Get a FREE New Zealand Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

The most important bit! While we could hang around all day telling you how wonderful our New Zealand trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves. We get a huge amount of feedback from our guests, all of which we read and use in the ongoing process of constantly improving our trips.

Feel free to drop us a line and we can put you in touch with one of our past clients. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on an Active trip. It’s a great way to get the nitty gritty straight from the horse’s mouth and find out what it’s really like to travel with us!

We've been running adventure trips for over 20 years, so we have a LOT of reviews. In the interest of not making you wait eons for the page to load, we've decided to show our 100 most recent. Though, if you'd like to read older reviews, please drop us a line and we'll certainly share plenty more with you!

googlemaps iconKeen to read reviews elsewhere? Or even post a review about us if you've been on one of our trips? Check out our Google Maps listing.

TripAdvisor appWe're unable to list our trips on Trip Advisor as we don't offer stand alone day tours. However, many people have travelled with us over the years, so you can read about us on their forums if you like! 

 
  • Active adventures it surely was!

    “Everything about this trip was awesome! from each place we stayed, to each area we hiked, biked and kayaked... every meal with Claire and Tory too. it surely was a wild adventure and couldn't imagine a better time! thank you.”
    – New Jersey, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Heaps of fun with active adventures in NZ!

    “Our guides Dani and Liona were top notch in everything they did for us. I've been to over 30 countries mostly with guides and without a doubt our two guides were the best in every aspect. The kayaking and hiking activities set up each day took us to the best and most beautiful spots in NZ. Having the flexibility to change itineraries last minute due to weather or our cancelled Christchurch flight wasn't even a challenge to Dani and Liona. In fact, they managed to improve our trip on the fly.
    I highly recommend getting in touch with active adventures as soon as you have picked NZ as your destination. Don't forget to ask for Dani and Liona as your guides!”
    – California, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Great trip in a beautiful country!

    “The Tui trip was an excellent way to experience the wonders of New Zealand. The scenery was spectacular and every day of the trip was filled with beauty and adventure. Clara and Amanda did an outstanding job taking care of us and assuring that each person was fully participating to the best of his or her ability.”
    – New York, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Great trip!!

    “We had a wonderful time on this trip. The days were full and our guides Amanda and Clara were amazing.”
    – New York, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Just go to New Zealand with Active Adventures - YOLO

    “If you are going to New Zealand you owe it to yourself to go with the best - Active Adventures. They really are a superb, professional, caring, safe but most of all just fun to be with. You could not ask for better guides, great food and fabulous itineraries. I have done other adventures (Everest Base Camp, Inca Trail, Tour du Mt Blanc) so I have experience with other guided adventure trips. But without a doubt a tour with Active Adventures is a class above the rest and way more fun and laughter along the way. So if you are going to New Zealand read no further just pick a trip with Active Adventures and you will have memories to last a lifetime.”
    – Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada Manuka, February 2017
  • North Island Adventure

    “Great trip on the North Island. The meals were tasty yet healthy. The information I received was more a learning experience. I was able to sit in the front seat of the van quite often and would see great things on the road show. The birds we saw while hiking helped to get my bird buzz on.”
    – Oregon, United States Kauri, February 2017
  • South Island Adventure 2017

    “I was able to keep active while vacationing and develop new found skills while hiking. The guides kept us safe while challenging our skills and abilities.”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Experience an Amazing Place with Amazing Guides!

    “My trip was all that I had expected and more. The landscape was so amazing and spectacular, and the people of New Zealand, they are just as amazing - some of the nicest people I have met! Our guides, Claire and Ash, were just awesome in everything they planned, prepared and shared with our group. They were always right on top of things and never missed a beat!”
    – New Mexico, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Great trip, Great guides

    “As a way to get 'unwired' from work, we scheduled the Tui trip. It was the first group adventure trip we had ever done. It was fantastic. Great group, great guides and great adventures. After a couple of hikes in the Southern Alps, we split from the group opting for the Siberian hut trip with a fly in and hike out. A challenging hike up to Crucible Lake and return to a "home-cooked" hearty meal. We met up with the group the next day after a 2 hour hike out and jet boat ride down the Wilkin river to pick up bicycles and cycle along the beautiful Hawea River Trail. Allowing for a day of 'rest' we set our sights on sea kayaking in Milford Sound. One spectacular experience after another was hard to process. Nothing was unspectacular. From the guides, to the trips, to the meals, to the accommodations, everything exceeded our expectations. New Zealand is awesome and Active Adventures allowed us to experience the best of it.”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Amanda and Clara

    “Amanda was totally amazing. Clara was not only a great guide but a fabulous chef. Challenging in ways I never expected. Siberia Valley plane trip, river crossing, hike out and jet boat trip was awesome and very well organized!”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Simply amazing

    “Loved every moment of the trip, and would do it all again in a heartbeat!”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Tui experience

    “This trip provided a good balance of activities with the necessary travel time to access the different parts of the South Island. The trip was well organized, and the guides were super. They accommodated our individual desires and capabilities, as well as being good cooks, leaders, and knowledgeable guides. Our group quickly melded into collegial and interesting companions, and that make the experience that much better. The itinerary provides a taste all that the South Island offers. I'm happy to have chosen this company to tour with.”
    – Arizona, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Great trip

    “I think this is the best one I have taken with Active!”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Tui Trip

    “In one word, this trip was FANTASTIC! We had Dani and Mel as our guides, and they helped us and looked out for us every step of the way. I am vegetarian, and they took that into account for every meal and there were no issues at all. They always put us first and made sure we were prepared and enjoying every aspect of the tour. I loved the intensity of the activities and hikes; we did not feel rushed at any point. We were able to take our time. Great memories that we will never forget!”
    – Illinois, United States Tui, February 2017
  • It doesn't get much better!

