Request a free New Zealand Brochure

Get a FREE New Zealand Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.


The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

  • Active Adventure Sums it Up!

    “The company name pretty much sums up this trip "Active"! This adventure provides an excellent overview of the South island's geography, history and culture. Activities are diverse, varied and interesting. The full day schedules are extremely rewarding. Can't think of a better way to experience the South Island.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Rimu, March 2018
  • Loved the trip!

    “Surprised the age of the entire group was retired except for my wife and I. We had a blast. Lots of learning. Lots of good food. Lots of amazing hikes! Lots of cows. A decent amount of rain. Wouldn't change a minute of it (except maybe the rain...but that just became part of the experience.)

    Also, when they suggest bringing gloves for the Tongariro Crossing, they aren't kidding. Don't make that mistake. I ended up wearing socks at mittens. Thank goodness my guide was prepared!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Just do it!

    “If anyone is on the fence about going, just do it! It was a lot of fun.”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Fun in the South

    “What an amazing time we had with two wonderful, fun guides and another couple!!! We went to places and did things we would not have experienced if we had not been on the tour. We feel that our time on the tour gave us a great feel for what this amazing country has to offer. We want to come back!!!! Thank you, Ash and Tess for being the best of company!!!!”
    – Queensland, Australia Tui, March 2018
  • Sun in the North

    “A wonderful 5 days travelling around the ocean-hugging North. New activities (namely sandboarding and snorkelling) were a hit and the inclusion of a Maori cultural element was most appreciated.”
    – Queensland, Australia Kauri, March 2018
  • Wonderful Trip with Great Friends.

    “We had a group of 4 couples on the "Tui trip" and had a wonderful experience. The guides were fabulous and extremely knowledgable. They were at their best when the weather (Cyclone Gita) threw us a curveball. (That's a baseball term. Sorry you cricket lovers)!”
    – Louisiana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Excellent introduction to the North Island!

    “Excellent introduction to the North Island! Andy and Jo couldn't have been better!”
    – Arizona, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Wonderful Tour of South Island

    “Staff were really helpful in planning stages of this trip, and our guides were so knowledgeable and personable; they made the trip the gem that it was.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “This was such an amazing trip! Our guides Ash and Astrid did a fantastic job. Everyday was met with amazing views and challenging activities like kayaking, biking and hiking. Two weeks felt like a month because we did so much in one day but there was still some down time to enjoy the beauty that is New Zealand. A must for anyone who wants to be active in New Zealand.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations

    “This is a trip that can be enjoyed by all since the hikes can be modified on different levels. Beautiful scenery every day!”
    – Texas, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • Guided Trips are the Way to Go!

    “I had been wanting to hike in New Zealand for some time, and finally had enough time off. Trying to figure out the hut system, what to see and how to get around seemed a bit overwhelming. Even moreso since I was traveling solo. Active looked to be a great way to travel without having to stress about the planning, travel, etc. Though I had never traveled like this before, I saw the places I wanted to travel to, and others I would have likely not have found alone. Everyone on the trip was pleasant and easy to talk to, friendly and, like me had a great time. Our guides, Katie and Astrid, really made the trip with their upbeat attitudes, informative revelations on everything we saw, continual answering to our sometimes badgering questions and always being ready to help out.”
    – Louisiana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • One. More. Time.

    “What to say? I probably should have done the 2 week North Island trip, too. Only so many vacation days, sadly. It was so wonderful. Cyclones included. Andy and Jo were so much fun and wanted us all to have a great time. I would book it again...and again....and again.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Amazing!

    “I am not sure I have the right words to describe my experience. All I can say at this moment is, 3 weeks later I am still feeling very much inspired to continue my love for travel and exploration. Ash and Astrid we're the bees knees! No doubt they thought we were nutzo but we had so many laughs and good meals together. New friends were made!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Amazing!

    “I am not sure I have the right words to describe my experience. All I can say at this moment is, 3 weeks later I am still feeling very much inspired to continue my love for travel and exploration. Ash and Astrid we're the bees knees! No doubt they thought we were nutzo but we had so many laughs and good meals together. New friends were made!”
    – , Rimu, March 2018
  • Jodi and Renee's Manuka

    “The trip was incredible! Fantastic itenerary, great food, good people. I couldn’t have imagined better!”
    – Colorado, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Weka

    “Really, really liked this trip. Of course the bike trails and scenes were spectacular, but the food and the people and the guides made it extra special. Everyday was a whirlwind of adventure. Thank you.”
    – Ontario, Canada Weka, March 2018
  • Best Ever!

