Get a FREE New Zealand Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Whatever the dream, if its New Zealand, find a way!!

    “Where do I even start?!?!? NZ has been #1 on my bucket list for as long as I can remember. It wasn't until I realized I couldn't wait forever for that perfect time, to have X amount of money saved, to have a companion to go with me...that I decided to JUST GO ALREADY! And I suggest you do the same! Don't wait another moment. I went alone but found the most wonderful companions I could have ever hoped for! Even got a great roommate. The guides, Claire and Jess were PHENOMENAL! I started crying off and on a few days before the end of the trip because I became that attached to them and knew I would never see them again. Leaving at the airport, I couldn't even speak I was so upset and saying goodbye. So wonderful and beyond knowledgeable! I miss Jess' cooking and Claire's coffee already and I just got back yesterday!!! But seriously folks, the Manuka was beyond what expectations I could have ever dreamed. Yes it was indeed physical, so be ready for that; but there were some flatter, easier options for those that chose to not exert so much energy. There were a couple of times I wanted to just quit, but Claire and/or Jess kept me going saying it would be worth it (for the view AND the accomplishment) and MAN WERE THEY RIGHT!!!

    The food, the company, the knowledge, the laughs, the comradery, the views, the EXPERIENCES....all of it was TOP NOTCH! I have my memories that will last a lifetime; best money I have EVER spent.

    Don't wait! GO! I plan to go back in a couple of years to do the entire Milford Track. That's my only regret is that I didn't spend the extra to do that. But that's on me, not AA!”
    – Texas, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • 2017 Manuka Trekl with Claire and Jess

    “Awesome trip.....
    New Zealand is a beautiful country with plenty of great hikes and sights to see. Jess and Claire were fantastic guides. Would go again in a heartbeat!

    Paul”
    – Massachusetts, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • “I would like to extend kudos to our trip leader Ken. He was an inspiration to me. He encouraged me on hikes I was questioning myself about and gave me praise every step of the way. You are the BOMB Ken. Also, he is a very courteous driver. i felt very safe with him driving.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, March 2017
  • “The Manuka trip was fantastic!! Our guides, Michelle and Mel were outstanding. They took care of every detail, always available for any questions we had. Super leadership skills, very friendly and approachable. I loved that each day Michelle would describe our hike and the hike was exactly how she had explained it - great preparation! The meals they prepared were fantastic, as were our accommodations. Michelle carefully detailed the plan for each day, so we always were aware of where we were going, how long it would take, etc. Everything was on time, again, great organization. So fantastic to travel so far and simply enjoy because all the details are taken care of !!”
    – California, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • Rimu with D K and Elder

    “Given that we were 20 years older than any of the other travellers we were with, we felt very cared for and found both of the guides were able to taylor each experience to our comfort level. The guides couldn't have been more delightful. Our whole experience was extremely bonding with our all on our "party bus"!”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • excellent Kauri trip - 1st 5 days

    “Excellent in all respects: great guide - very friendly, very informative, very accommodating, excellent driver, and an excellent cook. Trip was well steaped in Maori tradition and legend; great itinerary - all the activities were enjoyable and at an appropriate level of exertion; there were only 4 of us on the 1st 5 days, all very compatible, and that was great; I'm only sad that I didn't sign up for the 2nd half of the tour; I now feel I have a good sense of the north half of the North Island; loved the huge Kauri trees.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • excellent Rimu tour

    “Guides were great; accomodations were great to ok; food was good; scenery was spectacular; activities were challenging and enjoyable”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • General

    “Tremendous guides that tailored our Active Adventures to the guests, weather and environment. Awesome time and a tremendous group of fellow travelers”
    – Massachusetts, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • we did it all!!!!

    “This was an amazing trip, thanks to the great group company, beautiful scenery, fabulous organisation, and especially our great guides Rachel and Kim. They were able to share their love for New Zealand and all their youthful energy and enthusiasm in an incredibly contagious way(including the horrible flu germs that went around our group)...many thanks! Looking back on all we did and saw, I really can't think of one highlight that overall supercedes anything else, but for me personally their gentle support on our three day challenging Nelson Lakes hike was invaluable. I would go on another Active trip in a heartbeat, and so look forward to hearing what you folks are up to as I settle back into life in the Northern Hemisphere.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Rimu, March 2017
  • “This was truly the trip of a lifetime!! Amazing guides, perfect size, and the most beautiful scenery made this an unforgettable adventure! I did not want to leave when it was over. I would recommend Active Adventures to anyone!!”
    – Virginia, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Out of this world!

    “I can't believe our Active Adventures Rimu trip has come to an end! What a truly fantastic 2 weeks traveling around the South Island: incredible weather; wonderful, strong and inspiring people; landscape to die for and 2 amazingly kind and caring guides for whom nothing was too much. I still have Ed Sheeran's "castle on a hill" spinning around in my head - it's the song of the holiday! Thank you all so much for a magical fortnight.”
    – , Switzerland Rimu, March 2017
  • wonderful Active Adventure

    “The following sums my trip up. My sister said that after hearing my enthusiatic recounting of my trip, she wants to go to NZ.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Every view a winner!

    “It was truly a dream come true. From the incredible views to the tireless efforts of our guides, Claire and Jess, an incomparable experience. There were so many experiences packed into two weeks, I'd already forgotten some until I began to review my photos. I am fortunate to have been able to experience the Manuka trip.”
    – Texas, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • Kiwi adventure Feb 25, 1917

    “The trip was a wonderful adventure on the South Island, with a good mix of time being active and getting to new destinations of tremendous beauty. I only wish we might have stayed longer. Greg and Tess were great guides and hosts who made everything run smoothly.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kiwi, March 2017
  • RIMU - Or Becoming a Kiwi!

