Get a FREE New Zealand Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.


The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 


Review ratings for our individual trips

Kauri 4.47
258 reviews
Kea 4.66
199 reviews
Kiwi 4.60
142 reviews
Manuka 4.38
776 reviews
Rimu 4.51
4123 reviews
Tui 4.59
1396 reviews
Weka 4.42
237 reviews
Winter Rimu 4.62
520 reviews
  • Awesome Adventure!

    “Our guides Tess and Nick were amazing!! They had great chemistry and really went above and beyond what I expected from them. They made sure everyone was happy and included in everything we did. I can't say enough good things about those two!”
    – Utah, United States Rimu, October 2016
  • Rimu Trip (September 2016)

    “This was by far the best tour that I have ever gone on! I really wish the trip could go on for another month! From the moment the trip began, Claire and Holly created a welcoming and inclusive atmosphere and made an effort to know everyone personally. They were very knowledgeable about various facts in New Zealand and when they didn't know the answers, they searched for them right away. Everything was very organized, from the daily itinerary to the meals prepared. Food was absolutely delicious and definitely one of the highlights! The places to visit were well chosen and I was amazed by the beautiful landscapes of the South Island. The hikes and stays at Nelson Lakes are a must-do! A fantastic group dynamic as well. I would recommend this trip without any hesitation!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, October 2016
  • Perfect first trip to breathtaking Southern Alps

    “As upper-middle-aged travelers, we approached this trip with high expectations but slight trepidation due to the intense terrain. Our guide smoothed all the rough edges, enabling us to simply enjoy ourselves throughout the trip. His good humor and competence were unflagging. He was also a fantastic cook!
    The trip spanned an amazing diversity of natural settings and welcoming towns. The New Zealand system of maintained backcountry huts provided very comfortable and convenient shelters and facilities. We are already discussing when we can come back!”
    – North Carolina, United States Winter Rimu, October 2016
  • “The Winter Rimu is such a wonderful way to visit the highlights and hidden gems of the South Island! Since it's the off-season, the trails are sparsely populated, and you really get to enjoy nature (without sand-flies). The gorgeous snowy peaks certainly don't hurt either.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, September 2016
  • Winter Rimu - July 2016

    “This trip represented the first two weeks of our 4 and a bit in New Zealand. It wasn't the cheapest way we could have 'done' the South island but it was worth every penny. Although we are confident and capable in the outdoors we felt that the combination of expert local knowledge in an environment with which we weren't familiar (particularly from a 'weather in winter' point of view) and not having to worry about logistics was worth spending a wee bit of money on. We weren't disappointed. The guides Mel and Gary, were excellent throughout; whether they were telling us stories, motivating, cooking, reassuring, improvising or just doing the basics of guiding - everything was done to a really high standard. We did have to learn Kiwi guide speak though - 'around the next corner' - about 5 miles, 'a bit undulating' - mountainous, 'west coast weather' - days of solid rain and so on. We also learned to judge the weather by how much Gary's socks were pulled up - right over the calves - a bit chilly, long trousers - 'batten down the hatches it's pissing down'....and so on. The itinerary and structure of the trip was excellent - yes you move around a fair bit but it doesn't get wearing and there is a good mix of activity so that whilst you are always active it's not one huge day after another - there's plenty of time for 'recovery' should you need it. You'll get the best out of the trip if you have some 'get up and go' about you - the second week on the west coast was almost solid rain and sometimes torrential - that's why you bring a good attitude and a full set of waterproofs! Drying things out overnight became a daily challenge! The wet weather actually prevented us from undertaking one of our multi days hikes but the days were seamlessly filled and accommodation arranged so that we wouldn't have noticed had we not known the itinerary in advance. A specific mention goes to Mel's cooking which was awesome - even managing to rustle me up a birthday cake in one of the huts and also to Gary the Glowworm - you just had to be there. Personal highlights included kayaking on Milford Sound and Okarito, climbing Alex Knob in the snow and getting great views across the Franz Josef glacier as we ascended as well as Mt Aspiring hut - just a few of many.
    Overall an excellent trip and on the back of it we would definitely use Active again for trips elsewhere around the, where did I put the Patagonia itinerary....?”
    – Scotland/Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom Winter Rimu, September 2016
  • A "Sweet As" adventure

    “The 14 day Winter Rimu trip was the best guided tour trip I have ever taken! Everyday was action packed with great 2-3 hour hikes that took you to places you never would of seen alone. Jasmine and Elder were our hospitable guides, they cooked for us delicious meals, took us to local places to explore the culture, told us great stories and made sure each of our questions were answered. During the 14 day trip I felt like we formed a family of 8. We hiked, ate and explored beautiful New Zealand together. Making friends this way was the most fun part. When the hikes were tough and the rain was pouring on us, not only did Jasmine and Elder provide encouragement but the other tour mates were there to give you a boost.
    I was very impressed with the organization and the accommodations that were arranged, they were cozy, clean and had amazing views. I would definitely do this tour again in another part of the world.”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, September 2016
  • Winter Rimu Trip with Jasmine and Elder