    “What a fantastic time traveling with family and new-found friends! New Zealand is an absolutely beautiful country, with thrills and adventure around every corner (and there a lot of them)! Our guides Ken and Elder were as good as they come; from their knowledge of the country, to their welcomed encouragement on the trail and the water. Oh, and did I mention their wholesome and delicious cooking?!?
    I would not hesitate to travel with Active Adventures again. Their organization, communication and willingness to please were simply over the top. Next year in Patagonia perhaps???”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Astonished and delighted

    “”
    – California, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • “One of the best trips I've been on. Ken and Elder were such great guides and the passion they displayed was fantastic.”
    – Washington, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Rimu, January 2017

    “We had high expectations for the Rimu trip, which were all exceeded. The South Island is a magical place. The trip was like spending two weeks in a national park. Even the occasional moisture added to a rain forest feel. The activities, which technically involved hiking, kayaking and biking, also included understanding of the culture, agriculture, city life, and experience sharing with fellow trip members. Jordan and Tory really made the trip into an experience through their knowledge, constant helpful support, excellent cooking and capacity to fully engage with us as a team. True professionals! The group connected immediately. Accommodations were excellent. We even "timed" kayaking Milford Sound the day following a major storm, resulting in the hundreds of waterfalls being at peak. Perfect trip. Thank you, Active Adventures.”
    – Iowa, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Absolutely wonderful experience!

    “We have always wanted to travel to New Zealand, yet weren't sure how we might approach the potential journey. After looking at online reviews we contacted a Kiwi friend and former travel guide, who confirmed our thinking that Active Adventures would provide an amazing experience. To hike, bike, and kayak our way through 6 national parks in 14 days with special friends seemed just perfect. And it was exactly that, perfect!”
    – Oregon, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • The Great Adventure

    “The organization of the trip regarding schedule hikes and driving was well conceived and executed. Long drives where always broken up with hikes in between or visiting small towns for a stretch of the legs. The hikes provided spectacular beauty and on occasional days an excellent physical challenge that everyone loved! The trip also sprinkled in fun adventures of helicopter, small prop plane, river jet boat, and bike rides. A well timed day of rest and adventure on your own in Queenstown allowed trippers to bungee jump, swing, zipline, or just chill in this hip town.”
    – DC, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Kauri

    “Overall thought this trip was better than anticipated. There is so much emphasis
    on the South Island from trip brochures that it downgrades the North's offerings.

    Jo:
    Very professional, very organized, always has a smile (a beautiful one at that!)
    For some reason has a calming influence on just about any situation. Understand she is a long term Active employee and does a great job.

    Phil:
    His knowledge alone is worth the price of admission. Having taken some
    other day guides and the like, I would be hard pressed to find someone
    who knows their region better. He took us to a couple of spots off grid we really enjoyed. Strong, with a temperament that makes you think he is allows
    worrying and planning for the group, he is very good.

    Overall Jo and Phil made a good team we really enjoyed.”
    – Manitoba, Canada Kauri, February 2017
  • Great trip,Great Time!

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The itinerary was well planned. Michelle and Rachel were excellent hosts. Would definitely recommend Active Adventures!”
    – DC, United States Tui, February 2017
  • A Trip of a Lifetime!

    “This was one of my all time favorite trips. New Zealand is stunning and Active Adventures did an amazing job. Our guides, Rachel & James definitely made our trip special. I was nervous that I didn't have enough hiking experience but with the encouragement from our guides, I was fine. In fact, my favorite part of the trip was the multi-day hiking in Nelson Lake NP. I felt a real sense of accomplishment! To be honest, I loved all the activities. From the hiking, kayaking, to the snorkeling. A piece of advice, have some water shoes, like Keens, for the snorkeling. We walked quite a ways through the water and over rocks to get to where we snorkeled. Water shoes would have made it a lot easier. If you are thinking about taking this trip, do it! You won't regret it! You will make lifelong friends while exploring this beautiful country.”
    – Colorado, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • One Honey Sweet of an Adventure

    “Outstanding tramping with superior guides”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Manuka, February 2017
  • Birthday we'll never forget

    “We expected a great trip with where we were going, BUT Active Adventures guides (Michele and Rachael) made it that much more special. Their knowledge, expertise and storytelling abilities made it fun and engaging. Accommodations were better than anticipated, they were great.
    An absolute must for those thinking about this type of a trip.”
    – California, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Special Attention

    “Throughout the trip, we were constantly being monitored by our guides. During our hikes, there was often one guide in the front and the other in the back. My husband strained a muscle immediately prior to our arrival to New Zealand. On a couple of hikes, my husband had to return back to the bus. One of the guides followed him back while the rest of us proceeded forward with the other guide.

    The guides figured out quickly our special "likes" and "dislikes." One of our members had a dozen food allergies. I had none except I love salmon and prefer decaf coffee. Sure enough, I had decaf coffee every morning and fresh salmon at least 4 times during the tour.