    “If you’re a fit independent outdoors ‘animal’ you will love this Rimu tour! Plus you’ll get far more out of your vacation time by leaving the care & feeding part to a fully professional Active team. Pack everything they suggest for each day’s activities – nothing more, nor less. They run a tight schedule with time leftover for worthwhile surprises. And they seemingly sweep away the hassles...
    Midway through my trip I caught up with fellow Americans who were traveling on their own (on the wrong side of the road!). And they remarked at how much information I was able to share with them – as though I were a Kiwi – by just paying attention to Active's local guides. Be smart, make it memorable. Priceless!”
    – Alabama, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Wonderful

    “We had a wonderful time. Great scenery and travelling companions and the tour guides Claire and Jess were superb. Highly recommend.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Manuka, March 2017
  • Great Trip to NZ South Island

    “Enjoyed the adventurous activities while touring the South Island. Good mix of hiking, biking, kayaking, river crossing, and site seeing. Hiking difficulty and distances were just right, and guides were knowledgeable and fun. Good way to travel with a group.”
    – Florida, United States Tui, March 2017
  • “We enjoyed the trip, Amanda and Hillary (and Joe) were great. We had fantastic weather and the general locations included on the trip were exactly where I would have chosen to go if left to my own choosing. Wish we could have made it to Kaikora (spelling?), but that was out of your control.

    So (you might ask) why wasn't it "Excellent, the trip of a lifetime". For me it's having to deal with "strangers" for two weeks - I could probably handle a week a little better, but certain things can drive you crazy in 14 days. Most of the people were great, others (to my mind) were annoying. Major point being, this has nothing to do with your staff, your itinerary or anything else under your control - so AA did just fine. Some of the activities might have been a little more challenging, but overall I thought the general level of difficulty was fine.”
    – New York, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Had a great time, some very memorable adventures

    “Our guides were excellent, fun, relaxed, flexible and very organized. We had some amazing adventures. Most meals were prepared by the guides and were excellent, plenty of tasty food in relaxed settings, which I prefer to restaurant meals. We covered a lot of ground in a short time and had to keep on schedule to get to all the things on the itinerary. Note this is an "Active" adventure, not a "beach" type vacation, so approach it with a can-do attitude and you'll have a great time.”
    – California, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • New Zealand - RIMU Trip

    “Trip of a lifetime! What an amazing, unforgettable trip. Our guides were fantastic and Active Adventures is perfection! Professional, knowledgeable, they take care of everything. All you need to do is show up. I'd love to redo that entire trip. Don't miss it!!”
    – Indiana, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Late Summer West Coast South Island NZ

    “Combination of great weather, great guide skills, great scenery and great companionship make this an active but not exhaustive adventure.”
    – Texas, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Kauri Trip

    “For those who love to be truly active in their leisure time, the Kauri trip in North Island certainly does not disappoint. I did the complete 11 days - you can choose to do either the first half or the last hinging on the free day in Auckland if you wish.

    Just like the Rimu trip on South Island which I did a few years back, the Kauri had a number of magical ingredients that make for a memorable holiday - first and foremost being the quality of the guides. Andy and Jo took us through the Kauri with a wonderful balance of hard facts, democratic decision making, sound leadership, great empathy for the guests' individual needs, and best of all their good humour and obvious enthusiasm for NZ. They not only guided us through the walks and activities, but also cooked us fabulous healthy meals! Nothing was too much trouble.

    Second, the magnificent scenery, and the variety of environments they took us to, including lovely beaches, remote islands, huge dunefields, forest walks, rocky ascents to waterfall overlooks, and perhaps most spectacular the volcanic activity around Rotorua, which cannot be described in words or photos - you just have to be there! Amongst this busy programme there was even time to do the spectacular white water rafting on the Kaituna River near Rotorua, which includes a whopping 7 metre drop that is still giving me nightmares!

    The accommodation is everywhere set in beautiful places, spacious, and one could say luxurious. Despite the hectic pace, I came back utterly relaxed, because I didn't have to worry about a thing, it was all planned perfectly for us!

    There are a few comments I'd make about things that they may not make clear in the brochures. First, in North Island much of the walking (except the Tongariro Alpine Crossing) is through forest. For a country that laments the loss of over 90% of its native forest, we certainly got a good sampling of what is left! That meant views on the climbs were often limited. Second, there are hardly any native wild flowers in NZ, so don't expect Alpine prettiness. Likewise the fauna are limited, and often nocturnal. Finally, for anyone who has been lucky enough to see the coral in tropical waters, the snorkelling around the Poor Knights Islands lacks the colour of a real coral reef, although there are plenty of lovely fishes.


    Finally be aware that Active means Active - one or two on our trip were not quite up to all the activities, though they still had a great time and Andy always found a Plan B for them.

    These are small points - I can't imagine that anyone would grade this trip less than 5 stars! Well done Active - keep up the good work!
    Terry Hardaker, Oxford”
    – Oxford, United Kingdom Kauri, March 2017
  • Kiwi

    “We had a great time. New Zealand is beautiful and our tour guides, Koru and Jess, showed it to us to perfection. Great hikes, terrific food, wonderful companions and ideal locations.”
    – Colorado, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • Rimu trip

    “I would rename it to the "Most Active Adventure" I enjoyed this adventure from beginning to end. Although the through hike was far more difficult than I had immagined, I an impressed that I was able to complete the trek.”
    – Maine, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Organized and Fun!

    “Great trip! ... the guides were very well organized and were very knowledgeable about the local areas and history, flora, fauna, and were more than willing to share it all with us.

    Having the logistics of such a trip so well taken care of made it easy to just enjoy the time we were there.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Tui February 2017

    “Fantastic tour of New Zealand. Definitely stayed "active" throughout the whole trip! Already planning my next visit through Active Adventures.”
    – Alabama, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Rimu rocks!

