Get a FREE South America Brochure

Includes info on all of our trips and a tour itinerary booklet.

Reviews

  • “A trip of a lifetime! Like no other place I've ever been. Where Animals coexist with humans in harmony. Wild sea lions play with you as you snorkel, dolphins play with your boat, owls let you walk a hand width from them and giant tortoises are your obstacles as you bike. Pepo our guide was incredible and brought his incredible islands alive through his stories and knowledge! Best trip I've ever been on and would highly reccommend it! Wouldn't change a thing!!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Best trip ever!

    “Wonderful 30th anniversary trip to the Galapagos -- so glad we were able to explore these amazing islands. A true adventure for two biology majors! We really got a sense of the strong environmental preservation efforts underway there, and were in awe of the amazing land and sea creatures we encountered. Plus a terrific local guide and fun group of co-travelers made this a trip of a lifetime!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a wonderful experience to spend Christmas in the Galapagos with such a experienced, caring leader for our adventure. Eduardo made sure all of our needs were meet and went above and beyond to make sure we have a very enjoyable time in his home country. I will always keep him and his family in our hearts and he made me feel like part of his family!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Tortuga with Eduardo

    “What a great experience to be snorkeling with all the amazing animals! REMARKABLE!!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • The Amazing Galapagos Islands

    “This was an amazing trip. The organization could not have been improved! Everything went like clockwork! I'm sure, much to the credit of Pepo! He was amazing - knowledgeable beyond words, fun to be around, great sense of humor and so kind and polite! Our group was small, five in number, and we became friends because of all the adventures that we experienced together. I am loving telling people about the trip! And am loving remember it!

    The only suggestion that I would have is that I would have preferred to spend one more night on Isabella and one less night in Quito.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, March 2017
  • Excellent trip, well organized

    “We thoroughly enjoyed our Tortuga trip. Our guide Jessica was fantastic. Everything ran so smoothly, the group all got along and we were so fortunate to visit and explore the lovely Galapagos islands in this way. A land based trip is definitely the way to go. We would highly recommend it.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, March 2017
  • Nice overview of central Ecuador

    “Nice to see different areas in Ecuador and how varied and beautiful the country is. A nice taste for future exploration.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tapir, March 2017
  • BEST TRIP EVER!!!

    “This trip was a dream come true with a BIG unexpected surprise...I swam with a whale shark. Active Adventures has thought of everything. You need to bring your clothes, quick dry is a must, and personal items. All activity amenities are supplied, including a long or short sleeve wetsuit. If you use a prescription mask in the water, bring it along. All the work is done for you. Your guide will let you know what time to be ready and off you go. Everything ran on time, no waiting for anything (once we did wait 4 minutes at the airport for the van). Even meals were ordered ahead and served within a few minutes of sitting down. We ate at many of the best restaurants. I felt like a princess. The Galapagos animals even did their part by 'posing' for great pics. We saw all the great sites while our guide educated us on the topic. Our guide, Pablo, is amazing.

    The whale shark...while boating between islands, we saw a group of dolphins. Then, we saw the whale shark. Pablo handed out mask a few of us gently jumped in the water to 'swim' with the 30ft long animal. Yes, we have videos thanks to our boat captain and one person with a go pro.

    Active Adventures does it right.”
    – Texas, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Amazing!

    “This was our first experience with Active Adventures. It was everything we dreamed of and more. Excellent guides, facilities, activities and food. Loved it!”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Fun, active trip

    “I had a great time and loved the amount of activity. Every day was a new and fun experience in different places. It wasn't too much or too hard, but a good mix of experiencing the culture while hiking/biking/rafting. I always felt safe and really enjoyed our Guide, Jairo. Our group was very small (only 3 others!), which was also nice. Highlights include the horse ranch and owner who taught me how to ride, the hot sprints at the end as well as the hike, and biking down the volcano.”
    – New York, United States Tapir, February 2017
  • Not Just Tortoises

    “As advertised, the trip began and ended in Quito, Ecuador. Everything from then on was taken care of to keep us happy and busy for the ten days. Like a good field trip, we were informed about the hours to come for activities and equipment we needed to bring along. The many exotic animals of the Galapagos Islands are exceedingly wonderful and well protected, with proper information and warnings to us by our professional National Park Guides, always at our sides. The people of our group were all like minded adults who were ready for this Active Adventure, and blended and shared well. The amount of busy time was balanced with some relaxing time. They know how long to keep us moving and when to relax. The meals were fantastic and delicious. The two times we needed to buy a supper gave us the chance to explore and pick something we wanted, large or small. The trip was wonderful. We are so glad we went.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Educational, active, fun trip and all with nice friendly people.