    “Trip of a lifetime for sure! I’m still on a NZ high!
    Thanks to Nick B & Melissa for their knowledge & expertise experience, which made our trip successful & FUN! With their encouragement, I was able to challenge myself & push beyond what I thought my abilities were.......THANK YOU! Such a pleasure getting to know Nick & Mel, we were spoiled & enjoyed every minute of this adventure with them. Highly recommend Active Adventures NZ - making dreams come TRUE!”
    – Montana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Weka - New Zealand

    “Wow!! What a trip! This hiking & biking tour was breath-taking both figuratively and literally. Our guides made our adventure challenging, yet fun. They were knowledgeable, encouraging and you could tell they are truly passionate about what they do. This tour captured all the great highlights of New Zealand staying just off the beaten path so we could really experience the diverse beauty and savory tastes of the island. Our group enjoyed ourselves so much we are already discussing another Active Adventure trip in 2019. Thank you Active Adventures for a wonderful experience!”
    – California, United States Weka, March 2018
  • Thanks

    “Kim and Lauren were terrific guides.”
    – Utah, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Thanks

    “We highly recommend Active Adventures; they do a terrific job.”
    – Utah, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Great Trip

    “Had a fantastic time on our South Island 'Rimu' trip. I cant say enough about our guides, Simon and Carrie. They were VERY accommodating and did an outstanding job. Food was fantastic and the hiking and sights were super! A bit more bus time than I was expecting but looking at the map Active provided of the South Island and all the cities and sights we saw, I should have expected that and no regrets! Highlight of the trip for us was the Angelus Hut despite some rain and low clouds. Thank you for how organized the trip was before, during and after. We really enjoyed our two days in Christchurch before the trip and 3 days in Auckland after.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • I'd Recommend this Trip to Just About Everyone!

    “I really can't say enough good things about this trip! New Zealand is such a beautiful country and touring it with locals who are familiar with the locations and the history of many of the most iconic sites is really the only way to do it. I really appreciated all the Maori history/legends Koru, our fantastic guide/driver, shared with us. I also applaud his driving patience/skill; the roads really are, as the signage says, "different". Lauren was an absolutely wonderful cook (she could totally make a living as professional caterer!) and enthusiastic guide. They both were very warm/friendly, had a lot of knowledge to share, were very encouraging to those of us perhaps not quite as fit as we would have liked (especially on a few of the steeper climbs), and were keen to hear about our backgrounds, areas of interest, etc. If I had to pick out my favorite hikes, I'd have to say both Franz Josef glacier and Aoraki/Mt Cook were absolutely stunning (the perfect weather didn't hurt).”
    – Maryland, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • Tui Trip

    “As seasoned travelers we know what makes a great trip. Our guides Nick and Mel were over the top with all aspects of the trip. From the minute of our pickup to our improvised departure, through cyclone Gita we never missed a beat. Wouldn’t change a thing. A true trip of a life time.”
    – Montana, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Rimu 2018

    “It has only been a little over a week since the end of my Rimu trip and I already miss New Zealand. The South Island has to be one of the most incredible places on the planet, with crisp and clean air, pristine lakes at the bases of mountains and the gorgeous rugged West Coast. There is literally beauty everywhere you look. The trip was enhanced by our two intrepid guides, Jackie and Pepper, who seemed prepared for any eventuality. They were able to provide lots of background information about New Zealand's culture, nature and geography, which added so much to the trip and brought the amazing scenery to life. I had always been hesitant to travel to New Zealand given the distance and effort involved in getting there but now that I've done it I am so glad I did. It was so worth it and I would recommend it to anyone.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • WOW!

    “This trip exceeded all of our expectations. From the itinerary to our amazing guides Jo & Andy each day was a great adventure. This trip was truly a trip of a lifetime from the first day to the last. All I can say is we can't wait until our next Active Adventures trip!”
    – Nevada, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Beautiful North Island

    “Great way to taste everything the North Island has to offer, from sandy beaches in the North to majestic Kauri trees, to Maori customs, to scenic coastal trails, to active geysers, to hiking the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, to glow worm caves! Personable guides, homemade meals and small group size made the trip even more enjoyable.”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • 'Kauri' New Zealand

    “The accommodations were great. I was the only vegetarian on the trip and the guides, Natalie and Jasmine, modified things quite well. We had a fun group, the Kiwis were friendly, kind and anxious to ensure we had everything we needed. Tongariro Crossing and Waitomo Caves were the highlights of the trip. I wished we could have mountain biked more to explore the trails, redwood forests and native lands.”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Great Adventure in the South Island

    “We had a great time! The itinerary covered a large part of the South Island including hiking parts of all the South Island's famous treks. Food was excellent, I came back 4 lbs heavier! Weather mostly cooperated, but I would say if you don't want to get wet, New Zealand may not be your best vacation spot. Hikes were mostly moderate in effort {5-7 miles} with a few steeper, rocky sections. You don't need to be crazy fit, but hiking daily and a full schedule will add up; rest when you get home!”
    – California, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Another Memorable Trip with Active!

    “The Rimu trip was my 6th trip with Active Adventures and it again confirmed why I enjoy traveling with them. The trip was very well organized. The guides (local to New Zealand) were professional & FUN! We did so many activities that will forever be etched in my memory...kayaking Milford sound, hiking a section of the Routeburn Track, 3 day backpacking trip through Nelson Lakes. All amazing!”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Awesome Group Travel

    “The scenery was great and we definitely were active but one of the best parts of the trip was the warm social interaction with my fellow travelers as well as our guides. It was great having a driver who knew the roads and allowed me to enjoy the views. One word of advice. The lushness of western NZ is due to lots of rain. Be prepared with a good rain suit and waterproof boots. The weather changes quickly and is part of the adventure. You will be experiencing nature up close and personal. Enjoy.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Our Intro to NZ South Island by Active Adventures

    “Our trip was pretty much perfect. We learned so much from Koru and Lauren. We enjoyed great views by going on great hikes. We had great food, much of it prepared by Lauren, with help from Koru both in the prep and the clean up. The group was knowledgeable, diverse, and interesting. We had fun together trying to photograph and identify birds, flowers, bugs, and trees. After completing the tour my wife and I continued for an additional week, renting a car in Greymouth, and touring to Nelson, the Queen Charlotte Track, and Blenheim. Doing so we discovered how nice it had been to simply ride in the van with someone else driving and choosing eating spots and accommodations. And of course New Zealand's South Island was just a day-to-day highlight reel. Like I said, perfect.”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • New Zealand Adventure

    “Great trip. Katie and Tess (our guides) made the trip very memorable.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • The Guides Made the Trip Special!

