Request a free South America Brochure

Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

  • Galapagos Trip with Active Adventures August 2017

    “I have been on several international trips, and due to the variety and how different each trip is, I don't tend to like to pick a favorite. At least until my trip to the Galapagos with Active Adventures. I can honestly say that this was the most amazing trip I have ever been on! We got to do a huge variety of activities and really get the full Galapagos experience. Our guide, Zambo, was absolutely phenomenal, I could not have asked for a better person to have lead us on our trip. Zambo definitely was a significant factor in making our trip as amazing as it was. From snorkeling and seeing sharks, rays, eels, and sea lions, to biking, to hiking, we did and saw so many different, amazing things. I will remember this trip forever.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Trip of a Lifetime

    “The Galapagos Islands was on my daughter's bucket list after she took an eco course in university. Thank goodness for education! It was by far my favorite trip I have taken, and my 6th continent visited. It was the perfect balance of active adventure, nature, education and leisure. Our guide Zambo was fantastic! It was an amazing experience from day 1 and each day just got better and better. Every island we visited offered us something new and different. Snorkelling at Kicker Rock and having reef sharks surround us was unbelievable. The marine life was incredible. Black tip reef sharks, an eagle ray, sea turtles .. were all the highlight ... but the amount of fish we saw was amazing. A diver in our group saw hammerhead sharks! We chose the Galapagos for the wildlife and we weren't disappointed. Friendly sea lions and iguanas were everywhere. We saw everything we had hoped and even more. On the way to Floreana Island we had dolphins swim and jump beside the boat; but what was even more wonderful was the 3 humpback whales - a calf and its parents. The calf was quite interested in our boat and came right up to us. We sat on the hull for 30-40 minutes and watched the whales surface and "play" around our boat ... an experience that none of us will ever forget. We were all in awe! Seeing those magnificent creatures in their natural habitat was surreal.
    From biking to hiking to kayaking to snorkelling we were kept busy and active, which was good since the food was fantastic! Every place we stayed at and ate at was fantastic. I love how Active Adventures supports the local economy and so many different businesses benefitted from our tour.
    It was by far the best vacation I have taken so far. Everything was perfect! And I cant say enough about Zambo ... he took care of all of us!!! He was our mother, mentor and educator! Thank you Active Adventures for giving Alanna and I a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, September 2017
  • Amazing Wildlife!

    “Amazing wildlife at every turn with a really knowledgeable guide.”
    – London, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2017
  • Galapagos Trip Was Everything I Imagined and More

    “This was my second trip with Active Adventures and again they did not disappoint. From the easy booking process, personal attention, and gentle reminders everything runs smoothly from day one.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, September 2017
  • Surprising Ecuador

    “We didn't know much about Ecuador - this was a fill-in trip between two others. It's a great place, especially the volcanos. Altitude takes a bit of getting used to but well worth it.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “Wonderful trip, Pablo was a wonderful guide. I'm not especially an animal person, but nevertheless the wildlife was the absolute highlight of this trip.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Ecuador

    “We had an amazing week in Ecuador. Each day was a new adventure, and the scenery was beautiful. The best part was Jhayro, our tour guide. He was knowledgable, personable, and genuine. We could tell that he wanted us to experience how special Ecuador is.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Ecuador - August, 2017

    “This trip was even more incredible than we thought it was going to be! We met such wonderful people while enjoying phenomenal scenery. We experienced something new each day and will treasure our unforgettable memories of Ecuador!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, September 2017
  • Naturalist Dream

    “The Galapogos Islands were all I had imagined. The animals were so accessible but also in their natural state. Our guide, Pablo was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for the natural environment was very infectious. The trip left me yearning for more time to linger.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tortuga, September 2017
  • Volcano Binge

    “Ecuador should be more on the visitors bucket list. Spectacular scenery which ranges from the upper Amazon to glacier capped active volcanoes. Our guide Jhayro was excellent and able to tailor the trips to the group.”
    – Tasmania, Australia Tapir, September 2017
  • Everything We'd Hoped For!

    “The trip was everything we had hoped for! Pablo was awesome. Very knowledgeable. We wish the trip had been longer!”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Best Tour Guide Ever!

    “Our tour guide, Pablo, could not be beat! His knowledge and enthusiasm was overflowing. As an added bonus, he was great with keeping our kids engaged and entertained.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, August 2017
  • Truly a Trip of a Lifetime

    “When friends ask "how was your trip?", the words fail me. I wish I could share the incredible moments with them. How do you describe the magic of snorkelling with dolphins in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean, or feeling like you've befriended a sea lion? We can't say enough about our trip with Active Adventures. What an incredible trip!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, August 2017
  • What an Adventure!

    “This trip was definitely an active adventure! We experienced things I never had before, like reverse canyoning for example. Jairo was an excellent guide and leader. He designed quite the adventurous, active trip that we will never forget. I loved the hacienda and the horseback riding. The horses were wonderful, well trained and well taken care of. I also loved meeting our guide's family and enjoying home cooked meals with them.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Awesome!