    “Our expectations for this trip were outrageously, unreasonably high. And those expectations were exceeded! We love nature and interesting topography, and we love activity. We got an abundance of all of that. What a great combination! We wanted to be away from the crowds and see the country up close, and we got that too. The guides made it all so easy and real - no spin on reality, no superfluous talking-up of what we were seeing or doing. They were a wealth of information that was not just factual, but meaningful and relatable. The whole trip was all well planned, well organized, and well executed. We feel very lucky to have had such an experience.”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Great way to maximize two weeks in New Zealand

    “We had hoped to spend four to six weeks in New Zealand, but work shortened our trip to two weeks. With a longer trip we might have rented a car and an apartment and explored on our own, but with less time we decided to turn our adventure over to experts. Friends who had used Active Adventures recommended the Ramu trip, and we are forever thankful to them. There is no question that we experienced much more than we would have on our own in two weeks, and the unique experiences we enjoyed we could not have duplicated in two months. Cannot recommend it highly enough.”
    – Maine, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Rave for Rimu!

    “Our adventure began from the moment we touched down in Christchurch and were greeted by our warm and friendly guide. Despite our flight being very delayed, Active Adventure staff ensured that we were greeted at the airport and taken to where the rest of the group was gathered. This attention to detail remained throughout the trip. The South Island scenery is stunning and the choices for our hikes, kayaking and cycling were excellent. For me, this type of well guided trip is truly vacationing! All I need to do is show up on time and I'm presented with stunning scenery, great exercise, tasty, healthy, food and most of the time, good accommodations. I do have one suggestion to help make some of the longer bus rides more entertaining. I would like to see a media system installed on the bus so that we could watch interesting cultural stuff about New Zealand along the way. This would help pass the time---there are some rides where the scenery outside was entertaining enough, but on other occasions it would have been a nice added touch! Congratulations on running an excellent trip all around! I hope to be back on another Active Adventure...maybe Himalayas?”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, March 2017
  • Awesome Kiwi Adventure

    “The Kiwi trip was outstanding. The scenery, hikes, lodging, food and guides were fantastic.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • McKinnon's NZ Active Adventure 2017

    “For us there were two things going on here. Mainly it was a time when we could be together as a family again; and then secondly it enabled us to experience a part of NZ that I was somewhat familiar with in my early 20's.
    The trip exceeded expectations, and is something we'll remember positively forever. Most importantly, I think, the trip helped us all reconnect as a family.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Feb 19-26 Active Adventures TUI trip

    “Really had a fantastic 8 day TUI trip to the South Island led by Joe and Steve of Active Adventures. Great way to experience New Zealand for the first time. Those two worked really hard to make the trip go smoothly from start to finish. Great music, great meals, amazing scenery, hiking, and conversation. Only problem was it all went too fast. I hope to get back to NZ someday soon. It was everything I hoped and more!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, March 2017
  • More than I could have imagined

    “This is my first trip with Active Adventures and I could not have been more pleased. The activities planned and places we visited on the south island were amazing. We were pushed to our physical limits a few times but loved every minute of it. We lucked out with absolutely amazing weather, but even if we hadn't I think this would still go down as an adventure of a life time. Our guides, Dani and Hilary were incredible, they made us laugh, taught us so much about NZ wildlife and culture and took 5 star care of us as well. Having done other group trips with other companies I would rate Active Adventures as the best value and experience of any.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Virgin Active Adventurist-When can I do it again?!

    “Fabulous trip! Not having to drive, research stops, plan activities, arrange accommodations and decide what to eat made this so relaxing, letting us enjoy every minute of every activity and even the down time! I can't wait to sign up for another trip!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, March 2017
  • My Magical Kauri Adventure (last 5 days of Kauri trip)

    “The first day was magic,
    how lucky were we.
    Blessed with Active's top guides,
    -Phil and Ashleigh.

    We hiked through the forest,
    a fairytale scene.
    To the Wairere Falls,
    picnic lunch by a stream.

    The forest is enchanted,
    mountain bikers be aware.
    Hobbits, sprites and fairies,
    I could see them everywhere.

    Rotorua geysers,
    Maori cultural show.
    Dan did the Haka,
    Mel and Ash learned the poi.

    Tongariro Crossing,
    a spectacular sight.
    Glowworms at Waitoma,
    that twinkled so bright.

    White water rafting,
    an optional trip.
    Hiking Rainbow Mountain,
    then a thermal pool dip.

    Our food was delicious,
    never any left over.
    Gourmet meals, chocolate fish
    And Ash's Pavlova.

    Our guides were inspiring,
    friendly, fun and hip,
    Thanks to Ashleigh and Phil
    for a Magical trip!”
    – South Australia, Australia Kauri, March 2017
  • Excellent NZ Adventures!

    “My Rimu Active Adventure trip exceeded my high expectations. The hikes, backpacking, kayaking, and cycling adventures were thrilling, fun, and beautiful. Luckily for our group, we had absolutely perfect weather every day of the trip! Dani and Hilary were tremendous guides who taught me a lot about Kiwi life. Highlights for me were the 3-day backpacking tramp in Nelson Lakes National Park to Angelus Hut and kayaking in Milford Sound. I appreciated that we mostly stayed in local lodges, hotels, inns. I recommend this trip to anyone who wants to truly explore the stunningly beautiful South Island of New Zealand with wonderful friendly guides.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • If you want to smile come to New Zealand

    “Where to start?? In one sentence "Truly an amazing trip if you want to get a feel for what New Zealand is all about, this is the place to start".
    We were blessed with the most amazing weather, a wonderful group of fellow adventurers, and 2 extremely knowledgeable guides that truly cared about our needs. This is a trip that only makes you want to see and do more. The entire time I was telling my daughter (who couldn't join) that we must come back and I know exactly what we will do. This was my first multi day backpacking trip where I actually carried my share of the supplies. Now I am ready to do all the famous tracks of New Zealand with her:)) Although Ive done hut to hut I have never had to carry all the stuff, it was nice to find out I can do it!!!! The great thing about Active is they make all of us feel like we can do anything, even when the going gets tough, they are there to support the group to achieve their goals.
    I always have to have another trip planned before I leave and yes I have my new one planned with my daughter to Patagonia. I cant wait, Hoping Cynthia will be there to show us the way. Thanks for making a long lived dream come true of getting to New Zealand. It is truly a country of beauty of people who are proud of their country and well just such beauty all around.
    Thank you all at Active, so glad to finally see your offices although I was sorry not to see more staff there the day I visited.”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Beyond my expectations!