    The guides went out of their way to know us. Each day, one or both of them would hike and talk with me. Sometime we talked about family while other times we talked about New Zealand or the U.S.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, February 2017
  • Great introduction to New Zealand

    “When visiting New Zealand, one must be aware of the tendency for Mother Nature to intervene. We altered our backpacking due to epic rains! The earthquake last year kept us out of the northeast coast due to slides (slips down under). Low clouds downed the helihikers. And high winds kept us out of kayaks at Milford sound. Our guides always had excellent backup plans and we had a ball.”
    – Illinois, United States Rimu, February 2017
  • Beyond My Expectations......

    “COMPLETELY MISSING my daily Active Adventures around North Island with Andy and Jo aka "Tarzan and Jane." It was an AMAZINGLY INCREDIBLE SPECIAL ADVENTURE from the moment of our first "Hello" to our misty-eyed farewell. This being my first Active Adventure, I now know why Active Adventures is a first class operation and has an extremely high return rate of repeat travelers. Andy and Jo are beyond AWESOME, they are FIRST CLASS PROFESSIONAL GUIDES ALL THE WAY!!!

    Andy and Jo are so passionate about everything, literally EVERYTHING. The historical knowledge they shared of their breathtaking "home" while out and about was so enlightening and educational. They touched on everything from the Primordial Gods to the current state of the economy; the geology of the land from each tiny sand pebbles, sea shells and dirt to the beautiful trees (Kauri), pastures, mountains, waterfalls, coastline, rivers and streams: then from cicadas, birds, cows and sheep to the non-existence of predatory animals.....there was always a story to be shared.

    Each morning we woke up to delightful breakfasts with warm smiles stretching as far west and east as possible. It was a perfect way to start the days, our daily gift if you will. Lunches and dinners were equally enjoyable and delicious, something I personally would prepare in my own kitchen but missing the colorful cupcake apron.

    Each activity was bittersweet, a journey into the unknown that always left you wanting more. Our itinerary was action packed, filled with amazing destinations yet they still managed to squeeze in some extra jumps, swings, “walks” and stops into the mix of things. They were in touch with our strengths and limitations and kept our group moving harmoniously together. They were the BEST GUIDES for each step of our adventure and the beauty of it all was we were out enjoying the day with friends or better yet, family.

    Their effortless hospitality was in a league of its own and downright immeasurable. I was convinced they could read our minds because things would magically appear. They were in tune with every need and desire. Who creates and plays a song list to sync with the mood and temperament of the days travels…..our one and only of course! I'm still humming to the song of OPO!!

    Andy and Jo made this North Island trip, a trip of a lifetime. I can only imagine what treasures and gifts the South Island beholds. One thing is for sure, I'm making it another “Active Adventure” and requesting our special "Tarzan and Jane" to walk us about…….

    THANK YOU ANDY, JO, and ACTIVE ADVENTURES ~ for without your existence, I would not have this special memory to cherish and share!!!”
    – California, United States Kauri, February 2017
  • Great time, great guides

    “Had so much fun with Dani and Mel as our guides. They did such a great job for us. Loved each varied part of the trip. Day 2 hike at Franz Josef was a bit hard for a first major hike. Loved Siberia valley. Loved Milford sound. Trip overall was excellent. Would definitely highly recommend.”
    – Illinois, United States Tui, February 2017
  • The only way to "do" the south island

    “What a great trip! There is no way we could have seen or done half as much on our own. The sights were amazing, rain or shine. The hiking was a mix of easy and tough. Food was great. The accommodations were top of the line and such a welcome retreat after an active day. We had a really lovely, interesting, and inclusive group. Kim did a fantastic job driving the winding mountainous roads. It only took a day to learn to look at what Tess is wearing...if she takes a layer off, you should too! Wonderful trip, so glad we went with Active!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tui, February 2017
  • Magnificent Manuka

    “Traveling to NZ had been a bucket list destination for quite some time. I researched several different companies to find a hiking trip that really grabbed me. It wasn't until I heard of Active Adventures from a recent client that it all came together. I looked at the Manuka itinerary and was sold. I signed up immediately and wasn't disappointed. Now I know why everyone says NZ is one of their most memorable trips. Stunningly beautiful. We also had two absolutely fantastic guides, Koru and Joe.”
    – California, United States Manuka, February 2017
  • Graduation gift of a lifetime

    “As a recent college graduate, the one thing I wanted to do was travel. I was completely unfamiliar with New Zealand, and my parents wanted to ensure I was safe and could know where I was going each day. Active Adventures was a great way to have the time of my life while being safe. Our group ranged in activity levels, but Andy and Jo made sure we all were comfortable while encouraging us every step of the way. From my initial call with the Active team, to booking, and eventually the trip, I did not have a single problem and had the experience of a lifetime! Thanks Mom and Dad, and thank you Active Adventures!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tui, February 2017
  • My biggest best trip ever

    “Endless physical activities, super nice guides and a friendly small group made for the best ever trip (so far :)).”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Great Trip!

    “Karu and Joe were great leaders. The Milford Track was a spiritual experience because of all the beauty! The other hiking was also great.”
    – California, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Great guides

    “Our guides were great! Couldn't be better.”
    – Utah, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • South Island Treking trip

    “We are both keen walkers and had the Milford Trek on our hit list. We have already done the C2C in the UK, The Inca trail and the TMB in Europe (also in the 'top ten'). The Manuka trip allowed us to do the Milford Trek but also walk other treks on S Island such as The Diamond Lake and Mount Cook which were also awesome. The Milford Trek does live up to its name as 'The finest walk in the World'! The scenery everywhere is truly spectacular even when it rains which often enhances the experience.”
    – East Yorkshire, United Kingdom Manuka, January 2017
  • Extraordinary!