    “What can really make a trip special is the people you travel with. We had an interesting mix of friendly people and a informative, personable tour guide , Pepo.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Galapagos - Tortuga Trip

    “Wow! The Tortuga tour of the Galapagos Islands was an incredible experience. Active Adventures answered all my questions during the booking process and provided exactly the information I needed to be prepared for the trip. It couldn't have been easier. The guides were AMAZING - - very knowledgeable about the islands and provided a wealth of information about the geology, flora and fauna, wildlife, and culture. They were extremely diligent in making sure that everyone's individual needs were met and that the entire group was loving every minute. This truly was a trip of a lifetime and I can't thank Active Adventures enough for their organization of every detail!!”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, February 2017
  • Active and adventurous

    “Our trip guide, Pepo, was warm-hearted, knowledgeable and very experienced in all things Galapagos and water-related. He answered all our questions and conducted us through the trip efficiently and attentively. We saw and did more than we expected. It was fun, interesting and enlightening. The food was fantastic too.”
    – Oregon, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • “There is no way we could have planned all the adventures we had on this trip. The logistics and coordination efforts were well thought out. Our guide was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun to be with. The accommodations were wonderful, food fit for a king and animals to entertain us at every turn. It truly was a trip to remember!!”
    – Georgia, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Amazing Trip

    “My wife and I joined this tour as part of our honeymoon trip and we couldn't of been happier. Everything was unbelievably well organized, the accommodations exceeded our expectations, the size of the group was great and there was a good range of activities that enabled us to get a good feel of all the diversity found in the Galápagos Islands.

    We have never used a tour company before when travelling as we like to have flexibility, choose our own accommodations, avoid crowds and be active. However, I would definitely recommend Active Adventures to anybody and would definitely do another tour with them.

    Thanks for everything!!”
    – Alberta, Canada Tortuga, January 2017
  • Fantastic Adventure!

    “This trip was wonderful on so many levels. It was a perfect experience for our family of three college "kids", my husband and me. We traveled with two other families- a total of eight kids and six adults, a good group size. There was lots to see and do and we appreciated the opportunity to be active! Seeing the wildlife and learning about the Galapagos Islands was fantastic!! Zambo, our naturalist was terrific and related equally well to children and the adults. One of the unexpected pleasures my husband and I experienced was hearing our children utilize their seven years of middle and high school Spanish as they communicated with locals. Needless to say, they were pleased that the drinking age on the Islands is 18 and we all enjoyed having a beer at the end of each wonderful day. The December weather was lovely. Comfortably warm and the water was beautiful!! We took full advantage of any extra snorkeling and swimming opportunities.

    Our family had an extra day in Quito. We took the opportunity to hire a guide to take us around the city. What a great opportunity it was to learn about so many aspects of Ecuador's capital city. The Equator Museum was great and we enjoyed walking around the Plaza and seeing a couple of churches. Walking to the edge of the Pululhua crater was awesome! Lenin was a terrific guide!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • The only way to experience the Galapagos

    “This trip was the perfect blend of nature, culture, and fun and it is the best trip for anyone with kids 13-21 years old.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Land-based tours are the way to go!

    “We are so glad we chose to do an active, land-based trip rather than take a cruise ship. Staying in small hotels in the various towns on four islands and gaining an appreciation for the locals, the local food and customs was a tremendous addition to the natural beauty of the Galapagos. Knowing that we were contributing to the local economy rather than to a cruise line's bottom line felt good to us. Our guides (Lenin in Quito) and Zombo (on the Galapagos) were outstanding.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • “The naturalists were so informative about not only the local plants and animals, but had rich historical knowledge that really added to the experience.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • Galápagos December 2016

    “Overall this was a great vacation for our family. We loved the Galápagos. Edwardo, our guide for the week, was fantastic. He took care of everything and always made sure that we had what we needed. For me the highlight was snorkeling with a school of large hammerhead sharks just bellow.

    We loved all of the hotels we stayed in on the islands. They all had comfortable beds, electricity, hot showers and even air conditioning. The food was fresh and hot. We loved the homemade soups at every lunch and dinner and the fresh fish served in all of the local restaurants.”
    – North Carolina, United States Tortuga, January 2017
  • "If you ever get the chance, make it happen..."

    “The Galapagos Islands turned out to be everything you hear about and more! My style of travel has never been geared towards tours or trips (EQ Type: Authentic Experiencer), however I signed up for the Tortuga trip last minute to join my parents and couldn't have been more pleased! Being a land-based tour vs. boat tour we were able to support the local economies on the various islands we visited while experiencing the authentic and incredible wildlife and landscapes the Galapagos has to offer. We got to enjoy a variety of local restaurants rather than eating the same buffet meal similar with other tours and stay in a range of different accommodations along the way. Our tour guide Pablo however, really made the trip and I am not sure if it would be quite as amazing without him. The passion, knowledge and love he has for the Galapagos Islands glimmered through every day we were with him and the smile shared with each new experience was priceless. The only disappointment was that we didn't know extra activities, diving in particular, were non-refundable if a illness or anything else comes up last minute - as they often do with diving. Saying this, I would very strongly recommend the Tortuga tour to everyone. If you every have the chance, make it happen and you absolutely will not be disappointed. Each day we were left amazed and utterly shocked at how much we were able to see and do with each activity. I have traveled to some pretty spectacular places around the world but this trip is a once in a lifetime experience.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, December 2016
  • Outstanding Adventure with the Best Guide Ever!

