Get a FREE New Zealand Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

 

Review ratings for our individual trips

Kauri 4.48
200 reviews
Kea 4.66
195 reviews
Kiwi 4.64
124 reviews
Manuka 4.38
763 reviews
Rimu 4.51
4004 reviews
Tui 4.58
1335 reviews
Weka 4.42
228 reviews
Winter Rimu 4.61
498 reviews
  • Best trip ever!

    “From the moment we arrived at the airport, we never worried about a single detail for two weeks - not food, not transport, not what we were going to do -- it was all perfectly planned and wonderfully executed. All we had to do was hike, bike, paddle, and relax!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, May 2016
  • “As a keen hiker turned tramper Active Adventures certainly helped me discover and explore 'Shangri-la' and I feel blessed to be a short 3hr flight away living just north of Sydney - I will return!”
    – New South Wales, Australia Rimu, May 2016
  • Tui was amazing for me!

    “The South Island of New Zealand is the most beautiful place I've ever been. Our guides, Michelle and Joe, were extremely intelligent, kind, and fun! Our fellow tripmates were who you would pick without knowing that's who you'd pick. I had the best time and without Active Adventures I wouldn't have explored this splendorous country and it's natural beauty so thoroughly. It was some of the most adventurous, peaceful, and enjoyable days of my life...so far...”
    – California, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Fabulous trip, every day a new adventure

    “We loved our Active Adventures Kauri trip. Every day we had new adventures hiking in the beautiful North Island. The scenery is spectacular. At the end of the day we'd gather with local bottles of NZ wine and delicious home cooking by Andy and Kim--a great way to recap our day and to learn about the day ahead. Our guides were friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely caring, thank you!”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, May 2016
  • “This was an amazing trip where I found that even a certified klutz like me was able to survive going up and down mountains and doing other crazy adventures that got me out of my comfort zone; with the help of 2 great guides and the encouragement of the group.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, May 2016
  • Incredible opportunity!

    “Every day was a fresh challenge and a delightful experience in New Zealand. Our guides were fantastic. I can't really imagine how the trip could be improved. It was simply an expertly organized and led expedition. I hope to travel more with Active Adventures because you obviously know what you are doing!”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Tui in the Fall

    “The Tui trip was an amazing way to see the Southern Island. It gets you to places that would be very difficult to access on your own visiting New Zealand for a couple of weeks. Guides were wonderful and very entertaining. Would suggest it to anyone wanting to see the beauty of the South Island”
    – Washington, United States Tui, May 2016
  • Great trip

    “The North Island had a little more variety than the South Island, which I enjoyed. Both trips were excellent.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Great trip

    “Of course New Zealand is beautiful, and Vanessa and Holly made the trip as smooth as possible.”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Everlasting Memories in NZ

    “From start to finish, our Tui Trip with Active Adventures was everything we hoped for and more. I have never experienced a more action packed, stunningly beautiful, adventure filled 8 days in my life! Thank you for the many memories made Active!! NZ will forever have my heart!”
    – California, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Brilliant Kauri trip

    “First trip to New Zealand far exceeded expectations. Wonderful country showed off to its best by a superb itinerary and first rate guides.”
    – Scotland, United Kingdom Kauri, April 2016
  • “Our trip was absolutely fantastic. The country is spectacular! Holly and Vanessa were great guides and our whole group was of lot of fun.”
    – New York, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • “We had such a wonderful time touring the North with a great bunch of people. The beaches and forests were so unique, and the mountains were amazing. Andy and Kim were great guides. We had so much fun hiking, and trying new things.”
    – New York, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Kauri trip adventure and culture of the North Island

    “Normally a solo traveller so this was my 1st group tour and I found it so much more relaxing and enjoyable not having to drive, organise meals, accom etc. Every little detail of the trip was covered, our tour guide Andy was awesome, shared so much knowledge of the areas we travelled, was accomodating and adaptable, and a great cook. Jasmine who also joined us on the trip was lovely, such a pleasure travelling with her. I was after a tour with adventure and culture and it provided plenty of both. Already planning to do a South Island tour with Active Adventures in the future.”
    – Western Australia, Australia Kauri, April 2016
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “What an amazing experience. I wasn't sure what to expect as this was my first time in New Zealand. Our guides were excellent and every bit of the trip was fantastic!! Definitely the trip of a lifetime!”
    – California, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Fantastic 'trip itinerary' lead by 2 of the best guides