    “This statement is very true when it comes to my experience with Jasmine and Natalie! Not only is New Zealand a beautiful country and the 'Kauri' tour shared some spectacular highlights with us - but our guides made the experience exceptional. Both of them were friendly and fun, informative along the journey and treated us so well. They anticipated our needs and surprised us with things that they had heard our group talking about, for example, Hokey Pokey ice cream, or dark chocolate as a snack after a hike.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • Stunningly Beautiful!

    “Wow! That was a word we used so many times on our 'Tui' adventure. Every corner we turned or path we climbed led to a stunning view that left us feeling both energized and awed.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tui, March 2018
  • Great Trip with Great leaders and Great Group

    “We really enjoyed our trip to New Zealand and the incredible hiking on the South Island. We lucked out with the weather as we only had two days of rain. Our favorite part was the Milford Track hike from inn to inn. The scenery of the place is simply stunning. We enjoyed the variety of hikes and our guides were very knowledgeable about the flora of New Zealand and culture. The only downside are the drives. You cover a good deal of territory during the trip which necessitates a good deal of time in the van.”
    – Indiana, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Eleven Years Later. . .

    “It's worth noting at the outset that I took the exact same trip (clockwise Rimu) 11 years ago, when Ash and Tory were barely teenagers and my legs and lungs were a lot stronger. How things have changed! and how much they remain the same!!
    In terms of change: the South Island is busier, more built-up and more heavily trafficked than ever before. I saw scores of RVs where a decade ago there where almost none, fleets of tour buses, and steady streams of traffic on roads that were once quiet country lanes. Milford Sound was abuzz with boats on the water and single-prop airplanes overhead, and Hokitika (among other towns) was overrun with tourists - like us! All of which is to say, in some ways New Zealand has become the victim of its own success: the very attributes that most attracted visitors have been diminished by those same visitors arriving in such enormous numbers.

    In terms of things remaining the same: Active Adventures continues to shine, both in terms of its itinerary and the high calibre of its guides. The isolation and views afforded by Braemar Station make it an ideal opening chapter for the trip (and far less punishing at the outset than the alternative of hiking the Southern Alps beginning day two); the west coast is still as thrilling in its scenery; and the Angelus Circuit remains a breathtaking (literally!) capstone on the fortnight. Ash and Tory, meanwhile, were extraordinarily attentive, involved and knowledgeable, keeping everyone in high spirits and ensuring that those of us who needed some kind of accommodation got it without drama or self-consciousness. Both women are exceptional at what they do.”
    – Virginia, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Our Excellent Adventure

    “We are still travelling, so this is a brief reply from Tongariro visitor center:
    Emma and James get rave reviews for their energy, attention to detail, glowing personalities (Really!) and providing a wonderful intro to NZ. Our traveling companions were ALL delightful. We remain in your wonderful country until 18 March, then on to Australia. We’re grateful we chose AA to begin our journey.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Great Trip

    “This was a brilliant trip. Superb guides with great information about every place we went. Great pace with a good balance of medium and harder hiking. Highlights: information from guides during the trip; delicious and healthy food; spectacular views; great pace. Lowlights: I’m scratching to find lowlights; but due to the shorter duration of the trip and the number of areas that are visited; there is a lot of travel time. I don’t know how that can be reduced though.”
    – Queensland, Australia Tui, March 2018
  • Amazing Trip!

    “Really enjoyed the 'Tui' trip. Amazing guides. They were super knowledgeable and easy to get on with. Brilliant group of people and some memories of a lifetime created.”
    – East sussex, United Kingdom Tui, March 2018
  • A Fabulous Taste of the Beauty of New Zealand’s South

    “This was a great taster of New Zealand’s South Island with lots of great physical activity balanced with opportunities to rest, enjoy the scenery and learn about New Zealand’s fascinating culture and heritage. Our guides Dani and Liana were knowledgeable, cheerful and personable throughout. They prepared excellent nutritious meals and kept us fully informed about the agenda at all times. They did an excellent job of balancing the very different expectations and fitness levels of the individuals in the group and helped create an environment where we could all enjoy ourselves convivially despite our varying needs.
    Accommodation was excellent and travel comfortable and easy.
    All in all the trip provided us with a great introduction to what needs to be done to appreciate the magnificent natural beauty of New Zealand “close up and personal”. We will be back for more.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Manuka, March 2018
  • New Zealand the Right Way

