Request a free New Zealand Brochure

Get a FREE New Zealand Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Amazing Tui Trip

    “We had an amazing time in New Zealand and enjoyed our Tui trip of the South Island! It was an excellent way to travel and see so many different places in one trip. Our guides, Eve and Katie, were great! They were extremely knowledgeable and very attentive to our needs, and always made sure we were well fed. We would definitely recommend the Tui trip to anyone traveling to New Zealand!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Amazing South Island Experience

    “The Tue trip was everything I hoped for and much much more. NZ is the most beautiful place on earth and our guides Katie and Eve made the journey fun, safe, comfortable and easy! This is the only trip of this kind I have taken where I felt truly refreshed when I arrived back at my home. How Active consistently finds guides of this calibre and character is a mystery to me. Both of my trips with Active have been outstanding!”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Great Way to Experience the South Island

    “This vacation was a great combination of active and pure sightseeing. Lots of good hikes and terrific landscape.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tui, November 2017
  • Could Not Have Asked For More

    “Organization: Amazing. Pace: Active! Guides: A big TEN. Group: Really nice. Beauty of NZ: Obvious. I loved everything about the trip. No joke about the "get fit" recommendation. Nick and Tess are amazing guides, I need to start there. They made everyone feel special. Nick kept us laughing all the time. But they were also so encouraging when hikes were tough. I felt they really cared about us. I thought it was weird that so many reviews talked about the food being good until I was on the trip realizing that Tess was doing a lot of the cooking or organizing so yes, the food was great. Accommodations were so nice. I would recommend anyone thinking of doing the trip to stop thinking and sign up.”
    – Israel, Israel Tui, November 2017
  • So Glad I Also Traveled the North Island

    “These guys run such an amazing trip. I can't believe how much we did in five days (I joined the second half after the 8 day Tui trip in the South Island). The pace was fast, the variety was terrific. The guides - Andy and Jo - I can't say enough about how great they were - caring, encouraging, upbeat, fun, knowledgeable. There is a lot to learn about New Zealand in the North, and amazing hikes and views. The places we stayed were great, much nicer than I expected. The ability of the guides to cook for us and organize picnic meals that were all great was another surprise. Not an easy trip - the part about getting fit is not a joke. It makes the trip more enjoyable. Basically, I am so glad I did this trip. The memories are with me all the time.”
    – Israel, Israel Kauri, November 2017
  • Wonderful Overview of the South Island

    “Taking the Tui trip in early November was a fast paced way to see a huge amount of South Island. The itinerary was filled with challenging hikes that explored gorgeous rain forests and often led to breath taking views. The weather changes on a dime and I'm glad that I followed the suggested packing list because it got quite cold some days. One of my favorite things about this trip was the variety of activities. Yes, we did a lot of short walks and substantial hikes, but we also experienced a jet boat ride in the rain on a pristine river, a helicopter ride to the top of a glacier, a scenic flight and a bike ride along a crystal clear river that finished in the charming town of Wanaka. The highlight of the trip for me was the two days in Milford Sound. The area is magical with gushing waterfalls and massive tree covered mountains. I loved being on the boat over night after getting a taste of walking the Milford Track with the naturalist who explained the history as well as the flora and fauna of the area. The morning cruise to the Tasman Sea allowed us to see penguins, dolphins and sea lions. All of that was followed by a peaceful kayak trip and a hike up the "Divide" portion of the Routeburn Track. Our guides - James and Maddi - were outstanding. They were both super responsible and had great personalities. James was a focused driver and did a good job of keeping us organized and on time. Maddi provided for us as a chef and "Jill of all trades". Specifically, she went out of her way to make sure that I always had an ice pack for my bum knee. On that note, this trip keeps the participants moving, but the guides were usually able to adjust the activities to suit the needs of each individual. The bus was fairly comfortable with 15 passengers and I enjoyed the "Classic Road Trip" and "Reggae Classics" soundtrack. Sometimes if felt a little bit like summer camp for grown ups. In general the food was not what I would call gourmet, but it was fresh, wholesome and plentiful. I loved that the snacks on the bus were mainly fresh fruit and healthy snack bars.”
    – California, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Wonderful Trip on the South Island!

    “Our South Island adventure was wonderful! Katie and Astrid were great, taking care of everything we needed. It was so nice not to have to worry about anything the whole week. We saw beautiful scenery throughout the trip and we only had inclement weather one day. It’s hard to say what the highlight would be. Franz Josef Glacier? The plane ride into Siberia Valley and the hike out? The night spent on Milford Sound? So many amazing activities! We would totally recommend the Tui and our guides, Katie and Astrid.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Great Active Honeymoon!

    “What an awesome experience! We had such a great time with our TUI guides & Active Adventures group... just wish that we could have stayed more days together :-) The itinerary was full of variety, and well-organised; the scenes were amazing, breathtaking in their beauty. The Siberia Valley experience was just mind-blowing! The sheer amount of places to visit and activities to do was so impressive. Our guides James and Maya were really easy-going, friendly, and always with a smile on their faces; we really loved them! And were also lucky to have Evie, Leo, and Jennie as lovely fellow-travellers. Thanks guys for making our honeymoon unforgettable! We will certainly recommend this TUI trip to anyone planning on visiting New Zealand.

    Erica & Alex, Italy”
    – Bolzano, Italy Tui, November 2017
  • Rain or Shine

    “The Tui trip was a great way to see some of the South Island through hiking, biking, and kayaking. If the weather is nice it just makes everything spectacular. If it's raining, the weather is balanced out by the fun interactions with fellow tour mates and guides, excellent food, and good accommodations.”
    – Alaska, United States Tui, November 2017
  • Kiwi Birds Do Exist!