    “Our 7 year old son didn't want to leave Ecuador. We had prepared him extensively for this trip and he was a real trooper. He loved everything about this trip and, since we've come back home, he talks about his trip to Ecuador almost daily.
    Perhaps other parents of children who are on the autism spectrum can appreciate how challenging it can be to find something your child will eat, never mind in a foreign country! Jhayro was wonderful with our son and they really connected. Dominik loved being Jhayro's co-pilot and occasional side-kick.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, July 2017
  • Ecuador and the edge of the Amazon

    “Great trip and very organised. The guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. He was also patient and flexible with parts of the group. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were very well fed with amazing food throughout the trip.”
    – Australian Capital Territory, Australia Tapir, July 2017
  • Galapagos

    “We felt that we had the guide of the Century...Pablo...he should be a National Treasure! His enthusiasm, knowledge, sensitivity, thoughtfulness...fantastic!”
    – Otago, New Zealand Tortuga, June 2017
  • One More Off the Bucket List

    “Great adventure trip with a multitude of activities”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Awesome Galapagos

    “What a great adventure and experience among the wildlife of Galapagos. It's amazing to be able to see so much and be right next to these wonderful animals.
    Pepo was excellent in every way throughout the trip and I can highly recommend both him and Active Adventures to anyone. We will definitely do more trips with Active.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Galapagos, Fabulous Week!

    “I enjoyed our trip to the Galapagos very much. I don't think I realized how much I was learning while I was in the islands. It was only after returning state side that I began reflecting, and was amazed at how much I learned about how both the marine, and land animals, have adjusted to life in The Galapagos. It's truly an amazing place!!”
    – Tennessee, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Perfect Blend of Activities

    “The trip was just the right mix of planned activities and personal time. The snorkeling, hikes, kayaking, informational tours and bike trips were not too strenuous and a great way to explore the wonders of this remarkable place. Our guide, Pablo, was extremely knowledgeable about the place he has called home for 20+ years. His guiding and people skills are among the best I have experienced. We weren't just playing; we were learning every minute of the trip in an enjoyable and casual way. I would heartily recommend this trip to young and old!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Galapagos 2017

    “If the idea of snorkeling with sea lions, turtles, and penguins all on the same day, is your cup of tea, (and it is mine!) then this trip is for you. And that's only the tip of the iceberg! Sorry, no icebergs in Ecuador, but the water can be surprisingly cool because of ocean currents.
    The naturalists who accompany you throughout the trip are extremely good, and are passionate about conveying to you their love and knowledge of Galapagos. You experience 4 islands on this tour and if you do excursions on your own you can have even more. Each island offers a unique experience. While there are many ways to see Galapagos, liveaboard vs land based, the extra time afforded you by being land based will give you more memories to cherish. Doug Middlefield CT.”
    – Connecticut, United States Tortuga, June 2017
  • Galapagos Greatness!

    “The Tortuga trip to the Galapagos Islands was led by an **outstanding** tour guide, Pepo. He exuded passion, pride, and respect for the islands and the creatures that inhabit it. Pepo demonstrated the perfect balance of providing the right level of information to where we felt educated but no so much as to bog us down. Accommodations were very nice along the trip. The activities and "Super Plans" we participated in were invaluable to making our Galapagos experience great! The other wonderful people I met in this group were entertaining and engaging. I'm thankful to have gone on this trip with these great people!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, May 2017
  • Beauty of Ecuador

    “The Tapir trip within Ecuador showed us a variety of beautiful landscapes from the highland mountains to the Amazon jungle. I LOVED the soulful Hacienda La Alegria horse ranch along with the horseback ride. The various hiking parts of the trip were my next favorite.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tapir, May 2017
  • Perfectly Flawless From Start to Finish

    “From the moment we arrived on the tour, every detail was well thought through and all we had to do was put on our hiking shoes and enjoy. Our guide Pepo was very friendly and had tons of knowledge about the Galapagos, he knew how to explain the ecology of the environment in an engaging, interesting way and you never ever felt like you were sitting in a boring lecture. This tour allowed us to explore these amazing islands in an active, adventurous way with enough activities that you never got bored but you were also allowed time to explore the towns on your own, go on another bike ride or just put your feet up. Pepo also always helped us know what was coming next and helping us to be fully prepared for that days activity. There were no surprises (which was a good thing!) and everything was well organized so we never aimlessly waited around or wasted time thinking about what to do next. If you love to explore nature in an active way, this trip is an amazing one to do!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • “Having never been to this part of the world this was a great way to travel, learn a great deal in a very short time, have a lot of fun, and not have to worry about any of the details.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Tortuga Paul and Sophia

    “Astonishingly beautiful. Superbly knowledgable guide. Lots of interesting activities to keep you busy.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Really varied and interesting. Great way to see a variety of areas and do a variety of activites.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Tapir

    “Great review of the mainland. A super addition to the Tortuga trip”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, May 2017
  • Loved our Tortuga trip.