    “Great guides, great trip companions, extraordinary scenery, and friendly Kiwis! This was a well-balanced trip that emphasized hiking, but also including other interesting diversions. I cannot say enough about our guides. They were excellent.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Tui Trip Rocks!

    “I've never purchased a trip because of my personal reasons and that I can do this on my own. Wow was I mistaken! If anyone has second thoughts about the Tui trip please don't, it was an adventure I will never forget. A very big thank you to our guides Claire and Racheal as well as the team at Active Adventures.”
    – Washington, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Rimu 2017 New Zealand

    “My New Zealand trip with Active Adventures was full of excitement, beauty and of course, adventure! I am certain I would not have seen or experienced many of the sights if I had scheduled this experience on my own. Active Adventures knows where to take you, how to get there and where to stay. Some very sweet, out of the way places were explored. Thanks so much for a super three weeks!”
    – Utah, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Amazing! Such an incredible experience

    “From the moment we arrived as a group, we felt included and taken care of. The staff are highly attentive and organized and maintained a great deal of professionalism throughout the trip. We visited amazing locations and felt like we had a good sense of the South Island. Every detail, logistic and meal was taken care of, making it very enjoyable. They varied our activities throughout the day, from hiking and biking, to kayaking. We created great friendships with the other participants and were very sad to leave at the end of the trip. I cannot wait to go on another trip with Active Adventures and have already recommended them to a wide variety of people!”
    – New York, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Excellent Trip

    “If you like outdoor activities this is your dream trip. The itinerary is very well planned. The scenery and landscapes are beautiful. Our guides Tia and Alex are fabulous. They are youthful, caring, knowledgeable, and extremely professional. Their hardwork made the entire trip smooth and enjoyable. Everyday is packed with interesting and exciting outdoor activities: multi-day hiking in Nelson Lake NP, kayaking in Milford Sound, biking along the shore of Wanaka Lake, and day hiking the Routeburn, Kepler, Sealy Tarns, Hooker Valley and many other beautiful short tracks in various NPs of the South Island. The group mates are very friendly and fun and the small group size made it easy to socialize. In addition, the food is healthy and very delicious. Thanks to every member of the group, in particular our great guides Tia and Alex, it is your care, warmth, encouragement, and tolerance that made this trip truly unforgettable.”
    – Kansas, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • New Zealand Doesn't Disappoint

    “My husband said this every evening we were there! The guides support and attitude, the environment and natural beauty of the South Island, the quality of accommodations, food and the local people we'd meet all combined to make this a trip of a lifetime.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • What an adventure!

    “Great adventure with wonderful guides Alex and Tia!”
    – Michigan, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Fabulous Kauri trip

    “We absolutely loved the trip. Of course the scenery was amazing. But also the guides were fun, engaging, informative, helpful and flexible! They genuinely focused on us and our having a "memorable vacation of a lifetime experience". And we did! The activities were all fun, not too challenging and we always felt safe. Lodging and food was also terrific. We had good mix of action, history, culture and environmental. To anyone evaluating which Active
    Adventures NZ trip to take - I highly recommend the Kauri trip. Try the North Island, you won't be disappointed.”
    – California, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Kiwi & Active Adventures - Perfect!

    “With great anticipation, and admittedly high expectations, Ann and I left New Orleans on Christmas Day to begin our trip to the North Island of New Zealand. We each had long wanted to see this special place! From the moment that Phil and Vanessa picked us up, until the time that Phil and Elder dropped us at the airport for our return flight, we could not have been happier, or more satisfied, with our trip. Phil, Vanessa, and Elder were perfect guides... and hosts. The history and information that Phil shared along the way helped us understand, and therefore appreciate even more, the places we visited and the people we met. We fell in love with the North Island, and its people and history! With Active Adventures having arranged practically everything, and Phil, Vanessa, and Elder taking great care of us along the way (even preparing our last 2 wonderful evening meals), we had nothing to do but rise each morning and enjoy our day! Perfect!”
    – Louisiana, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Amazing Honeymoon Experience

    “We decided to travel around NZ with Active Adventures for our honeymoon. What an incredible decision! All the logistics were taken care of for us, so we didn't have to worry about any of it while we were focusing on planning the wedding. The staff were terrific....excellent tour guides and went above and beyond for us. New Zealand itself is such a gorgeous place and was a great place to kick off married life. Active Adventures really does it right and the group sizes (max 14) are perfect. We had an amazing experience and plan to travel with Active Adventures again on our next adventure!”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, January 2017
  • January 2 2017 Rimu with Ken and Holly

    “Just fantastic--knowledgeable, enthusiastic and caring guides, unbelievable sights every day, went way beyond our expectations.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Fantastic trip

    “This was a great family vacation. The hiking, biking, and kayaking were awesome! We are an athletic family and it was just the right amount to keep everyone excited and wanting more. Nick and Hillary were terrific leaders and always up for activity and educating us on NZ. Thanks for a great trip.”
    – Michigan, United States Tui, January 2017
  • 2017's first Tui trip

    “The Tui trip exceeded my (high) expectations - it was a trip of a lifetime! Spectacular scenery, beautiful hikes, friendly trip-mates and superb guides - and generally some great weather to boot!”
    – Illinois, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Rimu January 2017

    “Never having gone on a guided trip I was not sure what to expect and uncertain how I would like it. The trip was filled with once in a lifetime experiences that I will never forget. I did and saw things in New Zealand with our guides that my husband and I would never have done. It was one of the most fantastic experiences I have ever had traveling. Our guides were amazing in their knowledge, enthusiasm and warmth. We hope to go on another trip with Active, but can not imagine how we it could equal this awesome experience.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Super experience.