    “Our 8 day Tui excursion on the South Island with Active Adventures literally was the trip of a lifetime. We absolutely fell in love with New Zealand. Our guides were fantastic! They chauffeured us all over the countryside, led us up and down trails and mountains, fed us like royalty, and treated us like family. I can't say enough great things about our experience. Needless to say, we highly recommend this company. Go with these people if you want to see the country the right way - by foot, by bike, by air, and by sea. It's mind-boggling how much we did in just over a week. Oh and we also managed to see the elusive yet real Kiwi birds in one of the preservation centers - what a treat. All I can say is - Sweet As!!!!”
    – South Carolina, United States Tui, November 2017
  • NZ Rimu Adventure

    “I've been all around the world, and few places have left me awe struck. The natural beauty of New Zealand is one of those places and it will leave you speechless. The only thing that surpassed the scenery of NZ was Active Adventures' services and the phenomenal guides. This trip was a trip and adventure of a lifetime!!”
    – California, United States Rimu, November 2017
  • Heaven

    “Some call New Zealand home; I call it Heaven. Hiking, biking, kayaking - all with views of spectacular mountain ranges. Everything about this trip was wonderful. Now that I'm home, I'm wondering how I'll ever organize all of our photos.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, November 2017
  • Tui October 2017

    “Just returned from a Tui trip last month and it was AWESOME! Our fantastic guides, James and Maya, took care of everything to make our trip comfortable, safe, and tasty (Maya's pavlova was delicious!). They encouraged this 59 year old novice hiker up and down the mountains, and were so much fun to be around. We really enjoyed talking with these two and hearing about life in NZ. When our camera didn't work, James stepped in and took a bunch of excellent pictures for us which he promptly shared.
    With Active Adventures, it's all of the fine details that make them an exemplary company to deal with: from the friendly office staff who provide thorough preparation information, travel assistance, helpful advice about anything and everything I asked, to the trip itself with great guides who took us through the week with every detail taken care of, and, of course, the most amazing scenery. New Zealand is truly one of the most beautiful places we have been. Getting to know and enjoy our fellow Tui adventurers, Alexander and Erica from Italy and Jennie from Alaska, made the trip even better.”
    – Arizona, United States Tui, November 2017
  • The Best Way to Spend my 30th Birthday!

    “Going to New Zealand has been at the very top of my bucket list for quite a long time and I finally decided to scratch it off when I turned 30. Active Adventures was, from the beginning, the only tour group I would consider travelling with. They were the only group that not only had everything I wanted to do in New Zealand, but also had the highest level of professionalism and ratings that made me trust them.
    From the moment they picked us up at the airport I was certain I’d judged them correctly. Tess was simply an amazing tour guide (we called her mum because that’s exactly how we felt about her) not only was she fun, she took care of us, fed us, and kept us organized. Andy supplemented the tour with such interesting history and facts that I felt like I was on a school trip (in a good way!).
    All in all it was an amazing vacation, and I wouldn’t change a thing about it!
    Thank you Active Adventures for making my 30th the year to remember!”
    – Florida, United States Rimu, November 2017
  • Oct 2017 Rimu

    “Outstanding collaboration between our guides and the weather gods allowed us to experience a nearly rain-free trip around the South Island. Expansive views of Mt Cook, Fiordland and Milford greeted us every day. The guides were also able to seamlessly adjust the trip schedule to accommodate a delayed arrival flight, an unexpected trail closure and a bit of stormy weather near the end of our trip. Well done!”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, October 2017
  • I Love Active Adventures!

    “This was the best trip of my lifetime! The only disappointment was that there was not enough rain, as the guides had really talked up how awesome the rain can make the landscapes look. But we had no rain! Seriously the guides were marvellous and really made the trip with their warmth, enthusiasm, support and all around good cheer - they rivalled the beauty of New Zealand.”
    – DC, United States Rimu, October 2017
  • A Memorable Trip That Will Always Be a Part of Me

    “Hello my name is Mario Salazar, from San Francisco California. I took the Rimu trip to have an experience of visiting the beautiful country of New Zealand and all it could offer as a first time visitor. The nature of the parks and activities that I did was worth the time to travel there.The trip became a memorable experience that left me wanting to come back as there is a lot to see and try to take in. The time I spent there made me feel a longing to come back one day and continue my trek in the land of the Kiwi, be it by Kayak, or on the trek of personal growth, hiking a mountain almost a mile up. I thank the guides for showing us the fabulous land of New Zealand and being part of something that will be part of me always. Thank you Active Adventures! and thank you New Zealand for leaving something special in me.”
    – California, United States Rimu, October 2017
  • Amazing Experience with Wonderful Guides!

    “Just finished the last half of the Rimu trip and I can’t say enough about Active Adventures. It was my first time going with a travel group instead of with a friend or solo, and I thought this would be my one and only time. After travelling with my group and wonderful guides, Andy and Tess, I really think I might have to go with Active Adventures again! This was an amazing trip and I wouldn’t change it for the world.”
    – , Korea, Republic of [South] Rimu, October 2017
  • Winter Rimu 2017

    “The trip of a lifetime and 5 stars. Seems a little redundant when this trip is my 4th with ACTIVE. All prior trips and this one (Winter Rimu) have been trips of a lifetime. The guides are very knowledgeable and professional. Active always seems to find the right people to represent them. Just the right blend of biking, kayaking, and hiking. New Zealand is a beautiful country. Such a variety of climates.
    At 65 years of age this trip was a challenge but very doable. I am looking forward to a future 5th trip with ACTIVE. Many thanks to Tess and Steve our guides.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Amazing New Zealand

    “This trip was just a great trip - the guides, the group, the activities and scenery!! We found New Zealand to be a pristine, gorgeous place and loved every minute!”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Great Trip

    “Great trip! Diverse and interesting hikes, bike riding, and kayaking in spectacular landscape. I particularly appreciated having all the trip details covered, so I didn't need to worry about any of the arrangements. A turn-key experience.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Will Be Visiting New Zealand Again

    “Once again Active proves they are the best. The trip is fine-tuned, the guides are enthusiastic and the scenery is unbelievable. I am trying to figure out what I can sell so I can go back again as soon as possible.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Best One Yet!

    “This was our 3rd Active trip and I would rate this the best of all of them. While the beauty of Nepal and Peru were hard to beat, the combination of things in New Zealand made this trip our favorite. Starting with the guides, I don't think we could have had a better combination of Steve and Tess. They both brought great things to the adventure and their talents really complimented the experience. Tess was a great cook who kept us well fed. Steve was an excellent driver and DJ who always got us through to our destination. Both were excellent guides who provided the motivation we needed and the details about NZ that made the trip special.

    The lodging for this trip was far better than we have had on other trips. This is probably because NZ is a much more modern country, but it was obvious that Active had worked hard to select the best lodging for each of the destinations. We always felt safe and comfortable in the accommodations.