    “We loved taking this land based tour of the Galapagos. Staying at hotels on the islands allowed us a lot more flexibility and was great for our grandchildren since they had lots of time to play on the beaches in the evenings. We saw all the animals I hoped to see plus the activities were a lot of fun, especially the snorkeling. We loved Zambo our guide. He was friendly, helpful and very informative plus he took great underwater videos for us.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • Incredible experience

    “We had an amazing time in the Galapagos!
    Everything was perfectly organized for us. All we had to do was show up - just as it said in the description of the tour.
    Our tour guide Zambo would always tell us well in advance what we would be doing on the next day, what we had to bring, what we should wear.
    The food was always organized for us; they would always ask us beforehand what we wanted to eat.
    Everywhere we went they were expecting us and everything went smoothly.
    Zambo was an amazing guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. He had an answer for everything and he was very patient with our kids. One could see that he enjoyed showing his home to us.
    The encounters with the animals were truly amazing. We saw blue footed boobies, frigate birds, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, penguins, hundreds of sea lions, sea iguanas, etc.
    The animals seemed at ease with the humans around them in some cases almost curious.”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Simply said: Excellent

    “We’ve booked our trip with Active Adventures from NZ but ended up with Galakiwi Adventures as the implementing party. A bit confusing at the beginning but it turned out quite well.
    Our trip through the Galapagos Islands started in San Cristobal, followed by Floreana, Isabela and ended in Santa Cruz.
    We booked an all-inclusive trip and it turned out to be a very good decision. In fact we realized only after a few days how convenient is was to have everything organized for you and how much time you can actually safe. Starting with swimming gear that is provided as part of the package. Transportation to the ferry, getting on & off, having the transportation ready when you arrive, all those organizational aspects are taken care off which makes travelling from island to island very easy and smooth. Then hotels are ready, check in & out done super fast, luggage’s pick up etc. all organized. Lunch and/or dinners arranged in advance to maximize the vacation time and reduce wasted time to a bare minimum. What else to say besides that the organization was simply said excellent!!!
    Then we had Zambo our tour guide, a fantastic & very knowledgeable person.
    Not only questions from adults were not a problem for him, our kids and the other families kids who were also part of the group constantly came up with all sorts of questions and somehow, Zambo always had an answer.
    All of this made it a great vacation; we enjoyed it a lot”
    – Sai Kung, Hong Kong Tortuga, April 2017
  • Great guiding

    “We had a great experience. Patricio made us feel like we were able to do all of the activities.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • A varied experience

    “We very much enjoyed the varied experiences - meeting local people was great fun - highlights included horseback riding at a hacienda where the owner ate meals with us and explained his farming operation. The jungle visit was also very interesting - a meal prepared by a local couple and entertainment from an indigenous family.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tapir, April 2017
  • Stunningly beautiful

    “A continual immersion in nature and it's beauty very capably guided by Super- Pepo with his daily Superplan.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • Not a thing missing from this trip!

    “Our guide, Jess, was absolutely perfect. She was extremely knowledgeable about the Galápagos and amazing with the logistics and organizational part of the trip. We waited for nothing and had top-notch service everywhere we went. Award-winning trip in every way. I would not hesitate to book with Active Adventures again. Thank you, thank you, thank you!”
    – New Brunswick, Canada Tortuga, April 2017
  • “Everything ran absolutely as seamlessly as possible, Congrats to the Active Adventures team. The weather was perfect. Our guide, Pepo was terrific. He was attentive to all of our needs and safety, and fielded every question with depth of knowledge and intelligence. As a native of the Island he is sensitive and cares deeply about their well being and continuance. This showed through in all his words and actions. He displayed kindness and humor and was generally just a great traveling companion.

    I had read much before my trip and was not let down by what the Islands had to offer. The trip as a whole offered a quite perfect blend of activities, relaxation and unique new experiences. All the accommodations were at least just fine, a couple quite splendid. The food was delicious (fishatarian) and most bountiful.

    My only wish is that the airline scheduling involving arrival and then transfers from Quito to the Island worked out a little more smoothly. This is not a criticism of Active Adventures, but more of the airlines. So the bookend of the trip were not nearly the fun of the trip itself.”
    – Texas, United States Tortuga, April 2017
  • “A trip of a lifetime! Like no other place I've ever been. Where Animals coexist with humans in harmony. Wild sea lions play with you as you snorkel, dolphins play with your boat, owls let you walk a hand width from them and giant tortoises are your obstacles as you bike. Pepo our guide was incredible and brought his incredible islands alive through his stories and knowledge! Best trip I've ever been on and would highly reccommend it! Wouldn't change a thing!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Best trip ever!

