Request a free New Zealand Brochure

Get a FREE New Zealand Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Great Trip

    “1st class and professional from start to finish. Both Jackie and Carrie were outstanding. Even though we had to make changes based on weather they always had a plan and options for us. 14 days passed in the blink of an eye. The food, the accommodations, the activities, the camaraderie, and the enthusiasm were all outstanding. We would not hesitate to recommend Active Adventures and are already thinking about future trips.”
    – Nebraska, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Spectacular!

    “I can't imagine a better way to see the South Island than on Rimu. Challenging? Definitely.... but worth every step!”
    – Texas, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Rimu Was Extraordinary

    “We have been dreaming of visiting New Zealand for a long time, we wanted to see and explore all the best sites in an active way, but doing this on our own would have been overwhelming! Active Adventures was the complete answer. They took us to the best places, sites and beautiful landscapes that we could only have dreamed about. Our group was small which allowed us all to bond, our guides Astrid and Steve could not have been better - fun, knowledgeable, organized and excellent cooks. I got the sense they really enjoyed what they do! I would strongly recommend this tour - a trip of a lifetime that words can’t describe - we will never forget it.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, February 2018
  • South Island Rimu Trip

    “My South Island trip was outstanding, even with the cyclone that came ashore on the second day! The itinerary needed to be changed because of all the washed out roads to places that we were suppose to venture to. Our guides, Jackie and Carrie, came up with new plans that were great. A mark of a good company is when they can handle unexpected events, such as a cyclone, and still provide their guest with a trip of a life time. Thank you A.A. for a great and safe trip!”
    – Connecticut, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Nov 2017 Rimu with Claire, Carrie and Natalie

    “The trip was so well organized and orchestrated. Claire’s driving was phenomenal with a bus full of gabbing woman and windy narrow roads. Natalie’s home baked goodies, nice touch. We were fed so so very well. So many highlights, like who lugs bottles of champagne and glasses on a hike to surprise us at the top?! Or having stubbies waiting for us as we emerge from the woods after two nights at the hut.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Rimu - Feb 2018

    “Could not have been happier with our guides, their level of preparation/organization and the stunning beauty of the South Island.”
    – North Carolina, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Kauri Trip 2018

    “This was a wonderful trip that was challenging and rewarding for me. The scenery was beautiful and the guides so pleasant and adaptable. I loved the food they prepared which was healthy and fresh. I would recommend this trip to my active friends.”
    – North Carolina, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Jan 2018 Rimu with Steve and Astrid

    “My wife and I were on the January 15th 2018 Rimu trip with Steve and Astrid. It was a trip that met all of our hopes and expectations! We were a part of what developed into a very small and close nit group of 6 travelers and 2 guides. The wonderful experience of spending such a thrilling time with such a group in such a fantastically gorgeous environment was one of the highlights of my lifetime experiences. I feel that spending 2 weeks of challenging daily activities culminating in the 3 day Angelus challenge hike could not have been better. Helping and pushing each other through with support and laughter will always be remembered. I find myself now back home after 2 weeks still reminiscing daily about our moments spent together. My thanks to our wonderful young guides who led us, supported us and fed us so well.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Amazing South Island Rimu Trip!!

    “The diversity of what we saw and did on the Rimu trip was amazing!! Beautiful mountain and glacier views, our first sea kayak experience, the sub-tropical West Coast rain forests, caving to see glowworms, cycling the Hawea River Trail, and a challenging but very rewarding Angelus Circuit hike. We were fortunate to be with a wonderful group of people - a great team that encouraged each other throughout the trip. Our guides (Dani & Pepper) were outstanding, very positive, and full of energy. We were so impressed with Active Adventures that we will be hiking on their Mont Blanc tour this summer.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Had to Come Back

    “The Kauri was our second Active Adventures New Zealand trip, the first being the Manuka on the South Island in 2015. We had such fun on the first trip and fell in love with New Zealand so we had to come back. That said, I was concerned that anything could live up to our first experience. I need not have worried. The Kauri exceeded expectations in all respects. First and foremost, our guides, Andy and Jo, were unbelievable. Andy is a font of knowledge about all things New Zealand (geology, geography, flora, fauna, history, food, wine, etc., etc., etc.) and his way of sharing that information over the course of the trip was remarkable. Jo is a delightful person who can do just about anything in the kitchen but also committed to doing whatever was necessary to make sure everybody on the trip was comfortable throughout. She was a huge help organizing our off day activities in Auckland as well as making restaurant recommendations. Both guides are lively conversationalists and just great fun to be around. The variety of activities and sights on this North Island trip included hiking (lots of hiking, beware of Andy's morning "strolls"), snorkeling, sandboarding, caving, cross country bike riding through the forest and swimming just about anytime water was available. Oh, lots of eating and drinking too. Alas, no weight lost on this trip. The hiking was challenging at times with some significant elevation gains, sometimes rocky trails and/or stairs but doable for we 60+ year olds. We were not able to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing due to inclement weather that day (not terribly unusual it sounds like) but the guides had back up hikes at the ready. Accommodations were more than adequate rangeing from lux to quirky but comfortable. Several are in unique settings you are unlikely to find on your own. The food was phenomenal. Hats off to Jo in the kitchen and Andy on the grill. I have rarely eaten so well. Dietary allergies and intolerances didn't phase them at all. People ask what my best memory is but I think, for me, it was a seamless whole woven together by our guides into a wonderful tapestry that I will never forget. Great job.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Fantastic Active Trip

    “We've completed 5 other group bike trips in Europe and we had a fantastic time with Active Adventures in New Zealand! We felt like we saw the entire South Island, and the vantage point gained by biking and hiking was truly unique. The guides were amazing and the meals they prepared were top-notch. Great travel companions and a fantastic trip!”
    – Ohio, United States Weka, February 2018
  • Amazing Trip! Epic!