    The destinations for our adventures really gave us a good taste for New Zealand. Two weeks is a very short time to discover a new place. Active did a great job of selecting hikes, biking and kayaking locations that gave us a great taste of NZ. We really enjoyed each of the destinations.”
    – Colorado, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Making unforgettable father-son memories

    “The majestic variety of New Zealand, on a far-away-from-home adventure immersed in rich culture, history and physical exertion, was the back drop for quality time with my now retired dad. We enjoyed conversations and getting to know each other's similarities and differences while experiencing the snowy mountains, richly dressed rain forests, various waterfalls, bright green rolling fields and expansive, wild oceans. Our tour guides were perfect tens in attitude, patience and knowledge. I have only compliments. I'll think on this in old age.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Winter Rimu

    “Everything was handled fantastically. Having things pre-arranged and having a driver really helped to remove stress so I could just hang out and enjoy the views on the way to each part of the country. Having native Kiwis who really knew and understood the land helped us enjoy and appreciate what we were seeing. Steve and Tess are amazing guides. Consider yourself lucky if you get one or both of them as guides on your trip! Steve is hilarious and Tess is an amazing cook! We all were fed so well on this trip. I really feel like the Winter Rimu is the best trip Active Adventures offers for New Zealand. You get to see Mt. Cook and also hike the amazing Copland Track. The itinerary is wonderful. It's quite active, which was exactly what I was looking for, but also a nice balance of more relaxed mellow days to recover. Going in the winter was wonderful because all the places we went weren't packed with other people and sandflies were at a minimum. This really was an incredible, amazing, wonderful trip of a lifetime. I'm so happy I found Active Adventures! I loved my Winter Rimu trip!”
    – Oregon, United States Winter Rimu, October 2017
  • Dream Trip of a Lifetime

    “I had always wanted to go to New Zealand, but being a teacher, and because most trips are in January or February that was out of the question. When the Winter Rimu was offered in my summer vacation I was ecstatic. I wasn't sure what to expect as it was your winter in New Zealand but the weather was great and it was an unbelievable experience.”
    – Connecticut, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Winter Rimu

    “Winter Rimu was a fantastic trip! The scenery was breathtaking and our guides were exemplary. And, despite being a winter trip, the weather didn't slow us down.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Winter Splendor - No Crowds!

    “Winter Rimu was a trip of a lifetime which created wonderful memories with my son as his high school graduation trip. We may or may not remember the rain, the cold, the snow, but we will surely remember the togetherness, the chance to explore the beauty of nature, test momma's strength on the hikes and when the sun was out the scenery would take your breath away. Our group was small, fun, the trip well organized. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.”
    – Florida, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Trip!

    “The trip overall was great! Very well organised and the accomodation was better than I would have booked for myself. My guides Tess and Nick where the best part of the trip. They have the patience of saints as some of us where quite sick and high maintenance. Tess cooked awesome food and looked after our every need, plus she was a treat to be around. Nick's commentary was entertaining and I couldn't fault his driving skills. They both where heaps of fun, was quite sad to say goodbye to them both. My highlights of the trip would be Mt Cook and the Copland Hut. Can't beat the scenery!!! I also had my birthday during the trip and it's definitely one to remember, I felt super special with the decorations and the cake the crew put together for me. Definitely a trip to remember!”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Awesome Tour Awesome Guides

    “The planned tour was very exciting and challenging. The guides were knowledgeable and very helpful. When the hike or climb was challenging the guides were there to ensure safety and a great experience. We were burning calories and the food provided was delicious, healthy and more than sufficient to power us through the activities. The entire tour was very educational due to the knowledge of our guides. Each days drive and activity provided learning as the guides educated and added to the experience.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, August 2017
  • Perfect Winter Rimu Adventure

    “It was an excellent trip. Wonderful sites and guides with a well planned itinerary!”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, July 2017
  • Had a Great Time, and Made New Friends

    “Had a great time, Jordie and Ash were great hosts and guides. Also met some new friends from Canada who we are still in touch with! Great experience all around.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Reconnecting with Nature

    “I had a wonderful time on my trip! It was exactly what I needed and was looking for; two weeks to reconnect with nature and see parts of New Zealand I'd have only been able to find on foot, by kayak, or by bike. I know I wouldn't have seen or done as much as I did had I not signed up with Active Adventures! I'll definitely go on another trip with them in the future.”
    – New York, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Exceeded my Expectations. A Trip to Treasure.

    “Active adventures provided an outstanding New Zealand experience. Our guides (Tory and Jordie) went above and beyond during our South Island Rimu trip. Their passion for the outdoors as well as the traditions and culture of NZ enhanced the two week journey. As guides, I was most impressed by their attention to detail and safety. I appreciated the warm smiles, gems of knowledge and yummy meals on even the challenging hike days. For my birthday, during the three day hike at Nelson Lakes National Park, Tory and Jordie surprised me with two delicious cakes to share with my new hiking family. A moment I will treasure, enhanced by the breath taking views of the alpine lake at Angelus Hut.

    The beauty of the country surpassed my expectations, particularly sites like Milford Sound and Mt. Cook. Such a diverse, lush landscape, each hike offered a unique perspective of the stunning views. Combined with the kayaking and biking options, allowed for an exciting and interesting mix. The highlight of my two weeks was my heli-hike on the Tasman Glacier, such an unforgettable experience.

    I'm looking forward to future Active Adventure trips, but will definitely keep a little piece of NZ in my heart. A truly bucket list destination.


    Gigi (from The Bahamas)”
    – West Virginia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Flawless!

    “The Tui trip from Active Adventures was absolutely fantastic! Every detail was so well planned and executed. The places we visited were gorgeous, and each new day seemed even more beautiful than the prior. Our guides truly made the trip memorable....I don't see how Kim and Ken could have given us a more awesome experience. Thank you AA!”
    – Ohio, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Active Adventures is the Best!

    “The itinerary, varied activities, guides Andy and Jo, and exposure to North Island culture, history, the outdoors, and the landscape were the very best I can imagine. I would not hesitate to travel with Active Adventures again in the future.”
    – Vermont, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Puts the "Active" in Active Adventures

    “What a great trip! The variety of stunning vistas in New Zealand is something to behold. We had a really fun group and our guides -- Kim and Ashleigh -- were amazing! We were on the move every day, seeing every corner of the South Island, getting in a pretty good workout most days through hiking, biking or kayaking, and eating wonderful meals, many prepared by our guides. I would highly recommend this trip!”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, July 2017
  • Great Time and a Wonderful Trip!