    “This is one of the best outdoor trips my wife and I have ever taken. The scenery to the trek sites is just fantastic and the trek routes are real great.
    We had 2 of the best guides ever!! The driving, guiding and the food preparation were just superb - kudos to Dave and Jasmine :)”
    – Sarawak, Malaysia Tui, April 2016
  • second half of Kauri trip

    “To be honest, there is no way to compare the two trips I took. South island activities blew me away, not to mention the pristine wonder of the land.
    I tell everyone go to south island, spend your time there!
    Aukland on north island was fun and the caving experience with glow worms was thrilling and magical. Due to poor weather we were unable to hike the pass...a lost day unless you chose to go for a little hike in pouring rain.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Beautiful North Island

    “We spent one week traveling around the North Island with Active Adventures. The tour was focused on the Maori culture and the incredible ancient forests. The tour took us to places that we never would have found on our own.”
    – Iowa, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Tremendous Tui!

    “8 days of intense activity but soooo worth it! Great company, amazing places and just sheer awesomeness - from hiking up mountains, biking around beautiful lakes to jumping off mountains, small planes, jet boats and sea kayaks. Laughs and spills coupled with the odd glass of New Zealand wine - what more could you ask for!”
    – Berks, United Kingdom Tui, April 2016
  • Wonderful South Island adventure

    “Enjoyed all of the hiking, especially the beautiful Milford Track and the challenging Mt. Cook hike. Excellent accommodations and food everywhere we went.”
    – Alabama, United States Manuka, April 2016
  • North island at its best

    “From great hikes, breathtaking views, wonderful snorkeling and kayaking, best mountain bike trails I have ever seen and finally the spectacular Waitomo Caves, our North Island adventure was outstanding.”
    – Alabama, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Generally a great trip.

    “Generally a great trip.”
    – Washington, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Very well organized with great Guides

    “Overall the trip was very well organized and the guides were great. The guides were very knowledgeable about the areas visited and they kept us entertained with their experiences. The food & accommodation over the trip was quite good and I understand all well vetted by the Active team over the time they have been running their tours. Understandably some accommodation was basic, to other a little more lavish (like in Queenstown) based on the area we travelled through…however in general is was all very comfortable.

    The activities were also well organized - with most of the hikes being relatively easy (and some options for harder ones). As a portion of each day is spent travelling the mode of transport becomes key – the 20-seater bus was definitely a lot more comfortable with us just being a small group of 8.

    Was my first time in New Zealand and definitely was a great tour to get a glimpse of some of the divers areas of the south island.”
    – , Hong Kong Tui, April 2016
  • Rimu Adventure!

    “Stunning scenery, awesome adventures, and fantastic guides made this truly, a trip of a lifetime!”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • The Gear List gave me a fright!

    “I come from a tropical island in the Caribbean and when I received the gear list, I thought I had signed up for an Extreme Adventure. Summer is defined differently in the South Island in New Zealand, but this trip was the most spectacular experience of my life and the places we hiked and visited were breathtaking.”
    – , Puerto Rico Rimu, April 2016
  • Hiking the Tongariro Alpine Crossing on my birthday!

    “I hiked the Tongariro Alpine Crossing on my birthday and it was the most wonderful birthday of my life!”
    – , Puerto Rico Kauri, April 2016
  • Tui Experience - my best ever trip

    “NZ is meant for adventure. It has a beautiful weather, huge open space, amazing scenery and friendly people. I figured that i can't be visiting NZ on a normal sightseeing mode. One need to experience the beautiful landscape and parks via active adventure such Tui. I think it's the best decision I've made. Tui adventure with Katie and Clara was a joy. They are a good team. Tui trip has given me the opportunity to meet and make new friends with people from different part of the world, all of whom share the same passion for travel and adventure. Tui makes me want to come back for more daring adventure NZ has to offer. Well done guys.”
    – WP KL, Malaysia Tui, April 2016
  • Rimu March 2016

    “I had the enormous pleasure to part of a Rimu Trip this March. I cant speak highly enough about the guides. They made us laugh, fed us gourmet meals (even while backpacking) and were a pleasure to spend time with. Good weather and bad, this trip is designed to make every moment enjoyable as long as you like being outside. Along with the planned swim with seals, our group was lucky enough to have dolphins jumping alongside our kayaks in the Milford Sound. Cant wait to come back!”
    – Alberta, Canada Rimu, April 2016
  • Rimu 2016

    “Our guides, Claire and Kirsten were prepared for any circumstance and the itinerary was extremely well planned. The many years of experience that Active Adventures has leading trips to the South Island culminated in a fantastic trip.”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • “I had been on the North Island for 6 months and looking for a way to see the beauty of the South Island without me having to do the planning and you certainly made it easy”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • “My wife and I have done a fair amount of traveling (hiking, cycling, kayaking, sailing) and this was undoubtedly our best trip!”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • A + trip

    “Incredible trip! The Rimu tour of the South Island was a picture perfect paradise presented by two amazing leaders. Claire and Kirsten could not have been more capable and committed to all of us having the best possible vacation. There are not two more competent and caring individuals. A+trip and A+leaders”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Loved Mel!!