    “The Tortuga trip was phenomenal. From the moment I arrived, my every need was met and all with grace and professionalism. The trip was well planned, we saw and did so many things, from adventures like hiking and biking, snorkeling and kayaking, to learning all about the Galapagos in a way a book will never tell you. What brought everything off the pages of a book, and from the land in front of us was the knowledge and the passion of our guide Pablo. What a treasure he is! He could answer anything, and it was all shared with enthusiasm, passion, caring, love for this land. I felt so honored to have had him as our guide. Thank you! The food was outstanding, the accommodations perfect. I could not fault a single thing!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Amazing adventure

    “I had an amazing time. From snorkeling, hiking an active volcano to kayaking and biking along the beach. Loved the locations we stayed at!”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Great family time in Gallapagos

    “All went really well with the trip. Loved the Guide (Pepo). Completed nearly all of the itinerary, but not quite all. Good group of fellow travelers, though not all of them were expecting (or tolerant of) kids in the trip (8 and 14 yr old). Would definitely recommend the trip and the guide to anyone who was interested in a Gallapagos adventure.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Great Trip, Very Informative, Always Moving

    “It was a great trip. Guide was fantastic, the wildlife and locations we saw would have never been the case without the guided trip. The transportation and logistics were so smooth, we never waited once.”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Excellant trip! I would come back and do it gain!

    “Pepo was a wonderful guide. He made the trip special and was so accommodating and knowledgeable. Honestly one of the best trips I have ever taken!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Tortuga

    “Pepo - best guide ever!”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, December 2016
  • Enchanted Paradise

    “This trip was worth every penny. From the moment you leave the airport on San Cristobal you are surrounded by the magic of the Galapagos. We saw every animal we hoped to and then some. There were plenty of opportunities to relax with a local beer and watch the sea lions play or iguanas scuttle across the beach or you could use spare time to fit in extra mountain biking or snorkeling. Our guide, Pepo, was absolutely wonderful. He is from San Cristobal and I really enjoyed his insider's perspective on the islands. Every day was a learning experience. The trip was expertly planned and organized. Never a dull moment!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • Galapagos Adventure

    “This was the perfect honeymoon. The animals were amazing, the accommodations and travel smoothly planned. The tour guide, Pepo, was everything we could have hoped for - knowledgeable, amiable, and local. Active Adventures even managed to get our bags to the airport after the airline lost them in the nick of time to join us on our travels!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • Everything I hoped for

    “This was my bucket list trip and it did not disappoint! As a biology major, the main draw was the wildlife, the natural history, and scientific significance of the Galapagos but it was also so much more. Our guide, Pepo, led our small group on a journey of discovery while sharing his expertise and great sense of humor. Our fellow adventurers were so much fun and we bonded over great food, once in a lifetime experiences, and fun in the sun. I highly recommend Active Adventures and will most likely book another trip with them soon!”
    – Oregon, United States Tortuga, November 2016
  • Amazing galapagos

    “Thanks to Active Adventures and especially Jessica and her team for an amazing time in the Galapagos. Really enjoyed the diving, snorkeling and other activities on or near the sea, even during the travel between islands there was plenty to see and learn about; the diversity, adaption to the environment, and specialisation of the wildlife, including the people!, that live(d) on Galapagos (and mainland Ecuador) was so interesting.
    Fresh and largely locally sourced food was great! Liked the simplicity with less gizmos that often end up thrown away. Thought the people, especially Galapagos, were aware of the environment, recycling and less rubbish and wastage.
    Fascinating place!”
    – Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Tortuga, October 2016
  • Wonder- fulled Galapagos

    “Wonderful food! local, fresh and delicious and plenty of it
    Wonderful guide! Jessica the personality of the Galapagos, fun, full of local knowledge and a great organiser
    Wonder fulled Islands, wildlife and sites to see
    A Brilliant Trip!”
    – , New Zealand Tortuga, September 2016
  • Happy to have chosen this trip

    “There seemed to be so many choices of trips but Active Adventures attracted me with the fact it was land based Galapagos trip and included hiking, biking and kayaking. The trip exceeded expectations and I am very glad to have chosen Active Adventures. Food was great. Active Adventures staff was great. Activities were great, and to top it off everyone in our group was great. I am even more convinced now that a land based Galapagos trip was the way to go.”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, September 2016
  • Tapir

    “Jhayro was a great guide, and made the trip a great one, even helping to expand my Spanish vocabulary. A brilliant trip that everyone should take”
    – North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom Tapir, September 2016
  • Tortuga, Galapagos

    “You have to visit the islands to believe how amazing they actually are and how innovative the people who live there have become, very little goes to waste.”
    – North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom Tortuga, September 2016
  • ECUADOR South America

    “I had an incredible trip exploring the beautiful scenery of Ecuador. Our guide Hiro was extremely informative and his erudition was obvious; also had the opportunity to meet his vivacious daughter who brought another great personality to our group! Our small group was awesome and I had a great time getting to know each member. I enjoyed the active aspect of the trip, everything from cycling, hiking, and ascending waterfalls in the Amazon was a perennial experience!! Definitely will be joining Active on another trio!!