    “New Zealand is beautiful and there is no better way to see it than on an Active Adventures trip. The activities, the views, the guides, the food and the camaraderie make it special!”
    – Georgia, United States Kauri, July 2017
  • Outstanding Adventure Vacation

    “Our Active Adventures trip was outstanding! The entire process was a tremendous experience. Staff were responsive and friendly during the "sign up" phase. Our guides Jordie and Holly are two of the finest professional, friendly and knowledgeable guides we've had the pleasure to work with. Shout out for both of these wonderful people! They did a marvelous job managing group dynamics to ensure everyone was motivated and individual needs were met. Well trained and both have mastered the skillful art of quality customer service. Keep up the good work!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, July 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed!

    “My first comment is that this IS an Active Adventure. My husband and I consider ourselves fit, as we regularly run, do gym workouts, and added weekly hikes in the months leading up to our trip. We both found the Rimu hikes to be a challenge. I mean this in a good way. The hikes were the most difficult I've ever done, and I am so proud of myself for my accomplishments. My advice to potential travelers is to train hard. The vistas are absolutely worth the effort. Our enthusiastic, knowledgeable, energetic guides Kim and Ashleigh did everything to make this a trip of a lifetime for us. We traveled in late March and lucked into mostly perfect weather; the few times weather did not cooperate the guides shifted activities without missing a beat. The guides also set a positive, fun tone for our group. We really bonded during the trip. Food was great, accommodations were for the most part good to great. In all, I would not hesitate to recommend Rimu to anyone looking for a truly active New Zealand vacation. I for one cannot imagine experiencing the beauty of the South Island any other way.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • Winter Rimu - May/June 2017

    “It truly was the trip of a lifetime. The guide was a local Kiwi who really knew her stuff in terms of hiking and activities, culture and local legends and flora and fauna. Could not have asked for a better guide. If you're lucky enough to get Amanda L. to guide your trip you're in for a real treat :)”
    – Massachusetts, United States Winter Rimu, June 2017
  • Everything We Could Have Asked For!

    “Our goal was to find an active trip which explored the various wildlife habitats and natural areas of the South Island. The Rimu trip was perfect for that goal! Never a dull moment, Nick and Tory were amazing guides, and even made up a ghost story to spook my wife (at her request)! I can't wait to travel with Active Adventures again!!”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, June 2017
  • You're Never too Old to Try Something New!

    “I had a wonderful holiday. Better than I expected. More Aussies should do this trip. Best experience kayaking on Milford Sound, lovely sunny day, no wind and water like glass. Amazing. Enjoyed all my hikes but learning how to mountain bike ride and enjoy it was also great.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tui, June 2017
  • A Great Overview of South Island's Attractions

    “The trip was great. We had hikes almost every day. The hikes were easy enough for my wife, a non-hiker, to enjoy but beautiful enough for me to appreciate. The key to the trip however, was the people. Rachael and Koru were fabulous guides. Their knowledge was outstanding. In addition, the other folks in the group were a great bunch. Their easy-going friendliness and happy willingness to participate and share in the adventure made it pretty much perfect.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, May 2017
  • Best Trip of My Life

    “This was a great trip from the start. The guides, Duck and Tess were great; very friendly, had great energy, and very knowledgeable about the South Island. Words fail to describe how amazing this trip was. If you're on the fence it is worth it. You will meet great people, and see the most amazing aspects of the South Island during the winter.”
    – New York, United States Winter Rimu, May 2017
  • Incredible Milford

    “Milford Sound was one of the most incredible places we have ever been.
    The three day hike to the Angelus Hut was difficult but the guides could not have been more helpful to an ageing hiker.
    The Okorito kayak trip was not great from our point of view, but some of that was not attributable to the organization.
    And the farm experience was unexpected and very enjoyable.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • So Much More Than Expected

    “I expected the adventure, and the outdoor activities. What I didn't expect was such an immersion in the history and culture of NZ. And a few of the activities on the North Island were unforgettable. Finally, right in the middle of our trip the weather decided to shut us out of a few of the more interesting activities and Phil came up with great substitutes on the fly.”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, May 2017
  • An unforgettable adventure in South Island!

    “Amazing views, extraordinary wildlife (birds!), lovely guides (Tory and Nick), and memorable Active adventures (no rest for the wicked with a hike or two scheduled every day) - an unforgettable trip all in all.”
    – , Philippines Rimu, May 2017
  • Smorgasbord.

    “A great way to explore the North Island and get a taste of different activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Kauri, May 2017
  • The Kirk Family Reflections of Rimu 2016

    “It was a fantastic vacation, quite possibly the best we have ever taken. I know our son, Benjamin, rates it as his number one vacation. I actually have a small book summary of the entire trip, with which I will not bore others, but I wanted to remember the details so I wrote them down. The experiences, leaders, guests, accommodations and food were wonderful. On Sunday we had a Mother's Day celebration and my sons chose to prepare a New Zealand-themed meal for me, inspired by recipes from the cook book we purchased at the sheep farm on the last day of our trip. I baked a pavlova and made chocolate slice for the occasion. I wrote down ingredients of recipes prepared by Tess on the trip and made a couple of them within a week of our return in January. When asked about the trip, I continue to say that I did not want to leave New Zealand at the end of the trip.”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Great trip with fantastic guides

    “I typically do not travel with group tours, but I found myself with a ticket to NZ but no time to plan my solo trip. I booked rather last minute but have no regrets. Our guides were not only very knowledgeable, but were also fun and caring. The accommodations varied greatly but were always clean and comfortable. The food was delicious as well. I would book another trip with Active in a heartbeat!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Tui May 1, 2017

    “Trip of a lifetime. The guides were outstanding, accommodations were excellent. Great food... we even had a picnic!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Our Kiwi Special Holiday

    “This was a very well planned, organised and delivered holiday experience. The guides were excellent; they were both great individuals who clearly loved their job and made our family holiday such a memorable experience. The South Island is a magic place. Thank you Active for your efforts.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tui, May 2017
  • Sit Back and Relax!