    “Great guides in Andy and Jo and we were lucky to have exceptional traveling partners in our group.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Rimu Jan 2017

    “Awesome trip! Gorgeous country. What really made the trip was the guides- Ken and Holly! They were fabulous. Holly made awesome food every night and they both had great knowledge in multiple aspects of NZ. They were also very accommodating to the different members of the group and their own individual needs. Multiple highlights of the trip including Braemer Sheep station over looking mt cook, hiking in Nelson Lakes National Park (awesome snow storm up at Angelia Hut), and hiking in fjordland national park. Would definitely do another trip with active- esp if Ken and Holly were leading!”
    – Minnesota, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • This trip will make you want to come back

    “This was a wonderful trip led by Michelle and Rachael. As a single traveller, the group size was ideal so I didn't feel overwhelmed by the couples and family groups.
    Quite simply this trip gives a superb overview of the South Island taking in some of the key sights of the area.... to the point where it just makes you want to come back. The pace and variety of the trip was set at the right level to suit everyone, including the option to have a lesser climb on the overnight section. The accommodation and the meals provided by Active were extremely good, and some of the settings were breathtaking. Quite simply the camera did not do the scenery justice and I can't wait to come back and explore some more of the country.”
    – Middlesex, United Kingdom Tui, January 2017
  • Outstanding Place, Outstanding Guides

    “We loved the way this brief tour showed us the full variety of NZ's South Island, and our guides knew how to take care of everything we wanted. They made it all look effortless, too.”
    – Nebraska, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Kauri

    “What an amazing introduction to the North Island. Every day was unique - starting with the hiking and boogie boarding on the sand dunes to seeing a kiwi released was exceptional. Walking through the rain forest and seeing the phenomenal kauri trees are memories we will treasure forever!”
    – Alberta, Canada Kauri, January 2017
  • “I had always heard how beautiful New Zealand was, which was why it was at the top of my travel list, so I was prepared to be predictably impressed, but even with this anticipation, I was taken aback by each stunning vista. New Zealand is an amazing place and the Rimu trip captures so many aspects of its appeal- incredibly friendly people, adventure, beauty, good food- all rolled into one. Our guides, Dani and Tory, were phenomenal ambassadors for all that the trip offers and made each adventure fun and exciting, even when challenged by the, at times, unpredictable weather. Always with a smile and word of encouragement, their warmth and love for the country was infectious.”
    – Florida, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • “Well planned, balanced varied activities.
    Enjoyed the activities, the food, the ambiance.
    Welcoming Kiwis contribute to a relaxed and pleasant vacation.
    Super guides very competent: Amanda and Jess.”
    – Quebec, Canada Kiwi, January 2017
  • Can't wait to come back!

    “Ever since I arrived back home I wake up thinking about NZ and our Tui trip! It was exactly what I had hoped it would be like and better! Better because not just the scenery and activities were amazing, but because of the people. Our guides Claire and Rachael took incredible care of us, (down to how we liked our tea and coffee) were fun to be around, really knew their stuff, and were total
    professionals! We can't wait to come back!!!”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Perfect Vacation!

    “Our Manuka trip offered the perfect mix of locales, hiking trails, and even weather! Our guides Greg and Kim and Hillary shared history, culture, mythology, music, and laughter every day. They were so professional and enthusiastic. I loved visiting the variety of places that Manuka offers - rainforests, mountains, beaches, cities - and coming home with a reading list!”
    – Alabama, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Excellent Trip!

    “Our entire family really enjoyed our 14 day Kiwi adventure. The guides, Amanda and Jess, were the best at everything from driving the bus, to knowledge of the area, flora and fauna, and also amazing cooks. The weather was challenging at times but as Amanda says, "there is no bad weather, just bad gear." The landscape was breathtakingly beautiful. Thank you for the trip of a lifetime.”
    – New York, United States Kiwi, January 2017
  • Best trip ever!

    “I went on this trip as a solo female traveler & am incredibly glad I did! The guides couldn't have been more informative of the kiwi culture and our group was perfect. Every activity was extremely organized. Highly suggest this trip for anyone only having 8 days to explore the South Island!”
    – Texas, United States Tui, January 2017
  • A Fantastic trip

    “This is the best way to tour South Island of New Zealand. Enjoy the spectacular views, experience the first hand of back country and meet the physical challenges. With small group of people and two dedicated guides, what else one ask for?”
    – Kansas, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Best trip I have ever taken

    “There are many layers to this trip
    1. The Group - It was really fun being in a group, and our group was really fun! Sometimes I hung out with people in my family, sometimes I hung out with someone else in the group. This variety and freedom was very enjoyable.
    2. The Guides - Koru and Ash were sooo great. Koru is a polished, learned and experienced leader. Ash is a fabulous cook, so much fun, and cared about each of us on the trip.
    3. The Country - Stunning! We covered so much of the South Island that we were able to see many sides of it's weather and terrain. Really great route.
    4. Activities - It was great sharing a physical activity with others, something I know brings people together. Hiking was great. At the end of a long hike was a fabulous surprise, like a glacial lake with ice burgs, or a beautiful high-mountain vista, or a glo-worm tunnel. Biking was super fun, and I wish there had been one more day of it. In hind site I personally would have selected the biking 3day excursion. The kayaking was great. Heavy chop or glassy lakes, we kayaked in it.
    5. Accommodations - These were just great. As nice as it can be being out in the countryside. I loved how we all ate together every meal.
    5. Pace - I thought the trip was very well planned. Just when we needed a break in the beginning from jet lag, and our trip activities, a two day respite was there in Queenstown where we could recharge. I recharged and my family bungy jumped! Also, activities were structured so that the not so keen could bail out at a stopping point.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Rimu - A Kiwi Adventure