    “It is hard to find words to describe this epic trip. Our group included six travellers and two excellent guides! This 'Rimu' trip of two weeks included some of the most beautiful vistas in the world. We had beautiful weather and so enjoyed the New Zealand summer since we are from the north. The camaraderie with our team created a level of togetherness which increased as we paddled, biked, and hiked the most amazing trails I have ever seen. Our food made by Astrid was delicious and we looked forward to every snack and meal to the point I was a little disappointed when it was a time to eat out! Our lead guide Steve helped me through a few tricky moments of climbing as needed and drove our van so skillfully. It was the top trip of many trips! Not sure how many times I said “Wow”!”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • The Long Expected Trip

    “In 2012, when I learned that Peter Jackson was going to build the set of The Shire with permanent materials, I knew that it was time for me to go to New Zealand. I was 8 when "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" was released in theaters, and since then I have grown up with both the movies and J.R.R. Tolkien's books. These stories became very dear to me and New Zealand became (and always will be) Middle-earth. I have always wanted to visit NZ, but I never knew how or when that would happen. The deciding moment came in 2012. I saw my chance to visit an "actual" piece of Middle-earth. But I also wanted to experience New Zealand apart from the tourist spots. I wanted to explore and see NZ not just for it's role in the films but because of it's unique, natural beauty. So I went to Google to see what I could find that would satisfy my wish to see New Zealand. I forget the exact phrase I searched, but I know that Active Adventures was the first result. It was meant to be. Within days after exploring the site, I received a call from a representative named Matthew and we started talking about my trip. I was still in college at the time and explained that I would have to wait 5 years before I could go. It was a nice chat and I was reassured that New Zealand would still be there in 5 years. But 5 years is a long time, and although I was making plans, my trip seemed like a far off dream.
    But before I knew it, I was packing for New Zealand. By this time, my trip had evolved into 2 Active Adventure trips and 12 days on my own to explore places like Wellington and Matamata. I completed my degree and now it was time to begin a new chapter of my life. A month-long trip to New Zealand was a perfect start.
    It's hard to put into words how much I enjoyed this trip - incredible, terrific, amazing, life-changing...these sentiments don't seem to encompass how much this trip meant to me. I waited 5 long years, working and studying, and saving for this trip-of-a-lifetime. I could not ask for a better tour group than Active Adventures. The group was just the right size; the guides were friendly, cheerful, knowledgeable, and made sure I got the most out of my time in New Zealand. The food was amazing - I'll definitely be recreating the recipes at home. Having never really done intense hiking before, I've discovered a love for hiking in New Zealand. There were some trails that I though I wouldn't be able to complete, like the Angelus Circuit, but I did it! And I'd do the hikes again. I got so much out of traveling with Active Adventures that I will be looking for similar adventures of my own when spring comes along at home. It's hard to believe my trip is finished. I've waited for so long and worked so hard to get to New Zealand...where did the time go? I have memories to last a lifetime and photos and stories to remind me of where I've been. Though I will explore the world, I know that I'll be returning to New Zealand again and again. Active Adventures allowed me to see the incredible country they call home, and I'd be lying if I said that NZ hasn't become a home-away-from-home to me. I will never forget this trip.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Wonderful Tui Trip!

    “Jackie and Ash were awesome. They were fun, capable and kept us all going and well fed.
    We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable trip. Thank you very much for a wonderfully warm and welcoming New Zealand experience. The hike up to the glacial lake will never be forgotten. Corinne”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2018
  • The Long Awaited Trip

    “I could not have had a better New Zealand tour group than Active Adventures. Not only did I get to see beautiful locations in the North Island, but I also got to hike stunning trails and learn about Kiwi culture. My guides were terrific...and great cooks too. As one who has lived with Celiac for close to 10 years, I was blown away at how easily the guides were able to provide delicious gluten free meals...that was a small treat. I will definitely be returning to complete the second half of the Kauri trip!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • A Great NZ Sampler

    “A great way to see and sample the South Island.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Rimu January 2018... Even more beautiful in hindsight.

    “Pretty hard to capture with mere words just how beautiful and challenging this trip was. Only now, with the clarity of hindsight and reviewing my photos, am I really beginning to grasp the magnitude of the natural wonder that is New Zealand. And reviewing the map against where we traveled shows that we saw a pretty good chunk of the South Island on our Rimu trip, and only whets my appetite to see even more.

    If you are considering an adventure tour with knowledgeable fun loving guides, who also happen to be fantastic cooks, then look no further. Active Adventures has everything covered. We stayed in top notch accommodations, from a sheep station to a luxury riverside bungalow, and we started each day with a great breakfast, had a hearty lunch break during the day's activity, and finished with appetizers in the evening before a delicious dinner. Did I mention these guides can cook? And that fresh food using local ingredients tastes even better after a full day of adventure. And adventure is what you'll be doing, each and every day.

    So pick out a trip, book it, and do it. You'll be glad you did.”
    – Montana, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • First time in New Zealand

    “It was a beautiful trip! We were in so many places and we had seen so many of the natural beauties of New Zealand in a short time.
    Our guides were great, very professional, knowledgeable, easy going, accommodating and friendly
    The trip covered a lot of activities for any level of fitness.
    The plane ride, the jet boat ride, the nocturnal cruise in Milford Sound and the kayak experience and bike riding were all wonderful.
    Thank you for the great experience!”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, February 2018
  • Well done

    “This was a well organized trip done by very competent guides who went above and beyond
    their duties to provided what was a excellent experience.
    I think that the group size was an excellent number and the choice of activities made it better still.
    I would also like to thank the staff for locating and delivering my lost luggage.

    Thank you for an excellent experience”
    – Idaho, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • A Special Place

    “New Zealand is a very special place. The natural beauty was inspiring and the well planned trip provided unique opportunities to experience the magical environment.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Holiday Trip 2018

    “Our guides Ken and Carrie were great! We had a wonderful time with all the activities and the variety of experiences was perfect.”
    – Nevada, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Rimu, Experience NZ's Stunning Nature

    “Searching for a suitable tour, the 'Rimu' promised exactly what I was looking for: daily outdoor activities, lovely accomodations and good coffee :-). This tour exceeded my expectations!! Our attentive and friendly guides kept us active and challenged every day. We experienced New Zealand's nature hiking, cycling and kayaking. Throughout the whole tour everything was organised and taken care of. They prepared delicious meals and picnics. Daily surprises such as a cold drink after a long hike or an especially beautiful lookout during the bus ride completed this outstanding tour. Furthermore we got to know many stories about New Zealand's customs, it's flora and fauna, the Maori...We had the chance to fully "immerse" into New Zealand and take home an unforgettable experience!”
    – , Switzerland Rimu, February 2018
  • Awesome Guides

    “Andy was both our chauffer and lead guide for this trip. He is a font of knowledge and has the ability to share that knowledge in a timely and fascinating way. His driving was steadfast, confident, and reassuring while he was able to share this information during the trip. He also made an effort to get to know each participant and demonstrated interest in each of us, our respective backgrounds, other trips experienced and other places that we are interested in visiting. He was able to share his experiences with other AA trips in other parts of the world that "piqued" our interests. Jo was fantastic as well. Her culinary talents are exceptional and the variety that she provided and the ease with which she prepared the food was unparalleled. She made an effort to "rotate" her seat in the bus to be able to interact with each person and like Andy get to know each participant. I am hoping that some day I can join another Active Adventure with Andy and Jo if not in NZ somewhere else in the world.”
    – Illinois, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Exceptional Adventure