    “This trip was pretty awesome. The guides were personable while being professional and they were organized and knowledgable. It was nice to relax and let all the planning and coordination be done by someone else.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Active Adventure Indeed

    “It was a great trip with just enough activities to keep it interesting and challenging. Koru provided good insights on locations, while Tess took care of all our needs. The group was small enough to feel like family and we bonded well during the trip. I highly recommend this trip to anyone that likes to stay active during vacation.”
    – Texas, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Exceeded my expectations

    “Everyone said it'll be a trip of a lifetime, and it really was. Our guides Jordie and Holly were excellent, and Holly was an amazing cook! I was a single traveller and the rest of the group was made up of some wonderful individuals from all age groups and walks of life. Would highly recommend to anyone who is hesitant like I was, go for it! You won't regret it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, May 2017
  • Tui Trip

    “The Tui tour was the best trip I've ever had, all the group was great and very friendly, there was a very good feeling with all the group. It was so great to see all the nice places that you have in NZ, the tour passed so fast that I would love to do another one with you guys! And what about the super guides that we had - Jordy and Holly! They are the best ever, I would like to thank them again so much for the great time we had with them, I'm ready to do more! Holly next time we'll do the swimming race in the lake? Thanks a lot again, Ia orana from Tahiti.”
    – tahiti teahupoo, French Polynesia Tui, May 2017
  • South Island trip of a lifetime

    “An absolutely awesome adventure with fantastic guides Vanessa and Tory. Experiencing parts of the great tramps in New Zealand of Kepler, Routeburn, Mueller Hut, Inland pack track at Punakaiki and Angelus Hut are a great introduction to tramping in NZ. I will definitely be back to complete some of the tramps. The Angelus hut hike was one of the hardest I have done (I hike regularly in Western Australia) and I loved every second of it. I would do the Angelus hut Nelson lakes hike again in a heart beat. The cycle along the Hawea river was stunning. Every day was a highlight of the trip.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Rimu, May 2017
  • Rimu Trip Southbound

    “I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys being active and loves the outdoors! New Zealand is an absolute GEM of a country and Active Adventures ensures that you experience the beauty and diversity of its land. I cannot say enough about every aspect of this trip from start to finish. The tour guides, accommodations, food, activities all EXCELLENT!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, May 2017
  • 2017 Manuka

    “Went into the trip not knowing what to expect. Took the trip solo. Was hesitant on taking a guided tour. Felt like i wouldn't have the freedom to do things at my own speed. Not the case at all! Had virtually no restrictions on the hikes. Amanda and Holly let us move at our own paces. Overall trip was a blast! Couldn't have wished for more. Great hikes, great food, good sleeping accommodations, hard charging guides, everything was taken care of, didn't have to lift a finger. I will be back.”
    – APO/FPO AP, United States Manuka, May 2017
  • Quick thinking on the fly

    “I can't say enough good things about our guides Andy and Jo. We had not one but two cyclones hit the North Island during out tour and they still managed to find places to take us and keep us challenged and entertained. When we wanted down time, they understood and let us opt out.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Kauri, May 2017
  • Horizons Broadened

    “We normally take two hiking/walking holidays a year but really enjoyed the variety of activity on this tour. We were challenged to do things we'd never done before and it was great fun.”
    – Bangkok, Thailand Tui, May 2017
  • Good trip

    “Good overview of the South Island. Friendly, knowledgeable guides, good group.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • A gem

    “Excellent trip. Enjoyed this trip as much as the better known South Island.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, May 2017
  • Best Way to Check NZ Off Your Bucket List

    “If you want to check New Zealand off your bucket list, this is the best way to do it. Active Adventures showed us the South Island, taught us about the eco-system and the history of the country, and kept us active while we did it. We made new friends within our group and had a thousand laughs along the way.”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Southern Exposure

    “There could be no better way to experience the south island than with an Active Adventures trip...hiking, biking, kayaking, backpacking... all with exceptional guides, facilities, equipment and food. A dream come true...!”
    – California, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • Perfect Trip for anyone who loves Nature!

    “If you enjoy being outdoors and like to challenge yourself this trip is for you. I wasn't an avid hiker before signing up for the Rimu trip but after reading the itinerary I knew I couldn't pass up this amazing opportunity. You never know what you are capable of until you try and that is how I feel after climbing up to the Angelus Hut and hiking to Mueller ridge. I had never climbed a mountain before (since there are no mountains where I live) but the views are more than worth the climb.
    This trip is the best way to see all that the South Island has to offer, it is the perfect balance between adventure, relaxation, self-exploration, and cultural immersion. Anyone can go to New Zealand and rent a car and go hiking, biking, and Kayaking; however, they will miss out on the best parts of traveling to a new place and that is the knowledge and culture that only someone who lives there would know. The guides (Tory and Vanessa) were awesome! Tory is an amazing cook, and Ness was great at making jokes and keeping the atmosphere cheery during the longer drives. I loved listening to the guides tell us about the Maori people and the local legends or folklore. I actually thought Ness was lying to me when she would tell me that the views get better after being left speechless by the scenery, but every day was better than the previous!
    I have to mention the FOOD!!! The food alone is enough for me to sign up for this trip again. When I travel I don’t always know what the local food is or would be but with this trip the guides cook you all sorts of local food and all the food is fresh and delicious. If you don’t like something they will make sure to accommodate you.
    Ness and Tory made you feel like this was a trip among friends and family, not strangers. I will come back to New Zealand again!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Rimu, May 2017
  • A Must Do!

    “The Kauri trip will give you an intensive view of the north island with all its greenery along with its variety of art, culture, activities, waterfalls, seascapes and volcanic landscapes. An absolute must-do!”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Rimu

    “Rimu with Active was an excellent fit for us! Pace, guides and hikes were just amazing and heaps of fun!”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • A most excellent adventure..