    “Over the course of a fortnight the activities vary, the destinations change, and the weather does what weather does so the only constant is the guides. Jasmine and Elder, from the moment I met them in Christchurch on the first day until the moment when they dropped all of us off at the airport two weeks later, were patient, flexible, attentive, and infinitely good-humored. When a day's activity had to be cancelled (no kayaking on Milford Sound due to 80-km.-an-hour winds) they responded quickly and proactively (a cruise of the sound with lunch). Nothing seemed to bother them and they seemed to want nothing more than to ensure that we had a memorable trip filled with new experiences and minimal inconvenience or (unwelcome) surprises. (The Pavlova cake on our last night, which appeared out of nowhere was a surprise of the best kind.)
    As for the trip itself, independent of the guides--if that's possible--it was exceptional. Nothing is more eyebrow-raising than to hear a tourist come back from a city, or country, or island claiming to have "done everything," but we came close. The tour was designed to show us the mountains, valleys, historic towns, and beautiful countryside of New Zealand. By the end of the trip I had a deep first impression of the country and its history, the topography and the culture. (Jasmine and Elder could lecture at university on just about any subject that came up.) I would love to get back to New Zealand but if that isn't possible I'll know that I had the best time possible.”
    – New York, United States Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • “I had a fabulous time. Loved the variety of activities. The accommodations were comfortable and the meals great. Our guide, Gary was helpful and a wonderful cook.
    I look forward to traveling with you in the future.”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • Harry , UK

    “Hiking in stunning scenery, mountains more rugged than I imagined, beautiful lakes and glaciers wonderful, strange looking forests, kayaking on a beautiful coastal lagoon. Led by knowledgeable, incredibly helpful and fun guides... Visiting many curious towns. All very interesting - A great introduction to the South Island. Brilliant.”
    – Staffordshire, United Kingdom Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • Everything I Hoped for and MORE

    “My trip to the South Island of New Zealand was an adventure I won't forget! It is impossible to pick one favorite activity or day. From the first day of an "easy" hike at Kaikoura (and one very territorial seal); our very rough return trip on the water taxi from our hike at Abel Tasman where some of us got soaked; to our kayaking in Milford Sound (something I had never done before and one I now love).
    Our free time in Christchurch where I went white water rafting in the glacier water (what an experience). Also, while I was in Christchurch I had the opportunity to stop by the Active Adventure office and meet Lynette. It was great finally being able to put a face with some one whom I had been talking/emailing with. Everyone at the headquarters made me feel right at home!
    The pancake Rocks and blowholes; my first helicopter ride to Franz Josef Glacier (how do you top that). These are just some of the exciting, breath-taking destinations!
    When I first read the reviews, I couldn't imagine how the stay at Braemer Station could possibly be the highlight of my trip. But, even with all the truly unforgetable sites (and most I have permanently etched in my mind), my time at Braemer's is how everyone of my --- tell me about New Zealand -- talks ends!! What a truly remarkable place. The pure since of beauty, calm and peace I felt while I was there. It is hard to describe. It not only puts a smile on my face just thnking about it, but also tears of joy!
    Our group was lucky to have an amateur astronomer with us. We went outside both nights to gaze at the stars. Our whole group laid out on a borrowed table cloth gazing at the Southern Cross and the Milkey Way. We were totally enamored with our surroundings. What a place to spend my final night on the South Island of New Zealand!!!
    I certainly do not want to forget about James and Kirsten. Both making sure all our needs were not only met, but exceeded. From Kirsten's culinary skills to knowing just how much to push me hiking to accomplish my goals. She made sure I succeeded! And James, making sure he found out what made each of us tick! There aren't enough "kudos" to tell you how much they made my trip the success that it was!
    I could go on and on - and often do when I'm asked about my adventure to New Zealand. I have nothing but positive comments about my trip and Active Adventures (which I have recommended to several people).
    Well, now that I have written a "small" book I want to Thank You Active Adventures for making this my adventure of a lifetime -- something I will never forget!”
    – Ohio, United States Kiwi, August 2016
  • Joy Project; New Zealand's North Island

    “The Tongariro Crossing was the highlight of my visit of the Northern Island. I felt as though we were trekking on another planet.

    Andrew and Claire shared their extensive knowledge of New Zealand’s culture, land, flora and fauna while offering great music on Dick, the bus and fabulous meals!

    I was asked about traveling to New Zealand alone. I explained I was not alone but traveling with twelve friends I had not met yet. This turned out to be factual.
    Lynn Marie”
    – Michigan, United States Kauri, August 2016
  • Best Decision I have ever made so far,

    “Having time during my transfer to do what ever I wanted to do, I decided to visit New Zealand after hearing about it's beauty and adventure. I can say it met all my expectations and more. I enjoyed every meal they provided, every hike, and even when I wanted to do a little more then the group was up for they were very supportive of making sure I had the time of my life. Snowboarding in Queenstown was amazing and such a great little place to go out on the town. Even when nature decided to change our plans the guides didn't miss a beat. I had a great time and will continue to cherish the memories and fun we had.

    Thanks guys.”
    – Hawaii, United States Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • Amazing Adventure!

    “I just got home from the Winter Rimu trip throughout South Island of New Zealand. To say it was simply "amazing" does not accurately describe the trip. The views, adventures, service and guides were extraordinary. The trip was worth every penny. Even when snowstorms came or other inclement weather hit, there was always a backup plan that allowed us to keep experiencing the awesome culture, people, mountains, lakes and glaciers of New Zealand. I was very impressed with Active Adventures and can not wait to plan my next trip through Active Adventures!”
    – Tennessee, United States Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • NZ in the winter is pretttttty

    “The Winter Rimu trip is very cool. Our guides (Jasmine and Elder) were fantastic, very laid back and super-well organized. Winter in New Zealand is volatile and some of the segments needed to be adjusted, but I was really impressed by how Active Adventures adjusted based on frequent weather forecast checks by always have options available which all ended up being very impressive. If you haven't been to NZ, just go, any season you can make it!”
    – Ontario, Canada Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • Winter Rimu to Remember

    “Coming from a small island which is tropical year around, I didn't expect to have a wonderful winter experience. We had amazing adventures all around the southern island from hikes, kayaking, and food. Everything was well planned out. Even when obstacles with the weather occurred, their alternate plans were just as amazing! Mel and Gary were our guides. These two are the best in each their own. They both displayed great hospitality and patience. I've learned so much about New Zealand while trekking with a great company. Overall, I would return to New Zealand to do more adventures.”
    – GUAM, Guam Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • I wasn't ready for the trip to end!