    “Wonderful 30th anniversary trip to the Galapagos -- so glad we were able to explore these amazing islands. A true adventure for two biology majors! We really got a sense of the strong environmental preservation efforts underway there, and were in awe of the amazing land and sea creatures we encountered. Plus a terrific local guide and fun group of co-travelers made this a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a wonderful experience to spend Christmas in the Galapagos with such a experienced, caring leader for our adventure. Eduardo made sure all of our needs were meet and went above and beyond to make sure we have a very enjoyable time in his home country. I will always keep him and his family in our hearts and he made me feel like part of his family!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a great experience to be snorkeling with all the amazing animals! REMARKABLE!!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • The Amazing Galapagos Islands

    “This was an amazing trip. The organization could not have been improved! Everything went like clockwork! I'm sure, much to the credit of Pepo! He was amazing - knowledgeable beyond words, fun to be around, great sense of humor and so kind and polite! Our group was small, five in number, and we became friends because of all the adventures that we experienced together. I am loving telling people about the trip! And am loving remember it!

    The only suggestion that I would have is that I would have preferred to spend one more night on Isabella and one less night in Quito.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Excellent trip, well organized

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our Tortuga trip. Our guide Jessica was fantastic. Everything ran so smoothly, the group all got along and we were so fortunate to visit and explore the lovely Galapagos islands in this way. A land based trip is definitely the way to go. We would highly recommend it.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Nice overview of central Ecuador

    “Nice to see different areas in Ecuador and how varied and beautiful the country is. A nice taste for future exploration.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, March 2017
  • BEST TRIP EVER!!!

    “This trip was a dream come true with a BIG unexpected surprise...I swam with a whale shark. Active Adventures has thought of everything. You need to bring your clothes, quick dry is a must, and personal items. All activity amenities are supplied, including a long or short sleeve wetsuit. If you use a prescription mask in the water, bring it along. All the work is done for you. Your guide will let you know what time to be ready and off you go. Everything ran on time, no waiting for anything (once we did wait 4 minutes at the airport for the van). Even meals were ordered ahead and served within a few minutes of sitting down. We ate at many of the best restaurants. I felt like a princess. The Galapagos animals even did their part by 'posing' for great pics. We saw all the great sites while our guide educated us on the topic. Our guide, Pablo, is amazing.

    The whale shark...while boating between islands, we saw a group of dolphins. Then, we saw the whale shark. Pablo handed out mask a few of us gently jumped in the water to 'swim' with the 30ft long animal. Yes, we have videos thanks to our boat captain and one person with a go pro.

    Active Adventures does it right.”
    – Texas, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Amazing!

    “This was our first experience with Active Adventures. It was everything we dreamed of and more. Excellent guides, facilities, activities and food. Loved it!”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Fun, active trip

    “I had a great time and loved the amount of activity. Every day was a new and fun experience in different places. It wasn't too much or too hard, but a good mix of experiencing the culture while hiking/biking/rafting. I always felt safe and really enjoyed our Guide, Jairo. Our group was very small (only 3 others!), which was also nice. Highlights include the horse ranch and owner who taught me how to ride, the hot sprints at the end as well as the hike, and biking down the volcano.”
    – New York, United States Tapir, February 2017
  • Not Just Tortoises

    “As advertised, the trip began and ended in Quito, Ecuador. Everything from then on was taken care of to keep us happy and busy for the ten days. Like a good field trip, we were informed about the hours to come for activities and equipment we needed to bring along. The many exotic animals of the Galapagos Islands are exceedingly wonderful and well protected, with proper information and warnings to us by our professional National Park Guides, always at our sides. The people of our group were all like minded adults who were ready for this Active Adventure, and blended and shared well. The amount of busy time was balanced with some relaxing time. They know how long to keep us moving and when to relax. The meals were fantastic and delicious. The two times we needed to buy a supper gave us the chance to explore and pick something we wanted, large or small. The trip was wonderful. We are so glad we went.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Educational, active, fun trip and all with nice friendly people.

    “What can really make a trip special is the people you travel with. We had an interesting mix of friendly people and a informative, personable tour guide , Pepo.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Galapagos - Tortuga Trip

    “Wow! The Tortuga tour of the Galapagos Islands was an incredible experience. Active Adventures answered all my questions during the booking process and provided exactly the information I needed to be prepared for the trip. It couldn't have been easier. The guides were AMAZING - - very knowledgeable about the islands and provided a wealth of information about the geology, flora and fauna, wildlife, and culture. They were extremely diligent in making sure that everyone's individual needs were met and that the entire group was loving every minute. This truly was a trip of a lifetime and I can't thank Active Adventures enough for their organization of every detail!!”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Active and adventurous

    “Our trip guide, Pepo, was warm-hearted, knowledgeable and very experienced in all things Galapagos and water-related. He answered all our questions and conducted us through the trip efficiently and attentively. We saw and did more than we expected. It was fun, interesting and enlightening. The food was fantastic too.”
    – Oregon, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • “There is no way we could have planned all the adventures we had on this trip. The logistics and coordination efforts were well thought out. Our guide was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun to be with. The accommodations were wonderful, food fit for a king and animals to entertain us at every turn. It truly was a trip to remember!!”
    – Georgia, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “My wife and I joined this tour as part of our honeymoon trip and we couldn't of been happier. Everything was unbelievably well organized, the accommodations exceeded our expectations, the size of the group was great and there was a good range of activities that enabled us to get a good feel of all the diversity found in the Galápagos Islands.