    “The Tui experience is active and adventurous, exactly as described. From scaling summits to kayaking in the Milford Sound and many long and shorter hikes in between. Our excellent guides took the group to remote places, encouraged and supported us as we did some easier and then really challenging hikes, giving ongoing commentary on the history and culture of New Zealand and cooking delicious meals along the way, the final feast was an absolute treat. The groups are small which makes for a really personal experience, our group got on so well as one of us said ‘it feels like family’ at the end of the trip. The most memorable experience for me in a stream of stunning memories was the drive to the Milford Sound in the setting sun, one of the great road trips of the world. The trip is meticulously organised and you get ongoing emails to support what you need to bring and what to expect. Highly recommended, it was the trip of a lifetime.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tui, April 2017
  • Even Cyclone Cook couldn't dampen our fun

    “I hopped onto the last half of the Kauri after two weeks on the South Island in the Rimu adventure. It just so happened that we had a cyclone hit the island that week, so everything was very wet, to say the least. But everything still worked out okay! We still did lots of hiking in the rain, which was fun in itself. The views were not the same as they would be on a clear day, but different doesn't mean bad. They were unique, and there were a lot of rainbows thanks to the water. We even did the mountain biking in the downpour, which was hilariously muddy and still a lot of fun. Overall, the people were good, the guides were excellent, the food was fantastic, and the trip was terrific.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • “Awesome trip. The staff was great to work with. Very accommodating to a last minute change in our trip plans. Our guides were fun, encouraging and adapted well to our needs. Meals were delicious and well organized. Our lodgings were excellent.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Fun Trip

    “I very much enjoyed the Active Adventures Tui trip. The guides were phenomenal and very knowledgeable about the sites in New Zealand. We saw many beautiful places and I enjoyed the activities that were planned.”
    – New York, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Wonderful Choice!

    “A trip to New Zealand was on my "bucket list" and my husband chose this trip for the south island. I think this is a wonderful way to see the outstanding scenery of the south island. We will be back!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, April 2017
  • An Outstanding Time!

    “The north island deserves more notice than it gets in the press. A different world than the south island, well worth any time you can give it.”
    – Tennessee, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Wow! What a trip!

    “We had an absolute blast exploring the South Island with two legendary guides, Ken and Elder. Amazing hiking and other activities, great food, and awesome company!”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Awesome guides & beautiful scenery, need I say more?

    “Seeing the incredible beauty of NZ would have certainly been enough to make the trip worthwhile, but learning the history, the culture, and the traditions, from the guides - Tory and Jordie - took this amazing experience to a whole new level! This trip far exceeded my expectations and left me wanting to go back for more!!”
    – New Mexico, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Magical South Island Trip

    “This was a truly amazing trip from start to finish! Scenery, activities, accommodations, tour group and food were all outstanding! What made it really shine were our guides: Tess and Koru. Their knowledge, guidance, friendship and obvious passion about New Zealand made this trip stand out. We would highly recommend this trip,
    Tom and Sallie.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, April 2017
  • LEGENDARY

    “Travelling to New Zealand has been on my bucket list for nearly half my life, and I'm so glad I spent three weeks there with Active! I was a bit worried going by myself, but it turned out to be the best vacation of my life. They took us to so many spots that I probably would have never seen if I tried to organize everything on my own. It was great to have them feed me, drive me, hike me, and take me to our accommodations at night - not once did I have to worry about anything. The accommodations themselves were so fun and unique, staying in them was a highlight of my trip. Our guides, Kim and Ashleigh, were fantastic young ladies. Ash was an amazing chef and Kim rocked the in-bus narration. I also think we had a phenomenal group of people who clicked very well, and absolutely the best weather one could wish for.

    Even when there were a few changes to the itinerary due to road damages, weather issues, or anything else, the guides were on top of it so fast that we barely even noticed there was a problem. We did miss out on snorkeling with the fur seals, and our Franz Josef Heli-Hike was cancelled, but we were still able to see seals and take a helicopter ride to a glacier at another time. No loss whatsoever.

    I'm a fairly active person under thirty, who lives in an mountainous region, and I was still challenged by the hikes and activities they provided. I also have bad knees, and was still able to get up and down the more difficult mountains. For those wondering abut the multi-day hike, it's definitely a work-out, but totally worth it! And be sure to invest in a hydration bladder, you'll really appreciate it! If you're looking for an outdoor adventure with lots of activity and fun, this is definitely one of the better ways to explore New Zealand.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Life changing views and people

    “This trip was life changing. Amazing guides (Andrew and Jo) were the best part of the trip. They made us feel at ease, welcome, and like a big family on a road trip. The food was superb, I would get really excited at the end of the day to see what the guys were making for us. It was my 30th birthday and I've never felt this special. It was my first time hiking, and the guys kept encouraging me. All the accommodations were beautiful. In the end everything was perfect.”
    – RIYADH, Saudi Arabia Kauri, April 2017
  • Amazing Tui trip - March 2017

    “When our daughter decided to go on foreign study to Auckland, my wife and I had a perfect excuse to visit New Zealand. We like active vacations with small groups, so I was intrigued by the Active Adventures tours. We signed up for the Tui tour and the second half of the Kauri tour and added a few days to visit with our daughter. This was an amazing trip that we thoroughly enjoyed. Every day was a new adventure with spectacular scenery. We really liked the mix of activities (hiking, biking, sea kayaking, scenic flight, and jet boat). Our favorite day included the scenic flight up to Siberia Valley, a beautiful hike, and then the jet boat ride back to Makarora. Ken and Kim were excellent guides and cooks. I look forward to our next Active Adventures tour.”
    – Maryland, United States Tui, April 2017
  • March 2017 Manuka with Amanda and Holly

    “The Manuka trip was exceptional. It was extremely well planned out. We were lucky to have had great weather and a group that got along together very well. There was great raw material to work with – NZ has great natural beauty and a variety of climate zones that allow for exceptional hiking. In addition, Amanda and Holly were outstanding guides – attentive to our needs in hiking and constantly striving to provide the best meals possible, taking into account our various dietary requirements.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • 5-Day Kauri is a Nice Addiition to Tui - March 2017

    “After completing the Tui trip, we joined the last 5 days of the Kauri trip. This was a great way to see highlights from both islands. With the exception of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (the highlight of the trip), the South Island has more majestic scenery. However, the Kauri tour has a lot of fun and unique activities. Five of the twelve people on our trip went on the optional rafting trip down the Kaituna River and the 21-foot Okere Falls. It was a blast. Inner tubing through the Waitomo Glowworm Caves was unique to NZ and also a lot of fun. We look forward to our next Active Adventures trip.”
    – Maryland, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • Our "Better Than Average" Trip

    “Poem written by Andrea Rudolph with and for the entire group of very happy campers: (If you publish it, perhaps you should ask Andrea for permission and credit Andrea and possibly the entire Kiwi group for inspiration?)