    “I don't even know where to let's start at the beginning. I spent the last year dreaming about going to New Zealand, trying to talk just one friend into going with me, and finally, with some encouragement from family, booking this trip as a first time solo traveler. And let me be clear- that was the best decision I could have made! I enjoyed every single minute of my trip and wouldn't change the experience of traveling solo for anything. From the moment I met Gary and Mel, I knew that I had made the right decision. They were welcoming, to all, from the moment they met us. Right away I knew I had nothing to worry about, and worry I did prior to the start of the trip. I could not have asked for a better group of travel mates; it was as if you had hand-picked who should be on the trip together. They were amazing! The experiences on the trip would not have been nearly as amazing if it wasn't for these awesome people with whom I had the good fortune to travel.
    Gary and Mel were kind, patient, and so easy to be around. They answered every question a novice like myself asked, without ever making me feel like an idiot. Gary was witty, kept us going, and a super safe driver! ( I am not a big fan of mountain roads with cliffs on the edge that lead to instant death and not once did I fear for my life.) Mel's cooking...holy smokes was it good; so much so that the pounds I was so sure I would lose on the trip didn't happen. She has even inspired me to try to cook a couple of her dishes this winter. She made it look so easy, even with the varied diets of the group. I thoroughly enjoyed the time I had chatting with both Gary and Mel wherever we were: on the bus, hiking, eating or playing cards. They brought us all together.
    Now, for the adventures! Every day was different from the day prior. I saw and experienced so many new things that I can't stop talking about it. I loved the really challenging hikes (Sealy Tarns and Alex Knob) and the slower paced treks through the rain forest and valleys. The night sky at Mt. Aspiring Hut is indescribable! While we were unable to go on the second overnight hike due to weather, Gary and Mel didn't miss a beat. We were so busy and had so much fun, even in the rain, that you would never have known that we were doing almost 3 days of alternate activities. Major kudos to them for this! I could keep going on how much I enjoyed every aspect of my trip. This was the first vacation I have been on where I didn't want it to end and it truly was the trip of a lifetime. I can't wait to book my next trip with Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Winter Rimu, August 2016
  • Incredible family trip!

    “We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and our guides did an excellent job being understanding of the food allergies of my daughter”
    – Minnesota, United States Kea, July 2016
  • Thank You Active Adventures

    “Active Adventures' Winter Rimu trip allowed me to experience many things for the first time. Coming from an island of Guam, I was able to see something so different than what I normally see in my backyard. It was my first time to climb up to 1,100 meters. The climb was at Sealy Tarns which overlooked a lake, Mt. Cook village and most especially a fantastic view of Mt. Cook. It was my first time doing an overnight hike as well. We trekked through the scenic landscape towards Mt. Aspiring hut and was rewarded at night with an unspoilt sky of the Southern Hemisphere. It was so clear that we were able to see the Milky Way (another first). We also did a hike up Alex Knobb to get a good view of Franz Glacier and on the way up, we experienced so much elements in one day. We experienced hail and snow (both for the first time) and enjoyed some picturesque views the more higher we climbed.

    From the beginning of the trip, Lynette and Miriam were wonderful at helping to book my trip with Active Adventures. During the trip, Mel and Gary were so hospitable and helped make the trip memorable. Mel and Gary understood that we haven't hiked at this capacity or weren't seasoned hikers, yet they remained with us at the back and encouraged us every step of the way. They helped to show the true essence of New Zealand's natural beauty as well as the friendliness and hospitality of Kiwis. This trip has been amazing and thanks to Active Adventures, New Zealand has become my favorite place in the world.

    Thank you for the memories and for these experiences. <3”
    – GUAM, Guam Winter Rimu, July 2016
  • we had a blast

    “We had the best guides, best group, Good mix of people, Perfect itinerary, cant ask for more for the South Island”
    – Texas, United States Tui, July 2016
  • Perfect way to see the north island

    “had a really good time. Guides were very professional and met all our needs”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, July 2016
  • “The Winter Rimu Trip was an unbelievable experience. It was the perfect combination of exploration and relaxation. Not to mention the food was phenomenal!”
    – Florida, United States Winter Rimu, July 2016
  • I loved every second of my Rimu Trip!!

    “I honestly don't think I could have had a better trip. Every aspect was incredible. We had a great group, only 3 of us and our awesome guide Michelle. We were pretty easy going and up for most anything, so I think that helped with it being really relaxing, while also active and challenging. I loved kayaking in Queen Charlotte Sound and others. The accomodations were always very nice as well as the food we were served. Again, it really was an epic trip. I have so many favorite parts, but Milford Sound was the coolest experience I think. We ended up driving into Milford during a rain storm so it was if the mountains around us were crying. SO. MANY. WATERFALLS. It was a magical event and I was mesmerized by it. The next day we woke up and they were all gone,dried up. It was crazy! Hiking on and near the Franz Josef glacier was incredible. I really didn't have a bad moment. I would highly recommend active adventure to all of my friends and hope to take another trip in the future. Thank you!!”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, July 2016
  • Above and beyond

    “We couldn't have been any more pleased with our Winter Rimu trip! We loved every part of the trip and were amazed at how Active Adventures thought of everything! Not to mention our amazing trip guides who went above and beyond in every way to make the trip that much more memorable. Definitely a trip we'd recommend!”
    – Texas, United States Winter Rimu, June 2016
  • Winter Rimu