    “We knew we wanted to have an outdoor experience in New Zealand and our Active Adventure guides made our trip an adventure delight beyond our expectations. The group was well matched and we felt like a group of explorers rather than participants on a tour group.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Loved NZ Kea Adventure

    “New Zealand is a beautiful country, but the experience would not have been half as memorable if it were not for our AA guides. They were professional, could answer any question about NZ, incredibly competent in all ways and so much fun! But it would be unfair not to mention the preliminary support team leading up to the trip. All requests and needs were handled quickly and efficiently. And last, but not least, the itinerary was so well thought out. I enjoyed every minute of the trip and was sorry to see it end.”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • Tui Trip 2017

    “How could this have been any better? Can't think of any way. Our guides were extraordinary and handled every request or complication with ease and grace. The weather can be tricky, making this somewhat challenging, but you'd never know that from how they acted with the group. They always had options up their sleeves. Every day was some new adventure. Some challenging, some not. Always choices if things were too challenging. We plan on coming back for another trip as soon as we can.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tui, January 2017
  • New Zealand and Kiwis are the Best!

    “It would be difficult to overstate how impressed I was with our Active Adventure tour. Mel and Claire were absolutely incredible!! Steve was great too, but he was only with us for the hike up and back from the Aspiring Hut. Plus, he was weighed down by a rock he so generously carried up the hill for Mel.
    Anyway, Mel and Claire made Active Adventures (and New Zealand) look so good! They were EVERYTHING I could hope for: friendly, funny, knowledgeable, professional, hard-working, kind, easy-going, energetic, .... Thank you for one of the best 2-week periods of my entire life!”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • Great trip

    “My experience with Active Adventures in NZ was so fun! The guides were really nice and perfect to play games with. Steve was also really nice and funny. I had such a fantastic time and I'm glad I got to go with Active Adventures.”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • “Best family trip ever. The South Island of New Zealand is one of the most spectacular places on the planet and the Rimu trip takes you to all the highlights. Our group hit the jackpot with Koru and Ash. They were fabulous. This trip gets my highest recommendation all around.”
    – Maryland, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Go hiking, they said. It'll be easy, they said!

    “Surpassed all my expectations on every level. Initially I was disappointed there were only four of us on the trip (plus two guides) but upon reflection, it ended up a great number to get a lot of stuff done. Every whim catered for, every problem anticipated before it became one. The hiking was not easy for me, but I persevered and was glad that Greg the Good Egg chose to encourage me to trek on, rather than pandering to my first instinct to lay down the poles when it got a bit hard. Scenery was brilliant, company was stimulating, and the variety of activities such that we were never bored.”
    – , Manuka, January 2017
  • Awesome

    “The South Island of New Zealand is incredible - the scenery is beyond description. The Tui trip provided us with a variety of activities and nature. Thanks for an unforgettable experience.”
    – California, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Manuka trip Dec 12 2016

    “Although summer came a month late, which meant that our trip was more wet than sunny, we lucked out with the company (our fellow travelers) and especially with Greg and Jess, our very thoughtful guides. I have only high praise and no complaint.”
    – New Mexico, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Kauri Dec 26 2016 (second half)

    “We joined the trip during its second half. Full of interesting activities, and the final hike was the highlight.”
    – New Mexico, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Wonderful Trip

    “The Rimu trip was incredibly beautiful. The guides did an amazing job of looking out for everyone. Highly recommend it.”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • The Perfect Trip

    “My husband and I went on the Rimu trip in celebration of our honeymoon. This trip was simply perfect. The guides went over the top to ensure that we enjoyed every minute of our trip. They took care of every single detail, from the basic logistics, to the individual food needs, to visiting each destination at exactly the right time. The accommodation is out of this world, with views that cannot be described in words. Each day was a new adventure -- whether hiking, kayaking, biking or creating your own adventure -- we spent every minute of the trip excited, active and very well-fed. This trip should be top of your life to-do list.”
    – Ontario, Canada Rimu, January 2017
  • Experience the best of New Zealand by foot, kayak and bike!

    “If you want to hike, bike or kayak the best places in New Zealand with like-minded folks, this is the trip for you. Our hardworking, personable guides made it easy for us to enjoy as much of Southern New Zealand as possible in two weeks...allowing for long hikes, beautiful cycling and kayaking through the sounds. We were able to stay in unique lodging, not easily available to the general public - especially at Milford Sound - and partake of local cuisine and wines through Active Adventure's contacts and experience. The van was very comfortable and took away the stress of driving in unfamiliar areas. Fellow travelers were friendly and easy-going, and like-minded in terms of the adventures they sought. Excellent trip!”
    – Nevada, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Tramp of Dreams!