    “The 'Weka' trip surpassed all my expectations. Our guides were attentive, supportive and always full of good humor. The scope and breadth of the trip was remarkable. So many environments and landscapes, each more beautiful than the last. The biking and hiking was challenging and worth the effort. This was the perfect introduction to the South Island and definitely whet my appetite to return and see more.”
    – Vermont, United States Weka, February 2018
  • 2018 Kiwi Tour

    “Absolutely loved my 'Kiwi' trip! The hikes, the guides, the food and even all the other travellers were wonderful.”
    – Wisconsin, United States Kiwi, February 2018
  • In Active Adventures I Trust

    “This was my 3rd trip with Active. South Island NZ in 2014, Mt Everest Base Camp Trek in 2016 and now North Island for Christmas 2017! Each trip was so different but the best of the best! Kauri was fantastic!! So much Maori culture and history! It just flowed out of our guide Andy too, his telling of Maori history was the best part of the days where we had a long drive, he is an awesome story teller!! Jo had so many things up her sleeve for us! She led us on the Tongariro Crossing, Sand boarding and so many other phenomenal days. This woman is pure adventure and she can COOK!! The accommodations were fantastic! Meals were amazing! Beachcombing is second to none at Mangawhai! I don't think there is any place quite like NZ! Just go!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Kauri, February 2018
  • Fabulous Trip!

    “Great guides, great destinations - we felt safe, entertained and totally taken care of for the whole trip.”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2018
  • Awesome Adventures

    “Although the trip started off slowly due to weather, Natalie and Jasmine our guides, made it all work out, constantly tweaking our trip so as to take advantage of cultural and geographic points. Once the weather cleared the beautiful country of New Zealand was ours for exploring. Again the girls were top notch, their knowledge and familiarity of the areas being explored is to be complimented. Top attractions 1. The Tongariro hike- Magnificent!! 2. Black water rafting and the glow-worms, lots of fun. Thank you for a wonderful trip. And thank Jasmine and Natalie again for me!!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Kauri, February 2018
  • Excellent

    “This trip went beyond my expectations in every aspect. Active Adventures knows what they're doing and provides the most thoughtful and best experience. I've done many organized trips over the world with other companies, and this was one of the best I've taken. The company and guides create a trip that feels personal (not touristy at all) of the most amazing spots of New Zealand, while choosing exceptional and beautiful places to stay. This was exactly what I was hoping for (even better). This trip has one activity after the next, so if you enjoy being active, you will love this trip. Thank you, Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Rimu Trip Review - Jan 15, 2018

    “Great Trip! Well planned, very enjoyable group, excellent guides! Really got a great feel for the South Island of New Zealand! I just hope I will be able to get back someday!”
    – Delaware, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “I have never been on a guided tour before so I did not know what to expect. I researched New Zealand's South Island and wanted to experience all the sites that were on the Rimu itinerary. My expectations were low going into the trip. What I discovered is that the Active Adventures tour and our guide Melissa (Mel) McCartney blew me away. The accommodations were great and way better than I could have booked on my own. The hikes, biking, kayaking and swimming were perfect and the food (especially Mel's cooking) was fantastic. The only downside was the driving time in the bus but there was no other way to cover the ground we did without a little sacrifice. James Stephens, Our driver and Lead Guide, was a great driver and as a son of a police officer, made us feel safe as he confidently drove us around the island. Both Mel and James kept us on schedule, made sure we were looked after and well taken care of. They were very pleasant and told stories of Maori legends, Kiwi history and NZ lifestyle. When they realized that several of us were more physically fit, they designed different hikes so everyone would be happy. We had six trekkers on the bus and all of us fell in love with Mel. She is the perfect guide and she loves what she does. She is a great cook, organizer and so casual and fun. Mel and James really made this trip fun for all. I have and will continue to recommend this trip to everyone.
    Thank you for a great trip.”
    – California, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • A Great Taste of the South Island

    “It's obvious that the Rimu Tour has been tuned to perfection over time. The venues are wonderful and the food is excellent (thank you Mel!). Many hours in the bus, but that was to be expected given the breadth of coverage. I'd highly recommend this tour without hesitation!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Great Guides, Beautiful Countryside

    “The trip was an exciting experience of New Zealand. The guides took very good care of us and helped with any of our needs and wishes. I am so pleased with the trip and would recommend it to anyone who wants to see beautiful scenery and take an active part in enjoying it. I would and may do it again .”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, February 2018
  • Terrific Trip!

    “This was an absolutely terrific trip. I just can't say enough good things about it. Claire and Lauren were great guides and made a great trip even better. I highly recommend this trip for anyone who wants to cover a lot of ground but in a somewhat more relaxed fashion”
    – Texas, United States Kiwi, February 2018
  • I Thought I Had Died and Gone to Heaven!

    “New Zealand is the most gorgeous country you will ever visit. Couple that with kind, friendly, fun people, and you have the trip of a lifetime. My husband and I thought about hiding from Claire and Lauren, our awesome guides, so we would never have to go home. But we had our sweet pup waiting, so we had to leave. But we left one challenge to bring us back, the Tongariro Crossing, and who knows, maybe we’ll even do the Nevis Bungy. OK, or not.”
    – North Carolina, United States Kiwi, February 2018
  • Rimu trip with Amanda T & Maya

    “A beautiful trip, between the scenery, hikes, sea kayaking, delicious food, the guides' kindness & attention, fitness & knowledge of the surroundings, I could not have asked for anything more. It was rejuvenating & enjoyable.”
    – New York, United States Rimu, February 2018
  • Great Way to Explore the South Island

    “A wonderful, well-organized hiking/exploring trip with skilled, attentive, enjoyable guides who made it feel like it was customized just for us. I can highly recommend Active Adventures for a great way to hike and explore the natural beauty of the South Island. Our guides, Daniel and Liana were outstanding.”
    – Connecticut, United States Manuka, February 2018
  • Great Way to Enjoy a Beautiful Country

    “Great hiking, kayaking and biking. We covered a good amount of the South Island in a very comfortable bus. The guides were excellent, food was great. I highly recommend this tour.”
    – Wisconsin, United States of America Rimu, January 2018
  • Amazing Family Trip

    “We travelled with our 20 and 23 yo boys and met another family and a single woman. The 8 of us hit the road, trails, lakes, bike trails together. The pace was excellent. The guides terrific. Even though the weather did not cooperate well, we had a great and memorable trip. Loved having everything meticulously planned, yet some ability to be spontaneous and adapt to the group's desires. Truly a vacation: all we had to do was show up! Meals, lodging, hikes, etc. all "happened" for us!”
    – Washington, United States of America Rimu, January 2018
  • It Was a Trip Full of Action!