    “The trip was fantastic. Well thought out and organized but the real bonus was our guides. One of our party had some physical issues arise and The AA team was able to adapt in such a way that our companion was able to have great time even though he couldn't be all that active.”
    – Florida, United States Winter Rimu, June 2016
  • Great Fun & adventure

    “It was a well-organized and run trip with a wide variety of activities that were challenging, but also fun. It was great to get to know a lot of what New Zealand has to offer outdoor-wise. Sometimes we felt in a little over our heads, but looking back that was the whole point of an adventure. The leaders, Ken. Laura, & Ellie were personable, friendly and approachable and getting to know the fellow travelers on the trip was a great part of the trip. We felt lucky that everyone did get a long well. Since we had been to New Zealand previously, it was great to see & do a lot of things we hadn't had a chance to before. Having AANZ as a guide allowed greater depth & insight into the character of the country and its ecology. Brilliant trip!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, June 2016
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “This trip has been in the planning for over two years to celebrate my grandson's graduation.
    We spent three weeks in New Zealand, the last two with Active Adventures. The entire process of working with Active Adventures has been an unbelievable positive experience.
    The most amazing were our two guides Gary for the entire two weeks and Mel the last week.
    Their experience and knowledge was really impressive and their cooking was fantastic.
    I injured my knee the second day but Gary found alternative short hikes I could do and experience the amazing country of New Zealand.
    Words are not sufficient to express the splendor of the snow covered southern Alps or the
    beauty of kayaking on Milford Sound.
    Thank you Gary and Mel for making a fantastic trip the trip of a lifetime!”
    – Florida, United States Winter Rimu, June 2016
  • Winter Rimu - 2016

    “The Winter Rimu trip was a fantastic experience! The guides were professional, enthusiastic, knowledgable and made the trip so enjoyable. Even during some of the minor challenges we encountered, the unwavering positivity from the guides was incredible. What a beautiful trip, I will never forget it and can't wait to come back for another visit! Cheers!”
    – North Carolina, United States Winter Rimu, June 2016
  • Great trip!

    “We had a great time on the Rimu trip. Our guides were extremely organized with pleasant personalities. I was amazed at how excellent the food was. They were great cooks in addition to knowledgeable guides. We did have more rain then expected which caused some changes in the scheduled activity. I would highly recommend Active Adventures for a guided trip where everything is provided with super guides. I am planning to use Active Adventures in the future for a trip to Peru.”
    – Idaho, United States Rimu, June 2016
  • Great experience, Must do it once at least

    “It was my great pleasure having the chance to be a member of this tour in May 2016.
    It is way beyond my expectations, the guides:Jasmine and Elder were great guides and friends, they never hesitated to help any of us at any time.

    The program was well planned and organized, we were very lucky with the weather and I truly had an amazing life-changing experience.
    Trust me, it's worth it!”
    – Riyadh, Saudi Arabia Winter Rimu, June 2016
  • Absolutely awesome

    “I visited New Zealand three times in the 1980’s and 1990’s and a fourth visit – a more “active” adventure - became my top bucket list item . . . it was worth the wait! The "Tui" adventure was truly a trip of a lifetime, and our guides, Katie and Alex, were terrific – it’s obvious they love what they do.”
    – California, United States Tui, June 2016
  • Tui with Michelle and Joe!

    “Wow! such a fun trip! Great guides! Really enjoyed them both. Very professional yet so friendly. Toward the end of the trip, felt out group was really close!”
    – California, United States Tui, June 2016
  • Challenging...and Rewarding

    “This was a beautiful trip through a beautiful country. The South Island has lots of environments and the folks we encountered were uniformly friendly and welcoming. The trip was beautifully organized to give us a variety of experiences and our guides were professional and fun. All I needed was more time to take pictures of this wonderful place!”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, June 2016
  • Manuka 2016

    “Excellent route, hiking, leaders, vehicle, meals and companionship.”
    – New York, United States Manuka, June 2016
  • North Island Adventure

    “After finishing the South Island tour, I joined the North Island tour for the last five days out of Auckland, a city I like for the short time I had to explore it. The 12 mile hike over the mountain and the tire tube experience in a cave were highlights along with mountain biking. Andy is a good cook, and a lucky man to catch a good woman from Wales.l”
    – New York, United States Kauri, June 2016
  • Rimu trip March 2016

    “I was a little apprehensive about a group tour but it was a fantastic experience all ways round! The trip organisation was excellent, the guides were awesome & the group was great. We would not have done as many walks nor have seen nearly as many beautiful parts of the South Island if we'd organised the holiday ourselves. I would recommend it to anyone with a good level of fitness who wants to get out there and experience the great outdoors!”
    – New South Wales, Australia Rimu, May 2016
  • A delightful couple of weeks

    “First off, New Zealand itself is just majestic!

    This was the first time we had ever participated in an organized travel sojourn and we had a lovely time. It was a treat to have someone else doing all the work and taking care of the logistics (especially nice for us perhaps since we're still deep in raising our own kids). Dan (K) and Tess were tireless in their efforts and unfailingly good humored, and it was fun getting to know the rest of the group traveling with us.

    Overall, I would say the trip was a little different than I expected (somewhat less active, somewhat older audience, etc) but no less enjoyable for it. Given that it is a group activity, there is some compromise involved in terms of people adjusting to each others pace and fitness levels. But that is offset by the enjoyable camaraderie of the group itself.