    We have never used a tour company before when travelling as we like to have flexibility, choose our own accommodations, avoid crowds and be active. However, I would definitely recommend Active Adventures to anybody and would definitely do another tour with them.

    Thanks for everything!!”
    – Alberta, Canada Tortuga, January 2017
  • Fantastic Adventure!

    “This trip was wonderful on so many levels. It was a perfect experience for our family of three college "kids", my husband and me. We traveled with two other families- a total of eight kids and six adults, a good group size. There was lots to see and do and we appreciated the opportunity to be active! Seeing the wildlife and learning about the Galapagos Islands was fantastic!! Zambo, our naturalist was terrific and related equally well to children and the adults. One of the unexpected pleasures my husband and I experienced was hearing our children utilize their seven years of middle and high school Spanish as they communicated with locals. Needless to say, they were pleased that the drinking age on the Islands is 18 and we all enjoyed having a beer at the end of each wonderful day. The December weather was lovely. Comfortably warm and the water was beautiful!! We took full advantage of any extra snorkeling and swimming opportunities.

    Our family had an extra day in Quito. We took the opportunity to hire a guide to take us around the city. What a great opportunity it was to learn about so many aspects of Ecuador's capital city. The Equator Museum was great and we enjoyed walking around the Plaza and seeing a couple of churches. Walking to the edge of the Pululhua crater was awesome! Lenin was a terrific guide!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • The only way to experience the Galapagos

    “This trip was the perfect blend of nature, culture, and fun and it is the best trip for anyone with kids 13-21 years old.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Land-based tours are the way to go!

    “We are so glad we chose to do an active, land-based trip rather than take a cruise ship. Staying in small hotels in the various towns on four islands and gaining an appreciation for the locals, the local food and customs was a tremendous addition to the natural beauty of the Galapagos. Knowing that we were contributing to the local economy rather than to a cruise line's bottom line felt good to us. Our guides (Lenin in Quito) and Zombo (on the Galapagos) were outstanding.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • “The naturalists were so informative about not only the local plants and animals, but had rich historical knowledge that really added to the experience.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Galápagos December 2016

    “Overall this was a great vacation for our family. We loved the Galápagos. Edwardo, our guide for the week, was fantastic. He took care of everything and always made sure that we had what we needed. For me the highlight was snorkeling with a school of large hammerhead sharks just bellow.

    We loved all of the hotels we stayed in on the islands. They all had comfortable beds, electricity, hot showers and even air conditioning. The food was fresh and hot. We loved the homemade soups at every lunch and dinner and the fresh fish served in all of the local restaurants.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • "If you ever get the chance, make it happen..."

    “The Galapagos Islands turned out to be everything you hear about and more! My style of travel has never been geared towards tours or trips (EQ Type: Authentic Experiencer), however I signed up for the Tortuga trip last minute to join my parents and couldn't have been more pleased! Being a land-based tour vs. boat tour we were able to support the local economies on the various islands we visited while experiencing the authentic and incredible wildlife and landscapes the Galapagos has to offer. We got to enjoy a variety of local restaurants rather than eating the same buffet meal similar with other tours and stay in a range of different accommodations along the way. Our tour guide Pablo however, really made the trip and I am not sure if it would be quite as amazing without him. The passion, knowledge and love he has for the Galapagos Islands glimmered through every day we were with him and the smile shared with each new experience was priceless. The only disappointment was that we didn't know extra activities, diving in particular, were non-refundable if a illness or anything else comes up last minute - as they often do with diving. Saying this, I would very strongly recommend the Tortuga tour to everyone. If you every have the chance, make it happen and you absolutely will not be disappointed. Each day we were left amazed and utterly shocked at how much we were able to see and do with each activity. I have traveled to some pretty spectacular places around the world but this trip is a once in a lifetime experience.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, December 2016
  • Outstanding Adventure with the Best Guide Ever!

    “The Tortuga trip was phenomenal. From the moment I arrived, my every need was met and all with grace and professionalism. The trip was well planned, we saw and did so many things, from adventures like hiking and biking, snorkeling and kayaking, to learning all about the Galapagos in a way a book will never tell you. What brought everything off the pages of a book, and from the land in front of us was the knowledge and the passion of our guide Pablo. What a treasure he is! He could answer anything, and it was all shared with enthusiasm, passion, caring, love for this land. I felt so honored to have had him as our guide. Thank you! The food was outstanding, the accommodations perfect. I could not fault a single thing!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Amazing adventure

    “I had an amazing time. From snorkeling, hiking an active volcano to kayaking and biking along the beach. Loved the locations we stayed at!”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Great family time in Gallapagos

    “All went really well with the trip. Loved the Guide (Pepo). Completed nearly all of the itinerary, but not quite all. Good group of fellow travelers, though not all of them were expecting (or tolerant of) kids in the trip (8 and 14 yr old). Would definitely recommend the trip and the guide to anyone who was interested in a Gallapagos adventure.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Great Trip, Very Informative, Always Moving

    “It was a great trip. Guide was fantastic, the wildlife and locations we saw would have never been the case without the guided trip. The transportation and logistics were so smooth, we never waited once.”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Excellant trip! I would come back and do it gain!