    “I was sure we would see some beautiful sights and we sure did! We didn't just see it, we lived it. It was a fabulous adventure that I will never ever forget. Our hosts Phil and Ash were knowledgeable, fun, considerate and full of enthusiasm. Active adventures is lucky to have those two working for them. They should get a big raise because they are perfect!”
    – Oregon, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Have recommended to freinds

    “When I returned home, all my friends asked about my Active Adventures adventure. It was wonderful - I have recommended Kiwi to them. Great guides, Michelle & Jess, flexibly rescheduled hikes considering the weather.”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • Lots of fun, great guides

    “Guides Phil & Jo kept us busy with a variety of fun activities. The time just flew. I'd love to join another trip led by Phil & Jo.”
    – New York, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Excellent adventure

    “Every day was a new experience. The views were unforgettable and the memories will last a lifetime. Jess and Koru took care of everything that we needed.”
    – Texas, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • trip of a lifetime

    “This is the best trip I have ever been on, but be forwarned we covered 50 miles of hiking and 15 miles of mountain biking in the first 8 days. Mt Aspiring National Park and the hut in Siberia Valley is breathtaking, as well as the kayaking in Milford Sound. The guides were super cool and we all had a great time. Definitely check this trip out but be ready for it”
    – New Jersey, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Exceeded all expectations

    “Our Rimu trip truly exceeded all expectations. Our Active guides, Rachael and Gary were wonderful guides with so much knowledge to share with us about the New Zealand culture, wildlife, history, and geography that we encountered along the way. This was truly an adventure of a lifetime that my son and I will always treasure.”
    – Michigan, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Review of the Kiwi trip

    “I chose to visit NZ with Active Adventures because I wanted to experience the South Island from tip to toe in an active fashion. The trip was exactly what I wanted. I loved hiking and kayaking, enjoyed visiting the towns and was swept away by the scenery. I learned a lot about the country's history, geology and mythology from my two guides. And I had fun.”
    – Maryland, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • Wonderful Kiwi Tour - Great Itinerary and Hosts!

    “The hiking selected was great, the timing flawless, and adventuring at a premium! The only complaint was our selection of the 8-day short version of the Kiwi Tour rather than the 13-day full tour. When we got to Queenstown, we simply wanted to continue but were heading home.

    Active Adventures has two great tour hosts in Greg and Tess. Greg is a great driver and wise beyond his years on nature, history, and New Zealand. Tess made sure that our culinary needs were met, was ready for any hiking emergency, and ensured the group was ready for the adventure ahead.

    The food prepared by Tess and Greg for breakfasts, lunches and dinners was abundant, fresh and met the needs of us omnivores as well gluten free eaters and vegetarian. The restaurants selected were good too.
    Hotels/Motels in foreign countries are always interesting, especially those in remote areas. All selected were clean, comfortable, and satisfactory. The hotel in Nelson was the most luxurious and the one in Makarora the most rustic.

    We definitely recommend Active Adventures and will use them in the future.”
    – Texas, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • My dream came true!!!

    “I was on the RIMU trip that began on Jan 9, 2017. I have been wanting to go to New Zealand for the last five years and I have worked very hard to save the money for this trip. I was so anxious, not knowing what to expect, especially seeing as this was my first international trip and I was traveling alone!
    From the moment I set foot in New Zealand, I was greeted with smiles and overall kindness by all. I felt so welcomed by the warmth of the people and was not afraid!
    Our guides were Tori and Jordie and I cannot begin to tell you how incredible they were to every single person on our tour. Both were so very kind, knowledgeable, inspiring, encouraging, educated, funny, supportive, soulful, and projected their connection of their country and their people---it was beautiful to see and be surrounded by.
    I do not think I have a favorite moment, so many were so beautiful and just took my breath away, enriched my soul, made me feel alive, and appreciate the beauty of this planet.
    One of the moments I am proud of is during the first 3 days of our trip....we had a 3 day long hike through Nelson National Park. We hiked to Angelus Hut and I tell you what, I did not think I was going to make it. With the constant encouragement from Tori (and her bright smiling face), Jordie and our team, I made it! I was so proud to have accomplished this feat (which was a lot for me). The rest of the trip was filled with more beautiful land, DELICIOUS food and happy times. I will definitely be coming back to see the North Island and I personally request that Tori and Jordie be our guides! (If that is even possible). I could continue to write a novel about how this trip changed me, inspired me, awakened me and humbled me. Thank you for continuing to preserve your land and the birds that inhabit it. This was my dream, and I lived it! Thank you Active Adventures for helping me make my dreams come true!
    Sincerely,
    JoAnna Pitre”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • BLT's NZ Odyssey

    “The Rimu provided us with a whirlwind opportunity to see the best of the South Island! The mix of physical activity and sightseeing was good. We appreciated the sample of hiking terrain and ecology - from the Kepler Track to the Routeburn Track to the Angelus Circuit. The sea kayaking was serene.”
    – New Hampshire, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Can I Go Back?