    The food was always plentiful - not always inspired, but usually quite tasty, and special efforts made to accommodate people's preferences. And there is a good amount of time on the bus, but hard to avoid that given how much ground the trip covers. Most days the travel time was broken up in such a way as to not seem onerous at all.

    All around, a very relaxing two weeks. Well recommended.”
    – California, United States Rimu, May 2016
  • South Island

    “It was a great way to see and experience New Zealand and its people. Michelle and Elder are excellent tour guides, and the 7 people with me were good company. I don't know if I will ever get to NZ again, but I definitely would return based on my experience. It would be a nice place to live.”
    – New York, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Kauri Mar 2016

    “We joined the Kauri for the second half in Auckland, Andy & Alex welcomed us into the group that was continuing from the first half of the trip, we immediatly felt comfortable. The knowledge that Andy & Alex have tucked away in their brains to share with the guest is amazing, the hiking, biking, cultural events at Te Pau all leading up to the "beast" the Tongariro Alpine Crossing were amazing. The weather for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing was not at its best, but that is the weather in New Zealand in the fall. Learning about the legend "Shrek" and glowing poop rounded off the trip.. Having only completed half of the Kauri trip, are appetites are whetted to return to do the full tour. The camaraderie amongst the tour group was great, the food that Alex prepared & Andy helped with during the tour was amazing, so my waist line tells me.”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, May 2016
  • Fantastic Way to See New Zealand!

    “I had been to New Zealand before and knew I had to come back. I also knew I wouldn't settle for a normal tour. This adventure ticked all the boxes! There was some time spent on the bus, but that's the only way you can get to all the amazing places this tour will take you. The food is fantastic, accommodations range from "primitive" to amazing, depending on your choices, and the activities are flexible enough for almost everyone. Gary and Laura are the best! I had so much fun getting to know them and the others in our group. I would say 20% of a trip is who you are traveling with, but it can be 80% of your feelings about it. We hit the jackpot! Everyone was fantastic! I do need to qualify my 5-star rating. This trip was indeed excellent! But I have been on some amazing trips and they ALL warrant trip of a lifetime status.”
    – New Mexico, United States Rimu, May 2016
  • The BEST:)

    “This was one of the best trips I have ever been on! Only downfall was it was only 8 days long...will definitely be going back to New Zealand:)”
    – California, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Best trip ever!

    “From the moment we arrived at the airport, we never worried about a single detail for two weeks - not food, not transport, not what we were going to do -- it was all perfectly planned and wonderfully executed. All we had to do was hike, bike, paddle, and relax!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, May 2016
  • “As a keen hiker turned tramper Active Adventures certainly helped me discover and explore 'Shangri-la' and I feel blessed to be a short 3hr flight away living just north of Sydney - I will return!”
    – New South Wales, Australia Rimu, May 2016
  • Tui was amazing for me!

    “The South Island of New Zealand is the most beautiful place I've ever been. Our guides, Michelle and Joe, were extremely intelligent, kind, and fun! Our fellow tripmates were who you would pick without knowing that's who you'd pick. I had the best time and without Active Adventures I wouldn't have explored this splendorous country and it's natural beauty so thoroughly. It was some of the most adventurous, peaceful, and enjoyable days of my far...”
    – California, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Fabulous trip, every day a new adventure

    “We loved our Active Adventures Kauri trip. Every day we had new adventures hiking in the beautiful North Island. The scenery is spectacular. At the end of the day we'd gather with local bottles of NZ wine and delicious home cooking by Andy and Kim--a great way to recap our day and to learn about the day ahead. Our guides were friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely caring, thank you!”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, May 2016
  • “This was an amazing trip where I found that even a certified klutz like me was able to survive going up and down mountains and doing other crazy adventures that got me out of my comfort zone; with the help of 2 great guides and the encouragement of the group.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, May 2016
  • Incredible opportunity!

    “Every day was a fresh challenge and a delightful experience in New Zealand. Our guides were fantastic. I can't really imagine how the trip could be improved. It was simply an expertly organized and led expedition. I hope to travel more with Active Adventures because you obviously know what you are doing!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Tui in the Fall

    “The Tui trip was an amazing way to see the Southern Island. It gets you to places that would be very difficult to access on your own visiting New Zealand for a couple of weeks. Guides were wonderful and very entertaining. Would suggest it to anyone wanting to see the beauty of the South Island”
    – Washington, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Great trip

    “Of course New Zealand is beautiful, and Vanessa and Holly made the trip as smooth as possible.”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Great trip

    “The North Island had a little more variety than the South Island, which I enjoyed. Both trips were excellent.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Everlasting Memories in NZ

    “From start to finish, our Tui Trip with Active Adventures was everything we hoped for and more. I have never experienced a more action packed, stunningly beautiful, adventure filled 8 days in my life! Thank you for the many memories made Active!! NZ will forever have my heart!”
    – California, United States Tui, April 2016
  • “Our trip was absolutely fantastic. The country is spectacular! Holly and Vanessa were great guides and our whole group was of lot of fun.”
    – New York, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Brilliant Kauri trip

    “First trip to New Zealand far exceeded expectations. Wonderful country showed off to its best by a superb itinerary and first rate guides.”
    – Scotland, United Kingdom Kauri, April 2016
  • “We had such a wonderful time touring the North with a great bunch of people. The beaches and forests were so unique, and the mountains were amazing. Andy and Kim were great guides. We had so much fun hiking, and trying new things.”
    – New York, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Kauri trip adventure and culture of the North Island