    Ps: food was amazing!!”
    – Wyoming, United States Tapir, September 2016
  • Loved the trip

    “The trip to Galapagos was wonderful. I loved the tortoises, snorkeling, kayaking, volcanoes.”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • Fantastic!

    “This trip is action packed with thing to do. Jessica, our guide, was very knowledgeable and passionate about each island and activity that we did. The wildlife was amazing and the trip was well organized. I wouldn't call this tour a "vacation" in the traditional sense. This tour is more of an experience! I'd recommend it to anyone interested in wildlife, geology, and conservation!”
    – North Carolina, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • Tortuga july 2016

    “Amazing trip with an amazing guide. thank you”
    – Pahurehure, New Zealand Tortuga, August 2016
  • Great guide

    “Jessica was wonderful and so was the intern Jessica. Loved the people on the trip. Nice size group - 13!”
    – Ohio, United States Tortuga, August 2016
  • “Great experience, a huge opportunity for nature lovers to familiarize themselves and get very close to Galapagos life. Tour leader Pablo Valladares makes the trip a lifetime experience.”
    – , United Arab Emirates Tortuga, June 2016
  • Experience the Real Galapagos!

    “The trip was very well organized and managed from booking until the end of the tour! The itinerary was perfectly crafted in a balance of active and relax pace, gave us the best wildlife and Island experience! The land base tour definitely the best way to explore and appreciate the beauty of Galapagos and a better chance to interact with locals too. Food, accommodations and transport were well taking care of. Credit must go for the exceptional local naturalist guide Pablo who was so passionate to share everything you wish to know about Galapagos from geography, history, wildlife and some interesting stories you only get to know from the local..his presentation was simply fascinating!
    I would strongly recommend the Tortuga tour if you wish to have a different and memorable experience with Galapagos, better still get Pablo as your guide and you will understand everything!
    Thanks Active Adventures team, and Galakiwi.
    Eugene”
    – , United Arab Emirates Tortuga, May 2016
  • Playful nature at its finest!

    “My Galapagos journey was fabulous! I still carry with me the wonder of our snorkeling adventures, especially with the sea lions visiting, dancing and playing with us and the graceful sea turtles gently meandering through the water in their scout for lunch. Our friendly, enthusiastic and easy-going guide, Pepo, was outstanding--he was so impressive with his deep knowledge of the individual island habitats, the animals and their varying species and habits, history, and culture. I am so grateful to have been able to fulfill my long-held desire to visit the Galapagos through this awesome tour!”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, May 2016
  • Exquisite Ecuador

    “From the ancient crumbling Spanish architecture of Quito, to the majestic glaciers, mountain grasslands, volcanoes and the Amazon...Ecuador is a scenic feast for the eyes and a country of amazements for nature buffs. Very few tourists, with gentle helpful locals, so if you can - go! After the earthquake devastation on the coast they could use the tourist dollars.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tapir, May 2016
  • Childhood dream to reality.

    “I've imagined and dreamed of visiting the Galapagos Islands since I was about 8 years old. Maybe it was Dr Doolittle or Jacques Cousteau - who knows how such ideas get stuck in a child's head, but the Tortuga trip was a dream realised and it exceeded all my expectations. There were surprises and delights every day, not to mention the added bonus of having a guide/teacher/naturalist/conservationist/geologist/surfer Pablo, who bought alive the history of the islands and the mysteries and magnificence of evolution and the animal kingdom.”
    – New South Wales, Australia Tortuga, May 2016
  • The best trip ever

    “If you have the opportunity to take this trip, do! It's the trip of a lifetime and everything about it was well organized and amazing. I'd highly recommend a trip through active adventures!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, May 2016
  • A great trip.

    “The change of the first day's program did not reach me. Having to be "bike ready" was possible as people were so helpful but not the better way.”
    – Texas, United States Tapir, May 2016
  • Spring Adventure

    “I travelled with my 11 year old son and although he's been on many adventures, this trip to Galapagos in April tops our list of favorites! This was in great part because of Pablo, who is the best naturalist/guide we've ever had. It felt like we were traveling with a friend. Pablo was amazing and made a lasting impression on my son who for the first time, cried when it was time to say goodbye.”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • 6-Stars

    “Beyond amazing. Loved every minute of it. Words cannot do it justice... you need to experience it yourself.”
    – Louisiana, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • Galapagos Tortuga