    “Pepo was a wonderful guide. He made the trip special and was so accommodating and knowledgeable. Honestly one of the best trips I have ever taken!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Tortuga

    “Pepo - best guide ever!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Enchanted Paradise

    “This trip was worth every penny. From the moment you leave the airport on San Cristobal you are surrounded by the magic of the Galapagos. We saw every animal we hoped to and then some. There were plenty of opportunities to relax with a local beer and watch the sea lions play or iguanas scuttle across the beach or you could use spare time to fit in extra mountain biking or snorkeling. Our guide, Pepo, was absolutely wonderful. He is from San Cristobal and I really enjoyed his insider's perspective on the islands. Every day was a learning experience. The trip was expertly planned and organized. Never a dull moment!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • Galapagos Adventure

    “This was the perfect honeymoon. The animals were amazing, the accommodations and travel smoothly planned. The tour guide, Pepo, was everything we could have hoped for - knowledgeable, amiable, and local. Active Adventures even managed to get our bags to the airport after the airline lost them in the nick of time to join us on our travels!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • Everything I hoped for

    “This was my bucket list trip and it did not disappoint! As a biology major, the main draw was the wildlife, the natural history, and scientific significance of the Galapagos but it was also so much more. Our guide, Pepo, led our small group on a journey of discovery while sharing his expertise and great sense of humor. Our fellow adventurers were so much fun and we bonded over great food, once in a lifetime experiences, and fun in the sun. I highly recommend Active Adventures and will most likely book another trip with them soon!”
    – Oregon, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • Amazing galapagos

    “Thanks to Active Adventures and especially Jessica and her team for an amazing time in the Galapagos. Really enjoyed the diving, snorkeling and other activities on or near the sea, even during the travel between islands there was plenty to see and learn about; the diversity, adaption to the environment, and specialisation of the wildlife, including the people!, that live(d) on Galapagos (and mainland Ecuador) was so interesting.
    Fresh and largely locally sourced food was great! Liked the simplicity with less gizmos that often end up thrown away. Thought the people, especially Galapagos, were aware of the environment, recycling and less rubbish and wastage.
    Fascinating place!”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Tortuga, October 2016
  • Wonder- fulled Galapagos

    “Wonderful food! local, fresh and delicious and plenty of it
    Wonderful guide! Jessica the personality of the Galapagos, fun, full of local knowledge and a great organiser
    Wonder fulled Islands, wildlife and sites to see
    A Brilliant Trip!”
    – , New Zealand Tortuga, September 2016
  • Happy to have chosen this trip

    “There seemed to be so many choices of trips but Active Adventures attracted me with the fact it was land based Galapagos trip and included hiking, biking and kayaking. The trip exceeded expectations and I am very glad to have chosen Active Adventures. Food was great. Active Adventures staff was great. Activities were great, and to top it off everyone in our group was great. I am even more convinced now that a land based Galapagos trip was the way to go.”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, September 2016
  • Tortuga, Galapagos

    “You have to visit the islands to believe how amazing they actually are and how innovative the people who live there have become, very little goes to waste.”
    – North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2016
  • Tapir

    “Jhayro was a great guide, and made the trip a great one, even helping to expand my Spanish vocabulary. A brilliant trip that everyone should take”
    – North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom Tapir, September 2016
  • ECUADOR South America

    “I had an incredible trip exploring the beautiful scenery of Ecuador. Our guide Hiro was extremely informative and his erudition was obvious; also had the opportunity to meet his vivacious daughter who brought another great personality to our group! Our small group was awesome and I had a great time getting to know each member. I enjoyed the active aspect of the trip, everything from cycling, hiking, and ascending waterfalls in the Amazon was a perennial experience!! Definitely will be joining Active on another trio!!

    Ps: food was amazing!!”
    – Wyoming, United States Tapir, September 2016
  • Loved the trip

    “The trip to Galapagos was wonderful. I loved the tortoises, snorkeling, kayaking, volcanoes.”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • Fantastic!

    “This trip is action packed with thing to do. Jessica, our guide, was very knowledgeable and passionate about each island and activity that we did. The wildlife was amazing and the trip was well organized. I wouldn't call this tour a "vacation" in the traditional sense. This tour is more of an experience! I'd recommend it to anyone interested in wildlife, geology, and conservation!”
    – North Carolina, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • Tortuga july 2016

    “Amazing trip with an amazing guide. thank you”
    – Pahurehure, New Zealand Tortuga, August 2016
  • Great guide

    “Jessica was wonderful and so was the intern Jessica. Loved the people on the trip. Nice size group - 13!”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • “Great experience, a huge opportunity for nature lovers to familiarize themselves and get very close to Galapagos life. Tour leader Pablo Valladares makes the trip a lifetime experience.”
    – , United Arab Emirates Tortuga, June 2016
  • Experience the Real Galapagos!