    “I really enjoyed hanging out with Mel during our overnight trip in Siberia Valley, she took excellent care of us and even remembered that I don't eat refined carbs...she was super attentive and kind. Hope to see her in another adventure.”
    – California, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Rimu Feb 2016

    “Hats off to Active for a fantastic adventure! Thoroughly enjoyable. Each activity was well planned and tailored to the desires and abilities of the group. Amanda and Kim kept us well informed and laughing all the way.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Rimu - Feb 2016

    “The Rimu trip was designed exactly as I always wanted to experience such a beautiful country....hiking, biking and kyaking. Our guides showed us the best segments of some of the most beautiful hiking trails which would probably take months to navigate. Loved the knowledge of historical stories shared on our long travel days. The meals were delicious and healthy. Our group was super fun and by the first day we were already friends.

    The physical demands for this trip were high and I found myself out of my comfort zone on the 3 days trek. It wasn't the long hiking days, the 3,000 ft. elevation gain, the mud and water crossings, or sleeping in the huts. It was the up and over two huge rockpiles carrying a very heavy backpack where every step forward was uncertain, loose , sliding rocks. There was no looking around because you can't stand up straight and you can't take your eyes off your next step. This was not a "fun" part of the trip for me. But...I made it!”
    – Nevada, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Rejuvenating for the Body, Mind and Spirit

    “The Rimu trip exceeded my expectations. The combination of activities -- hiking, snorkeling, sea kayaking, and bicycling -- was perfect for us. We don't consider ourselves to be strong hikers, but we stay pretty active. The Rimu itinerary kept us challenged in a good way. We particularly liked the structure of the itinerary, home-cooked meals, homey-type accommodations, etc. We plan to travel with Active Adventures in the future.”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Good complement to the Rimu!

    “Traveling half way around the world to participate in the Rimu (South Island), we wanted to see the North Island, too. The 11-day Kauri truly addressed that desire and helped us better understand the culture and history of New Zealand.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Once in a lifetime adventure

    “This trip is filled with great people, beautiful walks & hikes and other adventures. It would be impossible to plan a trip like this on your own. The guides are fantastic and go out of their way to make the trip memorable for everyone. Go, go, go!”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Awesome trip!

    “Our Tui trip was even more fabulous than we had imagined! Our guides were great, the scenery was fantastic, and being active & outdoors is definitely the best way to truly experience New Zealand.”
    – Oklahoma, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Our adventure continues

    “We did the first 5 days of the Kauri trip right after our 8 day Tui trip. So glad we did, as we got to experience the different things the North island has to offer. I only wish we could have done the entire trip!”
    – Oklahoma, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Spectacular vacation experience

    “The difference between an okay trip and a spectacular one depends on the travelers, the leaders, and the activities. This trip was tops on all three.”
    – New Jersey, United States Kiwi, April 2016
  • Active Adventures knows how to take care of their guests!

    “From the booking process to last day of my trip, all Active Adventures staff made me feel so well taken of! They answered questions, were friendly, professional and worked with my special requests going above and beyond to make sure my trip was a success and just what I was looking for! I was so appreciative of their efforts!”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “Amanda and Kim did an incredible job. Provided great information, cooked great meals, and were exceptionally accommodating. The trip itself was a wonderful experience and I felt we did see the whole South Island.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • “I began this trip with the desire to spend 8 glorious days actively exploring with my daughter....in a place neither of us had been and a country I had been told, was just beautiful. I came away with much, much more. Not only was New Zealand breathtaking, from our treks to our prop plane ride, to our biking, kayaking and jet boating, but what made it even more beautiful was seeing the land and the life of the people through the eyes of our wonderful guides. They never tired of our endless questions, catered to our every need, and fed us the most delicious meals...and that's what truly made our Tui Trek second to none. My hats off to Active Adventures for providing us a trip to remember!!!”
    – South Carolina, United States Tui, April 2016
  • A north island adventure!