    “We had a fantastic time in Galapagos and enjoyed days packed with activities. This was our first trip using Active Adventures and we were impressed with well organised days, varied activites from bike riding, climbing volcano, kayaking, snorkelling and enjoying fantastic wild life in Galapagos.
    Pepo -our guide is extremely knowledgable and most lovely person who made our days fun and interesting. We enjoyed the variety of different islands visited and loved the taste of local life we were introduced to, including family tree house in highlands of San Cristobal and local restaurants sharing the benches with sea lions.
    Snorkelling with sea turtles, sharks and sea lions was unforgettable. The scenery was breathtaking with beautiful beaches, amazing rock creations of lava tunnels and tranquil bays and sunsets. Ocean kayaking was fun- watching penguins and blue boobies, pelicans waiting for fisherman's left overs....Each island brought its unique experience and history with it. We had opportunity to dive as well as snorkel and the trip organisers gave us plenty of opportunities to meet all our interest and needs. Our group of 10 was excellent size and felt more like a big family holiday. I would recommend Active Adventures to everyone as this was a fantastic activity holiday and a good value for money. The tour was organised with thoughtfulness by very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We felt safe and extremely well looked after. Thank you to every one and especially Pepo! Pepo, please give our regards to your dad who joined us for a bit of our trip. We will treasure the photo of him and Pepo in the giant tortoise shell!”
    – Surrey, United Kingdom Tortuga, April 2016
  • Animal Kingdom

    “This really was a most enjoyable trip. Everybody who goes to the Galapagos expects to see lots of animals, and we were certainly not disappointed!
    We liked the range of activity and especially we liked the guide, Pepo. He is absolutely brilliant, so caring, kind and friendly, and his knowledge in encyclopaedic! If you get him as a guide, you will be very pleased!”
    – Surrey, United Kingdom Tortuga, April 2016
  • Outstanding!

    “Thoughtful and well prepared, friendly and helpful staff at every turn. The active adventure title is a fitting description and not just a marketing gimmick. Hiking, biking, snorkeling, kayaking, and awesome accommodations. The Active Adventures / Galakiwi teams are excellent at what they do. Pepo our guide is the best ambassador and genuine professional for the Galapagos Islands -- very, very knowledgeable about the eco-systems and plants and animal life, and such a thoughtful and friendly individual, we really appreciated all he did to make this such a memorable trip. You will find the people and culture of the region extremely open and welcoming. This was certainly the trip of a lifetime, and especially hassle free thanks to the diligence of our Active Adventure / Galakiwi team!”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • Super Trip!

    “Our guide had a "super plan" and it made for a super trip! Great weather, good mix of people, small group size and good activity level each day made for an enjoyable way to see the Galápagos Islands.”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, April 2016
  • Dream Come True

    “I'd always heard the Galápagos was a very special place, and now I can confirm that it is indeed an incredible and unique place. I've traveled quite a bit, but never had so many jaw dropping sights and experiences. The fish, birds, and animals are truly amazing! Our guide, Pepo was one of the best guides I have ever had. I loved the high activity level of this trip, allowing us to see and do the maximum each day.”
    – Minnesota, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Amazing Trip

    “This was an amazing trip! It was active, nature-oriented, and great for seeing wildlife. There was always something to do (e.g., biking, hiking, kayaking, snorkelling, scuba diving, visiting breeding centers/interpretation centers, looking at wildlife). The accommodations were great (especially considering how it was advertised I thought it would be rougher but it wasn't), and the food was delicious (it was great for those who love seafood, but there were always great options for those that don't). Also, staying on the land allowed us to see and experience more than if we were on a cruise ship. For example, one night we walked around the pier at night after the people on the cruise ships had to be back at their boats, and we saw a sea lion and over 20 baby blacktip sharks having a feeding frenzy on fish. Additionally, our guide Pepo was wonderful! He is extremely knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, and funny. Overall, this is one of my favorite tours I have ever been on. If you are on the fence about it, just go you won't regret it!”
    – Maryland, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • “Great trip, good group of people and a terrific guide.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Galapagos by land and sea

    “With Pablo as our guide, and a great group for conversation and fun, the Galapagos Islands were unique and beautiful. It would be nice to have a few more days in which there was more than one option for adventure. And our hotel on Santa Cruz was a poor substitute for the one listed for the tour. But staying on land gives you a chance to connect with the locals, and wander a little on your own in ways that would not be likely on a cruising tour.”
    – Michigan, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Fun, Flexible and Phenomenal

    “Our trip to the Galapagos with Pablo was outstanding. From the moment we met in San Cristobal to our departure from Santa Cruz, our trip was educational, entertaining and engaging. Pablo was a phenomenal guide with deep knowledge of the islands. His guidance and direction was crucial in the success of the trip. He was able to accommodate all participants regardless of age, fitness or interests. I whole-heartedly recommend the Tortuga trip with Pablo.”
    – Michigan, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • A Great Trip

    “Active Adventures tries to get it all in for you. Biking, hiking, snorkeling and kayaking. Really liked that it was a land trip. Our guide Jessica, could not have been better! She was so knowledgeable, patient and overall organized. Glad we went with A.A. for a second trip... first one was in New Zealand.”
    – Massachusetts, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Eleven Days Off of the Grid