    “The trip was very well organized and managed from booking until the end of the tour! The itinerary was perfectly crafted in a balance of active and relax pace, gave us the best wildlife and Island experience! The land base tour definitely the best way to explore and appreciate the beauty of Galapagos and a better chance to interact with locals too. Food, accommodations and transport were well taking care of. Credit must go for the exceptional local naturalist guide Pablo who was so passionate to share everything you wish to know about Galapagos from geography, history, wildlife and some interesting stories you only get to know from the local..his presentation was simply fascinating!
    I would strongly recommend the Tortuga tour if you wish to have a different and memorable experience with Galapagos, better still get Pablo as your guide and you will understand everything!
    Thanks Active Adventures team, and Galakiwi.
    Eugene”
    – , United Arab Emirates Tortuga, May 2016
  • Playful nature at its finest!

    “My Galapagos journey was fabulous! I still carry with me the wonder of our snorkeling adventures, especially with the sea lions visiting, dancing and playing with us and the graceful sea turtles gently meandering through the water in their scout for lunch. Our friendly, enthusiastic and easy-going guide, Pepo, was outstanding--he was so impressive with his deep knowledge of the individual island habitats, the animals and their varying species and habits, history, and culture. I am so grateful to have been able to fulfill my long-held desire to visit the Galapagos through this awesome tour!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, May 2016
  • Childhood dream to reality.

    “I've imagined and dreamed of visiting the Galapagos Islands since I was about 8 years old. Maybe it was Dr Doolittle or Jacques Cousteau - who knows how such ideas get stuck in a child's head, but the Tortuga trip was a dream realised and it exceeded all my expectations. There were surprises and delights every day, not to mention the added bonus of having a guide/teacher/naturalist/conservationist/geologist/surfer Pablo, who bought alive the history of the islands and the mysteries and magnificence of evolution and the animal kingdom.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tortuga, May 2016
  • Exquisite Ecuador

    “From the ancient crumbling Spanish architecture of Quito, to the majestic glaciers, mountain grasslands, volcanoes and the Amazon...Ecuador is a scenic feast for the eyes and a country of amazements for nature buffs. Very few tourists, with gentle helpful locals, so if you can - go! After the earthquake devastation on the coast they could use the tourist dollars.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tapir, May 2016
  • The best trip ever

    “If you have the opportunity to take this trip, do! It's the trip of a lifetime and everything about it was well organized and amazing. I'd highly recommend a trip through active adventures!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, May 2016
  • A great trip.

    “The change of the first day's program did not reach me. Having to be "bike ready" was possible as people were so helpful but not the better way.”
    – Texas, United States Tapir, May 2016
  • Spring Adventure

    “I travelled with my 11 year old son and although he's been on many adventures, this trip to Galapagos in April tops our list of favorites! This was in great part because of Pablo, who is the best naturalist/guide we've ever had. It felt like we were traveling with a friend. Pablo was amazing and made a lasting impression on my son who for the first time, cried when it was time to say goodbye.”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • 6-Stars

    “Beyond amazing. Loved every minute of it. Words cannot do it justice... you need to experience it yourself.”
    – Louisiana, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • Galapagos Tortuga

    “We had a fantastic time in Galapagos and enjoyed days packed with activities. This was our first trip using Active Adventures and we were impressed with well organised days, varied activites from bike riding, climbing volcano, kayaking, snorkelling and enjoying fantastic wild life in Galapagos.
    Pepo -our guide is extremely knowledgable and most lovely person who made our days fun and interesting. We enjoyed the variety of different islands visited and loved the taste of local life we were introduced to, including family tree house in highlands of San Cristobal and local restaurants sharing the benches with sea lions.
    Snorkelling with sea turtles, sharks and sea lions was unforgettable. The scenery was breathtaking with beautiful beaches, amazing rock creations of lava tunnels and tranquil bays and sunsets. Ocean kayaking was fun- watching penguins and blue boobies, pelicans waiting for fisherman's left overs....Each island brought its unique experience and history with it. We had opportunity to dive as well as snorkel and the trip organisers gave us plenty of opportunities to meet all our interest and needs. Our group of 10 was excellent size and felt more like a big family holiday. I would recommend Active Adventures to everyone as this was a fantastic activity holiday and a good value for money. The tour was organised with thoughtfulness by very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We felt safe and extremely well looked after. Thank you to every one and especially Pepo! Pepo, please give our regards to your dad who joined us for a bit of our trip. We will treasure the photo of him and Pepo in the giant tortoise shell!”
    – Surrey, United Kingdom Tortuga, April 2016
  • Animal Kingdom

    “This really was a most enjoyable trip. Everybody who goes to the Galapagos expects to see lots of animals, and we were certainly not disappointed!
    We liked the range of activity and especially we liked the guide, Pepo. He is absolutely brilliant, so caring, kind and friendly, and his knowledge in encyclopaedic! If you get him as a guide, you will be very pleased!”
    – Surrey, United Kingdom Tortuga, April 2016
  • Outstanding!