    “New Zealand has long been on the top of my active vacation list. Having hiked a lot in the Swiss Alps - including Active Adventures' first Mt. Blanc trip - and kayaked in Vancouver Islands, the allure of New Zealand's famed treks and fiords was strong. Active's 'Rimu' trip was the perfect way to experience New Zealand's grandeur. From kayaking in the pristine Okarito Lagoon with its beautiful white herons to hiking part of the Routeburn Track to Key Summit, the 'Rimu' is a wonderful two-week journey.”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Incredible. Just Incredible

    “This trip was amazing. I wouldn’t change a thing. Our guides were fantastic. Jasmine and Natalie are the best!!! Great food. Great lodging. Beautiful views and life changing experiences. Wonderful experience from the moment we looked at the website all the way to the end of the trip. Very accommodating to everyone’s needs and ability. I only wish I had more time!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Rebecca and Karen‘s Excellent Adventure

    “If you want an adventure to commemorate your retirement or an anniversary of friendship, this is the one! My friend and I have been travelling together for 40 years and this was the icing on the cake. The 'Rimu' hiking adventure gave us just enough of a challenge and just enough relaxing, friendship, and good food to feel like a luxury vacation. I recommend the three day hiking option. The guides are excellent and you couldn’t do this trip nearly as well without them. Thank you!”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Fun and Challenging Trip

    “The southbound Rimu trip was a fun and challenging trip. Active Adventures took care of all of the tough logistics and treated us with supreme Kiwi hospitality. Each day was planned with meals, transportation and our unique daily adventure. Our guides, Ash and Astrid were informative and always had a smile on their face even when our boisterous American and Aussie group were making fun of their Kiwi accents. The Mount Cook and Angelus hut hikes were especially satisfying climbs. We certainly slept well those nights! Astrid prepared our vegetarian meals with aplomb and I ended up gaining 6 pounds during the 14 days. Well done Astrid! Ashley drove our van, Willy, with great care and we never worried about our safety while in her care. She is a master backer-upper. She also filled our heads with facts and figures as we toured through the different New Zealand regions. This was our first time in New Zealand and every Kiwi we met was very friendly and proud of their country. Our appetite is only whetted and we will return again to your beautiful country.”
    – Florida, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Kiwis Are Special People

    “I really had fun. Tori and Steve (the real Steve) did a great job as we travelled the South Island in Bruce (the mini bus). This trip is properly named "active adventure" we were active and had a great adventure. The group of nine strangers got along really well. I felt well cared for and safe even during cyclone Gita. The accommodations were outstanding and the food was awesome. Tori’s packed lunches were delicious and filling. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful island nation with me. Cheers, Mikey.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Weka, March 2018
  • Rimu

    “If you like beauty, physical activity, making new friends, and learning about New Zealand, then this is the trip for you.This trip was the highlight of 40 years traveling. Active Adventures New Zealand does it right.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Fantastic!

    “From start to end this trip was wonderful! We can't say enough about our guides, Katie A. and Tess, our tour mates and the hiking, biking and kayaking. Active Adventures has thought of everything to make the activities so enjoyable. The backpacking trip was fantastic, and the Valentine's Day dessert Tess baked for us at the Angelus hut was above and beyond the "call of duty". We loved Katie's Maori legends and driving music. The trip couldn't have been better.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Fantastic Holiday!

    “We had been planning this trip for almost a year and it lived up to and beyond our expectations. Biking is such a brilliant way to see a place and Active Adventures did an outstanding job to showcase so many beautiful places. Biking with water on one side and the mountains as a backdrop was so awesome. Our two guides were wonderful and so knowledgeable; they were flexible and eager to help out or give information to enrich our holiday experience.”
    – Ontario, Canada Weka, March 2018
  • Rimu Trip Feb 2018

    “What a wonderful trip! I was a bit apprehensive when I booked this trip because I was recovering from hip surgery but needed that extra motivation to get back to my active life. worked out perfect!! I hiked, biked, walked on glaciers, kayaked..... I did it all and came back stronger than when I left. You did a great job connecting us with a wonderful group of people I know call friends. And our guides, Katie and Tess. I love those girls! They made everything so enjoyable!”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • The Rain Couldn't Dampen our Spirits on This Amazing Trip

    “This was an awesome trip, despite the 7 straight days of rain! Andy and Jo are a great team and it was wonderful to have them as our guides. They provided us with lots of options and maintained their enthusiasm and professionalism. Stunning scenery.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • When Can I Come Back?

    “Active Adventures has organized a perfect itinerary to experience the South Island and our guides were not only well-trained and professional, but so personable and attentive. This trip was a great mix of outdoor activities with the group and some time on our own to explore towns. While there is a good amount of time in the bus, that's to be expected as we are touring the entire south island! Besides, the bus is comfortable with a great snack basket and there are interesting views and stops along the way.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Five Days Packed with Beauty and Lifetime Memories

    “Our group of five enjoyed wonderful hikes, great meals, and some wild rides (both mountain biking and tubing in the Waitomo Caves). But our guides, Andy and Jo made the trip outstanding. Andy's organizational skills and knowledge of the history of New Zealand along with Jo's fantastic culinary skills made the trip very special. Their attention to detail, passion and desire to adapt to every situation were superb.”
    – California, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Every day was a new adventure. The scenery and activities varied so much and it was the best way to see New Zealand in 8 days”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, March 2018
  • North Island Kauri