    “Stunning views, experienced guides, Kiwi-fresh food, and great lodging! It felt like we were holidaying with old friends!”
    – , Thailand Manuka, January 2017
  • Great treks

    “We went as a family of five and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
    The scenery was even better than you might imagine from gallery photos.
    The hikes were variable, some challenging and others easier but never felt pressured to do anything uncomfortable. The guides, Hiliary and Nick were fantastic.
    Highly recommended as a family trip for the adventurers.”
    – Michigan, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Manuka Trip

    “Action packed trip with lots of great hikes. Highlighted the South Island and was able to get a great flavor of New Zealand.”
    – New Mexico, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • From Alan Roth

    “I love what you all do. For my 2nd AA trip I can't wait to try another.”
    – Florida, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Kauri Trip

    “The last 5 days gave us a good flavor of the North Island, its culture and geothermal/volcanic activity of the island.”
    – New Mexico, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Professionalism and Exceptionalism Beyond Expectations!

    “Our recent Tui trip of the South Island was absolutely the trip of a lifetime and more than I could have ever hoped for! As a very seasoned, frugal, independent, tour-averse traveller, signing up and spending the money for this trip was a bit out of character for me. However, that being said, this was probably the best travel investment I have ever made in my life! We packed so many amazing adventures into eight days, with the kindest most knowledgeable and most professional guides ever, that I seriously doubt I could have recreated it on my own. I cannot recommend Active Adventures and our guides Claire and Rachael highly enough and am already looking forward to and planning my next adventure this year with them!”
    – Washington, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Amazing

    “Fabulous, Brilliant, Fun, Energizing, Escape, New Friends and Family Bonding.”
    – California, United States Kea, January 2017
  • Oh, What a Beautiful Country!

    “Beautiful places, accommodating and gracious guides, fun activities, and great meals. What's not to like?”
    – New York, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Amazing!!

    “An extraordinary trip. So well organized, amazing tour guides, with so many activities. A really lovely way to experience the South Island. Would highly recommend to anybody.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tui, January 2017
  • No regrets! Accomplish the impossible!

    “I can't begin to describe my Rimu experience, from the amazing guides, Ken and Elder, to my fellow travelers and the detail that Active Adventures puts into everything we did. I was able to scale and climb those mountains and ridges that I laughed off as impossible, see the most amazing untouched scenery, completely decompress and completely check out from my daily life. If you want to see the south island the way it was meant to be seen, you're open to being active everyday with the conveniences for yourself taken care of, take this trip!”
    – California, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • Fun, interesting, beautiful, very well run.

    “Greg and Jess ran an excellent tour. We learned a lot, had so much fun, ate delicious meals, drank fantastic wine, and enjoyed gorgeous hiking every day.”
    – Maryland, United States Manuka, January 2017
  • Manuka Hiking December 2016

    “It was a wonderful trip that we will never forget. The guides, Jess and Greg, were excellent. They went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great time. We would have preferred more time on the ground v. time in the bus but recognize that it was necessary to cover the ground that we did. I would recommend Active Adventures to anyone looking to hike in New Zealand.”
    – Ontario, Canada Manuka, January 2017
  • Tui Trip

    “Colin and I had a great time. Even though the guide is our daughter it is accurate and fair to say she has was really great. Very accommodating, friendly and skill full as well as being a great cook. Nothing fazed her. A very 'can do' attitude which everyone appreciated. The trip itself was great fun and the weather helped with that. The kayaking team was very good and I trusted their judgement. The walks were perfect for anyone. A very good all around experience.”
    – , New Zealand Tui, January 2017
  • Oregon on steroids

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and it's a great introduction to New Zealand. For us it was the right balance of hiking and touring.”
    – Oregon, United States Kiwi, January 2017
  • Ebner on Rimu

    “The Rimu trip was just everything we had hoped for, and Kim and Tory were outstanding guides. The places we hiked, biked and Kayaked were terrific choices and by the end we felt that we understood some of the diversity in the South Island ecology: plants and animals that were native and those that were introduced. Hard to say what was best, but one of my favorites was walking the Kepler Track. Thanks for a great introduction to New Zealand's South Island.
    Ford Ebner”
    – Tennessee, United States Rimu, January 2017
  • An excellent "bucket list" trip

    “I'm typically a "planner" and will devote months to logistics before a trip. And where I work, I need to know about long holidays way in advance to ensure coverage and continuity of service while I'm away. When my husband and I were considering an international holiday to celebrate a relatively "big year" for both of us, a colleague suggested New Zealand. Man, I am so glad I listened. I mentioned New Zealand to my husband and he took a look around at possible tours...he found Active Adventures and thought we should investigate. A full year before our trip, we inquired with Active about how it all works in terms of planning, and when we were told that an online planning app would assist us, I thought, "OK, sure...I'll be doing a bunch of this." We put down the deposit, got the insurance, and dove in. I must say, my assumption?...So wrong. The OBI website really did get us prepped for the majority of the trip. The only logistic detail we really needed to handle was travel to and from LAX. EVERYTHING ELSE, Active could either help plan, or completely handled. So aside from getting in the deposit, getting travel insurance, getting the flights set up with the recommended agency in Seattle, working in OBI, paying the balance, and packing, we were set UP for this trip. In my experience - this is all pretty minor work in the greater scheme of a 2-week trip around a country. :)

    We had a small group (two couples) on our tour, and 2 fantastic tour guides (Holly and Amanda). We saw things that we would never have even known to find if we had followed a travel book. We wondered, and wandered, oohed and aaahed, took pictures, and just floated along as Holly and Amanda cooly transported us, prepped awesome meals, and all that. If a trek got tough, we'd pause and admire the view. Our guides were encouraging, enthusiastic, and really the absolute heart of the tour. The scenery is awesome - don't get me wrong. But the Active people...just made the whole trip sing. Parting was really (reeeeeally) hard for me after 2 weeks.

