and the food and accommodations were great.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Condor, February 2017
  • See the best of Patagonia and eat like a king!

    “Great itinerary to see Chilean and Argentine Patagonia! While many people come to hike Torres del Paine, which is awesome, I thought Mount Fit Roy and Cerro Torre were even more spectacular in Argentina! Wished we could have hiked to more places in Argentina. Also loved the food and the ability to choose your own meals! I ate like a king!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Patagonia adventure

    “If you want amazingly beautiful scenery, get in shape and take this trip! The hiking is very difficult at times, but the mountains, glaciers, and lakes are unbelievable. Our guides were patient and encouraging when I thought I could not go one more step. And nothing can take the place of the feeling you get when you round that final curve and come across the most beautiful view you have ever seen in your life. Except the feeling the next day, when the view is even more amazing!”
    – South Carolina, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Seeing Patagonia my way

    “Our trip to Patagonia with Active South America was just what I had hoped for, having traveled with Active in New Zealand. With all the accommodations, meals, and transportation provided, I could put my energy into hiking to the glacial lakes and peaks that were even more awesome than I had expected them to be. I appreciated the well-chosen trails and local guides who taught us about the land and customs, and for me, about my special interest, birds. The warm welcome and special service we received at every hotel and restaurant was thanks to our guide Cynthia who has endeared herself to the Chilean and Argentinian hosts who treated us as her special friends. Cynthia is a pro. While warm, energetic, enthusiastic and fun, she is on top of the details and can solve problems when they arise. Walking in the beech forest, wading in glacial lakes, kayaking beside enormous icebergs, and hiking to the base of towering granite peaks are experiences I will remember always. Thank you, Active!”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Tony's Excellent Patagonia Adventure

    “From our first gathering Sunday evening at our hotel in Punta Arenas to our departure 14 days later from El Calafate, the Condor adventure was spectacularly beautiful, challenging and exhausting at times, congenial, very well organized and guided, and unforgettable. Our trip leader Cynthia Valadares handled every detail with apparent ease and dealt with any challenges with ease and grace. Our guides in Torres del Paine NP and in El Chalten shared their deep love and knowledge of these areas, each step of the way.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Condor January 2017.

    “Ever since reading Bruce Charwin's in Patagonia I have been intrigued by Patagonia. So after 40 years my dream came true and, in spite of not always perfect weather, it exceeded my high expectations.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Condor Trip

    “In my opinion, the unique aspect of this trip is the ability to hike in Patagonia in both Chile and Argentina. Each offers a very different hiking experience and scenery-- the W-trek and glaciers of Chile and the high mountains of Argentina. Both are spectacular. Appreciated the varied itinerary including kayaking and biking and the knowledgable and friendly guides.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Exceeded Expectations!

    “Our Condor trek was absolutely amazing! Everything promised in the brochure happened. Cynthia, our guide, was outstanding. She went above and beyond to make sure our trek was the best. I really don't know how one person could do what she did. She treated everyone like family. The accommodations, transportation, food, trekking experience were second to none! You need to be in shape. Your always on the go. The W trek was exciting, great views. The kayaking and glacier climb were really fun. The view of Fitz Roy from the lake is world class, absolutely breathtaking! If you want to get great trekking experience and be tired at the end of the day, do this one!”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Patagonia Trip of a Lifetime

    “This was an amazing adventure in Patagonia! We had the best group of people, our guides were superior and the adventures were non-stop day by day. The hiking was absolutely stunning, the food was fabulous, the accommodations were wonderful and oh, the wine-superior. Everything about this trip was awesome!”
    – South Carolina, United States Condor, February 2017
  • “It really was the trip of a lifetime! I have never been to a more beautiful place and would go back in a heartbeat if I could!
    Cynthia, our guide, was simply amazing, managing to keep 14 different people happy and never making it seem like it was any effort at all. She is a wonderful ambassador for Patagonia!”
    – Texas, United States Condor, February 2017
  • “Awesome trip. Even though I went by myself, not knowing anyone, I still had an amazing time. Tough spot to get to but well worth it. Guides are knowledgeable, fun to be with, and I'm already researching my next trip.”
    – New York, United States Condor, February 2017
  • The unparalleled Patagonia Experience

    “ACTIVE Patagonia is a direct uninterrupted experience through one's feet, eyes and all other senses. It's an intense absorption of Patagonia with all its amazing beauty. One is in and with Nature to the fullest extent, surrounded by magnificent landscapes.”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Amazing!