    “This trip was an amazing one from start to finish. The "walks" were phenomenal, with our guides, Ash and Phil, providing so much more information than we could have imagined. Every stop was a great one, and we did so much more in a short span of time than I could have planned on my own.”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Active and Awesome

    “We went with high expectations for this adventure and we were never disappointed. From the gorgeous scenery to the warmth of the Kiwis to the incredible food and masterful guides, it was a trip of our lifetime!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Amazing!

    “I have taken many organized bike tours, but this was my first hiking tour. It was quite challenging, but included four awesome and varied hikes, the must-do Milford Sound cruise, and the best-kept-secret Doubtful Sound cruise. The guides were extremely accommodating and knowledgeable and prepared excellent food. My only quibbles were the lack of choices on two breakfasts and one really inadequate dinner out. Otherwise - excellent!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • Very Active Trip!!

    “Always on the move...
    We covered a lot of miles and experienced most of New Zealand's South Island!
    Including: a lot of kayaking... which was great, and the vast knowledge shared by our guides!!
    P.S. Also recommend the Walking Tour in Queenstown by Miriam's Husband... It was Great!!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Memories for a lifetime!

    “We loved this trip! The guides were amazing, and we got to experience so many incredible things!”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Manuka 2/20/17 - great trip.

    “Team Active Adventures did a wonderful job for our trip to New Zealand. Our leader - Michelle, and Assistant Leader - Mel were outstanding. Both were A+ performers and made our trip so much more fun. Both were positive, helpful, accurate in their description of all the trails, enthusiastic, considerate, and wonderful assets to their company. I shared with Michelle, that Active cannot control the weather, but did an outstanding job with the food. Having the fresh fruit and snacks on the bus was a wonderful treat. We really appreciate Mel's help with special diet and keeping a cold diet coke for lunch. I have recommended Active Adventures to several friends after our return home. Again, Lynette, you should be proud of Michelle and Mel as they did an outstanding job.”
    – California, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • Jan 31 2017 Kauri with Andrew and Jo

    “Awesome trip. Andy and Jo were excellent guides. Loved Andy's music selection. Themed for the various activities (played Queen Fat Bottom Girls as we drove to mountain biking). He gave us great insight into the history of New Zealand as well as the flora and fauna. And Jo was an excellent cook and companion.”
    – California, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Feb 12 2017 Tui with Greg and Melissa

    “The weather slowed us down on the first couple of days. But after that it was an amazing experience. The views, the activities and the guides made it easy. Coordinating the activities, transportation, food, etc.”
    – California, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Wished I could have done it all again Rimu

    “The Rimu trip in February was my first experience ever taking a guided tour or an adventure vacation. All the words I can think of to describe the mountains, the fjords, the forests, the rivers and lakes will just sound cliched and will inevitably fall short of the actual experience. The "active" parts of the trip often pushed me out of my comfort zone into places I didn't know I could go, but afterwards left me happy and proud of myself for going. Our guides, Ken and Tess, made me feel both challenged and safe in pushing my limits. Their own confidence and enthusiasm was infused into the experience, not just for me but the whole group of us. The 13 of us on the Rimu tour were uncannily well suited as a group. I have to believe it was a rare and special connection. We are all still in touch, sharing pictures and memories, and I know that many of us have made lasting friendships. This experience has left me hungry for more.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Most amazing adventure to date, but there will be more!!

    “Our group of adventurers magically gelled right from the start and we were thrilled to have Jordi, Tia and Tory as our tour guides! From Braemer Station to the Angelus Hut and everything in between, we were well cared for. I loved the variety of lodging and meals prepared by Tory, as well as the local restaurants. The hike to Angelus Hut was my hands-down favorite "active" day, but I truly loved it all. Thank you Active Adventures Team for all the great memories!!
    Cheers, Tamara Higgins, RIMU Feb 2017”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Kauri Feb 21-Mar 3

    “The scenery and the activities were great. Our guides were terrific. I so appreciated Phil's obvious love of the country, and his tutelage in the pronunciation of the Maori names of the places we saw. Ashleigh was so attentive and thoughtful, and a GREAT cook! Her athleticism was inspiring too. The Tongariro Alpine Crossing was a fitting finale to an all around excellent introduction to the North Island. Spectacularly varied landscapes and colors.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Just do it! Take a Kea trip with your family!

    “Our family vacation on the South Island was fabulous! Here are some specifics:

    The itinerary was well-thought-out, as we drove in "Bill" the bus for only relatively short spells at a time before arriving at an interesting spot to hike, explore, picnic, etc. Never was there a spell where we sat for more than 1.5 hours or so.

    "Bill" the bus was a very comfortable ride, by the way, allowing us to sit with a variety of people or even alone. The bus held 20 or so, and we were only 12 in number plus our two guides. The windows are large, allowing for expansive views of the beautiful New Zealand landscape. We towed a trailer behind us for all of our luggage and food, so we were not sitting amongst or climbing over luggage or supplies.

    Our guide Claire was an excellent driver, and we felt very safe with her at the wheel.

    The variety of experiences was exceptional! We visited four national parks. We hiked 10 miles roundtrip to a glacial lake at Aoraki/Mt. Cook National Park. We hiked amongst sheep and cows (within just a few feet of us!) at Mt. Aspiring National Park and stayed overnight in a classic NZ "hut." We visited a wildlife preserve where we saw the nocturnal kiwi, we saw Fox Glacier; we spent several days in lovely Queenstown, canyoning, luging, and river rafting; we visited Puzzling World and found our way out of a very puzzling wooden maze. Our guides engaged our children in the building of a driftwood fort on a beach on the Tasman Sea. Our youthful, energetic guides also engaged all of us in playing "Go Home, Stay Home" amongst giant boulders and bravely accompanied our children into the cold water of a cave, where the children spied an eel! We also visited a sheep farm, where the kids took their turn trying to herd the sheep into a corral, learned about sheep farming and the dog's commands, and tried their hand at shearing a sheep.