    So truly, we were on vacation. No glitches in the itinerary (we only had 2 that I could perceive) were actually a problem - we'd adjust and keep moving, and never regretted a single activity. We learned about tectonic plates, glacial advance and retreat, Mauri myth, greenstone, conservation efforts, Kiwi lifestyles...oh, and some flightless birds too. :)

    And we apparently put in the perfect call for weather, because Holly and Amanda not only commented that we were really lucky to see what we saw...they also pulled out their own cameras to take photos. THAT'S how lucky we were on this trip.

    What did we see? It's probably easier to say what we didn't see. Complications. Traffic. Smog. Bad food. Frowns. Worry lines. But seriously - we saw tree ferns, next to tropical evergreen trees so tall we couldn't take photos of them, whether in the north at Abel Taz, the more coastal West side of the Alps, or the more deciduous forests near Fiordland. We saw fruit farms that shouldn't exist in the same geographic area (eg, cherries, apples, corn, soy, and other crops all growing in the same season and region). Foxglove...everywhere. We saw waterfalls like lightning bolts down the mountains, snow-capped mountains surrounded by glaciers, fjords in the fog/rain and the sun (within 2 hours of each other), grassy plains abutting turquoise glacial lakes, milk-like rivers coursing down from glacial sources, iconic sheep farms with mountainous backdrops so perfect they looked "Photoshopped".

    Holly and Amanda would ask us what we thought of the view, often. Since, "Wow," "Holy wow!" and related comments didn't seem to fit (too small and insufficient), I started with "ridiculously beautiful"...proceeded to add words in between, like "absurdly," "surreal-ly,"...and quickly just ran out. By the end of it all I adopted the Kiwi way and went sardonic, answering the guides with "Bah!!" because I just had nothing else to describe the awe. I only adjusted the volume of the "Bah!" to fit how absolutely floored I was.

    What did I take? More than I can describe, personally. New Zealand affected me. In a great and irreversible way....and I got some great Merino wool stuff too. :)

    I was told to share this take on my trip with "only the worthy". To me, if you are seriously considering Active, you already appreciate what this type of tourism brings to your life, or seriously and earnestly want to learn, and that makes me suspect that indeed you are. Worthy. Bring your poles, bring your gear...but most importantly, bring your sense of wonder, your humility, and your appreciation for culture, mythology, and conservation. You will not regret it. And you won't be better cared for, possibly even by your own.”
    – West Virginia, United States Kiwi, January 2017
  • “What a fabulous trip this was! I have traveled extensively throughout the world and often avoid tours because I don't want to be too regimented and I don't want to be on a bus with 40 people! When we decided to go to New Zealand, our goal was to try to experience it rather than just see it and that is just what Active Adventures allowed us to do. The guides know their country well and truly shared it with us. Each day we were out tramping somewhere, rain or shine, but there was always an option to take it easy if one needed to do so. We loved the small size of the group, 11 of us, plus our two guides. They ran each day efficiently and were well-prepared for our meals. We had fresh wholesome snacks always available and all kinds of tips on how to do the hike of the day. Koru was especially knowledgeable about the Maori heritage of New Zealand and was constantly teaching us about the flora and fauna of the country. Liana and Koru both were working late and getting up early to make sure that our day went well. Even when the weather didn't cooperate, there was always another great alternative. They introduced us to the beauty and wonder of New Zealand and when the trip ended, we were excited to head out on our own, with the skills we needed to continue to discover and experience even more! It truly was a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Colorado, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Excellent Itinerary, Guides, and Group

    “The ease with which we were moved throughout the South Island on the Manuka trip made all the difference. I cannot imagine another way to see so much in such a short time.

    Our guides Jess and Greg were a great team and immediately put everyone at ease. We had a great group with us and thoroughly enjoyed the company and itinerary. With spectacular views and hikes almost every day it was a dream trip. We would definitely consider travelling with Active Adventures again even though we typically go it alone.

    It was lucky we had nice weather on Rocky Mountain, the hard day on the Milford Track, and at Aoraki Mt. Cook, but even on the bad weather days things went smoothly.”
    – Ontario, Canada Manuka, January 2017
  • The deep South

    “Top quality guide,great food,excellent bus commentary,excellent organisation.”
    – , New Zealand Tui, January 2017
  • Terrific Tui

    “What a great route and selection of activities! Informative and fun guides, well-managed accommodations, and good eats! A wonderful tour and experience.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Perfect amount of adventure

    “From gazing upon Franz Josef Glacier to biking along Hawea Lake Trail, to gliding on calm waters in Milford Sound, it's been a most memorable adventure! Our guides Tess and Amanda were a great duo! I loved that it was just enough activity without being sore while still being able to see so much of South Island.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tui, January 2017
  • Last 5 Days Kauri

    “So much packed into just a few days. From walking to tops of (several!) mountains to floating through underground tunnels, plus geothermal springs and Maori culture. A whirlwind central North Island adventure!”
    – Hawaii, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • 5 day Kauri Trip

    “Tongariro Alpine Crossing was the best hike of my life!”
    – Hawaii, United States Kauri, January 2017
  • Wonderful trip!!!!

    “This was a great trip! Well organized and well planned. Our guides did a great job of trying to accomodate everyone. This trip has a nice diversity of experiences and I really enojoyed that about this trip. I liked the variety in outdoor activites as well as the cultural elements and connections with the local and native people.”
    – Ohio, United States Kauri, December 2016

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.