    “The north island has a beauty that is different than the south, and of course Active Adventures puts you in the middle of it for a great experience. Highlights include the Tongariro Crossing, black water rafting in the Waitomo caves, and hot springs. One regret is that I took part only in the 5-day Kauri instead of the 11 day trip.”
    – Oregon, United States Kauri, April 2016
  • Doug Ahmann's RIMU review

    “The combination of guides from New Zealand (Dan K) and Peru (Elder) was excellent. Dan brought his kind and gentle leadership skills along with his vast knowledge of New Zealand culture and topography of the South Island. Elder brought his friendly and helpful attitude along with boundless energy and his ability to draw you into appreciating the beauty of New Zealand that you are seeing all around you. Both guides were very strong and hard workers in doing all the logistics of food purchasing, meal prep, cleaning up, and even carrying some of our loads at times when the conditions were difficult. They made good excursion choices of the level of difficulty according to the abilities (and tiredness) of our group! What was fun also was to watch Dan and Elder show youthful enthusiasm, especially when we came to places where they would jump into their favorite swimming holes! I'll have to say I enjoyed joining in with them on one of those playful moments!

    I believe that we all felt like we received a personalized adventure tour of the South Island that was tailored to our abilities, and will leave positive lasting memories of the land of New Zealand. It was great watching the group rise to levels of physical abilities higher than they personally thought possible, especially on the three-day backpack trip in the Nelson Lakes area. I think all felt a big sense of accomplishment when we looked back at how far we hiked and how high we climbed with backpacks!”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Great Trip to see the South Island

    “This trip is designed well, with not only a variety of activities, but the ability to visit a variety of places on the South Island. Very comprehensive!”
    – California, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “New Zealand has been at the top of my list to visit for awhile and it didn't disappoint. Going with Active Adventures made it even better! Our tour guides, Holly and Vanessa, were outstanding and the whole tour group made the trip very memorable. Not only were the "adventures" amazing, but having great company to do it with really made it the trip of a lifetime. I would highly recommend Active Adventures! Thank you for an epic trip!”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Who knew.......

    “....that a group of strangers could have so much fun together? Our guides Rachel and Jasmine deserve the lion's share of the credit for making our two week trip memorable and fun. Laughter against stunning visual landscape backdrops was the theme of our group, with each individual admired and accepted for what they contributed. Rachel skillfully took care of our nourishment needs (this was a lot of work) and Jasmine safely delivered us from one amazing place to another. Her stories provided wonderful context to wherever we were visiting. They both knew just how much to challenge the group physically and allowed for a wide range of stamina and abilities. One thing I loved about our guides, Rachel and Jasmine, is that they are incredibly proud to show off New Zealand and share their own stories. Terrific people!”
    – Maine, United States Rimu, April 2016
  • Fabulous

    “loved out tour, Joe's cooking was sensational and he and Gary got me to do more than I thought I was capable of doing.
    Each event was amazing and fun filled, challenging and exciting.
    I wouldnt have signed up if I had known how hard it was, but I feel a deep sense of confidence at having done it.

    Many thanks!

    Susie”
    – Illinois, United States Tui, April 2016
  • Spectacular NZ....

    “Highly recommend the Kiwi trip as a good way to check out Active Adventures. Lots of ocean view hikes with seal sightings, ocean birds and sea side walks, followed by hikes into glacier country and more.....
    Two couples joined just for 8 days of the 14 scheduled trip and enjoyed ourselves though at times felt a little rushed. The pluses definitely outweighed this small criticism. Such a dramatic, beautiful country with extra friendly people who like to be called Kiwis!”
    – Ontario, Canada Kiwi, April 2016
  • Rimu Feb 2016

    “What a trip! Great adventures, great guides, great group, great weather! So many highlights, Mt. Cook, Angelus hut, Milford Sound, the list is endless. Thank you Active for over delivering with those little touches that you do so well!”
    – Alberta, Canada Rimu, March 2016
  • Kauri March 2016

    “Another excellent trip with Active! Carefully thought out and executed with a healthy sprinkling of fun!”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, March 2016
  • A very fine time was had by all

    “Loved my New Zealand trip with Active Adventures because not only do they know the best places to visit, as they are or, they are well organized and safe when it comes to all events, lodging, and managing the myriad personalites and abilities of our challenging group. And our guides Katie and Kirsten were great cooks/bakers, strong, patient, and mostly fun! Then there are the contact gals, Ellie And Lynette, who took care of my fiance's crazy Valentine wishes from back home in the Rockies to finding and mailing my favorite old shoes back to the states. The personal care each staff/guide gave us made it all worth flying over there and exploring an extremely unique and beautiful country. The folks at Active are a wonderful, prime example of the rest of their fellow country kiwis, friendly and helpful! I highly recommend this team of experts!”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Steve's March 2016 Rimu Review

    “I have to start this review with my comments on the guides, Vanessa and Holly. They far exceeded any expectations I had prior to the trip! No matter whether they were cooking, driving, or leading our activities, they did it all with expertise, enthusiasm, and a smile. They were the best!