    The food was delicious, fresh and plentiful. Whether prepared for us by our guides Claire and Mel, or served to us at a restaurant where reservations had been made and service was quick, the food was uniformly excellent. Snacks were always available on the bus. We were very well-fed!

    Our guides Claire and Mel were EXTRAORDINARY. We also were joined by a guide Steve for our hike in Mt. Aspiring, and he was equally AWESOME! Their sense of fun, their youthful energy, and their competence in managing the vehicles, preparing food, mobilizing the group, keeping to a schedule, etc. impressed us daily. Their knowledge of all things NZ, their ability to engage our children in fun, tossing a rugby ball or playing hangman with dry erase markers on the windows of the bus, made our trip the success that it was. We LOVED them!!!!”
    – California, United States Kea, March 2017
  • Manuka 2/17

    “The trip was delightful. The guides were knowledgeable, informative, and went above and beyond. The local folks were very friendly. The group was enjoyable. The landscape can't be beaten for its beauty. The hikes were varied and scenic. The food was excellent. Even the weather cooperated (just a few sprinkles two late afternoons). Lodging quality varied from good to excellent (to be expected in rural areas). The only downside was the omnipresent sandflies - but, I gather they are part of the New Zealand experience.”
    – DC, United States Manuka, March 2017
  • Breathtaking Tui

    “This was a great trip. The fact that New Zealand's South Island is a wonderful, breathtaking place may have made the guides' jobs easier, but both they and my fellow travellers made this a very enjoyable and memorable vacation.
    In particular, the two days spent flying into, hiking through and up the Siberia Valley, the overnight stay and the hike and jet boat out made the trip a "must do". The wild, untouched, glorious beauty of it all is more than I can put into words. I have already recommended it to other friends planning to visit kiwi land.”
    – California, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Southbound Rimu trip

    “After being on a Galapagos trip I thought I knew what to expect! Galapagos was amazing too but this trip was an experience in itself!! Every hike was an adventure and the rewards for getting to the top were a treasure to be seen!! A huge thanks to Rachel and Gary for their knowledge and everything they did to make this trip incredible!”
    – Indiana, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Best day ever at Crucible Lake

    “Many thanks to Steve (awesome guide) for this memorable experience. I loved every minute of it - a true adventure. I've fallen in love with the New Zealand 'hut' experience and the magical world this open you up to.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tui, March 2017
  • Beautiful, perfect trip!

    “The Tui trip was a perfect way to see parts of New Zealand on a short time frame. I was concerned traveling by myself, and this trip was the perfect way to do it. Between the the most spectacular scenery, the knowledge of the guides, and the varied and incredible itinerary, this really was the trip of a lifetime for me.”
    – New York, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Best Trip Ever

    “You go hiking, exert yourself, see spectacular views, and you think "this is the best day, it can't get better than this." Then you go kayaking, see wildlife, lush rain forest and red tinted water, all with the backdrop of snow capped mountains, and you think "no, this is the best day, it can't get better this. Then you go biking along a teal colored river and through a birch forest with snow capped mountains ringing a suddenly peaceful lake and you think, "okay, THIS is the best day." And then you drive to Milford Sound, gawk in awe at waterfalls tumbling down towering cliffs along the road and you get to the Sound and you kayak with dolphins, and you come to the realization, "this is my New Zealand trip, every day better than the last," so that on your last day when you are lying beneath the stars, staring at the Milky Way and the Southern Cross, you know you've experienced something beyond special.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Fantastic Trip!

    “This was a fantastic trip! Just the right amount of strenuous exercise but enough time to relax at night. The guides were amazing and the views were stunning!”
    – California, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Kauri trip, Feb. 21-March 4

    “A memorable and rewarding trip in many ways: stunning scenery, challenging hikes and other activities, knowledgeable and attentive guides, excellent food, good accommodations. We enjoyed the company of our fellow travelers, too. A completely worthwhile experience!”
    – Colorado, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Rimu Trip Review

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures, and although I didn't think it was possible, the Rimu trip was even better than my Patagonia one, which at the time was the BEST adventure I ever had. The bar just keeps getting higher!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Ran out of adjectives!

    “I had high expectations and every one of them was surpassed! The entire trip was exceptional---and we had the best guides in the world!”
    – California, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Awesome trip

    “Wow! I loved my Kauri trip. There were so many fun activities in spectacular locations and the elements of Maori culture that were woven into our travels really completed the experience. Plus our guides Andy and Jo really did everything possible to help us get the most from the trip.”
    – New York, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • It really was a trip of a lifetime.

    “Everything about the trip itinerary and the staff was wonderful. Of course the scenery was amazing too. Amanda and Clara took wonderful care of us. I felt bad that my husband had refused to train in a manner that would have made him better prepared for the hiking task. Both Amanda and Clara were very patient with him. He was a trouper while he was there. With their encouragement he completed it all, just slowly. It worked out well that the four weaker hikers had time a when they could slow down for a morning later in the week. I wouldn't change anything about how you organize the tour. The bus was comfortable and the guides were great at getting all the tour-mates to converse and mesh. We all agreed at the end of the week what a personality compatible group of travelers we ended up being. I am glad Tim and I did not choose to stay at the Siberia Hut. We enjoyed our A-frame option with Amanda. I have already recommended your trip to other potential travelers. Thank you to Active Adventures, Amanda and Clara.”
    – Michigan, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Tim big adventure

    “First things first,

    Amanda and Clara were the greatest. The trip extremely well organized. New Zealand's landscape is the most beautiful we have been to, ever. The food was good and plentiful. All the people we travelled with were fun to be around. I have to admit at 68 I thought I was in pretty good shape. This was a difficult trip physically. I did manage to finish all the hiking, biking, and kayaking. My wife did tell me to workout harder on the step master, should of listened.
    Thanks for a great adventure.”
    – Michigan, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Active trip yet relaxed and refreshing!