    “The North Island was an amazing adventure. We were kept busy hiking, biking snorkelling and kayaking, and our guides were very easy going and helpful in every way. We saw and experienced more of the Maori culture, the large Kauri trees (words cannot describe), and felt the love and appreciation of the Maori people for the land, birds and all living species. It was great to have them guide us through the kauri forests. The trip is spit in half in the middle with a day in Aukland, and the first half we had 12 in the group and the second half there were 13 (A lot) in our group. I prefer smaller groups. The scenery was amazing, Natalie and Jasmine were amazing as well. An AMAZING trip! Loved it!”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, March 2018
  • Achieving Happiness

    “Have you ever had a sequence of events that one after another makes you smile? Well for me that was my most recent trip Feb 9-18 on the Rimu trip with Katie A and Tess. I was excited to have a lot of unique experiences while abroad and I got just that. We had a few changes to our original plan due to some weather and road issues but each of the guides provided some context and great supplemental hikes and activities along the way. There would be no other way to travel NZ. Katie and Tess found a waterfall that neither of them had stopped at on one of our days and sharing the new discovery was pretty awesome to share with a kiwi. They provided great history, trivia and created a friendly atmosphere while driving longer distances. I would positively sign up again to finish the Rimu south route as I wasn't able to get the last few days in and get back on to explore the North Island. With how well this was planned I am even looking into other Active Adventures destinations around the globe.”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Amazing Trip

    “The Rimu trip exceeded our expectations from the quality of our great guides Pepper and Dani to the breathtaking and exhilarating hikes. Even the accommodations and food were great. We were there during a cyclone and our guides took care of everything, we were never worried and could just relax and enjoy the trip. We look forward to going to the North Island next with Active Adventures.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • New Zealand Rimu - My 5th Active Adventures Tour

    “Hard to imagine how the trip could have been better.”
    – Connecticut, United States Rimu, March 2018
  • Wonderful Overview of the South Island

    “We really enjoyed all the variety on the trip and seeing a good portion of the South Island.”
    – California, United States Tui, March 2018
  • Kiwi adventure - Feb 10-23, 2018

    “My Kiwi adventure was the trip of a lifetime. Incredible country, wonderful hikes, totally terrific guides, wonderful lodging and excellent food! I was so kindly encouraged to complete each hike by both guides who were so supportive and helpful....and I DID! Going around each bend in the trail offered amazing vistas and lifelong memories.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • 'Kiwi' Trip - February 2018

    “Our 'Kiwi' trip was an amazing experience. Koru (guide/driver) and Lauren (guide/chef) together made a very supportive, knowledgeable team. The scenery, hiking, and kayaking were spectacular. We are very glad we chose Active Adventures to explore the South Island.”
    – Alberta, Canada Kiwi, March 2018
  • Amazing Place and People!

    “We had a wonderful time! Koru is an amazing guide/driver/tour manager and Lauren is a great chef and hiking guide. The place is quite nice because it quiet out there (less people) Have done the 'Condor' in Patagonia and the 'Kiwi' in NZ with AA. Time to book 'Kauri' in NZ or Mont Blanc with AA.
    Good company to work with :)”
    – Ohio, United States Kiwi, March 2018
  • 'Kauri' Trip with Andy and Jo

    “Great people......took really good care of us. Gave a new meaning to Active Adventures for me. Jo's a great cook and full of life. Andy is a book full of stories and information for us to consume. Loved my 5 days with them. Best of my trip really. Loved sand boarding and Cape Brett, my most favorite hike in the three weeks in NZ.”
    – Maryland, United States Kauri, March 2018
  • Alan's Manuka Feb. 2018

    “Excellent trip, expectations fully met and delivered upon, outstanding staff.”
    – Texas, United States Manuka, March 2018
  • Wonderful Trip

    “A wonderful experience....Koru and Lauren were fantastic guides and showed us the best New Zealand has to offer. From Maori history to present day sights the tour was constantly informative and inspirational. Although it was "guided" they gave plenty of freedom to hike at your own pace, take in the sights without feeling rushed and allowed ample time to take in all NZ has to offer.”
    – Maryland, United States Kiwi, February 2018
  • Weka Biking Trip

    “Outstanding experience with great guides and very enjoyable group. The trip was very well organized and is truly active so really great for people that have experience riding and are in great shape. The guides were outstanding with great local knowledge and experience.”
    – Ontario, Canada Weka, February 2018
  • My First True Holiday!

    “My experience with Active Adventures was beyond my expectations and will forever be treasured as the most enjoyable holiday ever. My inner child was able to come out each day as we played and explored and I was not responsible for details. The accommodations and activities varied in interesting and spectacular ways to experience the true country that New Zealand is, a remarkable place with extraordinarily kind people. Healthy home cooked meals and packed lunches to delight the "foodie" in me. Overall, I could release all stress, focus on the fun and for the first time, really have a holiday while our gifted and equipped guides did the planning, the driving, the cooking, while leading us to great places of adventure... and all the while, invest their delightful personalities in each one of our group. Wow! Can I do that again???”
    – Indiana, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Wonderful Trip!