    “Normally a solo traveller so this was my 1st group tour and I found it so much more relaxing and enjoyable not having to drive, organise meals, accom etc. Every little detail of the trip was covered, our tour guide Andy was awesome, shared so much knowledge of the areas we travelled, was accomodating and adaptable, and a great cook. Jasmine who also joined us on the trip was lovely, such a pleasure travelling with her. I was after a tour with adventure and culture and it provided plenty of both. Already planning to do a South Island tour with Active Adventures in the future.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Kauri, April 2016
  • Fantastic 'trip itinerary' lead by 2 of the best guides

    “This is one of the best outdoor trips my wife and I have ever taken. The scenery to the trek sites is just fantastic and the trek routes are real great.
    We had 2 of the best guides ever!! The driving, guiding and the food preparation were just superb - kudos to Dave and Jasmine :)”
    – Sarawak, Malaysia Tui, April 2016
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “What an amazing experience. I wasn't sure what to expect as this was my first time in New Zealand. Our guides were excellent and every bit of the trip was fantastic!! Definitely the trip of a lifetime!”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • second half of Kauri trip

    “To be honest, there is no way to compare the two trips I took. South island activities blew me away, not to mention the pristine wonder of the land.
    I tell everyone go to south island, spend your time there!
    Aukland on north island was fun and the caving experience with glow worms was thrilling and magical. Due to poor weather we were unable to hike the pass...a lost day unless you chose to go for a little hike in pouring rain.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Beautiful North Island

    “We spent one week traveling around the North Island with Active Adventures. The tour was focused on the Maori culture and the incredible ancient forests. The tour took us to places that we never would have found on our own.”
    – Iowa, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Wonderful South Island adventure

    “Enjoyed all of the hiking, especially the beautiful Milford Track and the challenging Mt. Cook hike. Excellent accommodations and food everywhere we went.”
    – Alabama, United States Manuka, April 2016
  • Tremendous Tui!

    “8 days of intense activity but soooo worth it! Great company, amazing places and just sheer awesomeness - from hiking up mountains, biking around beautiful lakes to jumping off mountains, small planes, jet boats and sea kayaks. Laughs and spills coupled with the odd glass of New Zealand wine - what more could you ask for!”
    – Berks, United Kingdom Tui, April 2016
  • Generally a great trip.

    “Generally a great trip.”
    – Washington, United States Tui, April 2016
  • North island at its best

    “From great hikes, breathtaking views, wonderful snorkeling and kayaking, best mountain bike trails I have ever seen and finally the spectacular Waitomo Caves, our North Island adventure was outstanding.”
    – Alabama, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Very well organized with great Guides

    “Overall the trip was very well organized and the guides were great. The guides were very knowledgeable about the areas visited and they kept us entertained with their experiences. The food & accommodation over the trip was quite good and I understand all well vetted by the Active team over the time they have been running their tours. Understandably some accommodation was basic, to other a little more lavish (like in Queenstown) based on the area we travelled through…however in general is was all very comfortable.

    The activities were also well organized - with most of the hikes being relatively easy (and some options for harder ones). As a portion of each day is spent travelling the mode of transport becomes key – the 20-seater bus was definitely a lot more comfortable with us just being a small group of 8.

    Was my first time in New Zealand and definitely was a great tour to get a glimpse of some of the divers areas of the south island.”
    – , Hong Kong Tui, April 2016
  • Rimu Adventure!

    “Stunning scenery, awesome adventures, and fantastic guides made this truly, a trip of a lifetime!”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • The Gear List gave me a fright!

    “I come from a tropical island in the Caribbean and when I received the gear list, I thought I had signed up for an Extreme Adventure. Summer is defined differently in the South Island in New Zealand, but this trip was the most spectacular experience of my life and the places we hiked and visited were breathtaking.”
    – , Puerto Rico Rimu, April 2016
  • Hiking the Tongariro Alpine Crossing on my birthday!

    “I hiked the Tongariro Alpine Crossing on my birthday and it was the most wonderful birthday of my life!”
    – , Puerto Rico Kauri, April 2016
  • Tui Experience - my best ever trip

    “NZ is meant for adventure. It has a beautiful weather, huge open space, amazing scenery and friendly people. I figured that i can't be visiting NZ on a normal sightseeing mode. One need to experience the beautiful landscape and parks via active adventure such Tui. I think it's the best decision I've made. Tui adventure with Katie and Clara was a joy. They are a good team. Tui trip has given me the opportunity to meet and make new friends with people from different part of the world, all of whom share the same passion for travel and adventure. Tui makes me want to come back for more daring adventure NZ has to offer. Well done guys.”
    – WP KL, Malaysia Tui, April 2016
  • Rimu March 2016

    “I had the enormous pleasure to part of a Rimu Trip this March. I cant speak highly enough about the guides. They made us laugh, fed us gourmet meals (even while backpacking) and were a pleasure to spend time with. Good weather and bad, this trip is designed to make every moment enjoyable as long as you like being outside. Along with the planned swim with seals, our group was lucky enough to have dolphins jumping alongside our kayaks in the Milford Sound. Cant wait to come back!”
    – Alberta, Canada Rimu, April 2016
  • Rimu 2016

    “Our guides, Claire and Kirsten were prepared for any circumstance and the itinerary was extremely well planned. The many years of experience that Active Adventures has leading trips to the South Island culminated in a fantastic trip.”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • “I had been on the North Island for 6 months and looking for a way to see the beauty of the South Island without me having to do the planning and you certainly made it easy”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • “My wife and I have done a fair amount of traveling (hiking, cycling, kayaking, sailing) and this was undoubtedly our best trip!”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • A + trip

    “Incredible trip! The Rimu tour of the South Island was a picture perfect paradise presented by two amazing leaders. Claire and Kirsten could not have been more capable and committed to all of us having the best possible vacation. There are not two more competent and caring individuals. A+trip and A+leaders”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Rimu Feb 2016

    “Hats off to Active for a fantastic adventure! Thoroughly enjoyable. Each activity was well planned and tailored to the desires and abilities of the group. Amanda and Kim kept us well informed and laughing all the way.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Rimu - Feb 2016

    “The Rimu trip was designed exactly as I always wanted to experience such a beautiful country....hiking, biking and kyaking. Our guides showed us the best segments of some of the most beautiful hiking trails which would probably take months to navigate. Loved the knowledge of historical stories shared on our long travel days. The meals were delicious and healthy. Our group was super fun and by the first day we were already friends.