    “My husband and I just finished the 8 day TUI trip in New Zealand and we had an absolutely wonderful time. We were a little worried that maybe we were getting a little "old" for this type of trip (husband is 63 and I'm 61), but we're healthy and in good shape and the staff assured us that we would be fine! And we were! It was very challenging, yet we never felt we could not complete or comfortably do anything. We had weather issues, rain and clouds, and even a dunking in Milford Sound when our kayak hit a rock, yet that made it all the more adventurous and memorable. We had always wanted to go to New Zealand and experience the great natural beauty there, and this trip allowed us to do that and so much more!
    To start with, we had two great guides, Ken and Elder, and they were very friendly, helpful, kind, and always professional and they really took good care of us. I am so glad I did not have to drive those roads or navigate, and they always got us to our destinations safely and in time. We were kept in the loop of where we were going, when and why, and if there needed to be modifications due to weather, we were kept aware.
    Secondly, we had a great group of travelers. Nine in all, and from all over the world! Folks ran the gamut of what they did and where they were from, however the one thing we all had in common was a love for the outdoors and adventure, so we all had similar goals and expectations. On the "free" day in Queenstown, everyone went out for a once in a lifetime experience-paragliding, sky diving, white water rafting, or a jet boat adventure. This was quite a lively and fun loving group, which made it all the more fun. I don't know anyone back home that would have done all these things with me. It was really nice to share these experiences with like minded folks.
    And finally, the itinerary and the activities were all top notch. The hiking was challenging and beautiful, yet we could go at our own pace. The bike ride was absolutely stunning, and just "scary" enough to energize us, and then there were jet boats, small plane flights over gorgeous canyons and rivers, a backpack trip into Siberia hut, where the night sky was unlike anything I had ever seen! And the final Milford Sound kayak trip was phenomenal (even though yes we did turn over, but no worries-just got wet!). I know we could not have planned for all of these activities easily on our own, so the value of the tour for us had a lot to do with the activities and the ease in which we were able to participate.
    So that is our trip in a nutshell. My husband and I were both refreshed and relaxed after this vacation, even though it was very active and we felt like we were not so "old" after all. And that feeling is priceless.”
    – California, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Get in Shape for Sensational Views!

    “This was the trip of a lifetime! We all read about how beautiful New Zealand is, but nothing compares to seeing it with your own two eyes. And up close on an Active Adventure is even better! But be prepared to be very active. This was a non-stop week of fantastic activity, with lots of hiking and some kayaking and biking in beautiful surroundings and a chance to catch your breath on scenic plane flights and jet boat rides. And don't miss the helicopter ride!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Terrific Tui!

    “The Tui adventure was definitely a trip of a lifetime! New Zealand was on my bucket list, but I was overwhelmed trying to plan a trip. I have always planned our family vacations vs going on a guided tour... so I was very reluctant to spend the money. But it was so worth it! We were able to see and do more than we could have ever accomplished on our own. And it was stress free... we just had to show up. Loved it! Our guides, Andy & Jo, were amazing, informative and fun! My husband, 2 kids (recent college grads) and I also had some hesitation about travelling with a bunch of strangers. But we had such a fun group, we were like family by the end of the trip and the opportunity to get to know our fellow travellers just added to the experience. Now I'm dreaming of my next adventure!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Yes: Adventure!

    “Really enjoyed the natural wonders away from civilization and tourist traps. Our guides, Koru and Jess took outstanding care of us.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • Most awesome!

    “What a great adventure with Koru and Jess. This trip met and exceeded my expectations. Plenty of hiking, beautiful views and delicious meals. It ended all too soon. Would recommend this to anyone wanting adventure into the great outdoors of New Zealand.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, March 2017
  • Bonzer trip to the South Island

    “Thanks to Greg and Mel for a memorable exploration of New Zealand's South Island. Need to come back to enjoy the wonders of this place.”
    – Tennessee, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Well done, Andy & Jo

    “Many thanks to Andy and Jo, guides to our 2nd half of the Kauri trip. The hiking was outstanding, and the varied other activities just made this trip that more special.”
    – Tennessee, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Kauri

    “I combined the Kauri trip, last 5 days, with the Tui trip on the South Island. I did not have enough time to do the full 11-day trip. I am really happy with my decision to do the last 5 days. Crossing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing was an amazing experience! I loved everything about this trip... Andy and Jo were absolutely awesome!”
    – Connecticut, United States Kauri, March 2017
  • Tui in February

    “I combined Kauri with Tui and it was the perfect blend to see both Islands in New Zealand. My Tui experience was terrific. It certainly was an active adventure!”
    – Connecticut, United States Tui, March 2017
  • “Photos can't prepare you for the stunning and varied landscapes of the South Island. Truly amazing.”
    – Ontario, Canada Manuka, March 2017
  • Best adventure yet

    “This by far ranked as one of the best adventure and time spent outdoors enjoying and experiencing nature at it finest. AA did a fabulous job planning every aspect of the trip and taking care of us without over managing our experience. Our two guides, Clara and Amanda are true pros that made the adventure truly enjoyable event at the risk of having to listen to my many jokes and riddles during our bus trips. I wish them the best.”
    – California, United States Tui, March 2017
  • Truly the trip of a lifetime!

    “The trip was everything we wanted it to be: We went beyond the tour bus stops to explore the true New Zealand wilderness. Our guides approached every day with good humor and great energy, making every day physically challenging and fun. We can't wait to get out there again.”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, March 2017
  • Great Introduction to New Zealand

    “The trip provided us with a wonderful taste of New Zealand's South Island. The 'summer' weather we experienced certainly put the adventure in Active Adventures New Zealand. Although, we were faced with several days of rainy weather, both Claire and Ash's positive attitudes made any changes to our itinerary seamless. Our group was fantastic and everyone went with the flow and made our time together a real bonding experience.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Awesome Vacation!!!