    “This trip was amazing in so many ways that I am still trying to process all the beautiful places we hiked!
    Our excellent guide Cynthia made the whole trip so easy that all we had to do was to enjoy our surroundings!!”
    – Texas, United States Condor, February 2017
  • Viento, viento, y mas viento

    “I saw a t-shirt in El Chalten with this printed on it. Now I get it! Even with the wind, rain, some very hard trails, I wouldn't trade this trip for anything (well maybe a little less rain). It was set in the most dramatic places I have ever been, had great guides, and was a personal challenge that I'm very proud to have completed. The beauty of Patagonia will stay with me forever. Thank you Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Condor, February 2017
  • A trip of a lifetime

    “Our Condor trip with Cynthia was a trip of a lifetime. Cynthia did a wonderful job of teaching us about Patagonia. The trip had a terrific balance of hiking, kayaking and biking.”
    – Ohio, United States Condor, January 2017
  • The Majesty of the Mountains

    “The beauty of Patagonia is inspiring. It's physically challenging with the frequent changes in weather but so worth the awesome scenery. The camaraderie among some of the fellow hikers was great. Think I met some new life-long friends!”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia Overload

    “Patagonia has been on my "bucket list" for a number of years and I finally got the opportunity to check that off the list. I researched a few other adventure companies but felt that Active Adventures offered the most diversity at a price point that was competitive with everyone else. I was not disappointed. From the very first meeting with Cynthia in Punta Arenas until our goodbye in El Calafate, the trip was as good as I expected. Cynthia was a 5 star trip leader and you never had to worry that things were being taken care of. All the hotels and restaurants that we were at were first rate. Excellent meals and comfortable place to stay. Even the Refugio's on the "W" trek were fun places to stay. The hiking we did was great and the hikes were not exactly "cupcake" hikes. You really needed to be in shape. Our two different hiking guides, Jim and Luis were top notch. Friendly and very informative. It was a pleasure being around them. From a visit to Magdalena Island to see the penguins, to a hike on Grey Glacier and a visit to Perito Moreno Glacier, it was all a thrill. Even the bike ride on a unpaved road was a challenge.
    For anyone that wants a great trip to Patagonia, I would highly recommend Active Adventures Condor Trip. Cynthia was the bomb!”
    – North Carolina, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Condor with Cynthia

    “Great trip. Cynthia is the best in organizing and taking care of everyone. I've done two trips with Active with Cynthia as guide. This company and guide are best. They cover all the details and are prompt in responding to questions. They are my first choice for overseas trips.”
    – Colorado, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia 2016

    “Trip was amazing - Harder the hikes the better the view”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “Patagonia is a fascinating place. The scenery was stupendous, some of the hiking was a bit challenging but all worth it.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Latitude 53 degrees and Loving It,

    “What a privilege it was to travel to Patagonia with three generations of our family. It is such a beautiful part of the world but also, so removed from the anxieties and pressures of the modern, social media/plugged-in world, and the Trump nastiness. The trekking was especially beautiful with the wild flowers in bloom and sunshine on our shoulders.

    Active Adventures organized us perfectly in the sense that our transportation, refugios, and food were efficiently and tastefully selected. Arturo was so, so nice to our grandkids. Chem was delightful and so kind. What brilliant new friends we made and how kind and inclusive they were with the teenagers we had in tow.

    We loved the ACTIVE in Adventures. We earned our good meals and good beds by stretching our limits over our two week trek. My husband and I were by far the oldest pair on the trail, but we loved it and who knows, maybe we will be back for our 60th anniversary.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Fantabulous

    “A simply amazing trip-- pristine scenery, magical and majestic mountains, and all coordinated seamlessly by a fantastic trip leader and guides. Our family of seven-- spanning the ages of 78 to 12-- was perfectly supported, educated, and delighted by Arturo or trip leader and the local guides. They are all kind, fun, and experienced. Cem was true to his name, a gem, ever so patient with those of us with sore joints, and always with a sparkle or story to share.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Squeege perfect

    “Mountains, rock climbing, kayaking, penguins, glaciers, flamingos, and awesome food-- patagonia has it all! Arturo's laugh made me laugh all that much harder, and Cem is the best at everything adventurous. An incredible Christmas present for us all!”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • It rocked!