    The physical demands for this trip were high and I found myself out of my comfort zone on the 3 days trek. It wasn't the long hiking days, the 3,000 ft. elevation gain, the mud and water crossings, or sleeping in the huts. It was the up and over two huge rockpiles carrying a very heavy backpack where every step forward was uncertain, loose , sliding rocks. There was no looking around because you can't stand up straight and you can't take your eyes off your next step. This was not a "fun" part of the trip for me. But...I made it!”
    – Nevada, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Rejuvenating for the Body, Mind and Spirit

    “The Rimu trip exceeded my expectations. The combination of activities -- hiking, snorkeling, sea kayaking, and bicycling -- was perfect for us. We don't consider ourselves to be strong hikers, but we stay pretty active. The Rimu itinerary kept us challenged in a good way. We particularly liked the structure of the itinerary, home-cooked meals, homey-type accommodations, etc. We plan to travel with Active Adventures in the future.”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Once in a lifetime adventure

    “This trip is filled with great people, beautiful walks & hikes and other adventures. It would be impossible to plan a trip like this on your own. The guides are fantastic and go out of their way to make the trip memorable for everyone. Go, go, go!”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Loved Mel!!

    “I really enjoyed hanging out with Mel during our overnight trip in Siberia Valley, she took excellent care of us and even remembered that I don't eat refined carbs...she was super attentive and kind. Hope to see her in another adventure.”
    – California, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Awesome trip!

    “Our Tui trip was even more fabulous than we had imagined! Our guides were great, the scenery was fantastic, and being active & outdoors is definitely the best way to truly experience New Zealand.”
    – Oklahoma, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Good complement to the Rimu!

    “Traveling half way around the world to participate in the Rimu (South Island), we wanted to see the North Island, too. The 11-day Kauri truly addressed that desire and helped us better understand the culture and history of New Zealand.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Our adventure continues

    “We did the first 5 days of the Kauri trip right after our 8 day Tui trip. So glad we did, as we got to experience the different things the North island has to offer. I only wish we could have done the entire trip!”
    – Oklahoma, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Spectacular vacation experience

    “The difference between an okay trip and a spectacular one depends on the travelers, the leaders, and the activities. This trip was tops on all three.”
    – New Jersey, United States Kiwi, April 2016
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Amanda and Kim did an incredible job. Provided great information, cooked great meals, and were exceptionally accommodating. The trip itself was a wonderful experience and I felt we did see the whole South Island.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Active Adventures knows how to take care of their guests!

    “From the booking process to last day of my trip, all Active Adventures staff made me feel so well taken of! They answered questions, were friendly, professional and worked with my special requests going above and beyond to make sure my trip was a success and just what I was looking for! I was so appreciative of their efforts!”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, April 2016
  • “I began this trip with the desire to spend 8 glorious days actively exploring with my a place neither of us had been and a country I had been told, was just beautiful. I came away with much, much more. Not only was New Zealand breathtaking, from our treks to our prop plane ride, to our biking, kayaking and jet boating, but what made it even more beautiful was seeing the land and the life of the people through the eyes of our wonderful guides. They never tired of our endless questions, catered to our every need, and fed us the most delicious meals...and that's what truly made our Tui Trek second to none. My hats off to Active Adventures for providing us a trip to remember!!!”
    – South Carolina, United States Tui, April 2016
  • A north island adventure!

    “The north island has a beauty that is different than the south, and of course Active Adventures puts you in the middle of it for a great experience. Highlights include the Tongariro Crossing, black water rafting in the Waitomo caves, and hot springs. One regret is that I took part only in the 5-day Kauri instead of the 11 day trip.”
    – Oregon, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Doug Ahmann's RIMU review

    “The combination of guides from New Zealand (Dan K) and Peru (Elder) was excellent. Dan brought his kind and gentle leadership skills along with his vast knowledge of New Zealand culture and topography of the South Island. Elder brought his friendly and helpful attitude along with boundless energy and his ability to draw you into appreciating the beauty of New Zealand that you are seeing all around you. Both guides were very strong and hard workers in doing all the logistics of food purchasing, meal prep, cleaning up, and even carrying some of our loads at times when the conditions were difficult. They made good excursion choices of the level of difficulty according to the abilities (and tiredness) of our group! What was fun also was to watch Dan and Elder show youthful enthusiasm, especially when we came to places where they would jump into their favorite swimming holes! I'll have to say I enjoyed joining in with them on one of those playful moments!

    I believe that we all felt like we received a personalized adventure tour of the South Island that was tailored to our abilities, and will leave positive lasting memories of the land of New Zealand. It was great watching the group rise to levels of physical abilities higher than they personally thought possible, especially on the three-day backpack trip in the Nelson Lakes area. I think all felt a big sense of accomplishment when we looked back at how far we hiked and how high we climbed with backpacks!”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Great Trip to see the South Island

    “This trip is designed well, with not only a variety of activities, but the ability to visit a variety of places on the South Island. Very comprehensive!”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “New Zealand has been at the top of my list to visit for awhile and it didn't disappoint. Going with Active Adventures made it even better! Our tour guides, Holly and Vanessa, were outstanding and the whole tour group made the trip very memorable. Not only were the "adventures" amazing, but having great company to do it with really made it the trip of a lifetime. I would highly recommend Active Adventures! Thank you for an epic trip!”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Who knew.......