    “This was the trip of a lifetime! Could not have asked for better tour guides. Loved every second of it!!!”
    – Texas, United States Kauri, February 2017
  • Tui Trip of a lifetime!

    “This trip was an amazing adventure for our family of 6! Our guides, Michelle, Rachael and Liana were organized, knowledgable and fun. Every day was a new experience on the beautiful South Island... fly-in and camping in the Siberian Wilderness, sea kayaking in Milford Sound, waterfalls everywhere, and many laughs on the bus with family and new friends! Highly recommend this trip :)”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Old knees good times

    “My wife and I had so many questions prior to meeting our group and guides in NZ. How many in our group? What kind of people and what ages? What about the guides?

    What a great group from the start! Tess and Ken were thoughtful, sharing and knowledgeable guides. The itinerary was well thought-out even though we had our detours and quick changes. I was the oldest by 12 years and I loved it--tough for one without any meniscus but I expected it would be so--loved sweating and working. Braemar Station and Milford Sound were definitely highlights but the chemistry of our group was most prominent.”
    – California, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Great Hike

    “Extremely interesting with many varieties of hiking locations.
    Amanda and Clara were extremely knowledgeable and hard workers.
    The guides personalities were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The driver was
    very competent and very informative of the country's flora and fauna.”
    – Minnesota, United States Manuka, February 2017
  • Best trip ever - and we've done a few!

    “Amazing place, made spectacular by knowledgeable, warm, energising guides, an incredibly well thought through & jam packed itinerary, and like-minded fellow travellers. Would do it again without a second thought.”
    – , United Kingdom Rimu, February 2017
  • WOW!

    “Our guides, Greg and Liana are amazing! Their tireless energy, cheerful attitudes, helpfulness, flexibility, wisdom and professionalism played a big part in making this a very special trip.

    New Zealand's scenery is absolutely spectacular! Hiking the lush forests with mammoth ferns and trees left us unable to say anything but WOW!! Each hike we did seemed "the best". Our hike on the Routeburn Track was a highlight. The drive to Milford Sound held us in silent awe.

    At Mt. Cook it was great to have a choice between a challenging and a relaxing hike ~ both fantastic. Staying at the Braemar Station, a sheep shearers' quarters was a perfect end to our adventure. We reveled in the wide open rolling grasslands while fixated on the majestic mountains beyond.

    Active Adventures is an outstanding company and has put together a variety of activities to make "RIMU" a real winner!”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • The best week!

    “We cannot say enough positive things about our experience with Active! The booking process was super smooth and we were provided tons of info to make sure we were all prepared for the week. Our guides, Claire and Torrey were exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable, and organized. Every day was planned almost down to the minute, with back up plans in case of weather changes, etc. it was such a relief to have alll of the logistics accounted for (including several delicious meals) which ensured we were able to really enjoy our trip and get the most out of our time on the South Island. At the same time, the guides were super accommodating, with everything from diet-specific needs to being able to modify the activities to fit the wide range in interests and levels of fitness. Siberia Valley was the highlight for the group and we would highly recommend it! Overall, this really was the trip of a lifetime and it was mostly thanks to the knowledge, patience, planning, and stellar attitudes of our guides! Thanks ladies for a wonderful week!!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Bucket list fulfilled

    “This trip was amazing in every way. Amanda and Clara were not only organized and efficient but shared a wealth of knowledge about their beautiful country and kept our energy high even on rainy days. We could not imagine better guides. We saw diverse environments on the Manuka trip with the Milford option and the hiking was glorious. We also enjoyed the stops at towns throughout the island.

    I kept thinking about all of the behind the scenes people at Active that we didn't meet that make the trip work. In 14 days everything went like clockwork. Every hotel and dining reservation was perfect. Difficult food allergies were accommodated without a second thought.

    Overall I can't think of anything that would have made this trip better. Beautiful place and beautiful people!!”
    – Arkansas, United States Manuka, February 2017
  • Great Trip.

    “The best way to experience the South Island.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Fantastic trip!

    “Amanda and Clara are amazing. They provided detailed information about the areas we visited, made sure everyone was safe and sound during our hiking, biking, and kayaking, made the trips between areas entertaining for all, and made sure we had great food the entire time. One of the best trips I've taken, and one I will remember forever.”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Best Trip Ever

    “Every single bit of the trip was amazing - the route, the guides, the activities, the food and the company. There wasn't a single thing that I could fault - I always saw a trip to New Zealand as a trip of a lifetime and Active made sure it didn't disappoint!”
    – , United Kingdom Rimu, February 2017
  • Michelle Yezierski

    “The Active Adventure Tui Trip was a trip of a lifetime. Great guides, amazing activities, excellent food and breath-taking views. I came home relaxed and smiling; telling anyone who will listen to go to New Zealand that they won't regret it. Thank you Tori and Claire for a great experience and the Active Adventure staff in Queenstown who helped with the booking.”
    – Virginia, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Great trip! Wonderful guides!

    “We loved our Rimu adventure! Tia and Tess were fabulous guides. Always cheerful and wonderful ambassadors for their country. The trip was a great mix of touring and challenging mountain experiences.”
    – Rhode Island, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Awesome introduction to the South Island

    “Excellently guided; magnificent views of the natural environment, including the birds and the vegetation; the option of two levels of walking made it easy; good accommodation. Kiwi Park in Queenstown a highlight as was the DOC exhibition near the foot of Mt Cook.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Kiwi, February 2017
  • Active adventures it surely was!

    “Everything about this trip was awesome! from each place we stayed, to each area we hiked, biked and kayaked... every meal with Claire and Tory too. it surely was a wild adventure and couldn't imagine a better time! thank you.”
    – New Jersey, United States Tui, February 2017

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.