    “From Mitand del Mundo (middle of the world) to the natural wonders of the Galápagos Islands, this trip is a must not miss for nature lovers everywhere. Our guide lives on Isabella and knew everyone we met on each of the islands. We saw animals not in evidence anywhere else on Earth: flocks of wild flamingoes, marine iguanas, Galápagos Sharks, and of course the ubiquitous giant tortoises. Every detail of the excursion was well planned and executed. There was time for individual pursuits and the accommodations were better than I had imagined. I will recommend Active Adventures/Galakiwi to anyone wanting a hands-on, Eco-friendly tour of "Darwin's Place".”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Amazing trip with scenery, science, and cultural understanding

    “Amazing trip; couldn't have been more perfect. We loved the sights and the amazing flora and fauna of the Galapagos of course, but what set this trip apart was our amazing guides, especially Pablo, and getting to stay on the islands. Pablo was a wealth of knowledge not only about the science, ecology, and behavior of the various endemic species we saw, but also about the impact of the human element, introduced species, and climate. His passion for the islands was incredible. He made this the trip of a lifetime for all of us, but especially our very inquisitive 11 year old son. The places we stayed were great, and it was a privilege to get to stay on the islands - there is much more to be seen this way.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, March 2016
  • Awesome adventure!

    “Enjoyable trip with good mix of activities on a realistic time schedule. Our guide (Jessica) was excellent. She was friendly, very knowledgeable, and offered a good variety of options many days. We saw all that was advertised and more. Jessica was excellent at making sure all 11 of us were having a great time while being able to coordinate and accommodate for ages 25-80. I highly recommend this trip.”
    – Illinois, United States Tortuga, February 2016
  • Spectacular Experience

    “Despite being the youngest trip member by almost 25 years, I had an amazing time. From start to finish, the trip was well organized and executed. You can tell that the money we paid for the trip went to excellent use. The hotels were fabulous and the food was top notch.
    Our guide, Pablo, was beyond passionate about the Galapagos and really made the trip. His knowledge and love for the islands is inspiring. (Every time he saw litter, he made it a point to pick it up and keep the islands clean.) I loved how there were extra guides for hikes and snorkeling excursions in case a trip member wanted to go back early. There was a perfect amount of down town in relation to the active adventures we took daily. This trip was a spectacular experience that I would recommend to any person of any age.”
    – New Jersey, United States Tortuga, February 2016
  • Super Plan

    “I truly believe that staying on the four islands (instead of a ship) and being able to eat at local restaurants, mingle with the Educadorians as well as partaking in other special land based activities made the trip even more memorable then I had imagined. Our Naturalist guide, Pepo who was born and raised on San Cristabol and has achieved level Three of his profession and was the very essence and spirit of a wonderful trip both from an educational aspect as well as a true adventure!!”
    – Hawaii, United States Tortuga, February 2016
  • An extraordinary Experiential learning travel experience

    “From our first day of biking from the highland in the rain to the beach and snorkeling with a few sea lions in a beautiful bay which began our amazingly active, awesome nine days with our fabulous naturalist guide Pepo. Pepo's insight of the flora, fauna, and the geology and history of the Galapagos Islands and interesting tours of the intriguing indigenous and endemic animals and their habitats was very special. He took special care and attention to our needs and wants throughout the trip. I am glad to say that it was one of the most experiential learning travel trips I have ever taken.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tortuga, February 2016
  • Galapagos Adventure by Land

    “The Galapagos had been in my sights for a while, and this trip certainly did not disappoint. I loved the land-based itinerary Active Adventures offered, and am so glad we opted for this instead of a cruise. I loved the small, often beachfront lodgings and the opportunity to poke around the islands in the mornings and evenings outside planned activity times, and also the fact that it afforded me the opportunity to dive, since that was a highlight for me. The activities themselves were extraordinarily well organized. There was always something to do and look forward to but we never felt rushed or overwhelmed. Jessica, our Galapagueña guide, was lovely, energetic and extremely knowledgeable and informative - I couldn't have asked for a better person to show us the islands. Overall, a truly spectacular trip for anyone who wants to really experience the islands rather than just see them from a boat.”
    – New York, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Iguanas everywhere

    “I expected to see marine iguanas, but never thought I'd have to take care to not step on them...in town. Overall the trip provided a great sampling of the various biomes and unique animals of the Galapagos.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Fantastic trip!

    “Beyond my expectations!!!”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Perfect Trip

    “Our guide, Jessica, gave us a fantastic experience in every way. She was delightful, informative and fun. We decided that the land based "island hopping" trip was a great choice. The hotels were in great locations and the activities were well organized using good equipment (bikes, scuba gear,kayaks etc.). A perfect trip.”
    – Maryland, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Jan 1st Tortuga with Pablo

    “This was an absolutely amazing adventure with the most knowledgeable tour guide ever. There really wasn't anything Pablo did not know. Truly incredible!”
    – Michigan, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Tapir

    “Great trip and trip leader.”
    – Hawaii, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • Ecuador Active Adventure

    “The trip was full of excitement. Each day we went on a memorable experience. We were also able to interact with local people which would have been difficult if we planned the trip on our own.”
    – Ohio, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • Great sights, people, and adventure!