    “This was a really great trip. We hiked every day in beautiful areas and got to see a wide variety of climate, terrain and vegetation. Our Guides, Koru and Holly were wonderful - pleasant, knowledgeable and accommodating. One could not ask for more. Having Koru share his knowledge of the Maori culture and legends surrounding the places we visited was a real bonus.”
    – Arizona, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • Amazing North Island

    “The North Island is very diverse with volcanoes and hot springs on one end and sand dunes and palm trees on the other end. The primary guide was an encyclopedia of knowledge on his island and the assistant was an amazing cook.....great combination. I learned so much about the indigenous plants and animals. If I were driving, I would be looking for a possum to run down! Wish we had an extra day in Rotorua as I had to pass on the mountain biking in order to visit Hobbiton. It would be nice to have had the opportunity to try zorbing since it was developed here.”
    – North Carolina, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Melissa's Weka Adventure

    “I knew from pictures taken by family that New Zealand is a beautiful place but the beauty is much deeper than the eye can see. Everyone we came in contact with was wonderful and I can't think of enough superlatives to describe our guides, Nick and Elder. The trip was above our expectations. The biking was varied and interesting and the hikes worth every step. The food was too good and we enjoyed the variation in accommodations. We would go back and do it again.”
    – Virginia, United States Weka, February 2018
  • Wonderful 5-Day Adventure

    “Overall, the Manuka trip with Koru and Holly was great. There's so much to do in Fiordland that it really made sense for us to dip into as much of it as possible in 5 days. And Koru and Holly were unfailingly professional, informative and engaging as guides. Being in a good group also really worked for us. When the scenery is so spectacular, you want to share it and 14 worked really well.”
    – UK, United Kingdom Manuka, February 2018
  • Amazing Trip!

    “This was a fantastic exposure to the South Island with extremely helpful guides.”
    – Virginia, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • Manuka Trip was Awesome!

    “Koru and Holly were terrific guides (and cooks)! We had a fantastic time experiencing the rainforests, mountains, plains, fjords and culture of New Zealand's South Island. The hikes were challenging and rewarding!”
    – Virginia, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • A Quick Sampling of the North Island

    “The last 5 days of the Kauri trip gave us a sampling of New Zealand's North Island (hikes, waterfalls, geysers and caverns) and Maori culture, arts and crafts.”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Manuka-February 2018

    “This is our third Active Adventures trip and we have never been disappointed. Each trip has been a learning experience for us. The beautiful sights and people we have met along the way have made it a very worthwhile event that we will never forget. We enjoyed working with your professional team of staff and guides and hopefully one day we will return for another adventure. Thanks, Steve and Marilyn.”
    – Washington, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • Amazing Southbound Rimu

    “Wow what a country. Awesome guides (Ash and Tory Rock!!) amazing food great hikes and what a way to meet new friends. Would do another trip with Active for sure!!”
    – Indiana, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Amazing!

    “What a great trip! The scenery exceeded our already-high expectations! And the guides were so good (plus the fact that we would like to see New Zealand in the winter), we are already thinking about our next trip with Active Adventures!”
    – Virginia, United States Weka, February 2018
  • If I Knew Then What I Know Now.....I’d Do It All Again!

    “There are many hikes one can take just about anywhere in the world however no place has hikes or tramps or treks like New Zealand. Active Adventures put together a great run of easy-moderate day trips that were varied in terrain and they included a lot more of New Zealand than what required a daypack. The Doubtful Sound experience was not a hike at all yet it was definitely a highlight of this trip. Stunning. Beautiful (insert all possible descriptors of natural beauty here). Another aspect of this trip that was not anticipated was the two Active Tour Guides who led the way; Claire and Holly. And they WERE active, all the time, sunrise to sunset,....making sure everyone had what they needed and more. Warning!! - if you do this trip you will want more. New Zealand is addictive. Be prepared!”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Manuka, February 2018
  • Tui 1/28-2/4/18

    “It was nice and a great pleasure to come to NZ. Office management and people were all so great! Thanks for all the wonderful memories!”
    – , Korea, Republic of [South] Tui, February 2018
  • Awesome Adventure!!!!

    “Everything about this trip was top notch! We were impressed with our amazing, helpful, organized and knowledgeable guides, the itinerary, the scenery, the activities and the food. We just loved every minute of this trip and thought it was awesome. A highlight was the 3 day hike in Nelson Lakes National Park.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, February 2018
  • Far Beyond our Expectations!

    “Our trip was everything we expected and more. Not only were the sights and experiences unforgettable but our guides went above and beyond to ensure that every request we made was fulfilled and that every moment was a true pleasure. We can't sign up for another trip fast enough!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Kauri Adventure

    “I did just the first 5 days of the North Island Kauri Adventure with Andrew and Jo because I also wanted to spend longer on the South Island. I was sorry to leave after the 5 days. This was a fabulous trip. The hikes were challenging, but wonderful. Everywhere we went, we saw beautiful places. Andy is incredibly knowledgeable and Jo has wonderful energy and is a great cook. They both took great care of us.”
    – Maryland, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • South Island Kiwi Trip

    “This trip took us to lovely places. Everywhere we went, we saw spectacular scenery. The hikes are, for the most part, easy. I loved experiencing the differences between the North Island Kauri trip and this South Island Kiwi trip.”
    – Maryland, United States Kiwi, February 2018
  • Kauri the Great