    “We really enjoyed this south island trip.
    Both Dani and Maya are full of energy and appears to enjoy what they do!
    Dani is very knowledgeable about the history of the area and people.
    They are problem solvers and went out of their ways to accommodate this large group of travelers!”
    – Texas, United States of America Tui, January 2018
  • An Unbelievable Experience

    “The Rimu trip was beyond phenomenal! The sights we saw were breathtaking and the small group size allowed us all to bond and truly enjoy our time together exploring this magnificent country. Our guides were fantastic and provided lots of information and fun facts, along with a large amount of encouragement as we tackled some of our adventures! I'm still searching for words to describe just how great a trip it was!”
    – Nebraska, United States of America Rimu, January 2018
  • A blast!

    “The trip was great, the guides were very relatable and worked to meet our standards of the trip. To be personal and show the places but also culture is what made it so fun. Astrid did a wonderful job in hospitality and information. James was a strong leader of the group and gave a challenge but also insight to the group about the area. Thank you again and we look forward to another trip with your company.”
    – Wyoming, United States of America Rimu, January 2018
  • Oh-my-Gosh!

    “it was truly a fabulous trip! Only 7 other travelers and 2 great guides, and every day was packed with gorgeous scenery and fun ways to work off the calories. We enjoyed a nice mix of accommodations, from luxury hotel to a rustic but spotless A-frame in a secluded wide spot in the road, and everything in between. Truly memorable: Tanglewood on Queen Charlotte Sound, and the low-key but gorgeous place at Milford Sound. Superb food, Button and Maya were fabulous guides, and even the time in the van was pleasant with so much to see. Interesting fellow travelers too!”
    – Washington, United States of America Rimu, January 2018
  • Tui Trip

    “Excellent trip, very well run and great guides.”
    – Illinois, United States of America Tui, January 2018
  • New Zealand - South Island

    “Had a great vacation and our guides made it even more fun.”
    – Ohio, United States of America Tui, January 2018
  • The Great Outdoors!

    “Amazing way to connect to the natural beauty of New Zealand. The hut to hut hike pushed me to the limits of my endurance but every step was worth the views! Between the hiking, biking and kayaking, we experienced the vast and varied terrain that was breathtaking.”
    – DC, United States of America Rimu, January 2018
  • Memorable Trip

    “The Tui trip included a variety of activities and allowed us to see quite a bit of the South Island. The scenery was outstanding - it was everything we hoped for. The guides were fantastic. This is a trip we will be talked about for a long time to come.”
    – Maryland, United States of America Tui, January 2018
  • Best Hike

    “The highlight of the trip was the Tongariro Alpine crossing. It was a challenging hike with magnificent scenery. Definitely one of the best hikes we have done.”
    – Maryland, United States of America Kauri, January 2018
  • Fantastic Trip on the South Island

    “We had a wonderful trip on the South Island. The Guides Nick and Tory were fantastic, always there for you and motivated to have us experience everything in a positive way. Their knowledge of the island and the people really added to the experience, their true love for their country. Everyday was filled with adventure and excitement. The group bonded well. We had great fun together. The rides and hiking were breathtaking.”
    – Ontario, Canada Weka, January 2018
  • Tui with Dani and Maya

    “My Tui trip was an excellent "Active" adventure.. without Bill&Ted.
    Dani and Maya showed up on the 12/25.. and their exuberance set the tone for the trip. Really, enjoyed myself on this guided tour. The itinerary was perfect, and gave us a great overview of the South Island. I wish I had done the helicopter ride to the Franz Josef glacier; if I had to do it again it would have been worth the fee. Loved the rain forest hotel stay there too.
    Siberia Hut/Lake Crucible was an awesome hike.. enjoyed the bush plane flight into the valley - scary but fun. Tough climb up beside the falls, but the views were well worth it. Walking through the meadows towards the lake was amazing. Awe-inspiring views. Lake Crucible/Valley: tired from the climb, the view towards Lake Crucible drove you to move forward. Lake Crucible itself is pretty cool with its floating "glaciers" great hike. I Enjoyed the hike out as we headed for the valley and rivers. The jet boat ride was awesome - besides the thrills of the ride we got the extra "pop" of the views of the mountains. Meeting up as a group and then doing a bike ride in the afternoon added to the adventure. It was awesome going from an alpine environment to a social bike ride. It's amazing how the environments change so quickly, those 2 days are a workout but worth it.
    The day off in Queenstown was good, allowed us to rest up but also time to get a feel of the resort culture and kiwi Hospitality of New Zealand.
    The Milford Sound portion was amazing as we arrived during a heavy downpour to see the thousands of waterfalls produced by the rains. The views and splendor made you want to to stand in the rain to observe. Enjoyed the overnight stay on the boat, and the dinner. Next day we kayaked, it was my first time which was enjoyable. It is something that i will pursue as a hobby based on this experience.
    I'd like to personally thank both Dani, and Maya. They were personable, fun, and kept the trip on track. Both had great personalities, and took care of us on both X-Mas Day, and NYE, much appreciated.
    Based on my positive experience I would recommend the Tui Trip and Active Adventures to someone else.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Kauri - North Island Trek

    “This was everything I'd hoped it would be. The most amazing adventure for me and my two daughters (aged 21 and 18). The BEST guides who were helpful, fun, flexible and knowledgeable. I'm coming back.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, January 2018
  • WOW!

    “Where do I begin?
    At the beginning I guess.
    This trip was brilliant and perfect for anybody.
    The guides make it possible for everybody to join in everything.
    The activities are challenging but fun.
    The food is excellent and lots of it!
    The accommodation was staggeringly good.
    If you suffer with travel sickness - beware lots of long minibus trips but a good selection of music and snacks made them bearable.
    New Zealand is a beautiful country and the people are amazing.
    This trip will be in my heart and mind forever.
    Thanks xxxx”
    – West Sussex, United Kingdom Rimu, January 2018
  • Majestic New Zealand

    “Active Adventures attracts like-minded explorers who are up for anything and fun to boot! New Zealand is a remarkable country - and seeing the South Island through the special lens of this tour was truly life changing. The astounding beauty allowed me to feel more connected to our planet, collective community and to myself. Thank you for sharing this majestic place with us!”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • A Wonderful, Relaxed, Fun-packed, Gorgeous Adventure.