    “Had an amazing trip to Ecuador with my family. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, he even had us to his family's home for a local meal. I loved all of the active trips; it was a unique way to see areas of an unfamiliar country. We could not have loved our group more; strangers turned into friends! So many great memories!”
    – Ohio, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • Dec 27 2015 Tapir with Jhayro

    “Amazing trip exploring so much of Ecuador, a beautiful and diverse country. Active it was! We had many adventures we could not have done on our own. Great group, great itinerary and great friends made on this trip.”
    – Ohio, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • I love Ecuador

    “Challenge yourself to new things and people: this is Tapir”
    – California, United States Tapir, January 2016
  • The trip was amazing!

    “It exceeded my expectations in virtually every way. I'm so glad my wife and I decided to arrive in Quito a couple days early to experience the beautiful city. The Galapagos Islands were equally beautiful and the activities were AWESOME! We saw more wildlife than we expected and learned a lot from our guide Pablo. The hotel accommodations were a little better than expected and the meals were GREAT! I would highly recommend this trip to others who enjoy the great outdoors in all its splendour!”
    – Alabama, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • AMAZING trip!

    “My husband and I had high expectations for this trip, yet our experience exceeded our hopes and dreams. We swam with sea turtles, sea lions, penguins with marine iguanas swimming by! The beaches were beautiful and the accommodations were adequate to awesome! Everything was so well organized, AA thought of everything! We would highly recommend that others use this company and explore this paradise! We plan to use AA again! Thank you for the wonderful memories!”
    – Alabama, United States Tortuga, January 2016
  • Outstanding experience in Galapagos

    “My Tortuga trip was absolutely amazing. I always hesitate to give 5 stars, but this trip came very close. I was very lucky to have got a small group of 10 and a fantastic guide, Jorge, who taught me so much about the islands. As well, the private room, excellent food and outstanding fauna and flora, took the experience beyond my expectations. You will NOT be disappointed!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, January 2016
  • Amazing!

    “The Galapagos Islands are a truly magical place! The closeness with nature is like nothing I have ever experienced, and it was amazing. Every day on the Tortuga trip was enjoyable, informative, and awe-inspiring. I met great people and had a wonderful guide (Pepo) who really brought everything to life with his incredible knowledge and superb story-telling abilities. It was an incredible experience!”
    – Wisconsin, United States Tortuga, December 2015
  • Finding The Real Galapagos

    “This Galapagos trip was labelled an active adventure which quite frightened me since at 71 years old I am no longer as active as I once was. My fears were increased when I met my trip mates who all looked very fit. However the guide Pablo made it possible for me to do every event by making small and large accommodations. I had a wonderful time and I felt this trip revealed a lot more about the Galapagos than just Darwin and the animals. We met the people and experienced island areas that no one else I know has ever visited. This was a trip to remember forever.”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, December 2015
  • Epic

    “All in all, this trip was not what I expected because I had no expectations and just needed out of dodge so desperately! I had an epic adventure full of complete surprises because I totally let go and had no idea what to expect next.”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, December 2015
  • BJ Galapagos

    “A beach vacation with environmental/cultural dimensions. Great water activities along with educational outings.”
    – Virginia, United States Tortuga, December 2015
  • “This trip was better than I expected; the proximity to the natural world was amazing and I was pleased that there was "people" culture and history in the towns where we stayed. So glad to be land based!”
    – Ontario, Canada Tortuga, December 2015
  • Bucket-List-Worthy

    “Amazing trip and really well executed! Might have even learned a few things without even trying! :)”
    – Colorado, United States Tortuga, November 2015
  • Great active trip

    “I recently took the Tapir trip in Ecuador. The trip was active and exciting, which is what I expected. The person touch is what makes the difference. We were able to eat local food and spend time with local folks which really added the cultural piece too.”
    – Alabama, United States Tapir, November 2015
  • a truly fine life experience

    “My trip was especially memorable because of the wealth of information shared by our guide, Pepo. He informed us about the geology, the flora, the birds, the sea life/creatures, the history of the Galapagos. This information enriched my appreciation of all that I saw and experienced.