    “We enjoyed our Kauri trip immensely. Jo and Andy were fantastic guides. Andy is extremely knowledgeable about New Zealand and Maori history and is a helluva van driver (and talking on the microphone at the same time). Jo was fantastic as well and is a helluva chef! We can't praise our experience enough! The only disappointment was not being able to do the alpine crossing because of bad weather.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Majesty and Dessert

    “Never hungry! Jo and Andy will gladly give you two desserts. And Jo’s grandad was a baker so she fresh bakes celebrity quality desserts. And curry. The food is so good! There are always snacks for you between meals: good ones, not the kind that make you gassy and bloated. And then, there’s the majesty of the hiking. The local knowledge of geology, history, and culture that Andy shares on the bus, it’s like Discovery Channel that you get to interrupt and ask awkward questions of. The truly challenging mountain biking. The incredible river rafting - my favorite. All of which is on par with one of Jo’s desserts. Go ahead, take the Kauri trip and see if I’m right.”
    – Washington, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Great Trip

    “1st class and professional from start to finish. Both Jackie and Carrie were outstanding. Even though we had to make changes based on weather they always had a plan and options for us. 14 days passed in the blink of an eye. The food, the accommodations, the activities, the camaraderie, and the enthusiasm were all outstanding. We would not hesitate to recommend Active Adventures and are already thinking about future trips.”
    – Nebraska, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Spectacular!

    “I can't imagine a better way to see the South Island than on Rimu. Challenging? Definitely.... but worth every step!”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Rimu Was Extraordinary

    “We have been dreaming of visiting New Zealand for a long time, we wanted to see and explore all the best sites in an active way, but doing this on our own would have been overwhelming! Active Adventures was the complete answer. They took us to the best places, sites and beautiful landscapes that we could only have dreamed about. Our group was small which allowed us all to bond, our guides Astrid and Steve could not have been better - fun, knowledgeable, organized and excellent cooks. I got the sense they really enjoyed what they do! I would strongly recommend this tour - a trip of a lifetime that words can’t describe - we will never forget it.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, February 2018
  • South Island Rimu Trip

    “My South Island trip was outstanding, even with the cyclone that came ashore on the second day! The itinerary needed to be changed because of all the washed out roads to places that we were suppose to venture to. Our guides, Jackie and Carrie, came up with new plans that were great. A mark of a good company is when they can handle unexpected events, such as a cyclone, and still provide their guest with a trip of a life time. Thank you A.A. for a great and safe trip!”
    – Connecticut, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Nov 2017 Rimu with Claire, Carrie and Natalie

    “The trip was so well organized and orchestrated. Claire’s driving was phenomenal with a bus full of gabbing woman and windy narrow roads. Natalie’s home baked goodies, nice touch. We were fed so so very well. So many highlights, like who lugs bottles of champagne and glasses on a hike to surprise us at the top?! Or having stubbies waiting for us as we emerge from the woods after two nights at the hut.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Kauri Trip 2018

    “This was a wonderful trip that was challenging and rewarding for me. The scenery was beautiful and the guides so pleasant and adaptable. I loved the food they prepared which was healthy and fresh. I would recommend this trip to my active friends.”
    – North Carolina, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Rimu - Feb 2018

    “Could not have been happier with our guides, their level of preparation/organization and the stunning beauty of the South Island.”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Jan 2018 Rimu with Steve and Astrid

    “My wife and I were on the January 15th 2018 Rimu trip with Steve and Astrid. It was a trip that met all of our hopes and expectations! We were a part of what developed into a very small and close nit group of 6 travelers and 2 guides. The wonderful experience of spending such a thrilling time with such a group in such a fantastically gorgeous environment was one of the highlights of my lifetime experiences. I feel that spending 2 weeks of challenging daily activities culminating in the 3 day Angelus challenge hike could not have been better. Helping and pushing each other through with support and laughter will always be remembered. I find myself now back home after 2 weeks still reminiscing daily about our moments spent together. My thanks to our wonderful young guides who led us, supported us and fed us so well.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Had to Come Back

    “The Kauri was our second Active Adventures New Zealand trip, the first being the Manuka on the South Island in 2015. We had such fun on the first trip and fell in love with New Zealand so we had to come back. That said, I was concerned that anything could live up to our first experience. I need not have worried. The Kauri exceeded expectations in all respects. First and foremost, our guides, Andy and Jo, were unbelievable. Andy is a font of knowledge about all things New Zealand (geology, geography, flora, fauna, history, food, wine, etc., etc., etc.) and his way of sharing that information over the course of the trip was remarkable. Jo is a delightful person who can do just about anything in the kitchen but also committed to doing whatever was necessary to make sure everybody on the trip was comfortable throughout. She was a huge help organizing our off day activities in Auckland as well as making restaurant recommendations. Both guides are lively conversationalists and just great fun to be around. The variety of activities and sights on this North Island trip included hiking (lots of hiking, beware of Andy's morning "strolls"), snorkeling, sandboarding, caving, cross country bike riding through the forest and swimming just about anytime water was available. Oh, lots of eating and drinking too. Alas, no weight lost on this trip. The hiking was challenging at times with some significant elevation gains, sometimes rocky trails and/or stairs but doable for we 60+ year olds. We were not able to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing due to inclement weather that day (not terribly unusual it sounds like) but the guides had back up hikes at the ready. Accommodations were more than adequate rangeing from lux to quirky but comfortable. Several are in unique settings you are unlikely to find on your own. The food was phenomenal. Hats off to Jo in the kitchen and Andy on the grill. I have rarely eaten so well. Dietary allergies and intolerances didn't phase them at all. People ask what my best memory is but I think, for me, it was a seamless whole woven together by our guides into a wonderful tapestry that I will never forget. Great job.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Amazing South Island Rimu Trip!!