    “The title says it all, our guides were great, and the group dynamics were amazing. It’s not every time you luck out with a trip like this and we sure did. Between the dynamics of Astrid and James and that of the group, we had a truly special group and trip, and I can’t imagine having it done any other way... the way Astrid and James worked together to lead the group was pure magic. Truly. I think the only way I’d ever do an active trip again is if I had the two of them to guide it together. No joke. They rocked it that hard. Thanks to you all. I will never forget it.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • A Wonderful and Exciting Adventure

    “Active Adventure is very lucky to have Koru on their staff. The guide makes the trip and Koru made the trip a welcoming, learning adventure. He is great at creating a positive community within his groups. He has great insight showing New Zealand as if we were all locals. Koru, Katie, and Natalie were great at helping me with my personal bird count challenge. Koru had great understanding of the trails and it showed. He gave great advice on hikes to do out side of the trip and knew great routes to avoid the masses of tourist. He also is a wonderful cook. Overall I believe that Koru loves what he does, therefore, he passes on that passion to participants to create a magical experience.
    Thank you for not canceling the trip with just 2 participants.”
    – Alabama, United States Manuka, January 2018
  • Trip of a life time

    “My wife and I planned this trip with some friends to try something new and to maximize the experience of New Zealand. We spent 8 days hiking, biking, and kayaking through the South Island. Every day was action packed with something different to do. We got to try new things, test a few of our limits that we wouldn't have normally done, and learn a few things about local culture along the way. I can't say enough good things about our guides Ben and Liana. They were enthusiastic about everything we did and full of information. They helped us push limits and get the most out of the experiences we had. Everyone I've told about our trip has been wowed by the awesome things we got to see and do.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, January 2018
  • The Perfect Amount of Challenge!

    “Flying into the Siberia Valley, hiking up to an alpine lake, sleeping in a back country hut, and jet boating back to civilization - all in a 36 hour period - means I earned bragging rights and street cred! Many thanks to our wonderful guides for their encouragement and knowledge. Truly a trip of a lifetime.”
    – Ohio, United States Tui, January 2018
  • An Amazing New Zealand Adventure

    “Active Adventures is very lucky to have Katie and Natalie on your staff. The guides set the community on a trip like this and they did such a great job of creating a welcoming environment. You can tell that both Katie and Natalie love what they do, therefore they bring more to the trip. For example Katie had a bag of her own personal books about New Zealand that we could look at, her goal to tell us a new Maori story everyday, as well as her in depth knowledge that made the trip much richer. I would have missed so much if I had rented a car and traveled to the same places. On a scheduling front I very much enjoyed the day hikes that were off a gravel road and places that were out of the way from the tourist attractions. I became sick on the first night and Katie arranged a late check out as well as plan b options for the hike if I needed them. On the second part of the trip Natalie was very welcoming and did an exceptional job on cooking the meals. Also on this leg Katie did a wonderful job at driving during a flash storm. Her driving throughout the trip was a very professional safe experience.
    Thank you for not canceling on me with only 2 participants on the first leg of this trip.”
    – Alabama, United States Kauri, January 2018
  • Exceeds expectations at every turn!

    “I always have a picture in my mind of what I want to accomplish on a trip such as this. First time I can honestly say all my expectations were surpassed checking every bucket list item off and then some!”
    – Ohio, United States Kea, January 2018
  • Action Packed Road Trip - Fantastic Experience For Our Family

    “We loved our trip overall and appreciated the amount of miles and activities we were able to cover and experience in a two week itinerary. Every detail was thoughtfully executed and our guides were terrific; we actually can't say enough about how much we admired Jackie's driving and Emma's cooking not to mention their cheerful and encouraging leadership of our group! I was impressed with the bus which provided comfort, storage of daily items (YAY for cupholders!) and wonderful panoramic views; excellent since we logged a lot of miles on it. The hiking, biking and kayaking were epic & strenuous and led us to amazing sights. It was our goal to see as much of the South Island as we could on our first trip to New Zealand and the 'Rimu' trip sure delivered that.
    Our family has taken many guided adventure trips (road and mountain biking, rafting, and hiking) in America and Europe and your company is one of the very best at what you do. Thank you for a wonderful trip full of treasured memories.”
    – New Mexico, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Mid Life Challenge

    “A great way to re-energize your life. Gets you to think about what is really important- life experiences- challenges and successes!”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Manuka trip

    “I already sent you guys an email about how much I loved the trip but if this makes it official I'll do it again here. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS TRIP!!! I was able to do the Milford Track (which I have wanted to do ever since I was here 13 years ago) and it was fantastic!!! I know you have no control over the weather but even that was perfect. I was told to expect lots of rain (we barely got wet) There were very few bugs (even at "sandfly point") It was perfect! I must thank Active Adventures for not cancelling the trip when only myself and one other individual showed up for what could have been a 15 person tour. (Where was everybody? They missed out on the trip of a lifetime!) Koru was the best guide/host ever! He made us eggs benedict for breakfast, fresh salmon for dinner and treated us to chocolate muffins for lunch. since there were only 2 of us we were able to fit in a lot of bonus hikes and side trips that we probably couldn't have done with a full group. The Milford Track segment was a bit pricey but worth every penny of it. The food was insane! (venison, salmon pate, creme brulee, apple strudel, choice of packed lunch every day...yum) The scenery was gorgeous and with so few people I could walk in solitude much of the time. I tried to be one of the first on the trail every day and I was frequently the last one in at the lodges, not because I wasn't able to keep up; I just had to stop to look at everything, touch the trees, listen to the birds, feel the water on my bare feet (I even went "swimming" once just to see how cold it really was: VERY!) New Zealand is special. There aren't many places left in the world that are so unspoiled that you can safely drink right out of the river (no mine runoff, toxic waste, chemicals and general human sludge ruining it) It was funny to me that the worst traffic problem seemed to be the occasional 2 minute pause at the 1 lane bridges. (it can sometimes take HOURS to get to the mountains or home again on I-70 in Colorado due to weekend ski traffic or holiday travelers trying to escape the city) So thank you Active Adventures for setting up a tour showcasing the wonderful diversity of the natural beauty in your country. Thank you Tess and especially Koru for sharing this most excellent experience with me (and Mike, my fellow wanderer, he was good company also!)”
    – Colorado, United States Manuka, January 2018
  • Dream Trip to New Zealand

    “We'd wanted to go to New Zealand for years and were so happy we chose to do it with Active Adventures. We never would have seen and done as much without being on a tour where they handled everything. The guides were highly competent as well as being fun and setting a relaxed tone. It was wonderful how they guided us through some of the most beautiful places on earth and could also tell us about history and wildlife. They were flexible and helped us navigate the different physical levels of each family member. Food was healthy and delicious. Both the adults and kids had a blast.”
    – Illinois, United States Kea, January 2018
  • Great Trip!