    The sea lions were a hoot...sleeping on, under, in between any and every surface available....benches, boats, piers, sidewalks, bushes, in addition to rocks and sandy beaches. Would have missed the presence of the "beach masters" if they had not been pointed out by our guide, lurking just below the surface of the water, close to shore. The giant turtles in the water had no fear of us...so amazing to share such close proximity with these creatures. The giant land tortoises were shy, but oh so numerous. Birds a plenty and beautiful fish viewed while snorkeling. The food and accomodations were excellent. The activities were doable for my level of fitness and age, 71.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, October 2015
  • Galápagos revealed

    “This trip is way up on the list of favorite experiences for me. From the charming small and quirky hotels to the luxury of swimming with sea lion, sea turtles, schools of colorful fish, rays, and shark it was one delightful thing after another. Each day brought something surprising: could be a bike ride, could be a very special tree house, could be floating underneath boobies and penguins lazing on rocks. Just plain wonderful.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, October 2015
  • A lesson in preserving our natural world

    “Excellent experience: the place, the people, and the wildlife. For us, a much greater experience than we imagined. Pepo shared with us his deep commitment to his homeland and his commitment to reciprocity with the environment. Very encouraging to us. We left the islands feeling that the younger generation is committed to a broad view that we can sustain and enhance the environment instead of depleting it.”
    – Washington, United States Tortuga, October 2015
  • Aug 14 2015 Tortuga with Pepo

    “Wonderful experience and thoroughly enjoyed it.”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, September 2015
  • Could not have been better

    “I recently went on the Tortuga trip with my dad and it was an experience that will never be forgotten. The staff went out of their way to help when the airline lost my luggage, our guide (Pepo) was incredible with our diverse group, the food was fantastic and the Galapagos was more than I could have ever bargained for. Thank you Active Adventures, you gave us the opportunity to share something that will be in our hearts for the rest of our lives. It could not have been better.”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, August 2015
  • Tapir

    “Despite landslides and rain, Jhayro (our HERO guide) was able to come through with alternative activities. Ecuador is a small country with so much to do and see! Ecuadorians we met were all warm, friendly, and helpful. Accommodations, tours, food, and group dynamics were all outstanding!”
    – California, United States Tapir, August 2015
  • Tortuga Adventure

    “I had a wonderful time great mix of activities and very lucky with travel companions who became good friends”
    – Florida, United States Tortuga, August 2015
  • Mainland Ecuador

    “I have not been able to stop raving about this trip. Jhayro was an amazing guide. When weather in the Amazon did not cooperate with the itinerary, Jharyo had an amazing alternative to go hike the Quilotoa Crater. The view here is unlike anything I have ever seen before.”
    – New York, United States Tapir, August 2015
  • Tortuga with Pablo

    “My expectations were high for this trip and the actual trip exceeded them! Pablo was an excellent tour guide and was excited to share his passion for the Galapagos with us.
    We saw so much animal life while snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, and on the boat crossings. Everyday was filled with fun and exciting experiences.
    I would definitely recommend the Tortuga trip through Active Adventures!”
    – Pennsylvania, United States Tortuga, August 2015
  • Close & Personal with Ecuador Countryside

    “The people and places were breathtaking!!!!!”
    – New York, United States Tapir, August 2015
  • Close up view of Galapagos

    “Best way to experience the animals and land of the Galapagos Islands!!!!”
    – New York, United States Tortuga, August 2015
  • New Bucket List

    “Didn't know what to expect, being so busy until we left for our trip. We were amazed with the Galapagos and all aspects of our trip there. Food, lodging were much better than expected. Most impressive was our guide, Pepo, who seemed to anticipate our every need. We will never forgett this adventure!”
    – British Columbia, Canada Tortuga, August 2015
  • Fantastic trip

    “The Tortuga trip was fantastic! Everything was organised with great attention to detail. The guide was very knowledgable and approachable. To visit the Galapagos was amazing: the turtles, tortoises, iguanas, and especially the sea lions and penguins were so nice to see in nature! The hotels were nice and mostly right at the beach. I would definetely recommend this trip to anyone!”
    – , United Arab Emirates Tortuga, August 2015
  • “Pepo was a fantastic guide. Having grown up and living with his family on the islands, he was a wealth of information on the Galapagos. Snorkeling was fantastic. Weather was perfect. Organization was top notch. My second trip with Active Adventures was equally as awesome as the Peru trip last year.”
    – California, United States Tortuga, August 2015

Back to top

Why travel with Active Adventures?

Legendary Kiwi Hospitality

Above all, we aim to be amazing hosts. We're proud of our kiwi roots, and our professional, warm and relaxed style of running trips around the world is unforgettable.

Expert LOCAL Guides & Trip Leaders

We're VERY picky about who we select to work in our team, and we have people from all over the world lining up to guide our trips. So we get to hire the absolute BEST in the business.

Everything is Included

As soon as you get off the plane, we've got all the details of your vacation covered – top notch meals, comfortable transport & accommodation, amazing guides and INCREDIBLE service.

A Sense of Achievement

Whether you’re new to adventure travel, or you’ve never travelled in a group before, you’ll find yourself arriving home positively different from when you left.

Small Groups

With our small groups (no more than 14), you'll get to know our team, your fellow travellers, and have the flexibility and freedom to do as much (or as little!) as you like.

Diverse Experiences

It's all about getting there under your own steam – on foot, in a sea kayak, or by bike. What better way is there to experience mind blowing scenery? If it's your first time, no worries – our expert guides have got you covered.

Active Adventures Brochure

Wait!

Get a Free Active Adventures Brochure sent to your inbox now!

Privacy is important to us too. We won't share your details.