    Our Better than Average Trip

    Active Adventures had everything planned
    For a better than average trip to kiwi land
    Our fearless leaders, Rachel and Koru
    In every instance knew what to do
    They prepped us on schedules and weather every day
    And tried hard to make us listen to what they had to say
    Koru always steered us in the right direction
    For finding trails and Pinots of perfection
    Rachael had to patiently repeat
    Our menu options so we could choose what to eat
    She was always there to help us climb
    And cheered us on time after time
    Rachael and her accent were really cute
    Her seeiven and eeigs always made us hoot
    The food was delicious morning and night
    From breakfast to barbecue it was always just right
    Each day we had coffee and muesli to eat
    Often Pavlova and (if we were good) a special treat
    Koru told myths of Maoris and war
    His tales were creative and never a bore
    He showed us plants like the silver fern
    This land is so varied theres a lot to learn
    About many birds he gave us the scoop
    And warned us about the wacky wekas poop

    The Hectors dolphins near the beach were rare
    They amazed us by doing flips in the air
    At the wildlife center we saw kiwis being fed
    And heard how theyre kept safe till they are bred
    We marveled at the kiwi eggs size
    That filled up the female almost to her eyes
    Possums, an invasive species, are major pests
    Eating kiwis and forests is what they do best
    Whether to poison them or use them for their fur
    Is hotly debated and not all concur

    The rain and wind made Foulwind a perfect name
    And the Tasman Sea is anything but tame.
    Riding the waves In Abel Tasman wasnt easy
    It was like a roller coaster and would have made George queasy
    Queenstown is the capital of all things daring,
    From bungee jumping and luge to parasailing
    At Franz Josef an earthquake comes every 300 years
    Its on the main fault line creating lots of fears

    Braemar brought us closer, running out to pee at night
    Sharing toilets and co-ed showers were also a delight
    We ran through the hills, and drank lots of wine
    Singing old songs and jingles and it was divine
    In the dark sky the stars shone ever so bright
    And made for a fabulous view our last night

    New Zealand is perfect except for the sandflies
    Which bite all our legs as they drop from the skies
    They even dare follow us into the van
    Where we smash them on windows as fast as we can

    Our photographers were an amazing lot
    And would do almost anything to get the right shot
    They took pictures of every breathtaking view
    As well as lots of our motley crew
    Julie, Gerry and Frank lugged gear everywhere
    So Frank could create a dvd to share

    Gerry led the trivia team from the west
    As they cruised to victory in our last contest
    We laughed and talked the whole day through
    Waking up to Georges cheers and positive view
    Jeannie his sidekick never seemed to mind
    Through everything she was patient and kind
    When she added her bra to the fence we all cheered
    The moment was tender and brought a few tears
    We could always count on Frank to come through
    With some daily tidbit about something new
    And Vesna was always stylishly dressed
    In outfits that matched and even looked pressed
    Frank, the model husband, brought her coffee in bed
    and gallantly swatted bugs dive bombing her head

    With her camera Julie could always be found
    She never minded lugging it around
    And always had a story to tell
    Of faraway places and people she knew really well
    Mike and Bonnie hiked steadily mile after mile
    But it was the waterfall that really made Mike smile
    Many sights looked like their Oregon coast
    But this was the New Zealand trip they loved the most
    When Lynette got sick we felt really bad
    But we really didnt want to get what she had
    Karen kept going even without her sister
    Even though we all missed her
    Karen Lynette Tom and Gerry may seem quiet
    But in the back of the van they had a real riot
    Talking about everything under the sun
    They laughed nonstop and had lots of fun
    Andrea was famous for her bathroom stops
    From talking toilets to smelly long drops

    Even though she had to go every time
    Everyone else got behind her in line
    Of our demerits Rachel kept track
    Who was naughty or late coming back
    In earning bad marks George was clearly the winner
    He gets the award as the biggest sinner
    While riding on Frank we passed the basket around
    Tim Tans and fruit were goodies we found

    Many of us discovered daily flat whites
    And drank local wines and beer each night.
    Everyone bought some manuka honey
    Even if UMF costs lots of money
    In Hokitika Andrea bought lots of jade
    with George helping negotiate the lower price she paid
    For Koru all blacks rugby is the team to beat
    And watching them do the haka was really sweet

    I tried really hard to write something clever
    To celebrate our group and the best trip ever
    Though our journey is over and we are all back home
    We can laugh and remember when we read this poem”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Great exposure to South Island

    “Greatly enjoyed trip. Our trip was the beginning of April. We've done other tour packages around the world and usually struggle with finding trips that are truly active and challenging. We love hiking and are active distance runners. The Rimu trip was one of the best. A hike described by Active Adventures as 'challenging' is very accurately represented. We had an awesome group on our trip. 10 people with roughly similar energy and activity levels. Kim and Ashleigh were excellent guides. I didn't understand before the trip how many meals during the 2 weeks would be prepared by our guides (probably close to 50%). I was a bit leery the first day when I heard the approach. After seeing the remoteness of locations -- I understand the necessity. The guides did a great job on meal preparation -- variety and quality.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Awesome vacation!

    “We did the last 5 days of the Kauri trip (added on to our Tui trip) and it was a lot of fun. There was a good variety of activities and all of them were really enjoyable. We had multiple hikes that were challenging but with great views. The mountain biking was a lot of fun and the guides for that activity were really great. We also got to do the glow worm caves, which was an interesting experience. Andy and Jo were great too, easygoing and knowledgeable. Highly recommend Active Adventures for a fun and active vacation!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • You Are Stronger Than You Realize

    “Many people go on a vacation to relax, sit in the sun, and read. For me, I chose Active Adventures because I wanted to see the world by pushing myself out of my comfort zone and challenging myself both mentally and physically. The Rimu trip did not disappoint as it delivered exactly that! I loved learning a new skill (kayaking), embracing my passion for travelling through the most incredible terrain (cycling), and pushing myself to exceed what I thought I could ever do (climbing up to the Mueller Ridge). From those experiences, particularly the last one, I realized that in life when things seems hopeless or beyond your capability you are stronger than you realize. When you 'actively' engage your mind and body, you CAN climb that mountain!. Every day was an adventure, filled with memories I will treasure for a lifetime and take with me into my job as I train the next generation to build grit for the mountains they are sure to have in their future!
    None of this would have been possible without the incredible guides we had. Kim and Ashleigh were a phenomenal team. They worked so well together and met our every need. I appreciated how they gave us just enough information about where we were going or what we were doing. They allowed us to discover our potential and pushed us on to victory.
    This will definitely not be my last trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, April 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Great hiking, awesome scenery, terrific guides, delicious food and more than comfy accommodations !”
    – Arizona, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Beautiful scenery with some Maori culture too