    We were unable to join the beginning of the trip due to our schedules and travel issues, but the 8 days we were there were wonderful. We saw some of the best New Zealand has to offer and are already talking about returning in the future when we have more time. As their name suggests, an Active Adventure trip is active! But they combine the hikes, biking, etc. with some well-deserved pampering, along with the opportunity to learn about the country you're seeing. I highly recommend an Active Adventures trip.”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Steph's Rimu Review

    “This trip was wonderful from beginning to end! Though I wasn't able to join the group until the evening of Day 6, due to time and travel constraints, the Active Adventures team made it work. Guides Vanessa and Holly were warm and welcoming! They know New Zealand and provided information and fun along the way. They took care of all aspects of the trip from packing bags in the trailer (Kermit), to driving (Ernest), to cooking and serving healthy meals, to listening to us "foreigners", good-naturedly! Thanks!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Rimu Trip 2016

    “This trip was a great overview of the South Island. Our motto on the trip was "Live the movie, don't watch it." With all of the activity and sights I felt like we were doing just that. The guides did an excellent job making the trip seamless and enjoyable, and the group itself was fantastic.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Outstanding trip for experiencing South Island beauty!

    “Active Adventures knows the top attractions, how to best experience them, and how to put you right into them! Take your fitbit or equivalent, you will log lots of steps and burn some calories! Highly recommend the Siberia Valley Wilderness hike/overnight stay.”
    – Oregon, United States Tui, March 2016
  • Rimu 2016 (South)

    “The Rimu trip was lovely. We had a congenial group and two wonderful guides. We had a few weather issues which cannot be avoided but the company and the guides made the best of them. I enjoyed the company and the sites. I was especially enamoured by the Braemar Sheep station and the Mt Cook hike. The logistics were superbly managed. Some of the days were a bit long and it would be great if they could be shortened a bit.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, March 2016
  • Fabulous trip. Everything went great.

    “Been looking forward to our trip for over a year. We met our guides, Kate and Mel, at the airport as planned and everything was perfect. The transportation was roomy and comfortable. Kate and Mel did a wonderful job making sure we enjoyed our trip. They catered the activities to our desires and abilities. At times the group split up to accommodate everyone and they were completely flexible. We are already planning our next Active adventure to Patagonia.”
    – Utah, United States Tui, March 2016
  • “This was a great trip. Each day just got more spectacular than the last. Incredible bike rides to spectacular hikes. Wonderful and knowledgable guide. Thank you Nick for a great trip!”
    – Colorado, United States Weka, March 2016
  • Beautiful Action-Packed Trip

    “I found the trip to be a wonderful exploration of South Island New Zealand. DK and Elder were very competent and professional guides, as well as fun-loving and personable. The trip was challenging and fun and adventurous and beautiful. We really explored all that the South Island had to offer. I didn't like the backpacking segment - too rugged and risky for me. I loved everything else about the trip. The group size of 12 was perfect.”
    – Arizona, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • “I was on the last 5 days of the trip and having Andrew and Claire as leaders were great. When I wasn't feeling well I really appreciated Andrew and Claire staying with us hikers that were bringing up the rear on the Tongariro Crossing hike. Again, we had a lot of rain, but Andrew and Claire made the trip enjoyable.”
    – Michigan, United States Kauri, March 2016
  • Kauri in the rear view mirror

    “The north island of New Zealand is such a diverse landscape from forest to sand dunes to beautiful coastal hikes to volcano tramps. Through AA we were able to experience all of this and still be left with a desire to return for more.”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, March 2016
  • First-class leaders created an unbeatable experience!