    “....that a group of strangers could have so much fun together? Our guides Rachel and Jasmine deserve the lion's share of the credit for making our two week trip memorable and fun. Laughter against stunning visual landscape backdrops was the theme of our group, with each individual admired and accepted for what they contributed. Rachel skillfully took care of our nourishment needs (this was a lot of work) and Jasmine safely delivered us from one amazing place to another. Her stories provided wonderful context to wherever we were visiting. They both knew just how much to challenge the group physically and allowed for a wide range of stamina and abilities. One thing I loved about our guides, Rachel and Jasmine, is that they are incredibly proud to show off New Zealand and share their own stories. Terrific people!”
    – Maine, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Fabulous

    “loved out tour, Joe's cooking was sensational and he and Gary got me to do more than I thought I was capable of doing.
    Each event was amazing and fun filled, challenging and exciting.
    I wouldnt have signed up if I had known how hard it was, but I feel a deep sense of confidence at having done it.

    Many thanks!

    – Illinois, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Spectacular NZ....

    “Highly recommend the Kiwi trip as a good way to check out Active Adventures. Lots of ocean view hikes with seal sightings, ocean birds and sea side walks, followed by hikes into glacier country and more.....
    Two couples joined just for 8 days of the 14 scheduled trip and enjoyed ourselves though at times felt a little rushed. The pluses definitely outweighed this small criticism. Such a dramatic, beautiful country with extra friendly people who like to be called Kiwis!”
    – Ontario, Canada Kiwi, April 2016
  • Rimu Feb 2016

    “What a trip! Great adventures, great guides, great group, great weather! So many highlights, Mt. Cook, Angelus hut, Milford Sound, the list is endless. Thank you Active for over delivering with those little touches that you do so well!”
    – Alberta, Canada Rimu, March 2016
  • A very fine time was had by all

    “Loved my New Zealand trip with Active Adventures because not only do they know the best places to visit, as they are or, they are well organized and safe when it comes to all events, lodging, and managing the myriad personalites and abilities of our challenging group. And our guides Katie and Kirsten were great cooks/bakers, strong, patient, and mostly fun! Then there are the contact gals, Ellie And Lynette, who took care of my fiance's crazy Valentine wishes from back home in the Rockies to finding and mailing my favorite old shoes back to the states. The personal care each staff/guide gave us made it all worth flying over there and exploring an extremely unique and beautiful country. The folks at Active are a wonderful, prime example of the rest of their fellow country kiwis, friendly and helpful! I highly recommend this team of experts!”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Kauri March 2016

    “Another excellent trip with Active! Carefully thought out and executed with a healthy sprinkling of fun!”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, March 2016
  • Steve's March 2016 Rimu Review

    “I have to start this review with my comments on the guides, Vanessa and Holly. They far exceeded any expectations I had prior to the trip! No matter whether they were cooking, driving, or leading our activities, they did it all with expertise, enthusiasm, and a smile. They were the best!

    We were unable to join the beginning of the trip due to our schedules and travel issues, but the 8 days we were there were wonderful. We saw some of the best New Zealand has to offer and are already talking about returning in the future when we have more time. As their name suggests, an Active Adventure trip is active! But they combine the hikes, biking, etc. with some well-deserved pampering, along with the opportunity to learn about the country you're seeing. I highly recommend an Active Adventures trip.”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Steph's Rimu Review

    “This trip was wonderful from beginning to end! Though I wasn't able to join the group until the evening of Day 6, due to time and travel constraints, the Active Adventures team made it work. Guides Vanessa and Holly were warm and welcoming! They know New Zealand and provided information and fun along the way. They took care of all aspects of the trip from packing bags in the trailer (Kermit), to driving (Ernest), to cooking and serving healthy meals, to listening to us "foreigners", good-naturedly! Thanks!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Rimu Trip 2016

    “This trip was a great overview of the South Island. Our motto on the trip was "Live the movie, don't watch it." With all of the activity and sights I felt like we were doing just that. The guides did an excellent job making the trip seamless and enjoyable, and the group itself was fantastic.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Rimu 2016 (South)

    “The Rimu trip was lovely. We had a congenial group and two wonderful guides. We had a few weather issues which cannot be avoided but the company and the guides made the best of them. I enjoyed the company and the sites. I was especially enamoured by the Braemar Sheep station and the Mt Cook hike. The logistics were superbly managed. Some of the days were a bit long and it would be great if they could be shortened a bit.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, March 2016
  • Outstanding trip for experiencing South Island beauty!

    “Active Adventures knows the top attractions, how to best experience them, and how to put you right into them! Take your fitbit or equivalent, you will log lots of steps and burn some calories! Highly recommend the Siberia Valley Wilderness hike/overnight stay.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, March 2016
  • Fabulous trip. Everything went great.

    “Been looking forward to our trip for over a year. We met our guides, Kate and Mel, at the airport as planned and everything was perfect. The transportation was roomy and comfortable. Kate and Mel did a wonderful job making sure we enjoyed our trip. They catered the activities to our desires and abilities. At times the group split up to accommodate everyone and they were completely flexible. We are already planning our next Active adventure to Patagonia.”
    – Utah, United States Tui, March 2016

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure


Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.