    “Awesome group trip, especially from someone who likes to do it on their own. Guides, travel arrangements, ease of it all was incredible-- perfect.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia's Greatest Hits

    “A well-curated tour of Patagonia's greatest hits. The well-organized activities and well-informed guides assured us of worry-free comfort and meaningful insights to the parade of Patagonian delights that dazzled our eyes and tickled our palates. (The farewell dinner done in a quincho expertly executed by the parillero was an over-the-top carnivorous feast capped by the lip-smacking, artery-clogging Mata Hambre.) Arturo and Anna charmed with their hospitality, solicitousness, and good humor. While I found the fitness level required was more than advertised, the gregarious guides and cheerfully chill companions kept the mood light and fun.”
    – Metro Manila, Philippines Condor, January 2017
  • Better than expected

    “I had done one group tour before and lots of hiking with my local hiking club, but this tour was beyond what I was expecting. The people, the guide, the coordination and logistics - all were fantastic and well done. Of course, what truly made the trip was the amazing location and breathtaking adventure.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Awesome

    “Just returned from two weeks travelling with Active Adventures in Patagonia and it could not have been better. The scenery was spectacular, the days and evenings varied and interesting and we ate and were treated like royalty. Everything was first class on our trip including our tour leader Arturo Rojas who was professional and just awesome in every way. We had a group of 15 trekkers and we very quickly became fast friends. I'm sure there are many companies out there but from my experience I don't think you can go wrong with Active Adventures. I'm already looking forward to my next trip with them.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “Patagonia, a true beauty. Massive, beastly mountains, lovely people, challenging hikes, all made for an unforgettable trip.”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia

    “One of my top trips!”
    – Virginia, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Patagonia Condor

    “Cem, our tour leader was fabulous as well as the local tour guides. The trip was amazing and simply beyond words. The scenery was so amazing that it made every step, every steep incline worth the efforts. Was disappointed that the penguin tour was cancelled due to weather on the first day. The food was excellent; Cem did a super job selecting the restaurants outside of the W Refugios.”
    – Nevada, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Trip of a lifetime...

    “From ease of getting information about the trip, applying for it and being helped with all administrative necessities..... it was a pleasure to deal with "Active Adventures".
    The actual trip was very close to what was advertised and turned out to be a challenging adventure with great experiences and rewards.”
    – Florida, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Condor trip-a real active adventure

    “It was a great trip that I enjoyed very much. This is my 2nd tour with Active adventures since 2014. Our tour guides Arturo and Jim (on W-track) were great trip leaders and sincere, caring people, their presence throughout the trip is a key fact to make us feel safe and supported.

    The meals are very good and well arranged. The only venue that might need future improvement is the size of the vehicle that been employed for our group of 15-17 people.”
    – California, United States Condor, January 2017
  • Whoa! What an incredible trip!

    “There aren't any words that could properly prepare you for what is in store. Patagonia was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    Cynthia was an amazing guide, she took such good care of us! She routinely went above and beyond to ensure we were safe, happy, healthy and well fed. What a gem she was! And on top of being great at her job, she's just an awesome person, fun, smart, flexible, just the kind of person you want touring you around the edge of the earth for 2 weeks.

    The trip itself was absolutely breathtaking. No photo could do that place justice. The W trail was an amazing hike full of ever changing views (and lots of wind!). Definitely, pay the extra to do the Grey Glacier hike! It was a trip highlight!

    Get ready to take your jacket on and off more in one day than you would over the course of a month back home :) Everything they say about the weather is true. You are at the mercy of the elements, but for the most part, we lucked out with weather (and when we didn't Cynthia always had a plan B).

    I'm so glad we did this! We will definitely be touring with Active again. Those folks do a stellar job of setting you up for an exciting adventure.”
    – Washington, United States Condor, December 2016
  • An eye opening experience.