    “Thoughtful and well prepared, friendly and helpful staff at every turn. The active adventure title is a fitting description and not just a marketing gimmick. Hiking, biking, snorkeling, kayaking, and awesome accommodations. The Active Adventures / Galakiwi teams are excellent at what they do. Pepo our guide is the best ambassador and genuine professional for the Galapagos Islands -- very, very knowledgeable about the eco-systems and plants and animal life, and such a thoughtful and friendly individual, we really appreciated all he did to make this such a memorable trip. You will find the people and culture of the region extremely open and welcoming. This was certainly the trip of a lifetime, and especially hassle free thanks to the diligence of our Active Adventure / Galakiwi team!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • Super Trip!

    “Our guide had a "super plan" and it made for a super trip! Great weather, good mix of people, small group size and good activity level each day made for an enjoyable way to see the Galápagos Islands.”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • Dream Come True

    “I'd always heard the Galápagos was a very special place, and now I can confirm that it is indeed an incredible and unique place. I've traveled quite a bit, but never had so many jaw dropping sights and experiences. The fish, birds, and animals are truly amazing! Our guide, Pepo was one of the best guides I have ever had. I loved the high activity level of this trip, allowing us to see and do the maximum each day.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Amazing Trip

    “This was an amazing trip! It was active, nature-oriented, and great for seeing wildlife. There was always something to do (e.g., biking, hiking, kayaking, snorkelling, scuba diving, visiting breeding centers/interpretation centers, looking at wildlife). The accommodations were great (especially considering how it was advertised I thought it would be rougher but it wasn't), and the food was delicious (it was great for those who love seafood, but there were always great options for those that don't). Also, staying on the land allowed us to see and experience more than if we were on a cruise ship. For example, one night we walked around the pier at night after the people on the cruise ships had to be back at their boats, and we saw a sea lion and over 20 baby blacktip sharks having a feeding frenzy on fish. Additionally, our guide Pepo was wonderful! He is extremely knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, and funny. Overall, this is one of my favorite tours I have ever been on. If you are on the fence about it, just go you won't regret it!”
    – Maryland, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • “Great trip, good group of people and a terrific guide.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Galapagos by land and sea

    “With Pablo as our guide, and a great group for conversation and fun, the Galapagos Islands were unique and beautiful. It would be nice to have a few more days in which there was more than one option for adventure. And our hotel on Santa Cruz was a poor substitute for the one listed for the tour. But staying on land gives you a chance to connect with the locals, and wander a little on your own in ways that would not be likely on a cruising tour.”
    – Michigan, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Fun, Flexible and Phenomenal

    “Our trip to the Galapagos with Pablo was outstanding. From the moment we met in San Cristobal to our departure from Santa Cruz, our trip was educational, entertaining and engaging. Pablo was a phenomenal guide with deep knowledge of the islands. His guidance and direction was crucial in the success of the trip. He was able to accommodate all participants regardless of age, fitness or interests. I whole-heartedly recommend the Tortuga trip with Pablo.”
    – Michigan, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • A Great Trip

    “Active Adventures tries to get it all in for you. Biking, hiking, snorkeling and kayaking. Really liked that it was a land trip. Our guide Jessica, could not have been better! She was so knowledgeable, patient and overall organized. Glad we went with A.A. for a second trip... first one was in New Zealand.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Eleven Days Off of the Grid

    “From Mitand del Mundo (middle of the world) to the natural wonders of the Galápagos Islands, this trip is a must not miss for nature lovers everywhere. Our guide lives on Isabella and knew everyone we met on each of the islands. We saw animals not in evidence anywhere else on Earth: flocks of wild flamingoes, marine iguanas, Galápagos Sharks, and of course the ubiquitous giant tortoises. Every detail of the excursion was well planned and executed. There was time for individual pursuits and the accommodations were better than I had imagined. I will recommend Active Adventures/Galakiwi to anyone wanting a hands-on, Eco-friendly tour of "Darwin's Place".”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Amazing trip with scenery, science, and cultural understanding

    “Amazing trip; couldn't have been more perfect. We loved the sights and the amazing flora and fauna of the Galapagos of course, but what set this trip apart was our amazing guides, especially Pablo, and getting to stay on the islands. Pablo was a wealth of knowledge not only about the science, ecology, and behavior of the various endemic species we saw, but also about the impact of the human element, introduced species, and climate. His passion for the islands was incredible. He made this the trip of a lifetime for all of us, but especially our very inquisitive 11 year old son. The places we stayed were great, and it was a privilege to get to stay on the islands - there is much more to be seen this way.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Awesome adventure!

    “Enjoyable trip with good mix of activities on a realistic time schedule. Our guide (Jessica) was excellent. She was friendly, very knowledgeable, and offered a good variety of options many days. We saw all that was advertised and more. Jessica was excellent at making sure all 11 of us were having a great time while being able to coordinate and accommodate for ages 25-80. I highly recommend this trip.”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, February 2016

Back to top

Unsure? Get a free brochure with info on all our trips,
an itinerary booklet and a map (PDF or Posted)

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Get your FREE Brochure Now!

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.