    “This was our first guided tour and after 20 years of making all of our own reservations, it was a dream. The only decision to make was what to have for dinner...everything else was planned beautifully, down to the minute. Our group's pacing was terrific - we never felt rushed yet accomplished so much each day! Because AA NZ has been around so long, they know of the best places to go at the optimal times to avoid crowds and maximize enjoyment of the experience. Our thoughtful leaders paid close attention to our needs and even surprised my husband with a cake on his birthday!”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Sad to Say Goodbye

    “This tour had me leaving the South Island with thoughts and wishes about coming back one day soon. We put on a lot of kilometres through your country of such beauty and knew there were many places we simply didn't have time to explore. Thanks for your hospitality New Zealand and all the memories we've taken away.”
    – Alberta, Canada Weka, March 2016
  • “Our two guides made the trip”
    – New York, United States Manuka, March 2016
  • Impressions Kauri trip

    “Really enjoyed listening to the guides humorous and interesting New Zealand facts. Andy and Alex are exceptional people-I am deeply impressed by their devotion to customer service and appreciated their encouragement when the trail let me know that I should be more active in my real life-best boot camp workout ever! I thoroughly enjoyed the activities, the scenery, the local guides, the "home cooked meals", the accommodations, even appreciated that it rained during some of the hikes. The trip left me wanting more-I wasn't ready to go home at the end-that's the only downside.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Kauri, March 2016
  • Weka in the rear view mirror

    “What I enjoyed most of this trip and those we have taken with similar companies is the driving and all those annoying (unexpected) details are left to the guides. Allowing us to relax and fully enjoy the trip. This was no exception. Great communication from AA leading up to the trip, and 2 excellent guides (guides, bike techs, chefs and cheerful companions) that took care of our every need. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for an active tour of the south island over 2 weeks.”
    – Alberta, Canada Weka, March 2016
  • Sad to Say Goodbye

    “”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, March 2016
  • Awesome Action Packed Adventure

    “Hiking, kayaking, and mountain biking in an "outdoor museum"! Absolutely an unreal trip of a lifetime!”
    – Minnesota, United States Kauri, March 2016
  • A good time

    “The Kauri trip (pronounced Corey, right?) was truly enjoyable. The Active Adventures crew shared their enthusiasm throughout and many of the places we visited were spectacular and memorable. I did the whole eleven day trip and would certainly recommend it to anyone interested in exploring a good variety of the North Island and getting a feel for the Maori culture.”
    – Connecticut, United States Kauri, March 2016
  • Wonderful trip highly recommend it

    “What a lovely trip. We didn't have to lift a finger. The guides were very knowledgeable and kept everyone engaged. The areas we visited were just astounding. I would recommend this tour to family and friends who want a little taste of everything on the South Island.”
    – Hawaii, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Perfect

    “My expectations were exceeded. I would absolutely sign-up again for an adventure package in the future. Our guide was great and was good at adding more adventure between advertised ones. I would have gone for the longer packgae if Middle Earth was on the itinerary. Thanks!”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, March 2016
  • Lovely, well prepared trip

    “Gary and Joe at Active Adventures showed us an amazing time by taking us on challenging yet rewarding hikes as well as catering to any and all of our needs by being very patient and attentive. The trip ran smoothly and was an amazing way to see the lovely South Island of New Zealand in 8 days.”
    – South Carolina, United States Tui, March 2016
  • South Island is beautiful!

    “I really enjoyed the trip. Details are nailed down! I especially loved the variety of accommodations which were in beautiful locations. The food was incredible and the guides knowlegable and friendly.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Great trip!

    “Great guides and great scenery! Very well organized trip.”
    – Alaska, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • “This trip was awesome. Saw the South Island of New Zealand in the best fashion possible. Our guides were great and felt everyone on trip bonded nicely.
    There is no question you need to be in good shape to do this trip, but that was what made it so much fun. Just incredible!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, March 2016
  • How to make a trip into an adventure?

    “How to make a trip into an adventure? Have Gary and Holly be your guides.
    New Zealand is an amazing country, but what made this trip an amazing adventure were, Gary and Holly. They were incredible, always had positive outlooks, quick with a smile, and a Maori legend. They took a sincere interest in every member of our group. They also have incredible patience. Active Adventures is extremely fortunate to have guides of that caliber.”
    – New Jersey, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Truly and Amazing Vacation

    “Marilyn and I were amazed by the friendly outgoing people we met up with during our travels. The "Kiwis" really enjoy showing off their beautiful country to the diverse groups of visitors who come here each season. We can see why so many travelers fall in love with these breathtaking mountains, lakes and oceans when you are surrounded by a fun loving, polite and congenial people.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Words Cannot Describe

    “I have wanted to see New Zealand for several years. My hope was to see it first-hand--outside! We were outside and adventuring daily. There was much that challenged me but I wouldn't trade a second of it. The trip was exceptionally well-organized. Every detail was taken care of. The guides were helpful and engaging and extraordinarily hard working. Their joy in taking us through New Zealand was contagious. Thanks!!!”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Kauri

    “Kauri was an excellent trip - and provided a wonderful snapshot of life on the North Island. I only participated in the second half, as an "add-on" to the Rimu trip to the South Island. This combination worked very nicely, and provided a snapshot of both islands.