    “When I first found the Active Adventures website I knew I had stumbled across something very special. I have wanted to visit Patagonia since I was a young kid, and when I saw the pictures of the people with Active Adventures smiling and laughing, I knew that I had to try it. Rarely in my experience is the actual experience better than I thought it could be. This is one of those times. Active Adventures paired me with a group of people who are diverse, interesting, fun, and surprising. They provide a guide who is excited about the experience as well, and who takes pride in doing a fantastic job for his or her group. Everything from deliciously prepared food in some of the finest restaurants in southern Chilè and Argentina, to putting in extra miles and hours hiking ensuring that the group members are satisfied and engaged with their experience. (Seriously, Arturo is awesome and at the very least deserves a bonus) You will not be sorry, I know I am not.”
    – Alabama, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Condor Adventures Dec 2016

    “Patagonia Chile and Argentina was my first visit to South America and the adventures were definitely everything I expected. My adventures with Cynthia and Active far exceeded everything I expected. Cynthia was an exceptional tour leader, full of knowledge, wit and charming kindness. She was attentive to every group member's needs and ensured that everyone was safe and well looked after. Filled with humour and wit, Cynthia is a highly efficient tour leader who is organized and passionate about leading groups. She always enjoyed being in the outdoors and spoke with excitement and knowledge about the highlights on the trip. Cynthia was always friendly, down to earth and very funny.
    The passion that she has for what she does helped to invigorate our group with a high and positive energy. The group that we had was an awesome group that came together and became like a small family in the short two weeks we spent together. My overall experience was more enriched because the group gelled and genuinely enjoyed one another's company. I spent two amazing weeks trekking Patagonia Chile and Argentina, experiencing some of nature's greatest landscapes. I'm grateful to have experienced it with the group we had, and for Cynthia, for helping to make a series of grand and treasured memories. I'll never forget my time in Patagonia. The tour was top-notch, greatly organized and run with efficiency. Thank you. A round of applause, Active!”
    – Ontario, Canada Condor, December 2016
  • Spectacular Time!

    “We had a spectacular time in Patagonia! The venue was beautiful, challenging and exciting; Active did a great organizational job as well as Arturo our lead guide. Arturo is a multidimensional person that took great care of us at all times. Our group was very diverse, interesting spanning all age groups which got along great. Bottom line is that we had a fantastic time at a fantastic place with fantastic people. It was a very challenging trip that we are proud to have done.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Condor, December 2016
  • An incredible adventure

    “There are too many highlights to list them all, but seeing a puma hunt guanaco
    is a near tie with the unscheduled glacier river crossing. Had we not been with Active Adventures, we would not have been able to complete the 'W' trek, due to a downed bridge and shady Chilean politics. We were one of only four groups able to complete the full 'W' due to the 'puente malo' and our guides Arturo and Cem were super-starts getting the entire group across the river (x3)!

    Words can't describe how amazing the trip was and a huge part of that was how Active arranged it and adapted to the situations on the ground. I would definitely
    go on any of their other trips.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Absolutely Incredible

    “I truly never imagined the trip would be as awe-inspiring and soulful as it was. Our tour guide, Cynthia, was by far one of the most compassionate, caring, knowledgeable individuals I have ever met. She went above and beyond for everyone in our group and am incredibly grateful to have experienced this trip with her as our guide. The views of Patagonia are indescribable and the overall beauty surrounding one is almost surreal as to believe places like this exist in the world. I truly hope everyone has a chance in their life to take this trip and just soak in every second of the majestic beauty that engulfs you each and every day.”
    – Texas, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Patagonia Adventure

    “A wonderful trip with great views and excellent hiking. Our guides really took care of us and everything was handled beautifully. The accommodations and food were first rate. Loved the trip.”
    – California, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Toughest hike yet but rewarding

    “The "W" was one of the toughest hikes we've undertaken because of straight line steep grades and rocky trails. But when we finished we felt like we had met the challenge and all our pre-trip workouts were worth it. Our guide, Cahit, was fantastic - knowledgeable, outgoing and optimistic. The adding of mountain biking and kayaking was a nice touch!”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2016
  • Magnificent views

    “This was clearly one of the more spectacular trips we've taken because of the mountains, glaciers and beautiful weather. But it was a tough one. The W segment was a bit crowded so be ready to share a lot of the trail with a lot of people, especially at the refugios.”
    – Minnesota, United States Condor, December 2016

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.