    “A great trip touching most of the NZ South Island's many must see / must do places.”
    – Illinois, United States Kea, January 2018
  • Epic Family Trip

    “If you want to make the most of a family trip to New Zealand, you MUST consider Active Adventures! The 5 star reviews are REAL!

    Our guides, Mel and Kim were the BEST! They were awesome ambassadors for Active Adventures and for New Zealand in general. They shared a wealth of information about the land, wildlife, history and culture. Our guides pointed out details about New Zealand that we would have missed had we done the trip on our own. Our kids (6 & 9) loved them. I think that my kids miss Mel and Kim almost as much as they miss New Zealand itself!

    Travelling was part of the adventure. Our bus “Ed” was comfortable and had large windows to view the amazing scenery. It was nice to have the option to take in the sites or to relax on the bus after a hike. Mel kept the kids entertained. NEVER ONCE did my kids complain or ask whether we were there yet. Ed was always stocked with a basket full of fresh fruit and healthy snack options.

    Itinerary and details were all expertly planned. Behind the scenes, Mel and Kim shopped and prepared meals while we explored or settled into our accommodations. We loved all of the wildlife encounters, scenery, and outdoor adventures. Active Adventures really maximized our New Zealand experience!!

    From the time of my initial inquiry, the Active Adventure team was accessible and helpful. Detail oriented, they reached out to us shortly before the trip to get height/weight info to arrange booster seats for our kids. In addition, a month prior to the trip, they proactively contacted us about Christmas dinner options for the evening prior to the trip’s start.

    I was fortunate to find Active Adventures via an online search. I can attest to the 5/5 star reviews. We loved the personalized experience being in a small tour group. We have so many happy memories. I am so glad that we completed the trip and highly recommend Active Adventures and the Kea trip to my family, friends, and colleagues.”
    – AP, Japan Kea, January 2018
  • *Waaaay* Better Than Trying to Plan This Awesome Trip Ourselves!

    “Seamless, perfectly executed trip to the beautiful South Island.
    Just book it. You won't regret it. Active adventures had everything planned flawlessly. So many of our stunningly beautiful hikes were crowd-free. We felt sorry for the DIY tourists driving badly in their rented cars. We had so much fun, and really appreciated that the trip was so well tailored for our enjoyment. 100% fun 0% stress and hassle.”
    – California, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • Trip of a Lifetime!

    “I am still basking in the glow from this remarkable trip! I admit that I was a bit nervous at first as I was the oldest person in our group and not as fit (for hiking) as some in the group, so I worried about 'keeping up' on the hikes - especially the steeper climbs. Ben and Lauren were very reassuring and encouraging and I felt that I was able to 'hold my own'. In fact, while the hiking was probably the most challenging I've done in at least 7 years, it was the most rewarding/exhilarating part for me. I loved our group - a very positive, health-conscious and fun group of people from all walks of life. It was also wonderful that we were only 12 people - it helped to create a much more intimate and personal atmosphere. I felt we bonded together well - again, thanks to Ben and Lauren's great skills with ice-breaking, fun games, and ability to set and maintain a positive atmosphere from the beginning.
    From the moment we set off from the airport to the emotional farewells back at the airport at the end of the trip, this was a top notch adventure. Our transportation was comfortable, our accommodations were always different and unique and very comfortable - I loved that they weren't all in your standard hotel and that some of them were really off the beaten track. The food was amazing - from the snack basket in the van, loaded fresh every day with fruit and other snacks, to the amazing meals that Lauren and Ben created and the breakfasts and dinners that we had at various restaurants - there was a lot of variety, special dietary considerations were accounted for and there was lots of it!
    I did the kayak option and it was outstanding. The B&B and our hosts were wonderful (the hot tub at the end of the day was most appealing!) and our kayak guide, Nick was terrific - very accommodating, skilled and he made it all very interesting and fun!
    I cannot say enough about our incredible guides - Ben and Lauren - they truly moved the bar for me from a great trip to one that will go down in history for me as the trip of a lifetime. They were so knowledgeable about the island - I loved listening to the legends/folklore and learning more about the vegetation, birds, etc. Ben was a terrific driver - I always felt safe. Lauren was terrific with her cooking and meal presentations - meals looked fantastic and tasted even better! Both Ben and Lauren added those special touches from decorating the bus for the Christmas season, organizing our Secret Santa, making a fantastic Christmas morning breakfast, complete with Christmas crackers and special hats, managing extra logistics like re-booking the paragliding for us, setting up the helicopter tour, taking the time and effort to help reconnect people with items they had left behind either in our accommodations or on a hike/kayak. They even had the perfect music for when we went through the Homer Tunnel and down into Milford Sound - the combination of the music and the scenery was so moving it had several of us in tears! They really ensured that they got to know each person and took a genuine interest in each person. Their positive energy and enthusiasm was infectious. They took kindness and customer service to a new level! The scenery was breathtaking everywhere we went. It would be hard for me to say what the favourite part was or favourite view as the South Island is simply spectacular. I felt that the trip was organized in such a way that I really got a good feel and appreciation for the South Island. Truly New Zealand is one of the most beautiful places (both 'inside and out') that I have ever visited (and I've visited over 20 other countries around the world). I really loved the more laid-back way of life and the local people we met were so welcoming and kind. I would love to come back again and see the North Island but also re-visit the South Island!
    I highly recommend this trip and have already suggested it to a number of my friends. It really was transformational for me on so many levels! My heartfelt thanks to Ben and Lauren and everyone at Active Adventures!”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, January 2018
  • Rimu Rocks!