    The hiking - particularly the Tongariro Alpine Crossing - was wonderful. I loved Lake Taupo - so beautiful, and I swapped a visit to the mineral spa (Polynesian Spa) in Rotorua, for the bicycling (was incubating a cold, and it was raining), and can't recommend the spa more, if you're up for a break from more active events. Loved the two places where we stayed - Cedarwood Lakeside and Creel Lodge - absolutely charming and loved the chance to stay two nights in each. Wonderful trip!”
    – DC, United States Kauri, March 2016
  • Magical New Zealand

    “Our Tui trip with Ken and Tess could not have been better. New Zealand is
    a beautiful, magical place and to see it with such competent and personable
    guides was very special. Many thanks!”
    – Connecticut, United States Tui, March 2016
  • Christmas with Rimu!

    “A brilliant 2 weeks spent exploring the South Island - could not be more grateful to our guides for making the trip so special!”
    – Greater London , United Kingdom Rimu, March 2016
  • A once in a lifetime experience

    “”
    – New Jersey, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • “If you are interested in experiencing the high points of the South Island this is the trip for you.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Rimu Feb. 2016

    “What a wonderful trip we had! The South Island is magnificent! Where ever one looked the scenery was fantastic. We had a awesome group, fabulous guides and great weather.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • lived it! loved it!

    “loved the whole trip.

    first off, we had the best guides ever. they set the tone for the group - and made sure that we made the most of every moment. they have different styles but the same passion for life and shared that with us.

    second - new zealand is just an amazing place. thank you for sharing your home with me! i get now why the govt requires you to have an exit ticket when you come - I certainly didn't want to leave! :)

    last - we had so much fun together as a group. I think the company attracts a certain personality type which just makes this kind of trip super fun.

    thanks! :)”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Rimu southbound 2/16

    “This trip was incredible! New Zealand is otherworldly, and the trip was planned to showcase much of its best. It was physically challenging for me, but always rewarding. Our guides were superb, and our group bonded tightly. The logistics were incredibly smooth - lots of kudos all around. Visiting New Zealand had been at the top of my list for years, and I will definitely go again. Many thanks to Katie and Joe, who worked incredibly hard, were always upbeat and pleasant, and whose contribution to our enjoyment can't be overestimated.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Great Adventure

    “I really enjoyed my Rimu trip with Active Adventures and especially enjoyed our guides, Gary and. Holly. They both went out of their way to guide us, take care of us, keep us entertained, and cook for us. Gary drove our bus down winding roads and over one-way bridges, sometimes through the pouring rain.


    This is a very active trip, and you should be in good shape if you want to do it! Many of the hikes are not easy and most involve climbing. It is a workout, and I was very tired by the end of our trip. I thought the meals and lodgings provided by Active were excellent. In some places we had to share bathrooms, but these were remote lodgings in beautiful places that we would not have seen if traveling on our own.

    This trip is well worth it if you are in decent shape and are ready for some tough hikes. I describe our 3-day hike in more detail on my blog: http://www.robinbarefield.com/blog”
    – Alaska, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Believe the active in "Active Adventures"

    “This was our second visit to NZ. The AA itinerary gets you to so many amazing places on the South Island in a relatively short amount of time. . Does help to be in shape for this tour but our guides, Katie and Joe did a great job getting us through the tough parts. Loved the challenge and met a great group of people on the trip.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Ode to the Chamois(s)

    “Words cannot convey the heart and effort Nick and Elder put into making our trip the best it could be every day. They truly embody the spirit of 'putting others first' and took great pride and pleasure in showing us the beauty and diversity that New Zealand has to offer.”
    – Alberta, Canada Weka, March 2016
  • Awesome Introduction to South Island gems!