    “We wanted to see some of the North Island in addition to our Tui trip so we tacked on the last five days of the Kauri trip. What an excellent tour! Tongariro Crossing wins for best hike/activity of the Kauri trip! Almost a month later and I still look at pictures from that hike every day!”
    – Virginia, United States Kauri, April 2017
  • The most fun 2 weeks ever

    “I was fortunate enough to be a member of the March Kiwi trip to New Zealands South Island. Its hard to recount all the wonderful highlights from this vacation as each day brought amazing new sights and experiences as well as too many laughs to mention. In one memorable day we went from a glacier high in the mountains to a beach with endangered dolphins doing flips near the shore. From the Milford Sound waterfall, Abel Tasman boat ride in high seas, beautiful hikes, seeing the milky way under the dark sky at Braemar, to bathroom stops and talking toilets, smashing sandflies, cocktail hours and singing old songs: it was all magical.

    We were so lucky to have Koru and Rachael as the leaders of our exuberant group. They kept us in line, encouraged us on long hikes, cooked great meals and generally took great care of us. After my wonderful Kauri trip I was not surprised that the Kiwi adventure was also well organized with flexible, patient and knowledgeable guides who also knew how to laugh and have fun.

    What really made this trip outstanding was the excellent chemistry of our group (and with our guides). We never lacked for conversation and we laughed and talked nonstop from the moment we convened for breakfast each morning.

    This trip helped awaken my sense of adventure and was the best thing I have ever done for myself. I came on my first hiking vacation by myself and feel like I have made lifelong friends and found a new passion to pursue in my retirement. I am already planning at least one more Active Adventures trip.”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, April 2017
  • Absolutely amazing!

    “My husband and I did this trip to celebrate our 10-year anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The hikes were fun and challenging (in a good way!); the views were spectacular everywhere we went; and Ken and Kim (our guides) made the trip perfect. They were super knowledgeable and friendly and made everything fun. We felt like we got to see New Zealand in a unique way that you could never get with your standard tour group. We will definitely be looking at doing more tours with Active Adventures in the future!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Rimu

    “A wonderful introduction and exploration of the South Island. Each day was a new experience and an adventure. If you are looking to explore the South Island, this tour hits many of the major highlights and peaks your curiosity to come back and explore further!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Rimu Rules

    “Excellent trip. Content is outstanding. Delivery is outstanding. Execution is flawless. A very well done experience in a beautiful country. Ken and Elder are the PhD's of guides. If all guides were as good as Ken and Elder, you would be a publicly traded company with a stock value rivaling Apple.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Couple from Little Rock

    “My husband and I had been thinking about a trip to New Zealand for at least 5 years but planning it seemed overwhelming. When a friend told us about her trip with Active New Zealand we decided to look into the options. It was everything we had dreamed it would be and more. There just could not have been a better way for us to actually see and do all that we did in 2 weeks. Kudos to our wonderful guides, Amanda and Holly!!! I have put out 2 ferns on my front porch to remind me of them and of our once in a lifetime trip.”
    – Arkansas, United States Manuka, April 2017
  • Best vacation yet!

    “When my wife and I started talking about how we wanted to celebrate our 10 year anniversary we started to think big. We had come across pictures of New Zealand. We started looking at Lord of the Rings Tours but they seemed to focus more seeing the studios or showing up at a photo stop. We wanted something more adventurous. After searching online for awhile we found the Active Adventures site. Fast forward a year and we were landing in Christchurch getting ready to kick off the tour! We both had high expectations for the trip, and man did it deliver!
    It seemed like every day we got to see scenery that took our breath away. We loved the physical activity, the sense of accomplishment every day”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Active

    “The trip was the best trip ever! The guides were wonderful and the sites were breathtaking. We were on the South Island, which is amazing! We were able to take a small plane into the Siberian Valley, which was an adventure in itself. Our group was small (8), which was really great. We all got along really well.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, April 2017
  • Rimu March 2017

    “It was an amazing trip that covered most of the South Island. Dani and Liana did a fabulous job making sure each of us got the most out of our trip. They are full of life and energy. it was a joy to have them as our guides.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Worth all of the Sweat and Laughs

    “I was on the Rimu trip through much of the South Island with tour guides Kim and Ash. I was only able to make 8 days of the trip because I had a prior commitment to meet a family member in the North Island. So my review will only be able to cover my 8 days, although I believe the trip was for a total of 14 days. The trip was excellent on many levels. The tour leaders were outstanding. They drove us in a cool bus, made most of our 3 meals a day and provided snacks in the bus. They lead us on the hikes and activities and seemed to make all arrangements(along with the cool Active Adventures office team support)for our journeys. Our guides were both in their mid 20's and I have to say the most positive and mature people I have ever met. They kept us on schedule and showed us a good variety of terrain in the South Island. New Zealand is really amazing. At times it reminded me of Alaska and also northern California perhaps Hawaii as well. The vegetation is beautiful, lush and the scenery incredible. We were in their Fall October months and so we did have some wet weather, but nothing that stopped us from enjoying the trip. I attended this journey as a single person and that was not a problem because there were 3 other women on the trip and we just were able to share hotel rooms which was great. I chose the Hiking Option through Nelson Lakes and that was an amazing and challenging journey. The real reward for me was making it up the very steep parts, over rocks and lots of tree roots. In the beginning of the trip I was not sure I was in good enough physical shape. I am a tennis player and skier and like to hike and walk a lot but after a few days hiking I found out that I could handle it . That was a big relief because I really wanted to enjoy the trip to the best of my ability. I also have to say that I lucked out because our group was really outstanding. They came from all over the USA and Canada and they were a fun and upbeat team. We were also close in age and that was also interesting in terms of our professional lives and personal cross roads.This turned out to be the perfect experience for me. It kicked me up a notch in terms of physical demands of day after day exercise and reminded me of being in camp as a child, but showed me a beautiful country that I will hopefully some day return to see more of.”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • Rimu, March 2017

    “Thank you for sharing New Zealand with us! Dani and Liana are amazing women, we loved getting to know them and appreciate how hard they worked to make sure that our trip was everything it could be.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, April 2017
  • “Great trip with fun and knowledgable guides. Accommodations and food were great.”
    – Washington, United States Kauri, April 2017

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.