    “The trip was awesome! I met a great bunch of fellow travelers and now have family in New Zealand in Jackie and Emma! I felt like we saw a lot of the South Island in 2 weeks. I loved my first experience in New Zealand and plan on coming back in 2020!”
    – Michigan, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Amazing South Island Rimu Adventures

    “The most awesome and enjoyable adventure I've had, with Active Adventures on a Rimu trip with Jackie and Emma! We had a really good group and the best tour leaders too. Emma is a talented cook and Jackie is an excellent driver, as well as both being friendly and hilarious people. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. They made us feel comfortable and happy. I enjoyed all the hikes we went on and the kayaking too. I would definitely consider going on another Active Adventures tour some day, as I really enjoyed my tour!”
    – Victoria, Australia Rimu, January 2018
  • Perfect Combination of Biking, Hiking, Alps, Lakes and Ocean

    “Our Weka adventure was exciting and challenging from Day 1 to Day 14. The biking days were great fun and let us explore areas where we were often the only ones on the track. The hikes provided us with views which were spectacular. Our guides, Tory and Nick, were terrific at sharing information about the history of New Zealand and Maori legends. We could not have hoped for a more beautiful and joyful experience.”
    – Texas, United States Weka, January 2018
  • NZ Alps and surrounding region: what a great place!

    “The much wilder South Island was a great place to visit, despite the weather which was for some days awful, notably on the West Coast (rain, wind, fog, snow). Incredible choice of outdoor activity, the highlight being the kayaking (with heavy rain) in Milford Sound as well as the hiking to Franz-Josef Glacier (hail did not allow us to complete it).”
    – TN, Italy Rimu, January 2018
  • Best Trip Ever!

    “It was the best ever! Our guides Katie and Alex did everything to make sure we had the best possible experience! We loved every minute and would definitely recommend Active to any of our friends travelling to New Zealand.”
    – Ontario, Canada Kauri, January 2018
  • “We really had a great time with your team. Your lead guide, James, was always accommodating and willing to go the extra mile for everyone. When we could not make one of our trips due to rain it was super impressive that you guys made a work-around and made it happen. It was a wonderful trip.”
    – Texas, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Wonderful KEA trip with amazing guides

    “We were a bit hesitant knowing that we would be the only family on this trip, since part of the draw was interacting with other families with kids while we adventure, but our awesome guides Ash and Eve really came through and made sure both kids and adults had a wonderful time through the varied terrain of the South Island. They were particularly good at coaxing our least willing hiker (the 6 year old) and giving us options to split up into individual / paired interests. The level and variety of activity was perfect for our family! Thanks again, we really did have the best time and hope to come back for another Active adventure someday...”
    – Oregon, United States Kea, January 2018
  • Absolutely the trip of a lifetime

    “This trip was both physically and mentally challenging, and I left with a huge sense of accomplishment and confidence! Not to mention the stunning scenery of New Zealand. Our guides were amazing and our whole group was one big family. This was a trip of a lifetime for me, and I'm already planning my next Active Adventures trip to South America!”
    – Dublin, Ireland (Republic of) Rimu, January 2018
  • Great trip. Fantastic guides.

    “The guides were perfect. We kept a brisk pace and covered a lot of ground beside beautiful country.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • An Unforgettable Adventures

    “From kayaking to mountain biking to hiking and even skydiving!- Active Adventures let me do it all in just 8 days during the South Island Tui Trip. It was an amazing experience and I especially loved how everything was planned beforehand and taken care off. Traveling stress free is one of the best! Definitely would recommend to my friends!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Walking makes a "Difference"

    “We did a bicycle trip on the South Island in 2013, it was a wonderful trip, although the focus was cycling (of-course) and seeing local towns.
    This time, "walking" we were able to get off the beaten track and really see what New Zealand has to offer. It was beyond wonderful and we were both surprised how tropical the area is, both around lower lakes and in mountain elevations. We were very pleased and enjoyed ourselves completely!!”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • Trip of a lifetime

    “Our Rimu trip of the South Island was a wonderful experience. Having a guided tour really took the stress out of planning and also allowed us to sit back and enjoy the views, which would not have been possible if we had chosen to drive ourselves. Our guides Simon and Maddi were extremely knowledgable and a joy to spend time with. Our tour was very personalized and we were able to see and experience much more than larger tour groups. Our guides made sure that we were able to get the most out of our experience and tailored our hikes and activities to fit our personal fitness levels and goals. New Zealand was truly a beautiful country and am very pleased with our experience with Active Adventures!”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Dan Barnes Review

    “The trip was amazing . . . The views and experiences made the trip one of a kind”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Nice job

    “Well organized, super friendly guides, saw gorgeous scenery.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Unforgettable Experience

    “The trip and our guides more than exceeded our expectations for the trip. Each activity was backed by incredible scenery and unique memories. Our guides were amazing and very encouraging and our group hit it off from the start making it all the more special.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Weka Adventures

    “New Zealand by mountain bike was quite beautiful as well as challenging, we could not have asked for more!”
    – Texas, United States Weka, January 2018
  • “The Kiwi hiking trip was adventurous and wonderful! Tess and Jackie were very knowledgeable, excellent organizers, fantastic cooks and made our trip fun with their great sense of humor! We found the South Island to be beautiful and so green! Weather was perfect, our accommodations were comfortable and very clean, and of course the scenery was nothing less than spectacular!Would recommend to”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations

    “In planning my trip to New Zealand I specifically signed on to the Rimu trip to achieve 3 goals: first to see as much of the South Island as possible in 2 weeks, second to get outdoors and get a feel for the environment and third to have fun with a group of people. My Rimu experience accomplished all three goals and then some. The mixture of driving, and daily activities was perfect. It allowed us to cover lots of terrain while getting us out and active every day. Our guides, Ben and Emma, were terrific. They were tireless workers who not only made us comfortable but created a positive group dynamic that helped bring complete strangers together into a cohesive group. Ben was great at sharing his knowledge of NZ culture and natural history. Emma was a fantastic cook who kept us well fed even at a hut at 1300 meters. Everything about the trip was well organized and well planned. Thank you for such a great experience.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • “Couldn’t have asked for better guides! Jackie and Tess were awesome. They know all about the plants and animals of NZ. Simply amazing for them to hike all morning then pull out a complete lunch for eight people from those backpacks.”
    – Washington, United States Kiwi, January 2018
  • A case of 1+1 = 3

    “Jo and Andy, you guys are the best hosts/guides by a margin. Your passion and knowledge makes the trip that much more memorable. I genuinely felt at home. Truly a case where 1 + 1 = 3.”
    – , United Kingdom Kauri, January 2018
  • Best trip ever!