    “My TUI was absolutely AWESOME! Just the perfect way to be introduced to the gems of NZ's South Island with plenty of (official) firsts, well-planned and managed activities, fun and awe! Conquering my 1st trails mountain biking (all 29km++of it, 1st biking stint of any sort) was definitely one of the highlights of my TUI. Kayaking 12km++with my husband on the Milford Sound in almost surreal downpour, snoozing fur seals, penguins and, countless breathtaking waterfalls sealed the magnanimous beauty of TUI. Then, there were the 1st class trails; to get to run on 1st class trails such as up and down The Divide, Mount Shrimpton, Rainbow Reach was my dream come true. And finally, our wonderful guides, Jasmine & Dave with their generous relentless energy, warmth and efficiency absolutely sealed a truly memorable Kiwi adventure! Thumbs-up awesome!”
    – Sarawak, Malaysia Tui, March 2016
  • Fiords, friends, food and fun

    “This was my first visit to NZ and after spending two weeks on the North Island I joined the RIMU group for a truly memorable trip. Our outstanding guides, DK and Elder, often kept us busy from 7:00AM to 7:00PM. I was surprised by the diverse landscape; it is not just green hills and sheep or glaciers. Beaches, lakes, rivers, forests, lagoons, vineyards, arid areas, grasslands, alpine ridges - New Zealand has it all. The 3-day trek is a great bonding experience. It may be more challenging than you think if you are not used to hiking in rugged alpine terrain. The entire trip was very well organized, or as someone in the group said, it runs like a well oiled machine. In no small part, this was due to our two guides. They managed to be laid back and professional at the same time. They are also excellent cooks and prepared many of the groups' meals. I say without hesitation that some of those dinners could have been served at an upscale restaurant. Finally, the camaraderie among the travellers was wonderful. But it all starts with the guides' attitude and spirit which will be reflected back by the group. Well done guys!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Rimu, March 2016
  • Active Adventures

    “As the title says, you are active all day, dawn to dusk. Most days there is no time to even sit back and read a newspaper. Breakfast 7-7:30 am, on the road by 8:30am........some days more time spent on the bus travelling to certain destinations. Supper is somewhat late in the day but that can't be helped. I found no time for anything but bed after eating....early bird gets the worm!! Kudos (sp?) to the guides and their cooking skills. The food was great, healthy and never-ending....better than any of the restaurants we went to. The comraderie on the bus between everyone was great....I miss my "family"! I thoroughly enjoyed it.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Rimu, March 2016
  • Nelson Lakes

    “The Nelson Lakes National Park is spectacular. The views on the trails are so vast, there are no words to adequately describe them. The Angelus hut is well worth the effort up the Cascade trail. I saw the Southern Cross and Milky Way just before dawn. This place was the highlight of the trip for me and will stay with me forever.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Tui Trip

    “The trip was amazing. The itinerary was very well planned and of course New Zealand is a country unlike any other. The one factor that brought all of this together and made the trip really unforgettable were the guides Katie and Clara. I have been working in the hospitality industry for 20 years at some the worlds best restaurants and hotels. In my opinion the knowledge, kindness, positive attitude and fun spirits of both Katie and Clara were what brought the trip from good to amazing.”
    – Florida, United States Tui, March 2016
  • 2016 Rimu with Kate Brown and Kirsten

    “The guides--Kate and Kirsten--make or break a trip and in the case of our trip, they MADE the trip. I have total admiration for these gals.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • Rimu Southbound!

    “Truly a wonderful trip and thrilled to have ventured south first...conquering the Mt. Cook hike before the backpacking trek and Rodgers Ridge!
    The professionalism, passionate, knowledge, class, humor, and unique touches from Andy and Mel along with the wonderful, eclectic group of people with whom I travelled made this the best adventure trip.
    With that said, the South Island of New Zealand is clearly pristine and majestic and was the perfect land for the adventure story to unfold.
    Ah, yes... great food; very important indeed! highly recommend this trip!”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, March 2016
  • RIMU 2016

    “We had a wonderful time with Active Adventures during our RIMU trip. Our guides: Ken and Alex were wonderful, engaging, cheerful and fun!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Rimu, March 2016

Back to top

The Gear List gave me a fright!

“I come from a tropical island in the Caribbean and when I received the gear list, I thought I had signed up for an Extreme Adventure. Summer is defined differently in the South Island in New Zealand, but this trip was the most spectacular experience of my life and the places we hiked and visited were breathtaking.”
– , Puerto Rico
Rimu, April 2016
Read Reviews

Approx NZ flight times

Our Accreditations

OutdoorsMark Certified LogoDepartment of Conservation Approved LogoTourism Industry Member LogoQualmark Endorsed Visitor Service LogoAventure Travel Member Logo

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi hospitality

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & trip leaders

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is included

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A sense of achievement

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small groups

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse experiences

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.