    “The diversity of what we saw and did on the Rimu trip was amazing!! Beautiful mountain and glacier views, our first sea kayak experience, the sub-tropical West Coast rain forests, caving to see glowworms, cycling the Hawea River Trail, and a challenging but very rewarding Angelus Circuit hike. We were fortunate to be with a wonderful group of people - a great team that encouraged each other throughout the trip. Our guides (Dani & Pepper) were outstanding, very positive, and full of energy. We were so impressed with Active Adventures that we will be hiking on their Mont Blanc tour this summer.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Fantastic Active Trip

    “We've completed 5 other group bike trips in Europe and we had a fantastic time with Active Adventures in New Zealand! We felt like we saw the entire South Island, and the vantage point gained by biking and hiking was truly unique. The guides were amazing and the meals they prepared were top-notch. Great travel companions and a fantastic trip!”
    – Ohio, United States Weka, February 2018
  • Amazing Trip! Epic!

    “It is hard to find words to describe this epic trip. Our group included six travellers and two excellent guides! This 'Rimu' trip of two weeks included some of the most beautiful vistas in the world. We had beautiful weather and so enjoyed the New Zealand summer since we are from the north. The camaraderie with our team created a level of togetherness which increased as we paddled, biked, and hiked the most amazing trails I have ever seen. Our food made by Astrid was delicious and we looked forward to every snack and meal to the point I was a little disappointed when it was a time to eat out! Our lead guide Steve helped me through a few tricky moments of climbing as needed and drove our van so skillfully. It was the top trip of many trips! Not sure how many times I said “Wow”!”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Wonderful Tui Trip!

    “Jackie and Ash were awesome. They were fun, capable and kept us all going and well fed.
    We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable trip. Thank you very much for a wonderfully warm and welcoming New Zealand experience. The hike up to the glacial lake will never be forgotten. Corinne”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2018
  • The Long Awaited Trip

    “I could not have had a better New Zealand tour group than Active Adventures. Not only did I get to see beautiful locations in the North Island, but I also got to hike stunning trails and learn about Kiwi culture. My guides were terrific...and great cooks too. As one who has lived with Celiac for close to 10 years, I was blown away at how easily the guides were able to provide delicious gluten free meals...that was a small treat. I will definitely be returning to complete the second half of the Kauri trip!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • The Long Expected Trip

    “In 2012, when I learned that Peter Jackson was going to build the set of The Shire with permanent materials, I knew that it was time for me to go to New Zealand. I was 8 when "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" was released in theaters, and since then I have grown up with both the movies and J.R.R. Tolkien's books. These stories became very dear to me and New Zealand became (and always will be) Middle-earth. I have always wanted to visit NZ, but I never knew how or when that would happen. The deciding moment came in 2012. I saw my chance to visit an "actual" piece of Middle-earth. But I also wanted to experience New Zealand apart from the tourist spots. I wanted to explore and see NZ not just for it's role in the films but because of it's unique, natural beauty. So I went to Google to see what I could find that would satisfy my wish to see New Zealand. I forget the exact phrase I searched, but I know that Active Adventures was the first result. It was meant to be. Within days after exploring the site, I received a call from a representative named Matthew and we started talking about my trip. I was still in college at the time and explained that I would have to wait 5 years before I could go. It was a nice chat and I was reassured that New Zealand would still be there in 5 years. But 5 years is a long time, and although I was making plans, my trip seemed like a far off dream.
    But before I knew it, I was packing for New Zealand. By this time, my trip had evolved into 2 Active Adventure trips and 12 days on my own to explore places like Wellington and Matamata. I completed my degree and now it was time to begin a new chapter of my life. A month-long trip to New Zealand was a perfect start.
    It's hard to put into words how much I enjoyed this trip - incredible, terrific, amazing, life-changing...these sentiments don't seem to encompass how much this trip meant to me. I waited 5 long years, working and studying, and saving for this trip-of-a-lifetime. I could not ask for a better tour group than Active Adventures. The group was just the right size; the guides were friendly, cheerful, knowledgeable, and made sure I got the most out of my time in New Zealand. The food was amazing - I'll definitely be recreating the recipes at home. Having never really done intense hiking before, I've discovered a love for hiking in New Zealand. There were some trails that I though I wouldn't be able to complete, like the Angelus Circuit, but I did it! And I'd do the hikes again. I got so much out of traveling with Active Adventures that I will be looking for similar adventures of my own when spring comes along at home. It's hard to believe my trip is finished. I've waited for so long and worked so hard to get to New Zealand...where did the time go? I have memories to last a lifetime and photos and stories to remind me of where I've been. Though I will explore the world, I know that I'll be returning to New Zealand again and again. Active Adventures allowed me to see the incredible country they call home, and I'd be lying if I said that NZ hasn't become a home-away-from-home to me. I will never forget this trip.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • A Great NZ Sampler

    “A great way to see and sample the South Island.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, February 2018

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure


Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.