    “The Tui trip was well planned with two very cheerful and detail-oriented guides, Amanda and Alex! I enjoyed not only the spectacular post-card like views, but also the hospitality of Kiwi!”
    – California, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Amazing hike across Tongariro!

    “Best hike across the Tongariro! The trip itself was very well planned. Andy and Jo are two wonderful guides, who are both knowledgable and cheerful.”
    – California, United States Kauri, January 2018
  • A Great Trip

    “We had a blast. Even when the weather didn't work in our favor our guides made it possible to do about everything we wanted to do. Franz Joseph Glacier was a once in a lifetime experience, exploring all the ice caves. The Siberia Wilderness was absolutely amazing. Loved the scenic flight. And Milford Sound cruise and sea kayak made it feel like we experienced the sound from so many different perspectives. Also, added bonus, we saw dolphins, seals, and a whale!!! We got to do so much in the week that we had. And our guides were great and knew a lot about the places we visited. It was fun to learn about New Zealand from the locals.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Wonderful introduction to the South Island

    “Based on the trip itinerary and description, I assumed this would be a fantastic introduction to the South Island. And, it was. What I did not expect were two of the best guides I have ever had on a planned adventure trip. They made adventure absolutely wonderful.”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, January 2018
  • Rimu nov. 27 - dec. 10 '17

    “This trip was unsurpassed by any other I've ever been a part of! Ben and Emma seemed like family to us with their wonderful cooking, extreme knowledge of the island and extraordinary skill as guides made every step of every hike better than the last!
    I have not stopped singing the praises of Active Adventures to my like minded friends since returning!
    You really 'knocked this one out of the park'!”
    – Georgia, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Oct 16 2017 Rimu with Simon and Liana

    “Your mission was accomplished. I would not change a thing about my Oct 16 2017 Rimu adventure with Simon and Liana. It was perfect!
    - Well organized – From the pickup at the airport, to meals and accommodations, to the drop off at the airport, the trip was well organized. Liana and Simon kept an eye on time to ensure we kept on schedule and they even added additional stops as time allowed for unscheduled adventures. They were very thoughtful and attentive to our preferences and requests.
    - Outdoor oriented – LOVED IT! I was able to eat outdoors, watch sunrises and sunsets, sit under the stars, and adventure out on my own in the mornings and the evenings. The timing of this trip couldn’t have been better for me; since it was Spring in New Zealand, the weather was wonderful with perfect temperatures and there were very few other tourists on our hikes and at our stops. Both Simon and Liana were great guides. Liana was a great source of knowledge, particularly about the vegetation, birds, wildlife, and the history of New Zealand.
    - Awesome adventure around New Zealand – The trip was well laid out to allow an efficient tour of the South Island. We were able to see and experience so many landscapes. New Zealand is quite impressive in what it has to offer. The days were well balanced; the amount of time we spent traveling in the bus was broken into smaller, manageable chunks of time. Simon did a splendid job driving the bus and having our luggage easily accessible.
    - Allow time to relax – I had plenty of time to relax and unwind. I had time before and after our daily scheduled events to do my own thing. There were also ample opportunities during our bus rides and activities (hiking, biking, kayaking) to just sit back in take in the beautiful surroundings and the serenity of it all.
    - Get off the beaten track - I loved the quaint places we would stay and visit; each was unique and an experience in itself. There was so much to see and explore. The remote locations were perfect for being unplugged/unconnected and just being in the moment.
    - Show the real New Zealand – Stops along the way (Torlesse winery, Andris Apse gallery, Garston Honey shop, sheep shearing at Morelea, etc.) to visit with locals and hear about their history are one of a kind experiences I will always treasure. I am impressed and grateful that Active Adventures supports local, small business entrepreneurs for outfitters (kayaking, biking), accommodations, meals, and shopping. Liana did a great job incorporating local cuisine into our meals and snacks. The food was wonderful; my compliments to Liana who is a very talented culinary artist.
    - Sent home buzzing with energy – My time in New Zealand couldn’t have been better. It is exactly what I needed; it truly reenergized me. I’ve been sharing my experience and recommending Active Adventures since my departure flight shuttle ride. Just thinking about my trip to New Zealand makes me smile. I would definitely consider doing another adventure with Active Adventures.
    I sincerely appreciate that the Oct 16 2017 Rimu adventure was allowed with only 3 of us. The potential of having 14 in a group was the only reservation I had when I signed up for this adventure; I was extremely delighted when I found out we had a small group. Our small group made the whole experience that much more personable.”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, January 2018
  • Sweet as

    “I really don't know how our trip could have been any better! We must have won the guide lottery to get Amanda and Alex on our trip. They were a lot of fun to be with, knowledgeable in all things New Zealand, and just did an amazing job running the trip. We loved each stop and activity on the Tui itinerary and feel like we got to see some of the best the South Island had to offer. My son and I had been looking forward to this trip for a very long time and it definitely lived up to our expectations. The only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!”
    – Arkansas, United States Tui, January 2018
  • “Amanda and Alex made our trip special. An adventure trip is only as good as the guides. I have done a few bicycle trips, etc., but Amanda and Alex are the "Best Guides Ever." Inside joke.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, December 2017
  • Rimu - South Island

    “Great trip, full of discoveries away from big city centers, the kind of adventure nature lovers will appreciate to the fullest. We had a great two weeks of travelling through the real NZ landscaping natural beauty and 14 days is not enough to see or do everything. We enjoyed hiking, kayaking, biking, swimming in pristine water, caving, always surrounded by super guides who made us feel in goods hands at all time.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, December 2017
  • Outstanding Locations. Outstanding Service

    “We have always wanted to see New Zealand, but we didn't know how to select the best and organize a trip around these. Active Adventures gave us an answer, and on the trip, AA gave us much more than we expected. We saw amazing locations, did lots of fun activities, and had amazing service... with the guides providing great information, assistance, service and various options. Terrific!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, December 2017
  • Perfect in Everyway!!

    “With great guides, fabulous weather and scenery that is amazing, we hiked, kayaked our way through-out the South Island. We learned a lot about the country, the flora and fauna, birds and conservation efforts.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, December 2017
  • Majestic South Island

    “This tramping trip fed me body and soul!”
    – Maryland, United States Tui, December 2017
  • A Deep Dive into the Understanding of the Maori Culture

    “Having just come from the South Trip we wondered if this trip would be more of the same. It was not. The landscape and activities were different and just as amazing. We learned so much about the history of the country, the Maori people, culture, and their language. The activities were varied and enabled us to experience the beauty of the North Island and all it has to offer.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Kauri, December 2017

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.